About Mistral - Boston

223 Columbus Ave.
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

The design of Mistral is both elegant and casual, resonating with the ambiance of Provence as arched floor to ceiling windows drench the room with light.
Mistral’s dramatic dining room serves dinner nightly and Sunday Brunch. In our bar and comfortable lounge area we also offer craft cocktails and fine wines to compliment Chef Mammano’s menu.
Mistral’s private dining room, Le Salon du Mistral, accommodates 60 seated and up to 80 guests for a reception.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dining Room:
Sunday: 10:30am-2:00pm & 5:30pm-9:30pm
Monday-Thursday: 5:30pm-10:00pm
Friday-Saturday: 5:30pm-11:00pm (Late Night Menu 11:00pm-11:30pm)
Bar/Lounge:
Sunday: 10:30am-2:00pm & 5:00pm-10:30pm
Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm-11:00pm
Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm-12:00am

Cross Street:
between Berkeley & Clarendon

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 867-9300

Website:
http://www.mistralbistro.com/

Executive Chef:
Jamie Mammano

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Grilled Beef Tenderloin, Bordelaise Sauce, Asparagus & Horseradish Whipped Potato. - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Lamb Chops - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Warm Cinnamon Buns - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Dulce De Leche Ice Cream With Cocoa Nibs - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Duck - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Entree - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Pan Roasted Chicken Breast - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Spring Pea Soup - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Coffee cake served with apple butter and butter (breakfast, brunch) - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Egg whites, oven-cured tomato, Vermont Creamery goat cheese, basil frittata - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Truffled Deviled Eggs - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Pommes lyonnaise, roasted potatoes, onions (breakfast, brunch, side dishe) - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Sirloin Carpaccio - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Dessert Plate - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Goat Cheese And Caramelized Apple Salad - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Halibut With Shrimp Risotto - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Duck Confit - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Greek-style yogurt panna cotta, pecan granola, native honey, apricots - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Chilled Corn Soup - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Vanilla Creme Brulee, Raspberry, Sugar Cookie - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Hazelnut Milk Chocolate Pancakes - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Jelly Donuts - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Roast Rack Of Colorado Lamb - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Chocolate Devils Food Cake With Pistachio Gelato & Penuche Glaze, Amarena Cherries - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Grilled Pork Chop With Sweet Corn & Summer Peach Panzanella, Aged Sherry Vinaigrette - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Seared Foie Gras with Confit of Duck in Brioche, Wisconsin Dried Cherry Gastrique - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Lyonaise Potatoes - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Bloody Mary - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Sushi Grade Tuna Tartare with Crispy Wontons, Ginger & Soy - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Grilled Tenderloin of Beef, Bordelaise Style, Olive Oil Roasted Asparagus & Horseradish Whipped Potato - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Grilled Swordfish, Mediterranean Vegetable Salad, Torn Herbs, Vin Cotto & Extra Virgin Olive Oil - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Profiteroles, Vanilla Ice Cream, Dark Chocolate Sauce & Pistachio Croquant - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Tuna Tartare, Crispy Wontons, Ginger & Soy - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Beef Tenderloin, Mashed Potato & Truffle Oil Pizza - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Whole Roasted Mediterranean Sea Bass Special  - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Cod with Maine Lobster Black Truffles An Rissoto - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Duck Confit With Roasted Vegetables - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Duck Confit Hash With Eggs - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Pancetta Linguini With Poached Duck Egg - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Foie Gras Meatballs - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Breakfast Sausages - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Warm Strawberry Rhubarb Tart, Buttermilk Ice Cream - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Scrambled Eggs - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Caesar Salad - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Tuna Tartare - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
crab ravioli with scallops and champagne cream sauce - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Steamed Black Mussels with Smoked Tomato Mariniere, Grilled Semolina Toast - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Braised Pork Shank, Polenta, Mitake Mushroom - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Roasted Chicken With Butter Whipped Potatoes - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Rosemary Frites - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Smoked Salmon Eggs Benedict - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Coffee Cake - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Mozzarella and Tomato Pizza - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Lamb Sausage, Piquillo Peppers, & Manchego Thin Crust Pizza - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
peach melba - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Chocolate Chip Pancakes, Banana Brûlée, Hazelnut Nutella, Crisp Plantain - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Egg whites with goat cheese - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA
Deviled Eggs - Mistral - Boston, Boston, MA

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Le Salon du Mistral, Mistral's private dining room, provides a sophisticated setting for intimate gatherings of sixty seated and up to eighty for a reception. With award-winning French Mediterranean cuisine from Chef Jamie Mammano and unparalleled, professional service, Mistral provides the ultimate private dining experience.

