About Michael's Steak Chalet

1440 Swiss Village
Osage Beach, MO 65065
View Larger Map

Michael's Steak Chalet is the Lake of the Ozark's preferred dining Location! Michael's offers a warm & elegant atmosphere with a staff that caters to your every need only to be matched by the highest quality food & wine list in town. Whether it's a romantic steak dinner for 2, a special occasion, or a private party, Michael's can accommodate your needs.

Weather permitting, you can enjoy dinner on our patio with a great view of the lake and our beautiful sunsets.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Serving Dinner Daily at 5:00pm (03-20-2014 to 11-01-2014)

Thursday, Friday and Saturday Only (02-13-2014 to 12-31-2014)

Cross Street:
Highway 54

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(573) 348-3611

Website:
http://www.steakchalet.com/

Entertainment:
Seasonal

Parking Details:
Private Lot is Free

Executive Chef:
Skip Blackburn

Private Party Facilities:
Private parties are welcome from 20 to 75.

Private Party Contact:
Mike Luman: 5733483611x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Indoor Smoking Area, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Available for Weddings, Private Parties and Special Events.

Michael's Steak Chalet Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Lake of the Ozarks
Most Booked
Lake of the Ozarks
Best Restaurants in Lake of the Ozarks ›

Scenic View (67)
Great for Outdoor Dining (55)
Special Occasion (51)
See All
Romantic (41)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Good for Groups (21)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Notable Wine List (16)
Good for a Date (7)
Waterfront (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Fun (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Casual (2)
Cozy (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Historic (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Family Style (1)
Healthy (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Seasonal (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Business Meals (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
Newest
340 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wednesday night special 20% off entrees ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Wednesday night special 20% off entrees and great music with Don Akers!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Live Music, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the Lima beans !!!

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Love the Lima beans !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I think Michaels is by far the best rest ...

 
·Dined on September 15, 2016

I think Michaels is by far the best restaurant at the lake

Tags: People Watching, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fun, Bar Seating, Cozy, Casual, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dirty patio, dirty Windows, shady bent ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Dirty patio, dirty Windows, shady bent and are poor quality, table not set up, forgot the glass of wine, did not have the steak sauce advertised,, napkins dirty, For some reason the food is normally ok, however if they would clean the place and be involved with the looks of the place they may have a lot more business. Remote area so they think they can be dirty..

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

From initial order to meal served was ap ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

From initial order to meal served was approx 2hours.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Steaks were good. Steak fries cold and ...

 
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Steaks were good. Steak fries cold and overcooked. Server was nice but food took an extremely long time to be served, especially considering it wasn't that busy. Seemed a little disorganized.

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value5

I had the Ribeye. It was perfectly done ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

I had the Ribeye. It was perfectly done and the taste was the best I've ever had. The view was spectacular. We watched the fireworks from Tan-Tar-A during dinner. Fantastic experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We went their for our anniversary and as ...

 
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We went their for our anniversary and asked for an outside table. It was a perfect evening for being outside and there was even entertainment - a couple gentlemen performing mostly older songs, just right for our occasion and taste. Waitress was attentive and the food was excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The prime rib is excellent. Lake overloo ...

 
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The prime rib is excellent. Lake overlook is beautiful. Definitely worth the money.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We love Michael's! This the only restau ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We love Michael's! This the only restaurant that we go to. After the season closes. We come to the lake in October

and November and it's a must that we go to Michael's. There food is over the top. We look forward when the season begins again.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Looking for great food and quiet atmosph ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Looking for great food and quiet atmosphere,we found both! Prime rib was excellent! Outdoor dining very romantic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed our evening. Good experience. Wi ...

 
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Enjoyed our evening. Good experience. Will be back

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience! Have been coming here ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great experience! Have been coming here for 20 plus years, always great!

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I have dined here many times ...

 
·Dined on August 20, 2016

My wife and I have dined here many times for dates. We brought our four kids (ages 8-17) this last time and we had yet another great experience. Great service and very good food. All were pleased. The outdoor dining is wonderful, comfortable, and the view is amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been staying in the Lake of the O ...

 
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I have been staying in the Lake of the Ozarks for the past two months, and Michaels Steak Chalet is by far the best resturant in the Osage beach area, sorry Baxters and JB Hooks, they have you beat hands down!!! If your staying in the osage beach area this is a must resturant to go too!!! .

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charbroiled prime rib fabulous as always ...

 
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Charbroiled prime rib fabulous as always! The wine punch is a must!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The dining experience has always been ex ...

 
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The dining experience has always been excellent. Excellent food, good and friendly service, great outdoor dining with great views and comfortable seating.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm not sure having a reservation helped ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I'm not sure having a reservation helped us much. Those in line in front us didn't have a reservation and took what looked like the last outdoor table with a lake view. We were offered a table on the third level and declined because we wanted a view of the lake. We said no we didn't want to eat inside so the wait staff finally placed a table and chairs in a rather secluded area of the 2nd level. It was perfect. We were treating our college age granddaughter to a special dinner before she went back to classes. We only go to Michael's for special occasions due to the cost.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Michael's is always a great experience - ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Michael's is always a great experience - this past visit, the service wasn't as good as it usually is, but they were pretty busy. Food was great - views amazing. One of our favorite restaurants at the lake - one of our 'special occasion' places

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Service great food excellent. Really en ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Service great food excellent. Really enjoy going to Michael's.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great cheeseburger!

