Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

About Mill House Brewing Company

Mill House Brewing Company is the culmination of years of professional culinary/hospitality experience, expressive design and construction, and craft beer artistry. Located in the rehabilitated Mill House at 289 Mill Street in Historic Poughkeepsie, NY, The Mill House Brewing Company offers a warm, historic, and visually appealing setting; casual, yet professional service, food cooked from as close to the source as possible, and artfully crafted ales. For our team, this means the commitment to the amazing farmers, cheese makers, and other artisans that make the Hudson Valley such an amazing place to live.
At Mill House Brewing Company, our philosophy is simple: provide a complete Hudson Valley dining experience, showcasing the regions most delicious offerings of food and beer.

289 Mill Street
Poughkeepsie, NY 12601
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Brewery, Comfort Food, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: Brunch 11:00am - 3:00pm, Dinner 3:00pm - 9:00pm
Monday, Wednesday & Thursday: 11:30am - 9:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 10:30pm
Saturday: 12:00pm - 10:30pm
Closed Tuesdays

Cross Street:
Garden St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(845) 485-2739

Website:
http://www.millhousebrewing.com/

Catering:
Mill House Brewing Company offers off premise catering for every affair, as well as beverage service with our hand crafted ales. Please inquire for your special event.

Public Transit:
Take the Metro North to the Poughkeepsie stop

Executive Chef:
Daniel Crocco

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Mill House Brewing Company Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (55)
Casual (55)
Bar Seating (40)
See All
Good for a Date (37)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Good for Groups (32)
Comfort Food (31)
Fun (31)
Great for Lunch (30)
Cozy (29)
Special Occasion (28)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Happy Hour (23)
Worth the Drive (23)
Great for Brunch (21)
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
Authentic (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Quick Bite (18)
Hot Spot (18)
Local Ingredients (18)
Modern Decor (16)
Romantic (16)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Business Meals (14)
Late-night Find (13)
Private Room (13)
Wood Oven (12)
People Watching (12)
Historic (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Family Style (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Seasonal (5)
Healthy (5)
Live Sports (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Fireplace (2)
Scenic View (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Music (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Organic (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
S
601 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Always a great meal. Very imaginative and coherent menu. Total eating and drinking experience.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Fun, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Molecular Gastronomy, Cozy, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Overall very positive experience. The only room for improvement would be the timing of service, food came out very quickly with entrees served immediately after appetizers were finished.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Servers need training. Sat for about 9 minutes before a server fretted the table. During service we were a thought not a table for the server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 6, 2017

The beer was as good as it gets at breweries and they clearly put a lot of work into making their restaurant look absolutely marvelous.

Tags: Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Busy after work bar - quieter seating on other side of bar. Lots of tv screens for sports. Quick service even though it was busy. Food was great, as was beer selection. Would definitely return. Great if going to a show at Civic Center.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Afternoon Coffee, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Casual, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Great food and excellent brews! The service was great.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Private Room, Live Sports, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 5, 2017

The food was delicious! I recommend the fish tacos! Very cute decor and great service

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great food combinations and great beer and wine choices!

Tags: Great Beer, Tasting Menu, Fun, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Historic, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The food was great. We were quick to be seated. We love the buffalo brussel sprouts.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 30, 2017

One of our favorite places however service was off that night. We initially order cocktails which took about fifteen minutes to arrive. Our appetizers actually come out first. However appts came out one at a time so by the time everyone's came out they were cold. Half way through appts and drinks our entrees arrived "really" that should never happen. Sorry Mill House but it was a around terrible night.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Great food and nice friendly service! Loved the ribs and the little cornbread.

Tags: Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Dinner was pleasant enough. Certainly tasty. Service was great till we got to dessert when it took some time to receive it.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Went for an early Sunday dinner with friends and family. Great beer and great food!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We had a great time with very hood good in a cozy and nice room. I recommend it.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great time as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Mill House is one of our go-to spots when entertaining out-of-town friends. The menu is varied enough to accommodate all palates and all the food is fresh and meticulously prepared. There is a casual, bistro atmosphere but it is not so loud as to preclude conversation. Service is professional, friendly and attentive. Derek was very patient with our large party. Our friends were very impressed with the experience.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

By far the best brunch I've had in a while! The chicken and waffles was unreal and the peanut butter icebox pie was amazing! Great beer and coffee too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great Beer & food. Cheesteak and shoestring fries were amazing!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Great experience as always. The staff is very attentive, the food is always delicious and the cocktails are hands-down the best!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Beer is delicious with a great selection but I come for the fried calamari salad & pizza. Perfectly cooked.

