About Miso Izakaya

619 Edgewood Ave. SE
Suite 101
Atlanta, GA 30312
View Larger Map

Izakaya literally means "stay sake shop." They were traditionally down-to-earth places where men drank sake and beer after work--essentially a Japanese-style tavern. As in Japan, we offer a comfortable style of dining centered around sharable plates and a variety of drinks, including sake, shochu, beer and cocktails. Our food changes seasonally, adhering to fundamentals of Japanese food while offering a unique take on traditional dishes. Enjoy yourself, relax, and linger with good friends, good food and good drinks.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Tapas / Small Plates, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday: 5:30 pm - 10:00 pm; Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 12:00am

*Dining area last seating is at 9:30 pm. Last call for food and drinks in the dining area is at 9:30 pm on Mon and 10:00 pm Tues - Sat. Any guest that comes in after 9:30 pm will be seated in the bar area. Last call for hot food is at 10:30 pm and last call for sushi and drinks is at 11:30 pm.

Requests
Thank you for choosing Miso Izakaya. Please be advise when making a reservation through Open Table: in order to maximize and accommodate all guests we reserve the right to assign any available seats in the restaurant. Seating area includes: dining tables, sushi bar and the communal table. Any requests will be considered, but not guaranteed. Seating at the bar is first come, first serve. **RESERVATIONS WILL BE RELEASED AFTER 10 MINUTES OF YOUR INITIAL RESERVATION IF NO ONE CALLS OR SHOWS UP**. Should your plans change, please let us know. We look forward to serving you.

Cross Street:
Edgewood and Randolph St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(470) 225-6252

Parking Details:
Parking lot is located to the right of the building. There are also street parking in front of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Marta: We are located between the Inman Park and King Memorial (blue or green line) train stop. It will be an appoximately a mile walk from either station.

Executive Chef:
Guy Wong

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night

Miso Izakaya Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.1

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Food
Atlanta
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Fit for Foodies (57)
Neighborhood Gem (48)
Special Occasion (36)
See All
Hot Spot (26)
Romantic (25)
Good for Groups (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Great for Lunch (7)
Late-night Find (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Notable Wine List (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Scenic View (2)
Sort By:
Newest
154 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I had been here before multiple times an ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 6 days ago

I had been here before multiple times and my experience had been positive. So when we decided to celebrate my friends Bday here, I thought we were in for a treat. Everything was disappointing from the service to the food. They were out of many things at the bar, the drinks took a long time to get served and my friends beer got to the table 40 minutes after ordering. The appetizers got there first. They brought the sides to our meal first than the rest of the food, the entrees were tiny and my same friend with the beer had ordered a side of rice and it was brought out almost at dessert time. Not only was the service slow and mediocre but they didn't even comped one single thing and charged us $10 for bringing our own cake. I understand being charged a fee but $10 for putting out 4 plates & forks...ridiculous! Especially after all the things that went wrong at our table. Needless to say I don't think I'll go back again. The only positives were the garlic rice had a good flavor, the kimchi was excellent and the short ribs were flavorful. Everything else was just BLAH!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1

Not very Gfree friendly on the cooked si ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Not very Gfree friendly on the cooked side of the menu, but the sushi was fresh and incredibly tasty.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Miso is a great restaurant for inexpensi ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Miso is a great restaurant for inexpensive sushi without sacrificing quality and flavor!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The slowest drinks EVER. The waiter was ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The slowest drinks EVER. The waiter was awesome but so overloaded we never saw him. We waited 25 minutes for our first round of drinks. That's not acceptable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

The food was great but service was kind ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The food was great but service was kind of slow. We were a big group so it got a little complicated. I don't think I would recommend it for groups larger than like 6 people.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

SO FREAKING GOOD!! GET THE STEAM BUNS TH ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

