Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.48mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.48mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi

About Midtown Grille

Tucked away in Raleigh’s Lassiter District in North Hills, Midtown Grille is an upscale, comfortable neighborhood restaurant featuring Contemporary American cuisine. Locally owned since 2006, Midtown offers sophisticated, yet approachable dishes, emphasizing locally sourced ingredients.

A favorite local spot, Midtown is open for brunch, lunch and dinner both indoors and on its large patio. A separate, enclosed dining room may be reserved for private events. The restaurant’s active late-night scene hints at Midtown’s exceptional bar. The General Manager is Shannon Dye.

4421-115 Six Forks Road
Raleigh, NC 27609
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Brunch: Sunday 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Bar 4pm - Midnight Weekdays and 4pm - 2:00am Weekends

Cross Street:
Lassiter Mill Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 782-9463

Website:
http://www.themidtowngrille.com/

Entertainment:
Live classical guitar from 12pm-2pm for Sunday Brunch.

Parking Details:
Free North Hills public parking

Public Transit:
Bus stop is 40 yards from front of restaurant.

Private Party Facilities:
Private party room seats up to 35 guests for dining.
Please contact Susan Alibrandi for any special requests.

Private Party Contact:
Susan Alibrandi: (919) 782-2492

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact us with any special event requests.

Midtown Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (17)
Good for a Date (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
See All
Creative Cuisine (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Business Meals (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Casual (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Cozy (8)
Seasonal (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Romantic (7)
Healthy (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Private Room (5)
Fun (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Authentic (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great Beer (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Family Style (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
People Watching (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Waterfront (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1221 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Service was great, the food however, for the price point, missed the mark. Salmon did not taste fresh, potatoes that came with the meal were half cold half lukewarm. I don't plan on returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Nice, quiet, casual dining in N Hills

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 11, 2017

I really want to like the Midtown Grill but it is just inconsistent. Some menu items are fantastic. Truly great. Others are not. And are a disappointment. Servers cannot describe menu items or wine selections and leave out key ingredients or misidentify others.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 1, 2017

I have never had a bad meal here. The food is always excellent, as is the service. This was a great spot for our small group to gather for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Delightful evening at an old favorite. Midtown Grille never disappoints.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 27, 2017

We sat outside because it was so noisy inside. They had several large parties but other than that the evening we perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 18, 2017

we had a party of six come to this restaurant for Father's Day. we were seated at the assigned time but that was the only good experience we had. The person that waited on our party took our order and never came back. She was most attentive to her other tables. When food came the dish I had ordered was warm as if it had sat in the kitchen before given to me and the egg (fried ) was extra crispy along the outside and cooked hard in the center. Although our waitress was a no show after taking our order, there was a twenty percent gratuity added to our check. we will not be responding back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Bad food bad service... charged a 20 % service charge... would have never paid but was put on ticket
Place was great in the past. Too many great restaurants in Raleigh to waste my money there ever again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Midtown Grill has great food. But for a Friday night it was empty, which I thought was strange. From the hostess staff to our waitress, they certainly weren't too friendly. We almost felt like they really did not want to be there at all. Maybe just a bad night! I would go back and eat the food again though!!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Great meal! Very attentive and accommodating with food allergies.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Probably won't go back. Waiter reeked of cigarettes, food was ok for price. Went during restaurant week - glad I didn't pay full price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Service was attentive. Food was excellent and a good value. We'll be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 8, 2017

We went during restaurant week. Of the choices for that not everything was good. Had chicken salad was very dry. Service was very bad and it was not really crowded with all the other places to choose from will not go back

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Four of us had lunch here during Triangle Restaurant week. While the food was exceptional ( strawberry gazpacho, shrimp and grits, desserts....) and the server did his best, something was way off. We were in our seats for over an hour and a half and waited for our entrees for an hour. I LOVE trying new restaurants and Triangle Restaurant Week allows that at a very nice price, but if a restaurant isn't ready for increased lunch traffic, they simply shouldn't participate. I can only hope that was the reason for the terrible timing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Menu choices somewhat limited. Service was slow and seating uncomfortable. Plenty of other choices in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Restaurant menu that was offered was amazing. Very creative and different items. Service was great, but a little slow.

