About Milton Inn

The Milton Inn, a 276 year old field-stone building in Northern Baltimore County,is counted among Maryland's historic treasures. It is believed that construction of the Inn began in 1740 and it has grown and changed over the years to become one of the premier country dining spots in the United States. The tradition of excellence has continued to grow under the current ownership Milton Fare Inc, who purchased the business in 1997. Executive Chef/Owner Brian Boston was named Chef of the Year by the Restaurant Association of Maryland in 2011.Chef Boston has also received many other awards including The Five Star Diamond Award by The Academy of Hospitality Sciences , The DiRoNA Award,and top ratings from Zagat. The Milton was named The Best restaurant in the Counties by The Baltimore Sun . Over the years , the Inn has engendered a legacy of romance and numerous couples have become engaged in its candlelit dining rooms and open air garden terrace. Many return year after year to celebrate!

14833 York Road
Sparks, MD 21152
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Hours:
Mon-Fri. seating from 11:30 am to 2:00 pm

Satruday & Sunday Brunch:
seating from 11:30 am to 2:00 pm

Dinner Hours:
Mon-Thu seating from 5:30 pm to 8:00 pm
Fri-Sat seating from 5:30 pm to 9:00 pm
Sun. seating from 4:00 pm to 7:30 pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 771-4366

Website:
http://www.miltoninn.com/

Catering:
They offer customized menus, serving 30-1000 guests.

Parking Details:
On-premise parking, free

Executive Chef:
Brian Boston

Private Party Facilities:
Circa 1740 stone mansion available, customized menus for 10-150 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Brian Boston: (410) 771-4366

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Milton Inn offers catering services on and off premise from intimate parties of 10 to grand tented events up to 300 guests. We will make your birthday,anniversary,corporate event, wedding or any other milestone perfect. Whether you choose one of our beautifully appointed dining rooms,a tented event on our manicured grounds, or venue of your choice;The Milton Inn will provide you with the excellent food,service,ambiance and attention to detail you expect from a Brian Boston property.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Milton Inn - Milton Inn, Sparks, MD
Milton Inn - Milton Inn, Sparks, MD
Milton Inn - Milton Inn, Sparks, MD
Cake - Milton Inn, Sparks, MD
Portobella - Milton Inn, Sparks, MD
Burger - Milton Inn, Sparks, MD
Cake - Milton Inn, Sparks, MD
Specials - Milton Inn, Sparks, MD
Seafood Martini - Milton Inn, Sparks, MD
Chef Brian - Milton Inn, Sparks, MD
Creme Brulee - Milton Inn, Sparks, MD
Grilled Beef Tenderloin - Milton Inn, Sparks, MD
Grilled Chicken Summer Roll - Milton Inn, Sparks, MD
Pan Seared Scallops  - Milton Inn, Sparks, MD
Ostrich Carpaccio Herb Seared Ostrich Carpaccio With Walnut Oil And Pommery Mustard Vinaigrette Served With Diced Avocado, Nasturtium Flowers And Toasted Baguette - Milton Inn, Sparks, MD
Oysters Imperial Three Blue Point Oysters Finished With Jumbo Lump Crab Meat And Imperial Sauce - Milton Inn, Sparks, MD
Rack Of Venison Rack Of Venison With Chestnut Granola Crust, Butternut Squash Risotto And Shallots, Brussels Sprouts With Pepper, Bacon And Onion, Finished With Current Jelly Reduction - Milton Inn, Sparks, MD
Classic Surf And Turf 6Oz Filet Topped With Béarnaise Sauce And A 6Oz Lobster Tail With Drawn Butter Served With Pave Potatoes And Baby Vegetable - Milton Inn, Sparks, MD
Lobster - Milton Inn, Sparks, MD
Pan Seared Foie Gras Served With Mini Apple & Almond Tart, Fennel Pollen, Foie Gras Oil And Pomegranate Reduction - Milton Inn, Sparks, MD

Specials

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $130.00

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Sundays and Mondays from 5:30 PM - 8:00 PM

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $130.00

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Sundays and Mondays from 5:30 PM - 8:00 PM

Details

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $130.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Certain restrictions apply, see menu on our site. RESERVATIONS REQUIRED. Special valid Jan 17, 2017 - May 17, 2017 on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Sundays and Mondays from 5:30 PM - 8:00 PM.

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

A Deposit is required at time of to hold your reservation.

Milton Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (52)
Good for Anniversaries (52)
Special Occasion (52)
See All
Historic (49)
Worth the Drive (41)
Quiet Conversation (35)
Good for a Date (34)
Cozy (30)
Fireplace (28)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Notable Wine List (22)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Authentic (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Seasonal (12)
Great for Brunch (12)
Business Meals (9)
Private Room (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Organic (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Scenic View (2)
Fun (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Casual (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
2069 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is one of the very best restaurants ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 13, 2017

This is one of the very best restaurants in the Baltimore area.

