About Mistral - Boston

223 Columbus Ave.
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

The design of Mistral is both elegant and casual, resonating with the ambiance of Provence as arched floor to ceiling windows drench the room with light.
Mistral’s dramatic dining room serves dinner nightly and Sunday Brunch. In our bar and comfortable lounge area we also offer craft cocktails and fine wines to compliment Chef Mammano’s menu.
Mistral’s private dining room, Le Salon du Mistral, accommodates 60 seated and up to 80 guests for a reception.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dining Room:
Sunday: 10:30am-2:00pm & 5:30pm-9:30pm
Monday-Thursday: 5:30pm-10:00pm
Friday-Saturday: 5:30pm-11:00pm (Late Night Menu 11:00pm-11:30pm)
Bar/Lounge:
Sunday: 10:30am-2:00pm & 5:00pm-10:30pm
Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm-11:00pm
Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm-12:00am

Cross Street:
between Berkeley & Clarendon

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 867-9300

Website:
http://www.mistralbistro.com/

Executive Chef:
Jamie Mammano

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Grilled Beef Tenderloin, Bordelaise Sauce, Asparagus & Horseradish Whipped Potato.
Lamb Chops
Warm Cinnamon Buns
Dulce De Leche Ice Cream With Cocoa Nibs
Duck
Entree
Pan Roasted Chicken Breast
Spring Pea Soup
Pommes lyonnaise, roasted potatoes, onions (breakfast, brunch, side dishe)
Egg whites, oven-cured tomato, Vermont Creamery goat cheese, basil frittata
Truffled Deviled Eggs
Coffee cake served with apple butter and butter (breakfast, brunch)
Sirloin Carpaccio
Halibut With Shrimp Risotto
Dessert Plate
Goat Cheese And Caramelized Apple Salad
Duck Confit
Greek-style yogurt panna cotta, pecan granola, native honey, apricots
Chilled Corn Soup
Vanilla Creme Brulee, Raspberry, Sugar Cookie
Hazelnut Milk Chocolate Pancakes
Jelly Donuts
Roast Rack Of Colorado Lamb
Grilled Pork Chop With Sweet Corn & Summer Peach Panzanella, Aged Sherry Vinaigrette
Chocolate Devils Food Cake With Pistachio Gelato & Penuche Glaze, Amarena Cherries
Seared Foie Gras with Confit of Duck in Brioche, Wisconsin Dried Cherry Gastrique
Lyonaise Potatoes
Bloody Mary
Grilled Tenderloin of Beef, Bordelaise Style, Olive Oil Roasted Asparagus & Horseradish Whipped Potato
Sushi Grade Tuna Tartare with Crispy Wontons, Ginger & Soy
Grilled Swordfish, Mediterranean Vegetable Salad, Torn Herbs, Vin Cotto & Extra Virgin Olive Oil
Tuna Tartare, Crispy Wontons, Ginger & Soy
Profiteroles, Vanilla Ice Cream, Dark Chocolate Sauce & Pistachio Croquant
Beef Tenderloin, Mashed Potato & Truffle Oil Pizza
Whole Roasted Mediterranean Sea Bass Special
Cod with Maine Lobster Black Truffles An Rissoto
Duck Confit With Roasted Vegetables
Duck Confit Hash With Eggs
Pancetta Linguini With Poached Duck Egg
Foie Gras Meatballs
Warm Strawberry Rhubarb Tart, Buttermilk Ice Cream
Scrambled Eggs
Breakfast Sausages
Caesar Salad
Tuna Tartare
crab ravioli with scallops and champagne cream sauce
Steamed Black Mussels with Smoked Tomato Mariniere, Grilled Semolina Toast
Braised Pork Shank, Polenta, Mitake Mushroom
Roasted Chicken With Butter Whipped Potatoes
Coffee Cake
Rosemary Frites
peach melba
Lamb Sausage, Piquillo Peppers, & Manchego Thin Crust Pizza
Chocolate Chip Pancakes, Banana Brûlée, Hazelnut Nutella, Crisp Plantain
Mozzarella and Tomato Pizza
Smoked Salmon Eggs Benedict
Deviled Eggs
Egg whites with goat cheese

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Le Salon du Mistral, Mistral's private dining room, provides a sophisticated setting for intimate gatherings of sixty seated and up to eighty for a reception. With award-winning French Mediterranean cuisine from Chef Jamie Mammano and unparalleled, professional service, Mistral provides the ultimate private dining experience.

