About Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville

5205 Big Island Drive
Jacksonville, FL 32246
View Larger Map

We invite you to discover our fresh seafood obsession at Mitchell's Fish Market where the fish is off the boat fresh, the drinks are made with fresh-squeezed juice & the atmosphere is as warm and inviting as a day on the water. At Mitchell's Fish Market we are obsessed with fresh seafood. Our mantra is a commitment & passion for freshness as a way of life - a pledge that our fish is 100% fresh or it isn't good enough. With more than 80 items, the chef inspired menu includes items such as Cedar Roasted Atlantic Salmon & Shang Hai Sea Bass. Come experience what an obsession with freshness tastes like at Mitchell's Fish Market...fish any fresher would still be in the ocean! View of menus online at www.mitchellsfishmarket.com!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 645-3474

Website:
http://www.mitchellsfishmarket.com/

Catering:
We do accept large party reservations online, however anything over 12 will need to be reserved by calling the restaurant directly at
904-645-3474.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available during lunch & dinner service for $5. There is also public parking in the surrounding St. Johns Town Center parking lots.

Executive Chef:
Clifford Twiggs

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville
Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville
Steamed Alaskan King Crab Legs
Roasted Asparagus
Cheasapeak Blue Point Oysters On The Half Shell
Crostini
Sea bass
Butternut Squash Tortellaci (Pasta)
Salmon & Shrimp
Lobster tails
Crab Stuffed Grouper
Bacon Wrapped Shrimp
Crab & Artichoke Dip
Chicken Breast
crusted salmon
watermelon elderflower martini
Strawberry Martini
LandShark Lager
Captain Morgan & Diet Coke
Lobster Roll Blt
Sam Adams Beer Battered Seafood
Fish Market Trio
Sharkfin Pie
The Big Fish Sandwich
Lobster And Shrimp Stuffed Cod
Strawberry Margarita
Shanghai Seafood Sampler
Crab, Spinach, And Artichoke Dip
Pinefinn Martini
Pecan Crusted Trout
Lobster Bisque
crabcake
Seafood Americana
Spinach Salad
Surf And Turf

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 4:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Mitchell's Fish Market private rooms are available for any occasion! Work one-on-one with your Private Event Manager to create a truly customized affair. To host your event in one of our private dining rooms, contact us today!

Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (48)
Good for Groups (34)
Fit for Foodies (27)
See All
Great for Lunch (26)
Romantic (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Notable Wine List (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Kid-friendly (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Late-night Find (2)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1584 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My friends and I enjoyed the food. It w ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 6 days ago

My friends and I enjoyed the food. It was really tasty. There were a few big parties in there but we still received very good service.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent service. Food is always good. ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Excellent service. Food is always good. Had the Salmon on a plank. It was good but has been better in the past. Glad they added it back to the menu as it is my favorite. Would have been better but Salmon was slightly dry and would have liked more balsamic glaze. The Crab Legs were awesome! Great menu if you are on a gluten free diet. Never have had a contamination on my visits.

Tags: Healthy, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Atmosphere and service were both very go ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Atmosphere and service were both very good. Food was disappointing and overpriced for what we received. Some pieces of the fish and chips were "fishy" tasting. Overall it was okay but I expected much better and was disappointed. I do not plan on returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Excellent service, good food with fresh ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Excellent service, good food with fresh ingredients. Great for seafood.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I had pretty what I thought was a curren ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

I had pretty what I thought was a current menu on line and got toners taurine and everything about 5 dollars higher

Need to be aware of this

The fried fish platter was just average but crab legs awesome as last time!

All in all a great dinner and service !

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Its a ok resturant not going back. Wait ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Its a ok resturant not going back. Wait time getting the main course was 45 min. Not to much to select from menu. Was not satisfied.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Wish I had something nice to say about o ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Wish I had something nice to say about our meals (4). Unfortunately, they were just ok.

