About Minerva's - Sioux Falls

301 S Phillips Ave
Sioux Falls, SD 57104
View Larger Map

Minervas Restaurant has been defining quality food and great service in Sioux Falls since 1977.

With a menu that offers everything from in-house aged steaks to ocean fresh seafood, Minerva's is definitely one to please every one's taste. Award-winning salad bar has been a business lunch and dinner addition favorite for many years. Enjoy the great taste and excellent service that has become a hallmark of the downtown Sioux Falls area.

Minervas also is pleased to be home to Paramount Cocktails & Food, an inviting lounge attached to Minervas, that offers a great happy hour plus live entertainment most weekends. Stop in for a pre-dinner cocktail or after dinner dessert.

Minervas and Paramount also offer a spacious outdoor patio that showcases the heart of beautiful downtown Sioux Falls.

Join us at Minervas and Paramount today!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 2:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00pm - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
11th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(605) 334-0386

Website:
http://www.minervas.net/

Entertainment:
Our Paramount Food & Cocktails, located within Minerva Restaurant offers live music every Friday and Saturday night 8:00PM - 11:00PM. Also offering a Happy Hour 3:00PM - 6:00PM Monday - Saturday and 8:00PM - 10:00PM Monday - Thursday. Offering discounted wine, tap beer and cocktails, also pizzas,appetizers, burgers, and desserts. Come relax by the fireplace or patio before or after dinner or have a seat at the bar and watch the game.

Parking Details:
The parking options available to the public are street parking - free parking after 5:00 PM or two public parking ramps within walking distance to Minervas Restaurant.

The closest ramp is located just a half block to the east of Minerva's on 11th Street. Entrance to ramp is in the far left lane of 11th street just pass Phillips Ave. The other available public parking is at 121 West 12th Street across from Washington Pavilion both ramps offer free parking after 6:00 PM and on weekends.

Public Transit:
Sioux Falls Area Transit(SAM) stop located just a half block east of Minervas Restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Chad Howard

Private Party Facilities:
Minervas private dining and meeting room is located in the lower level of Minervas Restaurant in historic downtown Sioux Falls. Our private meeting and dining room is perfect for all types of events.

Think of Minervas when planning your events:

~ Weddings or Rehearsals ~ Corporate planning or award dinners ~ Financial presentation dinners ~ Holiday parties and events

Lunch/Dinner Parties ~ minimum 20 guests, maximum 60 guests.

Cocktail Parties ~ up to 70 guests.

Menus Our staff can show you a variety of menu formats and ideas that have been successful four our guests. We can make suggestions and design a menu that best suits your event and budget. We will print a custom menu for your event.

Room Charges We may request a room charge, based on the type of event, number of guests and services needed.

Private Party Contact:
Jerry Bremmon: 6053340386

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Minerva's - Sioux Falls Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
South Dakota
Best Restaurants in Sioux Falls ›

Special Occasion (38)
Romantic (30)
Good for a Date (30)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Good for Groups (23)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Great for Lunch (21)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Business Meals (18)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Casual (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Authentic (10)
Cozy (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Fun (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Historic (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
People Watching (4)
Family Style (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Healthy (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Private Room (3)
Seasonal (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great Beer (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (0)
Sort By:
S
497 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We thoroughly enjoy going to Minerva's. ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined 4 days ago

We thoroughly enjoy going to Minerva's. We go for the wonderfully delicious food, the atmosphere, the people, the servers, the beautiful inside setting, being able to be in such a special and beautiful place where we can enjoy seeing everyone one who is having a meal there and at the same time enjoy a private get together with our family. And yes, our after dinner Birthday treats were wonderful too.

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again we were totally satisfied wit ...

vip
 (South Dakota)·Dined 5 days ago

Once again we were totally satisfied with our menu selection. The service was great and the food was outstanding. The martini's were very good also.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always everything was perfect! Even ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 30, 2016

As always everything was perfect! Even with a table of 12 people!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Minerva's many times, an ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on November 30, 2016

We have been to Minerva's many times, and have never had a bad dinning experience. It continues to be one of the very best restaurants in Sioux Falls.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Had dinner here before seeing a show at ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Had dinner here before seeing a show at the Washington Pavilion. Great food and service and the location can't be beat for downtown activities

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Best ever! Our 1st wedding anniversary a ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Best ever! Our 1st wedding anniversary a great meal and best ever service! Thank You we will be back many more times,

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always great . Hope you have ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The food is always great . Hope you have pickled Herring on the salad bar as I did not see it.

Lovely place !

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very nice place with good food, always ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on November 20, 2016

A very nice place with good food, always! On this particular visit the waitress was almost put off that we wanted food. This is NOT the norm the on this visit there was poor service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

The duck was moist and flavorful, prime ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The duck was moist and flavorful, prime rib needed to be warmer but tender and seasoned well, the fillet migon needs a sauce.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We requested a quit booth for two but we ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We requested a quit booth for two but were seated right next to a server station. It was very loud and you could easily hear the workers conversations. Not what we had hoped for. This use to be our special go to place, but the menu has changed and the ambiance is not what it used to be. Won't be going back anytime soon.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Great meal. Great service.

