About Michelle's On Market Square

10 Market Street
Portsmouth, NH 03801
View Larger Map

Closed Monday and Tuesday. Open for dinner Wednesday-Sunday. Open for brunch Friday-Sunday 9-2pm. Please call us if you have any questions.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Provencal, European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(603) 427-8253

Website:
http://michellesonmarketsquare.com/

Executive Chef:
Scott Massidda

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Michelle's On Market Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Boston / New England
Best Restaurants in Portsmouth ›

great for brunch (27)
fit for foodies (26)
special occasion (18)
See All
neighborhood gem (17)
great for lunch (12)
romantic (8)
scenic view (4)
good for groups (4)
notable wine list (3)
kid-friendly (2)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
390 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Even though we were late due to traffic ...

Dined 6 days ago

Even though we were late due to traffic , the staff was very accommodating . Great food , Great service . Seat by the window allowed for great people watching on Market Square . Highly recommend giving it a try for brunch .

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Really nice place. Decor was lovely. O ...

Dined 7 days ago

Really nice place. Decor was lovely. Our waitress was knowledgeable and adept. She was there when we needed her, but didn't hover or interrupt. The food was quite good, and there was enough diversity on the limited menu to make all bellies content. We were celebrating a couple UNH graduates and this was an ideal place for a special night.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

The food was overall okay. My French toa ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The food was overall okay. My French toast was cold. The poached eggs were excellent, however. Wish I had a few more roasted potatoes, they were good. The ambiance was nice, very eclectic. It was a bit crowded upstairs, so the volume and conversations were pretty loud. Our server was very nice and attentive. I would recommend coming again. Maybe to try dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food4
ambience4
service5

We had been to Michelle's before and lov ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We had been to Michelle's before and loved it, so we were eager to get back. Overall great food and service. They did recently change their menu to a more limited selection that changes every week. This caught us a little off guard, as we were not able to order some of the previous items we loved. But the new specials we tried were great. Would definitely recommend trying Michelle's!

food4
ambience4
service5

The staff from hostess to waiter did a f ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The staff from hostess to waiter did a fantastic job. With a last minute reservation on Mother's day they sat us upstairs at the bar in a high top, was my favorite idea as we had our 2 year old daughter with us, but it did have a lovely view of the square from the window we sat in front of. The food was very good. I felt very welcomed multiple people stopped by our table and interacted with our daughter 1 woman even brought us books for her to read. I can't say enough about the staff, everyone was fantastic.

food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Unusual...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

This is a weird little place with an open kitchen when you walk in the door and then most of the dining is up the stairs. We where there on a Sunday and there was a women making eggs in the front window and then they would sit on a counter for everybody walking into the restaurant to pass by. Then, they would go into the little open kitchen to have the added items put with it before serving. The food was tasty, it just seemed strange having the food out in the open like that. Everything tasted good and everybody seemed to like their food. We where seated in a back dining room when you come up the stairs and it was dark and their where no windows. The was very laid back and relaxed.

Tags: great for brunch
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Nothing popped out at me as being outsta ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Nothing popped out at me as being outstanding. We were put in a corner, which was good from the stand of traffic, but they put us at a bar table, which we did not request, the table was tiny and it was a noisy area. The bar tender was our waiter, so service was minimal. The food was nothing special

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Small, intimate space right in the heart ...

Dined on April 6, 2016

Small, intimate space right in the heart of downtown Portsmouth. Excellent food and service! Everything we had was delicious (highly recommend the French onion soup and the Veal). Would definitely recommend Michelle's to other diners. We will be back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Will return!

Dined on April 3, 2016

Fantastic Bloody Mary. Great food. Excellent overall!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

First time there . . . not anxious to go back!

Dined on April 1, 2016

The food as "pretty good". My haddock was delicious, except it was served in a broth with a thick spaghetti. You couldn't pick it up with a fork. a friend had a steak which was also very good. The wine just OK - very pricey.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Restaurant Week Option

Dined on April 1, 2016

We have returned to this restaurant for every Portsmouth restaurant week. Their offering is for any appetizer/salad or entree on their regular menu and a choice of 3 desserts - which is a great deal in a wonderful restaurant. This time my husband had the Lamb and Wild Boar Cassoulet (he loved it!) and I had the Haddock piccata (a special) for entrees. For appetizer, I had the French Onion Soup (delicious!) and he had the fried ham and cheese sandwich (croque monsieur) which he found both very generous as well as deliciou . For dessert he had the creme broulet and I had the brownie with melted vanilla ice cream drizzle. The desserts were the only mundane part of this dinner, but we highly recommend it to others.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this place. Great brunch and blood ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

Love this place. Great brunch and bloody Mary's. Food is delicious. Wait staff is friendly and attentive.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3

