About Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville

5205 Big Island Drive
Jacksonville, FL 32246
View Larger Map

We invite you to discover our fresh seafood obsession at Mitchell's Fish Market where the fish is off the boat fresh, the drinks are made with fresh-squeezed juice & the atmosphere is as warm and inviting as a day on the water. At Mitchell's Fish Market we are obsessed with fresh seafood. Our mantra is a commitment & passion for freshness as a way of life - a pledge that our fish is 100% fresh or it isn't good enough. With more than 80 items, the chef inspired menu includes items such as Cedar Roasted Atlantic Salmon & Shang Hai Sea Bass. Come experience what an obsession with freshness tastes like at Mitchell's Fish Market...fish any fresher would still be in the ocean! View of menus online at www.mitchellsfishmarket.com!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 645-3474

Website:
http://www.mitchellsfishmarket.com/

Catering:
We do accept large party reservations online, however anything over 12 will need to be reserved by calling the restaurant directly at
904-645-3474.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available during lunch & dinner service for $5. There is also public parking in the surrounding St. Johns Town Center parking lots.

Executive Chef:
Clifford Twiggs

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Steamed Alaskan King Crab Legs - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Roasted Asparagus - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Cheasapeak Blue Point Oysters On The Half Shell - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Salmon & Shrimp - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Lobster tails - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Crab Stuffed Grouper - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Bacon Wrapped Shrimp - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Crab & Artichoke Dip - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Chicken Breast - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
crusted salmon - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
watermelon elderflower martini - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Strawberry Martini - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
LandShark Lager - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Captain Morgan & Diet Coke - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Crostini - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Lobster Roll Blt - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Sea bass - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Butternut Squash Tortellaci (Pasta) - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Sam Adams Beer Battered Seafood - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Fish Market Trio - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Sharkfin Pie - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
The Big Fish Sandwich - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Lobster And Shrimp Stuffed Cod - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Strawberry Margarita - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Shanghai Seafood Sampler - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Crab, Spinach, And Artichoke Dip - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Pinefinn Martini - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Pecan Crusted Trout - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Lobster Bisque - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
crabcake - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Seafood Americana - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Spinach Salad - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Surf And Turf - Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

We will be open 11am to 10pm serving Chef's Valentine's Day Specials and our main menu.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 4:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Mitchell's Fish Market private rooms are available for any occasion! Work one-on-one with your Private Event Manager to create a truly customized affair. To host your event in one of our private dining rooms, contact us today!

Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (18)
Special Occasion (17)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
See All
Good for Groups (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Casual (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Cozy (8)
Business Meals (8)
Romantic (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Authentic (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Seasonal (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Family Style (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Healthy (3)
Fun (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Live Sports (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Private Room (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Scenic View (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1769 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was delicious. We had the crab ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

The food was delicious. We had the crab artichoke appe

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Was having a

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Was having a

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for early New Year's Eve dinner .. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Went for early New Year's Eve dinner .. We're promptly seated.. Waitress was extremely friends and made good recommendations. Dinner was fantastic!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Even thought it was New Year's Eve, the ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Even thought it was New Year's Eve, the music was way to loud - had difficulty hearing the server let alone the people sitting at the table.

Overall the experience was very good but the music added a challenge to say the least.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We made a reservation for 830pm on Chris ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We made a reservation for 830pm on Christmas Day, we had to wait an extra 25 minutes to be seated which was not a big deal. As we were being seated they gave our table away to a group that was already seated but wanted our table location. They sat the 3 of us at a 8 person round table near the kitchen which was a terrible location. The service was sufficient for the time frame. Poor seating and they shouldn't have given our table to some cranky customer after we had to wait after our reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

My husband and I booked this restaurant ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 26, 2016

My husband and I booked this restaurant every year for Christmas. I suggest you avoid this place during the holidays. They are unable to handle the over load of people. I heard a waitress telling her table that the restaurant was backed up since noon. We made reservations for 7:30 and didn't get seated till 8:15. Very disappointed, we won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value4

To the point. Made reservations, and wai ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 26, 2016

To the point. Made reservations, and waited 45 minutes to be seated. Waited an hour and 15 minutes for our food. Cod stuffed with lobster and crab was luke warm. My wife's salmon on a plank was also luke warm, but was over cooked. I didn't complain, because I was hungry and didn't want to wait any longer. Expensive, and no offer of comping anything. Plenty of apologies from the waiter. Didn't complain because I just was not in that mode. The waiter knew just the same. Don't waist your time and money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

It took more than 1 hour to get our food ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 25, 2016