Mistral - Boston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

French
Boston / New England
French
Boston
Best Restaurants in Back Bay ›

special occasion (159)
fit for foodies (149)
romantic (109)
See All
notable wine list (85)
good for groups (57)
hot spot (53)
neighborhood gem (52)
great for brunch (38)
vibrant bar scene (33)
late-night find (21)
great for lunch (8)
kid-friendly (4)
great for outdoor dining (3)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
2917 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience5
service3

We were VERY excited to return to MISTRA ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

We were VERY excited to return to MISTRAL while visiting Boston. The evening began with wonderful service. After receiving our food, we couldn't locate our waitress to tell her the lamb was tough, she had forgotten the side of spinach, the pizza was black on the bottom, we were later finished and would like dirty plates removed, would like to see a dessert menu, and finally would like a check. She had moved on with other tables and we were having to wave down other staff the last 15 to 20 minutes for most needs. We left pretty disappointed.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Mistral continues to deliver an amazing ...

Dined 4 days ago

Mistral continues to deliver an amazing brunch. I love that they start off the meal with a coffee cake muffin. The duck confit hash is a must order.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food & service; upscale dining in ...

Dined 5 days ago

Great food & service; upscale dining in classy but not stuffy setting

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Big portions No creativity or taste sens ...

Dined 6 days ago

Big portions No creativity or taste sensations to be discovered Meal expedited too quickly - not a leisurely dining experience

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We celebrated our anniversary w a mistra ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary w a mistral dinner in Boston. We have been long standing patrons for both family events and business functions. They are awesome -- from the reservation requests, hostess, server (Youseff), menu offerings, attention to detail and on and on. Festive celebration and wonderful dining experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Mistral Bisto is very pretty but not ver ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Mistral Bisto is very pretty but not very bistro-ish, more like very fine dining! It was very vibrant when the four of us were seated. Our server was excellent and he allowed us to sip our Prosecco in peace as we chatted. The meals are big enough to share and that includes the appetizers; however, we didn't realize this and found the amount of food to be overwhelming. I ordered the Grilled Portobello Mushroom "Carpaccio" and it was truly delicious, as well as beautifully presented. The other 3 ordered the Caesar Salad which they all enjoyed. Three of us ordered the Dover Sole, at market price. It was very rich and swimming in butter. We are used to 1/2 fish per person but we each received a whole fish (which was probably why the price was $68/person!) While very good, no one could finish. Our friend ordered the grilled Beef Tenderloin which he enjoyed but also couldn't finish. We thought the service was the most outstanding part of the evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed a totally delightful evening. ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

We enjoyed a totally delightful evening. Delectable swordfish with baby potatoes and chorizo, delivered by seamless service, in elegant and luxurious surroundings. My dining companions enjoyed their crab-filled ravioli, and the Grilled Faro Island salmon. I love the high-ceilinged room, and calm color palette, which allows you to focus fully on food and friends. I have never been disappointed at Mistral.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OMG! I can't stop raving about this pla ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

OMG! I can't stop raving about this place. The food was outstanding! I had the Halibut over tomato risotto. "To Die For" A bit pricey, but well worth it. And a little extra special treat was "Big Papi" was dining the next table over. Please take someone special there. You will love it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been going to Mistral for close to ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We've been going to Mistral for close to 20 years now. This restaurant is consistently excellent with attentive staff, fabulous drinks (one of the best Vodka Martinis), beautiful wine list, and scrumptious food. My only question - Why don't we come here more often???

