About Mikey's Grill

4524 Southlake Parkway Ste. 7
Birmingham, AL 35244
View Larger Map

Mikey's Grill is owned and operated by Michael (affectionately known as "Mikey") and his sister, Melissa Lee. They have over thirty years of combined restaurant experience. Mikey has only the freshest seafood delivered multiple times a week, he cuts all steaks in house and even makes all of the his own sauces and bread. Mikey's is truly a family affair; with Mikey whipping up amazing creations with a Cajun flare in the kitchen, Melissa, selecting the wine and running the front and even their Mom, Donna, pitches in baking her delectable homemade desserts!
If you are looking for an amazing dining experience, try us out! It is truly one of Hoover, Alabama's hidden gems!!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Cajun

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 4:30pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Valleydale Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(205) 538-7637

Website:
http://www.mikeysgrill.com/

Catering:
Please call us to inquire about catering.

Executive Chef:
Michael Lee

Private Party Facilities:
Please call to inquire about renting the restaurant.

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Lee: 2055387637x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Blackened Talapia - Mikey's Grill
  • The Black and Bleu - Mikey's Grill
  • Sweet potato chips - Mikey's Grill
  • The Other - Mikey's Grill
  • Shrimp Fettucine Alfredo (Garnished With A Watermelon-Radish) - Mikey's Grill
  • Cheeses Cake - Mikey's Grill
  • Macadamia Nut Crusted Snapper With Pineapple Honey Mustard Butter - Mikey's Grill
  • Deep fried soft shell crab - Mikey's Grill
Blackened Talapia - Mikey's Grill
The Black and Bleu - Mikey's Grill
Sweet potato chips - Mikey's Grill
The Other - Mikey's Grill
Shrimp Fettucine Alfredo (Garnished With A Watermelon-Radish) - Mikey's Grill
Cheeses Cake - Mikey's Grill
Macadamia Nut Crusted Snapper With Pineapple Honey Mustard Butter - Mikey's Grill
Deep fried soft shell crab - Mikey's Grill

Mikey's Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.7

noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Alabama
Neighborhood Gem
Alabama
Neighborhood Gem
Birmingham
Best Restaurants in Birmingham ›

Good for Groups (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Great for Lunch (5)
See All
Special Occasion (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Late-night Find (2)
Romantic (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Authentic (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sort By:
Newest
176 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My husband and I had heard it had some o ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

My husband and I had heard it had some of the best fish in town! It did not disappoint! Although nothing over the top, fancy, the fish was fresh and cooked to perfection! Our server, Zane, was amazing. He was very knowledgable, honest, entertaining, and attentive. We are looking forward to cooler weather so that we can enjoy dining outdoors on our next visit!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Mikey's is an excellent restaurant. Fan ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Mikey's is an excellent restaurant. Fantastic food, friendly staff, enjoyable atmosphere. The food is an excellent value for the quality that you receive. We don't go often, but when we want something special, it is the place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love to go to eat at Mikey's. We alw ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We love to go to eat at Mikey's. We always have good food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, service and atmosphere. ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Excellent food, service and atmosphere. Enjoyed our meal very much.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First visit and was surprised how good e ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

First visit and was surprised how good everything was.

Will return again soon.

Great fish

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our experience was very good. I had read ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Our experience was very good. I had read some reviews and they were all accurate. We had the fried crab claws as an appetizer. Tasty but a little pricey. However, we aren't at the beach where prices may be a little cheaper. My wife had the stuffed grouper without any complaints. My crab cakes were just delicious. Almost like being in Baltimore. The wine was tasty; the dessert drinks were tastier. Micky and Melissa's mom makes all the desserts of which I had the double chocolate with chocolate chips cake. Yummy!! We had a great time and will definitely go back. I highly recommend this little place hidden in a small strip center in Hoover off hwy 17. Kudos!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

