Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - Milano Inn

4.2
251 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Good for Groups
  • Special Occasion
  • Neighborhood Gem

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed. The Milano Inn is Family Owned and Operated since 1934. We offer Classic Northern Italian cuisine in a casual setting. Choose from many dining choices. Including our Main Dining room, that showcases "Donald Peter's" mural depicting the "Liberation of Rome" dating back to 1947. Or you'll enjoy our recent renovated Garden Room and Court Yard" and Bocce Ball Courts while relaxing with the spectacular views of the downtown Indianapolis skyline. The Milano Inn offers Private Dining Space that will accommodate groups ranging from 16 - 140 of your guests. We welcome all groups including: Bridal Showers, Rehearsal Dinners, Reunions - Social Gatherings, Company Events. We can tailor your event to WOW your guest! The sky is the limit when it comes to your dining options with The Milano Inn. We look forward to seeing you and your guests soon!
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
FREE PARKING!
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00 a.m. - 4:00 .p.m.
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Closed the following dates: New Year's Day, Memorial Day, Labor Day and Thanksgiving
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(317) 264-3585
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
John White
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
The Milano Inn houses 6 private dining rooms with sizes ranging from 16 - 130 of your guests. It is the perfect setting for Rehearsal Dinners, Corporate Events, Family Gatherings and everything in between.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Tim McCauley: (317) 264-3585
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
The Milano Inn offers catering for any type of event. You can choose from our classic Italian menu or let us know what you would like to be served at your event and we will do our best to cater to your particular needs. We also offer a very affordable take out menu to meet the need of any size group.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
College & South
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
The Milano Inn offers FREE onsite parking. No need to hassle with parking meter or garages here.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Bocci Ball Courts Available, and we are pet friendly on our new outdoor patio.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout
What 251 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.2based on all time ratings
4.2
food
4.2
service
4.2
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
1.0Dined on December 31, 2016

Reservation made through Open Table with confirmation number feedback from Open Table for New Years eve 2016. Milano Inn said they had withdrawn from Open Table and and requested Open Table several times to stop making reservations for them. They would not honor reservation.

Will not use Open Table again to make important dinner reservations.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2016

As always, food, service & ambiance were excellent! So sorry the Milano closed after 82 years.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2016

Too bad you guys are moving on, we get it. both of us used to be in the F&B business for many years. It was our first and last visit. Just wish the setting could of been more private, but that dosn't matter now. We wish you both the best on an amazing future in what ever it is you do.

Juan and Suzanne Benitez
Lafayette, In

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 16, 2016

The restaurant did not have our reservation, but luckily we were early so there was seating available. The serving staff was friendly, but we had to request things like cream for the coffee and refills of drinks. The food was Midwest Italian. It would not fly in New York. The restaurant is closing at the end of 2016. Our Christmas office lunch was to visit it once more.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 15, 2016

Hate to see the Milano Inn close. Hope someone opens it again. FYI: Reservations were not recognized when we arrived and I overheard the owner on the phone telling someone they did not have a resv. for the upcoming Sunday for 14. I was informed by one of the owners that they shut down the opentable from making resv. a couple of weeks earlier so that was why our reservation was not recognized.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 10, 2016

Great evening - as always. Do not miss the opportunity to enjoy one last wonderful meal at this Indy landmark.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 9, 2016

They had no reservation for me because they said they no longer do business with you. They accommodated us quickly, which was nice. No thanks to this service. I will never use open table again. Thanks for almost ruining my mothers birthday lunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 8, 2016

Since The Milano Inn is closing its doors forever December 31st, 2016, I decided to take my children to eat there for their first time. We all loved our food! The lasagna and the manicotti were phenomenal! The cheesy garlic bread loaf was delicious! Our waitress was on top of everything we needed. I couldn't have asked for a better dining experience! I am sad to see it close but I do understand that nothing in life lasts forever. Best wishes to the owners as they set out on their new endeavors, whatever those may be!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 8, 2016

Great food service sad to know they are changing ownership. The LaGrotas were wonderful

