About Midtown Grille

4421-115 Six Forks Road
Raleigh, NC 27609
View Larger Map

Tucked away in Raleigh’s Lassiter District in North Hills, Midtown Grille is an upscale, comfortable neighborhood restaurant featuring Contemporary American cuisine. Locally owned since 2006, Midtown offers sophisticated, yet approachable dishes, emphasizing locally sourced ingredients. The menu is driven by new Executive Chef John Childers coming from the Forbes Five Star, AAA Five Diamond Herons at the Umstead Hotel and Spa.

A favorite local spot, Midtown is open for brunch, lunch and dinner both indoors and on its large patio. A separate, enclosed dining room may be reserved for private events. The restaurant’s active late-night scene hints at Midtown’s exceptional bar; General Manager and Sommelier, Max Trujillo, oversees the extensive wine and beer lists and the outstanding handcrafted cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Bar 4pm - Midnight Weekdays and 4pm - 2:00am Weekends

Cross Street:
Lassiter Mill Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 782-9463

Website:
http://www.themidtowngrille.com/

Entertainment:
Live classical guitar from 12pm-2pm for Sunday Brunch.

Parking Details:
Free North Hills public parking

Public Transit:
Bus stop is 40 yards from front of restaurant.

Executive Chef:
John Childers

Private Party Facilities:
Private party room seats up to 35 guests for dining.
Please contact Susan Alibrandi for any special requests.

Private Party Contact:
Susan Alibrandi: 919-782-2492x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact us with any special event requests.

Restaurant Photos

Table Bread
Redneck cheese board
Duck a few ways
Unsweetened Iced Tea
Griddle Burger
Fries
Beignets
Waffles
Shrimp and Grits
Steak And Mushrooms
Crab Cake Benedict
Pimento Cheese Burger
Brunch
Tuna Tartare with Crispy Wontons, Grapefruit and Greens
Smoky Beignet with Cheerwine Sabayon, Bacon Powder and Bitter Chocolate
Pork Belly with Potato Rosti, Watercress and a Quick Cured Egg Yolk
Hamburger
Chocolate And Peanut Butter Smores Pie
Desserts
Entrees
Amuse Bouche

Midtown Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.9

ambience

4.0

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (21)
neighborhood gem (19)
special occasion (15)
See All
great for outdoor dining (12)
great for brunch (11)
good for groups (11)
great for lunch (11)
romantic (10)
notable wine list (6)
late-night find (3)
vibrant bar scene (1)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1034 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great experience. Solidly consistent and ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Great experience. Solidly consistent and service was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

MG was great! We enjoyed it very much! V ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

MG was great! We enjoyed it very much! Very fancy Restuarant and the food we got was phenomenal! The calamari was the best we had, shrimp and grits and the salmon were on point too! Staff was great and helpful. Good spot. Highly recommend. Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant used to be very good...i ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

This restaurant used to be very good...it was a standard in our rotation of dining out...it appears to have gone downhill

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Waiter lost our starter, never brought b ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Waiter lost our starter, never brought bread, was invisible most of the time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Great overall experience. Excellent foo ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Great overall experience. Excellent food. Service was second to none.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Holiday weekend... They were slow... Fe ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Holiday weekend... They were slow... Felt a little strange with the restaurant not busy.

The pork belly and slaw was incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food and service here are excellent. Th ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food and service here are excellent. The wine by the glass menu features some excellent wines including some higher priced wines that normally are only sold by the bottle. Service is low key friendly and inobtrusive but still staying quite professional . A great place to have a nice lingering dining experience without having to shout at your table guests.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I went for lunch on a Saturday. I had ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I went for lunch on a Saturday. I had looked up the lunch menu online and had decided I wanted to have the grilled ham and cheese sandwich, not realizing that the restaurant serves the brunch menu on both Saturday and Sunday. I had already had breakfast that morning and wasn't interested in breakfast-like items on the brunch menu so asked the server if I could order the grilled ham and cheese sandwich. She checked with the kitchen and they accommodated my request. I also ordered a biscuit and she confused the order and brought me a small muffin instead, but it looked and smelled good so I was happy to eat the muffin. I had a 3-oz. pour of a Leitz Riesling and a white Sangria, both of which I enjoyed. I have had lunch or dinner at this restaurant several times and the food has always been quite good.

Tags: romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

For the price, very disappointing. Food ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

For the price, very disappointing. Food was good, but portions were small. It wasn't bad but I don't think I'll ever choose the Midtowne Grille again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

This was the first time I had their brun ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This was the first time I had their brunch. Food was good and service was okay. Love their dinners, brunch was just "good".

