About Michel's at the Colony Surf

2895 Kalakaua Avenue
Honolulu, HI 96815
View Larger Map

Come and experience French fine-dining cuisine at its best at Hawaii's premier ocean front restaurant, voted "Most Romantic Restaurant" by "The Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous" on Oahu's Gold Coast.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Reservation Times: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30PM

Cross Street:
Kapahulu

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 923-6552

Website:
http://www.michelshawaii.com/

Entertainment:
Nightly: Sunday - Thursday 6:30pm - 9:30pm
Friday - Saturday 6:30pm - 10:00pm
Two time Grammy award winner Jeff Peterson calls Michel's home on Wednesday, Thursday, Friday and Saturday's when he is home in Hawaii.

Catering:
The combination of food, service, ambiance and view make for an unforgettable event.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet is offered and there is also free metered parking on street after 6:00pm.

Executive Chef:
Eberhard Hardy Kintscher

Private Party Facilities:
We have several rooms we can use as private areas. It ranges from 12 - 150 people based on availability.

Private Party Contact:
Amber: 8087283463x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Amuse Bouche - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Roast Rack Of Venison - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Surf & Turf Starter - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Crepes Suzette - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
steak tartare - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Steamed Onaga - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Maker's Mark Old Fashion - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Oyster Platter - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Veal Osso Bucco Slowly Cooked With Marrow - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Desserts! - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Island Bouillabaisse - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Chef's Seafood Starter - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Lobster And Shrimp Thermidor - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Baked Red Snapper - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Kona Beef Carpaccio - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Cherry Jubilee - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Mahi Mahi En Papillote - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Baked Maui Onion Soup En Croute - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Pink Dragonfruit Sorbet - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Wine: Groth Reserve Cabernet - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Araujo Eisele Vineyard 2009 Cabernet - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Bananas Foster - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Prime New York Cafe De Paris - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Island Seafood Cioppino - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
mixed seafood platter - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Helix Escargot Bourgogne - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Pineapple Lilikoi Cheesecake - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Belvedere Martini - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Cherries Jubilee - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Tableside Cherries Jubilee - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Lobster Bisque - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Bananas Foster Flambee - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Salmon Saint Jacques - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Gold Coast Seafood Omelette - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Chocolate Decadence Cake - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Escargot - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Ahi Sashimi - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Ocean's Bounty - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Dark Chocolate Espresso Mousse - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Osso Bucco - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Steamed Rice - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Paniolo-Style Rib Eye Steak With Au Jus - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Dungenous Crab  - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Lobster Claw - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Oysters! - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Penfolds Grange - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Far Niente Chardonay - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Fresh Iced Oysters - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Chateauneuf Du Pape - Vieux Telegraph La Crau - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Michels' Late Harvest Pinot Noir - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Bloody Pele - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Hamachi - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
mango sorbet - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Molten Chocolate Cake with Raspberry Ice Cream - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
grand marnier souffle - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Swordfish Steak with Cream Sauce & Saffron Rice - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Michel's Caesar Salad - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
New York Café de Paris - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Dessert - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Courvoiier Vsop - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Treasures Of The Sea - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Chateauneuf Du Pape 2006 - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Creme Brulee - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Stuffed Onaga - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Strawberries Foie Gras Forever - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Strawberry Macadamia Nuts Cheesecake. - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Lobster Risotto - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Ahi Duo - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Maui Pineapple Cheesecake - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Grilled Chicken Romaine Salad - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Pan Fried Pork Chops - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Lobster Thermidor - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Kona Coffee Macadamia Nut Lamb Chops With Coconut Sweet Potato Purée And Asparagus - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Strawberries Flambe w/ Foie Gras & Tiramisu Ice Cream - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Steak Tartar - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
The Porterhouse Steak - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Beef Tenderloin Rossini - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Wilted Spinach Salad - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Seared Gravlax - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Sunset Daiquiri˜ - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Crab Cakes - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Seafood Salad - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Strawberries Flambe w/ Foie Gras - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Lobster Bisque Flambe - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Maui Onion Soup - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Steak - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Duck L'Orange - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI
Bison - Michel's at the Colony Surf, Honolulu, HI

Michel's at the Colony Surf Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Hawaii
Special Occasion
Hawaii
Best Overall
Oahu
4 More
Best Service
Oahu
Best Ambiance
Oahu
Scenic View
Oahu
Special Occasion
Oahu

Special Occasion (59)
Romantic (52)
Scenic View (50)
See All
Waterfront (44)
Good for a Date (44)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Notable Wine List (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Live Music (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Outstanding Value (13)
Authentic (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Cozy (10)
Local Ingredients (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Historic (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Business Meals (6)
Comfort Food (4)
Fun (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great Beer (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Private Room (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
1494 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great location, view, service and food!! ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 3 days ago

Great location, view, service and food!! Had a great time definitely coming back again! Thanks!

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Sunset over the beach combined with fabu ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

Sunset over the beach combined with fabulous food and service. Very friendly, but non-obtrusive wait staff. We think it can't be beat and have come here for years tio celebrate various things!

