About Midtown Grille

4421-115 Six Forks Road
Raleigh, NC 27609
View Larger Map

Tucked away in Raleigh’s Lassiter District in North Hills, Midtown Grille is an upscale, comfortable neighborhood restaurant featuring Contemporary American cuisine. Locally owned since 2006, Midtown offers sophisticated, yet approachable dishes, emphasizing locally sourced ingredients. The menu is driven by new Executive Chef John Childers coming from the Forbes Five Star, AAA Five Diamond Herons at the Umstead Hotel and Spa.

A favorite local spot, Midtown is open for brunch, lunch and dinner both indoors and on its large patio. A separate, enclosed dining room may be reserved for private events. The restaurant’s active late-night scene hints at Midtown’s exceptional bar; General Manager and Sommelier, Max Trujillo, oversees the extensive wine and beer lists and the outstanding handcrafted cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Bar 4pm - Midnight Weekdays and 4pm - 2:00am Weekends

Cross Street:
Lassiter Mill Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 782-9463

Website:
http://www.themidtowngrille.com/

Entertainment:
Live classical guitar from 12pm-2pm for Sunday Brunch.

Parking Details:
Free North Hills public parking

Public Transit:
Bus stop is 40 yards from front of restaurant.

Executive Chef:
John Childers

Private Party Facilities:
Private party room seats up to 35 guests for dining.
Please contact Susan Alibrandi for any special requests.

Private Party Contact:
Susan Alibrandi: 919-782-2492x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact us with any special event requests.

Restaurant Photos

Midtown Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (31)
fit for foodies (27)
special occasion (27)
See All
great for lunch (18)
great for brunch (18)
good for groups (18)
great for outdoor dining (17)
romantic (16)
notable wine list (11)
late-night find (5)
hot spot (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
kid-friendly (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1018 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

New chef is amazing. Great location. ...

Dined 6 days ago

New chef is amazing. Great location. Great place to take friends who come from someplace they think has "amazing restaurants". They'll be very impressed. Just as great for a quick meal. Tops

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Birthday Brunch

Dined on May 15, 2016

My Fiancee requested that we go out to brunch at the Midtown Grille for her birthday, and we both had a excellent dining experience!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service2

Lately, the way the food has been prepar ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Lately, the way the food has been prepared has changed to worse , the service has been really slow.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for special occasion.

Dined on May 6, 2016

We celebrated my sons college graduation. The calamari was outstanding as we're all of our main entrees. The waitress was extremely pleasant and acommadating. Nice atmosphere inside.

Tags: special occasion
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

Very disappointing as of late.

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

This used to be one of our favorite special occassion restaurants. Food, service and atmosphere was always enjoyable. Serivce is still very good, however, we were so very dissappointed with our last meal. Two of our three fish entrees were undercooked. The thirds person had already finished their meal by the time our entrees came back. The kitchen had reheated the same piece of fish that they had miscooked the first time and replated it, but not bothered to reheat our side dishes. Absolutely unacceptable at those prices. We were very disappointed. We will not be back any time soon.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Sunday Brunch

Dined on April 24, 2016

The food was absolutely wonderful! The crab cake sandwich and pimento cheeseburger were the best. Very quiet--music was low enough so diners could talk without yelling.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service3

Good location and was able to make a res ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Good location and was able to make a reservation at the last minute.

food4
ambience4
service4

Food and service were great, will be bac ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Food and service were great, will be back

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Good experience

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

loved sitting outside enjoying the nice lunch with our friends from Alaska. They loved the atmosphere too.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Meals for the entire day!

Dined on March 27, 2016

Midtown Grille is one of my favorite Raleigh restaurants. I have been an avid dinner attendee due to the restaurant's duck entrees all the way down to the butter for the bread. For some reason it took me until this past Easter Sunday to visit for brunch. I realized I was really missing out, as should be expected. The brunch menu is all of your classics with subtle southern twists. The prices are competitive (I would have expected higher prices based on my typical dinner bill). One of my favorite parts of the meal at Midtown is the bread and butter, and of course brunch is no exception. You start your meal with a great raisin, cinnamon and brown sugar muffin (which I could eat as my meal). The waffles paired well with the old fashioned and was split perfectly between two guests. Will definitely be back again for brunch!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service3

Food was way too salty. Not fans of the ...

