About Mill House Brewing Company

Mill House Brewing Company is the culmination of years of professional culinary/hospitality experience, expressive design and construction, and craft beer artistry. Located in the rehabilitated Mill House at 289 Mill Street in Historic Poughkeepsie, NY, The Mill House Brewing Company offers a warm, historic, and visually appealing setting; casual, yet professional service, food cooked from as close to the source as possible, and artfully crafted ales. For our team, this means the commitment to the amazing farmers, cheese makers, and other artisans that make the Hudson Valley such an amazing place to live.
At Mill House Brewing Company, our philosophy is simple: provide a complete Hudson Valley dining experience, showcasing the regions most delicious offerings of food and beer.

289 Mill Street
Poughkeepsie, NY 12601
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Brewery, Comfort Food, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: Brunch 11:00am - 3:00pm, Dinner 3:00pm - 9:00pm
Monday, Wednesday & Thursday: 11:30am - 9:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 10:30pm
Saturday: 12:00pm - 10:30pm
Closed Tuesdays

Cross Street:
Garden St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(845) 485-2739

Website:
http://www.millhousebrewing.com/

Catering:
Mill House Brewing Company offers off premise catering for every affair, as well as beverage service with our hand crafted ales. Please inquire for your special event.

Public Transit:
Take the Metro North to the Poughkeepsie stop

Executive Chef:
Daniel Crocco

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Mill House Brewing Company Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (53)
Casual (42)
Good for a Date (38)
See All
Comfort Food (34)
Bar Seating (33)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Fun (31)
Vibrant Bar Scene (30)
Cozy (29)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Great for Lunch (23)
Good for Groups (23)
Happy Hour (20)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Hot Spot (19)
Worth the Drive (19)
Special Occasion (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Local Ingredients (17)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Quick Bite (12)
Authentic (11)
Wood Oven (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Historic (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Private Room (9)
Business Meals (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Romantic (6)
People Watching (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Live Sports (3)
Family Style (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Healthy (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Scenic View (2)
Seasonal (2)
Organic (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Music (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Fireplace (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
538 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our waitress Stephanie was terrific and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Our waitress Stephanie was terrific and so is the choice of beer.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Loren was our waitress and she was outst ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Loren was our waitress and she was outstanding! I do not live in the area but I did I'd be a regular! Can't wait to return.

Tags: Historic, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Casual, Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good, staff was very friendly, ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food was good, staff was very friendly, and just overall a very pleasant experience

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fantastic but a little on t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food was fantastic but a little on the salty side. Service was great! Can't wait to go back. Definitely get the beer flight!!!

Tags: Great Beer, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Entrees, dessert, atmosphere,

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Entrees, dessert, atmosphere,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Always great food and service. Been her ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Always great food and service. Been here a dozen times with family and we have never regretted a food choice. Fish and chips excellent. Amongst the best I've had and I order F&c frequently at pubs around the country traveling for fun and business.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Live Sports, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Everything about our visit at Mill House ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Everything about our visit at Mill House BC was amazing! We made a pit stop on our way from Philly to Vermont. I'm not one to write a review but in this case I had to make an exception (or simply an effort). From food to brews to great service (Lauren), everything was exceptional! We may even stop back on our return trip!

We started with the Buffalo Brussel sprouts and pork meatballs....Then flank steak... finished with the creme brûlée.... and OMG, blown away!! Absolutely delicious and very highly recommend! Thank you Mill House Brewing Company for an amazing experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always great here, but they' ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food is always great here, but they've changed the menu a little bit and we were missing the old style Pork Schnitzel which we loved and was served with mustard spaetzle and the most delicious red cabbage! The new Pork Schnitzel was ok but not as memorable. Would like to see more German style fare on the menu in the future, the perfect accompaniment with Beer. The New England Lobster Roll sandwich was a fine addition to the new menu, however and thoroughly enjoyable.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Casual atmosphere, attentive service wit ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Casual atmosphere, attentive service without feeling rushed. Food was delicious and well presented.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Casual, Fun, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The rotating menu always includes a grea ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The rotating menu always includes a great selection of comfort foods (land & sea), grilled veggies, burgers, and wine pairings. However, the food can get very salty at times. The prices and portions are very reasonable. Ambiance is perfect for a romantic dinner out. The service could be better.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee, Tasting Menu, Casual, Good for Groups, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

First today there. Will be back..loved ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

First today there. Will be back..loved everything about it.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Amazing staff, food and beer!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Amazing staff, food and beer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The portions were more than enough and w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The portions were more than enough and well worth it!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Live Music, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, cooked well and very tasty. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food, cooked well and very tasty.

Tried the 50/50 burger - delicious.

General TSO Meatball appetizer- they say that they are made on site- unfortunately they tasted institutional. Bummer.

Tags: Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I LOVE this place. It is my favorite res ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I LOVE this place. It is my favorite restaurant within the Hudson Valley. MUST GO. Great food and spectacular cocktails.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Private Room, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Fun, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, , Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Cozy, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Live Sports, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dined there early on New Years Eve '16. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Dined there early on New Years Eve '16. Thought it would be crazy loud and crowded, but it was actually only moderately crowded (good), not loud/noisy at all and quite a nice atmosphere for dinner. Fantastic food and drinks! Very eclectic menu without being too over the top weird. Great cocktails and beers. Had Lamb Shank from the specials menu and my SO had Beef Tenderloin. Both were perfectly prepared and presented. Especially like the shot and short option where you can have a selection of shots and a selection of beers. Deserts were excellent as well! Atmosphere is modern cozy and comfortable.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Mill House never fails to deliver. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The Mill House never fails to deliver. The food and drinks are delicious! The staff is excellent and take great care of the tables. It is our favorite spot to eat in the Hudson Valley.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

ALWAYS A GOOD TIME AT THE MILL HOUSE.... ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

ALWAYS A GOOD TIME AT THE MILL HOUSE....FOOD IS VERY GOOD AND GREAT BEER!

