About Michael's Tasting Room

25 Cuna Street
St. Augustine, FL 32084
View Larger Map

We change our menu seasonally to bring you the most innovative dishes using the freshest ingredients possible. Chef Michael Lugo believes in organic and sustainable ingredients, and uses local or meticulously sourced products throughout. The menus are designed to offer range as well as adventure with overtones of Spanish flavor.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Spanish, Mediterranean, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
St. George Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 810-2400

Website:
http://www.tastetapas.com/

Catering:
Our place or yours, we can cater any size event. Call for details 904-810-2400

Parking Details:
The City of St. Augustine Public Parking lot is located 4 blocks northwest of the restaurant. The Toque Lot is located off of Charlotte Street and Hypolita Street. The restaurant is located in the north side of the parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Michael Lugo

Private Party Facilities:
The "Red Room" holds up to 20 people for lunch or dinner. The private room, which is also an art gallery, is cozy and fun! The Courtyard can hold up to 24 people. Outdoor heaters and fans are on-site for inclement weather. Our whole restaurant is available for private events up to 100 guest.

Private Party Contact:
Stephanie Lugo: 904-377-4747x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Ostras Fritas
Casuela De Langosta Y Camarones
grilled Lamb Chop over quinoa
Chocolate Decadence Créme Brulé
tres leches
Guava Cheesecake
Pork Chop
Unilaterally Seared Salmon
Spiced Carrot Cake
Rare Duck Over Creamy Risotto
Winter Citrus White Sangria
Sea Salt Brownie
Terrine De Queso
Ensalada De Remolacha

Michael's Tasting Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Overall
St. Augustine
Best Food
St. Augustine
6 More
Best Service
St. Augustine
Best Ambiance
St. Augustine
Best Value
St. Augustine
Fit for Foodies
St. Augustine
Special Occasion
St. Augustine
Most Booked
St. Augustine
Best Restaurants in St. Augustine ›

Romantic (43)
Special Occasion (41)
Notable Wine List (36)
See All
Fit for Foodies (33)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Good for Groups (11)
Late-night Find (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Great for Lunch (4)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
863 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Kristen was our server and she was fanta ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 4 days ago

Kristen was our server and she was fantastic. Friendly, attentive and well versed with the menu and ingredients of each dish. Chef Michael spent time in the dining room visiting with guests and was very engaging. Food, service and ambiance were all above average. We have already shared our positive experience with friends and we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service were excellent. We ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food and service were excellent. We really enjoyed the atmosphere. Very friendly and Chef Michael came by the tables. Very satisfied and we will go back.

Tags: Disabled Access, Casual, Authentic, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent all round Great food and wine ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Excellent all round

Great food and wine

Excellent service

Very comfortable

Will definitely return

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Michael is a great chef and has cooked o ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Michael is a great chef and has cooked one of the top five meals I've had in my life. However, the service at Tasting Room led us astray. As a St. Augustine resident, I wanted my fiancé to experience the best my home town had to offer. Instead we had an above-average steak dinner with below-average service for an astronomical price.

We were talked into the date night set menu by the young host as we took our seat. We thought that was but one option that would be presented to us, but as soon as we sat down, the server began bringing alcohol, which we did not want on this occasion. We didn't even know what was going to be in the dinner at this point! We asked and our server explained the 3 course prix fixe meal. Ok, but we don't want wine. Fine. They bring out wine anyway. Grrr. The bill comes and it's $130 for a meal that was not worth more than $80 (20% gratuity was added!!) Disappointing to say the least, and our server's demeanor was brusque and rude. The sole highlight was the excellent goat cheese cheesecake.

I want to go back because the regular menu is so good, but I'm afraid it will be awhile before I do.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