One very minor thing to suggest improving. The tea drinker at our table was surprised that no assortment of teas was offered. Tea tasted like boring old Lipton's. We're green tea drinkers. Too bad as follow up to such great wines and food selection for the rest of the meal.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was at least my 30th dining at Mich ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

This was at least my 30th dining at Michel's, it is by far my favorite for special occasions. The GM, Phillip, is very welcoming and shows his appreciation to his guests. He is an excellent GM and you can tell he cares about the guest's experience. The executive chef, "Hardy" is a fantastic food magician. Many years of experience has paid off as the taste, the preparation, the quality of the food is outstanding. The servers are best at their craft, we had the table side preparation Caesar's Salad, the always wonderful Chateaubriand and to top it all off, the Cherries Jubilee. Our server was especially charming and all the others work so well as a team to make sure your dining with them is memorable. I've recommended it hundreds of times to friends and business partners and they thanked me over and over. Enjoy! Bon Apatite!

Tags: Historic, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Cozy, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the last of a few remaining legen ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

One of the last of a few remaining legendary fine dining restaurants in Oahu. Always a pleasure to dine here. But wish they still had the old bar that could accommodate at least more than the few seats they have now. But they still manage to accommodate us at a small table when we're coming for cocktails and pupus when we're not dining there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Despite the rating of fair for food and ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Despite the rating of fair for food and service I would still recommend because it is such a beautiful setting. There were 6 of us and one person ordered a medium well done steak and it came rare and also late in comparison to the rest of our dinners. Also the wine arrived well after dinner was served. It's obvious there is a problem with kitchen staff.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

The most romantic restaurant on Oahu. M ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 28, 2016

The most romantic restaurant on Oahu. Make sure you reserve and arrive before sunset. The view is exquisite. The food and service are outstanding. Excellent wine list.

Tags: Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was our first time to Michels. Was n ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 28, 2016

It was our first time to Michels. Was not sure what to expect. SErvice was excellent. Someone always waiting on you. Food was excellent. We ordered two appetizers. My wife ordered steamed Onaga and I had Steamed Salmon Tandoori style. Only drawback is the prices are the prices are quite steep. Our total plus tip was $200. However we felt the experience was worth it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Once again we had a memorable dining exp ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Once again we had a memorable dining experience at Michels. The service and food were impeccable. Chef Hardy made a special order opakapaka (fish) preparation for my wife. My daughter had a salmon special and her boyfriend and I each has a venison special. All outstanding dishes. We also had table prepared lobster bisque soup, warm baby spinach salad, and cherries juballie.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Escargot is the best I've ever had. Very ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Escargot is the best I've ever had. Very fine dining. Excellent service. Very informed staff. Right on the water. Attention to detail is superb. I cannot say enough good things about this restaurant. Restrooms were extremely clean. If you appreciate great food and drink this place is for you. The old fashioned I had was the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Romantic Thanksgiving dinner because of ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Romantic Thanksgiving dinner because of the view but the menu was lackluster and the pumpkin souffle desert missed the mark!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Dining does not get any better than this ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Dining does not get any better than this. From arrival, to the service, this is dining at its finest!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and ambience. A wonderfu ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Excellent food and ambience. A wonderful view of the Waikiki sunset.

We enjoy celebrating our wedding anniversary at Michel's. It is the perfect place for a romantic dinner.

The staff are courteous and professional.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Scenic View, Fun, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

日本語対応も可となり、日本人には利用しやすくなったと思う。色々と細かい点注文にも ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 20, 2016

日本語対応も可となり、日本人には利用しやすくなったと思う。色々と細かい点注文にも対応してくれてよかったです。コストパフォーマンスという点では、特別、優れているとまでは言えないですが、特別な日に利用するお店としてはいいと思う、

また、残念ながら訪問した日が雨であったため、夕日が見られなかったが、見えたらとてもきれいだと思うロケーションであった。

Tags: 景色・眺めが良い, 特別なお食事
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent service from all 5 personnel o ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Excellent service from all 5 personnel on our section of the dining room. Very attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place with Good Food and great serv ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Nice place with Good Food and great service. Best place to go for a date or special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Could not have been better, we even had ...

 
 (Melbourne / VIC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Could not have been better, we even had fire works. The food, staff and music was wonderful. A great way to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary and so thank you guys. Cheers. David & Meredith Borcoski

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Michel's is a truly special place. Unbel ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Michel's is a truly special place. Unbelievable location right on the beach, impeccable service, and fantastic food. Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent wine list. Love the way they ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Excellent wine list. Love the way they prepare the escargot and the abalone. Enjoy the table side options

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service and food seemed a bit off - cert ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Service and food seemed a bit off - certainly not typical and we have been dining at Michel's for over 25 years. Very young inexperienced waiters and meat temperatures were off. Still a beautiful spot and very busy at times

Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

サンセットの時間帯に予約。とっても綺麗な景色に美味しい料理、幸せな時間でした!

