Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 8 times today

Michael's Tasting Room

4.5
1336 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Global, International
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
  • Creative Cuisine
Michael's Tasting Room offers a unique casual fine dining experience with a celebrated chef, dedicated staff, and passion for exquisite flavors and world-class wines. Michael's Tasting Room has received numerous honors and accolades. Most recently, the Wine Spectator awarded Michael's Tasting Rooms wine list it's Award of Excellence for the ninth year in a row. Chef Michael has also been recognized as Best Chef of St.Augustine from several the city's publications, The restaurant was featured on The Food Network with Chef Emeril Lagasse during Florida's 500th anniversary.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Global, International, Mediterranean, Spanish
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner:
Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Brunch:
Sunday 11am - 3:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(904) 810-2400
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Resort Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Michael Lugo
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Our place or yours, we can cater any size event. Call for details 904-810-2400
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
St. George Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
The City of St. Augustine Public Parking lot is located 4 blocks northwest of the restaurant. The Toque Lot is located off of Charlotte Street and Hypolita Street. The restaurant is located in the north side of the parking lot.
Additional
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1336 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.5
service
4.5
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Quiet
85% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 3 days ago

Micheal's always has good creative seasonal dishes. Andy was a tremendously helpful and friendly waiter.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Always love this place , anytime we are in St Augustine we eat there 2-3 nights
Tremendous staff💕
This visit was celebrating our Honeymoon
Be back again tonight👍

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

My wife had the beet risotto and I had the catch of the day. Both were very good, but a lot to eat. We hate leaving good food on the plate but we were sufficiently stuffed. Very impressive wine list and a lot of great wines by the glass.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

WE were both out of town for Mother's Day; been wanting to dine here for quite some time (we live in St. Augs) so why not now. Glad we did, it was a great time and very enjoyable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Excellent food. Great service. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Was greeted promptly, sat inside, only two other tables occupied, when we showed up for our Mothers Day 4:30 pm reservation, menu is small, server was an order taker, no specials or suggestions to give, we ordered the $25 chartcuterie plate (poor presentation, 2 small pieces of cheese, 3 spanish sliced meats, only one server knew was the chorizo) , beet salad was good as was the scallop ceviche, 2 glasses of spakling rose... desert time and our only choices were key lime pie and flan... (that's all we have)... woman in red dress that appeared to be a manager or owner arrived in the middle of our meal, changed her shoes at the front desk, walked past us numerous times, never greeted us, was more concerned with sweeping around the tables in front of us of dirt that wasn't visible to us... we had been here before and had good service and food... sadly that is no longer the case.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Food was exceptional. The charcuterie was filled with authentic Spanish meats and cheeses, including amazing chorizo. Also the Barrato salad was fresh from the west coast. Wine recommended was Spanish, excellent and fairly priced.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

My son treated me here for Mothers Day brunch. We felt welcome as soon as we walked in. The menu had so many great offerings it was challenging to make our selections. Started off with an appetizer special and the beet salad, both outstanding! The crab blt was refreshingly light, and we'll be back again for the eggs benedict. The pomegranate sangria was very flavorful and a generous size. Freshest local produce and locally caught seafood gives the chef the best to work with. Service was pleasant and knowledgeable about the menu and restaurant. I look forward to my next visit to try more items on the menu, which changes seasonally. I know why this place is so highly recommended. We were told this would be our best meal in St. Augustine, and I must agree it was.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

I took my parents to Mother's Day Brunch. The service was phenomenal. The server was very nice, attentive, and explained the menu and specials. We ordered the shrimp as well as a goat cheese platter for our appetizers. Both had exquisite taste and would be something we would order again. We also had the Beet salad. The dressing was original and tasted delicious. We then got two entrees, the steak and eggs with chimichurri sauce and chicken and waffles. The steak was very tender, melt in your mouth and the sauce was a tasty addition. The waffles had a butter that tasted sweet and too was delicious. The chicken was very tender and cooked to perfection. Michael created his own sweet and spicy sauce that tasted very good, as well. We look forward to going back for more!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Michaels is AMAZING! My early mother’s Day dinner was superb!!! Our server, Sara, was a delight and one of the best serving professionals I have ever had. Michael’s is one of Saint Augustine’s finest restaurants.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

First time at the restaurant and was excellent. Quality of food, service and ambiance are a 10 stars restaurant. Recommend to everyone and the list of wines is amazing.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Received incorrect meal (ordered one thing, received another). Sat patiently while it took a good while for server to return to check on us, and had to get someone else to call it out to get them to come over. Ate our meals separately as a result, with no offer to re-provision the correct meal to accommodate the timing on the incorrect one.

