About Michaels Restaurant

532 Margaret Street
Key West, FL 33040
View Larger Map

One of the finest Key West restaurants is nestled among the charming tropical back streets of
Key West's Old Town District. Come discover a garden oasis where Chef Michael Wilson
and his wife Melanie offer a classic menu with an island twist. Their emphasis on
quality and service, coupled with casual island elegance, has established
Michaels Restaurant as a favorite of Key West locals
and visitors with discriminating dining palates.
If you're searching for Key West restaurants, search no further. Treat yourself to a delicious dining experience outdoors in a relaxing Key West garden atmosphere or indoors in one of our two dining rooms. Michaels Restaurant is in Old Town Key West,
near the corner of Southard Street- on Margaret Street.

"From the first chilled martini to the last sumptuous bite of the
warm chocolate volcano, Michaels will delight and satisfy. "

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 11:00pm



Requests for specific tables will be honored on a first come first serve basis. If a specific table is a necessity please feel free to call us at 305-295-1300 after 3:30pm.

Thank you.

Cross Street:
Southard Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 295-1300

Website:
http://www.michaelskeywest.com/

Catering:
Michaels can cater any event from 20 to 200! You can expect our same attention to detail and excellence that you get when you dine with us! Let us make your special occasions out of this world!

Executive Chef:
Michael Wilson

Private Party Facilities:
Michaels can accommodate groups from 12 to 30 in our intimate garden. Is your group larger? Our main ding room seats 40. Larger still? Rent out the whole restaurant for a truly memorable event.

Private Party Contact:
Melanie Wilson: 305-295-1300x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Indoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Beef Caparccio - Michaels Restaurant, Key West, FL
Cowboys Steak - Michaels Restaurant, Key West, FL
crabcake - Michaels Restaurant, Key West, FL
Rack of Lamb. - Michaels Restaurant, Key West, FL
Grilled Swordfish - Michaels Restaurant, Key West, FL
Veal Chop - Michaels Restaurant, Key West, FL
Seafood Crepe - Michaels Restaurant, Key West, FL
Steak Sandwich - Michaels Restaurant, Key West, FL
Cabin Burger - Michaels Restaurant, Key West, FL
Wallace Bay Oysters - Michaels Restaurant, Key West, FL
Caprese Salad - Michaels Restaurant, Key West, FL

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Michaels Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Key West / Florida Keys
Most Booked
Key West / Florida Keys
Best Food
Florida Keys - Monroe County
1 More
Most Booked
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Best Restaurants in Key West ›

Special Occasion (34)
Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
See All
Romantic (23)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Good for a Date (20)
Notable Wine List (16)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Cozy (11)
Business Meals (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Casual (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Fun (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Authentic (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Private Room (4)
Seasonal (4)
Historic (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Healthy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
1702 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is a good restaurant with some outs ...

vip
 (London)·Dined 3 days ago

This is a good restaurant with some outstanding courses. Yesterday's dinner experience was disappointing in respect of two aspects: there was an enexplained 30 minute gap between clearing the starter and the arrival of the main course. This was Mahé Mahé which was billed as coming with tomatoes , capers and onions. It arrived with lots of chopped tomatoes , asparagus and far too much mash potato. The fish had lost all its separate taste. I separated the vegetables from the fish which then regained its taste . Why were there so many unannounced changes and how could the chef have almost ruined the fish?

The server was apologetic and said that I should have asked upfront to have the kitchen separate the fish from its accompanying vegetables. How could I have known that?

Not a great experience which was a shame as this was our second consecutive dinner at Michael 's.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Michaels has been our 'go to' restaurant ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 4 days ago

Michaels has been our 'go to' restaurant in Key West for many years and the wonderful food and fine service we experienced during this visit is the reason why. We started with a couple of gin martinis (these are excellent here) and a pair appetizers we hadn't tried before - both were wonderful. My wife had one of the regular menu entrees and I had one of the special menu entrees and we were delighted with our meals. The service, as always, was perfectly balanced - attentive without being overbearing. If fine food, great service and an ambiance that can't be beat are important to you, then Michaels is the place to go!

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Michaels is always an outstanding choice ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Michaels is always an outstanding choice for dining in Key West. Ricky is the best waiter ever! Beautiful ambience and delicious food! The cheesecake is incredible. I have been celebrating my birthday there since you opened.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

On our first trip to Key West, Micheals ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 24, 2016

On our first trip to Key West, Micheals was recommended by a colleague. 6:30 reservations where honored immediately. Our server was prompt and knowledgeable. cocktails came quickly but in no way rushed. Now the food. The filet mignon was one of the best steaks I've ever had. Perfectly season, cooked perfectly. Mashed and veggies complimented the meal. My wife's meal of fish and grits was a wonderful twist on a favorite meal. Topped off with homemade banana chocolate chip ice cream. ( the last one in the kitchen. ). This restaurant is highly recommended.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

This is a very attractive restaurant wit ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 24, 2016

This is a very attractive restaurant with outdoor seating. We had eaten here last year and enjoyed it very much. Primarily known as a steakhouse, we decided to go off script and have a non-steak meal (primarily because we had just eaten steak the night before).

