About Michel's at the Colony Surf

2895 Kalakaua Avenue
Honolulu, HI 96815
View Larger Map

Come and experience French fine-dining cuisine at its best at Hawaii's premier ocean front restaurant, voted "Most Romantic Restaurant" by "The Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous" on Oahu's Gold Coast.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Reservation Times: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30PM

Cross Street:
Kapahulu

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 923-6552

Website:
http://www.michelshawaii.com/

Entertainment:
Nightly: Sunday - Thursday 6:30pm - 9:30pm
Friday - Saturday 6:30pm - 10:00pm
Two time Grammy award winner Jeff Peterson calls Michel's home on Wednesday, Thursday, Friday and Saturday's when he is home in Hawaii.

Catering:
The combination of food, service, ambiance and view make for an unforgettable event.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet is offered and there is also free metered parking on street after 6:00pm.

Executive Chef:
Eberhard Hardy Kintscher

Private Party Facilities:
We have several rooms we can use as private areas. It ranges from 12 - 150 people based on availability.

Private Party Contact:
Amber: 8087283463x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Michel's at the Colony Surf
Michel's at the Colony Surf
Michel's at the Colony Surf
Amuse Bouche
Roast Rack Of Venison
Surf & Turf Starter
Crepes Suzette
steak tartare
Steamed Onaga
Maker's Mark Old Fashion
Oyster Platter
Veal Osso Bucco Slowly Cooked With Marrow
Desserts!
Island Bouillabaisse
Chef's Seafood Starter
Lobster And Shrimp Thermidor
Baked Red Snapper
Kona Beef Carpaccio
Cherry Jubilee
Mahi Mahi En Papillote
Baked Maui Onion Soup En Croute
Pink Dragonfruit Sorbet
Wine: Groth Reserve Cabernet
Araujo Eisele Vineyard 2009 Cabernet
Bananas Foster
Prime New York Cafe De Paris
Island Seafood Cioppino
mixed seafood platter
Helix Escargot Bourgogne
Pineapple Lilikoi Cheesecake
Belvedere Martini
Cherries Jubilee
Tableside Cherries Jubilee
Lobster Bisque
Bananas Foster Flambee
Salmon Saint Jacques
Gold Coast Seafood Omelette
Chocolate Decadence Cake
Escargot
Ahi Sashimi
Ocean's Bounty
Dark Chocolate Espresso Mousse
Osso Bucco
Steamed Rice
Paniolo-Style Rib Eye Steak With Au Jus
Dungenous Crab
Lobster Claw
Oysters!
Penfolds Grange
Far Niente Chardonay
Fresh Iced Oysters
Chateauneuf Du Pape - Vieux Telegraph La Crau
Michels' Late Harvest Pinot Noir
Bloody Pele
Hamachi
mango sorbet
Molten Chocolate Cake with Raspberry Ice Cream
grand marnier souffle
Swordfish Steak with Cream Sauce & Saffron Rice
Michel's Caesar Salad
New York Café de Paris
Dessert
Courvoiier Vsop
Treasures Of The Sea
Chateauneuf Du Pape 2006
Creme Brulee
Stuffed Onaga
Strawberries Foie Gras Forever
Strawberry Macadamia Nuts Cheesecake.
Lobster Risotto
Ahi Duo
Maui Pineapple Cheesecake
Grilled Chicken Romaine Salad
Pan Fried Pork Chops
Lobster Thermidor
Kona Coffee Macadamia Nut Lamb Chops With Coconut Sweet Potato Purée And Asparagus
Strawberries Flambe w/ Foie Gras & Tiramisu Ice Cream
Steak Tartar
The Porterhouse Steak
Beef Tenderloin Rossini
Wilted Spinach Salad
Seared Gravlax
Sunset Daiquiri˜
Crab Cakes
Seafood Salad
Strawberries Flambe w/ Foie Gras
Lobster Bisque Flambe
Maui Onion Soup
Steak
Duck L'Orange
Bison

Michel's at the Colony Surf Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Hawaii
Scenic View
Hawaii
Special Occasion
Hawaii
6 More
Best Overall
Oahu
Best Ambiance
Oahu
Best Value
Oahu
Romantic
Oahu
Scenic View
Oahu
Special Occasion
Oahu

