Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.47mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.47mi

About Minerva's - Sioux Falls

Minervas Restaurant has been defining quality food and great service in Sioux Falls since 1977.

With a menu that offers everything from in-house aged steaks to ocean fresh seafood, Minerva's is definitely one to please every one's taste. Award-winning salad bar has been a business lunch and dinner addition favorite for many years. Enjoy the great taste and excellent service that has become a hallmark of the downtown Sioux Falls area.

Minervas also is pleased to be home to Paramount Cocktails & Food, an inviting lounge attached to Minervas, that offers a great happy hour plus live entertainment most weekends. Stop in for a pre-dinner cocktail or after dinner dessert.

Minervas and Paramount also offer a spacious outdoor patio that showcases the heart of beautiful downtown Sioux Falls.

Join us at Minervas and Paramount today!

301 S Phillips Ave
Sioux Falls, SD 57104
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 2:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00pm - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
11th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(605) 334-0386

Website:
http://www.minervas.net/

Entertainment:
Our Paramount Food & Cocktails, located within Minerva Restaurant offers live music every Friday and Saturday night 8:00PM - 11:00PM. Also offering a Happy Hour 3:00PM - 6:00PM Monday - Saturday and 8:00PM - 10:00PM Monday - Thursday. Offering discounted wine, tap beer and cocktails, also pizzas,appetizers, burgers, and desserts. Come relax by the fireplace or patio before or after dinner or have a seat at the bar and watch the game.

Parking Details:
The parking options available to the public are street parking - free parking after 5:00 PM or two public parking ramps within walking distance to Minervas Restaurant.

The closest ramp is located just a half block to the east of Minerva's on 11th Street. Entrance to ramp is in the far left lane of 11th street just pass Phillips Ave. The other available public parking is at 121 West 12th Street across from Washington Pavilion both ramps offer free parking after 6:00 PM and on weekends.

Public Transit:
Sioux Falls Area Transit(SAM) stop located just a half block east of Minervas Restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Chad Howard

Private Party Facilities:
Minervas private dining and meeting room is located in the lower level of Minervas Restaurant in historic downtown Sioux Falls. Our private meeting and dining room is perfect for all types of events.

Think of Minervas when planning your events:

~ Weddings or Rehearsals ~ Corporate planning or award dinners ~ Financial presentation dinners ~ Holiday parties and events

Lunch/Dinner Parties ~ minimum 20 guests, maximum 60 guests.

Cocktail Parties ~ up to 70 guests.

Menus Our staff can show you a variety of menu formats and ideas that have been successful four our guests. We can make suggestions and design a menu that best suits your event and budget. We will print a custom menu for your event.

Room Charges We may request a room charge, based on the type of event, number of guests and services needed.

Private Party Contact:
Jerry Bremmon: (605) 334-0386

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Minerva's - Sioux Falls Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (60)
Special Occasion (51)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
See All
Romantic (36)
Quiet Conversation (34)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Business Meals (32)
Good for Groups (28)
Worth the Drive (26)
Cozy (25)
Great for Lunch (23)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Notable Wine List (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Casual (18)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Comfort Food (13)
Bar Seating (11)
Authentic (10)
Fun (10)
Local Ingredients (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Healthy (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Seasonal (5)
Late-night Find (4)
People Watching (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
688 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing! Stacy was the best server, great food and perfect ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

My guy will be forever loved for introducing me to this place. We make a point to go here especially for the key lime pie. The low lighting makes it sexy and beautiful. Staff is just awesome and professional.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 11, 2017

We went to the restaurant for a birthday celebration. The food was excellent and our waitress was very attentive and friendly.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

We were so looking forward to our experience at Minerva's after being away from Sioux Falls for 11 years. The salad bar is not the same, the menu has changed somewhat (which they all do) and the Burnt Cream Custard has been replaced with Crème Brulee. While the food was good, it was not as great or as fantastic as we remembered.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Always great food, service and ambiance. Been coming here for over 30 years and always a great meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

The best feature is the salad bar. Best in Sioux Falls.

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Always excellent. Go to this restaurant every time we visit Sioux Falls from our home in Central Illinois. One of our favorite places. Great atmosphere, service and food.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Pleased every time we go there because food is very good and servers are very friendly!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

My mom and I loved everything we ate here. Salad and bread was fantastic. I got the top sirloin and it was delicious. My mom loved her seafood rissoto. Service was on point and we did it want for anything.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 2, 2017

Our waitress was great and even went beyond our expectations by bringing us some wonderful lemon cake with ice cream

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Great staff, excellent food. Favorite place in Sioux Falls

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Minerva's is always special and always delivers. I think it is great value for money, although I question if it wouldn't be a good business move to have a special now and again that is a slightly less-than-gourmet selection that elders on a fixed income can appreciate. In any case, Minerva's Downtown never disappoints and can always be relied upon to present an experience well at the top of what a city the size of Sioux Falls could be expected to provide. Thank you all for many enjoyable evenings!

