About Mistral - Boston

223 Columbus Ave.
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

The design of Mistral is both elegant and casual, resonating with the ambiance of Provence as arched floor to ceiling windows drench the room with light.
Mistral’s dramatic dining room serves dinner nightly and Sunday Brunch. In our bar and comfortable lounge area we also offer craft cocktails and fine wines to compliment Chef Mammano’s menu.
Mistral’s private dining room, Le Salon du Mistral, accommodates 60 seated and up to 80 guests for a reception.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dining Room:
Sunday: 10:30am-2:00pm & 5:30pm-9:30pm
Monday-Thursday: 5:30pm-10:00pm
Friday-Saturday: 5:30pm-11:00pm (Late Night Menu 11:00pm-11:30pm)
Bar/Lounge:
Sunday: 10:30am-2:00pm & 5:00pm-10:30pm
Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm-11:00pm
Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm-12:00am

Cross Street:
between Berkeley & Clarendon

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 867-9300

Website:
http://www.mistralbistro.com/

Executive Chef:
Jamie Mammano

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Grilled Beef Tenderloin, Bordelaise Sauce, Asparagus & Horseradish Whipped Potato.
Lamb Chops
Warm Cinnamon Buns
Dulce De Leche Ice Cream With Cocoa Nibs
Duck
Entree
Pan Roasted Chicken Breast
Spring Pea Soup
Coffee cake served with apple butter and butter (breakfast, brunch)
Egg whites, oven-cured tomato, Vermont Creamery goat cheese, basil frittata
Truffled Deviled Eggs
Pommes lyonnaise, roasted potatoes, onions (breakfast, brunch, side dishe)
Sirloin Carpaccio
Dessert Plate
Goat Cheese And Caramelized Apple Salad
Halibut With Shrimp Risotto
Duck Confit
Greek-style yogurt panna cotta, pecan granola, native honey, apricots
Chilled Corn Soup
Vanilla Creme Brulee, Raspberry, Sugar Cookie
Hazelnut Milk Chocolate Pancakes
Jelly Donuts
Roast Rack Of Colorado Lamb
Chocolate Devils Food Cake With Pistachio Gelato & Penuche Glaze, Amarena Cherries
Grilled Pork Chop With Sweet Corn & Summer Peach Panzanella, Aged Sherry Vinaigrette
Seared Foie Gras with Confit of Duck in Brioche, Wisconsin Dried Cherry Gastrique
Lyonaise Potatoes
Bloody Mary
Sushi Grade Tuna Tartare with Crispy Wontons, Ginger & Soy
Grilled Tenderloin of Beef, Bordelaise Style, Olive Oil Roasted Asparagus & Horseradish Whipped Potato
Grilled Swordfish, Mediterranean Vegetable Salad, Torn Herbs, Vin Cotto & Extra Virgin Olive Oil
Profiteroles, Vanilla Ice Cream, Dark Chocolate Sauce & Pistachio Croquant
Tuna Tartare, Crispy Wontons, Ginger & Soy
Beef Tenderloin, Mashed Potato & Truffle Oil Pizza
Whole Roasted Mediterranean Sea Bass Special
Cod with Maine Lobster Black Truffles An Rissoto
Duck Confit With Roasted Vegetables
Duck Confit Hash With Eggs
Pancetta Linguini With Poached Duck Egg
Foie Gras Meatballs
Breakfast Sausages
Warm Strawberry Rhubarb Tart, Buttermilk Ice Cream
Scrambled Eggs
Caesar Salad
Tuna Tartare
crab ravioli with scallops and champagne cream sauce
Steamed Black Mussels with Smoked Tomato Mariniere, Grilled Semolina Toast
Braised Pork Shank, Polenta, Mitake Mushroom
Roasted Chicken With Butter Whipped Potatoes
Rosemary Frites
Smoked Salmon Eggs Benedict
Coffee Cake
Mozzarella and Tomato Pizza
Lamb Sausage, Piquillo Peppers, & Manchego Thin Crust Pizza
peach melba
Chocolate Chip Pancakes, Banana Brûlée, Hazelnut Nutella, Crisp Plantain
Egg whites with goat cheese
Deviled Eggs

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Le Salon du Mistral, Mistral's private dining room, provides a sophisticated setting for intimate gatherings of sixty seated and up to eighty for a reception. With award-winning French Mediterranean cuisine from Chef Jamie Mammano and unparalleled, professional service, Mistral provides the ultimate private dining experience.

