Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Michael's Tasting Room

Michael's Tasting Room offers a unique casual fine dining experience with a celebrated chef, dedicated staff, and passion for exquisite flavors and world-class wines. Michael's Tasting Room has received numerous honors and accolades. Most recently, the Wine Spectator awarded Michael's Tasting Rooms wine list it's Award of Excellence for the ninth year in a row. Chef Michael has also been recognized as Best Chef of St.Augustine from several the city's publications, The restaurant was featured on The Food Network with Chef Emeril Lagasse during Florida's 500th anniversary.

25 Cuna Street
St. Augustine, FL 32084
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Mediterranean, Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
St. George Street

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 810-2400

Website:
http://www.michaelstastingroom.com/

Catering:
Our place or yours, we can cater any size event. Call for details 904-810-2400

Parking Details:
The City of St. Augustine Public Parking lot is located 4 blocks northwest of the restaurant. The Toque Lot is located off of Charlotte Street and Hypolita Street. The restaurant is located in the north side of the parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Michael Lugo

Private Party Facilities:
The "Red Room" holds up to 20 people for lunch or dinner. The private room, which is also an art gallery, is cozy and fun! The Courtyard can hold up to 24 people. Outdoor heaters and fans are on-site for inclement weather. Our whole restaurant is available for private events up to 100 guest.

Private Party Contact:
Stephanie Lugo: (904) 377-4747

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Michael's Tasting Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (49)
Good for a Date (45)
Creative Cuisine (44)
See All
Tapas (42)
Romantic (40)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
Special Occasion (36)
Cozy (36)
Tasting Menu (35)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Quiet Conversation (31)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Local Ingredients (26)
Worth the Drive (25)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Authentic (18)
Historic (17)
Fireplace (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Casual (11)
Fun (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Healthy (8)
Seasonal (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Private Room (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Organic (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Business Meals (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Vegan (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Family Style (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Spicy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
1041 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 17 hours ago

Family reunion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Great food different from your typical evening but enjoyed every bite. The wine is was fantastic and service was top notch!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Very helpful service and we enjoyed the variety of small plates.

Tags: Scenic View, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 19, 2017

This was my first time at Michael's . The food was delicious. They have an excellent wine list. I would have dinner there again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Used to love this place and the fact that the menu changed with the seasons. This particular menu felt very pretentious and the food was not as good as it has been in the past. Service was outstanding, wine was great, and we still love the atmosphere, but our meal was less than stellar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Overall experience was very good. In fact my wife said the short rib entree was the best she had ever had and that is high praise. I too found the food creative and delicious. It was a quiet, romantic evening until the table of 15 good ole boys descended on the space and then the ambiance was shot as the space has poor acoustics. I would absolutely dine there again.

Tags: Historic, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Great dinner!! And our server, Archie, was the Best!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Enjoyed the evening. Waiter was exceptional. Gave us an opportunity to try something
new. Great date night from Bozard.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Wonderful restaurant. Had a great hanger steak meal. Archie attended to all our needs with wonderful service. We will come back for future dinners. Nice ambiance with great looking fireplace.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Fireplace, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We enjoyed the warm ambiance (wood floors, beautiful décor, comfy chairs/tables, interesting art work) and the food was lovely.

Tags: Healthy, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Best dinner we enjoyed on our 15 day Florida vacation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Our experience was absolutely wonderful. Our waiter, Archie, was attentive yet not intruding constantly. The salad we started with was fresh, tasty and just the right portion. The Champagne Vinaigrette dressing was spectacular! I cannot say enough good things about our main course which was the Hanger Steak. It was prepared perfectly for me with just the right amount of seasoning, our sides were fresh asparagus and plantains. My husband does not normally care for plantains but he not only ate his he ate half of mine too! Brownie bites for dessert finished our meal off with a Delicious flavor that the memories of still linger and I look forward to again. Fabulous experience all around and we will return soon!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Fireplace, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 7, 2017

My husband and I dined at Michael's on a Tuesday night while on vacation. I'd read good reviews so made a reservation for 7 pm. The restaurant was empty, save one other table of two. The ambiance was nothing special. My swordfish was over cooked and the polenta was very firm and tasteless. My husband's lamb was just so so.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Best meal I've had in a while for sure. Friendly staff

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Michaels never disappoints. We love coming here for the tapas. We met with friends and just ordered almost one of every tapa and we munched and chatted and drank wine-good food mixed with good wine mixed with great friends is always, always a pleasurable time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The service, food and dining experience was all 5 star experience

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 3, 2017

I know that restaurants believe menu update is a good thing. However, when you advertise "Spanish Style" and only Spanish small plates are almonds, cheese and olives it truly limits the options for enjoying an assortment of small plates similar to a true tapas. Being from Spain, this restaurant came highly recommended by Spaniards who had eaten here on their trip and they had mentioned many more options available for a tapas experience.

