About Minerva's - Sioux Falls

301 S Phillips Ave
Sioux Falls, SD 57104
View Larger Map

Minervas Restaurant has been defining quality food and great service in Sioux Falls since 1977.

With a menu that offers everything from in-house aged steaks to ocean fresh seafood, Minerva's is definitely one to please every one's taste. Award-winning salad bar has been a business lunch and dinner addition favorite for many years. Enjoy the great taste and excellent service that has become a hallmark of the downtown Sioux Falls area.

Minervas also is pleased to be home to Paramount Cocktails & Food, an inviting lounge attached to Minervas, that offers a great happy hour plus live entertainment most weekends. Stop in for a pre-dinner cocktail or after dinner dessert.

Minervas and Paramount also offer a spacious outdoor patio that showcases the heart of beautiful downtown Sioux Falls.

Join us at Minervas and Paramount today!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 2:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00pm - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
11th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(605) 334-0386

Website:
http://www.minervas.net/

Entertainment:
Our Paramount Food & Cocktails, located within Minerva Restaurant offers live music every Friday and Saturday night 8:00PM - 11:00PM. Also offering a Happy Hour 3:00PM - 6:00PM Monday - Saturday and 8:00PM - 10:00PM Monday - Thursday. Offering discounted wine, tap beer and cocktails, also pizzas,appetizers, burgers, and desserts. Come relax by the fireplace or patio before or after dinner or have a seat at the bar and watch the game.

Parking Details:
The parking options available to the public are street parking - free parking after 5:00 PM or two public parking ramps within walking distance to Minervas Restaurant.

The closest ramp is located just a half block to the east of Minerva's on 11th Street. Entrance to ramp is in the far left lane of 11th street just pass Phillips Ave. The other available public parking is at 121 West 12th Street across from Washington Pavilion both ramps offer free parking after 6:00 PM and on weekends.

Public Transit:
Sioux Falls Area Transit(SAM) stop located just a half block east of Minervas Restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Chad Howard

Private Party Facilities:
Minervas private dining and meeting room is located in the lower level of Minervas Restaurant in historic downtown Sioux Falls. Our private meeting and dining room is perfect for all types of events.

Think of Minervas when planning your events:

~ Weddings or Rehearsals ~ Corporate planning or award dinners ~ Financial presentation dinners ~ Holiday parties and events

Lunch/Dinner Parties ~ minimum 20 guests, maximum 60 guests.

Cocktail Parties ~ up to 70 guests.

Menus Our staff can show you a variety of menu formats and ideas that have been successful four our guests. We can make suggestions and design a menu that best suits your event and budget. We will print a custom menu for your event.

Room Charges We may request a room charge, based on the type of event, number of guests and services needed.

Private Party Contact:
Jerry Bremmon: 6053340386

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Minerva's - Sioux Falls Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
South Dakota
Best Food
South Dakota
Best Service
South Dakota
3 More
Best Ambiance
South Dakota
Most Booked
South Dakota
Most Booked
Sioux Falls
Best Restaurants in Sioux Falls ›

Special Occasion (74)
Romantic (52)
Good for Groups (45)
See All
Great for Lunch (36)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Notable Wine List (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Good for a Date (15)
Great for Brunch (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Kid-friendly (10)
Business Meals (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Casual (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Authentic (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Fun (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Bar Seating (3)
People Watching (3)
Cozy (3)
Historic (3)
Scenic View (2)
Private Room (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Seasonal (1)
Family Style (1)
Tapas (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
468 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was good. My husband loved his ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

The food was good. My husband loved his schnitzel on the special sheet. I had the chicken with corn risotto. It was a little salty, otherwise very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

The petite filet Oscar was the best stea ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

The petite filet Oscar was the best steak! It just melted in my mouth. The white cheddar mashed were delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Don't sit outside! I've eaten here befo ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Don't sit outside!

I've eaten here before and rated it highly, BUT...

The tables outside are teaming with flies--it's unfortunate, and perhaps not the fault of the restaurant. Nonetheless, the flies ruined our dinner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value4

We enjoyed our food very much! We sat ou ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

We enjoyed our food very much! We sat outside and enjoyed looking over the shops and people on the street. My husband had a seafood crepe and I had beef stroganoff. The wait staff was very attentive but not overbearing . Would strongly recommend this to anyone.

