Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.08mi
  2. Distance: 1.11mi
  3. Distance: 1.85mi
  4. Distance: 3.76mi
  1. Distance: 1.08mi
  2. Distance: 1.11mi
  3. Distance: 1.85mi
  4. Distance: 3.76mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.08mi
  2. Distance: 1.11mi
  3. Distance: 1.85mi
  4. Distance: 3.76mi
  1. Distance: 1.08mi
  2. Distance: 1.11mi
  3. Distance: 1.85mi
  4. Distance: 3.76mi

About Milton Inn

The Milton Inn, a 276 year old field-stone building in Northern Baltimore County,is counted among Maryland's historic treasures. It is believed that construction of the Inn began in 1740 and it has grown and changed over the years to become one of the premier country dining spots in the United States. The tradition of excellence has continued to grow under the current ownership Milton Fare Inc, who purchased the business in 1997. Executive Chef/Owner Brian Boston was named Chef of the Year by the Restaurant Association of Maryland in 2011.Chef Boston has also received many other awards including The Five Star Diamond Award by The Academy of Hospitality Sciences , The DiRoNA Award,and top ratings from Zagat. The Milton was named The Best restaurant in the Counties by The Baltimore Sun . Over the years , the Inn has engendered a legacy of romance and numerous couples have become engaged in its candlelit dining rooms and open air garden terrace. Many return year after year to celebrate!

14833 York Road
Sparks, MD 21152
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Hours:
Mon-Fri. seating from 11:30 am to 2:00 pm

Satruday & Sunday Brunch:
seating from 11:30 am to 2:00 pm

Dinner Hours:
Mon-Thu seating from 5:30 pm to 8:00 pm
Fri-Sat seating from 5:30 pm to 9:00 pm
Sun. seating from 4:00 pm to 7:30 pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 771-4366

Website:
http://www.miltoninn.com/

Catering:
They offer customized menus, serving 30-1000 guests.

Parking Details:
On-premise parking, free

Executive Chef:
Brian Boston

Private Party Facilities:
Circa 1740 stone mansion available, customized menus for 10-150 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Brian Boston: (410) 771-4366

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Milton Inn offers catering services on and off premise from intimate parties of 10 to grand tented events up to 300 guests. We will make your birthday,anniversary,corporate event, wedding or any other milestone perfect. Whether you choose one of our beautifully appointed dining rooms,a tented event on our manicured grounds, or venue of your choice;The Milton Inn will provide you with the excellent food,service,ambiance and attention to detail you expect from a Brian Boston property.

Milton Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (74)
Romantic (62)
Historic (59)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (55)
Worth the Drive (51)
Quiet Conversation (49)
Good for a Date (47)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Notable Wine List (35)
Cozy (35)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Fireplace (24)
Authentic (21)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Bar Seating (16)
Business Meals (15)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Private Room (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Seasonal (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Healthy (3)
Fun (3)
Scenic View (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Casual (1)
Organic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
2179 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 2 days ago

Inattentive service. Tough steak. So-so potatoes. Way too expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

Great service from Bartender. The food was outstanding. My son loved the lamb chops and sweet potatoes. The Peanut Butter dessert was the hightlight of the meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 7 days ago

This was highly enjoyable night that did not disappoint in any way. The service was outstanding the food was incredible. Even my Caesar Salad was hand crafted with cheese and anchovy perfectly blended. My husband had lamb and my daughter said her duck was the best she had ever tasted. I have gluten allergies and the staff was wonderful, attentive, and even joked a bit with me. If you go, make sure you bring a Groupon and try the Lemoncello.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 17, 2017