Tags: Great Beer, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

This was our first time there. Great beer selection. The food is every bit as good as it looks in there photographs. Huge selection on the menu. Our server was knowledgeable about the beer and food

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We had a very good experience. We ate fried pickles, a burger, pizza and drank some different beer. The food and beer were great!

Tags: Great Beer, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I've been here a number of times before so I decided to take my family here for brunch for my birthday. They had our reserved table ready immediately and we were welcomed by our server within 2 minutes. Our server was very attentive and our waters were constantly filled. This was my first time here for the brunch menu and I was very impressed and so was my whole family. There was something for everyone.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We absolutely love Mill House! This is our go to restaurant for an amazing meal. The brunch menu was outstanding.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Casual, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 11, 2017

the soft pretzels and beer cheese were delicious. our food was great, desserts were yummy, and the beer flights were good. Zoe (a beer) got 3 thumbs up at our table

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Went today with high expectations; slight disappointment was on the menu. The highlight of the meal were the Pretzel Nuggets with cheese. The lowlight was my wife's pricey short rib; one portion of meat was cooked well, could be pulled apart with a fork and tasted alright, but the rest was very tough, like bad steak. Have had short ribs many times, but never this bad. My son and I had burgers, which were middling at best (especially for $18 a piece). I am not sure we will return for anything other than pretzel nuggets and beer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Very nice place for getting together with old friends, some of whom drove 2 hours to meet. Ambiance and service were excellent. Staff understood our need to spend some time and didn't rush us. Most of the food was quite good, but the roll on my lobster roll was stale. Chips also dry and overcooked. No other complaints.

A little pricey, but worth it for the creative menu. Enjoyed the beer sampler.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

FOOD WAS GREAT WAITER WAS GREAT Place was real nice would come back would like to have take out sometime again had a nice crowd for a snow day All Great

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Fun, Casual, Quick Bite, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Cozy, Modern Decor, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The food was good, but I was disappointed in the options for Restaurant Week. The options were very limited. I would go again, but not for Restaurant Week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We had a wonderful time at the Mill House. Everyone enjoyed their meal and our waiter, Derek, was excellent!!!

Tags: Quick Bite, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We went for Restaurant Week. The menu was limited, which we expected. The food was unacceptable, resulting in some of the dinners being comped. The spice was on a level that made the dinners inedible. Based on this experience, we will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The meatloaf was horrible. It had more pepper in it than beef. It was way too spicy. The salad could not be served without dressing. I prefer to use less dressing. And the dessert was in a throwaway plastic cup. Waste. Nothing special.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Our second rip to the to the Mill House was just as good as the first. Despite being very busy, the staff seated us on time and were very attentive and our meals were served as just the right time. The menu has enough variety for everyone and both my wife and I had enjoyable meals. For beer drinkers, the selection of their craft brews is excellent.

Good place for a very good meal and the ambiance is great.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Been here before just as good as last time great environment not too loud I would highly recommend

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 1, 2017

The food was delicious, as always. The service was spot on!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I attend Marist College about 10 minutes away from Mill House and the first time I visited with my family it instantly became our favorite restaurant in Poughkeepsie. The ambience is perfect, there is not one thing you could change to make it better. The food is superb and there is a great variety. I have gotten the margherita pizza several times and it's become my all time favorite pizza in all of New York, and the all american burger is excellent as well. Would recommend to this place to anyone who appreciates rustic yet cozy decor and exceptional food!

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great food and relaxing atmosphere!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

My wife and I ate at the mill house to celebrate her 40th birthday we had a 6:45 reservation and we're surprised that when we arrived at 6:30 despite all the people waiting we got seated immediately the food and beer were amazing and we plan on returning next time we are in the area

Tags: Historic, Healthy, Fun, People Watching, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This place is awesome, the food is excellent along with the service and the ambience is so nice! I highly recommend

Tags: Healthy, Hot Spot, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Casual, Vegan, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Brought our grandson and two friends for Saturday lunch while visiting him at Vassar College. Have been at the restaurant before an never fails to please all of us.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.