Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About Michel's at the Colony Surf

Come and experience French fine-dining cuisine at its best at Hawaii's premier ocean front restaurant, voted "Most Romantic Restaurant" by "The Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous" on Oahu's Gold Coast.

2895 Kalakaua Avenue
Honolulu, HI 96815
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Reservation Times: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30PM

Cross Street:
Kapahulu

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 923-6552

Website:
http://www.michelshawaii.com/

Entertainment:
Nightly: Sunday - Thursday 6:30pm - 9:30pm
Friday - Saturday 6:30pm - 10:00pm
Two time Grammy award winner Jeff Peterson calls Michel's home on Wednesday, Thursday, Friday and Saturday's when he is home in Hawaii.

Catering:
The combination of food, service, ambiance and view make for an unforgettable event.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet is offered and there is also free metered parking on street after 6:00pm.

Executive Chef:
Eberhard Hardy Kintscher

Private Party Facilities:
We have several rooms we can use as private areas. It ranges from 12 - 150 people based on availability.

Private Party Contact:
Amber: (808) 728-3463

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Michel's at the Colony Surf Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (58)
Romantic (55)
Waterfront (53)
See All
Scenic View (53)
Good for Anniversaries (50)
Good for a Date (47)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Live Music (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Historic (12)
Authentic (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Cozy (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Outstanding Value (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
People Watching (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Business Meals (4)
Fun (4)
Family Style (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
1661 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 2 days ago

Good salads, lobster bisque, but low score with the chateaubriand. Great atmosphere and service. I would return but would order seafood based dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

One of the best dinners we have ever had. The view is outstanding, service friendly and very knowledgeable, food was delicious and you were never made to feel rushed. This was a dinner to remember. A very special occasion type of place. The cost was high but worth it for a very nice over all experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

upon my arrival the hostess lead me to a table right at the window i could not have asked for a better spot , made my night

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

This was my wife's 66 birthday and nine members of my family's first visit to Hawaii. I wanted to share with them what I considered to be one of the best fine dining places in Honolulu. I had requested a table by the window which I know is not guaranteed but I was very disappointed when they stuck us in a corner in the dining room that was looking out through very dirty windows. One of the great attributes of Michels is the open view of Honolulu. We were the one table that did not have this view. When I ordered the lobster bisque and escargot the waiter tried to serve them both at the same time, only to him wanting to leave the bisque on the table to cool while I ate the escargot. He finally said he would bring it back and serve me when I finished my escargot. I must admit at that point the service seemed to take a step up. The rest of the meal went much smoother.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Our waiter though I can't remember his name was funny and excellent. One of the best waiters I have ever had in Hawaii. It is always a pleasure to have dinner here and it is always a please to be welcomed year after year by the head man Phil! Thanks for a great evening- Tom and Tony

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Authentic, People Watching, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Outstanding food and service and a great view to watch the sunset. Wines a bit pricey.Will return.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 12, 2017

ALTHOUGH BORN AND RAISED ON OAHU, I HAVE NEVER BEEN TO THIS RESTAURANT. WE WERE GIVEN A GIFT CERTIFICATE THAT WAS TO EXPIRE SOON. BEING THAT MY 13TH WEDDING ANNIVERSARY WAS DAYS AWAY, WE SAW AN OPPORTUNITY TO STEP OUTSIDE OF OUR COMFORT ZONE. THE AMBIANCE IS WONDERFUL AND I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THE LIGHTING! THE ENTIRE STAFF WAS AMAZING, ESPECIALLY OUR SERVER BRIAN! HE MADE THE ENTIRE EXPERIENCE FOR US NEWBIES MEMORABLE! THE FOOD IS IMPECCABLE BUT MAY I SAY THE DESSERTS IS OUT OF THIS WORLD!! WE WILL DEFINITELY BE DINING AT MICHELS AGAIN! PLEASE THOUGH, OUR HATS OFF TO BRIAN! HE IS THE MAIN REASON WE WILL BE RETURNING!!

MAHALO,
SHEANA AND FAMILY

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Live Music, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Excellent, excellent! Never fails to present the finest in dining. Unpretentious, professional service. Wonderful location looking down the shore to Waikiki.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Extremely outdated decor and ambiance made us nervous upon arrival. The amus bouche of eggplant consume was bland, the salad was scarce and boring and way overpriced. But our entrees (we chose ala carte from the tasting menu, thank you kitchen staff for allowing this) scallops in coconut curry sauce and duck were both memorable. It being a beach for the condo building that it shares occupancy with did take away from the amazing open air dining room with sunset views.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Met or exceeded expectations. A delightful evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Happy with everything, ask for a dinner closet to the water and they delivered! Sunset and food topped it off, thanks michels

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 9, 2017

ドリンクのサービスがとても遅いオーダーした後一皿の料理が終わるまでドリンクが来なかった、以前はサービスも良かったが残念

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 8, 2017

2度目の来店です。
2人で行きましたがロブスターが大きすぎました。
英語ができないので何を言っているのか伝わらずもう少し小さいのが良かったです。
磯臭くて味はあまり良くなかったです。
その後に出てきたお肉も大きすぎて残してしまいました。
脂身が多くて残念でした。
前菜のマグロのタルタルとエスカルゴは美味しかったです。
もう少し英語力を身につけて次は楽しみたいです。

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 8, 2017

We have gone to Michel's many times and enjoyed the food, ambience and service. This time, however, we were disappointed with the Grand Marnier Soufflé.
We had three orders and though it was not ordered when we placed our dinner selections, we understood that it would take a minimum of 20 minutes. When it came, the soufflé was barely an inch high and the creme anglaise was lumpy. It was NOT the soufflé that Michel's is known for!
That was a big disappointment that evening. For the amount that is charged, that was not acceptable. It is our hope that the pastry chef would take greater pride in his desserts!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Put in a reservation for 5:30 pm with hopes of getting a seaside table. Got their at 5:35 and all seaside tables were taken, so get there before 5:30...

