Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 13 times today

Michael's Tasting Room

4.5
1359 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Global, International
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
  • Creative Cuisine
Michael's Tasting Room offers a unique casual fine dining experience with a celebrated chef, dedicated staff, and passion for exquisite flavors and world-class wines. Michael's Tasting Room has received numerous honors and accolades. Most recently, the Wine Spectator awarded Michael's Tasting Rooms wine list it's Award of Excellence for the ninth year in a row. Chef Michael has also been recognized as Best Chef of St.Augustine from several the city's publications, The restaurant was featured on The Food Network with Chef Emeril Lagasse during Florida's 500th anniversary.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Global, International, Mediterranean, Spanish
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Mon–Thu, Sun 5:00 pm–9:00 pm
Fri, Sat 5:00 pm–10:30 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(904) 810-2400
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Resort Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Michael Lugo
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Our place or yours, we can cater any size event. Call for details 904-810-2400
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
St. George Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
The City of St. Augustine Public Parking lot is located 4 blocks northwest of the restaurant. The Toque Lot is located off of Charlotte Street and Hypolita Street. The restaurant is located in the north side of the parking lot.
Additional
Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1359 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.5
service
4.4
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Quiet
82% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Ate here for Father’s Day with my husband. Extensive wine list, the tuna appetizer was to die for. My husband ordered salmon which was cooked to perfection. I had a filet which was delicious. Great service, food and ambiance. We highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

We have been visiting St Augustine 2-3 times a year for the past 10 years or so and Michael’s is a must for every visit. We always order a bottle of Spanish wine from the huge list. One of the things we appreciate about Michael’s besides the incredible taste of the dishes is the ever-changing variety that you find on the menu. Some of the best things I’ve eaten here: any octopus dish, the duck breast, street corn, potato-cod fritters, truffle fries, and my wife usually gets the MTR burger. Some of these haven’t been on menu for a while, some come and go, but the one thing we ALWAYS get is the marinated manchego app with PX reduction, dried cherries, and Marconi almonds. Also, the service is always excellent. Thank you Michael’s!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

We were celebrating our 45 anniversary, so it was perfect. We were seated right away at a table for 2 with a nice rose on the table. The food was presented beautifully and the taste was exquisite.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 4 days ago

Food is good. Not excellent. Definitely would not pick within the top 5. Service was horrible. Reservation was 6:45, first type of food came at 8:10.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 9, 2018

We had a very nice 3 course meal with a wine pairing for our anniversary, which is called "Date Night". The food was very good, as well as the service and presentaion. The goat cheese terrine and steamed mussels appetizers were wonderful. The Churrasco Steak (skirt steak) was also very good. Definitely worth the drive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Romantic dinner. Food was fantastic and the service was superb!
Our new favorite place!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

Outstanding food, creative menu, fantastic service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2018

Michaels Tasting room was recommended by the Bayfront Westcott House B &B that we were staying at in St. Augustine it is in walking distance from were we stayed Service was excellent ( Shara) was our server she was very knowledgeable about the menu and the area for other places to go.
We were not rushed it was very quiet and comfortable seating. You get a great portion of food for a fair price ambiance and atmosphere was great will definitely go there again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 30, 2018

Highly recommend
Will go again next time in St Augustine

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 29, 2018

Manchego appetizer was tasteless. My friends salad was so vinegary he could not eat it, his fish was overcooked. My beet risotto was so salty as to be almost inedible. The dessert was supposed to have meringue on it and it was whipped cream. The hostess aggressively trying to sell her decorated cigar boxes was totally inappropriate. The free CD was very nice.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Fantastic place. The atmosphere is cozy withouy being crowded, and despite being packed, the noise level was low.
Definitely a more upscale kind of place. The menu and wine list reflect it. The food was wonderful, both fish and beef.
If you're a price shopper, this isn't your place. But if you've already accepted that St. Augustine is more expensive than other areas, you won't blink.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

