About Michael's Tasting Room

25 Cuna Street
St. Augustine, FL 32084
View Larger Map

Michael's Tasting Room offers a unique casual fine dining experience with a celebrated chef, dedicated staff, and passion for exquisite flavors and world-class wines. Michael's Tasting Room has received numerous honors and accolades. Most recently, the Wine Spectator awarded Michael's Tasting Rooms wine list it's Award of Excellence for the ninth year in a row. Chef Michael has also been recognized as Best Chef of St.Augustine from several the city's publications, The restaurant was featured on The Food Network with Chef Emeril Lagasse during Florida's 500th anniversary.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Mediterranean, Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
St. George Street

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 810-2400

Website:
http://www.michaelstastingroom.com/

Catering:
Our place or yours, we can cater any size event. Call for details 904-810-2400

Parking Details:
The City of St. Augustine Public Parking lot is located 4 blocks northwest of the restaurant. The Toque Lot is located off of Charlotte Street and Hypolita Street. The restaurant is located in the north side of the parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Michael Lugo

Private Party Facilities:
The "Red Room" holds up to 20 people for lunch or dinner. The private room, which is also an art gallery, is cozy and fun! The Courtyard can hold up to 24 people. Outdoor heaters and fans are on-site for inclement weather. Our whole restaurant is available for private events up to 100 guest.

Private Party Contact:
Stephanie Lugo: 904-377-4747x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Michael's Tasting Room
Ostras Fritas
Casuela De Langosta Y Camarones
grilled Lamb Chop over quinoa
Chocolate Decadence Créme Brulé
tres leches
Guava Cheesecake
Pork Chop
Unilaterally Seared Salmon
Spiced Carrot Cake
Rare Duck Over Creamy Risotto
Winter Citrus White Sangria
Sea Salt Brownie
Terrine De Queso
Ensalada De Remolacha

Michael's Tasting Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Romantic
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Overall
St. Augustine
9 More
Best Food
St. Augustine
Best Service
St. Augustine
Best Ambiance
St. Augustine
Best Value
St. Augustine
Fit for Foodies
St. Augustine
Neighborhood Gem
St. Augustine
Romantic
St. Augustine
Special Occasion
St. Augustine
Most Booked
St. Augustine
Best Restaurants in St. Augustine ›

Special Occasion (46)
Romantic (45)
Notable Wine List (35)
See All
Fit for Foodies (33)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Tapas (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Cozy (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Authentic (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Healthy (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Historic (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Business Meals (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Scenic View (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Casual (1)
Family Style (1)
Live Music (1)
Fun (1)
Organic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
876 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Charming neighborhood gem with excellent ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Charming neighborhood gem with excellent cuisine. This is a must-stop in St. Augustine!

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice, pleasant restaurant. Very g ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Very nice, pleasant restaurant. Very good food. Attentive service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience was awesome. Our server, ...

 
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Our experience was awesome. Our server, Kristin, made our evening over-the-top. Attentive, great personality and knowledgeable about all the menu items. We ordered several small plates. Each one better than the next! Mushrooms are a must try. Also enjoyed the marinated manchego & figs.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite restaurant in St. Augustine. ...

 
·Dined on September 16, 2016

My favorite restaurant in St. Augustine. I like that they offer small plates as well. The dishes are always of great quality. The creativity is outstanding and shows Michael's skills. I could not ask for a better restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone on the staff was Courteous, pl ...

 
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Everyone on the staff was Courteous, pleasant, and informative . the atmosphere was pleasant and the food was excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great meal- so tasty - with sev ...

 
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We had a great meal- so tasty - with several small plates and great wine. We were thankful to have been seated a bit early for our reservation, and thought we had great service. Highly recommend Michael's!

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We celebrated our 10th wedding anniversa ...

 
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We celebrated our 10th wedding anniversary with the Chef's Table at Michael's. This was absolutely incredible. We enjoyed six inventive and delicious dishes. The service was friendly and excellent. We can't wait to come back again! Many thanks to the world-class chefs and servers!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a nice surprise. The cuisine, atmos ...

 
·Dined on September 8, 2016

What a nice surprise. The cuisine, atmosphere, interior, chef, and wait staff (Gary and Matt) reminded me of Sonoma County wine country venues. Chic and elegant food. There were some items my husband might not have eaten before we went to dinner there. He ate the fresh greens and beet salad and loved it. The Grouper had been seasoned perfectly. Normal he doesn't like fish but he is still talking about how good the whole dinner was. We have told several friends about the restaurant.

Tags: Fun, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Outstanding Value, Tapas, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed our date nite. The mea ...

 
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We really enjoyed our date nite. The meal was delicious and the atmosphere was very romantic. We'll definitely return .

