About Michael's Tasting Room

25 Cuna Street
St. Augustine, FL 32084
View Larger Map

We change our menu seasonally to bring you the most innovative dishes using the freshest ingredients possible. Chef Michael Lugo believes in organic and sustainable ingredients, and uses local or meticulously sourced products throughout. The menus are designed to offer range as well as adventure with overtones of Spanish flavor.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Spanish, Mediterranean, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
St. George Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 810-2400

Website:
http://www.tastetapas.com/

Catering:
Our place or yours, we can cater any size event. Call for details 904-810-2400

Parking Details:
The City of St. Augustine Public Parking lot is located 4 blocks northwest of the restaurant. The Toque Lot is located off of Charlotte Street and Hypolita Street. The restaurant is located in the north side of the parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Michael Lugo

Private Party Facilities:
The "Red Room" holds up to 20 people for lunch or dinner. The private room, which is also an art gallery, is cozy and fun! The Courtyard can hold up to 24 people. Outdoor heaters and fans are on-site for inclement weather. Our whole restaurant is available for private events up to 100 guest.

Private Party Contact:
Stephanie Lugo: 904-377-4747x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Ostras Fritas
Casuela De Langosta Y Camarones
grilled Lamb Chop over quinoa
tres leches
Guava Cheesecake
Chocolate Decadence Créme Brulé
Pork Chop
Rare Duck Over Creamy Risotto
Unilaterally Seared Salmon
Spiced Carrot Cake
Winter Citrus White Sangria
Sea Salt Brownie
Terrine De Queso
Ensalada De Remolacha

Michael's Tasting Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Romantic
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Overall
St. Augustine
9 More
Best Food
St. Augustine
Best Service
St. Augustine
Best Ambiance
St. Augustine
Best Value
St. Augustine
Fit for Foodies
St. Augustine
Neighborhood Gem
St. Augustine
Romantic
St. Augustine
Special Occasion
St. Augustine
Most Booked
St. Augustine
Best Restaurants in St. Augustine ›

special occasion (39)
romantic (37)
fit for foodies (34)
See All
notable wine list (30)
great for outdoor dining (23)
neighborhood gem (20)
hot spot (8)
good for groups (8)
late-night find (3)
kid-friendly (2)
scenic view (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
837 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was delicious. Ambiance was perfec ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 3 days ago

Food was delicious. Ambiance was perfect. waiter was attentive and friendly. I will definitely go back and I have already recommended it to others.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was terrible.. We had to get ot ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Service was terrible.. We had to get other waiters to get our waiter several times. Our food was delicious, but due to service, will dine else where next time.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Delicious food, wonderful friendly and a ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Delicious food, wonderful friendly and accommodating service in a quiet contemporary atmosphere. Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Good service. Food just didn't meet our ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Good service. Food just didn't meet our expectations.

Lovely guitar playing in background

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

This was our first time at The Tasting R ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This was our first time at The Tasting Room and it was an amazing experience. Extensive wine selection and diverse menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, amazing food! Definit ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Excellent service, amazing food! Definitely recommend this place!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

To start with the negative , it took far ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

To start with the negative , it took far too long to take out the plates after we finished the appetizers.

In Europe a restaurant in your league would NOT make that mistake.

To finish with the positive , we enjoyed the ambiance and the service (apart from the above mentioned ).

We liked the menu to be compact , nice choice of wines.

We will definitely come back soon.

Tags: romantic, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Wonderful venue that is quaint and roman ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Wonderful venue that is quaint and romantic. The food is always amazing. We had the 4 course paired with wine and it was amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good, the location gre ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The food was very good, the location great, and the wine menu impressive. If we had had better service it would have been a wonderful meal.

We were in town on vacation and the hotel recommended Michael's as their top suggestion. We made a reservation for 30 minutes later and walked over after reading a review that commented that you have to have a reservation to be seated.

We were seated quickly in a very nice dining room that was perfectly lit and laid out, not too crowded and less that half full.

