About Mikey's Grill

Mikey's Grill is owned and operated by Michael (affectionately known as "Mikey") and his sister, Melissa Lee. They have over thirty years of combined restaurant experience. Mikey has only the freshest seafood delivered multiple times a week, he cuts all steaks in house and even makes all of the his own sauces and bread. Mikey's is truly a family affair; with Mikey whipping up amazing creations with a Cajun flare in the kitchen, Melissa, selecting the wine and running the front and even their Mom, Donna, pitches in baking her delectable homemade desserts!
If you are looking for an amazing dining experience, try us out! It is truly one of Hoover, Alabama's hidden gems!!

4524 Southlake Parkway Ste. 7
Birmingham, AL 35244
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Cajun

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 4:30pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Valleydale Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(205) 538-7637

Website:
http://www.mikeysgrill.com/

Catering:
Please call us to inquire about catering.

Executive Chef:
Michael Lee

Private Party Facilities:
Please call to inquire about renting the restaurant.

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Lee: (205) 538-7637

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Winetastic Wednesday

Wednesdays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Specials

Winetastic Wednesday

Wednesdays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Details

Every Wednesday patrons may order any wine by the glass for only $5.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 2, 2017 - Jun 2, 2017 on Wednesdays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM.

Mikey's Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

3.9

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
See All
Quiet Conversation (8)
Casual (8)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Cozy (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Romantic (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Business Meals (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Family Style (2)
Authentic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Healthy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great Beer (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
219 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great food, excellent service. One of my favorite local spots.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The food and service were great in an unexpected location.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Always a great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The restaurant is rightfully known for it's crab cakes & crabmeat dishes. The crabmeat topping on our baked grouper was awesome, but nothing else about the dining experience was. The grouper itself was pretty ordinary except for the topping. (The hollandaise sauce was excellent, though.) We were seated at a table where cold air was blasting us from the ceiling register. The waiter did turn off a ceiling fan, but that didn't help. The waiter did not know the price of the specials, quoting them as "$28-$30 bucks, something like that." While we were eating the hostess and another employee came over to set up a large table but were talking and laughing and slamming chairs and tables around without any regard for us (the only guests in the station, at the time.) I finally had to ask the hostess to be a little quieter, so she left and didn't return. The restaurant is clearly owned and run by and for the convenience of a chef, where the emphasis is on the food, but the employees were not well-trained, poorly disciplined, not concerned about the guest experience, and the front-of-the-house experience was obviously of secondary importance to the chef's skills. This restaurant is not cheap, so at almost $75 for a couple of tablespoons of a good crabmeat topping for the 2 of us, and paying for the whole experience...well, it was overpriced big time. The menu was a la carte, and as former Texans, we used to call these portions "Toy Food," at near-Highland Grill prices. The last time we tried the restaurant, we were the victims of a Groupon barrage, and by the time we were seated, they were out of just about everything on the menu. We forgave them the first try. Not the second. We won't be back, our money can be better appreciated elsewhere. Sorry, Mikey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Went for our 20th wedding anniversary. Wait staff was attentive and quick. Request to turn off fans (too cold) was accommodated. Special of crab claws sounded good, but claws were tiny and price of $16 was not disclosed upfront and was definitely not even remotely worth it. $8-10 would have been appropriate. That was the only bad part of the dinner. Other than that, the food was delicious, good portions, and served quickly. Wine selection was small but appropriate and good. Would go back if in the area, but would not make a special trip for it. Recommend if you are in the area, though.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on March 19, 2017

No surprises, the food and the service is always great and so are the people. Easy and convenient location.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Mikey's Grill is an EXCELLENT dining experience. Great food and service. I asked my 17 year old daughter where she wanted the family to celebrate her birthday and Mikey's is where she chose to go!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Service was outstanding. Small food portions with limited sides.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 11, 2017

First time here and it was not enough to bring me back. I had ribeye and it tasted as though it had been frozen, tasteless chalky and very fatty. We asked for additional bread 3 times to no avail. Asked for an extra dirty martini and it was terrible and an ad on the table Grey Goose Vodka martinis eere 6 dollars we were charged 9.00. Now upside my husband fully enjoyed his grouper and our while the ancillary servers lacked a lot our actual waiter did a good job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I was a bit disappointed I requested a quiet table for a romantic dinner. I sat in the middle of the dinning area which was packed. Guess there no private areas but the food was exceptionally good!

Tags: Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 18, 2017

great food, very consistently good! Great servers and staff.
Donna G.

