About Midtown Grille

4421-115 Six Forks Road
Raleigh, NC 27609
View Larger Map

Tucked away in Raleigh’s Lassiter District in North Hills, Midtown Grille is an upscale, comfortable neighborhood restaurant featuring Contemporary American cuisine. Locally owned since 2006, Midtown offers sophisticated, yet approachable dishes, emphasizing locally sourced ingredients.

A favorite local spot, Midtown is open for brunch, lunch and dinner both indoors and on its large patio. A separate, enclosed dining room may be reserved for private events. The restaurant’s active late-night scene hints at Midtown’s exceptional bar; General Manager and Sommelier, Max Trujillo, oversees the extensive wine and beer lists and the outstanding handcrafted cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Bar 4pm - Midnight Weekdays and 4pm - 2:00am Weekends

Cross Street:
Lassiter Mill Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 782-9463

Website:
http://www.themidtowngrille.com/

Entertainment:
Live classical guitar from 12pm-2pm for Sunday Brunch.

Parking Details:
Free North Hills public parking

Public Transit:
Bus stop is 40 yards from front of restaurant.

Private Party Facilities:
Private party room seats up to 35 guests for dining.
Please contact Susan Alibrandi for any special requests.

Private Party Contact:
Susan Alibrandi: 919-782-2492x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact us with any special event requests.

Restaurant Photos

Table Bread
Redneck cheese board
Duck a few ways
Unsweetened Iced Tea
Griddle Burger
Fries
Beignets
Waffles
Steak And Mushrooms
Shrimp and Grits
Crab Cake Benedict
Pimento Cheese Burger
Brunch
Tuna Tartare with Crispy Wontons, Grapefruit and Greens
Smoky Beignet with Cheerwine Sabayon, Bacon Powder and Bitter Chocolate
Pork Belly with Potato Rosti, Watercress and a Quick Cured Egg Yolk
Hamburger
Chocolate And Peanut Butter Smores Pie
Entrees
Desserts
Amuse Bouche

Midtown Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (18)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Romantic (13)
See All
Special Occasion (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Good for Groups (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Business Meals (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Cozy (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Healthy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Scenic View (2)
Fun (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Hot Spot (1)
People Watching (1)
Casual (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Private Room (1)
Authentic (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1047 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Appetizer was very good. The entres took ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Appetizer was very good. The entres took too long, at least 45 minutes, to be served with no explananregarding the delay. The pork dish was bland and not hot. Dessert was mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Slow service; the worst chicken salad I ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Slow service; the worst chicken salad I've had anywhere. I wondered indeed if my wrap had chicken in the multi-flavored salad.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

The food was very good, served with a ni ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

The food was very good, served with a nice off beat presentation. I had the skirt steak, it was cooked to order and the side was nicely presented in a ring of foam potatoes. Great meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for a business meal; not to ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Great place for a business meal; not to loud and the wait staff was very considerate. I ordered a fried oyster sandwich and enjoyed it.

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I've been here for brunch and dinner. Al ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I've been here for brunch and dinner. Always enjoyed my meal. Good service too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was fair because I don't fee ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The service was fair because I don't feel like our waitress stopped by our table enough. It took some time to get our order in.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value4

Just not a 4 star or 5 star restaurant . ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Just not a 4 star or 5 star restaurant .

Over rated!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

I had the chicken dish which was really ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

I had the chicken dish which was really very good. We went on a Tuesday, so the half price glasses of wine was also a really big plus. Downside was we had a party of 6 and gratuity was already added to the bill. Not that the service wasn't good and I didn't intend on tipping 20%, just find it annoying when servers do this. Will definitely be back again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I've seen Midtown for many years and wan ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I've seen Midtown for many years and wanted to try it. The waitress immediately wanted an drink order even before we had an opportunity to look at the menu (and then proceeded to say I'll be back with water). Then we ordered a drink and an appetizer and then after the drink was brought to the table, we placed our dinner order. We asked for straws and never received them. I had to ask for bread once our meal came. I would say it was not a very good experience and celebrated our anniversary there. I would not recommend it for dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

We were there at 630 on a Saturday eveni ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We were there at 630 on a Saturday evening. One other group was eating.

The restaurant was not busy at all and still not busy when we left at 745.

The food was dissappointing. Portions are very small and the prices are very big!

In comparable restaurants around town, the meal size and cost are much much better.

My catfish was dry and thin cut. My wife's beef rib was a very small portion, embarrassingly so.

