Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.08mi
  2. Distance: 1.11mi
  3. Distance: 1.85mi
  4. Distance: 3.76mi
  1. Distance: 1.08mi
  2. Distance: 1.11mi
  3. Distance: 1.85mi
  4. Distance: 3.76mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.08mi
  2. Distance: 1.11mi
  3. Distance: 1.85mi
  4. Distance: 3.76mi
  1. Distance: 1.08mi
  2. Distance: 1.11mi
  3. Distance: 1.85mi
  4. Distance: 3.76mi

About Milton Inn

The Milton Inn, a 276 year old field-stone building in Northern Baltimore County,is counted among Maryland's historic treasures. It is believed that construction of the Inn began in 1740 and it has grown and changed over the years to become one of the premier country dining spots in the United States. The tradition of excellence has continued to grow under the current ownership Milton Fare Inc, who purchased the business in 1997. Executive Chef/Owner Brian Boston was named Chef of the Year by the Restaurant Association of Maryland in 2011.Chef Boston has also received many other awards including The Five Star Diamond Award by The Academy of Hospitality Sciences , The DiRoNA Award,and top ratings from Zagat. The Milton was named The Best restaurant in the Counties by The Baltimore Sun . Over the years , the Inn has engendered a legacy of romance and numerous couples have become engaged in its candlelit dining rooms and open air garden terrace. Many return year after year to celebrate!

14833 York Road
Sparks, MD 21152
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Hours:
Mon-Fri. seating from 11:30 am to 2:00 pm

Satruday & Sunday Brunch:
seating from 11:30 am to 2:00 pm

Dinner Hours:
Mon-Thu seating from 5:30 pm to 8:00 pm
Fri-Sat seating from 5:30 pm to 9:00 pm
Sun. seating from 4:00 pm to 7:30 pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 771-4366

Website:
http://www.miltoninn.com/

Catering:
They offer customized menus, serving 30-1000 guests.

Parking Details:
On-premise parking, free

Executive Chef:
Brian Boston

Private Party Facilities:
Circa 1740 stone mansion available, customized menus for 10-150 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Brian Boston: (410) 771-4366

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Milton Inn offers catering services on and off premise from intimate parties of 10 to grand tented events up to 300 guests. We will make your birthday,anniversary,corporate event, wedding or any other milestone perfect. Whether you choose one of our beautifully appointed dining rooms,a tented event on our manicured grounds, or venue of your choice;The Milton Inn will provide you with the excellent food,service,ambiance and attention to detail you expect from a Brian Boston property.

Milton Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (64)
Romantic (52)
Good for Anniversaries (46)
See All
Worth the Drive (44)
Good for a Date (38)
Quiet Conversation (34)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Cozy (28)
Historic (26)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Notable Wine List (24)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Authentic (16)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Fireplace (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Business Meals (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Private Room (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Seasonal (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Healthy (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Scenic View (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
2211 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The Inn is consistently one of the best restaurants in our area. The food, service and ambience are all outstanding. If you wanta wonderful dining experience go to the Milton Inn.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Outstanding dinner to celebrate our wedding anniversary. It's becoming an annual tradition

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Very, very great restaurant for all occasions with a superb menu!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 8, 2017

This is a great place to go for a special occasion. We had a gift certificate which made this a good choice, as the food is expensive. My lamb chops were the best I have ever had. The scallop appetizer and cream of crab soup were also great. The waiter Ilya was kind and attentive. The only thing I thought was average was the cheesecake. Regardless, the place makes you feel like royalty!! I hope I can go again soon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Love going to this restaurant for special occasions. The service was excellent, the food was fabulous. My husband and I had the New Zealand rack of lamb. Just delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Outstanding on all counts. This is the place to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Food and ambiance is very good, but way overpriced.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We have dined here probably 3-4 times this year. Food has been fantastic. Also like new decor and menu.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 27, 2017

We went there for our anniversary and had an excellent experience for both food and service. Our waiter, Johnnie, was very knowledgeable about the entrees and the specials. I got the Seafood Andor which was excellent and my wife got the Filet Mignon with crab topping special which also was excellent. Johnnie was prompt, efficient and friendly. We would definitely recommend The Milton Inn to anyone who wants a special meal with good service and food to match.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We come to the Milton Inn for Sunday Brunch and special occasions. Our first time here was when my husband proposed. It was terribly romantic, and the staff and other diners seemed delighted for us.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Excellent food and good variety on menu. Seafood was outstanding with nice historic character and very good ambiance. Kudos to the chef. Service was very good and pleasant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Cozy, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 21, 2017

My wife and I were celebrating our 14th anniversary. We ate from the Milton Inn 70th Anniversary menu and everything on it was wonderful. Our server was great and very attentive. We will go back again very soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Food good. Service excellent Enjoyed lovely dining area.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 20, 2017

everything was great food, atmosphere, service they have become very pricey since I was there last average meal price $38

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

second visit - went back to be sure the first visit wasn't a fluke (g) - outstanding food and service. steaks are great, lamb was luscious, soups (appetizers) splendid. highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great service and food. You can't ask for much better!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 16, 2017

