About Mistral - Boston

223 Columbus Ave.
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

The design of Mistral is both elegant and casual, resonating with the ambiance of Provence as arched floor to ceiling windows drench the room with light.
Mistral’s dramatic dining room serves dinner nightly and Sunday Brunch. In our bar and comfortable lounge area we also offer craft cocktails and fine wines to compliment Chef Mammano’s menu.
Mistral’s private dining room, Le Salon du Mistral, accommodates 60 seated and up to 80 guests for a reception.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dining Room:
Sunday: 10:30am-2:00pm & 5:30pm-9:30pm
Monday-Thursday: 5:30pm-10:00pm
Friday-Saturday: 5:30pm-11:00pm (Late Night Menu 11:00pm-11:30pm)
Bar/Lounge:
Sunday: 10:30am-2:00pm & 5:00pm-10:30pm
Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm-11:00pm
Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm-12:00am

Cross Street:
between Berkeley & Clarendon

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 867-9300

Website:
http://www.mistralbistro.com/

Executive Chef:
Jamie Mammano

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Grilled Beef Tenderloin, Bordelaise Sauce, Asparagus & Horseradish Whipped Potato.
Lamb Chops
Warm Cinnamon Buns
Dulce De Leche Ice Cream With Cocoa Nibs
Duck
Entree
Pan Roasted Chicken Breast
Spring Pea Soup
Coffee cake served with apple butter and butter (breakfast, brunch)
Egg whites, oven-cured tomato, Vermont Creamery goat cheese, basil frittata
Truffled Deviled Eggs
Pommes lyonnaise, roasted potatoes, onions (breakfast, brunch, side dishe)
Sirloin Carpaccio
Dessert Plate
Goat Cheese And Caramelized Apple Salad
Halibut With Shrimp Risotto
Duck Confit
Greek-style yogurt panna cotta, pecan granola, native honey, apricots
Chilled Corn Soup
Vanilla Creme Brulee, Raspberry, Sugar Cookie
Hazelnut Milk Chocolate Pancakes
Jelly Donuts
Roast Rack Of Colorado Lamb
Chocolate Devils Food Cake With Pistachio Gelato & Penuche Glaze, Amarena Cherries
Grilled Pork Chop With Sweet Corn & Summer Peach Panzanella, Aged Sherry Vinaigrette
Seared Foie Gras with Confit of Duck in Brioche, Wisconsin Dried Cherry Gastrique
Lyonaise Potatoes
Bloody Mary
Sushi Grade Tuna Tartare with Crispy Wontons, Ginger & Soy
Grilled Tenderloin of Beef, Bordelaise Style, Olive Oil Roasted Asparagus & Horseradish Whipped Potato
Grilled Swordfish, Mediterranean Vegetable Salad, Torn Herbs, Vin Cotto & Extra Virgin Olive Oil
Profiteroles, Vanilla Ice Cream, Dark Chocolate Sauce & Pistachio Croquant
Tuna Tartare, Crispy Wontons, Ginger & Soy
Beef Tenderloin, Mashed Potato & Truffle Oil Pizza
Whole Roasted Mediterranean Sea Bass Special
Cod with Maine Lobster Black Truffles An Rissoto
Duck Confit With Roasted Vegetables
Duck Confit Hash With Eggs
Pancetta Linguini With Poached Duck Egg
Foie Gras Meatballs
Breakfast Sausages
Warm Strawberry Rhubarb Tart, Buttermilk Ice Cream
Scrambled Eggs
Caesar Salad
Tuna Tartare
crab ravioli with scallops and champagne cream sauce
Steamed Black Mussels with Smoked Tomato Mariniere, Grilled Semolina Toast
Braised Pork Shank, Polenta, Mitake Mushroom
Roasted Chicken With Butter Whipped Potatoes
Rosemary Frites
Smoked Salmon Eggs Benedict
Coffee Cake
Mozzarella and Tomato Pizza
Lamb Sausage, Piquillo Peppers, & Manchego Thin Crust Pizza
peach melba
Chocolate Chip Pancakes, Banana Brûlée, Hazelnut Nutella, Crisp Plantain
Egg whites with goat cheese
Deviled Eggs

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Le Salon du Mistral, Mistral's private dining room, provides a sophisticated setting for intimate gatherings of sixty seated and up to eighty for a reception. With award-winning French Mediterranean cuisine from Chef Jamie Mammano and unparalleled, professional service, Mistral provides the ultimate private dining experience.

