About Milano Inn

231 S College Ave
Indianapolis, IN 46202
View Larger Map

The Milano Inn is Family Owned and Operated since 1934. We offer Classic Northern Italian cuisine in a casual setting. Choose from many dining choices. Including our Main Dining room, that showcases "Donald Peter's" mural depicting the "Liberation of Rome" dating back to 1947. Or you'll enjoy our recent renovated Garden Room and Court Yard" and Bocce Ball Courts while relaxing with the spectacular views of the downtown Indianapolis skyline. The Milano Inn offers Private Dining Space that will accommodate groups ranging from 16 - 140 of your guests. We welcome all groups including: Bridal Showers, Rehearsal Dinners, Reunions - Social Gatherings, Company Events. We can tailor your event to WOW your guest! The sky is the limit when it comes to your dining options with The Milano Inn. We look forward to seeing you and your guests soon!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
FREE PARKING!
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00 a.m. - 4:00 .p.m.
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Closed the following dates: New Year's Day, Memorial Day, Labor Day and Thanksgiving

Cross Street:
College & South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 264-3585

Website:
http://www.milanoinn.com/

Entertainment:
Bocci Ball Courts Available, and we are pet friendly on our new outdoor patio.

Catering:
The Milano Inn offers catering for any type of event. You can choose from our classic Italian menu or let us know what you would like to be served at your event and we will do our best to cater to your particular needs. We also offer a very affordable take out menu to meet the need of any size group.

Parking Details:
The Milano Inn offers FREE onsite parking. No need to hassle with parking meter or garages here.

Executive Chef:
John White

Private Party Facilities:
The Milano Inn houses 6 private dining rooms with sizes ranging from 16 - 130 of your guests. It is the perfect setting for Rehearsal Dinners, Corporate Events, Family Gatherings and everything in between.

Private Party Contact:
Tim McCauley: 3172643585

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout

Milano Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Indianapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown Indy ›

Special Occasion (13)
Good for Groups (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Casual (6)
Business Meals (6)
Cozy (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Authentic (5)
Romantic (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Fun (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Historic (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Family Style (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Vegan (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Private Room (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Spicy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
238 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was lacking in taste and was se ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food was lacking in taste and was served at room temperature.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Excellent food and service. Had a very n ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Excellent food and service. Had a very nice evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Ordered the tuna and artichokes, the men ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Ordered the tuna and artichokes, the menu didn't say it was a Cold salad, thought it was a Hot dish!! Was I surprised! Wife's dish I'd Italian sausage with bow tie pasta was not good either, very Dry. Told waitress, see said sorry. One would think daily specials with fish would be a Hit dish, it was not under salads, it was a fish daily fish. Generally great place to eat, but not Tuesday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value4

Our family was celebrating birthdays and ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Our family was celebrating birthdays and we chose Milano inn. We have been here before. It took a while for the waiter to get our drinks. Then it seemed to take forever for him to take our order. The place was not busy at all. We ordered fried Mozzarella for an appetizer. He came back to us and said that they were out of Mozzarella. So we ordered a different appetizer. It took forever for our dinners to come out and another waiter brought our food out and set to on a tray and the food sat there for 5 minutes before our waiter came and delivered our food. My mothers dinner was not with the rest of the food. He said that her dish takes a little longer to cook. The waiter brought it out 5 minutes later and said that he didn't recognize the dish because it was supposed to be made with farfalle and they ran out of that pasta so they made it with penne. The waiter would disappear for a long extended period of time. We had to ask for our bill and my husband gave him a credit card and he wanted to wait for all of the others in our party for their credit cards. My husband said, " We need to get home to put our son to bed!!!!!!!" It was the worst service I have ever had. We did have 11 people in our group, but we have dined with them before without a problem. Its too bad that gratuity was added because our waiter did not deserve 20%. We will go elsewhere next time our family wants Itialian.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

Good value. Good food. Haven't been ther ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Good value. Good food. Haven't been there in 17 years when it looked dated and tired. Now, it is remodeled and we had a great meal.

Tags: Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was outstanding. W ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The food and service was outstanding. We all agreed that the cost of the beverages was on the high side. I had 2 rum and cokes, very small, and they tasted more like a plain coke, and they were $7.75 each. I work in the service industry and $5.00 is more than enough for the mixed drinks. We would definitely come back again, I would just forego the alcoholic beverages. BTW, best eggplant parm in the city!

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Historic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

We've gone to Milano Inn several times o ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We've gone to Milano Inn several times over the past few years and have always been happy with the food and the experience. That's why we went back this time. But this time the food just wasn't up to what we had come to expect. My son-in-laws food was far too salty for him to finish it. My lasagna was actually bland.