Tags: People Watching, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Minerva's was amazing like always. Food ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Minerva's was amazing like always. Food is always excellently prepared and presented with top notch service. It is our favorite go to restaurant with friends, family, or just for the two of us. This time we were celebrating a birthday and a going away party and Minerva's did not disappoint!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Authentic, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We eat here a lot and are never disappoi ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

We eat here a lot and are never disappointed. The food is consistently delicious. Service is great!

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good, service was good...atmosp ...

 
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Food was good, service was good...atmosphere was a bit dated maybe?

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We have celebrated our anniversary at Mi ...

 
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We have celebrated our anniversary at Minerva's for the 34th year in a row and it is as wonderful as ever! Great service, ambiance and wonderful food!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was just amazing and our waitre ...

 
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food was just amazing and our waitress was very attentive. Hopefully we will be back very soon.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and atmosphere. We thoro ...

 
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Excellent food and atmosphere. We thoroughly enjoyed the food. Awesome salad bar and dessert.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There is probably no restaurant we have ...

 
·Dined on September 15, 2016

There is probably no restaurant we have ever been to that is more consistent in delivering great food and great service every time you go there and anytime of the day you go there.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My experience with open table and Minerv ...

 
·Dined on September 15, 2016

My experience with open table and Minervas was seamless. We made a reservation and they were expecting us when we walked in. We had a delicious meal with great service.

Tags: Private Room, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the second time we had been to ...

 
·Dined on September 13, 2016

This was the second time we had been to Minervas in 2 weeks. We were passing through Sioux Falls on vacation. We enjoyed our dinner so much the first time we had to come back. They have a wonderful soup & salad bar, well worth the extra $3.00. There is a wide variety of salads & 2 soups. My wife loved the rib eye steak so much the first time she ordered it again and loved it just as much. I tried the beef stroganoff. The beef was tender and the gravy was very tasty. I would have it again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Another great meal at an inexpensive cos ...

 
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Another great meal at an inexpensive cost. I tell everyone what a great place Minerva's is to have a great evening, Good job to all.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food were great! If you ...

 
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The service and food were great! If you don't want to spend much this might not be the place for you but it's worth it once you get your food. Our waitress was very nice and professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I were in town for business. ...

 
·Dined on September 8, 2016

My wife and I were in town for business. We had dined at Folies the night before and were looking for something on par or better. We decided in Minerva's. We have never been let down. Their food is excellent and hands down over the top conpared to folies. If you are looking for a great meal I will recommend Minerva's. Attentive staff from being seated, waited on and a quiet good night when we left. We will be back.

Thank you Minerva's for a great evening and the excellent dining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Solid food with a nice salad bar. The se ...

 
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Solid food with a nice salad bar. The seafood risotto was excellent as was the ribeye. I was pleased that when I was debating between 2 wines, the server offered a taste of both, so I could make the best choice for me.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

My wife and I both had rib eye steaks t ...

 
·Dined on September 6, 2016

My wife and I both had rib eye steaks that were done to perfection. They were tender and delicious. We also both had the salad bar which was a meal in it self. The restaurant reminded me of an old time steak house. We enjoyed the meal so much that when we stay in Sioux Falls next week we will eat there again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrating an anniversary. Perfect com ...

 
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Celebrating an anniversary. Perfect combination of unique cocktails, marvelous menu & good service for a fine dining experience to remember. Recommending the martini and dessert concoctions!

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Minerva's never disappoints! The food, s ...

 
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Minerva's never disappoints! The food, service and atmosphere are wonderful. Whether your outing is casual or a special occasion, Minerva's is a comfortable place to dine with consistent quality for the past 30 years!

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Friendly service. Excellen ...

 
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great food. Friendly service. Excellent selection of drinks and wine.

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After riding 6 hours from home to purcha ...

 
·Dined on August 27, 2016

After riding 6 hours from home to purchase a new motorcycle and spending the day in the local dealership, we were anxious to celebrate with a nice meal. The employees at the dealership recommended this restaurant so we made reservations on line. Finding a spot to park even a motorcycle close by was difficult, but we found a spot 2 blocks away. We were wearing our riding leathers and felt a little out of place given how fancy this place is. However, we were welcomed with open arms and treated excellent by the staff. The meals were fantastic and we truly enjoyed the experience. Will definitely put this on my list of places to eat when in Sioux Falls!

