Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Michael's Tasting Room

Michael's Tasting Room offers a unique casual fine dining experience with a celebrated chef, dedicated staff, and passion for exquisite flavors and world-class wines. Michael's Tasting Room has received numerous honors and accolades. Most recently, the Wine Spectator awarded Michael's Tasting Rooms wine list it's Award of Excellence for the ninth year in a row. Chef Michael has also been recognized as Best Chef of St.Augustine from several the city's publications, The restaurant was featured on The Food Network with Chef Emeril Lagasse during Florida's 500th anniversary.

25 Cuna Street
St. Augustine, FL 32084
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Mediterranean, Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
St. George Street

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 810-2400

Website:
http://www.michaelstastingroom.com/

Catering:
Our place or yours, we can cater any size event. Call for details 904-810-2400

Parking Details:
The City of St. Augustine Public Parking lot is located 4 blocks northwest of the restaurant. The Toque Lot is located off of Charlotte Street and Hypolita Street. The restaurant is located in the north side of the parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Michael Lugo

Private Party Facilities:
The "Red Room" holds up to 20 people for lunch or dinner. The private room, which is also an art gallery, is cozy and fun! The Courtyard can hold up to 24 people. Outdoor heaters and fans are on-site for inclement weather. Our whole restaurant is available for private events up to 100 guest.

Private Party Contact:
Stephanie Lugo: (904) 377-4747

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Michael's Tasting Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (54)
Creative Cuisine (47)
Special Occasion (46)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (44)
Tapas (39)
Notable Wine List (37)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Romantic (34)
Tasting Menu (34)
Worth the Drive (32)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Local Ingredients (28)
Cozy (25)
Authentic (23)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Good for Groups (13)
Business Meals (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Casual (10)
Hot Spot (7)
Fun (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Seasonal (5)
Scenic View (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
People Watching (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Historic (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Live Music (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Vegan (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Organic (2)
Waterfront (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great Beer (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1158 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

My husband and I along with two friends had such a wonderful dining experience at Michael's Tasting Room! We were greeted by our waiter with a glass of champagne and a description of the menu. Our waiter was very knowledgeable and friendly and delivered exceptional service throughout our entire evening. My husband ordered the Beef Short Rib, which also included seasonal vegetables and a deep, brown sauce...he ate every bite! I ordered the 12oz. Bone-in Pork Chop, which also came with seasonal vegetables and was absolutely delicious! To my husband's delight, I shared several bites of my pork chop with him! We ordered the brownie for dessert and it was as you would expect, smooth, rich and moist (a little bit goes a long way). The wine list is very extensive and the Margarett's Cabernet we ordered was a perfect complement to our meal. Thank you for a very memorable evening! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 4 days ago

A superb restaurant with excellent food, service, and presentation. Will definitely return and would highly recommend to those looking for something better than casual dining but not so formal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Loved our dinner. Our server was amazing as well!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Scenic View, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Our food was good (a little too much salt though) and the dining area is lovely.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

Just a perfect dining experience. Our first time at Michael's Tasting Room, we had a number of tapas and several glasses of wine. The atmosphere is quiet and sophisticated, with Old World Spanish building and modern decor combined. The tapas variety was excellent, and the menu of extremely high quality. The goat cheese-arugula-wild mushroom appetizer was amazing, the caesar salad one of the best we've ever had -- a real anchovy, not the little dried kind.
Service wonderful. Wine selection very good. The only surprise was that the menu is more about tastings -- wines are more by the bottle. They could use a better selection of wines by the glass but it was very good and sufficient.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We had a great date night at Michael's. Great service, quiet and relaxing. We really enjoyed the whole fried snapper. We will be visiting again. Cheers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Had absolutely wonderful service. very attentive staff from hostess to the food runners. Menu was intricate. Food was awesome.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tapas, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Greg was delightful and we really enjoyed sharing our choices.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Great place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Great for tapas. Everything we ate was good. Nice presentation too

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Very nice evening! The service was attentive and timely... we had enough time between courses to talk and enjoy the atmosphere. The food was very tasty and the wine selection was varied. We prefer California Sonoma County wines and we were not disappointed. Overall an excellent choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Not to be missed! Eclectic diverse menu and lots of small plates to share and try. The wine was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Food and service was great. Would recommend for any special occasion or just a get together for friends.

