About Michel's at the Colony Surf

2895 Kalakaua Avenue
Honolulu, HI 96815
View Larger Map

Come and experience French fine-dining cuisine at its best at Hawaii's premier ocean front restaurant, voted "Most Romantic Restaurant" by "The Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous" on Oahu's Gold Coast.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Reservation Times: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30PM

Cross Street:
Kapahulu

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 923-6552

Website:
http://www.michelshawaii.com/

Entertainment:
Nightly: Sunday - Thursday 6:30pm - 9:30pm
Friday - Saturday 6:30pm - 10:00pm
Two time Grammy award winner Jeff Peterson calls Michel's home on Wednesday, Thursday, Friday and Saturday's when he is home in Hawaii.

Catering:
The combination of food, service, ambiance and view make for an unforgettable event.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet is offered and there is also free metered parking on street after 6:00pm.

Executive Chef:
Eberhard Hardy Kintscher

Private Party Facilities:
We have several rooms we can use as private areas. It ranges from 12 - 150 people based on availability.

Private Party Contact:
Amber: (808) 728-3463

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Amuse Bouche - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Roast Rack Of Venison - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Surf & Turf Starter - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Crepes Suzette - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
steak tartare - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Steamed Onaga - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Maker's Mark Old Fashion - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Oyster Platter - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Veal Osso Bucco Slowly Cooked With Marrow - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Desserts! - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Island Bouillabaisse - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Chef's Seafood Starter - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Lobster And Shrimp Thermidor - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Baked Red Snapper - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Kona Beef Carpaccio - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Cherry Jubilee - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Mahi Mahi En Papillote - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Baked Maui Onion Soup En Croute - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Pink Dragonfruit Sorbet - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Wine: Groth Reserve Cabernet - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Araujo Eisele Vineyard 2009 Cabernet - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Bananas Foster - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Prime New York Cafe De Paris - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Island Seafood Cioppino - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
mixed seafood platter - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Helix Escargot Bourgogne - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Pineapple Lilikoi Cheesecake - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Belvedere Martini - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Cherries Jubilee - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Tableside Cherries Jubilee - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Lobster Bisque - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Bananas Foster Flambee - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Salmon Saint Jacques - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Gold Coast Seafood Omelette - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Chocolate Decadence Cake - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Escargot - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Ahi Sashimi - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Ocean's Bounty - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Dark Chocolate Espresso Mousse - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Osso Bucco - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Steamed Rice - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Paniolo-Style Rib Eye Steak With Au Jus - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Dungenous Crab  - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Lobster Claw - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Oysters! - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Penfolds Grange - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Far Niente Chardonay - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Fresh Iced Oysters - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Chateauneuf Du Pape - Vieux Telegraph La Crau - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Michels' Late Harvest Pinot Noir - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Bloody Pele - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Hamachi - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
mango sorbet - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Molten Chocolate Cake with Raspberry Ice Cream - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
grand marnier souffle - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Swordfish Steak with Cream Sauce & Saffron Rice - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Michel's Caesar Salad - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
New York Café de Paris - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Dessert - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Courvoiier Vsop - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Treasures Of The Sea - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Chateauneuf Du Pape 2006 - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Creme Brulee - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Stuffed Onaga - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Strawberries Foie Gras Forever - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Strawberry Macadamia Nuts Cheesecake. - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Lobster Risotto - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Ahi Duo - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Maui Pineapple Cheesecake - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Grilled Chicken Romaine Salad - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Pan Fried Pork Chops - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Lobster Thermidor - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Kona Coffee Macadamia Nut Lamb Chops With Coconut Sweet Potato Purée And Asparagus - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Strawberries Flambe w/ Foie Gras & Tiramisu Ice Cream - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Steak Tartar - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
The Porterhouse Steak - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Beef Tenderloin Rossini - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Wilted Spinach Salad - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Seared Gravlax - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Sunset Daiquiri˜ - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Crab Cakes - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Seafood Salad - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Strawberries Flambe w/ Foie Gras - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Lobster Bisque Flambe - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Maui Onion Soup - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Steak - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Duck L'Orange - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Bison - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI

Michel's at the Colony Surf Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (49)
Waterfront (43)
Romantic (42)
See All
Scenic View (40)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Good for a Date (35)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Live Music (19)
Worth the Drive (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Outstanding Value (10)
Authentic (9)
Historic (9)
Cozy (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Fun (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Business Meals (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Seasonal (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
People Watching (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Private Room (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Healthy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1604 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent service and yummy food, server ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent service and yummy food, servers were highly professional and class A service

