Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About Michel's at the Colony Surf

Come and experience French fine-dining cuisine at its best at Hawaii's premier ocean front restaurant, voted "Most Romantic Restaurant" by "The Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous" on Oahu's Gold Coast.

2895 Kalakaua Avenue
Honolulu, HI 96815
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Reservation Times: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30PM

Cross Street:
Kapahulu

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 923-6552

Website:
http://www.michelshawaii.com/

Entertainment:
Nightly: Sunday - Thursday 6:30pm - 9:30pm
Friday - Saturday 6:30pm - 10:00pm
Two time Grammy award winner Jeff Peterson calls Michel's home on Wednesday, Thursday, Friday and Saturday's when he is home in Hawaii.

Catering:
The combination of food, service, ambiance and view make for an unforgettable event.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet is offered and there is also free metered parking on street after 6:00pm.

Executive Chef:
Eberhard Hardy Kintscher

Private Party Facilities:
We have several rooms we can use as private areas. It ranges from 12 - 150 people based on availability.

Private Party Contact:
Amber: (808) 728-3463

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Michel's at the Colony Surf Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (57)
Special Occasion (54)
Scenic View (52)
See All
Good for a Date (51)
Good for Anniversaries (49)
Waterfront (47)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Notable Wine List (21)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Live Music (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Historic (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Authentic (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Cozy (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
People Watching (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Business Meals (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Fun (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Family Style (3)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
 (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
 (1)
Healthy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Private Room (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
S
1679 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 3 days ago

ハネムーンの最終日に妻の誕生日のディナーとして予約してました。
窓際のオープンな雰囲気も開放的で食事も景色も最高でした。サプライズにお願いしていたバースデーデザートもサービスで用意してくださって妻に喜んでもらえました。
目の前で焼いてくれたロブスターとティボーンステーキは絶品でした。店員さんも紳士的でホスピタリティーの最高峰を垣間見ました。当日はあいにくの雨だったので、また次は夕日の綺麗な日に寄りたいです。

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Great super friendly and forthcoming service. Food was ok for the money. Views were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Sunday Brunch was wonderful as usual. However, our server did not introduce himself to us, didn't inform us of the corkage fee, and lastly, dessert was disappointing due to the choice of serving the mousse in a tall wine glass.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Once again we had a great dining experience at Michels. We celebrated birthdays (as we usually do at Michels). The food, service and ambience were perfect. What a great place to catch the beachside sunset. Chef Hardy stopped by our table to say hello and talk cars for a few minutes. Phillip and his dining room staff gave their usual attentive service. We look forward to going again for our anniversary.

Tags: , Waterfront, , , , , , , , , , ,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Always great service, great and creative food, and great views

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Newcastle)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Tasting menu and ambience fantastic ! Beachside table delightful.
Staff were friendly but we did feel a little rushed as courses were brought to the table before the previous one had been finished . Was genuinely shocked at being charged $15 for a cup of coffee !

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Michel's is one of my favorite restaurants in the world. I have been to Hawaii six times, and a trip here would not be complete without experiencing dinner at Michel's. The ambience, food and service are all excellent and leave you with fantastic memories of Paradise!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I have been here maybe a half dozen times and love the atmosphere and views looking back to Waikiki. The food is good but seems to have declined a bit compared to previous visits. The escargots would have been better served in the traditional manner. The Steak Diane was lackluster. We were disappointed in that several wines recommended were ultimately out of stock. The $100 bottle we did have was disappointing. Maybe it was an off night.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Everything was fine other then the excessive time between courses. We've went to restaurants where the wine pairings were explained which was really nice and interesting.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 5, 2017

This was our second time at Michel's and we would go back for the ambiance and proximity to our hotel. We had mixed experiences with the food. My husband had a delicious veal special, and I had a fish dish that was served in a broth and lacked flavors of ginger and sesame mentioned on the menu (seeing that I'd eaten a small portion, our waiter credited the charge). The menu seems to be geared to the flambé specials and diners who want this flair.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 4, 2017

I have been coming here for over 35 years and honestly this was a terrible experience. After we were seated, it took forever before we saw anyone for water, drinks or placed an order... when they arrive to take the order they were very unprofessional, almost rude. Ordered the 3 pound maine lobster but the waiter couldn't make it flame, kept trying for so long, after so much alcohol poured on it it,was just awful. It went back to the kitchen to be fixed but never came back. Steak Diane was very good as well as the escargot.
My wife is completely finished with her meal and my main entrée had yet to come to the table... Service was just way way off. Do not recommend ordering the lobster, especially for that price...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 2, 2017

First time to visit Michele's in celebration of Hubby's birthday. Oceanfront table, open air with killer sunset view. Ambiance cannot be beat.

