About Mill House Brewing Company

289 Mill Street
Poughkeepsie, NY 12601
View Larger Map

Mill House Brewing Company is the culmination of years of professional culinary/hospitality experience, expressive design and construction, and craft beer artistry. Located in the rehabilitated Mill House at 289 Mill Street in Historic Poughkeepsie, NY, The Mill House Brewing Company offers a warm, historic, and visually appealing setting; casual, yet professional service, food cooked from as close to the source as possible, and artfully crafted ales. For our team, this means the commitment to the amazing farmers, cheese makers, and other artisans that make the Hudson Valley such an amazing place to live.
At Mill House Brewing Company, our philosophy is simple: provide a complete Hudson Valley dining experience, showcasing the regions most delicious offerings of food and beer.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Brewery, Comfort Food, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: Brunch 11:00am - 3:00pm, Dinner 3:30pm - 9:00pm
Monday, Wednesday & Thursday: 11:30am - 9:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 10:30pm
Saturday: 12:00pm - 10:30pm
Closed Tuesdays

Cross Street:
Garden St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(845) 485-2739

Website:
http://www.millhousebrewing.com/

Catering:
Mill House Brewing Company offers off premise catering for every affair, as well as beverage service with our hand crafted ales. Please inquire for your special event.

Public Transit:
Take the Metro North to the Poughkeepsie stop

Executive Chef:
Daniel Crocco

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Mill House Brewing Company, Poughkeepsie, NY
Mill House Brewing Company, Poughkeepsie, NY

Mill House Brewing Company Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (50)
Comfort Food (38)
Good for a Date (38)
See All
Casual (37)
Vibrant Bar Scene (32)
Creative Cuisine (32)
Fun (31)
Bar Seating (31)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Good for Groups (26)
Worth the Drive (24)
Great for Lunch (24)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Cozy (23)
Special Occasion (22)
Local Ingredients (17)
Hot Spot (17)
Authentic (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Happy Hour (15)
Wood Oven (13)
Historic (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Quick Bite (9)
Business Meals (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Romantic (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Private Room (5)
People Watching (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Family Style (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Healthy (3)
Organic (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Live Sports (2)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Scenic View (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Fireplace (1)
Spicy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Music (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
511 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great experience. The wings and porky bu ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Great experience. The wings and porky burger exceeded our expectations. Definitely coming back and bringing friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great place for excellent food ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Always a great place for excellent food and drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One important word of advice-get the bro ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

One important word of advice-get the brown sugar butter cake for dessert. Trust me. You will never be the same again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Nice restaurant good food. They couldnt ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Nice restaurant good food.

They couldnt handle the crowd from a show from the civic center. So they were very overwhelmed understaffed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Love this Place for the food and great b ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Love this Place for the food and great beer. Every time we are in the area, this is a must do.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Great local brew pub with a lot of scrat ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great local brew pub with a lot of scratch and house-made options. Had tastings at a couple of previous spots so might be biased. Solid gastro/brew pub, very good sausage banh mi, missed temp on burgers a bit. Great shoestring fries. Staff seems very competent, good for casual crowd. Clearly can handle groups. Liked the two beers we had.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We had decided to tour some local Wineri ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had decided to tour some local Wineries for the weekend and based our stay in Poughkeepsie. Based on the reviews from Open Table, I made a reservation for a party of 6 for 7:00 pm. We arrived about 10 minutes early, however had to wait for about 30 minutes for our table as it was very crowded. The open kitchen setting allowed us to watch the chefs create some amazing dishes during our wait. We were seated on the 2nd floor of a very old building, the decor was wonderful, and although a bit loud in the room for our liking, the food was amazing and our friends that we were with felt the same. Highly recommend this restaurant..

Tags: Authentic, Wood Oven, Local Ingredients, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice meal and desserts were "delicious" ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Nice meal and desserts were "delicious"

Plan on returning

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We had some appetizers and tried a coupl ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We had some appetizers and tried a couple of recommended draft beers. Food was good, very nice atmosphere and excellent service. It was a little out of the way but so worth the drive. Will definately go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I visited Mill House Brewing Company wit ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 10, 2016

I visited Mill House Brewing Company with a few friends while we were in the Poughkeepsie area touring some of the historic homes in Hyde Park. It was the perfect way to end a pleasant day. I tried one of the beers on the list which was recommended by our server. It was an excellent choice. We ordered the pierogi appetizer. Really tasty and tender! We shared the strawberry salad and ordered the pork ribs and the short ribs. All were delicious choices. Our servers were knowledgeable and friendly. Overall, a great dining experience. I will visit Mill House again when in the area!

Tags: Cozy, Private Room, Fun, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Food was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

Mill House is a nice place for drinks an ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Mill House is a nice place for drinks and dinner. They brew their own beer, waiter recommended the Kold One and it was light and delicious. Nice atmosphere, exposed brick walls inside, and very good food.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Definitely a gem in the city of Poughkee ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Definitely a gem in the city of Poughkeepsie! The ambience was great and the food was excellent! Will go back again!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Was told by many that the Mill House was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Was told by many that the Mill House was great. We decided to go on a Friday for a date night. We loved the ambiance. Exactly what we want when we go out. The food was delicious and the the brewed beer was great, our waitress was very helpful on deciding which brew we should get. The only thing was we got the table for two that was kind of in the way for the waiters/waitresses. We were bumped a few times. Next time we go, we will hang out at the bar and watch a game. Definitely going back!!