Mistral - Boston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

French
Boston / New England
Best Service
Boston
Best Ambiance
Boston
1 More
French
Boston
Best Restaurants in Back Bay ›

Special Occasion (168)
Fit for Foodies (137)
Romantic (115)
See All
Notable Wine List (81)
Good for Groups (57)
Hot Spot (47)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Great for Brunch (33)
Vibrant Bar Scene (30)
Late-night Find (12)
Great for Lunch (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Scenic View (2)
Sort By:
Newest
2982 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I was pleasantly surprised by the size o ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 3 days ago

I was pleasantly surprised by the size of the portions, and the food was certainly good. I had the chilled corn soup with lobster and avocado and it was delicious. My main--the swordfish, was good but didn't blow me away. Our service was good, but nothing out-of-the-ordinary. The overall feel was a little too stuffy for my taste. It's worth going to once, but you can find better and more creative food in the Greater Boston Area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Everything homemade and delicious!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 3 days ago

Everything homemade and delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent dining experience. Never disap ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent dining experience. Never disappoints! Great service

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good, expensive though. Ordered dov ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

Very good, expensive though. Ordered dover sole- "market price" was $68. Other than that sticker shock everything was delicious, not rushed at all

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

They take themselves too seriously. Been ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

They take themselves too seriously. Been there done that

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

The bartender and waiter were better th ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

The bartender and waiter were better than great. The food was very disappointing. The duck was bland and the skin was not crisp. The best part of the meal was the bread!! We love this chains other restaurants and decided to try Mistral. Underwhelmed and would not go back .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Great restaurant.....would go there agai ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Great restaurant.....would go there again! service and food were exceptional!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While Mistral is rather pricey, the food ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

While Mistral is rather pricey, the food, drinks, atmosphere, and excellent service all make it worthwhile.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Mistral is a beautiful, romantic, deligh ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Mistral is a beautiful, romantic, delightful place for dinner. We were seated at our reservation time. Excellent wine list. Our server was informative and and provided great service. The food was incredibly delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love this restaurant. It was very ele ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

I love this restaurant. It was very elegant, without being stuffy. Our server Natalie was very professional and pleasant to work with. The food was fabulous. Our group ordered a nice variety from the menu, and no one was displeased. The Tuna Tartare was an incredible appetizer, and I highly recommend. Reservations are highly recommended, as this is a very popular place. We ate there on a Monday night, and the place was packed. If I should get the chance to go back to Boston, Mistral will be at the top of my list for places to eat.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The asparagus salad had very little aspa ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The asparagus salad had very little asparagus. The small amount of squash slices outnumbered the two asparagus spears. This item was discounted from our check.

My black bass special had very little bass.

The sirloin carpaccio was very good.

The server should have been more attentive with our beverages.

Very nice dining room and the noise level was low enough to permit easy conversation with my partner.

Parking was easy.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Nice menu - especially good fish dishes ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Nice menu - especially good fish dishes and service was excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic service and incredible flavors ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Fantastic service and incredible flavors to experience. Order the frois gras for an appetizer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very attentive pleasant service. Food t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Very attentive pleasant service. Food that is absolutely worth the cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great meal, as usual.

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great meal, as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mistral was a great experience. The menu ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Mistral was a great experience. The menu is fairly extensive. My wife had the halibut and I had the Dove sole. The portions are exceptionally generous. My starter was the mussels which were truly extraordinary and my wife loved her lobster and corn soup. The wine list is quite extensive and has many reasonable selections. Our service was outstanding. I think her name was Kendall and she was incredibly pleasant, always there when we needed her without ever being obtrusive. I would highly recommend Mistral. The bill is not cheap but the quality of food and the service justifies the cost.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romance, Special Occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As usual Mistral was outstanding. It's k ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

As usual Mistral was outstanding. It's kind of Jamie Mammano's lynch pin in his Columbus Hospitality group. We'll have to try Oystera next. We started with the Foe Gras, which is always top notch. Richard had the Escargots, which were great. Escargots can get oily, but these were just perfect. Plenty of garlic butter to dip bread in. Next we had the Dover sole(me) & the Roast Duck(Richard) The Sole was outstanding. It ALWAYS IS!! Richard's Duck while very good, used to come with a nice sauce. It didn't this time. We suggest that it be served on the side for those who would like it. We split the Profiteroles as a dessert. Very good, but the Pastry puff that contains the ice cream was WAY too crunchy. Pricey meal, but worth it.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent, as always ... been there ma ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Excellent, as always ... been there many times ... had the pork chop milanese ... excellent!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Too many kids for my taste for Friday di ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Too many kids for my taste for Friday dinner at 8. Loud and tables too close. Service ok , appetizers and dessert were excellent. main dishes good but overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