It took more than 1 hour to get our food and when we did everyone's mashed potatoes were cold. No effort was made to accommodate the ridiculously long wait - no additional bread, no complimentary appetizer, just repeated excuses of "the kitchen is busy and running behind". Granted, it was Christmas, but that's no excuse for being inadequately staffed to properly accommodate the reservations they accepted in advance. All in all, poor service, small portions, and overpriced (and cold) food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

The food.,as always was very good. Great ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The food.,as always was very good. Great service from our waitress. She apologized repeatedly for our wait for the food. This was Christmas day and it was very busy. There were 4 open tables in the lounge area and we were not asked if we wanted to sit there. I had to ask. Another couple asked as well and they were initially told they couldn't sit there. Another couple at the bar were not seated until an hour after their reservation! Bottom line is they over booked and seated walk ins at the expense of those of us who made reservations.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Christmas dinner, family in town so we " ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas dinner, family in town so we "splurged" on Mitchell's. spent $300 for a meal that was basically something i could have made at home. not impressed at all, and i'm not a very picky person. small portions, not creatively cooked or plated, and i'm pretty sure the "mini muffin" bread pudding was microwaved. even cheesecake factory blows this place away all day long. if it wasn't so freakishly overpriced, i never would even consider leaving such a review, but i dine out often, at least 3-4 times per week, and this is the biggest rip-off i've ever experienced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Our experience at Mitchell's was dreadfu ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Our experience at Mitchell's was dreadful.

Even though we had a reserve, we waited for more than a half hour for our table. Of course it was Christmas, but if we make the effort to make a reserve, they should try there best to honor it. Plus it was an early time period.

We had a drink at the bar, which might have been fine -- but they put a charge receipt in front of for payment, before we even got our drinks. That is just a sorry situation.

After almost a 1/2 hour - we were seated, placed our order with a wait staff - Samantha, and then never saw her again. The bread we were promised was never delivered. No one came to check on drinks. My soup arrived, hot and tasty.....and then Samantha miraculously appeared asking why we didnt have our dinner yet - as if we should know.

She returned moments later with our dishes, which had been languishing under lamps in the kitchen. They were cold, tasteless and needless to say we called the manager.

He came, whisked away our plates and promised we would have replacements in a few minutes.

We did, however you could tell that no care was taken to make sure they were well plated, and hot.

We ate quickly, paid the bill and departed. Oh by the way....never to return.

There were tons of people waiting for tables when we left, and we felt like advising them to go elsewhere - albeit Christmas Day so where could they go.

Maybe restaurants like Mitchells should just close for the holiday as many others to. With there price point, customers expect better food and better service -- even if it is a holiday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Great idea for Christmas dinner! Super b ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great idea for Christmas dinner! Super busy so that may have affected our 40min wait even though we had a reservation. Service was a 4 out of 5 - great at times but not the whole time. Again, this could have been in part to the business of the restaurant, but, something they can work on improving. The food was quite good and portions were not huge. Would recommend this restaurant!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Came here because nothing else was open ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Came here because nothing else was open on Christmas day. Food was nothing special and pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Excellent Food, Outstanding Service! I ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Excellent Food, Outstanding Service! I took 12 friends there for Christmas dinner. This has become a tradition over the past 3 years, and we have never been disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the second time my family and I ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 25, 2016

This is the second time my family and I enjoyed Christmas dinner at Mitchell's Fish Market and we are never disappointed. The service is great and the food is awesome. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to family and friends!

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Arrived at 5:45 on Christmas Eve to have ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Arrived at 5:45 on Christmas Eve to have a few drinks in the bar before dinner reservations at 6:30. We were acknowledged and told our waiter would be right over. Sat at a high top and after 10 minutes, went to the bar for our first round of drinks. The place was empty so we should have been served immediately. The six of us enjoyed our dinner with few exceptions. The calamari appetizer wasn't that good and the crime brûlée sugar topping was cold so I did not completely enjoy the dessert.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We took my 90 year old Mother out for di ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We took my 90 year old Mother out for dinner. From the moment we arrived, the personnel were very friendly and accommodating. The food was excellent and the service was outstanding. The restaurant itself was very clean with a very comfortable atmosphere. I intend to return and will recommend Mitchells to my family and friends. Thank you for a pleasant Christmas Eve dinner.

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Romantic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for lunch - waitress was attenti ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We went for lunch - waitress was attentive and prompt and just the right degree of friendly.