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kristen was our server and she was fanta ...

 
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Kristen was our server and she was fantastic. Friendly, attentive and well versed with the menu and ingredients of each dish. Chef Michael spent time in the dining room visiting with guests and was very engaging. Food, service and ambiance were all above average. We have already shared our positive experience with friends and we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service were excellent. We ...

 
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The food and service were excellent. We really enjoyed the atmosphere. Very friendly and Chef Michael came by the tables. Very satisfied and we will go back.

Tags: Disabled Access, Casual, Authentic, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent all round Great food and wine ...

 
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Excellent all round

Great food and wine

Excellent service

Very comfortable

Will definitely return

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Michael is a great chef and has cooked o ...

 
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Michael is a great chef and has cooked one of the top five meals I've had in my life. However, the service at Tasting Room led us astray. As a St. Augustine resident, I wanted my fiancé to experience the best my home town had to offer. Instead we had an above-average steak dinner with below-average service for an astronomical price.

We were talked into the date night set menu by the young host as we took our seat. We thought that was but one option that would be presented to us, but as soon as we sat down, the server began bringing alcohol, which we did not want on this occasion. We didn't even know what was going to be in the dinner at this point! We asked and our server explained the 3 course prix fixe meal. Ok, but we don't want wine. Fine. They bring out wine anyway. Grrr. The bill comes and it's $130 for a meal that was not worth more than $80 (20% gratuity was added!!) Disappointing to say the least, and our server's demeanor was brusque and rude. The sole highlight was the excellent goat cheese cheesecake.

I want to go back because the regular menu is so good, but I'm afraid it will be awhile before I do.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

Michael's Tasting Room exceeded our expe ...

 
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Michael's Tasting Room exceeded our expectations on every front. We were celebrating a friend's birthday and wanted a special experience. We were greeted in a friendly, cordial way and our special event was acknowledged by the staff that showed us to our table. Michael, the owner and chef, came out and welcomed us to the restaurant and let us know he was there to make our evening special! The wait staff (Greg) was exceptional with his expertise of the menu and the wine list. Everything we ordered was delicious! Michael's Tasting Room was an absolute gem and we can't wait to return!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Michael Lugo's dishes are always delicio ...

 
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Michael Lugo's dishes are always delicious and perfectly seasoned! We just got back from Spain and the tapas that we had here were better than any we had in Spain!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The meal was so delicious and the presen ...

 
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The meal was so delicious and the presentation was impressive as well. The waiter "Keylime" was attentive and professional. Overall an awesome experience and we'll be back!!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was incredible. We ordered tapas ...

 
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Dinner was incredible. We ordered tapas and each dish was great. We had chicken chicharones, shrimp ajillo, spicy grilled octopus, and mushrooms. We finished the meal with salted caramel brownie bites. Our tastebuds were very happy and the service was great(Gregory)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I'm so glad that I found this place. I ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I'm so glad that I found this place. I will be coming back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We attend for a Lincoln Date Night, so f ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We attend for a Lincoln Date Night, so food was already pick out for us and prepared. The menu for the night was steak. It was VERY rare and neither myself or my husband eat rare steak. The rest of the dining experience was good. They did try to rush you out, and I understand since we weren't paying for our meal. Champagne to start, before we finished it, white wine came out with salad, and before we finished it, red wine came out with dinner. Rush, Rush. We needed more time to sit back and enjoy. Could've been an excellent evening under different situation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We dined with 5 ladies and all had a bal ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We dined with 5 ladies and all had a ball! We ordered lots of small plates and used our server Archie's suggestions for food and wine. The atmosphere was swanky yet homey, the food was delicious, the wine was awesome, service was great, and desserts were tasty. We got tons of food, wine, and desserts, and we spent UNDER $50 each (including tip). Pleasantly surprised with our trip, and we all were thinking of going back the next night. I wish I lived closer.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food and atmosphere. One of the ...

 
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Fabulous food and atmosphere. One of the highlights of our trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The location is hidden on a 'tight' one- ...

 
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The location is hidden on a 'tight' one-way road. Once we found the location parking was scarce , but we were able to occupy a vacated spot. We arrived and entered in the rear of the restaurant. We were seated, given ample time to review the menu and place our orders. Food ordered was outside my comfort zone; Spanish ~ Mediterranean and ordered the Gambas Tapa, way different than I expected, but good! The entire dining experience was overall great and the food near excellent.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The appetizer and dessert were good. Th ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The appetizer and dessert were good. The portion of wine given was great. We ordered sea scallops and the lobster and they were horrible. When you're spending over $30 per entree, you expect the food to be cooked to perfection. Both dishes tasted more like chicken than seafood- WAY overcooked. The meals weren't worth anywhere near what they charged!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

We were there for Lincoln Date night, so ...

