Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.48mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.48mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi

About Midtown Grille

Tucked away in Raleigh’s Lassiter District in North Hills, Midtown Grille is an upscale, comfortable neighborhood restaurant featuring Contemporary American cuisine. Locally owned since 2006, Midtown offers sophisticated, yet approachable dishes, emphasizing locally sourced ingredients.

A favorite local spot, Midtown is open for brunch, lunch and dinner both indoors and on its large patio. A separate, enclosed dining room may be reserved for private events. The restaurant’s active late-night scene hints at Midtown’s exceptional bar. The General Manager is Shannon Dye.

4421-115 Six Forks Road
Raleigh, NC 27609
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Brunch: Sunday 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Bar 4pm - Midnight Weekdays and 4pm - 2:00am Weekends

Cross Street:
Lassiter Mill Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 782-9463

Website:
http://www.themidtowngrille.com/

Entertainment:
Live classical guitar from 12pm-2pm for Sunday Brunch.

Parking Details:
Free North Hills public parking

Public Transit:
Bus stop is 40 yards from front of restaurant.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact us with any special event requests.

Midtown Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Quiet

84% would recommend it to a friend

Business Meals (13)
Good for a Date (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
See All
Special Occasion (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Casual (8)
Cozy (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Romantic (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Seasonal (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Authentic (2)
Fun (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
1241 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 2 days ago

Would not recommend this restaurant. I normally choose not to do restaurant reviews because the restaurant could be having an off day. However, after reading other reviews, I have to agree with what many have written. For the price, I expect quality and better tasting food. I ordered the crab cake sandwich without the bread for lunch. The crab cake was watery, tasteless and although a thin crab cake, did not appear to be cooked properly. The restaurant is in a wonderful location, nice ambiance/seating/tables, quiet, and great service. Just wish the food matched all the other qualities.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

As always ... the food and the service were awesome!!!! Not somewhere we can afford to go weekly but it is a nice treat and even better with a coupon. Definitely worth the money!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

Great lunch!!
Oyster appetizer was wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 4, 2017

It was the perfect choice for our 47th wedding anniversary. Food was spectacular. Waitress Joanne was beyond the best, totally attentive, professional, and personable. She helped make it a memorable night.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 27, 2017

The brunch was delicious, but the service at Midtown is always slower than it should be. The wait staff does a good job but there don't seem to be enough people in the kitchen.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Ok Food, great service but nothing to go out of your way for. Was there for Sunday Brunch, Bartender has no idea how to properly make a Bloody Mary and the Mimosa didn't leave a positive lasting impression. Food was ok but then again how do you mess up eggs and potatoes. Nice place but a little overpriced.

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great experience , I had the salmon and it was prepared well as well as the sides that came with it.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Great experience--food, wine and private room

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 16, 2017

I was in Raleigh on business with a group. Midtown Grill was recommended by one of our co-workers who lives in Raleigh. The food was good, the service was outstanding. Very cool vibe. Definitely a place that I will revisit.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Really great service and even in the rare instance the food doesn't come out perfect, they make it right. Desserts are a must!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Good service and good food and atmosphere! Shrimp and grits where on point

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Saw many advertisements in and around north hills about the midtown grill . Seemed like a popular well liked establishment by the locals. Unfortunately our experience fell short of our expectations. Food was okay. Saturday night at 7:15 was not as crowded as expected. More hype than anything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great Service. Food very good. Always enjoy having dinner there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Had the oysters which looked awesome but I think they forgot to salt it. Chili/Espresso rubbed steak was good but needs salt as well. Service is awesome though.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

The Mussels. Fantastic. We'd probably get them every time. I also got a fantastic house ground burger, cooked perfect medium rare, with hand cut truffle fries. I almost felt bad using ketchup....but I love ketchup. My wife got the fish of the day (halibut), which she wasn't a fan of, however not for lack of quality. I just dont think it was her thing. The other elements of the dish such as the bean salad and the broth were amazing.

Very cute place. Looking forward to going to one of their beer or wine events. The only nit criticism was a blinky light up in the ceiling that was a bit distracting.

We will return without a doubt.