My family has been visiting this restaurant for over 30 years. In fact, when the "current" chef Brian Boston came to the house I gathered a group of 20 to dine there and welcome him. Something I am sure he does not recall. This place has pretty much had the same menu with slight variations all theses years which frankly is okay because it is pretty reliable and consistent although a little pricey for most people. We have never cared much about the price because it is a neighborhood place, convenient for special family occasions and a safe place for a woman to stop and dine in the bar on her way home from downtown. It's the neighbors that kept this place going through the lean summer months and quiet times. You knew many of the servers as they have literally been working their as long as we have been coming here. But lately for whatever reason, increased competition, their use of Groupons for marketing, who knows but the service is lack luster and dismissive. No one seems to care. You can put as much money into renovations as you want but they don't make up for poor service, or yes, if you aren't going to have flowers on the tables then at least make sure the sconces on the candles are clean.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Lovely dinner with our family. This was our first time at Milton Inn and we went for Mothers Day dinner. We brought our 15 year old daugther and 12 year old son. Food was good, service was excellant and the place was quite lovely.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Private Room, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My wife and I ate dinner at the Milton Inn for Mother's Day. Although our reservation was for 5:30, the staff was able to seat us a little early. Our server was friendly and greeted us promptly after we were seated. My wife ordered a Brandy Alexander and I ordered a glass of Moscato. For an appetizer, I ordered the Maryland Crab Soup. The crab soup arrived with large lumps of crab meat. The only downside is that the crab soup was too spicy for my taste (that is just me). The soup was delicious One of the specials was called The Chesapeake. The meal consisted of a Filet Mignon capped by a large crabcake covered with Béarnaise Sauce. The vegetables were Jack Tarr Potatoes and mixed vegetables. We like our filet done medium well. The chef did a great job of preparing the steak to our liking without burning the steak or making it tough. The meal was filling and delicious. Even the coffee was good. It did not taste like it had been sitting in an urn for several hours. Overall, we enjoyed ourselves immensely. We definitely would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our visit to the Milton Inn was great, as always! It is a wonderful place for special occasions with family, or a romantic date night.

Tags: Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Best cheese cake we have every had at a restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I've enjoyed the Milton Inn for 20 years. Many customers have been coming for 30, 30, 50 years. It's simply the best in the greater Baltimore area.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Historic, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers Day Brunch
Outstanding food
Outstanding staff

Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Delicious food. Fast, friendly and attentive service. Always a good experience when we go there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Requested seating in the bar, love the old rooms, and decided to pick from the small plates. Clams Casino were excellent. Crab dip was good but I think I would have liked a little less to be truthful. Our next plates were the scallops and the beef, both very good. Dessert, excellent! Chocolate cake with ganache. Great dinner will return soon again.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Clearly one of the best dining experiences we have had recently, but somewhat pricy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Always a wonderful dining experience at the Milton Inn. A hidden gem in the Hunt Valley-Sparks area. Never disappointed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I had the filet and it was cooked to perfection. The taste was amazing. Everything was perfect

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Our waitress Emily was very good but a few friends were underwhelmed with their meal, particularly one who ordered the ribeye. It looked more like a thinly cut breakfast steak and for the price it was disappointing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Milton In is always a good bet: consistently interesting menu, delicious food, relaxed pace, and great service. Using a Groupon makes a meal there a steal! Both the lounge and the front dining room are terrific places to enjoy dinner

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We've been coming here on and off for many years, and the food is always noteworthy. We recently have been forced to adopt a gluten-free diet, and they are happy to accommodate -- many menu items can be prepared in this fashion, and the chefs are knowledgeable. They even provide an alternative to the table bread.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Quite pricey, but good food and very good waitstaff

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We went on a Friday night expecting it to be crowded. We were pleasantly surprised to find the main restaurant not crowded at all. The food was excellent from the clams casino to the buttery, smoked salmon w/ pumpernickel toast. The main courses - New Zealand rack of lamb and Shrimp & grits were perfect. Our dessert - the truffle torte - was sinfully delicious.
For an intimate dinner or special occasion I would recommend the Milton Inn to anyone.

Tags: Authentic, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We've been dining at the Milton Inn for our anniversary for most of our 20-plus years together, and we are rarely disappointed. Friday's dinner was delicious: our crab cake and salmon were prepared just right, but my filet mignon, which I'd requested well done, was actually quite pink. Still very tasty, though. Our waiter was a good combination of attentive but not overly so. Our only complaint was that we were sitting in the room that's basically behind the bar, and it's a bit too small for the number of tables in there. Even though it looked like only 3 of the 6 tables in the room were filled during our meal, a couple was seated right next to us, and it felt a bit cramped, with barely a foot between our table and theirs. Thankfully, they were quiet like us, so it wasn't a big deal. But with several empty tables between them and the other couple in the room, it would've made sense to at least seat them one table away from us. It's one of the minor problems that arise when visiting a restaurant that's located in such an old building - the rooms are not all built to ideal specs for accommodating customers. But it does feel cozy and historic.

