About Miso Izakaya

Izakaya literally means "stay sake shop." They were traditionally down-to-earth places where men drank sake and beer after work--essentially a Japanese-style tavern. As in Japan, we offer a comfortable style of dining centered around sharable plates and a variety of drinks, including sake, shochu, beer and cocktails. Our food changes seasonally, adhering to fundamentals of Japanese food while offering a unique take on traditional dishes. Enjoy yourself, relax, and linger with good friends, good food and good drinks.

619 Edgewood Ave. SE
Suite 101
Atlanta, GA 30312
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Tapas / Small Plates, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday: 5:30 pm - 10:00 pm; Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 12:00am

*Dining area last seating is at 9:30 pm. Last call for food and drinks in the dining area is at 9:30 pm on Mon and 10:00 pm Tues - Sat. Any guest that comes in after 9:30 pm will be seated in the bar area. Last call for hot food is at 10:30 pm and last call for sushi and drinks is at 11:30 pm.

Requests
Thank you for choosing Miso Izakaya. Please be advise when making a reservation through Open Table: in order to maximize and accommodate all guests we reserve the right to assign any available seats in the restaurant. Seating area includes: dining tables, sushi bar and the communal table. Any requests will be considered, but not guaranteed. Seating at the bar is first come, first serve. **RESERVATIONS WILL BE RELEASED AFTER 10 MINUTES OF YOUR INITIAL RESERVATION IF NO ONE CALLS OR SHOWS UP**. Should your plans change, please let us know. We look forward to serving you.

Cross Street:
Edgewood and Randolph St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(470) 225-6252

Parking Details:
Parking lot is located to the right of the building. There are also street parking in front of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Marta: We are located between the Inman Park and King Memorial (blue or green line) train stop. It will be an appoximately a mile walk from either station.

Executive Chef:
Guy Wong

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Book now

Miso Izakaya Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (14)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
See All
Casual (9)
Cozy (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Authentic (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Fun (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Business Meals (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Romantic (4)
Tapas (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
People Watching (2)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Spicy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
258 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Green beans were really good. Service was speedy and good. Sushi was awful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Great shareable plates, nigiri a bit pricey but small plates perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Simply put, we were very excited to try this place out and our experience fell flat of expectations. Service was definitely the worst part - the table next to us was getting frustrated with their wait staff, having to ask for things multiple times, or follow up on food ordered. We were left without water often and our wait staff checked on us as they were juggling dirty dishes. The restaurant wasn't at capacity so I'm not sure if they were short staffed, but it just took forever to get anyone's attention, even after we asked for the check, and then were ready to pay. The food itself was OK. The Chawanmushi lacked a depth of flavor; the eggplant was overly sweet and and the sauce was pretty tacky (texture); the handrolls were good but the serving tray was put together backwards, so they almost fell off the table after they were served. The sushi rice was definitely on the chewier side, so if you don't like it when rice sticks to your teeth, this isn't for you. The fish was fresh and there was no fishy smell in the restaurant. I really liked the aesthetic/ambiance of the restaurant, very nice, with clean lines - but the hall outside of the bathroom, and the bathroom itself, were so treacherously dark. I can't imagine what it would be like to go to the bathroom when it was actually dark outside. We do want to give props to the menu design actually, it was a very clean, easy to read menu; we were really impressed with that.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Great way to feed a group of people a variety of dishes fairly quickly. Sushi, buns and soups.

Tags: Good for Groups, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 31, 2017

As always, we like to sit at the Sushi bar and are never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 29, 2017

When bad service ruins your meal... It began with the hostess who informed us that, even though we were the first party in an empty restaurant, the 3 of could not sit and order a drink at our table until the 4th person arrived. When we said we wanted to order drinks she told us we could go to the bar or talk to her manager. She was the LEAST welcoming hostess in the history of hostesses. I get it if you are busy but they were not. Additionally the bar changed the cocktail menu so all of our past favorites were gone. The new drinks were fair to terrible. Finally, our server disappeared without a trace too many times to count. Our food was good but bad service can ruin the whole experience. Bring back the classic Miso drinks in addition to trying out new ones, and hire and train better people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 27, 2017

The food was delicious and beautifully presented. The setting was intimate. The artful decorations and ambiance created for a very enjoyable and relaxed evening. Well done

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Absolutely love this place! I don't leave reviews often, especially positive ones (sorry) but this is my favorite Japanese place in Atlanta and they deserve recognition. Service is great, food is fantastic. Duck buns, hand rolls, and Chirashi are my go-to but everything I've tried is just A+. The only thing I'm upset about is that it's becoming harder to get a reservation in prime time, but that's just because word is getting out on how great this restaurant is.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Great food but spotty service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Fantastic food charming waitstaff
Awesome cocktails would eat here every night

Tags: Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Healthy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Bar Seating, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 12, 2017

I strongly recommend against eating here. All the reviews about mediocre sushi and mediocre service are spot on, but that was not our biggest problem. I parked in the Mizo Izakaya lot, ate dinner with a friend, and then walked her off site. I returned within an hour, only to find that they had booted my car! I was charged $75, and Mizo Izakaya refused to do anything about it. Definitely never returning to such a subpar restaurant, and recommend that you avoid it as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Great food with a good selection. Also a good list of cocktails, wine and bear. Cozy. Good date night restaurant.

