About Mistral - Boston

223 Columbus Ave.
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

The design of Mistral is both elegant and casual, resonating with the ambiance of Provence as arched floor to ceiling windows drench the room with light.
Mistral’s dramatic dining room serves dinner nightly and Sunday Brunch. In our bar and comfortable lounge area we also offer craft cocktails and fine wines to compliment Chef Mammano’s menu.
Mistral’s private dining room, Le Salon du Mistral, accommodates 60 seated and up to 80 guests for a reception.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dining Room:
Sunday: 10:30am-2:00pm & 5:30pm-9:30pm
Monday-Thursday: 5:30pm-10:00pm
Friday-Saturday: 5:30pm-11:00pm (Late Night Menu 11:00pm-11:30pm)
Bar/Lounge:
Sunday: 10:30am-2:00pm & 5:00pm-10:30pm
Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm-11:00pm
Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm-12:00am

Cross Street:
between Berkeley & Clarendon

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 867-9300

Website:
http://www.mistralbistro.com/

Executive Chef:
Jamie Mammano

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Grilled Beef Tenderloin, Bordelaise Sauce, Asparagus & Horseradish Whipped Potato.
Lamb Chops
Warm Cinnamon Buns
Dulce De Leche Ice Cream With Cocoa Nibs
Duck
Entree
Pan Roasted Chicken Breast
Spring Pea Soup
Pommes lyonnaise, roasted potatoes, onions (breakfast, brunch, side dishe)
Egg whites, oven-cured tomato, Vermont Creamery goat cheese, basil frittata
Truffled Deviled Eggs
Coffee cake served with apple butter and butter (breakfast, brunch)
Sirloin Carpaccio
Halibut With Shrimp Risotto
Dessert Plate
Goat Cheese And Caramelized Apple Salad
Duck Confit
Greek-style yogurt panna cotta, pecan granola, native honey, apricots
Chilled Corn Soup
Vanilla Creme Brulee, Raspberry, Sugar Cookie
Hazelnut Milk Chocolate Pancakes
Jelly Donuts
Roast Rack Of Colorado Lamb
Grilled Pork Chop With Sweet Corn & Summer Peach Panzanella, Aged Sherry Vinaigrette
Chocolate Devils Food Cake With Pistachio Gelato & Penuche Glaze, Amarena Cherries
Seared Foie Gras with Confit of Duck in Brioche, Wisconsin Dried Cherry Gastrique
Lyonaise Potatoes
Bloody Mary
Grilled Tenderloin of Beef, Bordelaise Style, Olive Oil Roasted Asparagus & Horseradish Whipped Potato
Sushi Grade Tuna Tartare with Crispy Wontons, Ginger & Soy
Grilled Swordfish, Mediterranean Vegetable Salad, Torn Herbs, Vin Cotto & Extra Virgin Olive Oil
Tuna Tartare, Crispy Wontons, Ginger & Soy
Profiteroles, Vanilla Ice Cream, Dark Chocolate Sauce & Pistachio Croquant
Beef Tenderloin, Mashed Potato & Truffle Oil Pizza
Whole Roasted Mediterranean Sea Bass Special
Cod with Maine Lobster Black Truffles An Rissoto
Duck Confit With Roasted Vegetables
Duck Confit Hash With Eggs
Pancetta Linguini With Poached Duck Egg
Foie Gras Meatballs
Warm Strawberry Rhubarb Tart, Buttermilk Ice Cream
Scrambled Eggs
Breakfast Sausages
Caesar Salad
Tuna Tartare
crab ravioli with scallops and champagne cream sauce
Steamed Black Mussels with Smoked Tomato Mariniere, Grilled Semolina Toast
Braised Pork Shank, Polenta, Mitake Mushroom
Roasted Chicken With Butter Whipped Potatoes
Coffee Cake
Rosemary Frites
peach melba
Lamb Sausage, Piquillo Peppers, & Manchego Thin Crust Pizza
Chocolate Chip Pancakes, Banana Brûlée, Hazelnut Nutella, Crisp Plantain
Mozzarella and Tomato Pizza
Smoked Salmon Eggs Benedict
Deviled Eggs
Egg whites with goat cheese

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Le Salon du Mistral, Mistral's private dining room, provides a sophisticated setting for intimate gatherings of sixty seated and up to eighty for a reception. With award-winning French Mediterranean cuisine from Chef Jamie Mammano and unparalleled, professional service, Mistral provides the ultimate private dining experience.

