About Michel's at the Colony Surf

2895 Kalakaua Avenue
Honolulu, HI 96815
View Larger Map

Come and experience French fine-dining cuisine at its best at Hawaii's premier ocean front restaurant, voted "Most Romantic Restaurant" by "The Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous" on Oahu's Gold Coast.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Reservation Times: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30PM

Cross Street:
Kapahulu

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 923-6552

Website:
http://www.michelshawaii.com/

Entertainment:
Nightly: Sunday - Thursday 6:30pm - 9:30pm
Friday - Saturday 6:30pm - 10:00pm
Two time Grammy award winner Jeff Peterson calls Michel's home on Wednesday, Thursday, Friday and Saturday's when he is home in Hawaii.

Catering:
The combination of food, service, ambiance and view make for an unforgettable event.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet is offered and there is also free metered parking on street after 6:00pm.

Executive Chef:
Eberhard Hardy Kintscher

Private Party Facilities:
We have several rooms we can use as private areas. It ranges from 12 - 150 people based on availability.

Private Party Contact:
Amber: 8087283463x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Michel's at the Colony Surf
Michel's at the Colony Surf
Michel's at the Colony Surf
Amuse Bouche
Roast Rack Of Venison
Surf & Turf Starter
Crepes Suzette
steak tartare
Steamed Onaga
Maker's Mark Old Fashion
Oyster Platter
Desserts!
Veal Osso Bucco Slowly Cooked With Marrow
Island Bouillabaisse
Chef's Seafood Starter
Lobster And Shrimp Thermidor
Baked Red Snapper
Kona Beef Carpaccio
Cherry Jubilee
Mahi Mahi En Papillote
Baked Maui Onion Soup En Croute
Pink Dragonfruit Sorbet
Wine: Groth Reserve Cabernet
Araujo Eisele Vineyard 2009 Cabernet
Bananas Foster
Prime New York Cafe De Paris
Island Seafood Cioppino
mixed seafood platter
Helix Escargot Bourgogne
Pineapple Lilikoi Cheesecake
Belvedere Martini
Cherries Jubilee
Tableside Cherries Jubilee
Lobster Bisque
Bananas Foster Flambee
Gold Coast Seafood Omelette
Salmon Saint Jacques
Chocolate Decadence Cake
Escargot
Ahi Sashimi
Ocean's Bounty
Dark Chocolate Espresso Mousse
Steamed Rice
Osso Bucco
Paniolo-Style Rib Eye Steak With Au Jus
Dungenous Crab
Lobster Claw
Oysters!
Penfolds Grange
Far Niente Chardonay
Fresh Iced Oysters
Chateauneuf Du Pape - Vieux Telegraph La Crau
Michels' Late Harvest Pinot Noir
Bloody Pele
Hamachi
mango sorbet
grand marnier souffle
Molten Chocolate Cake with Raspberry Ice Cream
Swordfish Steak with Cream Sauce & Saffron Rice
Michel's Caesar Salad
New York Café de Paris
Dessert
Courvoiier Vsop
Chateauneuf Du Pape 2006
Treasures Of The Sea
Creme Brulee
Lobster Risotto
Strawberry Macadamia Nuts Cheesecake.
Strawberries Foie Gras Forever
Stuffed Onaga
Maui Pineapple Cheesecake
Grilled Chicken Romaine Salad
Ahi Duo
Pan Fried Pork Chops
Kona Coffee Macadamia Nut Lamb Chops With Coconut Sweet Potato Purée And Asparagus
Lobster Thermidor
Strawberries Flambe w/ Foie Gras & Tiramisu Ice Cream
Steak Tartar
The Porterhouse Steak
Beef Tenderloin Rossini
Wilted Spinach Salad
Seared Gravlax
Sunset Daiquiri˜
Crab Cakes
Seafood Salad
Strawberries Flambe w/ Foie Gras
Lobster Bisque Flambe
Maui Onion Soup
Steak
Duck L'Orange
Bison