Tags: , Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience. Get the table-side ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing experience. Get the table-side options off of the menu - you will not regret it. Be sure to make a reservation that coincides with the sunset time to take full advantage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the most beautiful restaurants en ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

One of the most beautiful restaurants enhanced by a magnificent view of Waikiki. Classic cuisine with refined service. A gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

FABULOUS! Really a special place right ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

FABULOUS! Really a special place right on the ocean! Our family had a wonderful experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall dinner was very good. We first ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Overall dinner was very good. We first dined at Michel's in the early 80s. We were very surprised that the restaurant still exist when we back to Honolulu two years ago and recently dined last Thursday. Everything went well however there was a slight incident but the restaurant immediately corrected the situation.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The menu items that include tableside se ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 11, 2017

The menu items that include tableside service were very special. We also enjoyed the guitar music provided by a very talented Hawaiian performer. Quite a special evening.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and very accommodating ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Excellent service and very accommodating. Food and presentation excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining at Michel's was a great experienc ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Dining at Michel's was a great experience. The wait staff was highly trained and the menu offered a variety of upscale selections; the beverage offering was extensive. The restaurant hospitality was impeccable.

However, wait help had some challenges with order of food and drinks i.e. wrong wine, coffee instead of cappuccino, and chocolate cake instead of soufflé (guest of honor ordered soufflé ahead of time).

Although there were challenges with the food order, our waiter "Troy and Kaiyrn" exceeded my expectations at Michel's. My dining experience was enjoyable and the overall experience at Michel's was favorable.

Aloha,

Laura Ezaki

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

景色はビーチ側の席なら良い。接客もまあまあ悪くない。ただ料理は美味しいとは言えな ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 7, 2017

景色はビーチ側の席なら良い。接客もまあまあ悪くない。ただ料理は美味しいとは言えない。

評判のロブスターのビスクも味がボヤけているし、旨味が上手く出し切れていない。味のバランスが悪い。

アイスハーベストオブザシーはスーパーの特売品の刺身レベル。むしろOXで売ってる刺身の方が美味いかもしれない。メインディッシュのステーキもミディアムレアで注文したのに焼きすぎ。ソースもとにかく味のバランス感が悪い。下拵えが雑。要するに料理が下手。

普段フレンチを食べ慣れてない人がハワイに来て良い景色の中でそれなりのサービス、盛り付けで出された料理を美味しいと言って食べる店。そもそもフレンチとは言えない。味を求めていく店ではない。

ドレスコード御構い無しの日本人団体客が居たのが同じ日本人として恥ずかしかった。味は不味いが行くのであればそれなりの格好で行ってほしい。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

17時半に予約をしたので、丁度サンセットが見れて良かったです。 お食事はサービス ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 6, 2017

17時半に予約をしたので、丁度サンセットが見れて良かったです。

お食事はサービスのタイミングが空きすぎていて時間がかかり、オーシャンフロントなので時間が経つにつれ風も強まり、寒くなってしまったのが残念でした。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

We were here for New Year's eve dinner. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were here for New Year's eve dinner. They had a set menu and all four courses were awesome. The ambience of this restaurant is fantastic. We arrived right before sunset and as the meal progressed the room got a warmer glow becoming more intimate. The service was impeccable. What a great way to bring in the new year. Would highly recommend this experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awful! The manager is rude and insolent ...

 
 (Beijing)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Awful! The manager is rude and insolent with a huge ego. We will never go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

本当においしかったです。 ハワイでおいしものはあまり食べられないから。感動です。 ...

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on December 30, 2016

本当においしかったです。

ハワイでおいしものはあまり食べられないから。感動です。

ビスクも美味しくいただきました。なんと、スフレまではたどり着けずデザートは断念。ただ、最高のひと時を過ごさせていただきました。ハワイの中でトップ10には絶対に入るお店。

美味しいものリスト

Lobster bisque

Michels ocean bounty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

My parents visited Hawaii for two weeks ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 28, 2016

My parents visited Hawaii for two weeks and they ate a lot of fancy restaurants. We went to Michel's for my mom's birthday. She absolutely loves it. The food was outstanding but it was the overall experience that won us over. Lovely staff, great nighttime view of the Waikiki skyline and such a cozy warm ambiance. Would pick Michel's over fancy (fancier) places like chef mavro for example which had good food but was overpriced and lacked the personal friendly touch of Michel's

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is very good Server is very kind Se ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Food is very good

