About Milton Inn

14833 York Road
Sparks, MD 21152
View Larger Map

The Milton Inn, a 276 year old field-stone building in Northern Baltimore County,is counted among Maryland's historic treasures. It is believed that construction of the Inn began in 1740 and it has grown and changed over the years to become one of the premier country dining spots in the United States. The tradition of excellence has continued to grow under the current ownership Milton Fare Inc, who purchased the business in 1997. Executive Chef/Owner Brian Boston was named Chef of the Year by the Restaurant Association of Maryland in 2011.Chef Boston has also received many other awards including The Five Star Diamond Award by The Academy of Hospitality Sciences , The DiRoNA Award,and top ratings from Zagat. The Milton was named The Best restaurant in the Counties by The Baltimore Sun . Over the years , the Inn has engendered a legacy of romance and numerous couples have become engaged in its candlelit dining rooms and open air garden terrace. Many return year after year to celebrate!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday -: 5:30pm - 8:30pm, Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 7:30pm
Sunday Brunch 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 771-4366

Website:
http://www.miltoninn.com/

Catering:
They offer customized menus, serving 30-1000 guests.

Parking Details:
On-premise parking, free

Executive Chef:
Brian Boston

Private Party Facilities:
Circa 1740 stone mansion available, customized menus for 10-150 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Brian Boston: 4107714366x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Milton Inn offers catering services on and off premise from intimate parties of 10 to grand tented events up to 300 guests. We will make your birthday,anniversary,corporate event, wedding or any other milestone perfect. Whether you choose one of our beautifully appointed dining rooms,a tented event on our manicured grounds, or venue of your choice;The Milton Inn will provide you with the excellent food,service,ambiance and attention to detail you expect from a Brian Boston property.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 4:00PM - 5:30PM 7:30PM - 8:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 7:30PM - 8:00PM

Fri - Sat 8:30PM - 9:00PM

Milton Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Baltimore / Maryland
Romantic
Baltimore / Maryland
Special Occasion
Baltimore / Maryland
9 More
Contemporary American
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Overall
Baltimore Suburbs
Best Food
Baltimore Suburbs
Best Service
Baltimore Suburbs
Best Ambiance
Baltimore Suburbs
Romantic
Baltimore Suburbs
Special Occasion
Baltimore Suburbs
Contemporary American
Baltimore Suburbs
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Baltimore Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Sparks ›

special occasion (99)
romantic (78)
fit for foodies (58)
See All
notable wine list (37)
neighborhood gem (30)
great for brunch (22)
good for groups (16)
great for lunch (11)
scenic view (7)
great for outdoor dining (4)
late-night find (2)
hot spot (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1800 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Baltimore region has many excellent ...

Dined 3 days ago

The Baltimore region has many excellent restaurants but only a handful rise to the level of "special occasion worthy" experiences. In my opinion, The Milton Inn is near that top of that list. Excellent food, incredible staff, and an overall awesome dining experience. If you're celebrating a special occasion or trying to impress, you won't go wrong with the Milton Inn.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food in a lovely setting. Dri ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Excellent food in a lovely setting. Drinks are very good but priced like you are in NYC! Be aware...

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service

Dined on May 9, 2016

Always a great meal and atmosphere. Our server, John, was great and provided terrific service throughout the evening. We always look forward to planning special dinner dates here.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent dining experience - ALWAYS

Dined on May 8, 2016

The service is always excellent, the menu delightful ( and delicious) and the experience is always wonderful. Even on Mother's Day we were taken on time and there was no change in the excellent service. We always look forward to dining at the Milton Inn.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Mothers Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

A neighborhood restaurant, the Milton Inn is usually a great place for an intimate dinner or a celebration.......we are frequent visitors and really enjoy having such within a 15 minute ride

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Worth the time and $$

Dined on May 8, 2016

Took my Mom there last year for Mother's Day and she specifically asked to go back this year. The food was excellent and always is - lots of attention to detail. Must have caught them on a shift change - I had reservation which they called me twice to confirm and when we arrived the table was not ready - we had to wait - not good however the food and service made up for it. I'm going to back in the winter so I can see the fireplace lit in the hearth room - it's huge!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Mothers Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