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 28, 2017

The service was bad. The waiter knew nothing about the menu items and had to go back to kitchen twice. We order a salad, it was slow to come out. They then brought our entree's out before we finished our salad. Then when we did have our entrees, they were dry. Ordered a $150 bottle of wine. Did not have the person that ordered to taste it. It was Pinot Noir and I have never put it on ice or in a chilled bucket as you would Chardonnay. He did. He never came back to pour any wine after the first glass. Never would go again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Key West)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We had a great tapas dinner at Michael's. The setting is intimate, the service was great and the food was wonderful. I recommend the Octopus and the Steak Tartare. We will be back on our next visit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Service was phenomenal, our servers recommendations were on point. Everybody was very accommodating, the food was amazing! I will definitely be back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Tapas, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Historic, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Absolutely love this place. The food was excellent and our waiter Jason was extremely knowledgeable of everything on the menu. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Archie did a good job but forgot to serve my wife's salad. He did offer it on the house afterward.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Our waiter Archie was fantastic and we loved all of the food they brought us starting with lobster croquets, then beet salad, the entree was sword fish and veggies and ending with tres leche cake!! This was the date night from Bozard Lincoln and it was amazing !! I will definitely tell my friends to come here to eat and I will come back. Thank you for the delicious food cooked to perfection.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Delightful tapas menu with excellent wine pairings, and the goat cheesecake was to die for.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Host seats us at a table that was reserved for the owners friends, so we have to move. Food was inconsistent with some items good, and one very overcooked that was returned. No manager/owner involvement with our table after food returned. Server said he was going to buy us a glass of wine that he wanted us to try and it ended up on the bill. Very underwhelming experience for a restaurant that is supposed to be so wonderful. There are several other exceptional restaurants in St. Augustine which will continue to get our business, but not this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Fantastic as usual. Michael's is a staple in our restaurant rotation choices, and now with the enhancement of a wine locker, we'll be coming back time and time again. Compliments to Michael and the staff. Always gracious and delightful.

Tags: Historic, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food wasn't great this time (valentine's day pre fix), with the exception of dessert. Didn't seem as if the food was made to order, which is disappointing at $90 per person. On our previous visits the food as been so amazing-- this trip fell well below expectations.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Historic, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

As usual, our favorite restaurant experience was outstanding! My Husband I celebrated Valentine's Day with a lovely 5 course meal and delicious wine. Thank you for another momentous evening.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Fun, Comfort Food, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

It was fabulous. It was Valentine's Day with fixed menu that was delicious & served timely between courses. So enjoyed the date.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This place is THE premier St Augustine restaurant (Collage is the second place winner). First off, the atmosphere is very cozy.....either inside or in the courtyard. Service is prompt, courteous , friendly and professional. And the food! Interesting selections that all seem to be winners. Even the hamburger is perhaps the best I have ever eaten. Ordering any of the other items on the ever-changing menu offers a more creative selection than the burger. My only criticism is that Michael has pared back the tapas menu. Selections are still on the menu but the selections is not as extensive. You can not go wrong here. I also suggest making a reservation because on my visit last week I did see they turned away a few people who did not have reservations.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Very expensive and you don't get much food. After spending $230, we walked across the street to Mojo BBQ and ate another plate of food because we left hungry. I also felt pretty taken advantage of when I brought my own bottle of wine, they offered to cork it for me and put it on ice. Not once did he mention a $25 corking fee and the Valentine's Day menu never said anything about a $25 fee either. If I would've known, I would've opened my own bottle lol.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Rachael was a very fine young lady , she was pleasant and attentive. My wife and I enjoyed her and our meal .

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The service at this restaurant was outstanding. Beverage glasses were topped off without having to ask. The salad and main course were excellent. I would definitely recommend this to friends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Artsy and welcoming place for foodies. Beautifully thought out menu that changes seasonally. We dined exclusively on tapas because, regrettably, we had a late lunch. The scallop arepas on the tapas menu were our very favorite.

Next time we will come with a Better appetite and call a day ahead so the chef can prepare a tasting dinner for us. Can't wait!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Consistently good food and service. Low noise level made it easy to carry on a conversation.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tapas, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great waitress. Great wine list. I didn't think the food was that great especially for the price. Nice ambiance.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Went for a Bozard Lincoln Date night. Bozard Ford Lincoln supplied us with a Lincoln MKX for the night and dinner here. All around great night.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 2, 2017

My wife and I had a wonderful time at your restaurant. It was out first time in your establishment and we have to say the service was immaculate. the waiter was very tentative to our need and wants. secondly the food was delicious. My hats off to the chef. My wife and I would like to thank you and your staff for a great evening.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Casual, Fun, Fireplace, Spicy, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Very good wine list and an accommodating wait staff. We like the tapas option on the menu and ordered the Spanish Octopus, Arepas, and Beef Tartare for appetizers. For four of us, we ordered three main plates, the Grilled Swordfish, Hangar Steak, and Scallops, and there was plenty of food. Dessert was a simple decision - Coconut Tres Leches, and Expresso Brownie Bites.

Tags: Disabled Access, Fireplace, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Well deserved reputation. This was a first rate dining experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.