Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

About Mill House Brewing Company

Mill House Brewing Company is the culmination of years of professional culinary/hospitality experience, expressive design and construction, and craft beer artistry. Located in the rehabilitated Mill House at 289 Mill Street in Historic Poughkeepsie, NY, The Mill House Brewing Company offers a warm, historic, and visually appealing setting; casual, yet professional service, food cooked from as close to the source as possible, and artfully crafted ales. For our team, this means the commitment to the amazing farmers, cheese makers, and other artisans that make the Hudson Valley such an amazing place to live.
At Mill House Brewing Company, our philosophy is simple: provide a complete Hudson Valley dining experience, showcasing the regions most delicious offerings of food and beer.

289 Mill Street
Poughkeepsie, NY 12601
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Brewery, Comfort Food, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: Brunch 11:00am - 3:00pm, Dinner 3:00pm - 9:00pm
Monday through Thursday: 11:30am - 9:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 10:30pm
Saturday: 12:00pm - 10:30pm
Closed Tuesdays

Cross Street:
Garden St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(845) 485-2739

Website:
http://www.millhousebrewing.com/

Catering:
Mill House Brewing Company offers off premise catering for every affair, as well as beverage service with our hand crafted ales. Please inquire for your special event.

Public Transit:
Take the Metro North to the Poughkeepsie stop

Executive Chef:
Daniel Crocco

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Mill House Brewing Company Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (47)
Casual (35)
Fun (30)
See All
Good for a Date (29)
Good for Groups (25)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Comfort Food (24)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Special Occasion (23)
Bar Seating (20)
Worth the Drive (20)
Great for Lunch (20)
Hot Spot (16)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Cozy (14)
Happy Hour (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Authentic (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Quick Bite (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Business Meals (7)
People Watching (7)
Romantic (7)
Live Sports (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Seasonal (4)
Tapas (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Scenic View (2)
Spicy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Organic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
710 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Food is always great here! Live the craft beer selection. Would recommend for all occasions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

I had made reservations well in advance and was glad I did. there was a two hour wait for anyone without reservations. There were four of us and we all enjoyed everything...from the cocktails to the dessert! Will definitely go again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

The service was good but I ordered a burger and it came out without lettuce tomato or onion as stated in menu and French fries were cold. When I sent it back I got the same fries which were thrown back in the oil and fried so hard they weren't edible.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Went here to celebrate my friends birthday. Drinks and appetizers were great. When I asked to swap my potatoes out on my entree for a side a Brussels sprouts, the chef told my server no I couldn’t do that, but I could “void the potatoes and get a side a Brussels.” So they wanted to take away my side and charge me 7DOLLARS FOR BRUSSEL SPROUTS. Some friggin customer service.... you aren’t a fine dining nyc restaurant. Don’t be cheap and if your customer wants to swap a side for something you have on the menu... YOU DO IT.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Visited Poughkeepsie for the first time and so glad for the Mill House recommendation. Bar was fun and lively with great service and drinks. Atmosphere, food, service all excellent. I would visit over and over again! Highly recommend!

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Excellent food, service and great beer! The menu is so interesting. Great parking right in front.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

Fun atmosphere. We had a great time and enjoyed food. Would like more wine choices

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Amazing all the way around!! Every entree my table of four ordered were stupendous! You can taste the live in

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

Excellent service and total experience for our group!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Nice find close to downtown
Wide selection of appetizers ,entrees and drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Booked last minute and you were able to accommodate. Varied meal had something for everyone. Service was wonderful; helpful and considerate . Food was terrific! The only catch for a business meal was that it was a bit noisy on bar side; I’m betting the booths or upstairs would have been a little quieter. Loved everything and will be back; and recommending to other folks traveling into town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

On vacation in the area from NYC. Great food and service, on a par with popular restaurants in New York City. Would certainly return when visiting the area.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

Went there for brunch. Food was amazing. I would highly recommend it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2017

We have never had a bad experience at Mill House!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Fun, Happy Hour, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Very nice ambiance, each level was a little different. The food was delicious and price was on target. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Nice enough sports bar and pub to go to during the day but food really isn’t that great. Basically average.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fun, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Second time there. Very good again. Got my order wrong but fixed it. Pretty loud so don't plan for quiet conversation. Varied, strong menu, teenagers and adults enjoyed it very much.

Tags: Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 21, 2017

The food was very good and it had a great atmosphere. My only complaint was the price of a margarita of $12. It was a very good margarita, just a pricey! The food and service were top notch!