I had the best blackened cod I have had in years. My vegetables came exactly as I had ordered, and they were very fresh. My husband had the fish and chips and there again, it was all fresh and prepared perfectly.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great seafood and ambiance, but the food ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Great seafood and ambiance, but the food was way too salty. The chef should be counseled. We eat out a lot so we know most places use lots of salt but this was over the top. Service was great and so were the drinks. We had the lobster bisque soup and shrimp cocktail apps and my wife had twin lobster tails. I had the sea bass special. Again, too much salt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

The service was a bit off on this visit. ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The service was a bit off on this visit. We had a large party (14) and one server. She seemed to on top of that have a lot of tables already. The appetizers were pretty expensive for the platter we got. The music was also so loud that we could barely all order and the server agreed she just couldnt hear anything. It took a long time to get desserts and the check. Not a great experience. They have recently redone the menu and mehhhh, it didnt excite us like it used to so I am not sure we will rush back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Good consistent dining experience!!!!!!! ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Good consistent dining experience!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The shrimp and cole slaw were not good. ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 7, 2016

The shrimp and cole slaw were not good. The tiliapia had no flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

I can sum it up in two words; absolutely ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 2, 2016

I can sum it up in two words; absolutely excellent! Our waiter was great, food was absolutely delicious and we will return!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Jacksonville Marriott, via Deana, re ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 30, 2016

The Jacksonville Marriott, via Deana, recommended the establishment. I asked for better than normal seafood. The seared ahi tuna app was a decent cut with suitable accoutrement. I asked for red pepper flakes as the hottest sauce they had was Tabasco. The blackened trout was oily but good on flavor and still light. The spinach was expertly wilted. The asparagus was light on portion but not bad. Wine list is severely lacking. Wini at the bar was cordial and helpful. The strawberry sorbet looks and textures like ice cream. I'd go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I know this is a fish restaurant but the ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 25, 2016

I know this is a fish restaurant but the steaks are phenomenal! My husband and I had the steaks and our daughters had crab legs- which were perfect. Such a great night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The music was too loud. Background music ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The music was too loud. Background music should be instrumental only. This is not a night club. I could not hear my client. I will have to consider other options in the area when I have business dinners. Too bad. The service from our waiter, Kyle was outstanding and the food was above average. Fix the noise level and you will have a grateful guest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

They made our anniversary a very special ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 15, 2016

They made our anniversary a very special night! Excellent food, drinks and friendly staff

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Business Meals, Healthy, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very great Seafood! Some of the best and ...

vip
·Dined on November 14, 2016

Very great Seafood! Some of the best and freshest I've had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was our wedding anniversary. The food ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 5, 2016

It was our wedding anniversary. The food is a little costly, but very tasty. I will definitely go back.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Live Sports, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a wonderful oat Mitchell's. The f ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We had a wonderful oat Mitchell's. The food was great, the atmosphere lovely and the service was excellent. I think anyone who likes seafood would love it.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I toke my wife there for a nice quiet se ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I toke my wife there for a nice quiet seafood dinner server was on point fast and always cleared used plates food was very tasty will go back great menu !

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Seafood was rated good to great by our g ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Seafood was rated good to great by our group of six. Salads above average. Would visit again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was very disappointing. Service ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The food was very disappointing. Service was mediocre. I am sorry we selected this restaurant with all the other choices at St Johns town center. We thought we would try something new for our annual UF UGA weekend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The dining experience was excellent . Fo ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The dining experience was excellent . Food,service and atmosphere were GREAT !!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating both a birthday and ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We were celebrating both a birthday and wedding anniversary the evening we were there. All four family members enjoyed their dinners very much. Only one of us required a "to go box", the rest of us cleaned our plates!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The mussels weren't impressive at all bu ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The mussels weren't impressive at all but the sea bass was fantastic. The bar booth was a quiet and a cozy atmosphere for my husband and I just looking for a nice evening out.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was prompt. Food arriv ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Food and service was prompt. Food arrived cold and was over priced for what we ordered. I I ordered the special and failed to ask the price. Oh my. $48 and it definitely was not worth the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

We had Joan as our server. She was amazi ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We had Joan as our server. She was amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Come for the shrimp cocktail, stay for t ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Come for the shrimp cocktail, stay for the filet mignon! Terrific gluten free menu, knowledgeable staff, prices are fair for the type of restaurant food is amazing!

I would have liked the server to be more attentive, never saw a manager on the floor--maybe because of where we were seated? But also, we had no issues.

Overall it's good food, good ambiance.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I had the Shanghai sea bass. It was good ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 14, 2016

I had the Shanghai sea bass. It was good, the house salad was good. I would recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.