Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About Michel's at the Colony Surf

Come and experience French fine-dining cuisine at its best at Hawaii's premier ocean front restaurant, voted "Most Romantic Restaurant" by "The Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous" on Oahu's Gold Coast.

2895 Kalakaua Avenue
Honolulu, HI 96815
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Reservation Times: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30PM

Cross Street:
Kapahulu

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 923-6552

Website:
http://www.michelshawaii.com/

Entertainment:
Nightly: Sunday - Thursday 6:30pm - 9:30pm
Friday - Saturday 6:30pm - 10:00pm
Two time Grammy award winner Jeff Peterson calls Michel's home on Wednesday, Thursday, Friday and Saturday's when he is home in Hawaii.

Catering:
The combination of food, service, ambiance and view make for an unforgettable event.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet is offered and there is also free metered parking on street after 6:00pm.

Executive Chef:
Eberhard Hardy Kintscher

Private Party Facilities:
We have several rooms we can use as private areas. It ranges from 12 - 150 people based on availability.

Private Party Contact:
Amber: (808) 728-3463

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Michel's at the Colony Surf Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (59)
Romantic (52)
Special Occasion (48)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (48)
Good for a Date (45)
Waterfront (44)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Notable Wine List (27)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Live Music (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Cozy (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Authentic (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Fun (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Business Meals (7)
Good for Groups (5)
People Watching (5)
Healthy (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Seasonal (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Casual (2)
Great Beer (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1829 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 3 days ago

The best service we had on our trip to Hawaii!! We had a lovely waitress, Kylie and the others were just as great! Top service, excellent food and an amazing view! The perfect way to end our trip on the last night with a surprise complimentary dessert for this occasion! Will definitely recommend this place and return the next time we are in Hawaii! The side table preparation was fun and the night was certainly memorable!

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

What a great beach setting! The food and service was incredible! We spend each year for our anniversary at Michel’s‼️Very Special ‼️🌺

Tags: Waterfront, Live Music, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 10, 2017

とても素敵なロケーションで、料理も美味しく、ボリューム満点でした!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

海側の最高のロケーションに皆、感動でした。誕生日に相応しい最高のお料理に、美味しいワイン、スタッフの方もとても素敵な女性でした。つたない英語で不安もありましたが、優しく対応して頂き、是非次回も来たいと思いました。

Tags: Scenic View, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 8, 2017

3回目の訪問です。いつも大満足です。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Very good customer service #1,would definitely recommend it to family and friends waiter was awesome

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Great find just down the beach from Waikiki. Window walls open the whole area. Wonderful menu and quite tasteful live performer ask for Pasha for your watiter, you couldn't ask for a better server. If you like ocean breezes and the beach at Waikiki while you eat this is it.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Wonderful service from start to finish. Beautiful evening on Waikiki beach with soft breezes and clear skies. Doesn't get any better than this.
The food was good but I think the service and atmosphere is what made this a great dining experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 28, 2017

We celebrated our honeymoon there 33 years ago. It was amazing then and amazing now. The food, the view, the service, everything makes this place special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Old school dinning. Keeping the art of table side service alive... from the Caesar salad and steak Tartar to the Steak Diane...a wonderful experience. Team of hosts are alway there but you never feel rushed. Thank you all for a great evening . Oh did I mention the sunset...that was done table side too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

初めて利用しました。とにかくロケーションが抜群で感動しました。食事もサービスも最高で事前のリクエストにも応えて頂き幸せな時間を過ごすことができました。また是非利用したいです。

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Excellent restaurant which serves excellent stakes and seafood. The service is also excellent. The scenery is also awesome. One of the best restaurants I have ever had.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

お店から海が一面見渡せるので、雰囲気はとても良いですが、、、
お料理は普通に美味しいです。でも、お値段を考えると普通レベルの評価になってしまいます。
日本のレストランのレベルが高すぎるのかな。。
海老のビスクは、美味しかったです。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on September 26, 2017

サンセットは最高に良かった。日本語の出来るスタッフもいるし日本語メニューもあります。お料理は美味しく、ロマンティックなレストランと言われるのもよく分かります。

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 24, 2017

新婚旅行のディナーで利用しました。
サンセットも美しくて、お料理、接客、雰囲気、どれも大満足でした!
また来年も来たいと思います。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Beautiful restaurant!
Amazing food!
Service was exceptional!
Sounds of the ocean waves and soft music were just perfect!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Our last night in Honolulu is always at Michel's. And this time once again it did not disappoint. Absolutely fabulous! We had the same entree of lobster thermodor and tenderloin. It was outstanding! The flaming lobster bisque was to die for! The cherries jubilee was beyond heaven on a plate! Our waitress Kylie was amazing and terrific! Loved it all!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We've enjoyed Michel's at the Colony Surf for several years and truly enjoyed each visit and experience. We're welcomed / greeted heartily by Phillip and spoiled by everyone through the evening. The beach is so close that family & friends thought we were on a sunset cruise...I thought the palm trees would have given us away. You'll enjoy your occasion with delicious and beautiful dining and views. You'll remember the night for years!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 22, 2017

素晴らしいレストランでした!

ハネムーンのディナーでしたが、ウェイターの方の心遣いが素晴らしかったです!

素敵なサンセットも見られました!

ぜひまた訪れたいと思います!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

団体で来られていた方が席を立って写真を撮りに行っていたのが雰囲気を壊してました。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 20, 2017

We got a great table by the beach with an excellent view, according to my reservation on Open Table a few months prior. Everything (seat, food, drinks, service etc.) was perfect and I would like to return at my special occasions. I would like to thank the staff at Michel's once again for my wonderful experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 20, 2017

A great romantic setting, overlooking the pacific ocean. Food was excellent, you must try the bananas foster which is flambeed table side, to die for !!!!

