Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About Michel's at the Colony Surf

Come and experience French fine-dining cuisine at its best at Hawaii's premier ocean front restaurant, voted "Most Romantic Restaurant" by "The Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous" on Oahu's Gold Coast.

2895 Kalakaua Avenue
Honolulu, HI 96815
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Reservation Times: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30PM

Cross Street:
Kapahulu

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 923-6552

Website:
http://www.michelshawaii.com/

Entertainment:
Nightly: Sunday - Thursday 6:30pm - 9:30pm
Friday - Saturday 6:30pm - 10:00pm
Two time Grammy award winner Jeff Peterson calls Michel's home on Wednesday, Thursday, Friday and Saturday's when he is home in Hawaii.

Catering:
The combination of food, service, ambiance and view make for an unforgettable event.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet is offered and there is also free metered parking on street after 6:00pm.

Executive Chef:
Eberhard Hardy Kintscher

Private Party Facilities:
We have several rooms we can use as private areas. It ranges from 12 - 150 people based on availability.

Private Party Contact:
Amber: (808) 728-3463

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Michel's at the Colony Surf Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (61)
Romantic (60)
Waterfront (60)
See All
Scenic View (59)
Good for Anniversaries (50)
Good for a Date (45)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Notable Wine List (24)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Live Music (16)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Authentic (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Historic (9)
Cozy (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Business Meals (7)
People Watching (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Fun (5)
Great for Lunch (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Family Style (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Seasonal (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Private Room (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Healthy (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
 (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Organic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
S
1730 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 2 days ago

Best restaurant we could find in the Waikiki area. Food was served correctly and the wine was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (京都)·Dined 4 days ago

ハネムーンで利用しました。早めに予約したお陰か、真正面に海が見えてとても雰囲気が良く素敵な席でした。
料理はサラダ、燻製サーモン、ロブスターのビスク、シーフードのブイヨン、22オンスのステーキ、ホワイトチョコのマスカルポーネケーキを注文。
どれもとても美味しく、コスパが良かったです!!これだけ頼んで、ワインも飲んで1人1万5千円ぐらいは安い。
さらにサプライズでお店からハネムーンのお祝いのデザートプレートが!
ぜひハワイに来た時に、おすすめしたいレストランです。

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

Great ambience as always past forty years since I have been
coming. Loved the harp music and sunset. Service is attentive but seems short-handed. Would have like even more authentic cuisine such as escargot on the shell with herb garlic and butter and less sweet. More brandy and less creamy lobster bisque. More crispy outside and more tender inside duck l'orange. Crepe Suzette right on.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Romantic, Live Music, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

I 've been there many times but thistime I recongnised MICHEL is the best restaurant with HAWAIIAN ATMOSPHERE.!

Tags: Live Sports, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 14, 2017

The restaurant provided amazing service, delicious food, and a beautiful view. They even went out of their way to acknowledge our anniversary, which was noted in the reservation. Overall, a gem of an establishment and a true fine dining experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We felt welcome from the moment we arrived and were shown to our window table. Spectacular views of Waikiki and Downtown Honolulu. Julio prepared our Caesar salad at the table, as well as the Steak Diane which was tender and delicious. The main sizes are very generous and are served as a complete meal ... no need to order additional sides. Perfect for a special night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We were celebrating our anniversary and the evening was perfect. Lovely ambiance, impeccable service, great food and wonderful live music by Jeff Peterson.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 11, 2017

They treated us like kings and queens!
They made his Fathers Day extra special!
Thank you Thank you!

Tags: Authentic, Waterfront, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Outstanding service and dining experience. All dishes are very flavorable, high quality and expertly prepared and presented!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The atmosphere is unbeatable at sunset with the Friday afternoon boat races going on as the sun goes down. We even had 2 monk seals napping on the beach in front of us. The music from Jeff Petersons slack key guitar was unbeatable. The food was really good with the waiter helping us decide on some off menu items to satisfy our particular needs. A memorable night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Absolutely amazing experience. We showed up an hour early since we were coming from quite a distance and the staff was very accommodating by setting up a small table for our group of 4 to have cocktails while we waited for our table. Once we were seated our waiter was excellent and the food was all perfectly done and we were quite happy with the portion sizes considering most high end restaurants like this tend to go too small. Michel's specialties include their tableside preparation of certain items like their Caesar Salad and desserts. Again, flawless execution.

The setting is perfect with every table having amazing views so if you're not window front it doesn't take away from the experience.

We will be coming back. One of my best dining experiences in any of the Hawaiian islands.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Mahalo for a memorable birthday dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (沖縄)·Dined on June 1, 2017

結婚式とハネムーンを兼ねた旅行で主人と二人で訪れました。18時30分からだったのですが、ちょうど夕日がキレイな時間帯で、ハネムーンでの食事との旨を予約時に伝えたからだとは思いますが、窓際の席に夕日がミエル方向に二人並んでテーブルセッティングがされてありました。お料理は高いですが美味しかったです。カップルやご家族の方が多かったです。本当に真横の窓を挟んですぐビーチですごく近く、遊んでいる子供達を見ながら食事しました。最後にハネムーンということでデザートまでサービスしてくださいました。誕生日と記念日の方は割引きもあるようで私達は$12程割引でした。3品とコーヒーを頼んでチップを入れたトータルは$200程でした。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Great food, tremendous service, and incredible ambiance. Michele's is right on the beach. Be there for the sunset!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Loved the whole experience. We will be back! The setting was beautiful. Magnificent sunset, delicious meal, excellent service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 28, 2017

