Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Michael's Tasting Room

Michael's Tasting Room offers a unique casual fine dining experience with a celebrated chef, dedicated staff, and passion for exquisite flavors and world-class wines. Michael's Tasting Room has received numerous honors and accolades. Most recently, the Wine Spectator awarded Michael's Tasting Rooms wine list it's Award of Excellence for the ninth year in a row. Chef Michael has also been recognized as Best Chef of St.Augustine from several the city's publications, The restaurant was featured on The Food Network with Chef Emeril Lagasse during Florida's 500th anniversary.

25 Cuna Street
St. Augustine, FL 32084
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Mediterranean, Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
St. George Street

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 810-2400

Website:
http://www.michaelstastingroom.com/

Catering:
Our place or yours, we can cater any size event. Call for details 904-810-2400

Parking Details:
The City of St. Augustine Public Parking lot is located 4 blocks northwest of the restaurant. The Toque Lot is located off of Charlotte Street and Hypolita Street. The restaurant is located in the north side of the parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Michael Lugo

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Michael's Tasting Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

Noise

Quiet

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (36)
Good for a Date (35)
Creative Cuisine (30)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Tapas (26)
Worth the Drive (25)
Notable Wine List (23)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Romantic (23)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Local Ingredients (16)
Authentic (16)
Tasting Menu (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Cozy (15)
Healthy (10)
Business Meals (7)
Fun (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Casual (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Scenic View (2)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Live Music (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
1175 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined a day ago

We loved dining here. Excellent wine list, great menu choices and excellent service. Our waitress was Audrey and she was friendly and professional and recommended a wonderful Spanish wine choice. My husband loved the salmon and I ordered the MTR burger which was incredible. For dessert we enjoyed key lime pie . We will most definitely return soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

We had a wonderful experience. We wanted outdoor dining. It began raining. Our server Rachel with help from the staff moved us underneath the roof hang over. It was wonderful. Great tapas, watching the rain, and enjoying good wine

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Food preparation and quality were exceptional. We had some shareable dishes and 4 separate entrees and each was amazing. Would recommend MTR to anyone visiting St. Augustine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

St Augustine has numeros restaurants and several really fine dining establishments. All four of us agreed that all of our meals were excellent, best in current memory. Michael’s has gone to top of our list, can’t wait to share with our ever stream of visitors.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 11, 2017

Great restaurant located off the main strip. Great ambiance and relaxing decor inside. Audrey was our server and she was attentive and professional. We had the pork flat steak meal and it was delicious. The courses were served in a timely manner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Michael's is delicious!! The food is very upscale but the price point is reasonable. My only wish is that they had a full bar but that is not a complaint.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 10, 2017

We went on a double date with our Pastor and his wife,we had a great time,the food and service was wonderful.I will probably go again soon,maybe try something new.Ray

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

We were promptly greeted and seated. The waiter was attentive and had some great recommendations for wine and explained the entree options to us and was spot on. Will definitely be going back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

I loved everything about the experience!! The food was great! The wine was great! The service was great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Outstanding service and cuisine definitely a must dine here for St. Augustine.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 24, 2017

We specified on our reservation that we were just engaged today and were out to celebrate- this was never recognized by any staff. Food was excellent but service (David) was uninviting - we were greeted without an introduction, only what the kitchen was sold out of on the menu. Our waiter rarely came back to check on us after our initial order was placed and we never received bread . Overall this was not the experience we were expecting for the price or the occasion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

This is my fourth visit to Michael's and I look forward to my next! The service is always on point. They are very knowledgeable of all items offered, food & beverages and will always have a personal recommendation if you ask! No matter what you "like" to eat, there is definitely something on this menu that will leave you walking out satisfied and making an excuse to come back! My favorite entree is the short rib but literally everything on the menu is worth a taste!

Tags: Tapas, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Very good experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

This was an excellent place to dine. My fiancé and I enjoyed our selves and even booked a reservation for the next week with friends. I would recommend this restaurant highly.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

a bar with alcoholic beverages, rather than just wine.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Michael's Tasting Room was the perfect spot for our special occasion. The service was professional and personable. The food was outstanding. Our favorite tapas was the Truffle Mushroom Bruschetta! We enjoyed this with a bottle of Sangria.