And it looked and tasted more like a common pot roast.

We will not go back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Service and delivery of food was very sl ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Service and delivery of food was very slow for the lunch hour. The restaurant was not that busy, yet we waited nearly 30 minutes for our food to arrive. In the evening, with a glass of wine, that might be acceptable. At a weekday lunchtime, that is not. Additionally, because we had a party of 6, we had an automatic gratuity of 20% for subpar service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

This is one of my favorite spots and my ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This is one of my favorite spots and my absolute favorite brunch location. If you haven't tried their brunch, you are missing out. Also, half price mimosas for brunch on Sundays.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food. Great atmosphere

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Very good food. Great atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience. Solidly consistent and ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Great experience. Solidly consistent and service was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

MG was great! We enjoyed it very much! V ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

MG was great! We enjoyed it very much! Very fancy Restuarant and the food we got was phenomenal! The calamari was the best we had, shrimp and grits and the salmon were on point too! Staff was great and helpful. Good spot. Highly recommend. Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant used to be very good...i ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

This restaurant used to be very good...it was a standard in our rotation of dining out...it appears to have gone downhill

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Waiter lost our starter, never brought b ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Waiter lost our starter, never brought bread, was invisible most of the time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Great overall experience. Excellent foo ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Great overall experience. Excellent food. Service was second to none.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Holiday weekend... They were slow... Fe ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Holiday weekend... They were slow... Felt a little strange with the restaurant not busy.

The pork belly and slaw was incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food and service here are excellent. Th ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food and service here are excellent. The wine by the glass menu features some excellent wines including some higher priced wines that normally are only sold by the bottle. Service is low key friendly and inobtrusive but still staying quite professional . A great place to have a nice lingering dining experience without having to shout at your table guests.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I went for lunch on a Saturday. I had ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I went for lunch on a Saturday. I had looked up the lunch menu online and had decided I wanted to have the grilled ham and cheese sandwich, not realizing that the restaurant serves the brunch menu on both Saturday and Sunday. I had already had breakfast that morning and wasn't interested in breakfast-like items on the brunch menu so asked the server if I could order the grilled ham and cheese sandwich. She checked with the kitchen and they accommodated my request. I also ordered a biscuit and she confused the order and brought me a small muffin instead, but it looked and smelled good so I was happy to eat the muffin. I had a 3-oz. pour of a Leitz Riesling and a white Sangria, both of which I enjoyed. I have had lunch or dinner at this restaurant several times and the food has always been quite good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

For the price, very disappointing. Food ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

For the price, very disappointing. Food was good, but portions were small. It wasn't bad but I don't think I'll ever choose the Midtowne Grille again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

This was the first time I had their brun ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This was the first time I had their brunch. Food was good and service was okay. Love their dinners, brunch was just "good".

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

We were excited about going back to Midt ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We were excited about going back to Midtown after several very enjoyable trips there previously. This time the menu was much more limited and the food didn't have the same great flavor we expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

We ate there last Saturday night for tri ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We ate there last Saturday night for triangle restaurant week and were very disappointed. We ordered the salmon and had to send it back for being not done enough. But what really disappointed us was the serving size. I doubt the salmon was more than 3 oz. The same salmon is on the regular menu for $27, so no way our portion was what was regularly served. You expect to get normal portions at restaurant week. Also, the peach cobbler was made with canned peaches - a fine dining restaurant serving canned peaches? Peaches do come fresh frozen or the chef could have used any number of other fresh fruits instead. I highly doubt we'll ever go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

Not impressed

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We tried this place out for restaurant week and wasn't impressed at all. The food was mediocre and failed to peak any interest from our tastebuds. The pork cheek tasted very similar to bland pot roast and the peach cobbler would have been better eaten straight from the can. Not sure why a cobbler from a restaurant such as this would be made from canned peaches. Just disappointment from the start with the calamari that lacked any kind of crisp. Our food took an incredibly long time to cook which was surprising given we were ordering off the restaurant week menu. My recommendation would be for the owner and chef to stop what they are doing, read the Yelp reviews (which are eerily accurate), regroup and try again. The menu is in terrible need of an overhaul. And for goodness sake, put some smiles on those servers faces. They must be upset from the tipping which is no doubt due to the horrible food quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Great Food and Atmosphere

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Great food and a nice quiet atmosphere. My husband and I went for our anniversary and it just happened to be during restaurant week, so we got to sample a few different things. We both had the salmon, which was divine...melted in your mouth like butter. It's quite expensive, but the food is great and so creatively put together. I also had their strawberry mojito that was very refreshing and delicious. They had a couple of very young staff members, including the hostess and the food runner, and my husband noted that the older staff members were actively teaching them and showing them how to do things, which was nice. We wondered if they have some kind of fine-dining apprenticeship program.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Disappointing Dining Experience & Expensive

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

I was my wife's birthday were looking forward to a special dining experience. We were both greatly disappointed in all aspects of the meal.

