About Milano Italian Dining

2450 Grand Boulevard
Kansas City, MO 64108
View Larger Map

Milano Italian Dining promises to provide our guests an uncompromising commitment to quality and value, by preparing simple, fresh, seasonal and rustic Italian food. We will follow this with service that is not only good but reaches a level of “Soul Filling”, service that is personal, warm, nurturing and intuitive, a level of service that provides guest memories and sensations of dinner with family around the table.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Thursday: 11:00am-4:00pm, Sunday: Noon-6:00pm Dinner: Monday-Wednesday: 4:00pm-8:00pm, Thursday-Saturday: 4:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Pershing Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 398-4825

Website:
http://www.milanokc.net/

Catering:
Treat yourself to Seasonal, Rustic Italian cuisine for your next meeting or event. Milano would be happy to cater your next office meeting or party. Contact us at milanokc@gmail.com.

Parking Details:
Milano is located on the lower level of the Crown Center shops. Complimentary three hour parking is available with validation and is free on weekends.

Executive Chef:
Todd Claytor

Private Party Facilities:
La Stanza di Vetra - (The Glass Room) - Private Dining Room
Our totally private glass dining room accommodates up to 30 for plated meals. Its etched glass walls offer subtle privacy or you may have its shades drawn for total privacy. A food and beverage minimum is required to reserve. Please contact our Event Coordinator for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Roberto Lansangan: 8163984825

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Milano Italian Dining caters to large groups for both lunch and dinner. Our glass pavilion can accommodate groups up to 100.

Milano Italian Dining Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

4.3

ambience

4

noise

Quiet

74% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (10)
scenic view (9)
special occasion (8)
See All
great for lunch (8)
romantic (7)
neighborhood gem (6)
great for brunch (4)
fit for foodies (4)
kid-friendly (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
notable wine list (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
71 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

only fair. the breading on the milanese ...

Dined 5 days ago

only fair. the breading on the milanese was burnt; the milanese was too thick;

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent service - good food

Dined on April 23, 2016

Enjoyed the evening for a relaxed dinner with appetizers and finished with dessert. Service was excellent. Priced as fine dining and met the standard that I would apply.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Like the menu changes, place has potenti ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Like the menu changes, place has potential

food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Think twice

Dined on April 20, 2016

Think twice before eating here. The fettuccine Alfredo was good except for one thing. Where any normal restaurant would use white meat chicken breast for the grilled chicken, this restaurant uses dark meat. They literally take the dark meat and scrape it off of a drumstick and throw it into the fettuccine. It was disgusting. When questioning the waitstaff about it we were told It's a special twist that the chef uses. Really? It was very obvious it was a drumstick because it had a lot of Cartlidge. It was disgusting.

food1
ambience2
service1

It took almost an hour and a half to get ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

It took almost an hour and a half to get or food and then it came out cold. Maybe it would have tasted better hot, but cold, it was bland and not good. I would not go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quiet little hidden gem in Kansas City

Dined on February 20, 2016

Great experience from reservation to taking home the left overs! Service was 1st class and the food was fabulous! Really liked the "half" plate option for the entrees. Prices were very reasonable and lunch selection was quite varied. Had a nice table up the stairs under the glass with a nice view of the fountains and ice rink across the street. All around enjoyable birthday lunch with my mother and we will be back again with the whole family!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Needs Restaurant Rescue

Dined on February 16, 2016

We were very disappointed in our dining experience. We purposefully stayed away from Valentine's Day and went the day after. We arrived for our 6:00 pm reservations. We spent a total of 2 1/2 hours from the time we sat down to the time we left. We were not in a hurry BUT it took forever. Come to find out from our very nice server (the waitstaff was very kind) that they were down to ONE cook and had to borrow a cook from another restaurant in Crown Center. Which caused the slow service. However, I did see larger tables than ours leave in a lot less time. The food was not what you would expect it to be for the prices. Highly disappointing. The only saving grace was we had a gift certificate so we didn't spend any of our own money except for Tip.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had an Awesome night service was outstanding.

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great service, food and an overall quiet night. Highly recommend.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Milano at Crown Center

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

We went to Milano on a Saturday night. Our plan was a 7:00 pm reservation, but when we booked on Open Table, the soonest time available was 8:00. Hard to understand this, because when we got to Milano at 8:00, the place was almost empty. It is a large venue and was very nicely appointed, considering the age of the physical plant of Crown Center. Seems able to accommodate large parties, a group of 10 was across the room from us. We had a quiet corner, next to the glass wall looking out over the patio and skating rink at Crown Center. It was a lovely night and the food was very nice - highly recommend the arancini balls appetizer - YUMM. Very good service, very attentive. The food was full Italian and was very nice. Took boxes home and too full for dessert!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Restaurant Week specials and buffet- yum!!

