Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Michael's Tasting Room

Michael's Tasting Room offers a unique casual fine dining experience with a celebrated chef, dedicated staff, and passion for exquisite flavors and world-class wines. Michael's Tasting Room has received numerous honors and accolades. Most recently, the Wine Spectator awarded Michael's Tasting Rooms wine list it's Award of Excellence for the ninth year in a row. Chef Michael has also been recognized as Best Chef of St.Augustine from several the city's publications, The restaurant was featured on The Food Network with Chef Emeril Lagasse during Florida's 500th anniversary.

25 Cuna Street
St. Augustine, FL 32084
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Mediterranean, Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
St. George Street

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 810-2400

Website:
http://www.michaelstastingroom.com/

Catering:
Our place or yours, we can cater any size event. Call for details 904-810-2400

Parking Details:
The City of St. Augustine Public Parking lot is located 4 blocks northwest of the restaurant. The Toque Lot is located off of Charlotte Street and Hypolita Street. The restaurant is located in the north side of the parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Michael Lugo

Private Party Facilities:
The "Red Room" holds up to 20 people for lunch or dinner. The private room, which is also an art gallery, is cozy and fun! The Courtyard can hold up to 24 people. Outdoor heaters and fans are on-site for inclement weather. Our whole restaurant is available for private events up to 100 guest.

Private Party Contact:
Stephanie Lugo: (904) 377-4747

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Michael's Tasting Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (45)
Special Occasion (39)
Creative Cuisine (39)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Notable Wine List (34)
Romantic (32)
Tasting Menu (32)
Worth the Drive (30)
Tapas (29)
Local Ingredients (29)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Cozy (24)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Authentic (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Healthy (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Casual (12)
Business Meals (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Seasonal (9)
Fun (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Historic (6)
Scenic View (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Hot Spot (5)
People Watching (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Live Music (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Organic (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Great Beer (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Waterfront (1)
Vegan (1)
Spicy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1131 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 6 days ago

It was a great experience for my wife and i it was our 1yr anniversary july16th she really enjoyed herself and as i was we would love to return thanks for having the both of us hats off to the chef

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great food and value, a bit noisy when seating inside.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 11, 2017

We loved the Tasting Room 8 years ago and returned this week to find it just as good. In fact, we liked it so much we went back the following night for another dinner. The shrimp ajillo, goat cheese terrine, and crispy chicken tapas are excellent and the duck confit is to die for. Great Caesar salad too. Oh and the creme brulee is out of this world. Wonderful wine list and great service. Will be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Whoa! Phenomenal place and atmosphere in a quaint little town; St. Augustine. I had the fish special and my wife had the scallops. Presentation was first class. Service was impeccably timed and the food delicious, well prepared just right. Wine selection demystified by our waiter/former chef David who let us choose the most amazing bottle of Spanish red wine. Desert was an unfair treat; tres leche cake is a must.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I was very excited to bring a friend in to have dinner here since she was visiting from out of town and I'd heard so many great recommendations on Chef Michael. It wasn't a bad experience by any means but it just wasn't memorable. We split 6 tapas and truly none of them really stood out. We're both fans of Spanish Tapas and these didn't really do it for us at all. The atmosphere was also pretty bland. Restaurant seemed sort of empty for a Saturday night and felt really quiet. Wasn't a repeat offender for me.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 8, 2017

This place is amazing. Great food and wine and a wonder place to make memories with friends and loved ones!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 7, 2017