Service for us was very slow, but that did not seem to be consistent. The kitchen seems to be fine, food came out in good time and hot, we just seems to have gotten a very slow waiter. From what we saw other tables had better service, the table next to us was seated after us, and had ordered, gotten a bottle of wine and their appetizers before our wine order was taken (without our server being able to answer questions about some of the wines on the menu) and had nearly finished their meal by the time we ordered food. For a "tasting restaurant" that leaves the menu for you to order additional plates as the meal goes that did not leave a good impression.

Overall go there, the food was good the the price not extreme and I hope that the service levels out.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Excellent service, food & wine. Beautifu ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Excellent service, food & wine. Beautiful location. A must if in downtown St. Augustine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had such a great time. The service wa ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We had such a great time. The service was very responsive from the time we walked in until we were done. I explained that had a sea food allergies and they were very accommodating. The food was delicious. The flavors that were paired were such a delight.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cozy venue with a welcoming staff. We we ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Cozy venue with a welcoming staff. We were seated immediately upon arrival. Our party enjoyed a selection of appetizers and were not disappointed. Although the restaurant had run out of the evenings special, we were offered paella as a substitute. Very tasty and served with a crisp side salad and a glass of house wine or sangria. Portions were sized well, not overwhelming but satisfying. The only negative I would mention is that when we asked later in the meal for the bread offered as we sat down we were told they had ran out but we were served very stale crouton like pieces. I think it would have been a better option to have not brought bread to the table. Overall, a warm venue with dining selections reflective of the local spanish heritage, seasons, and locally sourced ingredients.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent place and the Chef and Owner f ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Excellent place and the Chef and Owner from Puerto Rico,

The best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spent the weekend in St. Augustine and h ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Spent the weekend in St. Augustine and had dinner Friday night at Michael's tasting room. Nice ambiance - not the typical St. Augustine touristy restaurant. Wine list was OK. We ordered a delicious Malbec. The ceviche with tostones appetizer was excellent. My hanger steak with yucca mofongo was off the charts. Best mofongo I've had outside of Puerto Rico. My wife ordered lamb medium and it came out very under-cooked (rare). Even after they cooked it more it was still tough but the flavor was good. I understand the scallops there are very good as indicated by the people at the table next to us. I would go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food and service were excellent. Very ro ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food and service were excellent. Very romantic restaurant.

We were there for our 1st wedding anniversary and they did everything they could to make it a memorable experience for us. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Great wine. Great service... ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great food. Great wine. Great service.....Excellent servers with genuine personality who enjoy their jobs and make your experience there a pleasure. Nice setting outside and we love it for personal special occasions!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The BEST restaurant in St Augustine Flor ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

The BEST restaurant in St Augustine Florida, without a doubt. We had our anniversary dinner here and were so glad we did. Excellent food and appetizers. Lovely Spanish decor with beautiful art and sculptures on the wall.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, atmosphere, service was exactl ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

The food, atmosphere, service was exactly what we hoped for to celebrate our 14th wedding anniversary. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice place with a very interesting menu. ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Nice place with a very interesting menu. The highlight was my wife's lobster. We met owner/chef Michael and could see the passion when he talks about food. A very good wine list. Had a great Borolo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Wonderful experience! Everything we expe ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Wonderful experience! Everything we expected and remember from past dinners there! We do remember, nostalgically, the music that used to add to the ambiance. It made our night. Thanks bkh

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience and fantastic food!

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Great experience and fantastic food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Used to be better But living on reputati ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Used to be better

But living on reputation vs current experience

This is twice now in the last 6 months where we had a sub par meal for a top shelf price

The chef is creative and talented but the portions small an overpriced

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Very acceptable, not exceptional.. Goat ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Very acceptable, not exceptional..

Goat cheese appetizer was uninspired.. Right from the deli shelf.

Scallops tasted a bit off.. May have been the favoring.

Lamb chops...bit tough.. NO mint jelly, although the mint potatoes very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Never fails to impress...One of our favo ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Never fails to impress...One of our favorite restaurants...