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great meal. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is always good. The room with t ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The food is always good. The room with the tables for 8 was very cool.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The salad bar is so fresh and delicious. ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on October 31, 2016

The salad bar is so fresh and delicious. Our birthday lunch group often chooses Minervas because when one is celebrating her birthday, we all get to have a small sliver of cake and scoop of ice cream. Just enough to satisfy our sweet tooth. Yummy!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always it was a wonderful dining expe ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on October 29, 2016

As always it was a wonderful dining experience.

Food and outstanding service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to Minerva' s many times over ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 28, 2016

I've been to Minerva' s many times over several years. It's very consistent. Great salad bar. Super friendly service.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Hostess was pleasant and informative. Wa ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Hostess was pleasant and informative. Waitstaff was attentive and professional. Wine list was varied with some good quality wines at customary pricing.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

I took three visiting friends to Minerva ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I took three visiting friends to Minerva's. We all thought the food and service was great. I am pleased to have restaurant in town that I can depend on for great quality when friends come to visit.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and service. Fun downtown loca ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Good food and service. Fun downtown location. Dependable....always good food when I have been there.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the atmosphere!!

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Love the atmosphere!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quiet, elegant, and wonderful restaurant ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Quiet, elegant, and wonderful restaurant which you could have a wonderful conversation.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Being an East Coast native Minervas remi ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Being an East Coast native Minervas reminded me of a classy NY Steakhouse without the loud, hustle and bustle. Excellent food in a quiet, relaxing atmosphere.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very good atmosphere. Food was on point. ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Very good atmosphere. Food was on point. I would recommend using open table because once we walked in without a reservation they said it would be a 2 hour wait. I used open table right there and then and booked it for a 9 min wait. Couldn't of been any better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is my wife's favorite place to go o ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on October 8, 2016

This is my wife's favorite place to go out on a date. The food is wonderful and we always leave feeling satisfied. The restaurant has a warm, cozy feel to it and the waiters are super friendly.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite restaurant in Sioux Falls! ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on October 7, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Sioux Falls! Love the ambiance , entrees & desserts! Always feels like a special occasion when we eat there!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

May have been an off night for Minerva's ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on October 1, 2016

May have been an off night for Minerva's. Pork chop arrived tough and dry, and side was lukewarm. Other entrée arrived lukewarm, and the side was so poorly prepared, did not eat it. Decided not to stay for dessert, and decided to try a diff restaurant next time out. Service was slower than normal, i.e., bread didn't arrive at the table until after we had finished our salads. Disappointing experience on our anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

I am never disappointed when dining with ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on October 1, 2016

I am never disappointed when dining with you. Thank you

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service, attractive de ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Great food, great service, attractive decor, relaxing ambience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A favorite place to eat whenever we are ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 27, 2016

A favorite place to eat whenever we are in town. Good for a reliable meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good. My husband loved his ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The food was good. My husband loved his schnitzel on the special sheet. I had the chicken with corn risotto. It was a little salty, otherwise very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

The petite filet Oscar was the best stea ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The petite filet Oscar was the best steak! It just melted in my mouth. The white cheddar mashed were delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Minerva's has the best salad bar in Siou ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Minerva's has the best salad bar in Sioux Falls hands down . The service is always excellent and the atmosphere is so intimate and relaxing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Don't sit outside! I've eaten here befo ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Don't sit outside!

I've eaten here before and rated it highly, BUT...

The tables outside are teaming with flies--it's unfortunate, and perhaps not the fault of the restaurant. Nonetheless, the flies ruined our dinner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value4

We enjoyed our food very much! We sat ou ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 22, 2016

We enjoyed our food very much! We sat outside and enjoyed looking over the shops and people on the street. My husband had a seafood crepe and I had beef stroganoff. The wait staff was very attentive but not overbearing . Would strongly recommend this to anyone.

Tags: People Watching, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Minerva's was amazing like always. Food ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Minerva's was amazing like always. Food is always excellently prepared and presented with top notch service. It is our favorite go to restaurant with friends, family, or just for the two of us. This time we were celebrating a birthday and a going away party and Minerva's did not disappoint!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Authentic, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We eat here a lot and are never disappoi ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on September 21, 2016

We eat here a lot and are never disappointed. The food is consistently delicious. Service is great!

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good, service was good...atmosp ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Food was good, service was good...atmosphere was a bit dated maybe?

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We have celebrated our anniversary at Mi ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We have celebrated our anniversary at Minerva's for the 34th year in a row and it is as wonderful as ever! Great service, ambiance and wonderful food!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was just amazing and our waitre ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food was just amazing and our waitress was very attentive. Hopefully we will be back very soon.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and atmosphere. We thoro ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Excellent food and atmosphere. We thoroughly enjoyed the food. Awesome salad bar and dessert.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There is probably no restaurant we have ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on September 15, 2016

There is probably no restaurant we have ever been to that is more consistent in delivering great food and great service every time you go there and anytime of the day you go there.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.