About Michaels Restaurant

532 Margaret Street
Key West, FL 33040
View Larger Map

One of the finest Key West restaurants is nestled among the charming tropical back streets of Key West's Old Town District. Come discover a garden oasis where Chef Michael Wilson and his wife Melanie offer a classic menu with an island twist. Their emphasis on quality and service, coupled with casual island elegance, has established Michaels Restaurant as a favorite of Key West locals and visitors with discriminating dining palates. If you're searching for Key West restaurants, search no further. Treat yourself to a delicious dining experience outdoors in a relaxing Key West garden atmosphere or indoors in one of our two dining rooms. Michaels Restaurant is in Old Town Key West, near the corner of Southard Street- on Margaret Street. "From the first chilled martini to the last sumptuous bite of the warm chocolate volcano, Michaels will delight and satisfy. "

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Requests for specific tables will be honored on a first come first serve basis. If a specific table is a necessity please feel free to call us at 305-295-1300 after 3:30pm.
Thank you.

Cross Street:
Southard Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 295-1300

Website:
http://www.michaelskeywest.com/

Catering:
Michaels can cater any event from 20 to 200! You can expect our same attention to detail and excellence that you get when you dine with us! Let us make your special occasions out of this world!

Executive Chef:
Michael Wilson

Private Party Facilities:
Michaels can accommodate groups from 12 to 30 in our intimate garden. Is your group larger? Our main ding room seats 40. Larger still? Rent out the whole restaurant for a truly memorable event.

Private Party Contact:
Melanie Wilson: 305-295-1300

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area (bar only), Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Cowboys Steak
Beef Caparccio
crabcake
Grilled Swordfish
Rack of Lamb.
Veal Chop
Seafood Crepe
Steak Sandwich
Wallace Bay Oysters
Cabin Burger
Caprese Salad

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Michaels Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Key West / Florida Keys
Neighborhood Gem
Key West / Florida Keys
Outdoor Dining
Key West / Florida Keys
9 More
Romantic
Key West / Florida Keys
Special Occasion
Key West / Florida Keys
Most Booked
Key West / Florida Keys
Fit for Foodies
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Neighborhood Gem
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Outdoor Dining
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Romantic
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Special Occasion
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Most Booked
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Best Restaurants in Key West ›

great for outdoor dining (92)
neighborhood gem (87)
fit for foodies (81)
See All
romantic (81)
special occasion (73)
notable wine list (40)
good for groups (27)
hot spot (13)
vibrant bar scene (9)
late-night find (8)
great for lunch (5)
scenic view (3)
great for brunch (3)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1614 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent. We had a party of 8 and the f ...

Dined 4 days ago

Excellent. We had a party of 8 and the food and the service were both outstanding. I would highly recommend. Not a great place for kids.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first time at Michaels. It ...

Dined 5 days ago

This was our first time at Michaels. It was recommended to us and we were not disappointed. My husband ordered the salad special as his main dish and was a little shocked on how small it was. It was served in a martini glass. He was surprised however on how filling it was. The portion are small if you a a big eater. My family did not leave hungry. I would go back there. We had great service.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still one of my very favorite restaurant ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Still one of my very favorite restaurants. I take all my out of town company here and no one is ever disappointed. Love the small plates because I can order a great salad and not leave half my dinner behind! Fantastic staff takes really good care of us always. And it's all five blocks from my home. 😃

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Simply put, spent 3 days in Key West and ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Simply put, spent 3 days in Key West and Michaels was our best meal during our visit. Off the main drag a few blocks it offers a local neighborhood feel. Not inexpensive but I think you'll find it is worth it!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service were excellent. We ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The food and service were excellent. We were celebrating a special birthday and brought in a couple of bottles of wine. We then bought a third bottle and asked if they could wave one of the corking fees. The manager came over and was very unfriendly refusing to do anything for us. We are staying in the area for a month and would have loved to return because the food was great but because of the way we were treated we will not be returning.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great find on a whim. Food was fantasti ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Great find on a whim. Food was fantastic and Todd was very knowledgeable about the menu and attentive. Definitely a Jewel in the Key West area.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

Filet was excellent

Dined on June 16, 2016

Filet was excellent

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Came highly recommended but was just ave ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Came highly recommended but was just average the Sunday night we were there. A locals favorite and unfortunately we were treated like tourists.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best dining out experiences w ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

One of the best dining out experiences we have had in years. Our waiter Moises was outstanding

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything was perfect. I had the Cowbot ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Everything was perfect. I had the Cowbot steak that was awesome!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter, Moses, was great. enough sai ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Our waiter, Moses, was great. enough said, they ask for a message then REQUIRE a certain length? Who they think they are?

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing dinner. Perfectly prepared meals ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Amazing dinner. Perfectly prepared meals for our anniversary dinner

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as usual

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

We had the mahi mahi and snapper. Each was cooked perfectly. The martini's were wonderful as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great evening with family.

Dined on June 4, 2016

Michael's is always a place that you can expect a great dinner. The food was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was exceptional! Such a great night out

Dined on June 4, 2016

Inside or outside dining available. Great outside bar for drinks and appetizers. Will go back to try other dishes. Always a great fish dish and the filet al Forno is a must. My husband had that topped with fried oysters. Selection of appetizers, salads and desserts. Great wines, beer and mixed drinks. Desserts are great but order the volcano early so it comes out after dinner.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

On a vacation in Key West with my daught ...