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 7, 2016

We let our server know we had tickets for a show and he kept our glasses filled and our orders promptly delivered. The food was as exveptional as always and we had a wonderful experience.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 6, 2016

Milano Inn is closing and after my experience there I can see why. Our reservation request was
ignored, service was slow and even the soup was cold. This restaurant has been going downhill for a while...it is time to go.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 5, 2016

Sadly, Milano Inn will be closing at the end of December, 2016. I have been coming here for 30 years, and have always been VERY happy with the quality of the food. I recommend the Veal Vicky. Good luck to the employees!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on November 20, 2016

The food was lacking in taste and was served at room temperature.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 19, 2016

Excellent food and service. Had a very nice evening.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 15, 2016

Ordered the tuna and artichokes, the menu didn't say it was a Cold salad, thought it was a Hot dish!! Was I surprised! Wife's dish I'd Italian sausage with bow tie pasta was not good either, very Dry. Told waitress, see said sorry. One would think daily specials with fish would be a Hit dish, it was not under salads, it was a fish daily fish. Generally great place to eat, but not Tuesday night.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on November 1, 2016

Our family was celebrating birthdays and we chose Milano inn. We have been here before. It took a while for the waiter to get our drinks. Then it seemed to take forever for him to take our order. The place was not busy at all. We ordered fried Mozzarella for an appetizer. He came back to us and said that they were out of Mozzarella. So we ordered a different appetizer. It took forever for our dinners to come out and another waiter brought our food out and set to on a tray and the food sat there for 5 minutes before our waiter came and delivered our food. My mothers dinner was not with the rest of the food. He said that her dish takes a little longer to cook. The waiter brought it out 5 minutes later and said that he didn't recognize the dish because it was supposed to be made with farfalle and they ran out of that pasta so they made it with penne. The waiter would disappear for a long extended period of time. We had to ask for our bill and my husband gave him a credit card and he wanted to wait for all of the others in our party for their credit cards. My husband said, " We need to get home to put our son to bed!!!!!!!" It was the worst service I have ever had. We did have 11 people in our group, but we have dined with them before without a problem. Its too bad that gratuity was added because our waiter did not deserve 20%. We will go elsewhere next time our family wants Itialian.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 29, 2016

Good value. Good food. Haven't been there in 17 years when it looked dated and tired. Now, it is remodeled and we had a great meal.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 28, 2016

The food and service was outstanding. We all agreed that the cost of the beverages was on the high side. I had 2 rum and cokes, very small, and they tasted more like a plain coke, and they were $7.75 each. I work in the service industry and $5.00 is more than enough for the mixed drinks. We would definitely come back again, I would just forego the alcoholic beverages. BTW, best eggplant parm in the city!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 16, 2016

We've gone to Milano Inn several times over the past few years and have always been happy with the food and the experience. That's why we went back this time. But this time the food just wasn't up to what we had come to expect. My son-in-laws food was far too salty for him to finish it. My lasagna was actually bland.
I know every restaurant has an off night but I would have to think twice about going back. Which is a shame.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 15, 2016

We ate outside before going to ISO concert. The food was delicious.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 11, 2016

I have eaten at Milano numerous times over the years. I had not visited for some time. I was surprised that soup or salad was no longer included in the entrée price. Portions were also substantially smaller. The majority of the food was good, although two in our party had roasted potatoes included. The potatoes were brown on the outside but completely raw. Server brought new potatoes, which were also raw. Server did offer substitution, but both had eaten the chicken.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 8, 2016

Food and service were very good, not rushed and able to carry on conversations. We were a party of 8 and all enjoyed the evening

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 7, 2016

Excellent dining experience

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 7, 2016

As expected, the food and service were excellent. Our server, Marilyn was very pleasant and took great care of us.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 7, 2016

My cousin & her husband were running late since they were coming from WI & forgot about the time change once they arrived at their camping area. The restaurant was very nice about letting me sit at the table waiting for them to arrive. We had great service & all the food was good. We were there on a Friday night from 5 - 8 pm. There was people coming and going but wouldn't say the restaurant was packed. Wonderful place to meet friends or family for a nice meal.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 21, 2016

