About Milano Italian Dining

Milano Italian Dining promises to provide our guests an uncompromising commitment to quality and value, by preparing simple, fresh, seasonal and rustic Italian food. We will follow this with service that is not only good but reaches a level of “Soul Filling”, service that is personal, warm, nurturing and intuitive, a level of service that provides guest memories and sensations of dinner with family around the table.

2450 Grand Boulevard
Kansas City, MO 64108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Thursday: 11:00am-4:00pm, Sunday: Noon-6:00pm Dinner: Monday-Wednesday: 4:00pm-8:00pm, Thursday-Saturday: 4:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Pershing Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 398-4825

Website:
http://www.milanokc.net/

Catering:
Treat yourself to Seasonal, Rustic Italian cuisine for your next meeting or event. Milano would be happy to cater your next office meeting or party. Contact us at milanokc@gmail.com.

Parking Details:
Milano is located on the lower level of the Crown Center shops. Complimentary three hour parking is available with validation and is free on weekends.

Executive Chef:
Todd Claytor

Private Party Facilities:
La Stanza di Vetra - (The Glass Room) - Private Dining Room
Our totally private glass dining room accommodates up to 30 for plated meals. Its etched glass walls offer subtle privacy or you may have its shades drawn for total privacy. A food and beverage minimum is required to reserve. Please contact our Event Coordinator for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Roberto Lansangan: (816) 398-4825

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Milano Italian Dining caters to large groups for both lunch and dinner. Our glass pavilion can accommodate groups up to 100.

Milano Italian Dining Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.5

service

3.7

ambience

3.8

value

3.1

noise

Moderate

72% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (8)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
See All
Good for Groups (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Authentic (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Romantic (2)
Business Meals (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Fun (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Fireplace (1)
Cozy (1)
Historic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
90 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was good, nothing special. The br ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was good, nothing special. The bread was not Italian bread, a bit disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Having the limited menu notice online or ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Having the limited menu notice online or posted would have been nice. Buffet was typical buffet quality. Not great quality food like I was expecting from a nice Italian restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

While our server was good, our dishes c ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 21, 2016

While our server was good, our dishes came out at different times which was disappointing for a special occasion. Three people ordered dessert and one person ordered a latte. Everyone was finished with their dessert before the latte was delivered to the table, which certainly did not leave a good impression. While we had a great evening there, I feel the service needs attention to these dining details.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Hostess served as busboy also. In spite ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Hostess served as busboy also. In spite of reservations we had to wait 10 minutes for her to seat us as she was cleaning tables too.

Tags: Wood Oven, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

Used to love our staff Christmas lunch @ ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Used to love our staff Christmas lunch @ Milano. But this time not one decoration. Prices increased but restaurant quality going down

Such a beautiful setting. Too bad the management doesn't care enough to decorate for the season. Honey badgers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Group of 6 went, 5 of 6 meals were messe ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Group of 6 went, 5 of 6 meals were messed up or had issues in some way. 2 steaks were over cooked badly, 2 fettuccine's were almost all chicken & barely any pasta (small portion too), spaghetti & meatballs was like a salt bomb...way too salty.

For the price, this food was very lackluster. Service speed wasn't great either. This location has so much potential, but it seems like you pay for the location, not the food or service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

The atmosphere is absolutely wonderful. ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The atmosphere is absolutely wonderful. The service was good. However, the food was absolutely awful. The rolls were cold and fell apart when trying to butter them (and the butter was rock hard which didn't help)! The ceasar salad was awful; I felt like I was eating a bowl of leafy stems. The pizza was no good and my husband sent his alfredo dish back. We eat out often but will not be back there again. Sad because it is a nice restaurant (atmosphere).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Great restaurant, they were having 'kitc ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Great restaurant, they were having 'kitchen issues' so no ordering from the menu only a buffet offered on this day. They did a great job of offering some alternative options. Delicious!

Good job!

Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

This was the worst! The poor waitress h ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This was the worst! The poor waitress had to go thru ALL the items NOT available. Then our food arrived cold. The view of the ice rink is very festive and the Christmas tree, but such a disappointment. Do not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Stopped in for dinner before catching a ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Stopped in for dinner before catching a show at the theater upstairs. First off, we were there at 6:30 pm and they were already out of 3 entrees. I ordered spaghetti and meatballs. The flavor was fine but the meatballs were so tough I had to cut them with a knife, with some difficulty. The bread was dry and not very flavorful. Had to nearly trap the waitress with a snare to get a second drink. Expected better for the premium location. Facility was nice but probably needs better management to ensure quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

We were rushed because we had a theatre ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 10, 2016

We were rushed because we had a theatre engagement a few blocks away - we told the waiter this and he accommodated our needs quickly. We didn't care for our waiter much, however - grating mannerisms and kind of pushy. Food was good and attractively prepared/served. My cioppino was very good though not particularly reminiscent of the gold standard San Francisco cioppino. We were there during Happy Hour but were told we couldn't get Happy Hour drink price unless we were in the bar.

Tags: Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The restaurant was in the middle of chan ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The restaurant was in the middle of changing out its wine list. After two failures to find a wine we requested, the bartender offered us a similar but more expensive wine at the same price. In the end, as a good restaurant should, the wine way comped and we were given free desserts. Overall, it was an excellent dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Lasagna had strong vinegar taste and sme ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Lasagna had strong vinegar taste and smell, very little cheese. Chicken fettuccine Alfredo had an overpowering lemon taste. We were the only table for most of our meal. One other table came in before we left. Poor crowd for a Saturday evening. Will not come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4

Wait staff is wonderful!! Very attenti ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Wait staff is wonderful!! Very attentive and gracious. Milano's always makes every effort to accommodate our frequent get-togethers.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It was a very poor experience. The resta ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 2, 2016

It was a very poor experience. The restaurant is very dated and not clean. My table had black clumps on it that were gross and smeared when you tried to wipe it off. It was on my silverware so I had to ask for another set. The food was awful. It's like a frozen dinner honestly. Complimentary rolls are basic grocery store rolls and not even warmed. The service wasn't even a quality item as the servers were all arrogant and stood watching you eat. I would not recommend this place. They're a poorly done restaurant trying to be a high end dining experience and not getting it right. It was not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

Very nice dinner. It was fun to have th ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Very nice dinner. It was fun to have the chef come out and chat with us.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I had a reservation and they wanted to s ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 29, 2016

I had a reservation and they wanted to seat me at a high table by the bar instead of in the nice dining room. When I said no to that they seated me in another dark area close to the bar area. Food was ok and they did serve me quickly as I requested. This is t he 3rd visit where they are out of their salted carmel ice cream which is really the main reason I go there to eat. You would think that they would learn to order more since they are always out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Wonderful service and delicious food. T ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Wonderful service and delicious food. They were able to accommodate my gluten free meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter was awesome!

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Our waiter was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

only fair. the breading on the milanese ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 26, 2016

only fair. the breading on the milanese was burnt; the milanese was too thick;

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Excellent service - good food

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 23, 2016

Enjoyed the evening for a relaxed dinner with appetizers and finished with dessert. Service was excellent. Priced as fine dining and met the standard that I would apply.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Like the menu changes, place has potenti ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 23, 2016

Like the menu changes, place has potential

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Think twice

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 20, 2016

Think twice before eating here. The fettuccine Alfredo was good except for one thing. Where any normal restaurant would use white meat chicken breast for the grilled chicken, this restaurant uses dark meat. They literally take the dark meat and scrape it off of a drumstick and throw it into the fettuccine. It was disgusting. When questioning the waitstaff about it we were told It's a special twist that the chef uses. Really? It was very obvious it was a drumstick because it had a lot of Cartlidge. It was disgusting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

It took almost an hour and a half to get ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 2, 2016

It took almost an hour and a half to get or food and then it came out cold. Maybe it would have tasted better hot, but cold, it was bland and not good. I would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Quiet little hidden gem in Kansas City

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 20, 2016

Great experience from reservation to taking home the left overs! Service was 1st class and the food was fabulous! Really liked the "half" plate option for the entrees. Prices were very reasonable and lunch selection was quite varied. Had a nice table up the stairs under the glass with a nice view of the fountains and ice rink across the street. All around enjoyable birthday lunch with my mother and we will be back again with the whole family!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Needs Restaurant Rescue

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 16, 2016

We were very disappointed in our dining experience. We purposefully stayed away from Valentine's Day and went the day after. We arrived for our 6:00 pm reservations. We spent a total of 2 1/2 hours from the time we sat down to the time we left. We were not in a hurry BUT it took forever. Come to find out from our very nice server (the waitstaff was very kind) that they were down to ONE cook and had to borrow a cook from another restaurant in Crown Center. Which caused the slow service. However, I did see larger tables than ours leave in a lot less time. The food was not what you would expect it to be for the prices. Highly disappointing. The only saving grace was we had a gift certificate so we didn't spend any of our own money except for Tip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Had an Awesome night service was outstanding.

