Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Michael's Tasting Room

Michael's Tasting Room offers a unique casual fine dining experience with a celebrated chef, dedicated staff, and passion for exquisite flavors and world-class wines. Michael's Tasting Room has received numerous honors and accolades. Most recently, the Wine Spectator awarded Michael's Tasting Rooms wine list it's Award of Excellence for the ninth year in a row. Chef Michael has also been recognized as Best Chef of St.Augustine from several the city's publications, The restaurant was featured on The Food Network with Chef Emeril Lagasse during Florida's 500th anniversary.

25 Cuna Street
St. Augustine, FL 32084
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Mediterranean, Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
St. George Street

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 810-2400

Website:
http://www.michaelstastingroom.com/

Catering:
Our place or yours, we can cater any size event. Call for details 904-810-2400

Parking Details:
The City of St. Augustine Public Parking lot is located 4 blocks northwest of the restaurant. The Toque Lot is located off of Charlotte Street and Hypolita Street. The restaurant is located in the north side of the parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Michael Lugo

Private Party Facilities:
The "Red Room" holds up to 20 people for lunch or dinner. The private room, which is also an art gallery, is cozy and fun! The Courtyard can hold up to 24 people. Outdoor heaters and fans are on-site for inclement weather. Our whole restaurant is available for private events up to 100 guest.

Private Party Contact:
Stephanie Lugo: (904) 377-4747

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Michael's Tasting Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (44)
Good for a Date (43)
Notable Wine List (42)
See All
Tasting Menu (39)
Cozy (37)
Romantic (36)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Tapas (34)
Quiet Conversation (33)
Special Occasion (33)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Local Ingredients (30)
Worth the Drive (28)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Authentic (24)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Good for Groups (17)
Casual (16)
Historic (15)
Healthy (15)
Comfort Food (10)
Fun (9)
Business Meals (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Seasonal (7)
Fireplace (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Scenic View (4)
Organic (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Private Room (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Spicy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Live Music (2)
Vegan (2)
People Watching (2)
Great Beer (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Family Style (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
1088 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 16 hours ago

I'm a vegetarian, my husband is not - we both loved the food. The courtyard was lovely and our server gracious. Lovely meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 4 days ago

Everything from the food to the wine to the service was exceptional. Can't wait to come back. Our waiter did a great job, I believe his name was Archie?

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Tapas, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Gloucestershire)·Dined 6 days ago

Good food in a pleasant setting away from the busy Main Street. The service was attentive but not overpowering, the food was well served and delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 7 days ago

This dining experience was such a pleasure. Everything from the lighting, soft but not too dark, to the service, perfectly attentive, listened to our needs and responded appropriately, to the food that was executed perfectly, my date and I had a wonderful experience. We would highly recommend and will return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 7 days ago

Service, presentation and quality are all spot on. Yuca Mofongo was top notch and the braised short ribs came out very tender. Seasonal and fresh!

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Healthy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Onwme of our favorite placed. This time we took two goldens and sat on the patio. Very dog friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 16, 2017

We had a group of 9 on a Monday evening and practically had the restaurant to ourselves. The service was wonderful and food was delicious. I have eaten at Michael's before and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We were aware of a limited menu for the occasion however the portions were meager.
Crab Louie had 3 nickel size pieces of crab. Fried oysters were sold out only 2 hours after opening.
Very disappointed.
Waiter Ethan was very friendly and apologetic he was 5 star.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was excellent and the service was really very good. The Mother's Day menu was quite good and the drinks was well made and tasty.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Our date night at Michael's Tasting Room was excellent. This was our first time there. The food was not only very good (husband had short ribs and I had scallops), but beautifully presented. Every course was better than the last and the service could not have been better. We will definitely be going back and bringing friends!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Food was wonderful. Service also was excellent. Wine list was excellent. Highly recommended, with only one issue to note they could improve. We had table in outside courtyard, selected because we wanted/needed fresh air (inside had a lot of candles burning, chemically scented ones, which is why we chose to be outside). But, outside, there were two kitchen exhausts, one w smoke and one w propane burn exhaust, right next to the outside courtyard tables. Other than air quality, highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 12, 2017

I was joined by my wife and 2 guests. Personally, my meal was wonderful. I had the octopus appetizer followed by the swordfish entrée. The octopus was the best I have eaten in St. Augustine (where I live). The swordfish was very tasty/very good. Our 2 guests had the following complaints: the polenta was dry, tasteless, and was thought to have been previously frozen (I also agreed with this assessment). The scallop appetizer was very good but not a good value - only one scallop that was sliced in half for $10. The shrimp appetizer was good but floating in too much oil. The dessert (goat cheesecake) was very good but overly rich. My wife and I have eaten at the Tasting Room many times in the past, and will return in the future (especially for the octopus). Our guests said they also would return as their complaints were minor.

