About Midtown Cafe

102 19th Avenue South
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

Midtown Cafe offers a casual, affordable, fine dining atmosphere with fresh seafood, prime steak, lamb & lobster featuring an excellent wine list.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2.30pm; Dinner: Daily 4.30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between West End & Broadway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 320-7176

Website:
http://www.midtowncafe.com/

Parking Details:
Self parking available in adjacent lost & on the street.

Executive Chef:
Jimmy Phillips

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please send all special event inquiries to Falon M. Veit, Director of Events, at falon@musiccitydining.com or call her at 615.414.0850. You can also reach the Midtown Cafe Event Sales Manager, Liz Conn, at liz@musiccitydining.com or 615.516.1915.

Restaurant Photos

  • Pan-roasted Salmon w/ Mushroom Risotto & Green Beans
  • Veal Oscar
  • #1 Ahi Tuna Tartar
  • Warm spinach salad with seared scallops
  • Sea Scallops With Lobster Mac & Cheese
Pan-roasted Salmon w/ Mushroom Risotto & Green Beans
Veal Oscar
#1 Ahi Tuna Tartar
Warm spinach salad with seared scallops
Sea Scallops With Lobster Mac & Cheese

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 4:30PM - 9:00PM

Fri - Sat 4:30PM - 5:45PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Midtown Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Nashville
Southern
Nashville
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Nashville
3 More
Best Service
Nashville
Southern
Nashville
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Nashville
Best Restaurants in West End ›

special occasion (65)
fit for foodies (63)
neighborhood gem (51)
See All
romantic (48)
great for lunch (37)
notable wine list (34)
good for groups (26)
hot spot (8)
great for brunch (6)
late-night find (5)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1187 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Parking in this bizee part of timwn is a ...

Dined 6 days ago

Parking in this bizee part of timwn is a challenge but Midtown has been on our list of quality dining for some time.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was very nicely presented and w ...

Dined 7 days ago

The food was very nicely presented and was delicious. Nice atmosphere, valet parking is very handy. Service is very good, altogether a very good experience.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Always fab.

vip
Dined on June 21, 2016

Always fab.

food2
ambience3
service2

Our server was very friendly, but forgot ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Our server was very friendly, but forgot to bring our salad before the meal. The food was mediocre and expensive.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's just a lovely restaurant with good ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

It's just a lovely restaurant with good food.... And has been a Nashville staple for many years.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

Too dark Too loud Carpet reeked of moldy ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Too dark Too loud Carpet reeked of moldy smell Food mediocre Bar drink = weak = too much ice = not sufficient pour Entrée OK Sides = very weak representation Only good thing was the service but it did not make up for all the negatives. Overpriced and underwhelming = save your money and go somewhere else!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A classic with bonus shuttle to downtown ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

A classic with bonus shuttle to downtown venues. Outstanding service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our go to restaurant

Dined on June 9, 2016

Midtown Cafe has become a family favorite when we have guests who have never been before. It never disappoints!! From the wine to the appetizer, main meal and dessert. Everyone had a great meal. The short ribs were extremely flavorful and tender. Crab cakes are always good and was enjoyed by all. If attending functions downtown they provide shuttle service to and from so definitely worth dining there.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is amazing and unique. Excellen ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

The food is amazing and unique. Excellent wine list. Intimate and elegant atmosphere good for a romantic evening or a group of friends. Perfection.

food5
ambience5
service5

Quaint little restaurant right of Broadw ...

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Quaint little restaurant right of Broadway. Doesn't look like much from outside, but service and food were amazing!! Shrimp and grits were best I've ever had. Trout was amazing and mushroom risotto was the best! Highly recommend for a special dinner.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Old school perfection

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

Fabulous food and fantastic service. The Lemon-Artichoke soup is beyond wonderful!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

Overpriced and No Atmosphere

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

I found the menu way overpriced. There absolutely nothing special about this place that warrants such jacked up, over inflated prices. The restaurant was boring and uninspired. The service was ok but not particularly notable. I won't eat here again.

food4
ambience5
service5

nice atmosphere, great ambience

Dined on May 28, 2016

nice atmosphere, great ambience

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

What a find! Old friends from across the ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

What a find! Old friends from across the US in Nashville during Memorial Day weekend. Dinner reservations were hard to get for ra group of seven. We were fortunate to find the Midtown Cafe through Open Table and Yelp. Great food, inventive menu selections and exceptional service. If I lived in Nashville, I would be a regular.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great place to eat for lunch an ...

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

Always a great place to eat for lunch and dinner.

food2
ambience5
service5

Unfortunately our experience was less th ...

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

Unfortunately our experience was less then expected. I've been a customer for for many years and have always enjoyed mydining experience at Midtown. The Quality of the veal Oscar was substandard. I do intend to go back because I believe this was just a one time a mistake.

food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Great Service, Ok Food

Dined on May 21, 2016

In 2009 Midtown cafe was my first taste of upscale dining in Nashville and it was amazing. I've been back a couple of other times in the past and the food has typically been good - but not as good as our first visit. However, this past visit was disappointing. Our server was very friendly and did an excellent job. Our appetizers were very good, but the entrees were underwhelming. I had the Mahi and my wife had the scallops. To be fair, there was nothing technically wrong with the entrees. The scallops were cooked excellently but they lacked any kind of seasoning. The mac 'n' cheese was also bland - this seems to be an issue throughout Nashville. The Mahi had the consistency of grilled chicken and was tougher than I would expect for this caliber of restaurant. It too lacked complexity and flavor and had a single note of mild sweetness. Had these entrees been served to us at an Applebee's, it would've met our expectations, however, for the price, we expected much more.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Birthday dinner

