About Midtown Cafe

102 19th Avenue South
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

Midtown Cafe offers a casual, affordable, fine dining atmosphere with fresh seafood, prime steak, lamb & lobster featuring an excellent wine list.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2.30pm; Dinner: Daily 4.30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between West End & Broadway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 320-7176

Website:
http://www.midtowncafe.com/

Parking Details:
Self parking available in adjacent lost & on the street.

Executive Chef:
Jimmy Phillips

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please send all special event inquiries to Falon M. Veit, Director of Events, at falon@musiccitydining.com or call her at 615.414.0850. You can also reach the Midtown Cafe Event Sales Manager, Liz Conn, at liz@musiccitydining.com or 615.516.1915.

Restaurant Photos

  • Veal Oscar
  • #1 Ahi Tuna Tartar
  • Pan-roasted Salmon w/ Mushroom Risotto & Green Beans
  • Warm spinach salad with seared scallops
  • Sea Scallops With Lobster Mac & Cheese
Veal Oscar
#1 Ahi Tuna Tartar
Pan-roasted Salmon w/ Mushroom Risotto & Green Beans
Warm spinach salad with seared scallops
Sea Scallops With Lobster Mac & Cheese

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 4:30PM - 9:00PM

Fri - Sat 4:30PM - 9:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Midtown Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Nashville
Southern
Nashville
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Nashville
3 More
Best Service
Nashville
Southern
Nashville
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Nashville
Best Restaurants in West End ›

special occasion (68)
fit for foodies (61)
neighborhood gem (54)
See All
romantic (45)
great for lunch (41)
good for groups (34)
notable wine list (31)
hot spot (12)
great for brunch (6)
late-night find (5)
vibrant bar scene (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1204 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Everyone and everything was superlative! ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 3 days ago

Everyone and everything was superlative!!

Can't wait to go again!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful meal. My husband had ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 4 days ago

We had a wonderful meal. My husband had the best trout I've ever tasted...he let me have a bite? My shrimp pasta was delicious as well. Can't wait to return!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Julia Child month is a real treat. Food ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined 5 days ago

Julia Child month is a real treat. Food was wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fabulous. Service was good ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food was fabulous. Service was good but a little harried. Creme brûlée was very good. The special chocolate pot de creme, not so much. The biggest issue is the noise level. Surely there is some way to cut it down? Sound baffles?

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Midtown Café has one great thing going f ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Midtown Café has one great thing going for it and it is consistently great food and great service. It's always a pleasure to dine here.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went with friends for a special occas ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We went with friends for a special occasion and of course we were not disappointed. Everything was exceptional. The wait staff are always attentive without being pushy, just the right amount of notice to make you appreciate them. The Lemon Artichoke soup was had by all - one of them the first time; a big hit as always.

We couldn't have chosen a nice place to celebrate!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently excellent. A local treasure ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Consistently excellent. A local treasure. Outstanding food and service. Will continue to dine there.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was amazing, and the food wa ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The service was amazing, and the food was delish!!!! I got the Shrimp and grits.. soooo much food, but it was so tasty and hard for me to stop eating lol. Great wine list and drink menu, as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food were outstanding. There ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Service and food were outstanding. There was a special Salute to Julia Child's menu at the time - the Trout Almondine was exceptional. Everyone in our party enjoyed their meals!

Ambiance: We were a party of 9, and there were two other large parties of women ( bachelorettes, no doubt). With these three groups, there were only 6-7 tables left in the restaurant for other couples wishing to dine - the space is small. The restaurant was quiet, and when the parties of women toasted their glasses or laughed at a joke, all guests in the restaurant could hear. Maybe some louder music or white noise would help?

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waiter Matthew was great and the foo ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Our waiter Matthew was great and the food was excellent! We'll be back again and recommend it to our friends!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I was very impressed with the food. It w ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I was very impressed with the food. It was cooked and prepared with exceptional quality. Our server was great and knew the menu without having to read a script. Our glasses stayed full, but without interruption of our conversations. I would recommend everyone to try this place.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten here many times over the y ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We have eaten here many times over the years and are always pleased. One of the few remaining of the many fine restaurants that used to be in Nashville. So many of the old standards have closed. New restaurants are nice but really nice to be able to go back to places for so many years. The food is always excellent, the service attentive but not over bearing, & ambiance nice. Complementary valet parking is essential & welcomed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I entertained clients while at a confere ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I entertained clients while at a conference and The Midtown Cafe really made the evening a success for my firm. The food was absolutely amazing every one of my guest could not stop talking about it. When we got in the van to ride back they all began clapping and thanking me can't ask for more than that. Another thing they all appreciated is the location after being down in the convention center area for a few days they appreciated being in a none tourist area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

E joy able ambience and great food.

