Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Michael's Tasting Room

Michael's Tasting Room offers a unique casual fine dining experience with a celebrated chef, dedicated staff, and passion for exquisite flavors and world-class wines. Michael's Tasting Room has received numerous honors and accolades. Most recently, the Wine Spectator awarded Michael's Tasting Rooms wine list it's Award of Excellence for the ninth year in a row. Chef Michael has also been recognized as Best Chef of St.Augustine from several the city's publications, The restaurant was featured on The Food Network with Chef Emeril Lagasse during Florida's 500th anniversary.

25 Cuna Street
St. Augustine, FL 32084
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Mediterranean, Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
St. George Street

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 810-2400

Website:
http://www.michaelstastingroom.com/

Catering:
Our place or yours, we can cater any size event. Call for details 904-810-2400

Parking Details:
The City of St. Augustine Public Parking lot is located 4 blocks northwest of the restaurant. The Toque Lot is located off of Charlotte Street and Hypolita Street. The restaurant is located in the north side of the parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Michael Lugo

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Michael's Tasting Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

Noise

Quiet

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (49)
Good for Anniversaries (45)
Special Occasion (40)
See All
Notable Wine List (39)
Romantic (38)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Tasting Menu (32)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Tapas (31)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Cozy (26)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Worth the Drive (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Authentic (18)
Casual (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Late-night Find (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Fun (8)
Business Meals (7)
Healthy (7)
Comfort Food (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Great Beer (4)
Seasonal (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Scenic View (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Vegan (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort by
S
1249 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined a day ago

Our service and entrees were disappointing. The small plates were lovely, but the rest of the experience was really negative.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 7, 2018

Always Excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 6, 2018

Took my wife here for our first wedding anniversary. My wife has a food allergy and cannot have any dairy what-so-ever. I called the restaurant ahead of time to let them know and they went above and beyond to accommodate us and went as far as creating a menu for that evening that was completely dairy free . I was very impressed with this establishment from top to bottom. Service was outstanding, food was excellent. I cannot say enough about Michael and the staff, they provide a superb dining experience. We will be going back

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Organic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 6, 2018

We have our annual dinner meeting here and it never disappoints! The service is fantastic, the food is always wonderful and they know how to handle large groups.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Tapas, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 4, 2018

As always, Michael's Tasting Room was great across the boards. Service, food, atmosphere, wine list, etc... ...I could go on and on. Star, our server, was a Star as well.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 4, 2018

Our dinner was great and the service was excellent. It was the perfect relaxing evening to celebrate our new marriage together.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 3, 2018

Pleasant ambiance. Food was a bit salty and overpriced.

Tags: Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 1, 2018

Great experience. We had a great tasting meal and wonderful service. It was really cold on Sunday, we waited for our reservation which ran late and wished they got those space heaters going to make us comfortable while waiting. Definitely will go again on a regular night to get more options and not on a night for a set menu.

Tags: Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 1, 2018

We feel we paid too much for we had. Sure it was nice, but $150. 00 for a taste of wine pairing on top of $75.00 per plate? Come on! The killer was a 20% service charge. Never again.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on December 31, 2017

Big disappointment, sadly. We tried many of the small plates, all were just mediocre, nothing special at all. I had high hopes due to all the great reviews, oh well - maybe was an off night idk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Excellent service - table was not ready so they gave us each a drink and an appetizer to share in their wine room. Above and beyond. Burger was truly phenomenal and the met time w go back I will have it again. Other entree was filet mignon. Smaller portion, but at least it wasn’t manageable and not a waste. Fantastic meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Overall it is a nice place and we enjoyed our meal. However, the service was very slow. Took quite a while to get our 2 drinks once ordered (wine and beer) and the one app/tapas that we ordered took a long time. Everything was slow. Once we got our bill, she took a long time to come back and get it to process. Maybe it was just our server? She was nice but very slow and not overly attentive. Definitely affected our experience. Also thought it was a little pricey for what we got. For these prices, I at least expect quicker and more attentive service to make it a more quality experience.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 29, 2017

This is a long-standing favorite for us. Michael Lugo s likely the best chef in our little town and the food is consistently good. Everyone we've sent there has enjoyed it as well. There's lot of interesting dishes and the wine list rocks!

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Fun, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 28, 2017

Beyond my expectations!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 28, 2017

The food and service was excellent. Very nice atmosphere. The whole dining experience was very nice. Will be back!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 28, 2017

All the food we had was delicious! The only downside was the slow service. We will definitely eat there again next time we're in St Augustine

Tags: Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 25, 2017

Had a terrific dinner on Christmas Eve. A great find!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 25, 2017

Great food, wonderful service. Fantastic wine list. Couldn’t ask for anything more.

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 25, 2017

Wonderful tapas menu and extensive wine list. It was the perfect place for us to have a quiet celebration of our anniversary.