One of Birmingham area's best kept secrets.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We love Mikey's Grill, only having discovered it about six months ago. A great and diverse menu, excellent specials and great desserts. Haven't had a bad meal at Mikey's - ever. Heartily recommend it. Don't let the name fool you. This isn't a sports bar type grill. It's a fine dining restaurant with a menu that works regardless of how fine you want the dining to be. Even the sandwiches are great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing! The service was ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The food was amazing! The service was great too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The crab cakes are the best in the worl ...

vip
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

The crab cakes are the best in the world!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and our server (Zane) were Outs ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

The food and our server (Zane) were Outstanding. We will go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Stopped in for dinner on a weeknight, so ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Stopped in for dinner on a weeknight, so we got a table immediately. I ordered the Grouper Oscar and my wife ordered the crab cakes. The grouper was absolutely perfect, moist and flaky with plenty of crabmeat on top. The batter was thin, golden brown and crisp. The crab cakes were thick and fried to perfection. Been there before and will definitely be back! Also, service was top notch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great surprise

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We weren't sure when we pulled up but when we walked in, sat down, ordered, ate, and walked out we were pleasantly surprised at the wonderful food. We all ordered something different and everything was divine!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mikey's Grill is our favorite place!

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

I'm always delighted to get the chance to eat at Mikey's. We've made Mikey's our go to place for special occasions and the place to take family and friends for an extra special meal! The food is always delicious. The service is always perfect.

Thanks Mikey and staff for excellence!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fanatic fresh grouper

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

Highly recommend the fresh fish. perfectly prepared with a light sauce and served promptly with nice wine recommendation. We were trying make a concert and they helped enjoy a wonderful meal without feeling rushed eat by the prompt service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great as always

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Once again Mikey's was fantastic. Chris is an outstanding server and the food was as good as it always is. You can't go wrong with this choice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The prices at Mikey's are what keeps me ...

vip
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

The prices at Mikey's are what keeps me from eating there more often. I had a chicken breast-sized piece of snapper with two measley shrimp that cost almost $30. Not worth it by any stretch of the imagination.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

The food is phenomenal every time we go! ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

The food is phenomenal every time we go!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very Good Food

vip
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Wife and I both had a piece of fish. Entree had very good flavors. Portions could be a little larger. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Our first time at Mikey's. We went there ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Our first time at Mikey's. We went there based on prior reviews and our friends' recommendations. We started with the fried alligator bites. Surprisingly tender and delicious. Chardonnay and dirty martinis were perfect pairings with the meal. My wife had the special grilled fish with crab claws and gulf shrimp. I had the bone-in grilled ribeye steak topped with sautéed mushrooms. Ordered rare/medium rare. Everything was perfectly cooked. The chef and staff have a gentle skill with the food. Zane was our server. Very knowledgeable, with a genteel Southern charm. We look forward to our next meal at Mikey's Grill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our waiter was excellent and our food wa ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Our waiter was excellent and our food was wonderful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always delicious!

vip
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Always delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent. Love the Chicken Saltemnoca. ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Excellent. Love the Chicken Saltemnoca. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent food as always

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Excellent food as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The macadamia nut snapper was great!

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

The food and service was great! They are very flexible with their menu. The crab cake was wonderful,just a little pricy $11.95 for 1 cake. Other than that the prices were in line with other fine restaurants .

We will use the online reservation again it was great to walk in and be seated when there were others waiting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Spot on

vip
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Everything was extremely well done for a Valentines weekend meal. Food and service were excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disppointed

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We had made a reservation and were immediately seated upon our arrival. Took a little while to ask for our drink order, but, they were very busy. My wife immediately commented on how cold it was and, in fact, at the table behind us the getleman in our same area went out and got his date a coat. Never got any warmer. Service was good and efficient. We had the crab claws for an appetizer, they were good, but, on the small size. The Salad was excellent, very fresh. Very disappointed in our entrees, my wife had the RibEye and I know a good one is very marbeled, but, this one had a lot of fat and grizzle. I had the filet and fried oysters, the filet was overdone and the fried oysters were underdcooked and cold. Mikeys had been recommended to me, but, I doubt we will go back. Thought it was overpriced for what we got.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

There are no suprises at Mikey's!