Tags: Great Beer, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I dined during restaurant ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2016

My husband and I dined during restaurant week(lunch). He said the swordfish was tasteless but the sides were good. I had the hamburger which was very good but an alternative was not offered for the fries. I am on a restricted carb/sodium diet. I was offered asparagus at $4 per serving. I thought a vegetable should have been substituted without charge.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was very good, and our waitress was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Food was very good, and our waitress was super helpful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food, great beer, outstanding servi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Good food, great beer, outstanding service, & excellent atmosphere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Private Room, Quick Bite, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, attentive wait staff and exce ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Good food, attentive wait staff and excellent for business meeting. Prices seemed a little higher than usual. I would return and I would recommend.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Overrated. The cole slaw that came with ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Overrated. The cole slaw that came with the fish & chip was all mayonnaise the fish tasted like it was frozen. The batter was tasty though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

We always love it here! The food is alw ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We always love it here! The food is always fresh and excellent. It is of great quality too. The beer is outstanding.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just awesome! We've been hitting al the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Just awesome! We've been hitting al the restaurants in the area while our daughter in attending college in the area and this is by far the best! Service, drinks, and food were great.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Casual, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been here at least six times and I ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 28, 2016

I've been here at least six times and I order the roasted beet salad every time I go there - it's that good! My husband loves the fish and chips and he had a specialty pizza with shrimp on Friday and it was amazing! I recommend the HUBAR to anyone who loves hoppy beer - it's fantastic!!

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Healthy, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fun place with delicious food. Been twic ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Fun place with delicious food. Been twice and will definitely be back.

Tags: Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Casual, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Millhouse is an excellent restaurant in ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Millhouse is an excellent restaurant in the city f Poughkeepsie. Outstanding craft beer couples with an eclectic menu of small and large plates make it agreat stop for almost any occasion. Quiet it is not, but everyone there is having a great time.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice brewery. Had a great lunch on ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Very nice brewery. Had a great lunch on the way back from NYC.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

this was our second visit so we took our ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2016

this was our second visit so we took our kids to celebrate their 1st wedding anniversary. Great Beer, great food - excellent evening.... and took a special brew how to boot. We will be back!

Tags: Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Fun, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Comfort Food, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Service was great, my food delicious a K ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Service was great, my food delicious a Kale Caesar Salad with chicken but my husband thought his PORK SCHNITZLE was too salty and the cutlet dried out .

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was so yummy! Definitely coming ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food was so yummy! Definitely coming back to this place!

Tags: Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Wood Oven, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was superb..the menu offers so m ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Service was superb..the menu offers so many different choices and what we had was so delicious. Highly recommend it!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasantly surprised by the food quality ...

vip
·Dined on October 22, 2016

Pleasantly surprised by the food quality and table service. We were seated at the smallest, most cramped table at the site, despite the fact that we had reservations and arrived soon after opening. There was only one table occupied when we arrived. The staff demonstrated that they could count to two (the table barely accommodated 2 people) but did not demonstrate consideration for the customer.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Nice ambience and decor. Seating was qui ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Nice ambience and decor. Seating was quick. The popcorn was the saltiest smokiest I have ever encountered. The food was good hot and hit the spot. Again on the salty side but not offensively so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

I was not impressed. I thought the price ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 17, 2016

I was not impressed. I thought the prices were too high for what was on the menu, the service was slow, in fact the waitress never came around to refill our water glasses (I had to eventually ask for water and only got that one refill when I could have used more). There were 5 of us at the table and two of the meals came out roughly 10 minutes after the first three. I doubt I will ever visit that location again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Beautiful bar and restaurant, quite nois ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Beautiful bar and restaurant, quite noisy. Food was very good, sausages made on site. Nice beer selections, pick a beer and they can put it in a can for you. Made a reservation Sunday night, glad I did.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

As usual for a Saturday night the place ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

As usual for a Saturday night the place was packed. We had a reservation and had to wait a few minutes to be seated. I highly recommend the Oktoberfest. Everything was great as usual. we have been coming here since day one and my daughter actually worked here for 2 years . If you haven't been to MHBC you really should give it a try.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took the wife there for our 7th's annive ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Took the wife there for our 7th's anniversary date and thought they had good food, good portions, nice atmosphere.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Organic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Dining was a very nice experience but my ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Dining was a very nice experience but my food was not heated through. It was delicious after I received a reheat or remake.

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Busy Friday night. Place is real loud- ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Busy Friday night. Place is real loud- not bashing, just saying... All the food was excellent. Good thing we had great company though- appetizers were out quick, but our entrees did not come for a SOLID hour after that.

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Another great meal at Mill House Brewing ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Another great meal at Mill House Brewing Company with a few friends. This time we were on the 3rd floor which was a little chilly when we arrived. The wait staff was excellent, the food was amazing, and the Oktoberfest was awesome.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Live Sports, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A local favorite! This brewery keeps a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 26, 2016

A local favorite! This brewery keeps a fantastic, fresh tap list as well as an interesting (but not too fancy) menu. Craft beer at its best.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Historic, Fun, Wood Oven, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

service was a bit slow- that being said ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 24, 2016

service was a bit slow- that being said it was a friday night. ambiance was pretty good- seated in a nice private booth. Noise was fine/appropriate. My main disappointment was the food- ordered a grilled steak and shrimp dinner. Steak was tough and fatty. Shrimp was a little chewy.

Should have been much better for the cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.