About Michael's Tasting Room

25 Cuna Street
St. Augustine, FL 32084
View Larger Map

Michael's Tasting Room offers a unique casual fine dining experience with a celebrated chef, dedicated staff, and passion for exquisite flavors and world-class wines. Michael's Tasting Room has received numerous honors and accolades. Most recently, the Wine Spectator awarded Michael's Tasting Rooms wine list it's Award of Excellence for the ninth year in a row. Chef Michael has also been recognized as Best Chef of St.Augustine from several the city's publications, The restaurant was featured on The Food Network with Chef Emeril Lagasse during Florida's 500th anniversary.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Mediterranean, Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
St. George Street

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 810-2400

Website:
http://www.michaelstastingroom.com/

Catering:
Our place or yours, we can cater any size event. Call for details 904-810-2400

Parking Details:
The City of St. Augustine Public Parking lot is located 4 blocks northwest of the restaurant. The Toque Lot is located off of Charlotte Street and Hypolita Street. The restaurant is located in the north side of the parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Michael Lugo

Private Party Facilities:
The "Red Room" holds up to 20 people for lunch or dinner. The private room, which is also an art gallery, is cozy and fun! The Courtyard can hold up to 24 people. Outdoor heaters and fans are on-site for inclement weather. Our whole restaurant is available for private events up to 100 guest.

Private Party Contact:
Stephanie Lugo: 904-377-4747x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Michael's Tasting Room, St. Augustine, FL
Ostras Fritas - Michael's Tasting Room, St. Augustine, FL
Casuela De Langosta Y Camarones - Michael's Tasting Room, St. Augustine, FL
grilled Lamb Chop over quinoa - Michael's Tasting Room, St. Augustine, FL
Chocolate Decadence Créme Brulé - Michael's Tasting Room, St. Augustine, FL
tres leches - Michael's Tasting Room, St. Augustine, FL
Guava Cheesecake - Michael's Tasting Room, St. Augustine, FL
Pork Chop - Michael's Tasting Room, St. Augustine, FL
Unilaterally Seared Salmon - Michael's Tasting Room, St. Augustine, FL
Spiced Carrot Cake  - Michael's Tasting Room, St. Augustine, FL
Rare Duck Over Creamy Risotto - Michael's Tasting Room, St. Augustine, FL
Winter Citrus White Sangria - Michael's Tasting Room, St. Augustine, FL
Sea Salt Brownie - Michael's Tasting Room, St. Augustine, FL
Terrine De Queso - Michael's Tasting Room, St. Augustine, FL
Ensalada De Remolacha - Michael's Tasting Room, St. Augustine, FL

Michael's Tasting Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Romantic
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Special Occasion
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
6 More
Best Overall
St. Augustine
Best Food
St. Augustine
Best Service
St. Augustine
Best Ambiance
St. Augustine
Best Value
St. Augustine
Most Booked
St. Augustine
Best Restaurants in St. Augustine ›

Special Occasion (42)
Romantic (37)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
See All
Good for a Date (35)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Notable Wine List (29)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Tasting Menu (24)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Tapas (23)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Authentic (19)
Cozy (19)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Local Ingredients (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Historic (12)
Healthy (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Business Meals (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Fun (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Casual (5)
Seasonal (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Private Room (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Fireplace (3)
Family Style (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Organic (2)
Scenic View (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Live Music (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
People Watching (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
914 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Reviewed the menu online and made a rese ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 3 days ago

Reviewed the menu online and made a reservation for our 1st Anniversary. My wife and I love this style of Dining (Tapas) with Dinner entrees if you want. The wine list is very impressive. Server's knowledge of the menu and wine selections was great and paired my wine just perfectly. We will be back to explore more options on the menu and wine list.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had an amazing time. The food was abs ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 5 days ago

We had an amazing time. The food was absolutely delicious. After we ate all we thought about was how we wanted to order it all over again.

