About Midtown Cafe

102 19th Avenue South
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

Midtown Cafe offers a casual, affordable, fine dining atmosphere with fresh seafood, prime steak, lamb & lobster featuring an excellent wine list.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2.30pm; Dinner: Daily 4.30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between West End & Broadway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 320-7176

Website:
http://www.midtowncafe.com/

Parking Details:
Self parking available in adjacent lost & on the street.

Executive Chef:
Jimmy Phillips

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please send all special event inquiries to Falon M. Veit, Director of Events, at falon@musiccitydining.com or call her at 615.414.0850. You can also reach the Midtown Cafe Event Sales Manager, Liz Conn, at liz@musiccitydining.com or 615.516.1915.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 4:30PM - 9:00PM

Fri - Sat 4:30PM - 5:45PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Midtown Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Southern
Nashville
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Nashville
Southern
Nashville
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Nashville
Best Restaurants in West End ›

special occasion (83)
fit for foodies (83)
neighborhood gem (68)
See All
romantic (64)
great for lunch (49)
notable wine list (45)
good for groups (32)
hot spot (13)
late-night find (11)
great for brunch (11)
vibrant bar scene (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1169 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Great Service, Ok Food

Dined 4 days ago

In 2009 Midtown cafe was my first taste of upscale dining in Nashville and it was amazing. I've been back a couple of other times in the past and the food has typically been good - but not as good as our first visit. However, this past visit was disappointing. Our server was very friendly and did an excellent job. Our appetizers were very good, but the entrees were underwhelming. I had the Mahi and my wife had the scallops. To be fair, there was nothing technically wrong with the entrees. The scallops were cooked excellently but they lacked any kind of seasoning. The mac 'n' cheese was also bland - this seems to be an issue throughout Nashville. The Mahi had the consistency of grilled chicken and was tougher than I would expect for this caliber of restaurant. It too lacked complexity and flavor and had a single note of mild sweetness. Had these entrees been served to us at an Applebee's, it would've met our expectations, however, for the price, we expected much more.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Midtown is a reliable restaurant. Well ...

Dined 5 days ago

Midtown is a reliable restaurant. Well trained servers, really good food, but not precious, interesting ambience. The parking service has to work overtime (which they do and very professionally) so in demand is this restaurant for lunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I go to a lot of restaurants and this wa ...

Dined 5 days ago

I go to a lot of restaurants and this was hands down the best I've ever been to. The service, ambience, and food were all notable! Can't wait to come back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food and warm service.

Dined 6 days ago

Delicious food and warm service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A treat as always!

vip
Dined 7 days ago

We met at Midtown Café for a business meeting this time, but it was a treat, as always. One member of our party had never eaten at Midtown, so it was fun to share the menu and specialties with her. The new chocolate- cherry cheesecake was divine.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

They accommodated our party of seven at ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

They accommodated our party of seven at the last moment through an OpenTable reservation. Nice neighborhood spot feel. Good wine selection, and everyone was happy with the food. Extra credit to the servers, who herded our table of cats with ease.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went for lunch and loved it, the food ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

We went for lunch and loved it, the food was yummy and service was great!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We loved eating here -- wonderful food ( ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

We loved eating here -- wonderful food (favorites were the artichoke soup, mushroom risotto,shrimp n grits, and pan-seared duck.). Service was excellent and friendly. The valet parking with shuttle to downtown events was GREAT. However, be aware that the prices are high. For a party of 6 where 4 had glasses of wine and all 6 had dessert, the price (including their added-in 20% tip) was almost $500. So the we definitely paid for the convenience of the shuttle. Also, the desserts are the weak link in my opinion: all were pleasant but not excellent and none were unique or unusual.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is phenomenal. Waitress Alliso ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food is phenomenal. Waitress Allison knew the menu and made great recommendations. Staff and food were superb! Can't go wrong here.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice and cozy! Excellent food and servi ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Nice and cozy! Excellent food and service!

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was good. Great amount and we didn' ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Food was good. Great amount and we didn't leave overstuffed. Our waiter was great. They were out of homemade biscuits which was disappointing, but we didn't miss them really. Try the seafood stew and the lobster mac and cheese. Veal Picatta and Lemon Artichoke Soup delicious too. The only complaint was that it was very hot and a little crowded in the bar area. It was also hit in the dining area and we kept asking them to turn the air up. Desserts sounded good but we didn't have any.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just great

Dined on April 30, 2016

We love this place. It is just the best. Food is always fantastic as is the service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service4

I had the special which was the Mahi Mah ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

I had the special which was the Mahi Mahi blackened and it was amazing. My husband had the filet. There were so many things on the menu that were appealing to us it was hard to choose. We will definitely be back!

food4
ambience5
service5

The redfish looked and tasted a lot like ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

The redfish looked and tasted a lot like Tilapia, but over all the food was very good and the service and atmosphere were excellent.

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The Shuttle service for downtown shows r ...