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For the past 5 years, our favorite resta ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

For the past 5 years, our favorite restaurant in Boston. Elegant space, pleasant and highly competent staff, and food that is just superb.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Our Halibut entrees were exceptional in ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Our Halibut entrees were exceptional in every respect. Our overall experience at Mistral was top knotch. We would readily recommend Mistral to anyone seeking a first class treatment r in Boston.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a great job. Food and ambiance a ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Always a great job. Food and ambiance are first rate. Our favorite place for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Salmon was not impressive and the pork c ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Salmon was not impressive and the pork chop was similarly underwhelming. Perhaps some of the other dishes are more impressive.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very expensive but worth every cent. Hav ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

Very expensive but worth every cent. Have been there quite a few times and have never had anything I didn't like

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4

Great ambiance, among the best Boston ha ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Great ambiance, among the best Boston has to offer.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really did enjoy this restaurant! The ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

We really did enjoy this restaurant! The ambiance, the food, the wait staff EVERYTHING was wonderful. We'll definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All of our food and cocktails were excel ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

All of our food and cocktails were excellent. And ourserver, Guillaume was awesome as always. He was our server from previous dine out. The reception, Chavella was very courtious and accomodating. You have great workers including the guys who serve water.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Great romantic place. Great food and dri ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Great romantic place. Great food and drinks. Service was very attentive and course timing excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mistral is our favorite spot and we didn ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Mistral is our favorite spot and we didn't consider any other restaurant for our 10th anniversary date night! The food was amazing and the service outstanding!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service!

Dined on June 12, 2016

Great food and service!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great restaurant! I would definitely re ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Great restaurant! I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a lovely dinner from the first co ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

We had a lovely dinner from the first cocktail to the excellent strawberry rhubarb tart at the end. The chilled pea soup was extraordinary. The service was very good and not overly fussy.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Mistral - still a favorite after ten years!

Dined on June 11, 2016

I fell in love with Mistral Restaurant a long time ago when I was in Boston a couple of times a year - Mistral was always on the list of dining destinations. I found myself back in Boston this past weekend and decided to go back to one of my favorite restaurants - and it exceeded my memories and expectations. The room is warm and comfortable, and the place was jumping on a Friday night at 8:00. We arrived on time and they had our table ready and waiting. The server was very friendly and engaging and took his time explaining the specials. I had the pork chop Milanese special and my husband had the pan seared sirloin steak. The pork was outstanding; cooked to perfection with a nice crust on the outside. Topped with tomatoes, arugula and Parmesan. I think that the tomatoes were blanched to remove the skins - nice touch. I couldn't finish the plate - huge chop - it came with polenta which I don't usually enjoy but this was outstanding; perfect consistency creamy and cheesy too! My husband's steak was perfectly cooked and he couldn't finish the whole thing - it was huge! We had a nice bottle of wine - many on the list for reasonable price. We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner from beginning to end and I will seek out Mistral on my next visit to Boston - I hope it is soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Gotta get the duck. Amazing!

Dined on June 6, 2016

Gotta get the duck. Amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing brunch!

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Amazing brunch!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Mistral

Dined on June 5, 2016

Our server, was terrific, giving us accurate descriptions on wine and food. His recommendations on Tuna Tartare, and the Salmon entrée were spot on. While the Dover sole was good, I wasn't bowled over by the preparation. Overall, we loved Mistral, and plan to go back often to work our way through the entire menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

Parts of the meal were great. The appeti ...

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Parts of the meal were great. The appetizers were unremarkable which was surprising (tuna tartar and a portabella mushroom dish). We had a Caesar Salad that was excellent. Our entrée's were excellent Halibut and Dover sole Ménière. Desert was great chocolate sorbet. My guest thought service could have been better and I agree. I asked the server to pace the dinner carefully and the salad and appetizers came at once. There was enough of a pause for the entree's though.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

foodie

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

I was given one of the worst tables in the restaurant I told the hostess that i didn't want to sit there. I was told that lots of people do. I asked to sit in the front of the restaurant and there seemed to be some confusion between the 2 hostesses about setting up the table. I asked the same hostess were the spanish waiter was and I was told that there wasn't one. In about 5 minutes Jose from Brazil came over to the table. The hostess was very unfriendly and bordered on rude. Once I got past this initial experience everything was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience. I recommend follo ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Wonderful experience. I recommend following the waiters advice on everything! So helpful. But get the fois gras!

