About Mickey & Mooch-Lake Norman

Mickey & Mooch Lake Norman, located in the Northcross Shopping Center, began with a deceptively simple premise: to create a casually elegant atmosphere where guests could escape to enjoy a fine meal at an exceptional price. Our steadfast dedication to this ideal is why both Mickey & Mooch locations continue to win awards from premier culinary publications like the Zagat Survey and Wine Spectator. Our menu offers a delicious variety of choices presented in abundant portions -- from tender steaks to fresh seafood, chicken and pasta. And for those who enjoy a glass of wine with dinner, we offer an extensive selection, from the house white to Opus One. Mickey & Mooch... great food, service, and value!

9723 Sam Furr Rd
Huntersville, NC 28078
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Statesville Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 895-6654

Website:
http://mickeyandmooch.com/

Mickey & Mooch-Lake Norman Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (74)
Special Occasion (68)
Good for Anniversaries (55)
See All
Romantic (50)
Good for Birthdays (45)
Good for Groups (30)
Business Meals (30)
Live Music (27)
Worth the Drive (26)
Notable Wine List (25)
Cozy (24)
Bar Seating (24)
Vibrant Bar Scene (22)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Casual (20)
Fun (20)
Comfort Food (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Open Kitchen (14)
Outstanding Value (13)
Modern Decor (12)
Family Style (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Happy Hour (9)
People Watching (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Dancing (6)
Private Room (5)
Healthy (5)
Authentic (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Historic (4)
Seasonal (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Scenic View (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Great Beer (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Waterfront (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Fireplace (1)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
616 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

I hadn't dined at Mickey and Mooch for several years, but this dinner proved I should return more often. Our server was attentive and great, and the food was as good as I remembered it.
I'll certainly make it my place for casual dinning more often. My experience there this week was like a great re-discovery.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

It was a very special night and they accommodated us very well

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 7 days ago

Love, love, LOVE Mickey and Mooch Lake Norman! They never disappoint. Dined there this weekend with girlfriends celebrating our birthdays. We had reservations and some of my party got lost enroute. The hostess was very pleasant and gracious and worked with us. Our server, Charles, was phenomenal. He knew the menu well. He was attentive and ensured we had an enjoyable dining experience. I've never had anything there I did not like. This time, I tried the chicken and mushroom pasta and loaded baked potato. Couldn't even eat all of my pasta. Portions are great! Baked potato....yumm!! I tried my friend's rack of lamb, WOW! I will be getting that next time. I wouldn't necessarily recommend for a romantic evening for two as it is a pretty energetic atmosphere. Well worth the price.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 7 days ago

We love Mickey and Mooch! Every meal there is special. The food quality is always exceptional and the portions are quite large. Service is always friendly and attentive without being pushy. And they have a great wine list at reasonable (for a restaurant) prices.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 7 days ago

The food was very good and the portions were huge.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We love M & M and go there pretty regularly, but this was the first time I couldn't give it a better score. Everyone's food was great, except mine. I ordered a bowl of the She Crab Soup and it came out well after everyone else's food and it was not hot! I never like to send food back so I didn't say anything, but it was very disappointing bc I had been so excited about getting it.
Also, one of the people with us slipped and fell going to our table in a nice size amount of water on the floor. As I said, we love M & M and will go back, but it was not a great night last night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Food was above average, but a little pricey. We both had filets and the temperature was perfect. The bread was weirdly sweet. I had braised cabbage and it was over cooked- to mush. My husband had fries and they were superb. Both sides were big enough for 4 people.
The booth was uncomfortable. We asked for a booth and had a party of two. It was the circular type that we had to slide into the center of or be very far apart- made for large parties. The table cloths were the cheap, flannel back type that you can wipe off- yuck. They are an attempt to fancy the place, but a miss.
The service was below average. I was close to needing a refill on my drink when our food arrived. We took our time eating because we were well ahead of schedule to see a show. I was not offered a refill until our plates were clear. I declined out of frustration and left a 15% tip. The waitress had 2 tables. The restaurant was nearly empty because we went at 5pm.
I would try it again, but would avoid if I got that kind of service again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Always great food...best crab cakes ever! A little loud but the food more than makes up for it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Food is mostly great and very generous wine pours!

Tags: People Watching, Cozy, Happy Hour, Fun, Casual, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Usually one of our favorites but service was very slow and meal mediocre. Both of us got the Salmon but this night was not up to the typical high standards. All portions are very large including a very generous wine pour. However, a lot of mediocre food is not necessarily a good thing. Will give it another try and see if things turn around maybe just the "B" team on a Sunday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 4, 2017

As it has been in the last 5 years perfect! Great service, good food and good times. Recommend the NY Strip, cooked to perfection. Thank you.