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 13, 2016

サンセットの時間帯に予約。とっても綺麗な景色に美味しい料理、幸せな時間でした!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Superb experience throughout the meal. ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Superb experience throughout the meal. Service was exceptional. The reasonably priced Chef's prix fixe menu was exceptionally tasty and visually appealing with a gratis baked clam pupu and intermezzi sorbet. The first course Gazpacho was remarkably refreshing and unique. Portions were not large, but one was fully satisfied even before the molten chocolate cake birthday surprise. The window table on the beach was directly opposite the fabulous sunset and the kitchen paced the courses for us with perfect timing to view the Friday night fireworks from the Hilton beach. The live acoustical guitar music was a perfect complement to the dinner.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Live Music, Waterfront, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first two times at this restaurant, ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Our first two times at this restaurant, the food was extraordinary. This time, the food was variable--from OK on the Caesar salad, to awful on my New York Strip. It came from the kitchen over cooked and cold. After sending it back, it came back a better temperature, but the sauce tasted scorched. I will probably not go to this restaurant again. The waiter did not ask why the plate he removed was not eaten. I wasn't going to make an issue of it. But the food we purchased was $300. Without wine. It should have been acceptable. There are much better places to have dinner in Oahu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

Great, great, great. Hopefully new ow ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Great, great, great. Hopefully new owners don't mess with a good thing. Not sure when they take over.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Michele's is good. The menu was a littl ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Michele's is good. The menu was a little disappointing as there was only one fresh fish item. Also it seemed that they very much favor their asian clientele with the better tables. Overall it was good but not great.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

It was certainly a highlight of our Hawa ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 6, 2016

It was certainly a highlight of our Hawaiian holiday. The ambience was very romantic with a view to the ocean. The staff were friendly and courteous without being obtrusive and the food was very enjoyable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

ビーチ、夕日、夜景すべてが同時に楽しめるいいお店です。是非ビーチ側の席をオススメ ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 6, 2016

ビーチ、夕日、夜景すべてが同時に楽しめるいいお店です。是非ビーチ側の席をオススメします。料理は海鮮系やビスクが非常に美味しいです。

Tags: 地元で評判, テラス席, 車で行く価値あり, 記念日のお祝いにピッタリ, 誕生日のお祝いにピッタリ, 特別なお食事に向いている, 接待, 景色・眺めが良い, グループ・宴会に向いているお店, 注目のお店, ライブ・生演奏があるお店, デートにピッタリ, 特別なお食事
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great dining event! I would highly recom ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great dining event! I would highly recommend this eatery to everyone I know. It made my Hawaiian vacation the very best. The open air part of the restaurant was fantastic! This is a must do again we I visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everytime I go to Michel's the experienc ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Everytime I go to Michel's the experience is awesome. I love the Taste of Michel's course menu with wine parings. The dinning experience at Michel's is a journey of flavor that never fails to delivery exceptional quality. Furthermore, for a 4-5 star dinning experience, the price is well worth it. Michel's is my favorite restaurant on Oahu.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It had been several years since my last ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 1, 2016

It had been several years since my last dining experience at Michels - my last visit was a corporate dinner with business people celebrating a good financial year. Being from the West side of Oahu, I do not venture the Michel's Waikiki neighborhood as it is sort of a secluded part of Waikiki and difficult to drive from the freeway. We found the atmosphere just as romantic as I remembered it to be however, the fish dish my date ordered was not entirely to her liking and my steak had lots of stringy parts to it, more than I expected. Other wise the service, employees, bar tender, atmosphere was simply wonderful and I would definitely return someday for another meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent as was the ambianc ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Service was excellent as was the ambiance, food was out of this world. Everyone gave us an experience and we felt welcomed. I would recommend Michel's to anyone looking for a true dining experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Live Music, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional view, exceptional service, v ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Exceptional view, exceptional service, very pricey. Perfect for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Waiter was very good. Had the Wagyu spec ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Waiter was very good. Had the Wagyu special but wasn't really that great. Ambiance was great! I would go back again.

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Mediocre food and service. Too long bet ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Mediocre food and service. Too long between courses. Food was bland.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Excellent service & great chateaubriand ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Excellent service & great chateaubriand & ribeye

Perfect anniversary celebration❤️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Can't you let someone in w/tshirt on!!!! ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Can't you let someone in w/tshirt on!!!!!!!! That is horrible

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Live Music, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The setting is spectacular but the food ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 18, 2016

The setting is spectacular but the food is overpriced. The food is good, but not exceptional. The ocean view is wonderful.

Tags: Historic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Thank you very much for special table by ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Thank you very much for special table by the sea!!

Tags: Waterfront, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything was excellent, eg service, fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Everything was excellent, eg service, food, ambiance, extensive wine selection We will definitely return sooner vs later!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Michel's is one of my very favorite rest ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Michel's is one of my very favorite restaurants. The view is outstanding, service very good and live music is always exceptional.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

One of our favorite spots for dining in ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 13, 2016

One of our favorite spots for dining in Waikiki. Micheles is the most romantic restaurant on the beach and the food is spectacular. Our service has always been above and beyond. Easy valet parking and just down from the busy crowds on Waikiki.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.