About Mill House Brewing Company

289 Mill Street
Poughkeepsie, NY 12601
View Larger Map

Mill House Brewing Company is the culmination of years of professional culinary/hospitality experience, expressive design and construction, and craft beer artistry. Located in the rehabilitated Mill House at 289 Mill Street in Historic Poughkeepsie, NY, The Mill House Brewing Company offers a warm, historic, and visually appealing setting; casual, yet professional service, food cooked from as close to the source as possible, and artfully crafted ales. For our team, this means the commitment to the amazing farmers, cheese makers, and other artisans that make the Hudson Valley such an amazing place to live. At Mill House Brewing Company, our philosophy is simple: provide a complete Hudson Valley dining experience, showcasing the regions most delicious offerings of food and beer.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Brewery, Comfort Food, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday, Wednesday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday, Wednesday - Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturday & Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Closed Tuesdays

Cross Street:
Garden St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(845) 485-2739

Website:
http://www.millhousebrewing.com/

Catering:
Mill House Brewing Company offers off premise catering for every affair, as well as beverage service with our hand crafted ales. Please inquire for your special event.

Public Transit:
Take the Metro North to the Poughkeepsie stop

Executive Chef:
Daniel Crocco

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wine, Wine Bar

Mill House Brewing Company Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Westchester / Hudson Valley
Best Restaurants in Poughkeepsie ›

fit for foodies (74)
good for groups (70)
vibrant bar scene (66)
See All
hot spot (55)
neighborhood gem (50)
great for lunch (47)
special occasion (32)
great for brunch (21)
kid-friendly (15)
romantic (13)
late-night find (13)
great for outdoor dining (13)
notable wine list (4)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
411 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4

Very good food. Some regular bat option ...

Dined 6 days ago

Very good food. Some regular bat options as far as burgers, but so much more with great sausages, pork belly tacos, etc.. and a good selection of their own crazy beers (I think.)

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great find!

Dined on May 20, 2016

This was a gem for a college graduation dinner! We were greeted and seated promptly. The server was knowledgeable and personable. The food was delicious and prepared to perfection!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food1
ambience4
service1

My girlfriend and I have gone here befor ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

My girlfriend and I have gone here before and we loved it! This time around however, we were very bad is appointed with our experience and wondered what had happened.

food4
ambience5
service5

Fun place. Great service. Pulled pork, r ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Fun place. Great service. Pulled pork, rigatoni bolognase and steak were all awesome. Pork scallopini was dry and the spätzle was tasteless. Good portions. Suggest reservations

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another Great Meal at the Mill House

Dined on May 7, 2016

We've eaten at the Mill House several times now and have thoroughly enjoyed each visit. The food is great, service is excellent and what a fun atmosphere. We definitely recommend this to everyone.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Consistently good food and good service.

Dined on May 2, 2016

We have eaten here on special occasions and just because. We have never been disappointed. The food is served hot and is delicious. Lots of good servers here as well. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and atmosphere! Would def ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Excellent food and atmosphere! Would definitely go again

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Heavenly brunch experience

Dined on May 1, 2016

This place never seizes to amaze me but their brunch is top notch . The atmosphere and service are fantastic .. We had a live acoustic performance during it all. The Rueban eggs benedict is by far the most delicious breakfast I have ever had and to top it all off I ordered the michelada. It was perfection. Just the right amount of heat and that pork belly garnish should be offered as a meal itself, Absolut heaven. It's great to have this quality near home.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Adventurous Menu, Great Beer

Dined on April 28, 2016

Went for a dinner date, it's the first time we've left our son with a babysitter, so it was a special occasion for us. We had a flight of beers, and they were all creative and delicious. Highlights for me were the cucumber cream ale (very interesting flavor), the Kilt Spinner (tastes like whiskey), and the Velvet Panda. We also had buffalo brussels sprouts (amazing) and wings (brined in Kold One with Kilt Spinner BBQ, a little salty, but good). Our meals were a little underwhelming after the appetizers. I got the fish and chips. The batter on the fish was crispy and delicious, but the actual fish was just a bit soft and unappetizing. It came with delicious steak fries, though. My husband got a Thai sausage burger. It was delicious but had so many different flavors on it, it was actually kind of overwhelming. He said he wished there was just one less flavor. It came with some great shoestring fries. To finish the night, we had a peanut butter sundae, which was great, and I also had a cocktail from their specialty menu, which was both tasty and easy to drink. We will definitely be going back. The menu is extensive and adventurous and there are so many things we want to try!

