About Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville

5205 Big Island Drive
Jacksonville, FL 32246
View Larger Map

We invite you to discover our fresh seafood obsession at Mitchell's Fish Market where the fish is off the boat fresh, the drinks are made with fresh-squeezed juice & the atmosphere is as warm and inviting as a day on the water. At Mitchell's Fish Market we are obsessed with fresh seafood. Our mantra is a commitment & passion for freshness as a way of life - a pledge that our fish is 100% fresh or it isn't good enough. With more than 80 items, the chef inspired menu includes items such as Cedar Roasted Atlantic Salmon & Shang Hai Sea Bass. Come experience what an obsession with freshness tastes like at Mitchell's Fish Market...fish any fresher would still be in the ocean! View of menus online at www.mitchellsfishmarket.com!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 645-3474

Website:
http://www.mitchellsfishmarket.com/

Catering:
We do accept large party reservations online, however anything over 12 will need to be reserved by calling the restaurant directly at
904-645-3474.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available during lunch & dinner service for $5. There is also public parking in the surrounding St. Johns Town Center parking lots.

Executive Chef:
Clifford Twiggs

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville
Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville
Steamed Alaskan King Crab Legs
Roasted Asparagus
Cheasapeak Blue Point Oysters On The Half Shell
Crostini
Butternut Squash Tortellaci (Pasta)
Sea bass
Salmon & Shrimp
Crab Stuffed Grouper
Lobster tails
Bacon Wrapped Shrimp
Crab & Artichoke Dip
crusted salmon
Chicken Breast
watermelon elderflower martini
Captain Morgan & Diet Coke
Strawberry Martini
LandShark Lager
Lobster Roll Blt
Sam Adams Beer Battered Seafood
Fish Market Trio
Sharkfin Pie
Crab, Spinach, And Artichoke Dip
Strawberry Margarita
Lobster And Shrimp Stuffed Cod
The Big Fish Sandwich
Shanghai Seafood Sampler
Pinefinn Martini
Pecan Crusted Trout
Lobster Bisque
crabcake
Seafood Americana
Spinach Salad
Surf And Turf

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 4:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Mitchell's Fish Market private rooms are available for any occasion! Work one-on-one with your Private Event Manager to create a truly customized affair. To host your event in one of our private dining rooms, contact us today!

Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (56)
good for groups (38)
fit for foodies (29)
See All
great for lunch (25)
romantic (19)
great for outdoor dining (14)
neighborhood gem (12)
notable wine list (8)
vibrant bar scene (7)
kid-friendly (6)
hot spot (5)
great for brunch (5)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1571 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We go fairly often and as usual, the foo ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 4 days ago

We go fairly often and as usual, the food was excellent. However, service was just 'competent' on this visit (not bad, but not its usual great either)

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

My husband ordered the cedar plank salmo ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My husband ordered the cedar plank salmon and she gave him the salmon. He was disappointed in the salmon.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Both the food and service are above aver ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Both the food and service are above average. I asked for a special drink and the waiter and bartender were very accommodating.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We started with the wedge salad which wa ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We started with the wedge salad which was cold, crisp and refreshing. The Copper River Salmon cooked and served on a plank was outstanding. The Shark Finn pie topped off the meal perfectly. Looking forward to a return trip. Our waitress, Cari, was terrific.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food, from appetizers to entrees, was ou ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Food, from appetizers to entrees, was outstanding. Happy hour prices were good, too.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Maybe just an off night. Service was "de ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Maybe just an off night. Service was "detached", not typical of previous visits. Food was mediocre, again not at typical of my many previous visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Excellent Birthday Meal, Thank You!!

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Excellent Birthday Meal, Thank You!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

While the fresh sourdough was delicious, ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

While the fresh sourdough was delicious, the portion sizes were closer to a kids meal than a lunch size and came with dinner portion prices! The stuffed fish and beer breaded fish were wonderful but the French fries and roasted red potatoes were over cooked and under seasoned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

a WONDERFUL FIND FROM A CHAIN OPERATION. ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

a WONDERFUL FIND FROM A CHAIN OPERATION. GOOD FOOD, WONDERFUL STAFF, EASY ACCESS.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Was a great place to meet friends. The b ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Was a great place to meet friends.

The bar tender was very friendly

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Thought the size of our fish dinner entr ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Thought the size of our fish dinner entree was very small for the price charged.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We went here to meet friends as a "half ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We went here to meet friends as a "half way between us" restaurant . We were there early (6pm on a Fri) and surprised it was not busier. Food was very good, but a bit pricey. Waitress gave the perfect amount of attention and suggestions. I was debating Rib eye or Filet. She was accurate that the rib eye had the most flavor, but might have a bit more fat, etc. It was very tasty! And even though I had some scraps left on the plate (fat) I had plenty to eat.

Also thankful that she did not give us the hard sell to join their "frequent flyers" type club. Last time we were hit very hard by the waiter and made us uncomfortable.

Will go back again for special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Poor service, mediocre food and small po ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Poor service, mediocre food and small portions combined for a never again experience Still waiting to get my dry cleaning bill paid after waiter dumped she ice and shrimp shells from the shrimp cocktail onto my lap. Food served incorrectly, took forever to fix, was done with entree before drawn butter appeared. Oh, and don't ask me how well I want my fish cooked if you are not going to bother coming remotely close.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

We loved the new Chile Glazed Salmon whi ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We loved the new Chile Glazed Salmon which came with bok choy, mushrooms and pineapple rice. The sauce gave the salmon a wonderful light, sweet and spicy flavor. We've been regular customers for seven years now.

