About Milton Inn

14833 York Road
Sparks, MD 21152
View Larger Map

The Milton Inn, a 276 year old field-stone building in Northern Baltimore County,is counted among Maryland's historic treasures. It is believed that construction of the Inn began in 1740 and it has grown and changed over the years to become one of the premier country dining spots in the United States. The tradition of excellence has continued to grow under the current ownership Milton Fare Inc, who purchased the business in 1997. Executive Chef/Owner Brian Boston was named Chef of the Year by the Restaurant Association of Maryland in 2011.Chef Boston has also received many other awards including The Five Star Diamond Award by The Academy of Hospitality Sciences , The DiRoNA Award,and top ratings from Zagat. The Milton was named The Best restaurant in the Counties by The Baltimore Sun . Over the years , the Inn has engendered a legacy of romance and numerous couples have become engaged in its candlelit dining rooms and open air garden terrace. Many return year after year to celebrate!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday -: 5:30pm - 8:30pm, Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 7:30pm
Sunday Brunch 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 771-4366

Website:
http://www.miltoninn.com/

Catering:
They offer customized menus, serving 30-1000 guests.

Parking Details:
On-premise parking, free

Executive Chef:
Brian Boston

Private Party Facilities:
Circa 1740 stone mansion available, customized menus for 10-150 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Brian Boston: 4107714366x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Milton Inn offers catering services on and off premise from intimate parties of 10 to grand tented events up to 300 guests. We will make your birthday,anniversary,corporate event, wedding or any other milestone perfect. Whether you choose one of our beautifully appointed dining rooms,a tented event on our manicured grounds, or venue of your choice;The Milton Inn will provide you with the excellent food,service,ambiance and attention to detail you expect from a Brian Boston property.

Restaurant Photos

Milton Inn
Milton Inn
Milton Inn
Milton Inn
Milton Inn
Milton Inn
Milton Inn
Creme Brulee
Grilled Beef Tenderloin
Grilled Chicken Summer Roll
Pan Seared Scallops
Lobster
Oysters Imperial Three Blue Point Oysters Finished With Jumbo Lump Crab Meat And Imperial Sauce
Ostrich Carpaccio Herb Seared Ostrich Carpaccio With Walnut Oil And Pommery Mustard Vinaigrette Served With Diced Avocado, Nasturtium Flowers And Toasted Baguette
Classic Surf And Turf 6Oz Filet Topped With Béarnaise Sauce And A 6Oz Lobster Tail With Drawn Butter Served With Pave Potatoes And Baby Vegetable
Rack Of Venison Rack Of Venison With Chestnut Granola Crust, Butternut Squash Risotto And Shallots, Brussels Sprouts With Pepper, Bacon And Onion, Finished With Current Jelly Reduction
Pan Seared Foie Gras Served With Mini Apple & Almond Tart, Fennel Pollen, Foie Gras Oil And Pomegranate Reduction

Milton Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Baltimore / Maryland
Contemporary American
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Overall
Baltimore Suburbs
7 More
Best Food
Baltimore Suburbs
Best Service
Baltimore Suburbs
Best Ambiance
Baltimore Suburbs
Romantic
Baltimore Suburbs
Special Occasion
Baltimore Suburbs
Contemporary American
Baltimore Suburbs
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Baltimore Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Sparks ›

special occasion (90)
romantic (69)
fit for foodies (61)
See All
notable wine list (33)
neighborhood gem (27)
great for brunch (22)
good for groups (17)
great for lunch (14)
scenic view (13)
great for outdoor dining (6)
hot spot (3)
kid-friendly (1)
late-night find (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1835 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service by Matt was excellent. Gravlax, ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 4 days ago

Service by Matt was excellent. Gravlax, calamari and cream of crab were enjoyable. Steaks were tender and done to each individuals request. The only thing that kept this meal from being stellar was the dry, stringy, flavorless aspargus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Fabulous venue, excellent service & tast ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

Fabulous venue, excellent service & tasty food prepared right.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb as expected! My filet mignon topp ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 6 days ago

