About Minerva's - Sioux Falls

301 S Phillips Ave
Sioux Falls, SD 57104
View Larger Map

Minervas Restaurant has been defining quality food and great service in Sioux Falls since 1977.

With a menu that offers everything from in-house aged steaks to ocean fresh seafood, Minerva's is definitely one to please every one's taste. Award-winning salad bar has been a business lunch and dinner addition favorite for many years. Enjoy the great taste and excellent service that has become a hallmark of the downtown Sioux Falls area.

Minervas also is pleased to be home to Paramount Cocktails & Food, an inviting lounge attached to Minervas, that offers a great happy hour plus live entertainment most weekends. Stop in for a pre-dinner cocktail or after dinner dessert.

Minervas and Paramount also offer a spacious outdoor patio that showcases the heart of beautiful downtown Sioux Falls.

Join us at Minervas and Paramount today!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 2:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00pm - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
11th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(605) 334-0386

Website:
http://www.minervas.net/

Entertainment:
Our Paramount Food & Cocktails, located within Minerva Restaurant offers live music every Friday and Saturday night 8:00PM - 11:00PM. Also offering a Happy Hour 3:00PM - 6:00PM Monday - Saturday and 8:00PM - 10:00PM Monday - Thursday. Offering discounted wine, tap beer and cocktails, also pizzas,appetizers, burgers, and desserts. Come relax by the fireplace or patio before or after dinner or have a seat at the bar and watch the game.

Parking Details:
The parking options available to the public are street parking - free parking after 5:00 PM or two public parking ramps within walking distance to Minervas Restaurant.

The closest ramp is located just a half block to the east of Minerva's on 11th Street. Entrance to ramp is in the far left lane of 11th street just pass Phillips Ave. The other available public parking is at 121 West 12th Street across from Washington Pavilion both ramps offer free parking after 6:00 PM and on weekends.

Public Transit:
Sioux Falls Area Transit(SAM) stop located just a half block east of Minervas Restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Chad Howard

Private Party Facilities:
Minervas private dining and meeting room is located in the lower level of Minervas Restaurant in historic downtown Sioux Falls. Our private meeting and dining room is perfect for all types of events.

Think of Minervas when planning your events:

~ Weddings or Rehearsals ~ Corporate planning or award dinners ~ Financial presentation dinners ~ Holiday parties and events

Lunch/Dinner Parties ~ minimum 20 guests, maximum 60 guests.

Cocktail Parties ~ up to 70 guests.

Menus Our staff can show you a variety of menu formats and ideas that have been successful four our guests. We can make suggestions and design a menu that best suits your event and budget. We will print a custom menu for your event.

Room Charges We may request a room charge, based on the type of event, number of guests and services needed.

Private Party Contact:
Jerry Bremmon: 6053340386

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Minerva's - Sioux Falls Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
South Dakota
Best Food
South Dakota
Best Service
South Dakota
4 More
Best Ambiance
South Dakota
Best Value
South Dakota
Most Booked
South Dakota
Most Booked
Sioux Falls
Best Restaurants in Sioux Falls ›

special occasion (112)
romantic (76)
good for groups (64)
See All
neighborhood gem (54)
great for lunch (52)
fit for foodies (45)
notable wine list (28)
great for outdoor dining (17)
great for brunch (17)
hot spot (16)
kid-friendly (13)
late-night find (7)
vibrant bar scene (6)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
432 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We go every yr for our anniversarry. It ...

 
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We go every yr for our anniversarry. It took a few minutes longer than it should have for any1 to acknowledge us after we got seated. We ordered the salmon tortelini and seafood linguini . the tortellini had a 1"-2" bone in it and one of the scallops had some shell that I crunched on. Normally this type ofexperience doesn't happen tho

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Incredible food and service. The salad b ...

 
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Incredible food and service. The salad bar was so delicious and full of variety. The restaurant had been recommended by our hotel staff and they exceeded our expectations. Hope to dine here again when we visit Sioux Falls.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dining experience was with a group o ...