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

We were excited about going back to Midt ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We were excited about going back to Midtown after several very enjoyable trips there previously. This time the menu was much more limited and the food didn't have the same great flavor we expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

We ate there last Saturday night for tri ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We ate there last Saturday night for triangle restaurant week and were very disappointed. We ordered the salmon and had to send it back for being not done enough. But what really disappointed us was the serving size. I doubt the salmon was more than 3 oz. The same salmon is on the regular menu for $27, so no way our portion was what was regularly served. You expect to get normal portions at restaurant week. Also, the peach cobbler was made with canned peaches - a fine dining restaurant serving canned peaches? Peaches do come fresh frozen or the chef could have used any number of other fresh fruits instead. I highly doubt we'll ever go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

Not impressed

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We tried this place out for restaurant week and wasn't impressed at all. The food was mediocre and failed to peak any interest from our tastebuds. The pork cheek tasted very similar to bland pot roast and the peach cobbler would have been better eaten straight from the can. Not sure why a cobbler from a restaurant such as this would be made from canned peaches. Just disappointment from the start with the calamari that lacked any kind of crisp. Our food took an incredibly long time to cook which was surprising given we were ordering off the restaurant week menu. My recommendation would be for the owner and chef to stop what they are doing, read the Yelp reviews (which are eerily accurate), regroup and try again. The menu is in terrible need of an overhaul. And for goodness sake, put some smiles on those servers faces. They must be upset from the tipping which is no doubt due to the horrible food quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Great Food and Atmosphere

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Great food and a nice quiet atmosphere. My husband and I went for our anniversary and it just happened to be during restaurant week, so we got to sample a few different things. We both had the salmon, which was divine...melted in your mouth like butter. It's quite expensive, but the food is great and so creatively put together. I also had their strawberry mojito that was very refreshing and delicious. They had a couple of very young staff members, including the hostess and the food runner, and my husband noted that the older staff members were actively teaching them and showing them how to do things, which was nice. We wondered if they have some kind of fine-dining apprenticeship program.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Disappointing Dining Experience & Expensive

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

I was my wife's birthday were looking forward to a special dining experience. We were both greatly disappointed in all aspects of the meal.

We felt the menu was far too limited and didn't offer much variety. You were kind of "stuck" with a few choices; none of which seemed very appealing. Should have left at that point. Service was very slow, only one waitress was handling all of the outside seating area.

We ordered drinks. Mine, called a Boulevardier, was not something I would ever want again. I drank half of it and then ordered a Canadian Club & 7 (which was changed to Crown Royal without asking me) and my wife ordered a margarita. We were stunned to see on the bill later that they charged $8 for the margarita and an additional $3 for the tequila - always thought you had to have tequila to have a margarita!)

As for the food... the bread was dry, hard, and without much taste. However, both of our salads were fresh and quite good (Romaine Hearts and Iceberg).

I ordered from a fixed menu (starter, salad, main, and dessert). They did not have one of the starters (Crispy Calamari) but did not offer an alternative, so I was "stuck" with something I didn't really want. As for Mains - My wife went with Chicken (not seeing anything else she might like on the menu) and I went with Pork Cheeks (which the waitress said were very popular and fall apart with your fork). The chicken was okay, but nothing special. The pork cheeks were extremely tough (had to use a knife to cut them - not my fork) and not very flavorful.

The Peach Cobbler was very good. We shared it. This was a highlight of the meal.

Not sure how this mess ended up costing us $50 each... but this was clearly the most disappointing dining experience we've had in a long, long time... perhaps ever.

We obviously aren't the clientele Midtown Grill is targeting.

Thank goodness there are so many better dining experiences available in Raleigh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

New chef is amazing. Great location. ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

New chef is amazing. Great location. Great place to take friends who come from someplace they think has "amazing restaurants". They'll be very impressed. Just as great for a quick meal. Tops

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Dinner was great, but would have enjoyed ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Dinner was great, but would have enjoyed a little larger serving size. Great spot!

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Birthday Brunch

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

My Fiancee requested that we go out to brunch at the Midtown Grille for her birthday, and we both had a excellent dining experience!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Lately, the way the food has been prepar ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Lately, the way the food has been prepared has changed to worse , the service has been really slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Great place for special occasion.

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We celebrated my sons college graduation. The calamari was outstanding as we're all of our main entrees. The waitress was extremely pleasant and acommadating. Nice atmosphere inside.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointing as of late.

