About Minerva's - Sioux Falls

301 S Phillips Ave
Sioux Falls, SD 57104
View Larger Map

Minervas Restaurant has been defining quality food and great service in Sioux Falls since 1977.

With a menu that offers everything from in-house aged steaks to ocean fresh seafood, Minerva's is definitely one to please every one's taste. Award-winning salad bar has been a business lunch and dinner addition favorite for many years. Enjoy the great taste and excellent service that has become a hallmark of the downtown Sioux Falls area.

Minervas also is pleased to be home to Paramount Cocktails & Food, an inviting lounge attached to Minervas, that offers a great happy hour plus live entertainment most weekends. Stop in for a pre-dinner cocktail or after dinner dessert.

Minervas and Paramount also offer a spacious outdoor patio that showcases the heart of beautiful downtown Sioux Falls.

Join us at Minervas and Paramount today!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 2:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00pm - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
11th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(605) 334-0386

Website:
http://www.minervas.net/

Entertainment:
Our Paramount Food & Cocktails, located within Minerva Restaurant offers live music every Friday and Saturday night 8:00PM - 11:00PM. Also offering a Happy Hour 3:00PM - 6:00PM Monday - Saturday and 8:00PM - 10:00PM Monday - Thursday. Offering discounted wine, tap beer and cocktails, also pizzas,appetizers, burgers, and desserts. Come relax by the fireplace or patio before or after dinner or have a seat at the bar and watch the game.

Parking Details:
The parking options available to the public are street parking - free parking after 5:00 PM or two public parking ramps within walking distance to Minervas Restaurant.

The closest ramp is located just a half block to the east of Minerva's on 11th Street. Entrance to ramp is in the far left lane of 11th street just pass Phillips Ave. The other available public parking is at 121 West 12th Street across from Washington Pavilion both ramps offer free parking after 6:00 PM and on weekends.

Public Transit:
Sioux Falls Area Transit(SAM) stop located just a half block east of Minervas Restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Chad Howard

Private Party Facilities:
Minervas private dining and meeting room is located in the lower level of Minervas Restaurant in historic downtown Sioux Falls. Our private meeting and dining room is perfect for all types of events.

Think of Minervas when planning your events:

~ Weddings or Rehearsals ~ Corporate planning or award dinners ~ Financial presentation dinners ~ Holiday parties and events

Lunch/Dinner Parties ~ minimum 20 guests, maximum 60 guests.

Cocktail Parties ~ up to 70 guests.

Menus Our staff can show you a variety of menu formats and ideas that have been successful four our guests. We can make suggestions and design a menu that best suits your event and budget. We will print a custom menu for your event.

Room Charges We may request a room charge, based on the type of event, number of guests and services needed.

Private Party Contact:
Jerry Bremmon: (605) 334-0386

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Minerva's - Sioux Falls Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (40)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Good for a Date (34)
See All
Quiet Conversation (25)
Romantic (23)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Business Meals (22)
Great for Lunch (21)
Worth the Drive (21)
Good for Groups (20)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Cozy (14)
Casual (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Seasonal (7)
Healthy (7)
Authentic (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Historic (5)
Fun (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
People Watching (2)
Private Room (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Family Style (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Local Ingredients (0)
Molecular Gastronomy (0)
Sort By:
S
538 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

If you want us to complete a review of t ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

If you want us to complete a review of this restaurant, offer us some points.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Great for Lunch, Casual, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was excellent except our fema ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Everything was excellent except our female bartender was rude. I have never experienced this at Minerva's before and it was quite unsettling.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Minervas is such a wonderful classic res ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Minervas is such a wonderful classic restaurant. I've been eating at minervas for 30 years. Great food, friendly wait staff and it doesn't get much better than beautiful do downtown Sioux Falls.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When we got to our table the host asked ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

When we got to our table the host asked if we wanted a carriage for our infant daughter, it was so thoughtful and we appreciated the kind gesture. The food was fantastic and the waitress had great recommendations! Wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had an reservation for 745 for a group ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

I had an reservation for 745 for a group of four on Saturday Night. I also put in special features for we where celebrating two birthdays that night. We arrived and where sat 15 minutes late. We where told we could sit next to the bar, so we did and only had 2 chairs and in the way and to top it off the bartenders where extremely unpleasant. Then we where sat and in an area that was horrible with no room. The waitress was not the friendliest waitress and seemed very rushed. Food took way to long and we where comped for the appetizer. Drinks where made wrong and to top it off where got nothing for the celebration we wanted to celebrate there that night. Just wish this place would have been a lot better and friendly atmosphere to celebrate something special!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

This was a very good place to eat, the a ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

This was a very good place to eat, the atmosphere was good, they had a good looking salad bar, i sure we will try to eat there again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We have frequented Minerva several times ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

We have frequented Minerva several times. We have yet to have anything but an excellent experience. The management and staff have their acts together.

The menu has been varied and the food has been exceptionally plated. Wine list is out of this world for such a small town restaurant .

You can take your friends, boss, spouse or customers there with out any hesitation!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We live in Minneapolis and were in town ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

We live in Minneapolis and were in town for the holidays. I wanted to take my girlfriend to a nice restaurant. The atmosphere was great and quiet enough to enjoy a good conversation.

The food and service we received was top notch and I would put it against any 5 star restaurant I've e been to.

Great place and will definitely be back when we are in town.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our evening at Minerva's. F ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

We enjoyed our evening at Minerva's. Food and service were very good and this was New Year's Eve and quite crowded. We would definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Exceptional food and service!

