About Mickey & Mooch-Lake Norman

Mickey & Mooch Lake Norman, located in the Northcross Shopping Center, began with a deceptively simple premise: to create a casually elegant atmosphere where guests could escape to enjoy a fine meal at an exceptional price. Our steadfast dedication to this ideal is why both Mickey & Mooch locations continue to win awards from premier culinary publications like the Zagat Survey and Wine Spectator. Our menu offers a delicious variety of choices presented in abundant portions -- from tender steaks to fresh seafood, chicken and pasta. And for those who enjoy a glass of wine with dinner, we offer an extensive selection, from the house white to Opus One. Mickey & Mooch... great food, service, and value!

9723 Sam Furr Rd
Huntersville, NC 28078
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Statesville Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 895-6654

Website:
http://mickeyandmooch.com/

Mickey & Mooch-Lake Norman Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (74)
Special Occasion (66)
Good for Anniversaries (58)
See All
Romantic (47)
Good for Birthdays (42)
Business Meals (29)
Good for Groups (29)
Live Music (28)
Worth the Drive (25)
Bar Seating (25)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Casual (21)
Notable Wine List (21)
Cozy (21)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Fun (19)
Comfort Food (16)
Open Kitchen (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Outstanding Value (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Family Style (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Authentic (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Dancing (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Disabled Access (5)
People Watching (5)
Healthy (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Historic (3)
Scenic View (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Waterfront (2)
Great Beer (2)
Private Room (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Vegan (1)
Live Sports (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
636 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

The chicken carbonara is excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

Service was great, food was even better. It was our anniversary and my first time there and I was very impressed. Would recommend to any one. My wife and I have already decided that we will be back. I'm

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

My salmon was cooked to perfection and succulent. The collard greens are outstanding as are the salads. My wife was not happy that her medium rare steak was very red in the middle and the loaded potato was not hot when served. But overall she was happy also.

Best of all was our server. If you are fortunate enough to get Dana as your server, you are in for a treat. She was delightful, professional, friendly, engaging, informed of the menu, helpful...you get it. She has been at M&M for 3.5 years and it is obvious she loves her job and she loves where she works. When I return to M&M, and I will return soon, I will be sure she is working before making a reservation.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Mickey & Mooch is one of my favorite restaurants, so when I heard they were having an Easter brunch special menu, I was thrilled. However, it was clear that buffets and brunches are not their specialty. The buffet was set up in the bar area with very limited space to go in and out. The salad bar was smack in the middle with no way to get to it unless you waited in line behind the people waiting for the carving bar. I went to the area twice. Once for salad and then again for main entrees. I was unable to utilize the carving bar because the carver walked away and was gone for an extended period of time. Also several of the buffet items were out; namely, plates (waited on those) as well as ribs, the truffle mac, and a few other side items. The food that I had was tasty, but the experience was poor and I was disappointed in the layout for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Went to the restaurant for Easter Brunch. Was slightly disappointed. There was a good selection of food, but it was warm at best. The area where the food was setup was very small and if there had been a larger crowd would have caused a major backup as the line formed in the same area where customers entered and exited the restaurant. Desserts left something to be desired, not much of a selection. While we would go back for a regular meal will not go back for a brunch.

Tags: Happy Hour, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We were looking for outdoor dining on a gorgeous evening. This was the first time we tried this Mickey and Mooch location and it was great! We sat outside, had great service and a wonderful meal. We will definitely be back SOON! The outdoor seating is lovely and right next to a small pond with a fountain. The food and service was terrific. When we walked through the restaurant to exit, we stopped to listen to a great jazz duo and remarked that we would come back another evening to enjoy some live music.

Tags: Bar Seating, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 15, 2017

As always, excellent all the way around. Matthew was great on the service as was the rest of the staff. Just cannot beat the jumbo lump crab meal. Not the crab cake although that is excellent also. Will be back, but that is nothing new.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Excellent setvice and delicious dining experience!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great food and service. The crab cakes were excellent! Huge portions. Definitely order the cake.

Tags: Authentic, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I was shocked on how much food was served for a side dish. It was enough for three people. I am not complaining for sure. The steak was so tender and cooked to perfection. LOVE LOVE this place. Great waiter........he was very accommodating. I would highly recommend this place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great food, large side portions, great service. Not quite though, can be hard to have a conversation.

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Atmosphere was great but food was not. Unfortunately I came to eat. the love apple I think it was called was served on a tomato with no taste. Rack of lamb was so-so and very small for the price. Wife enjoyed salad but salmon was nothing special.

Tags: Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 5, 2017

It was a great evening with great friends. Our waiter was excellent, witty, and attentive. We all had different items on the menu and every one was memorable cooked perfect to our individual tastes.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Never a disappointment! Since my first visit many years ago, Mickey and Mooch has always been in my top 3 restaurants in Charlotte. Whether for a romantic dinner with my husband or with work friends, I always walk away with a big smile on my face. The service is great and the food is even greater!

