About Michael's Steak Chalet

1440 Swiss Village
Osage Beach, MO 65065
View Larger Map

Michael's Steak Chalet is the Lake of the Ozark's preferred dining Location! Michael's offers a warm & elegant atmosphere with a staff that caters to your every need only to be matched by the highest quality food & wine list in town. Whether it's a romantic steak dinner for 2, a special occasion, or a private party, Michael's can accommodate your needs.

Weather permitting, you can enjoy dinner on our patio with a great view of the lake and our beautiful sunsets.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Serving Dinner Daily at 5:00pm (03-20-2014 to 11-01-2014)

Thursday, Friday and Saturday Only (02-13-2014 to 12-31-2014)

Cross Street:
Highway 54

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(573) 348-3611

Website:
http://www.steakchalet.com/

Entertainment:
Seasonal

Parking Details:
Private Lot is Free

Executive Chef:
Skip Blackburn

Private Party Facilities:
Private parties are welcome from 20 to 75.

Private Party Contact:
Mike Luman: 5733483611x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (bar only), Smoking Area (patio only), View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Available for Weddings, Private Parties and Special Events.

Michael's Steak Chalet Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Lake of the Ozarks
Most Booked
Lake of the Ozarks
Best Restaurants in Lake of the Ozarks ›

scenic view (26)
special occasion (24)
romantic (17)
See All
great for outdoor dining (12)
fit for foodies (10)
good for groups (6)
notable wine list (6)
neighborhood gem (4)
vibrant bar scene (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
285 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful View & Great Food

Dined on May 8, 2016

Michael's Steak Chalet delivers fine dining in service, views, and flavor. Experience the Lake's beauty while enjoying prime rib, seafood or steak.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! Great View!

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Michael's is known for their steaks and they never disappoint! Grilled to order and sauced in Andria's steak sauce my filet was excellent! They offer a Chef's choice chicken special that my husband ordered-chicken breast stuffed with crabmeat-he loved it. Their salads and twice baked potatoes were a couple of the many sides they offer that accompanied our menu choices that were perfect and delicious. We love the lake views inside or out on the two tiered patio. Special occasion, romantic and scenic make it a perfect place to celebrate a special day or date night. Simply put it is wonderful!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dining experience

Dined on April 24, 2016

This was our 3rd visit to Michael's and as in the past everything was excellent. Our server was Christine and she took very good care of us.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5

Was in town for work and wanted a steak ...

Dined on April 5, 2016

Was in town for work and wanted a steak with a view. The view was incredible! One of the best I have seen. The waitress was attentive and very friendly. The ribeye had great flavor, but was over cooked. Will definitely go back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was just great last Sunday

Dined on March 27, 2016

Our server, Michael, did an outstanding job and couldn't have been nicer.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Lake View

Dined on March 27, 2016

We have been going to Michaels for years but the last time we went things were really different. The food was about the same but there were only two tables of people the whole time that we were there and it was always crowded before. They may have changed hands not sure.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Late Valentines

Dined on February 21, 2016

First of all I have to explain the 4 star on value. I will never rate something 5 stars on value unless it is free. :o) Now that that is out of the way, the food was delicious. Our reservations were for 6:45PM and we were seated promptly. Michaels was very busy for a February Saturday night. Our poor waitress was one of only two servers and still managed to make us feel well taken care of. The food was done to perfection and delivered in a timely manner. We will definitely dine there again.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Always enjoy dining at Michaels.

Dined on February 21, 2016

We have been dining at this restaurant for over 30 years. It has changed hands a few times, but it continues to be a small, intimate restaurant with a killer view.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious Food and an amazing View!