The view was spectacular and Kyle provided impeccable service.

We ordered the opakapaka and lobster newburg/beef oscar, good but not close to being great.

The complimentary dessert for our anniversary was great.

Overall it was good but a bit disappointing. I would try it once but probably will try others places before contemplating going back.

Parking entrance a bit confusing, do not go up the ramp, take the driveway before it.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 2, 2017

The food was really excellent and the wait staff was exceptional. A very wonderful experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 2, 2017

日本人のスタッフさんがいて、安心して食事できました。
当日は雨が降っており、景色だけは心残りです…

食事も美味しく、お店の雰囲気も素敵でしたので、晴れた日にまた来店したいと思えるお店です!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 1, 2017

We ordered lobster bisque and sent it back. It had absolutely no flavor. The shrimp cocktail was excellent.
Our main course was ok.
The service was good, but for a. Dry pricey meal, very disappointing.
Tables by the water are lovely.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Great location, good service and excellent food. Highly recommended ( not only for special occasions ). Will be back for sure, like we have for the last 30 years.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Our third time to Oahu and third time to Michel's - always a wonderful dinner and the sunsets are just breathtaking!

Tags: Live Music, Waterfront, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Had a wonderful time @ Michel's. Food was cooked perfectly and the tableside service for our banana foster dessert was fun (thanks Troy)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Everyone was very pleasant and very helpful. I'm glad I selected Michel's to celebrate my 25th wedding anniversary!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Amazing.....you do everything right!
Please, don't change anything.
Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (東京)·Dined on February 23, 2017

I have forgotten the plate dessert to have been ordered
But Hospitality was good
I enjoyed it very much.
I'd love to go again.

Tags: Waterfront, Live Music, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 22, 2017

父の定年退職祝いで利用しました。
最後にサプライズケーキも用意してくれるなど、細やかやサービスもありとても素敵な1日を過ごせました。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Excellent Service!
Great Food!

Luckily the large party finished when we were seated. We had the entire back room to ourselves! ;)

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Exceptional everything! Just a great evening!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 20, 2017

友人達とハワイを満喫し、最終日の特別なディナーとして訪問させて頂きました。予約する際、要望の欄に海辺に近い席をと書きました。すると要望通りにすぐ海辺の席を予約されててとても嬉しかったです。また、日本語メニューもあり、おすすめなどわかりやすく説明して頂けました。旅を大満足な状態で締めくくることができ、嬉しかったです。

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 20, 2017

サンセットディナーで利用しました。
雰囲気は最高!
予約時、お店中央の席をリクエストしたほうが、海が見渡せると思います。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food was great. Portions a little small!!! The service was good but our waiter had zero personality and didnt speak english well. The power went out in the middle of dinner and nobody came around to inform us of the situation or offer more light. Could not even read the dessert menu and finished our dinner in the dark. Nobody apologized for the inconvenience or even mentioned it for that matter as if thats a normal thing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 18, 2017

It wasn't the restaurants fault as far as we know, but the power went out. The only complaint I have is actually for Open Table as it would not allow us to try and book another table as it thought we were trying to double book.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We went to Michel's on the recommendation of friends who live in Honolulu. The restaurant is open on one side to the ocean. The beach is just a few yards away so you see people enjoying the beach. Early in the evening we saw a bridal party taking pictures. Then when it turned dark we enjoyed the fireworks that are on the beach in front of the Hawaiian Village hotel. A very nice evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We usually love going to Michele's, great service, beautiful views and exceptional food. This time the dishes were not up to their usual standards. Our main course was over cooked (fish) and undercooked (steak). Drinks, salads and desserts were great.
We hope next time will be better.
Bummed out it wasn't what we expected this time.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Outstanding service with a fantastic view. A large number of excellent choices on the menu. High points for taste,presentation,texture,and temperature. We will be going back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Beautiful atmosphere as the sun sets over the ocean. Delicious food and amazing service. You will not be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 14, 2017

まず、お店に入った瞬間に感動する。
そして、格式高いお店だけど気取らずに居心地が非常に良い。
料理のペースがだいぶゆっくりな所は気になりましたが、その分、もう、時間を気にしずに贅沢な時間を過ごせました。

予約時間は迷いましたが、2月中旬に行って18時予約でちょうど綺麗なサンセットが見れました!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Cozy, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food was delicious! Wait service was excellent.

But I was disappointed & our special dinner occasion started out on a sour note since we were not able to get a window seat to the view the unobstructed sunset even though I made my reservations 2 weeks in advanced.

Plus, we arrived 15 min before restaurant opened & was 3rd in line. Two couples in front of us got window seats, but we were denied. Also, the couple behind us got a window seat. We were told by a manager that window seats require reservations 3-4 months in advance. Really?

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Food was good but not incredible. View and sound was very romantic... until the night cleaners came. They moved all the furniture and were cleaning while we and two other couples were still attempting to enjoy a romantic (and expensive dinnner). Very nice servers but ending like that was a little unprofessional. Especially for that caliber of restaurant. Would recommend an earlier seating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great food, view, entertainment, and service. Chef adapted dish for food allergies with no problem. We had great transition from each course with just the right time for stomach to settle. We all had a great time,thanks!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Live Music, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Every part of the Michele's experience is the fabric of memories. From the first greeting, to the subdued ambience and spectacular beachside view of sunset, everything combines to make a special evening. Top all that with first class food and a friendly, smiling wait staff, and the evening will linger long in your memory of special times.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.