Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 1 time today

Milano Italian Dining

3.5
140 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Pre/post Theatre
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Anniversaries
Milano Italian Dining promises to provide our guests an uncompromising commitment to quality and value, by preparing simple, fresh, seasonal and rustic Italian food. We will follow this with service that is not only good but reaches a level of “Soul Filling”, service that is personal, warm, nurturing and intuitive, a level of service that provides guest memories and sensations of dinner with family around the table.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian, Pizzeria
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday-Thursday: 11:00am-4:00pm, Sunday: Noon-6:00pm Dinner: Monday-Wednesday: 4:00pm-8:00pm, Thursday-Saturday: 4:00pm-9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(816) 398-4825
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Andrew Hovey
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
La Stanza di Vetra - (The Glass Room) - Private Dining Room
Our totally private glass dining room accommodates up to 30 for plated meals. Its etched glass walls offer subtle privacy or you may have its shades drawn for total privacy. A food and beverage minimum is required to reserve. Please contact our Event Coordinator for more information.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Roberto Lansangan: (816) 398-4825
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Treat yourself to Seasonal, Rustic Italian cuisine for your next meeting or event. Milano would be happy to cater your next office meeting or party. Contact us at milanokc@gmail.com.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Pershing Rd.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Milano is located on the lower level of the Crown Center shops. Complimentary three hour parking is available with validation and is free on weekends.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Milano Italian Dining caters to large groups for both lunch and dinner. Our glass pavilion can accommodate groups up to 100.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 140 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.5based on recent ratings
3.5
food
4.2
service
3.6
ambience
3.5
value
Noise · Quiet
50% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We were able to celebrate Mother’s Day dinner with a party of 12 this afternoon. The servers and staff were absolutely fantastic. Water & refills were never requested on our behalf, they were very accommodating. Everyone’s food was perfect. Not a single issue, they do have a more limited menu offering on a Sunday, but that in no way will ever stop us from coming back. We are really looking forward to our next dining experience with Milano’s Italian in Kansas City!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Not as advertised in a mall and overpriced

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Great Italian dining experience. Food was great, the wine special for that day was an excellent choice and the service was also great. Highly recommended!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Hadn't been to this restaurant in quite a few years. Very disappointing. The restaurant needs some updating. Also, food arrived cold. The steak I had was very chewy, properly cooked, but not a very good piece of meat. Desert was better, but nothing to save the main meal. Our server was outstanding, however.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Food was ok, but not the best Italian. Not many choices. No lasagna, ravioli, or fresh pasta.

I’d expect , any good Italian place would serve warm bread with an olive oil /basaltic vinegar/seasoning blend and not cold butter.

It would be nice to have a fresh grated or shredded parmesan cheese on the table with a spoon, rather than have the server come over and have to grate it over your meal each time you want more. The server could ask if everyone wants some and fresh grate it over a bowl for a table. We can always ask for more if we need something t, to prevent waste.

I expect better, especially at Crown Center. We were able to easily get a table for 11, with no waiting. I did use open table to make a reservation, but there might have been 2 other tables of diners, so there was no need for the reservation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 2, 2018

We had a wonderful anniversary !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 23, 2018

Awesome, I would highly recommend to family friends! The food was great and appreciate the great seating. Service was awesome.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 13, 2018

The food was very spicy. It took a long time for the chef to prepare our dinner. I did feel better after the chef came to our and apologized for the overwhelming spices in my dinner. On top of this, the manager didn't charge me for my meal. Nice touch.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 20, 2018

Far from remarkable. The steak was not worth the $. Staff was very friendly. It was quiet on a Saturday evening because the place was mostly empty.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 11, 2018

Food was very good with portions big enough to take some home. Dinner was Reasonably priced. Waitor was very nice and attentive. Went in for an anniversary and got a nice dessert and very good treatment. Will definitely be back again for date nights.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 8, 2018

We got A lot of special attention. The service was excellent and the wait staff very friendly and attentive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 6, 2018

Excellent! Loved everything..great service. Great vibe..Crown Center is a great venue with lots to offer.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 21, 2017

Food was good

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 21, 2017

Dinner before a musical show. Good food, prompt service, generous portions. Wait staff very good, worked together to enable us to finish in time for show.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 19, 2017

Attentive service, great food! Great dinner before the Theater. Great experience

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 15, 2017

We have eaten here in the past, but it had been awhile since we've been back. It seems the menu changed quite a bit and lost some of our favorites. But, the selections were still very good and reasonably priced. It is a great location for a variety of events that place during the course of the year. It is very open and the ambient sound level hinders conversations.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 9, 2017

Seated immediately upon arrival. Nice table where we could see across the street to the Crown Center Plaza and Mayor's Christmas Tree. Wait person helped us decide on splitting a side salad. Then things went a little off track. Another staff person brought out the entree's and we had not gotten our salads. She offered to take the entrees back and bring salads but we said we had a theater date and didn't want to mess with timing. The wait person brought out two full salads and the side my friend had ordered as we had already started on the entrees. She did 'comp' the salads and side because of the delay.
At the time we were there the restaurant was not overly crowded which was nice from out point of view. I had the fettucine which did seem a bit heavy. Could have used more sauce in my opinion. Too much for one person to eat at one sitting. I got a 'to go' container. My companion had a chicken plate with palenta. He commented that there was too much of it.
All in all an enjoyable evening .