Michael's Tasting Room exceeded our expe ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Michael's Tasting Room exceeded our expectations on every front. We were celebrating a friend's birthday and wanted a special experience. We were greeted in a friendly, cordial way and our special event was acknowledged by the staff that showed us to our table. Michael, the owner and chef, came out and welcomed us to the restaurant and let us know he was there to make our evening special! The wait staff (Greg) was exceptional with his expertise of the menu and the wine list. Everything we ordered was delicious! Michael's Tasting Room was an absolute gem and we can't wait to return!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Michael Lugo's dishes are always delicio ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Michael Lugo's dishes are always delicious and perfectly seasoned! We just got back from Spain and the tapas that we had here were better than any we had in Spain!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The meal was so delicious and the presen ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The meal was so delicious and the presentation was impressive as well. The waiter "Keylime" was attentive and professional. Overall an awesome experience and we'll be back!!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was incredible. We ordered tapas ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Dinner was incredible. We ordered tapas and each dish was great. We had chicken chicharones, shrimp ajillo, spicy grilled octopus, and mushrooms. We finished the meal with salted caramel brownie bites. Our tastebuds were very happy and the service was great(Gregory)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I'm so glad that I found this place. I ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I'm so glad that I found this place. I will be coming back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We attend for a Lincoln Date Night, so f ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We attend for a Lincoln Date Night, so food was already pick out for us and prepared. The menu for the night was steak. It was VERY rare and neither myself or my husband eat rare steak. The rest of the dining experience was good. They did try to rush you out, and I understand since we weren't paying for our meal. Champagne to start, before we finished it, white wine came out with salad, and before we finished it, red wine came out with dinner. Rush, Rush. We needed more time to sit back and enjoy. Could've been an excellent evening under different situation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We dined with 5 ladies and all had a bal ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We dined with 5 ladies and all had a ball! We ordered lots of small plates and used our server Archie's suggestions for food and wine. The atmosphere was swanky yet homey, the food was delicious, the wine was awesome, service was great, and desserts were tasty. We got tons of food, wine, and desserts, and we spent UNDER $50 each (including tip). Pleasantly surprised with our trip, and we all were thinking of going back the next night. I wish I lived closer.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food and atmosphere. One of the ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Fabulous food and atmosphere. One of the highlights of our trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The location is hidden on a 'tight' one- ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The location is hidden on a 'tight' one-way road. Once we found the location parking was scarce , but we were able to occupy a vacated spot. We arrived and entered in the rear of the restaurant. We were seated, given ample time to review the menu and place our orders. Food ordered was outside my comfort zone; Spanish ~ Mediterranean and ordered the Gambas Tapa, way different than I expected, but good! The entire dining experience was overall great and the food near excellent.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The appetizer and dessert were good. Th ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The appetizer and dessert were good. The portion of wine given was great. We ordered sea scallops and the lobster and they were horrible. When you're spending over $30 per entree, you expect the food to be cooked to perfection. Both dishes tasted more like chicken than seafood- WAY overcooked. The meals weren't worth anywhere near what they charged!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

We were there for Lincoln Date night, so ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We were there for Lincoln Date night, so the meal served wasn't on the regular menu. The food was already prepared , a set menu for the Date Night people. it wasn't very tasty, but how can we complain when it was free?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value4

Appetizers were terrific but I was disap ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Appetizers were terrific but I was disappointed with the Grouper special as my main course. The fish was bland and the cous cous was soaked in the broth used for the fish which made it soft and mushy. Would give the place one more try though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Bozard Ford called me for LINCOLN DATE ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Bozard Ford called me for LINCOLN DATE NIGHT. The whole experience was a so breathe taking.

I was able to share with my 16 year old grandson a eglant way of dinning.

He was so impressed with the restaurant, our waiter (Greg) and the CHEF came out to our table twice. My grandson is interested in becoming a Chef. So he loved the evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had heard great things but they were u ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I had heard great things but they were understated. The food is excellent, great wine list, excellent service. I will be returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious and beautifully presented food ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Delicious and beautifully presented food in lovely, tasteful surroundings with an extraordinarily attentive staff. We felt lucky to have found this gem of a restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Very very nice. We arrived earlier than ...

 
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Very very nice. We arrived earlier than our reservation and they accommodated us in5 minutes. The service was superb and wait staff was very friendly and courteous. The food and beverages were a fixed menu and served at the proper temperature and quite tasty. All in all it was great and we would definitely pass on our recommendation.

We plan to regularly enjoy Michael's Tasting Room .

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good . Portions and p ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The food was very good . Portions and presentation was excellent. Unfortunately, the AC broke, so we were very uncomfortable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We ordered duck, lobster, lamb and the g ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

We ordered duck, lobster, lamb and the gaucho and all of them were amazingly tasty! Desert was very good as well, both the brownie and the key lime pie. We will come back for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

WHAT A GREAT PLACE NEVER FAILS. THIS TI ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

WHAT A GREAT PLACE NEVER FAILS. THIS TIME, IF POSSIBLE, THE FOOD WAS EVEN BETTER. THEY CHANGE UP THE MENU SO ALWAYS NEW THINGS TO TRY. THE WINE LIST IS GREAT. NOT ONE THING WE ORDERED WAS A DISAPPOINTMENT. WE ORDERED SEVERAL APPETIZERS AND EVEN HAD TO REORDER A COUPLE OF THEM. THE SERVICE WAS PERFECT NOT HURRIED, BUT WITHOUT PAUSES. I WOULD AND HAVE RECOMMENDED MICHAEL'S TASTING ROOM TO MY FRIENDS. IT IS ONE OF OUR TOP 3 CHOICES AND THAT INCLUDES JACKSONVILLE.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

