Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Michael's Tasting Room

Michael's Tasting Room offers a unique casual fine dining experience with a celebrated chef, dedicated staff, and passion for exquisite flavors and world-class wines. Michael's Tasting Room has received numerous honors and accolades. Most recently, the Wine Spectator awarded Michael's Tasting Rooms wine list it's Award of Excellence for the ninth year in a row. Chef Michael has also been recognized as Best Chef of St.Augustine from several the city's publications, The restaurant was featured on The Food Network with Chef Emeril Lagasse during Florida's 500th anniversary.

25 Cuna Street
St. Augustine, FL 32084
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Mediterranean, Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
St. George Street

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 810-2400

Website:
http://www.michaelstastingroom.com/

Catering:
Our place or yours, we can cater any size event. Call for details 904-810-2400

Parking Details:
The City of St. Augustine Public Parking lot is located 4 blocks northwest of the restaurant. The Toque Lot is located off of Charlotte Street and Hypolita Street. The restaurant is located in the north side of the parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Michael Lugo

Private Party Facilities:
The "Red Room" holds up to 20 people for lunch or dinner. The private room, which is also an art gallery, is cozy and fun! The Courtyard can hold up to 24 people. Outdoor heaters and fans are on-site for inclement weather. Our whole restaurant is available for private events up to 100 guest.

Private Party Contact:
Stephanie Lugo: (904) 377-4747

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Michael's Tasting Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (41)
Good for a Date (41)
Notable Wine List (37)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Special Occasion (34)
Tasting Menu (33)
Romantic (31)
Cozy (30)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Tapas (29)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Local Ingredients (24)
Worth the Drive (24)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Authentic (20)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Good for Groups (17)
Healthy (15)
Casual (14)
Comfort Food (9)
Historic (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Seasonal (7)
Business Meals (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Fun (6)
Scenic View (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Fireplace (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
People Watching (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Organic (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Live Music (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Spicy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1109 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

We chose Michael's based on a glowing review in a state-wide publication, and they did not disappoint. As an extra surprise touch, I had accidentally left my hat when we hurriedly dashed off to catch a concert nearby. But when returned the next day, the staff cheerfully retrieved and returned it. Great, great staff! Fantastic food! Like Arnold says, "We'll be back."

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Tapas, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 5 days ago

one of the best dinners we've had in a long time. would definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding Restaurant for menu and food. Extensive wine list however pricey not enough medium price wines. The noise level of the restaurant is too loud I hear more customers then musack...

I love the braised short ribs... a must try.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was like 1970’s hotel food. Over seasoned, seemed like it had been prepared in advanced and reheated. Service was very good however and the environment is good for the location.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Had a wonderful dinner to catch up with a friend "long time no see"
Would recommend this place great setting inside or out.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We visited for Father's Day and planned our afternoon shopping around our early evening reservation at Michael's. We typically sit outside in the quiet courtyard - one of our favorite spots - but due to the heat & humidity we opted for the dining room this time. The large open room was a bit noisy for our taste, but not excessive. The food, as usual, was outstanding. In addition to the seasonal tapas (we had a shrimp dish and dish featuring goat cheese), I had the rib-eye. It literally melted in your mouth. My wife and son had the hanger steak, which was uniquely seasoned and quite tasty. We finished the meal with desserts (creme brulee and chocolate brownies all around!). The service throughout the meal was impeccable.
Michael's is our favorite St. Augustine restaurant, which is saying a lot as there are countless to choose from. We typically visit 2-3 times a year,and it is well-worth the drive. Nice job as always, Michael's!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic, Scenic View, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 14, 2017

I cannot recommend this restaurant. There is nothing wrong with it; however, for the price, there is nothing particularly noteable either. It has a skimpy selection of tapas, the portions are small and undistinguished.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Fantastic from start to finish! Both the service and food were impeccable! I would definitely recommend and return again.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Had a great time David was an excellent waiter never had to ask for anything

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Fun, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 9, 2017

This was the first time the four of us have dined at Michael's Tasting Room and it was outstanding! We each had a different entrée, which we all sampled, and every one was delicious. Staff welcomed us as we entered the restaurant, and our waiter, David, was terrific. Very friendly, professional, and made great suggestions. We all agreed that The Tasting Room is one of the finest restaurants in St. Augustine. We will be back very soon!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 9, 2017

My son gave me a gift certificate as part of my Christmas present. We decided to use it now- in June. It was totally worth the wait! There is an extensive wine list which is fab! We decided we'd go with the white sangria- great choice.
Our daughter is vegetarian and there was plenty of choices for her She went with the vegetable risotto which she said was great. I went with a couple tapas . They were amazing- especially the chicken thighs! Hubby had the Hanger steak which he raved over.
We finished up with the Coconut Trea Leches which was so light and fluffy. The mixture of the coconut, caramel and cinnamon was so flavorful that I can't wait to return to Michael's again Two thumbs way up!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Went to this restaurant as part of the Bozard Date Night promotion. The restaurant is located on one of the most picturesque streets in St Augustine's historic district. We went early in the evening so it was not at all crowded. Archie, our waiter, was outstanding - friendly, informed, very precise in his suggestions. The food was gourmet quality, obviously prepared by a chef who took great pride in his offerings. My only reservation in totally recommending Michael's is that ordering a la carte could be fairly pricey.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 6, 2017