Tags: Healthy, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Delicious. Went for our anniversary dinner, perfect. Crab cakes are amazing, and the love apple was yummy!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This is a great place for a casual business meeting. The food is excellent and the service is very good. It is a little loud but it is still worth the money.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 4, 2017

OMG you must have the Charleston Crab Soup!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Always great food and service. Staff friendly and fun. Great neighborhood restaurant with high quality food!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Have been going to Mickey and Mooch for many years. Love this place

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Always consistent with great food and service. They offer meat, seafood and chicken with nice sides. The atmosphere is nice and the staff is always pleasant. I love their portions too. You can take some home for lunch the next day😊👍.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Not bad - just average. Expect more from a pricey restaurant. Service was mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Very good food, always consistent. Service is attentive, food service is quick. Little too loud on live band nights.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Mickey and Mooch is our go-to special occasion place. We met there 17 years ago after all. We went there to celebrate our anniversary and it did not disappoint. I had the red snapper with shrimp in a sauce that was similar to piccata. It was delicious! Hubby had a trio with grouper, shrimp and scallops in brown butter sauce (on the side). Fish was meh, but rest delicious. By getting the beurre blanc on the side, you control how much buttery, artery hardening goodness you get. This is advantageous because the sweet cream butter for the bread will make you want to eat it all by itself. Seriously...best butter in town. Anyway, I've never had a bad meal here in 17 years which has included various fish, steak, crab cake (!!), and shrimp/grits dishes. Go there!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We had reservations and were seated right away upon arrival. Our waitress was right on top of us with menus, water and bread even though it was "full house." We ordered drinks which were promptly delivered. Our waitress was very attentive and informative. Our food was served promptly and the portions were plentiful. Our waitress stayed with us the whole evening, never having to look around for her. The food was excellent and very well prepared. It was a very enjoyable evening and we will continue to go there for special occasions.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Quite simply, our favorite restaurant in Lake Norman area. Excellent food, the main dining room has a great feel as well. Plan ahead for reservations, it's popular. Service is top notch as well.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Always a Go To for a fabulous time and meal.
Top shelf, first class place.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Love this restaurant! The crabmeat appetizer was awesome! Crab soup very good, Grouper special was fabulous! BIRTHDAY cake, almond was very nice too! We all enjoyed Mickey and Mooches as usual! GREAT CHOICE!

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Authentic, Casual, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 17, 2017

This was our first time and we had a great time. We're definitely going back soon.

Tags: Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Best restaurant I have tried in the Lake Norman area in quite some time. Steak tasted similar to Epic Chophouse in Mooresville....what a plus! Wait staff was super friendly and knowledgeable of the menu. Cannot believe we haven't eaten here now and cannot wait to go back!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Excellent food, friendly knowledgeable staff, food is worth the price, great atmosphere

Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Alway enjoy dinner, drinks and friendly service. Great music. Two thumbs up! See you soon

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Live Music, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Dancing, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, People Watching, Happy Hour, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Me and my girlfriend went out for Valentine's Day. She had never been there and I had only been there once. I made the reservation online which worked perfectly. It was a great dinner and great experience. I ordered the filet and salmon combination dinner, and she ordered the crab cake and filet combination dinner. Both were absolutely delicious. Both filets were cooked to a perfect med-rare. Our server, Charles, was a great host. He recommended both dishes and it was a great suggestion. Overall it was a great experience, and we will absolutely be returning. For the quality of food and environment, as well as keeping the tab under $100 was a plus. Thank you Mickey & Mooch

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Best restaurant ever I was there for Valentine's Day with my two boys and everything was completely amazing food service atmosphere.. I highly recommend this restaurant...👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Scenic View, Vegan, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Alright place but felt like it was an overprice Outback. Valentines day so extremely busy and would have probably been better given more attention.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Really busy on Valentines, but our reservation was honored and we were seated within 10 minutes after arriving. Service (Nick) was top notch as usual. M&M is consistent and one of our local favorites for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 14, 2017

As always, excellent food with unmatched service. This is the best restaurant around hands down. We drive 40 miles and it's worth it every time. Steaks are perfect and the chicken parm is on point. The house dressing makes the salad and the coconut shrimp app is fantastic. Don't forget the carrot cake!

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food is always excellent and the service is consistently very good. It's my favorite place to eat for special occasions!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Mickey and Mooch at Lake Norman is (was?) one of our favorite dinner restaurants. The food is always delicious. Unfortunately, this time our waiter was not attentive to us. He would check on other guests at least twice before us and walk past and not look in our direction for us to even get his attention even though we were sitting on the same side of the restaurant. We had to ask for the dinner special. Later we saw from watching another table that there was also a drink special with a flyer, but we were not made aware. Both of our water glasses ran empty. The food was good as usual, however this time the service from the waiter put a damper on our experience. We did not see the other guests have this same experience. This was unusual as the staff is normally very customer friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I made a reservation for Valentine's Day, which also happens to be my boyfriend's birthday. I had been to M&M for Valentine's years ago and they did a special menu and I enjoyed it, but this was a horrible experience. There were annoying, loud people at tables near us. There is no privacy whatsoever. The food was mediocre for the price and my boyfriend was very ill after eating there. Overall, it was a waste of $110. I will never eat at M&M again. Very disappointing that they failed to make Valentine's special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Valentine's Day

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The service was a little slow and not very personable. The service felt like a normal steak house chain. Food was good and priced reasonably. The scene is very nice and formal. With a restaurant like this, you would think the service could be a little more top notch.

All in all a good place and we will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food and service every time I have been there.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food, overall good experience. Not what you expect in a strip mall. We will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.