Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.08mi
  2. Distance: 1.11mi
  3. Distance: 1.85mi
  4. Distance: 3.76mi
  1. Distance: 1.08mi
  2. Distance: 1.11mi
  3. Distance: 1.85mi
  4. Distance: 3.76mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.08mi
  2. Distance: 1.11mi
  3. Distance: 1.85mi
  4. Distance: 3.76mi
  1. Distance: 1.08mi
  2. Distance: 1.11mi
  3. Distance: 1.85mi
  4. Distance: 3.76mi

About Milton Inn

The Milton Inn, a 276 year old field-stone building in Northern Baltimore County,is counted among Maryland's historic treasures. It is believed that construction of the Inn began in 1740 and it has grown and changed over the years to become one of the premier country dining spots in the United States. The tradition of excellence has continued to grow under the current ownership Milton Fare Inc, who purchased the business in 1997. Executive Chef/Owner Brian Boston was named Chef of the Year by the Restaurant Association of Maryland in 2011.Chef Boston has also received many other awards including The Five Star Diamond Award by The Academy of Hospitality Sciences , The DiRoNA Award,and top ratings from Zagat. The Milton was named The Best restaurant in the Counties by The Baltimore Sun . Over the years , the Inn has engendered a legacy of romance and numerous couples have become engaged in its candlelit dining rooms and open air garden terrace. Many return year after year to celebrate!

14833 York Road
Sparks, MD 21152
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Hours:
Mon-Fri. seating from 11:30 am to 2:00 pm

Satruday & Sunday Brunch:
seating from 11:30 am to 2:00 pm

Dinner Hours:
Mon-Thu seating from 5:30 pm to 8:00 pm
Fri-Sat seating from 5:30 pm to 9:00 pm
Sun. seating from 4:00 pm to 7:30 pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 771-4366

Website:
http://www.miltoninn.com/

Catering:
They offer customized menus, serving 30-1000 guests.

Parking Details:
On-premise parking, free

Executive Chef:
Brian Boston

Private Party Facilities:
Circa 1740 stone mansion available, customized menus for 10-150 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Brian Boston: (410) 771-4366

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Milton Inn offers catering services on and off premise from intimate parties of 10 to grand tented events up to 300 guests. We will make your birthday,anniversary,corporate event, wedding or any other milestone perfect. Whether you choose one of our beautifully appointed dining rooms,a tented event on our manicured grounds, or venue of your choice;The Milton Inn will provide you with the excellent food,service,ambiance and attention to detail you expect from a Brian Boston property.

Specials

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $130.00

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Sundays and Mondays from 5:30 PM - 8:00 PM

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $130.00

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Sundays and Mondays from 5:30 PM - 8:00 PM

Details

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $130.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Certain restrictions apply, see menu on our site. RESERVATIONS REQUIRED. Special valid Jan 17, 2017 - May 17, 2017 on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Sundays and Mondays from 5:30 PM - 8:00 PM.

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Mother's Day Brunch at The Milton Inn. $47 per person three course Prix Fixe menu. Beverages, tax and gratuity not included in price. Deposit required for parties of 6 and over.

Milton Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (62)
Romantic (54)
Historic (54)
See All
Worth the Drive (48)
Good for Anniversaries (46)
Quiet Conversation (43)
Good for a Date (40)
Notable Wine List (33)
Cozy (31)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Fireplace (27)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Authentic (20)
Business Meals (14)
Bar Seating (12)
Great for Lunch (10)
Seasonal (9)
Local Ingredients (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Private Room (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Scenic View (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Fun (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Healthy (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Organic (2)
Casual (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Tapas (0)
Paleo Friendly (0)
Vibrant Bar Scene (0)
Molecular Gastronomy (0)
Sort By:
S
2151 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 hours ago

Milton Inn was disappointing, especially considering the price. My asparagus soup was fair. There was a skin on top of it. I thought that was strange. I had the scallops with grits and the scallops - the two that I had in the small portion - were black. They were not blackened scallops, they were seared scallops but they came out black. When I said something to the server about the scallops being black, she just said "I guess that's how they're supposed to be". They were not very good, nor were the grits. My friends had an egg dish, something similar to eggs Benedict, and it was supposed to come with asparagus. Neither of them received asparagus. One had broccoli with some mix of steamed vegetables, the other had the steamed veggie mix but no broccoli. They said something to the server and she went to the kitchen to get asparagus for them. Just 2 stalks each that looked lonesome on the plate. We've taken Milton Inn off our list for future get-togethers and that's a shame because it's a beautiful space. Just not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