Food is superb

Service is outstanding

Just a perfect plasce to really dine

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and the service w ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food was delicious and the service was great. Over all it was a very pleasant experience and we will definitely return.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant is consistently good. Great ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Restaurant is consistently good. Great décor, romantic, private

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We had a Groupon so it was worth the val ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We had a Groupon so it was worth the value but without it, I would think twice. Thought the food was okay but nothing exceptional.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Milton in was a favorite for crab cakes, ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Milton in was a favorite for crab cakes, but not the best time of year for crab. We tried the small plates. Food was good, but eat in the bar (they say lounge) and the ambience was not as nice. They were not very busy for a Friday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our second time in less than th ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 6, 2017

This was our second time in less than three weeks.The food was outstanding and so is the ambiance.The first time the service was outstanding, this second time it was not as good.The first time was during the week and the second was a Friday which may have been the reason.They seemed to have either been short staffed or our waiter was requested by everyone.It was a special evening to us as our Grandson had been accepted to his college choice for which he had worked very hard.This was not even acknowledged until his desert was placed in front of him with Congratulations written on it ,no comment from anyone.

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Scenic View, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The Milton Inn implemented a brilliant i ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The Milton Inn implemented a brilliant idea...small plates. It is offered in their lounge only but

there are really two rooms, one with a bar and two T.V.s and the other with a gigantic fireplace.

The food is fantastic at $12 a plate and we will go there now at least once a month even though it's about a 1/2 hour from our house; it's worth it as the food and service are outstanding!

Tags: Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Beautiful spot for a special Birthday ce ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Beautiful spot for a special Birthday celebration! Food and service could not have been better. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Fireplace, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I were looking for something ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My wife and I were looking for something "low key" to celebrate new years eve. With their pre-determined 4 course menu, there were plenty of delicious options. We could not have asked for anything better on our New Year's Eve.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seemingly overwhelmed by the New Year's ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Seemingly overwhelmed by the New Year's Eve.

Early arrivals swapped the bar, creating a long wait.

Food was delicious, but service was glacial

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Excellent food, service & atmosphere. ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Excellent food, service & atmosphere. Ideal for that special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous food and spot on service. Wine ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Fabulous food and spot on service. Wine list is extensive but overpriced. We had a nice table in what I call the "old room" with the big fireplace. Pretty disappointing that the fireplace wasn't lit as this was a few days before Christmas. The excuse was it needs to be 40 degrees or the fireplace won't draw. Hmm.

Can't say I've heard that one before.

Overall,though, highly recommend for an intimate or family occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

As usual Milton Inn is one of our favori ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 23, 2016

As usual Milton Inn is one of our favorite places for special occasions and excellent food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A must try when in Maryland. The crab an ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 22, 2016

A must try when in Maryland. The crab and potato crusted salmon was perfect as was the wilted winter salad.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I have been going for Xma ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 22, 2016

My husband and I have been going for Xmas Eve dinner for the past 39 years and have alternated between our favorite places, the Milton Inn being one of them. We now have my mom living with us, so it's not easy to get out. We were lucky to get someone to stay with her on our night to the Milton Inn. My husbands dinner was wonderful and he's still talking about it. Mine, however, was not that memorable. I started out with the oyster stew, which I was craving, but when I got it, there was no flavor to it at all and no salt or pepper at the table. By the time the waitress came back to us, my soup was almost done so there was no point in asking for it. My main meal was the short rib. It was very dry and very fatty. It was so dark at our table that I couldn't really see the fat to cut it out, so every time I would take a bite, I was getting a mouthful of fat that I had to swallow, I didn't want to disgust everyone around us by spitting it out into a napkin :)

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Historic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Milton Inn is our go to destination to c ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Milton Inn is our go to destination to celebrate special occasions. We have never been disappointed in the food or service. It is truly a five star location in every respect.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been there many many times and h ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We have been there many many times and have never been disappointed. The food is always prepared with the utmost care and presentation is perfect. No matter how crowded they are, they always make you feel so special. My brother comes in for Christmas every year and it would not be complete if we didn't get to the Milton Inn. He literally has traveled the world but always tells us that this is one of his favorite places to dine.

Thank you for making his Christmas every year:)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good but the service was n ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Food was very good but the service was not. The waiter had the personality of a snail - if a snail has one. Would still come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

The overall experience, atmosphere, serv ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The overall experience, atmosphere, service and food made this an excellent special occasion dining occasion. This is a very nice establishment where the special occasion warrants the cost, however it is a little expensive for regular visits. Price aside the food was excellent with a decent plateful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Other than pricey, it's such a wonderful ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Other than pricey, it's such a wonderful venue to gather and enjoy your friends and loved ones in intimate cozy surroundings, with vast menu options, and, for those who need an escape, a drive to the Outback of Baltimore County.