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

This used to be one of our favorite special occassion restaurants. Food, service and atmosphere was always enjoyable. Serivce is still very good, however, we were so very dissappointed with our last meal. Two of our three fish entrees were undercooked. The thirds person had already finished their meal by the time our entrees came back. The kitchen had reheated the same piece of fish that they had miscooked the first time and replated it, but not bothered to reheat our side dishes. Absolutely unacceptable at those prices. We were very disappointed. We will not be back any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

Sunday Brunch

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

The food was absolutely wonderful! The crab cake sandwich and pimento cheeseburger were the best. Very quiet--music was low enough so diners could talk without yelling.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good location and was able to make a res ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Good location and was able to make a reservation at the last minute.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Food and service were great, will be bac ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Food and service were great, will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good experience

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

loved sitting outside enjoying the nice lunch with our friends from Alaska. They loved the atmosphere too.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Meals for the entire day!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Midtown Grille is one of my favorite Raleigh restaurants. I have been an avid dinner attendee due to the restaurant's duck entrees all the way down to the butter for the bread. For some reason it took me until this past Easter Sunday to visit for brunch. I realized I was really missing out, as should be expected. The brunch menu is all of your classics with subtle southern twists. The prices are competitive (I would have expected higher prices based on my typical dinner bill). One of my favorite parts of the meal at Midtown is the bread and butter, and of course brunch is no exception. You start your meal with a great raisin, cinnamon and brown sugar muffin (which I could eat as my meal). The waffles paired well with the old fashioned and was split perfectly between two guests. Will definitely be back again for brunch!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was way too salty. Not fans of the ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Food was way too salty. Not fans of the new menu!!!

We had a reservation but were seated at the very back facing the exit door , even though there were many empty tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Good Food and Quiet Conversation

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

I have enjoyed Midtown Grille on multiple occasions for a business lunch requiring high quality food and quiet surroundings. The service is always dependable, and often exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Crispy

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

This visit was a pleasant surprise. Went to celebrate a friend's birthday and it was most enjoyable. We both agreed we will return very soon. Staff was very friendly and accommodating to our special requests.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Overall Good Night

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Midtowne Grille has a nice ambiance, and pleasant staff greeted us at the door. We sat at the bar for cocktails before dinner, and had a great time.

Our appetizers were very good, but Dinner was just okay. Our party of four had a variety of choices (burger, chicken entree, pork cheeks, beef entree) that were good, the chicken being the best among them. The burger could have been from anywhere; the pork cheeks were tender but the grits under them were the best part of the dish.

As a former wait staff/server, I'm a stickler for service; it was great here. Everyone from the moment we walked in the door was friendly and fun. The staff at Midtowne made an average experience a good one!

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Best BLT I have had in a long time!!! Th ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

Best BLT I have had in a long time!!! The desserts are amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food/bumpy ride

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Great food and atmosphere and polite staff. The only drawback was that our table was squeezed into a very frequent walkway zone for the staff, and in spite of my chair being pushed in as far as possible, the back of my chair was bumped at least 30 times without any apologies by the staff. We asked about being placed in another table, but all were taken. If you make reservations here, please request to not get this table!!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always great food and service!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

We often go to Midtown Grille for business lunches and dinners. The food is always excellent and the service is spot on. They are always around at the right time when you need something without ever being bothersome. The staple things on the menu are very good and have never gone wrong with one of the chef's specials. Highly recommend for any occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great environment, food a little inconsistent

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

We are generally fans of this restaurant - we love the ambiance (a nice restaurant but cozy), and the service is excellent. However, we went this time on Valentine's Day, and I have to say we weren't blown away by the food. The menu was unusually challenging for us as pescaterians with few options not including meat, more of an issue than we remember, and our shrimp and grits was underwhelming. The flavor was fairly bland, and the quantity did not remotely justify what I think was a very overinflated price. We very much enjoyed the ricotta gnocchi with mustard that we had for an appetizer, but we left talking more about the disappointment with our entrees.

Because we really like the restaurant based on past experiences, I'm certainly hoping it was a blip of mediocrity that we won't run into when we return or we might have to take it off our list.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Beautiful Space, Good Food

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was well-crafted and delicious; and the space is nice with eye-appealing decor. Convenient location right in North Hills.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

I thought the portions sizes were more s ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

I thought the portions sizes were more so of a small plate. Shrimp and grits only had 4 shrimp.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

Service good, cold, food not good.

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We went with another couple on Saturday evening...sat in the middle so every time the door opened there was a cold breeze...both of the men ordered the oysters and they were not good...very breaded and couldn't tell they were oysters...might have been old chicken...wives said their salads were very ordinary...overall, not worth the money.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Better than I had remembered!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

My only complaints were 1)calamari has been removed from the menu & 2)the menu is VERY limited. Our table ordered everything from duck to filet to chicken & all were very good. Desserts were also better than expected! Delicious cheesecake & apple crisp.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have dined at MTG several times and i ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

We have dined at MTG several times and it is slipping. The menu has shifted from fine dining to a very limited and unimpressive menu. The execution was even poorer. The food was striving to be creative but was in-cohesive and not well executed. The service matched the food with not being knowledgable and inattentive. The new chef is not an improvement and until we see changes we won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

We had a great meal and dessert. Service ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

We had a great meal and dessert. Service was excellent. Got a reservation very easily and at the last minute through open table. Would definitely recommend this restaurant

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.