Michel's at the Colony Surf Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Hawaii
Romantic
Hawaii
Special Occasion
Hawaii
7 More
Best Overall
Oahu
Best Food
Oahu
Best Ambiance
Oahu
Best Value
Oahu
Romantic
Oahu
Scenic View
Oahu
Special Occasion
Oahu

scenic view (71)
special occasion (70)
romantic (70)
See All
fit for foodies (31)
great for outdoor dining (27)
notable wine list (22)
good for groups (18)
neighborhood gem (14)
hot spot (11)
great for brunch (7)
kid-friendly (6)
great for lunch (6)
late-night find (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1405 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Michel's is Hawaii's signature restauran ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Michel's is Hawaii's signature restaurant for the finest food, service and ambience! With the relaxed atmosphere and dress, we continue to enjoy the excellent dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Michels is a special place o take a spec ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Michels is a special place o take a special person. The menu varies with very good appetizers and great steak and seafood. Definitely not for the price conscious or budget orientated, but still worth the Fine Dining experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The ambiance and service is IMPECCABLE! ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The ambiance and service is IMPECCABLE! The staff anticipate your needs before you can even request anything. If I were rich I would eat there morning, noon, and night.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An excellent evening and an excellent me ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

An excellent evening and an excellent meal. Our party of four had wonderful service, friendly knowledgeable waiters, and superb cuisine. That's really all I have to say. Thanks.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

- Kick up the guitar volume up a bit. H ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

- Kick up the guitar volume up a bit. Heard it better in the bathroom, so please accommodate for others and the ocean

- Phenom experience; treated like royalty

- Were military local, so we'll be back

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spent a wonderful evening for our 40th w ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Spent a wonderful evening for our 40th wedding anniversary with our 'kids'... Absolutely unforgettable !! Hope to return for our 50th!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good location, we could see sunset ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Very good location, we could see sunset and fire works. Big volume for food, so it is better to share.Tast is very good. There are a lot of performance to surve the special dishes, and it is good fun.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

It was our 30th anniversary and we could ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

It was our 30th anniversary and we could not have been more pleased. It started with our table window side which gave us a spectacular view of sunset. The food was beyond excellent. We shared everything and ate everything presented with nothing to take home. That is rare for us. Our server made us feel so special the whole evening and when I told her at the end of our evening I think she was a bit embarrassed. We will never forget our special evening there

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent. Views were stupen ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Service was excellent. Views were stupendous. Food was great. Best dining experience we had on Oahu.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service ,wonderful food ,cann't wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great service ,wonderful food ,cann't wait to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we loved over all esp their delicate hos ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

we loved over all esp their delicate hospitality and ofcourse the food and the view with the fireworks.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

On Friday evening, you will enjoy the vi ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

On Friday evening, you will enjoy the view, especially fire works! Foods were generally fine, but I don't recommend the iced fresh oysters, which didn't smell good compared to other oysters you can eat any other place like in Tokyo, Sydney or etc.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We took our neece who never been to Hono ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We took our neece who never been to Honolulu before. It was a perfect evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Family reunion bday dinner

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Dinner for six with special bday cake and excellent wines top restaurant big expendive

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great night!

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Friendly and trained waiters, very enjoyable and comfortable mood with food highly recommendable that should satisfy the palates of those who are used to go to expensive and best restaurants. Not to mention the view is beautiful. If you are taking someone who love to eat, laugh and enjoy, this is the place you'd most likely not fail to have such a night.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Belated Birthday

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I wanted to take my wife out to someplace classy for her birthday. Haven't been here before so this popped up in my mind. They did not disappoint. Great service! Awesome food!! And even gave us a free dessert to finish off my wife's day with a sweet bang. Money worth every penny.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Back to basics

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

In this day and age of vapid hipster restaurants and all-too-precious degustation menus, it was good to be back at Michel's.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent dining experience. One of the ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Excellent dining experience. One of the best fish dishes I have ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Words can not express how much I love ea ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Words can not express how much I love eating here. The food, the service, the view....just everything is lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My favorite restaurant on Oahu. Definite ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

My favorite restaurant on Oahu. Definitely a hidden gem. Feels like going back in time to true ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service wonderful! The escargot and lobs ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Service wonderful! The escargot and lobster bisque is the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best restaurants I have ever enjoyed

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

The combination of excellent food, excellent wine, superb service topped with a locale and view puts this gem over the top. A very special and rare place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of my favorite restaurants i ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

This is one of my favorite restaurants in the world--maybe the universe! :) I couldn't come to Oahu without at least one visit to Michel's. It is a gorgeous restaurant right on the ocean with open windows providing a breathtaking view back toward Waikiki beach. It has location, location, location and outstanding, friendly servers, food--simply the best!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our new favorite on Waikiki beach. Fabul ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Our new favorite on Waikiki beach. Fabulous food and a view to match. Overall great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice not fabulous as was in the past

