Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.48mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.48mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi

About Midtown Grille

Tucked away in Raleigh’s Lassiter District in North Hills, Midtown Grille is an upscale, comfortable neighborhood restaurant featuring Contemporary American cuisine. Locally owned since 2006, Midtown offers sophisticated, yet approachable dishes, emphasizing locally sourced ingredients.

A favorite local spot, Midtown is open for brunch, lunch and dinner both indoors and on its large patio. A separate, enclosed dining room may be reserved for private events. The restaurant’s active late-night scene hints at Midtown’s exceptional bar. The General Manager is Shannon Dye.

4421-115 Six Forks Road
Raleigh, NC 27609
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Brunch: Sunday 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Bar 4pm - Midnight Weekdays and 4pm - 2:00am Weekends

Cross Street:
Lassiter Mill Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 782-9463

Website:
http://www.themidtowngrille.com/

Entertainment:
Live classical guitar from 12pm-2pm for Sunday Brunch.

Parking Details:
Free North Hills public parking

Public Transit:
Bus stop is 40 yards from front of restaurant.

Private Party Facilities:
Private party room seats up to 35 guests for dining.
Please contact Susan Alibrandi for any special requests.

Private Party Contact:
Susan Alibrandi: (919) 782-2492

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact us with any special event requests.

Midtown Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (21)
Special Occasion (18)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
See All
Business Meals (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Cozy (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Bar Seating (8)
Casual (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Romantic (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Worth the Drive (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Fun (4)
Private Room (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Healthy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Seasonal (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
People Watching (2)
Authentic (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Tapas (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1180 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

Meals have great flavor balance and uniqueness. Walked by many times and so glad I finally went in for dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 19, 2017

This is a restaurant that I have frequented for the past 13 years and was very disappointed on this most recent visit. The crab cakes were ordered by several of us and they were under cooked - a consistency like tuna fish, one guest even sent hers back. The blt had 3 pieces of bacon on it - not much to it for the price and quality of restaurant. To make matters worse when reviewing our bank account the following day, we have been charged twice and two different amounts - I do have a call into the manager to discuss. Midtown used to be a quality restaurant, but is lacking on this visit. I sure hope they can turn it around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Table of eight, service was great and the food was terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Overall, very good service, ambiance, etc. I had the BLT, and while the bacon was fully cooked, it wasn't crispy at all. I'm sure some people like it that way, but I would've preferred it cooked more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Pretty dull, un-extraordinary brunch. No special drinks, bloody marys were just vodka with mix and a lime stuck on top, omelettes were fine but uninteresting. Donuts were good, although the choc sauce was clotted vs smooth. Overall, it's a diner with upmarket pretensions and without a solid 'signature' dish to compel us to come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This place was recommended to my husband and I through coworkers and it did not disappoint! We went to Midtown for a date night out and it was about a 30 minute drive for us but it was worth it! My husband had the salmon and I had a couple of appetizers as my main course. Although the appetizers say "to share", the salad was really only enough for one person. I will say that the portions were "just right". If you're using to a $25+ meal that allows you to take leftovers, this is not the place. But, it was just enough and very good so it was worth the expense. Food was excellent and service was great! The food did take awhile to come out but it was hot and fresh so worth it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great food, great service. Thoroughly enjoyed everything we tried.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Unfortunately, the six at our table could barely hear each another talk during dinner. Though we had requested a quiet table, we were put right next to a large party that was in and out of a private room right next to us. It was very unfortunate. Dinner was fine but the noise level interfered with our enjoyment of the evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 27, 2017

The menu had changed since my last visit and it was a surprising disappointment. Expensive mediocre sandwiches are now the main stay of the luncheon menu. I opted for a salad. Spinach has disappeared from the restaurant for some reason and I got ice berg lettuce. The service was even more disappointing. The waiter "complained" to us that he a large party in the back room. This excuse was offered as an apology for the long wait and poor service. The tables are crowded together and I found myself sitting at a table such that I was in the aisle. The background noise made polite conversation nearly impossible. I used to love this place but I will NOT return to it now. I cannot think of thing to recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Good service. Food average. Crab cakes tasted a little funny. Have had better experience there for dinner.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 26, 2017

+My husband and I went to Midtown Grille for the first time Saturday, February 25th. We were excited as we had heard it was very good from two other friends. The atmosphere was nice and the servers were friendly and accommodating. I feel the food was average at best and the prices were quite high for the quality food we received. I ordered the "special" pork chop entree. It tasted very fresh and left a bad taste in my mouth. The mashed potatoes tasted like they were instant. My husband said the orecchiette had a tasty broth, but the combination of foods in it were a bit strange tasting. Overall we were disappointed with our meal and we have no desire to return to this restaurant in the future.

Tags: Cozy, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Always a pleasure! A favorite and dependable go-to restaurant whenever we have out of town guests. Food is always top notch and atmosphere is inviting.

