About Michael's Steak Chalet

1440 Swiss Village
Osage Beach, MO 65065
View Larger Map

Michael's Steak Chalet is the Lake of the Ozark's preferred dining Location! Michael's offers a warm & elegant atmosphere with a staff that caters to your every need only to be matched by the highest quality food & wine list in town. Whether it's a romantic steak dinner for 2, a special occasion, or a private party, Michael's can accommodate your needs.

Weather permitting, you can enjoy dinner on our patio with a great view of the lake and our beautiful sunsets.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Serving Dinner Daily at 5:00pm (03-20-2014 to 11-01-2014)

Thursday, Friday and Saturday Only (02-13-2014 to 12-31-2014)

Cross Street:
Highway 54

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(573) 348-3611

Website:
http://www.steakchalet.com/

Entertainment:
Seasonal

Parking Details:
Private Lot is Free

Executive Chef:
Skip Blackburn

Private Party Facilities:
Private parties are welcome from 20 to 75.

Private Party Contact:
Mike Luman: 5733483611x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (bar only), Smoking Area (patio only), View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Available for Weddings, Private Parties and Special Events.

Michael's Steak Chalet Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Lake of the Ozarks
Most Booked
Lake of the Ozarks
Best Restaurants in Lake of the Ozarks ›

scenic view (52)
special occasion (46)
great for outdoor dining (44)
See All
romantic (35)
good for groups (19)
fit for foodies (15)
notable wine list (13)
neighborhood gem (12)
kid-friendly (5)
late-night find (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
hot spot (2)
great for brunch (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
311 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The steak salad was really good !

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 3 days ago

The steak salad was really good !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The escargot made with mushrooms, scallo ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The escargot made with mushrooms, scallops, garlic and a pastry topping is our favorite. The steaks were delicious and cooked to perfection. We've been going here for years and the food has gotten even better!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We have been going to Michael's for year ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We have been going to Michael's for years and they never cease to deliver great food, service and atmosphere. My only regret is not being in the area more often!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a very nice table overlooking the ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We had a very nice table overlooking the lake on the lower patio. Our meal was delicious and served piping hot. The entire staff was professional, friendly and responsive to our requests. Will certainly return next time we are at the lake!!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best prime rib I have ever had! Throw in ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Best prime rib I have ever had! Throw in a fantastic soup, and delicious drinks together with an amazing view to truly create a highlight of your vacation!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We have been to Micheal's several times ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We have been to Micheal's several times and it never disappoints. We will be back!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Since we were the only table for the 1st ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Since we were the only table for the 1st hour - the service was super slow. Also, after our waitress got another table (her 2nd table - the place was empty - granted it was Monday) we were almost ignored. Food was ok - the service was the bad part. The waitress just seemed like she hates what she is doing..... time for a new job honey!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Very disappointing experience. Large gro ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Very disappointing experience. Large group made main restaurant too noisy, we moved to the downstairs. Both ordered the halibut, way overcooked and dry, to dry to finish. Neither finished our meal. Requested Chardonnay with dinner, initially they didn't have the Chardonnay that was on the menu, then half a glass into it we realized they brought us a riesling We mention this to the waitress Who seemed unconcerned about the miss ordering wine and the fact that fish was so dry. Very unlikely to ever Visit this restaurant again.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Best steaks on the lake!! We've celebra ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Best steaks on the lake!! We've celebrated my husband's birthday at Michael's the last few years. Everyone is so accommodating and friendly. Consistently great food visit after visit. Highly recommend.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite restaurant at the Lake!! I alw ...

 
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Favorite restaurant at the Lake!! I alway get their Prime Rib, scallop escargot in pastry and the lima beans. Out of this world!! Staff is amazing, wine list is very nice and the view is breathtaking.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steaks at the lake plus a great vie ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Best steaks at the lake plus a great view. The owners are friendly and the waiters are too. It makes you feel like family.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best place to go at the lake! Amazing se ...

 
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Best place to go at the lake! Amazing service and very friendly staff!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Prime Rib was prepared perfectly and ...

 
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The Prime Rib was prepared perfectly and was delicious.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Overall, we had a very nice experience. ...

