Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About Michel's at the Colony Surf

Come and experience French fine-dining cuisine at its best at Hawaii's premier ocean front restaurant, voted "Most Romantic Restaurant" by "The Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous" on Oahu's Gold Coast.

2895 Kalakaua Avenue
Honolulu, HI 96815
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Reservation Times: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30PM

Cross Street:
Kapahulu

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 923-6552

Website:
http://www.michelshawaii.com/

Entertainment:
Nightly: Sunday - Thursday 6:30pm - 9:30pm
Friday - Saturday 6:30pm - 10:00pm
Two time Grammy award winner Jeff Peterson calls Michel's home on Wednesday, Thursday, Friday and Saturday's when he is home in Hawaii.

Catering:
The combination of food, service, ambiance and view make for an unforgettable event.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet is offered and there is also free metered parking on street after 6:00pm.

Executive Chef:
Eberhard Hardy Kintscher

Private Party Facilities:
We have several rooms we can use as private areas. It ranges from 12 - 150 people based on availability.

Private Party Contact:
Amber: (808) 728-3463

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Michel's at the Colony Surf Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (65)
Special Occasion (63)
Waterfront (61)
See All
Scenic View (60)
Good for a Date (55)
Good for Anniversaries (55)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Notable Wine List (28)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Worth the Drive (17)
Live Music (15)
Hot Spot (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Historic (13)
Tasting Menu (10)
Cozy (10)
Authentic (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
People Watching (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Business Meals (7)
Family Style (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Fun (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Private Room (2)
Healthy (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
 (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
 (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1710 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 2 days ago

Every time we have eaten here we agree that this is one of the best in the US! The service, food and atmosphere is the best on the Islands.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined 3 days ago

Lovely evening celebrating our 35th anniversary. We enjoyed the Chef's tasting menu with wine pairings. We had a great time, as always. The only snafu was when we were seated, the hostess attempted to put us at a table behind the glass next to a very large party. (This surprised me as our reservation was made several weeks in advance.) Luckily, our seating request was accommodated and we were taken to a better table. We are fans and we'll be back.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing food and view. Top notch service ..... ask for Joel as your server if available.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

結婚式の後の食事会で利用。
ビーチ沿いの席をお願いしたが、希望叶わず。ただ、サンセットはしっかりと見れた上、ご飯も美味しかった。
日本語が話せるスタッフがいたため、安心して食事ができた。

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Escargots, raw oysters & cherries jubilee were excellent. The Ocean Bounty entree was served warm so the food got cold fast. Bring dark glasses if you dine when the sun is still up as there is a very strong glare.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Great view. Lovely ambiance. Average food. Below average, inconsistent service. We have been dining here since 1971 but are not likely to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our family had an amazing Mothers' Day brunch at Michel's! The fabulous food, service, amazing beachfront location made for such an incredible and memorable event.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 14, 2017

i enjoy brunch there. the ambience cannot be beat and it is not a buffet. unfortunately, they do brunch for just a few special days like easter, mothers' day and fathers' day. maybe one or two other days during the year. otherwise, they are only open for dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Tasting menu and accompanying wines were great. And the service was perfect. Thanks so much for maki g our anniversary celebration memorable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 11, 2017

If you don't want their bottled water, and don't order drinks, you don't get even good service. Over priced, They are living on their reputation from the past, you might want to "pass them up".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Exceeded our expectations in every way. Classy but not stuffy , sweet & knowledgeable waiter, exquisite food & impeccable service. Probably one of the best French Restaurants in the world and that's saying a lot!

Tags: Historic, Local Ingredients, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The food was excellent and the service matched the food. The view was spectacular and if your there for sunset you can't beat the view. This is one of my all time favorites

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Because of upbringing and travel of my own, I've dined at some very, very fine restaurants around the world. Michel's is easily in the top three and very probably THE top one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Chefs taster menu was outstanding! Our waiter was wonderful, professional, and informative.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Gr8 evening, service was outstanding, special was remarkable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Wonderful service and amazing food! Definitely try the strawberry foie gras!!! 😋😋😋

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 5, 2017

My girlfriend Julie and I try to go to Michel's on every visit to the island of Oahu. From their Slack Key, Classical guitarist Jeff Peterson, to the personal touch of general manager, Phillip Shaw, the quality of service and ambiance of the restaurant is hard to beat anywhere in the world. Our favorite part of the restaurant is the table side preparation of their special dishes. On this visit we had Caesar salad for two and finished the night with bananas flambé. Outstanding!

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Great views, great food, great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 3, 2017

It was a perfect dinner for us.
Beautiful Sun Set ,good wine ,good Service ,Beautiful night view,,,,,Beautiful Sun Set
Thank you very much for a seaside table and see you next time.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 2, 2017

ハネムーンの食事で利用させていただきました。
サンセットが見えるとのことで期待していったのですが
まさかの海から遠い壁際の席で、日が沈む光景は席から離れないと
見ることが出来ず、非常に楽しみにしていた妻も残念な表情でした。
仕方なく遠めにサンセットを見てみたのですが、距離が遠いので
ワイキキビーチを挟んで反対側のレストランの方がおそらく
綺麗に見えるのではないかなと思います。

周りを観察していましたところ、4人席や多人数席が海側で
優先されるようで、ハネムーンのカップルや2人組については
海側から離れた席になる可能性が高いようです。

食事はコースもアラカルトからも選べ、ワインも大変美味しかったです。
ただし、高級な雰囲気とは程遠い、ガヤガヤしたファミレス感があり
またドレスコードがハワイにhしては厳しいわりには、受付の女性は
やや下品な服装であったりホールスタッフの作業が荒かったりと
正直、高級レストランとは思えません。

