About Michel's at the Colony Surf

2895 Kalakaua Avenue
Honolulu, HI 96815
View Larger Map

Come and experience French fine-dining cuisine at its best at Hawaii's premier ocean front restaurant, voted "Most Romantic Restaurant" by "The Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous" on Oahu's Gold Coast.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Reservation Times: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30PM

Cross Street:
Kapahulu

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 923-6552

Website:
http://www.michelshawaii.com/

Entertainment:
Nightly: Sunday - Thursday 6:30pm - 9:30pm
Friday - Saturday 6:30pm - 10:00pm
Two time Grammy award winner Jeff Peterson calls Michel's home on Wednesday, Thursday, Friday and Saturday's when he is home in Hawaii.

Catering:
The combination of food, service, ambiance and view make for an unforgettable event.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet is offered and there is also free metered parking on street after 6:00pm.

Executive Chef:
Eberhard Hardy Kintscher

Private Party Facilities:
We have several rooms we can use as private areas. It ranges from 12 - 150 people based on availability.

Private Party Contact:
Amber: 8087283463x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Michel's at the Colony Surf Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Hawaii
Romantic
Hawaii
Special Occasion
Hawaii
5 More
Best Overall
Oahu
Best Ambiance
Oahu
Romantic
Oahu
Scenic View
Oahu
Special Occasion
Oahu

scenic view (90)
romantic (90)
special occasion (89)
See All
notable wine list (35)
fit for foodies (34)
great for outdoor dining (25)
good for groups (19)
neighborhood gem (14)
hot spot (9)
great for brunch (5)
kid-friendly (4)
great for lunch (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
late-night find (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1384 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent dining experience. One of the ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Excellent dining experience. One of the best fish dishes I have ever had.

food5
ambience5
service5

Words can not express how much I love ea ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

Words can not express how much I love eating here. The food, the service, the view....just everything is lovely.

food5
ambience5
service5

My favorite restaurant on Oahu. Definite ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

My favorite restaurant on Oahu. Definitely a hidden gem. Feels like going back in time to true ambiance.

food5
ambience5
service5

Service wonderful! The escargot and lobs ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Service wonderful! The escargot and lobster bisque is the best!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurants I have ever enjoyed

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

The combination of excellent food, excellent wine, superb service topped with a locale and view puts this gem over the top. A very special and rare place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of my favorite restaurants i ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

This is one of my favorite restaurants in the world--maybe the universe! :) I couldn't come to Oahu without at least one visit to Michel's. It is a gorgeous restaurant right on the ocean with open windows providing a breathtaking view back toward Waikiki beach. It has location, location, location and outstanding, friendly servers, food--simply the best!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Our new favorite on Waikiki beach. Fabul ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Our new favorite on Waikiki beach. Fabulous food and a view to match. Overall great experience!

food1
ambience3
service2

Extremely disappointing. Terrible servic ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Extremely disappointing. Terrible service. Terrible food

food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best dining experience we've ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

One of the best dining experience we've had! Service was remarkable, food was awesomely delicious, amazing beach front view. This place was highly recommended and it did not disappoint, Loved it! Thank you for a great dining experience! Money well spent😄!

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

A gem in Waikiki

Dined on May 8, 2016

Perfect Mother's Day Brunch. Leisure dining. Beautiful ambience. Reminiscent of the old days. Extra bonus was being served a complimentary mimosa, which was a house special. Even though I didn't request it, we had an excellent view (probably any seat in the house is good). Last time we dined at Michel's was about 10 years ago for dinner, and the service was excellent. After I told my brother about Mother's Day at Michel's, he plans to go on his birthday. Although we hate to drive to Waikiki for any reason, Michel's is on the outskirts and away from Kalakaua Ave.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Mother's Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our experience here was great, we were seated apon arival and treated very well. The food is as expected when fine dining especially when certain dishes are prepared in front of you which makes the experience more intertaining. Theres a romantic setting to set the mood, theres an open view that's pretty neat and its still airconditioned. I would recommend this to anyone and those who have kids because we have seen families that brought their little ones.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best fine dining experience at Michel's

Dined on May 8, 2016

The service and menu selection are hard to beat. We had a very enjoyable experience at Michel's. The food was great, the service was fantastic and the view of the ocean and the sun setting added to the occasion, pre-mothers day. Our guest was pleasantly surprised with the atmosphere and service. We will surely return again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Elegant dining in a stunning setting

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

I was expecting continental cuisine when I made the reservations but did not expect the high level of service and all the options for table side preparation. The menu is large and offers options for any taste. The wine list is excellent and reasonable (for Hawaii). The service is outstanding and very professional. The food was excellent and the presentations were beautiful. We had the crepes Suzette for dessert, prepared tableside, and they were the best I've ever had. Next time we're going for the cherries jubilee!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

My guest from Japan was happy!

Dined on May 3, 2016

Everything was excerent except new waiter spilled and drop things three times. It made mess my local friend's back skin shoes and pants. Senior waiter was really nice!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Overpriced

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Overpriced

food5
ambience5
service5

Best French restaurant in Waikiki with o ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Best French restaurant in Waikiki with outstanding sunset views. Ask for a table on the window.

food1
ambience4
service1
value2

Quite poor Food & Service Quality

Dined on May 1, 2016

We selected Taste of Michel's wwhich ith wine paring which shall represent the taste of Restaulant. However taste is quite low level and we could not everything, and service quality is quite poor, noise level is quite good but noise of service is too high and general sevice quality is amature level. I claimed to a manager the service quality he said astanishingly "they are new comer." Normally even new commer shall be trained well before servicing at table. We will not be there any more. They might loose the repeater.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Special place

Dined on April 22, 2016

Intimate dining in elegant surroundings. Open air sitting brings the ocean to your table without intrusiveness. Gorgeous sunset. Top notch wines. Impeccable, understated service; prompt but never intrusive. Food was good but could not match the ambience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Michel's 1970's to 2016

Dined on April 20, 2016

My Mom and Dad went to Michel's in the 70's and I've always wanted to experience the restaurant. Michel's went above and beyond my expectations. Everything was simply fabulous!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Aloha at it's finest!

