About Miso Izakaya

619 Edgewood Ave. SE
Suite 101
Atlanta, GA 30312
View Larger Map

Izakaya literally means "stay sake shop." They were traditionally down-to-earth places where men drank sake and beer after work--essentially a Japanese-style tavern. As in Japan, we offer a comfortable style of dining centered around sharable plates and a variety of drinks, including sake, shochu, beer and cocktails. Our food changes seasonally, adhering to fundamentals of Japanese food while offering a unique take on traditional dishes. Enjoy yourself, relax, and linger with good friends, good food and good drinks.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Tapas / Small Plates, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday: 5:30 pm - 10:00 pm; Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 12:00am

*Dining area last seating is at 9:30 pm. Last call for food and drinks in the dining area is at 9:30 pm on Mon and 10:00 pm Tues - Sat. Any guest that comes in after 9:30 pm will be seated in the bar area. Last call for hot food is at 10:30 pm and last call for sushi and drinks is at 11:30 pm.

Requests
Thank you for choosing Miso Izakaya. Please be advise when making a reservation through Open Table: in order to maximize and accommodate all guests we reserve the right to assign any available seats in the restaurant. Seating area includes: dining tables, sushi bar and the communal table. Any requests will be considered, but not guaranteed. Seating at the bar is first come, first serve. **RESERVATIONS WILL BE RELEASED AFTER 10 MINUTES OF YOUR INITIAL RESERVATION IF NO ONE CALLS OR SHOWS UP**. Should your plans change, please let us know. We look forward to serving you.

Cross Street:
Edgewood and Randolph St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(470) 225-6252

Parking Details:
Parking lot is located to the right of the building. There are also street parking in front of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Marta: We are located between the Inman Park and King Memorial (blue or green line) train stop. It will be an appoximately a mile walk from either station.

Executive Chef:
Guy Wong

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Book now

Miso Izakaya Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.1

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Fit for Foodies (22)
Good for a Date (19)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
See All
Creative Cuisine (14)
Authentic (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Fun (7)
Casual (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Healthy (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Romantic (4)
Cozy (4)
Tapas (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Family Style (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Spicy (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Business Meals (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
People Watching (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
175 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My favorite restaurant in Atlanta. Alwa ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Atlanta. Always excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best sushi restaurants in the ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 16, 2016

One of the best sushi restaurants in the world. LOVE THIS PLACE!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting Atlanta, and the restau ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We were visiting Atlanta, and the restaurant had great reviews! We decided to check it out and were very glad we did.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Healthy, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

One of the best restaurants in Atlanta. ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 11, 2016

One of the best restaurants in Atlanta. The food never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Always have a great time when we come he ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Always have a great time when we come here. Brought my mom here for her birthday. Everyone loved the food, drinks, and atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

excellent food and for Japanese restaura ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

excellent food and for Japanese restaurant the portions were substantial. Only negative was the tables were close and the table next to us had a "LOUD TALKER"

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Very dope spot. Parking was great, you c ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Very dope spot. Parking was great, you can park along the street or in the adjacent lot. Food & drinks are awesome. Sushi is very fresh - Beef Teriyaki is my favorite. Comes out medium rare on a sizzling plate - if you want it cooked more you can just let it sit. Drinks were great - well made cocktails, not just sugary concoctions. Only negatives are 1) this place is small, so a reservation is absolutely necessary unless you catch an open bar seat. 2) The entrees are not traditional - you'll need to order several to feed the table which can get expensive. Plan to spend $100+ (including alcohol) in order to fully enjoy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fresh sushi with creative and tasty spec ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Fresh sushi with creative and tasty specialty rolls. I particularly enjoyed the spicier offerings. Size of pieces is above average but not large. Service is solid and a couple of the specialty drinks are pretty good. Seating is a little close against the window but not uncomfortably so. Plan on $80-$110 for 2 people depending on drinks.

Tags: Spicy, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

My wife and I enjoyed the variety of sma ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 21, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed the variety of small plate options. The food was fresh and authentic. We also loved the cocktails

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Tapas, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I went to Miso Izakaya after they had be ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 19, 2016

I went to Miso Izakaya after they had been written up in the AJC for their okonomiyaki. I have been on the hunt for a restaurant that makes it as good as I have, ever since I tried to make it the first time, a few years ago. Miso Izakaya has been the first to do an outstanding job on this dish!! I went back a few days later with my parents and explored more of their menu. First, I will say that if you have a fish allergy, this might not be a very good place to go. My mother, who does have such an allergy, was able to choose from two menu options, which she ordered both, and loved them! Everything that we had was very good and very authentic. I will have to go back again to try the sushi!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Disabled Access, Healthy, Romantic, Modern Decor, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Miso! Time and time again the exper ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Love Miso! Time and time again the experience is top notch. Vegetarian selections are plentiful and the meat options are easily modified. Highlights: veggie potstickers and kale salad.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and wonderful food!

