About Mikey's Grill

4524 Southlake Parkway Ste. 7
Birmingham, AL 35244
View Larger Map

Mikey's Grill is owned and operated by Michael (affectionately known as "Mikey") and his sister, Melissa Lee. They have over thirty years of combined restaurant experience. Mikey has only the freshest seafood delivered multiple times a week, he cuts all steaks in house and even makes all of the his own sauces and bread. Mikey's is truly a family affair; with Mikey whipping up amazing creations with a Cajun flare in the kitchen, Melissa, selecting the wine and running the front and even their Mom, Donna, pitches in baking her delectable homemade desserts!
If you are looking for an amazing dining experience, try us out! It is truly one of Hoover, Alabama's hidden gems!!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Cajun

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 4:30pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Valleydale Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(205) 538-7637

Website:
http://www.mikeysgrill.com/

Catering:
Please call us to inquire about catering.

Executive Chef:
Michael Lee

Private Party Facilities:
Please call to inquire about renting the restaurant.

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Lee: 2055387637x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Blackened Talapia - Mikey's Grill, Birmingham, AL
  • The Black and Bleu - Mikey's Grill, Birmingham, AL
  • Sweet potato chips - Mikey's Grill, Birmingham, AL
  • The Other - Mikey's Grill, Birmingham, AL
  • Shrimp Fettucine Alfredo (Garnished With A Watermelon-Radish) - Mikey's Grill, Birmingham, AL
  • Cheeses Cake - Mikey's Grill, Birmingham, AL
  • Macadamia Nut Crusted Snapper With Pineapple Honey Mustard Butter - Mikey's Grill, Birmingham, AL
  • Deep fried soft shell crab - Mikey's Grill, Birmingham, AL
Blackened Talapia - Mikey's Grill, Birmingham, AL
The Black and Bleu - Mikey's Grill, Birmingham, AL
Sweet potato chips - Mikey's Grill, Birmingham, AL
The Other - Mikey's Grill, Birmingham, AL
Shrimp Fettucine Alfredo (Garnished With A Watermelon-Radish) - Mikey's Grill, Birmingham, AL
Cheeses Cake - Mikey's Grill, Birmingham, AL
Macadamia Nut Crusted Snapper With Pineapple Honey Mustard Butter - Mikey's Grill, Birmingham, AL
Deep fried soft shell crab - Mikey's Grill, Birmingham, AL

Specials

Winetastic Wednesday

Wednesdays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Specials

Winetastic Wednesday

Wednesdays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Details

Every Wednesday patrons may order any wine by the glass for only $5.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Oct 5, 2016 - Feb 1, 2017 on Wednesdays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM.

Mikey's Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.8

ambience

4.1

value

4.3

noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
See All
Worth the Drive (3)
Authentic (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Casual (2)
Romantic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Business Meals (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
181 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food for a good price. Not fancy, ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great food for a good price. Not fancy, but good food. Best hollandaise sauce!!! Adequate beer and drink selections. Tilefish dish was very good! Wedge salad was a perfect starter. Bread pudding was simple and my bread pudding expert wife said it was one of the best she has ever tasted. We will be back..... kind of a drive for us, but we do it about twice a year.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was wonderful and the food w ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The service was wonderful and the food was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fabulous. We started with ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 18, 2016

The food was fabulous. We started with tasty salads - a nice mix of greens with excellent choices of dressing. The vinagrette was truly delicious.

The homemade rolls were served warm. Be careful not to fill up on them - they are just that yummy that you might.

The crabcakes were beyond compare - even to the Maryland natives in our party. They were filled with white, flaky crabmeat while coated with the perfect amount of breadcrumbs and fried to a perfect golden brown.

The brown butter sauce served with the crabcakes was adequate but not to the taste of most in our group. The remoulade was better but could have had a touch more zing.

We also had an order of fried okra which was prepared in the true Southern fashion then fried to perfection. Divine!!

For dessert, the bread pudding was sinfully delicious. The pudding's sauce was decadent with brown sugar, brandy and pecans. We also sampled the pumpkin roll which was sumptuous. The flavors of the pumpkin cake were definitely enhanced by the cream cheese icing.

