About Mint

504 W Franklin St
Chapel Hill, NC 27516
View Larger Map

The history of Indian food tells us that during the reign of the British Empire in India (the British Raj), the local cuisine was considered by the Europeans closely to what Gods taught of ambrosia: a delightful, heavenly and delicate dish. Indian dishes can easily be considered some of the world’s most flavorful. The large variety of appetizers, snacks, side dishes and desserts have found numerous fans on an international scale. Combining all tastes possible, the Indian cuisine is bound to satisfy spice-lovers, “salty” people and persons with a sweet tooth alike. At Mint we acknowledge our wonderful history and constantly strive to push the boundaries to modernize traditional authentic tastes and elevate them to new, interesting and fascinating delights. Join us at Mint Indian Cuisine while we explore the limits and discover new taste sensations and establish new “traditions” from a firm foundation.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Indian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11:30am-2:30pm, Saturday & Sunday: 12:00pm-3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Robertson

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 929-6188

Parking Details:
There is ample street parking near Mint.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Mint Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

3.2

ambience

3.8

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (2)
Romantic (1)
Special Occasion (1)
See All
Notable Wine List (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Casual (1)
Spicy (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Business Meals (1)
Family Style (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
S
72 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had read a couple if negative reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 11, 2016

We had read a couple if negative reviews of this restaurant regarding slow service. So when we, as a family of 5, dined we were prepared for this. However, I will tell you that the service was fine, they were very courteous and accomodating. But best of all...the food was fabulous!!!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was delicious, but service is slow. ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food was delicious, but service is slow. We sat at the restaurant (we were a larger party) for 20 mins before anyone came to take our drink order. We arrived at 7:20 and didn't get our entrees until over an hour later. The appetizers came quickly. We were a larger party- 8 adults, 3 kids.

I would recommend the restaurant but just allot enough time.

Tags: Spicy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Service was slow and food is not as good ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Service was slow and food is not as good as it used to be. Used a groupon and worth it with the discount.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Great selection. Go for the shrimp korm ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great selection. Go for the shrimp korma. We got medium spicy; we like spicy and could have gone for hotter.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Mint is a wonderful restaurant. Absolute ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Mint is a wonderful restaurant. Absolutely delicious appetizers and korma!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall poor, inattentive service - serv ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Overall poor, inattentive service - servers rarely stopped by to check on our party and drinks were often empty; restaurant staff did not look at reservation notes in regard to seating requests; tandoori meat was very dry and over-cooked. Naan was the only redeeming part of the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Mediocre. We remember this restaurant be ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Mediocre. We remember this restaurant being excellent before, but now lacks all flavor. Watered down if ask for mild.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

My husband and I really enjoyed the vege ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 10, 2016

My husband and I really enjoyed the vegetarian and seafood thalis here--but, be warned, they are huge!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The standard and quality of service at M ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 29, 2016

The standard and quality of service at Mint has steadily declined. The food is still good. The ambience is confusing and too busy. Layout of tables could use a change. The staff is friendly but inattentive sometimes. I took my wife for dinner there recently. The food was still very good but the service wasn't up to par. The staff doesn't interact much with the guests. They charge for every single thing. Even papad and chutney which by Indian tradition should really be complimentary. Much like chips + salsa at any Mexican restaurant. If we're in the area again, and there are no other options we'll try Mint again but this is certainly no longer our first choice Indian place in Chapel Hill

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

This is the third time we have eaten at ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 25, 2016

This is the third time we have eaten at mint. Once again, the food was great!

Previously the service has been great. This time, not so much. While the waitress who took our drink order was fine, the waiter that took over was having a bad night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

The food was absolutely delicious and th ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food was absolutely delicious and the portions quite generous. Pricing was very reasonable. I believe a little more help with getting descriptions for the menu items would be a big plus however, we certainly managed and were very pleased with everything we had which included appetizer and main course.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The food taste was better than few India ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 18, 2016

The food taste was better than few Indian restaurants in the Triangle area... The ambiance was also decent. Would definitely go again. The only thing I didn't like was the gratuity they charged for just 3 people.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Won't be back!

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 29, 2016

This restaurant has gone downhill over the years. Poor quality food, very loud due to a bar or night club next door, tired, worn out decor, and mediocre service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Excellent food and service. We left wit ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Excellent food and service. We left with a warm feeling inside. Highly recommend it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Service was outstanding as well as the food.