Dined on January 21, 2016

I hadn't had lasagna in a while and it was so good! My friends debated quite a while before going with the buffet. The lunch buffet never disappoints; especially because you can create your own pasta dish.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find
food3
ambience4
service4

Had lunch buffet. Not impressed by food. ...

Dined on January 18, 2016

Had lunch buffet. Not impressed by food. Service and atmosphere was good.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fun place for lunch

Dined on December 26, 2015

The lunch buffet is excellent, especially the custom-made pasta bowls. If you can get a seat in the glassed-in area it's fun to watch people outside and on the Ice Terrace across the street. The service was attentive but not too intrusive.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

Good lunch buffet

Dined on December 14, 2015

We went there on for our holiday lunch and the lunch buffet was really good. The sunroom area has a great view of the mayors Christmas tree, but the sunroom area needs to be updated like the rest of the restaurant has been. Some of the furniture had stains that where not appealing to the eyes.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
food1
ambience4
service1

President

Dined on December 11, 2015

Arrived promptly @ 5:30, seated immediately, lights above table burned out, used table candle to try & read menu, difficult, so guessed & guessed wrong. Food probably OK, just not to our liking. Waitress aware having trouble reading menu, but offered NO help, light above table to our left also not working, one on the right was. Great view next to window for viewing trees & foot traffic. Obvious waitress should have been somewhere else, at least that evening.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Wedding Anniversary

Dined on December 6, 2015

We had a great time at Milano's! My husband and I were cebrating our 16 th anniversary. I chose the lunch buffet and he selected off the menu do to food allergies. (Seafood at the buffet) Our server, April was SPECTACULAR! Very attentive without smothering. When asked if she would take our picture, she went out of her way to find the best spot for our picture. We would dine here again.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible atmosphere, service, and food

Dined on November 29, 2015

The views of the mayor's Christmas tree and Crown Center while dining was very cool! Kai took care of us at dinner and did an outstanding job. The wine was delicious, everyone's food was perfect, and overall, it was a flawless experience. Nice work!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

My Favorite Restaurant in KC

Dined on November 21, 2015

It always amazes me every time that I go into Milano's ... it's almost empty. This is by far the best restaurant in Kansas City. The service is Top Notch, and ambiance is wonderful and the food is fantastic. And, I don't have to hand over my wallet in order to have a great meal. If you haven't been, you need to make it a point to give Milano's a try. You will not be disappointed... Guaranteed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service2

Disappointing

Dined on September 29, 2015

First of all, my group of 4 were THE ONLY PEOPLE IN THE RESTAURANT! The food tasted only slightly better than it looked -- very poor presentation. Ordered gelato for dessert, which must have been in the freezer for months, as it was filled with ice crystals. Just an all 'round sad experience.....and not cheap either.

Tags: scenic view
food2
ambience4
service2

Disappointed

Dined on September 26, 2015

First time visit for us. And most likely our last. The restaurant is beautiful, but service, prices, quality of food lacked flavor, portion was too small for price charged. I ordered the $35 ribeye. It was only about 9 oz. Was supposed to be like 12 +. My steak didn't even have grill marks. I asked for medium. I got well done. Save your $ and go to a steak house. Priced cheaper, and a much better steak.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Got engaged

Dined on September 26, 2015

The staff was tremendous, can't thank them enough! They knew I was proposing to my girlfriend and they really went all out to make it special. Our waiter was the best, thank you!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Nice change of pace.

Dined on September 19, 2015

I enjoyed my evening out with my lady. We enjoyed the food and service. Everything was nice and clean, I appreciate it.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience3
service3

Good buffet, custom order pasta, Yummy soup

Dined on September 15, 2015

We went for lunch but decided to try their buffet.. Good variety of thin crust pizzas and two soups.. made to order pasta is nice... wish they had desert / ice cream in buffet too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5

Unbeatable waiter and experience!

Dined on September 5, 2015

We were to eat and go on to the Gaelic Storm Concert nearby, and our waiter was very patient and helpful with us. The hostess was also great and accomodating. What a fun night with Milano's at the center of the fun.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service3

Night Out

Dined on September 1, 2015

The food was not that great, the environment was not quite diversity setting, not kid friendly,out doors appearance was ran down need a makeover, prices of food I thought was over priced and the quantity of food was very poor for price.

Tags: great for lunch
food2
ambience5
service5

Disappointing

vip
Dined on August 27, 2015

For the 2nd time in a row we found Milano's to be very disappointing. The server was fabulous but what came out of the kitchen was not. The food was not as ordered and certainly isn't Italian. It seems every dish comes in a bowl whether or not it's pasta. It also comes with a broth. Every dish therefore is soup. They need to replace the head chef and have kitchen staff that understands English. We've been customers here for over 20 years and can honestly say this head chef is not capable of handling the menu

food5
ambience5
service5

The service was excellent as well as the ...

