About Michaels Restaurant

532 Margaret Street
Key West, FL 33040
View Larger Map

One of the finest Key West restaurants is nestled among the charming tropical back streets of
Key West's Old Town District. Come discover a garden oasis where Chef Michael Wilson
and his wife Melanie offer a classic menu with an island twist. Their emphasis on
quality and service, coupled with casual island elegance, has established
Michaels Restaurant as a favorite of Key West locals
and visitors with discriminating dining palates.
If you're searching for Key West restaurants, search no further. Treat yourself to a delicious dining experience outdoors in a relaxing Key West garden atmosphere or indoors in one of our two dining rooms. Michaels Restaurant is in Old Town Key West,
near the corner of Southard Street- on Margaret Street.

"From the first chilled martini to the last sumptuous bite of the
warm chocolate volcano, Michaels will delight and satisfy. "

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 11:00pm



Requests for specific tables will be honored on a first come first serve basis. If a specific table is a necessity please feel free to call us at 305-295-1300 after 3:30pm.

Thank you.

Cross Street:
Southard Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 295-1300

Website:
http://www.michaelskeywest.com/

Catering:
Michaels can cater any event from 20 to 200! You can expect our same attention to detail and excellence that you get when you dine with us! Let us make your special occasions out of this world!

Executive Chef:
Michael Wilson

Private Party Facilities:
Michaels can accommodate groups from 12 to 30 in our intimate garden. Is your group larger? Our main ding room seats 40. Larger still? Rent out the whole restaurant for a truly memorable event.

Private Party Contact:
Melanie Wilson: 305-295-1300x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Indoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Beef Caparccio
Cowboys Steak
crabcake
Rack of Lamb.
Grilled Swordfish
Veal Chop
Seafood Crepe
Steak Sandwich
Cabin Burger
Wallace Bay Oysters
Caprese Salad

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Michaels Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Key West / Florida Keys
Neighborhood Gem
Key West / Florida Keys
Outdoor Dining
Key West / Florida Keys
9 More
Romantic
Key West / Florida Keys
Special Occasion
Key West / Florida Keys
Most Booked
Key West / Florida Keys
Fit for Foodies
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Neighborhood Gem
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Outdoor Dining
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Romantic
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Special Occasion
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Most Booked
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Best Restaurants in Key West ›

Special Occasion (52)
Great for Outdoor Dining (48)
Neighborhood Gem (48)
See All
Romantic (44)
Fit for Foodies (41)
Notable Wine List (25)
Good for Groups (20)
Good for a Date (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Hot Spot (6)
Business Meals (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Cozy (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Casual (2)
Private Room (2)
Historic (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Fun (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Seasonal (1)
People Watching (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1659 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great menu and food was wonderful! I wa ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great menu and food was wonderful! I was on vacation and one of the local residents told me about this restaurant and she was absolutely right!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent and the service a ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food was excellent and the service as well. Ate inside versus the courtyard due to heat. The waiter was quite good and enjoyed dinner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great ambience with indoor or outdoor di ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Great ambience with indoor or outdoor dining available. Unfortunately on he night of our visit, the indoor was reserved for a alrge aprty so the only available dining was oustide. outside in Key west in mid-Sepetmebr is NOT graet. Hould have been advised beforehand that only outdoor seatig was avaialble. But outside was beauiful. Food was great EXCEPT for their French Onnion soup was was so salty I could not eat it. i ahve high blood pressure and can tolerate most salty foods, but the French onio soup this paticular night (Monday, 9-19) was unedible for me. I odl the server but nothing was done or offered in exchange. The rest of the meal was garnd, and their signature stuffed veal Chop was amazing (highly recommended). Prices are good and fair. A great place to visit, just avoid the onion soup!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first time at Michaels. We ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

This was our first time at Michaels. We had a party of 8. We sat in a private room off patio and the waitress and food were superb. Would definitely come back next year..

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Michaels has been a hidden gem in Key We ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Michaels has been a hidden gem in Key West for decades. Off the beaten path and you can eat in their dining room or next to fountain under the trees.

Excellent in every way.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Historic, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there in the "off season" so the ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

We were there in the "off season" so the restaurant wasn't crowded at all (only 1-2 other tables in the inside dining area were occupied, although there were several groups at the outside bar and patio. It therefore was quiet, though I don't know if that is the case when it is busier. Food was very good; wine a little pricey.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good service and good food.Yummy Deserts ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Good service and good food.Yummy Deserts in a pleasant atmosphere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always one of my favorites in Key West.

vip
 (Key West)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Always one of my favorites in Key West.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The signature dish stuffed veal chop was ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

The signature dish stuffed veal chop was severely undercooked.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Our waiter was wonderful. So helpful wit ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Our waiter was wonderful. So helpful with the menu and such great service. The food is always delicious !

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

top notch operation

vip
 (Key West)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

top notch operation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The scallops with Brie and blueberries w ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The scallops with Brie and blueberries was amazing, and the veal chop was excellent. Hope to be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Michael's is very convenient for us, les ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Michael's is very convenient for us, less than a block away. Always a good meal. Never disappointed.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Some of our favorite dishes are no longe ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Some of our favorite dishes are no longer offered. The dining room needs updating. (Paint peeling off of the walls.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Food was average at best and over cooked ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Food was average at best and over cooked. It's hard to screw up chicken but they did and the snapper didn't have any flavor. Definitely not worth the money. Won't recommend it....there are plenty of other great restaurants on the island.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

What an awesome place , the food is alwa ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

What an awesome place , the food is always great and love that the menu changes with specials especially being local to Key West. Staff is always above average and friendly. Cocktails are wonderful and my husband enjoys the $2.00 PBR's there. Crazy guy that he is

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had dined at Michael's last year on o ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

