About Milano Inn

231 S College Ave
Indianapolis, IN 46202
View Larger Map

The Milano Inn is Family Owned and Operated since 1934. We offer Classic Northern Italian cuisine in a casual setting. Choose from many dining choices. Including our Main Dining room, that showcases "Donald Peter's" mural depicting the "Liberation of Rome" dating back to 1947. Or you'll enjoy our recent renovated Garden Room and Court Yard" and Bocce Ball Courts while relaxing with the spectacular views of the downtown Indianapolis skyline. The Milano Inn offers Private Dining Space that will accommodate groups ranging from 16 - 140 of your guests. We welcome all groups including: Bridal Showers, Rehearsal Dinners, Reunions - Social Gatherings, Company Events. We can tailor your event to WOW your guest! The sky is the limit when it comes to your dining options with The Milano Inn. We look forward to seeing you and your guests soon!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
FREE PARKING!
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00 a.m. - 4:00 .p.m.
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Closed the following dates: New Year's Day, Memorial Day, Labor Day and Thanksgiving

Cross Street:
College & South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 264-3585

Website:
http://www.milanoinn.com/

Entertainment:
Bocci Ball Courts Available, and we are pet friendly on our new outdoor patio.

Catering:
The Milano Inn offers catering for any type of event. You can choose from our classic Italian menu or let us know what you would like to be served at your event and we will do our best to cater to your particular needs. We also offer a very affordable take out menu to meet the need of any size group.

Parking Details:
The Milano Inn offers FREE onsite parking. No need to hassle with parking meter or garages here.

Executive Chef:
John White

Private Party Facilities:
The Milano Inn houses 6 private dining rooms with sizes ranging from 16 - 130 of your guests. It is the perfect setting for Rehearsal Dinners, Corporate Events, Family Gatherings and everything in between.

Private Party Contact:
Tim McCauley: 3172643585

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout

Milano Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Indiana
Outdoor Dining
Indianapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown Indy ›

good for groups (33)
special occasion (32)
great for outdoor dining (27)
See All
neighborhood gem (26)
romantic (12)
great for lunch (12)
fit for foodies (11)
kid-friendly (11)
great for brunch (5)
scenic view (4)
notable wine list (3)
late-night find (2)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
204 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very classy restaurant. Good bread, very ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Very classy restaurant. Good bread, very nice waitress, lovely atmosphere. Our waitress discharged our tiramisu because she said it was still frozen in the middle. My Caesar salad was a little gross because the Parmesan cheese basically melted and blended in with the dressing, but that was the only bad thing. Good place to eat and I would recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Service & quality of the food was superb ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Service & quality of the food was superb, as usual !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We will not be returning. The food was c ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We will not be returning. The food was completely over priced and looked and tasted like something we would be served at Applebees or O'Charleys but for a fraction of the price or even a frozen meal you would eat at home. The calamari was over fried with more bread crust than meat, the chicken dish we ordered (for $18!) came all dried out, with minimal asparagus and roasted potatoes. The cheesecake did not look or taste fresh. Very disappointed overall. The service was great and the ambiance was nice. But we will not be paying high prices for below quality food. The prices would have been just fine if the food was high quality. Very disappointed for sure especially since we were celebrating our anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

Wonderful dinner and service. Very quie ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Wonderful dinner and service. Very quiet Friday evening for a busy weekend in downtown Indianapolis.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for lunch! It was exceptionally n ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Great for lunch! It was exceptionally nice with excellent service. We felt so welcome and the food was fabulous. Order off the menu for best food.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It was absolutely wonderful! From the pr ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

It was absolutely wonderful! From the prosciutto breadsticks to the Rosemary Chicken Lasagna to the Tiramisu the food was outstanding. Our server was very nice and kept the drinks full.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My dish was gross. The chicken was like ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

My dish was gross. The chicken was like rubber, probably frozen. It was a disappointing evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Love Milano's been going there for years ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Love Milano's been going there for years and years. There are a few subtle changes in menu items that I don't care for though....

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Mixed Feelings - SECURE YOUR CARS!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

I have eaten in this restaurant several times before and the food and service were outstanding. As a result, we took a group of employees out for dinner. We arrived at 5 p.m. for our reservation and the table was ready for us. The waitress was friendly and very much on top of keeping our drinks going. I'm not sure about what the kitchen was doing -- we finally received our entree at 7 p.m., only to find that one individual's lasagna was cold in the middle. In all fairness, the manager was VERY apologetic and this meal was written off of our bill. We then left, only to discover that someone had broken out my back door window and stolen some things from my car. While this is no fault of the restaurants, just be sure you secure your cars when dining! The police noted that the Milano parking lot that's across the street is an easy target on a one way street.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Good Italian food. Very nice patio. Serv ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Good Italian food. Very nice patio. Service inconsistent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Milano's changing and not for the better!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Our family has enjoyed uncountable number of meals at Milano's. Our parents dated here 1953-1954. My last four visits have been regrettable to say the least. Each time less satisfactory. The welcoming feel of the establishment to the ambience, to the service and now the food has now changed this from being our favorite "go to place" to one that is "easy to bypass now" and start going to the "place down the street".