Dined on August 26, 2015

The service was excellent as well as the relaxed atmosphere and delicious lunch buffet.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great lunch buffet

vip
Dined on August 1, 2015

I had been to Milano before but had never had the lunch buffet. What a treat. Great tasting food with variety. And st a reasonable price. Finish with the peanut butter pie

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food1
ambience5
service5

Karen

vip
Dined on July 6, 2015

I cannot recommend this Resturant. Our food tasted like frozen hotel food :(

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4

The buffet is absolutely amazing.

Dined on June 26, 2015

The buffet is absolutely amazing.

food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely wonderful!

Dined on May 30, 2015

Milano Italian Dining was the perfect location for our girls-night-out dinner. Being gluten-free, I was worried an Italian restaurant would have nothing more than watercress salad. Au contraire. There were plenty of options for me to choose from. None better than the Fettuccini Alfredo with Chicken. Probably the best gluten-free pasta I've ever dined on. Actually, one of the best meals I've had in KC, gluten-free or not.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service1

Service stunk , food was good , like the ...

Dined on May 23, 2015

Service stunk , food was good , like the atmosphere.

food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday dilnner

Dined on May 2, 2015

Very much enjoyed the experience.....all four at our table had different entrees, and we all were very pleased with our dinners..... Our two Birthday ladies were presented with a complimentary dessert.....very unexpected, but very nice ! Surrounded by glass, the view was wonderful.....and the service was top notch... All in all, just a great evening.....we all will be going back.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service4

No Surprises

vip
Dined on April 22, 2015

Typical of a restaurant in a mall. Generous portions. Good wine list. No surprises.

food4
ambience4
service5

Great service & very good food at Milano's

Dined on April 22, 2015

If you find yourself looking for a nice Italian meal before going to the theatre at Crown Center, or attending a performance at the Kauffman Center (which we did--only 5 mins. away), consider eating out at Milano's. We enjoyed great service--not only attentiveness to our dinner-related needs but also to our desire to leave in time for the Kauffman event we were attending. We allowed 90 mins. for a leisurely meal for our party of four, which was just rigth. We shared calamari fritti as an appetizer, and our entrees included seafood pasta, steamed mussels, and eggplant parmesan. In addition, we ordered a couple of glasses of an exceptional chianti. Everything we ordered was very good to excellent. And, as I said previously, the service was outstanding. Enjoy!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service5

We had the pizza and lasagna. Food was ...

Dined on April 15, 2015

We had the pizza and lasagna. Food was good but could have been hotter. Served to us luke warm and the place really wasn't that busy.

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience2
service4

The food was pretty decent. The ambiance ...

Dined on April 3, 2015

The food was pretty decent. The ambiance was not what I was expecting. I kind of felt like I was in what used to be a successful restaurant but hit a rough patch and hadn't recovered. The server and staff were pleasant, though.

food3
ambience5
service5

The noise level was low due to the use o ...

Dined on March 31, 2015

The noise level was low due to the use of the private dining room.

food2
ambience3
service2

Needs some help

Dined on March 27, 2015

Staffing levels were too low for the number of customers. One of the entres was overcooked. There was only 1 chocolate desert--Ice cream. On the positive side the restaurant did a super job dealing with allergies and special food needs.

food4
ambience4
service4

good food, good service

Dined on March 24, 2015

Had a lunch meeting and the location was perfect. Not too noisey but not quiet either. Food was good And so was the price.

Tags: great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service2

What happen? Don't look up!!!

Dined on March 21, 2015

Milano's has always been a great place to grab a quick bite to eat while in the downtown area. It's located within the Crown Center shopping area. I've had many great meals here but this was the first time for brunch. It was recommended by our server to try the buffet. Not being a fan of buffet but I must admit I do enjoy a great breakfast buffet when done right I was game. We came to find a pasta ordering station where you could pick out your choice of two pastas and a handful of toss in ingredients. I went with a white sauce that I'm sure came out of a can. The other choice on this buffet was three pizza's, and two types of salad. We pushed forward and tried a bite of most. My daughters and their friend whom with us all smiled and ate a few bites. To say the least we had a early dinner somewhere else. Summary - Great locations being close to shopping, hotels and on the surface very inviting. The food was very bland. As I went to pay the bill I looked upped to see flaking paint everywhere in the sun dinning area on the celling. You could see where paint chips had fallen on the netting above some of the tables . I hate to think about the tables with out the netting. We will not return till a complete remodel or basic upkeep has been done to the restaurant. I would recommend Open Table to remove this restaurant from it's list. This is not we as Open Table dinners expect.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.