席やスタッフの状況により評価はアップダウンですが、食事は大変美味しく
ただしコストパフォーマンスは良くないという事だけはお伝えしたく
レビュー投稿いたします。

なお、ワイキキビーチから歩いていくには若干遠いので、ダイヤモンドヘッドの
トローリーで水族館前まで行って歩くか、タクシーで行くことをお勧めします。
(帰りについても、暗く危険な道路の為、徒歩で歩くには若干危険に感じます。)

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Oh what a sunset! Fabulous food. Great service. Beautiful view. Caesar salad made at the table and the sauce for our filet too. Divine molten chocolate cake. Fabulous!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 1, 2017

It was just perfect! Food delicious, service great and view beautiful!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We are very satisfied with food, ambiance, serious, gentry stuff, nice performance!
Next time, l would like to get the seat by window. Thank you.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 29, 2017

A must when in Honolulu. The service is outstanding, waiters are friendly. And of course, the ocean view and ambience cannot be beat. This is a special place for a special occasion (in our case, birthday).

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (沖縄)·Dined on April 29, 2017

メイン料理は量も多く味も美味しい、料理の仕上げはテーブルの前で演じてくれる。英語がメインなので、日本語は通じないが日本語メニューはある。
今回は、メイン2品、前菜 1品、スープ1品、ワインボトルを2人で食事しましたがそれで満腹。スープは1品でも2皿にわけてくれます。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Michel's is simply the best restaurant in all of Hawaii. Outstanding service, great food and a very nice wine list. Great location on the water with a great view. I'd recommend this restaurant to anybody looking for a super restaurant, especially for those really special occasions!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 28, 2017

お食事も美味しく雰囲気も最高です!
そして何よりサービスがGOODです。
また行きたい!と思えるお店です☆

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 28, 2017

クチコミ評価の中に料理は普通、みたいなのがあったので少し不安でしたが、全くの杞憂でした。雰囲気、料理共に素晴らしいものでした。
また、店員さんのサービスもとても良かったです。
また来たくなるお店でした。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 26, 2017

On each trip to Oahu, we insist on having dinner at Michel's. We made a 6 pm reservation, and was seated upon arrival to watch the sunset. The ambiance of this restaurant is outstanding. We had a spinach salad prepared tableside as a starter, and it was outstanding. Although the entire meal is expensive, it is well worth it, especially if one is celebrating an occasion. to conclude our meal, our desert was crepes Suzette, prepared at tableside, and the server made quite a presentation as he prepared it, and the taste superb.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 25, 2017

4泊5日の新婚旅行の最後の晩餐にミッシェルズを選びました。 行きはワイキキから20分弱掛けて散歩がてら徒歩で行き、帰りも徒歩でした。 歩くのも景色を楽しみながら新鮮で私達は苦ではなかったです。料理は美味しかったけど、サラダ、スープ、アワビのソテーと、チキン料理を注文したところ、量が多いから食べきれないよ とウェイターさんが教えてくれて、チキン料理をキャンセルしましたが、、残しても良いから、注文しても良かったな〜と主人と後悔しました。

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 21, 2017

ハネムーンの最終日に妻の誕生日のディナーとして予約してました。
窓際のオープンな雰囲気も開放的で食事も景色も最高でした。サプライズにお願いしていたバースデーデザートもサービスで用意してくださって妻に喜んでもらえました。
目の前で焼いてくれたロブスターとティボーンステーキは絶品でした。店員さんも紳士的でホスピタリティーの最高峰を垣間見ました。当日はあいにくの雨だったので、また次は夕日の綺麗な日に寄りたいです。

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Hawaiiに来たら必ずいく大好きなレストラン。どの席でも絶景で波の音が最高です。3年前に行った時に接客してくださった店員さんも覚えていて下さり感動しました。また行きます。

Tags: Scenic View, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Great super friendly and forthcoming service. Food was ok for the money. Views were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Sunday Brunch was wonderful as usual. However, our server did not introduce himself to us, didn't inform us of the corkage fee, and lastly, dessert was disappointing due to the choice of serving the mousse in a tall wine glass.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Once again we had a great dining experience at Michels. We celebrated birthdays (as we usually do at Michels). The food, service and ambience were perfect. What a great place to catch the beachside sunset. Chef Hardy stopped by our table to say hello and talk cars for a few minutes. Phillip and his dining room staff gave their usual attentive service. We look forward to going again for our anniversary.

Tags: , Waterfront, , , , , , , , , , ,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Always great service, great and creative food, and great views

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Newcastle)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Tasting menu and ambience fantastic ! Beachside table delightful.
Staff were friendly but we did feel a little rushed as courses were brought to the table before the previous one had been finished . Was genuinely shocked at being charged $15 for a cup of coffee !

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Michel's is one of my favorite restaurants in the world. I have been to Hawaii six times, and a trip here would not be complete without experiencing dinner at Michel's. The ambience, food and service are all excellent and leave you with fantastic memories of Paradise!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I have been here maybe a half dozen times and love the atmosphere and views looking back to Waikiki. The food is good but seems to have declined a bit compared to previous visits. The escargots would have been better served in the traditional manner. The Steak Diane was lackluster. We were disappointed in that several wines recommended were ultimately out of stock. The $100 bottle we did have was disappointing. Maybe it was an off night.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Everything was fine other then the excessive time between courses. We've went to restaurants where the wine pairings were explained which was really nice and interesting.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.