About Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville

5205 Big Island Drive
Jacksonville, FL 32246
View Larger Map

We invite you to discover our fresh seafood obsession at Mitchell's Fish Market where the fish is off the boat fresh, the drinks are made with fresh-squeezed juice & the atmosphere is as warm and inviting as a day on the water. At Mitchell's Fish Market we are obsessed with fresh seafood. Our mantra is a commitment & passion for freshness as a way of life - a pledge that our fish is 100% fresh or it isn't good enough. With more than 80 items, the chef inspired menu includes items such as Cedar Roasted Atlantic Salmon & Shang Hai Sea Bass. Come experience what an obsession with freshness tastes like at Mitchell's Fish Market...fish any fresher would still be in the ocean! View of menus online at www.mitchellsfishmarket.com!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 645-3474

Website:
http://www.mitchellsfishmarket.com/

Catering:
We do accept large party reservations online, however anything over 12 will need to be reserved by calling the restaurant directly at
904-645-3474.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available during lunch & dinner service for $5. There is also public parking in the surrounding St. Johns Town Center parking lots.

Executive Chef:
Clifford Twiggs

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Steamed Alaskan King Crab Legs - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Roasted Asparagus - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Cheasapeak Blue Point Oysters On The Half Shell - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Salmon & Shrimp - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Lobster tails - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Crab Stuffed Grouper - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Bacon Wrapped Shrimp - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Crab & Artichoke Dip - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Chicken Breast - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
crusted salmon - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
watermelon elderflower martini - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Strawberry Martini - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
LandShark Lager - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Captain Morgan & Diet Coke - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Crostini - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Lobster Roll Blt - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Sea bass - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Butternut Squash Tortellaci (Pasta) - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Sam Adams Beer Battered Seafood - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Fish Market Trio - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Sharkfin Pie - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
The Big Fish Sandwich - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Lobster And Shrimp Stuffed Cod - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Strawberry Margarita - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Shanghai Seafood Sampler - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Crab, Spinach, And Artichoke Dip - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Pinefinn Martini - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Pecan Crusted Trout - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Lobster Bisque - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
crabcake - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Seafood Americana - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Spinach Salad - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Surf And Turf - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Open 11am-9pm serving our main menus & Chef's Lobster & Shrimp Stuffed Sea Bass-roasted tomato hollandaise, sautéed asparagus, smashed redskins-$32.99 and Holiday Surf & Turf - 6oz filet mignon, crab stuffed shrimp, white wine garlic sauce, smashed redskins, sautéed asparagus, hollandaise-$39.99

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

Open Noon-9pm serving our main menus & Chef's Lobster & Shrimp Stuffed Sea Bass-roasted tomato hollandaise, sautéed asparagus, smashed redskins-$32.99 and Holiday Surf & Turf - 6oz filet mignon, crab stuffed shrimp, white wine garlic sauce, smashed redskins, sautéed asparagus, hollandaise-$39.99

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 4:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Mitchell's Fish Market private rooms are available for any occasion! Work one-on-one with your Private Event Manager to create a truly customized affair. To host your event in one of our private dining rooms, contact us today!

Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Restaurants in Jacksonville ›

Special Occasion (18)
Good for a Date (16)
Good for Groups (14)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Business Meals (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Worth the Drive (8)
Healthy (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Romantic (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Casual (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Cozy (6)
Authentic (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Seasonal (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Private Room (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Family Style (2)
Live Sports (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Fun (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
1617 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I can sum it up in two words; absolutely ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 6 days ago

I can sum it up in two words; absolutely excellent! Our waiter was great, food was absolutely delicious and we will return!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Jacksonville Marriott, via Deana, re ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 30, 2016

The Jacksonville Marriott, via Deana, recommended the establishment. I asked for better than normal seafood. The seared ahi tuna app was a decent cut with suitable accoutrement. I asked for red pepper flakes as the hottest sauce they had was Tabasco. The blackened trout was oily but good on flavor and still light. The spinach was expertly wilted. The asparagus was light on portion but not bad. Wine list is severely lacking. Wini at the bar was cordial and helpful. The strawberry sorbet looks and textures like ice cream. I'd go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The music was too loud. Background music ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The music was too loud. Background music should be instrumental only. This is not a night club. I could not hear my client. I will have to consider other options in the area when I have business dinners. Too bad. The service from our waiter, Kyle was outstanding and the food was above average. Fix the noise level and you will have a grateful guest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

