Midtown Grille

4.5
1386 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
  • Neighborhood Gem
Tucked away in Raleigh’s Lassiter District in North Hills, Midtown Grille is an upscale, comfortable neighborhood restaurant featuring Contemporary American cuisine. Locally owned since 2006, Midtown offers sophisticated, yet approachable dishes, emphasizing locally sourced ingredients.

Midtown Grille’s Chef, Marshall Smith, attended school at the New England Culinary Institute in Essex Junction, Vermont. Upon graduating, Marshall interned at the Michelin Star restaurant, L'Essentiel à Chambéry , under chef Jean-Michel Bouvier in France. When he returned to the Triangle, he opened Savoy in North Raleigh with his brother and worked as executive chef of Glass Half Full in Carrboro for the last five years. Ready to return to Raleigh and share his culinary experiences, Marshall has joined the team here at Midtown Grille.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Brunch: Sunday 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Bar 4pm - Midnight Weekdays and 4pm - 2:00am Weekends
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(919) 782-9463
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Lassiter Mill Road
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Free North Hills public parking
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Bus stop is 40 yards from front of restaurant.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live classical guitar from 12pm-2pm for Sunday Brunch.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Please contact us with any special event requests.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1386 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.4
service
4.2
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
87% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food, service and atmosphere for a business lunch. Will be back again on Monday with a larger group!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

The food was so good! I got the shrimp and grits... best decision. They were creamy and the shrimp were seasoned so awesome. The staff was very pleasant and responsive (proactive actually). We went for lunch and it was a mild crowd. Highly recommend and I will be going back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Father’s Day

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 17, 2018

We had a reservation, but had to wait 20 minutes to be seated with a 3 y.o. in tow. The waitress was nice, but not very attentive. The food was ok. Nothing special.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 14, 2018

Still the best BLT in town. Potato salad is always a winner. A quiet place to discuss business. Servers quietly do an excellent job. Management attentive to your experience. My place of choice for serious luncheons.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 10, 2018

First time visit and overall experience was quite disappointing. Went for brunch at time of opening and there were only 3 tables of diners since it was early. There were a multitude of servers, so staffing was not an issue. Our server was extremely lax and inattentive. Coffee was lukewarm, and long empty before our server reappeared. Hash browns were also barely warm. Southern Benedict dish was very tasty. Midtown Omelette had great flavor potential (ham, roasted peppers, caramelized onions and gouda), but the ingredients were sparse at best. The plate essentially amounted to an overpriced, bland scrambled egg. I have no incentive to return.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 9, 2018

We go to Midtown quite often. However, we have commented to each other that the food was “just OK” sorry to report. That being said, desserts are delicious. The atmosphere is enjoyable and we do enjoy the outside dining. Hoping to see some menu changes because we overall enjoy the restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Visited this gem for the first time on our anniversary. Server acknowledged and celebrated our occasion with us. Service was adequately attentive, while also giving us space. The menu is diverse enough to please diners from the north through the south with many options including a range from seafood to red meat. My husband has a penchant for warm creme brulee and the chef indulged his request to their normally chilled dessert. In all, Midtown Grille serves up an intimate, first rate experience rarely accessible at a reasonable price.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Memorable food and great service!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 6, 2018

Food is always excellent. We return again and again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2018

wonderful service, great food. when burger was undercooked, it was taken care of right away to our satisfaction. would recommend to anyone!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 5, 2018

We made reservations for lunch 12:15. Table for 4 during Raleigh Restaurant week. We all ordered from the preset menu for restaurant week. The food was really good, but the service was abysmally slow. We were there almost 2 hours and one of us had to rustle up the wait staff 2 different times to inform them that we weren't being tended to in a timely fashion. The appetizer didn't come until over a half hour after we ordered. And one of the people helping in the dining room( I presume he was a manager), offered a half sincere, passive aggresive apology for our 'minor wait' as we were leaving. As if sitting there almost 2 hours for lunch constitutes a 'minor wait'. Now the food was really good once it came and I would give this place another try sometime but will not hurry back. I recommend going when you have plenty of time.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 5, 2018

The food was delicous but the service was slow for a lunch hour. It was restaurant week that is why I made an early 11:45 appt. It took 15 minutes for my salad to come and then another 20 minutes for my meal. I had to get my dessert to go.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 4, 2018

We went to experience the triangle restaurant week and try different dishes, they were all very goid