So, despite a few minor issues, we still enjoyed another memorable meal at the Milton Inn, and plan to return next year (if not before) for another anniversary celebration. After dinner, we bought a gift certificate for a relative who was married over the weekend, proof that we highly recommend the dining experience at this historic restaurant!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 28, 2017

What a wonderful restaurant to celebrate my husband's birthday! Our server, Matt was professional, knowledgeable about the menu and very pleasant. The spacing between the servings was perfect. Our entrees were delicious and expertly prepared. The Milton Inn always delivers the best food, and service in an elegant, historic setting. Looking forward to our next dining experience at the Milton Inn.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Historic, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Wonderful experience. Food and service are excellent. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 26, 2017

The Milton Inn is just delicious. Paul was our server, he is attentive but not intrusive and has a great sense of humor! Always a wonderful experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 26, 2017

The Milton Inn is an elegant and romantic restaurant. We enjoyed a wonderful dinning experience and delicious food.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We always enjoy the Milton Inn, especially the personable and caring service. I had the Chesapeake Filet (petite filet mignon topped with a crab cake and Hollandaise Sauce). My wife had the rack of lamb. Both were delicious.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Dined at the Inn on a recent Sunday evening. Our server, Sharyl, was prompt, attentive, and 100% professional. So glad the cream of crab soup was available - its' the best! My wife's lobster with lump crab and my NY strip Oscar style were fantastic! The classical music made for a splendid atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Milton Inn was disappointing, especially considering the price. My asparagus soup was fair. There was a skin on top of it. I thought that was strange. I had the scallops with grits and the scallops - the two that I had in the small portion - were black. They were not blackened scallops, they were seared scallops but they came out black. When I said something to the server about the scallops being black, she just said "I guess that's how they're supposed to be". They were not very good, nor were the grits. My friends had an egg dish, something similar to eggs Benedict, and it was supposed to come with asparagus. Neither of them received asparagus. One had broccoli with some mix of steamed vegetables, the other had the steamed veggie mix but no broccoli. They said something to the server and she went to the kitchen to get asparagus for them. Just 2 stalks each that looked lonesome on the plate. We've taken Milton Inn off our list for future get-togethers and that's a shame because it's a beautiful space. Just not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Flawless meal. Exceptional value on Groupon, but still some really good specials always available, and very fair wine deals as well.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed dining at the Milton Inn for Easter. We had a party of 6 and we sat at a lovely round table which aided conversation. It was quiet so that no one had to shout. The food was very good albeit very expensive. Our dinner was about $80 per person with one bottle of wine and two extra glasses of wine. I would go again for a special occasion.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 16, 2017

A night out without our 1 year old. The food was great. The service was fantastic. We cannot wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Excellent as always. Service & food impeccable. Great for a special occasion.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 9, 2017

This is a special evening place. Prices are high, but the quality, service and atmosphere justify it. This time we only had appetizer portions (2 each) and a drink, but the experience was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 6, 2017

This historic inn is exquisitely maintained. I had my first date there about 55 years ago and it is as nice as then. The food is excellent with wide choice such as small plates, hamburger, watermelon gazpacho, and many other treats. The waitress was extremely knowledgeable about the food and the history (John Wilkes Booth attended school in the building). There was a full range of options from hamburgers to steaks. Its a wonderful place to use as a regular special dining place. My brother was married there 45 years ago.
There is a wonderful Orvis fishing store nearby in a 250+ year old house that is worth seeing.
This restaurant is one of a kind.

Tags: Historic, Fireplace, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Excellent food.
Outstanding service.
Friendly, professional, accommodating staff.
Traditional, historic, beautiful setting.
Fine dining as it should be.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Two couples were there for Milton Inn's Anniversary dinner. The food was ok, but not as good as expected. The lady working the bar and the lady serving our table were nice and efficient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Fantastic place! Food was amazing and presentation was impressive

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Food was excellent . We sat in the lounge. Our server was also tending bar. She was great ! One of the desserts that was featured was not available when we went to order dessert . Everything else was perfect

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 31, 2017

A relaxing, quiet environment. Service was excellent without being intrusive. Food was excellent to exceptional, for example, the onion soup, seafood martini, and rack of lamb (a special on this visit).

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.