About Miso Izakaya

Izakaya literally means "stay sake shop." They were traditionally down-to-earth places where men drank sake and beer after work--essentially a Japanese-style tavern. As in Japan, we offer a comfortable style of dining centered around sharable plates and a variety of drinks, including sake, shochu, beer and cocktails. Our food changes seasonally, adhering to fundamentals of Japanese food while offering a unique take on traditional dishes. Enjoy yourself, relax, and linger with good friends, good food and good drinks.

619 Edgewood Ave. SE
Suite 101
Atlanta, GA 30312
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Tapas / Small Plates, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday: 5:30 pm - 10:00 pm; Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 12:00am

*Dining area last seating is at 9:30 pm. Last call for food and drinks in the dining area is at 9:30 pm on Mon and 10:00 pm Tues - Sat. Any guest that comes in after 9:30 pm will be seated in the bar area. Last call for hot food is at 10:30 pm and last call for sushi and drinks is at 11:30 pm.

Requests
Thank you for choosing Miso Izakaya. Please be advise when making a reservation through Open Table: in order to maximize and accommodate all guests we reserve the right to assign any available seats in the restaurant. Seating area includes: dining tables, sushi bar and the communal table. Any requests will be considered, but not guaranteed. Seating at the bar is first come, first serve. **RESERVATIONS WILL BE RELEASED AFTER 10 MINUTES OF YOUR INITIAL RESERVATION IF NO ONE CALLS OR SHOWS UP**. Should your plans change, please let us know. We look forward to serving you.

Cross Street:
Edgewood and Randolph St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(470) 225-6252

Parking Details:
Parking lot is located to the right of the building. There are also street parking in front of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Marta: We are located between the Inman Park and King Memorial (blue or green line) train stop. It will be an appoximately a mile walk from either station.

Executive Chef:
Guy Wong

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Book now

Miso Izakaya Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (23)
Authentic (17)
Special Occasion (16)
See All
Fit for Foodies (16)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Casual (10)
Romantic (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Fun (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Cozy (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Healthy (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Tapas (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Business Meals (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Family Style (2)
Comfort Food (2)
People Watching (2)
Spicy (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
S
216 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

tasty food, but poor service. Restaurant was almost completely empty when we arrived for our 6pm reservation, but the hostess still acted a little put out when we asked for a table other than the one right by her podium. Also the food for the four of us arrived at different times, even though we asked for it to come out together. I was done with all of my food and our two guests were almost completely done too before my wife's seared tuna arrived at the table.

Given the poor service, this place is not worth the price.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Miso Izakaya- is always at the top of our list for an easy, yet awesome date night. The food is always good and fresh and we love sitting at the bar enjoying cocktails with the great bar staff. The environment is fun and easy. It's in our top 20 in ATL.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We tried a variety of plates (appetizers, sushi, entrees) and everything was delicious and very authentic japanese. It was a great experience and we would recommend it to anyone!

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 8, 2017

All I know is D is the best waitress of all time and her husband should read this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 2, 2017

This was the third time I've eaten at Miso Izkaya with friends. We shared a number of small plates and sushi. The sushi was excellent, the yellowtail collar was incredible and the cocktails and sake selection were great. This is a place to go with friends to have a meal in a restaurant that has very nice ambience.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Overall great experience! Food was terrific, particularly the shoyu tamago, garlic rice and spicy eggplant. Good selection of sake and shochu as well. Can't wait to come back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 24, 2017

I eat at sushi restaurants all the time. This one was just average. UsuaLly sushi comes out quickly- waiting 15-20min for sushi? Quality was OK. Nice environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Great food, great service, great table for our surprise birthday dinner for our friend. The final great is that it's a short walk from the neighborhood. Would it be unkind to hope that not too many more people find out about it ? I would hate to lose it to long lines and loud phone conversations..

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Sushi is always very good and tastes very fresh. The seaweed salas also tastes so fresh. We have been happy with their sushi every time!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

One of my favorite spots. Great sushi and great ambiance. Reservations are definitely a must at any common serving time.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We've dined at Miso Izakaya many times in the past and returned for Valentine's Day. We had a large sampling of the cooked small plates as well as a few items from the sushi bar. Everything was excellent and even with 2 drinks each, the bill was extremely reasonable. This really is one of the most consistently great restaurants in the area.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Romantic, Casual, Fun, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Miso Izakaya has been a long-time favorite for years now - but something's changed, not for the better. We went on Valentine's Day for the first time in a few months. Immediately we were warned that we should go ahead and order sushi because it would probably take 20-30 minutes - no big deal, we're laid back folks, and like their drinks. So we scramble together our Sushi order, and grab a couple of other items to tie us over - edamame, steamed buns (which are awesome), and some Ramen for my wife. The ramen comes out in like 2 minutes! Excellent! And then the buns, so I've got something to put in my belly while I'm waiting on sushi. No edamame, which they apparently forgot. No big deal.