The restaurant seems tired and smells moldy. I noticed the odor while walking to the bathroom. In the bathroom, the odor was even stronger. If we had not been with 2 guests, I would have found the manager to complain. We will not be returning:(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Great seafood - attentive staff - enjoya ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great seafood - attentive staff - enjoyable bar. This was a birthday celebration and everything was totally enjoyable. Thank you.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We first sat at the bar for an hour or s ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We first sat at the bar for an hour or so waiting on our time slot for dinner. The bartenders were good, however, the bar is vey dated and didnt look as clean as I expected from a high-end resturant. We sat at our table. The table was a booth and it was clean. The server was great and knew the menu very well. My low marks are mainly the food. 3 of the 4 of us had the Frutti Del Mare and the 4th had some sort of shrimp alfredo. Its was all Just ok, the noodles they used were wrong in my opinion and the seasoning was way off. I expected a lot more from this type of place. Better food at Red Lobster or Olive Garden. Dinner for my daughters Birthday was not ruined, but no memorable either. Unless I have a coupon or something like that, we wont be back for a second shot.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Great dining atmosphere with several opt ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Great dining atmosphere with several options if you have those in your party that have food allergies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

First time in Jacksonville and hotel rec ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

First time in Jacksonville and hotel recommended Mitchell's. Stopped for a late lunch and wanted to a light order because we had dinner reservations elsewhere. Trenton brought us an appetizer sampler that was no longer on the menu and more than sufficient for 3. We ordered one more item to share. Everything was delicious, we had a good selection, and had more than enough for 3. Service was excellent. A bit hard to find because in a shopping mall that's very spread out but worth locating. Would highly recommend and plan to go back when in JAX again. Glad hotel took the time to tell us about Mitchell's.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We go fairly often and as usual, the foo ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We go fairly often and as usual, the food was excellent. However, service was just 'competent' on this visit (not bad, but not its usual great either)

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Very nice place. Varried menu with somet ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Very nice place. Varried menu with something to please everyone. Attentive staff. Small server/kitchen error but quickly rectified. Recommended.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

My husband ordered the cedar plank salmo ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My husband ordered the cedar plank salmon and she gave him the salmon. He was disappointed in the salmon.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Both the food and service are above aver ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Both the food and service are above average. I asked for a special drink and the waiter and bartender were very accommodating.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was average at best, not very f ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The food was average at best, not very flavorful. The restaurant itself was nice, the server was very good, but the food was rather bland and not very good at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

We started with the wedge salad which wa ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We started with the wedge salad which was cold, crisp and refreshing. The Copper River Salmon cooked and served on a plank was outstanding. The Shark Finn pie topped off the meal perfectly. Looking forward to a return trip. Our waitress, Cari, was terrific.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food, from appetizers to entrees, was ou ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Food, from appetizers to entrees, was outstanding. Happy hour prices were good, too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Maybe just an off night. Service was "de ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Maybe just an off night. Service was "detached", not typical of previous visits. Food was mediocre, again not at typical of my many previous visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Excellent Birthday Meal, Thank You!!

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Excellent Birthday Meal, Thank You!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

While the fresh sourdough was delicious, ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

While the fresh sourdough was delicious, the portion sizes were closer to a kids meal than a lunch size and came with dinner portion prices! The stuffed fish and beer breaded fish were wonderful but the French fries and roasted red potatoes were over cooked and under seasoned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

a WONDERFUL FIND FROM A CHAIN OPERATION. ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

a WONDERFUL FIND FROM A CHAIN OPERATION. GOOD FOOD, WONDERFUL STAFF, EASY ACCESS.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Was a great place to meet friends. The b ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Was a great place to meet friends.

The bar tender was very friendly

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Thought the size of our fish dinner entr ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Thought the size of our fish dinner entree was very small for the price charged.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We went here to meet friends as a "half ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We went here to meet friends as a "half way between us" restaurant . We were there early (6pm on a Fri) and surprised it was not busier. Food was very good, but a bit pricey. Waitress gave the perfect amount of attention and suggestions. I was debating Rib eye or Filet. She was accurate that the rib eye had the most flavor, but might have a bit more fat, etc. It was very tasty! And even though I had some scraps left on the plate (fat) I had plenty to eat.

Also thankful that she did not give us the hard sell to join their "frequent flyers" type club. Last time we were hit very hard by the waiter and made us uncomfortable.

