About Mistral - Boston

223 Columbus Ave.
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

The design of Mistral is both elegant and casual, resonating with the ambiance of Provence as arched floor to ceiling windows drench the room with light.
Mistral’s dramatic dining room serves dinner nightly and Sunday Brunch. In our bar and comfortable lounge area we also offer craft cocktails and fine wines to compliment Chef Mammano’s menu.
Mistral’s private dining room, Le Salon du Mistral, accommodates 60 seated and up to 80 guests for a reception.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dining Room:
Sunday: 10:30am-2:00pm & 5:30pm-9:30pm
Monday-Thursday: 5:30pm-10:00pm
Friday-Saturday: 5:30pm-11:00pm (Late Night Menu 11:00pm-11:30pm)
Bar/Lounge:
Sunday: 10:30am-2:00pm & 5:00pm-10:30pm
Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm-11:00pm
Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm-12:00am

Cross Street:
between Berkeley & Clarendon

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 867-9300

Website:
http://www.mistralbistro.com/

Executive Chef:
Jamie Mammano

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Le Salon du Mistral, Mistral's private dining room, provides a sophisticated setting for intimate gatherings of sixty seated and up to eighty for a reception. With award-winning French Mediterranean cuisine from Chef Jamie Mammano and unparalleled, professional service, Mistral provides the ultimate private dining experience.

Mistral - Boston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

French
Boston / New England
Best Food
Boston
French
Boston
Best Restaurants in Back Bay ›

special occasion (161)
fit for foodies (150)
romantic (118)
See All
notable wine list (81)
hot spot (45)
good for groups (44)
neighborhood gem (44)
great for brunch (36)
vibrant bar scene (32)
late-night find (18)
great for lunch (8)
great for outdoor dining (5)
scenic view (3)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2877 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The halibut with lobster risotto was out ...

Dined 4 days ago

The halibut with lobster risotto was out of this world. Going back as soon as possible. :)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Best restaurant I've ever visited. Worke ...

Dined 5 days ago

Best restaurant I've ever visited. Workers were awesome and the food was magnificent. Brought my boyfriend here for his birthday and it was the best choice I've ever made. We were blown away by the food and they even wrote happy birthday on our dessert plate for him. They have won me over. Will most definitely be returning.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

A solid choice

Dined 5 days ago

Everything was excellent here, especially the food and the professional but not stuffy or overbearing service. The only negative was the noise. It's not the loudest I've ever been, but if it were just a bit quieter the experience would be so much better.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

It was amazing as usual... We went to Mi ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

It was amazing as usual... We went to Mistral for my birthday dinner...a REAL treat...

food4
ambience5
service5

I loved the decoration and general desig ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

I loved the decoration and general design of the restaurant. Menu was balanced with both fish and meat options. I had the asparagus bisque as an appetizer and the pasta as an entree. Both were highlighted with elementa of freshness and clear signs of flavors. Dessert menu was also rich. I had the 3 flavor sorbet. Very fruitty and refreshing. Overall great experience!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience all around for my a ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Excellent experience all around for my anniversary. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb food and superb service !!!

Dined on May 13, 2016

Superb food and superb service !!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent wine list and seafood. Wait s ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Excellent wine list and seafood. Wait staff was attentive and excellent.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The waitstaff was professional but very ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The waitstaff was professional but very engaging and friendly and the drinks and food were spectacular.

food5
ambience5
service5

Mistral has consistently provided attent ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Mistral has consistently provided attentive service and offers a creative menu. The arugula salad was deliciously unique and the halibut with lobster risotto was superb. My favorite restaurant!

food5
ambience5
service5

We had mushroom carpaccio to start and i ...

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

We had mushroom carpaccio to start and it's one of the best dishes I've ever had. Lamb chops were cooked perfectly medium rare and the fresh spring vegetable salad was a perfect accompaniment. Service was attentive yet unobtrusive. Highly recommend.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food

Dined on May 7, 2016

My friend and I had an early reservation so we enjoyed a cocktail and a delicious assortment of cheese in the bar before going to our table. I was very disappointed with where they initially tried to seat us and relieved to get a more comfortable table when we asked. Be sure to be specific about the type of seating you prefer when you book your table or prepare to be disappointed. My friend ordered lamb shank and I had rack of lamb. The food and service were exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Lobster risotto and strawberry rhubarb t ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Lobster risotto and strawberry rhubarb tart were memorable!

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Just good food

Dined on May 4, 2016

We dined at 8pm and there were quite a few business folk on other tables. It was noisy as its all tiles. The food was pretty good. The desserts were a bit "meh". I would say if you want some basic fare that tastes good then go.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steve

Dined on May 1, 2016

Superb restaurant! Food was presented beautifully on the plate and tasted great. Service was excellent. Nice cocktail selection. I would return here if I'm in Boston again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Always On Point

Dined on May 1, 2016

Mistral is my husband's and my go-to restaurant for any special occasion or if we just feel like treating ourselves. We never have anything to complain about; however, the waiter we had for brunch this last time left something to be desired. Zero personality/gave off the vibe like he'd rather be anywhere else and we were inconveniencing him. Thankfully the food and company made up for it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't miss Mistral

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Mistral is a restaurant I make sure I go to every time I'm in Boston. Great food, wine, staff, ambiance. I've never been disappointed.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food3
ambience2
service5

Like sitting on a runway. Time for some ...