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great service and wonderful food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went with my son when I visited him at s ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Went with my son when I visited him at school last week-end. We decided on sushi at 5 pm and so were lucky to get a reservation at 7 pm. We were seated immediately after being greeted by a very friendly host. Service was prompt and helpful. I ordered a salad and asked if it was large or small, ie enough for a meal. I'm still not used to the difference in southern portions vs northern portions! What was described as "small" was enough for me even with my son nibbling at it as well. Good prices, good food. Overall, a very nice evening for food, service and ambiance.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Healthy, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious! My father and I went to celeb ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Delicious! My father and I went to celebrate his birthday and enjoyed every bite and sip.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food has been consistently good for coup ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Food has been consistently good for couple years - sushi rolls and sashimi are always fresh. Also like their sake selection and crafted cocktails.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great food and service. Strongly recomme ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great food and service. Strongly recommend the crab noodles and duck buns, in addition to the hamachi sashimi and the spicy tuna.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food is great but unfortunately the ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food is great but unfortunately the service was not good. It took about 45 minutes for one member of our party to get her drink - after a few reminders. And two other items we ordered were overlooked somehow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

Kimchi fried rice is amazing and the sho ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Kimchi fried rice is amazing and the shoyu tomago is hands down my favorite item on the menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Good food not the best though. Waitress ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Good food not the best though. Waitress seemed a bit aloof but overall satisfied

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

I come here regularly, at least 2-3 time ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 27, 2016

I come here regularly, at least 2-3 times a month. I usually bring dates or occasionally a group of friends. I come for the ambiance but stay for the great food. However, my last few visits have been declining in quality because of the service. The male host is not warm and welcoming, and always has a problem sitting you for your reservation without the entire group present. 4 out of 5 people is not enough for you to sit us on time, seriously? I understand your policy, but the fact that you had to tell us, "We usually don't sit the party until everyone is present." seems very condescending. I'm there to enjoy good food with good company, not to be greeted with an attitude. I will gladly take my group and our money somewhere else. I wish I could say that this was the only occasion where I've dealt with this particular host, but it's not. This is a trend. It seems they'd rather 75% of a group sit idle and wait than to go ahead and be seated (at an empty table already reserved for you) and start ordering appetizers/drinks. Terrible business strategy. I think I will start taking my business elsewhere, sadly.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

I had been here before multiple times an ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 18, 2016

I had been here before multiple times and my experience had been positive. So when we decided to celebrate my friends Bday here, I thought we were in for a treat. Everything was disappointing from the service to the food. They were out of many things at the bar, the drinks took a long time to get served and my friends beer got to the table 40 minutes after ordering. The appetizers got there first. They brought the sides to our meal first than the rest of the food, the entrees were tiny and my same friend with the beer had ordered a side of rice and it was brought out almost at dessert time. Not only was the service slow and mediocre but they didn't even comped one single thing and charged us $10 for bringing our own cake. I understand being charged a fee but $10 for putting out 4 plates & forks...ridiculous! Especially after all the things that went wrong at our table. Needless to say I don't think I'll go back again. The only positives were the garlic rice had a good flavor, the kimchi was excellent and the short ribs were flavorful. Everything else was just BLAH!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1

Not very Gfree friendly on the cooked si ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Not very Gfree friendly on the cooked side of the menu, but the sushi was fresh and incredibly tasty.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Fantastic sushi! Fantastic restaurant! ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Fantastic sushi! Fantastic restaurant! Fantastic service!

Tags: Délicieux et bons pour les enfants, La perle du quartier, Idéal pour le repas du midi, Une occasion spéciale
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Miso is a great restaurant for inexpensi ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Miso is a great restaurant for inexpensive sushi without sacrificing quality and flavor!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The slowest drinks EVER. The waiter was ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 10, 2016

The slowest drinks EVER. The waiter was awesome but so overloaded we never saw him. We waited 25 minutes for our first round of drinks. That's not acceptable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

The food was great but service was kind ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 9, 2016

The food was great but service was kind of slow. We were a big group so it got a little complicated. I don't think I would recommend it for groups larger than like 6 people.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

SO FREAKING GOOD!! GET THE STEAM BUNS TH ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on August 9, 2016

SO FREAKING GOOD!! GET THE STEAM BUNS THEY ARE OUT OF THIS WORLD!!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our favorite neighborhood sushi ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 6, 2016

This is our favorite neighborhood sushi restaurant - very reasonably priced for sushi; lovely decor; great service; can even take our 4 year old son there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was the second time we've been here ...

