About Milan Indian Cuisine

1817 Emmett St
Charlottesville, VA 22901
View Larger Map

If you have never experienced Indian cuisine, you are in for a treat. We offer a richly varied menu of fresh natural, wholesome sauces and flavorful spices.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Indian, Pakistani, South Indian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, Saturday & Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm; Dinner:
Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
haydrulic road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(434) 984-2828

Website:
http://www.milan-indian-cuisine.com/

Catering:
full service catering available.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Milan Indian Cuisine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (6)
special occasion (5)
neighborhood gem (4)
See All
romantic (3)
good for groups (3)
great for lunch (2)
kid-friendly (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
28 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We always have great food and service! ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined 4 days ago

We always have great food and service! First choice of friend visiting from out of town.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good sampling of Indian Cuisine. A bit s ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined 6 days ago

Good sampling of Indian Cuisine. A bit spicy even at mild level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Go-to for good Indian food in Charlottesville

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We've been to Milan multiple times now (twice for special occasions--anniversary and birthday), plus have done take-out there as well as Sunday brunch. It's consistently excellent food, very filling, and we have always felt it has a good, relaxed vibe. The service is good but they also fade to the background and just let you enjoy your meal, which we like.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent good at a reasonable rate.

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

We went there on a last minute spur during our visit to Charlottesville. The food was great and the service very good. The prices are ok too.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Great food and plenty of it! Restaurant was a bit cold inside though!

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Good, but could be better

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Quality of the lamb was below par. It did not seem fresh and had a funny taste.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was delicious. Staff was kind a ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The food was delicious. Staff was kind and service was quick. One of the best Indian restaurants I've been to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food and great service! Thank you. ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

Great food and great service! Thank you. We will come back again. We had a large party and tried many items. All food was wonderful. Loved the chicken chettinadu, chicken saffron, and rogan josh

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food is consistently good here. Our ser ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on December 9, 2015

Food is consistently good here. Our server was friendly, attentive and accommodating.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Quality Food and Service

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on October 10, 2015

We always enjoy Milan, which has consistently offered quality food and service in a quiet atmosphere (rare for Charlottesville restaurants). I am a vegetarian and appreciate the many offerings on the menu. Two favorites are the cauliflower appetizer and eggplant entrée.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Service and Food

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 26, 2015

I recently went there with a friend, and we were both surprised with how polite and friendly the servers were. The food wasn't amazing, but it was definitely very good (I thought my portion was a bit small, but hers was more than enough for her). Upon leaving, we accidentally left our leftovers on the table, and our waiter was kind enough to catch us before we drove off and give us our food.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Food was really good but.....

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 12, 2015

We had a chi,d w us so we asked for no hot spices and the food was still pretty spicy for our kid. That just meant more food for us to eat - place was freezing cold too. Food there is pretty awesome and service is pretty good. They do a great job. Those were my only concerns.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Best Indian I've had in years!!

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 5, 2015

I was previously spoiled by a great tandoori Indian restaurant in upstate NY, and thought I would never find something like that again outside of a major city. Milan is fantastic and brings back many memories. The service was great, attentive, but not overwhelming. I also felt like I was able to relax and enjoy the food, since we did order a lot, and wasn't rushed to eat and go like typical American restaurants on a Friday night.

I will definitely put this on the list for restaurants to visit often in Charlottesville. :-)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Dinner for two at Milan

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 10, 2015

Delicious food and attentive service are marred only by a somewhat elevated ambient noise level. Front room has better ambience than main back room. May be a better venue for a group of 4 than for 2.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Not great.

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 4, 2015

I have definitely had better indian food at a lower price. The naan was dry and hard. We ordered garlic and plain and there was little difference between the two. I ordered Chicken Ka Korma the chicken was WAY over cooked/dry/tough and the sauce was bland. Service was slow and server did not have a good understanding of the menu. I gave two stars because the interior was pretty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

Fantastic service ... Great food ... Ver ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 28, 2015

Fantastic service ... Great food ... Very enjoyable restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Best Indian food I've had in a very long time.

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 6, 2015

Best Indian food I've had in a long time and for only $10 had an amazing buffet. I don't usually like palak paneer but theirs made me a fan. I'm going to drive all the way back from DC the next time I have a craving. We have nothing this good especially in that price range. Huge fan of Milan Indian Cuisine.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing food and service! First time din ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 14, 2015

Amazing food and service! First time dining at Milan and looking forward to returning.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, would return

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 9, 2014

I visited with my family for Sunday lunch. The buffet was delicious and varied. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First Visit to Milan's

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on November 1, 2014

Exceptional, friendly service. Everyone feels at home here. Large menu to suit all tastes. Everything we ordered was fresh and delicious. Will definitely come back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious surprise

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on October 25, 2014

This meal was outstanding! Waitstaff was attentive and food prepared promptly. We ate early before a show at John Paul Jones and there were a number of families there as well. Everything was wonderful.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Still wonderful

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on October 18, 2014

I ate at Milan three years ago when I was in Charlottesville for my daughter's graduation from UVA. When I returned this fall for a wedding, I decided to give it a try once again. I was not disappointed. The food, service and atmosphere was as I remembered as wonderful. I love Indian food and this place is consistently good. I will come again when I'm in Charlottesville next time.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent Indian Cuisine

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 28, 2014

On busy a highway in Charlottesville, one wasn't sure what to expect, but we enjoyed the visit to this very good restaurant and found the food delicious, and fun to try a new cuisine. The service was great and the dining room comfortable and pleasant. The naan bread was absolutely fresh and excellent for dipping into the great sauces in our main dishes. The menu describes in English what to expect in the individual Indian dishes, and the variety is large and varied. It was a fun experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great as always!

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 21, 2014

Service and food was very tasty. Nice selection of dishes. Vegetarian appetizer is good for two people...order more if with a large party. Our family of 5 got 3 dishes and a dinner-for-two. Had plenty leftover. Dinner for two is a great deal and plenty of food.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We love Indian food anywhere we go, yet ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 2, 2014

We love Indian food anywhere we go, yet I have to say that Milan has some of the most authentic tasting tandoori and curry dishes we have had since touring in India last year. We loved it!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent Indian Fare

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 28, 2014

My family ordered the lunch buffet. There were numerous options for salad, rice, main courses, and desserts. We thoroughly enjoyed the variety of tastes. And, the price made it that much more worthwhile. We hope to come back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Excellent overallxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 19, 2014

Excellent overallxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lives up to the hype!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 22, 2014

When entering, the first thing you see is "Best in Charlottesville" since 2007. Now I know why. Great food with large portions, and excellent service. Never had to wait to ask for anything, and many times I didn't even have to ask. Would go again! It's quite busy, and the conversation level is loud, but the food makes it worth it!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.