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on February 9, 2016

The food is ALWAYS fresh and delicious. The service is ALWAYS impeccable. The place is ALWAYS clean and inviting. ALWAYS!

Warning: DON'T LEAVE WITHOUT HAVING A DESSERT & I suggest not sharing - you will want it all to yourself - ALWAYS!

A big shout out to our server Zane! Thank you for helping make our birthday celebration perfect!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, vibrant atmosphere

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

We ordered several fresh seafood dishes, they were as good as similar dished enjoyed previously in the French Quarter of New Orleans at high profile restaurants. For desert we had Italian Rum Cake & Bread Pudding that exceeded expectations. Hats off to the chef! The atmosphere was a bit louder than we expected for a romantic dinner. The web site is a bit misleading in this area, the atmosphere is neighborhood grill, with the bar area open to the dinner area and not quaint dining. The restaurant could benefit from some sound absorbing panels in the open rafters. The hostess was very efficient, the waiter was prompt and efficient as well. Overall, the experience was very positive, we will return when traveling to Birmingham in the future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Great place!

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

Delicious food and excellent service. Mikey's is our favorite neighborhood resturant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome bread pudding, a must for you t ...

vip
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

Awesome bread pudding, a must for you to try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Mikey 2015

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on October 22, 2015

Been here before. Will come again when in Birmingham. Foosbal is excellent. Had grouper which was extremely fresh and delicious. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

As always, I drive from Alabaster to get ...

vip
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on October 11, 2015

As always, I drive from Alabaster to get that awesome bread pudding. You must go by and get some. It's worth it and also the steak and cake is the best in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Outstanding Place to Dine

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on September 15, 2015

Outstanding as usual. Chis was once again provided great service. Highly recommend.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mikey's Shines Once AGain

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 2, 2015

Once again Mikey's has delivered excellence in all aspects. Great food, great atmosphere and great service (Chris is exceptional). Love this place.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Place everytime

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on July 18, 2015

I have been here a few times and each time the food/service was great. It is on the higher end of spending for food but everything is great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As usual the food at Mikey's was phenome ...

vip
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on July 16, 2015

As usual the food at Mikey's was phenomenal. We started with appetizers, then salads then we both had the steak and cake. I think Mikey's food gets better all the time. He truly should be recognized for the best crab cake in the country. AMAZING!!!!!!!!! We will be back!.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sub-Par

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on June 4, 2015

Visited Mikey's today for lunch and I will never return. Service was just okay but the food was horrible. We had the Maryland Style Crab Cake (tasted as if it came frozen and they just warmed it in the kitchen ), the Baked Tilapia (it was on a bed of sauce that tasted as if it came out of the jar) and the Seafood Pasta (it was swimming in OIL, I could not eat it). Also, the restaurant itself left a lot to be desired. Was not appealing to the eye at all.

I think we could have dealt with the atmosphere IF the food was good. I can't believe this restaurant has so many STARS !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

Great Neighborhood Restaurant

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 16, 2015

Moderate size restaurant in a strip center. Took a date there and the food was great! The fish was fresh and cooked perfectly. Server were friendly and attentive. Would be great for a family dinner as well. I will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Outstanding Experience

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 14, 2015

When we arrived my wife and I were greeted by Melissa, the hostess and part owner. She was very cheerful and seated us immediately in a side table that offered us privacy and quiet (it was our anniversary). Our waiter Chris greeted us immediately and was was very attentive the entire evening. The variety of entrée choices on their menu is impressive and the seafood main courses we selected were excellent. However, the crab cakes appetizers were the highlight of the evening. They are filled with lump crabmeat and the sauce served with them is delightful.

Overall a must visit restaurant when you are in the Birmingham, Alabama area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.