About Michael's - South Point Casino

9777 Las Vegas Boulevard South
Las Vegas, NV 89183
View Larger Map

Las Vegas visitors and residents alike know that Michael's gourmet room is one of the finest restaurants in all of Las Vegas. For over 20 years, this intimate, 50-seat gourmet room has earned accolades galore. Its many prestigious honors awarded by the country's premier restaurant reviewers and dining surveys attest to its excellence not only in menu but also in service and style. Michael's awards have included being named one of the Top 5 Restaurants in Las Vegas by the Zagat Survey. It received the Four-Diamond Award for Exceptional Cuisine, Excellent Service, and Elegant Dining Atmosphere from the American Automobile Association, the Award of Excellence from Distinguished Restaurants of North America, and the Finest Gourmet Restaurant recognition from the Las Vegas Review-Journal Readers' Poll. Dining at Michael's is an experience of a lifetime. One of our guests told us that his dinner at Michael's was better than the meal he had eaten the week before at the White House!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(702) 796-7111

Website:
http://www.southpointcasino.com/dining/michaels.php

Parking Details:
Michael's is located inside the South Point Hotel, Casino & Spa. The hotel offers complimentary valet parking, garage parking and surface parking.

Executive Chef:
Fred Bielak

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 5:30PM - 10:00PM

Michael's - South Point Casino Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (30)
Romantic (26)
Special Occasion (25)
See All
Good for a Date (24)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Historic (13)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Cozy (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Business Meals (7)
Private Room (5)
Authentic (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Fun (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Family Style (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
759 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 4 days ago

Was my 2nd time dining here and it was as great as the first time. Everything is top notch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

I had a great time. The service was excellent. I plan to go again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 16, 2017

This was a unbelievable experience. The food and the service was impeccable. Starting with the great vegetable tray to the fruit bowl at the end!! The main course was exquisite and served table side!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Was great and we always have excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Best place I have ever eaten . The service is top notch as well !

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Always amazing service, make you feel special. Food is old world and impeccable. While pricey, worth it for a special occasion

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Try the spinach salad and the baked potato. Be prepared to spend $200 per person.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 31, 2017

A VERY special place to celebrate any occasion. The Caesar Salad presented tableside, the Bananas Foster and Café Diablo flamed at your table is so exciting. Add to that all the lovely things the chef presents in the form of a Dom infused aperitif, Chocolate dipped fruit and a huge bowl of fruit make it a truly memorable evening. We LOVE Michaels.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Historic, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Fantastic as always!! We always have a wonderful experience and great food!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Micheal's optimizes the classic cuisine and fine service of Las Vegas of bygone era when dinning was a an adult experience and hospitality was executed at the highest level. Plus the dessert cart is amazing.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 24, 2017

This historic restaurant, which was once located in the Barbary Coast, is as good as it was back in the day. The service was incredible, the food delicious, and the atmosphere was perfect! I brought clients to the restaurant and they were equally impressed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Best High End Restaurant in Las Vegas. Impeccable Food, Impeccable Service, Real Old Vegas feel.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Wonder food, great service and great setting. Took my wife and child for my wife's 50th birthday. Everything was great.

One exception I knew it would be expensive but 7 dollars for a small bottle of Pepsi is a little to extreme. Other than that A+. Servers A +

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 16, 2017

This was the best food we had in Vegas this year! The service was OUTSTANDING!

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 15, 2017

An exceptional fine dining experience in a very surprising location.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Best restaurant in Las Vegas. Expensive, but worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

One of the best dining experiences we have ever had

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Not just a restaurant but a dining experience. This is an exceptional, old-school restaurant where service is amazing, food is exceptional and overall experience is memorable. Expensive but worth it!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Haven't been to Michaels in over 10 years but the food service and ambience remains the highest quality! Very expensive but worth it.

Very old school. The man's menu is the only one that has prices! So funny! Jose and his staff are top notch!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 6, 2017

This is about as old school as it gets. The waiters are dressed in tuxedos, the tables are high back red velvet booths, etc. The menu itself is a throwback to former times. The food is extremely good. Quite honestly, the quality of the food does not seem appropriate for the hotel itself, which is not anywhere near as special. The food is non stop, well prepared and special in many ways. I have eaten in some of the best restaurants in this country and I would put Michael's Gourmet in my top 5.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Finest Restaurant in Las Vegas area .We have going Michael's for 15 years.