Superb as expected! My filet mignon topped with fois gras was delectable. Mom and Dad got the seafood Andorra which they said was delicious. No one took food home because it was so good (and the portions are generous without being overly so). It was my parents' anniversary and we were treated like royalty, including a lovely small desert with a greeting writing in chocolate. Thanks for a memorable evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I love the look and location of the Milt ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I love the look and location of the Milton Inn, whose main section was built in 1740. I used to like to lunch there outdoors, but the outdoor area is being remodeled and is unusable. But I go there very rarely because it is much too expensive and in hidden ways. For example, my partner and I both ordered the crab cake platter for Sunday brunch. The crab cake was decent, and the veggies were exceptional as were tiny muffins. But the bill was almost twice as much as the cost of the crab cakes and a couple of espressos. Why? Because, unlike any other brunch special I've ever heard of, the profferred mimosas were NOT FREE. Obviously I should've asked, having been fooled so many times by unexpected charges at The Milton Inn. BTW, there is no advantage to sitting in the lounge--unless you want to watch two different games on two different gigantic TVs--because every word anybody says in its confines is audible to everybody else. And the lounge, unlike the rest of the place, has no "ambience" at all.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

WE go to the Milton Inn every chance we ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

WE go to the Milton Inn every chance we get and it is always GREAT! The staff is very friendly and attentive, and the food and atmosphere are second to none. They are in the middle of redecorating the restaurant and the new look is very fresh we loved it. The clams casino are the best I have ever had and our rack of lamb and Mahi dish were fantastic. Don't miss out on the crème Brulee for dessert.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for a birthday celebration and w ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We went for a birthday celebration and wanted an upscale dining experience. It was truly that. The décor was elegant, the wait staff excellent, and the food was absolutely delicious. We had a memorable time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, the Milton Inn was outstandin ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

As always, the Milton Inn was outstanding. The menu is varied, and there are always excellent specials (we had two). Service is refined and knowledgeable; the ambiance is superb. Food is beyond delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Something was clearly off at the Milton ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Something was clearly off at the Milton Inn on 7/10. The salad was fresh but undistinguished. My duck breast was without taste or flavor and quite dry (also a smaller portion than I have had there in the past). The vegetables were also dry "tastefully arranged" but with little flavor and, also, dry - adding peach slices was an interesting idea but they, too, had no flavor. The ambience was adequate although, to me, a bit casual for what is supposed to be "fine dining." I have gone to the Milton Inn over many years and this meal was a genuine disappointment. Given the price (high) and the experience, I will have to strongly consider not returning. Fortunately, the northern Baltimore area has a growing number of restaurants. For a "special meal" this had few features to appreciate. When I made some inquiries about the wine list no one (?sommelier) came to help and I was informed by our waitress that the "wine folks" suggested what I ended up with. Perhaps I demand too much but when a relatively simple meal about $200 I really expect better. It will take serious convincing to get me back or for me to recommend it to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

The service at the Milton Inn was except ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The service at the Milton Inn was exceptional. Our waiter's name was Ousmane.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the small plates menu is the best! you g ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

the small plates menu is the best! you get to taste so many different items this way. our waiter was great! we sat in the tiny room behind the bar.

great room. just quiet enough. never knew it was there.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Would not recommend. Not seated where I ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Would not recommend. Not seated where I requested. Waiter forgot to serve the rolls,didn't refill our drink glasses, and was generally inattentive. Wife's steak was ordered med/well and was served med/rare. We cut a 1/3 off to check the steak before we sent it back. The stake came back at best medium without the 1/3 that was cut off. The $21 add on and my Seafood Andor ware uninspired to say the least. E-mail with these concerns met with no response. Save your money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

I wish that we lived closer and could go ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

I wish that we lived closer and could go more often - but it's worth the trip even if you have to travel a bit to get there!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our third visit to the Milton I ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This was our third visit to the Milton Inn and it never disappoints. The only issue I had this time was with a couple sitting behind us. She was angry, somewhat loud, and perhaps had too much to drink. He kept trying to placate her. It was distracting to other diners. I don't blame the restaurant for the rudeness of its patrons. The food was delicious.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I went to the Milton Inn to ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

My wife and I went to the Milton Inn to celebrate our Anniversary. When we were taken to our table there was a handbag on my seat. The Hostess asked the woman sitting at the next table if it was hers. She said yes and took it and placed it on a chair at the table on her right. Someone came along and moved it and placed it under her chair when they were seating another couple.

This woman went on for at least 45 minutes complaining that someone placed her bag under her seat and didn't show respect to her $3,000 bag or to her. She didn't stop complaining for the entire meal and disturbed all of the other patrons who were seated in the same room.

Needless to say, this didn't make for a very happy occasion for the other patrons.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Milton inn has always maintained an upsc ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Milton inn has always maintained an upscale menu, ambiance and high level of customer service. We can always expect prompt, sophisticated service and perfect presentation of courses. Highly recommend you try this establishment at least once - you'll be hooked.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were engaged at the Milton Inn 22 yea ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We were engaged at the Milton Inn 22 years ago and we celebrated our 20th Wedding Anniversary there recently! The food is amazing, the place has such history and superb service that you can not help but be ecstatic with the whole experience.

