About Milano Inn

231 S College Ave
Indianapolis, IN 46202
View Larger Map

The Milano Inn is Family Owned and Operated since 1934. We offer Classic Northern Italian cuisine in a casual setting. Choose from many dining choices. Including our Main Dining room, that showcases "Donald Peter's" mural depicting the "Liberation of Rome" dating back to 1947. Or you'll enjoy our recent renovated Garden Room and Court Yard" and Bocce Ball Courts while relaxing with the spectacular views of the downtown Indianapolis skyline. The Milano Inn offers Private Dining Space that will accommodate groups ranging from 16 - 140 of your guests. We welcome all groups including: Bridal Showers, Rehearsal Dinners, Reunions - Social Gatherings, Company Events. We can tailor your event to WOW your guest! The sky is the limit when it comes to your dining options with The Milano Inn. We look forward to seeing you and your guests soon!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
FREE PARKING!
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00 a.m. - 4:00 .p.m.
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Closed the following dates: New Year's Day, Memorial Day, Labor Day and Thanksgiving

Cross Street:
College & South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 264-3585

Website:
http://www.milanoinn.com/

Entertainment:
Bocci Ball Courts Available, and we are pet friendly on our new outdoor patio.

Catering:
The Milano Inn offers catering for any type of event. You can choose from our classic Italian menu or let us know what you would like to be served at your event and we will do our best to cater to your particular needs. We also offer a very affordable take out menu to meet the need of any size group.

Parking Details:
The Milano Inn offers FREE onsite parking. No need to hassle with parking meter or garages here.

Executive Chef:
John White

Private Party Facilities:
The Milano Inn houses 6 private dining rooms with sizes ranging from 16 - 130 of your guests. It is the perfect setting for Rehearsal Dinners, Corporate Events, Family Gatherings and everything in between.

Private Party Contact:
Tim McCauley: 3172643585

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout

Milano Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Indiana
Outdoor Dining
Indianapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown Indy ›

Good for Groups (26)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Special Occasion (21)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Kid-friendly (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Romantic (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Scenic View (5)
Great for Brunch (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Sort By:
Newest
219 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was a poor experience. I had friend ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This was a poor experience. I had friends in town and selected this place. My previous times here were fine. I was embarrassed for selecting it. Place smelled like a retirement home, was hot and humid, didn't have ingredients to make multiple dishes, and the waitress was gruff poor at her job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

It had been a while since we visited. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

It had been a while since we visited. The facility upgrades were nice. The service was friendly and attentive. Unfortunantly the food was not tasty and in some cases should have been sent back. We were there for family gathering, party of nine. I'm sorry we cannot recommend to others!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

Good was delicious & our service was won ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Good was delicious & our service was wonderful. Definitely go again

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great authentic Italian cuisine!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great authentic Italian cuisine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for my birthday and a few of us ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We went for my birthday and a few of us ordered manicotti and we were very disappointed. We weren't a fan of the texture of the noodles, there could have been more sauce and a very small helping. I would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

We have been going here for years. The f ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We have been going here for years. The food is starting to slip compared to past visits. The pasta dish I had was not as flavorful as it use to be and the chicken dish that my wife had was rather small for the price. I will give them one more try before I will cross them off of my list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Hostess spilled water on is. Waiter spil ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Hostess spilled water on is. Waiter spilled wine on us. Veal was rare. Not at all what I was hoping for. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

Great place to entertain customers, dine ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Great place to entertain customers, dine at this location monthly nd the service has always been great. Spaghetti Meatballs are a favorite and to end the meal make sure to get a piece of cheesecake.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went on a Tuesday night and had their sp ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Went on a Tuesday night and had their special. Very good. Not real crazy about their salad but I prefer an all iceberg lettuce.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I had never been to Milano Inn, it was s ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

I had never been to Milano Inn, it was suggested by a friend. The service staff did a great job and the atmosphere was quite accommodating for the occasion, however the food was beyond unsatisfactory. My friends ordered grouper and I ordered spaghetti. I was very disappointed with the food as were they, but knowing it was my treat they were too kind to say. My friends had just lost their son and was two days beyond his funeral. In my attempt of getting them out of the house and do something special for them, I chose this restaurant for this occasion. The restaurant was not busy so I didn't understand the poor food quality but didn't want the embarrassment for myself or friends to bring this to their attention or send food back at the time, I decided to just paid the bill and this be a restaurant I wouldn't frequent or refer to a friend. Honestly; I'm quite surprised, but disappointed Milano Inn being such a long term establishment the kitchen and/or server would actually send such overcooked food to the table.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

Service was extremely slow considering i ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Service was extremely slow considering it was lunch time during the week and not very busy. Drinks were not refilled. Asked for my leftovers to be boxed up. They were but the server did not bring the food back to me. I finally had to get another server's attention and ask them to see where by boxed food was. Not sure when I'll be back.