Special Occasion (81)
Romantic (80)
Scenic View (80)
See All
Fit for Foodies (39)
Notable Wine List (30)
Great for Outdoor Dining (30)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Good for Groups (18)
Hot Spot (12)
Kid-friendly (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1422 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We eat dinner here everytime we visit Ha ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We eat dinner here everytime we visit Hawaii, nice romantic place with fantastic food and service.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is in one of the most bea ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The restaurant is in one of the most beautiful settings in Waikiki. We have dined there many times in the past, and have always come away thrilled. This time, however, the food missed the mark, and the service was not as professional as we expected. That is, the Caesar salad was ok, but lackluster. My lobster thermador could not have been smaller, and it was not flavorful. The steak, however, was excellent. The Cherries Jubilee missed altogether. My wife's vegetable plate has always been excellent in the past, but this time was very disappointing. And nothing here comes cheap, so quality should be better.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

if someone has enough to spare for that ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

if someone has enough to spare for that special occasion, Michel's is the place. Service is excellent. Food is good. The ambiance exudes romance. Choices for food and drinks are excellent and the time of each item being offered and serve is remarkable to give enough time for that cozy conversation, the enjoyment of the food and so as to not feel full too fast.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best in Waikiki. Can't wait to retur ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The best in Waikiki. Can't wait to return. This restaurant is well above par for Waikiki. A real gem.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent menu andservice. My wife and f ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent menu andservice. My wife and family enjoyed everything. Although the Duck L'Orange was different from what

I am used to.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary. Perfect place for a romantic and tasty meal. Must try the lobster bisque. And the lamb chops were excellent!

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a family dinner for six last Sund ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We had a family dinner for six last Sunday. We could not have been more pleased. The food and atmosphere was wonderful. The wine list was impressive and reasonable. Jaime our server, was an absolute joy. We will surely go here next time in town.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrate our anniversary every year ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We celebrate our anniversary every year at the newest hot dining spot. When deciding where to dine for our 40th (yes I said 40), we wanted to go somewhere really special. Michel's at the Colony Surf was suggested by my son's fiancé. I immediately made the res and wondered why we had not gone there earlier. Well, the wait was well worth it beginning with the friendly staff. You don't know the meaning of fresh seafood until you order the Iced Harvest of the Sea. A beautiful array of fish and crustaceans pleased our palates. The Onaga was steamed to perfection with a delicate ginger broth. The Wagyu steak melted in your mouth. The composition of the rest of the dish all worked except for the blue cheese. The cheese was really overpowering so next time I would "sans the cheese." The night ended with table side Cherries Julilee of course. By now we got to know our server and told him it was our 40th anniversary and we didn't announce it because we wanted the Jubilee. He offered to give us a complimentary dessert but we COULD NOT eat another morsel. So, he gave us a cheesecake to go. It was such a nice way to end our celebration!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always enjoy our dinner here...view of W ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Always enjoy our dinner here...view of Waikiki is one of the best, to be sure. Lovely spot to watch the sunset. Food and service is good, but it is the ambiance that makes this place so special.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Superb view from the window table. Great ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Superb view from the window table. Great food and great service make this place a must. Dying to hear 18 years ago and came back for sure

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was an Amazing birthday dinner...spec ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

It was an Amazing birthday dinner...spectacular views!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply amazing experience! Fantastic foo ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Simply amazing experience! Fantastic food and service... A truly memorable dinner and a must do!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding, as always. the staff was w ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Outstanding, as always. the staff was wonderful in accommodating our daughters physical requirements, and the food, ambience and service were impeccable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Michel's is a special treat in Honolulu. ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Michel's is a special treat in Honolulu. Apart from the gourmet food and the impeccable service, the quiet of the Gold Coast setting and the beachfront view make Michel's unique in Waikiki. A sunset dinner here is a true delight!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding menu from land and sea. Atte ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Outstanding menu from land and sea. Attentive and gracious service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed an excellent dinner with great s ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Enjoyed an excellent dinner with great service. The views at sunset with following fireworks over Waikiki were fabulous!