 
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We were there for Lincoln Date night, so the meal served wasn't on the regular menu. The food was already prepared , a set menu for the Date Night people. it wasn't very tasty, but how can we complain when it was free?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value4

Appetizers were terrific but I was disap ...

 
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Appetizers were terrific but I was disappointed with the Grouper special as my main course. The fish was bland and the cous cous was soaked in the broth used for the fish which made it soft and mushy. Would give the place one more try though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Bozard Ford called me for LINCOLN DATE ...

 
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Bozard Ford called me for LINCOLN DATE NIGHT. The whole experience was a so breathe taking.

I was able to share with my 16 year old grandson a eglant way of dinning.

He was so impressed with the restaurant, our waiter (Greg) and the CHEF came out to our table twice. My grandson is interested in becoming a Chef. So he loved the evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had heard great things but they were u ...

 
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I had heard great things but they were understated. The food is excellent, great wine list, excellent service. I will be returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious and beautifully presented food ...

 
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Delicious and beautifully presented food in lovely, tasteful surroundings with an extraordinarily attentive staff. We felt lucky to have found this gem of a restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Very very nice. We arrived earlier than ...

 
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Very very nice. We arrived earlier than our reservation and they accommodated us in5 minutes. The service was superb and wait staff was very friendly and courteous. The food and beverages were a fixed menu and served at the proper temperature and quite tasty. All in all it was great and we would definitely pass on our recommendation.

We plan to regularly enjoy Michael's Tasting Room .

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good . Portions and p ...

 
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The food was very good . Portions and presentation was excellent. Unfortunately, the AC broke, so we were very uncomfortable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We ordered duck, lobster, lamb and the g ...

 
·Dined on July 25, 2016

We ordered duck, lobster, lamb and the gaucho and all of them were amazingly tasty! Desert was very good as well, both the brownie and the key lime pie. We will come back for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

My entire family is in love and apprecia ...

 
·Dined on July 24, 2016

My entire family is in love and appreciation of Michael's outstanding restaurant. Whether you are seated outside or inside you will be taken on an exciting journey of skillful creativity. We appreciate the friendly wait staff and the cosiness of the restaurant indoors and outdoors. It is easy to get addicted to the flavorful Sangria but Michael has also an extensive wine list. Your taste buds are being taken onto a pleasant and surprising journey and we love to order several small plates and appetizers to satisfy our curiosity. The presentation is always appealing. Dinner at Michael's is always an outstanding experience and there is no other restaurant in St. Augustine that could hold up a candle to Michael's tasting room in my opinion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WHAT A GREAT PLACE NEVER FAILS. THIS TI ...

 
·Dined on July 23, 2016

WHAT A GREAT PLACE NEVER FAILS. THIS TIME, IF POSSIBLE, THE FOOD WAS EVEN BETTER. THEY CHANGE UP THE MENU SO ALWAYS NEW THINGS TO TRY. THE WINE LIST IS GREAT. NOT ONE THING WE ORDERED WAS A DISAPPOINTMENT. WE ORDERED SEVERAL APPETIZERS AND EVEN HAD TO REORDER A COUPLE OF THEM. THE SERVICE WAS PERFECT NOT HURRIED, BUT WITHOUT PAUSES. I WOULD AND HAVE RECOMMENDED MICHAEL'S TASTING ROOM TO MY FRIENDS. IT IS ONE OF OUR TOP 3 CHOICES AND THAT INCLUDES JACKSONVILLE.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

What a great night with two of our frien ...

 
·Dined on July 23, 2016

What a great night with two of our friends at Michaels Tasting Room. The service, 4 course dinner and atmosphere was fantastic. This was a first time experience at Michaels and we all loved it. After dinner, we walked down Cuna Street and listened to the Spanish musician playing the guitar. Thank you from all four of us!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious. Ambiance was perfec ...

 
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Food was delicious. Ambiance was perfect. waiter was attentive and friendly. I will definitely go back and I have already recommended it to others.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Menu was much changed since our previous ...

 
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Menu was much changed since our previous visit with many fewer options. Food was ok. Service was exceptionally bad/inattentive on this visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Service was terrible.. We had to get ot ...

 
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Service was terrible.. We had to get other waiters to get our waiter several times. Our food was delicious, but due to service, will dine else where next time.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Delicious food, wonderful friendly and a ...

 
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Delicious food, wonderful friendly and accommodating service in a quiet contemporary atmosphere. Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Good service. Food just didn't meet our ...

 
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Good service. Food just didn't meet our expectations.

Lovely guitar playing in background

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

This was our first time at The Tasting R ...

 
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This was our first time at The Tasting Room and it was an amazing experience. Extensive wine selection and diverse menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.