Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.47mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.47mi

About Minerva's - Sioux Falls

Minervas Restaurant has been defining quality food and great service in Sioux Falls since 1977.

With a menu that offers everything from in-house aged steaks to ocean fresh seafood, Minerva's is definitely one to please every one's taste. Award-winning salad bar has been a business lunch and dinner addition favorite for many years. Enjoy the great taste and excellent service that has become a hallmark of the downtown Sioux Falls area.

Minervas also is pleased to be home to Paramount Cocktails & Food, an inviting lounge attached to Minervas, that offers a great happy hour plus live entertainment most weekends. Stop in for a pre-dinner cocktail or after dinner dessert.

Minervas and Paramount also offer a spacious outdoor patio that showcases the heart of beautiful downtown Sioux Falls.

Join us at Minervas and Paramount today!

301 S Phillips Ave
Sioux Falls, SD 57104
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 2:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00pm - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
11th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(605) 334-0386

Website:
http://www.minervas.net/

Entertainment:
Our Paramount Food & Cocktails, located within Minerva Restaurant offers live music every Friday and Saturday night 8:00PM - 11:00PM. Also offering a Happy Hour 3:00PM - 6:00PM Monday - Saturday and 8:00PM - 10:00PM Monday - Thursday. Offering discounted wine, tap beer and cocktails, also pizzas,appetizers, burgers, and desserts. Come relax by the fireplace or patio before or after dinner or have a seat at the bar and watch the game.

Parking Details:
The parking options available to the public are street parking - free parking after 5:00 PM or two public parking ramps within walking distance to Minervas Restaurant.

The closest ramp is located just a half block to the east of Minerva's on 11th Street. Entrance to ramp is in the far left lane of 11th street just pass Phillips Ave. The other available public parking is at 121 West 12th Street across from Washington Pavilion both ramps offer free parking after 6:00 PM and on weekends.

Public Transit:
Sioux Falls Area Transit(SAM) stop located just a half block east of Minervas Restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Chad Howard

Private Party Facilities:
Minervas private dining and meeting room is located in the lower level of Minervas Restaurant in historic downtown Sioux Falls. Our private meeting and dining room is perfect for all types of events.

Think of Minervas when planning your events:

~ Weddings or Rehearsals ~ Corporate planning or award dinners ~ Financial presentation dinners ~ Holiday parties and events

Lunch/Dinner Parties ~ minimum 20 guests, maximum 60 guests.

Cocktail Parties ~ up to 70 guests.

Menus Our staff can show you a variety of menu formats and ideas that have been successful four our guests. We can make suggestions and design a menu that best suits your event and budget. We will print a custom menu for your event.

Room Charges We may request a room charge, based on the type of event, number of guests and services needed.

Private Party Contact:
Jerry Bremmon: (605) 334-0386

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Minerva's - Sioux Falls Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (56)
Good for a Date (54)
Good for Anniversaries (44)
See All
Romantic (35)
Quiet Conversation (34)
Business Meals (33)
Good for Groups (27)
Great for Lunch (25)
Cozy (24)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Worth the Drive (24)
Pre/post Theatre (23)
Bar Seating (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
Casual (17)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Historic (12)
Fun (11)
Hot Spot (9)
Healthy (9)
Authentic (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Family Style (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Seasonal (5)
Private Room (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Happy Hour (4)
People Watching (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Great Beer (4)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
563 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was excellent as always! The staff was VERY attentive...they kept trying to take plates where we were obviously still eating off of, this started to make us feel unwelcome. Then when we were ready to leave one of the staff was hovering over our table and even talking to us as we put on our coats. We paid with cash and left it on the table with the check and she did not even wait for us to clear her vision before rushing to it to be sure that we had paid. We were dressed nice, my husband had on a dress shirt and slacks and I was in a nice blouse and capris with nice shoes - Just made us both feel like they thought we were going to dine and ditch...if we were going the type to do that I think we would have ordered more than just water for our drinks!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Switzerland)·Dined on March 15, 2017

I was born and raised in South Dakota and since 40 years living in Switzerland where we get a good selection of restaurants with influence from central Europe. I had lunch and then dinner in the evening and was very surprised with the very good food, service and ambience. I have only been there for two meals but will definitely come back if I am in Sioux Falls again. The cod fish cakes for appetiser were excellent but the (tartar sauce) was not necessary. Leave those fish cakes with some lemon alone!! The New York Strip was divine - only I thought medium instead of ordered medium rare. No problem, it was great! The wine list was very nice. The lady serving me was extremely friendly and knowledgable. Unfortunately could not try the deserts. This restaurant can certainly be recommended. Bravo!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Wonderful all around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We have never been disappointed,great food and atmosphere! Well done.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, People Watching, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Historic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 10, 2017

One of the best in downtown Sioux Falls. The duck is great.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Excellent as always. A Sioux Falls favorite before a concert.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food and service was outstanding as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We go there quite often and every time we are very pleased

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for a Date, Family Style, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Definitely recommend going to minervas!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 16, 2017

6pm reservation. Arrived at 6pm. Seated (after asking twice how long it would be) at 6:20. Put our order in at 6:35. Server was great. At 7:10 we told our server that we would not have time to enjoy our meal as we had tickets to a 7:30 performance. When our food arrived at 7:15 we refused it. The manager insisted we accept the food to go and our entire meal was comped.