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Great service, food and an overall quiet night. Highly recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Milano at Crown Center

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 7, 2016

We went to Milano on a Saturday night. Our plan was a 7:00 pm reservation, but when we booked on Open Table, the soonest time available was 8:00. Hard to understand this, because when we got to Milano at 8:00, the place was almost empty. It is a large venue and was very nicely appointed, considering the age of the physical plant of Crown Center. Seems able to accommodate large parties, a group of 10 was across the room from us. We had a quiet corner, next to the glass wall looking out over the patio and skating rink at Crown Center. It was a lovely night and the food was very nice - highly recommend the arancini balls appetizer - YUMM. Very good service, very attentive. The food was full Italian and was very nice. Took boxes home and too full for dessert!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Restaurant Week specials and buffet- yum!!

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 21, 2016

I hadn't had lasagna in a while and it was so good! My friends debated quite a while before going with the buffet. The lunch buffet never disappoints; especially because you can create your own pasta dish.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had lunch buffet. Not impressed by food. ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 18, 2016

Had lunch buffet. Not impressed by food. Service and atmosphere was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Fun place for lunch

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 26, 2015

The lunch buffet is excellent, especially the custom-made pasta bowls. If you can get a seat in the glassed-in area it's fun to watch people outside and on the Ice Terrace across the street. The service was attentive but not too intrusive.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good lunch buffet

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 14, 2015

We went there on for our holiday lunch and the lunch buffet was really good. The sunroom area has a great view of the mayors Christmas tree, but the sunroom area needs to be updated like the rest of the restaurant has been. Some of the furniture had stains that where not appealing to the eyes.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

President

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 11, 2015

Arrived promptly @ 5:30, seated immediately, lights above table burned out, used table candle to try & read menu, difficult, so guessed & guessed wrong. Food probably OK, just not to our liking. Waitress aware having trouble reading menu, but offered NO help, light above table to our left also not working, one on the right was. Great view next to window for viewing trees & foot traffic. Obvious waitress should have been somewhere else, at least that evening.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

Wedding Anniversary

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 6, 2015

We had a great time at Milano's! My husband and I were

cebrating our 16 th anniversary.

I chose the lunch buffet and he selected off the menu

do to food allergies. (Seafood at the buffet)

Our server, April was SPECTACULAR! Very attentive

without smothering. When asked if she would take our

picture, she went out of her way to find the best spot

for our picture.

We would dine here again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible atmosphere, service, and food

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 29, 2015

The views of the mayor's Christmas tree and Crown Center while dining was very cool! Kai took care of us at dinner and did an outstanding job. The wine was delicious, everyone's food was perfect, and overall, it was a flawless experience. Nice work!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My Favorite Restaurant in KC

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 21, 2015

It always amazes me every time that I go into Milano's ... it's almost empty. This is by far the best restaurant in Kansas City. The service is Top Notch, and ambiance is wonderful and the food is fantastic. And, I don't have to hand over my wallet in order to have a great meal.

If you haven't been, you need to make it a point to give Milano's a try. You will not be disappointed... Guaranteed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointing

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 29, 2015

First of all, my group of 4 were THE ONLY PEOPLE IN THE RESTAURANT!

The food tasted only slightly better than it looked -- very poor presentation.

Ordered gelato for dessert, which must have been in the freezer for months, as it was filled with ice crystals.

Just an all 'round sad experience.....and not cheap either.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

Disappointed

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 26, 2015

First time visit for us. And most likely our last. The restaurant is beautiful, but service, prices, quality of food lacked flavor, portion was too small for price charged. I ordered the $35 ribeye. It was only about 9 oz. Was supposed to be like 12 +. My steak didn't even have grill marks. I asked for medium. I got well done. Save your $ and go to a steak house. Priced cheaper, and a much better steak.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Got engaged

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 26, 2015

The staff was tremendous, can't thank them enough! They knew I was proposing to my girlfriend and they really went all out to make it special. Our waiter was the best, thank you!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice change of pace.

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 19, 2015

I enjoyed my evening out with my lady. We enjoyed the food and service. Everything was nice and clean, I appreciate it.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.