Service was good and quite attentive. We enjoyed the tableside lobster bisque as well as the flambé bananas foster dessert. It's always fun to have the tableside service. Hubby ordered a surf & turf entrée that included a filet, which he ordered "medium." The steak was quite rare - a deep red rather than pink - so we asked that it be cooked a little more. We should have simply given the server the steak on a separate plate so that he could enjoy the rest of his dinner. Entire fresh dinner was returned - but the steak again was a deep red. Decided to simply eat the outsides of the steak - which was cooked a bit more than the center - and enjoy the rest as leftovers during the week. Waiter walked back by and even commented that the steak was NOT medium. I had ordered a seafood plate which was delicious and served with large enough portions to be able to enjoy some as leftovers.

Although the steak was a bit frustrating, I was surprised and pleased to note a partial credit on the bill when it came. We had not asked for it, so were pleased by the gesture.

As we were celebrating his birthday, hubby received a complimentary dessert served with a lighted candle. Always a nice touch. We opted to save this dessert for later as we had already ordered the bananas foster.

Bottom line, you cannot beat the ambiance. Service was attentive. Next time hubby may opt for seafood and stick to a steakhouse for his filet.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Everything was just perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We were celebrating the birthday of a good friend as well as expressing our appreciation to him and his wife for their faithful partnership in one of the ministries of our church.
From the valet, to the receptionist who seated us, to our "busgirl", to our fabulous waiter Brian, and the manager who I remember from when I used to bring my sales managers and clients to impress them with the view, the service, and always a wonderful meal (thank you Chef Hardy), Michele's did not disappoint! We had a great evening.
Thank you for keeping the standard high and for offering a warm and intimate environment to talk story and enjoy a great meal. See you soon!

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Historic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We had a lovely evening during our latest visit to Honolulu. We are repeat customers from LA and try to visit annually! Can't ask for a better location, wonderful service and delicious food!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 26, 2017

It was an amazing and fun dinner. Our waiter Shigue and also the manager gave us a good compliments. They both really entertain us very well. I'm looking forward of having them both again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Good salads, lobster bisque, but low score with the chateaubriand. Great atmosphere and service. I would return but would order seafood based dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Michel's is the best dinner for honeymooners.
The waiters give us a confortable place and enjoyable time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 23, 2017

One of the best dinners we have ever had. The view is outstanding, service friendly and very knowledgeable, food was delicious and you were never made to feel rushed. This was a dinner to remember. A very special occasion type of place. The cost was high but worth it for a very nice over all experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 21, 2017

upon my arrival the hostess lead me to a table right at the window i could not have asked for a better spot , made my night

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

This was my wife's 66 birthday and nine members of my family's first visit to Hawaii. I wanted to share with them what I considered to be one of the best fine dining places in Honolulu. I had requested a table by the window which I know is not guaranteed but I was very disappointed when they stuck us in a corner in the dining room that was looking out through very dirty windows. One of the great attributes of Michels is the open view of Honolulu. We were the one table that did not have this view. When I ordered the lobster bisque and escargot the waiter tried to serve them both at the same time, only to him wanting to leave the bisque on the table to cool while I ate the escargot. He finally said he would bring it back and serve me when I finished my escargot. I must admit at that point the service seemed to take a step up. The rest of the meal went much smoother.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Our waiter though I can't remember his name was funny and excellent. One of the best waiters I have ever had in Hawaii. It is always a pleasure to have dinner here and it is always a please to be welcomed year after year by the head man Phil! Thanks for a great evening- Tom and Tony

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Authentic, People Watching, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Outstanding food and service and a great view to watch the sunset. Wines a bit pricey.Will return.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 12, 2017