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Food was way too salty. Not fans of the new menu!!! We had a reservation but were seated at the very back facing the exit door , even though there were many empty tables.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Good Food and Quiet Conversation

Dined on March 25, 2016

I have enjoyed Midtown Grille on multiple occasions for a business lunch requiring high quality food and quiet surroundings. The service is always dependable, and often exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Crispy

Dined on March 19, 2016

This visit was a pleasant surprise. Went to celebrate a friend's birthday and it was most enjoyable. We both agreed we will return very soon. Staff was very friendly and accommodating to our special requests.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Overall Good Night

Dined on March 12, 2016

Midtowne Grille has a nice ambiance, and pleasant staff greeted us at the door. We sat at the bar for cocktails before dinner, and had a great time. Our appetizers were very good, but Dinner was just okay. Our party of four had a variety of choices (burger, chicken entree, pork cheeks, beef entree) that were good, the chicken being the best among them. The burger could have been from anywhere; the pork cheeks were tender but the grits under them were the best part of the dish. As a former wait staff/server, I'm a stickler for service; it was great here. Everyone from the moment we walked in the door was friendly and fun. The staff at Midtowne made an average experience a good one!

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best BLT I have had in a long time!!! Th ...

Dined on March 3, 2016

Best BLT I have had in a long time!!! The desserts are amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Food/bumpy ride

Dined on February 28, 2016

Great food and atmosphere and polite staff. The only drawback was that our table was squeezed into a very frequent walkway zone for the staff, and in spite of my chair being pushed in as far as possible, the back of my chair was bumped at least 30 times without any apologies by the staff. We asked about being placed in another table, but all were taken. If you make reservations here, please request to not get this table!!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always great food and service!

Dined on February 26, 2016

We often go to Midtown Grille for business lunches and dinners. The food is always excellent and the service is spot on. They are always around at the right time when you need something without ever being bothersome. The staple things on the menu are very good and have never gone wrong with one of the chef's specials. Highly recommend for any occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great environment, food a little inconsistent

Dined on February 15, 2016

We are generally fans of this restaurant - we love the ambiance (a nice restaurant but cozy), and the service is excellent. However, we went this time on Valentine's Day, and I have to say we weren't blown away by the food. The menu was unusually challenging for us as pescaterians with few options not including meat, more of an issue than we remember, and our shrimp and grits was underwhelming. The flavor was fairly bland, and the quantity did not remotely justify what I think was a very overinflated price. We very much enjoyed the ricotta gnocchi with mustard that we had for an appetizer, but we left talking more about the disappointment with our entrees. Because we really like the restaurant based on past experiences, I'm certainly hoping it was a blip of mediocrity that we won't run into when we return or we might have to take it off our list.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Beautiful Space, Good Food

Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was well-crafted and delicious; and the space is nice with eye-appealing decor. Convenient location right in North Hills.

Tags: great for brunch
food2
ambience5
service4

I thought the portions sizes were more s ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

I thought the portions sizes were more so of a small plate. Shrimp and grits only had 4 shrimp.

food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Service good, cold, food not good.

Dined on February 13, 2016

We went with another couple on Saturday evening...sat in the middle so every time the door opened there was a cold breeze...both of the men ordered the oysters and they were not good...very breaded and couldn't tell they were oysters...might have been old chicken...wives said their salads were very ordinary...overall, not worth the money.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Better than I had remembered!

Dined on February 12, 2016

My only complaints were 1)calamari has been removed from the menu & 2)the menu is VERY limited. Our table ordered everything from duck to filet to chicken & all were very good. Desserts were also better than expected! Delicious cheesecake & apple crisp.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3

We have dined at MTG several times and i ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

We have dined at MTG several times and it is slipping. The menu has shifted from fine dining to a very limited and unimpressive menu. The execution was even poorer. The food was striving to be creative but was in-cohesive and not well executed. The service matched the food with not being knowledgable and inattentive. The new chef is not an improvement and until we see changes we won't be back.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We had a great meal and dessert. Service ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

We had a great meal and dessert. Service was excellent. Got a reservation very easily and at the last minute through open table. Would definitely recommend this restaurant

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good food, good service. Outstanding win ...

Dined on February 5, 2016

Good food, good service. Outstanding wine selection. The negative. We got hit with a blast of cold air every time the front door opened - which was a lot. We were not even super close to the door.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service & Food

Dined on January 30, 2016

I have always enjoyed this restaurant as the service is impeccable. I have never had a bad meal here.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Consistently very good

Dined on January 30, 2016

Midtown Grille can be depended on for interesting flavorful food and competent warm service. We ate there on Sat night of Restaurant Week which could have been a disaster because of crowds but while it took a bit longer the gracious staff made up for it nicely.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

For Restaurant week I would have expected more

Dined on January 30, 2016

We arrived a 7:30 for the special restaurant week menu, they were out of crispy oysters, (one of two choices for appetizer on the menu), then for desert they were out again of one of the two choices. Poor planning on their part. It was a cold night and every time people came in or out of the place we got a blast of artic air. I have eaten there many time before and been happy, this was not a good experience.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Busy for Triangle Restaurant Week

Dined on January 30, 2016

All in all was good,,, busy and ran out of some items but were very accomodating for substitues and went out of their way to be a good host

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Letdown!

