About Milton Inn

14833 York Road
Sparks, MD 21152
View Larger Map

The Milton Inn, a 276 year old field-stone building in Northern Baltimore County,is counted among Maryland's historic treasures. It is believed that construction of the Inn began in 1740 and it has grown and changed over the years to become one of the premier country dining spots in the United States. The tradition of excellence has continued to grow under the current ownership Milton Fare Inc, who purchased the business in 1997. Executive Chef/Owner Brian Boston was named Chef of the Year by the Restaurant Association of Maryland in 2011.Chef Boston has also received many other awards including The Five Star Diamond Award by The Academy of Hospitality Sciences , The DiRoNA Award,and top ratings from Zagat. The Milton was named The Best restaurant in the Counties by The Baltimore Sun . Over the years , the Inn has engendered a legacy of romance and numerous couples have become engaged in its candlelit dining rooms and open air garden terrace. Many return year after year to celebrate!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday -: 5:30pm - 8:30pm, Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 7:30pm
Sunday Brunch 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 771-4366

Website:
http://www.miltoninn.com/

Catering:
They offer customized menus, serving 30-1000 guests.

Parking Details:
On-premise parking, free

Executive Chef:
Brian Boston

Private Party Facilities:
Circa 1740 stone mansion available, customized menus for 10-150 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Brian Boston: 4107714366x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Milton Inn offers catering services on and off premise from intimate parties of 10 to grand tented events up to 300 guests. We will make your birthday,anniversary,corporate event, wedding or any other milestone perfect. Whether you choose one of our beautifully appointed dining rooms,a tented event on our manicured grounds, or venue of your choice;The Milton Inn will provide you with the excellent food,service,ambiance and attention to detail you expect from a Brian Boston property.

Restaurant Photos

Milton Inn
Milton Inn
Milton Inn
Milton Inn
Milton Inn
Milton Inn
Milton Inn
Creme Brulee
Grilled Beef Tenderloin
Grilled Chicken Summer Roll
Pan Seared Scallops
Lobster
Oysters Imperial Three Blue Point Oysters Finished With Jumbo Lump Crab Meat And Imperial Sauce
Ostrich Carpaccio Herb Seared Ostrich Carpaccio With Walnut Oil And Pommery Mustard Vinaigrette Served With Diced Avocado, Nasturtium Flowers And Toasted Baguette
Classic Surf And Turf 6Oz Filet Topped With Béarnaise Sauce And A 6Oz Lobster Tail With Drawn Butter Served With Pave Potatoes And Baby Vegetable
Rack Of Venison Rack Of Venison With Chestnut Granola Crust, Butternut Squash Risotto And Shallots, Brussels Sprouts With Pepper, Bacon And Onion, Finished With Current Jelly Reduction
Pan Seared Foie Gras Served With Mini Apple & Almond Tart, Fennel Pollen, Foie Gras Oil And Pomegranate Reduction

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 4:00PM - 5:30PM 7:30PM - 8:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 7:30PM - 8:00PM

Fri - Sat 8:30PM - 9:00PM

Milton Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Baltimore / Maryland
Contemporary American
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Overall
Baltimore Suburbs
6 More
Best Food
Baltimore Suburbs
Best Ambiance
Baltimore Suburbs
Romantic
Baltimore Suburbs
Special Occasion
Baltimore Suburbs
Contemporary American
Baltimore Suburbs
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Baltimore Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Sparks ›

special occasion (83)
romantic (65)
fit for foodies (54)
See All
notable wine list (29)
neighborhood gem (28)
great for brunch (23)
good for groups (18)
great for lunch (11)
scenic view (11)
great for outdoor dining (6)
hot spot (2)
kid-friendly (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1819 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We enjoyed our dinner and service was w ...

Dined 5 days ago

We enjoyed our dinner and service was wonderful. Food was hot and prepared prefect. The dining room wasn't very cool. We were sweating by the end of our meal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Terrible experience. Went to Milton Inn ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Terrible experience. Went to Milton Inn to celebrate 2 anniversaries. Food was very fair , prices were expensive, service was inattentive What a wasted night and value. Do not go !

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We dine at the Milton a few times a year ...

