About Michael's - South Point Casino

9777 Las Vegas Boulevard South
Las Vegas, NV 89183
View Larger Map

Las Vegas visitors and residents alike know that Michael's gourmet room is one of the finest restaurants in all of Las Vegas. For over 20 years, this intimate, 50-seat gourmet room has earned accolades galore. Its many prestigious honors awarded by the country's premier restaurant reviewers and dining surveys attest to its excellence not only in menu but also in service and style. Michael's awards have included being named one of the Top 5 Restaurants in Las Vegas by the Zagat Survey. It received the Four-Diamond Award for Exceptional Cuisine, Excellent Service, and Elegant Dining Atmosphere from the American Automobile Association, the Award of Excellence from Distinguished Restaurants of North America, and the Finest Gourmet Restaurant recognition from the Las Vegas Review-Journal Readers' Poll. Dining at Michael's is an experience of a lifetime. One of our guests told us that his dinner at Michael's was better than the meal he had eaten the week before at the White House!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(702) 796-7111

Website:
http://www.southpointcasino.com/dining/michaels.php

Parking Details:
Michael's is located inside the South Point Hotel, Casino & Spa. The hotel offers complimentary valet parking, garage parking and surface parking.

Executive Chef:
Fred Bielak

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 5:30PM - 10:00PM

Michael's - South Point Casino Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

5.0

ambience

4.9

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Las Vegas
Best Food
Las Vegas
Best Service
Las Vegas
7 More
Best Ambiance
Las Vegas
Romantic
Las Vegas
Best Overall
South Las Vegas
Best Food
South Las Vegas
Best Service
South Las Vegas
Best Ambiance
South Las Vegas
Best Value
South Las Vegas
Best Restaurants in South Point Casino ›

Romantic (29)
Special Occasion (23)
Quiet Conversation (21)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Good for a Date (17)
Notable Wine List (13)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Cozy (10)
Historic (7)
Business Meals (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Private Room (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Authentic (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Live Music (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Fun (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
674 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I had two things at Michaels that were t ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 28, 2016

I had two things at Michaels that were the best I have ever eaten. The filet and the Caesar Salad!!! We had a very nice meal in every way , Seems like we had 5 or 6 servers so we never wanted for anything...not even for a second.

That being said not the place for you if you get sticker shock when the check comes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The ultimate fine dining establishment i ...

 
 (London)·Dined on November 22, 2016

The ultimate fine dining establishment in Las Vegas (in my opinion). Quiet, exclusive and comfortable. Extremely attentive servers. Excellent food. Very comprehensive wine list. Portion sizes are huge, so come hungry. Very pricey, but worth it for a special occasion. Hope to repeat the visit next time we are in town.

Tags: Historic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Phenomenal food and even better service!

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Phenomenal food and even better service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top notch food and service, but even by ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Top notch food and service, but even by my standards, VERY pricey. It was worth it though because of the level of service and items being prepared tableside.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We have enjoyed Michael's a few times. I ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We have enjoyed Michael's a few times. It's always a wonderful dining experience. Come hungry because they give you so much food! The prices are very high!! With no drinks our bill for two was almost $200. But it's very nice and great service. Very elegant. I was sad to see people coming in ragged jeans. This is fine dining folks. Dress for the occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It's been said before... This is true "O ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 20, 2016

It's been said before... This is true "Old School" dinning at it's best... with a true table captain to see that your every need is met! Oversized booths for side by side seating around the perimeter and similar oversized chair seating in the middle of the room are all amply spread out, allow for exquisite privacy, and a very reasonable, almost quiet setting... there are no crowds of diners here... no shouting required! The lights are subdued but not to the point where you can't read the menu or see your food! Table side presentation and plating is standard... a lost art! Not to mention the incredible food... I don't say this often, but truly one of the best meals I have ever had... anywhere! Beware the portions are huge... even the appetizers are easily shareable. We started with some great wine recommendations... the house Cab and Zin are both excellent and would go with any dish. The Escargot en Croute was great (must like garlic)... the Chateaubriand, phenomenal with accompanying bernaise and hollandaise sauces... Enough for two couples per order... I felt horrible sending the left overs back to the kitchen because we just couldn't eat any more. Note to self... what ever you do... skip the bread and anything else ahead of time. Then came the dessert card... OMG! Again portions to share as a table. We did indulge in the table side prepared Bananas Foster flambé... As good as Brennan's! And then they will bring you complimentary fruits (in Huge bowl as well as chocolate covered on the side). All in all, perfection in the form of Old School atmosphere, service, charm, and exquisite food preparation! Even at this price (it comes at a hefty cost)... worth every penny!! Our new "go to" when we visit Vegas!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This is a very serious resturant.Nothing ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

