Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.08mi
  2. Distance: 1.11mi
  3. Distance: 1.85mi
  4. Distance: 3.76mi
  1. Distance: 1.08mi
  2. Distance: 1.11mi
  3. Distance: 1.85mi
  4. Distance: 3.76mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.08mi
  2. Distance: 1.11mi
  3. Distance: 1.85mi
  4. Distance: 3.76mi
  1. Distance: 1.08mi
  2. Distance: 1.11mi
  3. Distance: 1.85mi
  4. Distance: 3.76mi

About Milton Inn

The Milton Inn, a 276 year old field-stone building in Northern Baltimore County,is counted among Maryland's historic treasures. It is believed that construction of the Inn began in 1740 and it has grown and changed over the years to become one of the premier country dining spots in the United States. The tradition of excellence has continued to grow under the current ownership Milton Fare Inc, who purchased the business in 1997. Executive Chef/Owner Brian Boston was named Chef of the Year by the Restaurant Association of Maryland in 2011.Chef Boston has also received many other awards including The Five Star Diamond Award by The Academy of Hospitality Sciences , The DiRoNA Award,and top ratings from Zagat. The Milton was named The Best restaurant in the Counties by The Baltimore Sun . Over the years , the Inn has engendered a legacy of romance and numerous couples have become engaged in its candlelit dining rooms and open air garden terrace. Many return year after year to celebrate!

14833 York Road
Sparks, MD 21152
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Hours:
Mon-Fri. seating from 11:30 am to 2:00 pm

Satruday & Sunday Brunch:
seating from 11:30 am to 2:00 pm

Dinner Hours:
Mon-Thu seating from 5:30 pm to 8:00 pm
Fri-Sat seating from 5:30 pm to 9:00 pm
Sun. seating from 4:00 pm to 7:30 pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 771-4366

Website:
http://www.miltoninn.com/

Catering:
They offer customized menus, serving 30-1000 guests.

Parking Details:
On-premise parking, free

Executive Chef:
Brian Boston

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Milton Inn offers catering services on and off premise from intimate parties of 10 to grand tented events up to 300 guests. We will make your birthday,anniversary,corporate event, wedding or any other milestone perfect. Whether you choose one of our beautifully appointed dining rooms,a tented event on our manicured grounds, or venue of your choice;The Milton Inn will provide you with the excellent food,service,ambiance and attention to detail you expect from a Brian Boston property.

Milton Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Quiet

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (58)
Good for Anniversaries (45)
Romantic (42)
See All
Good for a Date (42)
Worth the Drive (37)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Notable Wine List (22)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Authentic (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Cozy (18)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Business Meals (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Seasonal (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Great Beer (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Fun (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Hot Spot (2)
People Watching (2)
Scenic View (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Casual (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
2249 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent service and delicious food! This is the perfect place for a special occasion!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

THe Milton Inn offers a classic experience but with a vibrant and distinctive take on a variety of menu choices . the preparations are beautifully presented and are meant to be both visually and palate pleasing. WE found the lunch choices to be diverse and we're both delighted with our choices...a wonderful mushroom torte in phyllo and a Korean prepared pork tenderloin. BOth meals followed a special smoked salmon appetizer that we shared.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 7 days ago

We used an app (Groupon) that gave us special pricing. We would have never gone there without the app pricing. Food was the best I ever ate (so, so delicious). Was it worth $158.00 before the app? No but it was worth the $88. We paid.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

The atmosphere and customer service was by far Excellent! Our waiter gave us his undivided attention yet respecting our privacy. I am looking forward to another date night at the Milton!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great meal.wonderful quality.