Mistral - Boston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

French
Boston / New England
Best Overall
Boston
Best Food
Boston
2 More
Best Ambiance
Boston
French
Boston
Best Restaurants in Back Bay ›

special occasion (161)
fit for foodies (142)
romantic (108)
See All
notable wine list (81)
good for groups (61)
hot spot (53)
neighborhood gem (45)
great for brunch (40)
vibrant bar scene (32)
late-night find (17)
great for lunch (7)
kid-friendly (5)
great for outdoor dining (3)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
2950 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great service and amazing service.

 
 (New England)
·Dined 8 hours ago

Great service and amazing service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not a good experience. We've been here a ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 3 days ago

Not a good experience. We've been here a handful of times before and always had a good time. Not last night. Entrees took 45+ minutes and both the tenderloin and lamb were overcooked. Manager was very apologetic, too much so actually. Server didn't seem to care and was really inattentive throughout the night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Food exquisite. Service perfect. Attitud ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food exquisite. Service perfect. Attitude wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very enjoyable evening . Restaurant live ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Very enjoyable evening . Restaurant lives up to its expectations in all areas. Would enjoy another chance to dine there

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A lovely, elegant restaurant. Well trai ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

A lovely, elegant restaurant. Well trained staff - there when you need them, attentive, but not interrupting at awkward times. They accommodated my vegan daughter with ease and understanding. The dessert presentation for my daughter's 16th birthday was elegant and understated. We were very pleased with everything.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic food. Excellant service. The ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 7 days ago

Fantastic food. Excellant service. The ambiance is also quite good. Simply a wonderful place to eat

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

An excellent mean and service! We loved ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

An excellent mean and service! We loved the ambiance and would definitely return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of our favorite restaurants ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaurants in Boston. We have dined here several times and it never disappoints. It has a pleasant decor. The food, wine and service was all excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Mistral and their other restaura ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We love Mistral and their other restaurants, Sorellina and Ostra. Mistral is our number one favourite for fine dining - something we are fortunate enough to do quite often.

However, last Saturday night they were just a step below their usual 5 star level. The food was fine but not outstanding. My lamb chops, the best anywhere, came in a plate with a wonderful sauce, but just that, not even a piece of parsley - the vegetables separate - so, no visual appeal.

I can't really say it was the crowd because this restaurant is always full to capacity every evening and the service, presentation, and food have been outstanding time after time. We will continue to return and enjoy this fabulous restaurant. I'm sure it was just a one time thing. I recommend this wonderful restaurant to all.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Our first visit to Mistral. It was clea ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Our first visit to Mistral. It was clear what all the fuss has been about with respect to this restaurant. It was a truly special dining event.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was great from start to finis ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Everything was great from start to finish. WOnderful service from the minute I entered the door and was waiting for my husband to find parking. The valet is $21 so it was worth a look. Parking was easily found not very far away. I had salmon which was maybe the best I have ever had. Definitely worth the price which all things considered was not as pricey as one might think, of course it depends on what you order. Overall a wonderful evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was pricey and totally worth it. Se ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Food was pricey and totally worth it. Server, Edward, was unbelievably knowledgeable and kind. Fantastic experience all around. Girlfriend said the crab ravioli was the best app she has ever had. I might have to agree. We'll be back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A beautiful room and excellent service c ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

A beautiful room and excellent service complement the fine food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Thank you for a superb delicious momento ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Thank you for a superb delicious momentous dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From check in, dining, to the time you ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

From check in, dining, to the time you leave and the great valet outside, a kinder more friendly staff of people could not be better. Be back soon, and often.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The tuna tartare was outstanding.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The tuna tartare was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful, energetic, and delicious. A w ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Beautiful, energetic, and delicious. A wonderful place for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent, waiters very knowledgeable, v ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Excellent, waiters very knowledgeable, very upscale

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding. Highly recommend.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Outstanding. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our favorite restaurant in Boston. The ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in Boston. The food is delicious and there are unique dishes to choose from. Known for the truffle mashed potato pizza and their Dover Sole dishes. Yum!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Not worth a booking with too many incred ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Not worth a booking with too many incredible restaurants in town. I can't think of a positive comment I'm sorry to say. Tables were packed so tight together in a lack lustre atmosphere. if the food had been incredible it might have been worthwhile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

This is always our "go to" restaurant fo ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This is always our "go to" restaurant for special occasions. The atmosphere is lovely and the food is excellent. We enjoy it more than other "high end" restaurants in the City and they have maintained their quality over the many years we have been going there.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The entire Mistral experience was excell ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The entire Mistral experience was excellent. Each of the dishes we ordered were prepared beautifully and were delicious. The service is outstanding. Just a lovely evening.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Four friends visiting Boston and looking ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Four friends visiting Boston and looking for a nice evening out, we very much enjoyed Mistral.