We had dined at Michael's last year on our trip to Key West and had been VERY impressed by the food, the service and the whole restaurant, but stupidly we had not noted the name anywhere so it took us a little effort to find it again since it is a little off the beaten path. We wanted somewhere special for our final night of vacation and we were SO happy to find this great restaurant again. We'll be back every year!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great dinner menu. Pate sliders and bee ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Great dinner menu. Pate sliders and beet salad was fantastic. New York strip steak was excellent as was the duck.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food & wine, perfect service. ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Excellent food & wine, perfect service. Only the outside setting was a bit disappointing. Plastic chairs & tables and all tucked into a small alley area - not matching the food and service

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The food was very good. Steak was excell ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food was very good. Steak was excellent, I did order medium and I feel it came out more medium rare. I did not complain because the steak was very good, thick , juicy and tasty. However if you bill yourself as a steak place then the temperature should be closer to what is ordered. In addition the waiter did not inquire as to the steaks temperature even though I had questioned the ability of the kitchen in getting it right before I ordered.

The overall service was fine bordering on casual, but since we opted for an outdoor table it was probably as expected. Prices were at the high end of the scale but not totally over priced.

Overall a pleasant dining experience.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

The food was excellent, but the waitress ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food was excellent, but the waitress had no personality at all. When your spending $150 a meal, you should not feel like your being rushed by, or bothering the waitress. I felt this when we walked in, and I should have asked for a new server instead of being uncomfortable.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

It was my husbands birthday. Everything ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

It was my husbands birthday. Everything was wonderful!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best all around dining experi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

One of the best all around dining experiences in Key West. Off the beaten path, Michaels offers white table cloths and excellent menu choices that pleased our entire group of 10. No one had a complaint! I had the snapper dish and loved it, but my friend shared a bite of her filet and I could easily say it was just as tasty. My husband normally gets a steak or fish dish, but uncharacteristically ordered the Mediterranean Chicken upon advice of our server and was not disappointed. Our server was knowledgeable and prompt. Will definitely go back with a group or even just a date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Absolutely The Best in Key West As they ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Absolutely The Best in Key West

As they say "It's a beautiful hidden Gem!"

The entire staff, The food, The Overall experience was simply amazing!!

My hat is off to the chef !

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good and our server wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The food was very good and our server was extremely good. I could go back every night and be very satisfied.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Michaels is a must! I dine here every ti ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Michaels is a must! I dine here every time I am in Key West. It is truly one of my favorites!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Michael's is our favorite restaurant in ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Michael's is our favorite restaurant in Key West. We have always had a great experience but the most recent visit on the 23rd of July was the best. Our waiter Moses made the evening special!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hidden gem we wouldn't have known about ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Hidden gem we wouldn't have known about had it not been for the recommendation from Mark at the Casa Marina. We wanted a special dinner to celebrate a birthday and this ended up being exactly the right spot - complete with a Chocolate Volcano with for dessert with a bonafide Roman candle spraying out the top! Quite a display.

Romantic and relaxing ambiance whether you sit outside by the fountain or indoors. Food was great and the service was fantastic - highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We always stop here while visiting Key W ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We always stop here while visiting Key West. Their food is amazing. The snapper piccata was Devine and the portions are huge!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Michaels wasn't bad, but I won't go back ...

vip
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Michaels wasn't bad, but I won't go back. I can get a decent steak anywhere, certainly don't want to waste a meal in Key West here. Service was fantastic, just a mediocre experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Four of us flew to Key West for a few da ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Four of us flew to Key West for a few days and met for dinner at Michaels which was recommended by friends who live in Key West. We dined in the courtyard in July .. which

typically is humid for outdoor dining. The fans and lush landscaping created a comfortable

dining experience . We had dinner on Thursday evening around 7:00. Quiet atmosphere for mid week. We each had a different entree' and all were very good. Steak especially ! We had to request our waiter during dinner, a dessert menu and then our bill later. We will definitely go back to Michaels !

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Decent food, good service, seating indoo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Decent food, good service, seating indoors or outdoors. They're known for their chocolate lava cake for dessert.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Very limited menu. Went there to celebra ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Very limited menu.

Went there to celebrate our anniversary. This place was recommended by one of the locals.

With it being a limited menu there are about 10 choices for your entree. They seated us, took our drink order, served our drinks and proceeded to tell us they were out of 6 of the 10 choices.

Waitress looked at us and treated us like we were stupid.

Would NOT suggest the restaurant to any visitors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

The food was super good, enough for tw ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food was super good, enough for two people. The service was good, the atmosphere was fit for friends to have quite dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great food, excellent wine selection, an ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great food, excellent wine selection, and good

Customer service. A bit pricey, even for Key West but the food was totally worth it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very nice place. Food was not as expecte ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Very nice place. Food was not as expected really didn't care that my husband has a nut allergy . Filet mignon was very fatty I have never had a piece of filet that was fatty. Server didn't offer to take meal off the bill or offer anything else in place of the horrible piece of meat after we complained . Once the complaint was brought up to the server the servers attitude completely changed like he didn't want to deal with us anymore! We will never return back to the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Dinner was amazing. Had the filet specia ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Dinner was amazing. Had the filet special that evening which was with a sun-dried tomato Au-ju and homemade mashed potatoes. Fiance thoroughly enjoyed the meatloaf, which was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WE have eaten there many times...Great F ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

WE have eaten there many times...Great Food and the Service is Spot-On.....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had not been to Michael's in a couple ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We had not been to Michael's in a couple of years. It was great and even better than we remembered it. The service was outstanding and the steaks were superb

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great meal, excellent service and great ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great meal, excellent service and great neighborhood (local) restaurant. Wonderful evening was had by all.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.