Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

About Mill House Brewing Company

Mill House Brewing Company is the culmination of years of professional culinary/hospitality experience, expressive design and construction, and craft beer artistry. Located in the rehabilitated Mill House at 289 Mill Street in Historic Poughkeepsie, NY, The Mill House Brewing Company offers a warm, historic, and visually appealing setting; casual, yet professional service, food cooked from as close to the source as possible, and artfully crafted ales. For our team, this means the commitment to the amazing farmers, cheese makers, and other artisans that make the Hudson Valley such an amazing place to live.
At Mill House Brewing Company, our philosophy is simple: provide a complete Hudson Valley dining experience, showcasing the regions most delicious offerings of food and beer.

289 Mill Street
Poughkeepsie, NY 12601
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Brewery, Comfort Food, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: Brunch 11:00am - 3:00pm, Dinner 3:00pm - 9:00pm
Monday, Wednesday & Thursday: 11:30am - 9:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 10:30pm
Saturday: 12:00pm - 10:30pm
Closed Tuesdays

Cross Street:
Garden St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(845) 485-2739

Website:
http://www.millhousebrewing.com/

Catering:
Mill House Brewing Company offers off premise catering for every affair, as well as beverage service with our hand crafted ales. Please inquire for your special event.

Public Transit:
Take the Metro North to the Poughkeepsie stop

Executive Chef:
Daniel Crocco

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Mill House Brewing Company Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (58)
Casual (47)
Good for a Date (39)
See All
Bar Seating (38)
Comfort Food (36)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Special Occasion (34)
Great for Lunch (34)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Good for Groups (31)
Worth the Drive (30)
Fun (29)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Cozy (27)
Authentic (25)
Vibrant Bar Scene (24)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Happy Hour (23)
Sunday Lunch (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Hot Spot (21)
Great for Brunch (18)
Quick Bite (16)
Local Ingredients (16)
Business Meals (15)
Romantic (15)
People Watching (12)
Late-night Find (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Kid-friendly (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Family Style (6)
Wood Oven (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Private Room (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Seasonal (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Live Sports (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Tapas (3)
Fireplace (3)
Healthy (3)
Historic (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Spicy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Organic (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
646 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Mill House is one of my favorite places to eat in the Poughkeepsie area. Great food, large portions and great ambiance.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fun, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent place to meet someone and catch up. Met long time friend there. She lives in Kingston and we were in Fishkill NY. Great food. Rated # 1 restaurant in Poughkeepsie by Trip Advisor and Yelp. Now I know why!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Casual, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Nice atmosphere & great food
Enjoyed the decorations

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Our food was outstanding, as always. The only thing that could be improved was the service. It was not a very busy time of the day, yet our server seemed to not pay very close attention to us. However, he was very friendly and polite. I love MHBC, and will continue to patronize this excellent restaurant!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Fun, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Food was good. Service was terrible. Rest of my party was served. My food arrived 25 minutes later...and no one seemed to care.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We've dined at Millhouse many times since it has opened. The food never disappoints, nor does the beer. Unfortunately on this occasion the service was very slow. It was quite obvious the server was new, and although I can understand it taking a bit longer for a new server, it took almost a half hour for our drink order to be taken. Throughout the entire meal it took the server incredibly long to take orders, bring food and beer, and my husbands meal was never brought. When it came time to pay, the meal we never received was on it and it took an incredibly long time to get it resolved and finally pay the bill.
The experience will not deter us from dining at Millhouse, but it is unfortunate that the service was so lacking on this occasion.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I've been here a few times. It's got good food. Sometimes I have found the food to be very salty. They have interesting menu items and the beer is pretty good.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 17, 2017

My family and I visited Mill House for dinner on Saturday evening. When we arrived (early), our table was set up, there was no waiting. The wait staff was fantastic and the food was delicious. We had a great time, it was a nice ending to my birthday beer tour. Will defiantly be back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Fun, Late-night Find, Casual, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We had a wonderful experience! Great service and a great meal. Fantastic dessert special!!💜💜💜

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Authentic, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Initially, we waited a bit longer than we should have for service. However, the server we flagged down didn't hesitate to help, and he was great. The food is always excellent.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Great food. Lots of options. Fun atmosphere. The apple Waldorf and grape salad was delicious and was the broccoli rabe and short rib pizza we enjoyed. Menu is varied and offers everything from burgers to full course dinners. Service was wonderful

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Casual, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Good food with excellent service & ambience - the perfect spot for a reunion get together! Thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The food was amazing. Might be my new favorite place.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 7, 2017

First time there. Overall good food though my husband's entree was only OK. Service took a long time--two hours for dinner and dessert. People were very friendly. Good place for burgers, salads, sausages. We would go back--with our expectations managed.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Authentic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Chicken and waffles I could eat every day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Food was good and came out of the kitchen fast but our waitress was just ok. She was asked twice to have the AC blown in a different direction but it was never changed so it blew right on my back for the entire meal. She didn't seem very friendly either. She wasn't nasty or anything, I just think that was her personality.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Wonderful!!' Food is outstanding. Ambiance is charming. Service is friendly and efficient .