A great specialoccasion place. Expensive but worth it.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Always a wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Carol, the lounge bartender is phenomenal. Food flawless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Waitress took too long to help us when sat down

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 7, 2017

We had an outstanding meal with first rate service. The lamb was fabulous!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Great food. Great service , Lots of brunch options & great chocolate desserts

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Dined on a recent Saturday evening. We had made a 5:30 reservation several days in advance through Open Table requesting seating at one of our favorite tables. We were surprised to get a call earlier in the day asking if we wouldn't mind sitting upstairs (not the original room/table we had requested) since it "might get crowded" - ? the restaurant opens at 5:30 on Saturdays. True to form, we were the only people in the restaurant at 5:30 (so why the need to go upstairs)? Fortunately we were seated where we had originally requested. From that point forward, everything was as we have come to expect with only one exception - the crab in the cream of crab was few and far between. Otherwise, my NY strip Oscar style was fantastic as was my wife's lobster. Ilya, our server, was polite and attentive as always.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Would frequent more often if it wasn't a little overpriced. Drinks, entrees and sides overpriced.
Specials were reasonably priced and very delicious. Loved the evening but can only do on a very special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Beautiful building. Staff is professional, attentive and personable. Outdoor dining area is gorgeous and we hope to eat outside now that the weather is warming up. We loved everything about our experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Frequent flyers. Always have a perfect start to finish!

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 28, 2017

My husband and I celebrated the engagement of our daughter and upcoming wedding in two weeks. We wanted a nice quiet romantic evening for just the two of us. It was all we wished for, food superb, atmosphere superb.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Fabulous service and food in an elegant atmosphere.

Needs handicap entrance.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Inattentive service. Tough steak. So-so potatoes. Way too expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Great service from Bartender. The food was outstanding. My son loved the lamb chops and sweet potatoes. The Peanut Butter dessert was the hightlight of the meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 20, 2017

This was highly enjoyable night that did not disappoint in any way. The service was outstanding the food was incredible. Even my Caesar Salad was hand crafted with cheese and anchovy perfectly blended. My husband had lamb and my daughter said her duck was the best she had ever tasted. I have gluten allergies and the staff was wonderful, attentive, and even joked a bit with me. If you go, make sure you bring a Groupon and try the Lemoncello.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We sat in the lounge. Carol is the bartender & she waits the tables in the lounge. She is excellent. One of the main reasons we sit in the lounge.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Food was very good, though seemed a little overpriced. The service was exceptional and we had a very pleasant evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 17, 2017

My family has been visiting this restaurant for over 30 years. In fact, when the "current" chef Brian Boston came to the house I gathered a group of 20 to dine there and welcome him. Something I am sure he does not recall. This place has pretty much had the same menu with slight variations all theses years which frankly is okay because it is pretty reliable and consistent although a little pricey for most people. We have never cared much about the price because it is a neighborhood place, convenient for special family occasions and a safe place for a woman to stop and dine in the bar on her way home from downtown. It's the neighbors that kept this place going through the lean summer months and quiet times. You knew many of the servers as they have literally been working their as long as we have been coming here. But lately for whatever reason, increased competition, their use of Groupons for marketing, who knows but the service is lack luster and dismissive. No one seems to care. You can put as much money into renovations as you want but they don't make up for poor service, or yes, if you aren't going to have flowers on the tables then at least make sure the sconces on the candles are clean.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Lovely dinner with our family. This was our first time at Milton Inn and we went for Mothers Day dinner. We brought our 15 year old daugther and 12 year old son. Food was good, service was excellant and the place was quite lovely.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My wife and I ate dinner at the Milton Inn for Mother's Day. Although our reservation was for 5:30, the staff was able to seat us a little early. Our server was friendly and greeted us promptly after we were seated. My wife ordered a Brandy Alexander and I ordered a glass of Moscato. For an appetizer, I ordered the Maryland Crab Soup. The crab soup arrived with large lumps of crab meat. The only downside is that the crab soup was too spicy for my taste (that is just me). The soup was delicious One of the specials was called The Chesapeake. The meal consisted of a Filet Mignon capped by a large crabcake covered with Béarnaise Sauce. The vegetables were Jack Tarr Potatoes and mixed vegetables. We like our filet done medium well. The chef did a great job of preparing the steak to our liking without burning the steak or making it tough. The meal was filling and delicious. Even the coffee was good. It did not taste like it had been sitting in an urn for several hours. Overall, we enjoyed ourselves immensely. We definitely would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our visit to the Milton Inn was great, as always! It is a wonderful place for special occasions with family, or a romantic date night.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Best cheese cake we have every had at a restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was excellent, the service impeccable, and the decor cozy and tasteful. The only negative to our experience was the high noise level, which made it difficult to converse. There was a large, loud group next to our table, and everyone else in the room had to talk loud to be heard over them.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I've enjoyed the Milton Inn for 20 years. Many customers have been coming for 30, 30, 50 years. It's simply the best in the greater Baltimore area.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.