About Michael's Steak Chalet

1440 Swiss Village
Osage Beach, MO 65065
View Larger Map

Michael's Steak Chalet is the Lake of the Ozark's preferred dining Location! Michael's offers a warm & elegant atmosphere with a staff that caters to your every need only to be matched by the highest quality food & wine list in town. Whether it's a romantic steak dinner for 2, a special occasion, or a private party, Michael's can accommodate your needs.

Weather permitting, you can enjoy dinner on our patio with a great view of the lake and our beautiful sunsets.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Serving Dinner Daily at 5:00pm (03-20-2014 to 11-01-2014)

Thursday, Friday and Saturday Only (02-13-2014 to 12-31-2014)

Cross Street:
Highway 54

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(573) 348-3611

Website:
http://www.steakchalet.com/

Entertainment:
Seasonal

Parking Details:
Private Lot is Free

Executive Chef:
Skip Blackburn

Private Party Facilities:
Private parties are welcome from 20 to 75.

Private Party Contact:
Mike Luman: 5733483611x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Indoor Smoking Area, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Available for Weddings, Private Parties and Special Events.

Michael's Steak Chalet Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Lake of the Ozarks
Most Booked
Lake of the Ozarks
Best Restaurants in Lake of the Ozarks ›

Scenic View (34)
Great for Outdoor Dining (30)
Romantic (20)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Special Occasion (18)
Good for a Date (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Waterfront (15)
Cozy (12)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Casual (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Outstanding Value (7)
Historic (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Fun (3)
Seasonal (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Healthy (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Authentic (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Live Music (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Business Meals (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Dancing (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
354 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A hidden gem, but we'll worth the drive. ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

A hidden gem, but we'll worth the drive. The prime rib is the best on the lake!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went to this restaurant as a child wit ...

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

I went to this restaurant as a child with my parents while on vacation in Osage Beach during the late 1970's - early 1980's when it was called the Swiss Chalet. It would be nice to visit this place for lunch and enjoy the outdoor patio, rather than only be able to dine at dinner. We will plan to return the next time we are in the area.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The prime rib melts in your mouth.. vie ...

 
·Dined on November 3, 2016

The prime rib melts in your mouth.. view is spectacular and service is awesome. Highly recommend.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Lake view sunset. Outdoor ambienc ...

 
·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great Lake view sunset. Outdoor ambience. Great steaks.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had been to Michael's with a large gro ...

 
·Dined on October 25, 2016

I had been to Michael's with a large group a couple times before and wanted to go back with my husband. But, this visit the restaurant looked very tired and worn. The food was delicious, but workmen were painting the outside during our dinner and bright lights were in our eyes.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

We have enjoyed Michael's for many years ...

 
·Dined on October 23, 2016

We have enjoyed Michael's for many years. We visit on Birthdays and Anniversaries and have always been very happy with everything which is why we come back; On October 23, 2016, we were enjoying all of the great things offered by Michael's;Wonderful outdoor ambience, the main reason we came back to this location after 30 years or so ago being our last visit; we lived in different places, etc......Clos du Bois Chardonnay; Wonderful appetizer escargot, with some changes noted since last visit in June; a beautiful Lobster Tail; glazed pork chops were just wonderful; and salad was great with Blue Cheese Crumbles which we thoroughly enjoy! We highly recommend this location/restaurant with indoor/outdoor options for dining, to everyone! Thanks for a Beautiful Birthday Celebration!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The food and the service was outstanding ...

 
·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food and the service was outstanding ! Would recommend to anyone visiting the Lake of the Ozarks you should really try this restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding prime rib and baked potato w ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Outstanding prime rib and baked potato with condiments. Delicious virgin margarita.

Tags: Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We finally tried Michaels and we are so ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 20, 2016

We finally tried Michaels and we are so glad we did! My husband and I ordered prime rib. The waiter suggested grilled, so that is how we ordered. It was Fantastic! It is now our favorite place for prime rib. Service was timely and friendly. We will be going back for sure in the spring and sitting outside to enjoy the lake view.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Waterfront, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Absoutly a fabulous experience! Everythi ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Absoutly a fabulous experience! Everything from the salads, to the entree's to the amaretto carrots was perfect. Our best experience at this restaurant.

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Michaels has always been a destination e ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Michaels has always been a destination every time I went to the Lake of the Ozarks. Gone for years and had a good meal. This time my wife's ribeye was tough, chewy and had a lot of fat. My filet was good but not quite cooked the way I'd like. I didn't complain about my filet and got free dessert for the ribeye problem. It just wasn't the great meal we expected. I'll probably go back one more time and hope we get better. Otherwise I'm probably done.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Steaks were delicious. Salmon was dry. T ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Steaks were delicious. Salmon was dry. They would only cook it one way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent Place. Food was great. Service ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Excellent Place. Food was great. Service was even better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went there after a friend had the stu ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 29, 2016

We went there after a friend had the stuffed chicken that he said was excellent. Chef must have been having an off night because ours was dry, very little crab and not much cheese.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Wednesday night special 20% off entrees ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Wednesday night special 20% off entrees and great music with Don Akers!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Live Music, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the Lima beans !!!

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Love the Lima beans !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I think Michaels is by far the best rest ...

