Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 1 time today

Mint

3.8
98 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Indian
Perfect For:
  • Casual
  • Good Vegetarian Options
  • Worth the Drive
The history of Indian food tells us that during the reign of the British Empire in India (the British Raj), the local cuisine was considered by the Europeans closely to what Gods taught of ambrosia: a delightful, heavenly and delicate dish. Indian dishes can easily be considered some of the world’s most flavorful. The large variety of appetizers, snacks, side dishes and desserts have found numerous fans on an international scale. Combining all tastes possible, the Indian cuisine is bound to satisfy spice-lovers, “salty” people and persons with a sweet tooth alike. At Mint we acknowledge our wonderful history and constantly strive to push the boundaries to modernize traditional authentic tastes and elevate them to new, interesting and fascinating delights. Join us at Mint Indian Cuisine while we explore the limits and discover new taste sensations and establish new “traditions” from a firm foundation.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Indian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11:30am-2:30pm, Saturday & Sunday: 12:00pm-3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm-11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(919) 929-6188
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Robertson
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
There is ample street parking near Mint.
Additional
Bar/Lounge, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine
What 98 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.8based on recent ratings
4.0
food
3.4
service
3.2
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
50% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on April 18, 2018

This is a review of only my latest visit to my very favorite place in Boone. Everything that everyone (5 different people, four from out of town) ordered was delicious, served up by a super friendly, attentive, and welcoming staff. If you like Indian food, you should know that this place consistently surprises friends and acquaintances from out of town who, almost invariably, tell me that this place has the best, most authentic Indian food that they've had anywhere in the states...

Some of my favorites: Lamb/Goat/Chicken Krahi, Bhoti Kebab, Chicken Tandoori, Paneer (any sort), and Saag (any sort)... and the absolutely necessary Garlic Naan.
(.A testament to how good things are here is my unwillingness to order the same thing on any two successive visits... too many things are too tasty to get stuck in a rut.)

Be sure to have the Kachumber salad (wonderful tamarind and mint (I think) dressing, and the Kulfi (either pistachio or mango) for a great finish.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Nice menu options. We had a late dinner. We were both interested in an eggplant dish that was delicious and spicy. Rosemary nan & pappadam very good. Many other menu choices for another time. I wanted to try lamb byrani but they were out of lamb. Wine reasonably priced. Friendly service. Modern ambience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 6, 2018

We always expect a good meal and good service at Mint and we were not disappointed. As we came early we were seated by a window at a table for 4, although there were just the 2 of us. We appreciate when restaurants sit you at a larger table when available. Our appetizer for 2 was quite good. My husband's shrimp tikka Masala and my chicken tikka Masala were scrumptious. It came with a huge bowl of rice. Of course we can never resist the naan bread to dip into the sauce. We share a bottle of the Taj Mahal beer which comes in a 22 oz bottle. It is one of our favorite. Unfortunately our enjoyment was interrupted for about half an hour by a very loud sound coming from behind the wall. We inquired about it and our waiter said that it was a musical instrument. A trombone no doubt! Nonetheless we're looking forward to our next visit.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 22, 2018

My wife and I were visiting Chapel Hill for just a few days and ended up eating at Mint twice for dinner because the food was wonderful. The room is quite pretty, and although the service the first dinner was a bit confused, the second visit was flawless. The Tandoori mixed grill was succulent, the vegetable biranyi was a terrific accompaniment, and for me the vindaloo was the highlight. I asked for it extra hot and spicy and I was not disappointed, although the flavors came right through. I had chicken vindaloo and lamb vindaloo - I slightly preferred the chicken but both were great. I tried the Klock - an Indian rice pudding - for dessert and it was wonderful. And BTW, the house Malbec was very good and a real bargain. I highly recommend Mint.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on January 27, 2018

The worst service I have EVER encountered. Do not give these people the chance to ruin your night, let alone your money.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 31, 2017

terrible service..would not recommend it. Food was average

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 19, 2017

Mint is a very attractive upscale looking restaurant. It's menu is pretty standard for an Indian restaurant. The food was very good and not especially spicy. However, the menu is not informative. There was no indication, for example, that rice was included in our meal. So we ordered a biryani to have rice with our meal. When the food was served, we were served a giant bowl of basmati rice. If we had known that we were getting rice, we would have had a dish other than biryani. Also, there was no indication on the menu about the spice level of each dish. All the dishes came out flavorful, but not particualrly spicy. I recommmend Mint but suggest that you ask them about the spice levels of each dish.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 18, 2017

I've been here before and I always enjoy the food. This time, the service was poor and it affected the evening. It took quite some time to get the food and when I asked one of the servers a question, she rushed through her answer and I couldn't understand what she said. Before I had a chance to ask her again, she left. So management of Mint, continue to serve great food, but please treat your customers better and bring the food in a timely manner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 20, 2017

Really good service and delicious food

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 5, 2017

Great evening with family and awesome food, excellent service

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 20, 2017

Hello all. We LOVE Mint and are Sunday lunch buffet regulars. I would only caution that it may not be of much value to use OpenTable reservations for the Sunday buffet! We usually just go and wait, but our daughter was home so we had a group of 5 and I saw the OpenTable option even at lunch. I said "brilliant!" but we ended up waiting anyway, for quite some time in fact. To the management, I would suggest you take down lunch time reservations if you don't really honor them. Otherwise, love the place, better than average Indian food, good selection on buffet including for vegetarians. Gets very busy when students are back in town!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 1, 2017

Glad to find an Indian restaurant near our new home!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 25, 2017

Food was tasty but restaurant was a bit run down.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 18, 2017

Not great food, too salty the sauces were flavorless and not spicy even though we ordered spicy

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2017

Always reliable extensive menu. Quality, varied, choices of Indian dishes.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2017

We usually love this place for great Indian food. It was graduation weekend so super busy with large groups. That is likely why service was poor and one of our shrimp dishes came out so salty it was inedible. We'll be back, but maybe think twice on a busy night!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2017

Great food! Authentic Indian cuisine!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 22, 2017

Excellent food. Very good service. We had a large group that included a toddler. They even provided a fruit plate for the little one.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 19, 2017

Great food and nice quiet ambiance. A little too expensive to come back often.

