About Michel's at the Colony Surf

Come and experience French fine-dining cuisine at its best at Hawaii's premier ocean front restaurant, voted "Most Romantic Restaurant" by "The Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous" on Oahu's Gold Coast.

2895 Kalakaua Avenue
Honolulu, HI 96815
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Reservation Times: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30PM

Cross Street:
Kapahulu

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 923-6552

Website:
http://www.michelshawaii.com/

Entertainment:
Nightly: Sunday - Thursday 6:30pm - 9:30pm
Friday - Saturday 6:30pm - 10:00pm
Two time Grammy award winner Jeff Peterson calls Michel's home on Wednesday, Thursday, Friday and Saturday's when he is home in Hawaii.

Catering:
The combination of food, service, ambiance and view make for an unforgettable event.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet is offered and there is also free metered parking on street after 6:00pm.

Executive Chef:
Eberhard Hardy Kintscher

Private Party Facilities:
We have several rooms we can use as private areas. It ranges from 12 - 150 people based on availability.

Private Party Contact:
Amber: (808) 728-3463

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Michel's at the Colony Surf Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (59)
Romantic (53)
Scenic View (52)
See All
Waterfront (49)
Good for Anniversaries (48)
Good for a Date (48)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Worth the Drive (20)
Live Music (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Historic (15)
Cozy (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Authentic (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Outstanding Value (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Tasting Menu (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Fun (6)
Business Meals (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Comfort Food (4)
People Watching (4)
Modern Decor (2)
Family Style (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Seasonal (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Private Room (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1639 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

Had a wonderful time @ Michel's. Food was cooked perfectly and the tableside service for our banana foster dessert was fun (thanks Troy)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

Everyone was very pleasant and very helpful. I'm glad I selected Michel's to celebrate my 25th wedding anniversary!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing.....you do everything right!

Please, don't change anything.

Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (東京)·Dined 4 days ago

I have forgotten the plate dessert to have been ordered

But Hospitality was good

I enjoyed it very much.

I'd love to go again.

Tags: Waterfront, Live Music, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

父の定年退職祝いで利用しました。

最後にサプライズケーキも用意してくれるなど、細やかやサービスもありとても素敵な1日を過ごせました。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent Service!

Great Food!

Luckily the large party finished when we were seated. We had the entire back room to ourselves! ;)

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 7 days ago

Exceptional everything! Just a great evening!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 7 days ago

友人達とハワイを満喫し、最終日の特別なディナーとして訪問させて頂きました。予約する際、要望の欄に海辺に近い席をと書きました。すると要望通りにすぐ海辺の席を予約されててとても嬉しかったです。また、日本語メニューもあり、おすすめなどわかりやすく説明して頂けました。旅を大満足な状態で締めくくることができ、嬉しかったです。

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 7 days ago

サンセットディナーで利用しました。

雰囲気は最高!

予約時、お店中央の席をリクエストしたほうが、海が見渡せると思います。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food was great. Portions a little small!!! The service was good but our waiter had zero personality and didnt speak english well. The power went out in the middle of dinner and nobody came around to inform us of the situation or offer more light. Could not even read the dessert menu and finished our dinner in the dark. Nobody apologized for the inconvenience or even mentioned it for that matter as if thats a normal thing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 18, 2017

It wasn't the restaurants fault as far as we know, but the power went out. The only complaint I have is actually for Open Table as it would not allow us to try and book another table as it thought we were trying to double book.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We went to Michel's on the recommendation of friends who live in Honolulu. The restaurant is open on one side to the ocean. The beach is just a few yards away so you see people enjoying the beach. Early in the evening we saw a bridal party taking pictures. Then when it turned dark we enjoyed the fireworks that are on the beach in front of the Hawaiian Village hotel. A very nice evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We usually love going to Michele's, great service, beautiful views and exceptional food. This time the dishes were not up to their usual standards. Our main course was over cooked (fish) and undercooked (steak). Drinks, salads and desserts were great.

We hope next time will be better.

