Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

About Mill House Brewing Company

Mill House Brewing Company is the culmination of years of professional culinary/hospitality experience, expressive design and construction, and craft beer artistry. Located in the rehabilitated Mill House at 289 Mill Street in Historic Poughkeepsie, NY, The Mill House Brewing Company offers a warm, historic, and visually appealing setting; casual, yet professional service, food cooked from as close to the source as possible, and artfully crafted ales. For our team, this means the commitment to the amazing farmers, cheese makers, and other artisans that make the Hudson Valley such an amazing place to live.
At Mill House Brewing Company, our philosophy is simple: provide a complete Hudson Valley dining experience, showcasing the regions most delicious offerings of food and beer.

289 Mill Street
Poughkeepsie, NY 12601
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Brewery, Comfort Food, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: Brunch 11:00am - 3:00pm, Dinner 3:00pm - 9:00pm
Monday, Wednesday & Thursday: 11:30am - 9:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 10:30pm
Saturday: 12:00pm - 10:30pm
Closed Tuesdays

Cross Street:
Garden St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(845) 485-2739

Website:
http://www.millhousebrewing.com/

Catering:
Mill House Brewing Company offers off premise catering for every affair, as well as beverage service with our hand crafted ales. Please inquire for your special event.

Public Transit:
Take the Metro North to the Poughkeepsie stop

Executive Chef:
Daniel Crocco

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Mill House Brewing Company Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (50)
Casual (47)
Bar Seating (35)
See All
Good for a Date (33)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Comfort Food (29)
Fun (28)
Great for Lunch (25)
Special Occasion (24)
Happy Hour (23)
Cozy (23)
Good for Groups (23)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Worth the Drive (22)
Great for Brunch (21)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Authentic (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Local Ingredients (17)
Hot Spot (16)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Romantic (13)
Modern Decor (13)
People Watching (12)
Quick Bite (12)
Late-night Find (11)
Wood Oven (10)
Business Meals (10)
Private Room (9)
Historic (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Family Style (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Healthy (5)
Seasonal (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Scenic View (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Tapas (2)
Fireplace (2)
Live Sports (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Music (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
584 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

By far the best brunch I've had in a while! The chicken and waffles was unreal and the peanut butter icebox pie was amazing! Great beer and coffee too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

Great Beer & food. Cheesteak and shoestring fries were amazing!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Great experience as always. The staff is very attentive, the food is always delicious and the cocktails are hands-down the best!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Beer is delicious with a great selection but I come for the fried calamari salad & pizza. Perfectly cooked.

Tags: Great Beer, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We had a very good experience. We ate fried pickles, a burger, pizza and drank some different beer. The food and beer were great!

Tags: Great Beer, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I've been here a number of times before so I decided to take my family here for brunch for my birthday. They had our reserved table ready immediately and we were welcomed by our server within 2 minutes. Our server was very attentive and our waters were constantly filled. This was my first time here for the brunch menu and I was very impressed and so was my whole family. There was something for everyone.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We absolutely love Mill House! This is our go to restaurant for an amazing meal. The brunch menu was outstanding.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Casual, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 11, 2017

the soft pretzels and beer cheese were delicious. our food was great, desserts were yummy, and the beer flights were good. Zoe (a beer) got 3 thumbs up at our table

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Went today with high expectations; slight disappointment was on the menu. The highlight of the meal were the Pretzel Nuggets with cheese. The lowlight was my wife's pricey short rib; one portion of meat was cooked well, could be pulled apart with a fork and tasted alright, but the rest was very tough, like bad steak. Have had short ribs many times, but never this bad. My son and I had burgers, which were middling at best (especially for $18 a piece). I am not sure we will return for anything other than pretzel nuggets and beer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Very nice place for getting together with old friends, some of whom drove 2 hours to meet. Ambiance and service were excellent. Staff understood our need to spend some time and didn't rush us. Most of the food was quite good, but the roll on my lobster roll was stale. Chips also dry and overcooked. No other complaints.

A little pricey, but worth it for the creative menu. Enjoyed the beer sampler.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

FOOD WAS GREAT WAITER WAS GREAT Place was real nice would come back would like to have take out sometime again had a nice crowd for a snow day All Great

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Fun, Casual, Quick Bite, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Cozy, Modern Decor, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The food was good, but I was disappointed in the options for Restaurant Week. The options were very limited. I would go again, but not for Restaurant Week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We had a wonderful time at the Mill House. Everyone enjoyed their meal and our waiter, Derek, was excellent!!!

Tags: Quick Bite, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We went for Restaurant Week. The menu was limited, which we expected. The food was unacceptable, resulting in some of the dinners being comped. The spice was on a level that made the dinners inedible. Based on this experience, we will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The meatloaf was horrible. It had more pepper in it than beef. It was way too spicy. The salad could not be served without dressing. I prefer to use less dressing. And the dessert was in a throwaway plastic cup. Waste. Nothing special.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Our second rip to the to the Mill House was just as good as the first. Despite being very busy, the staff seated us on time and were very attentive and our meals were served as just the right time. The menu has enough variety for everyone and both my wife and I had enjoyable meals. For beer drinkers, the selection of their craft brews is excellent.