Tags: Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on December 24, 2017

Were seating outside even though we asked to be seated inside because there were plenty of tables inside available. Fiancé ordered the grilled chicken and it was extremely under cooked (bleeding). Server was friendly but will disappear every time we had a request

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 24, 2017

Small plates were the best. Entree portions were small.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 24, 2017

Menu has a really nice selection and the wine list is extensive. The food was cooked to perfection. Service was good. My only complaint is that I wanted a cappuccino and the machine was down. So I asked for a decaf coffee, and the waiter said they didn't have any. Never heard of such a thing. I felt like they wanted to clear the table.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 24, 2017

Fantastic service. David our waiter was attentive, knowledgeable and friendly. Good was great. We focused on the small plates and really enjoyed the pork skewers and the goat cheese. Wonderful and plentiful sangria. Finally the restaurant has a cozy romantic atmosphere but remains family friendly. A good choice in the old city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 24, 2017

Very favorite Place to eat on occasion. Extensive wine list. Great Small plate offerings. They had changed up to a winter menu during this visit. Was not as fond of the Main offerings and was slightly disappointed with it to be honest. The menu is limited but everything is very good and well prepared. The service was very good and our server was polite and friendly and came back to check a few times to fill wine and give service. One of our favorite places. Need more main menu offerings please.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 24, 2017

Food and service were outstanding!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 23, 2017

Celebrated our anniversary over Christmas and enjoyed the food and great service. Very memorable!!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2017

Hostess had an attitude! Server didn’t write down our order (party of five) and one person in or party didn’t get their salad, the servers response “orders come out if the kitchen as they are prepared!” Translation, he didn’t write anything down, so he never placed the order. One person in our party did not get their appetizer, the servers response “Oh it didn’t come out?” Translation “He never placed the order.” One person in our party did not get their entree, when it arrived (Scallops, arrived 10 minutes later!) was room temperature. No apologizes from our server! When he presented our check he said “Oh, I removed the appetizer from your bill.” He said it like he was doing us a favor, our response “. “Thank you for not charging us for something we did not receive!” The restraint offered us no compensation for all the servers mistakes. We will never dine here again, definitely over rated!!!! Beware!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 23, 2017

The only complaint I have is that we tried to arrive early and our table wasn’t ready for the reservation and ended up not being ready until 20 minutes after our reserved time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 22, 2017

Had friends in from Denver and wanted to show them one of the Gems of St. Augustine. They were not disappointed. I have dined here multiple times and have always been amazed. I am a bit of a service snob and have always been very impressed. Everyone needs to experience Michael's Tasting Room!!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 20, 2017

The food was exceptional and it’s the only place in St Augustine that has good tasting water. This was easily the best meal we had while in St Augustine and we dined at some great restaurants. Their salmon entree is THE BEST salmon I’ve ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 20, 2017

The food and service was absolutely wonderful! We will recommend this to our friends and family.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 19, 2017

The food and wine was outstanding. My favorite was a salmon purée appetizer and also the scallops entree. Everything was cooked to perfection. Service was very prompt. We will definitely return

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 18, 2017

We always go to this restaurant when in st Augustine and never get disappointed.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 17, 2017

Loved the atmosphere and food, everything was so fresh and tasty.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Authentic, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 17, 2017

The ambiance where we sat was not great. There may be better areas outside. The food was good, some items were great. Lamb meatballs seemed overdone. Generally good.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 15, 2017

Dined alone on the small patio. Delicious food and wine pairing. Watched the world go by. Dining alone is not my favorite but the small outside table was perfect. My food was wonderful and I was content even solo.
Could have eaten a whole tray of the salmon mousse amuse bouche!

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, People Watching, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Scenic View, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 15, 2017

This was the best meal we have ever had in St. Augustine... and we've had a bunch of very good ones.
We couldn't recommend this more. And I rarely say this... but I think it's actually underpriced for what you get.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 14, 2017

Food was absolutely delicious and the atmosphere was quiet and cozy. Staff was extremely friendly. Will positively go again!

Tags: Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic, Tapas, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on December 13, 2017

Really exceptional cuisine, inventive and well-executed, and able server to recommend wine or other options. Enjoyable evening. Only thing I would change is, it was a chilly night and should have had the fireplace lit it was a bit chilly inside

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2017

Have been here a few times and the food is always good. This time they did not have the wine we wanted and ran out after one bottle of the one we had. Also had issues with the Xmas music being way to loud for conversation. They apologize and indicated they were having issues with the sound system that kept "turning itself up". (Must be a hard of hearing ghost....they should market that!)
There is not a bar so don't arrive early for your reservation. Also, this has a limited menu (albeit pretty good) probably due to the size of the kitchen which is small.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.