Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Milano Italian Dining

Milano Italian Dining promises to provide our guests an uncompromising commitment to quality and value, by preparing simple, fresh, seasonal and rustic Italian food. We will follow this with service that is not only good but reaches a level of “Soul Filling”, service that is personal, warm, nurturing and intuitive, a level of service that provides guest memories and sensations of dinner with family around the table.

2450 Grand Boulevard
Kansas City, MO 64108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Thursday: 11:00am-4:00pm, Sunday: Noon-6:00pm Dinner: Monday-Wednesday: 4:00pm-8:00pm, Thursday-Saturday: 4:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Pershing Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 398-4825

Website:
http://www.milanokc.net/

Catering:
Treat yourself to Seasonal, Rustic Italian cuisine for your next meeting or event. Milano would be happy to cater your next office meeting or party. Contact us at milanokc@gmail.com.

Parking Details:
Milano is located on the lower level of the Crown Center shops. Complimentary three hour parking is available with validation and is free on weekends.

Executive Chef:
Andrew Hovey

Private Party Facilities:
La Stanza di Vetra - (The Glass Room) - Private Dining Room
Our totally private glass dining room accommodates up to 30 for plated meals. Its etched glass walls offer subtle privacy or you may have its shades drawn for total privacy. A food and beverage minimum is required to reserve. Please contact our Event Coordinator for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Roberto Lansangan: (816) 398-4825

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Milano Italian Dining caters to large groups for both lunch and dinner. Our glass pavilion can accommodate groups up to 100.

Milano Italian Dining Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.3

service

4.3

ambience

3.5

value

3.3

noise

Moderate

64% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
See All
Special Occasion (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Cozy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Authentic (1)
People Watching (1)
Fun (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Casual (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Business Meals (1)
Romantic (1)
Sort By:
S
108 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Overall tasty and easy, quick work day lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Dana was a wonderful server. The food was good and larger portions with the chicken Marsala.... The bread is excellent along with butter balls.
A very delightful evening and meal prior to the theatre 😌

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The food was excellent, and Kye, our server, was his usual exceedingly helpful and friendly self. We definitely will continue to frequent Milano's, especially as long as Kye still is there. We've been eating at Milano's for 25 years, the last 22 of which we have been honored to have been assisted by Kye.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 5, 2017

So-so. Waitress was delightful but not well-informed on menu options. Not many people dining. Menu items sound good but food was not appetizing. A little dated.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 27, 2017

My wife had the Chicken Fettuccine which was very good. I had the lasagna which was not worth eating. Very dry and no taste.
The ceiling pipes need to be cleaned and painted. The place is looking dated.

Tags: Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

WENT TO LUNCH WITH FEW FRIENDS. THE LUNCH WAS BUFFET ONLY (WHICH I DID NOT KNOW). THE FOOD WAS OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The salmon was very good, steak was fatty and tough Waitress was very attentive, maybe too much until needed the check then assigned to tables across the room.

Tags: Comfort Food, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 24, 2017

They changed the menu since I was last there. I was sad to see the papardelle gone and also the Osso Bucco they were my favorites. Not a big fan of the new menu used to have a lot more choices and very little seafood options. Need more portion side on the vegetables. Server was great!

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 7, 2017

salads do not contain much dressing ask for dressing on the side. After ordering found out kitchen was out of two items we had ordered

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Sad commentary on formerly great restaurant. Bread not fresh much less not,Italian . Service reasonable. Spaghetti with meat balls was non edible and pizza had to be a frozen pie, reheated barely.,after sending it back to be reheated, it wasn't much better. Crust was really like a frozen pizza. And to,think spin was down the hall! In all fairness 2 of us had fish that was good, but our wives meals were very poor. We won't be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food was very bland. I tried all 4 dishes on the table and they all lacked flavor. The waiter was very nice but the kitchen was very slow. Will not be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Was below average and over priced. Not worth the price and restaurant is dirty and outdated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Fairly quick and pleasant service. Easy accommodation for allergy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The entree's for each of us really not very good. The veal tasted like it was cooked in old oil, the fettuccine's white sauce was a bit bland. Sorry, not favorably impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The chicken fettuccine was not bad. The deserts we tried Gelato and lemon cake should be avoided. Chicken Marsala .... the chicken was cooked ok but the veggies and potatoes...no love.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

When we arrive we were guickly seated, and almost fell on the floor because when we went to sit down our cushion in our booth wasn't attached to the bench.. bathroom didn't have any paper towels. And they weee out of multiple itailian type food.. how could a itailian place be out of Italian food?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We ate dinner,and still left the establishment hungry. Very small portions. I wouldn't recommend for a date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 21, 2017

DISAPPOINTING LUNCH BUFFET - too few choices, average food quality. Service was attentive and nice waitress