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 9, 2017

The food overall was sub par. The room temperature was chilly. Great views of crown center.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 8, 2017

Food was good. Service was slow. One waitress covered far too many tables. Took almost an hour to get our food. And she wasn’t friendly.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 6, 2017

Excellent service. food was very good. The facility could use some attention to maintenace, but overall very good.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 25, 2017

Tomato and mozzarella salad was not good. Spaghetti with meatballs was good but just basic. My husbands salmon was ok but small side portion. Our waitress was very nice and we had great service. A little pricey for what you get.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on November 20, 2017

Disappointed. It's been a couple of years since we've been. The 1st time was really nice. It felt upscale & romantic, with a delicious dinner. This visit there was no ambiance. Quiet - too quiet. No music. Big empty dining room. No table linens. Facility seems a bit run-down with paint peeling off exposed air ducts. Service was ok, but meal was not. Chicken Marsala was just ok. Pasta was overcooked & Alfredo was flavorless. Not the experience we were looking for on a special date night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 17, 2017

Food was tasty and served a proper temperatures, and as always, our server, Kye, was polite, helpful, and helped enhance our overall dining experience.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 30, 2017

We had a good meal at Milano and no complaints about the serve staff. The view is really fun with a look at the fountains. We went on a Friday night and it was virtually empty. The restaurant needs a little updating in general, looks a little dated and the restrooms are so far from the dining area that seems a little unsafe. I wouldn't send children by themselves for sure. It might be a better place to go to during the daytime rather than an evening date. Too bad, cause it's a great location.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 25, 2017

Food great, service great, one of our favorite places; especially for special occasions like friends birthdays. They've got new wine and it was wonderful. Waitress was especially attentive too.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 24, 2017

We visited the restaurant before a matinee at the theater. We were seated in the very pretty atrium where we could look out at the fountains and people passing by. The lunch menu offered half servings of food and they were more than ample. Three of us had fettuccini with asiago cheese and chicken. It was delicious. The caprese salad was large enough to split. The tomato bisque was also very tasty. The convenience and validated parking made this a must do again when going to the theater.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 23, 2017

We were greeted and sat immediately. Server was very friendly and very accommodating with prompt and immediate service. Provided excellent menu knowledge by providing detailed description of some lunch favorites. We decided on the buffet. For a lunch the buffet for $13.95 seemed either a bit high priced or the pizza and salad quality should come up. One added touch to the create your own pasta portion of the buffet that would make it outstanding would be to have guests give the chef their order and they could go back to their table and eat their salad and pizza and a server could deliver their made to order pasta from the chef. The made to order portion takes a little while and instead of waiting around for it to be cooked guests could go eat and then have their ordered delivered to them thus helping shorten the crunch lunch time most business people have. Overall thought an excellent job was done.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 19, 2017

I would like to see a better more versatile selection on the menu, but it was good. I really enjoyed the location.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 16, 2017

The service was excellentand the chicken marcella was the best i have had in kc. But, Tyne calamari was rubbery and tbe lasagna was very mushy. The lasagna was advertised as having italian sausage in it. There was literally one piece of sausage in it and all cheese. The sauce was dried up and had no flavor. The waiter was the best waiter that i have ever had in my entire life...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 4, 2017

The salmon and risotto were a delight! Each time the salmon has been a little different but always good. The house salad could use a little zing.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on July 29, 2017

Just not good. The menu was limited, the olive bread was stale and the lasagna also had olive in it. I was overwhelmed by all the olive. Very overpriced for microwaved food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 28, 2017

Great waiter great food beautiful night!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 10, 2017

Overall tasty and easy, quick work day lunch

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 26, 2017

Dana was a wonderful server. The food was good and larger portions with the chicken Marsala.... The bread is excellent along with butter balls.
A very delightful evening and meal prior to the theatre 😌

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 23, 2017

The food was excellent, and Kye, our server, was his usual exceedingly helpful and friendly self. We definitely will continue to frequent Milano's, especially as long as Kye still is there. We've been eating at Milano's for 25 years, the last 22 of which we have been honored to have been assisted by Kye.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 5, 2017

So-so. Waitress was delightful but not well-informed on menu options. Not many people dining. Menu items sound good but food was not appetizing. A little dated.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 27, 2017

My wife had the Chicken Fettuccine which was very good. I had the lasagna which was not worth eating. Very dry and no taste.
The ceiling pipes need to be cleaned and painted. The place is looking dated.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 6, 2017

WENT TO LUNCH WITH FEW FRIENDS. THE LUNCH WAS BUFFET ONLY (WHICH I DID NOT KNOW). THE FOOD WAS OK.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 25, 2017

The salmon was very good, steak was fatty and tough Waitress was very attentive, maybe too much until needed the check then assigned to tables across the room.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 24, 2017

They changed the menu since I was last there. I was sad to see the papardelle gone and also the Osso Bucco they were my favorites. Not a big fan of the new menu used to have a lot more choices and very little seafood options. Need more portion side on the vegetables. Server was great!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
4