About Mill House Brewing Company

289 Mill Street
Poughkeepsie, NY 12601
View Larger Map

Mill House Brewing Company is the culmination of years of professional culinary/hospitality experience, expressive design and construction, and craft beer artistry. Located in the rehabilitated Mill House at 289 Mill Street in Historic Poughkeepsie, NY, The Mill House Brewing Company offers a warm, historic, and visually appealing setting; casual, yet professional service, food cooked from as close to the source as possible, and artfully crafted ales. For our team, this means the commitment to the amazing farmers, cheese makers, and other artisans that make the Hudson Valley such an amazing place to live.
At Mill House Brewing Company, our philosophy is simple: provide a complete Hudson Valley dining experience, showcasing the regions most delicious offerings of food and beer.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Brewery, Comfort Food, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: Brunch 12:00pm - 4:00pm, Dinner 4:00pm - 9:00pm
Monday, Wednesday & Thursday: 11:30am - 9:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 10:30pm
Saturday: 12:00pm - 10:30pm
Closed Tuesdays

Cross Street:
Garden St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(845) 485-2739

Website:
http://www.millhousebrewing.com/

Catering:
Mill House Brewing Company offers off premise catering for every affair, as well as beverage service with our hand crafted ales. Please inquire for your special event.

Public Transit:
Take the Metro North to the Poughkeepsie stop

Executive Chef:
Daniel Crocco

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wine

Mill House Brewing Company Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (45)
Neighborhood Gem (41)
Vibrant Bar Scene (40)
See All
Fit for Foodies (39)
Great for Lunch (32)
Special Occasion (29)
Hot Spot (28)
Comfort Food (15)
Great Beer (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Late-night Find (12)
Good for a Date (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Fun (10)
Romantic (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Casual (8)
Authentic (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Historic (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Wood Oven (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Cozy (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Business Meals (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
People Watching (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Scenic View (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Family Style (2)
Private Room (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Spicy (1)
Live Music (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Healthy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
Newest
472 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

service was a bit slow- that being said ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

service was a bit slow- that being said it was a friday night. ambiance was pretty good- seated in a nice private booth. Noise was fine/appropriate. My main disappointment was the food- ordered a grilled steak and shrimp dinner. Steak was tough and fatty. Shrimp was a little chewy.

Should have been much better for the cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Two entrees that my husband ordered were ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Two entrees that my husband ordered were out of stock. He then ordered a steak & specified that it was to be medium to well-done. It came out rare. Waitress never suggested that it be returned, but he insisted. Steak came back on a plank all by itself with nothing for garnish or side. No apology. When the bill came, the steak was still on the bill - no offer to reduce, free drink, dessert, etc. She finally got the manager to take the item off the bill.

Also, the other 3 meals came out at different times, so while waiting, the other entrees got cold. Not a pleasant dining experience at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

We had a very enjoyable meal and beer at ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

We had a very enjoyable meal and beer at Mill House. The service was wonderfu we never waited long for our server to reappear.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was outstanding! Service was prompt ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Food was outstanding! Service was prompt and very nice.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mill House was wonderful, as always. Def ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Mill House was wonderful, as always. Definitely a favorite spot for us.

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great Beer, Historic, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Came here for lunch on Saturday. Althou ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Came here for lunch on Saturday. Although some of our party have eaten here before it was my first time. The menu was varied and had many options. The service was quick and the food delicious . We will be back.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have nothing but exceptional things t ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We have nothing but exceptional things to say about our dining experience! We booked our reservation on Open Table and we greeted immediately when we walked in and seated promptly. Our server was a delight and very knowledgable. The food did not disappoint! Every aspect of the meal was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waitress was great and attentive, an ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The waitress was great and attentive, and the food was tasty.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Menu had large selection, food was very ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Menu had large selection, food was very good and ambiance was excellent for a pub/restaurant/brewery. Server was excellent. Only disappointment was hostess initially seating us at worst possible table in the corner walkway where the bar meets dining area and the most customers and servers need to travel by. This seemed unnecessary as there were a couple of vacant booths and, at our request, we were seated at a booth.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