We arrived with reservations at 6 pm on Friday, the hostess greeted us warmly, but the owner standing next to her just blew us off - he didn't even acknowledge us when I said hello and that we were happy to be there. Hostess asked if we preferred a booth or a table, table chosen, and were seated at the table in front of the opening to the kitchen even though all other tables in that area were open and the only other table occupied was in the front window. We were there 2 hours, only three other tables occupied during that time. A nicer wine was recommended, and was good.

The food has changed completely, and we were disappointed. Even down to the Spaghetti and Meat Sauce which I have ordered for the past 40 years -- it is no longer the traditional red sauce and meat but has chunks of meat and peppers and who knows what and no traditional red sauce.

Our waitress was extremely kind and helpful. The hostess when we left was again very friendly. The owner again standing there, but said no word of thank you for coming or asking if our visit was enjoyable.

VERY DISAPPOINTED AFTER OVER 50 YEARS OF ENJOYMENT IN THIS ESTABLISHMENT, will be looking for a new family "go to favorite" now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Reservation was kept food was good and t ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Reservation was kept food was good and the service was good.

Nice selection of both food and wine.

Plenty of parking.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

Good food and a great atmosphere . Outd ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Good food and a great atmosphere . Outdoor patio looked nice although I didn't dine outside .

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Noise level was not energetic it was LOU ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Noise level was not energetic it was LOUD. Our booth was run into and bumped all during

dinner by a large party crammed in behind us...not an enjoyable dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Overall quality is down in many respects.

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The ambiance is no longer what it once was before the redesign of the interior, the service was quite slow, and the food was just not as good as it has been in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Outdoor patio is very nice. Service was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Outdoor patio is very nice. Service was a little slow. Waitress was a bit overwhelmed that night and kept making all kinds of excuses about what was going in the back of the house. Frankly I don't really care. Unfortunately it's the servers job to take the fall for that stuff. All

She needed to do was give a simple apology and move on. We weren't bitchy about it or anything so it wasn't necessary. Also had to send my food back as I got my fished served not as ordered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Food and service very good. Prices have ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Food and service very good. Prices have risen it seems with smaller portions?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Milano Inn

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Milan Inn has good food but when you leave you are not thinking about it the next day. I judge a lot of restaurants that way. If I am trying to gather a different group of friends to hurry and go back I know it was great. The food was definitely NOT bad just not great.

Our service was fantastic but we were her only table so it should have been. There were 9 of us in our group.

We had chosen Milano to play bocce ball after but it was raining. That is a GREAT extra they provide.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The restaurant appears very nice as you ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

The restaurant appears very nice as you arrive. The inside is very nice as well. The food ... Not so good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

Bday at the Milano Inn

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We have been to the Milano Inn several times to celebrate my husbands birthday. He loves the spaghetti and meatballs there. As usual, he ordered his favorite. Our two daughters were with us. One ordered the Chicken Saltimbocca and the other had the manicotti after the tortellini en brodo she originally ordered was 86'd. While the service was very good, the food was very disappointing. I had the Chicken Milanese because I thoroughly enjoyed the same thing from Hello Fresh a week or so ago. Instead of being served on arugula, etc, the greens under the nondescript Dairy Queen style breaded chicken were similar to bagged salad from Costco. The Chicken Saltimbocca was grossly overcooked. The Manicotti could be described as okay, but not up to the usual par of the Milano Inn.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

First time I have been disappointed in Milano

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

We went to Milano for my birthday dinner. I love their Veal Parm, and that's what I planned to order. They were out of Veal. I looked through the menu and ordered Shrimp & Crab Alfredo. They were out of crab.

I guess we'll try another time.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

Milano Inn review for 4/9/16 plus

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

I have been a regular customer of the Milano Inn for more years than I want to count. The dinner on 4/9/16 was for my wife's birthday and as usual the service and food was excellent. In the past I have had the occasion to both eat lunch and attend parties both at lunch and evening. The service and food is always excellent. Before I retired we went for their lunch buffet at least 4 time a month. Food quality the same as ordering off the menu and was a could value for the money spent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a very surprise. It was very cl ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

This was a very surprise. It was very close to out hotel. Our

Waiter, Chris, was very helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to eat!!!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Atmosphere was very relaxing and pleasant. The fetachini was excellent. I was not pleased with the new speghetti sauce with meat they have now. I say go back to the original one. The cheesecake and chocolate cake were delicious.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Milano Inn a Great Choice

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

The Milano Inn in Indianapolis is a great place to enjoy superior Italian food, top service, and nice view of the city. My experience has always been positive.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Always a great meal!