I know every restaurant has an off night but I would have to think twice about going back. Which is a shame.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

We ate outside before going to ISO conce ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We ate outside before going to ISO concert. The food was delicious.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I have eaten at Milano numerous times ov ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 11, 2016

I have eaten at Milano numerous times over the years. I had not visited for some time. I was surprised that soup or salad was no longer included in the entrée price. Portions were also substantially smaller. The majority of the food was good, although two in our party had roasted potatoes included. The potatoes were brown on the outside but completely raw. Server brought new potatoes, which were also raw. Server did offer substitution, but both had eaten the chicken.

Tags: Spicy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food and service were very good, not rus ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Food and service were very good, not rushed and able to carry on conversations. We were a party of 8 and all enjoyed the evening

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent dining experience

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Excellent dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As expected, the food and service were e ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 7, 2016

As expected, the food and service were excellent. Our server, Marilyn was very pleasant and took great care of us.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My cousin & her husband were running lat ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 7, 2016

My cousin & her husband were running late since they were coming from WI & forgot about the time change once they arrived at their camping area. The restaurant was very nice about letting me sit at the table waiting for them to arrive. We had great service & all the food was good. We were there on a Friday night from 5 - 8 pm. There was people coming and going but wouldn't say the restaurant was packed. Wonderful place to meet friends or family for a nice meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I have not been to Mallano in in several ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 21, 2016

I have not been to Mallano in in several years. The patio addition was really nice and would be a great place to enjoy a cocktail after work. The inside was still as I remember. Great service, great ambience and great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

It had been over 22years since we moved ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 16, 2016

It had been over 22years since we moved back to the Indy area and Milano Inn had't changed in its food preparation. It was great as we had anticipated. I had chicken parmigiana and my wife had cantiloni. While the waitress was very friendly, she wasn't appearing at our table as frequently as we would have liked. Otherwise it was a great experience overall.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

The only negative thing I have to say is ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 8, 2016

The only negative thing I have to say is I asked for a frozen daiquiri and was told you didn't have a blender. So I ordered a Diet Coke. A little disappointed in that.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Lunch with CICOA staff Dana Robinson and ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Lunch with CICOA staff Dana Robinson and Susan Cornacchione.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Fun, Business Meals, Private Room, Romantic, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have always loved Milano Inn. That's w ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 30, 2016

I have always loved Milano Inn. That's why when a friend wanted to meet downtown and I saw Milano was on the Devour list, I suggested dinner there. She had not been there, so I was looking forward to introducing her to one of my favorites. The first disappointment was the appetizer on the Devour menu. It was described as a Caprese Bruschetta. It consisted of sliced Italian bread with grape tomatoes scattered on top. There was supposed to be mozzarella cheese, but all I saw was a few small crumbles. Then I ordered the flat iron steak and she ordered the grilled chicken and portabella. Mine was seasoned with something I could not recognize but can only describe as lavender. Ugh. I did not taste my friend's entrée, but she said it was very acidic, almost vinegary. I'm quite sure she will never go back. It was a Tuesday night and sometimes I think you get the B team on a weeknight, but these were prepared as expected, just not good at all. I would think that during an event like Devour, you'd want to showcase your restaurant, but Milano Inn definitely mailed this one in.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

My wife and I went to the Milano Inn wit ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 25, 2016

My wife and I went to the Milano Inn with another couple for an early dinner around 5:30 in the evening. My wife ordered Spaghetti with Baby Clams and the other lady ordered Mostaccioli Marinara. Both said their meal was OK. The other gentleman and I both ordered Spaghetti With Meatballs which left a lot to be desired. What they called sauce looked more like tomato paste. It set on top of the spaghetti and had the consistency of oatmeal and had no taste. My friend and I both scrapped it off and did not eat it. That was the worse spaghetti sauce either of us had tasted. Olive Garden spaghetti sauce put what they served us to shame. Neither my wife and I or our friends will be going back to or recommending the Milano Inn to our friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

This was a poor experience. I had friend ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 20, 2016

This was a poor experience. I had friends in town and selected this place. My previous times here were fine. I was embarrassed for selecting it. Place smelled like a retirement home, was hot and humid, didn't have ingredients to make multiple dishes, and the waitress was gruff poor at her job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

It had been a while since we visited. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 19, 2016

It had been a while since we visited. The facility upgrades were nice. The service was friendly and attentive. Unfortunantly the food was not tasty and in some cases should have been sent back. We were there for family gathering, party of nine. I'm sorry we cannot recommend to others!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

Good was delicious & our service was won ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Good was delicious & our service was wonderful. Definitely go again

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great authentic Italian cuisine!

