About Mistral - Boston

223 Columbus Ave.
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

The design of Mistral is both elegant and casual, resonating with the ambiance of Provence as arched floor to ceiling windows drench the room with light.
Mistral’s dramatic dining room serves dinner nightly and Sunday Brunch. In our bar and comfortable lounge area we also offer craft cocktails and fine wines to compliment Chef Mammano’s menu.
Mistral’s private dining room, Le Salon du Mistral, accommodates 60 seated and up to 80 guests for a reception.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dining Room:
Sunday: 10:30am-2:00pm & 5:30pm-9:30pm
Monday-Thursday: 5:30pm-10:00pm
Friday-Saturday: 5:30pm-11:00pm (Late Night Menu 11:00pm-11:30pm)
Bar/Lounge:
Sunday: 10:30am-2:00pm & 5:00pm-10:30pm
Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm-11:00pm
Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm-12:00am

Cross Street:
between Berkeley & Clarendon

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 867-9300

Website:
http://www.mistralbistro.com/

Executive Chef:
Jamie Mammano

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Grilled Beef Tenderloin, Bordelaise Sauce, Asparagus & Horseradish Whipped Potato. - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Lamb Chops - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Warm Cinnamon Buns - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Dulce De Leche Ice Cream With Cocoa Nibs - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Duck - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Entree - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Pan Roasted Chicken Breast - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Spring Pea Soup - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Coffee cake served with apple butter and butter (breakfast, brunch) - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Egg whites, oven-cured tomato, Vermont Creamery goat cheese, basil frittata - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Truffled Deviled Eggs - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Pommes lyonnaise, roasted potatoes, onions (breakfast, brunch, side dishe) - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Sirloin Carpaccio - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Dessert Plate - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Goat Cheese And Caramelized Apple Salad - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Halibut With Shrimp Risotto - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Duck Confit - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Greek-style yogurt panna cotta, pecan granola, native honey, apricots - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Chilled Corn Soup - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Vanilla Creme Brulee, Raspberry, Sugar Cookie - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Hazelnut Milk Chocolate Pancakes - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Jelly Donuts - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Roast Rack Of Colorado Lamb - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Chocolate Devils Food Cake With Pistachio Gelato & Penuche Glaze, Amarena Cherries - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Grilled Pork Chop With Sweet Corn & Summer Peach Panzanella, Aged Sherry Vinaigrette - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Seared Foie Gras with Confit of Duck in Brioche, Wisconsin Dried Cherry Gastrique - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Lyonaise Potatoes - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Bloody Mary - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Sushi Grade Tuna Tartare with Crispy Wontons, Ginger & Soy - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Grilled Tenderloin of Beef, Bordelaise Style, Olive Oil Roasted Asparagus & Horseradish Whipped Potato - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Grilled Swordfish, Mediterranean Vegetable Salad, Torn Herbs, Vin Cotto & Extra Virgin Olive Oil - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Profiteroles, Vanilla Ice Cream, Dark Chocolate Sauce & Pistachio Croquant - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Tuna Tartare, Crispy Wontons, Ginger & Soy - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Beef Tenderloin, Mashed Potato & Truffle Oil Pizza - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Whole Roasted Mediterranean Sea Bass Special  - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Cod with Maine Lobster Black Truffles An Rissoto - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Duck Confit With Roasted Vegetables - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Duck Confit Hash With Eggs - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Pancetta Linguini With Poached Duck Egg - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Foie Gras Meatballs - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Breakfast Sausages - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Warm Strawberry Rhubarb Tart, Buttermilk Ice Cream - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Scrambled Eggs - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Caesar Salad - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Tuna Tartare - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
crab ravioli with scallops and champagne cream sauce - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Steamed Black Mussels with Smoked Tomato Mariniere, Grilled Semolina Toast - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Braised Pork Shank, Polenta, Mitake Mushroom - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Roasted Chicken With Butter Whipped Potatoes - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Rosemary Frites - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Smoked Salmon Eggs Benedict - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Coffee Cake - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Mozzarella and Tomato Pizza - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Lamb Sausage, Piquillo Peppers, & Manchego Thin Crust Pizza - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
peach melba - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Chocolate Chip Pancakes, Banana Brûlée, Hazelnut Nutella, Crisp Plantain - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Egg whites with goat cheese - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Deviled Eggs - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Le Salon du Mistral, Mistral's private dining room, provides a sophisticated setting for intimate gatherings of sixty seated and up to eighty for a reception. With award-winning French Mediterranean cuisine from Chef Jamie Mammano and unparalleled, professional service, Mistral provides the ultimate private dining experience.