Mistral - Boston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

French
Boston / New England
Best Overall
Boston
Best Food
Boston
1 More
French
Boston
Best Restaurants in Back Bay ›

Special Occasion (87)
Good for Anniversaries (74)
Romantic (67)
See All
Fit for Foodies (67)
Good for a Date (57)
Notable Wine List (46)
Good for Birthdays (42)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Business Meals (33)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Worth the Drive (26)
Hot Spot (23)
Modern Decor (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
People Watching (18)
Authentic (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Fun (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Great for Brunch (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Cozy (11)
Outstanding Value (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Seasonal (8)
Healthy (6)
Casual (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Private Room (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Historic (3)
Organic (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Family Style (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
3092 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My first time at Mistral's. Brunch Birth ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

My first time at Mistral's. Brunch Birthday celebration for six people. They were very accommodating about proving round table. Service was excellent - wait staff friendly and very helpful.

Definitely looking forward to another visit!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Organic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was great but to much noisy

 
 (London)·Dined 7 days ago

It was great but to much noisy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great meal and wine as always at Mistral ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Great meal and wine as always at Mistral. Service was also top notch.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and service was excellent. The ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

The food and service was excellent. The atmosphere was good but it was VERY noisy! It is very diffucult to carry on a conversation with anyone other than the person next to you since it is very high and the acoustics are bad.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Food was great - Lobster gnocchi and Hal ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Food was great - Lobster gnocchi and Halibut. Main complaint is LOUD. Could not comfortable converse with diner companion even tough sitting next to me instead of across.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Awesome meal, delicate original flavors, ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Awesome meal, delicate original flavors, professional helpful service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The server was cavalier. He neglected to ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 22, 2016

The server was cavalier. He neglected to inform us of the market price of the sole. We were shocked at 65$ when the check arrived.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

High quality french-style service. The ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 21, 2016

High quality french-style service. The servers are unobtrusive, and yet always available and friendly. An exceedingly pleasant dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I uy the fellows fellowship. Uuuui of

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I uy the fellows fellowship. Uuuui of

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food and service was excellent. Tables w ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Food and service was excellent. Tables were a little close to each other, hard to move around.

Staff was very accommodating and pleasant. Noise level was a little high, but understandable based on the table layout in the back center area. Overall very good experience.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent in every want. Food was delic ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Excellent in every want. Food was delicious and memorable, ingredients were different and tasty, savory and sophisticated. Service impeccable. For us, a straightforward drive and easy access to Mass Pike West. It was absolutely one of our best nights out and we dine out a lot. Thank you!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Organic, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was consistently high quality a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The food was consistently high quality and creative, and the service was attentive and thoughtful. Without our asking, they divided and separately plated a couple of dishes we were sharing (salad and an appetizer). We also enjoyed some excellent house cocktails. Ambiance is warm and attractive. It's well worth planning in advance for a reservation, especially for a special occasion.

Tags: Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Mistral is always a memorable experience

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Mistral is always a memorable experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Cocina Extraordinaria. Precios muy razo ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Cocina Extraordinaria. Precios muy razonables por el valor de la comida. El Foie Grass, excelente.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had a terrific meal. Everything was ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 10, 2016

We had a terrific meal. Everything was fresh and extremely delicious!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, People Watching, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I hadn't been to Mistral since my last v ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 10, 2016

I hadn't been to Mistral since my last visit earlier this year and I was hoping this time around it would be better. I have to say Mistral is mediocre at best. This time I went with a couple of friends for appetizers and drinks. The $22.00 pizza with Ricotta cheese has hardly any cheese on it. It was basically a flat bread with a couple of dollops of Ricotta and some arugula, very disappointing. The french fries were fresh and delicious. The special pumpkin tortellini were good, but the portion was very small, only 5 tortellini (for the prices Mistral charges for everything, portions were definitely lacking). The chocolate tort for dessert was quite good. The waiter was friendly and attentive without being cloying. It's a nice space, but the food is over priced and simply not that good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

The food was good but not very inventive ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 9, 2016

The food was good but not very inventive. Nothing really new or interesting

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Mediterranean food at its best Creative ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Mediterranean food at its best

Creative menu using local foods of the area

i.e. Vermont butter

Casual but elegant setting

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding! Dawn Marie was a great ser ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Outstanding! Dawn Marie was a great server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Have gone there for many years. Food was ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Have gone there for many years. Food was very disappointing this time.My wife and I don't eat meet. Fish had no taste and salmon tartar was very boring.

Places always sure bet if you done want to risk and try a new plays,but this time ...........????????