Good place for a very good meal and the ambiance is great.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Been here before just as good as last time great environment not too loud I would highly recommend

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 1, 2017

The food was delicious, as always. The service was spot on!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I attend Marist College about 10 minutes away from Mill House and the first time I visited with my family it instantly became our favorite restaurant in Poughkeepsie. The ambience is perfect, there is not one thing you could change to make it better. The food is superb and there is a great variety. I have gotten the margherita pizza several times and it's become my all time favorite pizza in all of New York, and the all american burger is excellent as well. Would recommend to this place to anyone who appreciates rustic yet cozy decor and exceptional food!

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great food and relaxing atmosphere!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

My wife and I ate at the mill house to celebrate her 40th birthday we had a 6:45 reservation and we're surprised that when we arrived at 6:30 despite all the people waiting we got seated immediately the food and beer were amazing and we plan on returning next time we are in the area

Tags: Historic, Healthy, Fun, People Watching, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This place is awesome, the food is excellent along with the service and the ambience is so nice! I highly recommend

Tags: Healthy, Hot Spot, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Casual, Vegan, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Brought our grandson and two friends for Saturday lunch while visiting him at Vassar College. Have been at the restaurant before an never fails to please all of us.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 23, 2017

My children are extremely picky with food...they absolutely loved it ....everything we ordered was perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2017

My wife and son had burgers that were excellent. My burger was over-salted - not seasoned, just salted. Our waiter was nice, but never was around so my meal was gone and the opportunity for another excellent craft beer went with it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I was born in Poughkeepsie, NY and spent the first 25 years of my life living just a few miles south. There has always been a dearth of high quality restaurants that could turn your heads and pull in a crowd. Sure, there were a handful not to be missed and give credit where credit is due. But for the most part it was a sea of corporate chains.

I am so happy to report that Mill House Brewing (along with a few others) are turning the tides. The space is beautifully appointed. The staff was prompt and courteous. The drinks are creative and well executed. The food was absolutely delicious (actually, the best Huevos Rancheros I have ever had and if you saw me, you'd guess I know my way around a brunch, haha). Also, they managed to provide this great experience in the second floor dining room while seating a 20-30 person birthday in the same space. When you stack it all up, there isn't a complaint in sight.

I've lived in NYC for 5 1/2 years and it's very en vogue for my friends and clients to say "I am going upstate, is there anywhere we should know about to eat?" Yes, it's called Mill House Brewing Company and you should eat there at least twice while you're visiting.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Fun, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, People Watching, Historic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The Mill House is right down the road from my apartment. I love going and usually make my reservation through OpenTable. I have never had a problem with food or service.
This is a good place to go to just hang out with friends or for special occasion with a special person.
My fiance and I go when we want to celebrate or meet up with friends.
Great food! I highly suggest Josh's pie or the porky burger.

Tags: Wood Oven, Cozy, Great Beer, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very nice place. My wife and I made a reservation on valentines day and they got us right in. The beer was awesome and the bar looked amazing. It was loud but it was also packed that day. Overall I would go again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great food and a great staff. I will continually go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Mill House is as good as it gets in the Hudson Valley. Unpretentious, and delicious!

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Casual, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great food & service. Not rushed. Reasonable price.

Tags: Business Meals, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Private Room, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Has a great atmosphere. Service was alittle slow was only negative. Food was delicious

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Fast and friendly service with an creative menu full of delicious surprises! Go! Parking is tight but there are several municipal lots very close by.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Cozy, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Craft beer selection and taste were outstanding!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

went for Sunday brunch. Excellent as always. Chicken and waffles are a huge hit! I've had them a couple of times and they are wildly popular. It used to be that the bloody mary's were just ok but now they are much improved. keep up the good work MHBC!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The hostess was most gracious when I had to change the number of diners twice! I made a reservation for 4 then when I arrived I found out we'd be 5 and as the hostess was reading a larger table I had to tell her we'd be 6. She smiled and gave us a larger table yet!

Tags: Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 3, 2017

First time there and really enjoyed it
Good food, good drinks
Enjoyed very much
Will be going again for sure

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I had been here one other time in the summer, and had the privilege of sitting on the patio and with friends. This past time, I had a booth and loved the experience inside. Amazing environment, good food (order the sausages), great beer, and a phenomenal place to dine for any occasion.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Wood Oven, Fun, Private Room, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Great food. A little noisy with the bar so close to our table but otherwise good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Relaxed vibe. Nice booths. Food overall good, pizzas fantastic. Second time I've caesar salad, and there was way too much dressing again. Nice beers. Excellent waitress.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.