Mistral - Boston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (72)
Good for Anniversaries (62)
Romantic (61)
See All
Good for a Date (55)
Fit for Foodies (47)
Notable Wine List (39)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Business Meals (32)
Worth the Drive (27)
Hot Spot (25)
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Bar Seating (20)
Modern Decor (19)
Authentic (18)
People Watching (17)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Fun (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Great for Brunch (13)
Good for Groups (11)
Cozy (11)
Outstanding Value (9)
Healthy (7)
Casual (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Seasonal (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Private Room (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Historic (3)
Organic (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Family Style (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
3335 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Kendall and her support staff work beaut ...

 
·Dined 7 hours ago

Kendall and her support staff work beautifully together. Her descriptions of the drinks, entrees and her recommendations were right on. Highly recommended for that special occasion, date night or just any night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sauce on Foie Gras was cloyingly sweet. ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

Sauce on Foie Gras was cloyingly sweet.

Short ribs had no flavor.

Steak au poivre was a tad chewy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

VERY disappointed in the service. I had ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

VERY disappointed in the service. I had been wanting to go here for a very long time and I chose a special occasion to do so. Food was great but it took 36 minutes for us to even get a drink and an over an hour to get our appetizers. Table surrounding us were sat after us and ate before us. Not pleased at all especially after paying what I did - I expected WAY better service. Most likely will not return......

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Excellent evening---the menu offered man ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

Excellent evening---the menu offered many good choices and the food was terrific. Our party raved about the roast duck, lamb chops and the Branzino -- all different and all prepared superbly. The dining room was festive and a somewhat loud and the service, while attentive, was a bit stretched. None of that was a surprising on a busy Friday night before a three day weekend. Mistral was the place to be !

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

One word: perfection.

 
·Dined on January 11, 2017

One word: perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the escargot and the duck. Both very ...

 
·Dined on January 10, 2017

Had the escargot and the duck. Both very good. Also had the Mistral fries, that where not that great. If you are going to call some fries after your restaurant, they better be awesome, they where not. The best part was the desert, apple tart with ice cream that was amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Love your restaurant. Great waitstaff.

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

Love your restaurant. Great waitstaff.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch food was delicious as always but ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

Brunch food was delicious as always but I was frustrated that we had to ask for our coffee cake starter after waiting for 30 minutes and seeing other tables get theirs. Usually they bring it out when you sit down.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Restaurant was really quiet due to the m ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

Restaurant was really quiet due to the messy snow storm. Chloe and the other servers were AMAZING -- professional, helpful, couldn't do enough to make us feel special. This is the type of service we LOVE, non intrusive and magically appear at the moment. Chloe went WAY out of her way to do lots of extras, including getting a special drink concocted for my darling. Thank you so much for the corner booth, so we could sit close to each other on our anniversary--special. Thank you to the chef(s) who went out of their way to put a congratulatory message on our dessert -- made our evening fun. My beau spent 30 years as an executive and sous chef and said that filet was the best beef he's ever had. My duck was wonderful and we finished it for breakfast with eggs this morning. We were also surprised at how reasonable the check was even though I had the half bottle of Chateauneuf de Pape (thank you for having my favorite wine on the menu, which is rare)! It was our first time here, and we will certainly come more often. Top notch restaurant without the stuffiness. Didn't realize when I booked it's part of the same group as L'Andana in Burlington. Had a fabulous meal there previously. The food, service, people all A++++.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You cannot beat this restaurant in any c ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

You cannot beat this restaurant in any category. The best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Going into Mistral you are greeted and b ...