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 28, 2017

This place is amazing. It's good for a family night out or a date night. Incredible food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 26, 2017

As always a pleasant experience. I've been going here for a while and yet to have had a bad experience. Food is consistent, servers are knowledgeable, location is good, can't go wrong.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 19, 2017

This restaurant used to be really good. I was really disappointed with the quality of the food and terrible wine list. Won't be visiting again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 14, 2017

I have been coming to Miso for years. It is one of my faves. Always consistent. The Karubi and Tom Collins are my fave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Best sushi I've ever had. The restaurant is beautiful and has a zen vibe. Our waitress was new, so the service was so-so. Our last visit the service was great. Try the Katsu for an appetizer. It's amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Miso Izakaya
This is such a wonderful neighborhood gym. Every meal we've ever had there have been fantastic and the service is always top notch. There's a little something for everyone, from sushi too small plates to entrées. They also have an amazing cocktail program if you want to imbibe

Tags: People Watching, Authentic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We love the chicken karage and pork tonkatsu! Dan Dan Ramen is not the usual ramen with soup. Overall Great Food!!! 😁😁😁

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 1, 2017

As always great fresh food and good service. We love the sushi, pork dumplings, crab salad, seaweed salad, short ribs, buns, and wings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 21, 2017

After ten years in Tokyo, this was some of the nicest Japanese food I have had since I got back two years ago. My nine-year-old grandson's favorite restaurant of all. More than friendly service. Several kinds of shouchuu, what's not to like?

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Awesome spot. Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Great atmosphere, the best sushi in Atlanta

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 10, 2017

This place is great. The food is always always amazing. Dan dan ramen is delicious. Dont forget about their sushi

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Was good food. Nice to find since our other sushi place had gone down hill. However, the service leaves a lot to be desired.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 3, 2017

A mediocre restaurant that is drowning in its own pretentiousness. Poor service and OK food. Made reservations and was seated at the sushi bar. Spent the entire dinner looking at the sushi chef rather than my wife.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 2, 2017

our favorite sushi restaurant in the city

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Great food and service. Sushi was excellent. Food came out quickly. Had a nice time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Terrific food and service. They even met a rather odd reservation request.

Tags: Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Being gluten free we were excited to try this popular sushi restaurant. Once we ordered and mentioned that we were GF we were told we couldn't eat anything with rice because they soak all their rice in a soy sauce that contains wheat- we had to leave because there wasn't much to eat besides a cucumber roll-

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Usually very satisfied with Mizo, but tonight was not very good. The service was inattentive, had to ask others to bring more cocktails. The imperial roll fell apart, cucumber was cut way too thick. Salmon sashimi was ok, but seemed maybe a day too old and served w limes instead of lemon, which seemed odd. Spend over $100 every time we go here, so not cheap - will have to consider going to MF sushi next time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We made a reservation for 6. We were seated in a booth by the kitchen. The booth wasn't large enough for our party and despite there being other open larger tables empty our entire meal, the host/manager refused to move us. He suggested we "adjust" and put a chair on the end of the table. This might have been OK if he had come over and talked to us about it, but he was frankly quite rude to one member of our party. Also, the booth was directly next to the kitchen entrance and service area so the person in the chair was pretty well disturbed constantly during the meal. They could have been nicer and more accommodating.
But the food was amazing and our waitress couldn't have been better.
Great for parties of 4 and under?
Kind of disappointing since we had come in from out of town for a ladies weekend and a great meal out.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The food was great! The service was a little slow, but overall it was a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The food and cocktails were impeccable and accompanied by a perfect blend of modern-chic yet cozy atmosphere! 10/10, WOULD RECOMMEND!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Healthy, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Spicy, Vegan, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The food was solid but the front of house management was abysmal. Also, the service was terribly slow considering it wasn't particularly busy. The design of the space was pretentious. Would not return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Date night with my wife. We love this spot. Amazing sushi and the short ribs are yummy!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 21, 2017

AMAZING as always. Just make sure you have a reservation.

Tags: Tapas, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Great food....service was slow and sporadic.....it seems like they don't have enough servers working....only 2 wait staff handling the entire restaurant it appeared....this is the 2nd time in last 2 weeks we've had subpar service....and I think it's more a factor of them being spread too thin than incompetence....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 15, 2017

It was my 4th visit and this time with my in-laws. One of the most authentic Japanese restaurant in the hood (I am a Japanese).

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Wonderful food and service, as always!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.