SO FREAKING GOOD!! GET THE STEAM BUNS THEY ARE OUT OF THIS WORLD!!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our favorite neighborhood sushi ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This is our favorite neighborhood sushi restaurant - very reasonably priced for sushi; lovely decor; great service; can even take our 4 year old son there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was the second time we've been here ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This was the second time we've been here and it was tasty again. We often like sitting at the bar when we go out (not the sushi bar in this case), and the bartender was in an off mood. Still, the food was great and reasonably priced. The drinks are small (ordered the prosecco and it was probably 2.5 oz). I think the biggest takeaway is to not just walk into this place. It will look completely deserted, but they will tell you without a reservation, the wait is 2+ hours. It's pretty pitiful actually watching so many people come in thinking they'll have no problem being seated; alas, they're told there is no first available seating and the next opening is in hours. We made that mistake the first time--never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Fantastic Japanese restaurant in the hip ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Fantastic Japanese restaurant in the hippest part of Atlanta. We were pleasantly surprised with the Sake menu and the warm plate menu, it was truly Japanese. The sushi was good, nothing to brag about. But the warm plates were fantastic. The shrimp shumai (dumplings) really make you feel you're in Tokyo. The Okinomiyaki (cabbage and fish pancake) took me back to Japan. They really got the original taste. The sake menu is small but good and the sake by the glass really allows you to choose from great sakes. The size of the sake glass was enough to get us tipsy. All in all, this is a great place. The decoration also has a touch of Japanese minimalism that makes the place unique.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Miso Izakaya is my typical go to restaur ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Miso Izakaya is my typical go to restaurant. I love their food, but enjoy their cocktails even more. The only problem I have is there's no outdoor seating. I'd love to go there to sit outside in the spring and summer. This small thing doesn't take away from my love for the food and beverage.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, solid sushi menu. Think of i ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great food, solid sushi menu. Think of it as a Japanese tapas restaurant. The seaweed salad and buns are very tasty.

It gets really busy, so make a reservation. My only complaint: because it gets so busy, the servers can seem to forget your table. I found myself waving ours down several times. Other than that, it's a wonderful place to eat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

FaBuLoUs, as always! Sushi is always and ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

FaBuLoUs, as always! Sushi is always and delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I liked every dish I ordered. Highly rec ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I liked every dish I ordered. Highly recommend the duck confit bun and the Dan Dan Ramen. Will definitely be coming back. bonus that they have a parking lot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Drinks and small plates much better than ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Drinks and small plates much better than sushi. Neat part of town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

It pains me to write this, but my most r ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

It pains me to write this, but my most recent experience at Miso was horrible!!! My fiance and I are regulars of Miso. We work in the service industry, always recommend Miso to guests and friends, and usually love Miso. We always have Dee serve us because she is always so amazing. Unfortunately, I guess everyone quit but her because she was running the floor by herself on a busy night with a trainee taking only 3 tables as help. The bartender had no help either and it was her last night there. I know all this because Dee told us. Drinks took 20 mins to get to the table, including my second round. It would have been nice if Dee offered to get me another drink sooner, instead of when my drink was empty since she knew how long drinks took. We ordered a lot of food (more than usual), but it came out few and far in between. The miso soup and seaweed salad came out fast enough, but it was a wait for everything else. We also ordered edamame that Dee didn't bring until 45 mins after we ordered and said she brought it as a gift since our sushi was taking so long, even though we actually ordered it and paid for it. Our sushi took over a hour and 15 mins to arrive. And that was only part of it, it took another 10-15mins to get the last of our food. And as much as I love Dee, she didn't do right by us that night. She relied on the fact that we were regulars and put us on the back burner while catering to her other tables. Her apology felt insincere and all that was offered to us was free ice cream, which she does half the time we dine there anyway. So, we felt completely shafted. We didn't want our meal comped or anything. But some kind of discount for the extremely ridiculous time on food and drinks would have been nice or at least some kind of apology that wasn't full of excuses and just owning up to it would have been nice. My fiance was so mad he wouldn't speak. We spent more money than we ever had there before and had the worst experience ever. Not good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

I was amazed at how cheap the cocktails ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I was amazed at how cheap the cocktails were and how delicious they were. Excellent quality! I ended up at another place for drinks later on during the night but I wish that I had stayed at Miso. The food of course, was excellent. I had the Dan Dan Ramen and my husband had sushi. It was good enough for me to branch out and try some of his sushi even though it's not usually for me. Very good experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Outstanding find in a cool neighborhood. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Outstanding find in a cool neighborhood. The small plates were outstanding - Agadashi tofu, string beans, edamame, shumai... The maki were OK but any disappointment there was more than offset by the outstanding small plates, great service, strong wine/sake/beer list. A cool place in a trending neighborhood. $6.75 and less than 10 minute Uber from downtown.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really fantastic find! Izakawa is Japane ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Really fantastic find! Izakawa is Japanese pub food so really interesting preparations of Japanese food along with traditional sushi.

Eggplant dish was incredible along with the Gyoza . Had 7 or 8 dishes to split among our group of foodies. Everyone agreed the best meal we had in Atlanta at very fair prices.