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 30, 2016

Great place for a big group of people. Food and service were outstanding. Next time I'm in Chapel Hill, I'm definitely going back there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mint was fantastic! So nice to have sea ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 29, 2016

Mint was fantastic! So nice to have seafood offered as a choice with an Indian meal. The scallop korma was great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chicken Korma, Tandoori Shrimp, veg and ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 15, 2016

Chicken Korma, Tandoori Shrimp, veg and non- veg Thai dishes were excellent. Will certainly return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food! Best Indian food in area

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 8, 2016

The food was outstanding, the portions generous and the ambiance was excellent! One of the best Indian restaurants I've found.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Mint

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Great food and service. Perfect place for the special occasion. It has a romantic and relaxing ambience. I highly recommend it. The servers are well trained and the food is amazing.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Experience on Valentine's Day

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I decided to try a new restaurant on Valentine's Day and weren't disappointed. The service was good. The food was very good, although we are not Indian food connoisseurs, but we really liked the ability to request the heat level in each of our dishes. I had the mixed meat plate which had lamb, chicken and pork in various sauces. It was a great way to taste the various dishes they offer as single plates. I had mine hot (American hot, not Indian hot) and my wife had the mild chicken tikka masala. She really enjoyed her meal as well. For dessert we had the gulab jamun which we have come to enjoy when we do dine Indian. Theirs was good but not the best I've had, however, there was no complaining and nothing left to take home!

I would recommend Mint for a good Indian meal and would go back again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The staff always friendly and accommodat ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2016

The staff always friendly and accommodating. Great tasting food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Busy but ultimately worth the wait

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Valentine's Day Eve (Sat nite) had a reservation at 6:45 got there about 10m late and waited at the bar for a table. After 20m at bar had to ask manager if we could order drinks and he actually made them. Drinks were fine and yes it was busy but frustrated that we had to ask the manager for getting orders at the bar.

Another 15m (with drinks) at bar and our table was ready. To our surprise, the manager served us. Food and appetizer took a while but again we have no issue as the restaurant was clearly very busy. Food was excellent which made up for most of the untended wait at the bar. We want to go back on a more typical Sat nite and hopefully the service level will match the quality of the food.

Overall I would recommend Mint. My wife and I have both been servers and bartenders and are very patient when a restaurant is slammed. But 20m without any kind of greeting, etc. was frustrating. Outside of that the food was excellent. We look forward to going back.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Ok, not great

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Went here on Valentine's Day with my wife. I will have to say that I am not a huge Indian food fan, although I've spent a good amount of time in India and a decent amount of meals in typical Indian buffets. We ordered the 2 person set meal for $45. Came with a appetizer that had a samosa and some deep fried veggies that was ok nothing special and not anything better than you would get at a typical lunch buffet. Then two curries-- a lamb masala and a veggie korma. These were excellent and a cut above Indian buffet quality. Then we had tandoori chicken and shrimp-- tasty but not much better than buffet. Finally desert which they didn't bring out until I asked for it, and was just two of those sweet fried dough balls in syrup (I forget what hey are called.) again typical buffet fare. So in all, apart from the curries which were quite good, there was nothing really special about the meal compared to a $10 Indian buffet, at more than twice the price ($22.50 per person). They were busy so service was not very attentive.

In all satisfied with the food but not a great value.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

A good spot but needs some minor improvements

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 10, 2016

Loved everything except having to pay for mimosas I didn't want. Food was tasty; energy in the spot was upbeat; wide range of folks from singles, to pairs, to groups including families. Servers were good but a little scarce and took a long time to get a hot tea at the end of the meal. When we were ready to leave, it arrived. I would definitely go again and if I lived in CH, I would go often.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

My favorite Indian restaurant.

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 27, 2015

Mint is literally my favorite Indian restaurant in North America. The food is excellent, the service is great. I have dined at other restaurants in this group and Mint is by far the best. Enjoy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sunday Brunch

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 27, 2015

The brunch is buffet style and although a small selection the dishes were found to be quite tasty. We were with a party of eight which they had absolutely no problem seating us and everyone in our party especially the vegetarians enjoyed the fair. You couldn't beat the price for 8 of us $111. The mimosas and Lassie flowed endlessly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Indian Brunch Buffet is where it's at!!

