About Midtown Cafe

102 19th Avenue South
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

Midtown Cafe offers a casual, affordable, fine dining atmosphere with fresh seafood, prime steak, lamb, veal featuring 40 wines by the glass and 150 selections. Located just off West End at 102 -19th Ave S in the Vanderbilt / Music Row / Midtown / Medical Center neighborhood. 29+ years of quality products prepared and served by caring professionals.
Now open weekdays for Breakfast 7am - 2:30pm. Self-parking 7am-10:30am
Valet starting at 10:30am

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday 7am -2:30pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2.30pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 4:30pm-9pm & Friday / Saturday 4:30pm - 10pm

Cross Street:
Between West End & Broadway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 320-7176

Website:
http://www.midtowncafe.com/

Entertainment:
No live entertainment.

Catering:
No offsite catering.

Parking Details:
Self parking for breakfast weekdays 7am -110:30am. Valet only lunch & dinner. Paid parking in adjacent lots.

Public Transit:
At 19th & West End 50 yards from building.

Executive Chef:
Max Pastor

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
email owner / proprietor Randy Rayburn at Randy@sunsetgrill.com

Restaurant Photos

  • Veal Oscar - Midtown Cafe, Nashville, TN
  • #1 Ahi Tuna Tartar - Midtown Cafe, Nashville, TN
  • Pan-roasted Salmon w/ Mushroom Risotto & Green Beans - Midtown Cafe, Nashville, TN
  • Warm spinach salad with seared scallops - Midtown Cafe, Nashville, TN
  • Sea Scallops With Lobster Mac & Cheese - Midtown Cafe, Nashville, TN

Report a photo problem

Veal Oscar - Midtown Cafe, Nashville, TN
#1 Ahi Tuna Tartar - Midtown Cafe, Nashville, TN
Pan-roasted Salmon w/ Mushroom Risotto & Green Beans - Midtown Cafe, Nashville, TN
Warm spinach salad with seared scallops - Midtown Cafe, Nashville, TN
Sea Scallops With Lobster Mac & Cheese - Midtown Cafe, Nashville, TN

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Sat 4:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Midtown Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (41)
Business Meals (34)
Good for a Date (33)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Special Occasion (30)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Romantic (25)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Cozy (25)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Great for Lunch (19)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Casual (15)
Comfort Food (13)
Outstanding Value (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Healthy (11)
Authentic (11)
Good for Groups (11)
People Watching (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Fun (6)
Historic (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Seasonal (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Private Room (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
1418 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good as always and lemon artichoke soup ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 2 days ago

Good as always and lemon artichoke soup cannot be beat nor their creme brûlée

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing service! Staff will give you the ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing service! Staff will give you their honest preferences if you aren't sure what to get. Amazing for date night, family occasions or girls night out! Don't pass up this hidden gem!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Fun, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visited during Nashville Restaurant W ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 4 days ago

We visited during Nashville Restaurant Week and were very pleased. The shrimp and grits we had as the appetizer had amazing flavor! The meal itself was excellent and the service was perfect (very attentive but not at all intrusive). The small negative for us was the ambiance. The space is not very large and tables are quite close together - in some cases literally inches apart. When the restaurant is busy as it was the night we visited, it can become a bit noisy and with an adjoining table of guests practically on top of you it can be difficult to have a private conversation. For us however, the quality of the meal and the service outweighed the noise and tight space and we will definitely go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Restaurant week menu, wine pairings and ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 4 days ago

Restaurant week menu, wine pairings and service were outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always great food when I go to midtown c ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 5 days ago

Always great food when I go to midtown cafe

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I grew up in the same small town as Rand ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

I grew up in the same small town as Randy, and his admiration and respect for local, traditional ingredients shines brightly. The Midtown Café is a very special place. The food has always been outstanding. I was there for Restaurant Week dinner (~$55 for one drink and three-course prix-fixe, including tax and gratuity) and really enjoyed the shrimp and grits as well as the mahi-mahi. The Kahlua tiramisu was good, but nothing special. Overall, Midtown is an incredible spot to enjoy a nice lunch or a cozy dinner. Highly recommended in all respects.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy, Casual, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just simply the best late business lunch ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Just simply the best late business lunch in all of Nashville. No one seats a room, serves a customer, and delivers a fabulous meal like Randy Rayburn.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Midtown has been the gold standard for g ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Midtown has been the gold standard for great food and great service for years. The staff is attentive, knowledgeable and friendly. It is the go-to spot for breakfast, lunch and dinner. A special feature is free transportation to events downtown following dinner. It has been my special place for as long as I can remember.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and service. Would recommend ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Good food and service. Would recommend expansion of creative vegetarian choices. It is disappointing in today's world not good vegetarian fare - does not have to be vegan.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I went to midtown cafe for an anniversar ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I went to midtown cafe for an anniversary. I had the scallops w/ lobster mac n' cheese and asparagus. My boyfriend had the trout w/ spinach and potatoes. They were both great and the scallops were definitely worth the money. It was small and quaint and quiet enough to have conversation. Our waiter also provided us great service. I would recommend this restaurant to everyone and I will be going back. My only con is parking. They do have valet, but for people who do not want to use it, then it can be difficult to find parking without paying (not unusual for midtown though).

