About Mikey's Grill

4524 Southlake Parkway Ste. 7
Birmingham, AL 35244
View Larger Map

Mikey's Grill is owned and operated by Michael (affectionately known as "Mikey") and his sister, Melissa Lee. They have over thirty years of combined restaurant experience. Mikey has only the freshest seafood delivered multiple times a week, he cuts all steaks in house and even makes all of the his own sauces and bread. Mikey's is truly a family affair; with Mikey whipping up amazing creations with a Cajun flare in the kitchen, Melissa, selecting the wine and running the front and even their Mom, Donna, pitches in baking her delectable homemade desserts!
If you are looking for an amazing dining experience, try us out! It is truly one of Hoover, Alabama's hidden gems!!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Cajun

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 4:30pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Valleydale Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(205) 538-7637

Website:
http://www.mikeysgrill.com/

Catering:
Please call us to inquire about catering.

Executive Chef:
Michael Lee

Private Party Facilities:
Please call to inquire about renting the restaurant.

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Lee: 2055387637x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Blackened Talapia - Mikey's Grill, Birmingham, AL
  • The Black and Bleu - Mikey's Grill, Birmingham, AL
  • Sweet potato chips - Mikey's Grill, Birmingham, AL
  • The Other - Mikey's Grill, Birmingham, AL
  • Shrimp Fettucine Alfredo (Garnished With A Watermelon-Radish) - Mikey's Grill, Birmingham, AL
  • Cheeses Cake - Mikey's Grill, Birmingham, AL
  • Macadamia Nut Crusted Snapper With Pineapple Honey Mustard Butter - Mikey's Grill, Birmingham, AL
  • Deep fried soft shell crab - Mikey's Grill, Birmingham, AL

Report a photo problem

Blackened Talapia - Mikey's Grill, Birmingham, AL
The Black and Bleu - Mikey's Grill, Birmingham, AL
Sweet potato chips - Mikey's Grill, Birmingham, AL
The Other - Mikey's Grill, Birmingham, AL
Shrimp Fettucine Alfredo (Garnished With A Watermelon-Radish) - Mikey's Grill, Birmingham, AL
Cheeses Cake - Mikey's Grill, Birmingham, AL
Macadamia Nut Crusted Snapper With Pineapple Honey Mustard Butter - Mikey's Grill, Birmingham, AL
Deep fried soft shell crab - Mikey's Grill, Birmingham, AL

Specials

Winetastic Wednesday

Wednesdays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Specials

Winetastic Wednesday

Wednesdays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Details

Every Wednesday patrons may order any wine by the glass for only $5.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Oct 5, 2016 - Feb 1, 2017 on Wednesdays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM.

Mikey's Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

3.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Casual (5)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Business Meals (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Cozy (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Authentic (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fun (1)
Romantic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
196 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Consistently excellent. Always great se ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 3 days ago

Consistently excellent. Always great service, excellent food preparations, and a great selection of cold beers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of the best kept Birmingham area res ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

One of the best kept Birmingham area restaurant secrets. We have become Mikey's regulars after passing it up for years. Don't let the 'grill' name or the strip mall location fool you, Mikey's is every bit as good as its much better known counterparts.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I found Mikey's on Open Table and was su ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I found Mikey's on Open Table and was surprised to see that it's only 2 miles from my house. I asked several neighbors and no one had heard of it----but the reviews were so good we decided to try it. We're so glad we did! My husband's grouper was perfectly prepared with a tart sauce that didn't overwhelm the fish. My crab cakes had a little too much breading---I prefer mostly crabmeat. But both entrees came with dinner salads and the tab for all this and 3 glasses of wine with 10% tax and 25% tip was less than $100.

Our server was so attentive and helpful and made suggestions when we asked him to. The restaurant feels like a small family-owned white linen tablecloth place----so it could benefit from turning off the overhead lights and just using votives.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Waiter (Kane I think) was awesome. Bread ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Waiter (Kane I think) was awesome. Bread pudding and crab cakes were awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well our second visit in a week so obvio ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Well our second visit in a week so obviously we are fans. We were seated immediately and our waitress Lori was great. It was her first week there but you could not tell it by the service. Also, our waiter from last week stopped by to just say hi. Impressed that he remembered us. The food was fantastic. The crab cakes are a must, either as an appetizer, entre or [art of their steak and cake entrée (filet plus crab cake. Also the Caesar salad was the best I have ever eaten anywhere!!!

