About Miso Izakaya

619 Edgewood Ave. SE
Suite 101
Atlanta, GA 30312
View Larger Map

Izakaya literally means "stay sake shop." They were traditionally down-to-earth places where men drank sake and beer after work--essentially a Japanese-style tavern. As in Japan, we offer a comfortable style of dining centered around sharable plates and a variety of drinks, including sake, shochu, beer and cocktails. Our food changes seasonally, adhering to fundamentals of Japanese food while offering a unique take on traditional dishes. Enjoy yourself, relax, and linger with good friends, good food and good drinks.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Tapas / Small Plates, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday: 5:30 pm - 10:00 pm; Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 12:00am

*Dining area last seating is at 9:30 pm. Last call for food and drinks in the dining area is at 9:30 pm on Mon and 10:00 pm Tues - Sat. Any guest that comes in after 9:30 pm will be seated in the bar area. Last call for hot food is at 10:30 pm and last call for sushi and drinks is at 11:30 pm.

Requests
Thank you for choosing Miso Izakaya. Please be advise when making a reservation through Open Table: in order to maximize and accommodate all guests we reserve the right to assign any available seats in the restaurant. Seating area includes: dining tables, sushi bar and the communal table. Any requests will be considered, but not guaranteed. Seating at the bar is first come, first serve. **RESERVATIONS WILL BE RELEASED AFTER 10 MINUTES OF YOUR INITIAL RESERVATION IF NO ONE CALLS OR SHOWS UP**. Should your plans change, please let us know. We look forward to serving you.

Cross Street:
Edgewood and Randolph St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(470) 225-6252

Parking Details:
Parking lot is located to the right of the building. There are also street parking in front of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Marta: We are located between the Inman Park and King Memorial (blue or green line) train stop. It will be an appoximately a mile walk from either station.

Executive Chef:
Guy Wong

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Book now

Report a photo problem

Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA
Miso Izakaya, Atlanta, GA

Miso Izakaya Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (20)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
See All
Authentic (12)
Special Occasion (10)
Casual (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Modern Decor (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Romantic (5)
Tapas (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Healthy (4)
Cozy (4)
Fun (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Spicy (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Family Style (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
People Watching (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Business Meals (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
192 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had the best waiter ever- Ty Day- ve ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

We had the best waiter ever- Ty Day- very knowledgable and helpful in selecting food/drinks.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Vibrant Bar Scene, Afternoon Tea, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice dinner out with friends. I do love ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Nice dinner out with friends. I do love the ambience. Standouts were the kimchi fried rice with pork and the green beans.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Was recommended by a friend for our anni ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Was recommended by a friend for our anniversary and we weren't disappointed!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Tapas, Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steamed buns that I could eat daily, cre ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Steamed buns that I could eat daily, creative menu, how I miss tonkatsu anything! Great evening ambience and decor, Netherland cocktail I will never forget! Best food I have tried in Atlanta in the last four years!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Cozy, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Was really looking forward to this meal. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Was really looking forward to this meal. Dinner with my son New Years Eve night (in town for Peach Bowl). Was surprisingly quiet at first, but the "vibe" and "energy" picked up throughout our meal. Ambience was great, noise was a non-issue, and we were able to carry on a easy conversation (which can be a precious commodity these days). Had a great 80s soundtrack in the background (music has a big impact for me). Seated immediately, wait staff was pleasant, efficient, and attentive. Extensive Japanese beer and sake menu. Food arrived tapas style. Every single dish we had was excellent, and wished we had the budget and appetite for even more. Miso soup, crab salad, Korean fried chicken, ribs and spicy tuna/salmon tartare all remarkable. Sushi was very good, but the few items we had did not stand out as unique or superior to that we have add at other restaurants. That said, this place has it going on! Would go back in a second.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

See my previous post. Miso Izakaya is fa ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 1, 2017

