About Mickey & Mooch-Lake Norman

9723 Sam Furr Rd
Huntersville, NC 28078
View Larger Map

Mickey & Mooch Lake Norman, located in the Northcross Shopping Center, began with a deceptively simple premise: to create a casually elegant atmosphere where guests could escape to enjoy a fine meal at an exceptional price. Our steadfast dedication to this ideal is why both Mickey & Mooch locations continue to win awards from premier culinary publications like the Zagat Survey and Wine Spectator. Our menu offers a delicious variety of choices presented in abundant portions -- from tender steaks to fresh seafood, chicken and pasta. And for those who enjoy a glass of wine with dinner, we offer an extensive selection, from the house white to Opus One. Mickey & Mooch... great food, service, and value!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Statesville Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 895-6654

Website:
http://mickeyandmooch.com/

Mickey & Mooch-Lake Norman Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (64)
Special Occasion (64)
Good for Anniversaries (53)
See All
Romantic (45)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Good for Groups (28)
Worth the Drive (26)
Notable Wine List (25)
Live Music (24)
Business Meals (24)
Bar Seating (23)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Cozy (22)
Fun (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Casual (18)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Comfort Food (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Modern Decor (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Outstanding Value (11)
Family Style (11)
Open Kitchen (10)
Late-night Find (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Happy Hour (7)
People Watching (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Dancing (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Authentic (5)
Private Room (5)
Great Beer (4)
Healthy (4)
Historic (4)
Seasonal (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Scenic View (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Waterfront (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Fireplace (1)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
598 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Very good food, always consistent. Service is attentive, food service is quick. Little too loud on live band nights.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

Mickey and Mooch is our go-to special occasion place. We met there 17 years ago after all. We went there to celebrate our anniversary and it did not disappoint. I had the red snapper with shrimp in a sauce that was similar to piccata. It was delicious! Hubby had a trio with grouper, shrimp and scallops in brown butter sauce (on the side). Fish was meh, but rest delicious. By getting the beurre blanc on the side, you control how much buttery, artery hardening goodness you get. This is advantageous because the sweet cream butter for the bread will make you want to eat it all by itself. Seriously...best butter in town. Anyway, I've never had a bad meal here in 17 years which has included various fish, steak, crab cake (!!), and shrimp/grits dishes. Go there!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We had reservations and were seated right away upon arrival. Our waitress was right on top of us with menus, water and bread even though it was "full house." We ordered drinks which were promptly delivered. Our waitress was very attentive and informative. Our food was served promptly and the portions were plentiful. Our waitress stayed with us the whole evening, never having to look around for her. The food was excellent and very well prepared. It was a very enjoyable evening and we will continue to go there for special occasions.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Quite simply, our favorite restaurant in Lake Norman area. Excellent food, the main dining room has a great feel as well. Plan ahead for reservations, it's popular. Service is top notch as well.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Always a Go To for a fabulous time and meal.

Top shelf, first class place.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Love this restaurant! The crabmeat appetizer was awesome! Crab soup very good, Grouper special was fabulous! BIRTHDAY cake, almond was very nice too! We all enjoyed Mickey and Mooches as usual! GREAT CHOICE!

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Authentic, Casual, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 17, 2017

This was our first time and we had a great time. We're definitely going back soon.

Tags: Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Best restaurant I have tried in the Lake Norman area in quite some time. Steak tasted similar to Epic Chophouse in Mooresville....what a plus! Wait staff was super friendly and knowledgeable of the menu. Cannot believe we haven't eaten here now and cannot wait to go back!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Excellent food, friendly knowledgeable staff, food is worth the price, great atmosphere

Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Alway enjoy dinner, drinks and friendly service. Great music. Two thumbs up! See you soon

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Live Music, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Dancing, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, People Watching, Happy Hour, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Me and my girlfriend went out for Valentine's Day. She had never been there and I had only been there once. I made the reservation online which worked perfectly. It was a great dinner and great experience. I ordered the filet and salmon combination dinner, and she ordered the crab cake and filet combination dinner. Both were absolutely delicious. Both filets were cooked to a perfect med-rare. Our server, Charles, was a great host. He recommended both dishes and it was a great suggestion. Overall it was a great experience, and we will absolutely be returning. For the quality of food and environment, as well as keeping the tab under $100 was a plus. Thank you Mickey & Mooch

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Best restaurant ever I was there for Valentine's Day with my two boys and everything was completely amazing food service atmosphere.. I highly recommend this restaurant...👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Scenic View, Vegan, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Alright place but felt like it was an overprice Outback. Valentines day so extremely busy and would have probably been better given more attention.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Really busy on Valentines, but our reservation was honored and we were seated within 10 minutes after arriving. Service (Nick) was top notch as usual. M&M is consistent and one of our local favorites for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 14, 2017

As always, excellent food with unmatched service. This is the best restaurant around hands down. We drive 40 miles and it's worth it every time. Steaks are perfect and the chicken parm is on point. The house dressing makes the salad and the coconut shrimp app is fantastic. Don't forget the carrot cake!