We felt the menu was far too limited and didn't offer much variety. You were kind of "stuck" with a few choices; none of which seemed very appealing. Should have left at that point. Service was very slow, only one waitress was handling all of the outside seating area.

We ordered drinks. Mine, called a Boulevardier, was not something I would ever want again. I drank half of it and then ordered a Canadian Club & 7 (which was changed to Crown Royal without asking me) and my wife ordered a margarita. We were stunned to see on the bill later that they charged $8 for the margarita and an additional $3 for the tequila - always thought you had to have tequila to have a margarita!)

As for the food... the bread was dry, hard, and without much taste. However, both of our salads were fresh and quite good (Romaine Hearts and Iceberg).

I ordered from a fixed menu (starter, salad, main, and dessert). They did not have one of the starters (Crispy Calamari) but did not offer an alternative, so I was "stuck" with something I didn't really want. As for Mains - My wife went with Chicken (not seeing anything else she might like on the menu) and I went with Pork Cheeks (which the waitress said were very popular and fall apart with your fork). The chicken was okay, but nothing special. The pork cheeks were extremely tough (had to use a knife to cut them - not my fork) and not very flavorful.

The Peach Cobbler was very good. We shared it. This was a highlight of the meal.

Not sure how this mess ended up costing us $50 each... but this was clearly the most disappointing dining experience we've had in a long, long time... perhaps ever.

We obviously aren't the clientele Midtown Grill is targeting.

Thank goodness there are so many better dining experiences available in Raleigh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

New chef is amazing. Great location. ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

New chef is amazing. Great location. Great place to take friends who come from someplace they think has "amazing restaurants". They'll be very impressed. Just as great for a quick meal. Tops

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Dinner was great, but would have enjoyed ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Dinner was great, but would have enjoyed a little larger serving size. Great spot!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Birthday Brunch

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

My Fiancee requested that we go out to brunch at the Midtown Grille for her birthday, and we both had a excellent dining experience!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Lately, the way the food has been prepar ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Lately, the way the food has been prepared has changed to worse , the service has been really slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Great place for special occasion.

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We celebrated my sons college graduation. The calamari was outstanding as we're all of our main entrees. The waitress was extremely pleasant and acommadating. Nice atmosphere inside.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointing as of late.

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

This used to be one of our favorite special occassion restaurants. Food, service and atmosphere was always enjoyable. Serivce is still very good, however, we were so very dissappointed with our last meal. Two of our three fish entrees were undercooked. The thirds person had already finished their meal by the time our entrees came back. The kitchen had reheated the same piece of fish that they had miscooked the first time and replated it, but not bothered to reheat our side dishes. Absolutely unacceptable at those prices. We were very disappointed. We will not be back any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

Sunday Brunch

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

The food was absolutely wonderful! The crab cake sandwich and pimento cheeseburger were the best. Very quiet--music was low enough so diners could talk without yelling.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good location and was able to make a res ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Good location and was able to make a reservation at the last minute.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Food and service were great, will be bac ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Food and service were great, will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good experience

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

loved sitting outside enjoying the nice lunch with our friends from Alaska. They loved the atmosphere too.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Meals for the entire day!

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Midtown Grille is one of my favorite Raleigh restaurants. I have been an avid dinner attendee due to the restaurant's duck entrees all the way down to the butter for the bread. For some reason it took me until this past Easter Sunday to visit for brunch. I realized I was really missing out, as should be expected. The brunch menu is all of your classics with subtle southern twists. The prices are competitive (I would have expected higher prices based on my typical dinner bill). One of my favorite parts of the meal at Midtown is the bread and butter, and of course brunch is no exception. You start your meal with a great raisin, cinnamon and brown sugar muffin (which I could eat as my meal). The waffles paired well with the old fashioned and was split perfectly between two guests. Will definitely be back again for brunch!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was way too salty. Not fans of the ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Food was way too salty. Not fans of the new menu!!!

We had a reservation but were seated at the very back facing the exit door , even though there were many empty tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.