Food was excellent, service seemed " dis ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

Food was excellent, service seemed " distracted" we would eat here again

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Had the roasted rabbit

Dined on March 10, 2016

Michelle's is open Wed- Sun for dinner. no lunch. We were there on a rainy late winter night, so it was quiet. I had the rabbit which was excellent although the sausage that came with it was pretty dry. The mustard spaetzle (sp?) was an excellent choice to go with the rabbit. Bread was great. Did not have dessert. We appreciated that the chef came out to check on our satisfaction. It was a very pleasant evening and we would return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place for brunch

Dined on March 6, 2016

This small little place right on Market Street is cozy and friendly. We had a table in a corner upstairs which was comfortable although the overall feel is a little tight if you're not near the front windows. The service was prompt and friendly. The food was delicious! I had the lobster benedict-generous serving of lobster and eggs cooked just the way I like them. The duck fat roasted potatoes did not disappoint, either! The French Toast was generous and very good, with real maple syrup on the table. The mushroom and truffle oil scramble was also very good. The orange juice tasted canned as opposed to fresh, but the coffee was very good. I would come back for brunch again without hesitation.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Brunch!

Dined on March 6, 2016

Had another wonderful brunch here. I had the Cuban sandwich, which was delicious! It's one of my go to's on the menu, when it's available. My friends had the crepes of the day and the breakfast sandwich, both were tasty. Service/staff were great! Looking forward to my next visit.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

brunch

Dined on February 28, 2016

It was a lovely venue with great service and great food. We all enjoyed a variety of dishes , great champagne and fresh strawberry cocktails, and wonderful coffee and dessert. Would recommend with enthusiasm.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Small Euro Bistro, food ok, overpriced

Dined on February 27, 2016

Ambience and service were excellent. Food was OK. The tuna was blackened with enough pepper to basically be inedible. Two of us had it and had the same response. The remainder of the food was good. Wine list was sparse. The big price tag brought the value way down.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

great place

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

We really enjoyed Brunch on Sunday at Michelle's. The eggs benedict was fantastic. The Bloody Marys: the BEST! Service was very good. A cute spot. Only down side is that they ran out of the home made sausages and one of us had to change our order.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Not as good as on previous visits. Momk ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Not as good as on previous visits. Momkfish wth grits kind of 'one note', although grits were very good. Wines by the glass very limited, and pricey. Service was good, but table behind us very noisy. Probably our last visit there, as there are plenty of other restaurants in area. Also, one dish had a lower price listed on menu than what we were charged.

food5
ambience5
service5

Very accommodating to our infant. Food w ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Very accommodating to our infant. Food was delicious. I had the shrimp and grits which while not quite like what I had in the South, was still delicious. My wife has a seafood crepe which was a great balance of sweet and savory. The drinks were good as well though a little weak.

food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Comfortable ambiance and excellent food and drink

Dined on February 14, 2016

Went here for Brunch on Valentine's Day and had made a reservation. We were seated promptly and ordered drinks which were very good. Brunch menu was extensive and all our dishes were delicious!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Awesome food

Dined on February 14, 2016

Love the food and atmosphere here! The food has been consistently good each time we have gone.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Some entrees great, others are just o.k.

Dined on February 13, 2016

Superb french onion soup and creme brulee. Both were on the top of our list for all time favorites. My wife loved her steak dish but my deconstructed chicken pot pie was not great- the popover was somewhat burnt, and the dish was not delivered hot and in fact was barely warm. The tables are very close and lead to a lack of privacy. The upstairs could also use some decorating.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

great brunch on weekends

Dined on February 13, 2016

We ate brunch here on a Saturday morning (for my husband's birthday weekend)- had a great window seat in the bar upstairs which was fun to view the square below and people watch. We enjoyed the cozy seat in the sun considering it was a cold February morning! Started off with a mimosa and coffee while trying to decide from the amazing choices on the menu. Everything looked good! My husband ordered the quiche (with side salad and fruit) which was delicious and rich with the gruyere cheese. I ordered the Eggs Benedict (with ham), the breakfast potatoes that accompany it were cooked perfectly and were delicious! We noticed the bar does have an excellent beer list- we just weren't ready for a beer at 10am but would love to return for lunch , or a later brunch, sometime. Would definitely recommend this spot!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A local bridal shop suggested this resta ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

A local bridal shop suggested this restaurant for a brunch planned with my daughter and her bridesmaids. The food selection was good and everyone was very happy with their meal. I was surprised that there was not one entree-size salad or gluten free breads on the menu. That being said, the server was happy to recommend gluten free options as the food is cooked to order. The eggs, hash browns and quiche were reported as delicious. The restaurant is quaint with brick exposed walls and lace curtains in the windows. We felt the service was very good. NOTE: The restaurant is not handicap accessible. We had brunch upstairs and the ladies room is in the basement which was not a problem for us but may be for others.