Dined on February 20, 2016

This was our 3rd visit to Michael's. We love the view and the filet mignon is the best we have ever had. The Michael's wine punch is delicious. A must try! The baked potatoes are the largest we have seen and are cooked to perfection. The entire meal is enjoyed with an amazing view of the lake. We have always dined here during off season so it is always quiet and very special. There is an outdoor dining area off the bar area which would be great to enjoy during warm weather. The prices are a bit high, but worth every penny. The filet mignon can be cut with a fork, as it is that tender. My husband has tried the chef's soup the last couple of times and has not been disappointed. The soup changes on a regular basis from what I understand. If you are ever a the Lake and want to try something special, head to Michael's Steak Chalet. You will not be disappointed!! Thanks again to Michael's for another great meal & memory!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent Valentines Day!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Reservations were for 8PM, which was perfect for the ladies following a long day of shopping. Upon our arrival we were immediately greeted and seated at our table for 6. On this particular evening (Valentines Day) there was a limited menu, although all of the choices were very good. Note: The 3 choices for appetizer all involved seafood and one person in our party is allergic to shellfish, but a substitution was allowed for soup, which was very accommodating. The cocktails that we ordered all arrived fresh (no melted ice in glass) and tasted very good. The Entrees: 1 steak filet was ordered and found to be cooked to perfection and excellent. 2 chicken dishes were ordered ( breast stuffed with crabmeat ) and also found to be excellent. The size of the portions was astounding. Leftovers! 3 of the prime rib dinners were ordered and all were exceptional, although one of portions apparently was the "end" cut which was heavily seasoned. Again, the sizes of the portions was very generous. The salads were fresh and were brought on cold dishes, as they should be. We all thought the side dishes were very good. Because this was a special Valentines menu, dessert and champagne were also included, which was not expected , but we all agreed was a very nice gesture. Our server was Christine, and because of her everyone in our party had a wonderful evening. She was very attentive while not being overbearing. We will ask for her when we return. Several days later, we are all still talking about what a great evening we had at Michael's Steak Chalet.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

Terrible waiter

Dined on February 14, 2016

Waiter never introduced himself. Only time he came around was to ask what we wanted (rudely). Felt like we weren't treated like a customer should at a restaurant with prices like Michael's.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent personalized service. Private ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Excellent personalized service. Private 4-top just off the bar area was perfect for our Valentine Experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great steak

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

My wife and I try to go to Michael's several times throughout the boating season. We were in town for our Anniversary in February and decided to go again. Was pleasantly surprised to see the place busy in the middle of Winter. Even then, the view was fantastic as was the food. Best kept secret, the brandy alexanders (think adult milkshake) for dessert.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

The service was very sub par. Had to w ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

The service was very sub par. Had to wait on my beer three times. I had the filet. 38 bucks r u kidding. For that??? It was so dark u couldn't read the menu. I had friends sitting across the room that said the same thing when I saw them on Monday b

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Prime Rib on the Lake

Dined on February 13, 2016

Make reservations for the Prime Rib. And get there early. They roast it for 18 hours so when it's gone it's gone.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have dined at Michael's Chalet numero ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

We have dined at Michael's Chalet numerous times over the years, but this was our first New Year's Eve dining. It was a wonderful experience. The salad was delicious, the steak prepared perfectly and the baked potato was great, nice and hot. Our server and the manager were very attentive and cordial. The next night we went in for drinks. Mike, the manager, was our bartender. He was fantastic! Our drinks were excellent.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

New Year's Eve

Dined on December 31, 2015

A very nice place to dine, ambience was wonderful. The view of the lake was fabulous, and the food was good. We will be dining here again, looking forward to dining on the patio!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything was great although the restau ...

Dined on December 31, 2015

Everything was great although the restaurant was chilly. Staff turned up heat and all was well!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The Best the Lake has to offer

Dined on November 7, 2015

Awesome Place, best Prime Rib at the Lake. Everything about Michaels Steak Chalet is great. The food, service, atmosphere, view, you have everything at one place. Their staff compliments the excellent dining experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Very Nice Place

Dined on October 27, 2015

Service was fantastic and food was even better. We will be going back the next time we are in Osage Beach.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience1
service1

Avoid

Dined on October 25, 2015

I can forgive spider webs outside at the lake, but there were webs inside the windows near the hostess station. The bread was the frozen, Bread du Jur type. My wifes salmon was frozen and flavorless. My prime rib was more grisle than meat. Overpriced and underwhelming.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dinner and service!