Second year in a row attending the Mothers Day brunch. Enjoy the meal very much.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The Host/Hostess group were very sophomo ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The Host/Hostess group were very sophomoric in their performance. I would expect a higher standard for this level of restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Mother's Day at Milton Inn

Dined on May 8, 2016

Brunch was terrific with a great selection from a fixed price Mother's Day menu. I would definitely recommend the Milton Inn for special occasions. Only concern was the room between tables was very tight to move around the room.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service4

First time there and the restaurant did ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

First time there and the restaurant did not disappoint. Great food, good service, and a very neat (historic) place. Restaurant is on the pricier side; however, the food and experience were worth it. Would definitely recommend.

food5
ambience4
service5

It was great to get back to the Milton I ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

It was great to get back to the Milton Inn again. Truly a special occasion place.

food4
ambience4
service4

Overall the food was very good. The sala ...

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

Overall the food was very good. The salads were kind of bland, we expected something more unique at such an upscale restaurant

food4
ambience5
service4
value1

Good but overpriced

Dined on April 30, 2016

You would think a $50.00 entree might come with a small salad that might cost the restaurant $.50. You can have a salad if you want for $12.00! Stupid expensive but a beautiful setting and great service. very special occasions only.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As great as always

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

We went on a "date" last Saturday night and were treated like royalty. Appetizers, entrees sides wines and service were all superlative. Even though the restaurant was somewhat busy, our server , Tom, a long -time employee, never missed a beat. What a wonderful evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

A rare mildly disappointing night @ the Milton Inn

Dined on April 30, 2016

We were celebrating our 21st anniversary last weekend at the Milton Inn, as we have for at least 15 previous years. Unfortunately, this was not one of our better experiences. Our waitress, who never told us her name, was probably overworked that evening, as she disappeared for way too long between the serving of our meal, ordering dessert, and the presentation of the check. We normally enjoy a nice 90-minute or so dining experience; this year, we were there for well over 2 hours. We also were never served any bread before our appetizers. The meal itself was very good, although my filet, while perfectly cooked, was just a tad underseasoned. The crab cake was delicious, though. The peanut butter delight lived up to its name for dessert. It was still a nice evening, and we'll return next year, but if we have another experience like this, have to look elsewhere to celebrate year 23!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outdoor patio

Dined on April 18, 2016

My one and only comment about this restaurant is WHY would you wait until it is gorgeous outside to start to remodel your patio area. Don't you realize we spend all day indoors working and want to breath fresh air when we get off work. The bar area is nice and the wait staff amazing but it is dark in there.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Ate in the bar , which has he full menu ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Ate in the bar , which has he full menu and a small plates menu . We have been eating there for years , we enjoy the food and service very much .

food5
ambience4
service1
value2

Good but rushed

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

We were greeted by the waiter and hastily read the specials. We selected our wine and the waiter promptly delivered it. Bread was shortly there after followed by the Entree just a few minutes after (literally). The whole affair seemed very rushed. The setting is charming but we had no time to enjoy our surroundings even though the tables were only 75% full. Coffee at $5 each seemed to top off what we considered an overpriced and rushed meal. With all that said the food was excellent. We have visited in the past and had a markedly different experience.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

A truly wonderful experience. Will retur ...

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

A truly wonderful experience. Will return the next time I am in the area. We ate in the lounge from the small plates menu. It was a great way to try several items from the larger menu.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quaker Inn

Dined on April 1, 2016

The Milton Inn first attracted us because of its history. We have returned because of the food & ambiance. We will return on another trip to this area.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

This Easter Brunch laid an egg!

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Until this experience, we had always had exceptional service at Milton Inn. On this occasion, our waiter was disinterested, seemed confused and was not at all attentive. While the restaurant was unusually crowded on this day, the tables serviced by another waiter were properly attended to with the opposite of our service. The food is always good, but is starting to get predictable.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was excellent Specials were just th ...

