Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

Keei CafeKeei Cafe
(119)
Seafood | Kailua-Kona, Hawaii / Big Island
Reserve Now
Rays on the BayRays on the Bay
(496)
American | Keauhou, Hawaii / Big Island
Reserve Now
Sam Choy's Kai LanaiSam Choy's Kai Lanai
(695)
Hawaii Regional Cuisine | Kailua-Kona, Hawaii / Big Island
Reserve Now
Kenichi PacificKenichi Pacific
(245)
Japanese | Kailua-Kona, Hawaii / Big Island
Reserve Now
Island Lava Java BistroIsland Lava Java Bistro
(347)
Contemporary American | Kailua-Kona, Hawaii / Big Island
Reserve Now
Fish Hopper - Kailua-KonaFish Hopper - Kailua-Kona
(562)
Seafood | Kailua-Kona, Hawaii / Big Island
Reserve Now
Huggo'sHuggo's
(298)
Seafood | Kailua-Kona, Hawaii / Big Island
Reserve Now
Mi's Waterfront BistroMi's Waterfront Bistro
(20)
Contemporary Italian | Kailua-Kona, Hawaii / Big Island
Reserve Now
Sushi ShionoSushi Shiono
(160)
Japanese | Kailua-Kona, Hawaii / Big Island
Reserve Now
Haleo Luau- Sheraton Kona Resort and SpaHaleo Luau- Sheraton Kona Resort and Spa
Reviews Coming Soon
Hawaiian | Kailua-Kona, Hawaii / Big Island
Reserve Now
Lava Lava Beach ClubLava Lava Beach Club
(597)
Hawaii Regional Cuisine | Kailua-Kona, Hawaii / Big Island
Reserve Now
Dining Events at Sheraton Kona Resort and SpaDining Events at Sheraton Kona Resort and Spa
Reviews Coming Soon
Pan-Asian | Keauhou, Hawaii / Big Island
Reserve Now
Beach Tree Restaurant, Bar and LoungeBeach Tree Restaurant, Bar and Lounge
(220)
Italian | Kaupulehu, Hawaii / Big Island
Reserve Now
'Ulu Ocean Grill and Sushi Lounge'Ulu Ocean Grill and Sushi Lounge
(502)
Hawaiian | Kaupulehu, Hawaii / Big Island
Reserve Now
Hualalai GrilleHualalai Grille
(37)
American | Kohala Coast, Hawaii / Big Island
Reserve Now

About Mi's Italian Bistro

81-6372 Mamalahoa Hwy 103
Kealakekua, HI 96750
View Larger Map

Mi's Bistro is a farm to table restaurant that features many local ingredients including our produce, seafood and Big Island grass fed Beef. Family owned and operated, Mi's is the place to come for any special occasion. Our award-winning chefs work tirelessly to prepare a menu that suits all of our guests needs. Voted "Best Italian Restaurant" for three years in a row, whether you are in the mood for fresh pasta or something more, Mi's is the place to be!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: M-Su 4:30pm-8:30pm

Cross Street:
Keapuka Rd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 323-3880

Website:
http://www.misitalianbistro.com/

Parking Details:
Shared parking with convenience store, park in any of the stalls not immediately in front of store.

Executive Chef:
Morgan Starr

Additional:
Beer, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wine

Mi's Italian Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.8

ambience

3.9

value

4.6

noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (7)
fit for foodies (6)
romantic (6)
See All
neighborhood gem (5)
notable wine list (2)
good for groups (1)
hot spot (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
159 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Mi's is just excellent

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Simply put Mi's is just excellent at a very reasonable price.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Italian restaurant in South Kona

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

We've been here a few times and have tried many of the items. All have been fantastic. We are sad to hear they are moving further away from us, but we'll make the trip to see the new location soon!

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mis Is Exceptional!

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Enjoyed another wonderful dinner at Mis--terrific menu--outstanding taste---terrific deserts---and very soon an exceptional view of the ocean!! Well done Mis!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

One of Kona's Best

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

Never disappoints, friendly staff, can't wait to try them in the new location that is coming very soon. A+++

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food is always excellent Glad they are ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Food is always excellent

Glad they are moving to a larger Facility in downtown Kona. Should improve the overall dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Wish the lighting was just a bit brighter

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

Overall this is an amazing place to eat local foods. Never fails to bring something new each time and the soups are always wonderful

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Best dish was the ravioli and the pork t ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Best dish was the ravioli and the pork tenderloin. The pasta with Italian sausage and the fish special were OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Very disappointed. where was the Love?

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Caesar Salad was over dressed, Pasta served with Sasage Rigate was under cooked, sasage was tough and chewy., sauce very "One Note" as in Boring.

Cioppino was good, couldn't find any crab. not exactly generous portions. would suggest garlic bread be served on seperate plate, it got partially soaked with Cioppino on the edges when served.

We Both live here, and probably wont be returning or recommending to our friends.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

Always great!

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

We always make a reservation at Mi's when we go to Kona (just a short hop down the highway to Kealakekua). This time we reserved for Tuesday and loved it so much we made another reservation for Friday. Lamb and fish were great but the absolute winner was the housemade sausage and pasta - WOW!!! Caesar salad is great. Prices are very reasonable. Visited March 8 and 11, 2016.

