Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 14 times today

Milton Inn

4.6
2437 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Romantic
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
The Milton Inn, a 276 year old field-stone building in Northern Baltimore County,is counted among Maryland's historic treasures. It is believed that construction of the Inn began in 1740 and it has grown and changed over the years to become one of the premier country dining spots in the United States. The tradition of excellence has continued to grow under the current ownership Milton Fare Inc, who purchased the business in 1997. Executive Chef/Owner Brian Boston was named Chef of the Year by the Restaurant Association of Maryland in 2011.Chef Boston has also received many other awards including The Five Star Diamond Award by The Academy of Hospitality Sciences , The DiRoNA Award,and top ratings from Zagat. The Milton was named The Best restaurant in the Counties by The Baltimore Sun . Over the years , the Inn has engendered a legacy of romance and numerous couples have become engaged in its candlelit dining rooms and open air garden terrace. Many return year after year to celebrate!
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, American, Steak
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch Hours:
Mon-Fri. seating from 11:30 am to 2:00 pm

Satruday & Sunday Brunch:
seating from 11:30 am to 2:00 pm

Dinner Hours:
Mon-Thu seating from 5:30 pm to 8:00 pm
Fri-Sat seating from 5:30 pm to 9:00 pm
Sun. seating from 4:00 pm to 7:30 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(410) 771-4366
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Brian Boston
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
They offer customized menus, serving 30-1000 guests.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
On-premise parking, free
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
The Milton Inn offers catering services on and off premise from intimate parties of 10 to grand tented events up to 300 guests. We will make your birthday,anniversary,corporate event, wedding or any other milestone perfect. Whether you choose one of our beautifully appointed dining rooms,a tented event on our manicured grounds, or venue of your choice;The Milton Inn will provide you with the excellent food,service,ambiance and attention to detail you expect from a Brian Boston property.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 2437 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.7
service
4.7
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Quiet
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

The most amazing food ever. I had the filet mignon with a crab cake on top. It was served with perfect grilled veggies and their special mashed potatoes. Desert was excellent too!! We had the strawberry shortcake which was pound cake with whipped cream and fresh strawberries. Yummy. Great experience!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

The bar was cozy. The food was excellent as was the service. The rack of lamb was cooked and seasoned to perfection. Very large portion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Tom, our waiter did a great job. Love eating in the bar area.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 3 days ago

Food was excellent but a bit pricey. Once in awhile.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Had not been here for years, and it was exactly as I remembered. We enjoyed our evening and dinner and service were super.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

You can't go wrong at The Milton Inn. It's not at all inexpensive, but the food is great. Service efficient and unobtrusive. Just a nice place. . . . .

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We go to Milton Inn whenever my friend is in town. The food is reliably excellent, though the single vegetarian item on the menu has been removed (though it was till available. She had the lamb special and it was as always delicious. Service excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Lovely Mother’s Day experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Excellent meal and service. Highly recommend for a special treat.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

We had a lovely evening and will be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2018

Generally, a perfect evening but it was quite expensive. Don't remember it being so.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 1, 2018

Our waiter was slow inattentive
Waited fifteen minutes to be acknowledged and to be asked for drinks

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

Always fantastic! This was the s come rime we dined at the Milton Inn this week. We tried many items and they all were wonderful. Great service as well !

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 29, 2018

I just called and spoke to the manager. The John Booth salad was iceberg lettuce and croutons- barely anything else. It was very disappointing. The salmon was supposed to be wasabi and citron. The salmon was very dry and the wasabi was three wasabi peas. The sauce tasted like a plain white sauce. We were so very disappointed in our meal . The rolls were delicious but that’s about it. I would not recommend The Milton Inn

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Enjoyed a great Sunday Brunch. Kudos on the Maryland Crab Soup with an amazing amount of delicious lump crabmeat. Omelets were light and fluffy. Enjoyed the roasted vegetables and potato sides.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

I have dined at this restaurant on numerous occasions throughout the years,and it always amazes me how consistently great each event has been. In my opinion The Milton Inn rates among the TOP 5 in the area for food, service and ambiance. We always say that we want to dine there more frequently and so should you.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Very nice place for a special meal. Service impeccable. Food always very good. Love the crab soups. But...pricey! Not sure the value is great. We always use a groupon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Our dining experience was wonderful. The food and ambiance made for a most enjoyable evening. John and other wait staff meet all of our dining needs.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Always a special place for a special occasion. -----------

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

red curry mussels were superb, as were the crab cakes. Impeccable service and beautiful, historic venue

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2018

One of the best!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2018

The Milton Inn is always a delight to visit we enjoyed the house Smoked Salmon and Tuna as our first course. Our luncheon selections were also enjoyable, although my guest has had a better crab cake; perhaps due to the season. I found the Key Lime pie to be exceptional with a trace of coconut in the crust a nice touch.