I love the variety at MHBC and the food ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I love the variety at MHBC and the food is always good. We didn't want big meals so we ordered from the bar menu: deviled eggs, tuna tacos, falafel and the pierogis. So good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful dinner as usual for 5. The re ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Wonderful dinner as usual for 5. The restaurant was very crowded at 7 pm the time of our reservation which are a must on Saturday nights. Our party was seated promptly by the hostess. Appetizers, entrees, and beverage where spectacular. The wait for the entrees was a little bit though. I tend to wonder if the capacity expansions of the Mill House is starting to effect the serving time and definitely the parking experience. We took a chance and parked in a municipal lot nearby that had no clue on how to pay. Always a great time and the staff is hospitable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We were a party of 4 for dinner on a Fri ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We were a party of 4 for dinner on a Friday night at 7:15. One person in our group arrived before the rest of us and had just received a cocktail when we arrived. We also ordered cocktails that took over 30 minutes to arrive at our table. It was so long that our friend had finished his first drink and ordered a 2nd which arrived before the rest of our initial drinks had! Appetizers arrived promptly and were fine- side salads and poutine. Entrees were served to 2 at the table. The other 2 arrived 30 minutes later! While the dishes were well prepared and flavorful, the portions were very small. The lamb special had about 5 very small slices of lamb and the red snapper was a tiny (<3 inch) filet. There were apologies for the poor service, but no offer to adjust the bill. Overall, a very disappointing experience.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

We were two couples, travelling through ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We were two couples, travelling through the Hudson Valley area and went into the Mill House for dinner.

While waiting to be seated, we watched the kitchen staff in action and were very impressed with their multi-tasking and speed and care in attractively creating each plate.

The disappointment came when my entree arrived.

I had ordered the Kielbossa and Perogies.

When delivered I received 1 sausage link and only 3, yes, 3 Perogies and 1 table spoon of sauerkraut for $16.00!

We all looked at each other in amazement and thought they either delivered an appetizer, or ran out of food!

To top it off, the sausage was incredibly heavy with salt.

After spending my entire career in the food / meat industry I know sausage, and this product would never be acceptable.

The restaurant atmosphere was great, the waitress was great, but the meal I was served was a huge disappointment.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

My wife and I go to Millhouse allthe tim ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

My wife and I go to Millhouse allthe time and love the food, usually the ambience, service. It's not the staffs fault and we are more forgiving as we understand how it can be, but the new bar seating area was so noisy that we couldnt even hear each other. My ears were literaly ringing as we left, kinda of ruined our introduction to our freinds who had never been. I just wanted out after my meal for some peace and quiet.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Historic, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Wood Oven, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value4

Great Brew and food as always! Tried som ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great Brew and food as always! Tried some of the specialty drinks from the bar this time around and they were just as amazing. Loved the Shine box and La Andrea. Poutine is awesome & the fig & pig pizza is a great appetizer for a group!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is one of our favorite spots in the ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

This is one of our favorite spots in the Hudson Valley. The one negative I must say is that they took out the most amazing item off their menu, the fried oysters... Are you kidding me? Those oysters were legendary and to have them gone breaks my foodie heart.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a great evening out with friend ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

This was a great evening out with friends and family.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Amazing beer and food. Their sausage wa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Amazing beer and food. Their sausage was great, I had the charred scallion and it was amazing. Mussels were not great, but server took care of it. My wife's salad was excellent. The double IPA was my fave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The beer was outstand, the food good and ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The beer was outstand, the food good and the place was hopping. Service was good and friendly. Glad we made open table reservations otherwise we would have had to wait for a table. Will go back again to try other menu items.

Tags: Fun, Historic, Comfort Food, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Each month we eat at a restaurant we've ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Each month we eat at a restaurant we've never tried before and last Saturday we ate at the Mill House Brewing Company and glad we did! Wait staff are friendly and knowledgeable; menu is inventive and their house made sausages are terrific! We'll definitely come back.