The waiter made a very expensive mistake, although it was fabulous, it was 522% markup.
The food is amazing and they have a great wine list and selection.
Highly recommended!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Good but a tad overrated - an 8 out of 10.
Noisy inside. Enclosed courtyard nice so long as fans running because there is otherwise no breeze. Front porch is best place to sit.
Service was good but spread too thin.
Food was good but not outstanding as expected from other reviews. To be fair: I’ve lived in France and hard to impress, food wise. Scallops good but required lemon - may have not been the freshest. Husband’s steak was super tender - but butterflied after we asked them not to do so. Charcuterie plate and desert was great!
Don’t regret it but had hoped for a 9 or a 10.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Had the scallop ceviche, kale caesar salad and braised short ribs. Delicious. Our server, David, was very nice and accomodating. He made sure we were well taken care off. Nice place and ambiance. Can get a little noisy when full but it's easy to carry on a conversation. We'll be back.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 25, 2018

We were having an anniversary dinner. Unfortunately, there was a party of 8-9 noisy boisterous woman having a birthday party. They were extremely loud and several people walked out after their appetizers. We tried to persevere through it. It was a bad experience. Food was generally good. My steak that i ordered was basically raw and I ordered it medium. I sent it back and the next one came out cooked like a pot roast well done. Overall the steak lacked in flavor and seasoning and you would think a chef could get the temp. right. I think overall i would recommend this place but next time it would need to be executed properly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2018

Amazing food, ambiance, and service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Had a fabulous meal! Loved everything!
The shrimp appetizer was so good we ordered a second one. Flank steak was wonderful and the salmon was some of the best I’ve had.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Excellent! Hadn't been there in awhile. Food and service were terrific. Reasonable wine prices. Very nice people.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 20, 2018

We waited an unreasonable amount of time for our food and dessert. They brought out the wrong dessert and then we had to wait longer for the correct one. My husbands steak was good, I ordered the chicken dish and it was extremely dry but we had waited so long I did not send it back due to starvation. For the price of the food it should’ve been 4star quality food and service but it definitely was not at all.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

It was our anniversary and I do not think we could have picked a better place. Very quaint, cozy and everybody was very personal. The food was magnificent from the appetizers and drinks to the coffee and dessert. Everything and everybody was wonderful. I highly recommend for any occasion. Thank you for a great night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Delicious meal with a wonderful menu at this neighborhood gem! We were on vacation and looking for something different and Michael's did not disappoint! Snagged an outdoor table on the patio and loved how peaceful it was yet still enough activity to provide interesting people watching. Our waitress was wonderful!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Micheal's always has good creative seasonal dishes. Andy was a tremendously helpful and friendly waiter.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Always love this place , anytime we are in St Augustine we eat there 2-3 nights
Tremendous staff💕
This visit was celebrating our Honeymoon
Be back again tonight👍

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 15, 2018

My wife had the beet risotto and I had the catch of the day. Both were very good, but a lot to eat. We hate leaving good food on the plate but we were sufficiently stuffed. Very impressive wine list and a lot of great wines by the glass.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

WE were both out of town for Mother's Day; been wanting to dine here for quite some time (we live in St. Augs) so why not now. Glad we did, it was a great time and very enjoyable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Excellent food. Great service. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Was greeted promptly, sat inside, only two other tables occupied, when we showed up for our Mothers Day 4:30 pm reservation, menu is small, server was an order taker, no specials or suggestions to give, we ordered the $25 chartcuterie plate (poor presentation, 2 small pieces of cheese, 3 spanish sliced meats, only one server knew was the chorizo) , beet salad was good as was the scallop ceviche, 2 glasses of spakling rose... desert time and our only choices were key lime pie and flan... (that's all we have)... woman in red dress that appeared to be a manager or owner arrived in the middle of our meal, changed her shoes at the front desk, walked past us numerous times, never greeted us, was more concerned with sweeping around the tables in front of us of dirt that wasn't visible to us... we had been here before and had good service and food... sadly that is no longer the case.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Food was exceptional. The charcuterie was filled with authentic Spanish meats and cheeses, including amazing chorizo. Also the Barrato salad was fresh from the west coast. Wine recommended was Spanish, excellent and fairly priced.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