Dined on October 18, 2015

Great dinner and service!

food4
ambience4
service4

First Visit

Dined on October 17, 2015

Can't believe we've been around the lake for 10 years and just found our way down to Micheals. Nice atmosphere for a dinner with some friends, service was good, food was good and the view is absolutely killer. A little pricey but not any more so than other 'cloth napkin' restaurants around the lake.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

BEST @ Lake

Dined on October 12, 2015

Their blackened Ahi Tuna is the best I've had. Ronnie only there Fri/Sat tho :(

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4

Consistently Great

vip
Dined on October 11, 2015

Michael's is consistently a great dinner choice. Great steaks, cooked perfectly. Great view inside or outside on the patio. Also a great value compared to other steakhouses where you pay extra for a salad or a side - these are included. We try to go several times per year while at the lake for boating season, never disappointed.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Regular diner

Dined on October 4, 2015

This is my favorite place to go for dinner, especially if I'm craving a steak. The wait staff is friendly, and provide prompt, attentive service throughout the meal. The view is breathtaking. I always recommend Michael's to all my friends who visit the lake.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Great!

Dined on September 27, 2015

Excellent food. Great service. Scenic outdoor dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

We love eating at Michael's

Dined on September 27, 2015

Great outdoor and indoor seating. Love the food. The wine was great and out whole party was impressed.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful...

Dined on September 20, 2015

Fabulous food... Wonderful service... A must do if you are at the lake!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A MUST visit at the lake

vip
Dined on September 19, 2015

A MUST visit at the lake

food5
ambience4
service5

Steak house

Dined on September 13, 2015

My steak was excellent chief et al did a supper job. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3

Good Food, Slow Service

vip
Dined on September 13, 2015

Reservation was for 7pm on a Saturday. Had to wait for the table. Waiter kept disappearing. When it was time for the check, could not get waiters attention to bring the check. The food and atmosphere were both good. Even with slow service on this one occasion, I would go back.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

best lake steak

Dined on September 12, 2015

2 things I would recommend... tuna steak... unbelievable! They hand cut all steaks, filet is out of this world. I am going to also add their soup... Wow! Bacon and cheese soup I had dreams about it for a week.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

I loved the relaxed feel of this place!

vip
Dined on September 9, 2015

This is a great place to dine, my first experience and our group will be back. The food was great and the view unbelievable! the service was great and very friendly!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Captain O and Jacquie

Dined on September 7, 2015

This is our favorite dinner destination. Michael is an awesome waiter and always takes good care of us. Brent is so impressive how he interacts with his guests.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2

Arrived early and we're seated 10 minute ...

Dined on September 7, 2015

Arrived early and we're seated 10 minutes after reservation time. Waited 90 minutes for food to arrive. Most food was under cooked but did not want to send back and prolong our stay even longer. Will not be returning.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful view, great bartender, excelle ...

vip
Dined on September 6, 2015

Beautiful view, great bartender, excellent server, consistent outstanding food. A real dining pleasure.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We had rib eye steak, prime rib and chic ...

Dined on September 4, 2015

We had rib eye steak, prime rib and chicken special - all great!!

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4

Great dinner

Dined on September 3, 2015

We have eaten several times at Michaels Steak Chalet. Every time the food has been delicious. It doesn't look to updated outside but is very nice inside and the outdoor dining is very pretty. We will definitely be back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Lake meets Fine Dining

Dined on August 30, 2015

Brent/Ronnie/Mike - been twice and each time the service and food are incredible. The lake of the ozarks food tends to be on the bar/fried side and just not good if you want a nice meal. The bar and wine list are good, and the food is top notch. We have tried the filet, lobster, tuna to date and all of it was prepared and cooked how we asked for it. Brent brought out a bottle of Caymus (Cab) that we went for and it topped off the filet/lobster! The view is high and the outside atmosphere is inviting. If i go out to eat at the Lake it will always be here at least once. Highly suggest you try it!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.