Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi

About Mistral Restaurant & Bar - Redwood City

Mistral’s California cuisine is very Mediterranean-influenced, and focuses on serving the best local ingredients available. Chef Tim Fabatz serves up an immensely popular daily fresh fish special and has excellent seafood and shellfish offerings on the seasonally current regular menu. Mistral is committed to being responsible to the environment and to the people around us; therefore our seafood is from sustainable sources, our beef is hormone-free Certified Angus, naturally-raised pork, lamb and chicken are of the best quality available, organic produce is used wherever possible, and no trans fats are used in any recipe preparations. Mistral is a destination restaurant for anniversaries & birthdays, and has an off-the-beaten-path ambiance with year-‘round patio dining and water views, an outdoor fireplace, and plenty of outside heaters. Two private rooms and the covered patio are available for private dining, business dinners, banquets, cocktail parties, weddings, and special events.

370 Bridge Parkway
Suite 6
Redwood City, CA 94065
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm and mid-day menu available 2:30pm - 5:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 802-9222

Website:
http://www.mistraldining.com/

Parking Details:
There is free parking in front of the building.

Executive Chef:
Tim Fabatz

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Mistral Restaurant & Bar - Redwood City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Business Meals (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Waterfront (21)
See All
Good for a Date (18)
Scenic View (15)
Great for Lunch (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Special Occasion (12)
Casual (12)
Cozy (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Romantic (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Fireplace (7)
Healthy (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Wood Oven (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Private Room (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Fun (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Authentic (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Live Sports (2)
Seasonal (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Family Style (1)
People Watching (1)
Spicy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Organic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great Beer (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
428 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Casual elegance (not pretentious) and great food make Mistral an excellent choice for a friends get together or a business lunch. Covered patio provides wonderful views across the lagoon and can be warmed if the evenings turn chilly.

Well cooked food, using frresh ingredients and a seasonal menu provide plenty of options for customers. A brick pizza oven delivers delicious pizza on a perfect thin crust.

Extensive wine list ( for all budgets), superb cocktails and a good selection of beers compliment the food and add.a dash of panache! Nice bar area too, handy for pre-dinner drinks or a happy hour social.

A little gem hidden away in Redwood Shores but well worth seeking out for a casual yet elegant dining experience. Oh ... and if the original art work adorning the walls catches your eye - it's available for purchase

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

we had visited for mother's day brunch. staff was very attentive and helpful. even on such a busy day, we were not rushed. we ordered a hamburger, vegetarian egg benedict and louis salad. each plate was presented well, cooked to order and was delicious. i can hardly wait for my next visit.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual, Kid-friendly, Waterfront, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 9, 2017

This is the second time I have been and the second time our server forgot about us, took forever to order. He never returned regarding drinks, gave us a dessert menu and never returned. We had to ask another server, 10 minutes later, to get us our check. Really disappointing because the food is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Lousy food and slow service was much better years ago many better choiced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We come here several times a year, mainly because it's the closest decent restaurant to our home. It's a above average for a neighborhood place, and with dependably good food and service. They have a limited menu, and the prices are a bit on the high side, but we always find something that we like. Nice folks, good service, nice view of one of the canals in Redwood Shores. Recommended.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Food is consistently varied and good but not exquisite. Patio dining has great ambiance that feels like a European bistro. Staff is friendly though service is sometimes inconsistent. One time I had to fetch our own menus. That said, we return here from time to time because parking is easy, the view is great, and there is a wide choice of entrees. Generally a pleasant venue off the beaten path.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We have been to Mistral several times over the past few years. We always had a good experience. I particularly appreciated that the hostess honored my request for patio seating adjacent to the fireplace. Food was always good - a little pricey but worth in conjunction with the total dining experience