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Fabulous food and drink.... been wanting ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Fabulous food and drink.... been wanting to go here for ages and so glad we did. Close to back bay station, friendly/helpful wait staff...want to go back and try the sole! Veal special was lovely. Only negative was dated restrooms.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Terrible service but delicious food. We ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Terrible service but delicious food. We asked the waiter if we could get a side of raspberry a and after making a face as if our request was insane, he told us that he'd ask the chef. According to the waiter the chef said no because it would mess up their ratio of raspberries, blueberries, and strawberries. The waiter took forever to bring us our drinks, and the food, but when the check came, it came right away.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

My friends and I had delicious dinners i ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

My friends and I had delicious dinners in a friendly and warm environment. I wanted to lick my plate clean, actually. (I had the halibut with the shrimp risotto.) The service was outstanding, with an army of wait staff taking care of the patrons. And while the noise level is moderate, I had no problem hearing the people at my table without overhearing every other table. This is a lovely restaurant. I would highly recommend Mistral for special dinners and I hope someone takes me for my birthday!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mistral delivers real customer service n ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Mistral delivers real customer service not easily found in today's environments! You can relax and take your time and not be interrupted multiple times to move the table along, like many dining experiences I have had! The food is served and nothing is ever missing from the table so yourere never searching for your waiter....you can have a nice conversation uninterrupted and relax like your re in Paris!

Tags: Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Paleo Friendly, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were very good. Noise l ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Food and service were very good. Noise level was beyond unexceptionable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

Special birthday, Sunday night...I think ...

 
 (London)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Special birthday, Sunday night...I think the youngsters were left in charge. Kitchen did a great job but the servers and clearing help need to be taught the proper educate in pacing the meal, wine and bill. Our waiter was chatting up the bartender for 15 minutes while I waited for the bill. It wasn't until I got up and asked him for the bill that he obliged. Hate to see a great restaurant go down due to lack of oversight.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

We selected Mistral for a Rehearsal Dinn ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We selected Mistral for a Rehearsal Dinner in May, 2017. We went to Mistral to have dinner with our son & his fiancee and her parents recently. We wanted to see the venue and to taste test some of the items we are considering for the rehearsal dinner. The experience and the food way exceeded our expectations; the staff was attentive and friendly; and we selected a wide variety of items - appetizers, salads, entrees, desserts. Each selection was delicious. I am very excited to be hosting our Rehearsal Dinner at Mistral next May - I know they will do a superb job.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Private Room, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect in every way. Location. Lighting ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Perfect in every way. Location. Lighting. Decor. Food. Service. et al. When introducing friends to this gem, you'll surely receive high praise as I always do.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurants in Boston. Y ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on October 29, 2016

One of the best restaurants in Boston. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Horrible food. $70 for sole tasted like ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Horrible food. $70 for sole tasted like tilapia cooked in a microwave. Server should have taken off the bill. Nope.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Although Mistral was good - it fell belo ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Although Mistral was good - it fell below expectations. Dishes were decent - but far from memorable. Service and atmosphere were both great - but not enough to make up for the must OK food and the very high prices

Tags: Private Room, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The food here is exquisite. My wife and ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The food here is exquisite. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our meal here. We loved all the food we had. We had a delicious escargot appetizer, a beautiful duck entree, a lovely tenderloin dish and a tasty chocolate torte. Service was good; the food took a little while to arrive. I would definitely recommend this restaurant for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food portions were very generous. Lamb a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Food portions were very generous. Lamb awesome, steaks got good reviews, duck a little dry. Deserts not to pass up. Service very effective without being intrusive

Tags: Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Was a great find, food amazing as was th ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Was a great find, food amazing as was the service. Great authentic decor and overall wonderful find!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Authentic, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious! The tuna tartar was ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Food was delicious! The tuna tartar was fresh and tasty and was my favorite. Wait staff was attentive and the restaurant is gorgeous! Thanks for having us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

As usual, the food and service was wonde ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 25, 2016

As usual, the food and service was wonderful. However, the noise level was very loud and it was difficult to hear others at our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Although some items were good, both entr ...

 
 (London)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Although some items were good, both entrees were either poorly prepared or started with bad fish. The Dover sole tasted like no Dover sole I've had; watery, bland with unusual aftertaste. the preparation of the Halibut was good but the fish overcooked. Maybe because it was a Sunday?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

As always, Mistral was absolute perfecti ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 23, 2016

As always, Mistral was absolute perfection! The best brunch in Boston, bar none!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been to Mistral before with exce ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We have been to Mistral before with excellent service but yesterday's brunch service was not attentive at all. We had to keep asking for things that should have been automatic to the servers and it took along time for them to respond. A Restaurant of this caliber was surely not on par yesterday. My children were disappointed that this occurred as it was my birthday celebration.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

The brunch was fabulous. The food was de ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The brunch was fabulous. The food was delicious and the service was topnotch even as it got busier. We ate so much and yet the bill was quite reasonable for all we ordered.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.