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

pulled pork

Dined on April 28, 2016

Pulled pork sandwich was fantastic! Great beer selection.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Hot Spot!

Dined on April 28, 2016

Mill House is consistently a great meal, fantastic brews and the staff is fabulous! When in Poughkeepsie, this is a must-go to restaurant and bar!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great experience! Food is alw ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

Always a great experience! Food is always delicious, especially dessert (Brown sugar butter cake)! Love the lively atmosphere!

food5
ambience4
service5

A must when in the Poughkeepsie area!

Dined on April 24, 2016

A must when in the Poughkeepsie area!

food5
ambience5
service5

Craft food and beer at moderate prices. ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Craft food and beer at moderate prices. Food, drink, and service was all above and beyond, a definite must-go for any foodie or beer lover!

food4
ambience5
service5

Beer was excellent. Recommend many sampl ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Beer was excellent. Recommend many samplers. Lol. Had the chicken and herb sausage. Taste was excellent. Was a little overkill with cheesy polenta and broccoli rab. Could have just been on a roll with a side salad. Also had the pretzel dog. Which was excellent. The sauerkraut was kind of plain. Overall. Love the atmosphere and the beer. Good was good.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food in Poughkeepsie

Dined on April 22, 2016

This was our second visit to the Mill House, and both were memorable for the good food. The first visit, we were part of a larger group; this one was family and friends. But the Mill House is no secret. Locals know it has some of the best food and drink in town. So, if you're headed there from out of town, make a reservation beforehand, or plan on a long wait to be seated. It's popular for good reason.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service3

Love the decor and lighting. A bit noisy ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Love the decor and lighting. A bit noisy but understable since it was a Friday night. Their parking lot is kinda small. Hard to find parking outside of the restaurant.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Deserves the high ratings!

Dined on April 20, 2016

Had a lovely lunch here with my daughter on our way to visit the Vassar campus. This is definitely a place for meat eaters -- the most distinctive parts of the menu are devoted to various pork and (homemade) sausage dishes. I had a Cassolette that was really outstanding. All the beer is brewed on the premises. I had very good IPA. Decor and ambiance are quite nice also.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Nice option for business travelers

Dined on April 18, 2016

Mill House offers a wide array of personalities with outdoor seating, bar seating, traditional seating and space for parties. High top circular booths were a hit with my group. We enjoyed the beer flights and the food was also very good. The salmon and price rib sandwich were both excellent. Great choice if you're in the area.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5

Great food. Never disappointing.

Dined on April 16, 2016

Great food. Never disappointing.

food3
ambience4
service5
value4

No curds??

Dined on April 16, 2016

The menu is outstanding, but I decided to try the poutine and the thai burger. Contrary to what was being claimed, there were no cheese curds, just grated cheese in the poutine however it was delicious. The thai burges, which are basicaly thai sausage patties were not quite cooked enough, but the taste was fine. But what is reason to go eat at a brewery? The beer of course. I am an IPA lover and the Hubar was excellent. The service was outstanding, I would go back any day.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This Place Is Awesome

Dined on April 10, 2016

Whenever we are in town, we make a reservation here. It's never once disappointed. The beers are outstanding, and the food is as good (or better). And we always get great service. This time, it was an amazing, friendly, prompt and dreamy server named Lauren, but every time out we've had similar experiences. Go here. There's nothing else to say.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First timers