Promptly seated inside, we were quick to order our cocktails and start reading the menu.

It’s a compact, but interesting menu. As I mentioned there are several steak options. We were quick to decide on our starters, my partner ordered the Beef Carpaccio, tenderloin, arugula, truffled pecorino, capers, onion, and crostini, and I had the Scallop special both were very good.

We followed up with our entrees Chicken Piccata and the Snapper special both had mixed vegetables. I’d say my Snapper got more raves than the Chicken. The Piccata seemed rather ordinary, lacking a stronger flavor, while the Snapper was cooked perfectly – moist and tender.

All in all we had a pleasant experience but not an exceptional one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We have visited Michaels on several occa ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We have visited Michaels on several occasions. My favourite meal is the meatloaf which I had yet again. This is probably the least complicated of their dishes but I love it. All their food is excellent.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant staff was very pleasant a ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 22, 2016

The restaurant staff was very pleasant and the food was good but we felt the cost way out weighed the quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

We also eat at Michaels when we visit Ke ...

vip
 (West Virginia)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We also eat at Michaels when we visit Key West. You will find that there are many outstanding restaurants here but Michaels is one that we have on our must do list during our week. We enjoy dining on the covered patio. The service is great and the food is amazing. You must try the Chocolate Lava Cake for dessert ... it is preordered during dinner to allow time to bake. You cannot go wrong with Michaels.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful place to celebrate my birthday ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Wonderful place to celebrate my birthday. I had the duck and look forward to ordering it again. My husband was curious about how they could charge $28 for meatloaf, so he ordered it and said it was absolutely worth it - much better than his mother's. The chocolate volcano cake was amazing. We didn't require much service, but our waiter magically appeared when we needed her. We will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We dine at Michaels every time we vacati ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We dine at Michaels every time we vacation in Key West. The food is fabulous, the atmosphere is perfect, and the staff is wonderful. This is a great restaurant, we love it!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Private Room, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our meal at Michael's, we ha ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We enjoyed our meal at Michael's, we had Caesar salad and fried oysters to start both we good, oysters could have been warmer. Followed with small filet and shrimp papparadelle and both were excellent. Service was functional but disinterested, the outdoor dining area looked wonderful but we were seated inside (by ourselves) which killed the ambiance of the place. I like intimate dining but being in a large room by ourselves took away from the experience. Will go again and will be sure to reserve a table in the garden area.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Always consistently amazing. You will no ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Always consistently amazing. You will not be disappointed. Can't wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous, just hard to get into during t ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Fabulous, just hard to get into during the winter season. We go to Michael's everytime we go to Key west, which a lot, we keep our boat there.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always make a point of eating at Mich ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 14, 2016

We always make a point of eating at Michaels when we're in Key West and have never been disappointed with the food. The fried oysters with avocado puree were very good, as was the beet appetizer, which sandwiched goat cheese between a stack of thinly sliced beets. The duck entree was extremely good, especially the confit legs shredded over the salad--sweet grapes were a nice touch on the dish. The rib eye with porcini mushrooms also very good. Service a bit off. Our waitress was proficient but seemed to be new to the restaurant and/or menu (didn't know what "confit salad" meant). The bill came with the special charged at a higher price than the one on the menu. The manager said the price on the menu was a typo and the server was supposed to have told us that. Really?? How about some truth in advertising, rather than blaming the waitress.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Overall it was wonderful. Great food ama ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Overall it was wonderful. Great food amazing server Petra! Our go to restaurant for a consistently great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great but the room we were ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The food was great but the room we were in with our party of 10 seemed like the wine storage room and had a moldy smell to it. Waiters were in and out getting wine bottles

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The first table they offered to us (2 pe ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The first table they offered to us (2 persons) was outside in a small corner, plastic seat, small table, next to a fan. We divided to sit inside. A warm room with a noisy wine fridge. The dinner was all right. Good steak and wine. But compare to the price we paid service and all together was not good enough. Sorry but I can expect more than just basic service plus a waiter with a mysterious English. All together ok not more.