This situation was handled appropriately, but it shouldn't have happened in the first place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We always go for the steaks, consistently good at a fair price.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Pleasant Valentine's day dinner. Server was great and made very good suggestion. Seating was a bit close to other guests for our taste.
Meal and salad bar were very good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 14, 2017

What a lovely place. Very classy . waiter was friendly and attentive, food was tasteful.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had the prime rib and the filet, both were outstanding and cooked perfectly as ordered. Wait staff was attentive

Tags: Family Style, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Impeccable service and delicious food. You can not go wrong eating here. Feel good environment and nicely tucked downtown so you can enjoy a quiet dinner and then visit nearby bars and digs.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food, service, and atmosphere! I highly recommend Minervas for any occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Super everything! Waitress Eva was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Went on a Friday for a birthday supper. I am pregnant, so limited on my options of what I can eat at restaurants at times. I was very excited to see prime rib as the special, so myself and my sister's husband ordered that. About 15 minutes after we ordered, our server regretted to inform us that the prime was now unavailable so I had to choose a different item. I was disappointed, but they ended up taking very good care of us and meeting any needs I had as a pregnant woman. Amazing service. Our server was just amazing at how she handled things and had such an upbeat personality. Even though I didn't get what I originally wanted, I still got a great tasting meal and left very happy :)

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The place is elegant and yet casual. I don't feel like I have to get dressed up to go here, and at the same time I feel I am in very elegant surroundings. But the food is king. I have never in my life had a steak as tender as what I get there. And it doesn't matter which cut, Ribeyes, Filets, they are all excellent. A few dollars more than going to a chain steakhouse, but worth every penny.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We very much enjoyed our time here at this restaurant. Very good service and great food!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Food was excellent. The waitress seemed unhappy to be there. At one point she told us that we had to give our orders clockwise. We had a friend that wasn't ready to order. So it was frustrating for her to say something like that. Then she said that our food looked good...so it must be good because we were quiet. She didn't ask how it was, she told us how it was.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food was good but service was poor. Had to ask for a coffee refill though water was readily refilled. Was VERY loud and noisy. Not the quiet atmosphere expected as all large parties were in the same room. Were there for mother's 85th birthday but were not able to carry on a conversation. Had to ask for her cake even though servers knew the reason we were there. For the price, not impressed of the service!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Minervas is a sure thing for a delicious meal at a reasonable price. We enjoy dinner there before walking the block before a concert at the Pavilion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Love this place. Best steak I have ever eaten in my life. Easy to relax there, and carry on a nice conversation, without combating noise. The salad bar is spot on, great selection. Our server was great, polite, well educated of the menu, and efficient. We will definitely fine there again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This is our normal spot for special occasions, birthdays, anniversaries, etc. Great salad bar and atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 18, 2017

If you want us to complete a review of this restaurant, offer us some points.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Great for Lunch, Casual, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Everything was excellent except our female bartender was rude. I have never experienced this at Minerva's before and it was quite unsettling.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Minervas is such a wonderful classic restaurant. I've been eating at minervas for 30 years. Great food, friendly wait staff and it doesn't get much better than beautiful do downtown Sioux Falls.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 14, 2017

When we got to our table the host asked if we wanted a carriage for our infant daughter, it was so thoughtful and we appreciated the kind gesture. The food was fantastic and the waitress had great recommendations! Wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I had an reservation for 745 for a group of four on Saturday Night. I also put in special features for we where celebrating two birthdays that night. We arrived and where sat 15 minutes late. We where told we could sit next to the bar, so we did and only had 2 chairs and in the way and to top it off the bartenders where extremely unpleasant. Then we where sat and in an area that was horrible with no room. The waitress was not the friendliest waitress and seemed very rushed. Food took way to long and we where comped for the appetizer. Drinks where made wrong and to top it off where got nothing for the celebration we wanted to celebrate there that night. Just wish this place would have been a lot better and friendly atmosphere to celebrate something special!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This was a very good place to eat, the atmosphere was good, they had a good looking salad bar, i sure we will try to eat there again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We have frequented Minerva several times. We have yet to have anything but an excellent experience. The management and staff have their acts together.
The menu has been varied and the food has been exceptionally plated. Wine list is out of this world for such a small town restaurant .
You can take your friends, boss, spouse or customers there with out any hesitation!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We live in Minneapolis and were in town for the holidays. I wanted to take my girlfriend to a nice restaurant. The atmosphere was great and quiet enough to enjoy a good conversation.

The food and service we received was top notch and I would put it against any 5 star restaurant I've e been to.

Great place and will definitely be back when we are in town.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We enjoyed our evening at Minerva's. Food and service were very good and this was New Year's Eve and quite crowded. We would definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Exceptional food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Always love the food here! Salad bar is great. Service is wondeful

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent food and service. I did make reservations and was seated right on time. Great overal experience

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 29, 2016

the food was amazing the staff was very friendly. we even met the mayor and his wife of Sioux Falls and they both were wonderful.. I will definitely be retuning

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on December 29, 2016

As always, you can count on Minerva;s for fantastic food in a warm inviting atmosphere with world-class service! No matter how busy they are, they always make each diner know they are valued as a guest.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Good food & great salad bar. I wrote on the reservation that this was my boyfriends first time & my birthday. Nothing was done or mentioned about this.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.