About Miso Izakaya

Izakaya literally means "stay sake shop." They were traditionally down-to-earth places where men drank sake and beer after work--essentially a Japanese-style tavern. As in Japan, we offer a comfortable style of dining centered around sharable plates and a variety of drinks, including sake, shochu, beer and cocktails. Our food changes seasonally, adhering to fundamentals of Japanese food while offering a unique take on traditional dishes. Enjoy yourself, relax, and linger with good friends, good food and good drinks.

619 Edgewood Ave. SE
Suite 101
Atlanta, GA 30312
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Tapas / Small Plates, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday: 5:30 pm - 10:00 pm; Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 12:00am

*Dining area last seating is at 9:30 pm. Last call for food and drinks in the dining area is at 9:30 pm on Mon and 10:00 pm Tues - Sat. Any guest that comes in after 9:30 pm will be seated in the bar area. Last call for hot food is at 10:30 pm and last call for sushi and drinks is at 11:30 pm.

Requests
Thank you for choosing Miso Izakaya. Please be advise when making a reservation through Open Table: in order to maximize and accommodate all guests we reserve the right to assign any available seats in the restaurant. Seating area includes: dining tables, sushi bar and the communal table. Any requests will be considered, but not guaranteed. Seating at the bar is first come, first serve. **RESERVATIONS WILL BE RELEASED AFTER 10 MINUTES OF YOUR INITIAL RESERVATION IF NO ONE CALLS OR SHOWS UP**. Should your plans change, please let us know. We look forward to serving you.

Cross Street:
Edgewood and Randolph St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(470) 225-6252

Parking Details:
Parking lot is located to the right of the building. There are also street parking in front of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Marta: We are located between the Inman Park and King Memorial (blue or green line) train stop. It will be an appoximately a mile walk from either station.

Executive Chef:
Guy Wong

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Book now

Miso Izakaya Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

3.9

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (18)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
See All
Casual (12)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Romantic (9)
Special Occasion (8)
Cozy (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Authentic (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Fun (6)
Healthy (5)
Tapas (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Business Meals (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great Beer (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Spicy (2)
Vegan (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
People Watching (1)
Seasonal (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
S
244 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

This restaurant used to be really good. I was really disappointed with the quality of the food and terrible wine list. Won't be visiting again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 14, 2017

I have been coming to Miso for years. It is one of my faves. Always consistent. The Karubi and Tom Collins are my fave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Best sushi I've ever had. The restaurant is beautiful and has a zen vibe. Our waitress was new, so the service was so-so. Our last visit the service was great. Try the Katsu for an appetizer. It's amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Miso Izakaya
This is such a wonderful neighborhood gym. Every meal we've ever had there have been fantastic and the service is always top notch. There's a little something for everyone, from sushi too small plates to entrées. They also have an amazing cocktail program if you want to imbibe

Tags: People Watching, Authentic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We love the chicken karage and pork tonkatsu! Dan Dan Ramen is not the usual ramen with soup. Overall Great Food!!! 😁😁😁

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 1, 2017

As always great fresh food and good service. We love the sushi, pork dumplings, crab salad, seaweed salad, short ribs, buns, and wings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 21, 2017

After ten years in Tokyo, this was some of the nicest Japanese food I have had since I got back two years ago. My nine-year-old grandson's favorite restaurant of all. More than friendly service. Several kinds of shouchuu, what's not to like?

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Awesome spot. Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Great atmosphere, the best sushi in Atlanta

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 10, 2017

This place is great. The food is always always amazing. Dan dan ramen is delicious. Dont forget about their sushi

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Was good food. Nice to find since our other sushi place had gone down hill. However, the service leaves a lot to be desired.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 3, 2017

A mediocre restaurant that is drowning in its own pretentiousness. Poor service and OK food. Made reservations and was seated at the sushi bar. Spent the entire dinner looking at the sushi chef rather than my wife.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 2, 2017

our favorite sushi restaurant in the city

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Great food and service. Sushi was excellent. Food came out quickly. Had a nice time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Terrific food and service. They even met a rather odd reservation request.

Tags: Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Being gluten free we were excited to try this popular sushi restaurant. Once we ordered and mentioned that we were GF we were told we couldn't eat anything with rice because they soak all their rice in a soy sauce that contains wheat- we had to leave because there wasn't much to eat besides a cucumber roll-