We really enjoyed our meal. Although the menu is limited, the food was very tasty! The wine list was amazing. Service was acceptable but not overly attentive. The restaurant itself was charming, intimate and created an inviting environment.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Great Service- food was very good- dessert a little stale.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 3, 2017

This was our first visit, and we will be back, without a doubt. The food (a hamburger for him; tilefish for me) was superb. The winelist is excellent (we had a nice sancerre). the service was attentive but discreet. the room was lovely and nicely decorated. the tables are spaced far enough apart to provide privacy. This is a true gem!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Great service and ambiance! I would recommend this restaurant to others.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Totally recommend it. Tapas and food were absolutly delicious and good size portions.( we shared) Love the Ambiance and it felt like inside an old house( very cozy). Prices were decent and service was great. Must try the mushroom soup, goat cheese tapas the yuca mofongo with the shortrib.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great dinner! I'll definitely come back again! ★★★★★

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The goat cheese cheese cake in a mason jar was OUTSTANDING!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 27, 2017

I'm a vegetarian, my husband is not - we both loved the food. The courtyard was lovely and our server gracious. Lovely meal!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We were disappointed in the food. The tapas shrimp had little flavor and the olives tapas ($7) consisted of a couple of tablespoons of kalamata olives (Greek, not Spanish, as Michael's claims to be) and some marcona almonds. I had the daily special, which was sautéed grouper in a supposed lobster sauce, with pomme purée and asparagus. The grouper was perfectly cooked but tasted fishy, which indicates to me that it was not fresh. The "lobster suace" was flavorless. Our waiter explained that the pomme purée was some sort of ground rice; it was mashed potatoes. $28 was way too much for this entree. My husband enjoyed the hanger steak. Sadly, he was the only one of the four of us to enjoy his dinner. There is a large wine list and the wine suggestions were very good. I would not return for the food.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Everything from the food to the wine to the service was exceptional. Can't wait to come back. Our waiter did a great job, I believe his name was Archie?

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Tapas, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Gloucestershire)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Good food in a pleasant setting away from the busy Main Street. The service was attentive but not overpowering, the food was well served and delicious.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 21, 2017

This dining experience was such a pleasure. Everything from the lighting, soft but not too dark, to the service, perfectly attentive, listened to our needs and responded appropriately, to the food that was executed perfectly, my date and I had a wonderful experience. We would highly recommend and will return.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Service, presentation and quality are all spot on. Yuca Mofongo was top notch and the braised short ribs came out very tender. Seasonal and fresh!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Healthy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Onwme of our favorite placed. This time we took two goldens and sat on the patio. Very dog friendly.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Visited this place for our 2nd anniversary and loved the ambiance and the service. They have a big selection of wines. Their food is by season. Really enjoyed it. Must try when in st. Augustine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 16, 2017

We had a group of 9 on a Monday evening and practically had the restaurant to ourselves. The service was wonderful and food was delicious. I have eaten at Michael's before and have never been disappointed.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We were aware of a limited menu for the occasion however the portions were meager.
Crab Louie had 3 nickel size pieces of crab. Fried oysters were sold out only 2 hours after opening.
Very disappointed.
Waiter Ethan was very friendly and apologetic he was 5 star.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was excellent and the service was really very good. The Mother's Day menu was quite good and the drinks was well made and tasty.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Brunch, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Our date night at Michael's Tasting Room was excellent. This was our first time there. The food was not only very good (husband had short ribs and I had scallops), but beautifully presented. Every course was better than the last and the service could not have been better. We will definitely be going back and bringing friends!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Food was wonderful. Service also was excellent. Wine list was excellent. Highly recommended, with only one issue to note they could improve. We had table in outside courtyard, selected because we wanted/needed fresh air (inside had a lot of candles burning, chemically scented ones, which is why we chose to be outside). But, outside, there were two kitchen exhausts, one w smoke and one w propane burn exhaust, right next to the outside courtyard tables. Other than air quality, highly recommended.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 12, 2017

I was joined by my wife and 2 guests. Personally, my meal was wonderful. I had the octopus appetizer followed by the swordfish entrée. The octopus was the best I have eaten in St. Augustine (where I live). The swordfish was very tasty/very good. Our 2 guests had the following complaints: the polenta was dry, tasteless, and was thought to have been previously frozen (I also agreed with this assessment). The scallop appetizer was very good but not a good value - only one scallop that was sliced in half for $10. The shrimp appetizer was good but floating in too much oil. The dessert (goat cheesecake) was very good but overly rich. My wife and I have eaten at the Tasting Room many times in the past, and will return in the future (especially for the octopus). Our guests said they also would return as their complaints were minor.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Historic, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Excellent service with detailed description of entrees. Our compliments to the chef for the taste and presentation of our food.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Restaurant did not honor our reservation. We were greeted in a pretty rudely manner and were informed that kitchen has closed about 30 minutes ago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 8, 2017

It was our first time here but
I can not recommend this place enough.
The food was unbelievably good.
Our server (Rachel) was amazing and made sure we were satisfied with everything. And we were.

My wife and I couldn't stop talking about this place on the way home and sill talked about it even before bed.
Two thumbs up for this place.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We can recommend their tapas menu. The choices were varied and the plates we ordered were all quite tasty.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We visit each time we're in St. Augustine. Food was great, service good, and the environment inside or out. Live music was a little too loud. Varied wine list with reasonable prices.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The atmosphere was great the food really good -10 out 10. The location easy to get to.
Wonderful dining experience.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Wonderful meal. great ambiance. Super waiter, Ian.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.