Will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went on a Monday night with the early cr ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Went on a Monday night with the early crowd at 5:30. Food was excellent, as usual. Service was great. This will continue to be one of my favorites.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I highly recommend the dan dan ramen and ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I highly recommend the dan dan ramen and the shoyu tamago as well as the sushi. The Unsung Hiro cocktail is delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Appetizers came out fairly quick. Then ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Appetizers came out fairly quick. Then they brought a plate that was not ours over, which we sent back. Shortly after, my friend's food came out. Five minutes later, the waitress (who had been attentive so far) said my food would be out in a minute. Thirty minutes later, my friend was done, I still had no food and our waitress still had not stopped by. When we finally flagged her down to cancel my order, she asked me twice if I was sure that I wanted to cancel. Um, I've been there for over 45 minutes, my friend is done and my food is nowhere in sight, yes I want to cancel. She gave a halfhearted apology and then brought the check. No manager, no one seemed to care. Will not be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Glad to find that Miso has gotten their ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Glad to find that Miso has gotten their service together. Have always loved the food, but historically service has been spotty. This visit the service was quite excellent, which means I will add Miso back to the regular rotation. Love the food.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We took our kids there for family date n ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We took our kids there for family date night, and everyone enjoyed the food.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Service was top-notch. Limited beer list ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Service was top-notch. Limited beer list, but the sake and wine were very good. The cocktails were incredible. Our server had recommendations when we needed them. Food options for both small bites and big meals. Very filling. Nice, casual aura to the whole place. On the Beltline.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Make a reservation, and make sure you're ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Make a reservation, and make sure you're on time for your reservation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Outstanding food, good service

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Each and every dish we had for dinner was outstanding. The drinks were also great, but took almost 15 minutes to come although the restaurant wasn't busy at the time. Our server was great, but the hostess was very rude both when we got there and as we left. If the staff were to work together a bit more and treat the customers a bit more kindly, then I would give it 5 stars.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

The food was amazing! We had Ramen and s ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The food was amazing! We had Ramen and some sushi rolls. It was all really fresh and tasted incredible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Delicious & Different

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Great food, good service, and a lot of variety. As with most tapas-style menus, no one item costs much, but you can get carried away if you're not careful. The only thing disappointing was the Chlonigiri, but don't let that deter you. The drinks, sushi rolls, and other menu items were all great.

Did I mention they have their own parking lot?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Food was great but service was very slow ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Food was great but service was very slow. To the point we ended up refusing one of our orders due to how late it arrived. Attentiveness of staff was not there as it has been in the past when we've dined there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Nice

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Good Food. Friendly staff. Portion sizes smaller than some restaurants. Will return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Food is amazing!!! I cant wait to go bac ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Food is amazing!!! I cant wait to go back and try more of the menu items.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My boyfriend and I just LOVE Miso -- so ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

My boyfriend and I just LOVE Miso -- so glad we found it awhile back. It's our go-to Sushi spot in Atlanta now (and we've been to all of them!). Whether it's for entertaining, special occasions or just a Tuesday night when we have a sushi craving -- they have dining room seating, sushi bar seating and a more casual main bar area that's first come first served. The food is EXCELLENT!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good bursting of flavors!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

Only complaint I had was that it took FOREVER to get my food and drinks after ordering. It was quite a pain. But I would still come back for the food. It was beyond delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Always good.

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Always good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

It's simply awesome! The service is grea ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

It's simply awesome! The service is great; the food are wonderful. Sushi, ramen, buns are all worth trying. I would love to visit next time:)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Out of towner - pleasantly surprised.

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

Out of towner - pleasantly surprised.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Portions

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Miso has great food but the portions are small. The drinks are terribly small but really good. Better to get wine than a specialty drink.

Definitely recommend this place and will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food but pricy

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Food absolutely delicious, but it was quite pricy and took quite a bit of time to come out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of Our Favorites

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

I have never had a bad dish here. Everything is fresh and delicious. The nigiri is my favorite, but the buns and kimchee/pork fried rice are great too. Excellent cocktails.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Not real Japanese

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

I tried okonomiyaki and chawanmushi here but they are not authentic Japanese. I was quite disappointed. Okonomiyaki was too crunchy like Korean pancake and chawanmushi had too much egg and had crab etc on top of the dish, which was supposed to be inside. Basically the dishes were arranged from Korean dishes probably because this place is run by a Korean owner.

But the atmosphere of the restaurant was modern and the service was pretty good, and it seems like there are variety of Japanese alcohol. If you are a sake lover, this place may be fine. But if you are looking for real Japanese food, I would recommend Nakato in Atlanta.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.