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 14, 2015

Mint's brunch buffet is the best Indian food buffet is town!!! The variety of food options is amazing, not to mention the bottomless mimosas !!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best northern Indian food in Chapel Hill

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 9, 2015

Mint does not lack for competition for northern Indian restaurants in Chapel Hill/Durham, including two others on the same street within a half-mile, but it is the best by a full mile. Dinner entrees are properly spiced, and the vegetables are not overcooked (thank you!). Regrettably, Mint (as so many others) seems to confuse pepper with spice; we could go for less of the former and more of the latter, but this is a standard failing of most mid-range Indian restaurants. As this is Chapel Hill, not NY or DC, Mint remains the place to go.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great Experience

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 1, 2015

Mint handled our party of ten very well. The food was great, service was great. Definitely recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and service

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 30, 2015

As always, the food and service were very good. We will definitely go back for group lunches.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

A-ok

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 6, 2015

Mint is a decent, but unexciting Indian restaurant. Our lamb in cashew-type gravy was adequate but no flavor of cashew. Our clay pot salmon did not come out in a clay pot and the accompanying sauce/gravy was unimpressive. It was clean and lively inside and the staff we nice. I would go here in a pinch if need be but would not go out of my way to make plans to eat there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

glad we returned

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 5, 2015

Mint has been a favorite and I must say we have not visited frequently enough (I think we will now). We live in Durham, so it's a bit of a drive to get over to Chapel Hill but it's definitely worth it. Terrific Indian food and nice bar selection. And the prices are quite moderate. Definitely recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Fried?!

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 4, 2015

We were very disappointed that everything on the vegetarian appetizer sampler was deep fried. The menu did not say that. Neither of us eat fried foods. It all looked and tasted the same. We have enjoyed Indian food all over the world and this was not up to standards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Delightful Dining

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 31, 2015

Very delightful restaurant with good attention from the wait staff and outstanding food!

We certainly recommend this restaurant as a special place and also for special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

disappointed

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 29, 2015

I was very disappointed because I was at Mint years ago several times after it first opened. It was excellent. Because I have to follow a strict gluten-free diet, I really loved that many or most of the items on the menu were GF - often using native flours such as chickpea flour rather than "western" flours made from wheat. This time, the waiter did not seem to even know what gluten was. He seemed to think that gluten was milk. He told me options I couldn't eat that were GF and items I could eat that weren't. I should have asked to speak to the chef. The server brought shrimp chilly that he told us was GF. When the meal arrived, it seemed the shrimp was breaded. He had to go ask the kitchen. He returned saying it was breaded - "sorry about that". Not ok. In this day and age, especially in Chapel Hill, most restaurants are well versed in what is and is not gluten free. The palaak paneer and samosas we had were excellent. I just hope the kitchen and staff become better acquainted with dietary restrictions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

Nice Brunch!

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 23, 2015

Good selection of dishes; very attentive and pleasant atmosphere. Will definitely go

again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Good Food for a Great Price

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 22, 2015

Mint has an extensive menu with lots of protein choices. I would like to see more vegetable options. The seasoning was extremely good and I liked that you could order the amount of "fire" you preferred. The wait staff was very polite and knowledgeable. We will go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food but poor service

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 21, 2015

I'll begin this review by saying that the food at Mint is probably the best Indian cuisine I have ever had. Unfortunately, we had to wait quite a long time to be waited on and to eat. I don't know if this is the norm, as I have not been to Mint in quite some time. We waited at least 15 minutes for anyone to take our order and at least 40 minutes for our food to arrive. Once it did, it was heavenly. There were two waiters running around and I believe the manager was even taking orders, so perhaps it was just an unfortunate evening for us to be there. I would certainly visit Mint for the incredible food, but I would be in no hurry.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

Good food!

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 8, 2015

The food at Mint was very good. The Naan was actually very soft, which I wasn't used to. I got one of the samplers which was amazing. The lamb was well cooked and the flavor on the Chicken Tikka Masala was also outstanding. I don't tend to like that dish, but it was amazing! My boyfriend had Lamb Pasanda which was also amazing. I would recommend this restaurant, for sure!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Customized heat!

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 25, 2015

Love the fact that they allow you to choose your degree of "heat" on a scale from one to five. Delicious food - try the salmon dishes and the Palak Paneer!!! Consistently good service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.