Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Michael's Tasting Room

Michael's Tasting Room offers a unique casual fine dining experience with a celebrated chef, dedicated staff, and passion for exquisite flavors and world-class wines. Michael's Tasting Room has received numerous honors and accolades. Most recently, the Wine Spectator awarded Michael's Tasting Rooms wine list it's Award of Excellence for the ninth year in a row. Chef Michael has also been recognized as Best Chef of St.Augustine from several the city's publications, The restaurant was featured on The Food Network with Chef Emeril Lagasse during Florida's 500th anniversary.

25 Cuna Street
St. Augustine, FL 32084
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Mediterranean, Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
St. George Street

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 810-2400

Website:
http://www.michaelstastingroom.com/

Catering:
Our place or yours, we can cater any size event. Call for details 904-810-2400

Parking Details:
The City of St. Augustine Public Parking lot is located 4 blocks northwest of the restaurant. The Toque Lot is located off of Charlotte Street and Hypolita Street. The restaurant is located in the north side of the parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Michael Lugo

Private Party Facilities:
The "Red Room" holds up to 20 people for lunch or dinner. The private room, which is also an art gallery, is cozy and fun! The Courtyard can hold up to 24 people. Outdoor heaters and fans are on-site for inclement weather. Our whole restaurant is available for private events up to 100 guest.

Private Party Contact:
Stephanie Lugo: (904) 377-4747

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Mother's Day Brunch

SUNDAY, MAY 14 10:30 AM TO 3:30 PM 3 Course Menu with Selections $38 for adults, and includes one complimentary Mimosa, Belini, or Spanish Cava $15 for children under 12

Michael's Tasting Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (42)
Creative Cuisine (41)
Good for a Date (41)
See All
Romantic (37)
Cozy (36)
Tapas (34)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Quiet Conversation (33)
Tasting Menu (33)
Special Occasion (32)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Worth the Drive (25)
Local Ingredients (25)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Authentic (19)
Casual (15)
Historic (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Fun (12)
Fireplace (9)
Healthy (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Business Meals (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Seasonal (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Private Room (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Organic (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vegan (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Family Style (1)
Spicy (1)
Scenic View (1)
People Watching (1)
Great Beer (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
1058 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined a day ago

Tapas but I ordered the specials of mushroom bisque and salmon with harrisa and key lime sauces, manchego cheese marinated in PX Sherry reduction and a PXsherry

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 2 days ago

Party of 6, 2 kids. 3 of the adults ordered the short ribs. Delish! When we tasted the kid's burger, we all agreed we should have ordered that! Divine! Great charcuterie plate and nice wine list. All in all a lovely experience!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent find in the heart of the old city! Great food, wine and service!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We got the tapas which for a Spanish inspired restaurant, weren't very heavily influenced by Hispanic flavors or menu items at all. Tapas are also typically meant to be shared among many people so the servings are supposed to be larger than an app but these were like half the size of a normal appetizer and yet still extremely expensive for the 2 bites you got.

Also our waitress was HORRIBLE. We maybe saw her three times, she forgot to bring us bread multiple times, she would disappear for long stretches of time when we were looking for her. For the price we paid, we expected so much more from the experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Amazing food quality and service. We had a great time. Definitely coming back when we are in town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great, look forward to returning. Food, service, ambience all great. Very attentive staff.

Tags: Historic, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fun, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Everything was good. My wife and I had a most enjoyable evening and experience. We will be returning.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We noticed there wasn't someone at the front desk as people came in. All different waiters were going up and one they kept getting as he was clearing tables. People were waiting a long time without being greeted or acknowledged, to parties left without someone even speaking to them. We love Michaels and had catering done during the holidays, just wanted to let someone know.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Excellent food and atmosphere...one of our absolute favorites and a must if in St. Augustine.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Two fans blowing the entire time. Warm inside! Food was good. Environmental disappointing! Beer warm ! Waiter good guy.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Superb taste of Spain. Authentic tapas and wine list

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, People Watching, Great Beer, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Quick Bite, Healthy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Dinner with 4 foodie friends. Attentive and friendly service. Nice ambience in private room. We shared many assorted tapas. All of good quality. Especially loved the scallop tapas and the goat cheese terrine. Argentina Merlot very good. Wonderful evening! Highly recommend.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Party included 6 with diverse tastes; all very satisfied with their selection. Food and service excellent.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Casual, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Great Food under an Amazing Ambient... Liked very much the variety and imagination on the Menu...

