About Midtown Cafe

102 19th Avenue South
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

Midtown Cafe offers a casual, affordable, fine dining atmosphere with fresh seafood, prime steak, lamb, veal featuring 40 wines by the glass and 150 selections. Located just off West End at 102 -19th Ave S in the Vanderbilt / Music Row / Midtown / Medical Center neighborhood. 29+ years of quality products prepared and served by caring professionals.
Now open weekdays for Breakfast 7am - 2:30pm. Self-parking 7am-10:30am
Valet starting at 10:30am

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday 7am -2:30pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2.30pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 4:30pm-9pm & Friday / Saturday 4:30pm - 10pm

Cross Street:
Between West End & Broadway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 320-7176

Website:
http://www.midtowncafe.com/

Entertainment:
No live entertainment.

Catering:
No offsite catering.

Parking Details:
Self parking for breakfast weekdays 7am -110:30am. Valet only lunch & dinner. Paid parking in adjacent lots.

Public Transit:
At 19th & West End 50 yards from building.

Executive Chef:
Max Pastor

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
email owner / proprietor Randy Rayburn at Randy@sunsetgrill.com

Restaurant Photos

  • Veal Oscar - Midtown Cafe, Nashville, TN
  • #1 Ahi Tuna Tartar - Midtown Cafe, Nashville, TN
  • Pan-roasted Salmon w/ Mushroom Risotto & Green Beans - Midtown Cafe, Nashville, TN
  • Warm spinach salad with seared scallops - Midtown Cafe, Nashville, TN
  • Sea Scallops With Lobster Mac & Cheese - Midtown Cafe, Nashville, TN
Veal Oscar - Midtown Cafe, Nashville, TN
#1 Ahi Tuna Tartar - Midtown Cafe, Nashville, TN
Pan-roasted Salmon w/ Mushroom Risotto & Green Beans - Midtown Cafe, Nashville, TN
Warm spinach salad with seared scallops - Midtown Cafe, Nashville, TN
Sea Scallops With Lobster Mac & Cheese - Midtown Cafe, Nashville, TN

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 4:30PM - 9:00PM

Fri - Sat 4:30PM - 9:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Midtown Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Nashville
Best Value
Nashville
Southern
Nashville
5 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Nashville
Best Service
Nashville
Best Value
Nashville
Southern
Nashville
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Nashville
Best Restaurants in West End ›

Neighborhood Gem (41)
Special Occasion (32)
Fit for Foodies (30)
See All
Good for a Date (28)
Business Meals (27)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Cozy (23)
Great for Lunch (23)
Romantic (21)
Notable Wine List (17)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Good for Groups (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Casual (10)
Authentic (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Healthy (8)
People Watching (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Historic (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Fun (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Seasonal (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Private Room (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1297 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was delicious! Service was excellen ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined a day ago

Food was delicious! Service was excellent, Doug was our server and was wonderful. Glad we found this place on our vacation!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best food we had on our Nashville visit ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 2 days ago

Best food we had on our Nashville visit by a long shot!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Midtown Cafe is one of my favorite place ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 2 days ago

Midtown Cafe is one of my favorite places to dine in Nashville. The Artichoke Lemon soup is hard to pass up once you've tasted it. I order it every time. The crab cakes are light and packed full of crab meat and I find myself ordering them with each visit.

The wines are carefully selected and pair well with the wonderful food offerings. I highly recommend Midtown Cafe.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always consistently great and th ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 3 days ago

Food is always consistently great and the service is wonderful. I took a friend there for her birthday and the waiter comped her dessert, which he brought out with a candle. Lovely place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Small and loud, but an excellent meal wi ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 3 days ago

Small and loud, but an excellent meal with excellent service.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The meal was great, the bus to the symph ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined 5 days ago

The meal was great, the bus to the symphony was quite convenient. The trout

was a delicious piece of fish. I would recomend it!!