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food is always excellent and the service is consistently very good. It's my favorite place to eat for special occasions!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Mickey and Mooch at Lake Norman is (was?) one of our favorite dinner restaurants. The food is always delicious. Unfortunately, this time our waiter was not attentive to us. He would check on other guests at least twice before us and walk past and not look in our direction for us to even get his attention even though we were sitting on the same side of the restaurant. We had to ask for the dinner special. Later we saw from watching another table that there was also a drink special with a flyer, but we were not made aware. Both of our water glasses ran empty. The food was good as usual, however this time the service from the waiter put a damper on our experience. We did not see the other guests have this same experience. This was unusual as the staff is normally very customer friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I made a reservation for Valentine's Day, which also happens to be my boyfriend's birthday. I had been to M&M for Valentine's years ago and they did a special menu and I enjoyed it, but this was a horrible experience. There were annoying, loud people at tables near us. There is no privacy whatsoever. The food was mediocre for the price and my boyfriend was very ill after eating there. Overall, it was a waste of $110. I will never eat at M&M again. Very disappointing that they failed to make Valentine's special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Valentine's Day

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The service was a little slow and not very personable. The service felt like a normal steak house chain. Food was good and priced reasonably. The scene is very nice and formal. With a restaurant like this, you would think the service could be a little more top notch.

All in all a good place and we will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food and service every time I have been there.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food, overall good experience. Not what you expect in a strip mall. We will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Overall a great menu and service was excellent. Food came out prepared perfectly. We were celebrating our daughters 20th birthday. The only issue we had was there were 7 of us and seated at a long table. Asked for a round table but were told there weren't any available, except we saw one sit empty the entire time we were there. The dining room was very loud and with a long table we couldn't have a good conversation as no one could hear each other at each end of the table, which made for a rather boring dinner since no one could really have a good conversation.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was good. Hoping for another glass of wine, but the waiter never got back to us in time. Live music in bar was energetic and upbeat. Overall good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 10, 2017

My girlfriend and I wanted a classy place for a nice meal without breaking the bank, and Mickey & Mooch came through. They took us right on time. The food was delicious and ample - I had the Prime Rib special, and she had salmon/crab cakes. The vegetables - my potato and her green beans - were very well prepared - two cuts above average. Wine by the glass was good and reasonably priced. Service was very good. No downsides - it was all good. Can't wait to go back on the next special occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 7, 2017

As usual, you can't beat Mickey and Mooches. Good food and value. Been going there for 15 years and they have not let us down

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great food, great service and great atmosphere! Absolutely love Mickey & Mooch!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Not good for big groups and dont add people at the last minute because the space is so limited they need more space and the waitress. Was not that good for 20% gratuity

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Consistent food at reasonable prices for what you get. The steaks are comparable to many notable steak houses in the area, but more reasonably priced. The side options and appetizers are great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 1, 2017

i do feel that Mickey and mooch is a steak house with a steak house mentality. It certainly could us an upgrade to that part of the experience, otehrwise it is always a great experience to visit and dine.

It is pricey, but moderately. The service is impeccable and Charles and our servers were on point.

I do reccommend it for special occasions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Excellent restaurant with an extensive menu that should satisfy all your cravings. Outstanding wait staff and service.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 30, 2017

The service and food was good. We have wanted to eat here for a while. My son really enjoyed his shrimp Alfred. The desserts were great also.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 30, 2017

We visited Mickey & Mooch-Lake Norman as part of restaurant week. It was also my husband's birthday. While Nick, our waiter, didn't arrive when we sat, he made up for it by apologizing and giving excellent service. The food arrived in a timely manner. The portions were large and delicious.

I can't wait to return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Our server seemed pretty busy with a large table so it took a bit to put in our order but everything came our perfect.

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Live music and great scenery

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Fantastic date spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We attended during restaurant week. Was happy about minimal wait time to be seated as well as prompt service once seated. Server was friendly and made eye contact when speaking to us. Food was good and liked the variety on the menu. This was our first time eating here.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

It was great. Had a reservation. Was immediately seated. Food was wonderful as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We have been to M&M's before. This was our first Queens Festa. Menu was excellent, and the service was great.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Live Sports, Kid-friendly, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We came for restaurant week . My girlfriend and I enjoyed everything. Our waitress was nice and attentive. The food was delicious. I just needed a little more on my plate... 😀😀😀

Tags: Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great service and the live music made the whole experience wonderful. It was all around an amazing time.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Overpriced even during restaurant week the salad was the best thing on the menu!

Tags: Late-night Find
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Went for restaurant week...the extra $10 we paid for rack of lamb was not worth it....there was more bones than meat!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Awesome food for Queens Feast! We enjoyed everything about our meal.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Excellent food and service. Always enjoy the food.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Mickey & Mooch's Restaurant is our favorite restaurant in Charlotte for special occasions. The food is great; portions are huge; service and ambiance are excellent. As senior citizens my wife and I will sometimes share a dinner because the steaks are big. We have also had rack of lamb, scallops, and Chilean sea bass there. Meals have always been excellent.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Always a enjoyable atmosphere , great food and service.

Tags: Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 27, 2017

It was great! The food portions were perfect! The taste of the food was delicious!!! I will be returning!!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Good food . Tables can be close together and a little loud.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Huge portions !!!

Not my favorite food but good. Wanted to try for resturant week but it wouldn't be my choice of where to go again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.