About Michael's Tasting Room

25 Cuna Street
St. Augustine, FL 32084
View Larger Map

Michael's Tasting Room offers a unique casual fine dining experience with a celebrated chef, dedicated staff, and passion for exquisite flavors and world-class wines. Michael's Tasting Room has received numerous honors and accolades. Most recently, the Wine Spectator awarded Michael's Tasting Rooms wine list it's Award of Excellence for the ninth year in a row. Chef Michael has also been recognized as Best Chef of St.Augustine from several the city's publications, The restaurant was featured on The Food Network with Chef Emeril Lagasse during Florida's 500th anniversary.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Mediterranean, Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
St. George Street

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 810-2400

Website:
http://www.michaelstastingroom.com/

Catering:
Our place or yours, we can cater any size event. Call for details 904-810-2400

Parking Details:
The City of St. Augustine Public Parking lot is located 4 blocks northwest of the restaurant. The Toque Lot is located off of Charlotte Street and Hypolita Street. The restaurant is located in the north side of the parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Michael Lugo

Private Party Facilities:
The "Red Room" holds up to 20 people for lunch or dinner. The private room, which is also an art gallery, is cozy and fun! The Courtyard can hold up to 24 people. Outdoor heaters and fans are on-site for inclement weather. Our whole restaurant is available for private events up to 100 guest.

Private Party Contact:
Stephanie Lugo: (904) 377-4747

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Michael's Tasting Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (55)
Creative Cuisine (49)
Good for Anniversaries (49)
See All
Notable Wine List (48)
Romantic (47)
Special Occasion (45)
Tapas (42)
Tasting Menu (40)
Cozy (34)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Worth the Drive (31)
Quiet Conversation (30)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Local Ingredients (28)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Authentic (19)
Historic (16)
Good for Groups (11)
Fireplace (11)
Fun (11)
Casual (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Healthy (8)
Business Meals (7)
Seasonal (6)
Private Room (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Organic (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Vegan (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Family Style (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great Beer (1)
People Watching (1)
Spicy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1014 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food wasn't great this time (valentine's ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Food wasn't great this time (valentine's day pre fix), with the exception of dessert. Didn't seem as if the food was made to order, which is disappointing at $90 per person. On our previous visits the food as been so amazing-- this trip fell well below expectations.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Historic, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

As usual, our favorite restaurant experi ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 5 days ago

As usual, our favorite restaurant experience was outstanding! My Husband I celebrated Valentine's Day with a lovely 5 course meal and delicious wine. Thank you for another momentous evening.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, , Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Fun, Comfort Food, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was fabulous. It was Valentine's Day ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 5 days ago

It was fabulous. It was Valentine's Day with fixed menu that was delicious & served timely between courses. So enjoyed the date.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is THE premier St Augustine r ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 5 days ago

This place is THE premier St Augustine restaurant (Collage is the second place winner). First off, the atmosphere is very cozy.....either inside or in the courtyard. Service is prompt, courteous , friendly and professional. And the food! Interesting selections that all seem to be winners. Even the hamburger is perhaps the best I have ever eaten. Ordering any of the other items on the ever-changing menu offers a more creative selection than the burger. My only criticism is that Michael has pared back the tapas menu. Selections are still on the menu but the selections is not as extensive. You can not go wrong here. I also suggest making a reservation because on my visit last week I did see they turned away a few people who did not have reservations.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Rachael was a very fine young lady , sh ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Rachael was a very fine young lady , she was pleasant and attentive. My wife and I enjoyed her and our meal .

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service at this restaurant was outst ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The service at this restaurant was outstanding. Beverage glasses were topped off without having to ask. The salad and main course were excellent. I would definitely recommend this to friends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Artsy and welcoming place for foodies. ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Artsy and welcoming place for foodies. Beautifully thought out menu that changes seasonally. We dined exclusively on tapas because, regrettably, we had a late lunch. The scallop arepas on the tapas menu were our very favorite.

