About Mill House Brewing Company

289 Mill Street
Poughkeepsie, NY 12601
View Larger Map

Mill House Brewing Company is the culmination of years of professional culinary/hospitality experience, expressive design and construction, and craft beer artistry. Located in the rehabilitated Mill House at 289 Mill Street in Historic Poughkeepsie, NY, The Mill House Brewing Company offers a warm, historic, and visually appealing setting; casual, yet professional service, food cooked from as close to the source as possible, and artfully crafted ales. For our team, this means the commitment to the amazing farmers, cheese makers, and other artisans that make the Hudson Valley such an amazing place to live.
At Mill House Brewing Company, our philosophy is simple: provide a complete Hudson Valley dining experience, showcasing the regions most delicious offerings of food and beer.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Brewery, Comfort Food, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: Brunch 11:00am - 3:00pm, Dinner 3:00pm - 9:00pm
Monday, Wednesday & Thursday: 11:30am - 9:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 10:30pm
Saturday: 12:00pm - 10:30pm
Closed Tuesdays

Cross Street:
Garden St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(845) 485-2739

Website:
http://www.millhousebrewing.com/

Catering:
Mill House Brewing Company offers off premise catering for every affair, as well as beverage service with our hand crafted ales. Please inquire for your special event.

Public Transit:
Take the Metro North to the Poughkeepsie stop

Executive Chef:
Daniel Crocco

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Mill House Brewing Company Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (56)
Casual (49)
Good for a Date (41)
See All
Bar Seating (39)
Creative Cuisine (35)
Comfort Food (33)
Fun (31)
Cozy (30)
Vibrant Bar Scene (25)
Great for Lunch (25)
Worth the Drive (25)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Happy Hour (24)
Good for Groups (24)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Special Occasion (21)
Local Ingredients (19)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Authentic (17)
Great for Brunch (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Hot Spot (15)
Quick Bite (14)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Wood Oven (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Business Meals (12)
Private Room (11)
Late-night Find (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Romantic (9)
People Watching (9)
Historic (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Family Style (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Seasonal (3)
Healthy (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Live Sports (2)
Live Music (1)
Scenic View (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
558 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My wife and son had burgers that were ex ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

My wife and son had burgers that were excellent. My burger was over-salted - not seasoned, just salted. Our waiter was nice, but never was around so my meal was gone and the opportunity for another excellent craft beer went with it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

The Mill House is right down the road fr ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

The Mill House is right down the road from my apartment. I love going and usually make my reservation through OpenTable. I have never had a problem with food or service.

This is a good place to go to just hang out with friends or for special occasion with a special person.

My fiance and I go when we want to celebrate or meet up with friends.

Great food! I highly suggest Josh's pie or the porky burger.

Tags: Wood Oven, Cozy, Great Beer, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Very nice place. My wife and I made a re ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very nice place. My wife and I made a reservation on valentines day and they got us right in. The beer was awesome and the bar looked amazing. It was loud but it was also packed that day. Overall I would go again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Mill House is as good as it gets in the ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Mill House is as good as it gets in the Hudson Valley. Unpretentious, and delicious!

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Casual, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food & service. Not rushed. Reaso ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great food & service. Not rushed. Reasonable price.

Tags: Business Meals, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, , Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Private Room, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Has a great atmosphere. Service was alit ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Has a great atmosphere. Service was alittle slow was only negative. Food was delicious

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Fast and friendly service with an creati ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Fast and friendly service with an creative menu full of delicious surprises! Go! Parking is tight but there are several municipal lots very close by.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Cozy, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Craft beer selection and taste were outs ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Craft beer selection and taste were outstanding!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

went for Sunday brunch. Excellent as alw ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

went for Sunday brunch. Excellent as always. Chicken and waffles are a huge hit! I've had them a couple of times and they are wildly popular. It used to be that the bloody mary's were just ok but now they are much improved. keep up the good work MHBC!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The hostess was most gracious when I had ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The hostess was most gracious when I had to change the number of diners twice! I made a reservation for 4 then when I arrived I found out we'd be 5 and as the hostess was reading a larger table I had to tell her we'd be 6. She smiled and gave us a larger table yet!

Tags: Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

First time there and really enjoyed it ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 3, 2017

First time there and really enjoyed it

Good food, good drinks

Enjoyed very much

Will be going again for sure

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I had been here one other time in the su ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I had been here one other time in the summer, and had the privilege of sitting on the patio and with friends. This past time, I had a booth and loved the experience inside. Amazing environment, good food (order the sausages), great beer, and a phenomenal place to dine for any occasion.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Wood Oven, Fun, Private Room, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food. A little noisy with the bar ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Great food. A little noisy with the bar so close to our table but otherwise good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Relaxed vibe. Nice booths. Food overall ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Relaxed vibe. Nice booths. Food overall good, pizzas fantastic. Second time I've caesar salad, and there was way too much dressing again. Nice beers. Excellent waitress.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food is always great! Love the chicken a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food is always great! Love the chicken and waffles for brunch. The fried chicken is so good it should just be on the regular menu all the time. Also the Buffalo Brussels sprouts are a usual for me. Blanquita is a really good cocktail. Great place to go for any reason, bday, special occasion or any day.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I love this place and can't get enough o ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I love this place and can't get enough of it! Their food is outstanding and the wait time is not long even when the place is full. The beer selection has increased and will appeal to just about anyone. The Russian Imperial Stout, Pandamonium, is a must-have. Overall, you won't go wrong if you come here, no matter the time of day - lunch, brunch, or dinner.