Only critique is the outside dining could be better. More lights to keep up with the other beautiful outdoor dining areas. And we were a little ignored because we were outside.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

We had a very nice time at The Tasting R ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 28, 2016

We had a very nice time at The Tasting Room and will go again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The atmosphere, service and food was abs ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The atmosphere, service and food was absolutely delicious!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was mixed: great salads and che ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The food was mixed: great salads and cheese platter but the hamburger was not at all tasty. Ambience is very good, staff very friendly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Relaxing time with great food and servic ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Relaxing time with great food and service. Family favorite, especially when out of town company is in!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The blue cheese stuffed Date was amazing ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 23, 2016

The blue cheese stuffed Date was amazing. I'm not a big fan of seafood but the seafood soup was wonderful. David's service was perfect... and all the different people that brought food or picked up dishes were friendly and respectful.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Michael's Tasting Room has an ambiance t ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Michael's Tasting Room has an ambiance that is comforting, professional, and friendly. The Wait Staff is knowledgeable and extremely efficient, and considerate. Michaels has all the earmarks of a fine, upscale restaurant, without the snobbery found in so many. I am thoroughly impressed. Thanks to everyone at Michaels for giving my date and meI a very special evening together.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Fireplace, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dining almost hidden away in t ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Excellent dining almost hidden away in the tiny inner streets of Downtown St. Augustine. A romantic, quiet, succulent meal, served professionally. I am looking forward to my next experience there.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and atmosphere were great! Highly ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Food and atmosphere were great! Highly recommended for tourists or locals.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Not impressed with the service. We got ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Not impressed with the service. We got sick with the salad, Caesar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

MTR is a great restaurant with great foo ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 19, 2016

MTR is a great restaurant with great food. The menu changes seasonally and is always a treat.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent!! Food was exquisi ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Service was excellent!! Food was exquisite. Would definitely recommend

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Michael was great! He sat us at ou ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Chef Michael was great! He sat us at our table and checked in with us several times. The shrimp tapas were incredible and I highly recommend them. Everything else was really good, including a great wine list. The ambience was good, although it was a loud environment. Overall, it was a great experience for my lady's birthday celebration..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We chose Michael's Tasting Room for a sp ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We chose Michael's Tasting Room for a special occasion to take another couple out in the Historic area of St. Augustine. It was a very comfortable dining experience. It had the right atmosphere from the moment we arrived. We had changed the time of our reservation and then arrived earlier than we planned. Everyone was kind to accommodate us. Chef Michael visited our table a few times checking on us. We appreciated the careful attention. Our dinners were all good. I especially like my swordfish with the vegetables. Our wine was a great choice with the flatbread appetizer. Our key lime pie desserts were tasty and perfect to share. We will definitely return here and remember our," After the Hurricane experience."

Tags: Late-night Find, Tapas, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We tried out Michael's Tasting Room this ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We tried out Michael's Tasting Room this past weekend as part of the Lincoln Date Night Experience. Everything was outstanding from start to finish and we will strongly recommend this restaurant to friends and family. The service was outstanding, food and ambience equally good and made for a fun evening with friends.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went on a date with my husband here an ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I went on a date with my husband here and the service was excellent. They were attentive without hovering, and the ambiance was perfect for a date. I only have one complaint, they didn't ask how we wanted our steaks cooked so when they brought them out they were a lot rarer than we usually have it. My husband normally gets rare, while I get medium rare. When the steaks came out they were SUPER rare. The steaks were still tasty and tender, but I wish they would have asked instead of assuming. Overall, though, I would definitely go back here- I just probably won't get steak next time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful time at Michaels...ni ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 10, 2016

We had a wonderful time at Michaels...nice atmosphere, delicious food & great service. We will definitely be back again soon!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good, I just wish they would ha ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food was good, I just wish they would have asked how we liked our steak as it was too rare for us.