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

On a vacation in Key West with my daughter this was our last meal before leaving and we wanted to go someplace special. Michael's fit the bill. We ate outside and immediately asked to have the light over our table shut since we could feel ourselves getting bitten up. The waitress brought over a can of "Off". Nice to know Michael's was prepared. My veal chop stuffed with prosciutto, that night's specialty, was outstanding as was my daughter's entree of Michael's meatloaf. Michael's is a favorite of residents and as a visitor I was delighted to be there. Knowing that I will get bitten up might be a barrier to returning, or just eating outside where the surroundings are quite beautiful. Conflicting thoughts.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tad, who took care of us, gave us some g ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Tad, who took care of us, gave us some great recommendations. Made it a great dinner!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

casual, but very good food

Dined on May 31, 2016

I was expecting more of an upscale ambiance, but again key west tends to be more casual. The food was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Somehow we've overlooked this place for ...

Dined on May 31, 2016

Somehow we've overlooked this place for almost 20 years! It is a lovely, cozy steakhouse. The food, service and ambiance were wonderful!

food5
ambience5
service1

They were out of a few items we wanted. ...

Dined on May 31, 2016

They were out of a few items we wanted. Our server was very bad. To the point of being rude. Hard to accept at such a nice place

food5
ambience5
service5

Restaurant recommended by B&B I was stay ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Restaurant recommended by B&B I was staying at. Summer salad rivaled any I have had in Paris. Mind you I don't enjoy salads. Ironically, the lady from the B&B walked in for dinner while I was there!

food3
ambience1
service1
value1

terrible service ! we were going there f ...

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

terrible service ! we were going there for my wife's birthday I specified it on my booking, remind the waiter at the beginning and nothing .. I had to ask it specifically at the end to get a cake with a candle ! service there is terrible ! we will not come back if we come back to key west

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Gem away from the maddening crowds of Duval St.

Dined on May 25, 2016

Michael's is a great spot for a quiet evening in Key West. The menu is enticing and the food is prepared perfectly. The service is friendly and efficient. All in all, we would go back in a heart beat!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Steaks are fantastic. Service was great. ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Steaks are fantastic. Service was great. We come back every time we are in Key West

food5
ambience4
service5

Best salmon I have ever had

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Best salmon I have ever had

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great Restaurant, good ambiance and deli ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Great Restaurant, good ambiance and delicious. Haven't been for a while, but will definitely go more often, they have improved significantly.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Would highly recommend Michael's. The f ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Would highly recommend Michael's. The food was really good as was the service. The outdoor seating had a nice bar area and was very pleasant. Seems like a lot of locals visit which is always a good sign. I also liked that it was away from the busier part of downtown. Moses was our server and he was very attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service was excellent. One of o ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Food and service was excellent. One of our favorite places in Key West!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

had a fantastic experience at Michaels.. ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

had a fantastic experience at Michaels.. service staff ( Moses ) was very accommodating, courteous, and professional.. he made us feel very welcomed and comfortable. Food was very good.. also ate at the Hot Tin Roof next night and I would choose Michaels every time...they arranged for taxi service when we left the restaurant.. met Michael ( owner) and he , as well, was very accommodating.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I go to the Keys to do some fishing and ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

I go to the Keys to do some fishing and would not miss the opportunity to dine at Michaels. The onion soup is wonderful. It has a bit of a smoky flavor which really adds to it. I usually get the filet and it has always been perfectly grilled and very tender. The service is always attentive but not intrusive. Definitely a place to go for an upscale dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

This restaurant has a very nice outdoor ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

This restaurant has a very nice outdoor dining area (which needs to be requested together with the reservation). It is situated in a quiet side-street near the city centre. Great value is placed on good ingredients.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful meal and a great menu to satis ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Wonderful meal and a great menu to satisfy everyone

food3
ambience3
service5
value3

We have eaten at Michaels almost every y ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We have eaten at Michaels almost every year when we come to key west for two weeks. We generally love everything This experience was inferior. Staff excellent Service likewise Food was not up to your standard. Oyster appetizer best dish. Scallop appetizer good. Main dishes were just ok. We didn't even care to bring balance of main dishes home Just wasn't the experience we were accustomed to

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantabulous

Dined on May 7, 2016

Recommended by a friend and eight of us decided to try it out. Service was impeccable and the food wine and cocktails were spectacular. Sat outside by the fountain and had a marvelous evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

OVER-PRICED & UNDERWHELMED

Dined on May 4, 2016

This place was highly recommended by the hotel so we had high expectations for a great meal. I don't mind paying high prices for great food and was prepared to do so based on the referral. The ambience was kind of average but that was okay as we went for the food experience. We started with 2 appetizers: grilled octopus & beef carpaccio which were both pretty tasty. Our entrees were beef tenderloin and prime strip steak. I also ordered a lettuce wedge salad which was quite small. The tenderloin was very tender and tasty. My steak was tasty but so tough and sinewy that the knife could hardly cut it. I was brought a serrated knife which was able to cut it but it was very chewy and not tender at all. I left about 1/4 of it due to fat & sinews. The garlic in the mashed potatoes was over-powering as well. We did not have cocktails or wine and our bill was over $125. All in all, a bit pricey for the overall value and satisfaction.

food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Decoration

Dined on May 4, 2016

We sat inside, the room needs updating. Very drab decor.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed it

Dined on May 2, 2016

Great experience! I loved the food... A little pricey but worth it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The veal chop was tender and delicious! ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

The veal chop was tender and delicious! And, they served us a key lime tart that we just loved.

food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Not as Expected, but Good

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

A little disappointing considering Michael's has been there for 19 years. Maybe because we went on a Sunday night, and the chef was off? Our waiter was very friendly and prompt, the wine list was varied, we had salads that were great, but the duck and yellowtail snapper were just okay. The waiter did start off by saying that they were known for their steaks. For the price, we were just expecting a little more.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Great as always!

Dined on April 27, 2016

Food, service and atmosphere were great. Our server was attentive but not intrusive. Enjoyed the meal and will be back next time we are in Key West.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.