Dined on April 18, 2016

Dined here last week to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary and we enjoyed every aspect of the occasion. The setting is classic French/Hawaiian. The food is classic French with elements of Hawaiian fusion. Service is impeccable. We were greeted like returning friends, seated oceanside, and pampered with lavish attention throughout the relaxing evening. We've visited Hawaii numerous times over 40 years and have celebrated at Michel's several times. The Maui onion soup that has been on the menu since we've been going there is as flavorful as ever. We both ordered seafood and were delighted with the fresh taste and sophisticated presentation of each dish. Dessert was a masterpiece of chocolate cake, berries, cream and macadamia nut ice cream which the restaurant gifted us in honor of our anniversary. Although Honolulu has so changed that it doesn't resemble a Hawaiian city any more, Michel's has held true to the spirit of aloha. For a romantic dinner served with grace and flair, Michel's is the restaurant to choose in a city crammed with competitive venues.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great!

Dined on April 16, 2016

We had a great time there. Nice food, view, and service!! We'll come back here again!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great location and what a view! Great m ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Great location and what a view! Great menu and a nice choice of some dishes prepared table side. Definitely recommend if you're in the neighborhood!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic

Dined on April 14, 2016

We had a wonderful time celebrating my son's 21st birthday. The food was delightful and the crepes suzette exceptional. We will be returning again, even if there isn't a special occasion to celebrate.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service!

Dined on April 12, 2016

If you want fine food and service this is the spot. The view of the ocean and sunset here are the best. We celebrated our anniversary here and it was perfect! Don't worry about the bill it will be expensive but worth it!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Simply delilcious!

Dined on April 12, 2016

Service was outstanding and the food was delicious--a 12 on a scale of 1-10.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We make it a point to come here whenever ...

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

We make it a point to come here whenever we visit Honolulu. It is always a wonderful experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5

Classic French restaurant where service ...

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

Classic French restaurant where service is top notch. The Caesar Salad and other favorites are prepared in front of guests. The food was good and very traditional. The view was fantastic as was the service. The restaurant decor could use an uplift. I found the food overpriced but expected given the location and tourist clientele. However, the wine list is excellent and many of the higher priced wines were at retail. There was little to no markup. In fact, it looked like wine prices were not adjusted over time.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easter Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

Fantastic Easter Brunch - great menu with choices that pleased our group of six - including two teens and a picky eater. Service was top notch - as always. Didn't request a window seat, but was blessed with one anyway. Beautiful view, beautiful restaurant. Thank you for another memorable experience.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

wonderful special occasion dining

Dined on March 26, 2016

We plan a visit to Michel's every time we visit Honolulu. Food is exquisite, service is impeccable, setting is outstanding. Wish we could afford to go every night!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent! Great view, great service and ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

Excellent! Great view, great service and great food. Our favorite 'special occasion' restaurant. Wish we had started coming here earlier!

food5
ambience5
service5

First time we'd eaten here. Me and my gf ...

Dined on March 24, 2016

First time we'd eaten here. Me and my gf wanted a romantic dinner on the last night of our vacation and we sure got one! The service we received was beyond outstanding and the food was incredible. The view we had while we watched the sunset was better than anything we could have asked for! Michel's was a great place for a romantic dinner and I would definitely go back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bravo

Dined on March 21, 2016

Have dined at Michele's many times for a romantic evening or a group dinner and every occasion has been wonderful. The food, ambiance, and music make it for a special evening. Kudos to General Manager Phillip.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Michels

Dined on March 17, 2016

Food, quantity, preparation and service were all excellent a bit pricy but worth it Highly recommend getting there early enough to enjoy the sunset

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great romantic dinner spot

Dined on March 17, 2016

The food was phenomenon and the service was superb! I would definitely recommend this restaurant for anyone looking for a nice dinner place in Honolulu.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food and wine are top notch, the servers ...

Dined on March 17, 2016

Food and wine are top notch, the servers are the best in town. Can't wait for next year's birthday to come back. Great sunset views, but a little bright, so bring your sunglasses!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have dined at Michel's for over 40 years.

Dined on March 16, 2016

We still love to come to Michel's for special occasions

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service3

I would not go back. Very overrated, foo ...

vip
Dined on March 15, 2016

I would not go back. Very overrated, food was good nothing special. Worst bar drinks I have ever had. Waiter was good.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazed

Dined on March 15, 2016

My son had a fever ,but they gave him a whole tomato.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

A memorable dining experience - a glowin ...

Dined on March 14, 2016

A memorable dining experience - a glowing sunset, wonderful food and impeccable service, capped off with a spectacular fireworks display. A jewel of a restaurant tucked in on the quiet end of Waikiki Beach. Unique and not to be missed!

food5
ambience5
service1
value4

wait help

Dined on March 13, 2016

waiter never introduced himself; was more interested in party of ten next to us with their 8 bottles of wine asked us same questions repeatedly each time he came to table so was not paying attention food and presentation awesome as usual

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.