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Our food was really good. We ordered salads and they were very filling

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 2, 2017

This was our third time here and it never disappoints. Good service always refilling the water. Which to me is very important. Large portionselection and the desert was wonderful.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Authentic, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Wonderful as always!!!!! We have never been disappointed in the menu or the beer selections. Our favorite "go to" place.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Seasonal, Authentic, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Cozy, Fun, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 29, 2017

We were just passing through the area and decided to stop here for lunch since we usually try to stop at local restaurants instead of chains, even if it adds onto the drive. Boy, was it worth it! The food was outstanding, and the beer was great! Even though it's a two hour drive from our home, it would be worth a day trip just to go for a meal because there's so much more of the menu (both food and beverage) we want to try.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Visiting the area and we went to Mill House twice. Food was great both times, creative menu, huge portions. Only downside was that the servers were spread thin so service was a bit slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Service was horrible! We waited for ever for our server who then got switched. It took forever to order. It was freezing, you could feel a cold blast the whole time. Not a great experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The service and food are wonderful. The food comes out of the kitchen amazingly fast. Always a great time at this establishment.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 27, 2017

My cocktails were delicious, my steak was amazing. My girlfriend has numerous dietary restrictions and they were very accommodating and knowledgeable. A+

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Fun, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Casual, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Awesome place!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Worth the Drive, Fun, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Food and service were outstanding. For appetizers, we thoroughly enjoyed the calamari salad and the Thai mussels; sauce for each was excellent. For entrees, we had the halibut special and the seared chicken breast --- again excellent. We shared the samoa tart for dessert. Service was friendly efficient, and professional; when our entrees came out long before we had finished our appetizers, the waitress very willingly offered to bring them back to the kitchen and promised new dishes --- very professional. Overall, this a great restaurant with an extensive beer menu.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We had burgers and the branzino. Pretty good HB but the branzino was not really seasoned (I cook with lots of different spices), the portion was small and cut into three "chunks". I have had branzino whole, seasoned and cooked in a wood-fired oven and it was the best fish I have ever eaten. This presentation was lacking, under-seasoned and over-priced for the portion. Overall I doubt we will return as it was just okay food for too steep of a price. Noise level was loud but not unexpected given its brewery/bar atmosphere. The service was very good.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

perfect spot for an afternoon lunch. kid friendly. great food & drinks.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Disappointing...we really wanted to order from All Day Menu but had to order from Brunch menu which did not turn out to be very good. Just OK. Pizza and burger were good but had trouble finding omelettes we liked. Also they serve tater tots like ones made by Oreida!! Thats home fries??
We were celebrating a graduation and all we could hear was yelling from the Kitchen!!
All in all...a disappointing experience....
I did hear the steaks were good but we will never know.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Excellent food and great variety. The waitress was personable and knowledgeable.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Very generous portions at a reasonable price. Salads are huge and very good.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Great place to introduce a friend to Poughkeepsie. The food is consistently above average and the service is pleasant and quick. Good variety of appetizers. Salads are large and flavorful, and there are several choices. Have tried the burgers and sandwiches as well as the entrees. Often recommend Mill House to meet friends. Reservations are a good idea. Plenty of drink options too.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Cozy, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Loved the interior! Great selection of beers , fun cocktails and a good variety of foods for all!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Organic, Cozy, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Healthy, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 15, 2017

This is my second time at Millhouse. The food was excellent and the service was superb. Good crafted beer. Will repeat.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went for Mother's Day with my family. Service was phenomenal at every point from entering the restaurant until we left. The food was delicious also. Had an excellent time, can't wait to go back!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Took my mother for Mother's Day (she doesn't like doing the whole brunchy-brunchy thing), and we both loved it. It's not super fancy, but definitely elevated bar cuisine-chic. The food was fantastic - handcrafted and fresh. The renovations are gorgeous, and it's obviously a very cool spot. All of the servers and hosts were sincere and friendly, service was quick (even though it was packed), and the drinks were great. I highly recommend and I can't wait to go back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Solid gastro pub style menu and excellent beer selection. Not just the usual hoppy and more hoppy choices.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The service was marvelous--both servers and mansgement. The food is uninspiring. Pricey for the quality. Beers are very good. Great ambiance.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Casual, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Loved this joint! We sat at the bar and let Jason feed us and pour us drinks for 3 straight hours. He makes world class cocktails to go along with their amazing whiskey selection. Food ranges from good to incredible, with the ahi tuna tacos, General Taos pork meatballs, buff fried brussels and the sausage being the highlights.

Tags: Great Beer, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.