Tags: Disabled Access, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I wish I could remember my servers name. I remember him saying that he'd worked there for almost 6 years so hopefully that rings a bell. He was wonderful. Very knowledgeable about the menu, and was great with suggestions. I also have to applaud the restaurant on the friendliness of every staff member we encountered. Our reservations were at 8:30 and I was a little nervous because online it had the restaurant listed for a 9:00 closing time. We did not feel rushed at all. Our server gave us ample time to look over the menu. The food was very good as well. I stepped out of my comfort zone and tried some kind of pecan fish and shrimp and it was really good (and this is coming from a very picky eater lol.) The bread... omg the bread, was AMAZING! And they were not stingy with it either. Found this place on opentable for a last minute vday meal and I'm glad I decided on it! They had a special menu on vday, so I'm excited to go back and try what else they have to offer!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We where there for valentines. Not the best restaurant we've been to, but food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This is always a great place...great service, great food.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We truly enjoyed our Valentines Dinner at Mikey's Grill. The crab cake was the best I've ever had. My grouper with Hollandaise sauce, lump crab meat and asparagus was delicious! My husband had the Macadamia nut crusted snapper and loved it! We will definitely be back soon!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had Valentines dinner there. Good local place. You have to eat the fried okra. We also like that we can bring our own wine for a corkage fee. We had the filet and crab cake and it was wonderful. Not a bad price for the quality of the food. We like Kristy as our waitress. She is good lots of fun: very good value for the money.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent food and excellent service! I would recommend Mikey's Grill anytime, but especially for date night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Followed Chef for his fantastic crabcakes. They are the best I've ever had. The Filet Mignon melts in your mouth. His gumbo is not too spicey, but has all of the flavors and tastes of his cajun roots. All of the desserts are absolutely delicious.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Considering that it was Valentine's Day, everything seemed somewhat amiss relative to past visits. No clean table ready even though we had a reservation, no fresh bread ready for quite a while, waitress seemed overworked and a bit out-of-sorts, no apparent bus-staff (tables left uncleared for long periods), patron next to us could not eat her food for some reason, and my own $27.75 grouper entree was undercooked and rather bland. It just didn't have the snap and quality that I was expecting of Mikey's. Too bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Everything was really good tonight. Melissa is always great to see and talk to. Service was great and food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Excellent service. Price for steak was a little high but quality was good. Will definitely go back again. Noise level was great. We could actually talk to each other without shouting.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Excellent food, service and atmosphere. Chris is our regular server and never disappoints. Always look to Mikey's for all our special occasions.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Consistently excellent. Always great service, excellent food preparations, and a great selection of cold beers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

One of the best kept Birmingham area restaurant secrets. We have become Mikey's regulars after passing it up for years. Don't let the 'grill' name or the strip mall location fool you, Mikey's is every bit as good as its much better known counterparts.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I found Mikey's on Open Table and was surprised to see that it's only 2 miles from my house. I asked several neighbors and no one had heard of it----but the reviews were so good we decided to try it. We're so glad we did! My husband's grouper was perfectly prepared with a tart sauce that didn't overwhelm the fish. My crab cakes had a little too much breading---I prefer mostly crabmeat. But both entrees came with dinner salads and the tab for all this and 3 glasses of wine with 10% tax and 25% tip was less than $100.

Our server was so attentive and helpful and made suggestions when we asked him to. The restaurant feels like a small family-owned white linen tablecloth place----so it could benefit from turning off the overhead lights and just using votives.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Waiter (Kane I think) was awesome. Bread pudding and crab cakes were awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Well our second visit in a week so obviously we are fans. We were seated immediately and our waitress Lori was great. It was her first week there but you could not tell it by the service. Also, our waiter from last week stopped by to just say hi. Impressed that he remembered us. The food was fantastic. The crab cakes are a must, either as an appetizer, entre or [art of their steak and cake entrée (filet plus crab cake. Also the Caesar salad was the best I have ever eaten anywhere!!!

We will be back in the new year.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Red snapper was absolutely delicious
Bread pudding and cheesecake topped off a great meal

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Seafood is excellent.
Reservations, wait staff need training.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 15, 2016

My wife and I went to Mikey's on a Wednesday night with two friends to celebrate Christmas. We were seated immediately and our waiter, Chris, was very attentive without being intrusive. The food was wonderful. You can not do better than the Pecan Crusted Snapper and the Caesar salad was the best we have ever eaten. Great wine list and beer variety as well. A true gem and we will be going back soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Enjoyed our meal at Mikey's. The crab cakes are fantastic! Also, we had wonderful service. I think our waiter's name was Zane, and he made the night.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great food reasonably priced. Service was pleasant. Drinks were excellent and reasonably priced. We will be back and will recommend to our friends

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Reasonable dining experience. Food was good and satisfied. Ambiance is average. It is a great stop on the way home. Menu never changes. Corkage fee (yes you can bring your on bottle) is up to $15.00. Little high on the price in my humble opinion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great food for a good price. Not fancy, but good food. Best hollandaise sauce!!! Adequate beer and drink selections. Tilefish dish was very good! Wedge salad was a perfect starter. Bread pudding was simple and my bread pudding expert wife said it was one of the best she has ever tasted. We will be back..... kind of a drive for us, but we do it about twice a year.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The service was wonderful and the food was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 18, 2016

The food was fabulous. We started with tasty salads - a nice mix of greens with excellent choices of dressing. The vinagrette was truly delicious.

The homemade rolls were served warm. Be careful not to fill up on them - they are just that yummy that you might.

The crabcakes were beyond compare - even to the Maryland natives in our party. They were filled with white, flaky crabmeat while coated with the perfect amount of breadcrumbs and fried to a perfect golden brown.

The brown butter sauce served with the crabcakes was adequate but not to the taste of most in our group. The remoulade was better but could have had a touch more zing.

We also had an order of fried okra which was prepared in the true Southern fashion then fried to perfection. Divine!!

For dessert, the bread pudding was sinfully delicious. The pudding's sauce was decadent with brown sugar, brandy and pecans. We also sampled the pumpkin roll which was sumptuous. The flavors of the pumpkin cake were definitely enhanced by the cream cheese icing.

The service was great. Our reservation from Open Table meant that we were seated within moments of our arrival. The prices are a little high, but the food we had was worth every penny. In this case, you absolutely get what you pay for. We will be back soon!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Decent food but way over priced. However; our waiter, Nate, was excellent.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Staff was very attentive. The foot was good but simplistic. The salad was fresh and the homemade ranch was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 9, 2016

My husband and I had heard it had some of the best fish in town! It did not disappoint! Although nothing over the top, fancy, the fish was fresh and cooked to perfection! Our server, Zane, was amazing. He was very knowledgable, honest, entertaining, and attentive. We are looking forward to cooler weather so that we can enjoy dining outdoors on our next visit!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Mikey's is an excellent restaurant. Fantastic food, friendly staff, enjoyable atmosphere. The food is an excellent value for the quality that you receive. We don't go often, but when we want something special, it is the place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.