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Food was excellent Specials were just that- special Very expensive but very good

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love the Milton Inn!

Dined on March 18, 2016

Over the last year I have "rediscovered" the Milton Inn and try to get there about every 3 months. The food is fantastic and the location and ambiance amazing - this is a great place for special occasions or just a great night out. We are never rushed and have spent 2 1/2+ hours there with no need to rush. The staff are attentive, and yet you really don't know they are there. I'm looking forward to going back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A truly historic gem, great food, fab atmosphere.

Dined on March 14, 2016

I can not heap enough praise on this place. How rare is it to find such a historic gem that is truly a great restaurant with the most satisfying food and lovely romantic atmosphere. Absolutely Brilliant. Service was great as well. Beer selection decent, wine selection great. Ambiance terrific. I can not wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

small plates

Dined on March 12, 2016

we had multiple small plates and they were perfect. this is how to taste lots of foods without getting too full. compliments to the chef! the waiter was excellent too!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

I've always liked the Milton Inn but rec ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

I've always liked the Milton Inn but recently I've heard grumblings the restaurant has gone down hill, both in terms of quality and service. I didn't take much stock in the rumors and was looking forward to a nice meal with my family. It started off nice but quickly declined. It took 15 minutes to order drinks, another 20 just to order our meal and it wasn't even crowded. We had our 9 y.o. daughter so we were clearly not there to have cocktails and enjoy a four hour dinner. Our waiter was hard to find, our drinks were not refilled, water glasses were left empty, and never did get a second tea or beer for my hubby. My filet was overcooked to the point there was NO pink what so ever and I ordered it medium. I always order filet and I've never had it so overcooked. It was like I ordered a filet at McDonald's. My daughter also ordered filet and she ordered hers medium well. It came out rare, and I mean rare. No one checked to see how our dinners were so we flagged down another waiter and asked to have my daughters filet cooked more, I didn't even bother with mine. My daughter's came out a second time medium rare and so she just gave up and didn't eat it. I was looking forward to dessert but since we couldn't find our waiter and had been there 2.5 hours because service was so slow, we had to skip dessert. When the waiter brought our bill he said he took off my daughter's filet which was nice and all, but why didn't he ever acknowledge the filet's were not cooked right or ask me how mine was or check on my daughter's when it came out the second time? He never said one word during the 2.5 hours we were there, only acknowledged it in the end. For $275.00 bill that included one beer, one ice tea, and one sprite, no other alcohol and a salad and entree for two of us and just an entree for my daughter and no dessert for any of us, totally ridiculous to have such awful service. I like a fine meal and don't mind spending the money but not at the Milton anymore.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The perfect place for a special occasion

Dined on March 12, 2016

We have been going to the Milton Inn for many years, & have never been disappointed in the food or service. We've had my husband's retirement party there as well as our son's wedding rehearsal dinner there. The food is always outstanding & well presented. Our birthdays & anniversary are always spent there also. It is by far our favorite restaurant! Love that we live so close to such a special place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently Superb!

vip
Dined on March 10, 2016

The Milton Inn provides an experience that any diner would appreciate. Service is seemless. The food in presentation and quality is not exceeded in the area. The setting is elegant, but at the same time cozy. Clearly, the chef goes the extra mile to craft wonderful taste combinations from the finest ingredients. Even a simply prepared filet mignon is beyond expectations. A salmon filet is executed at the perfect temperature with seasoning that enhances, but does not alter the flavor. Appetizers and desserts do not disappoint. The wine list has innovative selections at varied price points. Our birthday celebration will not be forgotten for years to come.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always outstanding, never fails.

