Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 8 times today

Milan Indian Cuisine

4.7
71 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Indian
Top Tags:
  • Comfort Food
  • Tasting Menu
  • Good Vegetarian Options
If you have never experienced Indian cuisine, you are in for a treat. We offer a richly varied menu of fresh natural, wholesome sauces and flavorful spices.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Indian, Pakistani, South Indian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, Saturday & Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm; Dinner:
Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(434) 984-2828
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
full service catering available.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
haydrulic road
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine
What 71 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.3
service
4.2
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Quiet
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Buffet choices limited to chicken meatballs and watery vegetables. The quality has gone downhill

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 17, 2018

They were really packed the night we dined so the service was admittedly not their best but the food was terrific and the staff did their best.

My husband is From Mumbai so we were suspect of the food but it was really good! Definitely worth the trip and will become one of our regular places to eat out!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Food and experience was great, but we had a decent amount of confusion over our order. They made it right eventually, though.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 7, 2018

Excellent food and good staff. Always a pleasant experience to visit Milan - pretty much the best Indian food in town and the lunch buffet is perfect for going with a diverse group of people, as one can pick and choose the items of liking.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 28, 2018

Good place for some India lunch buffet. Food is really great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2018

Loved this special restaurant went for late lunch on Saturday, and while we were there almost all the table filled up. The food is fabulous, of course we over ordered with naans and appetizer of tandori chick & Lamb sample this was so good. husband had crab curry and I the Lamb. all was done to perfection, the lamb was medium as it should have been. the sauce was medium not too spicy and not too mild. we traveled 76 miles from Stafford for this and will return again. Restaurant was very clean, and our Waiter was really great service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 19, 2018

Food was so good!! First time my husband had India food and he loved it. Great service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 1, 2018

Great food. Friendly service. Love the Tandoori Chicken.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 25, 2017

Great place to spend Christmas dinner

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 24, 2017

Service was fair/poor. Food was good. Waiter was not friendly, our dessert was not what was describe in the menu. When we asked waiter for explanation, he said that is what it is, obviously it was not(menu said chocolate tart with Chai/chocolate sauce) it did not have any sauce. He was rude and did not offer any explanation nor compensation. We asked him to pack the leftover and he took the food in and did not give us our left over(it was lot, we had order more than 10 dishes). We visit this place quite often, this the first time we had issues. Hoping they resolved the issues.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 9, 2017

We have been here for the lunch buffet years ago, so we know the food is good. As expected, the menu contains a good amount of vegan options, almost, making it difficult to decide on what to order. The complimentary "chips" are so tasty. And the entrees were terrific. They brought us more rice for no extra charge. And the whole meal was quite affordable. We highly recommend Milan.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 3, 2017

The lamb was only of fair quality. Sometimes there lamb dishes are very tender and flavorful. But this time quality of the meat was only fair.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 25, 2017

Very good Indian food with good service. Lamb saag is very good, as is the goat.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 4, 2017

Super tasty, loved the okra! Will definitely go back soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 3, 2017

Great meal, wonderful service. Lamb for my spouse and myself. Not too spicy.
Another attractor: they support Hospice of Piedmont.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 15, 2017

Not the best Indian food I've ever had, that was in Nairobi as the guest of my friend Nitan Patni. Good though, a cut above the normal American standard Indian fare. Very attentive service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 8, 2017

Milan is a favorite for all of the students at the law school. The servers are friendly and accommodating, I love that they use real tablecloths and the food is amazing! The Garlic Naan is the best I have ever had and my Chicken Tandoori was seasoned to perfection!.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 3, 2017

The food was outstanding; maybe the best Indian food we've had. The service was also top-notch. The server was informative, attentive, and friendly. If your looking for high quality Indian food for a reasonable price, this is the place to go.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 3, 2017

Always enjoy the vegetarian options, pleasant ambiance, eager to please staff.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 13, 2017

Best Indian food we have had in a long time. White table cloths and good servers. Wine list is nice too. We will return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 15, 2017

Fantastic, authentic Indian cuisine. Excellent flavor, friendly, helpful wait staff.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 3, 2017

We visited the place passing through Charlottesville. Previous reviews on this site and others were encouraging, so we gave it a try. We had the buffet which was abundant and flavorful. There were a good number of Indian immigrants and tourists in the place having a great time, so that told me it must be good. I wasn't wrong.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 24, 2017

Our 1st (but not last) visit to Milan Indian Cuisine was an excellent experience.
The food is superb and nicely spiced; the service exceptional and quite precise. We ordered samosas, Lamb Vin D'Alho, Paneer Makhni, and a late request Vegetable Biryani was a decision we did not regret. Leftovers for lunch the next day were equally delectable. The service is as good as the food that is being served. Eat here - you will be joyous.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2017

This was our third visit to Milan. We eat a lot of Indian food at home in Maryland and on our travels through Europe. The food at Milan is consistently good and on a par with many upscale Indian restaurants that we have visited. We are not consumers of really spice food, so on this visit we chose medium spicy ("2") and for us, it was the right amount of spice and not too hot. The waiter and staff were all friendly and pleasant. If you like Indian food, we highly recommend Milan.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 26, 2017

numerous choices, the food is good, the service outstanding, friendly and efficient, aim to please and they did.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 21, 2017

Very good but a bit louder than I would have expected. Would return!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2017

DELICIOUS food that rivals the top Indian restaurant in washington, DC at a reasonable price!! EXCELLENT! Great value. Fresh ingredients. They accommodated my wheat allergy and spiced up the flavor to my taste. I wish I'd found this place sooner than on the day my son graduated from UVA; if I had, I'd have eaten here every time we visited UVA.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2017

Milan is hands down our favorite place in Cville. I would recommend to anyone who enjoys amazing food, excellent service, and totally reasonable prices. DO NOT miss out on this place!!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2017

Very good food, excellent attention to detail and service

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 11, 2017

This was my first experience with Indian food, so I m not qualified to evaluate it, but others in my party had been here before and love the food. I found the range of flavors very interesting, sometimes unique, and tasty. Great variety on the lunch buffet.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2017

This was our first time here and we will be back. Great atmosphere, excellent service and the food was outstanding!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2017

The food and atmosphere was excellent and the service was great. The cost was extremely reasonable for the amount of food you received.
Thank you.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 21, 2017

Best Indian in Charlottesville. Great variety and range of options. Service always friendly and attentive. Solid buffet at lunch only

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2016

Nice start to the meal are the popodom and condiments. Pakora and samosa appetizers were very good. Main courses were spiced as requested. Nice selection of Indian beer.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 3, 2016

Always a great meal at Milan. We tried going completely vegetarian, and of course with Indian food, that's easy. We always enjoy Milan. The food is delicious and the service is excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 3, 2016

Service, food - all great. Already looking forward to our next visit.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 12, 2016

From the minute you walk in the door you are attended to. Very good service! Also, we are vegetarian and they have wonderful choices. The menu is well marked for vegetarian and vegan options.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 11, 2016

Awesome foods for meat, veggie and vegan lovers. Definitely need a vegan dessert though! Excellent food and service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 8, 2016

They went above and beyond for us. We really enjoyed our lunch. We have eaten Indian food all over the country and this was one of the best.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 28, 2016

Excellent and reasonably priced Indian food. Whether you like it mild or spicy, they will customize your dishes. A great selection, ideal for meat-eaters or vegetarians. I have eaten in scores of Indian restaurants and this is one of the best.

Report
Helpful
1
2