About Mill House Brewing Company

289 Mill Street
Poughkeepsie, NY 12601
View Larger Map

Mill House Brewing Company is the culmination of years of professional culinary/hospitality experience, expressive design and construction, and craft beer artistry. Located in the rehabilitated Mill House at 289 Mill Street in Historic Poughkeepsie, NY, The Mill House Brewing Company offers a warm, historic, and visually appealing setting; casual, yet professional service, food cooked from as close to the source as possible, and artfully crafted ales. For our team, this means the commitment to the amazing farmers, cheese makers, and other artisans that make the Hudson Valley such an amazing place to live.
At Mill House Brewing Company, our philosophy is simple: provide a complete Hudson Valley dining experience, showcasing the regions most delicious offerings of food and beer.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Brewery, Comfort Food, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: Brunch 12:00pm - 4:00pm, Dinner 4:00pm - 9:00pm
Monday, Wednesday & Thursday: 11:30am - 9:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 10:30pm
Saturday: 12:00pm - 10:30pm
Closed Tuesdays

Cross Street:
Garden St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(845) 485-2739

Website:
http://www.millhousebrewing.com/

Catering:
Mill House Brewing Company offers off premise catering for every affair, as well as beverage service with our hand crafted ales. Please inquire for your special event.

Public Transit:
Take the Metro North to the Poughkeepsie stop

Executive Chef:
Daniel Crocco

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wine, Wine Bar

Mill House Brewing Company Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (53)
fit for foodies (51)
great for lunch (43)
See All
vibrant bar scene (43)
neighborhood gem (42)
hot spot (41)
special occasion (25)
great for brunch (18)
great for outdoor dining (18)
kid-friendly (16)
late-night find (10)
romantic (8)
notable wine list (3)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
441 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Nice place for casual dining. The place ...

 
 (Ireland)
·Dined 6 days ago

Nice place for casual dining. The place has lively ambiance. The food was very good. I had the calamari salad which was nicely battered with spicy aioli. The portion is big and it was an appetizer. My partner had the housemade sausages which was also very good .

Our waiter was friendly but I have to say the manager Jeremy was excellent .

I will definitely go back if I am in the area.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I went on a Sunday evenin ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

My husband and I went on a Sunday evening at 6:30 pm, and the place was very crowded. Seating is tight and close, so not a good place for quiet, intimate conversations. The food was very good, and we both enjoyed our dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent food and upscale tavern food. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Excellent food and upscale tavern food. Great beer list and good choices for wine and cocktails. Ribs were awesome and so tender, Burger was the best my husband ever had! Menu was great for foodies...wish we could've tried more.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Meals were delicious. Service great. Onl ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Meals were delicious. Service great. Online reservation went flawlessly. Great atmosphere. Will definitely go again!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Welcome surprise to find this in Poughke ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Welcome surprise to find this in Poughkeepsie. Have heard about it for sometime and when we finally went, we had a good dining experience and really enjoyed the overall restaurant, and how it is improving the area. Beautiful building, and promotes the community .

The dining experience was good, in house brewed beer were very good, diversity and rounded selection.

Food was good and certain items tasted at the table were great others just good.

So as an overall experience, value for the money and food I would highly rate this restaurant, and higher rating for what it has done for the community.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was excellent! Our waitress was won ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Food was excellent! Our waitress was wonderful & very attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere, great food, overall g ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great atmosphere, great food, overall good experience. Only bad points were the beer was not cold in the flights we got. Our waitress kelly was nice to start but seemed to be in a rush as the night went on, I was asking her a question and she moved on to the next guest before I could finish. Perhaps other things on her mind!!

But as I said overall a good experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Always great food and a great experience ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Always great food and a great experience! That staff is always attentive and knowledgable of the menu with any questions you may have.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Memorable Fried Green Tomato appetizer w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Memorable Fried Green Tomato appetizer with salad on top, which could have been a meal for a small appetite. Delicious red snapper as well, especially the vegetable melange on which it was served. Very good service. Incredible Brown Sugar and Butter pie for dessert. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Omg the food here is amazing! I had an a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Omg the food here is amazing! I had an amber beer that I really didn't like but the beer Calle the kold one is pretty good, their double load baked potatoes are to die for! The pizzas are good as well! We got a sausage plate for my husband but it was undercooked and cold and wasn't to his liking, he ended up picking something else which was 10x better. We had the peanut butter sundae but I was very disappointed, not in the desert but the fact that I calls ahead and told them it was my husbands birthday and if they did anything special. I was told a candle and they would sing happy birthday, but instead we got our desert, with a candle, which the host handled with care and placed on our table, with nothing more to say but happy birthday. Pretty pathetic and sad. But it is what it is. We enjoyed the food and our server was really sweet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The food and the service was excellent. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food and the service was excellent. The selection of home made brews was awesome. I will definitely be going back and telling friends what a great spot The Mill House is.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Needed a bite to eat before heading to t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Needed a bite to eat before heading to the July 4th festivities being held at the Walkway Over the Hudson....and what a find this was. Loved the ambiance of the interior - wood beams exposed overhead - halfmoon shaped booths - rustic decor, but at the same time, updated to seem fresh and inviting. Waiter, Derek, was knowledgeable about food and brews - and was very personable as well. Though we didn't have entrees, the All American Burger and Fried Chicken Sandwich, were delicious. Shoestring fries were the best I've ever had! Can't wait to go back and try a full course meal, and perhaps, a signature dessert too.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was a great time with my friends. I w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