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

E joy able ambience and great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We were in Nashville visiting with a gro ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We were in Nashville visiting with a group of friends from Chicago. I made the reservations a couple of weeks in advance and had researched midtown to make sure to find a place with good ratings. We all loved our food and it was a great place for our party of 8. The only thing missing was music. There wasn't any dinner music at all paying in the restaurant. Of course we were all talking and it was easy to hear each other at the other end of the table which isn't always easy with a group our size but some background music would have been nice.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We were traveling through Nashville, and ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

We were traveling through Nashville, and met up with one of my son's friends from high school that now lives in Nashville. We wanted to have a nice dinner to share with them, and this was perfect! Our waiter, Dave, was excellent - attentive but not intrusive. The food was nice, and we had a very enjoyable evening with special friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Parking in this bizee part of timwn is a ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Parking in this bizee part of timwn is a challenge but Midtown has been on our list of quality dining for some time.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was very nicely presented and w ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The food was very nicely presented and was delicious. Nice atmosphere, valet parking is very handy. Service is very good, altogether a very good experience.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always fab.

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Always fab.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was very friendly, but forgot ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our server was very friendly, but forgot to bring our salad before the meal. The food was mediocre and expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

It's just a lovely restaurant with good ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

It's just a lovely restaurant with good food.... And has been a Nashville staple for many years.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Too dark Too loud Carpet reeked of moldy ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Too dark

Too loud

Carpet reeked of moldy smell

Food mediocre

Bar drink = weak = too much ice = not sufficient pour

Entrée OK

Sides = very weak representation

Only good thing was the service but it did not make up for all the negatives.

Overpriced and underwhelming = save your money and go somewhere else!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

A classic with bonus shuttle to downtown ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

A classic with bonus shuttle to downtown venues. Outstanding service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our go to restaurant

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Midtown Cafe has become a family favorite when we have guests who have never been before. It never disappoints!! From the wine to the appetizer, main meal and dessert. Everyone had a great meal. The short ribs were extremely flavorful and tender. Crab cakes are always good and was enjoyed by all. If attending functions downtown they provide shuttle service to and from so definitely worth dining there.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is amazing and unique. Excellen ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The food is amazing and unique. Excellent wine list. Intimate and elegant atmosphere good for a romantic evening or a group of friends. Perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quaint little restaurant right of Broadw ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Quaint little restaurant right of Broadway. Doesn't look like much from outside, but service and food were amazing!! Shrimp and grits were best I've ever had. Trout was amazing and mushroom risotto was the best! Highly recommend for a special dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Found this local establishment while on ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Found this local establishment while on a weekend getaway. Overall, a great restaurant. Somewhat more cramped than we are accustomed, but hearing all the conversations of the 3 tables nearby made us realize how normal we are.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Old school perfection

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Fabulous food and fantastic service. The Lemon-Artichoke soup is beyond wonderful!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Overpriced and No Atmosphere

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

I found the menu way overpriced. There absolutely nothing special about this place that warrants such jacked up, over inflated prices. The restaurant was boring and uninspired. The service was ok but not particularly notable. I won't eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

nice atmosphere, great ambience

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

nice atmosphere, great ambience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

What a find! Old friends from across the ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

What a find! Old friends from across the US in Nashville during Memorial Day weekend. Dinner reservations were hard to get for ra group of seven. We were fortunate to find the Midtown Cafe through Open Table and Yelp. Great food, inventive menu selections and exceptional service. If I lived in Nashville, I would be a regular.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always a great place to eat for lunch an ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Always a great place to eat for lunch and dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unfortunately our experience was less th ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Unfortunately our experience was less then expected. I've been a customer for for many years and have always enjoyed mydining experience at Midtown. The Quality of the veal Oscar was substandard. I do intend to go back because I believe this was just a one time a mistake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Great Service, Ok Food

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

In 2009 Midtown cafe was my first taste of upscale dining in Nashville and it was amazing. I've been back a couple of other times in the past and the food has typically been good - but not as good as our first visit.

However, this past visit was disappointing. Our server was very friendly and did an excellent job. Our appetizers were very good, but the entrees were underwhelming.

I had the Mahi and my wife had the scallops. To be fair, there was nothing technically wrong with the entrees. The scallops were cooked excellently but they lacked any kind of seasoning. The mac 'n' cheese was also bland - this seems to be an issue throughout Nashville. The Mahi had the consistency of grilled chicken and was tougher than I would expect for this caliber of restaurant. It too lacked complexity and flavor and had a single note of mild sweetness.

Had these entrees been served to us at an Applebee's, it would've met our expectations, however, for the price, we expected much more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Birthday dinner

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

excellent. It was a bit pricey for an everyday meal - good for an occasion

We loved the soups a lot. My Italian Pinot Grigio was superb, I had the salmon and risotto which were very well prepared. Unfortunately there was a very loud table near us. Overall though it was a great meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Our party of 8 was very well attended to ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Our party of 8 was very well attended to, the food was very good, but not exceptional for the premium price. The shrimp appetizer was the most memorable of the dishes we shared, it was amazing! Entrees were average at best. Will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Midtown is a reliable restaurant. Well ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Midtown is a reliable restaurant. Well trained servers, really good food, but not precious, interesting ambience. The parking service has to work overtime (which they do and very professionally) so in demand is this restaurant for lunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I go to a lot of restaurants and this wa ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

I go to a lot of restaurants and this was hands down the best I've ever been to. The service, ambience, and food were all notable! Can't wait to come back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and friendly service. Qui ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Delicious food and friendly service. Quiet atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A treat as always!

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

We met at Midtown Café for a business meeting this time, but it was a treat, as always. One member of our party had never eaten at Midtown, so it was fun to share the menu and specialties with her.

The new chocolate- cherry cheesecake was divine.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.