Dined on May 21, 2016

excellent. It was a bit pricey for an everyday meal - good for an occasion We loved the soups a lot. My Italian Pinot Grigio was superb, I had the salmon and risotto which were very well prepared. Unfortunately there was a very loud table near us. Overall though it was a great meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Our party of 8 was very well attended to ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Our party of 8 was very well attended to, the food was very good, but not exceptional for the premium price. The shrimp appetizer was the most memorable of the dishes we shared, it was amazing! Entrees were average at best. Will go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Midtown is a reliable restaurant. Well ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Midtown is a reliable restaurant. Well trained servers, really good food, but not precious, interesting ambience. The parking service has to work overtime (which they do and very professionally) so in demand is this restaurant for lunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I go to a lot of restaurants and this wa ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

I go to a lot of restaurants and this was hands down the best I've ever been to. The service, ambience, and food were all notable! Can't wait to come back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious food and friendly service. Qui ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Delicious food and friendly service. Quiet atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A treat as always!

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

We met at Midtown Café for a business meeting this time, but it was a treat, as always. One member of our party had never eaten at Midtown, so it was fun to share the menu and specialties with her. The new chocolate- cherry cheesecake was divine.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

They accommodated our party of seven at ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

They accommodated our party of seven at the last moment through an OpenTable reservation. Nice neighborhood spot feel. Good wine selection, and everyone was happy with the food. Extra credit to the servers, who herded our table of cats with ease.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went for lunch and loved it, the food ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

We went for lunch and loved it, the food was yummy and service was great!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We loved eating here -- wonderful food ( ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

We loved eating here -- wonderful food (favorites were the artichoke soup, mushroom risotto,shrimp n grits, and pan-seared duck.). Service was excellent and friendly. The valet parking with shuttle to downtown events was GREAT. However, be aware that the prices are high. For a party of 6 where 4 had glasses of wine and all 6 had dessert, the price (including their added-in 20% tip) was almost $500. So the we definitely paid for the convenience of the shuttle. Also, the desserts are the weak link in my opinion: all were pleasant but not excellent and none were unique or unusual.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is phenomenal. Waitress Alliso ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food is phenomenal. Waitress Allison knew the menu and made great recommendations. Staff and food were superb! Can't go wrong here.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice and cozy! Excellent food and servi ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Nice and cozy! Excellent food and service!

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was good. Great amount and we didn' ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Food was good. Great amount and we didn't leave overstuffed. Our waiter was great. They were out of homemade biscuits which was disappointing, but we didn't miss them really. Try the seafood stew and the lobster mac and cheese. Veal Picatta and Lemon Artichoke Soup delicious too. The only complaint was that it was very hot and a little crowded in the bar area. It was also hit in the dining area and we kept asking them to turn the air up. Desserts sounded good but we didn't have any.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just great

Dined on April 30, 2016

We love this place. It is just the best. Food is always fantastic as is the service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service4

I had the special which was the Mahi Mah ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

I had the special which was the Mahi Mahi blackened and it was amazing. My husband had the filet. There were so many things on the menu that were appealing to us it was hard to choose. We will definitely be back!

food4
ambience5
service5

The redfish looked and tasted a lot like ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

The redfish looked and tasted a lot like Tilapia, but over all the food was very good and the service and atmosphere were excellent.

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The Shuttle service for downtown shows r ...

Dined on April 25, 2016

The Shuttle service for downtown shows rocks! You can enjoy a nice early dinner and head to TPAC or the Ryman with no parking worries or expenses!

food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Just mediocre

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

With all the great restaurants in Nashville, we have not had a chance to return to Midtown in a while. An out-of-town guest who was arriving late made us choose Midtown. The food was just fair. There was no flair to the cooking and the prices were what is charged at the top places in town.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Randy Rayburn knows how to run a restaurant

Dined on April 23, 2016

Everything just works like it should. The food is outstanding and you know the staff cares. Specials on wine, special dishes.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite resturant

Dined on April 16, 2016

Whether it's off to the symphony or just out for a great meal we always go to Midtown Cafe. The service is super. The food is wonderful. We know that our evening will start off with a fantastic meal no matter where we are going later on.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Overall very good. Hostess seemed lost. ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Overall very good. Hostess seemed lost. Service was solid. Scallop entrees with the lobster brie mac n cheese were excellent. The ladies ordered the filets one the 5 oz medium the other the 8 oz mid rare. Somehow they were switched so one person s was over the others under. The menu has it lusted as prime beef but it was quite chewy and tough to cut. $7 to add a small Caesar to a $40 entree is a little salty. Overall the meal was good and the service and setting were as well.

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Not great

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Ive been to midtown cafe in the past and it's been great, but this visit fell short. While the quality of the steaks was good, there was no flavor - I've had better steaks from outback. Otherwise, it was a good experience, but the steak was disappointing.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very nice

Dined on April 9, 2016

The food in the restaurant was fantastic. My wife and me will definitely revisit this place.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Dining Experience

Dined on April 9, 2016

Outstanding in all respects. Food, wine, atmosphere. Couldn't have asked for a better experience. Our first time back at Midtown Café in a while, but it's definitely on our favorites list from now on.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.