Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.47mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.47mi

About Minerva's - Sioux Falls

Minervas Restaurant has been defining quality food and great service in Sioux Falls since 1977.

With a menu that offers everything from in-house aged steaks to ocean fresh seafood, Minerva's is definitely one to please every one's taste. Award-winning salad bar has been a business lunch and dinner addition favorite for many years. Enjoy the great taste and excellent service that has become a hallmark of the downtown Sioux Falls area.

Minervas also is pleased to be home to Paramount Cocktails & Food, an inviting lounge attached to Minervas, that offers a great happy hour plus live entertainment most weekends. Stop in for a pre-dinner cocktail or after dinner dessert.

Minervas and Paramount also offer a spacious outdoor patio that showcases the heart of beautiful downtown Sioux Falls.

Join us at Minervas and Paramount today!

301 S Phillips Ave
Sioux Falls, SD 57104
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 2:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00pm - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
11th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(605) 334-0386

Website:
http://www.minervas.net/

Entertainment:
Our Paramount Food & Cocktails, located within Minerva Restaurant offers live music every Friday and Saturday night 8:00PM - 11:00PM. Also offering a Happy Hour 3:00PM - 6:00PM Monday - Saturday and 8:00PM - 10:00PM Monday - Thursday. Offering discounted wine, tap beer and cocktails, also pizzas,appetizers, burgers, and desserts. Come relax by the fireplace or patio before or after dinner or have a seat at the bar and watch the game.

Parking Details:
The parking options available to the public are street parking - free parking after 5:00 PM or two public parking ramps within walking distance to Minervas Restaurant.

The closest ramp is located just a half block to the east of Minerva's on 11th Street. Entrance to ramp is in the far left lane of 11th street just pass Phillips Ave. The other available public parking is at 121 West 12th Street across from Washington Pavilion both ramps offer free parking after 6:00 PM and on weekends.

Public Transit:
Sioux Falls Area Transit(SAM) stop located just a half block east of Minervas Restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Chad Howard

Private Party Facilities:
Minervas private dining and meeting room is located in the lower level of Minervas Restaurant in historic downtown Sioux Falls. Our private meeting and dining room is perfect for all types of events.

Think of Minervas when planning your events:

~ Weddings or Rehearsals ~ Corporate planning or award dinners ~ Financial presentation dinners ~ Holiday parties and events

Lunch/Dinner Parties ~ minimum 20 guests, maximum 60 guests.

Cocktail Parties ~ up to 70 guests.

Menus Our staff can show you a variety of menu formats and ideas that have been successful four our guests. We can make suggestions and design a menu that best suits your event and budget. We will print a custom menu for your event.

Room Charges We may request a room charge, based on the type of event, number of guests and services needed.

Private Party Contact:
Jerry Bremmon: (605) 334-0386

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Minerva's - Sioux Falls Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (61)
Special Occasion (58)
Good for Anniversaries (53)
See All
Romantic (41)
Business Meals (37)
Quiet Conversation (36)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Great for Lunch (28)
Pre/post Theatre (27)
Worth the Drive (25)
Cozy (25)
Good for Groups (23)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Casual (19)
Authentic (19)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Bar Seating (16)
Fun (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Historic (12)
Healthy (12)
Modern Decor (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Family Style (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Great Beer (5)
Private Room (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Seasonal (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
People Watching (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Organic (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Fireplace (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Scenic View (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Vegan (1)
Spicy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
604 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a great experience for supper and business conversations. The service is GREAT and Minerva's is always one of the first choices for me. One of my favorite places in Sioux Falls SD for any occasion. The parking does become difficult for this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Always the best waitstaff in town and food never disappoints. Kudos especially to Stacy who made our special night memorable!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on May 20, 2017

This place is usually really good but was very disappointing this time. Service was horrible this time. Took forever to get anything.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The meal was very good as usual and the service was also excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on May 20, 2017

This was my first experience with Minerva's and I was thoroughly pleased...very nice decor and cleanliness...excellent wait staff with true attention .. excellent pricing for quality dining...will definitely recommend and return...thank you!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Casual, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Minerva's is a great spot and should not be missed for business or personal events. It has a nice atmosphere that relaxes you and sets the tone for a good meal.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (South Dakota)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Once again an outstanding meal. I had the duck and my wife had the blackened salmon with creme Brule for desert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Minerva's is a place our family considers that we can count on for quality.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

As always--Minerva's did not disappoint. We celebrated Mother's day with our children and had a nice, qiet dinner with wonderful service and outstanding food and ambiance. Would highly recommend!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The steaks were amazing and cooked exactly to order!

Tags: Modern Decor, Historic, Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Excellent food. Great service. Good choices for wine. Amazing salad bar. Hunter's ribeye was fabulous.

Tags: Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Minerva's is always excellent. It's my go-to whenever I am in Sioux Falls.

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on May 3, 2017

The on-line reservations was new to me - it worked well! The Swordfish was ordered by 3 members of our party and they were pleased. My seafood crepe was tasty. The restaurant was packed but the noise level low. Wait staff were friendly. The man who escorted us to our table complimented me on my unusual jacket, which made my day! I love to dine at MinervaS when I drive the hour to Sioux Falls!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on May 3, 2017

As usual - the food and service were great. I have never met a server at Minerva's who has not provided great service. They are the best in town!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Afternoon Tea, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Food was good as my wife's steak came out rare but they rectified the issue with bringing her a new one that was done correctly so the customer service was good.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Fantastic experience, as always. Always top notch. We were well taken care of through or entire meal- which was amazing. Thank you for a great night out!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I always love Minervas! I remember visiting the restaurant as a child. It is still one of my favorite restaurants to visit. I wish they hadn't changed their Cajun chicken linguine recipe, though. It used to have more vegetables and no nuts. Why mess with a classic? Salad bar is always fresh with a great selection. I also thought the bloody Mary was perfect. Thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Great piece of salmon and food service. Cocktail left something to be desired - alcohol! A Cosmo should have a little alcohol in it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

My wife and I were in town for a weekend getaway. And we usually look for a nice, quiet romantic place. We found that here. The staff is super nice and answered all our questions. Highly recommend this to anyone who wants a quiet and romantic place for any occasion.