This is a very serious resturant.Nothing is skimpy. Every dish is well done and well presented. Be prepared to take something home. Unlike many continental resturants there is NO portion control. Be prepared to be wowed

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What can I say? Awesome! Outstanding! M ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 18, 2016

What can I say? Awesome! Outstanding! Memorable! Unique! I've been going to Michael's for over 30 years... it's as enjoyable today as it was that first time, 30 plus years ago. From the familiar faces (many having been there 30 years ago when I first discovered this treasure) to the food (as perfect now as it was back then), to the service (which I'm sorry to say has become a "lost art" in today's restaurant world)... Michael's has it all.

If you want to experience what true Las Vegas Gourmet Room dining used to be then this is the place to visit. Not cheap but worth every penny as it is an experience that is very hard to find these days.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The staff is always friendly, efficient ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The staff is always friendly, efficient and personable. The food is consistently excellent and the meal is always top notch. One of the best restaurants in Las Vegas!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

STILL the best place in Vegas for fine d ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 12, 2016

STILL the best place in Vegas for fine dining. Impeccable service, flawless food and wonderful old school atmosphere. They make everyone feel like a regular. Huge portions and the food keeps coming. Bring your wallet and your appetite.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent staff and service and amazing ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Excellent staff and service and amazing food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best restaurant in Las Vegas

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 7, 2016

The best restaurant in Las Vegas

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and food selections and alw ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Amazing food and food selections and always top notch service. This is the fourth dining experience and it has exceed my expectation each and every time. I will be back...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience from beginning to end ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Amazing experience from beginning to end as usual. Can't wait to get back next year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always good and always the best service! ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Always good and always the best service! Never disappointing. Must have spent about 3 hours with my wife on our anniversary and it was such an enjoyable experience. Would not expect this restaurant to be at the Southpoint!!

Tags: Private Room, Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, service and ambiance. My ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Excellent food, service and ambiance. My favorite restaurant in Las Vegas and one of the best in the U.S.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although Michaels is pricey, the food an ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Although Michaels is pricey, the food and service are incredible! I also love the fact they don't rush you. The french onion soup is truly to die for.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well, what is there to say that can do i ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Well, what is there to say that can do it justice... my wife and I eat here at least twice a month. we have brought our children, parents, friends and the service is impeccable. French. the Sole is perfect. You are truly spoiled with the tableside service. From the drinks and appetizers to the desserts that are outrageous. Jr Cheesecake from NYC!!!! I grew up on that!!

see you all soon

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service from the time we entered the ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 12, 2016

The service from the time we entered the restaurant was impeccable. The food and presentation was outstanding. Never had to ask for anything. The knew automatically if we needed something. The appetizers, the complementary cake and fruit was wonderful. Celebrating our anniversary at Michael's was the right choice.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Historic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated my birthday by going to Mi ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We celebrated my birthday by going to Michael's, but more than that we just needed a date. What was perfect about Michael's for a date is that it offers an intimate and relaxed atmosphere. The space is quiet, the tables all have comfortable high-back chairs, so your conversation stays close. The wait staff is attentive while appearing invisible and we were encouraged to take our time and relax by their demeanor. The food itself was excellent, as was the wine. I had a cabernet and my husband a pinot noir. His was even better than mine. But the ambience is what stands out at Michael's and I would definitely go there again.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The service and food is outstanding with ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The service and food is outstanding with special mention of the Maitre D' Jose Martel, who is very efficient, professional and sincerely accommodating.

Romero, the longtime bartender, is unassuming and a delightful person to talk to.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was over the top, had the Chatea ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Service was over the top, had the Chateaubriand $175.00 for two mediocre at best. The sides with the meal were great as was the complimentary dessert tray. Ate at the old Michael's several times much better .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Most disappointing over priced meal I ha ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Most disappointing over priced meal I have ever consumed. I would not recommend this particular place for nothing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

A very elegant place to have dinner. The ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 30, 2016

A very elegant place to have dinner. The food was top notch and the service was impeccable. It is pricy however at around $200 per person. Loved everything about the place.. would visit more often if the price was more reasonable.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The ultimate old-school experience. Plu ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 30, 2016

The ultimate old-school experience. Plush velvet seating and wallpaper. Everything as luxe as possible. Superb (if garlicky) Caesar salad. Classic French (deeply buttery) and steak cookery. Amazing creamed corn. The waiters (all mature men) expert and confident, capable both of formality and friendliness. A place to go when spending more than $300 for dinner for a couple (that's without any wine or alcohol or dessert) is what you'd like to do.