Our server was professional and very personable, we find the historic building a treat to visit and the drive through the county a great adventure.

Thank you, The Milton Inn for staying true to fine classic dining in beautiful old farm house.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2018

My mother-in-law mentioned that she would like to go to the Milton Innas she had been quite a while ago. My husband and I had never been so we decided to grant her wish. The experience was lovely from start to finish. The ride over was quite picturesque as was The Inn. We hope to return in the near future. Thanks so much for special evening. (The Groupon was greatly appreciated.)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Food was outstanding and service was impeccable. Can't wait to go back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Excellent service, diverse menu,good atmosphere, highly recommend

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

We completely enjoyed our experience. The food, from appetizers to dessert, was outstanding; and the environment very cozy in a smallish, side room with six or so tables. One of the best aspects was the pace of the meal which was very relaxed and not rushed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

Great night out celebrating our retirements! From start to finish it was a very enjoyable evening!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Everything was basically fine, however, things seemed a bit understaffed. Our waiter did well, but some things were slow arriving, as he had too many tables to manage effectively. We had asked for glasses of wine with diner and we were almost finished when they arrived, he did take them off the bill but I didn't even finish mine, since I was nearly finished my entrée. At a restaurant like this, one does not want t rush, but there were a number of 5pm reservations that all arrived together and everyone had to wait to be seated as the dining room was not yet set up. The waiter went into a long explanation as to how a large party came for brunch at 1:30pm and were very late leaving. I understand that, but 3 1/2 hours ? There were a number of things such as bread and additional water , accompaniments for coffee/tea, that we had to ask several times for. Seemed a little disjointed and not as seamless as in the past. The crab soup was exceptional.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

We had not been here before our visit this evening. We were pleasantly surprised at the quality and quantity of food and the service we received. We both had items from the specials. The corn chowder was exceptional. My wife had the Steak and Cake and I had the Rack of Lamb. Both were delicious and well prepared. It was a Groupon that brought us here and I’m happy we visited.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Milton Inn has a reputation for excellent food that is worth the higher price and great atmosphere.
Our Brunch was expensive, our server was charming and attendant in just the right way.
However, the food was forgettable - perhaps their diners and luncheons are better?
My quiche could have been brought pre-baked from a vendor and taken out of the freezer.
The salad was nothing special with a basic flavorless dressing.
The two Benedicts for our party were only acceptable and nothing special.
No one finished their omelettes.

I had special requested we sit in the main formal dining-room and was not notified that the room was not available as they had a large pre-booked party.

We are spoiled with great restaurants in the Baltimore area and Gertrude's, fore instance, would have been a far better choice, the Oregon Grill or Manor Tavern.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 13, 2018

We were on the lovely patio. The food was fabulous, our waiter was superb and the weather was perfect. Great date night!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

My husband and I had a lovely evening last Thursday, taking advantage of a Groupon which helped with the overall enjoyment of the meal! We chose a bottle of wine and found many reasonably priced options. I enjoyed ordering "small plates" which were delicious, allowed me to try more than one choice and were a good value. My husband was very satisfied with his seafood meal. Very positive experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Food and drinks are so amazing cream of crab soup a favorite Kentucky charm cocktail a must and filet with crab cake over the top

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Very nice place to enjoy a casual meal

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Food generally good not outstanding. Fish a bit crusty and done with no imagination. Waiter a bit slow and never ever smiled. For that much $$ I expect excellence not just OK

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Overall, you pay a lot but you do get a lot in return. The grits were a bit chewy and tough for my taste, but maybe some people like them that way. Other than that, the meal was quite good--again, it is pricey, but the ambiance and service and drinks are excellent, so worth it for a special occasion.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 1, 2018

It was an average meal and very expensive. The crab soup was delicious but the entrees were not worth the expense. A nice historic atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Excellent meal

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Dined with my wife on a recent Saturday evening. Had advanced reservations for 5:30 (that's when they open for dinner), yet were informed that they weren't "quite ready" (?) and had to wait in the lounge for another 20 minutes before we were finally seated. The plusses - Luke, our server, was excellent; the cream of crab soup and NY strip Oscar style were fantastic; my wife's entrée - the Caprese salad was "just ok - nothing special".

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Good food great service nice atmosphere but a little pricey.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
61

Tweets by Milton Inn