About Michael's Tasting Room

25 Cuna Street
St. Augustine, FL 32084
View Larger Map

Michael's Tasting Room offers a unique casual fine dining experience with a celebrated chef, dedicated staff, and passion for exquisite flavors and world-class wines. Michael's Tasting Room has received numerous honors and accolades. Most recently, the Wine Spectator awarded Michael's Tasting Rooms wine list it's Award of Excellence for the ninth year in a row. Chef Michael has also been recognized as Best Chef of St.Augustine from several the city's publications, The restaurant was featured on The Food Network with Chef Emeril Lagasse during Florida's 500th anniversary.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Mediterranean, Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
St. George Street

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 810-2400

Website:
http://www.michaelstastingroom.com/

Catering:
Our place or yours, we can cater any size event. Call for details 904-810-2400

Parking Details:
The City of St. Augustine Public Parking lot is located 4 blocks northwest of the restaurant. The Toque Lot is located off of Charlotte Street and Hypolita Street. The restaurant is located in the north side of the parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Michael Lugo

Private Party Facilities:
The "Red Room" holds up to 20 people for lunch or dinner. The private room, which is also an art gallery, is cozy and fun! The Courtyard can hold up to 24 people. Outdoor heaters and fans are on-site for inclement weather. Our whole restaurant is available for private events up to 100 guest.

Private Party Contact:
Stephanie Lugo: 904-377-4747x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Ostras Fritas - Michael's Tasting Room, St. Augustine, FL
Casuela De Langosta Y Camarones - Michael's Tasting Room, St. Augustine, FL
grilled Lamb Chop over quinoa - Michael's Tasting Room, St. Augustine, FL
Chocolate Decadence Créme Brulé - Michael's Tasting Room, St. Augustine, FL
tres leches - Michael's Tasting Room, St. Augustine, FL
Guava Cheesecake - Michael's Tasting Room, St. Augustine, FL
Pork Chop - Michael's Tasting Room, St. Augustine, FL
Unilaterally Seared Salmon - Michael's Tasting Room, St. Augustine, FL
Spiced Carrot Cake  - Michael's Tasting Room, St. Augustine, FL
Rare Duck Over Creamy Risotto - Michael's Tasting Room, St. Augustine, FL
Winter Citrus White Sangria - Michael's Tasting Room, St. Augustine, FL
Sea Salt Brownie - Michael's Tasting Room, St. Augustine, FL
Terrine De Queso - Michael's Tasting Room, St. Augustine, FL
Ensalada De Remolacha - Michael's Tasting Room, St. Augustine, FL

Michael's Tasting Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (44)
Creative Cuisine (43)
Special Occasion (43)
See All
Good for a Date (43)
Notable Wine List (39)
Romantic (37)
Tasting Menu (31)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Tapas (30)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Worth the Drive (22)
Local Ingredients (22)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Cozy (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Authentic (17)
Historic (14)
Good for Groups (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Healthy (9)
Seasonal (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Business Meals (7)
Fun (7)
Fireplace (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Casual (6)
Private Room (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Organic (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Family Style (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
People Watching (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vegan (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
981 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had dinner at Michaels. We enjoy tap ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

We had dinner at Michaels. We enjoy tapas. The dishes were good but somewhat overpriced and pretentious for what was delivered. It was an ok experience but not one we'd repeat.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent food. Service was superb. Our ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food. Service was superb. Our waiterx David, was perfect.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our favorite St Augustine spot. Consista ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Our favorite St Augustine spot. Consistant and full of flavor. Can always depend on outstanding specials as well.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our 1st time eating at this res ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 5, 2017

This was our 1st time eating at this restaurant. The food was delicious and presented attractively. The portion looked small, but was filling and rich tasting. We wanted to support this restaurant after hearing on the national news in Green Bay, WI prior to our visit, that someone complained about the establishment playing Christmas music. It was after all St. Augustine and Christmas time. What did they expect?