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a private room to celebrate our M ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We had a private room to celebrate our Mom's birthday and everything was outstanding! We were from out of town and found MidTown on Open Table and very glad we did!! If ever back in Nashville, we'll be there again for sure!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding in every way. Midtown Cafe ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Outstanding in every way. Midtown Cafe is a longtime favorite.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always excellent and Randy alway ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Food is always excellent and Randy always makes sure that the service is outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Midtown is by far my favorite Nashville ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Midtown is by far my favorite Nashville restaurant. Even with all the incredible culinary innovation that is going on in this town, midtown never fails to deliver a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Randy Rayburn has a truly classy restaur ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Randy Rayburn has a truly classy restaurant with excellent meal choices. It is always a pleasure exploring the menu at Midtown Café.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a wonderful experience during our fi ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Had a wonderful experience during our first time at midtown cafe. Will definitely be coming back. Shrimp and grits were excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Terrific meal and service. You have to g ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Terrific meal and service. You have to go here if you are in Nashville!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Over priced for meal!!!!!! Waitress not ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Over priced for meal!!!!!! Waitress not aware of people at her table and the individual paying the bill. Did not pour the wine equally esp to individual paying the bill. Assumed we would order another bottle of wine. Will not eat dinner there again. Just too much money for a piece

of fish, rice and asparagus with dry biscuits for 39.00 ....seriously....has Nashville gotten too big for its pants....I live here and have other restaurant options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

We do not live in Nashville but when we ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We do not live in Nashville but when we are there it is a go to place. Consistent and excellent food

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

great restaurant

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

great restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We tried a number of dishes (133 in our ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We tried a number of dishes (133 in our party) all were good. No children's menu but they can make most kids favorites. Have one with lots of allergies and they were very careful with her food. Would go back if I was in Nashville again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous food and service!

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Fabulous food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food at Midtown Cafe was awesome. E ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food at Midtown Cafe was awesome. Everything was prepared perfectly. Make sure you try the bread pudding for dessert.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our first time at Midtown Cafe. I ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 30, 2016

It was our first time at Midtown Cafe. It was not really what we were expecting. It is very small and there is not much privacy at your table. This is not a trendy place with a vibrant atmosphere. It is very simple and the focus is truly on the food and service. The crowd seemed to be regulars that have been going there for many years. It felt a little like stepping back in time....as if Midtown Cafe was the "happening" place to be 30 years ago and has stayed the same while everything around it has evolved.

The service was absolutely fantastic! The food was pretty good. We found our meals to be full of flavor and were generous portions. That being said, I didn't feel as though the prices matched the food or environment. $30 for a chicken dish I could have gotten just about anywhere for half the price seemed awfully high.

While the service was outstanding and the food was pretty good, I probably wouldn't go back any time soon. It was overpriced and the atmosphere wasn't really my style.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

I have dined at Midtown Café 14 times in ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I have dined at Midtown Café 14 times in 2016. Needless to say it is one of my favorites. They now serve breakfast and continue the menu throughout lunch. They served a special appetizer called Ahi Tuna Tartar which was delicious served on a bed of seaweed. Mushroom risotto is wonderful. Great pasta dishes

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous fresh food and great service! T ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Fabulous fresh food and great service! Thank you !

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nothing flashy, just great food and impe ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Nothing flashy, just great food and impeccable, low-key service. REFRESHING! No galvanized tin, rough-hewn siding, Edison lights or other trendy stuff. Focus on food and service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my all time favorites for lunch a ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 22, 2016

One of my all time favorites for lunch and dinner - an iconic Nashville restaurant

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Midtown remains one of the BEST Nashvill ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Midtown remains one of the BEST Nashville has to offer!!

Kudos to Randy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the few places outside hotels and ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 20, 2016

One of the few places outside hotels and chains that serves a great breakfast. Good atmosphere to have an early morning business meeting

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, People Watching, Family Style, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Long been a favorite choice for lunch .. ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Long been a favorite choice for lunch ... personal and business ... now am thrilled it is open for breakfast. Great place for conversation and great food reasonably priced. Proprietor Randy could not be more welcoming, gracious, or accommodating. Remains my go-to place of choice.

Tags: Comfort Food, Disabled Access, People Watching, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and fantastic service. Althou ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great food and fantastic service. Although there was no kids menu and it is a pretty fancy place... Our waiter went above and beyond to make sure all the childhood classic dishes were available. Great place!

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love the bus to event sites. It worked v ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Love the bus to event sites. It worked very well. Food was excellent like it always is. We had the scallops and the osso buco. We started with the foie gras which was outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place for a relaxing dinner with c ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Great place for a relaxing dinner with conversation!

Thank you for your shuttle service to downtown entertainment spots!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Midtown Cafe continues to offer wonderfu ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Midtown Cafe continues to offer wonderful quality food and outstanding service for a reasonable price. Ideal place for business luncheons or dinner before the opera or symphony (offering free shuttle service to downtown).

Tags: Outstanding Value, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was great restaurant! It is small v ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 11, 2016

This was great restaurant! It is small venue with full bar tucked in the back. Amazing food at a great price!

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Midtown Cafe is consistently excellent i ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Midtown Cafe is consistently excellent in all respects. Very convenient location. The shuttle to downtown events is extremely valuable.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After all these years, still a solid go ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2016

After all these years, still a solid go to in Nashville! Keep up the good work!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My reservation confirmation set I would ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 9, 2016

My reservation confirmation set I would receive 1000 points but the request for a review set I only received 100 points

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

As always the service & food were top dr ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 9, 2016

As always the service & food were top drawer.

Martinis, wine all to order

Always a smart choice

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.