I put a special request (for recognition of an anniversary) here on Open Table and the restaurant did not seem to know it had been made.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

With the lofty prices I was expecting th ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 28, 2016

With the lofty prices I was expecting the traditional minuscule portions. That was not the case. The portions were quite large especially the cut of steak. I can only imagine how large the entrees for two would be. I'm a big eater and one steak is enough for two. Great service but not a top 5 food experience in Vegas. Good not great and a lofty price tag for good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Outstanding service 5 Stars

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Outstanding service

5 Stars

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very expensive limited menu service grea ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Very expensive limited menu service great. Have been there many times. Ordered veal chop was not good took two bites and sent back. Didn't take it off the bill. Lobster was loaded with a very untasty breading. Lobster was under cooked and bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Michaels has superb food and fantastic s ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Michaels has superb food and fantastic service. Michaels is one of the best dinner restaurants in Las Vegas. It is a dining experience, from the antipasto plate, to salad, pasta, entree, desert, fruit bowl, and then chocolates with the bill. Hot Spinach salad prepared at the table was wonderful. Steaks were delicious. It is expensive, we plan on spending $200-$250 per person there, and well worth it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic. Worth every penny. A true d ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Fantastic. Worth every penny. A true dining EXPERIENCE

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for a special dinner occasio ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Great place for a special dinner occasion. A little pricy but well worth it. A classy place that is hard to find these days. The complimentary extras (especially the chocolate covered fruits and fruit basket) really made the night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is very nice and the st ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 14, 2016

This restaurant is very nice and the staff is outstanding. The wine list is limited but still offers some very nice vintages. We very much enjoyed the attention to detail and the upscale atmosphere. We will return to try the other offerings on the menu.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best place in Vegas hands down. Won ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The best place in Vegas hands down. Wonderful experience from the moment we walked in. This is more than great food, the ambience and wait staff to the food finished table side makes this a definite stop while in Vegas. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire Michaels experience was amazi ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 10, 2016

The entire Michaels experience was amazing. The food and service are exceptional. Definitely an experience to remember. We will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Words cannot describe the amazing dining ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Words cannot describe the amazing dining experience my husband and I had celebrating our 30th anniversary. Michael's has been a landmark restaurant in Las Vegas for a very long time and now I know why.

When first seated, a beautiful plate of crudite is brought with a dip and crackers. For appetizers, we ordered shrimp cocktail and table side Caesar Salad, both prepared to perfection. To our surprise there was a sorbet with Dom Perignon for a palate cleanse.

Our main course of Chateaux Briand for 2 and was perfectly cooked. Served with fresh veggies and a potato birds nest was the perfect accompaniment. Hollaindaise and Bernaise on the side too. Expresso and -a tray of chocolate covered fruits and a bowl of fresh fruit ended the meal.

Service is unbelievable-water glass never empty, napkin always folded and constant attentiveness. My uncle and aunt had always told me how fabulous this restaurant was as they went back year after year after year and I am glad I could finally experience it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was not our first time to Michaels, ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 4, 2016

This was not our first time to Michaels, and for so many reasons not mentioned already we returned again to celebrate our fifty sixth, (56) year's of marriage and it was wonderful. The entire staff was beyond description in efficency, courstey, helpful (wife in a wheel chair), cheerful, only to mention just a little of what we had and was afforded to us. The entire evening was magic, my wife is still smiling and talking about how well it all went, the food and how wonderful it all tasted. Needless to say we will reccomend to any and all who ask where to go in Vegas for a fine meal. We cannot say more for the fine dinner and service we received. Thank you to the entire staff of Michaels.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The amazing food was only overshadowed b ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 31, 2016

The amazing food was only overshadowed by the incredibly attentive service. The warm parmesan toast & relish tray were yummy starters. Salads were awesome, as were our steaks of course. Final treat was cherries jubilee! Honestly, there is no better fine dining experience in Vegas.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very elegant and relaxed. Food was outst ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Very elegant and relaxed. Food was outstanding as was the service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Michaels several times a ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 21, 2016

We have been to Michaels several times and have Never been disappointed !!!

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Russell was our waiter and give us a gre ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Russell was our waiter and give us a great 51st anniversary experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.