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server was very nice but slow to visit o ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Server was very nice but slow to visit our table. The kitchen was extremely slow. Paella was not at all memorable. Shrimp overcooked and served on rice cakes. Wine list was notable as was our server's wine knowledge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

This restaurant has seen better days. T ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

This restaurant has seen better days. They used to know how to make genuine "old world" paella, when we dined there six years ago while vacationing in St. Augustine. Now they serve "new world" paella instead, or as the waiter called it "deconstructed" paella, which is a mockery of the traditional dish. The dish consists of a couple steamed shrimps, clams, and scallops, 3 pieces of chorizo and a hash brown made of arborio rice. They can't even make a decent Romaine lettuce salad; the lettuce was wilted and according to the description it's supposed to have shaved parmesan on top but they apparently forgot about that too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Bozard Lincoln Date Night

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

Michael's tasting room was a very nice experience. Great service and even better food.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vacation Dinning

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

It was excellent. Excellent service with a full knowledge for wine and food pairings. Excellent wine. Excellent atmosphere for a quiet evening or a group of friends. Excellent food which was seasonal, local and fresh but within the Spanish cuisine. Highly recommend

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Off Night at Michael's Tasting Room

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Have been to Michael's a number of times and it has consistently been phenomenal. Tonight was a disappointment compared to the other times we've been here. Everything was off. They made sure we knew that they had a large party. We certainly felt like we didn't get the normal attention and that they might have been overtaxed taking care of our 5 person party too. Server extremely rushed and when my husband couldn't immediately give them his drink order, he left the table and said I will be back later. He didn't check back on our food--we got the last two ribeye steaks and they were fatty and tough. We will be back but probably not for a while.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Disappointing

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

We took out of town family here in February and it was great. Our recent visit was sadly disappoiinting. When we first arrived, the restaurant was maybe half full. After being ignored for quite a while, someone finally came and starting filling water glasses. He did not say boo to us. We were not sure if we had a waiter, so we gave a drink order to the person who filled the water glasses. No one came by to ask about our food order or to talk about the menu. We finally asked someone at the front desk who our waiter was, and the person who filled the water glasses came over all angry because he is our waiter! How were we to know? He never introduced himself or talked about the menu or anything. The rest of the evening was strained because he had such a bad attitude. And I guess because I questioned our service, my entree was lukewarm as if it had been sitting a while. Disappointing because I thought we had found a great place to become a regular customer, but now probably not.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

We don't go often but we love it every time we do

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

We like to sit outside and Michael's Tasting Room has a very nice courtyard seating area. The wait staff and food were wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a great delicious experience!

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

Always a great delicious experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Extremely slow service

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

Came here last year on vacation and loved it. This time was so disappointing. Waitstaff surly and our food took over an hour. When it did arrive dishes were very undercooked. After a complaint the check was reduced. I think they were severely understaffed and the chef couldn't cope.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Wine, food and service were great. Look ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

Wine, food and service were great. Looking forward to going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

We enjoyed delicious shrimp and adobo ribs with a smooth Malbec. And the service was perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can't miss

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

My favorite restaurant in St Augustine and I have lived here most of my life! Located in the historic district, the tapas and entrees are masterfully concocted to make an outing here special. The tapas menu has shrunken some but overall the classiness of menu options is still there. A gem for St Augustine

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice upscale dining experience. Our wai ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

Nice upscale dining experience. Our waiter Greg was knowledgable and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic Wine Experience!

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

A gem found with a wine list that will make any wine lover happy. The food was great and the service was fantastic. I would so recommend this place to anyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Initially we decided to go here for our anniversary dinner. My wife and I have lived in the area for nearly twenty-five years, and this is by far the best local restaurant. The food was fantastic, the staff polite and attentive, and the atmosphere outstanding. We will be returning soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a disappointment

vip
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

The selection of foods was minimal. People who had hamburgers thought they were very good but everyone else was not satisfied with their dinners. The coffee was the worst tasting and cold. With all of the good reviews, it must have been the chef's night off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.