Mistral - Boston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

French
Boston / New England
Best Overall
Boston
Best Service
Boston
2 More
Best Ambiance
Boston
French
Boston
Best Restaurants in Back Bay ›

Special Occasion (158)
Fit for Foodies (133)
Romantic (113)
See All
Notable Wine List (80)
Good for Groups (47)
Hot Spot (42)
Neighborhood Gem (38)
Great for Brunch (31)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Vibrant Bar Scene (27)
Good for a Date (24)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Business Meals (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Late-night Find (10)
Modern Decor (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Cozy (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Fun (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Authentic (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
People Watching (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Seasonal (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Family Style (1)
Healthy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Historic (1)
Casual (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3018 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was one of the most incredible brun ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 3 days ago

This was one of the most incredible brunches I have ever had! We ordered two plates, one savory and one sweet and both were fantastic. The ambiance was very nice and the service was perfect. I will definitely return!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and good service

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant has been here in Boston ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

This restaurant has been here in Boston for many years and maintains its excellence. my friend said it was the best rack of lamb he ever had!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Food and service intertwine for an outst ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

Food and service intertwine for an outstanding dining experience. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyable as always. They don't disappoi ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Enjoyable as always. They don't disappoint. We love coming before theater for brunch on Sunday.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been to Mistral a number of time ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We have been to Mistral a number of times. The food was excellent. However, the waitress forgot that we had ordered a bottle of wine. She did bring the wine, but we had already started our main course.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Amazing food and service - a bit too lo ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Amazing food and service - a bit too loud unfortunately ...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place, one of the best in Boston. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Great place, one of the best in Boston. Decor is nice but not very eye catching. Mussels and crab ravioli were a 10/10. Duck and Tenderloin was good but not perfect. Cocktails were decent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

It's not a mystery as to why Mistral has ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

It's not a mystery as to why Mistral has been in business as long as they have. The service is spectacular and the food sublime. I wish I could live there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and consistently great. ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Excellent food and consistently great. It is not surprising that this mainstay restaurant is still packed year after year after enjoying a top notch meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

More tables jammed in than I remember. F ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

More tables jammed in than I remember. Food terrific as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I have been to Mistral many times. It is ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

I have been to Mistral many times. It is an upscale restaurant with great food and a truly fine dining experience. However, I was greatly disappointed this last visit as 4 out of 6 of us got the Dover Sole, indicated as market price on the menu, and when we received the bill the meal was $68 each!! That is an outrageous amount of money for a single entree and is terribly egregious at more than $20 over the most expensive entree listed on the menu! If something on your menu is THAT much more expensive than anything else, you should absolutely be forthcoming with that information. "Market" does not mean jack up the price to whatever ridiculous amount you want. (And yes, we should have asked how much it was, but I still stand by my argument and disappointment in the lack of communication).

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Expensive but youknow thisalreadythisalr ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Expensive but youknow thisalreadythisalready. Questionisif it it is worthit.... Yes!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great menu, great service.

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Great menu, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

It was so delicious. The food was absolu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

It was so delicious. The food was absolutely amazing. The swervice was perfect as well. Everything about Mistral is amazing. It was an amazing way to celebrate my birthday!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Hot Spot, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and delicious food.

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great service and delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As usual, everything was excellent--serv ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

As usual, everything was excellent--service, food, etc. There was one thing the was a bit of a problem. Three of the six of us had the Cornish hen which was delicious except for one thing--overly salted. There was so much salt none of us could finish it. I am not suggesting no salt because if salted properly, it enhances the flavor of the food but this was too way too much. Just an FYI. I did mention it to the wait person just before we left but am not sure if she passed it along to the chef. We will return because overall everything was great but I would request little salt if I were to order it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I had the chilled corn and lobster soup. ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I had the chilled corn and lobster soup... Wowww

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

OK so you have to know how to order here ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

