About Mikey's Grill

4524 Southlake Parkway Ste. 7
Birmingham, AL 35244
View Larger Map

Mikey's Grill is owned and operated by Michael (affectionately known as "Mikey") and his sister, Melissa Lee. They have over thirty years of combined restaurant experience. Mikey has only the freshest seafood delivered multiple times a week, he cuts all steaks in house and even makes all of the his own sauces and bread. Mikey's is truly a family affair; with Mikey whipping up amazing creations with a Cajun flare in the kitchen, Melissa, selecting the wine and running the front and even their Mom, Donna, pitches in baking her delectable homemade desserts!
If you are looking for an amazing dining experience, try us out! It is truly one of Hoover, Alabama's hidden gems!!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Cajun

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 4:30pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Valleydale Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(205) 538-7637

Website:
http://www.mikeysgrill.com/

Catering:
Please call us to inquire about catering.

Executive Chef:
Michael Lee

Private Party Facilities:
Please call to inquire about renting the restaurant.

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Lee: 2055387637x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Blackened Talapia
  • The Black and Bleu
  • Sweet potato chips
  • The Other
  • Shrimp Fettucine Alfredo (Garnished With A Watermelon-Radish)
  • Cheeses Cake
  • Macadamia Nut Crusted Snapper With Pineapple Honey Mustard Butter
  • Deep fried soft shell crab
Blackened Talapia
The Black and Bleu
Sweet potato chips
The Other
Shrimp Fettucine Alfredo (Garnished With A Watermelon-Radish)
Cheeses Cake
Macadamia Nut Crusted Snapper With Pineapple Honey Mustard Butter
Deep fried soft shell crab

Mikey's Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Alabama
Best Service
Alabama
Best Value
Alabama
5 More
Neighborhood Gem
Alabama
Best Food
Birmingham
Best Service
Birmingham
Best Value
Birmingham
Neighborhood Gem
Birmingham
Best Restaurants in Birmingham ›

neighborhood gem (16)
special occasion (11)
fit for foodies (10)
See All
romantic (6)
great for lunch (6)
good for groups (6)
late-night find (4)
notable wine list (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
hot spot (2)
kid-friendly (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
170 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5

Our experience was very good. I had read ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Our experience was very good. I had read some reviews and they were all accurate. We had the fried crab claws as an appetizer. Tasty but a little pricey. However, we aren't at the beach where prices may be a little cheaper. My wife had the stuffed grouper without any complaints. My crab cakes were just delicious. Almost like being in Baltimore. The wine was tasty; the dessert drinks were tastier. Micky and Melissa's mom makes all the desserts of which I had the double chocolate with chocolate chips cake. Yummy!! We had a great time and will definitely go back. I highly recommend this little place hidden in a small strip center in Hoover off hwy 17. Kudos!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of Birmingham area's best kept secrets.

Dined on June 10, 2016

We love Mikey's Grill, only having discovered it about six months ago. A great and diverse menu, excellent specials and great desserts. Haven't had a bad meal at Mikey's - ever. Heartily recommend it. Don't let the name fool you. This isn't a sports bar type grill. It's a fine dining restaurant with a menu that works regardless of how fine you want the dining to be. Even the sandwiches are great.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing! The service was ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

The food was amazing! The service was great too!

food5
ambience5
service5

The crab cakes are the best in the worl ...

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

The crab cakes are the best in the world!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and our server (Zane) were Outs ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

The food and our server (Zane) were Outstanding. We will go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Stopped in for dinner on a weeknight, so ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Stopped in for dinner on a weeknight, so we got a table immediately. I ordered the Grouper Oscar and my wife ordered the crab cakes. The grouper was absolutely perfect, moist and flaky with plenty of crabmeat on top. The batter was thin, golden brown and crisp. The crab cakes were thick and fried to perfection. Been there before and will definitely be back! Also, service was top notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great surprise

Dined on May 7, 2016

We weren't sure when we pulled up but when we walked in, sat down, ordered, ate, and walked out we were pleasantly surprised at the wonderful food. We all ordered something different and everything was divine!

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mikey's Grill is our favorite place!

