About Mint

The history of Indian food tells us that during the reign of the British Empire in India (the British Raj), the local cuisine was considered by the Europeans closely to what Gods taught of ambrosia: a delightful, heavenly and delicate dish. Indian dishes can easily be considered some of the world’s most flavorful. The large variety of appetizers, snacks, side dishes and desserts have found numerous fans on an international scale. Combining all tastes possible, the Indian cuisine is bound to satisfy spice-lovers, “salty” people and persons with a sweet tooth alike. At Mint we acknowledge our wonderful history and constantly strive to push the boundaries to modernize traditional authentic tastes and elevate them to new, interesting and fascinating delights. Join us at Mint Indian Cuisine while we explore the limits and discover new taste sensations and establish new “traditions” from a firm foundation.

504 W Franklin St
Chapel Hill, NC 27516
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Indian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11:30am-2:30pm, Saturday & Sunday: 12:00pm-3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Robertson

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 929-6188

Parking Details:
There is ample street parking near Mint.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Mint Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

3.9

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Sunday Lunch (3)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
See All
Good for Birthdays (2)
Authentic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Casual (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Cozy (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Romantic (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Spicy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort by
S
92 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Mint is a very attractive upscale looking restaurant. It's menu is pretty standard for an Indian restaurant. The food was very good and not especially spicy. However, the menu is not informative. There was no indication, for example, that rice was included in our meal. So we ordered a biryani to have rice with our meal. When the food was served, we were served a giant bowl of basmati rice. If we had known that we were getting rice, we would have had a dish other than biryani. Also, there was no indication on the menu about the spice level of each dish. All the dishes came out flavorful, but not particualrly spicy. I recommmend Mint but suggest that you ask them about the spice levels of each dish.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 19, 2017

I've been here before and I always enjoy the food. This time, the service was poor and it affected the evening. It took quite some time to get the food and when I asked one of the servers a question, she rushed through her answer and I couldn't understand what she said. Before I had a chance to ask her again, she left. So management of Mint, continue to serve great food, but please treat your customers better and bring the food in a timely manner.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Really good service and delicious food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Great evening with family and awesome food, excellent service

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Hello all. We LOVE Mint and are Sunday lunch buffet regulars. I would only caution that it may not be of much value to use OpenTable reservations for the Sunday buffet! We usually just go and wait, but our daughter was home so we had a group of 5 and I saw the OpenTable option even at lunch. I said "brilliant!" but we ended up waiting anyway, for quite some time in fact. To the management, I would suggest you take down lunch time reservations if you don't really honor them. Otherwise, love the place, better than average Indian food, good selection on buffet including for vegetarians. Gets very busy when students are back in town!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Glad to find an Indian restaurant near our new home!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Spicy, Casual, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Food was tasty but restaurant was a bit run down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Not great food, too salty the sauces were flavorless and not spicy even though we ordered spicy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Always reliable extensive menu. Quality, varied, choices of Indian dishes.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We usually love this place for great Indian food. It was graduation weekend so super busy with large groups. That is likely why service was poor and one of our shrimp dishes came out so salty it was inedible. We'll be back, but maybe think twice on a busy night!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Hot Spot, Authentic, Healthy, Spicy, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Great food! Authentic Indian cuisine!

Tags: Organic, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Excellent food. Very good service. We had a large group that included a toddler. They even provided a fruit plate for the little one.

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Great food and nice quiet ambiance. A little too expensive to come back often.

Also just FYI (neither good nor bad) - in my opinion the food is geared toward a Southern palette- they err toward the underspiced end of the spectrum, and their saag tasted more like creamed spinach than I am used to.

Great flavor though and definitely satisfied. The tamarind and mint chutney were both spot on.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We took some out-of-town guests to this restaurant, who both love Indian food, but whose spouses don't care for it. Neither had eaten any Indian food for a few years. They had lived in India for a year, and raved about the food at this restaurant! The wait-staff was friendly - although their English fluency could be improved (means it's authentic). One of our guests knew Punjabi and delighted the waitress by being able to speak with her in her native tongue. Highly recommend the Palak Paneer. I ordered a 7 for spicy-ness, and it was almost too hot (but so very good!) Prices a bit high, but well worth it. Parking a bit difficult, so you may want to go on "off hours".

Tags: Good for Groups, Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The waiter needs to be trained. We wee eating our appertizer.. and he brought the main course and I had to ask him to please wait.

There was no rush.. there was only one onther table occupied.. so why rush us?
Lunch food is better. Dinner food was not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The buffet is perfect for a fast business lunch and is very reasoably priced.
Best Indian food in Chapel Hill!