Bummed out it wasn't what we expected this time.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Outstanding service with a fantastic view. A large number of excellent choices on the menu. High points for taste,presentation,texture,and temperature. We will be going back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Beautiful atmosphere as the sun sets over the ocean. Delicious food and amazing service. You will not be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 14, 2017

まず、お店に入った瞬間に感動する。

そして、格式高いお店だけど気取らずに居心地が非常に良い。

料理のペースがだいぶゆっくりな所は気になりましたが、その分、もう、時間を気にしずに贅沢な時間を過ごせました。

予約時間は迷いましたが、2月中旬に行って18時予約でちょうど綺麗なサンセットが見れました!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Cozy, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food was delicious! Wait service was excellent.

But I was disappointed & our special dinner occasion started out on a sour note since we were not able to get a window seat to the view the unobstructed sunset even though I made my reservations 2 weeks in advanced.

Plus, we arrived 15 min before restaurant opened & was 3rd in line. Two couples in front of us got window seats, but we were denied. Also, the couple behind us got a window seat. We were told by a manager that window seats require reservations 3-4 months in advance. Really?

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Food was good but not incredible. View and sound was very romantic... until the night cleaners came. They moved all the furniture and were cleaning while we and two other couples were still attempting to enjoy a romantic (and expensive dinnner). Very nice servers but ending like that was a little unprofessional. Especially for that caliber of restaurant. Would recommend an earlier seating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great food, view, entertainment, and service. Chef adapted dish for food allergies with no problem. We had great transition from each course with just the right time for stomach to settle. We all had a great time,thanks!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Live Music, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Every part of the Michele's experience is the fabric of memories. From the first greeting, to the subdued ambience and spectacular beachside view of sunset, everything combines to make a special evening. Top all that with first class food and a friendly, smiling wait staff, and the evening will linger long in your memory of special times.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Great food and experience. A little pricey but worth it.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Amazing views, delicious seafood. YOu have to try the sea snails! Delicious

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We had a mm excellent date night experience! Beautiful view from any seat in the restaurant, excellent service, and it is all about the experience. So nice to have the evenings slowed down and having a two and a half hour great time and even caught some Friday night fireworks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Worst service ever! Completely ignored for 90 minutes. Had 2 drinks the whole time before we decided to leave. No menu given and had to ask for them after 30 mins. Ordered appetizer of seafood platter and did not get them till 60 mins after we ordered and only because I had to ask where our food was. Manager was completely unprofessional. When platter came out, the seafood that was on ice was room temperature. We complained and left. Felt like they did not care about us and told them so and they did not care. Made my girlfriend's birthday a horrible experience. Even the server working there said the place couldn't handle the amount of people there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 1, 2017

If you only do one super dinner, go here. Ask for a window table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 1, 2017

A disastrous evening at a restaurant which I used to love.

Amuse Bouche arrives at 7:10 pm while we were seared at 6 pm. One onion soup missing and had to be made belatedly. Poor guest with the missing onion soup then receives a chicken dish that is so salty it is inedible. To finish, a mistake on the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 31, 2017

スタッフの方のお気遣いがとても良かったです。まともに英語も話せなかったのですが、丁寧に対応していただき、楽しく食事をすることができました。

お料理もとても美味しくボリュームがあり、2人でシェアして食べても3品でお腹いっぱいになりました。

また機会があれば是非行きたいです。

周りの人にも紹介したいお店となりました。

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Fun, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Haven't been there for awhile. Celebrated 10th anniversary.

Excellent food and overall dining experience. We'll be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Any visit to Honolulu...creates the opportunity to enjoy Michel's which rolls into one ball the best of the Hawaiian islands . Royce, our server was sensational. I have been coming to Michel's for 35 years . If you find yourself in Honolulu get to Michels on Diamond Head.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Michels is a fine restaurant. The food and service are what you expect. The ambiance just around sunset is pure Hawaii. It's an expensive treat and you get what you pay for.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Historic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 24, 2017

夕日が本当に綺麗で感動的なディナーになりました。ロケーション最高です。

トイレもすごくこだわりがあってゆっくりしてしまいました。

接客も満足です。ありがとうございました。

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 23, 2017

NEVER DISSAPOINTS. Oahu's best marriage of dining and location.

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Probably the best meal and service I have ever had. Wonderful view, great ambiance, expensive

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Outstanding as usual. Fabulous options and a view that can't be beat. Romantic. Fun. Perfect setting. Outstanding service.

