About Minerva's - Sioux Falls

301 S Phillips Ave
Sioux Falls, SD 57104
View Larger Map

Minervas Restaurant has been defining quality food and great service in Sioux Falls since 1977.

With a menu that offers everything from in-house aged steaks to ocean fresh seafood, Minerva's is definitely one to please every one's taste. Award-winning salad bar has been a business lunch and dinner addition favorite for many years. Enjoy the great taste and excellent service that has become a hallmark of the downtown Sioux Falls area.

Minervas also is pleased to be home to Paramount Cocktails & Food, an inviting lounge attached to Minervas, that offers a great happy hour plus live entertainment most weekends. Stop in for a pre-dinner cocktail or after dinner dessert.

Minervas and Paramount also offer a spacious outdoor patio that showcases the heart of beautiful downtown Sioux Falls.

Join us at Minervas and Paramount today!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 2:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00pm - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
11th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(605) 334-0386

Website:
http://www.minervas.net/

Entertainment:
Our Paramount Food & Cocktails, located within Minerva Restaurant offers live music every Friday and Saturday night 8:00PM - 11:00PM. Also offering a Happy Hour 3:00PM - 6:00PM Monday - Saturday and 8:00PM - 10:00PM Monday - Thursday. Offering discounted wine, tap beer and cocktails, also pizzas,appetizers, burgers, and desserts. Come relax by the fireplace or patio before or after dinner or have a seat at the bar and watch the game.

Parking Details:
The parking options available to the public are street parking - free parking after 5:00 PM or two public parking ramps within walking distance to Minervas Restaurant.

The closest ramp is located just a half block to the east of Minerva's on 11th Street. Entrance to ramp is in the far left lane of 11th street just pass Phillips Ave. The other available public parking is at 121 West 12th Street across from Washington Pavilion both ramps offer free parking after 6:00 PM and on weekends.

Public Transit:
Sioux Falls Area Transit(SAM) stop located just a half block east of Minervas Restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Chad Howard

Private Party Facilities:
Minervas private dining and meeting room is located in the lower level of Minervas Restaurant in historic downtown Sioux Falls. Our private meeting and dining room is perfect for all types of events.

Think of Minervas when planning your events:

~ Weddings or Rehearsals ~ Corporate planning or award dinners ~ Financial presentation dinners ~ Holiday parties and events

Lunch/Dinner Parties ~ minimum 20 guests, maximum 60 guests.

Cocktail Parties ~ up to 70 guests.

Menus Our staff can show you a variety of menu formats and ideas that have been successful four our guests. We can make suggestions and design a menu that best suits your event and budget. We will print a custom menu for your event.

Room Charges We may request a room charge, based on the type of event, number of guests and services needed.

Private Party Contact:
Jerry Bremmon: 6053340386

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Minerva's - Sioux Falls Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
South Dakota
Most Booked
Sioux Falls
Best Restaurants in Sioux Falls ›

special occasion (135)
romantic (100)
good for groups (63)
See All
great for lunch (61)
neighborhood gem (57)
fit for foodies (53)
notable wine list (39)
hot spot (19)
great for brunch (17)
kid-friendly (15)
great for outdoor dining (13)
late-night find (12)
vibrant bar scene (9)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
414 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our food was exceptional and the staff w ...

Dined 6 days ago

Our food was exceptional and the staff warm and welcoming.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

Don't believe the overrated reviews

Dined 6 days ago

Our reservation was attended to very promptly and our server was friendly and helpful. The restaurant is cavernous, and that should have been my first clue that this wasn't going to be a fine dining establishment. The food was fair at best. 4 our of 5 of us ordered steaks or burgers and none was cooked as ordered. Overall food quality is lacking. Prices are high for the quality of food. Service was quite good. Not too many great options in SF, but I still would not return to this restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and even better service. Enj ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Great food and even better service. Enjoyed every minute while there.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Good Downtown Restaurant

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Mineva's was recommended as the best Restaurant in Downtown Sioux Falls, SD which indeed it was. There are not many choices. The food was ok.. I had to return my filet mignon since I ordered it medium well (pink no blood) and it came up raw and then too cook.. Service was not the best.. and the restaurant needs to be updated.. However, yes it was the best restaurant in downtown.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Very average food...... The host staff h ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Very average food...... The host staff has the uppity attitude of a better quality restaurant, the waitstaff is attentive, they need an actual chef versus kitchen manager.