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, great wines, great atmospher ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Great food, great wines, great atmosphere, consistency in the way food is prepared. I highly recommended to everyone. Very reasonable prices also. My wife and I love to go there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fun, Casual, Seasonal, Romantic, Tapas, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fantastic. the actual esta ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The food was fantastic. the actual establishment was very clean and looked great! Brandon Snook made a table side appearance and I appreciate meeting the person who is preparing food for my guest and myself. All in all I would give it five out of five stars. I will definitely be recommending your restaurant to my friends and family

Tags: Romantic, Organic, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The only positive comment is that they h ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The only positive comment is that they have a notable wine list. Restaurant was empty on the night we were there yet hostess didn't ask if we preferred a table inside the nondescript dining room or outside; she certainly wasn't happy to be there or seat customers that dropped $350 on a Monday night. Server was slow to greet us at the table. Had to ask for bread and water. Never asked us how we liked each course or our entree. Event enough guy, just not cut out for the business. Portion size was quite small for the price. The scallop entree and Brussel sprouts were over salted to within an inch of the their life. Not quite sure how this restaurant has so many positive reviews, which is why we decided to try it. Perhaps regular diners haven't ventured out to high end Michelin rated spots and don't have good comparison. Only saving grace is the notable wine list, including some of my favorites that I haven't seen anywhere else in the food desert that is NE Florida. Perhaps we will return for a bottle of wine.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

We have been going to the Tasting Room f ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We have been going to the Tasting Room for many years, even before we moved to St. Augustine and we have always enjoyed it and always recommend it to visitors! We dined there last New Year's Eve and it was very good, this time, well there were issues. First they tried to sit us (again) at a tiny table for two when there were numerous empty bigger tables that were set for two. We were refused the bigger table and thought about leaving, but the "host" thought better of it, I guess, and sat us at a better table. Second, there was no entertainment this year like last year. No party favors either, as before.

And the biggest issue was the portion size! One potato/goat cheese "bomba", a soup bowl filled 1/4 full, two scallops, and two beef medallions.... this comprised the "4 course menu". Then, dessert. The food was delicious but we left hungry. And this was $75 per person!!! If we chose the wine pairing, it was an additional $50/pp. Yikes!! We have dined all over the world and have never experience portions this small.

The portion size was almost laughable and I noticed several other diners give each other "a look like, WTH!" To Michael and the Tasting Room staff, we love your food, but really? This was just not up to snuff for such a usually excellent restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Perfext start to the New Year. Greqt foo ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Perfext start to the New Year. Greqt food, wine and service. A special place to take someone special.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Had a wonderful time and meal on New Yea ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Had a wonderful time and meal on New Year's Eve. The four course meal was excellent. The filet mignon medallions were the best we've ever had! Always our favorite restaurant for our special occasions.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Tapas selection was diverse. Everyth ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The Tapas selection was diverse. Everything i ate was delicious! Best charcuterie board I've ever had.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyable. Great petit Surat

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Enjoyable. Great petit Surat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I came to Saint Augustine to propose to ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I came to Saint Augustine to propose to my now fiancé Jennifer and have the post celebration dinner with her and family after. I rate everything very high except for an inability to get us in at our reservation time , 8pm. They were roughly 40 minutes late. I will say the Executive Chef did a great job making amends for us. Michael's will be a place we visit every time we travel there.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Taylor , our waitress, was fabulous. Eac ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Taylor , our waitress, was fabulous. Each small plate tastier than the one before. Octopus was incredible, carrot soup, shishito

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great choice. Had our end of ye ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Always a great choice. Had our end of year dinner with our staff and their spouses and not one person was disappointed. Some were able to try things they never had before and loved it. Others found a new appreciation for items they had before. Archie was great as well and took real good care of us.

Thanks for another great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice restaurant. Party of four, on ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Very nice restaurant. Party of four, one meal had to be sent back due to undercooked fish. All meals did not come out together, but overall food was very tasty. Wait staff was having an off night.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Very private dining experience,love the ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Very private dining experience,love the atmosphere

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

We had the most wonderful time - wine ce ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We had the most wonderful time - wine cellar drinks from a great wine list first , then great food and atmosphere

Chef Michael came and spent time at our table and was passionate and enthusiastic about the food he serves and it shows ! Try the pork belly :)

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We were there for a date night. This was ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We were there for a date night. This was a good find in St. Augustine that now gives us another good eatery to return to when we visit the city.