Dined on March 27, 2016

Friendly service, great food, beer was great and a nice size parking lot. MAKE RRSERVATIONS!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Food very good. However, the scallop sp ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Food very good. However, the scallop special was overpriced with only two scallops on the plate.

food4
ambience5
service5

My friends and I came here for lunch dur ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

My friends and I came here for lunch during Hudson valley restaurant week. Everything was very good, and the cocktails were fantastic. Looking through the regular menu we will definitely be back for more!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Mill House

Dined on March 18, 2016

I have been to this restaurant before and we ordered appetizers and flights of beer. The atmosphere was vibrant and fun. It was formally the Panda House and the building has lots of history. The aspect the they make their own sausages and sell them by the pound at a butcher type counter brings home the integrity and authenticity of what they do. The menu changes seasonally and it is usually fresh and interesting. I go online lots to see what they are serving.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I reserved the table online and requeste ...

Dined on March 16, 2016

I reserved the table online and requested a corner table and they even had that table for our group of six.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Went here for a date night with my boyfr ...

Dined on March 14, 2016

Went here for a date night with my boyfriend. Everything was delicious. I recommend the mussels and poutine for appetizer. I'm not a big beer drinker but I found 4 of their craft beers that were beyond enjoyable. Music can be a little loud (but I enjoyed it).

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can't wait to visit again

Dined on March 13, 2016

This place was recommended to us by a coworker and we decided to try it for restaurant week. Great choice! We had amazing buffalo cauliflower, that I am still thinking about days later, short ribs, monkfish and the American burger. Ribs and fish were all cooked to perfection but as far as burgers and French fries go- best ever!! I am definitely coming back often!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Interesting place

Dined on March 12, 2016

They have an interesting array of food choices from something Asian to BBQ and of course there's the micro brews! Loved the busy, homey atmosphere. Portions are quite large and everything we had was excellent! Tends to fill up fast, recommend making a reservation.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Dinner with out of towners

Dined on March 7, 2016

I brought my brother and his spouse here for lunch during restaurant week. He was very apprehenisive about going to Poughkeepsie. I must say this experience totally changed his mind. He can't wait to be back in NY to try this restaurant out for another excellent meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

A Sunday evening with friends.....

Dined on March 6, 2016

We love the Mill House Brewery! The menu is full of awesome options and the food and beer never disappoint. Usually, the service is exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and experience !

Dined on March 6, 2016

Excellent food and experience !

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A local GEM !

Dined on March 4, 2016

The place is so well designed and the décor is perfectly done. Great house brewed beer, food is excellent every time and top notch service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jen

Dined on February 28, 2016

We eat Mill House regularly and it is always fantastic. Highly recommend it for a fun night out! Love the beer choices and they will let you sample beer if your not sure before you order. Great atmosphere and music.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great brew pub!

Dined on February 18, 2016

Enjoyed the beer and food at this terrific brew pub! Service was excellent. Lived the vibe of this place! Dined early (5:00 pm on a Thursday). Highly recommend making s reservation if you eat later. This place fills up in a hurry!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great

Dined on February 14, 2016

Your place is one of our favorites in the hudson valley. An excellent experience every time. We will keep coming back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant is fantastic, it is sort ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

This restaurant is fantastic, it is sort of an up beat city feel. The ambiance is very nice, unique decor, and dim lighting makes for a great feel all around. The food is absolutely fantastic, everything is cooked to perfection. The burgers, fish, lobster, or whatever you may choose from this scrumptious menu will not let you down I can promise you that! Definitely recommend!

food5
ambience5
service5

I've never had an underwhelming, let alo ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

I've never had an underwhelming, let alone bad, experience here. It is our go-to place for dinner, and we recommend it to everyone we know!

food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Great atmosphere and service

Dined on February 12, 2016

Service was exceptional, atmosphere very vibrant (kindly note it was a Friday evening), and decor and all around comfort was great. Food slightly on the salty side, however may be due to the fact that this is a brewing company. Although service was great, do not recommend bringing children. All in all, would certainly recommend!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.