What a great night with two of our frien ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

What a great night with two of our friends at Michaels Tasting Room. The service, 4 course dinner and atmosphere was fantastic. This was a first time experience at Michaels and we all loved it. After dinner, we walked down Cuna Street and listened to the Spanish musician playing the guitar. Thank you from all four of us!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious. Ambiance was perfec ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Food was delicious. Ambiance was perfect. waiter was attentive and friendly. I will definitely go back and I have already recommended it to others.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Menu was much changed since our previous ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Menu was much changed since our previous visit with many fewer options. Food was ok. Service was exceptionally bad/inattentive on this visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Service was terrible.. We had to get ot ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Service was terrible.. We had to get other waiters to get our waiter several times. Our food was delicious, but due to service, will dine else where next time.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Delicious food, wonderful friendly and a ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Delicious food, wonderful friendly and accommodating service in a quiet contemporary atmosphere. Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Good service. Food just didn't meet our ...

 
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Good service. Food just didn't meet our expectations.

Lovely guitar playing in background

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

This was our first time at The Tasting R ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This was our first time at The Tasting Room and it was an amazing experience. Extensive wine selection and diverse menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, amazing food! Definit ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Excellent service, amazing food! Definitely recommend this place!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

To start with the negative , it took far ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

To start with the negative , it took far too long to take out the plates after we finished the appetizers.

In Europe a restaurant in your league would NOT make that mistake.

To finish with the positive , we enjoyed the ambiance and the service (apart from the above mentioned ).

We liked the menu to be compact , nice choice of wines.

We will definitely come back soon.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Wonderful venue that is quaint and roman ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Wonderful venue that is quaint and romantic. The food is always amazing. We had the 4 course paired with wine and it was amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good, the location gre ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The food was very good, the location great, and the wine menu impressive. If we had had better service it would have been a wonderful meal.

We were in town on vacation and the hotel recommended Michael's as their top suggestion. We made a reservation for 30 minutes later and walked over after reading a review that commented that you have to have a reservation to be seated.

We were seated quickly in a very nice dining room that was perfectly lit and laid out, not too crowded and less that half full.

Service for us was very slow, but that did not seem to be consistent. The kitchen seems to be fine, food came out in good time and hot, we just seems to have gotten a very slow waiter. From what we saw other tables had better service, the table next to us was seated after us, and had ordered, gotten a bottle of wine and their appetizers before our wine order was taken (without our server being able to answer questions about some of the wines on the menu) and had nearly finished their meal by the time we ordered food. For a "tasting restaurant" that leaves the menu for you to order additional plates as the meal goes that did not leave a good impression.

Overall go there, the food was good the the price not extreme and I hope that the service levels out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Excellent service, food & wine. Beautifu ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Excellent service, food & wine. Beautiful location. A must if in downtown St. Augustine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had such a great time. The service wa ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We had such a great time. The service was very responsive from the time we walked in until we were done. I explained that had a sea food allergies and they were very accommodating. The food was delicious. The flavors that were paired were such a delight.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cozy venue with a welcoming staff. We we ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Cozy venue with a welcoming staff. We were seated immediately upon arrival. Our party enjoyed a selection of appetizers and were not disappointed. Although the restaurant had run out of the evenings special, we were offered paella as a substitute. Very tasty and served with a crisp side salad and a glass of house wine or sangria. Portions were sized well, not overwhelming but satisfying. The only negative I would mention is that when we asked later in the meal for the bread offered as we sat down we were told they had ran out but we were served very stale crouton like pieces. I think it would have been a better option to have not brought bread to the table. Overall, a warm venue with dining selections reflective of the local spanish heritage, seasons, and locally sourced ingredients.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent place and the Chef and Owner f ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Excellent place and the Chef and Owner from Puerto Rico,

The best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spent the weekend in St. Augustine and h ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Spent the weekend in St. Augustine and had dinner Friday night at Michael's tasting room. Nice ambiance - not the typical St. Augustine touristy restaurant. Wine list was OK. We ordered a delicious Malbec. The ceviche with tostones appetizer was excellent. My hanger steak with yucca mofongo was off the charts. Best mofongo I've had outside of Puerto Rico. My wife ordered lamb medium and it came out very under-cooked (rare). Even after they cooked it more it was still tough but the flavor was good. I understand the scallops there are very good as indicated by the people at the table next to us. I would go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food and service were excellent. Very ro ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food and service were excellent. Very romantic restaurant.

We were there for our 1st wedding anniversary and they did everything they could to make it a memorable experience for us. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.