 
·Dined on January 6, 2017

Going into Mistral you are greeted and brought to your table. The wait staff suggests a wine that perfectly matches what you will order. Mistral fries are a must as is the mussels appetizer. The special are always exciting and well prepared. We come here 4 times a year for the last 10 years and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a first class restaurant. The se ...

 
·Dined on January 6, 2017

This is a first class restaurant. The service, the food, the atmosphere were all excellent. I would highly recommend this to anyone interested in a great night out.

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Late-night Find, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mistral is one of my favorites. The tend ...

 
·Dined on January 6, 2017

Mistral is one of my favorites. The tenderloin pizza and tuna tartare are a must

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Casual, Healthy, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fantastic food and great service. They p ...

 
·Dined on January 5, 2017

Fantastic food and great service. They paced the service really well...did not feel rushed or any invasion to my privacy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Classic, elegant white linen dining expe ...

 
·Dined on January 5, 2017

Classic, elegant white linen dining experience, with superb food and impecable service. No fuss menu, just good quality ingredients. Dessert menu was up to par. Wine list provided with a great array of options.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I am a chef owner of my own restaurant ...

 
·Dined on January 3, 2017

I am a chef owner of my own restaurant next time in Boston I definitely will be back the food was great

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was excellent. Our waitress ...

 
·Dined on January 3, 2017

The service was excellent. Our waitress was friendly and knowledgeable. The cocktails were great! The dishes were simple, well-portioned, and delicious, but not necessarily memorable. My date really enjoy her Maine Crab Ravioli. Definitely a date spot and I recommend it for a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The quality of the food we had for brunc ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

The quality of the food we had for brunch was poor. Two of us had eggs benedict. The eggs were not cooked according to request. There was not enough hollandaise sauce. The muffins were not toasted enough and were spongy.

There was no fruit at all on offer- On New Year's Day an exceptional fruit salad would have made sense.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

As always, Mistral was excellent!

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

As always, Mistral was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The experience was perfect as always

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

The experience was perfect as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mistral is first rate in every way. The ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

Mistral is first rate in every way. The atmosphere is warm and romantic, the service is top notch , and the food is exquisite. Do not miss the warm chocolate cake with vanilla ice cream. The lightening show in the middle of a nor'easter added to the dramatic ambiance. The ride back to my hotel was an unexpected surprise. I would like to give special mention to Guillome for a wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very mediocre. Service was ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food was very mediocre. Service was rushed and for the price lots of other choices in the Boston area. Would not recommend it!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Outstanding food and service. Mistral i ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

Outstanding food and service. Mistral is over the top great. The mussel appetizer dish was fantastic!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great, but we felt rushed by th ...

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

Food was great, but we felt rushed by the server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Erica our bartender and server really to ...

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

Erica our bartender and server really took care of us. We moved to Cape Cod a few years ago and really miss Mistral! My favorite Filet Truffle Pizza! So we have to venture at least once a year eat there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent from start to finish

 
·Dined on December 22, 2016

Excellent from start to finish

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant !! Great food, grre ...

 
·Dined on December 22, 2016

Excellent restaurant !! Great food, grreat service & wonderful ambiance . Perfect for after the theatre or any occasion

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Love everything about mistral! So many a ...

 
·Dined on December 22, 2016

Love everything about mistral! So many amazing dishes in the menu it was hard to decide what to order! Everything from the ambiance to the service was spectacular and I will be going back for sure.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Crab Ravioli are as excellent now as ...

 
·Dined on December 20, 2016

The Crab Ravioli are as excellent now as they were so many years ago when they first appeared on the menu and were the highlight of the meal. The bread is also excellent, as was the steak. One minor note - the tuna tartare I found was a bit too vinegary - and I enjoy vinegar. One of us felt the linguini was a bit too al dente. Otherwise - the room is wonderful with high ceilings, a wonderful shade of grey that still feels classic. And the wine list has some value priced Red offerings that were appreciated - not always the case at higher end spots.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service. Waiter was v ...