We've been back many times but this is the first time we came back for an anniversary. We were treated very well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our dinner and service was w ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner and service was wonderful. Food was hot and prepared prefect. The dining room wasn't very cool. We were sweating by the end of our meal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Terrible experience. Went to Milton Inn ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Terrible experience. Went to Milton Inn to celebrate 2 anniversaries. Food was very fair , prices were expensive, service was inattentive What a wasted night and value. Do not go !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

We dine at the Milton a few times a year ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We dine at the Milton a few times a year and are never disappointed. Top shelf food, service and experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding food and service in a comfor ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Outstanding food and service in a comfortable setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Steak was so-so but blackened mahi & esp ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Steak was so-so but blackened mahi & especially the seafood martini were EXCEPTIONAL.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

beautiful location, ambience with fine m ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

beautiful location, ambience with fine menu and seasonal selections.

service is excellent and presentation is very good.

Prices however are somewhat higher than what the quality of the food deserves.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful historic mansion decorated for ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Beautiful historic mansion decorated for 1700's sophistication. The food was decadent and well prepared. It was a wonderful experience and I'd highly recommend for any special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Love the bar / lounge

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Love the bar / lounge

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

A great dining experience. The staff was ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

A great dining experience. The staff was very attentive, room was comfortable with low noise level. And the food was just GREAT.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love. love, love The Milton Inn. We were ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Love. love, love The Milton Inn. We were celebrating a special occasion and were not disappointed. Our waiter Usman, was wonderful. We ordered the soup special, cream of crab, and it's the best we have ever had, anywhere. We both ordered the filet mignon special and it absolutely melted in your mouth. Of course, we had to have dessert and so glad we didn't split one! The atmosphere is wonderful, the food delicious and the service outstanding. There's no room for improvement! We will be back, my birthday is coming up soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Although it is an hour drive from our ho ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Although it is an hour drive from our home, it was worth the drive. Everything was wonderful. We will be going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We hadn't been here in 20 years. We won' ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

We hadn't been here in 20 years. We won't wait so long to come back. Everything was fabulous !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Solid place for upscale dining.

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

We have been dining at the Milton Inn once or twice a year for decades and are never disappointed. Our server was excellent and knew his business.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebrating with good friends

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Was an anniversary dinner for us and shared with good friends whose anniversary is approaching. A quiet evening of dining given the holiday weekend just past. The ususl fine menu with some nice daily specials provided each of us with easy choices, and we were able to compliment that with a nice wine selection from a very broad offering as well. All this complimented with excellent and attentive service, so what is not to like?

We will all be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

At least our fourth visit and the Inn ne ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

At least our fourth visit and the Inn never disappoints

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As usual, The Milton Inn did not disappo ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

As usual, The Milton Inn did not disappoint with its service, food or ambiance. Its always a treat to dine where it is consistently superb in all respects.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good but $28.00 for a single cr ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Food was good but $28.00 for a single crabcake and $5.00 for a glass of ice tea is just a bit too much to pay. I have had better crab cakes for less at lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Our server was very attentive and the at ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Our server was very attentive and the atmosphere is lovely. We did not feel rushed at all. The entrees did not all come out together and they were out of lobster tails. The food was excellent. Delighted to see some lower price point bottles of wine on the list also.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Family

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

I had received a gift certificate two years ago and so I invited my family to come with me, some had been there before and first visits for some and all were pleased with our Sunday visit. Our table was ready for us when we arrived and our waiter was very helpful and friendly.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Baltimore region has many excellent ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The Baltimore region has many excellent restaurants but only a handful rise to the level of "special occasion worthy" experiences. In my opinion, The Milton Inn is near that top of that list. Excellent food, incredible staff, and an overall awesome dining experience. If you're celebrating a special occasion or trying to impress, you won't go wrong with the Milton Inn.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food in a lovely setting. Dri ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Excellent food in a lovely setting. Drinks are very good but priced like you are in NYC! Be aware...

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Always a great meal and atmosphere. Our server, John, was great and provided terrific service throughout the evening. We always look forward to planning special dinner dates here.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent dining experience - ALWAYS

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The service is always excellent, the menu delightful ( and delicious) and the experience is always wonderful. Even on Mother's Day we were taken on time and there was no change in the excellent service.

We always look forward to dining at the Milton Inn.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Mothers Day

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

A neighborhood restaurant, the Milton Inn is usually a great place for an intimate dinner or a celebration.......we are frequent visitors and really enjoy having such within a 15 minute ride

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.