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Always great food and memories!

Dined on May 17, 2016

Minerva's is our "special place". So we were a bit nervous in hearing about an ownership change. We were reassured by staff. Food was fabulous. I had not had the seafood crepe in a very long time...so pleased to find one of my favorites had not morphed into something unrecognizable. Our waitress was a bit disconnected. Very difficult to determine if she had heard a request. But all in all a great night. Its the ambience, the favorite dishes still there, a sweet relaxing time. Thanks lol pp

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service, especially ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Excellent food and service, especially for a chain restaurant. Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I got together with my grandson & his fi ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

I got together with my grandson & his fiancée for lunch. Food was great and our waiter Brian was super attentive

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome experience.

Dined on May 14, 2016

My date had the crab crusted salmon with a tomato sauce. I had the top sirloin. Both entrees were cooked to perfection and tasted amazing. There are so many choices on the menu that looked so good. We will be back to try other entrees. The restaurant was quite busy, but service was quick. Definitely a great place.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delightful & lovely Dining Out. A must go again.

Dined on May 13, 2016

The service was friendly and efficient. The salad bar was delicious with many choice, fresh with interesting choices. The meal itself was cooked to perfection. The pugent sound crepe was cooked well, but maybe a little less sauce and more meat ? ( I think people would pay a few more dollars, also for that change ). Overall, an absolutely lovely experience!! I can't wait to return to try something new.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

One of the better fillets I've had! Grea ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

One of the better fillets I've had! Great place, interior a bit dated but lovely place!!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I visit Minerva's frequently. I enjoy t ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

I visit Minerva's frequently. I enjoy the food and the service.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bachelor party dinner for 7 for my broth ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Bachelor party dinner for 7 for my brother. The service was timely and food was excellent. Minerva's is a classic American place. Thanks for the Service

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Mothers Day

Dined on May 9, 2016

Th salad bar was forgettable, my wife ordered a rib-eye which was cut very thin and cooked very dry. We saw more appealing Rib-Eyes in the meat counter at Looks Grocery in So. Sioux Falls. I had the seafood Crepe, it tasted like a mexican seafood enchilada. I really wish we had gone to Bob's. There the food is served with pride though the surroundings are more basic.

food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice, but?

Dined on May 8, 2016

The filet was great, excellent salad bar, fantastic service. However the baked potato was way over done. Although this was a small part of what, other than this was a great meal, having an overdone backed potato ceriainly made the experience less than perfect. The potatoe peal was hard and very dark so it should have been apparent. I did not say anything because I did not want to spoil things for my wife.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

Awesome experience!!!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Awesome experience!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great salad bar!! And pretty much every ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Great salad bar!! And pretty much everything else!

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food, great service, great atmosphere!!!!!

Dined on April 30, 2016

get a reservation before you go. Then get the steak you won't be disappointed. My wife gets the salmon almost every time we go there. Big salad bar for a small price...it's a must if you do salad bars.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful Evening

Dined on April 28, 2016

The service and food were outstanding. There were seven in our party including two children. The children's menu is a great value. I had the roasted chicken and risotto. I ate every bite and would order it again next time I am in town. The salad bar was impressive.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food as always! Service is alw ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

Excellent food as always! Service is always top notch!

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Mostly a good experience

Dined on April 23, 2016

The service was outstanding. Our server was a model waiter. The salad bar: still #1 in SF in my book: fresh, appealing, tasty. My wife's ribeye was tender and just the right amount of marbling. But my shrimp and scallop scampi was "skimpy". Two scallops, OK, but only two small shrimp: no way, not worth the price. And then no side, because the pasta was considered to be the side. Overall, we will go back, but I will get steak next time.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a find!