Dined on April 30, 2016

I'm always delighted to get the chance to eat at Mikey's. We've made Mikey's our go to place for special occasions and the place to take family and friends for an extra special meal! The food is always delicious. The service is always perfect. Thanks Mikey and staff for excellence!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Fanatic fresh grouper

Dined on April 19, 2016

Highly recommend the fresh fish. perfectly prepared with a light sauce and served promptly with nice wine recommendation. We were trying make a concert and they helped enjoy a wonderful meal without feeling rushed eat by the prompt service.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great as always

Dined on April 16, 2016

Once again Mikey's was fantastic. Chris is an outstanding server and the food was as good as it always is. You can't go wrong with this choice.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service2

The prices at Mikey's are what keeps me ...

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

The prices at Mikey's are what keeps me from eating there more often. I had a chicken breast-sized piece of snapper with two measley shrimp that cost almost $30. Not worth it by any stretch of the imagination.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food is phenomenal every time we go! ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

The food is phenomenal every time we go!!!

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Very Good Food

Dined on March 26, 2016

Wife and I both had a piece of fish. Entree had very good flavors. Portions could be a little larger. Would definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was excellent and our food wa ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

Our waiter was excellent and our food was wonderful!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service

Dined on March 17, 2016

Great food and service

food5
ambience5
service5

Always delicious!

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

Always delicious!

food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent. Love the Chicken Saltemnoca. ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

Excellent. Love the Chicken Saltemnoca. Great service.

food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food as always

Dined on March 5, 2016

Excellent food as always

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The macadamia nut snapper was great!

Dined on February 28, 2016

The food and service was great! They are very flexible with their menu. The crab cake was wonderful,just a little pricy $11.95 for 1 cake. Other than that the prices were in line with other fine restaurants . We will use the online reservation again it was great to walk in and be seated when there were others waiting.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spot on

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Everything was extremely well done for a Valentines weekend meal. Food and service were excellent.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Disppointed

Dined on February 14, 2016

We had made a reservation and were immediately seated upon our arrival. Took a little while to ask for our drink order, but, they were very busy. My wife immediately commented on how cold it was and, in fact, at the table behind us the getleman in our same area went out and got his date a coat. Never got any warmer. Service was good and efficient. We had the crab claws for an appetizer, they were good, but, on the small size. The Salad was excellent, very fresh. Very disappointed in our entrees, my wife had the RibEye and I know a good one is very marbeled, but, this one had a lot of fat and grizzle. I had the filet and fried oysters, the filet was overdone and the fried oysters were underdcooked and cold. Mikeys had been recommended to me, but, I doubt we will go back. Thought it was overpriced for what we got.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There are no suprises at Mikey's!

Dined on February 9, 2016

The food is ALWAYS fresh and delicious. The service is ALWAYS impeccable. The place is ALWAYS clean and inviting. ALWAYS! Warning: DON'T LEAVE WITHOUT HAVING A DESSERT & I suggest not sharing - you will want it all to yourself - ALWAYS! A big shout out to our server Zane! Thank you for helping make our birthday celebration perfect!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Great food, vibrant atmosphere

Dined on January 1, 2016

We ordered several fresh seafood dishes, they were as good as similar dished enjoyed previously in the French Quarter of New Orleans at high profile restaurants. For desert we had Italian Rum Cake & Bread Pudding that exceeded expectations. Hats off to the chef! The atmosphere was a bit louder than we expected for a romantic dinner. The web site is a bit misleading in this area, the atmosphere is neighborhood grill, with the bar area open to the dinner area and not quaint dining. The restaurant could benefit from some sound absorbing panels in the open rafters. The hostess was very efficient, the waiter was prompt and efficient as well. Overall, the experience was very positive, we will return when traveling to Birmingham in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place!