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great authentic Italian cuisine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for my birthday and a few of us ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 12, 2016

We went for my birthday and a few of us ordered manicotti and we were very disappointed. We weren't a fan of the texture of the noodles, there could have been more sauce and a very small helping. I would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

We have been going here for years. The f ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 12, 2016

We have been going here for years. The food is starting to slip compared to past visits. The pasta dish I had was not as flavorful as it use to be and the chicken dish that my wife had was rather small for the price. I will give them one more try before I will cross them off of my list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Hostess spilled water on is. Waiter spil ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Hostess spilled water on is. Waiter spilled wine on us. Veal was rare. Not at all what I was hoping for. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

Great place to entertain customers, dine ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Great place to entertain customers, dine at this location monthly nd the service has always been great. Spaghetti Meatballs are a favorite and to end the meal make sure to get a piece of cheesecake.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went on a Tuesday night and had their sp ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Went on a Tuesday night and had their special. Very good. Not real crazy about their salad but I prefer an all iceberg lettuce.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I had never been to Milano Inn, it was s ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 4, 2016

I had never been to Milano Inn, it was suggested by a friend. The service staff did a great job and the atmosphere was quite accommodating for the occasion, however the food was beyond unsatisfactory. My friends ordered grouper and I ordered spaghetti. I was very disappointed with the food as were they, but knowing it was my treat they were too kind to say. My friends had just lost their son and was two days beyond his funeral. In my attempt of getting them out of the house and do something special for them, I chose this restaurant for this occasion. The restaurant was not busy so I didn't understand the poor food quality but didn't want the embarrassment for myself or friends to bring this to their attention or send food back at the time, I decided to just paid the bill and this be a restaurant I wouldn't frequent or refer to a friend. Honestly; I'm quite surprised, but disappointed Milano Inn being such a long term establishment the kitchen and/or server would actually send such overcooked food to the table.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

Service was extremely slow considering i ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 2, 2016

Service was extremely slow considering it was lunch time during the week and not very busy. Drinks were not refilled. Asked for my leftovers to be boxed up. They were but the server did not bring the food back to me. I finally had to get another server's attention and ask them to see where by boxed food was. Not sure when I'll be back.

On the bright side, the sausage dip appetizer and the prosciutto wrapped breadsticks are absolutely wonderful.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

I'm always pleased with my dining at the ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 31, 2016

I'm always pleased with my dining at the Milano. I have been going there for 25+years . Love love love the outdoor dining and the renovation done a few years ago . Trends come and go, but good food will always last . Decent pricing in a nice environment adds to the experience .

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was delicious and service quick. Wi ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food was delicious and service quick. Will return to support this local gem

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Special Meatballs and Beef Bolognese, Ga ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Special Meatballs and Beef Bolognese, Garlic Bread, Minestrone Soup, House Salad and Chinto vino. Topped off with superb Pistacchio Canolis. A most excellent comfort food meal for my wife and myself. Our server Taylor was accommodating with takeout boxes and was delightful and efficient .

NOTE: I did not receive 100 points for reservations . Why?

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Our family dinner at Milano Inn was ou ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Our family dinner at Milano Inn was outstanding. It was a hot evening, so we ate inside in an alcove with beautiful stained glass windows. Afterwards we played bocce ball on two well manicured grass bocce courts. The city lights came on before we left & we have gorgeous photos of our special evening. Thanks Milano Inn!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very classy restaurant. Good bread, very ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Very classy restaurant. Good bread, very nice waitress, lovely atmosphere. Our waitress discharged our tiramisu because she said it was still frozen in the middle. My Caesar salad was a little gross because the Parmesan cheese basically melted and blended in with the dressing, but that was the only bad thing. Good place to eat and I would recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Service & quality of the food was superb ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Service & quality of the food was superb, as usual !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We will not be returning. The food was c ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 2, 2016

We will not be returning. The food was completely over priced and looked and tasted like something we would be served at Applebees or O'Charleys but for a fraction of the price or even a frozen meal you would eat at home. The calamari was over fried with more bread crust than meat, the chicken dish we ordered (for $18!) came all dried out, with minimal asparagus and roasted potatoes. The cheesecake did not look or taste fresh. Very disappointed overall. The service was great and the ambiance was nice. But we will not be paying high prices for below quality food. The prices would have been just fine if the food was high quality. Very disappointed for sure especially since we were celebrating our anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

Wonderful dinner and service. Very quie ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 24, 2016

Wonderful dinner and service. Very quiet Friday evening for a busy weekend in downtown Indianapolis.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for lunch! It was exceptionally n ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 21, 2016

Great for lunch! It was exceptionally nice with excellent service. We felt so welcome and the food was fabulous. Order off the menu for best food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It was absolutely wonderful! From the pr ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 17, 2016

It was absolutely wonderful! From the prosciutto breadsticks to the Rosemary Chicken Lasagna to the Tiramisu the food was outstanding. Our server was very nice and kept the drinks full.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.