Tags: Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Sports, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 16, 2017

My daughter is a freshman at Vassar and we took her here for an early dinner. The menu had something for everyone in our family and it was delicious! We will definitely come back!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fun, Quick Bite, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Don't know what it is about Mill House, but these guys sure got it right. Great food, atmosphere and service. Highly recommended.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

We decided on this restaurant before a show at the civic center. Making the reservation on line was very easy. The food was very good and everyone in our party enjoyed their choices. But it was quite busy with lots of people dining before the show and the staff was not prepared at all which was surprising considering the close proximity to the Civic Center. We waited for drinks many times and overall didn't get the attention that we should have gotten from the wait staff.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Food came out Super Quick and was delicious. Impressive Craft Beer Menu.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

One suggestion, we were seated in the dining area on the ground level on the west side of the bar. While we were finishing our dinner a large group of people congregated around an adjacent table. The group was so large they were bumping our table, chairs and our friend while trying to finish our dinners. It might be a good idea to keep such large groups in the bar area until the dining room is cleared of diners. Besides that we had a wonder time with fantastic, creative foods, great beers and service! We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2017

I have to say it was the first great lobster roll I've had all year. Definitely a fun place to go to.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 4, 2017

I attended Mill House brewing because It had had really great reviews online and the menu looked delicious. I made a reservation through open table and in the comments made note that the person I was coming with had a food allergy and they were EXTREMELY accommodating to this. we started with the poutine appetizer and a flight of 5 to split and we were very pleased with it. I got the pulled pork sandwich for my dinner and that was DELICIOUS!!! I'm looking forward to returning my next time through town. I highly recommend the cucumber beer too!

Tags: Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great wings and we enjoyed the calamari salad. Stephani, our waitress, was awesome. Gave us free samples of beer to help us make a decision.
We will return!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2017

The service was excellent! Our food came out very quickly and was delicious. The beers were fantastic!

Tags: Comfort Food, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Brunch was excellent. Something for everyone. Service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Their house-made cucumber beer was amazing! Really great bar food and beer selection all around.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Even though I made a reservation, it wasn't ready. They said that it would be 20 minutes until my table was ready. I get it, things happen, you can't anyways turn tables over. But isn't that the point of a reservation? We were able to be seated on the patio, so that was fine.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

This was our first stop on a weekend getaway and it started our weekend off perfectly. Great beer, excellent food and perfect for a date night. It was very busy on a Friday night but we arrived for our 7:15 reservation early and were seated almost immediately. Worth the trip!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 25, 2017

A great find while visiting the area

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2017

As always the Mill House is comfortable and relaxing. The food is consistency good and the service is precise. The fish Taco appetizer is amazing gorgeous and delicious. I had one of the specials a pastrami on rye that was plentiful and tasty. My daughter had the rigatoni that was drenched in Gorgonzola cheese ( 5 star). My wife enjoyed her salad with topped with grilled shrimp. The beer is tremendous try a flight well worth it. The house wines are tasty and worth try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Came in from out of town and hotel recommended this restaurant and we were not disappointed

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

I did not see it on your list of what I would recommend about this place, so I will put it here. It is a GREAT centrally located spot for getting together with friends! Close enough to the bridge that we can meet people from Highland easily.

Tags: Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 17, 2017

We ate at Mill House on a trip to visit Vassar with our daughter. The menu was full of interesting dishes and the food was very good, beer selection was also nice. Our waiter was excellent, very personable but not pushy. The only caveat was that parking was tight -- Mill House has a lot, but it was full on our arrival. We parked at a church next door where there was clearly no activity, but that may not always be an option. Street parking did not seem like much of an option. Overall we enjoyed our visit and will definitely visit again should we find ourselves in Poughkeepsie.

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 16, 2017

I had such a delicious dish. Salmon with white beans, escarole and sausage balls. So flavorful. Wow!!!!! My daughter had sliced iron steak and I tasted. It was so tender and tasty.
I'm coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Food/service very disappointing.
Muscles, St Luis ribs, pulled pork sandwich, and short ribs... all unimpressive. Dry and lacking flavor. Appetizers were ok. Nothing special. Only wings they offer are BBQ. Fried pickles were cold. Perogies were bleh.
Beer was good.
Very surprised on overall experience...
based on trip advisor reviews.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

We came to Mill House Brewing for brunch and it was great! I recommend either the chicken and waffles or the Fig and "Pig" pizza.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Pretty good experience, but I desperately wish they had more vegetarian options...good cocktails and beer though!

Tags: Great Beer, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.