Tags: Authentic, Family Style, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 4, 2017

This is our favorite restaurant in all of Las Vegas. We have been dining with Russell and the entire team at Michaels for 25 years and will continue for 25 more. The very best Veal and Dover Sole you could ask for. Best service ever

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 20, 2016

This was a memorable dining experience. The service was so outstanding - the best we have ever experienced. Our steaks were cooked to perfection. Really - it is hard to describe how special our Michael's dining experience was - this is one you must enjoy for yourself. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 19, 2016

This is the definition of a gourmet room. The service, the food, the atmosphere, everything screams elegance.

If you want a special treat in Vegas and don't mind paying for it, treat yourself to Michael's, you'll be happy you did!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 19, 2016

I was anxious to try Michael's again since I had a wonderful experience when it was

Located on the strip. Granted that was a while ago. Sadly, I was disappointed. Waiter was condescending and service was somewhat erratic. Very poor Caesar salad however sea bass was very good. Doesn't rate well with other high end restaurants in the area.

Tags: Historic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The quality of the ingredients was top-tier. I have never seen a filet mignon, bone-in, so large and delicious! The vegetables were fresh and perfectly done. Service is akin to that of Canlis in Seattle....outstanding! The staff is very friendly, along with being efficient. They do a great service and one hardly notices their presence because they are not interruptive nor excessively chatty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Overall - I would rate it excellent. We enjoyed our - food was great as well as the service, staff were very attentive and courteous, the quality and quantity is perfect. The dessert was to die for. I would highly recommend Michael's at all time. My husband and I had a great time and enjoyed every moment that we spent at Michaels. Unbelievable!!!!

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 15, 2016

From the moment the Maitre D pulled out the table so we could sit down to the end it was spectacular. I laid my jacket on the seat and the waiter covered it with a napkin.

Food was fabulous. The rack of lamb for 2 came with plenty of lamb and vegetables. The condiment tray at the beginning and the fresh fruit tray at the end was great. Baked escargot appetizer was excellent as was the Coquille St. Jacques.

Service was impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Everything was good, meat and fish was a little high priced other than that very good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 10, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant in Las Vegas. Old World, Old School, Elegant, great food, great service. Very pricey but generous and not many places like this left so worth it. We go there for special occasions and look forward to the next time

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 7, 2016

I had heard a lot of hype, so was let down when it was more average. Yes, some nice fine dining touches, but overall, not worth the price paid. The quality of food was most disappointing, though I was told the chef was not on the premises. I would surmise he needs to be more hands on. Maybe if I go back, he will be there, though that is a gamble, but it is in a casino...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Excellent service and food! We had a party of 7, all raved about the meal and our outstanding server! Will definitely go again when in Las Vegas.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Although the bar experience we had was a 10

The maître d' was confrontational and unexpectedly rude but professional about it... my entire meal was based on first impressions...

Here it is in a nut shell

We had a 630 reservation, we called ahead to alert them we are running 10 minutes late to which the maître d' responded we had no reservation. While my partner was speaking with the gentleman I made another reservation but it was for 830. So we turned around to go back home and relax there since it was my Birthday. We asked the maître d' while he was still on the phone to confirm the 830 reservation he said that there was none for 830 or the 630...

We asked if we could get seated and he said he can't guarantee as they're reservations only. ( the attitude in his tone had me turn around and head directly to the restaurant)

We arrived and spoke with the maître d' who was a bit snarky stating no reservation was made and we were well past the 630 alleged reservation.

I'm am not sure why but he stated your more then welcome to look at the OpenTable screen and pointed to a small office behind him.

So I did since he invited me too. I walked behind him opened the door and on the screen was 4 reservations. My partners at 630 and mine at 830 when I pointed this out to him as I tapped on the screen he said "well I didn't see those...and its past 630 do you want to wait until 830?"

I would have said no but this was a planned Birthday experience my partner went to the trouble of setting up and we were staying the night...

