Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About Michel's at the Colony Surf

Come and experience French fine-dining cuisine at its best at Hawaii's premier ocean front restaurant, voted "Most Romantic Restaurant" by "The Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous" on Oahu's Gold Coast.

2895 Kalakaua Avenue
Honolulu, HI 96815
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Reservation Times: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30PM

Cross Street:
Kapahulu

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 923-6552

Website:
http://www.michelshawaii.com/

Entertainment:
Nightly: Sunday - Thursday 6:30pm - 9:30pm
Friday - Saturday 6:30pm - 10:00pm
Two time Grammy award winner Jeff Peterson calls Michel's home on Wednesday, Thursday, Friday and Saturday's when he is home in Hawaii.

Catering:
The combination of food, service, ambiance and view make for an unforgettable event.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet is offered and there is also free metered parking on street after 6:00pm.

Executive Chef:
Eberhard Hardy Kintscher

Private Party Facilities:
We have several rooms we can use as private areas. It ranges from 12 - 150 people based on availability.

Private Party Contact:
Amber: (808) 728-3463

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Michel's at the Colony Surf Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (63)
Scenic View (59)
Good for Anniversaries (55)
See All
Waterfront (54)
Special Occasion (53)
Good for a Date (41)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Notable Wine List (28)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Tasting Menu (18)
Live Music (17)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Authentic (12)
Fun (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Cozy (10)
Good for Groups (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Business Meals (6)
Healthy (5)
People Watching (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Casual (3)
Historic (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Family Style (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Organic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Private Room (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
1772 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

Very good foods presentations and delicious high quality ingredients .
Staff and special manager outstanding guests service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

とても景色が良く、感動しました。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

The chef very graciously accommodated a special request to change the fish on the special of the day for the best meal I've ever eaten at Michel's. And our server, Shugy (pardon the misspelling) was superb. The setting, food, and service were exemplary! My only regret is that I can only dine at Michel's when I am vacationing in Honolulu.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

ハネムーンで利用しました。
お値段はすごく高い訳ではなく、おいしいお料理やサンセットが楽しめて最高でした!
行ってよかったです。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great service, outstanding ambience. At some beachside restaurants the view is the attraction. Here, the food is just as impressive. Service can be a tad slow on a busy night, but they make every effort to give you their personal attention . Caesar salad and lobster bisque are prepared table side.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Michel's is an institution of good taste and great food. It's a classic on the waterfront and one of the only places where I don't mind wearing slacks and shoes in Waikiki.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

家族のディナーで利用させて頂きました。
1年ぶりでしたが素晴らしい料理と雰囲気❗️
ありがとうございました。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Excellent service,ambience..I was on honeymoon,I appreciate the dessert on gift

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Birthday. Menu Took too long, service took too long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 2, 2017

the view from every table is outstanding for sunset. it was a birthday celebration and I booked a month ahead but I don't know why I didn't get a better table.. too bad. view and service are 5 star. food is really mediocre I thought but not bad in any way. dessert however (chocolate cake of some sort) was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

The food was great, the location and view was awesome but it just took bad service to trump the food and the experience. Makes you feel how over priced the venue really is...

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

The service and drinks were fantastic. Escargot, very well cooked but would have liked with maybe some Parmesan. The ahi tar tar was amazing. My husband had the lamb and I had procuitto wrapped mahi. Both were good but lacked some flavor. I think we could have gotten just as good of a meal for half the price.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 29, 2017

A true classic in Waikiki
One of the few places in the world where the food is as good as the view

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 29, 2017

This is a very special restaurant in a superb location right on the beach. The food was fabulous & would highly recommend Michael's at the Colony Surf.

Tags: Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 29, 2017

One of the best restaurant experiences we ever had. Service was outstanding, our waiter had been there over 30 years and made great suggestions . Fantastic food great ambiance, very romantic, even had fireworks what a wonderful evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Was the best dinning experiences we've had for a long time.
10 out 10 Craig and Susie

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Great Beer, Authentic, Live Music, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 25, 2017

What a wonderful evening! I had some friends join me for dinner and celebrated a girlfriends birthday. We were so lucky to get a window table. Our server Jay (I believe) was so attentive to us! Our waters were always topped off our wine was always refreshed. Our food was fantastic! Escargot, fois gras, lamb, duck all was delicious! We raved the whole evening! I would return in a heartbeat

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Outstanding menu selections. Gracious and attentive service. Excellent wine list selections.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

The food and the environment were terrific. We went on a Friday night around 7:30 and we were sat immediately even tough our reservation was not until 8. The server welcomed us and offered a cocktail. The Hilton fireworks stared at 8 and we had a great view. We then ordered the pre fix meal which was amazing. The reason I gave the food 4 stars instead of 5 was the size of the portions both for the food and accompanying wines. They were so small and I left wanting for more. Everything else about this restaurant is what you would want in a fine dinning establishment in wiakiki!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 20, 2017

夕陽がきれいに見えると聞き、予約しました。席は海側でしたが、お店の一番端で、私たちのテーブルのすぐ斜め横の外ではアザラシの親子を見に来た10人以上の人がいました。うるさいし、すぐ斜め横で食事をするのは非常に嫌でした。それがなければ、雰囲気も良いし、お料理もメニューを選べば、美味しいと思います。アワビを頼んだらちょっと生臭い鶏肉のようでした。給仕の人たちは感じがよかったです。
席のリクエストをちゃんとしておけば、また訪れてもよいと思えます。

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 18, 2017

On vacation in Oahu, and we had the best meal of all others at Michel's. Not only was the food and service outstanding, but we got a real treat by watching the monk seals lying on the beach. One, Rocky, had a pup. So cute!