Dined on April 23, 2016

Great menu, reasonable prices, and phenomenal service. This place is great, you must go!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding restaurant

Dined on April 22, 2016

Were referred here by our local business partners and they were spot on. everything was excellent from the service to the food.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We drove 500 miles just to eat here

Dined on April 19, 2016

My wife and I found Minerva's by happenstance shortly after becoming engaged and wanting a fancy place to eat while traveling through Sioux Falls . We enjoyed it so much that a year later while traveling from Wichita, KS to Rapid City, SD that we drove out of our way just to eat here again. And, again, it was an amazing experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Hey, it's Sioux Falls

Dined on April 16, 2016

Minerva's is the old stand by in town. Food is good, but not great. Menu has something for everyone, probably too big. A good staff and an attentive management keep everything running smoothly. The roast duck was very good, my scampi left me feeling like the scallops were squishy on the inside as if water plumped, and the shrimp were tough as if over cooked. The linguine with it was perfect and the sauce was nice, but probably too strong for scallops. They were overpowered. So as they say a mixed review and a caution about seafood in the midwest.

food5
ambience5
service5

Very good food and excellent salad bar!!

Dined on April 15, 2016

Very good food and excellent salad bar!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Have went to Minerva's 10 or so times ov ...

Dined on April 13, 2016

Have went to Minerva's 10 or so times over the last 25 years. It sets the standard in our great state for consistent quality, service and value. The last few times I have went with a large group. Even so they are able to accommodate us with timely service and superior food. Hoping new owners continue this for years to come.

food5
ambience5
service5

The weekly special was absolutely delici ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

The weekly special was absolutely delicious and our waitress was extremely nice, while still being quick and thorough. We will definitely be going back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Wonderful dining experience.

Dined on April 9, 2016

We go to Minerva's every year for our wedding anniversary with friends who also share the same wedding date. We enjoy the experience so much. This year when they found out it was our anniversary we received a complimentary dessert. Very thoughtful.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience2
service5
value3

What has happened to Minerva's?

Dined on April 6, 2016

Minerva's is such a Sioux Falls institution - a place that one can depend on for great food. It does have the quintessential salad bar. I was disappointed with the beef stroganoff - too many mushrooms, much more stroganoff than necessary and no presentation. But what I found most annoying was the choice of background music - an unthoughtful choice of Sirius radio that ended up being random noise rather than something soothing that encourages one to sit back and enjoy dessert and a cup of coffee. According to the local news, it is being sold - I hope the new owners will think through all aspects of this usually great restaurant.

food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Waitress was helpful , polite and enjoya ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Waitress was helpful , polite and enjoyable; food was good, not much area to wait

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday dinner

Dined on April 3, 2016

Our waitress was outstanding, our steaks were all cooked perfectly, and our dessert was the perfect portions of cake and ice cream, including a candle on my piece of cake :-)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

The food and the service were excellent ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

The food and the service were excellent while being reasonably priced. Our server was attentive without over doing it. We will definitely dine here again when we return to Sioux Falls.

food3
ambience5
service5

Food was ok. Service was great.

Dined on March 25, 2016

Food was ok. Service was great.

food5
ambience4
service5

Food was excellent. I had the petite fil ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Food was excellent. I had the petite filet with crab and hollandaise. There's a reason we keep coming back to one of the finest dining spots in Sioux Falls.

food5
ambience5
service5

We had a party of 10 and the food servic ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

We had a party of 10 and the food service and ambiance were great. Highly recommend,

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classy

Dined on March 9, 2016

As always the food was fantastic, the atmosphere was comfortable and classy and we had a wonderful time eating, drinking and catching up with friends. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been a fan of Minerva's since the ...

Dined on March 3, 2016

I have been a fan of Minerva's since the day it opened, and always will be! This restaurant has it all, and more! The food is exceptional, atmosphere and service is the best. This restaurant is my first pick when friends or family are in town...and they all love it, too! What more can I say?

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Service is always top notch.

Dined on March 3, 2016

Service is always top notch.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Special Dinner

Dined on February 28, 2016

Food was very good, very nice waitress, service was very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.