OK so you have to know how to order here but the cornish game hen is divine and well priced at $28 and though the wine list is exhaustive and expensive the Ascheri, which is a nebbiolo is an excellent buy at $45. Pair that with the sashimi grade tuna tartare and another entree and voila! The thing about this place is that it is so amazingly consistent. Always good. Decor is dated at this point and crowd no longer elegant but food and service do not disappoint.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

I have yet to be disappointed. My halibu ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

I have yet to be disappointed. My halibut was great, my son and wife loved the duck, and my other son and his wife loved their steaks. The bread to start is always fresh and the spread very nice. The waiter Andre was very professional and complimented the dinner, not intrusive but attentive. One of my favorite places.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the best restaurants we have eate ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

One of the best restaurants we have eaten at in a long time. Good for any occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A most amazing and complete dining exper ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

A most amazing and complete dining experience from greeting until we left. The most cheerful server coupled with five star food made our night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food quality remains consistently good. ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Food quality remains consistently good. Service was lacking more than in the past but the noise level was loud to the point of distraction.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2

We loved all of our food: cheese plate a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

We loved all of our food: cheese plate appetizer, tuna tartare appetizer, halibut, peppercorn steak, tenderloin (superb), lamb (fantastic), desserts. A pricey night out but worth it for a splurge. We plan to return for another special night out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service and waitress. Amazing deco ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Great service and waitress. Amazing decore

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I think Mistral might have the nicest Su ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

I think Mistral might have the nicest Sunday brunch/lunch in Boston. The food is consistently excellent, the menu is varied and interesting, and the entrees all come with very tasty roasted potatoes for sharing. Service is attentive and professional, from arrival to departure.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Cinnamon bun, side of bacon and eggs Ben ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Cinnamon bun, side of bacon and eggs Benedict were great. Bloody Mary was decent, quick service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Incredible service- we were treated with ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Incredible service- we were treated with warmth and friendliness and the food came very quickly and was delicious. The atmosphere was amazing.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Good service, beautiful ambiance-- our e ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Good service, beautiful ambiance-- our entries-- swordfish (2 orders), salmon (1) were grossly overcooked and tasteless. Can't imagine why anyone would cook swordfish steaks in a cast iron skillet. Such low quality of entree offerings was surprising since the desserts were quite good and the lobster appetizers were also okay.

Overall the food was mediocre, and not value priced. But the room is really beautiful and the service is good.

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Excellent service, beautiful space, very ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Excellent service, beautiful space, very good approachable food. Only disappointment was the $24 Manhattan ordered off-menu--it's a pricey menu to begin with but that's just insane.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Unbelievable experience, wait staff was ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Unbelievable experience, wait staff was incredibly helpful, food was 10/10, GM came over and introduced himself and chatted with us for a few minutes. Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Favorite restaurant in Boston. Superb o ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Favorite restaurant in Boston. Superb on every front including food, atmosphere, service and consistency. Worth every penny.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sent daughter to college with this excel ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Sent daughter to college with this excellent meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was pleasantly surprised by the size o ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I was pleasantly surprised by the size of the portions, and the food was certainly good. I had the chilled corn soup with lobster and avocado and it was delicious. My main--the swordfish, was good but didn't blow me away. Our service was good, but nothing out-of-the-ordinary. The overall feel was a little too stuffy for my taste. It's worth going to once, but you can find better and more creative food in the Greater Boston Area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Excellent food, low key environment, con ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Excellent food, low key environment, consistent quality, fast service - impressive.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hadn't been to Mistral in several years ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Hadn't been to Mistral in several years but it is still a good restaurant. We had the Maine crab ravioli and Salmon Tartare on avocado to start and both were delicious. Pan seared Halibut and roasted duck were very good. The steak was nothing spectacular but good. The Belgian Chocolate sorbet was sinful and the profiteroles were very good as well. The aperitifs were over priced.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything homemade and delicious!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Everything homemade and delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent dining experience. Never disap ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Excellent dining experience. Never disappoints! Great service

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good, expensive though. Ordered dov ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Very good, expensive though. Ordered dover sole- "market price" was $68. Other than that sticker shock everything was delicious, not rushed at all

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

They take themselves too seriously. Been ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

They take themselves too seriously. Been there done that

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.