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 17, 2017

We came to Michel's in 2011 and loved it then too. We had a fabulous time and nearing the end of our meal we saw Pierce Brosnan. He was casually enjoying himself. It was nice to see a celebrity not worrying about publicity. Nice, and very fancy/posh place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 13, 2017

景色が抜群で、しかも料理は美味しく、それでいて安い。 オープンテーブルで早めに予約するといい席が取れますよ。 で、今日はアザラシが上陸していて、目の前で見ることが出来て感激しましたよ。 ここは素晴らしいです。

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Fun, Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 13, 2017

As always the ambiance and the service are just impeccable. We were celebrating a birthday and they do such a great job of making it special without being overly ceremonious. This is a place locals know about but tend to forget and it really is a great place for any occasion. We all enjoyed everything about our dinner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 12, 2017

We remember Michel's from 10 yrs ago...slacks, shoes, socks, no shorts and no tank tops...used to be men had to wear dinner jackets. We arrived and got a beautiful ocean front table and had our pre-dinner cocktails. We noticed two Japanese couples with the men in shorts and shoes (no socks). I got up to inquire at the maitre'd desk had the website Dress Code changed recently (as I would've enjoyed wearing shorts for dinner). The Gen. Mgr. came over and explained the attire is now "resort casual" and he would update the website "Dress Code". Now, that all out of the way, food was phenomenal, service exceptional, and a wonderful evening overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Staff of restaurant (especially our server) was exceptional!!! Knowledge of dishes made our decision even easier to choose!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Excellent location on the water with excellent service from valet parking to your entire dining experience.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Came here both times in Hawaii. Wife and I think this is one of the best restaurants in Oahu.

Tags: Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Great as always!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Waterfront, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Amazing food, skilled tableside preparation, professional and friendly service. The escargot was very good.
We had an extremely enjoyable experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 4, 2017

旅行最終日に素敵なサンセットを期待して予約しました。とてもいい天気で期待通りでした。子連れにもかかわらず、良い席をすすめていただきました。当日予約の時間より少し遅れてしまいましたが、快くOKしていただき、良い時間をすごせました。
スタッフが目の前で調理をしていただくパフォーマンスや、子供への配慮などとてもよくしていただきました。そして独立記念日ということもあり、花火も見れて満足です。

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Dining at Michel's is always a pleasure. Chef Hardy is not only a talented chef, but so gracious in that he personally comes to the table to say thank you for dining at Michel's. His staff is very versatile and attentive to make ones dining there a special evening.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 3, 2017

A very special evening with outstanding service and fabulous food. While we weren't seated right in the window, all the tables have views due to the mirrored walls. We enjoyed the creative cocktails, including an awesome one with Hibiscus vodka, St Germain and an edible hibiscus flower. The tableside service added a nice touch. Caesar salad, a delightful Seafood in Papillote and my Steak Diane were all wonderful and we enjoyed the little theatre of the preparation. Our waiter Jason was well versed with the outstanding wine list and was able to help us make a great decision on a bottle. All in all a delight way to spend our anniversary. I highly recommend Michels.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Complimentary appetizer, complimentary dessert for my wife's birthday, great knowledgeable staff, Wine Pairing course is amazing, some really great wines

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Wow! This place has really gone downhill! You need to re-tool this place completely and start over. Felt like I was at Denny's with the tables crowded together, harried, over worked waiters, noise, and general lack of sophistication. I have been coming here for 30 years, and it is very sad to witness the death of an iconic restaurant like Michel's. so sad!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The open air dining right next to the beach was very nice. In the evening you can see the sunset and at night the Waikiki lights. Food was excellent... appetizers... ahi tartare, fresh oysters and their signature escargot were so delicious ... followed by entrees of the house special crusted mahi-mahi and pork shank... then to finish with Michel's famous table-side prepared cherry jubilee! Superb wine pairing as well. And of course great service. It was certainly a memorable evening for the 3 of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Killer view with food and prices to match. Mostly excellent service. Highly recommend and figure $100/person for three courses plus drinks.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Michel's has been our perennial favorite Oahu restaurant over the past few decades so we took my parents there for my dad's 87th birthday. The food was fantastic but the service was a bit less so this one night. It turned out that our server was also working another table at which a couple he knew well were dining and he was distracted, spending much more time at their table of 2 than at our table of 5. Our service suffered as a result. This is the first time the service has been less than superb, so we will definitely return when next we visit Oahu.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Scenic View, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Best restaurant we could find in the Waikiki area. Food was served correctly and the wine was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The food and service was amazing. The view is breathtaking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.