Will go back again for special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Poor service, mediocre food and small po ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Poor service, mediocre food and small portions combined for a never again experience Still waiting to get my dry cleaning bill paid after waiter dumped she ice and shrimp shells from the shrimp cocktail onto my lap. Food served incorrectly, took forever to fix, was done with entree before drawn butter appeared. Oh, and don't ask me how well I want my fish cooked if you are not going to bother coming remotely close.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

We loved the new Chile Glazed Salmon whi ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We loved the new Chile Glazed Salmon which came with bok choy, mushrooms and pineapple rice. The sauce gave the salmon a wonderful light, sweet and spicy flavor. We've been regular customers for seven years now.

Mitchell's Jacksonville has one on the most attentive staff anywhere and they always do their utmost to make our dining experience great. And now, they've expanded their beer selection with the addition of Intuition I-10 IPA!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great server with a fun sense of h ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Had a great server with a fun sense of humor. Pleasing atmosphere and it was quiet but on Monday probably lots of places are. Everyone loved my shrimp and tilapia over angel hair pasta with lemon butter sauce. The Mahi and scallops were good also. Would've loved to see Grouper on the menu. Over all it was a good dining experience. They had advertised a great happy hour menu and pricing and will be back to try that on a Monday thru Friday.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent service, a bit over priced for ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent service, a bit over priced for quality of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

We were treated like royalty, Eli the ma ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We were treated like royalty, Eli the manager greeted us at the door, we were seated and Jeremy was our waiter. The food and service was excellent. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waitress was nice but we had to ask ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Our waitress was nice but we had to ask for drink refills. Fish was undercooked and veggies were underdone. Ordered an ice cream dessert and it was so hard, even after waiting 10 minutes to eat, that we could hardly eat it. The peanut butter portion was so hard after twenty minutes we could never cut it with spoon or fork. I mentioned to waitress and she just looked at me and didn't say anything. Crab legs were very tasty for one member our party. Potatoes were nicely done. Was overall a disappointing meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Lovely, quiet setting...perfect for busi ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Lovely, quiet setting...perfect for business lunch. The service was great and the blackened scallops are a tried and true favorite. I will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The waiter forgot to input my appetizer ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

The waiter forgot to input my appetizer when he inputted my husband's. My appetizer came out after my dinner. I sent it back and no one seemed to care.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Went for lunch. Was slow as maybe 15% of ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Went for lunch. Was slow as maybe 15% of the tables had people. Service was atrocious. We saw our waitress maybe 4 times during the entire meal. Took our order and took 15 minutes to get one glass of wine. With so few tables going you would have thought the service was excellent--it wasnt. Took another 15 minutes before we saw her again to get our bill. The food was good and it is a nice location. But I cant go back given the poor service. We were really disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Mitchell's is always a good seafood expe ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Mitchell's is always a good seafood experience, but they also have a good wine list and bar to go along with the food. They're part of the Landry's label now, but they haven't lost a beat in quality or price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Music choices for the overhead was a lit ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Music choices for the overhead was a little odd and on the loud side. Service was meh. Food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Quality of food lacking

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

I used to frequent Mitchell's for business meals as there was something for every price point and pallet. In general though, I always ordered the same dish - the Shanghai Sampler. The past two times, and this one in particular was really overcooked. The salmon was very dry and the shrimp were hard. I was really disappointed in my meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Good meal Great food Great service

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Good meal

Great food

Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great for special occasions.

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

I've been to Mitchell's a few times. I've not had a bad meal there. It's not cheap but it was expected with the quality and ambiance in my opinion. I've been in Jacksonville for two years and have found far too many restaurants to be disappointing. I don't find that in Mitchell's. My latest trip we spent on the outside patio at sunset. The lighting of the buildings make for a very nice feeling even though there is not view. Good seafood, good steaks. If your looking for a place for a special occasion dinner, this is a nice choice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Food was largely tasteless - the seafood ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was largely tasteless - the seafood pasta had no seasoning whatsoever. My stuffed snapper was the same. It's just not very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.