They made our anniversary a very special ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 15, 2016

They made our anniversary a very special night! Excellent food, drinks and friendly staff

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Business Meals, Healthy, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very great Seafood! Some of the best and ...

vip
·Dined on November 14, 2016

Very great Seafood! Some of the best and freshest I've had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was our wedding anniversary. The food ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 5, 2016

It was our wedding anniversary. The food is a little costly, but very tasty. I will definitely go back.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Live Sports, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a wonderful oat Mitchell's. The f ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We had a wonderful oat Mitchell's. The food was great, the atmosphere lovely and the service was excellent. I think anyone who likes seafood would love it.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I toke my wife there for a nice quiet se ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I toke my wife there for a nice quiet seafood dinner server was on point fast and always cleared used plates food was very tasty will go back great menu !

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Seafood was rated good to great by our g ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Seafood was rated good to great by our group of six. Salads above average. Would visit again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was very disappointing. Service ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The food was very disappointing. Service was mediocre. I am sorry we selected this restaurant with all the other choices at St Johns town center. We thought we would try something new for our annual UF UGA weekend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The dining experience was excellent . Fo ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The dining experience was excellent . Food,service and atmosphere were GREAT !!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating both a birthday and ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We were celebrating both a birthday and wedding anniversary the evening we were there. All four family members enjoyed their dinners very much. Only one of us required a "to go box", the rest of us cleaned our plates!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The mussels weren't impressive at all bu ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The mussels weren't impressive at all but the sea bass was fantastic. The bar booth was a quiet and a cozy atmosphere for my husband and I just looking for a nice evening out.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was prompt. Food arriv ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Food and service was prompt. Food arrived cold and was over priced for what we ordered. I I ordered the special and failed to ask the price. Oh my. $48 and it definitely was not worth the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

We had Joan as our server. She was amazi ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We had Joan as our server. She was amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Come for the shrimp cocktail, stay for t ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Come for the shrimp cocktail, stay for the filet mignon! Terrific gluten free menu, knowledgeable staff, prices are fair for the type of restaurant food is amazing!

I would have liked the server to be more attentive, never saw a manager on the floor--maybe because of where we were seated? But also, we had no issues.

Overall it's good food, good ambiance.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I had the Shanghai sea bass. It was good ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 14, 2016

I had the Shanghai sea bass. It was good, the house salad was good. I would recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We enjoyed our dinner very much. We usu ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner very much. We usually go there for special occasions, which was the case this time as well. They were out of a few items but considering it was the day after Hurricane Matthew it was understandable.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Romantic, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always enjoy the ambiance, quality of fo ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Always enjoy the ambiance, quality of food, personable staff.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I celebrated our 22nd wed ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 24, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 22nd wedding anniversary with dinner at Mitchell's. The staff was friendly, our waiter was excellent and knew the menu well and the food was outstanding. Our waiter, even brought me a little surprise on an extra bread plate, my mother-in-law's engagement ring completely restored, a gift from my husband!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The occasion was a surprise birthday for ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The occasion was a surprise birthday for my husband. The staff had our party seated by the time we arrived and it was a complete surprise for him.

We had the MITCHELL'S MARKET TRIO and everything was so good I am having a hard time saying what was my favorite part of the dish.

Our server was very attentive and always on time for drink refills.

This is one of our favorite places to eat.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lobster tails were perfectly cooked. Pot ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Lobster tails were perfectly cooked. Potatoes a little salty. Stuffed shrimp was very good. Service great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter made our evening enjoyable an ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Our waiter made our evening enjoyable and the food was awesome

Tags: Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed the meal. Service was ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 9, 2016

We really enjoyed the meal. Service was above and beyond! The only complaint I would have is that wood floors appeared to be "slippery".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is the second time we have eaten at ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 5, 2016

This is the second time we have eaten at a Mitchell's Fish Market .Both times were very enjoyable

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A very good experience for a special occ ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 5, 2016

