Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.48mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.48mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi

About Midtown Grille

Tucked away in Raleigh’s Lassiter District in North Hills, Midtown Grille is an upscale, comfortable neighborhood restaurant featuring Contemporary American cuisine. Locally owned since 2006, Midtown offers sophisticated, yet approachable dishes, emphasizing locally sourced ingredients.

Midtown Grille’s Chef, Marshall Smith, attended school at the New England Culinary Institute in Essex Junction, Vermont. Upon graduating, Marshall interned at the Michelin Star restaurant, L'Essentiel à Chambéry , under chef Jean-Michel Bouvier in France. When he returned to the Triangle, he opened Savoy in North Raleigh with his brother and worked as executive chef of Glass Half Full in Carrboro for the last five years. Ready to return to Raleigh and share his culinary experiences, Marshall has joined the team here at Midtown Grille.

4421-115 Six Forks Road
Raleigh, NC 27609
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Brunch: Sunday 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Bar 4pm - Midnight Weekdays and 4pm - 2:00am Weekends

Cross Street:
Lassiter Mill Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 782-9463

Website:
http://www.themidtowngrille.com/

Entertainment:
Live classical guitar from 12pm-2pm for Sunday Brunch.

Parking Details:
Free North Hills public parking

Public Transit:
Bus stop is 40 yards from front of restaurant.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact us with any special event requests.

Midtown Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (19)
Special Occasion (19)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Great for Lunch (13)
Business Meals (12)
Casual (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Cozy (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Romantic (5)
Fun (4)
Seasonal (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Authentic (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Healthy (2)
People Watching (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort by
S
1326 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

Great steak had the rib eye special great awesome service we will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was prepared well, and a decent value for what was received. Our server was a smoker, and continually smelled like cigarette smoke each time he came to the table. We were seated in the back area of the dining room, which was possibly near the back door that employees used to go out for a "smoke break". The dining room filled with the smell of cigarette smoke near the end of dinner, and actually made us leave to finish our conversations. If I dine again there, I will certainly request a different server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

We went to celebrate our son's birthday, and this was a great choice. The food was fabulous, and the wine/drink list was even better, which is saying a lot. Our server, Aaron, was a wealth of knowledge, especially in his ability to understand and pair the right wine with the right food. His wine recommendation actually made me wish that the wine was my meal because I didn't want to interrupt it by eating, and I am a foodie! The only down side was that the decor was a bit 'typical', but they could serve their menu in a tent and I'd line up to eat it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was ok not great. Tried to be complicated and clever but didn’t live up to it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

Staff put us at a table off to the side for a good atmosphere to talk business. Waiter was engaging, and knew the menu well. The food was prepped well and we would definitely dine here again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

White table cloths
But odd music
Maybe Sinatra instead ? And I’m not even old

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

Dinner was fantastic. Ribeye was cooked perfectly. Lobster salad was excellent. Thai bisque soup was very tasty. We will definitely come back for more.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

Just a neat neighborhood gem. Always great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 13, 2018

Food and service was excellent! Unfortunately there was an exceptionally noisy group at a nearby table that stole perfection from our quiet date night. We'll try it again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 13, 2018

We had a better meal before (second time this year). The Mexican chocolate cake is devine.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 7, 2018

Such a lovely venue and have had some good meals here but more often than not, something is wrong with the experience which is off putting enough that I take several months before another attempt. Sometimes it's service - which was okay at this visit. Sometimes it's food - which was main issue this time. Not sure if I'll make the effort to come here again. Really disappointing as others in their class are so much more consistently enjoyable. Guess that's why they always have Open Tables...

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 7, 2018

Great dinner!! The service was perfect too. The space was a bit tight for the 8 of us - but overall great experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 4, 2018

Great food, as always. Atmosphere was wonderful - it’s a great place for Sunday brunch - one of our go-tos. Service was poor - I had to ask for refills multiple times, waitress never checked on us and we had to ask others on the wait staff to get our drinks refilled. She was also very slow. Took us 20+ minutes to get our check from the time we finished eating.

They called after we left to say they also over charged our meal by $400. They corrected it but it takes 5-business days to process. That’s a big mistake.

We love midtown but the service and details have been disappointing the past few times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 3, 2018

Overall the Midtown Grille was a nice evening out for my husband and me. We had a reservation and were seated immediately. The hostess was very cordial and made us feel welcome.

The main dishes were not over-the-top excellent/gourmet; therefore, they were overpriced at $23 per entree. Our server seemed to be overwhelmed with the number of people he had to serve so his service was slow.

I would recommend this as a meeting spot for an evening out; however, I would recommend sticking to appetizers and possibly a glass of wine from their varied selection to keep the costs reasonable.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 3, 2018

Love MIdtown Grill. One of our go to restaurants when we want good food and a nice atmosphere. The servers are attentive, professional and pleasant. We went years ago when it was Cappers and just rediscovered it a year or two ago. Sorry it took so long.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 3, 2018

Enjoyed our meals last night. We had salads as starters and short ribs and the scallops for mains. We shared sticky toffee pudding for dessert.

Everything was well-prepared with interesting combinations of ingredients and flavor combinations.