Tags: Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great food, served fast. The beverage serf ice was very slow - their loss.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Nice ambience. Good Food. Friendly Service. Scallops were very good. My lunch partner had the mahi mahi blackened tacos and she was pleased as well. It can get a little noisy, like most restaurants . Lunch or Dinner, date or business. Mistral is a good choice

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We used to love the menu, ambiance and has been a couple years since going. Love the outdoor patio however food was bland. Service was attentive, however in the area we live in with so many options, we wont be running back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Always a delight to dine in this establishment. The foods is always fresh and unctuous. And the view is stunning on a sunny day.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great server Joshe

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Mistral is pretty much a classic in Redwood Shores. Great location and great food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Been here many times and food always good. Our server seemed to have disappeared for awhile and had to wait to get table cleared and dessert menu. Noticed the menu has been cut down. No shrimp sandwich or paella for lunch or dinner.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Good for a Date, Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Reliably good and interesting lunch choices. Patio on the water is a great spot when the weather is nice. Can be a bit noisy, best to ask for a quiet table for business meetings.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 5, 2017

We sat on the deck on a gloomy day. Our table did not have a water view, but was fine. The kitchen seemed overworked and the meal took some time to make its way to us, but the server remained attentive to our needs and it was not a hardship to linger at the table because we were not in a rush. Had we been pressed for time the delay would have been unacceptable.

All our meals arrived exactly as ordered. Our favorite rose wine had been discontinued, although it still appeared on the menu, which was disappointing.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Unfortunately they are going downhill. Poor/slow service, and super small portions make this Resturant a poor value for the money. I will say that the Food was good, but I left hungry after spending close to $40 for a entrée. Other restaurants in the area are a much better choice and value. It's a shame as I used to love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Overall bad experience...a very off night. We've been several times before and this was our worst experience. First, we were seated in an area were the servers overlapped and were ignored for about 10 minutes until we flagged down a waiter. During the meal, we had two different waiters and the service was poor from both of them. I ordered my steak medium rare and it was served well done. I sent my meal back, and my wife's scallops got cold while we waited for my steak to be recooked. While the staff and manager did apologize, it felt insincere. We have had much better experiences in the past, but on this occasion; I was very disappointed.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Mistral is a great restaurant. The food is very good. Great new options, i.e. seafood tacos and great favorites, i.e. marinated skirt steak. Ambiance is very good whether you're sitting inside or outside. Love the fireplace and waterfalls. Really like the changing artwork. Oh, excellent cocktails!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Molecular Gastronomy, Spicy, Modern Decor, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Delicious food. Great wine by the glass options. Servers very friendly

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Excellent ambiance, great service. Food selection for vegetarians is extremely limited - and did not have all the items listed on the menu listed on the website and on OpenTable. We had let the restaurant know 1 day in advance that my wife and I were going to be there for a special anniversary dinner AND that we are vegetarians.

The restaurant had set aside a special table for us next to the fireplace. We enjoyed our drinks and appetizer and desert. The middle course / entree were ok since there was just one pasta that was offered.

Nice spot with good ambiance but certainly not vegetarian friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 7, 2017

The food was not as good as when I had gone before. I had the Ahi and the vegetables seemed old and the fish wasn't warm. The salad had brown ends on the lettuce.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Had a reservation but it wasn't needed on a Monday night. There was plenty of seating. The waiter was very attentive and the food selection was very good. I had a ceasar salad with anchovies and the filet mignon with potatoes au-gratin. This was accompanies by a glass of Flowers Sonoma Valley Pinot. Everything was excellent, including the bread and olive oil and vinagrette dip. It was easy to have a conversation since the noise level was low.

My dinner guest had the Salmon on a rather large bed of greens. He also said the food was excellent.