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

We had an amazing Red Hat dinner. Our server was excellent (as I've learned to expect) and all were well taken care of throughout the meal. LOVE free parking close to downtown and the menu continues to have great food!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

nice atmosphere and great staff! Nice pl ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

nice atmosphere and great staff! Nice place for us to eat lunch!

Tags: romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Dinner

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Well everything was good food, server only thing that I did not like was that my dinner was sent to the wrong table and I had to wait 20 minutes after everyone was finished eating before mine arrived and it was my birthday. Server was very nice and apologized, what was unacceptable was the manager never came over to apologize, to tell me how much longer the wait would be nothing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Our server Shelby was excellent!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Although our server was excellent, the chef did not accommodate a special request initially from one in our party (there were only 3 bites of chicken in the pasta dish). The chef did eventually broil a piece of chicken, but it was brought out to add to the already-cold pasta. The restaurant DID comp the meal, so that was appreciated.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value5

Honestly , best spaghetti I've had in a ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Honestly , best spaghetti I've had in a while. My date enjoyed her meal as well . Overall very good romantic and relaxing ambience. Server was very nice and presentable. Recommend it , we are definitely coming back when the weather allows to try the outside dining area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for date night and a family style dinner.

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Ask for a cozy spot to dine if date night. We went for Valentine's dinner. Food arrived at table very fast course after course. Hot savory not prepared ahead of time and warmed over. There were a few large groups that were loud but I was not turned off. It made me want to bring my large family in the future to enjoy an authentic Italian dinner .

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Valentine Dinner

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We met some old friends for an early dinner on Valentines Day and had a great meal. We were welcomed and seated quickly. Our waiter was great and very friendly. The food was great.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The food matches the decor and ambiance. ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

The food matches the decor and ambiance. A great find in an old neighborhood. It is great that classic places like the Milano Inn can still thrive because they do food right all the way to the old time classics like spaghetti!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Worst service ever

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Our waitress was the worst! She never greeted us, she never smiled, never thanked us for coming or anything. She was extremely slow. She never filled my water glass until I asked her to. She brought the wrong glass of wine, plus one glass wasn't even filled. She brought me my food and it was cold on the inside and when she finally came back to check on us, she didn't even apologize for it. The others in the party were done eating by the time my new food came out. We waited forever to get the bill. I have never had such bad service at a restaurant before. I could go on and on about her Ttitude. I was very displeased, because myself and my daughters were planning on a nice night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

Love Milano Inn

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 3, 2016

Enjoyed our dinner at Milano Inn, had the Lasagna which was excellent and a bottle of chianti, also very good. We go to Milano often and the service is usually excellent, however, on our last visit it wasn't up to par and it was a pretty slow night in the dining room. We will be back soon.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Great food but very slow service

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Great food but very slow service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

The lasagna was undercooked. The waitre ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

The lasagna was undercooked. The waitress said she would bring another. The second entree was more undercooked than the first. The lasagna was white and hard. She commented that everyone who ordered lasagna on devour downtown complained about the lasagna. Even though the lasagna was inedible and two people at our table ordered it, the manager never came over and we were not offered something different to eat. The bill was not discounted so we paid full price and two of four entrees were not eaten. I realize it was a good price because of devour downtown but you should not leave a restaurant hungrier than when you went in. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Service

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

The meal was delicious. The service was slow. It could have been that the wait-staff was

short-handed or perhaps it was an issue with the kitchen?

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

a hidden gem

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

My daughter and I went to this restaurant before a concert. We wanted Italian and thought we would give it a try. It was outstanding. Quiet and cozy...and the food was outstanding. We will bring the rest of the family next time. Definitely recommend dining here.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Welcome back!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

We searched all over Indianapolis to find the perfect spot to have my son and future daughter in laws rehearsal dinner. After reading some reviews online and friends recomadations, they had the perfect spot upstairs. I'd say we had about 40 people, and it was a fantastic evening. The food was great, and the service was outstanding, that's why after 7 years, nearly seven years we wanted to come back. You see we're from out of town and our family lives all around the Indianapolis area, so we wanted to have dinner at Milano Inn. We had a separate room with a long table, ordered some delicious meals and enjoyed our family. So you see I'd recommend this to anybody, good for a large group, or for two.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.