Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.47mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.47mi

About Minerva's - Sioux Falls

Minervas Restaurant has been defining quality food and great service in Sioux Falls since 1977.

With a menu that offers everything from in-house aged steaks to ocean fresh seafood, Minerva's is definitely one to please every one's taste. Award-winning salad bar has been a business lunch and dinner addition favorite for many years. Enjoy the great taste and excellent service that has become a hallmark of the downtown Sioux Falls area.

Minervas also is pleased to be home to Paramount Cocktails & Food, an inviting lounge attached to Minervas, that offers a great happy hour plus live entertainment most weekends. Stop in for a pre-dinner cocktail or after dinner dessert.

Minervas and Paramount also offer a spacious outdoor patio that showcases the heart of beautiful downtown Sioux Falls.

Join us at Minervas and Paramount today!

301 S Phillips Ave
Sioux Falls, SD 57104
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 2:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00pm - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
11th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(605) 334-0386

Website:
http://www.minervas.net/

Entertainment:
Our Paramount Food & Cocktails, located within Minerva Restaurant offers live music every Friday and Saturday night 8:00PM - 11:00PM. Also offering a Happy Hour 3:00PM - 6:00PM Monday - Saturday and 8:00PM - 10:00PM Monday - Thursday. Offering discounted wine, tap beer and cocktails, also pizzas,appetizers, burgers, and desserts. Come relax by the fireplace or patio before or after dinner or have a seat at the bar and watch the game.

Parking Details:
The parking options available to the public are street parking - free parking after 5:00 PM or two public parking ramps within walking distance to Minervas Restaurant.

The closest ramp is located just a half block to the east of Minerva's on 11th Street. Entrance to ramp is in the far left lane of 11th street just pass Phillips Ave. The other available public parking is at 121 West 12th Street across from Washington Pavilion both ramps offer free parking after 6:00 PM and on weekends.

Public Transit:
Sioux Falls Area Transit(SAM) stop located just a half block east of Minervas Restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Chad Howard

Private Party Facilities:
Minervas private dining and meeting room is located in the lower level of Minervas Restaurant in historic downtown Sioux Falls. Our private meeting and dining room is perfect for all types of events.

Think of Minervas when planning your events:

~ Weddings or Rehearsals ~ Corporate planning or award dinners ~ Financial presentation dinners ~ Holiday parties and events

Lunch/Dinner Parties ~ minimum 20 guests, maximum 60 guests.

Cocktail Parties ~ up to 70 guests.

Menus Our staff can show you a variety of menu formats and ideas that have been successful four our guests. We can make suggestions and design a menu that best suits your event and budget. We will print a custom menu for your event.

Room Charges We may request a room charge, based on the type of event, number of guests and services needed.

Private Party Contact:
Jerry Bremmon: (605) 334-0386

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Join us on Mother's Day as we celebrate Moms! We will be serving our dinner menu from 11AM - 2:30 and 4PM - 8PM.

Minerva's - Sioux Falls Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (63)
Special Occasion (61)
Good for Anniversaries (51)
See All
Romantic (44)
Business Meals (37)
Quiet Conversation (33)
Cozy (30)
Good for Groups (29)
Great for Lunch (28)
Worth the Drive (28)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Pre/post Theatre (25)
Bar Seating (18)
Casual (18)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Notable Wine List (16)
Authentic (13)
Historic (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Healthy (12)
Fun (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Modern Decor (10)
Family Style (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Private Room (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Seasonal (5)
Great Beer (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
People Watching (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Organic (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Spicy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Fireplace (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
585 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

My wife and I were in town for a weekend getaway. And we usually look for a nice, quiet romantic place. We found that here. The staff is super nice and answered all our questions. Highly recommend this to anyone who wants a quiet and romantic place for any occasion.