Another thing to note was that parking was really easy just outside the restaurant. Overall a great experience and I would go back again.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Absolutely splendid meal. I had the blackened fish on a bed of basmatic rice and steamed vegetables. Some restaurants blacken their fish and it makes it salty. This dish was well balanced. It was a special so not sure how often it is served but my guests enjoyed their skirt steak and salmon dish. Will definitely go there again for dinner. The other really nice thing is you can have a discussion with tour guests without screaming at each other.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Casual, Disabled Access, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Quite ambiance, nice neighborhood joint, family oriented.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 16, 2017

This was a great find in the midst of corporate buildings. Gratefully we had time for a relaxing lunch and made the most of the peaceful atmosphere, good food, and lovely views. The restaurant is very popular and so became very busy. Our waiter was slower than we liked and we constantly had to find him to ask for assistance (fork for the salad, refills on drinks etc). But again - the place was BUSY.
Definitely will return - when we are not in a hurry. Too good a place to rush through anyway.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Everything went well on Valentines.
However, one of our party left his wallet at the table. Once home he realized it and called.
Mistrals guarded it at "Lost and Found. " It was returned that night.
All is well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Table service on a Monday night was so slow. We were never offered bread, but all the other tables had delicious looking bread and olive oil. We sat for a really long time with dirty dinner plates in front of us. Noone refilled our water. Overall, poor service.

Tags: Fireplace, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Mistral has been our goto restaurant since forever! Especially for Anniversaries and Valentines. We had a great meal this past week. Our son even commented on how Mistral has been able to keep up their cooking over the years/

Great job, keep it up!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Excellent all the way around! Food was amazing, service was amazing

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

My family was gathering for dinner before a show. They seated us immediately, and we're friendly and fast to get us drinks and starters.

I have several food allergies, but I was able to easily find options and they were happy to make adjustments, even for dessert. Everything was delicious and the whole family commented how good the food was.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 12, 2017

This place seems to be getting busier! The waiter said they are busy in the evening during the week and less so on weekends.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 10, 2017

We frequent Mistral for special occasions and casual lunches. Food is always good, though a bit pricey. Mistral is often crowded with large groups & business diners, but we had a quiet dinner this week. As always, service was excellent with hostess and server recognizing our special occasion. We'll be back!

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Our local place and do like it but has become very expensive for what you receive in return.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Fantastic, festive outdoor dining (with a fireplace and heaters); service was extremely friendly, accommodating and pleasant from the hostess to the bartenders and our servers; food (sea bass over lemon potatoes) was delicious, although I found a few of our appetizers to be just average. Lovely atmosphere for a night out with the girls!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The location, food and service were fantastic! We ran 30 minutes late and they were very flexible with us. Beautiful location and excellent seafood selections.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 20, 2016

I always enjoy the food at Mistral. Unfortunately this time the waiter forgot about us. He brought water when I was seated but didn't check back in when my companion arrived to take a drink order or food order. We waited for half an hour, before I stopped him to ask for service. This was a business lunch on a weekday, so we didn't have time for a leisurely pace. I will say that when I made my concern known, he hurried the chef to have our food prepared quickly. So, I appreciated that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Took business associates to holiday dinner; requested to sit by fireplace. Upon arrival, it was evident a holiday party was in the room with fireplace. I can totally understand, I would want the space for company party too; but, host didn't even recognize or acknowledge that I had made the request. This is another restaurant where you have to settle the bar tab; and can't have amount carried over to your table. This can be annoying and inconvenient. Food was very good, as is usual. This place does not have a notable wine list, so don't come prepared to have a wide choice. Service was not as good this evening. I believe our server was also working the party; so checking up on our table was a bit infrequent. I will still return to Mistral; even they have not so great nights too.

Tags: Fireplace, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 19, 2016

the service was very slow and no one came back to check on us or update us on the timing. I have been to this restaurant before and did not have this problem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 15, 2016

I have been to Mistral many times but this time it was really not up to par. The calamari was not fresh, tasted like old fish and tough. The potatoe leek soup was cold and extremely thick, like oatmeal. Was not great. Good overall arrived warm, not hot but it was very busy. Overall quality has gone downhill in my opinion.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.