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Usually very satisfied with Mizo, but tonight was not very good. The service was inattentive, had to ask others to bring more cocktails. The imperial roll fell apart, cucumber was cut way too thick. Salmon sashimi was ok, but seemed maybe a day too old and served w limes instead of lemon, which seemed odd. Spend over $100 every time we go here, so not cheap - will have to consider going to MF sushi next time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We made a reservation for 6. We were seated in a booth by the kitchen. The booth wasn't large enough for our party and despite there being other open larger tables empty our entire meal, the host/manager refused to move us. He suggested we "adjust" and put a chair on the end of the table. This might have been OK if he had come over and talked to us about it, but he was frankly quite rude to one member of our party. Also, the booth was directly next to the kitchen entrance and service area so the person in the chair was pretty well disturbed constantly during the meal. They could have been nicer and more accommodating.
But the food was amazing and our waitress couldn't have been better.
Great for parties of 4 and under?
Kind of disappointing since we had come in from out of town for a ladies weekend and a great meal out.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The food was great! The service was a little slow, but overall it was a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The food and cocktails were impeccable and accompanied by a perfect blend of modern-chic yet cozy atmosphere! 10/10, WOULD RECOMMEND!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Healthy, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Spicy, Vegan, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The food was solid but the front of house management was abysmal. Also, the service was terribly slow considering it wasn't particularly busy. The design of the space was pretentious. Would not return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Date night with my wife. We love this spot. Amazing sushi and the short ribs are yummy!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 21, 2017

AMAZING as always. Just make sure you have a reservation.

Tags: Tapas, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Great food....service was slow and sporadic.....it seems like they don't have enough servers working....only 2 wait staff handling the entire restaurant it appeared....this is the 2nd time in last 2 weeks we've had subpar service....and I think it's more a factor of them being spread too thin than incompetence....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 15, 2017

It was my 4th visit and this time with my in-laws. One of the most authentic Japanese restaurant in the hood (I am a Japanese).

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Wonderful food and service, as always!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Typically the food is on point at Mizo. We often choose it because of this. Maybe an off night? The ambience is still a favorite of mine.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 1, 2017

As always the food was great as well as the service.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 24, 2017

tasty food, but poor service. Restaurant was almost completely empty when we arrived for our 6pm reservation, but the hostess still acted a little put out when we asked for a table other than the one right by her podium. Also the food for the four of us arrived at different times, even though we asked for it to come out together. I was done with all of my food and our two guests were almost completely done too before my wife's seared tuna arrived at the table.

Given the poor service, this place is not worth the price.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Miso Izakaya- is always at the top of our list for an easy, yet awesome date night. The food is always good and fresh and we love sitting at the bar enjoying cocktails with the great bar staff. The environment is fun and easy. It's in our top 20 in ATL.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We tried a variety of plates (appetizers, sushi, entrees) and everything was delicious and very authentic japanese. It was a great experience and we would recommend it to anyone!

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 8, 2017

All I know is D is the best waitress of all time and her husband should read this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 1, 2017

This was the third time I've eaten at Miso Izkaya with friends. We shared a number of small plates and sushi. The sushi was excellent, the yellowtail collar was incredible and the cocktails and sake selection were great. This is a place to go with friends to have a meal in a restaurant that has very nice ambience.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Overall great experience! Food was terrific, particularly the shoyu tamago, garlic rice and spicy eggplant. Good selection of sake and shochu as well. Can't wait to come back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 23, 2017

I eat at sushi restaurants all the time. This one was just average. UsuaLly sushi comes out quickly- waiting 15-20min for sushi? Quality was OK. Nice environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Great food, great service, great table for our surprise birthday dinner for our friend. The final great is that it's a short walk from the neighborhood. Would it be unkind to hope that not too many more people find out about it ? I would hate to lose it to long lines and loud phone conversations..

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Sushi is always very good and tastes very fresh. The seaweed salas also tastes so fresh. We have been happy with their sushi every time!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 18, 2017

One of my favorite spots. Great sushi and great ambiance. Reservations are definitely a must at any common serving time.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We've dined at Miso Izakaya many times in the past and returned for Valentine's Day. We had a large sampling of the cooked small plates as well as a few items from the sushi bar. Everything was excellent and even with 2 drinks each, the bill was extremely reasonable. This really is one of the most consistently great restaurants in the area.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Romantic, Casual, Fun, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Miso Izakaya has been a long-time favorite for years now - but something's changed, not for the better. We went on Valentine's Day for the first time in a few months. Immediately we were warned that we should go ahead and order sushi because it would probably take 20-30 minutes - no big deal, we're laid back folks, and like their drinks. So we scramble together our Sushi order, and grab a couple of other items to tie us over - edamame, steamed buns (which are awesome), and some Ramen for my wife. The ramen comes out in like 2 minutes! Excellent! And then the buns, so I've got something to put in my belly while I'm waiting on sushi. No edamame, which they apparently forgot. No big deal.

And then...well, it took about an hour and 15 minutes for our sushi to come out. It wasn't even that busy, plenty of open tables - we didn't order any specialty rolls, nothing fancy (mostly nigiri and a yellowtail roll) and not even a lot of stuff. When it finally came out, I was so hungry I would've eaten anything. And it was *pretty good.* Not great, which is what we've gotten used to there. None of it was on our server, who you could tell was stressing (and we felt bad for her when we heard other tables asking about how long it was taking.) So all in all - it's different, not for the better, and not worth the wait IMO. Sure was good while it lasted, though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.