Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.48mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.48mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi

About Midtown Grille

Tucked away in Raleigh’s Lassiter District in North Hills, Midtown Grille is an upscale, comfortable neighborhood restaurant featuring Contemporary American cuisine. Locally owned since 2006, Midtown offers sophisticated, yet approachable dishes, emphasizing locally sourced ingredients.

A favorite local spot, Midtown is open for brunch, lunch and dinner both indoors and on its large patio. A separate, enclosed dining room may be reserved for private events. The restaurant’s active late-night scene hints at Midtown’s exceptional bar. The General Manager is Shannon Dye.

4421-115 Six Forks Road
Raleigh, NC 27609
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Brunch: Sunday 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Bar 4pm - Midnight Weekdays and 4pm - 2:00am Weekends

Cross Street:
Lassiter Mill Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 782-9463

Website:
http://www.themidtowngrille.com/

Entertainment:
Live classical guitar from 12pm-2pm for Sunday Brunch.

Parking Details:
Free North Hills public parking

Public Transit:
Bus stop is 40 yards from front of restaurant.

Private Party Facilities:
Private party room seats up to 35 guests for dining.
Please contact Susan Alibrandi for any special requests.

Private Party Contact:
Susan Alibrandi: (919) 782-2492

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact us with any special event requests.

Midtown Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (23)
Special Occasion (21)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
See All
Creative Cuisine (17)
Business Meals (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Casual (13)
Cozy (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Romantic (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Private Room (8)
Healthy (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Seasonal (5)
Fun (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Authentic (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Happy Hour (4)
People Watching (4)
Great Beer (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Family Style (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Tapas (1)
Waterfront (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
1201 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 12 hours ago

Drinks, food, snd dessert where all outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

We went for my wife's birthday. We have been multiple times over the years and the food and service are always top-notch.

We were seated inside this time and went on a Tuesday night. Nice and cozy inside.

They have outside seating available also and that is good when the weather cooperates- was warm this day. In cooler weather they have heaters.

Midtown is a great choice for dinner or lunch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

The shrimp & grits were amazing. The service was exceptional, perfect timing. The atmosphere was relaxed and classic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had a party of 5 for Mother's Day and thoroughly enjoyed the brunch offerings. The food was delicious and the restaurant is well kept. The only thing I would say is they over-scheduled themselves with reservations all at once, which created a tough go for the wait staff and kitchen crew. But all in all a nice job.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Nice dinner place. It was a little pricey but the food was good. The snapper is wonderful. The steak was different. Wish they had a classic steak plate. Deserts were great. Good ambiance.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Always a great place for lunch or dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Brunch was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The food was not worth the money, very bland- we literally could have made the exact dish at home, but much better. The service was poor, the waitress was rude and very unapproachable. Definitely won't be returning for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 27, 2017

The food was ok but nothing special. Didn't justify the price. Also a rather odd menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Our server, Kat was excellent. She knew just when to stop by! Dinner with a friend I had not seen in awhile and Kat's timing to our needs was perfect. We ate outdoors, had two tasty meals. Would recommend. They have drink specials every day too!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Healthy, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 18, 2017

There was five in our group. We each enjoyed our selection. Our waiter was very attentive and helpful. One member of our table inquired about a special room for parties and waiter returned a short while later with a business card for the party planner and told us that she was here today and was available to answer any questions.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The restaurant was very nice, family friendly, easy, food was good. Service was excellent.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Tea, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Susan is the consummate hostess!! Really great food and outstanding service! Cannot wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter brunch

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Enjoyed Easter brunch at Midtown. Everything was lovely. Atmoshere, food, and service were terrific. Very nice staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Sometime in the last few years Midtown has fallen off the popularity grid and I can't figure out why. The menu has changed, but I think most people will find the options more accessible. I had the burger, others had the steak and the squid ink tagliatelle. Everyone enjoyed their meal. Good service, nice ambience and quiet enough to hear the conversation. I'll come back

Tags: Private Room, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We enjoyed our evening at Midtown Grill. We were a party of 7 including three seniors who are challenged with hearing and darkness in many restaurants. The Midtown Grill was perfect. The atmosphere was moderately quiet and it was well lighted at our table next to the window. The service was outstanding and the food was delicious. Three of the people in our party had the Shrimp and Grits and it was very good. The menu has lots of variety and the portions are reasonable. We were celebrating three birthdays including an 89th birthday and a 91st birthday. Midtown Grill was the perfect choice and we will return there for another nice evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We've been dining at Midtowne Grill for years and love it every time! The food is great...inventive and with new items as well...always great food! Wait staff is attentive and helpful as well. When the weather is nice the outdoor dining is wonderful. Highly recommend this wonderful North Hills restaurant!