A very good experience for a special occasion. Would go here again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We have eaten at Mitchell's a number of ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We have eaten at Mitchell's a number of times and this was rather an odd experience. When the food came, it was cold so guessing it had been sitting around for pickup for awhile. Our waiter was very nice but indecisive ~ came by one minute and asked how our dinner was and told us to "take your time" (never had a waiter tell us to take our time eating ~ ~ enjoy our dinner yes but never "take your time") ~ then about 5 minutes later he returned & asked us if we wanted dessert, we said no and he left the dinner check. He must have had a pretty hot date.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great service. Very good food. Cleanline ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great service. Very good food. Cleanliness of table and bathrooms could be better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

The food was very tasty and there were a ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 28, 2016

The food was very tasty and there were a variety of entree selections. The appetizer salads were large and fresh. The downside was that our food arrived at the table very quickly. There were no breaks between the appetizer and the main course. Dinner was over in less than an hour. Thar is fine for a weekday meal at a less upscale restaurant. However on weekends we like to sit and enjoy our company and not be rushed. The restaurant was clean but could use a little refreshing on the decor. We'll be back but hope it won't be a rushed experience next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We chose Mitchell's based on previous vi ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We chose Mitchell's based on previous visits that had all been very positive. However, the quality of the food served at this particular restaurant has declined tremendously. There appears to be little, if any skill in the kitchen. For example, the seafood gumbo could have been good, but someone added diced onions at the last minute and we ended up with a crunchy, onion flavored, and inedible mess. The fish and crab that we tried had a strong fishy taste and the texture and appearance of the food made it look suspiciously like it had been prepared off site. This restaurant needs a complete overhaul before a return visit will be considered

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

My friends and I enjoyed the food. It w ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 23, 2016

My friends and I enjoyed the food. It was really tasty. There were a few big parties in there but we still received very good service.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent service. Food is always good. ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Excellent service. Food is always good. Had the Salmon on a plank. It was good but has been better in the past. Glad they added it back to the menu as it is my favorite. Would have been better but Salmon was slightly dry and would have liked more balsamic glaze. The Crab Legs were awesome! Great menu if you are on a gluten free diet. Never have had a contamination on my visits.

Tags: Healthy, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Atmosphere and service were both very go ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Atmosphere and service were both very good. Food was disappointing and overpriced for what we received. Some pieces of the fish and chips were "fishy" tasting. Overall it was okay but I expected much better and was disappointed. I do not plan on returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Excellent service, good food with fresh ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Excellent service, good food with fresh ingredients. Great for seafood.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I had pretty what I thought was a curren ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 8, 2016

I had pretty what I thought was a current menu on line and got toners taurine and everything about 5 dollars higher

Need to be aware of this

The fried fish platter was just average but crab legs awesome as last time!

All in all a great dinner and service !

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Its a ok resturant not going back. Wait ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Its a ok resturant not going back. Wait time getting the main course was 45 min. Not to much to select from menu. Was not satisfied.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Wish I had something nice to say about o ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Wish I had something nice to say about our meals (4). Unfortunately, they were just ok.

The restaurant seems tired and smells moldy. I noticed the odor while walking to the bathroom. In the bathroom, the odor was even stronger. If we had not been with 2 guests, I would have found the manager to complain. We will not be returning:(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Great seafood - attentive staff - enjoya ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great seafood - attentive staff - enjoyable bar. This was a birthday celebration and everything was totally enjoyable. Thank you.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We first sat at the bar for an hour or s ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 29, 2016

We first sat at the bar for an hour or so waiting on our time slot for dinner. The bartenders were good, however, the bar is vey dated and didnt look as clean as I expected from a high-end resturant. We sat at our table. The table was a booth and it was clean. The server was great and knew the menu very well. My low marks are mainly the food. 3 of the 4 of us had the Frutti Del Mare and the 4th had some sort of shrimp alfredo. Its was all Just ok, the noodles they used were wrong in my opinion and the seasoning was way off. I expected a lot more from this type of place. Better food at Red Lobster or Olive Garden. Dinner for my daughters Birthday was not ruined, but no memorable either. Unless I have a coupon or something like that, we wont be back for a second shot.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Great dining atmosphere with several opt ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 25, 2016

Great dining atmosphere with several options if you have those in your party that have food allergies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.