 
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Our dining experience was with a group of 10. The tables were so close together that it was very difficult to leave the table to enjoy the salad bar. The room was full and it was a little difficult to hear. The prices have risen to where they are almost too expensive even for a special occasion, considering that the place is so crowded.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We had a wonderful meal. Excellent servi ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We had a wonderful meal. Excellent service in a quiet environment; even though we were seated near the entrance to the kitchen, the staff coming in and out were very unobtrusive . and our meal was romantic an peaceful

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Mashed potatoes were instant, steak was ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Mashed potatoes were instant, steak was ok. They try to make it out to be more than what it really is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Great food prepared just right and serve ...

 
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great food prepared just right and served with care and courteously.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service from person greeting u ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Excellent service from person greeting us to the bartender to our server.

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Minerva's is an awesome restaurant. We ...

 
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Minerva's is an awesome restaurant. We have come several times and aren't ever disappointed! We both had steak which was the best that I have ever tasted! The ambience is wonderful, and the waitress was superb!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I looked online and prices were a lot hi ...

 
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I looked online and prices were a lot higher in restaurant. The staff was decent but no one seemed excited to be there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We have repeatedly traveled to Sioux Fal ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We have repeatedly traveled to Sioux Falls - from Minneapolis- for a quick overnight to enjoy the pleasant little city, but even more, to have a lovely dinner at Minerva's. It has always been a wonderfully satisfying experience. Good food, great service, a peaceful island of graceful dining.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was uninspiring...walleye was dry a ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Food was uninspiring...walleye was dry and too much breading. Salad bar did not have the necessary ingredients to make a fresh vegetable salad.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

I always love eating here. The food is a ...

 
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I always love eating here. The food is awesome and the service is excellent!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food and service. Great salad ...

 
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Very good food and service. Great salad bar with soup.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We always go to Minerva's when in Sioux ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We always go to Minerva's when in Sioux Falls as it is a family tradition and probably still the best restaurant in town. I'm sad they no longer have the Maytag blue cheese salad on the menu as I'm not a fan of salad bars, but others in our party loved the variety at the salad bar. I had the wedge salad and it was mediocre. I think the food quality has gone from excellent to good over our past several annual visits. My husband had the scampi and scallop pasta and it only had two small shrimp and three scallops, though he liked the dish overall. The beef filet oscar was still very good. With all the chain restaurants in Sioux Falls, it would be great if the new owners could maintain Minerva's tradition as a special occasion restaurant at a higher level and not take on the food quality of a chain. We have a lot of memories from dinners at Minerva's over the years so we will be back. We always recommend Minerva's to anyone going to Sioux Falls.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Several people were served cold food. On ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Several people were served cold food. One in the party had fish they couldn't even eat. When they told the waitress about their disappointing meals nothing was done to resolve the concerns. My personal meal was delicious but as the one who hosted this 12 party dinner I felt more responsible for their satisfaction than the waitress seemed to be. As a venue that often gets bigger parties it is disappointing to know they couldn't manage the timing so that everyone's meals were served at the temperature that they should be. I will not likely bring another work group here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

Celebrate

 
·Dined on May 31, 2016

This is a great place to spend time with family and friends. For any occasion, you will enjoy Minerva's.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Preparation of the Filets

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

I ordered my Filet "Medium Rare" and it was served "Medium Well". My Wife ordered hers "Very RARE" and it was served "Medium Rare" The Waitress should have had us cut into the Steak when it was served to see if it was prepared properly. She served it and then came back when we were half finished. To make up for it, she said there would be no charge for the Dessert! My Wife doesn't eat Dessert. A little disappointed, as we have dined there before, and enjoyed it.

Sincerely,

Fred Standa

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Very average.

 
·Dined on May 25, 2016

I have been a Minerva's customer since 1999. Minerva's has become a very average restaurant. Not just average. Very average. Out-front people are clueless. Servers appear as happy as prison inmates. Food would be right at home in a college cafeteria.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Our food was exceptional and the staff w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Our food was exceptional and the staff warm and welcoming.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't believe the overrated reviews

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Our reservation was attended to very promptly and our server was friendly and helpful.

The restaurant is cavernous, and that should have been my first clue that this wasn't going to be a fine dining establishment.

The food was fair at best. 4 our of 5 of us ordered steaks or burgers and none was cooked as ordered.

Overall food quality is lacking. Prices are high for the quality of food.

Service was quite good.

Not too many great options in SF, but I still would not return to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

Great food and even better service. Enj ...