Dined 5 days ago

We dine at the Milton a few times a year and are never disappointed. Top shelf food, service and experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food and service in a comfor ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding food and service in a comfortable setting.

food4
ambience4
service5

Steak was so-so but blackened mahi & esp ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Steak was so-so but blackened mahi & especially the seafood martini were EXCEPTIONAL.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

beautiful location, ambience with fine m ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

beautiful location, ambience with fine menu and seasonal selections. service is excellent and presentation is very good. Prices however are somewhat higher than what the quality of the food deserves.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Beautiful historic mansion decorated for ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Beautiful historic mansion decorated for 1700's sophistication. The food was decadent and well prepared. It was a wonderful experience and I'd highly recommend for any special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Love the bar / lounge

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

Love the bar / lounge

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great dining experience. The staff was ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

A great dining experience. The staff was very attentive, room was comfortable with low noise level. And the food was just GREAT.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Love. love, love The Milton Inn. We were ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Love. love, love The Milton Inn. We were celebrating a special occasion and were not disappointed. Our waiter Usman, was wonderful. We ordered the soup special, cream of crab, and it's the best we have ever had, anywhere. We both ordered the filet mignon special and it absolutely melted in your mouth. Of course, we had to have dessert and so glad we didn't split one! The atmosphere is wonderful, the food delicious and the service outstanding. There's no room for improvement! We will be back, my birthday is coming up soon.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Although it is an hour drive from our ho ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Although it is an hour drive from our home, it was worth the drive. Everything was wonderful. We will be going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We hadn't been here in 20 years. We won' ...

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

We hadn't been here in 20 years. We won't wait so long to come back. Everything was fabulous !

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Solid place for upscale dining.

Dined on June 7, 2016

We have been dining at the Milton Inn once or twice a year for decades and are never disappointed. Our server was excellent and knew his business.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebrating with good friends

Dined on June 2, 2016

Was an anniversary dinner for us and shared with good friends whose anniversary is approaching. A quiet evening of dining given the holiday weekend just past. The ususl fine menu with some nice daily specials provided each of us with easy choices, and we were able to compliment that with a nice wine selection from a very broad offering as well. All this complimented with excellent and attentive service, so what is not to like? We will all be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

At least our fourth visit and the Inn ne ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

At least our fourth visit and the Inn never disappoints

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, The Milton Inn did not disappo ...

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

As usual, The Milton Inn did not disappoint with its service, food or ambiance. Its always a treat to dine where it is consistently superb in all respects.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Food was good but $28.00 for a single cr ...

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

Food was good but $28.00 for a single crabcake and $5.00 for a glass of ice tea is just a bit too much to pay. I have had better crab cakes for less at lunch.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Our server was very attentive and the at ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Our server was very attentive and the atmosphere is lovely. We did not feel rushed at all. The entrees did not all come out together and they were out of lobster tails. The food was excellent. Delighted to see some lower price point bottles of wine on the list also.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Family

Dined on May 22, 2016

I had received a gift certificate two years ago and so I invited my family to come with me, some had been there before and first visits for some and all were pleased with our Sunday visit. Our table was ready for us when we arrived and our waiter was very helpful and friendly.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Baltimore region has many excellent ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The Baltimore region has many excellent restaurants but only a handful rise to the level of "special occasion worthy" experiences. In my opinion, The Milton Inn is near that top of that list. Excellent food, incredible staff, and an overall awesome dining experience. If you're celebrating a special occasion or trying to impress, you won't go wrong with the Milton Inn.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food in a lovely setting. Dri ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Excellent food in a lovely setting. Drinks are very good but priced like you are in NYC! Be aware...

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service

Dined on May 9, 2016

Always a great meal and atmosphere. Our server, John, was great and provided terrific service throughout the evening. We always look forward to planning special dinner dates here.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent dining experience - ALWAYS

Dined on May 8, 2016

The service is always excellent, the menu delightful ( and delicious) and the experience is always wonderful. Even on Mother's Day we were taken on time and there was no change in the excellent service. We always look forward to dining at the Milton Inn.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Mothers Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

A neighborhood restaurant, the Milton Inn is usually a great place for an intimate dinner or a celebration.......we are frequent visitors and really enjoy having such within a 15 minute ride