Server is very kind

Service is very good

View of the restrant is very beautiful,especially sunset

I am diying to visit there again

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

treated my sister visiting Hawaii to an ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 28, 2016

treated my sister visiting Hawaii to an early birthday dinner. which we thoroughly enjoyed from the Spinach salad to the steaks... it is my 2nd time at Michel's so I have put them one of the top restaurants that I enjoy for special occasions or visitors.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall it was good. I rate the service ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Overall it was good. I rate the service recovery as Excellent due to the fact that there were a couple of oversights. Special chef appetizer and intermezzo was a very nice touch. The waiter did comp our missing item along with the dessert but I guess my expectations far exceeded the experience and therefore did not justify the price. There was really nothing the waiter could do with the oversights but I did feel that he was less than excited to be there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Christmas Eve and there was a fabulous ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas Eve and there was a fabulous classical guitarist playing and the ambiance was amazing. Food delicious. One of the best dining experiences my family has ever had eating out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

残念ながら窓際の席ではありませんしたが、日没をゆっくり眺めながら夕食をいただく事 ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 24, 2016

残念ながら窓際の席ではありませんしたが、日没をゆっくり眺めながら夕食をいただく事が出来ました。

サービスも量はいただけないからとお願いしたところ、いろいろと美味しいものをシェアしていただく事が出来ました。

また、行きたいレストランです。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unbeatable atmosphere with all great vie ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Unbeatable atmosphere with all great views of the ocean and the sound of the surf. The staff treat us very well each visit. They have a great wine and drink menu. Oysters and cold seafood appetizer were outstanding. My New York steak was good but not great. Crepe Suzette was a good show for dessert. We will return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Themenu and food was very disappointing ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Themenu and food was very disappointing Have been to this restaurant at least 10 times and won't be returning

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Excellent food, atmosphere, and ambience ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Excellent food, atmosphere, and ambience. The restaurant didn't notice the one thing I put on my OpenTable profile which was that I am allergic to mango and to warn me if there was any mango in any of the dishes. The delicious warm seafood salad had two bright big slices of mango on it. I put this on my profile because I don't always remember to mention it yet it seems to turn up unexpectedly.

The waiters need to learn a little discretion. When the waiter asked if this was our first time here my date innocently answered "Yes" which should've been enough but then he turned to me and asked "and you sir?" Being recently divorced this was an uncomfortable admission that my date was gracious enough to laugh with me about later. Then when presented with a bill for $176 I dropped two hundred dollar bills to which the waiter asked if I wanted change. You don't ask that! You bring the change and let me decide on your tip! I actually didn't want change but I can see any other customer being uncomfortable with the pressure. Not cool. Please hold a meeting with your waitstaff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Thanks David for an excellent experience ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Thanks David for an excellent experience ! Food was amazing and ambience was gorgeous. Thank you again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We come to O'aho twice a year. Each time ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We come to O'aho twice a year. Each time we make sure to go to Muchel's. Request a table at waterside (we like '#21 or #31 for four). Look up the sunset time arrive half hour before. Bring your camera or phone. I always have the abalone and cherries jubilee for dessert. Decent wine list although we bring a nice bottle of champs and a white burgundy. I did see two guests sharing a generous roast of rib eye cooked to perfection. We also had the seafood bounty for dinner - unbelievably good. Our servier was very nice, but this time we experienced unusual delays between courses. But, you are just about eating on the besch so not a care. Enjoy. $$$

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My girlfriends & I have been coming to M ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 15, 2016

My girlfriends & I have been coming to Michel's for over 10 years to celebrate a birthday & early Christmas. We always get a table by the "window" for the beautiful view. Michel's service, food, & ambiance are always top notch! We will be back next year!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing location if you get there in tim ...

 
 (London)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Amazing location if you get there in time for the sunset. Service not up to standard though.

Parked car with valet as other parking was not clear to me. Valet did not point us in the direction of the restaurant but we did find it. We were greeted at the door but then escorted to our table by a rather shabby looking guy who walked ahead of us with both hands in his pockets. The waiter came to explain the specials but even though I asked him to talk louder and more slowly I could not really make out what he was saying -- he mumbled and rushed his role. We asked for a somellier to help us choose wine. After 5 minutes the waiter came back and said the somellier was busy and the waiter would help us (he did an ok job actually). The food then arrived - I ordered steak diane which was cooked (finished) in front of us. That was all good but as the trolly arrived with the steak diane, my wife was given her main course (hot pasta) and our guest his main course. So we had to wait 5 minutes while they prepared my main course. Bizzare timing. My wifes pasta was way to hot and spicy.

The food overall was ok but you don't go there for the food or the service. You go there as it has the most amazing sunsets you will ever see. Try to get a table at the front/beachside when you book. Arrive BEFORE the sunset, not like the twits who sat next to us who arrived 10 minutes late!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Michel's is Always on point for fine, fu ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Michel's is Always on point for fine, fun dinning.