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Outstanding Value, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Had been awhile since we were there and ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Had been awhile since we were there and it was as good as always. Food and service is always dependable and nice atmosphere.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time visit and was extremely surpr ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 26, 2016

First time visit and was extremely surprised! Absolutely excellent food and attentive service. Try the scallops with lobster Mac and cheese-OUTSTANDING!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food, atmosphere and service! ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Wonderful food, atmosphere and service! We make it a point to dine here any time we are in Nashville. Menu options include something for everyone, and the service is superb.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food, wonderful service always ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Wonderful food, wonderful service always. The theater special concept of dinner with transport to major venues, and return, is brilliant. We can't say enough great about this place. If you have not participated in the experience, you have missed a big part of Nashville.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently great food, cozy atmosphere ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Consistently great food, cozy atmosphere and attentive staff.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I look forward to this meal every visit ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 16, 2016

I look forward to this meal every visit to Nashville. Best shrimp grits I've ever eaten!

Tags: Comfort Food, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

I love the place, the food, and the outs ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 15, 2016

I love the place, the food, and the outstanding service, but the place is definitely too noisy -- almost impossible to follow a conversation

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value2

Great place and wonderful. Pork tenderl ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great place and wonderful. Pork tenderloin and scallops were outstanding...

Tags: Healthy, People Watching, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great service (I think our server was Ga ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Great service (I think our server was Gary and he was very very good) and the food was top notch. Only issue was that as it filled it got louder. Next trip to Nashville we would return. We had seared sea scallops with lobster mac and cheese and a grilled salmon over risotto. Only complaint is the lobster in the mac and cheese were too small of chunks to get the full flavor but it was very very tasty.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always the perfect choice for a business ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Always the perfect choice for a business lunch near Vanderbilt/Music Row.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New find, as a client moved from Brentwo ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 9, 2016

New find, as a client moved from Brentwood to the West End. This restaurant is right across from my new Nashville home, the Courtyard hotel. I dropped in for lunch myself the previous day, and was quite surprised by how crowded it was (always a good sign). I had the fish tacos at the bar, and they were very good. I noted the manager having a bowl of chili at the bar as well, as it was past the rush by this point. I needed a place for a business lunch the next day, and decided I wanted to come back (and did get the chili). Our table also had the crab cakes and the cobb salad - all food was great. I have to say I thought there'd be cheese sprinkled on my chili, as it was for the manager the previous day - next time, I'll make that request. There was a large table (10) next to us; I'd say my one observation is that the noise in a relatively small area would make it difficult for a business lunch if significant business was to be done - it was a bit hard to hear my companions across the table. However, I will definitely be back and perhaps even specific about the table I want.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Intimate relaxed environment with focus ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Intimate relaxed environment with focus on fabulous food. Corkage permitted! See An original Nashville!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really good food and wine menu. Service ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Really good food and wine menu. Service was really good too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great little find off a side street in t ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Great little find off a side street in the West End of town. We ate early (4:45 reservations) because of a show, so it was rather quiet when we were there. The place is small and full of tables so it may not be as quiet later. I had the pork loin over risotto and every bite was heaven. The waitress said they were actually known for their seafood, so I'll have to try something next time. Food and service were both excellent and the cozy atmosphere was enjoyable. Would certainly go again and bring friends!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Midtown Cafe is one of my favorites and ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Midtown Cafe is one of my favorites and a Randy Rayburn classic. I've always been able to find something I really love on the menu and the wine pairings are excellent. Best of all, it is fairly quiet, a rare quality in a restaurant these days. Friday, I had the ahi tuna appetizer with the lemon artichoke soup, our associate chose the cod special, and my husband ordered the short ribs. Everyone was very happy with their selections. It's a solid choice and NOW they are serving breakfast as well, since Noshville is no more. Brilliant.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Came here for the first time for a catch ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Came here for the first time for a catch-up lunch with a friend. I had never been but she said she loved it. Off the bat, I thought the layout was odd and a little too close for comfort. The interior is dark and the overhead lighting has to be turned quite bright as a result. The menu was typical for an old-school Nashville restaurant. I was planning to order the meatloaf but was presented with a more extensive menu at the restaurant which included eggs benedict, so I chose that. My friend ordered the lemon artichoke soup to start. The biscuits which come to the table after ordering were very good, the soup was good, and her salad (Thai chicken) looked good. However, my eggs benedict and home fries were quite bland. I ended up salting it twice. The ham was a little tough. Service was OK. At the start our waiter was very attentive and the food came out in a timely fashion, but as the restaurant filled up for lunch, we saw our waiter less and less, to the point where my friend had to leave me for her next appointment while I waited for the waiter to reappear and present the bill. It was about a 15 minute wait between the time when he cleared our plates to his reappearance. He was very nice, but we were sort of forgotten. Also, as people entered the restaurant, the noise level increased dramatically, which is fine. I just think the atmosphere can be adjusted and brightened and the food could be a little better. I'll probably go back one more time to see if it was just an off day since everyone I know raves about it.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Love Midtown. Consistent great service ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Love Midtown. Consistent great service and always excellent food. Conducive for business or pleasure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service! We enjoye ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Outstanding food and service! We enjoyed it immensely. This restaurant was recommended by concierge at our hotel. After being sadly disappointed at other fine dining establishments, we were pleasantly surprised. Cannot say enough about this establishment and all who work there.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and food as usual