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Each time I go the food is consistently ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Each time I go the food is consistently good! I recommend the porky burger

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My 3rd time here and I have enjoyed the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

My 3rd time here and I have enjoyed the food immensely each time - comfort food done creatively and locally sourced as much as possible. If you like gastropubs and craft beer, you will really like it here!

Tags: Happy Hour, Authentic, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Our waitress Stephanie was terrific and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Our waitress Stephanie was terrific and so is the choice of beer.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Loren was our waitress and she was outst ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Loren was our waitress and she was outstanding! I do not live in the area but I did I'd be a regular! Can't wait to return.

Tags: Historic, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Casual, Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good, staff was very friendly, ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food was good, staff was very friendly, and just overall a very pleasant experience

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fantastic but a little on t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food was fantastic but a little on the salty side. Service was great! Can't wait to go back. Definitely get the beer flight!!!

Tags: Great Beer, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Entrees, dessert, atmosphere,

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Entrees, dessert, atmosphere,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Always great food and service. Been her ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Always great food and service. Been here a dozen times with family and we have never regretted a food choice. Fish and chips excellent. Amongst the best I've had and I order F&c frequently at pubs around the country traveling for fun and business.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Live Sports, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Everything about our visit at Mill House ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Everything about our visit at Mill House BC was amazing! We made a pit stop on our way from Philly to Vermont. I'm not one to write a review but in this case I had to make an exception (or simply an effort). From food to brews to great service (Lauren), everything was exceptional! We may even stop back on our return trip!

We started with the Buffalo Brussel sprouts and pork meatballs....Then flank steak... finished with the creme brûlée.... and OMG, blown away!! Absolutely delicious and very highly recommend! Thank you Mill House Brewing Company for an amazing experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always great here, but they' ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food is always great here, but they've changed the menu a little bit and we were missing the old style Pork Schnitzel which we loved and was served with mustard spaetzle and the most delicious red cabbage! The new Pork Schnitzel was ok but not as memorable. Would like to see more German style fare on the menu in the future, the perfect accompaniment with Beer. The New England Lobster Roll sandwich was a fine addition to the new menu, however and thoroughly enjoyable.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Casual atmosphere, attentive service wit ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Casual atmosphere, attentive service without feeling rushed. Food was delicious and well presented.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Casual, Fun, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The rotating menu always includes a grea ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The rotating menu always includes a great selection of comfort foods (land & sea), grilled veggies, burgers, and wine pairings. However, the food can get very salty at times. The prices and portions are very reasonable. Ambiance is perfect for a romantic dinner out. The service could be better.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee, Tasting Menu, Casual, Good for Groups, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

First today there. Will be back..loved ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

First today there. Will be back..loved everything about it.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Amazing staff, food and beer!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Amazing staff, food and beer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The portions were more than enough and w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The portions were more than enough and well worth it!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Live Music, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, cooked well and very tasty. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food, cooked well and very tasty.

Tried the 50/50 burger - delicious.

General TSO Meatball appetizer- they say that they are made on site- unfortunately they tasted institutional. Bummer.

Tags: Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I LOVE this place. It is my favorite res ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I LOVE this place. It is my favorite restaurant within the Hudson Valley. MUST GO. Great food and spectacular cocktails.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Private Room, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Fun, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, , Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Cozy, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Live Sports, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dined there early on New Years Eve '16. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Dined there early on New Years Eve '16. Thought it would be crazy loud and crowded, but it was actually only moderately crowded (good), not loud/noisy at all and quite a nice atmosphere for dinner. Fantastic food and drinks! Very eclectic menu without being too over the top weird. Great cocktails and beers. Had Lamb Shank from the specials menu and my SO had Beef Tenderloin. Both were perfectly prepared and presented. Especially like the shot and short option where you can have a selection of shots and a selection of beers. Deserts were excellent as well! Atmosphere is modern cozy and comfortable.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Mill House never fails to deliver. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The Mill House never fails to deliver. The food and drinks are delicious! The staff is excellent and take great care of the tables. It is our favorite spot to eat in the Hudson Valley.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

ALWAYS A GOOD TIME AT THE MILL HOUSE.... ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

ALWAYS A GOOD TIME AT THE MILL HOUSE....FOOD IS VERY GOOD AND GREAT BEER!

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great night out! Calamari salad and flig ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great night out! Calamari salad and flight of beers were awesome! Solid entrees..wee bit to much salt but still very good! Service and ambience excellent! Definitely going back to try perogies and hang out in summer!

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Wood Oven, Great Beer, Authentic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food& drinks as always!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great food& drinks as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Our son was home for the first time in t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Our son was home for the first time in two years, and we took him to the Millhouse. He had always wanted to go, and we were easily able to get a reservation. He enjoyed it quite a bit.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Good for Birthdays
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

This place is too dark in general. I wan ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 19, 2016

This place is too dark in general. I want to know what I am eating when I eat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.