Dined on December 30, 2015

Delicious food and excellent service. Mikey's is our favorite neighborhood resturant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Awesome bread pudding, a must for you t ...

vip
Dined on November 15, 2015

Awesome bread pudding, a must for you to try.

food5
ambience4
service4

Mikey 2015

Dined on October 22, 2015

Been here before. Will come again when in Birmingham. Foosbal is excellent. Had grouper which was extremely fresh and delicious. Highly recommend.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

As always, I drive from Alabaster to get ...

vip
Dined on October 11, 2015

As always, I drive from Alabaster to get that awesome bread pudding. You must go by and get some. It's worth it and also the steak and cake is the best in town.

food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding Place to Dine

Dined on September 15, 2015

Outstanding as usual. Chis was once again provided great service. Highly recommend.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Mikey's Shines Once AGain

Dined on August 2, 2015

Once again Mikey's has delivered excellence in all aspects. Great food, great atmosphere and great service (Chris is exceptional). Love this place.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Place everytime

Dined on July 18, 2015

I have been here a few times and each time the food/service was great. It is on the higher end of spending for food but everything is great.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

As usual the food at Mikey's was phenome ...

vip
Dined on July 16, 2015

As usual the food at Mikey's was phenomenal. We started with appetizers, then salads then we both had the steak and cake. I think Mikey's food gets better all the time. He truly should be recognized for the best crab cake in the country. AMAZING!!!!!!!!! We will be back!.

food1
ambience1
service2

Sub-Par

Dined on June 4, 2015

Visited Mikey's today for lunch and I will never return. Service was just okay but the food was horrible. We had the Maryland Style Crab Cake (tasted as if it came frozen and they just warmed it in the kitchen ), the Baked Tilapia (it was on a bed of sauce that tasted as if it came out of the jar) and the Seafood Pasta (it was swimming in OIL, I could not eat it). Also, the restaurant itself left a lot to be desired. Was not appealing to the eye at all. I think we could have dealt with the atmosphere IF the food was good. I can't believe this restaurant has so many STARS !!!

food5
ambience4
service4

Great Neighborhood Restaurant

vip
Dined on May 16, 2015

Moderate size restaurant in a strip center. Took a date there and the food was great! The fish was fresh and cooked perfectly. Server were friendly and attentive. Would be great for a family dinner as well. I will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Outstanding Experience

Dined on May 14, 2015

When we arrived my wife and I were greeted by Melissa, the hostess and part owner. She was very cheerful and seated us immediately in a side table that offered us privacy and quiet (it was our anniversary). Our waiter Chris greeted us immediately and was was very attentive the entire evening. The variety of entrée choices on their menu is impressive and the seafood main courses we selected were excellent. However, the crab cakes appetizers were the highlight of the evening. They are filled with lump crabmeat and the sauce served with them is delightful. Overall a must visit restaurant when you are in the Birmingham, Alabama area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4

Disappointed in last two visits. Hostes ...

Dined on May 9, 2015

Disappointed in last two visits. Hostess acted like she did not want to be there. Food did not seem to be anything special as it has been in the past.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service4

Not as good as usual

Dined on May 8, 2015

Mikey's is my favorite special occasion restaurant, which is why I chose it for a Mother's Day weekend meal. However the crab cakes and sauce were not up to their usual excellence. The burnt butter sauce was much thinner than normal and less flavorful. I usually love the bread as well but the rolls were small and dense as if the yeast was left out. They may have just changed recipes since the last time we were there; if so, they need to go back to the other recipe. While not an unpleasant experience, it was not worth the over $100 we spent for 4 meals and 4 waters and it has made me question returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service3

Good...not great

Dined on May 1, 2015

I'd read the so-so reviews about Mikey's grill, but wanted to try it anyways since we live near-by. The reviews were pretty spot on. Located in a strip mall on Valleydale, Mikey's Grill is an upscale neighborhood joint that leaves you wondering if it was worth the high priced bill. The staff at the door were less than enthusiastic greeting us, but our server was very friendly and helpful when making our dinner selections. We had the crab claws as an appetizer- very good. I had the filet and crab cake for my entree- also good. My husband had the snapper and he reported enjoying it as well. The portions were small and only came with a salad as a side. The food was good, it just felt overpriced considering the relaxed atmosphere and lackluster presentation. I will definitely be going back to Mikey's Grill, but next time I'll probably stick with a cheeseburger or poboy and avoid the pricer items.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is always wonderful.

Dined on April 25, 2015

We love to eat at Mikey's. The fish and crab cakes are great! Everything we have ever received at Mikey's has been wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

.great place

Dined on April 12, 2015

Great place awesome service. It was a pleasurable experience. Me and the wife both enjoyed everything.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food! The surf and swamp and c ...

Dined on April 11, 2015

Excellent food! The surf and swamp and crab cakes are outstanding!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.