What has happened to The Tasting Room? It used to be such a unique, sexy experience, with the couches up front and live, Gypsy Kings-like music keeping the atmosphere lively. This was our 4th dinner at The Tasting Room however, it had been over a year since our last visit. We were dissappointed that there was no live music. The romantic, sexy atmosphere has vanished (as have the couches up front), replaced with a generic restaurant atmosphere that carries the memories of much better days long ago. The menu is smaller than I remember with far fewer tapas available (what happened to those delicious albondigas?!?!?) and a more limited selection of full meals. We were there on a Friday evening and I'd estimate far less than half of the tables were filled during our meal...a meal that further let us down when we were informed that they ran out of Cedar Key steamed clams tapas. On a Friday evening during July 4th week??? Guess they were really great because there were none left by the time Friday rolled around. What used to be a "can't miss" tapas experience is now just a watered down reflection of what used to be. It's now just another St. Augustine restaurant in a town that has so many...some of which that have now caught up and passed The Tasting Room. With all that being said, the tapas we did enjoy were delicious and although small in size (as tapas should be), I still felt that they were fairly priced. Service was good however, we did indicate on our reservation that we were celebrating our 15th wedding anniversary but sadly, there was no recognition of it. Our server did a nice job of efficiently taking care of us but we never felt rushed. Although, we voluntarily decided to cut the evening short due to the disappointment we felt. We were in & out in less than 45 minutes. All good things must come to an end I suppose and due to, what must be necessary decisions of management, we won't be going back to The Tasting Room in its current form.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 6, 2017

A fantastic experience, this restaurants is a "MUST" if you visit St. Agustin.
cant wait to get back...... thanks por your amazing food experience,.

Tags: Tapas, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Organic, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Excellent food. Could not have asked for better short ribs. At first, I didn't think It was going to be filling, but I had more than enough. Except for being a little loud, I thought it was perfect. Service was exceptional.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 2, 2017

The overall experience was great. Our server, Taylor was excellent. The chef needs to re-think the amount of salt in the scallops. And I'm a saltaholic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We love this restaurant. One of our favs in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 2, 2017

WELCOMED WITH A FRIENDLY INVITING STAFF. SERVER WAS VERY KNOWLEDGEABLE OF ALL THE MENU OPTIONS. VERY HELPFUL WITH WINE PAIRING FOR ENTREES. THE WHOLE EVENING WAS WONDERFUL

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Portions were ridiculous!!! Ordered the scallops - received 3!!

Asked for bread - they bought us one tiny roll each!

Fancy prices for fair cuisine, this place tries too hard to be a 5 star restaurant.

Save your money - there are 25 other restaurants in the area were you'll get a good meal for a respectable price.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Our server was very attentive and accommodating. We enjoyed the food very much and liked the intimate atmosphere of the dining room.

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great atmosphere. No pressure. Relaxing. Amazing food w great flavor. So nice to have a wonderful meal and be able to have a conversation at the table without loud noises and interruptions. Thank you for creating this space and giving the attention to the flavors and presentation of the food.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 30, 2017

I had the beef short rib with yuca root and it was probably the best meal I have had in years. My wife and I are normally not a fan of the really fancy restaurants, but both of our meals were fantastic and so was the service (Archie).

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The braised beef ribs were sensational! I would order the same thing again. The meat was done to perfection, and it melted in my mouth. The side dishes complemented the meat so well. The brownie dessert was decadent! My husband loved the scallops and the brownie. The wine was just right. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Healthy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Food was delicious! Staff was pleasant and helpful. Our waiter was knowledgeable about menu and spices. He was also pretty funny!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Had a fantastic dinner. The food and service was top notch. Great to see a service organization that cares about customer satisfaction.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 27, 2017

The food ranged from good to poor. The manchego tapa was nice, the fish special for the day was good, but the duck confit was poorly prepared and only barely edible. The wine list is impressive and fun, and two of the three wines we ordered were adequately served. However, the Bordeaux was served too warm (well over 70 degree). Overall a disappointing food and wine experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We chose Michael's based on a glowing review in a state-wide publication, and they did not disappoint. As an extra surprise touch, I had accidentally left my hat when we hurriedly dashed off to catch a concert nearby. But when returned the next day, the staff cheerfully retrieved and returned it. Great, great staff! Fantastic food! Like Arnold says, "We'll be back."

Tags: Tapas, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 23, 2017

one of the best dinners we've had in a long time. would definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Outstanding Restaurant for menu and food. Extensive wine list however pricey not enough medium price wines. The noise level of the restaurant is too loud I hear more customers then musack...