They are moving to Alii Drive sometime soon, so be sure to check the address. Wonderful, dependable restaurant in Kona.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Always a great meal!

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Of course took my #1 son to Mi's when he visited. He lived in Italy and pointed out how fine the wine list is. We ate, drank and did our catch up talk with joy. Enough wait attention to meet all our needs without interruption. Food always wonderful. Split the tira misou which is legendary.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Mi's is worth a visit

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 1, 2016

This is a very small cozy place and you are quite close to your neighbour's table. The food was good, although we both thought slightly under seasoned. The fish and corn chowder was nice, but again a bit under seasoned and the potatoes were a bit under done to our liking.

We sat at the last table by the kitchen and could smell cigarette smoke coming in the back door at one point. That was unfortunate.

We were most impressed with our serving person, who also was the hostess and the food runner and she was bussing and setting up tables. She was the only one attending to the entire (and full) restaurant we really felt sorry for her, but she never forgot a thing and was very attentive considering the load she was carrying. We gave her a very good tip.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great evening at Mi's Bistro - again!

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

We have been to Mi's many times over the years and have never been disappointed with the food or the service. Sometimes the service can be slow - but after all, you are in Hawaii and good, fresh, well prepared food takes time. Order one of the wonderful appetizers or the daily Bruschetta. The daily specials are always very good and quite interesting. The wine list is well thought out and compliments the menu items. They will help suggest a wine pairing for your meal. Reservations are always recommended as the place is small. Tables are also very close together, so you will probably end up chatting with the patrons at the next table.

They have a flourless dark chocolate cake and a tiramisu that are a must to end a meal! Mi's will be moving in April to Kailua- Kona to a wonderful ocean side location - we can hardly wait!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Interestingly presented food, well balan ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Interestingly presented food, well balanced flavors, and the specials are truly special.

Small but very nice wine list, and the wines compliment the food. Went twice in a week, had very nice diverse meals. The pork with fennel cream sauce was excellent. The salads are fresh and very good - tomatoes are super. 2nd night had the ahi on risotto special which was probably the best fish dish I've ever had. Desserts are excellent also.

Excellent price points, large portions, excellent food. Only drawback is small staff - if you're in a hurry you may get frustrated- but have another beverage and chill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food, great find in South Kona

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on February 23, 2016

I've been to Mi's 3 times now, and every time the food and service has been fabulous.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

For starters we had Bruchetta sent to ou ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on February 22, 2016

For starters we had Bruchetta sent to our table as compliments of the chef, the food was delisious. Beef was perfectly cooked, and the pork was tender and filling. Servers where on top of everything. I would definitely recommend this experience to a friend.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasant surprise

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Since there were very few restaurants near Captain Cook area where we stayed, we did not expect much for a dinner. But actually it was a pleasant surprise. We had Island Style Cioppino and one of the night's special (Ahi Pasta). Both were excellent and we enjoyed them very much until the dishes became empty. Since we will visit this area again next year, we definitely return to this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food, not super expensive. Mu ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

Excellent food, not super expensive. Much better than all the "grills" in Kona.

We were impressed with the efficiency of the workers there. The restaurant was completely full when we were there (around ~40 people) and there were only 5 people working: 2 servers, 2 chefs, and 1 dish washer -- no host, no bus-boy. (We were there on President's Day, so I'm guessing this was unusual for them -- they probably just had a few people on vacation). Even with so few workers though, food came out quickly and the servers were attentive.

Only thing I wasn't happy about was the location. It is in a sketchy looking building, shared with a very disreputable looking store with terrible parking lot. Good news is that it looks like Mi's will be moving to a new location soon, so this issue will soon go away.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Mis

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

This is a really good restaurant, period. The service and the food are exceptional. Been going for years, it keeps getting better.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's Day Treat

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

We were so glad we made reservations, because every table was booked! The shrimp scampi was the best we have ever had--highly recommend trying it. Everything was just delicious. Ingrid and Morgan's two little girls (who we have watched growing up) passed out chocolate Valentine candy hearts to all the patrons. The highlight was to see Ingrid with their beautiful baby sister who was just over one month old. Fabulous place to eat--run by caring and lovely people. Mi's is better than any other mauka restaurant.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal was delicious. They were very h ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The meal was delicious. They were very helpful when we let them know we were at the local theater production and it ran long. Always take our off island guests to this gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful as always

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

All the food is always presented beautifully! Service is excellent!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mi's Restaurant Captain Cook

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

Table was ready when we arrived. Fast and courteous service. Dinner was excellent as usual. Will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an incredible experience. Absolutel ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on February 11, 2016

What an incredible experience. Absolutely the best restaurant we have been to on the Big Island. Can't believe we had never been there before now. Exceptional service and the food is top notch. Everything we had was flavorful and fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Where to go for great Italian

 
·Dined on February 2, 2016

Tired of the same old pasta dishes? Mi's will fix that. Looking great Food at reasonable prices? Mi's will fix that too.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visit the Big Island every year & Mi' ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