Dined on March 10, 2016

Our "go to" Resturant for special events and when entertaining special guests. Milton Inn is consistantly great in; food offerings, specials, cocktails, at the bar or table side and, of course an excellent wine list. In addition there service is always professional providing just the right amount of attention, never rushing but present when needed. Which leads us to Tom, one of the best in Baltimore, over 15 years with Milton Inn, he is just superb. Finally, the atmosphere is inviting, elegant and relaxing with sparkling clean wine glasses and spotless silver, both a fetish of mine, particularly in upscale Resturants. How is so many fail in table settings that are clouded and spotted? Can only imagine what the kitchen looks like in those establishments.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience

Dined on March 10, 2016

The Milton is always a good choice. Full dinner or small plates are equally satisfying, and the wait staff is attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Milton Inn was wonderful. The food was ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

Milton Inn was wonderful. The food was spectacular! The service was friendly and attentive. Atmosphere is lovely. We had a great time.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

Dined on February 28, 2016

We went there for a Sunday lunch, choose the fix menu, for $35. Each had a different item, and all were delicious and the presentation was amazing. Usman was the perfect server, very pleasant personality, very well informed and professional. We ended taking boxes home, and Usman packed them perfectly, each bag had a note with the side inside. For years we go to Milton Inn for special occasion, and never been disappointed. We'll be back soon.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Wonderful food, service and ambiance

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

I've always loved the Milton Inn and this experience was no exception. The appetizers were so enticing that the three of us had nothing but apps for dinner and loved them all. Fois Gras, Seafood Martini, and the fresh salad of the day. Just enough dinner to still have dessert and espresso!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

Food was excellent. The waiter was very ...

Dined on February 22, 2016

Food was excellent. The waiter was very attentive. The atmosphere was impaired by the seating of a party of 16 in the small room where we dined. Was hoping for a quiet conversation during our meal... not possible.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First timers but we shall return!

Dined on February 17, 2016

Loved the idea of the small plates menu for myself..got to taste New and differently prepared dishes all of which were very pleasing to my palate. AND I didn't get that overwhelming feeling when one sees too much food served and then proceeds to eat it all. Our server was excellent, handled all four of us flawlessly and with charm and grace--will ask for her upon our return. Dining at its best in a charming place that has been a part of Baltimore's Best for many decades. BRAVO!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was outstanding

Dined on February 15, 2016

The wait staff and the food was outstanding. Me and my date had a great time and we will come back many times in the future.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful meal

Dined on February 15, 2016

We went for Valentine's Day and even though it was a prefix menu, the selections were adequate and wonderful. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal. A nice romantic dinner

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Milton Inn is an amazing restaurant

Dined on February 15, 2016

We went there for Valentine's and the restaurant was beautifully decorated. The food was amazing and the service was really good. The restaurant is located in an old historic building. I can't think of any negative thing to say. Highly recommend it for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely the best experience in Baltim ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Absolutely the best experience in Baltimore County:

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best meal I've ever had.

Dined on February 14, 2016

I decided to take my fiance' for Valentine's Day. The prix fixe menu had some wonderful choices. We were seated immediately on arriving for our 6:00 reservation. The restaurant was packed but we never felt rushed. Our waiter was very engaging. The ambience was very romantic. Our first course was a delicious crab salad over cucumber. They also made sure we had plenty of homemade rolls. For appetizer I got an insanely fresh seafood martini. She got the raspberry salad. Understated but very good. My entree was an incredible Rockfish topped with the best Crab Imperial I've ever tasted. It was accompanied by a very tasty beet risotto and perfectly cooked fresh vegetables. My fiance's lobster tail was much larger than advertised and cooked perfectly. She also had some sort of potato au gratin along with it, that were actually better than those at Woodberry Kitchen. For dessert I got a ridiculously rich cinnamon challah french toast Bananas Foster that we shared. We had to take her dessert with us. What was truly impressive were the number of affordable wine choices. I fully expected to pay $50+ for their "cheap" bottle of wine, but there were several choices in the $30 range. Still, it turned out to be the single most expensive meal for two I've ever had, but considering the overall quality we were well-satisfied. We will certainly go back again. Kudos to the chef and staff for an incredible evening.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.