Dined on April 25, 2016

The Shuttle service for downtown shows rocks! You can enjoy a nice early dinner and head to TPAC or the Ryman with no parking worries or expenses!

food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Just mediocre

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

With all the great restaurants in Nashville, we have not had a chance to return to Midtown in a while. An out-of-town guest who was arriving late made us choose Midtown. The food was just fair. There was no flair to the cooking and the prices were what is charged at the top places in town.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Randy Rayburn knows how to run a restaurant

Dined on April 23, 2016

Everything just works like it should. The food is outstanding and you know the staff cares. Specials on wine, special dishes.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite resturant

Dined on April 16, 2016

Whether it's off to the symphony or just out for a great meal we always go to Midtown Cafe. The service is super. The food is wonderful. We know that our evening will start off with a fantastic meal no matter where we are going later on.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Overall very good. Hostess seemed lost. ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Overall very good. Hostess seemed lost. Service was solid. Scallop entrees with the lobster brie mac n cheese were excellent. The ladies ordered the filets one the 5 oz medium the other the 8 oz mid rare. Somehow they were switched so one person s was over the others under. The menu has it lusted as prime beef but it was quite chewy and tough to cut. $7 to add a small Caesar to a $40 entree is a little salty. Overall the meal was good and the service and setting were as well.

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Not great

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Ive been to midtown cafe in the past and it's been great, but this visit fell short. While the quality of the steaks was good, there was no flavor - I've had better steaks from outback. Otherwise, it was a good experience, but the steak was disappointing.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very nice

Dined on April 9, 2016

The food in the restaurant was fantastic. My wife and me will definitely revisit this place.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Dining Experience

Dined on April 9, 2016

Outstanding in all respects. Food, wine, atmosphere. Couldn't have asked for a better experience. Our first time back at Midtown Café in a while, but it's definitely on our favorites list from now on.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous as always

vip
Dined on April 4, 2016

I love it when I can take a friend or colleague to Midtown Café and introduce them to one of my favorite dining experiences in Nashville. It is always a treat and I am always confident that the experience will be a good one for me and my guests. Friends come to Nashville to take me to lunch and they don’t even need to ask where I want to go - Midtown Café of course!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

Dined on April 3, 2016

We have eaten at many of the hip new spots in Nashville, but Midtown Cafe blew all of those away. The food was excellent and at a good price! We will be returning soon!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Midtown gem

Dined on March 25, 2016

This place doesn't look like much from the outside, but the food is just wonderful, and our server Mike was excellent. Good recommendations, good wine list, just a really good experience for our group of 6. It is definitely on the high end of price, but worth it!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Midtown Cafe

Dined on March 22, 2016

The Salmon and Tuna we ordered were exquisitely prepared and well presented. The spinach salad was fresh. The glass of Riesling was more like a half glass. The waitress was helpful and knowledgeable. The ambiance was subdued. The background music very low or nonexistent. The greyish colors do not help. Some extra touches, like fresh flowers would help.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food

Dined on March 19, 2016

I loved their trout and shrimp n' grits! I would highly recommend this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

A Nashville good find

Dined on March 18, 2016

The food was excellent. My husband even remarked it was delicious. We went early to accommodate other plans for the evening and almost had the place to ourselves but were very pleased with the service and quality of the food and presentation.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cozy, great food & makes you feel at home

Dined on March 16, 2016

I was really impressed. It's like being at someone's home at a cozy dinner party. Food was great! The host, waiter and bar tender were all so nice. Treated you like they've known you forever. Will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent dinner at Midtown Cafe

Dined on March 15, 2016

Eleven of us from across the country recently had dinner. Despite having a large group, we had excellent service. Being from wine country in California, I am always concerned with the red wine temperature...it was perfectly stored and served. Everyone was delighted with their meals and the portions were generous. When I am back in town, I will definitely return. 's

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place

Dined on March 15, 2016

Fun and efficient. Good food. Availability of shuttle service to downtown venues - divine!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food and service. Owner Randy ...

Dined on March 15, 2016

Excellent food and service. Owner Randy Rayburn greeted us when we arrived.

food3
ambience2
service5

There was no background music, which I d ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

There was no background music, which I don't like. Pricey menu. My date's salmon was good, but my shrimp and grits were mediocre. The shrimp were a bit tough. Either overcooked or previously frozen. The flavor of the sauce was excellent - a bit spicy for my taste, but delicious. Overall service was good, but I expected a better food product from the prices they charge.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wayne

Dined on March 6, 2016

Food and service was excellent. Only complaint was drinks were small & very weak and certainly not worth 13.50 each. Definitely not a place to have a couple drinks before dinner.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience4
service5

The name of this place does not really d ...

Dined on March 3, 2016

The name of this place does not really do it justice. It is more upscale southern cuisine than the name suggests. It is pretty expensive but over all really good. I would recommend :)

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great dining

Dined on March 3, 2016

Wonderful fine dining and everything was delicious. Our waiter, David, offered suggestions and everything he recommended was absolutely delicious. I was in town on business and this with my first trip there. I will certainly be back the next time I visit Nashville

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Midtown experience

Dined on March 2, 2016

Super food, best fish in Nashville. Service and ambiance remain ambivalent. They need to raise their standard to match the terrific cuisine.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Have dined here 7-8 times in the last ye ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

Have dined here 7-8 times in the last year and it never disappoints. The food is always outstanding. The service is the best. And it's a small intimate setting.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful Nashville Spot!

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

We were so thrilled with our experience at Midtown Cafe! We had a later reservation in the evening, so it was quieter when we dined. Service was great, food was delicious! I can't wait to recommend this to friends who visit Nashville. We sat a TINY bit later than our reservation and the hostess and waiter were so apologetic - which was wonderful, but certainly not necessary. Shows how important their customers are to them! Go check it out!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

EXCELLENT DINING

Dined on February 27, 2016

GREAT PLACE FOR DINNER. FOOD AND SERVICE WAS EXCEPTIONAL. THE PRICES WERE VERY REASONABLE. THIS WILL BE A "GO TO" PLACE FOR DINNER FROM NOW ON.

Tags: neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.