Mitchell's Jacksonville has one on the most attentive staff anywhere and they always do their utmost to make our dining experience great. And now, they've expanded their beer selection with the addition of Intuition I-10 IPA!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great server with a fun sense of h ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Had a great server with a fun sense of humor. Pleasing atmosphere and it was quiet but on Monday probably lots of places are. Everyone loved my shrimp and tilapia over angel hair pasta with lemon butter sauce. The Mahi and scallops were good also. Would've loved to see Grouper on the menu. Over all it was a good dining experience. They had advertised a great happy hour menu and pricing and will be back to try that on a Monday thru Friday.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent service, a bit over priced for ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent service, a bit over priced for quality of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

We were treated like royalty, Eli the ma ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We were treated like royalty, Eli the manager greeted us at the door, we were seated and Jeremy was our waiter. The food and service was excellent. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waitress was nice but we had to ask ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Our waitress was nice but we had to ask for drink refills. Fish was undercooked and veggies were underdone. Ordered an ice cream dessert and it was so hard, even after waiting 10 minutes to eat, that we could hardly eat it. The peanut butter portion was so hard after twenty minutes we could never cut it with spoon or fork. I mentioned to waitress and she just looked at me and didn't say anything. Crab legs were very tasty for one member our party. Potatoes were nicely done. Was overall a disappointing meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Lovely, quiet setting...perfect for busi ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Lovely, quiet setting...perfect for business lunch. The service was great and the blackened scallops are a tried and true favorite. I will definitely be back!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The waiter forgot to input my appetizer ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

The waiter forgot to input my appetizer when he inputted my husband's. My appetizer came out after my dinner. I sent it back and no one seemed to care.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Went for lunch. Was slow as maybe 15% of ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Went for lunch. Was slow as maybe 15% of the tables had people. Service was atrocious. We saw our waitress maybe 4 times during the entire meal. Took our order and took 15 minutes to get one glass of wine. With so few tables going you would have thought the service was excellent--it wasnt. Took another 15 minutes before we saw her again to get our bill. The food was good and it is a nice location. But I cant go back given the poor service. We were really disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Mitchell's is always a good seafood expe ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Mitchell's is always a good seafood experience, but they also have a good wine list and bar to go along with the food. They're part of the Landry's label now, but they haven't lost a beat in quality or price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Music choices for the overhead was a lit ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Music choices for the overhead was a little odd and on the loud side. Service was meh. Food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Quality of food lacking

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

I used to frequent Mitchell's for business meals as there was something for every price point and pallet. In general though, I always ordered the same dish - the Shanghai Sampler. The past two times, and this one in particular was really overcooked. The salmon was very dry and the shrimp were hard. I was really disappointed in my meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Good meal Great food Great service

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Good meal

Great food

Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great for special occasions.

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

I've been to Mitchell's a few times. I've not had a bad meal there. It's not cheap but it was expected with the quality and ambiance in my opinion. I've been in Jacksonville for two years and have found far too many restaurants to be disappointing. I don't find that in Mitchell's. My latest trip we spent on the outside patio at sunset. The lighting of the buildings make for a very nice feeling even though there is not view. Good seafood, good steaks. If your looking for a place for a special occasion dinner, this is a nice choice.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Food was largely tasteless - the seafood ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was largely tasteless - the seafood pasta had no seasoning whatsoever. My stuffed snapper was the same. It's just not very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

I have to say, I was disappointed! Fo ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

I have to say, I was disappointed! Food was not great! especially for the price. I may go again, but there are others in the area I would go to first..... I had lobster tails and they were tough and overcooked. Oysters were too small....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Ordered blackened halibut...came out ver ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Ordered blackened halibut...came out very dry....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

I had a great evening

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

I had a great evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Mother's Day Dinner

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I took my wife to Mitchell's for Mother's Day Dinner as she had a craving for lobster. We arrivied a little early but were seated in a reasonable amonunt of time. Our server Nathan took excellent care of us. He was attentive without being hovering. Excellent meal and enjoyable time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Experience

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Our waiter Scott was excellent he was very knowledgeable on the menu.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Mother's Day

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Perfect location for seafood lover's Mother's Day with a bit of shopping after.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food (as usual) and even better se ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food (as usual) and even better service. All in all a wonderful experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Being my first experience, I was under-impressed.

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

With the cost of the meal, the quality of the food and the "energetic" noise level, came up lacking. Being seated by the kitchen window and hearing kitchen staff talk (fuss/holler) back and forth and dish noise, the experience wasn't a good first impression. For being Mother's Day weekend, restaurant wasn't busy at our reservation time so not really sure why we were seated there in the first place. Service was attentive and appetizers were good but my seafood platter I've had better experiences at Red Lobster; my wife's scallops also lacked much flavor and she was not impressed either. Overall, first and only visit to the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Great Dining Experience

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

This was our 2nd time at Mitchells. One for lunch and this time for dinner. I forget our servers name but she rocked. I had a couple of off the wall questions and she went and found out the answer. She took care of us but did not hover over us. The dinner was superb. We both has the NY Strip with the stuffed shrimp with crab meat. We sure hope to be back on a more regular basis. Thanks.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebration

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Fantastic food and service for a special occasion.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

My favorite seafood gumbo in town. Nate, ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

My favorite seafood gumbo in town. Nate, our waiter, was polite and knew how to be helpful but not annoyingly pesty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

poor service

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Visited for the first time for my daughters birthday. The food was average, service was extremely slow and it was not cheap. I expected much more, since we could have went right next to Capital.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Good seafood and service

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

The food was very good and the waiter was excellent. No wait for our table. Would recommend for seafood and variety of appetizers.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.