Dined on January 30, 2016

One of our old stand bys has now been crossed off the list! Been going here for the last 5 years or so, and was always consistent and occasionally great. This was a let down because it was a blown opportunity. With a new chef just announced and Triangle restaurant week there were clearly a lot of people watching (and apparently eating there on Friday night). Here, in no particular order: 1. Party of 4 arrived on time, seated promptly, but sat for about 5 minutes before even spotting our server. we were handed 2 menus and 2 wine lists... 2. At 8:00 on Friday night they were out of Salmon, oysters (both on prix fixe menu) and chocolate torte 3. the food that we did order was okay, though the soup was described to me as watery There are too many other great options in Raleigh now, so sadly we won't (voluntarily) return.

food4
ambience4
service4

Cute, upbeat, good food,very busy at lun ...

Dined on January 29, 2016

Cute, upbeat, good food,very busy at lunch,loud

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great food on a busy night

Dined on January 29, 2016

Good: The food was excellent. It was a busy night (restaurant week) and they were running about 10 minutes behind schedule for seating. The hostess and manager did a nice job of offering us drinks while we waited for our table. Not good: The table beside us was quite loud and the men at the table were using profanity...f-bombs and g-d frequently. They were next to a table with small children. This should have been stopped by the restaurant staff. In fairness, maybe it was addressed as the situation did improve by the end of the meal.....or maybe the cursing diners just got tired. Also not good: The waiter was either too busy or not friendly. I would probably guess too busy due to the full restaurant. She seemed annoyed to be serving us.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great ambiance and wonderful spot for ca ...

vip
Dined on January 29, 2016

Great ambiance and wonderful spot for casual dining or a special occasion. The food was amazing as well as the presentation. Chef John is an amazing chef and if you haven't had a chance to experience his food, you need to stop into Midtown Grille!

food3
ambience4
service2
value1

New chef needs to make some changes

vip
Dined on January 28, 2016

My last two dining experiences at Midtown have been lackluster. I thought perhaps the new chef needed to get settled but this past visit wasn't any different. It's fine but not great. There are many other better restaurants in our area. I won't be going back soon.

food2
ambience3
service5
value2

No more Restaurant Week

Dined on January 28, 2016

While nothing was horribly wrong, we were again disappointed with our experience during Restaurant Week at Midtown Grille. We found the oysters to be not well-prepared, and the pork cheeks were uninspiring: while tender and tasting okay, it was like the chef was phoning it in. This is the second time we have had a similar experience here during Restaurant Week, so we have learned our lesson. No more Restaurant Week for us at Midtown.

food4
ambience4
service4

Great lunch choices, friendly service!

Dined on January 15, 2016

Great lunch choices, friendly service!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

New Year's Eve at Midtown

Dined on January 1, 2016

Given that NYE can be a hit or miss even at solid restaurants we were very pleased that Midtown had their "A" game on and we had great service, great food and an all around great time. This is a place where you go to get the neighborhood feel with creative food and they did not disappoint. We were in from out of town but have known this place for quite a while - we will definitely go again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service and very good food!

vip
Dined on December 31, 2015

Our family of 4 had dinner here on New Year's Eve. They had a limited menu but we were all able to find something. I had the tuna special, which was fabulous, my husband got the pork shoulder that was cooked to perfection; one daughter got shrimp & grits, which was a tad overcooked, but still very tasty. My youngest got the grilled pimento cheese sandwich, which was just okay. It actually was just cheddar cheese, not pimento, so she was a little disappointed but it wasn't worth sending back. The service was excellent. Despite being a busy NYE, they never once rushed us or made us feel like they needed to turn the table over. From the moment we were greeted by the hostess to the moment we left, we felt like valued guests. We'll definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Good Food

Dined on December 18, 2015

This is a very nice restaurant just pick out a table near the back because it was very drafty and cool in the front near the door. Its our fault we should have asked to move.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

I have eaten here many times on my frequ ...

vip
Dined on December 16, 2015

I have eaten here many times on my frequent trips to Raleigh and our meal last week was excellent. They always have a great selection of California Pinot Noir (in this instance a Vision Cellars Las Alturas). My pasta was clearly made in house and delicious. The filet special my guest had was also outstanding. Best of all was the service from Kelly. Will be back for sure next time in Raleigh.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.