Tags: Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The walleye was great as was the service ...

 
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The walleye was great as was the service. Can't wait to go there again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The steaks at Minerva's are always amazi ...

 
·Dined on August 25, 2016

The steaks at Minerva's are always amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Minervas is a great restaurant that's be ...

 
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Minervas is a great restaurant that's been a favorite for many years. Unfortunately on this evening we had a wait person who is less than stellar, not bad, just not exceptional, drinks didn't come, fish was slightly overcooked. Yet we still were not disappointed with our decision to dine there.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We have eaten here many times when we ar ...

 
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We have eaten here many times when we are in town and have always loved it. We had heard it had changed ownership but we went back. It was BETTER than ever!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Best fine dining in Sioux Falls. Food an ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Best fine dining in Sioux Falls. Food and service are always top notch. Always take out of town guests to Minervas

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always. Service was great. ...

 
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Excellent as always. Service was great. Food was great. Everything was superb!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was traveling through Sioux Falls and ...

 
·Dined on August 9, 2016

I was traveling through Sioux Falls and stopped for the night. I am from a west coast town known for it's food scene and this compared very well to some of the better places in town. It was a very good meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The waitress was absolutely wonderful, b ...

 
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The waitress was absolutely wonderful, but the food was less than impressive. I had the Canadian Walleye and everything was extremely bland. Even the sauce was tasteless and the presentation was pretty unimpressive, the entire plate was shades of tan. My husband had a steak with the Parmesan and horseradish topping which was good. We both felt that for the price point, though the serving size for the White Cheddar Mashed potatoes that came with both of our meals was pretty underwhelming. All in all, I would say to visit Minerva's for lunch when a lighter meal is what you're looking for because it's no longer the nice dinner out Resturant that it used to be. (Especially since the prices no longer reflect the quality that I've come to expect from them.)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

Miverva's has been a staple in downtown ...

 
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Miverva's has been a staple in downtown Sioux Falls for many years. Salad bar is the best in town for sure, and the food is always great. It is great to go to a place and know what you will be getting for quality food time after time.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were at Minerva's to celebrate my mom ...

 
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We were at Minerva's to celebrate my mom's 70th birthday. I had sent flowers to be placed on our table prior to our arrival. When we arrived, we were quickly seated at a round table--which I prefer for a group of 8! Our flowers were there...all was perfectly ready for us! Everything was wonderful! A very nice evening!

Thank you!

(Later, it did get a bit noisy with another group bear us...but all in all it was ok.)

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had perfectly cooked, fantastic stea ...

 
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We had perfectly cooked, fantastic steak, delicious wine and martinis, and desert. It was a great experience!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rare date night with my husband. Nice t ...

 
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Rare date night with my husband. Nice to be able to make a reservations. Salad bar is amazing!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Always our favorite place to dine on spe ...

 
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Always our favorite place to dine on special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a busy night so thankfully we had ...

 
·Dined on July 28, 2016

It was a busy night so thankfully we had a reservation! Once we were seated it took over half an hour for our waitress to come and ask us our order... Not q lot of attention as there were an inadequate amount of servers... Overall just ok.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We go every yr for our anniversarry. It ...

 
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We go every yr for our anniversarry. It took a few minutes longer than it should have for any1 to acknowledge us after we got seated. We ordered the salmon tortelini and seafood linguini . the tortellini had a 1"-2" bone in it and one of the scallops had some shell that I crunched on. Normally this type ofexperience doesn't happen tho

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Incredible food and service. The salad b ...

 
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Incredible food and service. The salad bar was so delicious and full of variety. The restaurant had been recommended by our hotel staff and they exceeded our expectations. Hope to dine here again when we visit Sioux Falls.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dining experience was with a group o ...

 
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Our dining experience was with a group of 10. The tables were so close together that it was very difficult to leave the table to enjoy the salad bar. The room was full and it was a little difficult to hear. The prices have risen to where they are almost too expensive even for a special occasion, considering that the place is so crowded.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We had a wonderful meal. Excellent servi ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We had a wonderful meal. Excellent service in a quiet environment; even though we were seated near the entrance to the kitchen, the staff coming in and out were very unobtrusive . and our meal was romantic an peaceful

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.