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great cheeseburger!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The ambiance and overall feeling of cozi ...

 
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The ambiance and overall feeling of coziness while overseeing the beautiful Lake was an amazing experience. The house Pinot noir wine was wonderful too. The four of us had steaks that were very good and cooked to our liking. Our waitress was very attentive and did a great job. We will be back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been going to Michael's with my f ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I have been going to Michael's with my family for almost 20 years and have never once had a bad meal or experience there. The atomosphere is comfortable and the view (especially outside) is lovely, relaxing, and always a nice experience. Their menu is not lengthy, but what it lacks in content it more than makes up for in quality and presentation. The staff is always kind and cheerful, as well as dutiful, and they don't harang you every few minutes like some restaurants do. The bar is also pretty well stocked. ;) Some people have mentioned that it is a bit out of the way - but I would say that's one of their best features. While they are certainly crowded on the weekends, the location is really worth the few minute drive (honestly, it's not really any farther than anything else depending on where you live or stay!). Why? The food first, the view second, the staff third (not a put down on them, but let's be honest - lovely as people can be you don't go out to a restaurant just for the staff. :P).

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good prime rib and steaks and excellent ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Good prime rib and steaks and excellent grilled tuna. We were offered "the best window table in the dining room". It was, but was the only window with a broken shade. By the middle of the meal the sun made it uncomfortable. A window washer would greatly improve the ambiance and view.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Prime rib was good !

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Prime rib was good !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Took our neighbors out to Michael's as a ...

 
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Took our neighbors out to Michael's as a "thank you." It is on the more expensive side, but the entrees are delicious. The service is very good, with friendly smiles on everyone. We didn't go to the bar this time, but we had seen and heard the gentleman who was performing that night during other visits and he really caters to the crowd! I really enjoy going there, but it would be great to see a little TLC given to the building itself. In particular, the stairs/bathroom area can have a musty, stale air smell, probably due to air circulation issues.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The dining room needs sprucing up. Dirty ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

The dining room needs sprucing up. Dirty Windows with a gorgeous view. Dining room noisey Over priced . Great prime rib mushroom soup. Lettuce was not chilled. Will not return

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

The steak salad was really good !

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The steak salad was really good !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The escargot made with mushrooms, scallo ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The escargot made with mushrooms, scallops, garlic and a pastry topping is our favorite. The steaks were delicious and cooked to perfection. We've been going here for years and the food has gotten even better!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We have been going to Michael's for year ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We have been going to Michael's for years and they never cease to deliver great food, service and atmosphere. My only regret is not being in the area more often!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a very nice table overlooking the ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We had a very nice table overlooking the lake on the lower patio. Our meal was delicious and served piping hot. The entire staff was professional, friendly and responsive to our requests. Will certainly return next time we are at the lake!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best prime rib I have ever had! Throw in ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Best prime rib I have ever had! Throw in a fantastic soup, and delicious drinks together with an amazing view to truly create a highlight of your vacation!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We have been to Micheal's several times ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We have been to Micheal's several times and it never disappoints. We will be back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Since we were the only table for the 1st ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Since we were the only table for the 1st hour - the service was super slow. Also, after our waitress got another table (her 2nd table - the place was empty - granted it was Monday) we were almost ignored. Food was ok - the service was the bad part. The waitress just seemed like she hates what she is doing..... time for a new job honey!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Very disappointing experience. Large gro ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Very disappointing experience. Large group made main restaurant too noisy, we moved to the downstairs. Both ordered the halibut, way overcooked and dry, to dry to finish. Neither finished our meal. Requested Chardonnay with dinner, initially they didn't have the Chardonnay that was on the menu, then half a glass into it we realized they brought us a riesling We mention this to the waitress Who seemed unconcerned about the miss ordering wine and the fact that fish was so dry. Very unlikely to ever Visit this restaurant again.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Best steaks on the lake!! We've celebra ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Best steaks on the lake!! We've celebrated my husband's birthday at Michael's the last few years. Everyone is so accommodating and friendly. Consistently great food visit after visit. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite restaurant at the Lake!! I alw ...

 
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Favorite restaurant at the Lake!! I alway get their Prime Rib, scallop escargot in pastry and the lima beans. Out of this world!! Staff is amazing, wine list is very nice and the view is breathtaking.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steaks at the lake plus a great vie ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Best steaks at the lake plus a great view. The owners are friendly and the waiters are too. It makes you feel like family.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best place to go at the lake! Amazing se ...

 
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Best place to go at the lake! Amazing service and very friendly staff!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.