On the bright side, the sausage dip appetizer and the prosciutto wrapped breadsticks are absolutely wonderful.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

I'm always pleased with my dining at the ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I'm always pleased with my dining at the Milano. I have been going there for 25+years . Love love love the outdoor dining and the renovation done a few years ago . Trends come and go, but good food will always last . Decent pricing in a nice environment adds to the experience .

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was delicious and service quick. Wi ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food was delicious and service quick. Will return to support this local gem

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Special Meatballs and Beef Bolognese, Ga ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Special Meatballs and Beef Bolognese, Garlic Bread, Minestrone Soup, House Salad and Chinto vino. Topped off with superb Pistacchio Canolis. A most excellent comfort food meal for my wife and myself. Our server Taylor was accommodating with takeout boxes and was delightful and efficient .

NOTE: I did not receive 100 points for reservations . Why?

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Our family dinner at Milano Inn was ou ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Our family dinner at Milano Inn was outstanding. It was a hot evening, so we ate inside in an alcove with beautiful stained glass windows. Afterwards we played bocce ball on two well manicured grass bocce courts. The city lights came on before we left & we have gorgeous photos of our special evening. Thanks Milano Inn!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very classy restaurant. Good bread, very ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Very classy restaurant. Good bread, very nice waitress, lovely atmosphere. Our waitress discharged our tiramisu because she said it was still frozen in the middle. My Caesar salad was a little gross because the Parmesan cheese basically melted and blended in with the dressing, but that was the only bad thing. Good place to eat and I would recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Service & quality of the food was superb ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Service & quality of the food was superb, as usual !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We will not be returning. The food was c ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We will not be returning. The food was completely over priced and looked and tasted like something we would be served at Applebees or O'Charleys but for a fraction of the price or even a frozen meal you would eat at home. The calamari was over fried with more bread crust than meat, the chicken dish we ordered (for $18!) came all dried out, with minimal asparagus and roasted potatoes. The cheesecake did not look or taste fresh. Very disappointed overall. The service was great and the ambiance was nice. But we will not be paying high prices for below quality food. The prices would have been just fine if the food was high quality. Very disappointed for sure especially since we were celebrating our anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

Wonderful dinner and service. Very quie ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Wonderful dinner and service. Very quiet Friday evening for a busy weekend in downtown Indianapolis.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for lunch! It was exceptionally n ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Great for lunch! It was exceptionally nice with excellent service. We felt so welcome and the food was fabulous. Order off the menu for best food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It was absolutely wonderful! From the pr ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

It was absolutely wonderful! From the prosciutto breadsticks to the Rosemary Chicken Lasagna to the Tiramisu the food was outstanding. Our server was very nice and kept the drinks full.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My dish was gross. The chicken was like ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

My dish was gross. The chicken was like rubber, probably frozen. It was a disappointing evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Love Milano's been going there for years ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Love Milano's been going there for years and years. There are a few subtle changes in menu items that I don't care for though....

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Mixed Feelings - SECURE YOUR CARS!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

I have eaten in this restaurant several times before and the food and service were outstanding. As a result, we took a group of employees out for dinner. We arrived at 5 p.m. for our reservation and the table was ready for us. The waitress was friendly and very much on top of keeping our drinks going. I'm not sure about what the kitchen was doing -- we finally received our entree at 7 p.m., only to find that one individual's lasagna was cold in the middle. In all fairness, the manager was VERY apologetic and this meal was written off of our bill. We then left, only to discover that someone had broken out my back door window and stolen some things from my car. While this is no fault of the restaurants, just be sure you secure your cars when dining! The police noted that the Milano parking lot that's across the street is an easy target on a one way street.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Good Italian food. Very nice patio. Serv ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Good Italian food. Very nice patio. Service inconsistent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Milano's changing and not for the better!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Our family has enjoyed uncountable number of meals at Milano's. Our parents dated here 1953-1954. My last four visits have been regrettable to say the least. Each time less satisfactory. The welcoming feel of the establishment to the ambience, to the service and now the food has now changed this from being our favorite "go to place" to one that is "easy to bypass now" and start going to the "place down the street".