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Exceptional food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always love the food here! Salad bar is ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Always love the food here! Salad bar is great. Service is wondeful

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service. I did make ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent food and service. I did make reservations and was seated right on time. Great overal experience

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

the food was amazing the staff was very ...

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

the food was amazing the staff was very friendly. we even met the mayor and his wife of Sioux Falls and they both were wonderful.. I will definitely be retuning

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, you can count on Minerva;s fo ...

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

As always, you can count on Minerva;s for fantastic food in a warm inviting atmosphere with world-class service! No matter how busy they are, they always make each diner know they are valued as a guest.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food & great salad bar. I wrote on ...

 
·Dined on December 23, 2016

Good food & great salad bar. I wrote on the reservation that this was my boyfriends first time & my birthday. Nothing was done or mentioned about this.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

I haven't been to Minervas for a long ti ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

I haven't been to Minervas for a long time. Sad to see salad bar was an add on. Food was good. Waitress very attentive. Dessert not so good (chocolate cake) and no refill on coffee. But always love visiting Minerva's. Thank you to our waitress. Wish I had caught her name.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Went to Minerva's for my fiancés 60th bd ...

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

Went to Minerva's for my fiancés 60th bday. As usual, they didn't disappoint. The salad bar is out of this world, very expansive with high quality ingridents. The duck and Prime Rib rival some of the best restaurants in this country. The service is top shelf and its convenient downtown location makes it close for everyone. Definitely the best restaurant in Sioux Falls and worthy of being in the top 10 in any big city. Can't recommend it enough!

Tags: Fun, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Minervas is a good choice for an upscale ...

 
·Dined on December 15, 2016

Minervas is a good choice for an upscale dining choice in Sioux Falls. With a more professional approach to table service and a few ambiance changes this would be a top tier restaurant in any city.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Still one of the best restaurants in tow ...

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

Still one of the best restaurants in town. We had a great meal as always.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The duck was amazing. Tender with crisp ...

 
·Dined on December 7, 2016

The duck was amazing. Tender with crispy skin. Excellently prepared

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience as it always is.

 
·Dined on December 6, 2016

Wonderful experience as it always is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We thoroughly enjoy going to Minerva's. ...

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

We thoroughly enjoy going to Minerva's. We go for the wonderfully delicious food, the atmosphere, the people, the servers, the beautiful inside setting, being able to be in such a special and beautiful place where we can enjoy seeing everyone one who is having a meal there and at the same time enjoy a private get together with our family. And yes, our after dinner Birthday treats were wonderful too.

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again we were totally satisfied wit ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

Once again we were totally satisfied with our menu selection. The service was great and the food was outstanding. The martini's were very good also.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always everything was perfect! Even ...

 
·Dined on November 30, 2016

As always everything was perfect! Even with a table of 12 people!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Minerva's many times, an ...

 
·Dined on November 30, 2016

We have been to Minerva's many times, and have never had a bad dinning experience. It continues to be one of the very best restaurants in Sioux Falls.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Had dinner here before seeing a show at ...

 
·Dined on November 29, 2016

Had dinner here before seeing a show at the Washington Pavilion. Great food and service and the location can't be beat for downtown activities

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Best ever! Our 1st wedding anniversary a ...

 
·Dined on November 27, 2016

Best ever! Our 1st wedding anniversary a great meal and best ever service! Thank You we will be back many more times,

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always great . Hope you have ...

 
·Dined on November 27, 2016

The food is always great . Hope you have pickled Herring on the salad bar as I did not see it.

Lovely place !

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very nice place with good food, always ...

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

A very nice place with good food, always! On this particular visit the waitress was almost put off that we wanted food. This is NOT the norm the on this visit there was poor service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

The duck was moist and flavorful, prime ...

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

The duck was moist and flavorful, prime rib needed to be warmer but tender and seasoned well, the fillet migon needs a sauce.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We requested a quit booth for two but we ...

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

We requested a quit booth for two but were seated right next to a server station. It was very loud and you could easily hear the workers conversations. Not what we had hoped for. This use to be our special go to place, but the menu has changed and the ambiance is not what it used to be. Won't be going back anytime soon.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Great meal. Great service.

 
·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great meal. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is always good. The room with t ...

 
·Dined on November 4, 2016

The food is always good. The room with the tables for 8 was very cool.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The salad bar is so fresh and delicious. ...

 
·Dined on October 31, 2016

The salad bar is so fresh and delicious. Our birthday lunch group often chooses Minervas because when one is celebrating her birthday, we all get to have a small sliver of cake and scoop of ice cream. Just enough to satisfy our sweet tooth. Yummy!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always it was a wonderful dining expe ...

 
·Dined on October 29, 2016

As always it was a wonderful dining experience.

Food and outstanding service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to Minerva' s many times over ...

 
·Dined on October 28, 2016

I've been to Minerva' s many times over several years. It's very consistent. Great salad bar. Super friendly service.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Hostess was pleasant and informative. Wa ...

 
·Dined on October 25, 2016

Hostess was pleasant and informative. Waitstaff was attentive and professional. Wine list was varied with some good quality wines at customary pricing.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

I took three visiting friends to Minerva ...

 
·Dined on October 22, 2016

I took three visiting friends to Minerva's. We all thought the food and service was great. I am pleased to have restaurant in town that I can depend on for great quality when friends come to visit.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and service. Fun downtown loca ...

 
·Dined on October 21, 2016

Good food and service. Fun downtown location. Dependable....always good food when I have been there.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the atmosphere!!

 
·Dined on October 18, 2016

Love the atmosphere!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.