About Midtown Grille

4421-115 Six Forks Road
Raleigh, NC 27609
View Larger Map

Tucked away in Raleigh’s Lassiter District in North Hills, Midtown Grille is an upscale, comfortable neighborhood restaurant featuring Contemporary American cuisine. Locally owned since 2006, Midtown offers sophisticated, yet approachable dishes, emphasizing locally sourced ingredients.

A favorite local spot, Midtown is open for brunch, lunch and dinner both indoors and on its large patio. A separate, enclosed dining room may be reserved for private events. The restaurant’s active late-night scene hints at Midtown’s exceptional bar. The General Manager is Shannon Dye.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Bar 4pm - Midnight Weekdays and 4pm - 2:00am Weekends

Cross Street:
Lassiter Mill Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 782-9463

Website:
http://www.themidtowngrille.com/

Entertainment:
Live classical guitar from 12pm-2pm for Sunday Brunch.

Parking Details:
Free North Hills public parking

Public Transit:
Bus stop is 40 yards from front of restaurant.

Private Party Facilities:
Private party room seats up to 35 guests for dining.
Please contact Susan Alibrandi for any special requests.

Private Party Contact:
Susan Alibrandi: (919) 782-2492

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact us with any special event requests.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Table Bread - Midtown Grille, Raleigh, NC
Redneck cheese board - Midtown Grille, Raleigh, NC
Duck a few ways - Midtown Grille, Raleigh, NC
Unsweetened Iced Tea - Midtown Grille, Raleigh, NC
Griddle Burger - Midtown Grille, Raleigh, NC
Fries - Midtown Grille, Raleigh, NC
Beignets - Midtown Grille, Raleigh, NC
Waffles - Midtown Grille, Raleigh, NC
Steak And Mushrooms - Midtown Grille, Raleigh, NC
Crab Cake Benedict - Midtown Grille, Raleigh, NC
Pimento Cheese Burger - Midtown Grille, Raleigh, NC
Shrimp and Grits - Midtown Grille, Raleigh, NC
Brunch - Midtown Grille, Raleigh, NC
Smoky Beignet with Cheerwine Sabayon, Bacon Powder and Bitter Chocolate - Midtown Grille, Raleigh, NC
Pork Belly with Potato Rosti, Watercress and a Quick Cured Egg Yolk - Midtown Grille, Raleigh, NC
Tuna Tartare with Crispy Wontons, Grapefruit and Greens - Midtown Grille, Raleigh, NC
Hamburger - Midtown Grille, Raleigh, NC
Chocolate And Peanut Butter Smores Pie - Midtown Grille, Raleigh, NC
Entrees - Midtown Grille, Raleigh, NC
Desserts - Midtown Grille, Raleigh, NC
Amuse Bouche - Midtown Grille, Raleigh, NC

Midtown Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (11)
Business Meals (9)
Good for a Date (9)
See All
Good for Birthdays (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Fun (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Casual (4)
Seasonal (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Cozy (3)
Private Room (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Romantic (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Healthy (2)
Authentic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tapas (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1055 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service was outstanding! The food wa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

The service was outstanding! The food was very good and the ambiance was lively but not too much for enjoyable conversation at the table. Excellent North Hills location!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Casual, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great location, food and ambience. Met ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great location, food and ambience. Met there for NYE dinner with friends and overall experience was great. Our server was nice and polite.

I had the salmon and that was delicious. This is my second time there and will be go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First time dining at Midtown Grille and ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

First time dining at Midtown Grille and we plan on returning! A very comfortable place, service was fantastic, menu selection was very good..pricing was in line and affordable. We're looking forward to return to try some other menu items.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our dinner for four on a Wednesday eveni ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Our dinner for four on a Wednesday evening was perfect. The food was very fresh (two of us had the salmon) and creative. The staff was very accommodating and happily made a few changes necessitated by a food allergy. The wine list was very good, and a lot of thought went into the planning of the menu. We had no problem finding items that suited our varied tastes. Our server was professional and delightful. We look forward to returning to Midtown Grille.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This used to be one of my favorite resta ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 21, 2016

This used to be one of my favorite restaurants. The menu has changed for the worse, the service was subpar and I am so very disappointed. The only thing the same is the hostess and bartender who are excellent.