We love dining here and keep it as our s ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We love dining here and keep it as our special occasion go-to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excelent food, good ambiance. The king c ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Excelent food, good ambiance. The king crab raviolis, the best.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner, in every aspect !

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Wonderful dinner, in every aspect !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice dinner, a little expensive. Be ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Very nice dinner, a little expensive. Beautiful decoration

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

It was magic, stunning, amazing!!! We ha ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

It was magic, stunning, amazing!!! We had a beautiful evening, food was really good, the wine list was impressive and the people working there were very nice and friendly.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Some of the best food in Boston! Excelle ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Some of the best food in Boston! Excellent menu with lots if choices and desserts that all sounded great even though we didnt have any room for dessert!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We reserved a table for our parents' 50t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We reserved a table for our parents' 50th anniversary. Unfortunately part of our family had their flight cancelled and couldn't make it. Mistral personnel was very understanding and eager to accommodate us the next day. They did not charge us the last moment cancellation fee that was required for the group of our size even though we called them only couple of hours before the reserved time.

When we arrived the next day our table was ready, our server was very attentive and helpful with all our questions. He also had a great sense of humor. The food was great from appetizers to entries, the wine was superb. It was really a great evening and I'd like to thank Mistral for it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and amazing service.

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great service and amazing service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant is so classic and, I do l ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The restaurant is so classic and, I do love everything about it and hope to stop by again whenever I will be in the town

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great although the presenta ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food was great although the presentation needs some improvement. The food tastes much better than it looks. The service was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

As always, well prepared, non pretentiou ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

As always, well prepared, non pretentious and flavorful food prepared by a master.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Not a good experience. We've been here a ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Not a good experience. We've been here a handful of times before and always had a good time. Not last night. Entrees took 45+ minutes and both the tenderloin and lamb were overcooked. Manager was very apologetic, too much so actually. Server didn't seem to care and was really inattentive throughout the night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Food exquisite. Service perfect. Attitud ...

vip
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Food exquisite. Service perfect. Attitude wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very enjoyable evening . Restaurant live ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Very enjoyable evening . Restaurant lives up to its expectations in all areas. Would enjoy another chance to dine there

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I made a reservation at Mistral based on ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

I made a reservation at Mistral based on reviews. It was a special occasion. And what a pleasant dinner we had. My only advise is to incorporate an amuse bouche. The service was impeccable. We'll be back!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

A lovely, elegant restaurant. Well trai ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

A lovely, elegant restaurant. Well trained staff - there when you need them, attentive, but not interrupting at awkward times. They accommodated my vegan daughter with ease and understanding. The dessert presentation for my daughter's 16th birthday was elegant and understated. We were very pleased with everything.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic food. Excellant service. The ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Fantastic food. Excellant service. The ambiance is also quite good. Simply a wonderful place to eat

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

An excellent mean and service! We loved ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

An excellent mean and service! We loved the ambiance and would definitely return.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of our favorite restaurants ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaurants in Boston. We have dined here several times and it never disappoints. It has a pleasant decor. The food, wine and service was all excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Mistral and their other restaura ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We love Mistral and their other restaurants, Sorellina and Ostra. Mistral is our number one favourite for fine dining - something we are fortunate enough to do quite often.

However, last Saturday night they were just a step below their usual 5 star level. The food was fine but not outstanding. My lamb chops, the best anywhere, came in a plate with a wonderful sauce, but just that, not even a piece of parsley - the vegetables separate - so, no visual appeal.

I can't really say it was the crowd because this restaurant is always full to capacity every evening and the service, presentation, and food have been outstanding time after time. We will continue to return and enjoy this fabulous restaurant. I'm sure it was just a one time thing. I recommend this wonderful restaurant to all.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Our first visit to Mistral. It was clea ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Our first visit to Mistral. It was clear what all the fuss has been about with respect to this restaurant. It was a truly special dining event.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.