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Great service and food as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Breakfast served 'till 2:30pm is genius! ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Breakfast served 'till 2:30pm is genius! Always a great meal!

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dale was gracious and the meal was excel ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Dale was gracious and the meal was excellent! We had a couple of cocktails and the plates with the mushroom risotto are crazy good. We will plan to visit more often.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good breakfast option.

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Good breakfast option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Our group of 8 thoroughly enjoyed this m ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Our group of 8 thoroughly enjoyed this meal and the ambiance of the restaurant. We were surprised at the sizes of the portions and the amount of food you received. You could not leave hungry! Thank you to our server and the folks there - you made our morning special. Great breakfast!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Historic, Comfort Food, Healthy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was but nothing memorable. Our ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 25, 2016

The food was but nothing memorable. Our waiter was great: he explained the menu with detail and kept our water glasses filled, and was very pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

I was with my husband and daughter. We a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I was with my husband and daughter. We all enjoyed our dinners: lamb chops, crab cakes and salmon, all perfectly prepared and came out very quickly. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Everything was delicious amd the atmosph ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Everything was delicious amd the atmosphere and wait staff were excellent too!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been coming to Midtown for about ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 20, 2016

I have been coming to Midtown for about 10 years now, mainly for business lunches. It is outstanding in service, food quality and variety, knowledge of regular customers' needs, welcoming environment with Randy Rayburn, the owner hosting. I can't say enough good things about it and his care and concern for his clientele.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our go-to place for dinner befor ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 18, 2016

This is our go-to place for dinner before a show. The complimentary shuttle is a wonderful way to make the evening hassle free. And the service and food just can't be beaten. We love it at the Mid-Town Cafe.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service!

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We were in town for a concert and made r ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We were in town for a concert and made reservations before coming into town. There are two dining areas (that I saw). One is larger (not huge or "echoey") and the other (where we sat) had four tables for two in a small "porch" area and it was great, cozy and quiet. Doug was our waiter and was outstanding, friendly, knowledgeable and professional. Had the Lemon/Artichoke soup which is a staple there and it was very good. I had a tuna special (Ahi over Chinese vegs w/wontons) and it was outstanding. It literally melted in my mouth and was very tasty. We also got the 5 oz filet w/truffle butter and it was tasty, tender though small (but that's what 5 ounces looks like). The deserts we got (to-go) were peach cheesecake and coconut cake. Both were awesome. The bill was a tad over $100 but for a special dinner, it was worth it. They have a courtesy shuttle that takes folks to music venues and they were quite accommodating for those that needed to get in and out "quickly" and not miss their show and give a ride to boot. Very thoughtful. Highly recommend it. Will return when in town again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dale the waiter was awesome. The food wa ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Dale the waiter was awesome. The food was great, overall we had a great night.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food was good, but over-priced. Ate in f ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Food was good, but over-priced. Ate in front room, which was very quiet, but didn't get the real feel of the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Excellent food, service and atmosphere! ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Excellent food, service and atmosphere! Best lemon artichoke soup ever! The salmon, chicken scallopine, salads and meatloaf are awesome! Wish they would bring back the Midtown Pasta!! The pesto sauce was devine!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always, always, always excellent food an ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Always, always, always excellent food and superb service!! The salmon and chicken scallopini dishes were delicious and the presentation reminded me of a Thomas Keller restaurant in New York.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.