Flawless meal. Exceptional value on Groupon, but still some really good specials always available, and very fair wine deals as well.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed dining at the Milton Inn for Easter. We had a party of 6 and we sat at a lovely round table which aided conversation. It was quiet so that no one had to shout. The food was very good albeit very expensive. Our dinner was about $80 per person with one bottle of wine and two extra glasses of wine. I would go again for a special occasion.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 16, 2017

A night out without our 1 year old. The food was great. The service was fantastic. We cannot wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Excellent as always. Service & food impeccable. Great for a special occasion.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 9, 2017

This is a special evening place. Prices are high, but the quality, service and atmosphere justify it. This time we only had appetizer portions (2 each) and a drink, but the experience was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 6, 2017

This historic inn is exquisitely maintained. I had my first date there about 55 years ago and it is as nice as then. The food is excellent with wide choice such as small plates, hamburger, watermelon gazpacho, and many other treats. The waitress was extremely knowledgeable about the food and the history (John Wilkes Booth attended school in the building). There was a full range of options from hamburgers to steaks. Its a wonderful place to use as a regular special dining place. My brother was married there 45 years ago.
There is a wonderful Orvis fishing store nearby in a 250+ year old house that is worth seeing.
This restaurant is one of a kind.

Tags: Historic, Fireplace, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Excellent food.
Outstanding service.
Friendly, professional, accommodating staff.
Traditional, historic, beautiful setting.
Fine dining as it should be.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Two couples were there for Milton Inn's Anniversary dinner. The food was ok, but not as good as expected. The lady working the bar and the lady serving our table were nice and efficient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Fantastic place! Food was amazing and presentation was impressive

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Food was excellent . We sat in the lounge. Our server was also tending bar. She was great ! One of the desserts that was featured was not available when we went to order dessert . Everything else was perfect

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 31, 2017

A relaxing, quiet environment. Service was excellent without being intrusive. Food was excellent to exceptional, for example, the onion soup, seafood martini, and rack of lamb (a special on this visit).

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The Milton Inn never disappoints. It is a fabulous venue in which to have a memorable meal.
Now that the $12 plates have been implemented in the Lounge, it's even more alluring.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Enjoyed a lovely meal in C.1740 Lounge with our server, Carol the bartender. We love the small plates especially the clams casino and the cream of asparagus bisque with shitakes and goat cheese crema. Food and service impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Our drinks were excellent, as was our appetizers asparagus soup and cream of crab. We each had the fillet mignon and while it was good we both thought it overpriced compared to Ruth Chris. Did not taste like prime aged beef. My wife had foie graz and it was perfect. I had the crab cake to go with my steak served with bernaise sauce. The bernaise sauce was very good however the crab cake tasted a little fishy. Our waiter Ousmane did an outstanding job.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 25, 2017

My wife and I dined at the Inn on a recent Saturday evening. We had made reservations well in advance and had requested a favorite table, only to be apprised by the hostess upon our arrival that they were not seating in that room this evening . Instead, she packed all the patrons on top of one another in the main dining room, seemingly for the benefit of the two servers. The noise level in the room was loud, the background music barely audible, and not the romantic experience we're used to (we dine here frequently) - very disappointing! Otherwise, the food was excellent as was our server (Ilya).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Great crab dishes. We thoroughly enjoyed the Maryland crab soup and the crab cake.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 24, 2017

This is our go-to place for special occasions with small groups of friends and family. It is an historic inn with intimate spaces, an excellent wait staff, and delicious food, relatively straightforward options and always well-prepared and presented.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 19, 2017

It was good, but expensive, for same money I'd rather go elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We loved the food and the service. The appearance of the restaurant is very historic and romantic. We loved the food-the Chef is the best!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Food was way to salty. Very, very expensive for what you get. Not sure is worthy.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Usually a very good selection for entrées. This time was not impressed with the selection as half of them had mushrooms in them. Other than that, great food and service as always.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 15, 2017

This was just the place to celebrate a birthday. It was comfortable but elegant. The service is superb. Braised beef with plum sauce and seafood medley were the entrees chose and both were excellent.

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The food was absolutely fabulous. Have never been disappointed with my meal at The Milton Inn. Some items are a little pricey, so a great restaurant for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I asked for a table in the room with the fireplace and I was seated right in front of the fireplace which was great Milton Inn is very accommodating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great food but very expensive!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We call this a neighborhood spot on;y because we live 6 minutes away. It is not a "corner bar" kind of place. We do enjoy the new small plates in the bar plan and have dropped in for that. Very good things on that menu. My dinner on Saturday was the Mushroom "napoleon" that is a regular favorite of mine. It was very well done this time-sometimes it seems a bit "tired". My husband's cake and steak was excellent as well. Lots of those delish potatoes!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Tom, our waiter, was fantastic. We all loved our meals.