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was good, nothing special. The bread was not Italian bread, a bit disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Having the limited menu notice online or posted would have been nice. Buffet was typical buffet quality. Not great quality food like I was expecting from a nice Italian restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 21, 2016

While our server was good, our dishes came out at different times which was disappointing for a special occasion. Three people ordered dessert and one person ordered a latte. Everyone was finished with their dessert before the latte was delivered to the table, which certainly did not leave a good impression. While we had a great evening there, I feel the service needs attention to these dining details.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Hostess served as busboy also. In spite of reservations we had to wait 10 minutes for her to seat us as she was cleaning tables too.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Used to love our staff Christmas lunch @ Milano. But this time not one decoration. Prices increased but restaurant quality going down
Such a beautiful setting. Too bad the management doesn't care enough to decorate for the season. Honey badgers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Group of 6 went, 5 of 6 meals were messed up or had issues in some way. 2 steaks were over cooked badly, 2 fettuccine's were almost all chicken & barely any pasta (small portion too), spaghetti & meatballs was like a salt bomb...way too salty.

For the price, this food was very lackluster. Service speed wasn't great either. This location has so much potential, but it seems like you pay for the location, not the food or service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 2, 2016

The atmosphere is absolutely wonderful. The service was good. However, the food was absolutely awful. The rolls were cold and fell apart when trying to butter them (and the butter was rock hard which didn't help)! The ceasar salad was awful; I felt like I was eating a bowl of leafy stems. The pizza was no good and my husband sent his alfredo dish back. We eat out often but will not be back there again. Sad because it is a nice restaurant (atmosphere).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Great restaurant, they were having 'kitchen issues' so no ordering from the menu only a buffet offered on this day. They did a great job of offering some alternative options. Delicious!
Good job!

Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This was the worst! The poor waitress had to go thru ALL the items NOT available. Then our food arrived cold. The view of the ice rink is very festive and the Christmas tree, but such a disappointment. Do not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Stopped in for dinner before catching a show at the theater upstairs. First off, we were there at 6:30 pm and they were already out of 3 entrees. I ordered spaghetti and meatballs. The flavor was fine but the meatballs were so tough I had to cut them with a knife, with some difficulty. The bread was dry and not very flavorful. Had to nearly trap the waitress with a snare to get a second drink. Expected better for the premium location. Facility was nice but probably needs better management to ensure quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 9, 2016

We were rushed because we had a theatre engagement a few blocks away - we told the waiter this and he accommodated our needs quickly. We didn't care for our waiter much, however - grating mannerisms and kind of pushy. Food was good and attractively prepared/served. My cioppino was very good though not particularly reminiscent of the gold standard San Francisco cioppino. We were there during Happy Hour but were told we couldn't get Happy Hour drink price unless we were in the bar.

Tags: Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The restaurant was in the middle of changing out its wine list. After two failures to find a wine we requested, the bartender offered us a similar but more expensive wine at the same price. In the end, as a good restaurant should, the wine way comped and we were given free desserts. Overall, it was an excellent dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Lasagna had strong vinegar taste and smell, very little cheese. Chicken fettuccine Alfredo had an overpowering lemon taste. We were the only table for most of our meal. One other table came in before we left. Poor crowd for a Saturday evening. Will not come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Wait staff is wonderful!! Very attentive and gracious. Milano's always makes every effort to accommodate our frequent get-togethers.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 2, 2016

It was a very poor experience. The restaurant is very dated and not clean. My table had black clumps on it that were gross and smeared when you tried to wipe it off. It was on my silverware so I had to ask for another set. The food was awful. It's like a frozen dinner honestly. Complimentary rolls are basic grocery store rolls and not even warmed. The service wasn't even a quality item as the servers were all arrogant and stood watching you eat. I would not recommend this place. They're a poorly done restaurant trying to be a high end dining experience and not getting it right. It was not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Very nice dinner. It was fun to have the chef come out and chat with us.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 29, 2016

I had a reservation and they wanted to seat me at a high table by the bar instead of in the nice dining room. When I said no to that they seated me in another dark area close to the bar area. Food was ok and they did serve me quickly as I requested. This is t he 3rd visit where they are out of their salted carmel ice cream which is really the main reason I go there to eat. You would think that they would learn to order more since they are always out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Wonderful service and delicious food. They were able to accommodate my gluten free meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 10, 2016

Our waiter was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 25, 2016

only fair. the breading on the milanese was burnt; the milanese was too thick;

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 23, 2016

Enjoyed the evening for a relaxed dinner with appetizers and finished with dessert. Service was excellent. Priced as fine dining and met the standard that I would apply.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 23, 2016

Like the menu changes, place has potential

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.