I am not sure why they always tell you about the specials , without mentioning the price, AFTER you have looked at the menu for 15 minutes and have decided . The specials should be printed so one can decide. By the time the last ingredient in the final special is mentioned, I have long forgotten the first special.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The food and service was excellent, but the prices are too high for my budget. The outdoor patio is lovely, and the bar area looked very quaint and cozy. I would probably choose the bar for the lower priced entrée next time.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 6, 2017

my waitress was friendly cordial and very attentive

Tags: Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Live Sports, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Nice ambiance, excellent service, great food. We both started off with soup, my wife with cream of crab that was delicious and me with the watermelon gazpacho that I would have again in a heartbeat---great blend of sweet and spicy flavors. For our main course, I had the duck breast with raspberry sauce, mashed potatoes and watercress salad in a honey vinaigrette dressing, all done to perfection. My wife had the sword fish in lobster sauce and she raved about it. We finished with coffees and I enjoyed the strawberry shortcake. We will be back again next year as our annual treat.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great service and excellent food. All items we ordered we spectacular and the service was stellar.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Disappointed in our experience overall. I expected better. The rolls were hard. The hostess couldn't find us a better table when we asked and told us that the two I asked about were for other people. Later in the evening our waiter changed another guest's table to one of the tables we asked about(no one came to sit at that table the whole time we were there). I guess we asked the wrong person! My husband's steak was way undercooked for what he requested. I ordered a side of mashed potatoes and they looked like they were thrown on the plate. My key lime pie crust was hard at the top and could barely cut it with my fork. The boys helping the waiters were on top of refilling water glasses so that was good. One gentleman was talking on his phone on speaker. No one asked to to go outside or anything. Considering their reputation and the final cost of our meal I expected better! I never write reviews good or bad but, this was just a great disappointment. I'll try maybe one more time to give them another chance so hopefully it was just an off night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 30, 2017

The Milton inn has been one of our favorites for many, many years. That tradition is renewed every time we dine there.
This time my wife enjoyed a salmon special while I had a beef filet with crab cake--both meals were perfect! We both indulged in a variety of desserts and coffee. A wonderful evening with a very attentive waitress!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 30, 2017

As always, Milton Inn was excellent. The food is outstanding, but the portions are oversize. All staff were professional and thoughtful. I just wish it weren't so far out of town. It's expensive, but worth it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Lunch was, as expected, another perfect occasion. The service, food and subtle kindnesses show were the best possible. All members of the party commented on how the lamb, rich boys and surf and turf were prepared in the best way possible. Good food and great fun.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 26, 2017

our dinner was great as always. our waiter, food, and wine were wonderful and we had a lovely time as we always do

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Very nice atmosphere for an anniversary dinner! The food and service was excellent.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Pricey, but we had a wonderful meal with great service!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 22, 2017

The Thai mussels were outstanding as was the Ceasar Salad.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Outstanding food and service. Loved the ambience. Our server was a true professional and made our experience memorable.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 19, 2017

The Milton Inn is an old favorite that keeps up with the times but is rarely at the forefront of the latest cuisine, but then I don't think their clientele would be as happy if they did! The old-fashioned, intimate setting is a crucial part of its appeal. You feel like you are dining in a friend's elegantly appointed centuries-old home. The beet carpaccio appetizer was fresh and appealing and the crab soup an old Baltimore favorite that didn't disappoint. Several of us had the swordfish special, which was executed rather simply, but perfectly. Service was discreet and prompt, despite it being a busy Saturday night. The crowd was older but there were a few young couples who seemed to be on dates celebrating special occasions.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 19, 2017

A delightful tradition in Baltimore County, the Milton Inn did not disappoint. Excellent food, served professionally in a wonderful, 18th Century building.

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Late-night Find, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 19, 2017

The food and service in the dining room was excellent . It was restaurant week and very busy but the meal was very delicious and served by a very polite and attentive waitress . The coffee and desserts were disappointing as the coffee was very weak and the desserts were clearly store-bought . The service in the bar was nonexistent as we sat for a good 25 minutes without anyone noticing us . We finally just moved to our table as it was ready and ordered our cocktails there .

