Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

About Mill House Brewing Company

Mill House Brewing Company is the culmination of years of professional culinary/hospitality experience, expressive design and construction, and craft beer artistry. Located in the rehabilitated Mill House at 289 Mill Street in Historic Poughkeepsie, NY, The Mill House Brewing Company offers a warm, historic, and visually appealing setting; casual, yet professional service, food cooked from as close to the source as possible, and artfully crafted ales. For our team, this means the commitment to the amazing farmers, cheese makers, and other artisans that make the Hudson Valley such an amazing place to live.
At Mill House Brewing Company, our philosophy is simple: provide a complete Hudson Valley dining experience, showcasing the regions most delicious offerings of food and beer.

289 Mill Street
Poughkeepsie, NY 12601
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Brewery, Comfort Food, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: Brunch 11:00am - 3:00pm, Dinner 3:00pm - 9:00pm
Monday through Thursday: 11:30am - 9:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 10:30pm
Saturday: 12:00pm - 10:30pm
Closed Tuesdays

Cross Street:
Garden St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(845) 485-2739

Website:
http://www.millhousebrewing.com/

Catering:
Mill House Brewing Company offers off premise catering for every affair, as well as beverage service with our hand crafted ales. Please inquire for your special event.

Public Transit:
Take the Metro North to the Poughkeepsie stop

Executive Chef:
Daniel Crocco

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Mill House Brewing Company Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (58)
Casual (42)
Good for a Date (39)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (36)
Comfort Food (35)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Bar Seating (33)
Great for Lunch (33)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Fun (31)
Good for Groups (31)
Special Occasion (30)
Worth the Drive (29)
Happy Hour (24)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Hot Spot (23)
Authentic (22)
Sunday Lunch (20)
Cozy (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Local Ingredients (13)
People Watching (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Business Meals (12)
Great for Brunch (12)
Romantic (12)
Late-night Find (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Quick Bite (9)
Tasting Menu (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Seasonal (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Spicy (2)
Organic (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Live Sports (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Family Style (2)
Tapas (2)
Private Room (1)
Fireplace (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
677 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

Came in from out of town and hotel recommended this restaurant and we were not disappointed

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

I did not see it on your list of what I would recommend about this place, so I will put it here. It is a GREAT centrally located spot for getting together with friends! Close enough to the bridge that we can meet people from Highland easily.

Tags: Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

We ate at Mill House on a trip to visit Vassar with our daughter. The menu was full of interesting dishes and the food was very good, beer selection was also nice. Our waiter was excellent, very personable but not pushy. The only caveat was that parking was tight -- Mill House has a lot, but it was full on our arrival. We parked at a church next door where there was clearly no activity, but that may not always be an option. Street parking did not seem like much of an option. Overall we enjoyed our visit and will definitely visit again should we find ourselves in Poughkeepsie.

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

I had such a delicious dish. Salmon with white beans, escarole and sausage balls. So flavorful. Wow!!!!! My daughter had sliced iron steak and I tasted. It was so tender and tasty.
I'm coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Food/service very disappointing.
Muscles, St Luis ribs, pulled pork sandwich, and short ribs... all unimpressive. Dry and lacking flavor. Appetizers were ok. Nothing special. Only wings they offer are BBQ. Fried pickles were cold. Perogies were bleh.
Beer was good.
Very surprised on overall experience...
based on trip advisor reviews.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

We came to Mill House Brewing for brunch and it was great! I recommend either the chicken and waffles or the Fig and "Pig" pizza.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Pretty good experience, but I desperately wish they had more vegetarian options...good cocktails and beer though!

Tags: Great Beer, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Needs more dairy free and vegetarian options

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Everything was amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great food. Fast and friendly service. Excellent beer.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Cozy, Fun, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Went here for group dinner during visit to Hyde Park area. Craft brewery with interesting choices like a cucumber ale (cucumber Blessings). I had the Amber Ale as did several others in our party. Would have liked a wheat style but they also lean towards Belgian styles. We had the fish and chips generous portion of beer battered cod and fries. Burger was good as was the sausage. Noisy and crowded on Saturday make a reservation.

Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 5, 2017

My wife were passing thru town. We shared the short ribs and the pulled pork sandwich. Both tasted great. The shoe string fries were awesome. The beer selection was good and the service was too. Will definitely stop. Y our next time thru the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Great food, Great beer, awesome service, and amazing dessert

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Great service, great food, and great beer! The menu may be slightly pricy, but you get what you pay for, both in terms of quantity and quality!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 1, 2017

One of my favorites! The food is amazing, love their specialty cocktails.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Fantastic food! Will definitely be going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Very good. Great service. Food was great. A little on the noisy side.

