About Millioke

323 E. Wisconsin Ave.
Milwaukee, WI 53202
View Larger Map

The name "Milwaukee" comes from an Algonquian word Millioke, meaning "Good", "Beautiful" and "Pleasant Land" as the Milwaukee area was originally inhabited by the Fox, Mascouten, Potawatomi, and Ho-Chunk (Winnebago) native American tribes. Millioke Meat Cheese and Beer is dedicated to the heritage within in its name. Millioke's Midwestern Cuisine is about foods true to the heartland featuring Wisconsin Dairy Products; cured smoked and grilled meats, and a variety of local favorite Craft Beers.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:


Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am, Saturday & Sunday: 7:00am - 12:00pm

Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Wisconsin

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 278-5999

Website:
http://milliokerestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Special occasions only. Call us for more information

Catering:
Custom menus available.

Parking Details:
Valet Parking available at the Marriott hotel. Off-site street and lot parking located close to the restaurant

Public Transit:
Milwaukee County Transit System

Executive Chef:
John Rudolph

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining and event dining at Millioke can be custom tailored for any experience. From the private dining rooms for smaller events, to the Jackson Street room for larger events, Millioke staff work with you to feature the best of our Midwestern cuisine for every occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Sarah Pearson: (414) 278-5999

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 7:15PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Tue 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Wed 5:00PM - 6:30PM 7:45PM - 10:00PM

Thu 5:00PM - 6:15PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Millioke Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Modern Decor (7)
Good for a Date (6)
Great Beer (6)
See All
Casual (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Fun (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Special Occasion (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Business Meals (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Private Room (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Authentic (2)
Historic (2)
Romantic (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Live Sports (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Cozy (2)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Family Style (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Healthy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
287 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The restaurant provides a good business lunch in the area. The tables are spaced well and the acoustics allows conversation without hearing what others are saying .

Good choice of items.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was very good, and the staff was nice. My only gripe was that the ambiance felt a bit like "diner" dining, instead of fine dining. Will visit again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Appetizers can be eaten as a meal. Good portions, reasonable price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This was a perfect place to dine on NYE. The food was out of this world and the staff treated us like celebrities. Thank you!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

AMAZING burgers!!! Great service!! I will definitely be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We ate here before the Jim Gaffigan show at the Riverside theater. The food was excellent and everyone enjoyed their meal and appetizers. Service was good and the place has a good vibe to it. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 28, 2016

My wife and I stopped by Milloke for lunch, it was a poor choice.

The food was not good; the tots were cold in the center, the cheese steak was flavorless, and the burger was a hockey puck. The one bright side was that the bacon, on both of our sandwiches was cooked nicely.

A manager did comp the meal, fortunately, we did not have to pay for this terrible experience. Most disappointing is that I really wanted to like this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great location. Service was horrid on xmas eve. Had 10 ppl total and everyone but bartender was grumpy no idea on food ingredients and preparations. Not going back.

Tags: Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Awesome food. Took my family for a nice Christmas Eve dinner. We wanted good food without having to get super dressed up, and that's exactly what we got. Great service, great selection of local beers. The brussels sprouts were amazing.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Historic, Special Occasion, Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Excellent experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Nice waiter. Fun. But the kitchen screwed up all the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Excellent food, had some appetizers as the meal to try a few things.

Tags: Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 15, 2016

My friend and I made early dinner dinner reservations--5:45pm--so that we could have an unrushed meal before a performance at 7:30. We ordered salads around 6:00 and it took our server over half an hour to bring our salads to us. Instead of having time to enjoy our food, we had 15 minutes to eat, pay and leave. The ironic thing is, when we met our server, he asked if we were going to a show and seemed very understanding of our time frame. I left the restaurant irritated and harried. The server apologized that our food came out so late and offered to give us a round of drinks if we ever came back but we won't be going back anytime soon. There are other options in the area for pre-theater dining that are better. From reading a few other reviews, our experience was not unique.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I have dinned here a couple of times and always enjoyed the food. Very, very good...had the filet and it was cooked perfectly at medium rare. The beer cheese fondue was also a huge hit with my wife.