Tags: Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 26, 2017

The food was ok, the service was good, but for the price we did not think it was a good value. Everything except the service was just average including the cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 23, 2017

The food and drinks were amazing. However, the service was very slow, with our waitress disappearing for very long periods of time.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Experience was great. Food is always delicious and service was good throughout our meal. Would definitely bring a date back time after time. Food and service worth the price.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Enjoyed the meal very much and the food and service were excellent but the portion size of the Alaskan halibut and veggies was really small for the money ($29). I will have to say though, even though it was small (and I'm not a big eater) it was one of the best dishes I've had there. Wedge salad was also excellent. Husband had hangar steak and was very satisfied.

Tags: Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Service was great, the food however, for the price point, missed the mark. Salmon did not taste fresh, potatoes that came with the meal were half cold half lukewarm. I don't plan on returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Nice, quiet, casual dining in N Hills

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 11, 2017

I really want to like the Midtown Grill but it is just inconsistent. Some menu items are fantastic. Truly great. Others are not. And are a disappointment. Servers cannot describe menu items or wine selections and leave out key ingredients or misidentify others.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 1, 2017

I have never had a bad meal here. The food is always excellent, as is the service. This was a great spot for our small group to gather for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Delightful evening at an old favorite. Midtown Grille never disappoints.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 27, 2017

We sat outside because it was so noisy inside. They had several large parties but other than that the evening we perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 18, 2017

we had a party of six come to this restaurant for Father's Day. we were seated at the assigned time but that was the only good experience we had. The person that waited on our party took our order and never came back. She was most attentive to her other tables. When food came the dish I had ordered was warm as if it had sat in the kitchen before given to me and the egg (fried ) was extra crispy along the outside and cooked hard in the center. Although our waitress was a no show after taking our order, there was a twenty percent gratuity added to our check. we will not be responding back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Bad food bad service... charged a 20 % service charge... would have never paid but was put on ticket
Place was great in the past. Too many great restaurants in Raleigh to waste my money there ever again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Midtown Grill has great food. But for a Friday night it was empty, which I thought was strange. From the hostess staff to our waitress, they certainly weren't too friendly. We almost felt like they really did not want to be there at all. Maybe just a bad night! I would go back and eat the food again though!!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Great meal! Very attentive and accommodating with food allergies.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Probably won't go back. Waiter reeked of cigarettes, food was ok for price. Went during restaurant week - glad I didn't pay full price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Service was attentive. Food was excellent and a good value. We'll be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 8, 2017

We went during restaurant week. Of the choices for that not everything was good. Had chicken salad was very dry. Service was very bad and it was not really crowded with all the other places to choose from will not go back

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Four of us had lunch here during Triangle Restaurant week. While the food was exceptional ( strawberry gazpacho, shrimp and grits, desserts....) and the server did his best, something was way off. We were in our seats for over an hour and a half and waited for our entrees for an hour. I LOVE trying new restaurants and Triangle Restaurant Week allows that at a very nice price, but if a restaurant isn't ready for increased lunch traffic, they simply shouldn't participate. I can only hope that was the reason for the terrible timing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Menu choices somewhat limited. Service was slow and seating uncomfortable. Plenty of other choices in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Restaurant menu that was offered was amazing. Very creative and different items. Service was great, but a little slow.

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 5, 2017

We went to Midtown Grille during Restaurant Week, which made it affordable! Delicious appetizers (I had strawberry gazpacho and my husband had the whitefish salad), and fabulous entrees (I had the chicken with barley and bokchoy, my husband had the lamb-sausage with pasta). I had enough chicken to bring leftovers home. We split both desserts--warm blueberry crumble with blueberry ice cream on top, and a chocolate flourless torte--both wonderful! Service was attentive but not overwhelming. Atmosphere was really pretty. Noise level was odd--didn't feel noisy (no overpowering music), but it was difficult to hear conversation for some reason. With the Restaurant Week pricing ($30 per person for three course meal), we still ended up spending close to $100 by the time we each had a glass of wine with dinner and coffee with dessert. Would definitely come back for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Lunch with friends during Restaurant Week. The food was outstanding but the service was incredibly slow. It took well over 2 hours from start to finish. The restaurant was NOT full so that was not an excuse.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Great food. Good service. Recommend Sunday brunch. Loved $5 cocktails!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Drinks, food, snd dessert where all outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.