 
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Overall, we had a very nice experience. The food was delicious. We had the escargot as l the appetizer and it was cooked perfectly, with the nice and buttery puff pastry, however, our prime rib had a large and inedible line of sinew. Service was excellent, drinks were very tasty, and the view was spectacular.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Michaels is a fantastic place to get a g ...

 
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Michaels is a fantastic place to get a great meal, great view, and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a lovely, quiet setting with a b ...

 
·Dined on June 24, 2016

This is a lovely, quiet setting with a beautiful view of the lake. Food was phenomenal and service fantastic. My filet was perfect. Can't ask for much more than that.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are locals, lived on the west side fo ...

 
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We are locals, lived on the west side for years. Knew of Michaels for a long time. Our anniversary was the 22nd and we thought we would go to Michaels. You opened at 5, our reservation was at 6. It was clear you were not ready. Upper dining room floor was still being mopped, so we agreed to eat downstairs, not knowing it's the bar area. Asked if wanted to eat at the bar, no we didn't want that, it's our anniversary. We were looking for a romantic night. We sat at a table. So then we sat through trash being taken out, bar getting ready, and worse of all was the guy setting up to play music. As he loadly set up, he was talking on the phone while setting up. Took him forever, and he got louder and louder on the phone, in and out he came. So while the food and waitress were very nice our romantic evening was a bust at Michaels. So while you advertise you are open at 5, you all might be ready at 5. After all, at your prices, you might be ready. I think we'll stick with JD Hooks, Bentleys or the Copper Pot next year

And for our special occasions.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value3

The food was so delicious, and we were s ...

 
·Dined on June 20, 2016

The food was so delicious, and we were so full by the time we left we didn't even finish our wine or the desert. I have never had such a great meal that I was that full and that happy. I would recommend this place, and I already have, to everyone.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Service was great. Wonderful ambience. ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Service was great. Wonderful ambience. Great menu. Delicious food.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Their food is incredible!

 
·Dined on June 11, 2016

An awesome experience every time! A must go to. I have been there a few times and each and every time I've had a fabulous experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gem in the Ozarks

 
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Been here several times and each time leave very pleased. One of the finer restaurants in the Lake Area. Prime rib excellent. Baked potato wonderful.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As good as always

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Michael's continues to be one of the best overall dining experiences at The Lake. Good food, good service, great view, very friendly people. Staff as well as other diners.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great outdoor view with good food

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The menu offered has a wide variety of upscale food selections. We have eaten here several times and have never been disappointed. The only mistake I made this time was having my wife get her Prime Rib prepared "French Style". This is an option on the menu. I would recommend this option only for those that want their prime rib well done. The menu says for medium and above, and my wife likes hers medium, and it was way overcooked. Morale of the story.....never order for your wife......

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

View is amazing! If you are looking for ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

View is amazing! If you are looking for an old ,well established , true , steak house, this is your place. Service was great, food was on time and better than expected. Pre dinner drinks started the night off right, the wine suggested by the staff ,was spot on. We had the 8 ounce filet and strip steak, cooked to our specifications . The twice backed potatoes would have been worth the trip , just by themselves . The restaurant was only about 3/4 full in the dinning area and had a really nice (live band) down stairs. Was a great meal and we will be going back.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Old established, tried and true....good ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Old established, tried and true....good food, good wind, great music, great view, quality food, nothing trendy..... french grilled prime rib, wrapped baked potato, not the quality batter fried lobster of Blue Heron, but knew it wouldsnt be, but good. Fun friendly live music

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Beautiful View & Great Food

 
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Michael's Steak Chalet delivers fine dining in service, views, and flavor. Experience the Lake's beauty while enjoying prime rib, seafood or steak.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! Great View!

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Michael's is known for their steaks and they never disappoint! Grilled to order and sauced in

Andria's steak sauce my filet was excellent! They offer a Chef's choice chicken special that my

husband ordered-chicken breast stuffed with crabmeat-he loved it. Their salads and twice baked potatoes were a couple of the many sides they offer that accompanied our menu choices that were perfect and delicious. We love the lake views inside or out on the two tiered patio. Special occasion, romantic and scenic make it a perfect place to celebrate a special day or date

night.