Tags: Great Beer, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

In SF to pickup sculpture from exhibit. Minerva's close to hotel and luckily we were eating a little later than most people do there, as it was Friday night. In fact exhibit director expressed amazement we were able to get in next morning, until I mentioned later dine.
Great food, good service. Only glitch, I ordered a tequila up, and it came "rocks"- a terrible fate for $50/ bottle liquor.
Try the duck!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on April 19, 2017

AMAZING EVENING..GREAT SERVICE, THE YOUNG GIRLS WORKING THERE IN THE FRONT ARE AUCTUALLY NICER THAT THE 40+ LADYS WORKING THERE, THEY WERE SUPER NICE ,SUPER KIND,,VERY PROFESSIONAL...TOOK MY FLOWERS FOR MY GIRLFRIEND AND HAD THEM ON THE TABLE WHEN WE ARRIVED,, GREAT NIGHT,GREAT FOOD, I HAVE ALWAYSED LOVED IT AT MINERVAS,, WE WILL BE BACK AGAIN SOON.. THANK YOU MINERVAS,, James Michael Dosch FROM Billion Chrysler..

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great atmosphere and historic feel. Very good service as added to dining experience. People flowed well thru the night. Bar was fun and got sense lots of history. Felt local yet sense of sophistication. Easy to navigate and salad bar was excellent. Food menu was diverse and delivery was timely. Good Mix of families and couples. Tables we close enough togetherness so cozy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Love Minervas, Always the best in Sioux Falls! Never disappointed!

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Modern Decor, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We went with another couple and everything was perfect from the service to the meal. We will be going back in the near future.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our meal from the walleye cake appetizer to the brownie soufflé dessert; the main entrees were fabulous (potato and crabmeat encrusted salmon, sirloin steak, roasted duck). Great service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We were celebrating a but.. Everything was excellent

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 13, 2017

A very nice experience. I'd like to return again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on April 9, 2017

As always, consistent quality and service. Great new course menu. Highly recommend the Outlier wines, reasonable price, pairs well with entire courses.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on April 7, 2017

I belong to a birthday group of women that go out for lunch to cekebrate their birthdays. The birthday girl gets to pick the restaurant. We get prettu happybwhen she choses Minerva' s because we LOVE the salad bar there (and the tomato soup is to "die" for). Our server is always very gracious when we ask for separate checks and she brings us each a little birthday cake with ice cream for dessert. The birthday girl gets a piece with a lot candle. ❤

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I was super impressed with Minerva's overall. The service we experienced was delightful, our waitress was extremely polite, and she made sure everything was to our satisfaction. Although there were a lot of people there at the time, I was still able to have a conversation, I did not feel like I had to shout. The energy of the restaurant was lively and the atmosphere was very classy. I would definitely recommend this as a place for celebrating birthdays or anniversaries, but it also would be a perfect spot for a date.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 1, 2017

As usual our expectations were exceeded. Nice service. An interesting and varied menu. The salad bar is a local institution and could be on the Nat'l Register of Amazing Food Options. The folks at the table next to us were a little on edge but we simply settled farther into our booth and ignored them. Each time we visit SFalls we research the new dining options with the idea of branching out. But why settle elsewhere when Minerva's is quite simply the best?

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Wonderful as always! Thanks for the GF options, and staff willing to find out if salad bar options were GF

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on April 1, 2017

A wonderful experience! We had a reservation for 8 PM and were seated immediately when we arrived at 7:55 PM. The waitress (Crystal) was exceptional and very attentive. We had our water glasses filled without ever needing to ask and dirty dishes taken away quickly. Our steaks had delicious flavor and done to perfection. It was a wonderful evening and will definitely visit Minerva's again!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Everything was very good other than no coasters under the water glasses and the table became wet almost right away.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on March 28, 2017

We can always count on the salad bar and desserts to be really good. We never order the menu items in the evening because we have been disappointed by them too many times. The salad bar and desserts were great, though! The place was so noisy and crowded, but that was OK.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Minerva's was an excellent choice to take the family for dinner. My wife and I took our two adult children there for a classy menu, elegant décor, and wonderful atmosphere. Everything was outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Had a reservation for 5:45 Pm. We were sat at 6:15 and we got our food at 7:10. The whole point of making a reservation was so we could be sat at 5:45 and have time to eat and make the movie at 7:30 like we planned. Well we didn't make the movie because we didn't get out of there till 7:30. Server barely spoke to us and seemed like we were bugging her. Needless to say we won't be back. The one at the Lakes is way better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
·Dined on March 25, 2017