It was a great time with my friends. I will definitely be going back soon.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent and friendly! The ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Service was excellent and friendly! The menu was varied and everything we ordered was very tasty!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were very disappointed with the overa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We were very disappointed with the overall dining experience. Made reservations for Father Day since we had such a great experience on Mothers Day. We waited about 10-15 minutes for someone to come to our table and ask if we wanted something to drink. Never gave us the menu which contained the specials. There were people seated after us who received faster service. It was freezing where we were seated. After waiting another 10 minutes, the wrong drink was brought to the table. My drink was brought to me in the middle of appetizers. I had the B.E.L.T. and the bread was soggy. I couldn't eat it. Just very unhappy. Although I left more than 20% gratuity, I wouldn't recommend anyone going there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Usually lunch here when in the area. Fo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Usually lunch here when in the area. Food is always good and service is prompt but not overbearing. Dinner menu is the same as lunch

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was hectic. Some of the food was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Service was hectic. Some of the food was terrific and some we sent back.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

One of the Top 5 Margherita Pizza's I've ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

One of the Top 5 Margherita Pizza's I've had ... and fantastic value!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pizza is excellent as is the ramen.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Pizza is excellent as is the ramen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great Choice

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Tasty food. Amazing beer (try the Cucumber beer). The room lights can go up a notch, but all in all a great location for a fun night. Most micro-brew/ restaurants fall flat, but Mill House stands out as being the complete opposite. Worth a try.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our first time here. Food was fresh and ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Our first time here. Food was fresh and delicious. Velvet Panda Stoudt was a winner, great flavors. Fantastic decor. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Small portions, but tasty

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Small portions, but tasty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Dutchess County delivers for this Westch ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Dutchess County delivers for this Westchester family! Went on a recommendation from a friend who lives locally after the FDR museum. Absolutely wonderful food...upscale pub comfort food but done perfectly and delicious. Beer and drink menu was also excellent. Our waitress was wonderful and attentive. I will only say they should have cleared app before meal began but that is really our only critique. Love this place...had a wonderful walk on the Walkway over the Hudson post meal. This day proved to this family Dutchess has tons to offer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were surprised that a "beer place" ha ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We were surprised that a "beer place" had such good food and service! Oh and the beer was just as impressive. Delicious salmon and a perfect burger.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a good time. My friend didn't lik ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Always a good time. My friend didn't like her drink; they took it off the check and credited us $10 for customer dissatisfaction. That was a surprise, and demonstrates how important this is to management. Bravo!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always love the variety you can get at M ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Always love the variety you can get at MHBC (not just ordinary bar food and the same kind of food at most breweries) and the food is always good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good food. Some regular bat option ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Very good food. Some regular bat options as far as burgers, but so much more with great sausages, pork belly tacos, etc.. and a good selection of their own crazy beers (I think.)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

A great find!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

This was a gem for a college graduation dinner! We were greeted and seated promptly. The server was knowledgeable and personable. The food was delicious and prepared to perfection!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My girlfriend and I have gone here befor ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

My girlfriend and I have gone here before and we loved it! This time around however, we were very bad is appointed with our experience and wondered what had happened.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

Fun place. Great service. Pulled pork, r ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Fun place. Great service. Pulled pork, rigatoni bolognase and steak were all awesome. Pork scallopini was dry and the spätzle was tasteless. Good portions. Suggest reservations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Another Great Meal at the Mill House

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We've eaten at the Mill House several times now and have thoroughly enjoyed each visit. The food is great, service is excellent and what a fun atmosphere. We definitely recommend this to everyone.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently good food and good service.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

We have eaten here on special occasions and just because. We have never been disappointed. The food is served hot and is delicious. Lots of good servers here as well. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food and atmosphere! Would def ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Excellent food and atmosphere! Would definitely go again

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Heavenly brunch experience

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

This place never seizes to amaze me but their brunch is top notch . The atmosphere and service are fantastic .. We had a live acoustic performance during it all. The Rueban eggs benedict is by far the most delicious breakfast I have ever had and to top it all off I ordered the michelada. It was perfection. Just the right amount of heat and that pork belly garnish should be offered as a meal itself, Absolut heaven. It's great to have this quality near home.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Adventurous Menu, Great Beer

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Went for a dinner date, it's the first time we've left our son with a babysitter, so it was a special occasion for us.

We had a flight of beers, and they were all creative and delicious. Highlights for me were the cucumber cream ale (very interesting flavor), the Kilt Spinner (tastes like whiskey), and the Velvet Panda.

We also had buffalo brussels sprouts (amazing) and wings (brined in Kold One with Kilt Spinner BBQ, a little salty, but good).

Our meals were a little underwhelming after the appetizers. I got the fish and chips. The batter on the fish was crispy and delicious, but the actual fish was just a bit soft and unappetizing. It came with delicious steak fries, though.

My husband got a Thai sausage burger. It was delicious but had so many different flavors on it, it was actually kind of overwhelming. He said he wished there was just one less flavor. It came with some great shoestring fries.

To finish the night, we had a peanut butter sundae, which was great, and I also had a cocktail from their specialty menu, which was both tasty and easy to drink.

We will definitely be going back. The menu is extensive and adventurous and there are so many things we want to try!

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

pulled pork

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Pulled pork sandwich was fantastic! Great beer selection.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hot Spot!

 
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Mill House is consistently a great meal, fantastic brews and the staff is fabulous! When in Poughkeepsie, this is a must-go to restaurant and bar!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a great experience! Food is alw ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Always a great experience! Food is always delicious, especially dessert (Brown sugar butter cake)! Love the lively atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A must when in the Poughkeepsie area!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

A must when in the Poughkeepsie area!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Craft food and beer at moderate prices. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Craft food and beer at moderate prices. Food, drink, and service was all above and beyond, a definite must-go for any foodie or beer lover!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.