Escargot are the best ever. The Maui onion soup is a must. Steak Diane is ok. Get the New York.

Any steam fish is delicious.

There is no place on Hawaii with better ambience.

Do not be in a hurry.

The bar is fun too.

A+

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always lovely view, service and food. Or ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Always lovely view, service and food. Ordered Chef Hardy's special of the evening of MahiMahi. It was tender and flavoring was not over powering so that you could still taste the fish. Great Caesar salad with anchovies and Spinach salad prepared at your table. The smoked salmon with capers was a terrific appetizer. Highly recommend this classic restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was phenomenal. Service was excelle ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Food was phenomenal. Service was excellent. It is pricey but a great spot for a special occasion! Romantic sea side ambiance!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Live Music, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the open air on the water. Beautifu ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Love the open air on the water. Beautiful ambiance. The dinner and service was excellent. Would recommend for a romantic evening or a great group of friends. You could try more dishes and share. Will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was excellent from the valet ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 7, 2016

The service was excellent from the valet to the waiters. The food - a different story - my steak was not good at all. I ordered/ wanted a filet MR and got two slim pieces, mealey in texture with some kind of sauce on top. not good. I did not raise a fuss as everything else was lovely AND I didn't want my friend eating alone while I waited for something else then have to eat alone, too. What happened to the wonderful steak with bernaise sause that you used to have?! The steak was expensive, it was not good in taste, texture, appearance or size. What I thought I ordered was filet MR which would have been .5 to .75 of an inch high, grilled to perfection plus butter or your bernaise sauce. instead, the steak was cut in half horizontally and looked/tasted like it had spaghetti sauce on it. Plus, it was of a grainy or mealy texture. very disappointing. everything else was lovely. I tried to like the steak but just couldn't. I don't care about it flaming at my table, would prefer it to taste good/wonderful - like the "old days" steak you used to serve.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

I have attended this place many times be ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 6, 2016

I have attended this place many times before in the last 20 years. It is now living on it's reputation. My waiter had to be on his first day on the job. He did not know how to make the simplest items.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

An old gem with a dated menu soon to cha ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 5, 2016

An old gem with a dated menu soon to change hands. Great ambiance but $30 for two cups of decaf a bit much.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Great location, view, service and food!! ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great location, view, service and food!! Had a great time definitely coming back again! Thanks!

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Sunset over the beach combined with fabu ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Sunset over the beach combined with fabulous food and service. Very friendly, but non-obtrusive wait staff. We think it can't be beat and have come here for years tio celebrate various things!

One very minor thing to suggest improving. The tea drinker at our table was surprised that no assortment of teas was offered. Tea tasted like boring old Lipton's. We're green tea drinkers. Too bad as follow up to such great wines and food selection for the rest of the meal.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was at least my 30th dining at Mich ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 1, 2016

This was at least my 30th dining at Michel's, it is by far my favorite for special occasions. The GM, Phillip, is very welcoming and shows his appreciation to his guests. He is an excellent GM and you can tell he cares about the guest's experience. The executive chef, "Hardy" is a fantastic food magician. Many years of experience has paid off as the taste, the preparation, the quality of the food is outstanding. The servers are best at their craft, we had the table side preparation Caesar's Salad, the always wonderful Chateaubriand and to top it all off, the Cherries Jubilee. Our server was especially charming and all the others work so well as a team to make sure your dining with them is memorable. I've recommended it hundreds of times to friends and business partners and they thanked me over and over. Enjoy! Bon Apatite!

Tags: Historic, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Cozy, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit to Michel's an ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 1, 2016

This was our second visit to Michel's and it was equally wonderful both times. The service was impeccable and the food was excellent. It is on the pricey side but is worth every penny and not out of line with other Honolulu fine dining spots! The view of the sunset is without equal!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Live Music, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the last of a few remaining legen ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 30, 2016

One of the last of a few remaining legendary fine dining restaurants in Oahu. Always a pleasure to dine here. But wish they still had the old bar that could accommodate at least more than the few seats they have now. But they still manage to accommodate us at a small table when we're coming for cocktails and pupus when we're not dining there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Despite the rating of fair for food and ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Despite the rating of fair for food and service I would still recommend because it is such a beautiful setting. There were 6 of us and one person ordered a medium well done steak and it came rare and also late in comparison to the rest of our dinners. Also the wine arrived well after dinner was served. It's obvious there is a problem with kitchen staff.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

The most romantic restaurant on Oahu. M ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 28, 2016

The most romantic restaurant on Oahu. Make sure you reserve and arrive before sunset. The view is exquisite. The food and service are outstanding. Excellent wine list.

Tags: Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.