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 5, 2017

We went to Midtown Grille during Restaurant Week, which made it affordable! Delicious appetizers (I had strawberry gazpacho and my husband had the whitefish salad), and fabulous entrees (I had the chicken with barley and bokchoy, my husband had the lamb-sausage with pasta). I had enough chicken to bring leftovers home. We split both desserts--warm blueberry crumble with blueberry ice cream on top, and a chocolate flourless torte--both wonderful! Service was attentive but not overwhelming. Atmosphere was really pretty. Noise level was odd--didn't feel noisy (no overpowering music), but it was difficult to hear conversation for some reason. With the Restaurant Week pricing ($30 per person for three course meal), we still ended up spending close to $100 by the time we each had a glass of wine with dinner and coffee with dessert. Would definitely come back for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Lunch with friends during Restaurant Week. The food was outstanding but the service was incredibly slow. It took well over 2 hours from start to finish. The restaurant was NOT full so that was not an excuse.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Great food. Good service. Recommend Sunday brunch. Loved $5 cocktails!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Drinks, food, snd dessert where all outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 23, 2017

We went for my wife's birthday. We have been multiple times over the years and the food and service are always top-notch.

We were seated inside this time and went on a Tuesday night. Nice and cozy inside.

They have outside seating available also and that is good when the weather cooperates- was warm this day. In cooler weather they have heaters.

Midtown is a great choice for dinner or lunch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 23, 2017

The shrimp & grits were amazing. The service was exceptional, perfect timing. The atmosphere was relaxed and classic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My wife and I have dined at Midtown Grille many times over a number of years. Our most recent visits were one week apart: for the hell of it and for Mother's Day. On both of these recent occasions we found the food and the service to be outstanding as always. The restaurant was, of course, extremely crowded on Mother's Day (reservations are always recommended), but the attitudes of the staff were seemingly unaffected by the extra demands placed upon them. As always, they were attentive and personable even while rushing from table to table to make sure everyone was taken care of. Of special note: the strawberry gazpacho. And don't be embarrassed to order the excellent BLT even though it might seem "common."

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had a party of 5 for Mother's Day and thoroughly enjoyed the brunch offerings. The food was delicious and the restaurant is well kept. The only thing I would say is they over-scheduled themselves with reservations all at once, which created a tough go for the wait staff and kitchen crew. But all in all a nice job.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Nice dinner place. It was a little pricey but the food was good. The snapper is wonderful. The steak was different. Wish they had a classic steak plate. Deserts were great. Good ambiance.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Always a great place for lunch or dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Brunch was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The food was not worth the money, very bland- we literally could have made the exact dish at home, but much better. The service was poor, the waitress was rude and very unapproachable. Definitely won't be returning for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 27, 2017

The food was ok but nothing special. Didn't justify the price. Also a rather odd menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Our server, Kat was excellent. She knew just when to stop by! Dinner with a friend I had not seen in awhile and Kat's timing to our needs was perfect. We ate outdoors, had two tasty meals. Would recommend. They have drink specials every day too!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Healthy, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 18, 2017

There was five in our group. We each enjoyed our selection. Our waiter was very attentive and helpful. One member of our table inquired about a special room for parties and waiter returned a short while later with a business card for the party planner and told us that she was here today and was available to answer any questions.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The restaurant was very nice, family friendly, easy, food was good. Service was excellent.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Tea, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Susan is the consummate hostess!! Really great food and outstanding service! Cannot wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter brunch

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Enjoyed Easter brunch at Midtown. Everything was lovely. Atmoshere, food, and service were terrific. Very nice staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Sometime in the last few years Midtown has fallen off the popularity grid and I can't figure out why. The menu has changed, but I think most people will find the options more accessible. I had the burger, others had the steak and the squid ink tagliatelle. Everyone enjoyed their meal. Good service, nice ambience and quiet enough to hear the conversation. I'll come back

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We enjoyed our evening at Midtown Grill. We were a party of 7 including three seniors who are challenged with hearing and darkness in many restaurants. The Midtown Grill was perfect. The atmosphere was moderately quiet and it was well lighted at our table next to the window. The service was outstanding and the food was delicious. Three of the people in our party had the Shrimp and Grits and it was very good. The menu has lots of variety and the portions are reasonable. We were celebrating three birthdays including an 89th birthday and a 91st birthday. Midtown Grill was the perfect choice and we will return there for another nice evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We've been dining at Midtowne Grill for years and love it every time! The food is great...inventive and with new items as well...always great food! Wait staff is attentive and helpful as well. When the weather is nice the outdoor dining is wonderful. Highly recommend this wonderful North Hills restaurant!

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Simply wonderful. Great food great service. Sat outside on a beautiful NC day. What more could you wish for?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Friends met for brunch on Sunday. We ordered a crab cake sandwich which was quite good. A hamburger with mushrooms which arrived arrived as a pimento cheese and onion burger. Waitress offered to send it back to the kitchen, but the redo would have delayed the other guests, so we declined. The salmon omelette, was more like a precooked and reheated egg tortilla with salmon bits. This was the most disappointing item ordered. The house made potatoe chips were delicious, but not enough of an inducement for us to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.