See my previous post. Miso Izakaya is fantastic. Great sushi, drinks, and stick buns.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Always amazing, always delicious! We eat ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Always amazing, always delicious! We eat here all the time!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, however host did not acc ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Delicious food, however host did not accommodate our reservation and was not very friendly about the situation. One of the managers made sure to take care of us after our dispute and it was a great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Went prior to show at nearby Dads Garage ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Went prior to show at nearby Dads Garage. Sushi was fine but not standout versus other places no issues just nothing special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Nice atmosphere, but waitress seemed a b ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Nice atmosphere, but waitress seemed a bit lost & failed to initially help w/menu choices & explanations. Had to inquire about dishes w/the hostess (epic FAIL!!!). Main entrée arrived at our table before our appetizers & meal came out one dish at a time. I'm like...HUH????? It actually started to feel more like a tapas bar. Then after all of that, we felt "rushed" to dine until I said something to our waitress about it. All-in-all, food was good, atmosphere was great, but actual dining experience was a fail.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Miso Izakaya has moved to the top of my ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Miso Izakaya has moved to the top of my list for sushi restaurants! Unsurprisingly, their miso soup is the best I have tried in Atlanta!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was delicious food and a great expe ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 7, 2016

This was delicious food and a great experience all round.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been coming here for years. The f ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 4, 2016

I have been coming here for years. The food is really great. The green beans are a must. This last time it was raining and the last member of our party was late due to the ever faithful rainy day Atlanta traffic. They would not seat us until our whole party was there. This always leaves a bad taste in my mouth especially when you go there often. However, the host did end up seating us before the last person got there. Overall a great experience as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

My favorite restaurant in Atlanta. Alwa ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Atlanta. Always excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best sushi restaurants in the ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 16, 2016

One of the best sushi restaurants in the world. LOVE THIS PLACE!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting Atlanta, and the restau ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We were visiting Atlanta, and the restaurant had great reviews! We decided to check it out and were very glad we did.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Healthy, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

One of the best restaurants in Atlanta. ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 11, 2016

One of the best restaurants in Atlanta. The food never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Always have a great time when we come he ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Always have a great time when we come here. Brought my mom here for her birthday. Everyone loved the food, drinks, and atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

excellent food and for Japanese restaura ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

excellent food and for Japanese restaurant the portions were substantial. Only negative was the tables were close and the table next to us had a "LOUD TALKER"

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Very dope spot. Parking was great, you c ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Very dope spot. Parking was great, you can park along the street or in the adjacent lot. Food & drinks are awesome. Sushi is very fresh - Beef Teriyaki is my favorite. Comes out medium rare on a sizzling plate - if you want it cooked more you can just let it sit. Drinks were great - well made cocktails, not just sugary concoctions. Only negatives are 1) this place is small, so a reservation is absolutely necessary unless you catch an open bar seat. 2) The entrees are not traditional - you'll need to order several to feed the table which can get expensive. Plan to spend $100+ (including alcohol) in order to fully enjoy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fresh sushi with creative and tasty spec ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Fresh sushi with creative and tasty specialty rolls. I particularly enjoyed the spicier offerings. Size of pieces is above average but not large. Service is solid and a couple of the specialty drinks are pretty good. Seating is a little close against the window but not uncomfortably so. Plan on $80-$110 for 2 people depending on drinks.

Tags: Spicy, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

My wife and I enjoyed the variety of sma ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 21, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed the variety of small plate options. The food was fresh and authentic. We also loved the cocktails

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Tapas, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I went to Miso Izakaya after they had be ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 19, 2016

I went to Miso Izakaya after they had been written up in the AJC for their okonomiyaki. I have been on the hunt for a restaurant that makes it as good as I have, ever since I tried to make it the first time, a few years ago. Miso Izakaya has been the first to do an outstanding job on this dish!! I went back a few days later with my parents and explored more of their menu. First, I will say that if you have a fish allergy, this might not be a very good place to go. My mother, who does have such an allergy, was able to choose from two menu options, which she ordered both, and loved them! Everything that we had was very good and very authentic. I will have to go back again to try the sushi!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Disabled Access, Healthy, Romantic, Modern Decor, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Miso! Time and time again the exper ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Love Miso! Time and time again the experience is top notch. Vegetarian selections are plentiful and the meat options are easily modified. Highlights: veggie potstickers and kale salad.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and wonderful food!