We will be back in the new year.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Red snapper was absolutely delicious Br ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Red snapper was absolutely delicious

Bread pudding and cheesecake topped off a great meal

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Seafood is excellent. Reservations, wai ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Seafood is excellent.

Reservations, wait staff need training.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

My wife and I went to Mikey's on a Wedne ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 15, 2016

My wife and I went to Mikey's on a Wednesday night with two friends to celebrate Christmas. We were seated immediately and our waiter, Chris, was very attentive without being intrusive. The food was wonderful. You can not do better than the Pecan Crusted Snapper and the Caesar salad was the best we have ever eaten. Great wine list and beer variety as well. A true gem and we will be going back soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed our meal at Mikey's. The crab c ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Enjoyed our meal at Mikey's. The crab cakes are fantastic! Also, we had wonderful service. I think our waiter's name was Zane, and he made the night.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great food reasonably priced. Service wa ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great food reasonably priced. Service was pleasant. Drinks were excellent and reasonably priced. We will be back and will recommend to our friends

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Reasonable dining experience. Food was ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Reasonable dining experience. Food was good and satisfied. Ambiance is average. It is a great stop on the way home. Menu never changes. Corkage fee (yes you can bring your on bottle) is up to $15.00. Little high on the price in my humble opinion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Great food for a good price. Not fancy, ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great food for a good price. Not fancy, but good food. Best hollandaise sauce!!! Adequate beer and drink selections. Tilefish dish was very good! Wedge salad was a perfect starter. Bread pudding was simple and my bread pudding expert wife said it was one of the best she has ever tasted. We will be back..... kind of a drive for us, but we do it about twice a year.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was wonderful and the food w ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The service was wonderful and the food was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fabulous. We started with ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 18, 2016

The food was fabulous. We started with tasty salads - a nice mix of greens with excellent choices of dressing. The vinagrette was truly delicious.

The homemade rolls were served warm. Be careful not to fill up on them - they are just that yummy that you might.

The crabcakes were beyond compare - even to the Maryland natives in our party. They were filled with white, flaky crabmeat while coated with the perfect amount of breadcrumbs and fried to a perfect golden brown.

The brown butter sauce served with the crabcakes was adequate but not to the taste of most in our group. The remoulade was better but could have had a touch more zing.

We also had an order of fried okra which was prepared in the true Southern fashion then fried to perfection. Divine!!

For dessert, the bread pudding was sinfully delicious. The pudding's sauce was decadent with brown sugar, brandy and pecans. We also sampled the pumpkin roll which was sumptuous. The flavors of the pumpkin cake were definitely enhanced by the cream cheese icing.

The service was great. Our reservation from Open Table meant that we were seated within moments of our arrival. The prices are a little high, but the food we had was worth every penny. In this case, you absolutely get what you pay for. We will be back soon!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Decent food but way over priced. Howeve ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Decent food but way over priced. However; our waiter, Nate, was excellent.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Staff was very attentive. The foot was ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Staff was very attentive. The foot was good but simplistic. The salad was fresh and the homemade ranch was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I had heard it had some o ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 9, 2016

My husband and I had heard it had some of the best fish in town! It did not disappoint! Although nothing over the top, fancy, the fish was fresh and cooked to perfection! Our server, Zane, was amazing. He was very knowledgable, honest, entertaining, and attentive. We are looking forward to cooler weather so that we can enjoy dining outdoors on our next visit!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Mikey's is an excellent restaurant. Fan ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Mikey's is an excellent restaurant. Fantastic food, friendly staff, enjoyable atmosphere. The food is an excellent value for the quality that you receive. We don't go often, but when we want something special, it is the place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love to go to eat at Mikey's. We alw ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 5, 2016

We love to go to eat at Mikey's. We always have good food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, service and atmosphere. ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Excellent food, service and atmosphere. Enjoyed our meal very much.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First visit and was surprised how good e ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 10, 2016

First visit and was surprised how good everything was.