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Historic stone inn that brings you back to the 1800's through the building itself, exquisite decorations and large, original stone hearth with an intimate setting. The fact that John Wilkes Booth attended a boys school there makes the ambiance more fascinating. The fine dining, white linens and delicious menu selections add to the experience. Well priced but not inexpensive!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 16, 2017

The Milton Inn was perfect as always. Food was fantastic. I LOVE their clams casino. . . .

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Lovely as always! This is our favorite special date place to dine. There are no surprises--one can always count on impeccable, subtle, and well-paced service. The food selections are interesting and always excellently prepared. Although many of the tables are close together in this mid-18th century inn, table conversation is always quiet and non-intrusive and seating in a variety of the inn's small rooms creates an intimate, comfortably refined atmosphere. For those not familiar with The Milton Inn, this is an "old school" place, where one will feel most comfortable appropriately dressed and with company who also enjoy this type of quiet dining.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Dined on a recent Sunday afternoon. As always, the food and service was exceptional. Our server, Ouseman, could not have been any more polite and appropriately attentive. My NY strip and my wife's lobster tail were fantastic. I have only one suggestion - perhaps consider swapping out the big band background music with some classical - would further enhance the elegant decorum and experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Always good food and service. Worth the drive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Went for restaurant week. Would have been a good value except for the $5.00 coffee.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Think everything nice! No way you'll walk out of there unsatisfied. I'll be back there again and again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Delightful seasonal menu for Baltimore Restaurant Week. Great value augmented by terrific service. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

It was, as always, great to be there. The food was very good and service was perfect. It is, however, quite expensive but you get what you pay for.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

As always The Milton Inn never is a disappointment. The food is always delicious and the service is good. We met friends who used to live here but are now in Hilton Head, S.C. They were thrilled that we chose The Milton Inn because they hadn't been in years.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Usually love going to the Milton Inn. This was the first time we tried outside dinning. Way to much road noise and our waitress completely forgot about us. Usually impeccable service but this was a huge disappointment. Even after checking on us and apologized she left us again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Spicy, Authentic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 29, 2017

The Milton Inn continues to please. One can count on the Milton Inn for excellent food,
well-executed. The service is outstanding and the menu choices are varied and appealing.
It is a top 5 restaurant in the state of Maryland. My family and I try to go to the Milton Inn at least once a month. We also prefer the Lounge but the other rooms are remarkable for an 18th century-built restaurant as they are beautifully decorated and charming.

Tags: Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 27, 2017

The Milton Inn is a traditional restaurant in a historic building, truely a Maryland classic. The service is professional without being stuffy and the interior design is timeless with many small rooms for dining, so noise should not be a concern. We love The Milton Inn, sometimes you may think oh wow, it is so expensive, however as the saying goes " you get what you pay for". The special of the day was Maryland crab cakes served with a dirty rice and fresh vegtables. We even saved room for dessert (all prepared in house), an outstanding cheesecake and a key lime pie made with perfection.
Thank you, The Milton Inn for staying true to what you do best, excellent food, superior service, in a traditional atmosphere, with a cozy outdoor terrace for whatever may suit the guest!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Great service. Our waiter went above and beyond to make our anniversary dinner special. The duck was delicious and the keylime pie was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 20, 2017

We were celebrating my 65th birthday ! The meal and service were superb, as always. It is such a treat to dine at The Milton Inn. I had a surprise dessert and on the plate was written. "Happy Birthday." Never disappoints .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

I liked this restaurant. It's high priced, but good for a special occasion. It was my birthday. The bar area was a bit noisy at times, but the food and atmosphere was very enjoyable.

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The Inn is consistently one of the best restaurants in our area. The food, service and ambience are all outstanding. If you wanta wonderful dining experience go to the Milton Inn.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Outstanding dinner to celebrate our wedding anniversary. It's becoming an annual tradition

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Very, very great restaurant for all occasions with a superb menu!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.