I love the braised short ribs... a must try.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Food was like 1970’s hotel food. Over seasoned, seemed like it had been prepared in advanced and reheated. Service was very good however and the environment is good for the location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Had a wonderful dinner to catch up with a friend "long time no see"
Would recommend this place great setting inside or out.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We visited for Father's Day and planned our afternoon shopping around our early evening reservation at Michael's. We typically sit outside in the quiet courtyard - one of our favorite spots - but due to the heat & humidity we opted for the dining room this time. The large open room was a bit noisy for our taste, but not excessive. The food, as usual, was outstanding. In addition to the seasonal tapas (we had a shrimp dish and dish featuring goat cheese), I had the rib-eye. It literally melted in your mouth. My wife and son had the hanger steak, which was uniquely seasoned and quite tasty. We finished the meal with desserts (creme brulee and chocolate brownies all around!). The service throughout the meal was impeccable.
Michael's is our favorite St. Augustine restaurant, which is saying a lot as there are countless to choose from. We typically visit 2-3 times a year,and it is well-worth the drive. Nice job as always, Michael's!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic, Scenic View, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 14, 2017

I cannot recommend this restaurant. There is nothing wrong with it; however, for the price, there is nothing particularly noteable either. It has a skimpy selection of tapas, the portions are small and undistinguished.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Fantastic from start to finish! Both the service and food were impeccable! I would definitely recommend and return again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Had a great time David was an excellent waiter never had to ask for anything

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Fun, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 9, 2017

This was the first time the four of us have dined at Michael's Tasting Room and it was outstanding! We each had a different entrée, which we all sampled, and every one was delicious. Staff welcomed us as we entered the restaurant, and our waiter, David, was terrific. Very friendly, professional, and made great suggestions. We all agreed that The Tasting Room is one of the finest restaurants in St. Augustine. We will be back very soon!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 9, 2017

My son gave me a gift certificate as part of my Christmas present. We decided to use it now- in June. It was totally worth the wait! There is an extensive wine list which is fab! We decided we'd go with the white sangria- great choice.
Our daughter is vegetarian and there was plenty of choices for her She went with the vegetable risotto which she said was great. I went with a couple tapas . They were amazing- especially the chicken thighs! Hubby had the Hanger steak which he raved over.
We finished up with the Coconut Trea Leches which was so light and fluffy. The mixture of the coconut, caramel and cinnamon was so flavorful that I can't wait to return to Michael's again Two thumbs way up!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Went to this restaurant as part of the Bozard Date Night promotion. The restaurant is located on one of the most picturesque streets in St Augustine's historic district. We went early in the evening so it was not at all crowded. Archie, our waiter, was outstanding - friendly, informed, very precise in his suggestions. The food was gourmet quality, obviously prepared by a chef who took great pride in his offerings. My only reservation in totally recommending Michael's is that ordering a la carte could be fairly pricey.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 6, 2017

We really enjoyed our meal. Although the menu is limited, the food was very tasty! The wine list was amazing. Service was acceptable but not overly attentive. The restaurant itself was charming, intimate and created an inviting environment.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Great Service- food was very good- dessert a little stale.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 3, 2017

This was our first visit, and we will be back, without a doubt. The food (a hamburger for him; tilefish for me) was superb. The winelist is excellent (we had a nice sancerre). the service was attentive but discreet. the room was lovely and nicely decorated. the tables are spaced far enough apart to provide privacy. This is a true gem!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Great service and ambiance! I would recommend this restaurant to others.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Totally recommend it. Tapas and food were absolutly delicious and good size portions.( we shared) Love the Ambiance and it felt like inside an old house( very cozy). Prices were decent and service was great. Must try the mushroom soup, goat cheese tapas the yuca mofongo with the shortrib.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 27, 2017

My girls friend got sick from her swordfish. A friend bought a bottle of wine ahead of time for us as a surprise. Was brought out half way through dinner. I don't know if it was on purpose to make us buy wine but either way the communication through staffing isn't good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great dinner! I'll definitely come back again! ★★★★★

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The goat cheese cheese cake in a mason jar was OUTSTANDING!

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.