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I love this place, but I arrived on time and was told met table wasn't ready. I don't understand that. We ended up sitting at the bar, which is fine, but I make reservations so I can't have my table when I arrive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We had idea of Indian food and had this place recommended. Great luncheon buffet. Although we had to wait for restaurant to open on Saturday, it was well worth the wait!!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Date/ special occasion, ANY TIME as the setting is gorgeous. The food is exquisite. The service is sensational. We shall return, and soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I've tried many restaurants in the triangle area and although I don't think mint has the best food in the triangle, I believe it has the best food for the value. This is especially true if you go there for their Sunday brunch! For $14 you get unlimited Indian food and mimosas. This past time I really appreciated having garlic naan as an option on the buffet menu, something you don't see often at Indian buffets, but I will say I'm disappointed they had tofu mahkini instead of making it more traditionally (and better tasting!) with paneer. Only one fault against mint, is that every time I go there I feel that the service could be better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 11, 2016

We had read a couple if negative reviews of this restaurant regarding slow service. So when we, as a family of 5, dined we were prepared for this. However, I will tell you that the service was fine, they were very courteous and accomodating. But best of all...the food was fabulous!!!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food was delicious, but service is slow. We sat at the restaurant (we were a larger party) for 20 mins before anyone came to take our drink order. We arrived at 7:20 and didn't get our entrees until over an hour later. The appetizers came quickly. We were a larger party- 8 adults, 3 kids.

I would recommend the restaurant but just allot enough time.

Tags: Spicy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Service was slow and food is not as good as it used to be. Used a groupon and worth it with the discount.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great selection. Go for the shrimp korma. We got medium spicy; we like spicy and could have gone for hotter.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Mint is a wonderful restaurant. Absolutely delicious appetizers and korma!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Overall poor, inattentive service - servers rarely stopped by to check on our party and drinks were often empty; restaurant staff did not look at reservation notes in regard to seating requests; tandoori meat was very dry and over-cooked. Naan was the only redeeming part of the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Mediocre. We remember this restaurant being excellent before, but now lacks all flavor. Watered down if ask for mild.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 10, 2016

My husband and I really enjoyed the vegetarian and seafood thalis here--but, be warned, they are huge!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 29, 2016

The standard and quality of service at Mint has steadily declined. The food is still good. The ambience is confusing and too busy. Layout of tables could use a change. The staff is friendly but inattentive sometimes. I took my wife for dinner there recently. The food was still very good but the service wasn't up to par. The staff doesn't interact much with the guests. They charge for every single thing. Even papad and chutney which by Indian tradition should really be complimentary. Much like chips + salsa at any Mexican restaurant. If we're in the area again, and there are no other options we'll try Mint again but this is certainly no longer our first choice Indian place in Chapel Hill

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 25, 2016

This is the third time we have eaten at mint. Once again, the food was great!

Previously the service has been great. This time, not so much. While the waitress who took our drink order was fine, the waiter that took over was having a bad night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food was absolutely delicious and the portions quite generous. Pricing was very reasonable. I believe a little more help with getting descriptions for the menu items would be a big plus however, we certainly managed and were very pleased with everything we had which included appetizer and main course.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 17, 2016

The food taste was better than few Indian restaurants in the Triangle area... The ambiance was also decent. Would definitely go again. The only thing I didn't like was the gratuity they charged for just 3 people.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 29, 2016

This restaurant has gone downhill over the years. Poor quality food, very loud due to a bar or night club next door, tired, worn out decor, and mediocre service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Excellent food and service. We left with a warm feeling inside. Highly recommend it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 30, 2016

Great place for a big group of people. Food and service were outstanding. Next time I'm in Chapel Hill, I'm definitely going back there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 29, 2016

Mint was fantastic! So nice to have seafood offered as a choice with an Indian meal. The scallop korma was great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 15, 2016

Chicken Korma, Tandoori Shrimp, veg and non- veg Thai dishes were excellent. Will certainly return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 8, 2016

The food was outstanding, the portions generous and the ambiance was excellent! One of the best Indian restaurants I've found.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Great food and service. Perfect place for the special occasion. It has a romantic and relaxing ambience. I highly recommend it. The servers are well trained and the food is amazing.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I decided to try a new restaurant on Valentine's Day and weren't disappointed. The service was good. The food was very good, although we are not Indian food connoisseurs, but we really liked the ability to request the heat level in each of our dishes. I had the mixed meat plate which had lamb, chicken and pork in various sauces. It was a great way to taste the various dishes they offer as single plates. I had mine hot (American hot, not Indian hot) and my wife had the mild chicken tikka masala. She really enjoyed her meal as well. For dessert we had the gulab jamun which we have come to enjoy when we do dine Indian. Theirs was good but not the best I've had, however, there was no complaining and nothing left to take home!

I would recommend Mint for a good Indian meal and would go back again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.