food5
ambience3
service4

The food is wonderful! Love the bar wind ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

The food is wonderful! Love the bar window area that over looks downtown. Can get busy, noisy and hectic, but it's a good place in high demand for brunch.

food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent evening

Dined on February 6, 2016

The food was outstanding. All four of us dining had excellent meals. The menu selection is not huge, but there is always a pasta dish and a fresh fish, so the offerings are always a little different. Our server was very attentive! Only difficulty was parking in Portsmourh on a snowy eve!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Make sure you are not in a hurry

Dined on January 17, 2016

My husband and I went to Michelle's for Brunch. After a little over an hour our server came over and asked if we were ready for the bill, we had not received our food yet. When the food finally arrived it was excellent. If you go to Michelle's keep in mind you could be waiting for awhile.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place!

Dined on January 9, 2016

The food was great. The wait staff are awesome. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent brunch!

Dined on January 2, 2016

Food was delicious, met our grand daughter for brunch and we were all very impressed! French toast was wonderful as were the grits and quiche! Waiter, William I think, was great :)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Wonderful

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

Delicious, inventive food, wonderful service (William). A little too loud.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service3

It makes no sense to ask me for a review.

Dined on November 15, 2015

We were the last customers before Michelle's closed down for good. Why ask for a review when the restaurant no longer exists? We liked the food and ambience but were a bit uncomfortable about its closing.

food5
ambience4
service3

Their idea for restaurant week was just ...

vip
Dined on November 14, 2015

Their idea for restaurant week was just to use the regular menu and dish size and just charge $30 per person. 1 entree 1 appetizer and desert. Great idea

food5
ambience4
service4

Amazing food at Michelle's

Dined on November 12, 2015

We were very please with our experience at Michelle's. The food was amazing and unlike most places these days the portions were big enough to have leftovers! This is a place to sit back and enjoy your meal. Not the fastest service so I would not plan a show afterwards but well worth the wait

Tags: fit for foodies
food1
ambience1
service1

Despite reservation-no table -we had to leave

Dined on November 8, 2015

We arrived and they seemed surprised with had a reservation making a comment on how odd the time was. We then were taken into the bar to the very back table, which was a high top, in front of the AC and outside of the kitchen or dishwashing room (maybe even storage). We asked if we could actually wait for a table in the restaurant, since we reserved for restaurant dining-she said how about sitting at the bar. Again, we wanted to wait. We were sitting at bar to get a drink and had not service for about 10+ minutes. At that time we got up and just decided to leave when hostess said, wait, how about you sit here and pointed to a couch and coffee table. We thought she meant sit there and wait for a table. We found out when server showed up she expected us to sit at a couch and chair leaning over to a coffee table that had an ashtray on it. My husband made a phone call to the Italian restaurant across the street and told them what was happening. They were amazing and said come right over we'll make something work for you. We left immediately, went across the street and had a fantastic meal and evening. I WOULD never return to this establishment again.

food4
ambience3
service4

Great food and staff!

Dined on October 24, 2015

Very busy, but that's a tribute to the excellent food. Very fresh ingredients, excellent sauces. All hands on deck for the staff on this Saturday night; everyone pitched in for a pleasant dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Another great meal at Michelle's

Dined on October 7, 2015

Another great meal at Michelle's

food3
ambience4
service4

Brunch

vip
Dined on October 4, 2015

Very much enjoyed our experience, seated downstairs with a chance to watch the kitchen at work. Server was great, food was flavorful but a few miscues knocked it down a star. Lemon and lime in the Bloody Mary were all dried out and appeared days old, and the pancakes were a disappointment. $12 for 3 very small pancakes. Bacon and fresh fruit were supposed at that price, but no fruit was present, and we had to remind the waiter it came with bacon when it was served.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience3
service1

Fantastic food, terrible service.

Dined on October 3, 2015

I was excited to bring my friends who were visiting from out of town to Michelle's on Market Square because I had read great things. However, things went downhill immediately upon our arrival. We were shown to our table but only given two menus for the four of us. Fifteen minutes later, someone dropped off two more menus. It took 35 minutes after we had sat down until someone came to ask if we were ready to order. After that, we were only given two bread plates because apparently they didn't have enough plates. Two of us were actually given saucers to use as bread plates. When our food finally arrived, it had been just under an hour and a half since we had first sat down. The food was absolutely delicious, and I particularly enjoyed the salmon. However, I don't think that anyone should be able to put up with such slow and inattentive service for a great meal. I really wish that the service had been at least decent so that I could rate Michelle's higher, as we did really enjoy the food. I don't know if it was an off night or what, but something went wrong.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.