The services was superb, our waiter was engaging and very accommodating .

His recommendation for the pizza with sweet corn which had just come into.season , was fabulous.

I'm not a pizza lover but this super thin crust, crispy and packed with flavour appetizer style pizza was very delicious.

I ordered the tuna tartare for an appetizer and it was so fresh and flavourful .

My main dish was the swordfish which was cooked to perfection , as was the blackberry peach cobbler with honey gelato.

I would definitely make a point to return next time I am in Boston

Every one of us very much enjoyed our meals all agree that we would recommend to anyone who loves food as much s we do.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great great great

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great great great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was phenomenal. Great wine list an ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was phenomenal. Great wine list and cocktails. Wonderful selection for dessert.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply amazing. One of the best meals in ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Simply amazing. One of the best meals in a long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

How the hell do you overcook duck confit ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

How the hell do you overcook duck confit? Enough said.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Nice restaurant, good service, good food ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Nice restaurant, good service, good food but nothing out of the extraordinary, just a good, nicely decorated place, where you can dine well, but not memorable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The cucumber and mint-based cocktail was ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The cucumber and mint-based cocktail was to die for! With high ceilings and a very open plan, the dining room is classy and bright, but not really intimate/romantic.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Mistral never fails for a great night ou ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Mistral never fails for a great night out. Celebrating an event or just a date night out.

The room is beautiful, the vibe is always happening and the wood lives up to the price.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here for our 2 year anniversary ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We went here for our 2 year anniversary and the food was great, the service was great and we both left very satisfied. Definitely started off a Romantic date night in the right direction.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were VERY excited to return to MISTRA ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

We were VERY excited to return to MISTRAL while visiting Boston. The evening began with wonderful service. After receiving our food, we couldn't locate our waitress to tell her the lamb was tough, she had forgotten the side of spinach, the pizza was black on the bottom, we were later finished and would like dirty plates removed, would like to see a dessert menu, and finally would like a check. She had moved on with other tables and we were having to wave down other staff the last 15 to 20 minutes for most needs. We left pretty disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Mistral continues to deliver an amazing ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Mistral continues to deliver an amazing brunch. I love that they start off the meal with a coffee cake muffin. The duck confit hash is a must order.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was mostly excellent. Eggs in eggs ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food was mostly excellent. Eggs in eggs benedict were a bit overcooked. The english muffin though was easily the best ive ever had for the dish. Cinnamon rolls were fantastic.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food & service; upscale dining in ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great food & service; upscale dining in classy but not stuffy setting

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Big portions No creativity or taste sens ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Big portions

No creativity or taste sensations to be discovered

Meal expedited too quickly - not a leisurely dining experience

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We celebrated our anniversary w a mistra ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary w a mistral dinner in Boston. We have been long standing patrons for both family events and business functions. They are awesome -- from the reservation requests, hostess, server (Youseff), menu offerings, attention to detail and on and on. Festive celebration and wonderful dining experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Mistral Bisto is very pretty but not ver ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Mistral Bisto is very pretty but not very bistro-ish, more like very fine dining! It was very vibrant when the four of us were seated. Our server was excellent and he allowed us to sip our Prosecco in peace as we chatted.

The meals are big enough to share and that includes the appetizers; however, we didn't realize this and found the amount of food to be overwhelming.

I ordered the Grilled Portobello Mushroom "Carpaccio" and it was truly delicious, as well as beautifully presented. The other 3 ordered the Caesar Salad which they all enjoyed.

Three of us ordered the Dover Sole, at market price. It was very rich and swimming in butter. We are used to 1/2 fish per person but we each received a whole fish (which was probably why the price was $68/person!) While very good, no one could finish. Our friend ordered the grilled Beef Tenderloin which he enjoyed but also couldn't finish.

We thought the service was the most outstanding part of the evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

We enjoyed a totally delightful evening. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We enjoyed a totally delightful evening. Delectable swordfish with baby potatoes and chorizo, delivered by seamless service, in elegant and luxurious surroundings. My dining companions enjoyed their crab-filled ravioli, and the Grilled Faro Island salmon. I love the high-ceilinged room, and calm color palette, which allows you to focus fully on food and friends. I have never been disappointed at Mistral.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.