And then...well, it took about an hour and 15 minutes for our sushi to come out. It wasn't even that busy, plenty of open tables - we didn't order any specialty rolls, nothing fancy (mostly nigiri and a yellowtail roll) and not even a lot of stuff. When it finally came out, I was so hungry I would've eaten anything. And it was *pretty good.* Not great, which is what we've gotten used to there. None of it was on our server, who you could tell was stressing (and we felt bad for her when we heard other tables asking about how long it was taking.) So all in all - it's different, not for the better, and not worth the wait IMO. Sure was good while it lasted, though.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My favorite place to dine before or after a show at Dad's Garage. The sushi is divine, and the whole menu is one amazing discovery after another. Also boasts a great bar and a wonderful variety of rice wines.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We have been coming to your restaurant since it opened.. fabulous food and service...I really need to buy stock for as much as we come in and spend!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I have been to Miso Izakaya several times in the last year - its always really good. Great service, great sushi - The Unsung Hero is a fantastic cocktail. It is expensive, but worth the visit every now & then.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Delicious food that makes you go back there time and again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Inspired cuisine, great shochu and sake menu, good cocktails. Highly recommender

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 25, 2017

This was our first time here, and we had a bizarre service experience. I made a reservation for 4 people. When I arrived and stated my name and reservation, the hostess, who was reading text messages on her phone, told me to let her know when the rest of the party arrived so we could be seated. I moved over to the side and waited for my party for about 10 minutes - only to realize they were already there and seated! My friends just happened to see me standing there and came and retrieved me! They indicated that the hostess had even been hesitant to seat them initially, though the restaurant was mostly empty.

The table was not set for 4 - I had to ask the waiter for a napkin and chopsticks when he brought my food.

The food was fine but not memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Fresh sushi and fabulous service always! Best sushi in the ATL!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Great sushi. So-so service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Perfect place for a date, good ambiance and affordable. Waiter was very attentive and confirmed our order. Hand rolls were well made and fairly even throughout. Limited parking on Edgewood so Uber will be good option. Overall, good sushi spot for a Saturday.

Tags: Modern Decor, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Miso was great as always. I ended up getting 3 Kastu buns and Gyoza as an appetizer. The drinks are excellent. I got the Brown Derby.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Authentic, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We had the best waiter ever- Ty Day- very knowledgable and helpful in selecting food/drinks.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Vibrant Bar Scene, Afternoon Tea, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 14, 2017

It was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Nice dinner out with friends. I do love the ambience. Standouts were the kimchi fried rice with pork and the green beans.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Was recommended by a friend for our anniversary and we weren't disappointed!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Tapas, Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Steamed buns that I could eat daily, creative menu, how I miss tonkatsu anything! Great evening ambience and decor, Netherland cocktail I will never forget! Best food I have tried in Atlanta in the last four years!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Cozy, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Was really looking forward to this meal. Dinner with my son New Years Eve night (in town for Peach Bowl). Was surprisingly quiet at first, but the "vibe" and "energy" picked up throughout our meal. Ambience was great, noise was a non-issue, and we were able to carry on a easy conversation (which can be a precious commodity these days). Had a great 80s soundtrack in the background (music has a big impact for me). Seated immediately, wait staff was pleasant, efficient, and attentive. Extensive Japanese beer and sake menu. Food arrived tapas style. Every single dish we had was excellent, and wished we had the budget and appetite for even more. Miso soup, crab salad, Korean fried chicken, ribs and spicy tuna/salmon tartare all remarkable. Sushi was very good, but the few items we had did not stand out as unique or superior to that we have add at other restaurants. That said, this place has it going on! Would go back in a second.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 1, 2017

See my previous post. Miso Izakaya is fantastic. Great sushi, drinks, and stick buns.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Always amazing, always delicious! We eat here all the time!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Delicious food, however host did not accommodate our reservation and was not very friendly about the situation. One of the managers made sure to take care of us after our dispute and it was a great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Went prior to show at nearby Dads Garage. Sushi was fine but not standout versus other places no issues just nothing special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Nice atmosphere, but waitress seemed a bit lost & failed to initially help w/menu choices & explanations. Had to inquire about dishes w/the hostess (epic FAIL!!!). Main entrée arrived at our table before our appetizers & meal came out one dish at a time. I'm like...HUH????? It actually started to feel more like a tapas bar. Then after all of that, we felt "rushed" to dine until I said something to our waitress about it. All-in-all, food was good, atmosphere was great, but actual dining experience was a fail.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Miso Izakaya has moved to the top of my list for sushi restaurants! Unsurprisingly, their miso soup is the best I have tried in Atlanta!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 7, 2016

This was delicious food and a great experience all round.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 4, 2016

I have been coming here for years. The food is really great. The green beans are a must. This last time it was raining and the last member of our party was late due to the ever faithful rainy day Atlanta traffic. They would not seat us until our whole party was there. This always leaves a bad taste in my mouth especially when you go there often. However, the host did end up seating us before the last person got there. Overall a great experience as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Atlanta. Always excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 16, 2016

One of the best sushi restaurants in the world. LOVE THIS PLACE!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We were visiting Atlanta, and the restaurant had great reviews! We decided to check it out and were very glad we did.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Healthy, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 11, 2016

One of the best restaurants in Atlanta. The food never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.