vip
 (Ireland)·Dined on August 6, 2016

This was the second time we've been here and it was tasty again. We often like sitting at the bar when we go out (not the sushi bar in this case), and the bartender was in an off mood. Still, the food was great and reasonably priced. The drinks are small (ordered the prosecco and it was probably 2.5 oz). I think the biggest takeaway is to not just walk into this place. It will look completely deserted, but they will tell you without a reservation, the wait is 2+ hours. It's pretty pitiful actually watching so many people come in thinking they'll have no problem being seated; alas, they're told there is no first available seating and the next opening is in hours. We made that mistake the first time--never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Fantastic Japanese restaurant in the hip ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Fantastic Japanese restaurant in the hippest part of Atlanta. We were pleasantly surprised with the Sake menu and the warm plate menu, it was truly Japanese. The sushi was good, nothing to brag about. But the warm plates were fantastic. The shrimp shumai (dumplings) really make you feel you're in Tokyo. The Okinomiyaki (cabbage and fish pancake) took me back to Japan. They really got the original taste. The sake menu is small but good and the sake by the glass really allows you to choose from great sakes. The size of the sake glass was enough to get us tipsy. All in all, this is a great place. The decoration also has a touch of Japanese minimalism that makes the place unique.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Miso Izakaya is my typical go to restaur ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 25, 2016

Miso Izakaya is my typical go to restaurant. I love their food, but enjoy their cocktails even more. The only problem I have is there's no outdoor seating. I'd love to go there to sit outside in the spring and summer. This small thing doesn't take away from my love for the food and beverage.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, solid sushi menu. Think of i ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great food, solid sushi menu. Think of it as a Japanese tapas restaurant. The seaweed salad and buns are very tasty.

It gets really busy, so make a reservation. My only complaint: because it gets so busy, the servers can seem to forget your table. I found myself waving ours down several times. Other than that, it's a wonderful place to eat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

FaBuLoUs, as always! Sushi is always and ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 23, 2016

FaBuLoUs, as always! Sushi is always and delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I liked every dish I ordered. Highly rec ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 22, 2016

I liked every dish I ordered. Highly recommend the duck confit bun and the Dan Dan Ramen. Will definitely be coming back. bonus that they have a parking lot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Drinks and small plates much better than ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 20, 2016

Drinks and small plates much better than sushi. Neat part of town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

It pains me to write this, but my most r ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 19, 2016

It pains me to write this, but my most recent experience at Miso was horrible!!! My fiance and I are regulars of Miso. We work in the service industry, always recommend Miso to guests and friends, and usually love Miso. We always have Dee serve us because she is always so amazing. Unfortunately, I guess everyone quit but her because she was running the floor by herself on a busy night with a trainee taking only 3 tables as help. The bartender had no help either and it was her last night there. I know all this because Dee told us. Drinks took 20 mins to get to the table, including my second round. It would have been nice if Dee offered to get me another drink sooner, instead of when my drink was empty since she knew how long drinks took. We ordered a lot of food (more than usual), but it came out few and far in between. The miso soup and seaweed salad came out fast enough, but it was a wait for everything else. We also ordered edamame that Dee didn't bring until 45 mins after we ordered and said she brought it as a gift since our sushi was taking so long, even though we actually ordered it and paid for it. Our sushi took over a hour and 15 mins to arrive. And that was only part of it, it took another 10-15mins to get the last of our food. And as much as I love Dee, she didn't do right by us that night. She relied on the fact that we were regulars and put us on the back burner while catering to her other tables. Her apology felt insincere and all that was offered to us was free ice cream, which she does half the time we dine there anyway. So, we felt completely shafted. We didn't want our meal comped or anything. But some kind of discount for the extremely ridiculous time on food and drinks would have been nice or at least some kind of apology that wasn't full of excuses and just owning up to it would have been nice. My fiance was so mad he wouldn't speak. We spent more money than we ever had there before and had the worst experience ever. Not good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

I was amazed at how cheap the cocktails ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 16, 2016

I was amazed at how cheap the cocktails were and how delicious they were. Excellent quality! I ended up at another place for drinks later on during the night but I wish that I had stayed at Miso. The food of course, was excellent. I had the Dan Dan Ramen and my husband had sushi. It was good enough for me to branch out and try some of his sushi even though it's not usually for me. Very good experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Outstanding find in a cool neighborhood. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Outstanding find in a cool neighborhood. The small plates were outstanding - Agadashi tofu, string beans, edamame, shumai... The maki were OK but any disappointment there was more than offset by the outstanding small plates, great service, strong wine/sake/beer list. A cool place in a trending neighborhood. $6.75 and less than 10 minute Uber from downtown.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really fantastic find! Izakawa is Japane ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Really fantastic find! Izakawa is Japanese pub food so really interesting preparations of Japanese food along with traditional sushi.

Eggplant dish was incredible along with the Gyoza . Had 7 or 8 dishes to split among our group of foodies. Everyone agreed the best meal we had in Atlanta at very fair prices.

Will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went on a Monday night with the early cr ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 11, 2016

Went on a Monday night with the early crowd at 5:30. Food was excellent, as usual. Service was great. This will continue to be one of my favorites.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.