海の目の前でとても素敵でした。テラス席をリクエストしましたが、ひとつ後ろの席でした。でも夕陽はバッチリ見えます。
日本人はだいたい同じあたりの席にいたのでそう決まってるのかな?そうならばちょっと残念です。

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Lovely setting on the beach, wonderful classic food, hard to beat on all fronts! I have been coming here for 50 years ( for many different occasions from Birthdays to my own wedding reception) and have never been disappointed!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Every time we have eaten here we agree that this is one of the best in the US! The service, food and atmosphere is the best on the Islands.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 22, 2017

This was a wonderful experience and lived up to our expectations. The ambience, the service and the food was exquisite.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Always a pleasure, dining at Michel's is a special treat. The service is impeccable, and the foo, delicious. The atmosphere is old-fashioned elegance. if you want to enjoy the sunset, be prepared for some squinting before the sun goes down. Hope to celebrate more special occasions at Michel's.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Lovely evening celebrating our 35th anniversary. We enjoyed the Chef's tasting menu with wine pairings. We had a great time, as always. The only snafu was when we were seated, the hostess attempted to put us at a table behind the glass next to a very large party. (This surprised me as our reservation was made several weeks in advance.) Luckily, our seating request was accommodated and we were taken to a better table. We are fans and we'll be back.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Amazing food and view. Top notch service ..... ask for Joel as your server if available.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Perfect setting to celebrate our daughter's job promotion & college graduation of her friend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 18, 2017

結婚式の後の食事会で利用。
ビーチ沿いの席をお願いしたが、希望叶わず。ただ、サンセットはしっかりと見れた上、ご飯も美味しかった。
日本語が話せるスタッフがいたため、安心して食事ができた。

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Escargots, raw oysters & cherries jubilee were excellent. The Ocean Bounty entree was served warm so the food got cold fast. Bring dark glasses if you dine when the sun is still up as there is a very strong glare.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Great view. Lovely ambiance. Average food. Below average, inconsistent service. We have been dining here since 1971 but are not likely to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our family had an amazing Mothers' Day brunch at Michel's! The fabulous food, service, amazing beachfront location made for such an incredible and memorable event.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 14, 2017

i enjoy brunch there. the ambience cannot be beat and it is not a buffet. unfortunately, they do brunch for just a few special days like easter, mothers' day and fathers' day. maybe one or two other days during the year. otherwise, they are only open for dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Tasting menu and accompanying wines were great. And the service was perfect. Thanks so much for maki g our anniversary celebration memorable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 11, 2017

If you don't want their bottled water, and don't order drinks, you don't get even good service. Over priced, They are living on their reputation from the past, you might want to "pass them up".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Exceeded our expectations in every way. Classy but not stuffy , sweet & knowledgeable waiter, exquisite food & impeccable service. Probably one of the best French Restaurants in the world and that's saying a lot!

Tags: Historic, Local Ingredients, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The food was excellent and the service matched the food. The view was spectacular and if your there for sunset you can't beat the view. This is one of my all time favorites

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Because of upbringing and travel of my own, I've dined at some very, very fine restaurants around the world. Michel's is easily in the top three and very probably THE top one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Chefs taster menu was outstanding! Our waiter was wonderful, professional, and informative.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Gr8 evening, service was outstanding, special was remarkable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Wonderful service and amazing food! Definitely try the strawberry foie gras!!! 😋😋😋

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 5, 2017

My girlfriend Julie and I try to go to Michel's on every visit to the island of Oahu. From their Slack Key, Classical guitarist Jeff Peterson, to the personal touch of general manager, Phillip Shaw, the quality of service and ambiance of the restaurant is hard to beat anywhere in the world. Our favorite part of the restaurant is the table side preparation of their special dishes. On this visit we had Caesar salad for two and finished the night with bananas flambé. Outstanding!

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Great views, great food, great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 3, 2017

It was a perfect dinner for us.
Beautiful Sun Set ,good wine ,good Service ,Beautiful night view,,,,,Beautiful Sun Set
Thank you very much for a seaside table and see you next time.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 2, 2017

ハネムーンの食事で利用させていただきました。
サンセットが見えるとのことで期待していったのですが
まさかの海から遠い壁際の席で、日が沈む光景は席から離れないと
見ることが出来ず、非常に楽しみにしていた妻も残念な表情でした。
仕方なく遠めにサンセットを見てみたのですが、距離が遠いので
ワイキキビーチを挟んで反対側のレストランの方がおそらく
綺麗に見えるのではないかなと思います。

周りを観察していましたところ、4人席や多人数席が海側で
優先されるようで、ハネムーンのカップルや2人組については
海側から離れた席になる可能性が高いようです。

食事はコースもアラカルトからも選べ、ワインも大変美味しかったです。
ただし、高級な雰囲気とは程遠い、ガヤガヤしたファミレス感があり
またドレスコードがハワイにhしては厳しいわりには、受付の女性は
やや下品な服装であったりホールスタッフの作業が荒かったりと
正直、高級レストランとは思えません。

席やスタッフの状況により評価はアップダウンですが、食事は大変美味しく
ただしコストパフォーマンスは良くないという事だけはお伝えしたく
レビュー投稿いたします。

なお、ワイキキビーチから歩いていくには若干遠いので、ダイヤモンドヘッドの
トローリーで水族館前まで行って歩くか、タクシーで行くことをお勧めします。
(帰りについても、暗く危険な道路の為、徒歩で歩くには若干危険に感じます。)

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.