Tags: Great Beer, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 22, 2017

In SF to pickup sculpture from exhibit. Minerva's close to hotel and luckily we were eating a little later than most people do there, as it was Friday night. In fact exhibit director expressed amazement we were able to get in next morning, until I mentioned later dine.
Great food, good service. Only glitch, I ordered a tequila up, and it came "rocks"- a terrible fate for $50/ bottle liquor.
Try the duck!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on April 19, 2017

AMAZING EVENING..GREAT SERVICE, THE YOUNG GIRLS WORKING THERE IN THE FRONT ARE AUCTUALLY NICER THAT THE 40+ LADYS WORKING THERE, THEY WERE SUPER NICE ,SUPER KIND,,VERY PROFESSIONAL...TOOK MY FLOWERS FOR MY GIRLFRIEND AND HAD THEM ON THE TABLE WHEN WE ARRIVED,, GREAT NIGHT,GREAT FOOD, I HAVE ALWAYSED LOVED IT AT MINERVAS,, WE WILL BE BACK AGAIN SOON.. THANK YOU MINERVAS,, James Michael Dosch FROM Billion Chrysler..

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great atmosphere and historic feel. Very good service as added to dining experience. People flowed well thru the night. Bar was fun and got sense lots of history. Felt local yet sense of sophistication. Easy to navigate and salad bar was excellent. Food menu was diverse and delivery was timely. Good Mix of families and couples. Tables we close enough togetherness so cozy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Love Minervas, Always the best in Sioux Falls! Never disappointed!

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Modern Decor, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We went with another couple and everything was perfect from the service to the meal. We will be going back in the near future.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our meal from the walleye cake appetizer to the brownie soufflé dessert; the main entrees were fabulous (potato and crabmeat encrusted salmon, sirloin steak, roasted duck). Great service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We were celebrating a but.. Everything was excellent

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 13, 2017

A very nice experience. I'd like to return again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on April 9, 2017

As always, consistent quality and service. Great new course menu. Highly recommend the Outlier wines, reasonable price, pairs well with entire courses.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on April 7, 2017

I belong to a birthday group of women that go out for lunch to cekebrate their birthdays. The birthday girl gets to pick the restaurant. We get prettu happybwhen she choses Minerva' s because we LOVE the salad bar there (and the tomato soup is to "die" for). Our server is always very gracious when we ask for separate checks and she brings us each a little birthday cake with ice cream for dessert. The birthday girl gets a piece with a lot candle. ❤

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I was super impressed with Minerva's overall. The service we experienced was delightful, our waitress was extremely polite, and she made sure everything was to our satisfaction. Although there were a lot of people there at the time, I was still able to have a conversation, I did not feel like I had to shout. The energy of the restaurant was lively and the atmosphere was very classy. I would definitely recommend this as a place for celebrating birthdays or anniversaries, but it also would be a perfect spot for a date.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 1, 2017

As usual our expectations were exceeded. Nice service. An interesting and varied menu. The salad bar is a local institution and could be on the Nat'l Register of Amazing Food Options. The folks at the table next to us were a little on edge but we simply settled farther into our booth and ignored them. Each time we visit SFalls we research the new dining options with the idea of branching out. But why settle elsewhere when Minerva's is quite simply the best?

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Wonderful as always! Thanks for the GF options, and staff willing to find out if salad bar options were GF

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on April 1, 2017

A wonderful experience! We had a reservation for 8 PM and were seated immediately when we arrived at 7:55 PM. The waitress (Crystal) was exceptional and very attentive. We had our water glasses filled without ever needing to ask and dirty dishes taken away quickly. Our steaks had delicious flavor and done to perfection. It was a wonderful evening and will definitely visit Minerva's again!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Everything was very good other than no coasters under the water glasses and the table became wet almost right away.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on March 28, 2017

We can always count on the salad bar and desserts to be really good. We never order the menu items in the evening because we have been disappointed by them too many times. The salad bar and desserts were great, though! The place was so noisy and crowded, but that was OK.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Minerva's was an excellent choice to take the family for dinner. My wife and I took our two adult children there for a classy menu, elegant décor, and wonderful atmosphere. Everything was outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Had a reservation for 5:45 Pm. We were sat at 6:15 and we got our food at 7:10. The whole point of making a reservation was so we could be sat at 5:45 and have time to eat and make the movie at 7:30 like we planned. Well we didn't make the movie because we didn't get out of there till 7:30. Server barely spoke to us and seemed like we were bugging her. Needless to say we won't be back. The one at the Lakes is way better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
·Dined on March 25, 2017

Not the Minerva's I grew up knowing, food was average and frankly the other places in DTSF offer better food ( parkers, Crawfords, and ode for example), still a decent place but honestly for the money I'd probably go someplace else

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Every experience at this restaurant has been an exceptional one for me since it opened in 1977. Outstanding food, ambience, and service. The salad bar is always my favorite. The crème brulee was superb!

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Food was great along with the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.