PS: The salad bar is always a winner!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Fantastic food and amazing service! You cannot go wrong with anything on the menu at Minerva's. Plus, our reservation was exactly on time. You're going to love it.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 27, 2017

I was less than impressed with the food. For the price and the reputation I was expecting an outstanding meal. Although good, it was not great and not worth the price. I've had much better filets for much less elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

As always, friendly staff, great food, wonderful atmosphere. One of our favorite dining spots!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone. It was our first visit and was suggested by the pilot on our flight.
I ordered a vodka martini that was very cold, good, and just right - and full pour. I enjoyed it.
My steak (filet) was very tender and flavorful, prepared as requested, loaded baked potato is a must. We had a great time and our table was ready when we arrived. Can't go wrong with this restaurant. We flew in to see the Garth Brooks Trisha Yearwood concert at the Denny Sanford arena - great show!

The staff was friendly and very attentive. Prices were very reasonable - considering we are from Portland and it's expensive compared to Sioux Falls.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Food was good, salad was great, good atmosphere, staff was friendly. Would definitely be a place I would eat at if I am in town again. It would certainly be a place I would eat weekly if I lived in Sioux Falls.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Ordered the special which was Halibut and the fish literally had almost no seasoning so not sure what they were thinking on that but the risotto side saved the day as it was really good.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on September 22, 2017

I was disappointed in my meal - the walleye wasn't hot - the plate was.
Our server started off strong and then pretty much forgot about us.

It's been awhile since I was to Minerva's. It probably will be again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

The menu prices have increased while the qualit of the meals have decreased. The hollandaise on the Oscar tasted old and didn't taste like hollandaise. One of our Maytag salads didn't have blue chesse. Both salads lettuce was brownish and not fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
·Dined on September 20, 2017

Met friends for a quiet dinner. Food was fantastic, as always, and the service second to none. We did so much visiting that we decided to continue the next day at noon. We all grazed on the salad bar. The tomato zucchini soup is my favorite and it did not disappoint. Everything I ate, I wanted to eat more. Nothing was just mediocre. My all time favorite city-wide. We will be back. Thank you for such enjoyable visits.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 20, 2017

We asked for and received a table. The table, however, was located in what seemed to be a foot traffic crossroad. The cushions on my chair were SHOT. The food was as usual, excellent, as it should be for $32 a meal. Always good waiters, we never have to ask for refills, etc.
It is too bad Minerva's doesn't have their own parking ramp, but they say a walk before and after dinner is good for a person.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
·Dined on September 20, 2017

I have eaten at Minerva's many times (for business and personal occasions) over the past 25 years and it, consistently, has the best food for any restaurant in Sioux Falls and throughout the Midwest. The salad bar is the best that I have had anywhere in the U.S. It is reasonably priced and gives great value overall (food, atmosphere, great service, etc...). Other people (from different parts of the country) that have been my guests at Minerva's have raved about it as well and said that it is as good as any restaurant that they have in home city.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on September 19, 2017

My husband and I have celebrated every anniversary here for 35 years in a row. We love the ambiance and the food is exceptional! You know you are in a special place the minute you enter the restaurant. The staff is wonderful!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

We always enjoy our dates at Minervas. Great salad bar and steak! Service is always top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We waited 15 minutes to be seated, which wasn't a huge deal. But I requested a booth in my reservation and we were given a half booth/half table, which wasn't ideal.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We were extremely pleased with all phases of our reservation. We arrived early and were immediately seated. Our server, Stacey, was well informed about the menu and wine list. We were not rushed through our courses and enjoyed each one. We had a very enjoyable dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Came here for my birthday. The food here NEVER disappoints, from salad bar to entree to dessert. Delicious. Great wine recommendation from the server.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Always have fantastic food... first and only place we think to go for our anniversary when we're in town... just celebrated 33years

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fun, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

First time their . Everything was fabulous! Will go back

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great experience! Would recommend to any group looking for a great meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Stacy was a great server. We had limited time and she made it work for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

I was disappointed in the coconut curry chicken meal. It needs to be toned down on its hot curry spices. Also for the price you pay for the salmon meal there should have been a few more asparagus with it.
Thank you.

Tags: Healthy, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Table for 4. We ate outside as it was a perfect evening. The staff was very attentive and engaged. The food was perfect as it is every time! We enjoy Minerva's each and every time we go there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 30, 2017

We had a couple of days in town and decided to check whether the accolades for Minerva's were justified. They are ... and then some! The ambiance is a little dated, but it's a steakhouse, the service and food were outstanding. Great wine list, with something for all tastes and price points. Oh, and they have a salad bar ... I forget the last time I saw one of those in a fine dining establishment (except Brazilian restaurants). We shared an artichoke and crab bake, which was wonderful, followed by salads ... the salad bar is both fresh and varied, requiring lots of self-control. My wife had the filet mignon, which she said was one of the best she's ever tasted! My Steak Michael was also a delight, although the crusting of horseradish, bleu cheese, etc was somewhat overpowering and detracted a little from the excellent steak. Bottom line, a great meal with excellent service. We will be back next time we're in Sioux Falls.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Good food,good ambiance,prompt service.The only negative was the reservation was set up as a birthday date,but the waitress forgot about the cake and ice cream for dessert and we had to remind her. Otherwise-all good.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Really good food, good Waite Staff, atmosphere is typical steakhouse. Would definitely recommend it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Great atmosphere and the service was awesome! This place never disappoints!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (South Dakota)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Excellent, as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

My wife and I wanted a nice place to eat for my birthday dinner. It was our first time dining at a Minerva's and from start to finish I had a great experience. The waitress was very attentive to our needs without being over bearing. The food was amazing and I even ordered dessert, which is something I never do. For the price and drive it is definitely a special occasion type of place for me. That being said it is my new favorite place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.