About Midtown Cafe

102 19th Avenue South
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

Midtown Cafe offers a casual, affordable, fine dining atmosphere with fresh seafood, prime steak, lamb, veal featuring 40 wines by the glass and 150 selections. Located just off West End at 102 -19th Ave S in the Vanderbilt / Music Row / Midtown / Medical Center neighborhood. 29+ years of quality products prepared and served by caring professionals..

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2.30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday 4:30pm-9pm & Friday / Saturday 4:30pm - 10pm

Cross Street:
Between West End & Broadway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 320-7176

Website:
http://www.midtowncafe.com/

Entertainment:
No live entertainment.

Catering:
No offsite catering.

Parking Details:
Self parking available in adjacent pay & on the street.

Public Transit:
At 19th & West End 50 yards from building.

Executive Chef:
Max Pastor

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
email owner / proprietor Randy Rayburn at Randy@sunsetgrill.com

Restaurant Photos

  • Veal Oscar
  • #1 Ahi Tuna Tartar
  • Pan-roasted Salmon w/ Mushroom Risotto & Green Beans
  • Warm spinach salad with seared scallops
  • Sea Scallops With Lobster Mac & Cheese
Veal Oscar
#1 Ahi Tuna Tartar
Pan-roasted Salmon w/ Mushroom Risotto & Green Beans
Warm spinach salad with seared scallops
Sea Scallops With Lobster Mac & Cheese

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 4:30PM - 9:00PM

Fri - Sat 4:30PM - 9:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Midtown Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Nashville
Southern
Nashville
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Nashville
3 More
Best Service
Nashville
Southern
Nashville
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Nashville
Best Restaurants in West End ›

Special Occasion (61)
Neighborhood Gem (50)
Fit for Foodies (41)
See All
Romantic (34)
Great for Lunch (34)
Notable Wine List (27)
Good for Groups (23)
Hot Spot (9)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Cozy (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Authentic (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1234 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We went for an anniversary which happene ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 4 days ago

We went for an anniversary which happened to be during Restaurant Week (Three cheers for Nashville Originals, love those locally owned venues.) Lucky us. We picked from the three course special menu and were very pleased. We also did the special wine pairing. The shrimp and grits were wonderful. Doug provided great service. I have never been disappointed here.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We celebrated our 49th wedding anniversa ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 4 days ago

We celebrated our 49th wedding anniversary at our favorite Midtown Cafe. This was Restaurant Week and we had their special three course dinner. The food as always was excellent and our server was most attentive. This is a go to restaurant for a quiet, romantic meal where conversation and great food can be enjoyed. We have been going to this local food spot since it opened.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came for restaurant week and we we ve ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 5 days ago

We came for restaurant week and we we very impressed with the food and portions for the price. What lacked was the service. We had a 7:45 reservation but did not get sat until around 8:15. There was another 3 top that arrived around 8 and were sat within 5 minutes. Even if they had an earlier reservation they arrived late and we should have been sat first. In the end that was irritating but we got drinks at the bar and were able to have good conversation with an excellent bartender. The big issue was that our server made us feel like a nuisance everytime we asked a question or asked for a recommendation. We brought a friend who was in town visiting who is a restaurant manager in SC and we were embarrassed by the end of the meal. We waited close to 18 minutes for our check and ran out of wine mid entrée. Our server never checked on us after the appetizer. A food runner brought our entrée as well as dessert which was supposed to be an option but they just brought out the tiramasu and we couldn't find our waiter to send it back. It's a shame because the food was good but we will never recommend it because the horrible service we received left a bad taste in our mouth.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

I tried it during restaurant week with a ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 6 days ago

I tried it during restaurant week with a friend and at the end of the meal, we both wished that we had chosen another place. The service was great, parking was not a hassle, and it was a great style if place for a dnner with a friend of a date. The food was not amazing though. At best, it was mediocre. The appetizer was pretty good and it went steadily downhill from there. Its not a place that Id choose to return to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