 
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Great food and even better service. Enjoyed every minute while there.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Downtown Restaurant

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Mineva's was recommended as the best Restaurant in Downtown Sioux Falls, SD which indeed it was. There are not many choices. The food was ok.. I had to return my filet mignon since I ordered it medium well (pink no blood) and it came up raw and then too cook.. Service was not the best.. and the restaurant needs to be updated.. However, yes it was the best restaurant in downtown.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Very average food...... The host staff h ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Very average food...... The host staff has the uppity attitude of a better quality restaurant, the waitstaff is attentive, they need an actual chef versus kitchen manager.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Always great food and memories!

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Minerva's is our "special place". So we were a bit nervous in hearing about an ownership change. We were reassured by staff. Food was fabulous. I had not had the seafood crepe in a very long time...so pleased to find one of my favorites had not morphed into something unrecognizable. Our waitress was a bit disconnected. Very difficult to determine if she had heard a request. But all in all a great night. Its the ambience, the favorite dishes still there, a sweet relaxing time. Thanks lol pp

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Excellent food and service, especially ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Excellent food and service, especially for a chain restaurant. Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I got together with my grandson & his fi ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

I got together with my grandson & his fiancée for lunch. Food was great and our waiter Brian was super attentive

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome experience.

 
·Dined on May 14, 2016

My date had the crab crusted salmon with a tomato sauce. I had the top sirloin. Both entrees were cooked to perfection and tasted amazing. There are so many choices on the menu that looked so good. We will be back to try other entrees. The restaurant was quite busy, but service was quick. Definitely a great place.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delightful & lovely Dining Out. A must go again.

 
·Dined on May 13, 2016

The service was friendly and efficient. The salad bar was delicious with many choice, fresh with interesting choices. The meal itself was cooked to perfection. The pugent sound crepe was cooked well, but maybe a little less sauce and more meat ? ( I think people would pay a few more dollars, also for that change ). Overall, an absolutely lovely experience!! I can't wait to return to try something new.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the better fillets I've had! Grea ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

One of the better fillets I've had! Great place, interior a bit dated but lovely place!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I visit Minerva's frequently. I enjoy t ...

 
·Dined on May 13, 2016

I visit Minerva's frequently. I enjoy the food and the service.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Bachelor party dinner for 7 for my broth ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Bachelor party dinner for 7 for my brother. The service was timely and food was excellent. Minerva's is a classic American place. Thanks for the Service

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mothers Day

 
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Th salad bar was forgettable, my wife ordered a rib-eye which was cut very thin and cooked very dry. We saw more appealing Rib-Eyes in the meat counter at Looks Grocery in So. Sioux Falls. I had the seafood Crepe, it tasted like a mexican seafood enchilada. I really wish we had gone to Bob's. There the food is served with pride though the surroundings are more basic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Nice, but?

 
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The filet was great, excellent salad bar, fantastic service. However the baked potato was way over done. Although this was a small part of what, other than this was a great meal, having an overdone backed potato ceriainly made the experience less than perfect. The potatoe peal was hard and very dark so it should have been apparent. I did not say anything because I did not want to spoil things for my wife.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome experience!!!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Awesome experience!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great salad bar!! And pretty much every ...

 
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Great salad bar!! And pretty much everything else!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great service, great atmosphere!!!!!

 
·Dined on April 30, 2016

get a reservation before you go. Then get the steak you won't be disappointed. My wife gets the salmon almost every time we go there. Big salad bar for a small price...it's a must if you do salad bars.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful Evening

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

The service and food were outstanding. There were seven in our party including two children. The children's menu is a great value. I had the roasted chicken and risotto. I ate every bite and would order it again next time I am in town. The salad bar was impressive.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food as always! Service is alw ...

 
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Excellent food as always! Service is always top notch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mostly a good experience

 
·Dined on April 23, 2016

The service was outstanding. Our server was a model waiter. The salad bar: still #1 in SF in my book: fresh, appealing, tasty. My wife's ribeye was tender and just the right amount of marbling. But my shrimp and scallop scampi was "skimpy". Two scallops, OK, but only two small shrimp: no way, not worth the price. And then no side, because the pasta was considered to be the side. Overall, we will go back, but I will get steak next time.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

What a find!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Great menu, reasonable prices, and phenomenal service. This place is great, you must go!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.