No apology was made whatsoever until we were ready for the check and expressed our severe disappointment; asked for a manager, and one was not on shift - told a "team lead" was there, but never saw him/her. Server brought us a free dessert we said we didn't want, and a $25 gift certificate.

Every place has an off night, but was seriously disappointed in the handling of it during a birthday celebration, and likely will not return to use it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Michael's never lets us down. This is our favorite restaurant in St Augustine and our go to place anytime we have a chance to decompress and enjoy fabulous food and a lovely bottle of wine. Michael and the staff are always wonderful, attentive and a big part of why we keep coming back. Lovely restaurant. Highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

We got the cheese and charcuterie board and the scallops ceviche for appetizers which were both very good. For the main course we ordered the waygu steak and the sauce that came on top was not great. The asparagus and carrots that came on the side were also not seasoned and were very lackluster. However, the service was phenomenal and our waiter was very attentive and even brought out complimentary drinks for my girlfriend and I.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 1, 2018

We enjoyed separately the beet and Caesar salads, then entrees of the evening’s catch. We snagged the last whole red snapper. This was followed with desserts of flan and cheesecake. Everything was delicious. Throughout we savored the red sangria made with pomegranate. Michael’s Tasting Room is a place we try to visit when we visit St Augustine. We especially enjoy eating on the enclosed patio.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 27, 2018

The beet salad was great as were the pork chops and the flank steak. Service was slow but I think is was due to a large party in a private dining room.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

I have been to a lot of restaurants considered fine dining but Michael’s has the details of fine dining with a laid back atmosphere. I highly recommend it!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Believed the rest. served tapas ... but none on menu, limited selection of entrees, my salmon was slightly under cooked and over priced for what was received....
sorry, will not recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

A last minute decision and we ended up at Michaels. It was close to where we were staying and the menu looked good...boy are we glad we bagged our other place!! The food and the service at Michael's was outstanding!! We were warmly greeted by Michael's mother when we arrived. Our server Sara was both knowledgable about the menu and the wine as well as very friendly sweet girl. The food was creative, fresh and one of the best meals we had in St. Augustine. I also might add the mark of an outstanding restaurant is when you ask for something that is no longer on the menu and are told NO PROBLEM! We started with the Cast Iron Shrimp and the marinated manchego followed by the best Burger on the planet (made with ground short rib and chuck). We enjoyed an amazing bottle of spanish tempranillo! Michael is from Puerto Rico and has done an outstanding job of brining the flavors of the caribbean to this restaurant. I'd put this meal up against any James Beard Chef!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Had the pleasure of dining there for date night compliments of Bozard Ford Everything was excellent. Our waiter David was great. Attentive and knowledgeable about all of the dishes We will be back. It’s a great place for a special occasion

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Food uniformly delicious. Wine list exemplary. Prompt, thoughtful service that was never intrusive. Intimate and comfortable.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 19, 2018

Greeted and seated promptly by friendly older hostess. Service was prompt however drinks took a little long. Ordered scallop cerviche which was flavor less. Fortunately dinner steak and lamb were fabulous. Food would have been a 5 if we didn’t have the app. Great place

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 18, 2018

Everything about the place was great but not what we had expected. We had read that it was a 'tasting room' with a tapas-type menu. Instead it is the traditional first course/entree menu. So we did some creative shuffling to make it what we had expected.