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Lovely environment with delicious food a ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Lovely environment with delicious food and great service.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is good. But the service from the ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Food is good. But the service from the kitchen is impossibly slow.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Tried the lounge and bar area for the fi ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Tried the lounge and bar area for the first time, thought we would sample the small plates. Absolutely delicious, hopefully we can do this again. Food and drinks were perfect. Enjoyed the atmosphere as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Food - great Service - great Ambience - ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Food - great

Service - great

Ambience - the room was cold and very loud.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only note that I would give is that ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The only note that I would give is that there is a table in the bar that is situated too close to a door that is opened frequently by people coming in and out of the restaurant. There is a cold draft and the door bumps the chair closest to it. This is where we were sitting and it did detract from our enjoyment of the evening to a degree. When we asked about why we were seated there as opposed to the empty table next to it, the answer was just that was how the hostess seated us.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Historic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service, food, ambiance.

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great service, food, ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We ate at Milton Inn a little over 32 ye ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We ate at Milton Inn a little over 32 years ago the day we got married. During our visit to Maryland this past week we decided to dine there again and we were not disappointed. It's as good as it was back then. When you're in the Baltimore area and want a truly memorable dining experience, the Milton Inn is the place!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had heard the oyster stew is excellen ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 6, 2016

We had heard the oyster stew is excellent. Main reason for this particular visit. Stew was very good, but needs more oysters in each bowl.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So I love the Milton Inn, I have been go ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 4, 2016

So I love the Milton Inn, I have been going for special occasions and for great food for over 20 years. The atmosphere is fantastic, very romantic and terrific service. The cost has consistently risen to the point where for three people it cost us $450. We did get a $60 bottle of wine and everyone had one $15 cocktail prior to dinner. Don't get me wrong, its a great experience, but $450 makes this a place that is close to being crossed off of my special occasion list. Everything is A-La Carte, even the sauces for your steak are charged at $4 per sauce...crazy. Clearly the business is going well as they have invested in new outdoor dinning space and refreshed the interior...I guess that will continue as long as people like me keep shelling out silly money for a first class meal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Our meal was fabulous! Our waitress was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Our meal was fabulous! Our waitress was also great. They almost called us to tell us about an accident nearby. How many restaurants are that thoughtful. Our meal was delicious! The chef wrote Happy Anniversay on our dessert plate. How sweet. Thank you Milton Inn.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Historic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Has always been a great place for my wif ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Has always been a great place for my wife and I to enjoy special occasions or if we just wanted to enjoy a glass of wine at the bar and relax.

Tags: Private Room, Historic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

love the milton inn. it is always consis ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 27, 2016

love the milton inn. it is always consistently good food and good service. And each room has a different feel, but all are nice and cozy.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have frequently dined at this distingu ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 23, 2016

I have frequently dined at this distinguished "Inn" since the 1960's as it has gone through the hands of various owners. Generally, it has been excellent and over the years my wife and I have hosted many family and business functions here which have been very memorable and enjoyable. We miss our usual waiter Garth who was always so capable and reliable.

Our recent dining experience, with our guests, was remarkable for exceedingly slow and poor service - we actually had to find our wait staff member ourselves following a long delay while seated at our assigned table. The food quality was very good, as we expected, but the service needs urgent management attention.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

The food and service were phenomenal as ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 23, 2016

The food and service were phenomenal as usual. The seafood andor blew away my father and the swordfish was cooked to perfection. The short ribs were incredibly tender and my kids also loved their meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

In fairness, I think this evening was no ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 20, 2016

In fairness, I think this evening was not The Milton Inns fault... but I've always loved the inn for a quiet dinner. A group of only 4 came in and was exceptionally loud!!!! Ruined my night n moving from a great server would have been unfair to him.. the food and service as always was great!!!

I'd go again..... but may request a quiet corner if possible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

First time at The Milton Inn. The food ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 19, 2016

First time at The Milton Inn. The food was delicious. The inn itself is beautiful. Service was impeccable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there on a Sunday near the end o ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We were there on a Sunday near the end of the brunch so there were very few other customers, which we did not mind. Our waiter was very attentive. Everyone enjoyed their food and the ambiance.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Built in 1740, it was once a boys school ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Built in 1740, it was once a boys school. The restaurant is first rate and the food is spectacular, so was the service. Its a beautiful historical building, one I hope will be preserved for generations to come. What a lovely place to eat.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of our favorite places for f ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This is one of our favorite places for fall and winter dinners because the place is so beautiful. It is used to be that you could get a quiet meal by dining in the "old kitchen" room, but now they put big groups in their too which makes the noise level a bit much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

An old stand-by that still delivers. A c ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

An old stand-by that still delivers. A charmer with old school ambiance in a cozy setting that offers interesting, quality, well presented food offerings. Not trendy or cutting edge, but a good choice with reliable results. Great serve staff in an atmosphere that gets a bit crowded and hectic on busy nights.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.