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Awesome Dinner. Kyle was a awesome Waiter!! Caesar Salad is a must!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

I had a dinner with my wife
for our anniversary.
Server arranged us at a table on the window side.
It had very good in view and we really enjoyed the delicious dinner and marvelous time.
Michel's Lobster Bisque is "must eat".
I would love to go again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

窓際の席で天気も良く、ビーチ越しのすばらしいサンセットを味わうことが出来た。事前の口コミでシェアーできるとの事で、日本語メニューよりお願いしたが、接客もすばらしく快く対応してくれ、スープやデザートのサービスまで受けられました(なぜ?)。天候や席によってコメントは変わってしまうと思いますが、窓際でなくとも十分満足できると思います。ぜひ次回も訪れたく、友人にも勧めたいと思いうくらいすばらしかったです。

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 14, 2017

ハネムーン最終回のディナーで予約入れました。サンセットの夕日もキレイに見えて希望通り窓際に案内され、本当にラッキーでした。料理に演出、ロケーション最高過ぎて記念に残る思い出になりました。ありがとうございます。スタッフの気遣い、対応全て完璧でした!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Upon walking in, I was stunned by the AMAAAAAAZING views. This is by far, the best ocean view resturant I've eaten at. Our reservation was for 6:15, which was perfect as we had the opportunity to watch the sunset. Simply beautiful!!!! Nothing can top it. I will say our server David was not very welcoming. He seemed rude and uninterested in serving. I asked him if I could view the menu. He said, "Oh you don't want to enjoy a drink and relax? (With a condescending tone). What? Let me make my own damn choices. Wth?? Definitely rubbed me the wrong way!!!! We asked to try two different types of wines, then ended up ordering a bottle of wine.....and what do ya know....David's whole demeanor changed. All of a sudden, he was very nice and talkative. Is it because of the expensive price of the wine? I hope not. Ugggghhh. All people should be treated the same, regardless of what they order.

We ordered the table side Caesar salad and lobster bisque for appetizers. The bisque was excellent. The lobster was flambéed and then added to the bisque. Both dishes were delicious!!!! Furthermore....the salad was so delicious that I ordered it as an entree with grilled chicken. Getting food prepared table side is special within itself ;-)

We also ordered the 22 oz porterhouse steak; medium. The steak was obviously rare. We sent it back and it was returned to us still rare. We showed the steak to our server (David), who also agreed it was rare. David suggested that the steak be cut then cooked, because of how thick it was. Upon receiving the steak the third time, it still wasn't cooked properly...but close to what we had initially requested. If I'm going to pay $65 for a steak, it needs to be cooked properly. I don't care how thin or thick it is.

I informed David that it was unacceptable for the steak to be sent back twice. David said, "yea" agreed and just walked away nonchalantly without apologizing or rectifying the situation. Horrible communicator and terrible customer service

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value2

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Impeccable service, very professional staff..the evening was excellent and above our expectations ...every phase of service was on point...food was done to perfection....we enjoyed it so much that we made !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 11, 2017

サンセットが美しいと友人から聞き、結婚記念日旅行で東京から伺いました。
夕方まで雨で諦めかけてましたが、夕陽が沈む直前の時間から空は晴れて抜群のサンセットディナーに。
食事も、テーブル脇での料理演出も最高で、ととも印象的で記憶に残るひと時をいただきました。
ありがとうございました。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Amazing view, great food and service, very romantic.

Tags: Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Awesome all around dinner experiences. This is my go to when I am on the island.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 9, 2017

After 30 years we came back to Oahu and wanted to dine again at Michels and it was fantastic . The food better than ever. Service was great, open to the Beach you can hear the waves crashing , it was a wonderful evening, so Happy after all these years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 7, 2017

サービスがとても行き届いており景色も本当に素晴らしかったです。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kuala Lumpur)·Dined on September 6, 2017

オープンテーブルで予約して行きました。
席は窓際で夕日がとても綺麗でした。
お料理も美味しいのですが、何よりスタッフの対応が素晴らしい。
サービスで頂いたお誕生日のケーキもとても美味しかったです。

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 6, 2017

We go every year for our anniversary. Never disappointed. Know us so well we have the same table every year - classy touch-high client dedication.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

Food and service were impeccable. Celebrated a birthday and it was worth it!

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

いつも利用するのですが、いつ行っても気持ちの良いサービスで居心地がいいです。お料理も美味しく、出てくるタイミングまでかなり計算されているようで、飽きさせない待たせないという意味でとても素晴らしいと思います。

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Our favorite restaurant in Honolulu. Unbeatable view and ambiance. Fabulous food. Great service. Always memorable!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

ビーチ
サンセット
店の雰囲気

サービス
パフォーマンス

全て最高です。
ワイキキに来たら必ず行くべき

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 29, 2017

The meal was tasty as it was. However, although I ate the same thing at the other restaurant the other day, it was delicious and the price was reasonable. This was the same opinion of all the family members.
Anyway, the service was terrible. I ordered the bottle with wine, but the person in charge at the table had forgotten the order. Besides, I could not serve wine well.
My wife's birthday cake that I ordered beforehand came out on the table, but the person in charge does not hear the order of drinks such as coffee. Probably, I asked the person in charge and ordered. I was surprised that the level was too low.
The location was good on the seaside side, but I did not want to go to this restaurant again.
By the way, because the location is good, I took lots of pictures but I never been told from the waiter of this restaurant, "Shall I take a picture?"

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.