The only negative was the slow service. We went on snowy Sunday night and I think there were 7 other people there, all sitting at the bar. It still took them 59 min to get our entree. I don't remember our servers name but he was an older gentleman, not that it matters but didn't seem to be working at full speed. I am for having a slow meal but not having our entree in that amount of time was a bit of a let down.

Other than that highly recommended.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 10, 2016

poor service , took forever to get our drinks, mediocre food, disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Food and the waitress' service were fine. The issue was that this was our employee Christmas dinner, and the reservation was made well in advance. Even so. we were placed at a crappy high-top near the bar. My expression made it abundantly clear that I was NOT happy when she asked if the high-top was okay, and when we inquired about a beautiful, large table in the corner, she tried to talk us out of it. I went along with it because I did not want to put a damper on the evening for our staff, but the evening was wrecked as far as I was concerned. I also wondered afterward if we double-tipped, because if a gratuity was added to the bill for a large party, the waitress did not tell us about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I really want to love Millioke, if for its name alone. Very nice place, and comfortable. They must have been understaffed as our waiter was hard to pin down. Food was good or very good, unfortunately I ordered the pork chop medium. I guess medium pork chop means "warm in the middle" as when I asked about I was told this is how we do it. In fairness it was a massive cut, and the part that was cooked was awesome. Apps were also awesome. Not off my list, would try again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 9, 2016

I made reservations on Open Table at 6:45., and asked the server about the happy hour specials. We got a few beers and appetizers along with dinner. I didn't notice until I got back to my hotel room that I didn't receive the happy hour pricing. I shouldn't have to think about making sure the bill was correct, however I get that I should have. 3 stars instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Millioke was a nice place to dine. Modern and classy. The menu is a little on the smaller side. We chose the burgers for something light for dinner. They are pretzel bread buns. Our waiter was fun, and had a good story about portion sizes.The pretzel is big, and the bacon wrapped shrimp were tasty. It is a good spot for dinner before a show.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We came to celebrate a birthday, and were incredibly impressed. The service was first rate, attentive and friendly but not overbearing. The food was unique and so delicious. And the desserts came with a candle for proper wish making! We will definitely return!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The ribeye was amazing! I'm looking forward to going back to try the charcuterie with a group.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Great Beer, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Very good quality food, . Great ambiance, . able to speak to everyone at a table of 10 without background noise.

Tags: Organic, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Great place for dinner beforer the theater.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Our server was so friendly and accomodating. We waited to be seated for a bit of time,but once we got our seats, we were taken care of fabulously. We were given a private room with a TV and it worked out so well with our 3 young children. If I lived in the area, I'd dine here regularly with my kids. Everyone enjoyed their meals. I am gluten free and they were incredibly accomodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 2, 2016

I knew the menu would be limited but I expected at least some specials. My daughter received the wrong meal and ended up eating on her own as we had all finished by the time her corrected meal arrived. The manager and staff were extremely apologetic and did not charge us for my daughter's meal. The soup of the day was not available nor was a couple of the signature cocktails. The restrooms were nearly 50 yards away from the restaurant through the hotel lobby. The food was slightly above average.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Very overpriced for what you get. Drinks are a tad overpriced & some apps not shareable for more than 2 people. Service was slow for it not being busy, I think our waiter would have rather been able to watch sports.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Pork chop was awesome! Robert was a good story teller and absolutely first rate wait staff.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Outdoor seating on Wisconsin Avenue was fun! Good beer and appetizer selections.

Service by Morgan et al was very friendly & attentive.

Tags: Happy Hour, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 9, 2016

First time visitor to restaurant.

Great for business lunch, efficient service, tables are ample size spreading presentation while eating.

The grilled Brussel sprouts with bacon are outstanding! !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 2, 2016

Amazing meal! Would go back in a heartbeat for the brussel sprouts and cauliflower gratin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Several very innovative dishes. Seating available inside or out. Great service.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Average food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2016

Our group of 5 met here for a birthday dinner. The staff were very helpful and energetic! Great restaurant and booth space is ample for groups.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Our server was not very knowledgeable or cheerful - he was a large part of the overall rating for the restaurant.