The service was great. Our reservation from Open Table meant that we were seated within moments of our arrival. The prices are a little high, but the food we had was worth every penny. In this case, you absolutely get what you pay for. We will be back soon!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Decent food but way over priced. Howeve ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Decent food but way over priced. However; our waiter, Nate, was excellent.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Staff was very attentive. The foot was ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Staff was very attentive. The foot was good but simplistic. The salad was fresh and the homemade ranch was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I had heard it had some o ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 9, 2016

My husband and I had heard it had some of the best fish in town! It did not disappoint! Although nothing over the top, fancy, the fish was fresh and cooked to perfection! Our server, Zane, was amazing. He was very knowledgable, honest, entertaining, and attentive. We are looking forward to cooler weather so that we can enjoy dining outdoors on our next visit!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Mikey's is an excellent restaurant. Fan ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Mikey's is an excellent restaurant. Fantastic food, friendly staff, enjoyable atmosphere. The food is an excellent value for the quality that you receive. We don't go often, but when we want something special, it is the place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love to go to eat at Mikey's. We alw ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 5, 2016

We love to go to eat at Mikey's. We always have good food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, service and atmosphere. ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Excellent food, service and atmosphere. Enjoyed our meal very much.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First visit and was surprised how good e ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 10, 2016

First visit and was surprised how good everything was.

Will return again soon.

Great fish

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our experience was very good. I had read ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Our experience was very good. I had read some reviews and they were all accurate. We had the fried crab claws as an appetizer. Tasty but a little pricey. However, we aren't at the beach where prices may be a little cheaper. My wife had the stuffed grouper without any complaints. My crab cakes were just delicious. Almost like being in Baltimore. The wine was tasty; the dessert drinks were tastier. Micky and Melissa's mom makes all the desserts of which I had the double chocolate with chocolate chips cake. Yummy!! We had a great time and will definitely go back. I highly recommend this little place hidden in a small strip center in Hoover off hwy 17. Kudos!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

One of Birmingham area's best kept secrets.

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2016

We love Mikey's Grill, only having discovered it about six months ago. A great and diverse menu, excellent specials and great desserts. Haven't had a bad meal at Mikey's - ever. Heartily recommend it. Don't let the name fool you. This isn't a sports bar type grill. It's a fine dining restaurant with a menu that works regardless of how fine you want the dining to be. Even the sandwiches are great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing! The service was ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 10, 2016

The food was amazing! The service was great too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The crab cakes are the best in the worl ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 8, 2016

The crab cakes are the best in the world!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and our server (Zane) were Outs ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 20, 2016

The food and our server (Zane) were Outstanding. We will go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Stopped in for dinner on a weeknight, so ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 20, 2016

Stopped in for dinner on a weeknight, so we got a table immediately. I ordered the Grouper Oscar and my wife ordered the crab cakes. The grouper was absolutely perfect, moist and flaky with plenty of crabmeat on top. The batter was thin, golden brown and crisp. The crab cakes were thick and fried to perfection. Been there before and will definitely be back! Also, service was top notch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great surprise

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 7, 2016

We weren't sure when we pulled up but when we walked in, sat down, ordered, ate, and walked out we were pleasantly surprised at the wonderful food. We all ordered something different and everything was divine!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mikey's Grill is our favorite place!

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 30, 2016

I'm always delighted to get the chance to eat at Mikey's. We've made Mikey's our go to place for special occasions and the place to take family and friends for an extra special meal! The food is always delicious. The service is always perfect.

Thanks Mikey and staff for excellence!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fanatic fresh grouper

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 19, 2016

Highly recommend the fresh fish. perfectly prepared with a light sauce and served promptly with nice wine recommendation. We were trying make a concert and they helped enjoy a wonderful meal without feeling rushed eat by the prompt service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great as always

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 16, 2016

Once again Mikey's was fantastic. Chris is an outstanding server and the food was as good as it always is. You can't go wrong with this choice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The prices at Mikey's are what keeps me ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 1, 2016

The prices at Mikey's are what keeps me from eating there more often. I had a chicken breast-sized piece of snapper with two measley shrimp that cost almost $30. Not worth it by any stretch of the imagination.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