Tags: Seasonal, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 26, 2017

My wife and I had dinner for our 16th anniversary. The service and food were exceptional. For our dessert course, the chef/waiter wished us a happy anniversary, which shows their attention to detail. It was a near perfect night. The only drawback to the evening had nothing to do with the Milton Inn's staff. We were seated near a rather loud group which dampened the mood at times but didn't ruin our romantic evening. We both look forward to having dinner here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Dinner at the Milton Inn was an exceptional experience. It was a first visit for us, and about 40 miles from where we live (though only 20 miles from the home of the friends with whom we dined). It turned out to be well worth the trip. The décor and ambience were everything you'd hope for in a well-maintained, 300-year-old inn, and the service was attentive, insightful, and unobtrusive. We found the menu more creative than expected, the wine list capable, and the evening's specials enticing. The core brilliance of the place for us, though, was in ingredients and preparation. The overall price tag for the evening wasn't inexpensive (about $350 for the four of us), but it was nonetheless a bargain for a well-integrated experience. We'll return without question.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Their food is great, unless you order a steak. Steaks at this place are not their stronghold. 3 out of 4 people ordered medium steaks and they all came out like shoe leather. For $45 id expect MUCH better. I wont return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 21, 2017

I ordered the day's special of filet mignon with crabcake. I ordered medium/rare to medium and received a very well-done piece of meat. The crabcake was delicious however. Otherwise nice meal, my husband really enjoyed his lamb chops. Waitress was helpful and delightful.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Impeccable service and perfectly done plates as always. We've been coming here for years and hope to continue for many more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2017

there was quite a wait until our waiter (who was very nice and very good) came to take our drink order. he was very knowledgable about the menu and pointed out for me those items that were very rich, with cream in them. i was so surprised to learn how many of them there were. i think the restaurant should decrease those rich items.

our dinner were both very good. i opted for the mushroom phyllo dish which was very tasty. drinks were well prepared and the creme brulee outstanding. and the ambience is beyond charming and cozy!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, People Watching, Cozy, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Consistently wonderful! We have NEVER been disappointed. The historic setting provides great ambience to match the superb food and service. We love this restaurant and look forward to going back soon!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I had booked my husband and my Valentine dinner reservation on open table three weeks prior to our visit. A few days before our visit someone called from the restaurant to confirm our reservation and asked if we wouldn't mind sitting upstairs...they must ask this question for the customers who have a hard time going up and down the steps. When we entered the restaurant the hostess couldn't find our reservation in her computer. I gave her my last name and she couldn't find it. She then asked for my first name and she couldn't find it with that either. They weren't that busy so she said she could seat us. We were then taken through the bar and into a back room that was very narrow and dark. We were the only ones seated back there so it seemed odd for a while. My view was of the back of the bar where the servers were hanging out. There was a group in the bar that were a bit noisy for this kind of a restaurant. Our server was attentive, although not very talkative. The food was great...my husband ordered the short ribs and I had the Seafood Andor entree. The wine and desserts were also good. I would recommend calling for a reservation and making sure you are happy with where you will be sitting. Overall we were happy with the Milton Inn.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 17, 2017

First, my wife ordered a steak, and was told they were out of that particular cut. This was 6:30 on a Friday night, not late on a Saturday night. How can they be out of an item at the beginning of the weekend? I will say that the steak that she did order was very good.

I ordered the large filet, and ordered it medium, and was assured that it would be pink and juicy throughout. When I cut into it (about an inch from the end) it was tough and mostly done. When I showed it our server, she agreed that it was overcooked. She took it back to the kitchen, and brought the SAME PIECE back to my table. It had been cut down the middle by the chef. Admittedly, it was reasonably pink in the middle of the steak (but not closer to the ends), and she said the chef said that was medium, and left it with me. So I tried it in the middle and it was still the driest, toughest filet I have had in a long time. No juice on the plate at all. I even tried pouring some of my wife's red wine sauce on it to moisten it up. It didn't help. Our server didn't come back to check on things until after our plates had been cleared, probably because she didn't want to deal with the situation. I normally finish a steak, and I left at least a 1/3 of it because it was so dry. I didn't want to make a scene because I was with my wife, but I was very disappointed at what was supposed to be a very nice restaurant. I don't think we will be coming back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 16, 2017

I do not recommend the lounge area for dining as it is small rather cramped and if the people at the next table are loud the whole ambiance is destroyed apart from that it was a great historic local restaurant

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Outstanding food. My only caveat was that the service started to lag toward the end, and we were kept waiting between the main course and dessert, dessert and the check, and then paying the check so we could leave. Rarely happens though, and we have patronized the Milton Inn countless times. Probably a fluke.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.