Also just FYI (neither good nor bad) - in my opinion the food is geared toward a Southern palette- they err toward the underspiced end of the spectrum, and their saag tasted more like creamed spinach than I am used to.

Great flavor though and definitely satisfied. The tamarind and mint chutney were both spot on.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2017

We took some out-of-town guests to this restaurant, who both love Indian food, but whose spouses don't care for it. Neither had eaten any Indian food for a few years. They had lived in India for a year, and raved about the food at this restaurant! The wait-staff was friendly - although their English fluency could be improved (means it's authentic). One of our guests knew Punjabi and delighted the waitress by being able to speak with her in her native tongue. Highly recommend the Palak Paneer. I ordered a 7 for spicy-ness, and it was almost too hot (but so very good!) Prices a bit high, but well worth it. Parking a bit difficult, so you may want to go on "off hours".

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 9, 2017

The waiter needs to be trained. We wee eating our appertizer.. and he brought the main course and I had to ask him to please wait.

There was no rush.. there was only one onther table occupied.. so why rush us?
Lunch food is better. Dinner food was not good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 8, 2017

The buffet is perfect for a fast business lunch and is very reasoably priced.
Best Indian food in Chapel Hill!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 26, 2017

I love this place, but I arrived on time and was told met table wasn't ready. I don't understand that. We ended up sitting at the bar, which is fine, but I make reservations so I can't have my table when I arrive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2017

We had idea of Indian food and had this place recommended. Great luncheon buffet. Although we had to wait for restaurant to open on Saturday, it was well worth the wait!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2017

Date/ special occasion, ANY TIME as the setting is gorgeous. The food is exquisite. The service is sensational. We shall return, and soon!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 22, 2017

I've tried many restaurants in the triangle area and although I don't think mint has the best food in the triangle, I believe it has the best food for the value. This is especially true if you go there for their Sunday brunch! For $14 you get unlimited Indian food and mimosas. This past time I really appreciated having garlic naan as an option on the buffet menu, something you don't see often at Indian buffets, but I will say I'm disappointed they had tofu mahkini instead of making it more traditionally (and better tasting!) with paneer. Only one fault against mint, is that every time I go there I feel that the service could be better.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 11, 2016

We had read a couple if negative reviews of this restaurant regarding slow service. So when we, as a family of 5, dined we were prepared for this. However, I will tell you that the service was fine, they were very courteous and accomodating. But best of all...the food was fabulous!!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 4, 2016

Food was delicious, but service is slow. We sat at the restaurant (we were a larger party) for 20 mins before anyone came to take our drink order. We arrived at 7:20 and didn't get our entrees until over an hour later. The appetizers came quickly. We were a larger party- 8 adults, 3 kids.

I would recommend the restaurant but just allot enough time.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 2, 2016

Service was slow and food is not as good as it used to be. Used a groupon and worth it with the discount.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 26, 2016

Great selection. Go for the shrimp korma. We got medium spicy; we like spicy and could have gone for hotter.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 10, 2016

Mint is a wonderful restaurant. Absolutely delicious appetizers and korma!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on July 28, 2016

Overall poor, inattentive service - servers rarely stopped by to check on our party and drinks were often empty; restaurant staff did not look at reservation notes in regard to seating requests; tandoori meat was very dry and over-cooked. Naan was the only redeeming part of the experience.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on July 22, 2016

Mediocre. We remember this restaurant being excellent before, but now lacks all flavor. Watered down if ask for mild.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 10, 2016

My husband and I really enjoyed the vegetarian and seafood thalis here--but, be warned, they are huge!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 29, 2016

The standard and quality of service at Mint has steadily declined. The food is still good. The ambience is confusing and too busy. Layout of tables could use a change. The staff is friendly but inattentive sometimes. I took my wife for dinner there recently. The food was still very good but the service wasn't up to par. The staff doesn't interact much with the guests. They charge for every single thing. Even papad and chutney which by Indian tradition should really be complimentary. Much like chips + salsa at any Mexican restaurant. If we're in the area again, and there are no other options we'll try Mint again but this is certainly no longer our first choice Indian place in Chapel Hill

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 25, 2016

This is the third time we have eaten at mint. Once again, the food was great!

Previously the service has been great. This time, not so much. While the waitress who took our drink order was fine, the waiter that took over was having a bad night.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 25, 2016

The food was absolutely delicious and the portions quite generous. Pricing was very reasonable. I believe a little more help with getting descriptions for the menu items would be a big plus however, we certainly managed and were very pleased with everything we had which included appetizer and main course.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 17, 2016

The food taste was better than few Indian restaurants in the Triangle area... The ambiance was also decent. Would definitely go again. The only thing I didn't like was the gratuity they charged for just 3 people.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 29, 2016

This restaurant has gone downhill over the years. Poor quality food, very loud due to a bar or night club next door, tired, worn out decor, and mediocre service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 21, 2016

Excellent food and service. We left with a warm feeling inside. Highly recommend it!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3