Next time we will come with a Better appetite and call a day ahead so the chef can prepare a tasting dinner for us. Can't wait!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently good food and service. Low ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Consistently good food and service. Low noise level made it easy to carry on a conversation.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tapas, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great waitress. Great wine list. I didn' ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great waitress. Great wine list. I didn't think the food was that great especially for the price. Nice ambiance.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Went for a Bozard Lincoln Date night. Bo ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Went for a Bozard Lincoln Date night. Bozard Ford Lincoln supplied us with a Lincoln MKX for the night and dinner here. All around great night.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I had a wonderful time at yo ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 2, 2017

My wife and I had a wonderful time at your restaurant. It was out first time in your establishment and we have to say the service was immaculate. the waiter was very tentative to our need and wants. secondly the food was delicious. My hats off to the chef. My wife and I would like to thank you and your staff for a great evening.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Casual, Fun, Fireplace, Spicy, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very good wine list and an accommodating ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Very good wine list and an accommodating wait staff. We like the tapas option on the menu and ordered the Spanish Octopus, Arepas, and Beef Tartare for appetizers. For four of us, we ordered three main plates, the Grilled Swordfish, Hangar Steak, and Scallops, and there was plenty of food. Dessert was a simple decision - Coconut Tres Leches, and Expresso Brownie Bites.

Tags: Disabled Access, Fireplace, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well deserved reputation. This was a fir ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Well deserved reputation. This was a first rate dining experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I never get tired of dining at this fant ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I never get tired of dining at this fantastic restaurant! Portions have shrunk a little I have to say, but they are still amazing and delicious!!

Tags: Organic, Good for a Date, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Fun, Authentic, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice resturant with good food, tapas or ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Nice resturant with good food, tapas or regular menu. Has an extensive wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

We were quite surprised to find this lit ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We were quite surprised to find this little "jewel" on a off the main street location. Have been to Saint Augustine many times and never thought of going into this area. Thank you for a magnificent evening.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Historic, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been to The Tasting Room several t ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We've been to The Tasting Room several times in the past, and were looking forward to a return trip for our anniversary. Frankly, we were disappointed. The food was very good but was overpriced, and not nearly as great as in times past. The ambiance was lacking without the background music and it was much too bright. The server was okay but nothing special. When we made the reservation, we mentioned it was for our anniversary. It would have been nice to have that acknowledged in some way. The people at the next table were celebrating a birthday but weren't acknowledged either. It's the little things that make an evening out special. Those little things were lacking. Overall, it was a disappointing evening.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We love Michael's Tasting Room, never di ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We love Michael's Tasting Room, never disappoints!! We brought anothe couple who lives it the area as well for our date night out and they equally loved it as well. Service, food, ambiance is always spot on and wonderful dining experience!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Michael's is a wonderful Tapas restauran ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Michael's is a wonderful Tapas restaurant in St. Augustine- creative menu with great taste recommend the charcuterie tray, warm olives,manchego marinated and sword fish excellent wine list

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfectly romantic for our honeymoon!

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Perfectly romantic for our honeymoon!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We enjoyed everything you had to offer. ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We enjoyed everything you had to offer. I found it a little pricey for the portion given. The service was good, and I liked that it was nice and quiet atmosphere.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The Server was very good. Can't remembe ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The Server was very good. Can't remember her name, but I think she had lived in Boston and several other cities (Tall Slim Blond I think). We asked for special diet restrictions. She took it all down and asked the Chef. She checked on us several times during the meal. A VERY good Employee!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We did enjoy our dinner but I feel I mus ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We did enjoy our dinner but I feel I must make a few comments on my misgivings . I was surprised there were so few wines offered by the glass though I must admit I did not ask if there were more wines offered by the glass. I also would have liked to have been asked if we wanted all our tapas orders at once as I would have preferred for them to have been spread out a little. The grilled octopus was perfectly cooked,where the thighs seemed a little dry though they had a wonderfully rich flavor. The flan was the creamiest smooth version of this desert I have ever had and I have had a few. The Ceasar Salad was larger than I expected and could have been shared between the two of us ,had I known, though I don't know that I would want to share the single white anchovy. We did enjoy our dinner and will recommend it.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful Tapas restaurant- food was inc ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Wonderful Tapas restaurant- food was incredible especially potatas bravas, marinated manchego and swordfish- excellent wine list we had the hippoleto blended red- knowledgeable staff - highly recommended

Tags: Vegan, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was so nice and relaxing and our serv ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 19, 2017

It was so nice and relaxing and our server was awesome

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent little gem tucked on a side st ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Excellent little gem tucked on a side street. Super friendly staff. Outstanding food from a small kitchen using fresh, local ingredients.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was very good, and the service ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 17, 2017

The food was very good, and the service was excellent

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We tried 3 different small plates and no ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We tried 3 different small plates and none of them wowed us. We were not even tempted to try another one.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a delicious dinner at Michael's T ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We had a delicious dinner at Michael's Tasting Room on Sunday, January 15. The selection of tapas is extensive, and they have a few main courses. We had the manchego cheese platter, olives, papas bravas, and a main course of juicy beef on top of mashed yucca. Very inventive!

