About Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville

5205 Big Island Drive
Jacksonville, FL 32246
View Larger Map

We invite you to discover our fresh seafood obsession at Mitchell's Fish Market where the fish is off the boat fresh, the drinks are made with fresh-squeezed juice & the atmosphere is as warm and inviting as a day on the water. At Mitchell's Fish Market we are obsessed with fresh seafood. Our mantra is a commitment & passion for freshness as a way of life - a pledge that our fish is 100% fresh or it isn't good enough. With more than 80 items, the chef inspired menu includes items such as Cedar Roasted Atlantic Salmon & Shang Hai Sea Bass. Come experience what an obsession with freshness tastes like at Mitchell's Fish Market...fish any fresher would still be in the ocean! View of menus online at www.mitchellsfishmarket.com!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 645-3474

Website:
http://www.mitchellsfishmarket.com/

Catering:
We do accept large party reservations online, however anything over 12 will need to be reserved by calling the restaurant directly at
904-645-3474.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available during lunch & dinner service for $5. There is also public parking in the surrounding St. Johns Town Center parking lots.

Executive Chef:
Clifford Twiggs

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 4:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Mitchell's Fish Market private rooms are available for any occasion! Work one-on-one with your Private Event Manager to create a truly customized affair. To host your event in one of our private dining rooms, contact us today!

Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Restaurants in Jacksonville ›

special occasion (73)
good for groups (51)
fit for foodies (39)
See All
great for lunch (36)
romantic (33)
great for outdoor dining (18)
neighborhood gem (16)
notable wine list (15)
vibrant bar scene (13)
kid-friendly (11)
hot spot (10)
late-night find (9)
great for brunch (8)
Sort By:
Newest
1547 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience3
service5

Good meal Great food Great service

Dined 6 days ago

Good meal Great food Great service

food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Great for special occasions.

Dined on May 14, 2016

I've been to Mitchell's a few times. I've not had a bad meal there. It's not cheap but it was expected with the quality and ambiance in my opinion. I've been in Jacksonville for two years and have found far too many restaurants to be disappointing. I don't find that in Mitchell's. My latest trip we spent on the outside patio at sunset. The lighting of the buildings make for a very nice feeling even though there is not view. Good seafood, good steaks. If your looking for a place for a special occasion dinner, this is a nice choice.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience2
service2

Food was largely tasteless - the seafood ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was largely tasteless - the seafood pasta had no seasoning whatsoever. My stuffed snapper was the same. It's just not very good.

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

I have to say, I was disappointed! Fo ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

I have to say, I was disappointed! Food was not great! especially for the price. I may go again, but there are others in the area I would go to first..... I had lobster tails and they were tough and overcooked. Oysters were too small....

food2
ambience4
service4

Ordered blackened halibut...came out ver ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Ordered blackened halibut...came out very dry....

food4
ambience5
service5

I had a great evening

Dined on May 9, 2016

I had a great evening

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day Dinner

Dined on May 8, 2016

I took my wife to Mitchell's for Mother's Day Dinner as she had a craving for lobster. We arrivied a little early but were seated in a reasonable amonunt of time. Our server Nathan took excellent care of us. He was attentive without being hovering. Excellent meal and enjoyable time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Experience

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our waiter Scott was excellent he was very knowledgeable on the menu.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

Perfect location for seafood lover's Mother's Day with a bit of shopping after.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food (as usual) and even better se ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food (as usual) and even better service. All in all a wonderful experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Being my first experience, I was under-impressed.