We visited during Nashville restaurant w ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined 7 days ago

We visited during Nashville restaurant week and were pleasantly surprised at how good the values were. We have been there before and the food was as good as ever. A true Nashville original.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. nice warm atmos ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

Great food and service. nice warm atmosphere. This a gem of a little café in Nashville's mid-town area.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went there for Restaurant Week and ha ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

We went there for Restaurant Week and had the $30 fixed price menu, so this comes with a disclaimer that maybe the regular menu is better. Both our entrees were especially bland, the desserts were overly sweet, and all tasted like canned food. Even at this price point, I expect my food to taste better than a frozen dish I could get from the supermarket. The shrimp and grits starter was the exception, as the flavors blended nicely together, even though the grits were so hot I can only imagine they were microwaved (not that we really cared about that). The wine was also decent for the price. All in all, though, I can't imagine paying their regular menu prices for such disappointing food. We won't be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Was in for restaurant week. Very good s ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Was in for restaurant week. Very good service. Had a great meal as well as wine pairings.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great intimate spot! Food was ...

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

This is a great intimate spot! Food was excellent. Despite waitress spilling my wine it was totally enjoyable. I highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was very tasty. The short ribs ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food was very tasty. The short ribs were delicious as were the shrimp and grits! The spicy hummus was a tasty and unique starter and much better than the foie gras. The Lava cake was a sweet way to end our meal. The service was fabulous. A gem of a restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

This is definitely a neighborhood gem. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This is definitely a neighborhood gem. The restaurant's tables are spaced enough so we felt privacy and noise level moderate which lends to good conversation. The menu is not extensive, but had good variety and excellent quality...loved the Shrimp N Grits and my husband has beef tenderloin. To top it off, their free shuttle service took us to our DT destination...nice perk.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, it was a decent place to eat. S ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Overall, it was a decent place to eat. Service and food were good but nothing special. The creme brûlée was by far my favorite! We had made a reservation the week before but they were backed up so didn't get seated until almost 45min after our scheduled time. They did give us free appetizers for our wait which was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Shrimp and grits were great!

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Shrimp and grits were great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Awesome! Great for large groups. Some ma ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Awesome! Great for large groups. Some may find it pricey but the food, service and atmosphere are very much worth it!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We've eaten at the Midtown Café a number ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We've eaten at the Midtown Café a number of times -- it's always pretty much the same. OK food -- sometimes really good (but not often). This time I had the Mahi and grits -- good grits and exceptional haricot vert (perfectly cooked) but the Mahi was WAY overcooked. My wife had the chicken which she said was good but the portion size was typically southern -- TOO MUCH food. We're from Chattanooga and the Midtown Café is convenient to where we stay when in Nashville so we'll probably return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

My wife's scallops were excellent. M ...

vip
·Dined on August 18, 2016

My wife's scallops were excellent. My filet was med + when I asked for med rare. So a little more done than I prefer. Otherwise a very good pre show dining experience last Thursday evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Sweet intimate restaurant. Perfect for ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Sweet intimate restaurant. Perfect for business. Food and service are top notch every time, and I've been going for a decade.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We like this restaurant. Especially like ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We like this restaurant. Especially like the gluten free and vegetarian choices. Unfortunately there was a large group of what appeared to be business people and they were very loud. We finally ate at the bar to distance ourselves from them.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was a birthday celebration and ther ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

This was a birthday celebration and there were 8 of us - the separate dining area was unavailable. Our 2 and 4 year old grandchildren were visiting from Texas. Since we have no sitter, we called you and were assured that they would be welcome and could be served 'kid' food. Our waiter was superb and served chicken and pasta for them. They were pretty well behaved since we allowed them to watch a movie. Your making them welcome made the birthday celebration for the adults truly enjoyable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Randy, the owner, has provided the Nashv ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Randy, the owner, has provided the Nashville Music Industry Executives and artists an incredible "old school" intimate, germ free environment , fabulous Food & Drink, with exceptional for decades.