We sat outside in a lovely patio.

Tags: Tapas, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice with plenty of room. I didn't ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Very nice with plenty of room. I didn't feel like I was sharing my table with the adjacent people. The food was tasty, different, & well prepared. It is definitely a place you won't want to miss.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had dinner at Michaels. We enjoy tap ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We had dinner at Michaels. We enjoy tapas. The dishes were good but somewhat overpriced and pretentious for what was delivered. It was an ok experience but not one we'd repeat.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value5

I am not what you might consider a conno ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 12, 2017

I am not what you might consider a connoisseur of fine food. I have eaten in a few restaurants where there is more than one fork- mostly in Europe, and my Mother is French. I know what good food should taste like.

The atmosphere in the dining room was very cozy, very comfortable, and the service was delivered by cheerful and friendly staff. With the throw pillows on the bench seat , the warm wood tones, and the almost dim yellow lighting the ambiance was absolutely romantic.

The food was outstanding. My wife and I both enjoyed the cod, cooked perfectly (not overdone) and flavored with some sort of relish that had an amazing Latin or Caribbean flavor. It was served with perfectly cooked potatoes, a small salad, and a glass of Chardonnay, perfect for our meal.

I am normally a meat-and-potatoes guy. I enjoy the simple things in life. But I will definitely return with an open mind. This cuisine was not just something to eat, it was an experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. Service was superb. Our ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Excellent food. Service was superb. Our waiterx David, was perfect.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our favorite St Augustine spot. Consista ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Our favorite St Augustine spot. Consistant and full of flavor. Can always depend on outstanding specials as well.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our 1st time eating at this res ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 5, 2017

This was our 1st time eating at this restaurant. The food was delicious and presented attractively. The portion looked small, but was filling and rich tasting. We wanted to support this restaurant after hearing on the national news in Green Bay, WI prior to our visit, that someone complained about the establishment playing Christmas music. It was after all St. Augustine and Christmas time. What did they expect?

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, great wines, great atmospher ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Great food, great wines, great atmosphere, consistency in the way food is prepared. I highly recommended to everyone. Very reasonable prices also. My wife and I love to go there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fun, Casual, Seasonal, Romantic, Tapas, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fantastic. the actual esta ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The food was fantastic. the actual establishment was very clean and looked great! Brandon Snook made a table side appearance and I appreciate meeting the person who is preparing food for my guest and myself. All in all I would give it five out of five stars. I will definitely be recommending your restaurant to my friends and family

Tags: Romantic, Organic, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The only positive comment is that they h ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The only positive comment is that they have a notable wine list. Restaurant was empty on the night we were there yet hostess didn't ask if we preferred a table inside the nondescript dining room or outside; she certainly wasn't happy to be there or seat customers that dropped $350 on a Monday night. Server was slow to greet us at the table. Had to ask for bread and water. Never asked us how we liked each course or our entree. Event enough guy, just not cut out for the business. Portion size was quite small for the price. The scallop entree and Brussel sprouts were over salted to within an inch of the their life. Not quite sure how this restaurant has so many positive reviews, which is why we decided to try it. Perhaps regular diners haven't ventured out to high end Michelin rated spots and don't have good comparison. Only saving grace is the notable wine list, including some of my favorites that I haven't seen anywhere else in the food desert that is NE Florida. Perhaps we will return for a bottle of wine.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

We have been going to the Tasting Room f ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We have been going to the Tasting Room for many years, even before we moved to St. Augustine and we have always enjoyed it and always recommend it to visitors! We dined there last New Year's Eve and it was very good, this time, well there were issues. First they tried to sit us (again) at a tiny table for two when there were numerous empty bigger tables that were set for two. We were refused the bigger table and thought about leaving, but the "host" thought better of it, I guess, and sat us at a better table. Second, there was no entertainment this year like last year. No party favors either, as before.

And the biggest issue was the portion size! One potato/goat cheese "bomba", a soup bowl filled 1/4 full, two scallops, and two beef medallions.... this comprised the "4 course menu". Then, dessert. The food was delicious but we left hungry. And this was $75 per person!!! If we chose the wine pairing, it was an additional $50/pp. Yikes!! We have dined all over the world and have never experience portions this small.

The portion size was almost laughable and I noticed several other diners give each other "a look like, WTH!" To Michael and the Tasting Room staff, we love your food, but really? This was just not up to snuff for such a usually excellent restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Perfext start to the New Year. Greqt foo ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Perfext start to the New Year. Greqt food, wine and service. A special place to take someone special.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.