Tags: Outdoor Eating, Romance, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Michel's is Hawaii's signature restauran ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Michel's is Hawaii's signature restaurant for the finest food, service and ambience! With the relaxed atmosphere and dress, we continue to enjoy the excellent dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Michels is a special place o take a spec ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Michels is a special place o take a special person. The menu varies with very good appetizers and great steak and seafood. Definitely not for the price conscious or budget orientated, but still worth the Fine Dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The ambiance and service is IMPECCABLE! ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The ambiance and service is IMPECCABLE! The staff anticipate your needs before you can even request anything. If I were rich I would eat there morning, noon, and night.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An excellent evening and an excellent me ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

An excellent evening and an excellent meal. Our party of four had wonderful service, friendly knowledgeable waiters, and superb cuisine. That's really all I have to say. Thanks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

- Kick up the guitar volume up a bit. H ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

- Kick up the guitar volume up a bit. Heard it better in the bathroom, so please accommodate for others and the ocean

- Phenom experience; treated like royalty

- Were military local, so we'll be back

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spent a wonderful evening for our 40th w ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Spent a wonderful evening for our 40th wedding anniversary with our 'kids'... Absolutely unforgettable !! Hope to return for our 50th!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good location, we could see sunset ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Very good location, we could see sunset and fire works. Big volume for food, so it is better to share.Tast is very good. There are a lot of performance to surve the special dishes, and it is good fun.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

It was our 30th anniversary and we could ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

It was our 30th anniversary and we could not have been more pleased. It started with our table window side which gave us a spectacular view of sunset. The food was beyond excellent. We shared everything and ate everything presented with nothing to take home. That is rare for us. Our server made us feel so special the whole evening and when I told her at the end of our evening I think she was a bit embarrassed. We will never forget our special evening there

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent. Views were stupen ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Service was excellent. Views were stupendous. Food was great. Best dining experience we had on Oahu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service ,wonderful food ,cann't wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great service ,wonderful food ,cann't wait to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we loved over all esp their delicate hos ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

we loved over all esp their delicate hospitality and ofcourse the food and the view with the fireworks.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

On Friday evening, you will enjoy the vi ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

On Friday evening, you will enjoy the view, especially fire works! Foods were generally fine, but I don't recommend the iced fresh oysters, which didn't smell good compared to other oysters you can eat any other place like in Tokyo, Sydney or etc.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We made reservations through Open Table ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We made reservations through Open Table and were quickly seated upon arrival. We had a very nice table with a good view of the ocean and views of the other patrons. Our waiter was very helpful in talking us through the menu options. The food was excellent and they were willing to split our selections. This is one of the few great restaurants that prepare / finish their dishes table side. Service by the entire staff was very attentive. What a wonderful evening of memories from our vacation.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We took our neece who never been to Hono ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We took our neece who never been to Honolulu before. It was a perfect evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Family reunion bday dinner

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Dinner for six with special bday cake and excellent wines top restaurant big expendive

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great night!

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Friendly and trained waiters, very enjoyable and comfortable mood with food highly recommendable that should satisfy the palates of those who are used to go to expensive and best restaurants. Not to mention the view is beautiful. If you are taking someone who love to eat, laugh and enjoy, this is the place you'd most likely not fail to have such a night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Belated Birthday

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I wanted to take my wife out to someplace classy for her birthday. Haven't been here before so this popped up in my mind. They did not disappoint. Great service! Awesome food!! And even gave us a free dessert to finish off my wife's day with a sweet bang. Money worth every penny.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Back to basics

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

In this day and age of vapid hipster restaurants and all-too-precious degustation menus, it was good to be back at Michel's.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent dining experience. One of the ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Excellent dining experience. One of the best fish dishes I have ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Words can not express how much I love ea ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Words can not express how much I love eating here. The food, the service, the view....just everything is lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My favorite restaurant on Oahu. Definite ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

My favorite restaurant on Oahu. Definitely a hidden gem. Feels like going back in time to true ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service wonderful! The escargot and lobs ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Service wonderful! The escargot and lobster bisque is the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best restaurants I have ever enjoyed

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

The combination of excellent food, excellent wine, superb service topped with a locale and view puts this gem over the top. A very special and rare place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of my favorite restaurants i ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

This is one of my favorite restaurants in the world--maybe the universe! :) I couldn't come to Oahu without at least one visit to Michel's. It is a gorgeous restaurant right on the ocean with open windows providing a breathtaking view back toward Waikiki beach. It has location, location, location and outstanding, friendly servers, food--simply the best!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.