The wine menu was so intimidating that I decided to drink iced tes!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Nice location, and quaint little restaurant that gives you a nice Italian feel. We made a reservation for Sunday Brunch, which wasn't necessary. Appetizers were very good we had the Goat Cheese Terrine and Cast Iron Shrimp. While the entrees ( Spanish Benedicts & Open Crab BLT) were disappointing in taste their Bellini's made up for it. I expected a wine tasting room to have wine flights, but we made the most of it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Had a family dinner for 6 adults on Saturday that was fabulous. From the waiter who knew his menu and was interactive to the food itself all was wonderful. Will be happy to return again in the future

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

We had a private room for our group of 12 that was set up as we arrived. Service was excellent, food delicious, and location in historic district great. Though we did not use it in particular, the restaurant has an extensive wine selection. Staff were very well dressed and very attentive and very courteous.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

As always, great food, great service, great atmosphere.
A Gem in the heart of Saint Augustine.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

They advertise tapas. When we arrived they said they switched to the spring menu. Food was good, but wasn't what was advertised. Now just like another restaurant in town.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Never disappointed at Michael’s . They always meet our expectations of excellence ! Food was outstanding as always !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

We were pleased with the preparation, presentation and flavors of all our menus choices. The wine list is extensive, eclectic and reasonably priced. Have already recommended the Tasting Room to friends and family.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Had an excellent meal sitting out on their little porch. Appreciated the complimentary sparkling wine as they knew it was our anniversary. Both that and the glass of wine I ordered were generous pours. Mussels were really good, with lots of "stuff" in there! Beet salad was fine, not outstanding. Lamb dish was excellent and my hubby said they used a very good cut of meat. Service was wonderful. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that the menu is a bit limited.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

What a wonderful evening. The food was fantastic. The service was outstanding. A hidden gem in St. Augustine. My wife and I will definitely be returning on our next trip.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Best ever filet. The waiters were very helpful and attentive. Also recommend the shrimp appetizer

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 3, 2018

The restaurant is very nice inside and we had high hopes as we walked in but the fact that it's a very busy time in St. Augustine with tourists and the restaurant was mostly empty was a little concerning. We were greeted promptly and served our bottle of wine from the expensive list right away. Our marinated Manchego cheese appetizer was wonderful although having some bread with it would have been nice. After we ordered our entree we finally had to ask about getting some bread and were told "with all of the gluten free people out there we only serve bread if you ask for it", really??? We both ordered the catch of the day which when we sat down were told was going to be sheepshead but when we ordered were told it was corvina, it was served over a pasty risotto and was overcooked and dry. Considering the prices for both the wine and the food we expected better and will try someplace else next time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Awesome tapas. Great deserts and wine! Always a treat!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Fantastic server. We do miss the old tastings or pairings menu.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 24, 2018

First time at this restaurant. High expectations that were dashed by poor service . Stood for 10 minutes waiting to be greeted and left after 35 minutes not yet having been served our drink order.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 23, 2018

I went to a lot of trouble trying to find the perfect romantic and tasty restaurant for a date night with my husband on a recent trip to St. Augustine. I bombed out on all levels. We started out well, in that they had a wine we really liked. When our server Sara started to tell us about the menu, we were immediately turned off my her constant reusing of the word "incredible" while describing the various dishes. We were exited to see octopus on the appetizer listings and ordered it. What we got was not prepared properly. This is something we order pretty often if it's on the menu. I had to ask for a steak knife to cut it. It was like chewing on a tire, although I truthfully have never done that. We sent it back and the server commented that no one had ever done that. Now onto the whole snapper we order as our main course. My husband thought that it was dropped into a deep fat fryer, left in there too long and served up. Presentation was beautiful. Fish was so so. I've had tastier fish at McDonald's. When we received our check, I noted that they overcharged us for the bottle of wine. We figured they were trying to make up for the octopus we sent back. After waiting about 15 min, the manager came back with a corrected bill and apologized for the error. We couldn't get out of there fast enough. ...and don't even get us started on the entertainment.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 21, 2018

Love to go here when in St. Augustine. Service is excellent and food too.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 20, 2018

We had very high expectations for this restaurant after reading previous reviews. The wine list was several pages long and imaginative. The menu, however, was limited to typical fare. We were greeted quickly and courteously by the hostess. After taking our drink order, the waiter, David, seemed to forget us. We had to ask for bread to go with the oil and butter already on the table. Salads and appetizers were excellent. The entrees were good, (5 of us had different choices) but not outstanding. Overall, the experience was fine, but not what we had expected based on previous reviews.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
34