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on August 4, 2017

We had heard and read about Michael's Tasting Room, but, for various reasons, had never dined there. Most of the reviews on the different sites sounded very positive and promising. Our table of four ordered from all over the menu, including one special. We had very mixed reviews. The Spanish Caesar salad was very bland; the dressing had little or no flavor. The sautéd button mushrooms were very good; buttery, with lots of garlic and sherry. The lobster roll was exceptionally good; loaded with fresh lobster, a very nice roll and a light, tasty dressing to hold it together. This was the highlight of the meal. One diner ordered that night's special: lobster gnocchi. It was priced at $28 and was a total disappointment! Overpriced and absolutely no taste! Two other diners ordered the short ribs and the hamburger. Neither was anything to write home about!! On a very positive note, the actual dining room was very pleasant and our server was an absolute jewel!! It was a night that we don't regret; but, we all agreed that the food fell way short of our expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Fantastic meal, the service was excellent and the wine was great. The menu all looked fantastic but we ordered the lamb tapas as an appetizer (which was gorgeous!) and then the chicken was stunning and the steak was perfect. It was my birthday and they brought us desert, the espresso chocolate cakes were to die for. 10/10 would go there again!

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We have been to The Tasting Room before on various trips to St. Augustine. We came upon it accidentally around the time it first opened and it has become a "must do" when we are in the area. We always have tapas which we did this time. The croquettes in particular were heavenly. The only struggle is to find parking in downtown St. Augustine but the effort is well worth it!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Thank you for a wonderful birthday dinner with my family. Everything was perfect. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Enjoyed every aspect! Our server (I believe his name was Artie) was great! We couldn't decide on a bottle of wine so I told him some that I enjoyed and he picked us out the perfect bottle! We mainly did apps but everything we had was amazing! I loved the mushroom bruschetta and cheese board!!! Thanks for a great night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Very enjoyable evening. Delicious meal. We had the scallops and risotto and would highly recommend it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Wonderful food, great service, loved the atmosphere.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

My wife and I come to St. Augustine once a year and we always make it a point to eat dinner here.
-Amazing food and Sangria
-Great Service
-Love the atmosphere

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

The entire experience was amazing. Never had such great tasting gazpacho and the ambiance was perfect for my husbands birthday dinner. Quiet and romantic, perfect for dates. Highly recommend a reservation!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Arrived early for reservation and we were seated right away in the private dining area of the restaurant. Service was excellent; waiter was very attentive and kept us apprised of the status of our order. We ordered several tapas: tuna, blistered shoshito peppers, papas bravas, and the Mediterranean board. Each was served at the optimum temperature and as they were prepared, which allowed for leisurely dining. All of the tapas were delicious. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Second time there. Plan to go back. Wait staff is great, esp. Greg.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

excellent service from the hostess and our server Archie! the food was unbelievably good, the scallops were incredible. Chef Brandon is a beast in the kitchen, we we're able to meet him afterwards. Awesome experience. We want to go back!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Everything from booking to leaving was pleasant. Everyone that was working there was warm and welcoming. The food was great!