I don't know if the ownership changed or just the chef, but Midtown has lost its magic. :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Always a solid choice , highly recommend ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Always a solid choice , highly recommended, especially if you're tired of the big chains.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for girls lunch or evening g ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Great place for girls lunch or evening get together. Butternut squash risotto was great. My friend had the BLT and said it was yummy. Very friendly and capable staff.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed a fabulous meal with girlfriends ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Enjoyed a fabulous meal with girlfriends. Our annual Christmas dinner couldn't have been more pleasant. Love the new chef, Robert!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a nice place to get together. We ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 11, 2016

It was a nice place to get together. We did not feel rushed out at all.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We've been to Midtown Grille many times ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 30, 2016

We've been to Midtown Grille many times and frankly were quite disappointed in the quality of the food. The portions were small the quality wasn't up to our past visits. Good service, like the new manager. Good wines

Tags: Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

The best Thanksgiving meal ever! A mois ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The best Thanksgiving meal ever! A moist, tender turkey with delicious sides!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to Midtown before but for some ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I've been to Midtown before but for some reason, this time, the waitress treated me (and the person I was with) like we were just there for drinks and that's about it. I had to ask if there were any items not included on the menu. Then after I ordered appetizers and drinks, the waitress asked if we were also having dinner at the establishment. As if when you are seated at a table, it wouldn't be right to assume you were going to order an entree or more than one course. Nonetheless, I guess I don't have the same physical characteristics as their "regular" patrons so hence the assumptions by the waitress.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

The dinner portions are more on the side ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The dinner portions are more on the side of appetizer portions. Considering the price of dinners the portions could be larger.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I try to eat at Midtown Grill when I tra ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I try to eat at Midtown Grill when I travel to Raleigh for business. My associate and I eat there after a full day of trade show and it was very pleasant. I had the shaved mushroom salad and enjoyed it very much.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the outdoor dining for lunch

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Enjoyed the outdoor dining for lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love sitting outside for brunch. Food an ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Love sitting outside for brunch. Food and service great.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been to this restaurant many times ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We've been to this restaurant many times over the past several years, and it has lately been disappointing. Menu is not impressive these days. I finally settled on a dinner choice, and was very underwhelmed by it. We left disappointed with the experience and will put this restaurant down the list for returning soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Nice 'later' night option. We shared th ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Nice 'later' night option. We shared the dishes - very interesting combinations. Great wine, moderately priced. Only issue was that the smoke from the smokers on patio 'wafted' into the dining room every time doors opened - spoiled subtle flavors. Also service was perplexingly slow and uneven (server did not check back regularly) considering the number of tables.

Tags: Live Sports, Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Ordered flank steak which was done perfe ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Ordered flank steak which was done perfectly! Exceptional proactive service which made the whole evening enjoyable and relaxing.

Examples of great service: 1.We weren't waiting that long for our food but the staff proactively offered us a free appetizer because they felt the ticket time was a little late.

  1. The wine I ordered wasn't to my liking and they gladly replaced it with a another wine no questions asked.

I would definitely come back for the great food and service.

Tags: Business Meals, Modern Decor, Casual, Fun, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We are there for lunch. I was disappoint ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 5, 2016

We are there for lunch. I was disappointed in the limited menu with no specials & had to ask for bread. Service was perfect except they did not check back after the meal was served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Appetizer was very good. The entres took ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Appetizer was very good. The entres took too long, at least 45 minutes, to be served with no explananregarding the delay. The pork dish was bland and not hot. Dessert was mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Slow service; the worst chicken salad I ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Slow service; the worst chicken salad I've had anywhere. I wondered indeed if my wrap had chicken in the multi-flavored salad.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

The food was very good, served with a ni ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 30, 2016

The food was very good, served with a nice off beat presentation. I had the skirt steak, it was cooked to order and the side was nicely presented in a ring of foam potatoes. Great meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for a business meal; not to ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Great place for a business meal; not to loud and the wait staff was very considerate. I ordered a fried oyster sandwich and enjoyed it.