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great service and wonderful food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went with my son when I visited him at s ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Went with my son when I visited him at school last week-end. We decided on sushi at 5 pm and so were lucky to get a reservation at 7 pm. We were seated immediately after being greeted by a very friendly host. Service was prompt and helpful. I ordered a salad and asked if it was large or small, ie enough for a meal. I'm still not used to the difference in southern portions vs northern portions! What was described as "small" was enough for me even with my son nibbling at it as well. Good prices, good food. Overall, a very nice evening for food, service and ambiance.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Healthy, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious! My father and I went to celeb ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Delicious! My father and I went to celebrate his birthday and enjoyed every bite and sip.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food has been consistently good for coup ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Food has been consistently good for couple years - sushi rolls and sashimi are always fresh. Also like their sake selection and crafted cocktails.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great food and service. Strongly recomme ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great food and service. Strongly recommend the crab noodles and duck buns, in addition to the hamachi sashimi and the spicy tuna.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food is great but unfortunately the ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food is great but unfortunately the service was not good. It took about 45 minutes for one member of our party to get her drink - after a few reminders. And two other items we ordered were overlooked somehow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

Kimchi fried rice is amazing and the sho ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Kimchi fried rice is amazing and the shoyu tomago is hands down my favorite item on the menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Good food not the best though. Waitress ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Good food not the best though. Waitress seemed a bit aloof but overall satisfied

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

I come here regularly, at least 2-3 time ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 27, 2016

I come here regularly, at least 2-3 times a month. I usually bring dates or occasionally a group of friends. I come for the ambiance but stay for the great food. However, my last few visits have been declining in quality because of the service. The male host is not warm and welcoming, and always has a problem sitting you for your reservation without the entire group present. 4 out of 5 people is not enough for you to sit us on time, seriously? I understand your policy, but the fact that you had to tell us, "We usually don't sit the party until everyone is present." seems very condescending. I'm there to enjoy good food with good company, not to be greeted with an attitude. I will gladly take my group and our money somewhere else. I wish I could say that this was the only occasion where I've dealt with this particular host, but it's not. This is a trend. It seems they'd rather 75% of a group sit idle and wait than to go ahead and be seated (at an empty table already reserved for you) and start ordering appetizers/drinks. Terrible business strategy. I think I will start taking my business elsewhere, sadly.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

I had been here before multiple times an ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 18, 2016

I had been here before multiple times and my experience had been positive. So when we decided to celebrate my friends Bday here, I thought we were in for a treat. Everything was disappointing from the service to the food. They were out of many things at the bar, the drinks took a long time to get served and my friends beer got to the table 40 minutes after ordering. The appetizers got there first. They brought the sides to our meal first than the rest of the food, the entrees were tiny and my same friend with the beer had ordered a side of rice and it was brought out almost at dessert time. Not only was the service slow and mediocre but they didn't even comped one single thing and charged us $10 for bringing our own cake. I understand being charged a fee but $10 for putting out 4 plates & forks...ridiculous! Especially after all the things that went wrong at our table. Needless to say I don't think I'll go back again. The only positives were the garlic rice had a good flavor, the kimchi was excellent and the short ribs were flavorful. Everything else was just BLAH!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1

Not very Gfree friendly on the cooked si ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Not very Gfree friendly on the cooked side of the menu, but the sushi was fresh and incredibly tasty.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Fantastic sushi! Fantastic restaurant! ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Fantastic sushi! Fantastic restaurant! Fantastic service!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Miso is a great restaurant for inexpensi ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Miso is a great restaurant for inexpensive sushi without sacrificing quality and flavor!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The slowest drinks EVER. The waiter was ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 10, 2016

The slowest drinks EVER. The waiter was awesome but so overloaded we never saw him. We waited 25 minutes for our first round of drinks. That's not acceptable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

The food was great but service was kind ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 9, 2016

The food was great but service was kind of slow. We were a big group so it got a little complicated. I don't think I would recommend it for groups larger than like 6 people.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

SO FREAKING GOOD!! GET THE STEAM BUNS TH ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on August 9, 2016

SO FREAKING GOOD!! GET THE STEAM BUNS THEY ARE OUT OF THIS WORLD!!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.