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

Like sitting on a runway. Time for some acoustical engineering folks. Deafness has never been in style

food3
ambience4
service1
value4

Disappointing Service

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Waited 16 minutes (I timed it) before anyone approached to asked if I would like something to drink. My entree was brought out alone (without my friend's) before the appetizer. When the server realized what happened - he removed my entree and brought out the appetizer. When it was time for both entrees - they brought out the same entree they delivered earlier. It was obviously sitting under a heat lamp for 20 minutes because it was as hard as a brick. Very disappointing.

food5
ambience5
service5

Mistral never disappoints. The food, th ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Mistral never disappoints. The food, the service, the ambiance is fantastic. Great date place.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasure

Dined on April 22, 2016

Mistral is our favorite place to dine in Boston for wonderful cocktails, food and wine, service and ambience. Andre and Carlos took great care of us. PS: My lamb was "to die for." :)!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

My son and I celebrated the end of his c ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

My son and I celebrated the end of his college semester here and an amazing dinner! Love the ambiance and we both loved our meals! The restaurant even has a driver hi will come pick you up at your hotel, which was so convenient . This is my new favorite in Boston!

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and wine list. Excellent ...

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

Excellent food and wine list. Excellent service. Overall exceptional and a must visit for all French Foodies. Amazing after dinner service where we learned of the private driver that will pick you up and drop you off. Nunzio was a great guy and driver.

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was outstanding!

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

Everything was outstanding!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A place to enjoy for sure

Dined on April 17, 2016

I stumbled upon this non pretentious but elegant gem when invited to brunch with a friend. I really enjoyed myself the first time I went and this time I visited for dinner. As usual they did not disappoint food expertly cooked and wonderful service. I also have to give a major shout out to the valet on duty he was awesome . He helped me and my friend struggling to take selfies for Instagram without hesitation. Overall the dining experience was great, I felt welcomed , the food was great, the ambiance was classy, and the staff where very kind.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Delicious Food-- Service was surprising.

Dined on April 17, 2016

Our food was absolutely delicious! Those strawberry doughnuts changed my life, highly recommended! I had the duck hash, which was amazing, but my friend seemed to order the best with the Challa French Toast! Definitely Yummie! The only negative was the service. I have dined here for dinner and had amazing service, but this brunch experience was definitely a miss-step. While the server was very friendly, her time allocation seemed off. We waited a long time for the full wine list/to place our drink order, and then when the bubbles got delivered, it was so far away from our table we were unable to fill up our glasses when people ran out, so people sat without bubbly for a while. When we asked the back waiter to pour it for us, he stated he would have to speak to the server to make sure it was ours, which again took more time. They give you this great muffin to start with, which is really nice; but once they brought out our doughnuts and cinnamon buns, they never brought share plates. We had to ask for these to be delivered, which again took more time. Overall, it was a delicious brunch, but just surprised at the service issues we experienced... Especially with so much staff being around.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Brunch

Dined on April 17, 2016

Great Brunch, Mistral caters to both the traditional crowd and the less traditional food seekers. My wife had lemon poppy seed pancakes, she is less adventurous, but loves pancakes, and she loved the pancakes. This in itself is a major endorsement. I had the duck confit hash, it was a brilliant take on traditional corn beef hash. The serving sizes are larger than one would expect from an upscale dinning experience. I would highly recommend brunch at mistral.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

They had me at Hello From the minute you walk in tbe door you fall in love with this restaurant. Food is to die for incredible service. Will keep going back.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Didn't disappoint for our anniversary

Dined on April 15, 2016

The Halibut and Filet were both great, and the service was kind too! Very nice spot and I'd recommend sneaking in late at night to see if you can grab a spot at the bar.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A 10 PLUS

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

This Is the first time I have ever given 5 stars all the way through. Food and wine are my passion and this restaurant, the menu, the service, food and attention to detail are unsurpassed - anywhere! We are going back for the second time this week! Truly fantastic

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch to die for

Dined on April 10, 2016

Mistral is our favorite go to place for that slightly more special Brunch and very special dinner! The room is beautiful, the staff is always great and the food is amazing! Brunch is a great value for your bucks! Dinner can be decadent and pricy but a great Salad, a Flatbread to share and a glass of wine is possible too! A total scene on the weekends so make a rezee!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for Brunch!

Dined on April 10, 2016

I was visiting Boston from NYC and someone recommended I check-out Mistral. I was very impressed. When dining I always look for creativity of the menu and of course quality of the ingredients. Their menu was a little different than your typical brunch menu and the portions were outrageous! I also loved the presentation of the dishes but I would recommend sharing, for my party of 2 we ordered 2 appetizers and shared the jumbo lump crab omelet. We were barely able to finish, it was a lot of food so keep that in mind when ordering. Overall A++++. It's a very good restaurant and I would definitely recommend it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Brunch Date with the Girls

Dined on April 10, 2016

I've never been disappointed going to Mistral, we went recently for a brunch date to celebrate our friend turning 30. The service was attentive but not hovering and the food was fantastic. Prices are pretty reasonable too. Would definitely come back here again.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can't wait to go back

Dined on April 9, 2016

I can't remember the last time I had such exemplary service. Everything was fabulous, start to finish, but the cheese plate was phenomenal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just Perfect

Dined on April 5, 2016

My wife and I were visiting from NYC and were looking for a great French restaurant. Mistral was absolutely perfect. This is one of the best French restaurants anywhere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

My salmon was excellent. Best I've ever ...

Dined on April 5, 2016

My salmon was excellent. Best I've ever had!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great family birthday celebration.

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Started with great cocktails at the bar while waiting for our group to gather. Everything from that moment until we left was wonderful. Food was delicious, service impeccable, and wines by the glass were plentiful, although pricey.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Come prepared to be pampered...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Terrific food delivered seamlessly. Wonderful menu with plenty of choices that did not disappoint.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Always the best!

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Always the best!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious and creative appetizers

Dined on April 1, 2016

I went with a group of friends who are from Spain and we shared a large number of appetizers and sides, tapas style. The Foie gras / confit en brioche was great and carpaccio the best I have ever eaten.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.