Tags: Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Went to Michael's after it was recommend ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Went to Michael's after it was recommended by a local bartender and a tourist. The food was superb. I highly recommend it to anyone looking for great food with a Key West flair!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Michael's is a try Key West Gem. Service ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Michael's is a try Key West Gem. Service smiles friendly folks. I have dined many times and will continue to do so

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a wonderful experience and perh ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 6, 2016

This was a wonderful experience and perhaps the best Veal Chop I have ever had and I have had a lot! Do not miss this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have eaten here many times never disappo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Have eaten here many times never disappointed always fun to eat at the bar and meet new people and enjoy the same great cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

A cabbie on the way in from the airport ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 31, 2016

A cabbie on the way in from the airport told me this was the best Restaurant in Key West. He was right.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It had been a while since our last visit ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 27, 2016

It had been a while since our last visit but it did not disappoint! Great service and wonderful food. One of the best steaks I've had in a very long while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance, food and service! Highly ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Great ambiance, food and service! Highly recommend as a really GOOD change from the bar food of Key West

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite restaurants in Key W ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 23, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants in Key West - Michael's never disappoints! The food and service are always outstanding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Upon arrival we were greeted by the owne ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Upon arrival we were greeted by the owner who seated us at outside table that we preferred. The Golden Beet Salad was scrumptious and main dish Local Fresh Fish (Mahi-Mahi) served in bed of cheese grits was delicious. Would recommend to all!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Enjoyed a wonderful dinner. Food, servic ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Enjoyed a wonderful dinner. Food, service and ambiance...great.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful food, great atmosphere, friend ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Wonderful food, great atmosphere, friendly and knowledgeable staff, creative bartenders.... this place has it all. And I love the fact that it is off the beaten path. It is well worth the short walk from Duval.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Healthy, Fun, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Tapas, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Heard a lot about Michael's so we though ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Heard a lot about Michael's so we thought we would give it a try. We visit Key West frequently and there are lots of great choices. First, let me start by saying that the meat loaf was exceptional. By far the best I've ever had anywhere. However, the service was unfriendly and our server seemed annoyed by her job. The food took a long time to arrive after the soup and salad. The French onion soup was average, and the Caesar salad was below average. The lettuce was not crisp, the croutons were as hard as rocks, and the dressing was just ok. The crabcakes were not even in the same ballpark as The Rooftop Café. Overall, you can do better for the price and I would give the overall experience an "OK."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

I have to say this experience was disapp ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I have to say this experience was disappointing. We've been here before and it was much better. The person who was taking care of us didn't seem to care either way, the salad that was "table size" was really only enough for two (at best) and the grilled octopus was very chewy and the mojitos weren't very tasty. On a positive note, the yellowtail snapper muniere was pretty good and the rum cake was delicious. It seems like they've lost their passion for creating a memorable experience for their customers.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Mostly a nice experience. The food was g ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Mostly a nice experience. The food was good except for the lobster bisque. Nice atmosphere and good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This was my second visit to this outstan ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 11, 2016

This was my second visit to this outstanding restaurant. It's a little off the beaten path but the ambiance and food make it worth the trip. They specialize in steaks and veal and are the best in Key West.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was fantastic, panko snapper was ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Dinner was fantastic, panko snapper was delicious and the meatloaf was absolutely outstanding. Love Micheal's

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Michaels is a regular stop for us and it ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Michaels is a regular stop for us and it never disappoints. Bar staff, server staff, and host/hostess staff are all excellent. Food never disappoints and is consistently outstanding. We'll go again and again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love salmon. The salmon I ate was ser ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 6, 2016

I love salmon. The salmon I ate was seriously the best I have ever had. Also had an awesome glass of William Hill Cab for a reasonable price. Our waiter was perfectly attentive. Great food Great fun

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

We were in Key West for 9 days and this ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 4, 2016

We were in Key West for 9 days and this was our favorite. The food, cocktails, wine selection and service were outstanding. We will be back in KW with friends in February and will be dinning here again.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the outdoor dining patio but the bu ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Love the outdoor dining patio but the bugs bite my husbands ankles. They were quick to supply bug spray but I think they should spray more frequently. The food was good. My stacked Ceaser salad was covered with obviously store bought croutons. The dressing was bland but the white sardines laid on top where delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We frequently visit Key West and Michael ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We frequently visit Key West and Michael's had been previously recommended to us. We couldn't make it during a prior visit to Key West in June, but we were able to make it this trip. It was simply fantastic!!! 5- stars!!!

We now plan to include a trip to Michael's during each future visit.

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first trip to key west and on our fi ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Our first trip to key west and on our first night in town we had a hotel bar tender recommend this place. We took a chance and loved it. The food was spectacular and the service superb. What a gem in the middle of a cute neighborhood. We may never have found it if not for our bar tender, what a great way to start off our 10 year anniversary celebration. We come from a foodie town and are usually disappointed when we travel with the caliber of food, this place did not disappoint.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always a very pleasant experience wit ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on September 28, 2016

As always a very pleasant experience with excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.