Dined on May 7, 2016

With the cost of the meal, the quality of the food and the "energetic" noise level, came up lacking. Being seated by the kitchen window and hearing kitchen staff talk (fuss/holler) back and forth and dish noise, the experience wasn't a good first impression. For being Mother's Day weekend, restaurant wasn't busy at our reservation time so not really sure why we were seated there in the first place. Service was attentive and appetizers were good but my seafood platter I've had better experiences at Red Lobster; my wife's scallops also lacked much flavor and she was not impressed either. Overall, first and only visit to the restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Dining Experience

Dined on May 6, 2016

This was our 2nd time at Mitchells. One for lunch and this time for dinner. I forget our servers name but she rocked. I had a couple of off the wall questions and she went and found out the answer. She took care of us but did not hover over us. The dinner was superb. We both has the NY Strip with the stuffed shrimp with crab meat. We sure hope to be back on a more regular basis. Thanks.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Celebration

Dined on May 5, 2016

Fantastic food and service for a special occasion.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

My favorite seafood gumbo in town. Nate, ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

My favorite seafood gumbo in town. Nate, our waiter, was polite and knew how to be helpful but not annoyingly pesty.

food2
ambience2
service1
value1

poor service

Dined on April 30, 2016

Visited for the first time for my daughters birthday. The food was average, service was extremely slow and it was not cheap. I expected much more, since we could have went right next to Capital.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good seafood and service

Dined on April 24, 2016

The food was very good and the waiter was excellent. No wait for our table. Would recommend for seafood and variety of appetizers.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and the dishes were excell ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Great service and the dishes were excellent!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

good food

Dined on April 15, 2016

Food was fresh and well prepared. Good value for the price. Great selection. The seven layer carrot cake was outrageous!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service is OUTSTANDING

Dined on April 15, 2016

Food was GREAT and service was AWESOME just spot on had a new employee trying to decide if they wanted to come to work for us and your restaurant helped make his mind up. He starts 2nd week of May THANK YOU

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for date night

Dined on April 15, 2016

We went to Mitchell's for our wedding anniversary; definitely a great place to go without the kids! The ambiance was great, and our meals were excellent. Our portion sizes were large (we both came home with leftovers), and the wait staff was prompt and very helpful with our selections. We will definitely be visiting again.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

4/9

Dined on April 9, 2016

I was shocked to say the least. This was my 5th time coming to this restaurant. Everytime that I came the service was amazing. This time is was awful, my sister drinking glass had a huge crack in it from one side to the other. She did not realize it until half her water was gone. The manager was so nervous. I made a reservation I was not told that there was a $15 cake fee. Really disappointed.

food1
ambience3
service3
value3

Would not recommend

Dined on April 8, 2016

I ordered the cod stuffed with lobster and shrimp. The dish was extremely rich. It had too much butter and the cod was extremely tough. We will not dine there again.

food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice lunch.

Dined on April 8, 2016

I ordered the wedge blue cheese salad. The dressing was thick and wondered if it came out of a jar. Even if it did it was still good. One guest ordered lobster bisque that had minimal lobster in the bowl. It tasted good but could have had more obvious pieces of lobster. My sister ordered the fish sandwich, it was good. We had a nice meal for a reasonable price.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great night out

Dined on April 2, 2016

I was celebrating our anniversary with my lovely bride. It was my first time dining there. My wife has been there on several occasions. It is well worth the money, just don't expect it to be a traditional sea food restaurant. Its more of fine dining.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Easter Dinner At Mitchell's

Dined on March 27, 2016

Another great holiday dinner at Mitchell's Fish Market! Delicious food and fantastic service translating into a great afternoon family dinner out on Easter Sunday. Needless to say, Mitchell's continues to be our "go to" restaurant for special dinners with family and friends. We can't wait to go back!!!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

I ordered the spice shrimp (I get it eve ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

I ordered the spice shrimp (I get it every time so I don't know why I can't recall the name of it). For a meal, I only order the Shanghai Sampler (salmon, scallops, and shrimp) on top of sticky rice and spinach with soy sauce and sesame seeds. It's hand down the best prepared seafood dish I've had (cooked not fried). This time, because they no longer make the Shanghai Martini (I was so disappointed), I instead ordered the Pineapple & Coconut Rum Mojito. It was watered down and was not all that tasty.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mitchell's