The food is phenomenal every time we go! ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 1, 2016

The food is phenomenal every time we go!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very Good Food

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 26, 2016

Wife and I both had a piece of fish. Entree had very good flavors. Portions could be a little larger. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Our first time at Mikey's. We went there ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 25, 2016

Our first time at Mikey's. We went there based on prior reviews and our friends' recommendations. We started with the fried alligator bites. Surprisingly tender and delicious. Chardonnay and dirty martinis were perfect pairings with the meal. My wife had the special grilled fish with crab claws and gulf shrimp. I had the bone-in grilled ribeye steak topped with sautéed mushrooms. Ordered rare/medium rare. Everything was perfectly cooked. The chef and staff have a gentle skill with the food. Zane was our server. Very knowledgeable, with a genteel Southern charm. We look forward to our next meal at Mikey's Grill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our waiter was excellent and our food wa ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 18, 2016

Our waiter was excellent and our food was wonderful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 17, 2016

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always delicious!

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 12, 2016

Always delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent. Love the Chicken Saltemnoca. ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 6, 2016

Excellent. Love the Chicken Saltemnoca. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent food as always

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 5, 2016

Excellent food as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The macadamia nut snapper was great!

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 28, 2016

The food and service was great! They are very flexible with their menu. The crab cake was wonderful,just a little pricy $11.95 for 1 cake. Other than that the prices were in line with other fine restaurants .

We will use the online reservation again it was great to walk in and be seated when there were others waiting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Spot on

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Everything was extremely well done for a Valentines weekend meal. Food and service were excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disppointed

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2016

We had made a reservation and were immediately seated upon our arrival. Took a little while to ask for our drink order, but, they were very busy. My wife immediately commented on how cold it was and, in fact, at the table behind us the getleman in our same area went out and got his date a coat. Never got any warmer. Service was good and efficient. We had the crab claws for an appetizer, they were good, but, on the small size. The Salad was excellent, very fresh. Very disappointed in our entrees, my wife had the RibEye and I know a good one is very marbeled, but, this one had a lot of fat and grizzle. I had the filet and fried oysters, the filet was overdone and the fried oysters were underdcooked and cold. Mikeys had been recommended to me, but, I doubt we will go back. Thought it was overpriced for what we got.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

There are no suprises at Mikey's!

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 9, 2016

The food is ALWAYS fresh and delicious. The service is ALWAYS impeccable. The place is ALWAYS clean and inviting. ALWAYS!

Warning: DON'T LEAVE WITHOUT HAVING A DESSERT & I suggest not sharing - you will want it all to yourself - ALWAYS!

A big shout out to our server Zane! Thank you for helping make our birthday celebration perfect!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, vibrant atmosphere

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 1, 2016

We ordered several fresh seafood dishes, they were as good as similar dished enjoyed previously in the French Quarter of New Orleans at high profile restaurants. For desert we had Italian Rum Cake & Bread Pudding that exceeded expectations. Hats off to the chef! The atmosphere was a bit louder than we expected for a romantic dinner. The web site is a bit misleading in this area, the atmosphere is neighborhood grill, with the bar area open to the dinner area and not quaint dining. The restaurant could benefit from some sound absorbing panels in the open rafters. The hostess was very efficient, the waiter was prompt and efficient as well. Overall, the experience was very positive, we will return when traveling to Birmingham in the future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Great place!

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 30, 2015

Delicious food and excellent service. Mikey's is our favorite neighborhood resturant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome bread pudding, a must for you t ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 15, 2015

Awesome bread pudding, a must for you to try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Mikey 2015

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 22, 2015

Been here before. Will come again when in Birmingham. Foosbal is excellent. Had grouper which was extremely fresh and delicious. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

As always, I drive from Alabaster to get ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 11, 2015

As always, I drive from Alabaster to get that awesome bread pudding. You must go by and get some. It's worth it and also the steak and cake is the best in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Outstanding Place to Dine

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 15, 2015

Outstanding as usual. Chis was once again provided great service. Highly recommend.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mikey's Shines Once AGain

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 2, 2015

Once again Mikey's has delivered excellence in all aspects. Great food, great atmosphere and great service (Chris is exceptional). Love this place.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.