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Excellent service with detailed description of entrees. Our compliments to the chef for the taste and presentation of our food.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Restaurant did not honor our reservation. We were greeted in a pretty rudely manner and were informed that kitchen has closed about 30 minutes ago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 8, 2017

It was our first time here but
I can not recommend this place enough.
The food was unbelievably good.
Our server (Rachel) was amazing and made sure we were satisfied with everything. And we were.

My wife and I couldn't stop talking about this place on the way home and sill talked about it even before bed.
Two thumbs up for this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We can recommend their tapas menu. The choices were varied and the plates we ordered were all quite tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We visit each time we're in St. Augustine. Food was great, service good, and the environment inside or out. Live music was a little too loud. Varied wine list with reasonable prices.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The atmosphere was great the food really good -10 out 10. The location easy to get to.
Wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Wonderful meal. great ambiance. Super waiter, Ian.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Excellent 'real' tapas. We travel down from Georgia for the full Spanish experience.

Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Location atmosphere great good great service relaxed friendly decor fun very affordable

Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Vegan, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Wood Oven, Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Waterfront, Afternoon Coffee, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Very nice! Ian our server did a very good job making sure that our needs were met. I would recommend the tapas and main courses at this beautiful garden dining establishment. The indoors were very romantic and quiet as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food was delicious! Went there with two of my friends and loved it. We had some great wine with tapas and that alone was enough for us. It was a low key environment but not so quiet that you had to whisper. The service was also excellent. I'd highly recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Tapas, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Our waitresses name was Taylor and she was totally awesome from beginning to end very polite very own time with the food understood my husband situations not being well at the table bring us kind courteous service like her alot would ask for her if I came back

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 27, 2017

This was a Bozard Lincoln Date Night. I had never heard of this place before. What a find! Thank you Bozard! The food was fantastic. Different. Flavorful. Creative. Down right delicious. The sword fish was tender and moist all the way through. Perfect wine paring and amazing firm cream brûlée! And when you go ask for Taylor. She was so attentive and a very pleasant person to spend the evening with.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Healthy, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The food was delicious. I highly recommend the beef short ribs. Residing in NYC I have been to many great restaurants but Michael's Tasting Room might be one of the best.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Fantastic experience all around. Will be back very soon.

Tags: Seasonal, Spicy, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Tapas but I ordered the specials of mushroom bisque and salmon with harrisa and key lime sauces, manchego cheese marinated in PX Sherry reduction and a PXsherry

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Party of 6, 2 kids. 3 of the adults ordered the short ribs. Delish! When we tasted the kid's burger, we all agreed we should have ordered that! Divine! Great charcuterie plate and nice wine list. All in all a lovely experience!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Excellent find in the heart of the old city! Great food, wine and service!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We got the tapas which for a Spanish inspired restaurant, weren't very heavily influenced by Hispanic flavors or menu items at all. Tapas are also typically meant to be shared among many people so the servings are supposed to be larger than an app but these were like half the size of a normal appetizer and yet still extremely expensive for the 2 bites you got.

Also our waitress was HORRIBLE. We maybe saw her three times, she forgot to bring us bread multiple times, she would disappear for long stretches of time when we were looking for her. For the price we paid, we expected so much more from the experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 15, 2017

A charming garden filled with flowering plants and a delightful meal

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Amazing food quality and service. We had a great time. Definitely coming back when we are in town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great, look forward to returning. Food, service, ambience all great. Very attentive staff.

Tags: Historic, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fun, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Everything was good. My wife and I had a most enjoyable evening and experience. We will be returning.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We noticed there wasn't someone at the front desk as people came in. All different waiters were going up and one they kept getting as he was clearing tables. People were waiting a long time without being greeted or acknowledged, to parties left without someone even speaking to them. We love Michaels and had catering done during the holidays, just wanted to let someone know.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Excellent food and atmosphere...one of our absolute favorites and a must if in St. Augustine.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Two fans blowing the entire time. Warm inside! Food was good. Environmental disappointing! Beer warm ! Waiter good guy.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Superb taste of Spain. Authentic tapas and wine list

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, People Watching, Great Beer, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Quick Bite, Healthy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Dinner with 4 foodie friends. Attentive and friendly service. Nice ambience in private room. We shared many assorted tapas. All of good quality. Especially loved the scallop tapas and the goat cheese terrine. Argentina Merlot very good. Wonderful evening! Highly recommend.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.