Simply put it is wonderful!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dining experience

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

This was our 3rd visit to Michael's and as in the past everything was excellent. Our server was Christine and she took very good care of us.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was in town for work and wanted a steak ...

vip
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

Was in town for work and wanted a steak with a view. The view was incredible! One of the best I have seen. The waitress was attentive and very friendly. The ribeye had great flavor, but was over cooked. Will definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Everything was just great last Sunday

 
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Our server, Michael, did an outstanding job and couldn't have been nicer.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lake View

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We have been going to Michaels for years but the last time we went things were really different. The food was about the same but there were only two tables of people the whole time that we were there and it was always crowded before. They may have changed hands not sure.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Great Late Valentines

 
·Dined on February 21, 2016

First of all I have to explain the 4 star on value. I will never rate something 5 stars on value unless it is free. :o) Now that that is out of the way, the food was delicious. Our reservations were for 6:45PM and we were seated promptly. Michaels was very busy for a February Saturday night. Our poor waitress was one of only two servers and still managed to make us feel well taken care of. The food was done to perfection and delivered in a timely manner. We will definitely dine there again.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always enjoy dining at Michaels.

 
·Dined on February 21, 2016

We have been dining at this restaurant for over 30 years. It has changed hands a few times, but it continues to be a small, intimate restaurant with a killer view.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Delicious Food and an amazing View!

 
·Dined on February 20, 2016

This was our 3rd visit to Michael's. We love the view and the filet mignon is the best we have ever had. The Michael's wine punch is delicious. A must try! The baked potatoes are the largest we have seen and are cooked to perfection. The entire meal is enjoyed with an amazing view of the lake. We have always dined here during off season so it is always quiet and very special. There is an outdoor dining area off the bar area which would be great to enjoy during warm weather. The prices are a bit high, but worth every penny. The filet mignon can be cut with a fork, as it is that tender. My husband has tried the chef's soup the last couple of times and has not been disappointed. The soup changes on a regular basis from what I understand. If you are ever a the Lake and want to try something special, head to Michael's Steak Chalet. You will not be disappointed!! Thanks again to Michael's for another great meal & memory!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Valentines Day!

 
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Reservations were for 8PM, which was perfect for the ladies following a long day of shopping.

Upon our arrival we were immediately greeted and seated at our table for 6. On this particular evening (Valentines Day) there was a limited menu, although all of the choices were very good.

Note: The 3 choices for appetizer all involved seafood and one person in our party is allergic to shellfish, but a substitution was allowed for soup, which was very accommodating.

The cocktails that we ordered all arrived fresh (no melted ice in glass) and tasted very good.

The Entrees: 1 steak filet was ordered and found to be cooked to perfection and excellent.

2 chicken dishes were ordered ( breast stuffed with crabmeat ) and also found to

be excellent. The size of the portions was astounding. Leftovers!

3 of the prime rib dinners were ordered and all were exceptional, although one of

portions apparently was the "end" cut which was heavily seasoned. Again, the

sizes of the portions was very generous.

The salads were fresh and were brought on cold dishes, as they should be. We all thought the side dishes were very good. Because this was a special Valentines menu, dessert and champagne were also included, which was not expected , but we all agreed was a very nice gesture. Our server was Christine, and because of her everyone in our party had a wonderful evening. She was very attentive while not being overbearing. We will ask for her when we return.

Several days later, we are all still talking about what a great evening we had at Michael's Steak Chalet.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Terrible waiter

 
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Waiter never introduced himself. Only time he came around was to ask what we wanted (rudely). Felt like we weren't treated like a customer should at a restaurant with prices like Michael's.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

Excellent personalized service. Private ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Excellent personalized service. Private 4-top just off the bar area was perfect for our Valentine Experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great steak

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

My wife and I try to go to Michael's several times throughout the boating season. We were in town for our Anniversary in February and decided to go again. Was pleasantly surprised to see the place busy in the middle of Winter. Even then, the view was fantastic as was the food.

Best kept secret, the brandy alexanders (think adult milkshake) for dessert.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was very sub par. Had to w ...

 
·Dined on February 13, 2016

The service was very sub par. Had to wait on my beer three times. I had the filet. 38 bucks r u kidding. For that??? It was so dark u couldn't read the menu. I had friends sitting across the room that said the same thing when I saw them on Monday b

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Best Prime Rib on the Lake

 
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Make reservations for the Prime Rib. And get there early. They roast it for 18 hours so when it's gone it's gone.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.