ALTHOUGH BORN AND RAISED ON OAHU, I HAVE NEVER BEEN TO THIS RESTAURANT. WE WERE GIVEN A GIFT CERTIFICATE THAT WAS TO EXPIRE SOON. BEING THAT MY 13TH WEDDING ANNIVERSARY WAS DAYS AWAY, WE SAW AN OPPORTUNITY TO STEP OUTSIDE OF OUR COMFORT ZONE. THE AMBIANCE IS WONDERFUL AND I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THE LIGHTING! THE ENTIRE STAFF WAS AMAZING, ESPECIALLY OUR SERVER BRIAN! HE MADE THE ENTIRE EXPERIENCE FOR US NEWBIES MEMORABLE! THE FOOD IS IMPECCABLE BUT MAY I SAY THE DESSERTS IS OUT OF THIS WORLD!! WE WILL DEFINITELY BE DINING AT MICHELS AGAIN! PLEASE THOUGH, OUR HATS OFF TO BRIAN! HE IS THE MAIN REASON WE WILL BE RETURNING!!

MAHALO,
SHEANA AND FAMILY

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Live Music, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Excellent, excellent! Never fails to present the finest in dining. Unpretentious, professional service. Wonderful location looking down the shore to Waikiki.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Extremely outdated decor and ambiance made us nervous upon arrival. The amus bouche of eggplant consume was bland, the salad was scarce and boring and way overpriced. But our entrees (we chose ala carte from the tasting menu, thank you kitchen staff for allowing this) scallops in coconut curry sauce and duck were both memorable. It being a beach for the condo building that it shares occupancy with did take away from the amazing open air dining room with sunset views.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Met or exceeded expectations. A delightful evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Happy with everything, ask for a dinner closet to the water and they delivered! Sunset and food topped it off, thanks michels

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 9, 2017

ドリンクのサービスがとても遅いオーダーした後一皿の料理が終わるまでドリンクが来なかった、以前はサービスも良かったが残念

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 8, 2017

2度目の来店です。
2人で行きましたがロブスターが大きすぎました。
英語ができないので何を言っているのか伝わらずもう少し小さいのが良かったです。
磯臭くて味はあまり良くなかったです。
その後に出てきたお肉も大きすぎて残してしまいました。
脂身が多くて残念でした。
前菜のマグロのタルタルとエスカルゴは美味しかったです。
もう少し英語力を身につけて次は楽しみたいです。

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 8, 2017

We have gone to Michel's many times and enjoyed the food, ambience and service. This time, however, we were disappointed with the Grand Marnier Soufflé.
We had three orders and though it was not ordered when we placed our dinner selections, we understood that it would take a minimum of 20 minutes. When it came, the soufflé was barely an inch high and the creme anglaise was lumpy. It was NOT the soufflé that Michel's is known for!
That was a big disappointment that evening. For the amount that is charged, that was not acceptable. It is our hope that the pastry chef would take greater pride in his desserts!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Put in a reservation for 5:30 pm with hopes of getting a seaside table. Got their at 5:35 and all seaside tables were taken, so get there before 5:30...

The view was spectacular and Kyle provided impeccable service.

We ordered the opakapaka and lobster newburg/beef oscar, good but not close to being great.

The complimentary dessert for our anniversary was great.

Overall it was good but a bit disappointing. I would try it once but probably will try others places before contemplating going back.

Parking entrance a bit confusing, do not go up the ramp, take the driveway before it.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 2, 2017

The food was really excellent and the wait staff was exceptional. A very wonderful experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 2, 2017

日本人のスタッフさんがいて、安心して食事できました。
当日は雨が降っており、景色だけは心残りです…

食事も美味しく、お店の雰囲気も素敵でしたので、晴れた日にまた来店したいと思えるお店です!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 1, 2017

We ordered lobster bisque and sent it back. It had absolutely no flavor. The shrimp cocktail was excellent.
Our main course was ok.
The service was good, but for a. Dry pricey meal, very disappointing.
Tables by the water are lovely.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Great location, good service and excellent food. Highly recommended ( not only for special occasions ). Will be back for sure, like we have for the last 30 years.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Our third time to Oahu and third time to Michel's - always a wonderful dinner and the sunsets are just breathtaking!

Tags: Live Music, Waterfront, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Had a wonderful time @ Michel's. Food was cooked perfectly and the tableside service for our banana foster dessert was fun (thanks Troy)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Everyone was very pleasant and very helpful. I'm glad I selected Michel's to celebrate my 25th wedding anniversary!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Amazing.....you do everything right!
Please, don't change anything.
Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.