Tags: Historic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife and I went to Michael's tasting ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 6, 2016

My wife and I went to Michael's tasting room and had such a great experience. The wine list was extensive, the seafood was fresh and so good. What a wonderful date night!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We visited Michael's Tasting Room on Sat ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We visited Michael's Tasting Room on Saturday evening, November 5th. We had never dined here before and were extremely pleased that we came for dinner. The food and service were excellent and the restaurant was a lovely choice for our special "date". We will definitely come again and have already recommended it to several friends. What a great find!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely ambience tapas menu 2 dishes deli ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Lovely ambience tapas menu 2 dishes delicous 2 dishes dissapointing limlimited white wine selection

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

I enjoyed the food it was very good and ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 1, 2016

I enjoyed the food it was very good and our waiter Archie was very nice and attentive and friendly I will refer this restaurant to my friends and I plan on returning

Tags: Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were taken care of with personal serv ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We were taken care of with personal service and fabulous food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I had a wonderful experience ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 30, 2016

My wife and I had a wonderful experience. The food and the wine pairing were fantastic. I didn't want the night to end. The steak was done to perfection. Cant wait to go back. My waiter's Name was Archie, what a great guy, very attentive. The owner Michael even stopped by our table to say hello. I have to say what a nice guy.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely Phenomenal place, One of the ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Absolutely Phenomenal place, One of the best in St Augustine, and a hidden gem, Food & Service is the way it should be done, you will not be disappointed!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Historic, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and outstanding food! ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Excellent service and outstanding food! We were celebrating our friends' 30th wedding anniversary.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful experience on our Lin ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We had a wonderful experience on our Lincoln Date Night! The atmosphere is warm and inviting while maintaining an intimate feel. The food is delicious and the service impeccable! We will most certainly return!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extraordinary food, mopped up every last ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Extraordinary food, mopped up every last drip of sauce. Friendly service, slightly distracted, particularly for wine refills. One special note ,,,,,,, the wine pour seems slight, I'm sure the Cava pour was around 4 ounces. Other than that spectacular food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We throughly enjoyed our visit to Michae ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We throughly enjoyed our visit to Michaels. Drawbacks are limited parking in area and lighting on the tables. Had to use my phone to read selections. Servers very attentive and helpful.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Michael's Tasting Room was outstanding t ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Michael's Tasting Room was outstanding this past week and it is wonderful to see them up and running after the Hurricane. The food, the service and the wine are always outstanding and this visit was as good as always. It is a favorite of ours and never disappoints!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Casual, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Tapas, Business Meals, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, wine and especially the top ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great food, wine and especially the top notch service!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our go-to date place. On this n ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 21, 2016

This is our go-to date place. On this night we went with another couple, and all loved it. I am so glad they were able to re-open fairly quickly after Hurricane Matthew.

Tags: Comfort Food, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love MIchael's Tasting Room. The tapas ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 20, 2016

I love MIchael's Tasting Room. The tapas are always spectacular and this octopus did not disappoint. The meat was cooked perfectly and served with a great sauce. The scallops, as always, done just so; never overcooked, and plump, large and sweet. We also had the beef short ribs. Its comfort food at its finest. The waitress was very nice and made some wonderful suggestions for wine and dessert. The garden is a lovely place to dine, with tables being far enough apart, your neighbor doesn't have to listen to your conversation. I hosted my friends for a birthday and, as always, was very happy. One of St Augustine's nicest restaurants.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, they never disappoint. Even a ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 20, 2016

As always, they never disappoint. Even after Hurricane Matthew, we noticed some of the furniture must have been lost, but the food and service was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience - good wine sele ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Great dining experience - good wine selection, super food, excellent service

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This restaurant was recommended by broth ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 1, 2016

This restaurant was recommended by brother and it has perfect atmosphere for a nice dining experience! The food was amazing and the wine list was broad! We had great dinner, amazing service and will return!

Tags: Fun, Historic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Shrimp tapas and scallops entree were ex ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Shrimp tapas and scallops entree were excellent. A nice hidden gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Charming neighborhood gem with excellent ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Charming neighborhood gem with excellent cuisine. This is a must-stop in St. Augustine!

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice, pleasant restaurant. Very g ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Very nice, pleasant restaurant. Very good food. Attentive service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.