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

I have eaten at Michele's 8 times over the last 35 years on special occations. This time lacked some of the sparkle. We had a lovely window seat but the awning was not operable in our section and we sat in full sun until the sun set, it was too warm and too much glare. The service was impeccable as always, the food was not exceptional. It still was a memorable night.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Extremely disappointing. Terrible servic ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Extremely disappointing. Terrible service. Terrible food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

One of the best dining experience we've ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

One of the best dining experience we've had! Service was remarkable, food was awesomely delicious, amazing beach front view. This place was highly recommended and it did not disappoint, Loved it! Thank you for a great dining experience! Money well spent😄!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A gem in Waikiki

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Perfect Mother's Day Brunch. Leisure dining. Beautiful ambience. Reminiscent of the old days. Extra bonus was being served a complimentary mimosa, which was a house special. Even though I didn't request it, we had an excellent view (probably any seat in the house is good). Last time we dined at Michel's was about 10 years ago for dinner, and the service was excellent. After I told my brother about Mother's Day at Michel's, he plans to go on his birthday. Although we hate to drive to Waikiki for any reason, Michel's is on the outskirts and away from Kalakaua Ave.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Our experience here was great, we were seated apon arival and treated very well.

The food is as expected when fine dining especially when certain dishes are prepared in front of you which makes the experience more intertaining.

Theres a romantic setting to set the mood, theres an open view that's pretty neat and its still airconditioned.

I would recommend this to anyone and those who have kids because we have seen families that brought their little ones.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Best fine dining experience at Michel's

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The service and menu selection are hard to beat. We had a very enjoyable experience at Michel's. The food was great, the service was fantastic and the view of the ocean and the sun setting added to the occasion, pre-mothers day. Our guest was pleasantly surprised with the atmosphere and service. We will surely return again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant dining in a stunning setting

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

I was expecting continental cuisine when I made the reservations but did not expect the high level of service and all the options for table side preparation. The menu is large and offers options for any taste. The wine list is excellent and reasonable (for Hawaii). The service is outstanding and very professional. The food was excellent and the presentations were beautiful. We had the crepes Suzette for dessert, prepared tableside, and they were the best I've ever had. Next time we're going for the cherries jubilee!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My guest from Japan was happy!

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

Everything was excerent except new waiter spilled and drop things three times.

It made mess my local friend's back skin shoes and pants.

Senior waiter was really nice!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Overpriced

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Overpriced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Best French restaurant in Waikiki with o ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Best French restaurant in Waikiki with outstanding sunset views. Ask for a table on the window.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quite poor Food & Service Quality

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

We selected Taste of Michel's wwhich ith wine paring which shall represent the taste of Restaulant.

However taste is quite low level and we could not everything, and service quality is quite poor, noise level is quite good but noise of service is too high and general sevice quality is amature level.

I claimed to a manager the service quality he said astanishingly "they are new comer." Normally even new commer shall be trained well before servicing at table.

We will not be there any more. They might loose the repeater.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

Special place

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Intimate dining in elegant surroundings. Open air sitting brings the ocean to your table without intrusiveness. Gorgeous sunset. Top notch wines. Impeccable, understated service; prompt but never intrusive. Food was good but could not match the ambience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Michel's 1970's to 2016

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

My Mom and Dad went to Michel's in the 70's and I've always wanted to experience the restaurant. Michel's went above and beyond my expectations. Everything was simply fabulous!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Aloha at it's finest!

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

Dined here last week to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary and we enjoyed every aspect of the occasion. The setting is classic French/Hawaiian. The food is classic French with elements of Hawaiian fusion. Service is impeccable. We were greeted like returning friends, seated oceanside, and pampered with lavish attention throughout the relaxing evening. We've visited Hawaii numerous times over 40 years and have celebrated at Michel's several times. The Maui onion soup that has been on the menu since we've been going there is as flavorful as ever. We both ordered seafood and were delighted with the fresh taste and sophisticated presentation of each dish. Dessert was a masterpiece of chocolate cake, berries, cream and macadamia nut ice cream which the restaurant gifted us in honor of our anniversary. Although Honolulu has so changed that it doesn't resemble a Hawaiian city any more, Michel's has held true to the spirit of aloha. For a romantic dinner served with grace and flair, Michel's is the restaurant to choose in a city crammed with competitive venues.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great!

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

We had a great time there.

Nice food, view, and service!! We'll come back here again!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great location and what a view! Great m ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Great location and what a view! Great menu and a nice choice of some dishes prepared table side. Definitely recommend if you're in the neighborhood!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.