Has been my almost weekly haunt for decades!

Not for "the general public" looking for today's hot spot, please!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Server was great! Caramel Habanero ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Our Server was great!

Caramel Habanero Bread Pudding....WOW!

Don't be fooled by the modest look of the building....

Scallops were cooked to perfection! Lobster mac & cheese too.

Filet could have been a bit warmer, but still good.

Do yourself a favor and go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was excellent. Very noisy, but app ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was excellent. Very noisy, but apparently a bachelor party dinner was taking place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

It was a very nice experience with very ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

It was a very nice experience with very good food. It is kind of a quiet and sedate place. It has a long history so you know it has loyal customers. I love that it has the large bottles of san Pellegrino.I would definitely go back because there were a couple things on the menu that look terrific to me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

We're eaten at midtown for years and hav ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We're eaten at midtown for years and have never been disappointed. We recommend it highly from cocktails to dessert. Go early, settle in and let the great staff take care of you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great job on the service. Sending the fl ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great job on the service. Sending the flowers ahead of time was a special touch that my wife loved.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was excellent, people very attentiv ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Food was excellent, people very attentive and friendly. Overall excellent place for a business lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Midtown is consistently good, both the s ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Midtown is consistently good, both the service and the food. The wait staff at Midtown knows the menu, and they deliver exceptionally great food with a "welcoming flair"--we always feel welcomed here. We don't go as often as we should--a function of age and location (there are many other, closer options), but it's definitely a favorite, and the Julia Child menu, set to end this week, is worth a look.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Their Shrimp and grits are exceptional. ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Their Shrimp and grits are exceptional. Looking forward to returning to this restaurant in the next few days to experience their Julia Child menu. Enjoyed everything about this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Midtown is one of the most consistent re ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Midtown is one of the most consistent restaurants in Nashville ... When the lunch or dinner is important , Midtown is always a good choice

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service and food was exceptional as usua ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Service and food was exceptional as usual. Dale is an awesome server.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our long time go to spots. Food ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

One of our long time go to spots. Food & service never disappoints. Valet parking is a plus.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everyone and everything was superlative! ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Everyone and everything was superlative!!

Can't wait to go again!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful meal. My husband had ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

We had a wonderful meal. My husband had the best trout I've ever tasted...he let me have a bite? My shrimp pasta was delicious as well. Can't wait to return!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Julia Child month is a real treat. Food ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Julia Child month is a real treat. Food was wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fabulous. Service was good ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The food was fabulous. Service was good but a little harried. Creme brûlée was very good. The special chocolate pot de creme, not so much. The biggest issue is the noise level. Surely there is some way to cut it down? Sound baffles?

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Midtown Café has one great thing going f ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Midtown Café has one great thing going for it and it is consistently great food and great service. It's always a pleasure to dine here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went with friends for a special occas ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We went with friends for a special occasion and of course we were not disappointed. Everything was exceptional. The wait staff are always attentive without being pushy, just the right amount of notice to make you appreciate them. The Lemon Artichoke soup was had by all - one of them the first time; a big hit as always.

We couldn't have chosen a nice place to celebrate!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently excellent. A local treasure ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Consistently excellent. A local treasure. Outstanding food and service. Will continue to dine there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was amazing, and the food wa ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The service was amazing, and the food was delish!!!! I got the Shrimp and grits.. soooo much food, but it was so tasty and hard for me to stop eating lol. Great wine list and drink menu, as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food were outstanding. There ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Service and food were outstanding. There was a special Salute to Julia Child's menu at the time - the Trout Almondine was exceptional. Everyone in our party enjoyed their meals!

Ambiance: We were a party of 9, and there were two other large parties of women ( bachelorettes, no doubt). With these three groups, there were only 6-7 tables left in the restaurant for other couples wishing to dine - the space is small. The restaurant was quiet, and when the parties of women toasted their glasses or laughed at a joke, all guests in the restaurant could hear. Maybe some louder music or white noise would help?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.