We arrived with reservations at 6 pm on Friday, the hostess greeted us warmly, but the owner standing next to her just blew us off - he didn't even acknowledge us when I said hello and that we were happy to be there. Hostess asked if we preferred a booth or a table, table chosen, and were seated at the table in front of the opening to the kitchen even though all other tables in that area were open and the only other table occupied was in the front window. We were there 2 hours, only three other tables occupied during that time. A nicer wine was recommended, and was good.

The food has changed completely, and we were disappointed. Even down to the Spaghetti and Meat Sauce which I have ordered for the past 40 years -- it is no longer the traditional red sauce and meat but has chunks of meat and peppers and who knows what and no traditional red sauce.

Our waitress was extremely kind and helpful. The hostess when we left was again very friendly. The owner again standing there, but said no word of thank you for coming or asking if our visit was enjoyable.

VERY DISAPPOINTED AFTER OVER 50 YEARS OF ENJOYMENT IN THIS ESTABLISHMENT, will be looking for a new family "go to favorite" now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Reservation was kept food was good and t ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Reservation was kept food was good and the service was good.

Nice selection of both food and wine.

Plenty of parking.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

Good food and a great atmosphere . Outd ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Good food and a great atmosphere . Outdoor patio looked nice although I didn't dine outside .

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Noise level was not energetic it was LOU ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Noise level was not energetic it was LOUD. Our booth was run into and bumped all during

dinner by a large party crammed in behind us...not an enjoyable dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Overall quality is down in many respects.

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The ambiance is no longer what it once was before the redesign of the interior, the service was quite slow, and the food was just not as good as it has been in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Outdoor patio is very nice. Service was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Outdoor patio is very nice. Service was a little slow. Waitress was a bit overwhelmed that night and kept making all kinds of excuses about what was going in the back of the house. Frankly I don't really care. Unfortunately it's the servers job to take the fall for that stuff. All

She needed to do was give a simple apology and move on. We weren't bitchy about it or anything so it wasn't necessary. Also had to send my food back as I got my fished served not as ordered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Food and service very good. Prices have ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Food and service very good. Prices have risen it seems with smaller portions?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Milano Inn

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Milan Inn has good food but when you leave you are not thinking about it the next day. I judge a lot of restaurants that way. If I am trying to gather a different group of friends to hurry and go back I know it was great. The food was definitely NOT bad just not great.

Our service was fantastic but we were her only table so it should have been. There were 9 of us in our group.

We had chosen Milano to play bocce ball after but it was raining. That is a GREAT extra they provide.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The restaurant appears very nice as you ...

 
·Dined on April 18, 2016

The restaurant appears very nice as you arrive. The inside is very nice as well. The food ... Not so good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

Bday at the Milano Inn

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We have been to the Milano Inn several times to celebrate my husbands birthday. He loves the spaghetti and meatballs there. As usual, he ordered his favorite. Our two daughters were with us. One ordered the Chicken Saltimbocca and the other had the manicotti after the tortellini en brodo she originally ordered was 86'd. While the service was very good, the food was very disappointing. I had the Chicken Milanese because I thoroughly enjoyed the same thing from Hello Fresh a week or so ago. Instead of being served on arugula, etc, the greens under the nondescript Dairy Queen style breaded chicken were similar to bagged salad from Costco. The Chicken Saltimbocca was grossly overcooked. The Manicotti could be described as okay, but not up to the usual par of the Milano Inn.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

First time I have been disappointed in Milano

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

We went to Milano for my birthday dinner. I love their Veal Parm, and that's what I planned to order. They were out of Veal. I looked through the menu and ordered Shrimp & Crab Alfredo. They were out of crab.

I guess we'll try another time.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

Milano Inn review for 4/9/16 plus

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

I have been a regular customer of the Milano Inn for more years than I want to count. The dinner on 4/9/16 was for my wife's birthday and as usual the service and food was excellent. In the past I have had the occasion to both eat lunch and attend parties both at lunch and evening. The service and food is always excellent. Before I retired we went for their lunch buffet at least 4 time a month. Food quality the same as ordering off the menu and was a could value for the money spent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a very surprise. It was very cl ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

This was a very surprise. It was very close to out hotel. Our

Waiter, Chris, was very helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to eat!!!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Atmosphere was very relaxing and pleasant. The fetachini was excellent. I was not pleased with the new speghetti sauce with meat they have now. I say go back to the original one. The cheesecake and chocolate cake were delicious.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Milano Inn a Great Choice

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

The Milano Inn in Indianapolis is a great place to enjoy superior Italian food, top service, and nice view of the city. My experience has always been positive.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.