Tags: Casual, Organic, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Repeat visit. Great neighborhood gem. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Repeat visit. Great neighborhood gem. Had one of the daily specials which was great price and selection.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic food (and generous portions). ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Fantastic food (and generous portions). They make the sausage there, and it is excellent! Also, nice salads... my guess is you couldn't go wrong with anything. For beer lovers, they offer flights and the brews are an enthusiastic two-thumbs-up. Good server, good environment -- overall great experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, friendly helpful staf ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Excellent service, friendly helpful staff, good food, moderate deserts. A bit too noisy for quiet conversation but not overwhelming. Lively ambiance.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I was so disappointed. Was driving throu ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I was so disappointed. Was driving through and stopped for a quick lunch on Sunday. It seemed like the kitchen was just not operating. My BBQ chicken pizza arrived with cold cut-up frozen chicken tenders as the "chicken" on the pizza. I find this pretty unacceptable to serve and told my server. We were pressed for time and didn't want to wait for another dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

Had a really good time at Mill House Bre ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Had a really good time at Mill House Brewing Company! We had tickets to see The Jelly Jam at The Chance Theater just up the road, so we set reservations for 3 for a couple of hours before the show. We're from CT and not familiar with this area of NY, but the website and online reviews looked like it would be a fun spot to have dinner after walking on the Bridge over the Hudson. We were greeted by friendly staff, seated right away and our waitress was pleasant and very attentive. The food was delicious and unique, was served in a timely manner and we loved the cucumber pale IPA. Even bought a 32oz Crowler to bring home. :-) We'll definitely be making a return trip soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waitress was very attentive to us. B ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The waitress was very attentive to us. Best I have experienced in NY yet.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the 2 best restaurants we have fo ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

One of the 2 best restaurants we have found in Poughkeepsie. Excellent sausages made on premise, beers made on premise. Excellent service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

It was awesome. Great service great foo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

It was awesome. Great service great food There were 16 of us and we were all very happy

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was fantastic. Always ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food and service was fantastic. Always love going to the Mill House.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Mill House continues to be a favorit ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The Mill House continues to be a favorite. I could eat there once a week and not have the same thing twice, and everything would be amazing. The food and the beer are great, the staff is friendly, and the kitchen is super fast. You can linger for an evening over snacks and drinks with friends, but it's also a great place to grab a quick dinner and be on your way (reservations recommended if you are on a tight schedule, it's a popular place). I recommend the Mill House to anyone looking for dinner in the Poughkeepsie area and I feel very lucky to have it so close by.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We liked everything, but esp loved the F ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We liked everything, but esp loved the French Fries!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place for casual dining. The place ...

 
 (Ireland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Nice place for casual dining. The place has lively ambiance. The food was very good. I had the calamari salad which was nicely battered with spicy aioli. The portion is big and it was an appetizer. My partner had the housemade sausages which was also very good .

Our waiter was friendly but I have to say the manager Jeremy was excellent .

I will definitely go back if I am in the area.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I went on a Sunday evenin ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

My husband and I went on a Sunday evening at 6:30 pm, and the place was very crowded. Seating is tight and close, so not a good place for quiet, intimate conversations. The food was very good, and we both enjoyed our dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent food and upscale tavern food. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Excellent food and upscale tavern food. Great beer list and good choices for wine and cocktails. Ribs were awesome and so tender, Burger was the best my husband ever had! Menu was great for foodies...wish we could've tried more.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Meals were delicious. Service great. Onl ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Meals were delicious. Service great. Online reservation went flawlessly. Great atmosphere. Will definitely go again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Welcome surprise to find this in Poughke ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Welcome surprise to find this in Poughkeepsie. Have heard about it for sometime and when we finally went, we had a good dining experience and really enjoyed the overall restaurant, and how it is improving the area. Beautiful building, and promotes the community .

The dining experience was good, in house brewed beer were very good, diversity and rounded selection.

Food was good and certain items tasted at the table were great others just good.

So as an overall experience, value for the money and food I would highly rate this restaurant, and higher rating for what it has done for the community.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was excellent! Our waitress was won ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Food was excellent! Our waitress was wonderful & very attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere, great food, overall g ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great atmosphere, great food, overall good experience. Only bad points were the beer was not cold in the flights we got. Our waitress kelly was nice to start but seemed to be in a rush as the night went on, I was asking her a question and she moved on to the next guest before I could finish. Perhaps other things on her mind!!

But as I said overall a good experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Always great food and a great experience ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Always great food and a great experience! That staff is always attentive and knowledgable of the menu with any questions you may have.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Memorable Fried Green Tomato appetizer w ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Memorable Fried Green Tomato appetizer with salad on top, which could have been a meal for a small appetite. Delicious red snapper as well, especially the vegetable melange on which it was served. Very good service. Incredible Brown Sugar and Butter pie for dessert. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.