Tags: Tapas, Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Phenomenal service and food. A must plac ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Phenomenal service and food. A must place to go if you're visiting St. Augustine for a nice formal dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This was a very nice place. I enjoyed go ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 26, 2016

This was a very nice place. I enjoyed good that I would have never ordered if it was not suggested.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We were expecting much better but the fo ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We were expecting much better but the food was disappointing. The toston on the Argentinian skirt steak pinchos had been cooked in cold oil so it had absorbed all the oil and was inedible. Then the fried chicken thighs were burnt beyond recognition and inedible. Service was fair to bad. I cannot understand how it got the 4.6 rating on open table. I wouldn't give it more than a 3.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

First visit and was not disappointed. Th ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 23, 2016

First visit and was not disappointed. The staff is so nice and welcoming. Rachel is an absolute doll!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great experience at Michael's T ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We had a great experience at Michael's Tasting Room. As usual the food was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

With so many restaurants to choose from ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 22, 2016

With so many restaurants to choose from in St Augustine, Michaels would rank average. I had the swordfish special, which was good, but lukewarm. Root vegetables were just so-so. We sent back the pork belly because it was grizzly and just not up to par. We are fans of pork belly and appreciate it when cooked perfectly. The scallops were delicious. My husband had the short ribs. They were a tad dry and not enough gravy on the plate. The appetizers are very small- good taste, but really not a good value for the little amount you get. We had small children with us, and I will just say, this is not a restaurant to bring kids. We ordered the crispy chicken thighs for them- they were pretty spicy, but the owner was wonderful and offered to send more out without all the garlic and spice. The kids enjoyed these. The burger was terrific and probably the best value on the menu. The atmosphere is fantastic and the wait staff most polite and attentive. Again, not sure if I would return here, but maybe I should without children.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything was excellent, will definitel ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Everything was excellent, will definitely make a trip back and recommend to friends and family.

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There were four of us for dinner and we ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 22, 2016

There were four of us for dinner and we ordered 4 appetizers for tasting. There were

All delicious and were quite enough for a meal. Desserts were equally delicious. Service was quite good as well.

It was a fun evening during the holiday season.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We very much enjoyed our Spanish style m ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We very much enjoyed our Spanish style meal, almost as if we were in Madrid! We will be returning soon!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Michael's is so charming! The fire place ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Michael's is so charming! The fire place, Christmas tree and Christmas music really get you into the Christmas spirit! Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My date is a big fan and now I am too. B ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 18, 2016

My date is a big fan and now I am too. Beautiful place to indulge and the menu is very creative (and tasty items as well)!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The scallops and short ribs were delicio ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The scallops and short ribs were delicious and the presentation was beautiful. Our bottle of Spanish wine was also very good and under $30. If you know your wines you could spend a lot more as they have a large selection. I highly recommned this restaraunt to traveling foodies.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the overall experience, the octo ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Enjoyed the overall experience, the octopus was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

My husband and I ate an Anniversary dinn ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 17, 2016

My husband and I ate an Anniversary dinner there over a weekend in St Augustine. We love shared plates and the menu selections were perfect for that! But, if you want a more intimate dinner, I suggest calling to book a patio table. I wasn't aware of that when I made our reservations online and we had to eat in the open dining room.

Tags: Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This place was wonderful!! Great atmosp ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 17, 2016

This place was wonderful!! Great atmosphere, food, and service!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it!!! One of the best restaurants ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Loved it!!! One of the best restaurants in St. Augustine. Service was exceptional and out waiter made our dining experience. Loved the Christmas Music!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Tapas, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Michael's Tasting Room is one of the bes ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Michael's Tasting Room is one of the best tapas restaurants we have ever been to in the world!!! If we could give it a hundred Stars we would. The food was amazing ! So well prepared with fresh ingredients and presented in a beautiful fashion.

The service was attentive and personal.

I would recommend this restaurant for a get-together of friends or family or a date night or a special occasion or just anytime you just want to taste a whole lot of different plates of delicious food.

This was our first time visiting Michael's tasting room but we will be coming back every time we come to st. Augustine.

Enjoy!!!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Happy Hour, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A trip to Michaels's is always a treat f ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 16, 2016

A trip to Michaels's is always a treat for us and our latest visit confirmed our loyalty.

Great food, wine and service. And if you get to spend some time with Michael you are in for a treat.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was outstanding as usual. This time ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Food was outstanding as usual. This time we made our Mel from 5 tapa dishes and two salads. That was almost too much for us. Our waiter Gregg was attentive and very gregarious as well as professional.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Tapas, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service one waitress Audry always on ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The service one waitress Audry always on point,great selections on wine pairing.The food was excellent short ribs was the main course.desert was cheese cake with figs as good as Jrs. in New York city well very close.Side note ,the Christmas music was perfect sound for the holidays and at a perfect level.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.