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great as always. She had the salmon and crab cake, I went with salmon and 6 oz steak. Great pieces of salmon on both. the steak was fixed just right with excellent seasoning. The "simple salad" was really nice and not a skimpy iceberg item. And, as they promote, their fairly priced wine is a nice size pour. Creme brulee to top it off really hit the spot. All for under $80. Not bad!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on April 1, 2017

Very good food! Service was a little slow but not unbearable. It was packed, so it was expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The food was good but our waiter was excellent. The room we were in was loud so it was difficult to carry on a conversation. The young woman at the front desk was doing the work of 5 so don't try calling on a busy night.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Lamb chops were excellent.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Food was excellent; server - Bethany was a rock star!
Very relaxing and enjoyable! Thank you!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 22, 2017

I travel a great deal for business and found this restaurant a few years ago through a recommendation. I have gone here many times and never had a bad experience. I highly recommend the bleu cheese coleslaw.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 21, 2017

I hadn't dined at Mickey and Mooch for several years, but this dinner proved I should return more often. Our server was attentive and great, and the food was as good as I remembered it.
I'll certainly make it my place for casual dinning more often. My experience there this week was like a great re-discovery.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 19, 2017

It was a very special night and they accommodated us very well

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Love, love, LOVE Mickey and Mooch Lake Norman! They never disappoint. Dined there this weekend with girlfriends celebrating our birthdays. We had reservations and some of my party got lost enroute. The hostess was very pleasant and gracious and worked with us. Our server, Charles, was phenomenal. He knew the menu well. He was attentive and ensured we had an enjoyable dining experience. I've never had anything there I did not like. This time, I tried the chicken and mushroom pasta and loaded baked potato. Couldn't even eat all of my pasta. Portions are great! Baked potato....yumm!! I tried my friend's rack of lamb, WOW! I will be getting that next time. I wouldn't necessarily recommend for a romantic evening for two as it is a pretty energetic atmosphere. Well worth the price.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We love Mickey and Mooch! Every meal there is special. The food quality is always exceptional and the portions are quite large. Service is always friendly and attentive without being pushy. And they have a great wine list at reasonable (for a restaurant) prices.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The food was very good and the portions were huge.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We love M & M and go there pretty regularly, but this was the first time I couldn't give it a better score. Everyone's food was great, except mine. I ordered a bowl of the She Crab Soup and it came out well after everyone else's food and it was not hot! I never like to send food back so I didn't say anything, but it was very disappointing bc I had been so excited about getting it.
Also, one of the people with us slipped and fell going to our table in a nice size amount of water on the floor. As I said, we love M & M and will go back, but it was not a great night last night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Food was above average, but a little pricey. We both had filets and the temperature was perfect. The bread was weirdly sweet. I had braised cabbage and it was over cooked- to mush. My husband had fries and they were superb. Both sides were big enough for 4 people.
The booth was uncomfortable. We asked for a booth and had a party of two. It was the circular type that we had to slide into the center of or be very far apart- made for large parties. The table cloths were the cheap, flannel back type that you can wipe off- yuck. They are an attempt to fancy the place, but a miss.
The service was below average. I was close to needing a refill on my drink when our food arrived. We took our time eating because we were well ahead of schedule to see a show. I was not offered a refill until our plates were clear. I declined out of frustration and left a 15% tip. The waitress had 2 tables. The restaurant was nearly empty because we went at 5pm.
I would try it again, but would avoid if I got that kind of service again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Always great food...best crab cakes ever! A little loud but the food more than makes up for it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Food is mostly great and very generous wine pours!

Tags: People Watching, Cozy, Happy Hour, Fun, Casual, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Usually one of our favorites but service was very slow and meal mediocre. Both of us got the Salmon but this night was not up to the typical high standards. All portions are very large including a very generous wine pour. However, a lot of mediocre food is not necessarily a good thing. Will give it another try and see if things turn around maybe just the "B" team on a Sunday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 4, 2017

As it has been in the last 5 years perfect! Great service, good food and good times. Recommend the NY Strip, cooked to perfection. Thank you.

Tags: Healthy, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Delicious. Went for our anniversary dinner, perfect. Crab cakes are amazing, and the love apple was yummy!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This is a great place for a casual business meeting. The food is excellent and the service is very good. It is a little loud but it is still worth the money.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 4, 2017

OMG you must have the Charleston Crab Soup!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Always great food and service. Staff friendly and fun. Great neighborhood restaurant with high quality food!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Have been going to Mickey and Mooch for many years. Love this place

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Always consistent with great food and service. They offer meat, seafood and chicken with nice sides. The atmosphere is nice and the staff is always pleasant. I love their portions too. You can take some home for lunch the next day😊👍.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Not bad - just average. Expect more from a pricey restaurant. Service was mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Very good food, always consistent. Service is attentive, food service is quick. Little too loud on live band nights.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Mickey and Mooch is our go-to special occasion place. We met there 17 years ago after all. We went there to celebrate our anniversary and it did not disappoint. I had the red snapper with shrimp in a sauce that was similar to piccata. It was delicious! Hubby had a trio with grouper, shrimp and scallops in brown butter sauce (on the side). Fish was meh, but rest delicious. By getting the beurre blanc on the side, you control how much buttery, artery hardening goodness you get. This is advantageous because the sweet cream butter for the bread will make you want to eat it all by itself. Seriously...best butter in town. Anyway, I've never had a bad meal here in 17 years which has included various fish, steak, crab cake (!!), and shrimp/grits dishes. Go there!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.