Dined on March 20, 2016

Always enjoy the ambiance and food here. Our waiter, Jeremy, gave us great service.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We'll Be Back

Dined on March 18, 2016

I had lunch with my girlfriends this past summer to celebrate a birthday and we all enjoyed not only the food and drinks but our waiter was so attentive. So this past Friday I suggested it to my husband. It was perfect, it was happy hour with $5 & $6 appetizers. Our waiter Michael was a gem. He told us we couldn't go wrong with the appetizers. He was right, not only great tasting but perfect sizes. I had the cod fish sandwich and a side salad. My husband told his golf buddies and we hope to return with our friends in the near future...the dessert was awesome.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great place!

Dined on March 17, 2016

Love it! Would recommend it to anybody. great atmosphere and great place to eat. Always fresh

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mitchell 's is always excellent

vip
Dined on March 15, 2016

Some of the freshest, best tasting seafood in Jax, and always a great value ‼️

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Family dinner

Dined on March 11, 2016

I had no trouble finding a table with open table. Mitchell's was very accommodating seeing that we had two small children. There were 11 of us and had 2 waiters dedicated to us

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food.

Dined on March 9, 2016

Ambiance was excellent since we wanted a quiet place to eat an early dinner. We were disappointed due to the Crab Cake special. The email sent to us was deceiving as we discovered when we asked for the crab cake special. The email had this nice crab cake on a bed of corn and complemented with a couple sauces. What we got was a plain crab cake.... Upon request, the Assistant Manager supplied us with the corn and sauces. Overall, we were pleased when we left. This was our second visit, so our final verdict is still undecided.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved The Crab Cakes!

Dined on March 9, 2016

We visited for lunch on National Crab Cake Day (yes, this is a real celebration!). The food, service, ambience - all excellent! I don't have an opportunity to dine at Mitchell's as often as I'd like, but it is always enjoyable and fun when I do.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4

I had made reservations to celebrate a b ...

vip
Dined on March 7, 2016

I had made reservations to celebrate a birthday party. When I arrived the bartender seated me without looking at the notes I put on the reservation. So, our server had no idea we were even celebrating. I had to tell them

food5
ambience5
service5

Waiter was wonderful went out of his way ...

Dined on March 2, 2016

Waiter was wonderful went out of his way to help us sign up for Landry card. we had lost our receipt from prior visit and needed help he was GREAT!!

food2
ambience3
service3

My husband ordered a dish which was a co ...

vip
Dined on March 1, 2016

My husband ordered a dish which was a combination lobster tail and short ribs. Both were very skimpy. I think the cost was $33. When the manger came by to ask how our meal was, my husband said the largest thing on the dish was a mound of smashed potatoes and a very small piece of short ribs and a small tail. The manager said "thanks for the feedback, I'll tell the chef". Not exactly the kind of response you would expect in an upscale restaurant. We're been here many times before and always enjoyed our meal. This meal was disappointing.

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Very good meal in Jacksonville

vip
Dined on February 29, 2016

A group of 4 of us had dinner here in February. Everyone was thrilled with what they ordered. I had the lobster and shrimp stuffed cod which was exceptional. I'd have it again the next time I went. We ate in the bar at a booth. It was a bit dark in there but that was fine. The wine list is reasonable and the selections of beers was good too. I'll definitely go back.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Steak tougher than Charles Bronson was...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Seafood allergy prompted house rib eye order, received a MSG marinaded chuck cut. Suppressed my disappointment, for the sake of preserving pleasantry in the outing. Significant other was neither pleased nor impressed with her seafood offering....perhaps our collective pallets are jaded. Had higher expectations..

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Disappointed Again!

vip
Dined on February 25, 2016

We decided to give Mitchell's a try again, but we were again disappointed in the food.

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

terrible !!

Dined on February 21, 2016

With my sister for her birthday dinner meal was 2/5 drinks were over price tasted like no alcohol in them. This is a very bad choice for my sisters 40th. Birthday dinner.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.