We visit the Big Island every year & Mi's is always a must for us! Morgan & Ingrid are exceptional hosts. The food is consistently excellent, the service is always fast & pleasant. Highly recommend it!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quaint and delicious

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

Not a fancy place by any means, but good, fresh, honest food at great prices. We were hungry for Italian and this place satisfied well. Had the scampi (amazing sauce), chicken parm bites (the only so-so dish of the bunch), spaghetti bolognese, and crab manicotti. Friendly service and easy parking in front of the store next door. Recommended!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Great night

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

Great find for these frequent visitors. Friendly staff, absolutely fabulous food, save room for one of their yummy desserts.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Did not live up to expectations

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

On vacation on Hawaii and tried most of the top-rated restaurants on the west coast (Kona to Waikaloa). Some were total disappointments, but Mi's was just underwhelming. Special tuna entree was overcooked. Cioppino was ok, but not special. Service was very slow (but not the worst we experienced), and the dining room was a sauna for the entire meal. When in Kona again, we probably won't go back to Mi's, but if you go, you might stick with a pasta...looked like the simpler, traditional dishes might have been better executed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Mi's needs a little more spice

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

We have always picked Mi's for special occasions and when we have guests because the food was a step above all other restaurants in Kona. This time, the herb and cheese ravioli, my favorite, was lacking in flavor, and the blue cheese sauce tasted like regular Alfredo sauce. It needed garlic, salt and pepper which I added to my take home portion. My husband had to crab manicotti and it was too hot to really taste at first, so he had to wait while the others ate. We will go back, I think maybe Morgan wasn't cooking that night. Mi's is worth a second chance. Until our next special occasion.....

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Small, romantic, and delicious

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 8, 2016

A cute restaurant with fresh ingredients, a romantic vibe, and spectacular pastas. Great for a date night or a small group of friends. Service was quick and friendly - gave wonderful food & wine recommendations. Would definitely return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great find in Kono

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on January 6, 2016

Everything was great with the exception of the noise level. There are no material applications (walls, floors, etc) to dull the noise.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Italian good on the big island.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on January 6, 2016

We were treating our parents and friend to dinner to celebrate special occasions. My husband wanted an Italian meal, not an easy find on the big island. We all enjoyed our dishes. The prices were reasonable. I would have give the food five stars but one of our guests felt there was a lack of crabmeat in his manicotti. The service lacked enthusiasm, charm and aloha. I expect better especially since there was not reason for it. It made for what could have been a great meal, just a good one. I would visit again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

An Italian pleasantly surprised by Mi's

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

I read reviews on Mi's before booking our new year's eve reservation, and it sounded like the vast majority of people enjoyed the food. I'm a first generation Canadian, but was very much raised Italian and have visited family there throughout my life. All this is to say that I have firsthand knowledge of home cooked Italian food. This isn't necessarily purely traditional Italian cuisine, but still very tasty. I ordered the spaghetti bolognese, and my husband had the ravioli with cream and pine nut sauce. The pasta was cooked aldente, as it should be, and both pastas were impeccably seasoned. The bolognese was loaded with surprisingly flavourful meat, and the ravioli were great as well. It was a really enjoyable meal, and where it seems there aren't many places on the island for a hearty, great plate of pasta, this was an excellent find -- really happy we found it!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Hidden gem

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Perfect as always. This place never dissapoints for special outings or regular visits. Good is always consistent hot and fresh tight to the table.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lived up to its reputation!!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on December 29, 2015

Everything said in the reviews spot on. Food definitely high class and plentiful. Would have driven right by its location if not for the alerts in prior reviews. Service excellent too. Have already recommended it to friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

luvboka

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

The food here is amazing. Each time we go to Mi's it gets better and better. Glad to know they are moving to better location in March 2016.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food again!

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on December 19, 2015

Again we visited with a party of 6, and all 6 different meals were fabulous. No disappointments.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best meals on this island...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

Only downside, small restaurant - seating between tables quite close, so not as private for conversation. We will definitely return! One of the best fish dishes prepared...moist, HOT, not overcooked over risotto. Attentive server - Brittany.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Exceeded expectations

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

We wanted to go there and finally found the right moment. I read the reviews and studied the online menu prior to arrival, so I knew exactly what I wanted. Upon hearing the specials, it blew away my choices and ordered the specials. Long story short, everything was fresh and adequately seasoned. I've never been in a restaurant where I did not use any additional seasoning on my food. By the time that I figured, no seasoning as needed, I was just about finished with my order.

This is a gem and it will be my new "special," place for great food. Appetizers, entrees, deserts, wine, were all prepared and served exquisitely. There are no bad choices on the menu. To Chef Starr and staff, Mahalo for a wonderful gastronomic experience on the Big Island

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Neighborhood restaurant with excellent food.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on December 9, 2015

Mi's consistently has excellent food. We were a party of three. Items enjoyed were the special Shepherd's Pie, Lamb chops, and the Eggplant special. Nice wine selection. Only negative is that in the past the chef has provided gluten-free bread and house made gluten free pasta. When we inquired about these items, we were told they were not available.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.