 
·Dined on September 15, 2016

I think Michaels is by far the best restaurant at the lake

Tags: People Watching, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fun, Bar Seating, Cozy, Casual, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dirty patio, dirty Windows, shady bent ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Dirty patio, dirty Windows, shady bent and are poor quality, table not set up, forgot the glass of wine, did not have the steak sauce advertised,, napkins dirty, For some reason the food is normally ok, however if they would clean the place and be involved with the looks of the place they may have a lot more business. Remote area so they think they can be dirty..

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

From initial order to meal served was ap ...

 
·Dined on September 11, 2016

From initial order to meal served was approx 2hours.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Steaks were good. Steak fries cold and ...

 
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Steaks were good. Steak fries cold and overcooked. Server was nice but food took an extremely long time to be served, especially considering it wasn't that busy. Seemed a little disorganized.

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value5

I had the Ribeye. It was perfectly done ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 5, 2016

I had the Ribeye. It was perfectly done and the taste was the best I've ever had. The view was spectacular. We watched the fireworks from Tan-Tar-A during dinner. Fantastic experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We went their for our anniversary and as ...

 
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We went their for our anniversary and asked for an outside table. It was a perfect evening for being outside and there was even entertainment - a couple gentlemen performing mostly older songs, just right for our occasion and taste. Waitress was attentive and the food was excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The prime rib is excellent. Lake overloo ...

 
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The prime rib is excellent. Lake overlook is beautiful. Definitely worth the money.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We love Michael's! This the only restau ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We love Michael's! This the only restaurant that we go to. After the season closes. We come to the lake in October

and November and it's a must that we go to Michael's. There food is over the top. We look forward when the season begins again.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Looking for great food and quiet atmosph ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Looking for great food and quiet atmosphere,we found both! Prime rib was excellent! Outdoor dining very romantic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed our evening. Good experience. Wi ...

 
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Enjoyed our evening. Good experience. Will be back

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience! Have been coming here ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great experience! Have been coming here for 20 plus years, always great!

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I have dined here many times ...

 
·Dined on August 20, 2016

My wife and I have dined here many times for dates. We brought our four kids (ages 8-17) this last time and we had yet another great experience. Great service and very good food. All were pleased. The outdoor dining is wonderful, comfortable, and the view is amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been staying in the Lake of the O ...

 
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I have been staying in the Lake of the Ozarks for the past two months, and Michaels Steak Chalet is by far the best resturant in the Osage beach area, sorry Baxters and JB Hooks, they have you beat hands down!!! If your staying in the osage beach area this is a must resturant to go too!!! .

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charbroiled prime rib fabulous as always ...

 
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Charbroiled prime rib fabulous as always! The wine punch is a must!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The dining experience has always been ex ...

 
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The dining experience has always been excellent. Excellent food, good and friendly service, great outdoor dining with great views and comfortable seating.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm not sure having a reservation helped ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 13, 2016

I'm not sure having a reservation helped us much. Those in line in front us didn't have a reservation and took what looked like the last outdoor table with a lake view. We were offered a table on the third level and declined because we wanted a view of the lake. We said no we didn't want to eat inside so the wait staff finally placed a table and chairs in a rather secluded area of the 2nd level. It was perfect. We were treating our college age granddaughter to a special dinner before she went back to classes. We only go to Michael's for special occasions due to the cost.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Michael's is always a great experience - ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Michael's is always a great experience - this past visit, the service wasn't as good as it usually is, but they were pretty busy. Food was great - views amazing. One of our favorite restaurants at the lake - one of our 'special occasion' places

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Service great food excellent. Really en ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Service great food excellent. Really enjoy going to Michael's.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great cheeseburger!

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great cheeseburger!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The ambiance and overall feeling of cozi ...

 
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The ambiance and overall feeling of coziness while overseeing the beautiful Lake was an amazing experience. The house Pinot noir wine was wonderful too. The four of us had steaks that were very good and cooked to our liking. Our waitress was very attentive and did a great job. We will be back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been going to Michael's with my f ...

 
 (London)·Dined on July 31, 2016

I have been going to Michael's with my family for almost 20 years and have never once had a bad meal or experience there. The atomosphere is comfortable and the view (especially outside) is lovely, relaxing, and always a nice experience. Their menu is not lengthy, but what it lacks in content it more than makes up for in quality and presentation. The staff is always kind and cheerful, as well as dutiful, and they don't harang you every few minutes like some restaurants do. The bar is also pretty well stocked. ;) Some people have mentioned that it is a bit out of the way - but I would say that's one of their best features. While they are certainly crowded on the weekends, the location is really worth the few minute drive (honestly, it's not really any farther than anything else depending on where you live or stay!). Why? The food first, the view second, the staff third (not a put down on them, but let's be honest - lovely as people can be you don't go out to a restaurant just for the staff. :P).

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good prime rib and steaks and excellent ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Good prime rib and steaks and excellent grilled tuna. We were offered "the best window table in the dining room". It was, but was the only window with a broken shade. By the middle of the meal the sun made it uncomfortable. A window washer would greatly improve the ambiance and view.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Prime rib was good !

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Prime rib was good !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Took our neighbors out to Michael's as a ...

 
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Took our neighbors out to Michael's as a "thank you." It is on the more expensive side, but the entrees are delicious. The service is very good, with friendly smiles on everyone. We didn't go to the bar this time, but we had seen and heard the gentleman who was performing that night during other visits and he really caters to the crowd! I really enjoy going there, but it would be great to see a little TLC given to the building itself. In particular, the stairs/bathroom area can have a musty, stale air smell, probably due to air circulation issues.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.