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 4, 2018

Great choice for food, beverages, ambiance, location, service. Don’t wait.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Brunch was average omelette were tasty but lacking ingredients, very skimpy ,and very flat, no bread or toast , server let us know how tired he was when he came to our table . Just average overall, we left there still hungry so went for ice cream afterwards, it’s been since I have been there by would not recommend the brunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Met a friend here on Sunday for brunch. As always, the food was lovely. This was my first time eating brunch here, and I definitely think dinner is where they shine. I had the smoked salmon omelet with home fries. The omelet was good, but I don’t think I’d order it again. However, the home fries were really finely diced and super crispy, which was amazing. We also had bloody Mary’s, which were DELISH. We ate outside because it was a nice day and the area was covered. However, there were tears ALL throughout the awning, so the sun was beating down on us, which was pretty brutal. They definitely need to get this fixed; it doesn’t at all vibe with the “nice” vibe of the restaurant. Overall, would definitely come back but just sit inside next time.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Came to Midtown Grille for Sunday Brunch to celebrate a friend's birthday. It was rather noisy when we arrived, but they allowed us to sit in the back room which was quiet and spacious. Quite a few choices on the brunch menu. I chose to have an omelette. It was ok but the potatoes and coffee were fabulous. Mimosas (and bloody Marys) for $5 are a bargain.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Enjoyed celebrating our anniversary here recently. The food was delicious and the service was awesome! A little pricey but I would definitely go back for a special occasion. The staff was really friendly and went above and beyond to make sure we felt welcome and that our food was right. Ask to sit in the back room as it’s quieter and beautiful. The front section is more casual and they also have outdoor tables.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

The hostess was gracious and our server went out of her way to make some new North Carolinians feel welcome! The food was done to perfection. Nice date night!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 31, 2018

We waited nearly 15 minutes for a server to greet us and take our drink order. The dining room was empty and there were a bunch of wait staff standing around. Food took a long time and when it came out, it was almost too salty to eat. Very disappointing for the amount of money that I paid for dinner. I will not go back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 29, 2018

I enjoy the MIdtown Grille. The food is good and the service is courteous.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Our server was very hospitable... nice... attentive... Food was great. If youre looking for a quiet more romantic atmosphere, Midtown Grille might not necessarily be the place though. That said, food and service were excellent.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Good food, friendly staff, close to home. Comfortable outdoor dining, seasonally. Overall nice. If this is your neighborhood, give it a try.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 16, 2018

The worst thing about our experience was that they had the door to the outside open. I think every person at the outside tables was smoking! therefore the restaurant was full of cigarette smoke.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Midtown always does an excellent job with food and service!! Being Brunch on Mother’s Day , makes that the place to go!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Wonderful food and atmosphere! The staff and guests were very accommodating to our mother who is in a wheelchair in helping her get around the restaurant. I’ll definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Food was very good

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 7, 2018

Nice place unfortunately fire alarm went off during my dinner. Took a while to shut down.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Amazing experience from the food to the server, exceeded out expectations!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 27, 2018

I had the scallops, which I thought were overwhelmed by the spices, but were well cooked. My husband had a Caesar salad but had trouble getting the extra dressing and fries he’d ordered. Our friends both had the fish special and liked it. The dessert of strawberries and cooked rhubarb with ice cream and a biscuit was excellent. Amanda was our friendly waitress who was helpful in selecting our choice of wine.
Really enjoyed dining out side. It was quite and the weather pleasant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Excellent service and delicious food. Always appreciate the creativeness of chef Marshal Smith. We all enjoyed our lunch selections and the attentive service from our server. Can't wait to return!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Great food and great service I highly recommend this place

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Me and four other women meet and eat once a month and we had the perfect spot on the patio next to the heater. I think we were there for four hours talking, drinking and eating. Very nice area, not crowded at all and the food was great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Enjoyed our first visit. Waiter was great. We will go back. Monday night 1/2 price wine was a plus!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Nice upscale ambience with indoor and outdoor seating. Food was mostly fantastic. The braised short ribs with spaghetti squash Alfredo was tender and extremely flavorful and exactly what I wanted. My dining partners enjoyed the shrimp and grits, pork chop special, Joyce Farms Chicken, and the Midtowne burger. Side dishes/apps were less perfect. The oyster and calamari small plates (two appetizers) were under seasoned and needed salt, and the asparagus side order was a bit stringy and tough (but well seasoned with good flavor).

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Easter Brunch was great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Always one of our go to favorites! The food is excellent and the service is almost always great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

This was our first visit to Midtown Grille. The atmosphere was very nice and the food was creative and delicious. I would recommend Midtown Grille for a causal dinner or special occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

We cannot sat enough good things, this is a foodies gem.
We have eaten all over the globe. Sure there are better places, but they are in NYC,Soho, San Fran, for brunch....not in NC.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
35

Tweets by Midtown Grille