Tags: Authentic, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Went there with a couple of friends. Great food and wine! I will definitely go back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Was good. not as good as i remember, yet still very good! will be going back more often

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 22, 2017

The food was good although we had to send it back. Also the glasses had items floating in them when the server poured the water. I wasn't happy about that because it happened with 2 glasses. Once the server took the bill to be paid we were never asked again did we want anything else to drink or anything.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Long been our favorite place for dates but something has changed as the food was disappointing. Always enjoyed our meals there and not sure if the chef has changed or it was an off night. Will likely visit other restaurants for future dates vs. returning again. Hate it as it is a nice restaurant but not sure what happened.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Outstanding service and top notch fare!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The cooperation of the restaurant in providing the choice of reservations, the service upon arrival, and the table service, were all outstanding. The food was excellent - the oysters were absolutely outstanding! Entrees and dessert choices were also excellent. We have been there many times, but had not been there recently until Valentines Night. We will return more often!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Had not been to the Midtown Grill for a couple of years and found it to be enjoyable but not what I remembered. The menu seemed limited and the food satisfying but not outstanding. I was told later that the restaurant had changed hands since my last visit which explains the differences. I would go again but probably try other places before cycling back to the Midtown Grill.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We were seated on time and that is very unusual for a Valentine Day dinner. Waiter was attentive and helpful. The salmon flatbread was an excellent appetizer and the steak was done as ordered.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It was a delicious meal! Brussel Sprouts were incredible as was the salmon and snapper. It was a hectic night as it was the Saturday before Valentine's day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My wife and I had an excellent meal with excellent service.
Bob Crowder

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Celebrated Valentine's Day ! Wonderful meal, service, atmosphere! Can't wait to eat here again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Healthy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Thoughtful and informed wait staff. The snapper dish had crisp seared skin and was nicely complimented by the sauce and vegies. The braised short ribs had a lot of flavor, but could have done with less salt. Good variety of beer choices. The pilot grigio selection by the glass was a nice compliment to the snapper. The dining room did get a little noisy as it filled. The calamari starter was perfect....tender with light batter and a yummy sauce to dip. The only disappointment was the table bread...if not great, don't put it out. It seemed to be an afterthought.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Since they revised the menu it's very ordinary now

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Not a lot of food for the price...Very disappointed...$16 for a chicken cesar that was about the size of a side salad was outrageous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We had a reservation for 7:15; arrived at 7:05. Were told the table would be ready at 7:15, and could sit in bar area, where they would come and get us. Great martini, but by 7:25 no one had come to get us, and went back to desk to ask about our table. We're seated at table we had watched get cleared at 7:10.
We did not get food until 8:15(accident in kitchen?); steak was medium well when asked for Med rare. Took back and prepared new; however spouse was finished with meal.
They comp'd the meal, but still left bad experience of first visit to Midtown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The mushroom soup was very good. The risotto with squash was good but not great. The salad was excellent.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The hanger steak was melt in your mouth! As was the shrimp and grits ! Do wish they had more by the glass wine selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We showed up to our reservation 15 minutes early and told them we would could be found at the bar when our table was ready. We didn't get seated until 25 after our scheduled reservation time and watched the hostess seat handfuls of other tables before us. Then, when we ordered our meal, the waitress came back informing us that they were out of the Hanger Steak. We came here specifically for the Restaurant Week menu, including the Hanger Steak entree and we were unable to get that. Maybe if we were seated at our proper time, we would have been able to enjoy what we came there for. I am extremely disappointed in their lack of organization and time management. They should have been more accommodating, especially since we were seated late and couldn't get what we ordered. They should have planned appropriately for Restaurant Week.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I had a 730 resevation and arrived just prior to that. the hostess stated that I had a 745 reservation, and would I wait 10 minutes. 30 minutes later I asked the hostess what is the hold up and was told wait 10 minutes. I was somewhat unhappy but agreed. This whole time my date and me were waiting at the bar. Never did the bar tender attempt to serve us. I had to go back to the hostess after being at the restaurant approximately 1 hour. And asked what's the hold up. She said they were setting a table for me right now, so 10 more minutes later did we finally get seated. After about 10 minutes or so a waitress finally comes to take our drink orders and appetizers. Make a long story short, I was very satisfied with the food itself, but they could really work on the customer service.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food was delicious! Noise level was loud but we managed to talk loudly to each other. Our server was nice but not very attentive to us and my friend was served dinner and had no fork to eat it with. A liitle more attention to details in the future would be nice; I will go back though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Excellent dinner with friends salmon was perfect would highly recommend service was very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 27, 2017

the food was very tasty but my steak was very underdone. I asked for it medium and it was rare to medium rare.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 24, 2017

The food at the Midtown Grille was wonderful - very tasty. We thought that the service was treat, our server was prompt and courteous. The atmosphere was lovely, with a contemporary feel. Will surely go again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The service was outstanding! The food was very good and the ambiance was lively but not too much for enjoyable conversation at the table. Excellent North Hills location!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Casual, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great location, food and ambience. Met there for NYE dinner with friends and overall experience was great. Our server was nice and polite.
I had the salmon and that was delicious. This is my second time there and will be go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

First time dining at Midtown Grille and we plan on returning! A very comfortable place, service was fantastic, menu selection was very good..pricing was in line and affordable. We're looking forward to return to try some other menu items.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Our dinner for four on a Wednesday evening was perfect. The food was very fresh (two of us had the salmon) and creative. The staff was very accommodating and happily made a few changes necessitated by a food allergy. The wine list was very good, and a lot of thought went into the planning of the menu. We had no problem finding items that suited our varied tastes. Our server was professional and delightful. We look forward to returning to Midtown Grille.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 21, 2016

This used to be one of my favorite restaurants. The menu has changed for the worse, the service was subpar and I am so very disappointed. The only thing the same is the hostess and bartender who are excellent.

I don't know if the ownership changed or just the chef, but Midtown has lost its magic. :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.