 
·Dined on December 20, 2016

Excellent food and service. Waiter was very nice and provided good recommendations. The guy who picked up posted after felt a bit rushed but otherwise service was great. We got the special appetizer of the night, the hen dish, and the tenderloin. Everything was fantastic! The assorted dessert part the best way to finish our meal. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Really enjoyed the overall dining experi ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

Really enjoyed the overall dining experience. Cinnamon coffee cake muffins served as we arrived to table were delicious ! Lump crap omelette was a bit to fishy for me.....but everyone else completely enjoyed their meal. Wish I had tried the root vegetable hash, next time. Service was excellent! We'll be back !

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was delicious especially the tu ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food was delicious especially the tuna tartar and crab ravioli appetizers. Went for my boyfriend's birthday so it was just the two of us and without asking they split the appetizers into 2 separate portions which we liked since we share everything anyway. The half-duck was truly half of a duck. It was a great portion and I happily took what I couldn't finish home. We shared the creme brulee for dessert, also amazing. All around the food was great. Mostly wine and cocktails, so if you're a beer drinker then you'll have to chose something else for the night. The food is worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Always delicious food. A bit noisy. Some ...

 
·Dined on December 15, 2016

Always delicious food. A bit noisy. Sometimes menu is more in line with my tastes than others. Mushroom pizza gets an A+

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was excellent. The service was on ...

 
·Dined on December 14, 2016

Food was excellent. The service was on the slow side, but I believe that was by design. Wine was excellent and the bar is a nice place to have a drink before dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Mistral is my favorite special occasion ...

 
·Dined on December 14, 2016

Mistral is my favorite special occasion restaurant. It is formal, fancy, but chic and fun, too. It never disappoints. The food is always excellent, and it is one of the only places where I can still get escargot. I love the simple but elegant decor, and that the staff is very accommodating and deferential.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

i have been there before and food has al ...

 
·Dined on December 14, 2016

i have been there before and food has always been great

this time my ravioli were no tasty, cold, hard basically not good

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

A terrible service! The glasses of wine ...

 
·Dined on December 12, 2016

A terrible service! The glasses of wine as soon as they are removed from the table as well as glasses of water ... The message was clear from the waiters !!! ... It's Sunday night and we did not want To finish late.

Considering the kitchen, there is nothing French on the plates. Concerning the desserts, the only experience of our table was the Profiteroles and the still disappointment. The dish is simple to make: these are cabbages (FRESH, not hard and probably made for a week or very poorly preserved as we were served ) in which there is ice cream, all washed with a Good hot chocolate sauce (not a preparation ready with 90% sugar and in addition COLD).

In short we were very disappointed and we disadvised this establishment which is not up to the note announced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Mistral is my favorite brunch place-will ...

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

Mistral is my favorite brunch place-will be back soon!!! Eggs Benedict was cooked to perfection and a must try on the sticky buns! My friends enjoyed the bloody Mary's and their entree pics as well. A lovely restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fun, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful experience with attentive se ...

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

A wonderful experience with attentive service. The portions are just the right size, while the quality and creativity of the dishes are superb. I took my fiancée there for her birthday and we loved our time there. I really enjoyed that there was no background music, just the noise of conversations being carried out. I would highly recommend this restaurant and I look forward to going back again.

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was good: no question about tha ...

 
·Dined on December 9, 2016

The food was good: no question about that; but nothing was so exceptional as to justify the cost. In that regard, Mistral is over-priced. We enjoyed our appetizers (a pappardelle, garlic and mushroom combo and a salmon tartar dish). The short rib entree was quite tasty, but not really tender. I've had better. The Dover sole was very good indeed. Portions are more than ample. No skimping there. Desserts are wonderful and worth the calories. Service was outstanding and definitely added to the overall dining experience.

There is a nice selection of wines by the glass and they are reasonably priced for a Boston restaurant; but wines by the bottle... that's a story in itself. The selection is first rate. The prices, even for Boston, are preposterous. I expect a restaurant to mark up the price of a bottle of wine, but I had the feeling that Mistral is under the impression that if their wine prices are astronomical, customers will assume they are dining in a 5 star restaurant .

I enjoy conversation with friends while dining, but the noise level made normal conversation impossible. Stone floors and bare walls amplify the background din to an unpleasant cacophony. It's for that reason that I cannot recommend Mistral. And that's a shame, because the food, over-priced or not, is quite good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.