Tags: Fun, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 28, 2017

The sausage was great, and the brews were fresh and tasty. The service was very good. The waiter was very attentive and friendly. Overall it was a great experience as usual.

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 26, 2017

We were visiting the area from out of town and the hotel staff recommended it. The wait staff and kitchen went out of their way to accommodate my food allergies. Everything was delicious and cooked to perfection. I would return there if it weren't so far from home

Tags: Fun, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

The beer was great, as usual, and all of my friends were happy with their meals. I was a little disappointed because they took my favorite beet salad off the menu. I had the apple goat cheese salad which was good except it had too much dressing on it for me. My friends had fish tacos and lobster rolls and loved them! The server we had was excellent!! Overall, a great experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Great food choices and creative, delicious beer. Beautiful ambiance.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

We enjoyed every sip and bite of our meal from the appetizer to dessert! Truly unique dinner selections and craft beers! Don't miss the brown sugar butter cake to top of your evening! Atmosphere is very cool and interesting. Definitely try their sausages!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

our second visit to Mill House Brewery and just as good as the first!!

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

I have been here a dozen times or more and it never lets me down !
Love the Beer (Kold One) love the apps. and food is great!

I recommend this place as the one place to go and the best restaurant in Poughkeepsie!

The décor is done perfectly !

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Stopped on the way home after a Sunday afternoon Yankees game. Not far off the Thruway or Taconic and totally worth the detour. Food was very good and the beer was excellent -- even the teetotaler in our group had two rounds of the cucumber cream ale. Wait staff was attentive and helpful. We highly recommend!

Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great environment, waitress was super slow and seemed to forget about us. The A/C was right over our table and I was frozen by the end of the night. Very noisy too as both basketball and tennis was playing.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 5, 2017

AMAZING food and beer. Service is always polite. Ambiance is cozy and rustic. I've been here 4 times to eat, ordered something different every time and wasn't disappointed once.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 5, 2017

The service was disorganized throughout; the deviled egg appetizer was too mustardy and gooey, my Chinese chicken salad was overdressed and had an off taste; waiter was not attentive, did not provide his name or have a name tag, and after finishing the meal the table was not cleaned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 30, 2017

My wife and I enjoyed our visit. The meatballs and beer cheese soup appetizers were excellent and worth a trip by themselves.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Mill House is one of my favorite places to eat in the Poughkeepsie area. Great food, large portions and great ambiance.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fun, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Excellent place to meet someone and catch up. Met long time friend there. She lives in Kingston and we were in Fishkill NY. Great food. Rated # 1 restaurant in Poughkeepsie by Trip Advisor and Yelp. Now I know why!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Casual, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Nice atmosphere & great food
Enjoyed the decorations

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Enjoyed this restaurant several times previously . . . now disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Our food was outstanding, as always. The only thing that could be improved was the service. It was not a very busy time of the day, yet our server seemed to not pay very close attention to us. However, he was very friendly and polite. I love MHBC, and will continue to patronize this excellent restaurant!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Fun, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Food was good. Service was terrible. Rest of my party was served. My food arrived 25 minutes later...and no one seemed to care.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We've dined at Millhouse many times since it has opened. The food never disappoints, nor does the beer. Unfortunately on this occasion the service was very slow. It was quite obvious the server was new, and although I can understand it taking a bit longer for a new server, it took almost a half hour for our drink order to be taken. Throughout the entire meal it took the server incredibly long to take orders, bring food and beer, and my husbands meal was never brought. When it came time to pay, the meal we never received was on it and it took an incredibly long time to get it resolved and finally pay the bill.
The experience will not deter us from dining at Millhouse, but it is unfortunate that the service was so lacking on this occasion.

Tags: Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I've been here a few times. It's got good food. Sometimes I have found the food to be very salty. They have interesting menu items and the beer is pretty good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 17, 2017

My family and I visited Mill House for dinner on Saturday evening. When we arrived (early), our table was set up, there was no waiting. The wait staff was fantastic and the food was delicious. We had a great time, it was a nice ending to my birthday beer tour. Will defiantly be back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Fun, Late-night Find, Casual, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We had a wonderful experience! Great service and a great meal. Fantastic dessert special!!💜💜💜

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Authentic, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Initially, we waited a bit longer than we should have for service. However, the server we flagged down didn't hesitate to help, and he was great. The food is always excellent.

Tags: Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.