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Worth the time and $$

Dined on May 8, 2016

Took my Mom there last year for Mother's Day and she specifically asked to go back this year. The food was excellent and always is - lots of attention to detail. Must have caught them on a shift change - I had reservation which they called me twice to confirm and when we arrived the table was not ready - we had to wait - not good however the food and service made up for it. I'm going to back in the winter so I can see the fireplace lit in the hearth room - it's huge!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Mothers Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

Second year in a row attending the Mothers Day brunch. Enjoy the meal very much.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The Host/Hostess group were very sophomo ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The Host/Hostess group were very sophomoric in their performance. I would expect a higher standard for this level of restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Mother's Day at Milton Inn

Dined on May 8, 2016

Brunch was terrific with a great selection from a fixed price Mother's Day menu. I would definitely recommend the Milton Inn for special occasions. Only concern was the room between tables was very tight to move around the room.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service4

First time there and the restaurant did ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

First time there and the restaurant did not disappoint. Great food, good service, and a very neat (historic) place. Restaurant is on the pricier side; however, the food and experience were worth it. Would definitely recommend.

food5
ambience4
service5

It was great to get back to the Milton I ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

It was great to get back to the Milton Inn again. Truly a special occasion place.

food4
ambience4
service4

Overall the food was very good. The sala ...

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

Overall the food was very good. The salads were kind of bland, we expected something more unique at such an upscale restaurant

food4
ambience5
service4
value1

Good but overpriced

Dined on April 30, 2016

You would think a $50.00 entree might come with a small salad that might cost the restaurant $.50. You can have a salad if you want for $12.00! Stupid expensive but a beautiful setting and great service. very special occasions only.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As great as always

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

We went on a "date" last Saturday night and were treated like royalty. Appetizers, entrees sides wines and service were all superlative. Even though the restaurant was somewhat busy, our server , Tom, a long -time employee, never missed a beat. What a wonderful evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

A rare mildly disappointing night @ the Milton Inn

Dined on April 30, 2016

We were celebrating our 21st anniversary last weekend at the Milton Inn, as we have for at least 15 previous years. Unfortunately, this was not one of our better experiences. Our waitress, who never told us her name, was probably overworked that evening, as she disappeared for way too long between the serving of our meal, ordering dessert, and the presentation of the check. We normally enjoy a nice 90-minute or so dining experience; this year, we were there for well over 2 hours. We also were never served any bread before our appetizers. The meal itself was very good, although my filet, while perfectly cooked, was just a tad underseasoned. The crab cake was delicious, though. The peanut butter delight lived up to its name for dessert. It was still a nice evening, and we'll return next year, but if we have another experience like this, have to look elsewhere to celebrate year 23!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outdoor patio

Dined on April 18, 2016

My one and only comment about this restaurant is WHY would you wait until it is gorgeous outside to start to remodel your patio area. Don't you realize we spend all day indoors working and want to breath fresh air when we get off work. The bar area is nice and the wait staff amazing but it is dark in there.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Ate in the bar , which has he full menu ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Ate in the bar , which has he full menu and a small plates menu . We have been eating there for years , we enjoy the food and service very much .

food5
ambience4
service1
value2

Good but rushed

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

We were greeted by the waiter and hastily read the specials. We selected our wine and the waiter promptly delivered it. Bread was shortly there after followed by the Entree just a few minutes after (literally). The whole affair seemed very rushed. The setting is charming but we had no time to enjoy our surroundings even though the tables were only 75% full. Coffee at $5 each seemed to top off what we considered an overpriced and rushed meal. With all that said the food was excellent. We have visited in the past and had a markedly different experience.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

A truly wonderful experience. Will retur ...

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

A truly wonderful experience. Will return the next time I am in the area. We ate in the lounge from the small plates menu. It was a great way to try several items from the larger menu.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quaker Inn

Dined on April 1, 2016

The Milton Inn first attracted us because of its history. We have returned because of the food & ambiance. We will return on another trip to this area.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

This Easter Brunch laid an egg!

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Until this experience, we had always had exceptional service at Milton Inn. On this occasion, our waiter was disinterested, seemed confused and was not at all attentive. While the restaurant was unusually crowded on this day, the tables serviced by another waiter were properly attended to with the opposite of our service. The food is always good, but is starting to get predictable.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.