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for Groups, Afternoon Tea, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Great wine 🍷 Vega secilia unicorn 1996 good tapas had fun

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Family reunion

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Ate outside in the courtyard. Comfortable, quiet and romantic. Excellent wine list, delicious food and excellent service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Great food different from your typical evening but enjoyed every bite. The wine is was fantastic and service was top notch!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Very helpful service and we enjoyed the variety of small plates.

Tags: Scenic View, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 19, 2017

This was my first time at Michael's . The food was delicious. They have an excellent wine list. I would have dinner there again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Used to love this place and the fact that the menu changed with the seasons. This particular menu felt very pretentious and the food was not as good as it has been in the past. Service was outstanding, wine was great, and we still love the atmosphere, but our meal was less than stellar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Overall experience was very good. In fact my wife said the short rib entree was the best she had ever had and that is high praise. I too found the food creative and delicious. It was a quiet, romantic evening until the table of 15 good ole boys descended on the space and then the ambiance was shot as the space has poor acoustics. I would absolutely dine there again.

Tags: Historic, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Great dinner!! And our server, Archie, was the Best!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Enjoyed the evening. Waiter was exceptional. Gave us an opportunity to try something
new. Great date night from Bozard.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Wonderful restaurant. Had a great hanger steak meal. Archie attended to all our needs with wonderful service. We will come back for future dinners. Nice ambiance with great looking fireplace.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Fireplace, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We enjoyed the warm ambiance (wood floors, beautiful décor, comfy chairs/tables, interesting art work) and the food was lovely.

Tags: Healthy, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Best dinner we enjoyed on our 15 day Florida vacation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Our experience was absolutely wonderful. Our waiter, Archie, was attentive yet not intruding constantly. The salad we started with was fresh, tasty and just the right portion. The Champagne Vinaigrette dressing was spectacular! I cannot say enough good things about our main course which was the Hanger Steak. It was prepared perfectly for me with just the right amount of seasoning, our sides were fresh asparagus and plantains. My husband does not normally care for plantains but he not only ate his he ate half of mine too! Brownie bites for dessert finished our meal off with a Delicious flavor that the memories of still linger and I look forward to again. Fabulous experience all around and we will return soon!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Fireplace, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 7, 2017

My husband and I dined at Michael's on a Tuesday night while on vacation. I'd read good reviews so made a reservation for 7 pm. The restaurant was empty, save one other table of two. The ambiance was nothing special. My swordfish was over cooked and the polenta was very firm and tasteless. My husband's lamb was just so so.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Best meal I've had in a while for sure. Friendly staff

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Michaels never disappoints. We love coming here for the tapas. We met with friends and just ordered almost one of every tapa and we munched and chatted and drank wine-good food mixed with good wine mixed with great friends is always, always a pleasurable time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The service, food and dining experience was all 5 star experience

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 3, 2017

I know that restaurants believe menu update is a good thing. However, when you advertise "Spanish Style" and only Spanish small plates are almonds, cheese and olives it truly limits the options for enjoying an assortment of small plates similar to a true tapas. Being from Spain, this restaurant came highly recommended by Spaniards who had eaten here on their trip and they had mentioned many more options available for a tapas experience.

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 28, 2017

The service was bad. The waiter knew nothing about the menu items and had to go back to kitchen twice. We order a salad, it was slow to come out. They then brought our entree's out before we finished our salad. Then when we did have our entrees, they were dry. Ordered a $150 bottle of wine. Did not have the person that ordered to taste it. It was Pinot Noir and I have never put it on ice or in a chilled bucket as you would Chardonnay. He did. He never came back to pour any wine after the first glass. Never would go again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Key West)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We had a great tapas dinner at Michael's. The setting is intimate, the service was great and the food was wonderful. I recommend the Octopus and the Steak Tartare. We will be back on our next visit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Service was phenomenal, our servers recommendations were on point. Everybody was very accommodating, the food was amazing! I will definitely be back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Tapas, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Historic, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Absolutely love this place. The food was excellent and our waiter Jason was extremely knowledgeable of everything on the menu. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Archie did a good job but forgot to serve my wife's salad. He did offer it on the house afterward.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Our waiter Archie was fantastic and we loved all of the food they brought us starting with lobster croquets, then beet salad, the entree was sword fish and veggies and ending with tres leche cake!! This was the date night from Bozard Lincoln and it was amazing !! I will definitely tell my friends to come here to eat and I will come back. Thank you for the delicious food cooked to perfection.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Delightful tapas menu with excellent wine pairings, and the goat cheesecake was to die for.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.