I have not been to Mallano in in several years. The patio addition was really nice and would be a great place to enjoy a cocktail after work. The inside was still as I remember. Great service, great ambience and great food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 16, 2016

It had been over 22years since we moved back to the Indy area and Milano Inn had't changed in its food preparation. It was great as we had anticipated. I had chicken parmigiana and my wife had cantiloni. While the waitress was very friendly, she wasn't appearing at our table as frequently as we would have liked. Otherwise it was a great experience overall.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 8, 2016

The only negative thing I have to say is I asked for a frozen daiquiri and was told you didn't have a blender. So I ordered a Diet Coke. A little disappointed in that.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 1, 2016

Lunch with CICOA staff Dana Robinson and Susan Cornacchione.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 30, 2016

I have always loved Milano Inn. That's why when a friend wanted to meet downtown and I saw Milano was on the Devour list, I suggested dinner there. She had not been there, so I was looking forward to introducing her to one of my favorites. The first disappointment was the appetizer on the Devour menu. It was described as a Caprese Bruschetta. It consisted of sliced Italian bread with grape tomatoes scattered on top. There was supposed to be mozzarella cheese, but all I saw was a few small crumbles. Then I ordered the flat iron steak and she ordered the grilled chicken and portabella. Mine was seasoned with something I could not recognize but can only describe as lavender. Ugh. I did not taste my friend's entrée, but she said it was very acidic, almost vinegary. I'm quite sure she will never go back. It was a Tuesday night and sometimes I think you get the B team on a weeknight, but these were prepared as expected, just not good at all. I would think that during an event like Devour, you'd want to showcase your restaurant, but Milano Inn definitely mailed this one in.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 25, 2016

My wife and I went to the Milano Inn with another couple for an early dinner around 5:30 in the evening. My wife ordered Spaghetti with Baby Clams and the other lady ordered Mostaccioli Marinara. Both said their meal was OK. The other gentleman and I both ordered Spaghetti With Meatballs which left a lot to be desired. What they called sauce looked more like tomato paste. It set on top of the spaghetti and had the consistency of oatmeal and had no taste. My friend and I both scrapped it off and did not eat it. That was the worse spaghetti sauce either of us had tasted. Olive Garden spaghetti sauce put what they served us to shame. Neither my wife and I or our friends will be going back to or recommending the Milano Inn to our friends.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 20, 2016

This was a poor experience. I had friends in town and selected this place. My previous times here were fine. I was embarrassed for selecting it. Place smelled like a retirement home, was hot and humid, didn't have ingredients to make multiple dishes, and the waitress was gruff poor at her job.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 19, 2016

It had been a while since we visited. The facility upgrades were nice. The service was friendly and attentive. Unfortunantly the food was not tasty and in some cases should have been sent back. We were there for family gathering, party of nine. I'm sorry we cannot recommend to others!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 18, 2016

Good was delicious & our service was wonderful. Definitely go again

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 12, 2016

Great authentic Italian cuisine!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 12, 2016

We went for my birthday and a few of us ordered manicotti and we were very disappointed. We weren't a fan of the texture of the noodles, there could have been more sauce and a very small helping. I would not go back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 12, 2016

We have been going here for years. The food is starting to slip compared to past visits. The pasta dish I had was not as flavorful as it use to be and the chicken dish that my wife had was rather small for the price. I will give them one more try before I will cross them off of my list.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on August 11, 2016

Hostess spilled water on is. Waiter spilled wine on us. Veal was rare. Not at all what I was hoping for. Very disappointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 9, 2016

Great place to entertain customers, dine at this location monthly nd the service has always been great. Spaghetti Meatballs are a favorite and to end the meal make sure to get a piece of cheesecake.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 9, 2016

Went on a Tuesday night and had their special. Very good. Not real crazy about their salad but I prefer an all iceberg lettuce.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
7