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I've been here for brunch and dinner. Al ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 21, 2016

I've been here for brunch and dinner. Always enjoyed my meal. Good service too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was fair because I don't fee ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 18, 2016

The service was fair because I don't feel like our waitress stopped by our table enough. It took some time to get our order in.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value4

Just not a 4 star or 5 star restaurant . ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Just not a 4 star or 5 star restaurant .

Over rated!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

I had the chicken dish which was really ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 9, 2016

I had the chicken dish which was really very good. We went on a Tuesday, so the half price glasses of wine was also a really big plus. Downside was we had a party of 6 and gratuity was already added to the bill. Not that the service wasn't good and I didn't intend on tipping 20%, just find it annoying when servers do this. Will definitely be back again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I've seen Midtown for many years and wan ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 6, 2016

I've seen Midtown for many years and wanted to try it. The waitress immediately wanted an drink order even before we had an opportunity to look at the menu (and then proceeded to say I'll be back with water). Then we ordered a drink and an appetizer and then after the drink was brought to the table, we placed our dinner order. We asked for straws and never received them. I had to ask for bread once our meal came. I would say it was not a very good experience and celebrated our anniversary there. I would not recommend it for dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

We were there at 630 on a Saturday eveni ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 6, 2016

We were there at 630 on a Saturday evening. One other group was eating.

The restaurant was not busy at all and still not busy when we left at 745.

The food was dissappointing. Portions are very small and the prices are very big!

In comparable restaurants around town, the meal size and cost are much much better.

My catfish was dry and thin cut. My wife's beef rib was a very small portion, embarrassingly so.

And it looked and tasted more like a common pot roast.

We will not go back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Service and delivery of food was very sl ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 2, 2016

Service and delivery of food was very slow for the lunch hour. The restaurant was not that busy, yet we waited nearly 30 minutes for our food to arrive. In the evening, with a glass of wine, that might be acceptable. At a weekday lunchtime, that is not. Additionally, because we had a party of 6, we had an automatic gratuity of 20% for subpar service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

This is one of my favorite spots and my ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 31, 2016

This is one of my favorite spots and my absolute favorite brunch location. If you haven't tried their brunch, you are missing out. Also, half price mimosas for brunch on Sundays.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food. Great atmosphere

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Very good food. Great atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience. Solidly consistent and ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 18, 2016

Great experience. Solidly consistent and service was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

MG was great! We enjoyed it very much! V ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 9, 2016

MG was great! We enjoyed it very much! Very fancy Restuarant and the food we got was phenomenal! The calamari was the best we had, shrimp and grits and the salmon were on point too! Staff was great and helpful. Good spot. Highly recommend. Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant used to be very good...i ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 8, 2016

This restaurant used to be very good...it was a standard in our rotation of dining out...it appears to have gone downhill

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Waiter lost our starter, never brought b ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 6, 2016

Waiter lost our starter, never brought bread, was invisible most of the time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Great overall experience. Excellent foo ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 6, 2016

Great overall experience. Excellent food. Service was second to none.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Holiday weekend... They were slow... Fe ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Holiday weekend... They were slow... Felt a little strange with the restaurant not busy.

The pork belly and slaw was incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food and service here are excellent. Th ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food and service here are excellent. The wine by the glass menu features some excellent wines including some higher priced wines that normally are only sold by the bottle. Service is low key friendly and inobtrusive but still staying quite professional . A great place to have a nice lingering dining experience without having to shout at your table guests.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.