Tags: Historic, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Excellent service and yummy food, servers were highly professional and class A service

Tags: Outstanding Value, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Amazing experience. Get the table-side options off of the menu - you will not regret it. Be sure to make a reservation that coincides with the sunset time to take full advantage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 18, 2017

One of the most beautiful restaurants enhanced by a magnificent view of Waikiki. Classic cuisine with refined service. A gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 16, 2017

FABULOUS! Really a special place right on the ocean! Our family had a wonderful experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Overall dinner was very good. We first dined at Michel's in the early 80s. We were very surprised that the restaurant still exist when we back to Honolulu two years ago and recently dined last Thursday. Everything went well however there was a slight incident but the restaurant immediately corrected the situation.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 11, 2017

The menu items that include tableside service were very special. We also enjoyed the guitar music provided by a very talented Hawaiian performer. Quite a special evening.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Excellent service and very accommodating. Food and presentation excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Dining at Michel's was a great experience. The wait staff was highly trained and the menu offered a variety of upscale selections; the beverage offering was extensive. The restaurant hospitality was impeccable.

However, wait help had some challenges with order of food and drinks i.e. wrong wine, coffee instead of cappuccino, and chocolate cake instead of soufflé (guest of honor ordered soufflé ahead of time).

Although there were challenges with the food order, our waiter "Troy and Kaiyrn" exceeded my expectations at Michel's. My dining experience was enjoyable and the overall experience at Michel's was favorable.

Aloha,

Laura Ezaki

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 7, 2017

景色はビーチ側の席なら良い。接客もまあまあ悪くない。ただ料理は美味しいとは言えない。

評判のロブスターのビスクも味がボヤけているし、旨味が上手く出し切れていない。味のバランスが悪い。

アイスハーベストオブザシーはスーパーの特売品の刺身レベル。むしろOXで売ってる刺身の方が美味いかもしれない。メインディッシュのステーキもミディアムレアで注文したのに焼きすぎ。ソースもとにかく味のバランス感が悪い。下拵えが雑。要するに料理が下手。

普段フレンチを食べ慣れてない人がハワイに来て良い景色の中でそれなりのサービス、盛り付けで出された料理を美味しいと言って食べる店。そもそもフレンチとは言えない。味を求めていく店ではない。

ドレスコード御構い無しの日本人団体客が居たのが同じ日本人として恥ずかしかった。味は不味いが行くのであればそれなりの格好で行ってほしい。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 6, 2017

17時半に予約をしたので、丁度サンセットが見れて良かったです。

お食事はサービスのタイミングが空きすぎていて時間がかかり、オーシャンフロントなので時間が経つにつれ風も強まり、寒くなってしまったのが残念でした。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were here for New Year's eve dinner. They had a set menu and all four courses were awesome. The ambience of this restaurant is fantastic. We arrived right before sunset and as the meal progressed the room got a warmer glow becoming more intimate. The service was impeccable. What a great way to bring in the new year. Would highly recommend this experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Beijing)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Awful! The manager is rude and insolent with a huge ego. We will never go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on December 30, 2016

本当においしかったです。

ハワイでおいしものはあまり食べられないから。感動です。

ビスクも美味しくいただきました。なんと、スフレまではたどり着けずデザートは断念。ただ、最高のひと時を過ごさせていただきました。ハワイの中でトップ10には絶対に入るお店。

美味しいものリスト

Lobster bisque

Michels ocean bounty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 28, 2016

My parents visited Hawaii for two weeks and they ate a lot of fancy restaurants. We went to Michel's for my mom's birthday. She absolutely loves it. The food was outstanding but it was the overall experience that won us over. Lovely staff, great nighttime view of the Waikiki skyline and such a cozy warm ambiance. Would pick Michel's over fancy (fancier) places like chef mavro for example which had good food but was overpriced and lacked the personal friendly touch of Michel's

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Food is very good

Server is very kind

Service is very good

View of the restrant is very beautiful,especially sunset

I am diying to visit there again

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 28, 2016

treated my sister visiting Hawaii to an early birthday dinner. which we thoroughly enjoyed from the Spinach salad to the steaks... it is my 2nd time at Michel's so I have put them one of the top restaurants that I enjoy for special occasions or visitors.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.