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great night out! Calamari salad and flig ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great night out! Calamari salad and flight of beers were awesome! Solid entrees..wee bit to much salt but still very good! Service and ambience excellent! Definitely going back to try perogies and hang out in summer!

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Wood Oven, Great Beer, Authentic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food& drinks as always!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great food& drinks as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Our son was home for the first time in t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Our son was home for the first time in two years, and we took him to the Millhouse. He had always wanted to go, and we were easily able to get a reservation. He enjoyed it quite a bit.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

This place is too dark in general. I wan ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 19, 2016

This place is too dark in general. I want to know what I am eating when I eat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

We love Mill House and try to go as ofte ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 12, 2016

We love Mill House and try to go as often as we can. During our most recent visit we were trying to remember if we've ever had a bad meal there. The answer was a resounding NEVER! Each menu item is crafted with care. This time we had general tso's meatballs, an oriental chicken salad, and Josh's Pie(pizza). Everything was fantastic as usual. The popcorn they brought to the table was cheesy ranch this time around. So so so great. We can't wait to go back. Oh and the drink menu is beyond tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beers are out of this world. Got a fligh ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Beers are out of this world. Got a flight and each one was better than the last. Brought home 2 crowlers. Food was very good, we were there for brunch. Not cheap though, thought it was on the expensive side. For example, I got the kielbasa, which was a good-size piece, it came with 4 pierogies and sautéed onions, caraway sour-cream for $16. My wife got the French toast and that was $14. It was good however.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We came for dinner with family from out ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We came for dinner with family from out of town. We had an excellent overall experience! And the Halibut special was fantastic!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience. The wings and porky bu ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Great experience. The wings and porky burger exceeded our expectations. Definitely coming back and bringing friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great place for excellent food ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Always a great place for excellent food and drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One important word of advice-get the bro ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

One important word of advice-get the brown sugar butter cake for dessert. Trust me. You will never be the same again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Nice restaurant good food. They couldnt ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Nice restaurant good food.

They couldnt handle the crowd from a show from the civic center. So they were very overwhelmed understaffed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Love this Place for the food and great b ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Love this Place for the food and great beer. Every time we are in the area, this is a must do.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Great local brew pub with a lot of scrat ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great local brew pub with a lot of scratch and house-made options. Had tastings at a couple of previous spots so might be biased. Solid gastro/brew pub, very good sausage banh mi, missed temp on burgers a bit. Great shoestring fries. Staff seems very competent, good for casual crowd. Clearly can handle groups. Liked the two beers we had.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We had decided to tour some local Wineri ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had decided to tour some local Wineries for the weekend and based our stay in Poughkeepsie. Based on the reviews from Open Table, I made a reservation for a party of 6 for 7:00 pm. We arrived about 10 minutes early, however had to wait for about 30 minutes for our table as it was very crowded. The open kitchen setting allowed us to watch the chefs create some amazing dishes during our wait. We were seated on the 2nd floor of a very old building, the decor was wonderful, and although a bit loud in the room for our liking, the food was amazing and our friends that we were with felt the same. Highly recommend this restaurant..

Tags: Authentic, Wood Oven, Local Ingredients, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice meal and desserts were "delicious" ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Nice meal and desserts were "delicious"

Plan on returning

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We had some appetizers and tried a coupl ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We had some appetizers and tried a couple of recommended draft beers. Food was good, very nice atmosphere and excellent service. It was a little out of the way but so worth the drive. Will definately go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I visited Mill House Brewing Company wit ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 10, 2016

I visited Mill House Brewing Company with a few friends while we were in the Poughkeepsie area touring some of the historic homes in Hyde Park. It was the perfect way to end a pleasant day. I tried one of the beers on the list which was recommended by our server. It was an excellent choice. We ordered the pierogi appetizer. Really tasty and tender! We shared the strawberry salad and ordered the pork ribs and the short ribs. All were delicious choices. Our servers were knowledgeable and friendly. Overall, a great dining experience. I will visit Mill House again when in the area!

Tags: Cozy, Private Room, Fun, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Food was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

Mill House is a nice place for drinks an ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Mill House is a nice place for drinks and dinner. They brew their own beer, waiter recommended the Kold One and it was light and delicious. Nice atmosphere, exposed brick walls inside, and very good food.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Definitely a gem in the city of Poughkee ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Definitely a gem in the city of Poughkeepsie! The ambience was great and the food was excellent! Will go back again!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Was told by many that the Mill House was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Was told by many that the Mill House was great. We decided to go on a Friday for a date night. We loved the ambiance. Exactly what we want when we go out. The food was delicious and the the brewed beer was great, our waitress was very helpful on deciding which brew we should get. The only thing was we got the table for two that was kind of in the way for the waiters/waitresses. We were bumped a few times. Next time we go, we will hang out at the bar and watch a game. Definitely going back!!

Tags: Great Beer, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I dined during restaurant ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2016

My husband and I dined during restaurant week(lunch). He said the swordfish was tasteless but the sides were good. I had the hamburger which was very good but an alternative was not offered for the fries. I am on a restricted carb/sodium diet. I was offered asparagus at $4 per serving. I thought a vegetable should have been substituted without charge.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.