The problem was the service. It took about 15 minutes to be acknowledged, get a glass of water, and put in drink orders. Our waiter seemed to hover over all the other tables as if he were hosting a personal dinner party. We didn't need someone to hover, we just wanted to put in orders and enjoy our own conversation.

In summary, food was good. Service was off. We'll probably return and hope that we have a better service experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 31, 2018

Experience is consistent, good food and ambiance but I found it quite loud as the restaurant filled up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 30, 2018

Our meals were prepared with great care. The head waiter recommended that we take it easy on the bread as we would require it to sop up the sauces. His advice was great as the left over juices from my perfectly cooked grouper did in fact taste delicious sopped up with their delicious bread. My wife is still raving about the Mexican chocolate cake. Scrumptious!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 30, 2018

Dan our waiter and his helper gave us exceptional service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 29, 2018

The butternut squash, pea, and fennel hash (not sure what it was actually called - served with seared scallops) was amazing. Really enjoyed the meal. Thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 29, 2018

Best BLT in town. Katie is the perfect server-good menu recommendations, quietly efficient and quietly attentive.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2018

Took over an hour for the food to come out. It was average food nothing special.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2018

We had a party of 6, seated at the front by the window - which was great. Food was incredible, we enjoyed the brunch menu as well as one option off the triangle restaurant week menu. The donuts were great as a sweet appetizer 😯, but probably should’ve been saved for dessert. LOL The crabcakes, BLT, shrimp and grits, roast beef sandwich, and eggs were all prepared perfectly. Service was wonderful and very accommodating! We will definitely go back, and plan to host a large work event there in a couple weeks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2018

Initial service was a little slow. Took some time for the waitress to come greet us. The food was ok, priced appropriately for lunch/brunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 27, 2018

I believe it was awkward night in that they had a large group of people standing around as soon as you stepped inside which blocked the entrance. Upon entering was not greeted just looked at like I had stepped into the wrong establishment . Sent cold message until I stated I had reservations. I had visited previously with another friend and was told place was closed when it was obvious people were at the bar, no sign were at the window or on the door for closure. I was excited to finally get to visit them but after this visit I will probably not be excited enough to revisit. Also the group standing in the front was too loud to enjoy the ambiance. Food was tasty just small for price. Dessert was icebox tasty.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 27, 2018

Great dinner and service thankfully due to the hostess being willing to move us as far away from a very loud 50th birthday bash in the bar. She saved the night and all was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 27, 2018

Upscale looking place in North Hills area. Service okay and they were busy. Food very tasty with decent burger and BLT. Nothing very unique but quality food. Pricier as expected. $36 for 2 lunch with tip. Other places to try with unique offerings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 26, 2018

I really enjoy this restaurant - due to the ambience, service and of course the cuisine. Never disappoints!

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 26, 2018

The was good and the service was outstanding. Our waitress was very attentive and made sure we were served promptly. The restaurant was extremely loud, which made the visit a undesirable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 25, 2018

Had a team lunch from work and had a great time. Service was slow and took too long between courses which caused us to have to take dessert back to the office. Arrived at 12:10 and didn't leave until about 1:50 pm. Server should be more aware of their customers (obviously on business lunch) and work to finish within about an hour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 24, 2018

Restaurant Week lunch was great! Photo of the Roast Beef Sandwich!!!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 21, 2018

The warm chicken salad is my absolute favorite salad in all of Raleigh. It's healthy but surprisingly filling. Outside seating is amazing if it's a warm day.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 20, 2018

Very easy to get into after trying two limited chain upscale restaurants that quoted almost one hour wait time near 9pm on a Saturday night. Glad that we were able to eat at a local establishment.
Spouses lobster Mac n cheese was delicious. I had the NY strip which contained more fat than I expect from a strip but nevertheless was delicious.
Service was perfect.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 13, 2018

Midtown Grill is no longer the fine dining experience it used to be. The lights are turned up and the white tablecloths are off the table. The food is serviceable, but certainly not exceptional (and yet no less expensive), and the dining room is noisy. Altogether I found the experience of eating there slightly unpleasant. I won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 7, 2018

Overall a great restaurant. Mimosas were a little heavy on OJ and light on champagne.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 30, 2017

What a gem! It's been here for years. The bartender was knowledgable and poured a great French 76. Wait staff was super friendly, effiencient and gave our group of 4 the the right amount of time for everything. Will defininately go back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2017

We loved our food and our waiter, Brad. The chef, Marshall came out so we could compliment him on the dinner. Also Susan the events mgr stopped by. It is a great spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 30, 2017

We had another lovely dinner here on Friday night, and although the restaurant was slow when we arrived (at 6:30) it will nice and full within an hour or so. The only weird observation I had was that their booth tables seem a little small - we were a party of four and asked to move tables because it was oddly uncomfortable. Our waitress, Erin, was superb - she's a keeper! We'll be back; steady and true and nice menu with something for everyone.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Was a great first experience for a special occasion. Our waitress was wonderful! Food was great!
Will come again soon!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 28, 2017

I have been underwhelmed in the past and not excited about going but we received a gift card so decided to revisit. I was impressed: good, solid, friendly service. Food flavors and meat temps were spot on. Flavors were well matched and plates well constructed. Host was polite but lacking in personally connecting with guests. In my opinion concept lacks definition.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.