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Simply wonderful. Great food great service. Sat outside on a beautiful NC day. What more could you wish for?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Family Style, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Friends met for brunch on Sunday. We ordered a crab cake sandwich which was quite good. A hamburger with mushrooms which arrived arrived as a pimento cheese and onion burger. Waitress offered to send it back to the kitchen, but the redo would have delayed the other guests, so we declined. The salmon omelette, was more like a precooked and reheated egg tortilla with salmon bits. This was the most disappointing item ordered. The house made potatoe chips were delicious, but not enough of an inducement for us to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 30, 2017

The service was excellent and, while we were not at a function this time, their private dining/meeting room is a glass wall at the end of the dining area and appears excellent for group/business private dining. The food was not "run of the mill" choices and was quite good.

Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Meals have great flavor balance and uniqueness. Walked by many times and so glad I finally went in for dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 19, 2017

This is a restaurant that I have frequented for the past 13 years and was very disappointed on this most recent visit. The crab cakes were ordered by several of us and they were under cooked - a consistency like tuna fish, one guest even sent hers back. The blt had 3 pieces of bacon on it - not much to it for the price and quality of restaurant. To make matters worse when reviewing our bank account the following day, we have been charged twice and two different amounts - I do have a call into the manager to discuss. Midtown used to be a quality restaurant, but is lacking on this visit. I sure hope they can turn it around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Table of eight, service was great and the food was terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Overall, very good service, ambiance, etc. I had the BLT, and while the bacon was fully cooked, it wasn't crispy at all. I'm sure some people like it that way, but I would've preferred it cooked more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Pretty dull, un-extraordinary brunch. No special drinks, bloody marys were just vodka with mix and a lime stuck on top, omelettes were fine but uninteresting. Donuts were good, although the choc sauce was clotted vs smooth. Overall, it's a diner with upmarket pretensions and without a solid 'signature' dish to compel us to come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This place was recommended to my husband and I through coworkers and it did not disappoint! We went to Midtown for a date night out and it was about a 30 minute drive for us but it was worth it! My husband had the salmon and I had a couple of appetizers as my main course. Although the appetizers say "to share", the salad was really only enough for one person. I will say that the portions were "just right". If you're using to a $25+ meal that allows you to take leftovers, this is not the place. But, it was just enough and very good so it was worth the expense. Food was excellent and service was great! The food did take awhile to come out but it was hot and fresh so worth it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great food, great service. Thoroughly enjoyed everything we tried.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Unfortunately, the six at our table could barely hear each another talk during dinner. Though we had requested a quiet table, we were put right next to a large party that was in and out of a private room right next to us. It was very unfortunate. Dinner was fine but the noise level interfered with our enjoyment of the evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 27, 2017

The menu had changed since my last visit and it was a surprising disappointment. Expensive mediocre sandwiches are now the main stay of the luncheon menu. I opted for a salad. Spinach has disappeared from the restaurant for some reason and I got ice berg lettuce. The service was even more disappointing. The waiter "complained" to us that he a large party in the back room. This excuse was offered as an apology for the long wait and poor service. The tables are crowded together and I found myself sitting at a table such that I was in the aisle. The background noise made polite conversation nearly impossible. I used to love this place but I will NOT return to it now. I cannot think of thing to recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Good service. Food average. Crab cakes tasted a little funny. Have had better experience there for dinner.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 26, 2017

+My husband and I went to Midtown Grille for the first time Saturday, February 25th. We were excited as we had heard it was very good from two other friends. The atmosphere was nice and the servers were friendly and accommodating. I feel the food was average at best and the prices were quite high for the quality food we received. I ordered the "special" pork chop entree. It tasted very fresh and left a bad taste in my mouth. The mashed potatoes tasted like they were instant. My husband said the orecchiette had a tasty broth, but the combination of foods in it were a bit strange tasting. Overall we were disappointed with our meal and we have no desire to return to this restaurant in the future.

Tags: Cozy, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Always a pleasure! A favorite and dependable go-to restaurant whenever we have out of town guests. Food is always top notch and atmosphere is inviting.

Tags: Authentic, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Went there with a couple of friends. Great food and wine! I will definitely go back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Was good. not as good as i remember, yet still very good! will be going back more often

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 22, 2017

The food was good although we had to send it back. Also the glasses had items floating in them when the server poured the water. I wasn't happy about that because it happened with 2 glasses. Once the server took the bill to be paid we were never asked again did we want anything else to drink or anything.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Long been our favorite place for dates but something has changed as the food was disappointing. Always enjoyed our meals there and not sure if the chef has changed or it was an off night. Will likely visit other restaurants for future dates vs. returning again. Hate it as it is a nice restaurant but not sure what happened.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Outstanding service and top notch fare!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The cooperation of the restaurant in providing the choice of reservations, the service upon arrival, and the table service, were all outstanding. The food was excellent - the oysters were absolutely outstanding! Entrees and dessert choices were also excellent. We have been there many times, but had not been there recently until Valentines Night. We will return more often!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Had not been to the Midtown Grill for a couple of years and found it to be enjoyable but not what I remembered. The menu seemed limited and the food satisfying but not outstanding. I was told later that the restaurant had changed hands since my last visit which explains the differences. I would go again but probably try other places before cycling back to the Midtown Grill.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.