Tags: Authentic, Tapas, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

It was a great night. Our waiter was a little strange, he argued with us about everything. It was to the point the my husband was getting angry, but the food was good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 17, 2017

My husband and I along with two friends had such a wonderful dining experience at Michael's Tasting Room! We were greeted by our waiter with a glass of champagne and a description of the menu. Our waiter was very knowledgeable and friendly and delivered exceptional service throughout our entire evening. My husband ordered the Beef Short Rib, which also included seasonal vegetables and a deep, brown sauce...he ate every bite! I ordered the 12oz. Bone-in Pork Chop, which also came with seasonal vegetables and was absolutely delicious! To my husband's delight, I shared several bites of my pork chop with him! We ordered the brownie for dessert and it was as you would expect, smooth, rich and moist (a little bit goes a long way). The wine list is very extensive and the Margarett's Cabernet we ordered was a perfect complement to our meal. Thank you for a very memorable evening! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 17, 2017

A superb restaurant with excellent food, service, and presentation. Will definitely return and would highly recommend to those looking for something better than casual dining but not so formal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

Loved our dinner. Our server was amazing as well!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Scenic View, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

Our food was good (a little too much salt though) and the dining area is lovely.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Just a perfect dining experience. Our first time at Michael's Tasting Room, we had a number of tapas and several glasses of wine. The atmosphere is quiet and sophisticated, with Old World Spanish building and modern decor combined. The tapas variety was excellent, and the menu of extremely high quality. The goat cheese-arugula-wild mushroom appetizer was amazing, the caesar salad one of the best we've ever had -- a real anchovy, not the little dried kind.
Service wonderful. Wine selection very good. The only surprise was that the menu is more about tastings -- wines are more by the bottle. They could use a better selection of wines by the glass but it was very good and sufficient.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We had a great date night at Michael's. Great service, quiet and relaxing. We really enjoyed the whole fried snapper. We will be visiting again. Cheers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Had absolutely wonderful service. very attentive staff from hostess to the food runners. Menu was intricate. Food was awesome.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tapas, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Greg was delightful and we really enjoyed sharing our choices.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Great place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Great for tapas. Everything we ate was good. Nice presentation too

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Very nice evening! The service was attentive and timely... we had enough time between courses to talk and enjoy the atmosphere. The food was very tasty and the wine selection was varied. We prefer California Sonoma County wines and we were not disappointed. Overall an excellent choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Not to be missed! Eclectic diverse menu and lots of small plates to share and try. The wine was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Food and service was great. Would recommend for any special occasion or just a get together for friends.

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on August 4, 2017

We had heard and read about Michael's Tasting Room, but, for various reasons, had never dined there. Most of the reviews on the different sites sounded very positive and promising. Our table of four ordered from all over the menu, including one special. We had very mixed reviews. The Spanish Caesar salad was very bland; the dressing had little or no flavor. The sautéd button mushrooms were very good; buttery, with lots of garlic and sherry. The lobster roll was exceptionally good; loaded with fresh lobster, a very nice roll and a light, tasty dressing to hold it together. This was the highlight of the meal. One diner ordered that night's special: lobster gnocchi. It was priced at $28 and was a total disappointment! Overpriced and absolutely no taste! Two other diners ordered the short ribs and the hamburger. Neither was anything to write home about!! On a very positive note, the actual dining room was very pleasant and our server was an absolute jewel!! It was a night that we don't regret; but, we all agreed that the food fell way short of our expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Fantastic meal, the service was excellent and the wine was great. The menu all looked fantastic but we ordered the lamb tapas as an appetizer (which was gorgeous!) and then the chicken was stunning and the steak was perfect. It was my birthday and they brought us desert, the espresso chocolate cakes were to die for. 10/10 would go there again!

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We have been to The Tasting Room before on various trips to St. Augustine. We came upon it accidentally around the time it first opened and it has become a "must do" when we are in the area. We always have tapas which we did this time. The croquettes in particular were heavenly. The only struggle is to find parking in downtown St. Augustine but the effort is well worth it!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Thank you for a wonderful birthday dinner with my family. Everything was perfect. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Enjoyed every aspect! Our server (I believe his name was Artie) was great! We couldn't decide on a bottle of wine so I told him some that I enjoyed and he picked us out the perfect bottle! We mainly did apps but everything we had was amazing! I loved the mushroom bruschetta and cheese board!!! Thanks for a great night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Very enjoyable evening. Delicious meal. We had the scallops and risotto and would highly recommend it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Wonderful food, great service, loved the atmosphere.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

My wife and I come to St. Augustine once a year and we always make it a point to eat dinner here.
-Amazing food and Sangria
-Great Service
-Love the atmosphere

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

The entire experience was amazing. Never had such great tasting gazpacho and the ambiance was perfect for my husbands birthday dinner. Quiet and romantic, perfect for dates. Highly recommend a reservation!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Arrived early for reservation and we were seated right away in the private dining area of the restaurant. Service was excellent; waiter was very attentive and kept us apprised of the status of our order. We ordered several tapas: tuna, blistered shoshito peppers, papas bravas, and the Mediterranean board. Each was served at the optimum temperature and as they were prepared, which allowed for leisurely dining. All of the tapas were delicious. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.