My son treated me here for Mothers Day brunch. We felt welcome as soon as we walked in. The menu had so many great offerings it was challenging to make our selections. Started off with an appetizer special and the beet salad, both outstanding! The crab blt was refreshingly light, and we'll be back again for the eggs benedict. The pomegranate sangria was very flavorful and a generous size. Freshest local produce and locally caught seafood gives the chef the best to work with. Service was pleasant and knowledgeable about the menu and restaurant. I look forward to my next visit to try more items on the menu, which changes seasonally. I know why this place is so highly recommended. We were told this would be our best meal in St. Augustine, and I must agree it was.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

I took my parents to Mother's Day Brunch. The service was phenomenal. The server was very nice, attentive, and explained the menu and specials. We ordered the shrimp as well as a goat cheese platter for our appetizers. Both had exquisite taste and would be something we would order again. We also had the Beet salad. The dressing was original and tasted delicious. We then got two entrees, the steak and eggs with chimichurri sauce and chicken and waffles. The steak was very tender, melt in your mouth and the sauce was a tasty addition. The waffles had a butter that tasted sweet and too was delicious. The chicken was very tender and cooked to perfection. Michael created his own sweet and spicy sauce that tasted very good, as well. We look forward to going back for more!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Michaels is AMAZING! My early mother’s Day dinner was superb!!! Our server, Sara, was a delight and one of the best serving professionals I have ever had. Michael’s is one of Saint Augustine’s finest restaurants.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

First time at the restaurant and was excellent. Quality of food, service and ambiance are a 10 stars restaurant. Recommend to everyone and the list of wines is amazing.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Received incorrect meal (ordered one thing, received another). Sat patiently while it took a good while for server to return to check on us, and had to get someone else to call it out to get them to come over. Ate our meals separately as a result, with no offer to re-provision the correct meal to accommodate the timing on the incorrect one.

No apology was made whatsoever until we were ready for the check and expressed our severe disappointment; asked for a manager, and one was not on shift - told a "team lead" was there, but never saw him/her. Server brought us a free dessert we said we didn't want, and a $25 gift certificate.

Every place has an off night, but was seriously disappointed in the handling of it during a birthday celebration, and likely will not return to use it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Michael's never lets us down. This is our favorite restaurant in St Augustine and our go to place anytime we have a chance to decompress and enjoy fabulous food and a lovely bottle of wine. Michael and the staff are always wonderful, attentive and a big part of why we keep coming back. Lovely restaurant. Highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

We got the cheese and charcuterie board and the scallops ceviche for appetizers which were both very good. For the main course we ordered the waygu steak and the sauce that came on top was not great. The asparagus and carrots that came on the side were also not seasoned and were very lackluster. However, the service was phenomenal and our waiter was very attentive and even brought out complimentary drinks for my girlfriend and I.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 1, 2018

We enjoyed separately the beet and Caesar salads, then entrees of the evening’s catch. We snagged the last whole red snapper. This was followed with desserts of flan and cheesecake. Everything was delicious. Throughout we savored the red sangria made with pomegranate. Michael’s Tasting Room is a place we try to visit when we visit St Augustine. We especially enjoy eating on the enclosed patio.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 27, 2018

The beet salad was great as were the pork chops and the flank steak. Service was slow but I think is was due to a large party in a private dining room.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

I have been to a lot of restaurants considered fine dining but Michael’s has the details of fine dining with a laid back atmosphere. I highly recommend it!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Believed the rest. served tapas ... but none on menu, limited selection of entrees, my salmon was slightly under cooked and over priced for what was received....
sorry, will not recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

A last minute decision and we ended up at Michaels. It was close to where we were staying and the menu looked good...boy are we glad we bagged our other place!! The food and the service at Michael's was outstanding!! We were warmly greeted by Michael's mother when we arrived. Our server Sara was both knowledgable about the menu and the wine as well as very friendly sweet girl. The food was creative, fresh and one of the best meals we had in St. Augustine. I also might add the mark of an outstanding restaurant is when you ask for something that is no longer on the menu and are told NO PROBLEM! We started with the Cast Iron Shrimp and the marinated manchego followed by the best Burger on the planet (made with ground short rib and chuck). We enjoyed an amazing bottle of spanish tempranillo! Michael is from Puerto Rico and has done an outstanding job of brining the flavors of the caribbean to this restaurant. I'd put this meal up against any James Beard Chef!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
34