Not the Minerva's I grew up knowing, food was average and frankly the other places in DTSF offer better food ( parkers, Crawfords, and ode for example), still a decent place but honestly for the money I'd probably go someplace else

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Every experience at this restaurant has been an exceptional one for me since it opened in 1977. Outstanding food, ambience, and service. The salad bar is always my favorite. The crème brulee was superb!

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Food was great along with the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on March 21, 2017

The food was excellent as always! The staff was VERY attentive...they kept trying to take plates where we were obviously still eating off of, this started to make us feel unwelcome. Then when we were ready to leave one of the staff was hovering over our table and even talking to us as we put on our coats. We paid with cash and left it on the table with the check and she did not even wait for us to clear her vision before rushing to it to be sure that we had paid. We were dressed nice, my husband had on a dress shirt and slacks and I was in a nice blouse and capris with nice shoes - Just made us both feel like they thought we were going to dine and ditch...if we were going the type to do that I think we would have ordered more than just water for our drinks!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Switzerland)·Dined on March 15, 2017

I was born and raised in South Dakota and since 40 years living in Switzerland where we get a good selection of restaurants with influence from central Europe. I had lunch and then dinner in the evening and was very surprised with the very good food, service and ambience. I have only been there for two meals but will definitely come back if I am in Sioux Falls again. The cod fish cakes for appetiser were excellent but the (tartar sauce) was not necessary. Leave those fish cakes with some lemon alone!! The New York Strip was divine - only I thought medium instead of ordered medium rare. No problem, it was great! The wine list was very nice. The lady serving me was extremely friendly and knowledgable. Unfortunately could not try the deserts. This restaurant can certainly be recommended. Bravo!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Wonderful all around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We have never been disappointed,great food and atmosphere! Well done.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, People Watching, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Historic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 10, 2017

One of the best in downtown Sioux Falls. The duck is great.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Excellent as always. A Sioux Falls favorite before a concert.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food and service was outstanding as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We go there quite often and every time we are very pleased

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for a Date, Family Style, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Definitely recommend going to minervas!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 16, 2017

6pm reservation. Arrived at 6pm. Seated (after asking twice how long it would be) at 6:20. Put our order in at 6:35. Server was great. At 7:10 we told our server that we would not have time to enjoy our meal as we had tickets to a 7:30 performance. When our food arrived at 7:15 we refused it. The manager insisted we accept the food to go and our entire meal was comped.

This situation was handled appropriately, but it shouldn't have happened in the first place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We always go for the steaks, consistently good at a fair price.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Pleasant Valentine's day dinner. Server was great and made very good suggestion. Seating was a bit close to other guests for our taste.
Meal and salad bar were very good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 14, 2017

What a lovely place. Very classy . waiter was friendly and attentive, food was tasteful.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had the prime rib and the filet, both were outstanding and cooked perfectly as ordered. Wait staff was attentive

Tags: Family Style, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Impeccable service and delicious food. You can not go wrong eating here. Feel good environment and nicely tucked downtown so you can enjoy a quiet dinner and then visit nearby bars and digs.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food, service, and atmosphere! I highly recommend Minervas for any occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Super everything! Waitress Eva was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Went on a Friday for a birthday supper. I am pregnant, so limited on my options of what I can eat at restaurants at times. I was very excited to see prime rib as the special, so myself and my sister's husband ordered that. About 15 minutes after we ordered, our server regretted to inform us that the prime was now unavailable so I had to choose a different item. I was disappointed, but they ended up taking very good care of us and meeting any needs I had as a pregnant woman. Amazing service. Our server was just amazing at how she handled things and had such an upbeat personality. Even though I didn't get what I originally wanted, I still got a great tasting meal and left very happy :)

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.