The appetizer - beer cheese fondue - was delicious. The risotto (ratatouie?) was good though the zucchini was burnt around the edges to the point it tasted badly. The squash was cooked well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 16, 2016

Wonderful, fantastic from start to finish can't say enough great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 15, 2016

Wow what great food and fantastic service by some of WI friendliest people ever. The food quality is superior in taste and presentation to what you will expect. And the prices are right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 9, 2016

We hadn't eaten at Millioke in at least a year, so returned for Downtown Dining. Our waiter enthusiastically pointed out that the specials were not all on the everyday menu. The apricot Brussels sprout salad and the chilled watermelon soup were both fantastic. The steaks were a bit grisselly. The lemon curd schaum torte was mostly curd with berries, which we preferred. There is a nice cocktail menu and a full selection of tap Sierra Nevada beers.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 9, 2016

Went here for downtown dining and was very impressed. Everything was very well prepared and creative, which I appreciate in my food. The white fish with sweet potatoes was absolutely perfect and melted in my mouth- my boyfriend's steak was equally well prepared. Since it was the downtown dining menu, not everything was what I would have chosen to have ordered, but we enjoyed it all the same. I looked at the menu and it definitely looks like I will be back sometime to try some other items. However, it is rather pricey so I will have to save it for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 9, 2016

Went here for lunch with a coworker. I had watermelon soup, the cheese burger, and a lemon curd tort. My coworker had the same soup, a turkey wrap, and a peach cobbler dessert. The soups tasted more like cucumber than anything else. The burger should have been medium and it was completely rare on the inside, with a burnt char edge. Both the deserts were bitter and not enjoyable. The decor was beautiful! Love the design, lighting, and furniture.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 6, 2016

The food and service were above and beyond what we had expected. Timely service, hot piping food made to our specifications.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 5, 2016

Great place to stop for a bite before going to see a show at the Riverside

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 4, 2016

My husband and I tried this restaurant for something different. We went during the downtown dinning meal. His whitefish was very good. I tried the steak which was too salty. My brussel sprout salad was lacking flavor as was his watermelon soup. My pound cake was soggy where as his lemon dessert was good. I would never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Food specials were great. Great atmosphere. Attentive Service. Page was a great server.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 3, 2016

The food was OK - I think because it Downtown Dining week, you could tell the fixed menu was premade. I would definitely recommend to people staying at the Downtown Marriott (it's connected to the hotel)

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 2, 2016

I dined here with a co-worker. The starters - watermelon soup, brussel sprout salad with dried apricot - were less than amazing. In addition, the presentation on the salad left a lot to be desired.

The entrees were both really good - chicken cobb wrap and a burger.

The desserts were already plated and we had to take them to-go which detracted from the experience. The lemon curd dessert was delicious but the soaked cake was not.

Overall, it was worth checking out during Downtown Dining Week. I don't know if I'll be back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 2, 2016

Service at lunch is quick, food is good, several beers on tap are extra bonus.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 31, 2016

Finally made it back here, love the cheese fondue, brussel sprouts, and burgers. They do happy hour 4-7, $5 appetizers and drink specials. They have a great patio for dining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Our first visit was for Mother's Day Brunch. I was nervous as we had never even heard of the restaurant. It was FANTASTIC. The staff was very friendly. Our server Oliver was top-notch. Great tasting food. Excellent service and value. We will be back for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 8, 2016

We went in for Mother's Day breakfast and our server Marvin was fantastic. He made our breakfast even better with his great personality. All of us had the Eggs Benedict. The hollandaise sauce was so silky and very tasty. We would definitely go back here for the breakfast. A little pricey but with the service we had it was definitely worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 27, 2016

My friend and I got together for dinner for the first time in years, and decided on Millioke. The food and ambiance were good, but the service really made the experience all the more special. Shauna is so friendly and attentive, and she has such a vivacious personality, that my friend and I were still remarking about her the day after our dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.