I was not pleased with the attitude, however we gambled in the casino while we waited and had a great time in the bar with the bartender.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 28, 2016

I had two things at Michaels that were the best I have ever eaten. The filet and the Caesar Salad!!! We had a very nice meal in every way , Seems like we had 5 or 6 servers so we never wanted for anything...not even for a second.

That being said not the place for you if you get sticker shock when the check comes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (London)·Dined on November 22, 2016

The ultimate fine dining establishment in Las Vegas (in my opinion). Quiet, exclusive and comfortable. Extremely attentive servers. Excellent food. Very comprehensive wine list. Portion sizes are huge, so come hungry. Very pricey, but worth it for a special occasion. Hope to repeat the visit next time we are in town.

Tags: Historic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Phenomenal food and even better service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Top notch food and service, but even by my standards, VERY pricey. It was worth it though because of the level of service and items being prepared tableside.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We have enjoyed Michael's a few times. It's always a wonderful dining experience. Come hungry because they give you so much food! The prices are very high!! With no drinks our bill for two was almost $200. But it's very nice and great service. Very elegant. I was sad to see people coming in ragged jeans. This is fine dining folks. Dress for the occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 20, 2016

It's been said before... This is true "Old School" dinning at it's best... with a true table captain to see that your every need is met! Oversized booths for side by side seating around the perimeter and similar oversized chair seating in the middle of the room are all amply spread out, allow for exquisite privacy, and a very reasonable, almost quiet setting... there are no crowds of diners here... no shouting required! The lights are subdued but not to the point where you can't read the menu or see your food! Table side presentation and plating is standard... a lost art! Not to mention the incredible food... I don't say this often, but truly one of the best meals I have ever had... anywhere! Beware the portions are huge... even the appetizers are easily shareable. We started with some great wine recommendations... the house Cab and Zin are both excellent and would go with any dish. The Escargot en Croute was great (must like garlic)... the Chateaubriand, phenomenal with accompanying bernaise and hollandaise sauces... Enough for two couples per order... I felt horrible sending the left overs back to the kitchen because we just couldn't eat any more. Note to self... what ever you do... skip the bread and anything else ahead of time. Then came the dessert card... OMG! Again portions to share as a table. We did indulge in the table side prepared Bananas Foster flambé... As good as Brennan's! And then they will bring you complimentary fruits (in Huge bowl as well as chocolate covered on the side). All in all, perfection in the form of Old School atmosphere, service, charm, and exquisite food preparation! Even at this price (it comes at a hefty cost)... worth every penny!! Our new "go to" when we visit Vegas!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

This is a very serious resturant.Nothing is skimpy. Every dish is well done and well presented. Be prepared to take something home. Unlike many continental resturants there is NO portion control. Be prepared to be wowed

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 18, 2016

What can I say? Awesome! Outstanding! Memorable! Unique! I've been going to Michael's for over 30 years... it's as enjoyable today as it was that first time, 30 plus years ago. From the familiar faces (many having been there 30 years ago when I first discovered this treasure) to the food (as perfect now as it was back then), to the service (which I'm sorry to say has become a "lost art" in today's restaurant world)... Michael's has it all.

If you want to experience what true Las Vegas Gourmet Room dining used to be then this is the place to visit. Not cheap but worth every penny as it is an experience that is very hard to find these days.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The staff is always friendly, efficient and personable. The food is consistently excellent and the meal is always top notch. One of the best restaurants in Las Vegas!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 12, 2016

STILL the best place in Vegas for fine dining. Impeccable service, flawless food and wonderful old school atmosphere. They make everyone feel like a regular. Huge portions and the food keeps coming. Bring your wallet and your appetite.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Excellent staff and service and amazing food

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 7, 2016

The best restaurant in Las Vegas

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Amazing food and food selections and always top notch service. This is the fourth dining experience and it has exceed my expectation each and every time. I will be back...

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Amazing experience from beginning to end as usual. Can't wait to get back next year.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Always good and always the best service! Never disappointing. Must have spent about 3 hours with my wife on our anniversary and it was such an enjoyable experience. Would not expect this restaurant to be at the Southpoint!!

Tags: Private Room, Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Excellent food, service and ambiance. My favorite restaurant in Las Vegas and one of the best in the U.S.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Although Michaels is pricey, the food and service are incredible! I also love the fact they don't rush you. The french onion soup is truly to die for.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.