Tags: Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 15, 2017

It was a great experience for my wife and i it was our 1yr anniversary july16th she really enjoyed herself and as i was we would love to return thanks for having the both of us hats off to the chef

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great food and value, a bit noisy when seating inside.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 11, 2017

We loved the Tasting Room 8 years ago and returned this week to find it just as good. In fact, we liked it so much we went back the following night for another dinner. The shrimp ajillo, goat cheese terrine, and crispy chicken tapas are excellent and the duck confit is to die for. Great Caesar salad too. Oh and the creme brulee is out of this world. Wonderful wine list and great service. Will be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Whoa! Phenomenal place and atmosphere in a quaint little town; St. Augustine. I had the fish special and my wife had the scallops. Presentation was first class. Service was impeccably timed and the food delicious, well prepared just right. Wine selection demystified by our waiter/former chef David who let us choose the most amazing bottle of Spanish red wine. Desert was an unfair treat; tres leche cake is a must.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I was very excited to bring a friend in to have dinner here since she was visiting from out of town and I'd heard so many great recommendations on Chef Michael. It wasn't a bad experience by any means but it just wasn't memorable. We split 6 tapas and truly none of them really stood out. We're both fans of Spanish Tapas and these didn't really do it for us at all. The atmosphere was also pretty bland. Restaurant seemed sort of empty for a Saturday night and felt really quiet. Wasn't a repeat offender for me.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 8, 2017

This place is amazing. Great food and wine and a wonder place to make memories with friends and loved ones!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 7, 2017

What has happened to The Tasting Room? It used to be such a unique, sexy experience, with the couches up front and live, Gypsy Kings-like music keeping the atmosphere lively. This was our 4th dinner at The Tasting Room however, it had been over a year since our last visit. We were dissappointed that there was no live music. The romantic, sexy atmosphere has vanished (as have the couches up front), replaced with a generic restaurant atmosphere that carries the memories of much better days long ago. The menu is smaller than I remember with far fewer tapas available (what happened to those delicious albondigas?!?!?) and a more limited selection of full meals. We were there on a Friday evening and I'd estimate far less than half of the tables were filled during our meal...a meal that further let us down when we were informed that they ran out of Cedar Key steamed clams tapas. On a Friday evening during July 4th week??? Guess they were really great because there were none left by the time Friday rolled around. What used to be a "can't miss" tapas experience is now just a watered down reflection of what used to be. It's now just another St. Augustine restaurant in a town that has so many...some of which that have now caught up and passed The Tasting Room. With all that being said, the tapas we did enjoy were delicious and although small in size (as tapas should be), I still felt that they were fairly priced. Service was good however, we did indicate on our reservation that we were celebrating our 15th wedding anniversary but sadly, there was no recognition of it. Our server did a nice job of efficiently taking care of us but we never felt rushed. Although, we voluntarily decided to cut the evening short due to the disappointment we felt. We were in & out in less than 45 minutes. All good things must come to an end I suppose and due to, what must be necessary decisions of management, we won't be going back to The Tasting Room in its current form.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 6, 2017

A fantastic experience, this restaurants is a "MUST" if you visit St. Agustin.
cant wait to get back...... thanks por your amazing food experience,.

Tags: Tapas, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Organic, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Excellent food. Could not have asked for better short ribs. At first, I didn't think It was going to be filling, but I had more than enough. Except for being a little loud, I thought it was perfect. Service was exceptional.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 2, 2017

The overall experience was great. Our server, Taylor was excellent. The chef needs to re-think the amount of salt in the scallops. And I'm a saltaholic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We love this restaurant. One of our favs in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 2, 2017

WELCOMED WITH A FRIENDLY INVITING STAFF. SERVER WAS VERY KNOWLEDGEABLE OF ALL THE MENU OPTIONS. VERY HELPFUL WITH WINE PAIRING FOR ENTREES. THE WHOLE EVENING WAS WONDERFUL

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Portions were ridiculous!!! Ordered the scallops - received 3!!

Asked for bread - they bought us one tiny roll each!

Fancy prices for fair cuisine, this place tries too hard to be a 5 star restaurant.

Save your money - there are 25 other restaurants in the area were you'll get a good meal for a respectable price.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Our server was very attentive and accommodating. We enjoyed the food very much and liked the intimate atmosphere of the dining room.

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.