Will return again soon.

Great fish

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our experience was very good. I had read ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Our experience was very good. I had read some reviews and they were all accurate. We had the fried crab claws as an appetizer. Tasty but a little pricey. However, we aren't at the beach where prices may be a little cheaper. My wife had the stuffed grouper without any complaints. My crab cakes were just delicious. Almost like being in Baltimore. The wine was tasty; the dessert drinks were tastier. Micky and Melissa's mom makes all the desserts of which I had the double chocolate with chocolate chips cake. Yummy!! We had a great time and will definitely go back. I highly recommend this little place hidden in a small strip center in Hoover off hwy 17. Kudos!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

One of Birmingham area's best kept secrets.

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2016

We love Mikey's Grill, only having discovered it about six months ago. A great and diverse menu, excellent specials and great desserts. Haven't had a bad meal at Mikey's - ever. Heartily recommend it. Don't let the name fool you. This isn't a sports bar type grill. It's a fine dining restaurant with a menu that works regardless of how fine you want the dining to be. Even the sandwiches are great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing! The service was ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 10, 2016

The food was amazing! The service was great too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The crab cakes are the best in the worl ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 8, 2016

The crab cakes are the best in the world!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and our server (Zane) were Outs ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 20, 2016

The food and our server (Zane) were Outstanding. We will go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Stopped in for dinner on a weeknight, so ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 20, 2016

Stopped in for dinner on a weeknight, so we got a table immediately. I ordered the Grouper Oscar and my wife ordered the crab cakes. The grouper was absolutely perfect, moist and flaky with plenty of crabmeat on top. The batter was thin, golden brown and crisp. The crab cakes were thick and fried to perfection. Been there before and will definitely be back! Also, service was top notch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great surprise

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 7, 2016

We weren't sure when we pulled up but when we walked in, sat down, ordered, ate, and walked out we were pleasantly surprised at the wonderful food. We all ordered something different and everything was divine!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mikey's Grill is our favorite place!

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 30, 2016

I'm always delighted to get the chance to eat at Mikey's. We've made Mikey's our go to place for special occasions and the place to take family and friends for an extra special meal! The food is always delicious. The service is always perfect.

Thanks Mikey and staff for excellence!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fanatic fresh grouper

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 19, 2016

Highly recommend the fresh fish. perfectly prepared with a light sauce and served promptly with nice wine recommendation. We were trying make a concert and they helped enjoy a wonderful meal without feeling rushed eat by the prompt service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great as always

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 16, 2016

Once again Mikey's was fantastic. Chris is an outstanding server and the food was as good as it always is. You can't go wrong with this choice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The prices at Mikey's are what keeps me ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 1, 2016

The prices at Mikey's are what keeps me from eating there more often. I had a chicken breast-sized piece of snapper with two measley shrimp that cost almost $30. Not worth it by any stretch of the imagination.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

The food is phenomenal every time we go! ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 1, 2016

The food is phenomenal every time we go!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very Good Food

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 26, 2016

Wife and I both had a piece of fish. Entree had very good flavors. Portions could be a little larger. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Our first time at Mikey's. We went there ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 25, 2016

Our first time at Mikey's. We went there based on prior reviews and our friends' recommendations. We started with the fried alligator bites. Surprisingly tender and delicious. Chardonnay and dirty martinis were perfect pairings with the meal. My wife had the special grilled fish with crab claws and gulf shrimp. I had the bone-in grilled ribeye steak topped with sautéed mushrooms. Ordered rare/medium rare. Everything was perfectly cooked. The chef and staff have a gentle skill with the food. Zane was our server. Very knowledgeable, with a genteel Southern charm. We look forward to our next meal at Mikey's Grill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our waiter was excellent and our food wa ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 18, 2016

Our waiter was excellent and our food was wonderful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 17, 2016

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always delicious!

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 12, 2016

Always delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent. Love the Chicken Saltemnoca. ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 6, 2016

Excellent. Love the Chicken Saltemnoca. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent food as always

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 5, 2016

Excellent food as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.