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Iconic Place Average Night

Dined on June 3, 2016

Not really special but certainly priced as if! The menu food were very common, decent but not special. The restaurant is very loud, we had a good night but not great and not as much as the price would have indicated.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our favorite in Boston

Dined on June 2, 2016

We don't come often as it's very pricey, but when we do we always are wowed by the food. Service is perfect,, wine always fabulous!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent work dinner -- great food/menu/service

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

Excellent work dinner, although many others were there in friend groups or on dates. The menu was creative, food was very flavorful, service was strong, and ambience was energetic without being loud. Highly recommend it especially for those who love seafood. I got the tuna tartare to start, followed by the roasted pacific halibut. The Malbec was great too.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Mistral – Boston, MA – 5/31/2016 This ...

vip
Dined on May 31, 2016

Mistral – Boston, MA – 5/31/2016 This is the first of Chef Jamie Mammano’s six amazing restaurants in the Boston Metro area… Like some of the others I've been to, large grandiose dining room beautifully decorated… The entire place hums with the efficiency of a fine Swiss time piece… Each person moving in harmony as though the entire event was choreographed... Mistral is where art meets cuisine with its French Mediterranean fare... It tastes every bit as good as it looks and although I like discovering new places… This just got added to my go back to list... First out… A small round loaf of bread served warm with softened butter and a Chick Pea and Garlic purée… I could easily eat the entire loaf but decided to be good and have just two pieces… It's just a great bread… Tonight's appetizer… The Asparagus Bisque… Asparagus, Cream, Leeks, Chicken Stock, Parsley and Spinach all puréed smooth, served with a Yogurt and Lemon Panna Cotta… Beautifully plated with a garnish of Jumbo Lump Crab and Herb Salad… There is no picture that could do justice as to exactly how delicious this soup was… Wow! The main… A Half “Whole Roasted” Duck & Wild Mushroom Risotto, Dried Cherry Gastrique… Yet another work of art! Rich in Colour…Flavour… Atop a Risotto in a Savory sauce that just has you wanting more... Amazing, but then I fully expected that it would be… And for dessert… The house made ice cream trio… Vanilla, Chocolate and Coffee along with my signature Cappuccino! My server Tom was awesome as was Jasmyn one of the managers for her attentive service… Add this to your “must try” list in the Boston area… Simply marvelous, I'll be back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love, love, loved it!

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Our table was ready and waiting for us. We have not dined here before, so it was a pleasant surprise from beginning to end. We were treated like "regulars". Wait staff were pleasant and efficient. Lamb chops were cooked perfectly; as was the veal chop special and bronzzini. The flat bread pizzas are definitely worth checking out. We will certainly come again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Mistral is one of the best restaurants i ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Mistral is one of the best restaurants in Boston! On this occasion, we went there for brunch. We ordered a bacon and gruyère cheese flatbread pizza and a deviled egg as appetizers.My husband ordered French toast made from brioche and served with strawberries. I ordered a prime sirloin with poached eggs. Everything was absolutely delicious! I highly recommend this fabulous restaurant! It is great for dinner and for brunch, too!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

Food is very nice specialy duck and Hall ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Food is very nice specialy duck and Hallibut can improve service

food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible food, amazing service and bes ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Incredible food, amazing service and best dessert of my life. Love!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The halibut with lobster risotto was out ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The halibut with lobster risotto was out of this world. Going back as soon as possible. :)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Best restaurant I've ever visited. Worke ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Best restaurant I've ever visited. Workers were awesome and the food was magnificent. Brought my boyfriend here for his birthday and it was the best choice I've ever made. We were blown away by the food and they even wrote happy birthday on our dessert plate for him. They have won me over. Will most definitely be returning.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

A solid choice

Dined on May 21, 2016

Everything was excellent here, especially the food and the professional but not stuffy or overbearing service. The only negative was the noise. It's not the loudest I've ever been, but if it were just a bit quieter the experience would be so much better.

Tags: special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.