About Michaels Restaurant

532 Margaret Street
Key West, FL 33040
View Larger Map

One of the finest Key West restaurants is nestled among the charming tropical back streets of Key West's Old Town District. Come discover a garden oasis where Chef Michael Wilson and his wife Melanie offer a classic menu with an island twist. Their emphasis on quality and service, coupled with casual island elegance, has established Michaels Restaurant as a favorite of Key West locals and visitors with discriminating dining palates. If you're searching for Key West restaurants, search no further. Treat yourself to a delicious dining experience outdoors in a relaxing Key West garden atmosphere or indoors in one of our two dining rooms. Michaels Restaurant is in Old Town Key West, near the corner of Southard Street- on Margaret Street. "From the first chilled martini to the last sumptuous bite of the warm chocolate volcano, Michaels will delight and satisfy. "

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Requests for specific tables will be honored on a first come first serve basis. If a specific table is a necessity please feel free to call us at 305-295-1300 after 3:30pm.
Thank you.

Cross Street:
Southard Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 295-1300

Website:
http://www.michaelskeywest.com/

Catering:
Michaels can cater any event from 20 to 200! You can expect our same attention to detail and excellence that you get when you dine with us! Let us make your special occasions out of this world!

Executive Chef:
Michael Wilson

Private Party Facilities:
Michaels can accommodate groups from 12 to 30 in our intimate garden. Is your group larger? Our main ding room seats 40. Larger still? Rent out the whole restaurant for a truly memorable event.

Private Party Contact:
Melanie Wilson: 305-295-1300

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area (bar only), Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Cowboys Steak
Beef Caparccio
crabcake
Grilled Swordfish
Rack of Lamb.
Veal Chop
Seafood Crepe
Steak Sandwich
Wallace Bay Oysters
Cabin Burger
Caprese Salad

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Michaels Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Key West / Florida Keys
Fit for Foodies
Key West / Florida Keys
Neighborhood Gem
Key West / Florida Keys
9 More
Outdoor Dining
Key West / Florida Keys
Romantic
Key West / Florida Keys
Most Booked
Key West / Florida Keys
Best Overall
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Fit for Foodies
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Neighborhood Gem
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Outdoor Dining
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Romantic
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Most Booked
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Best Restaurants in Key West ›

neighborhood gem (71)
great for outdoor dining (70)
fit for foodies (64)
See All
special occasion (64)
romantic (59)
notable wine list (34)
good for groups (25)
hot spot (8)
late-night find (7)
vibrant bar scene (6)
great for lunch (5)
great for brunch (4)
kid-friendly (4)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1632 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Michael's is our favorite restaurant in ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 4 days ago

Michael's is our favorite restaurant in Key West. We have always had a great experience but the most recent visit on the 23rd of July was the best. Our waiter Moses made the evening special!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hidden gem we wouldn't have known about ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined 5 days ago

Hidden gem we wouldn't have known about had it not been for the recommendation from Mark at the Casa Marina. We wanted a special dinner to celebrate a birthday and this ended up being exactly the right spot - complete with a Chocolate Volcano with for dessert with a bonafide Roman candle spraying out the top! Quite a display.

Romantic and relaxing ambiance whether you sit outside by the fountain or indoors. Food was great and the service was fantastic - highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We always stop here while visiting Key W ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

We always stop here while visiting Key West. Their food is amazing. The snapper piccata was Devine and the portions are huge!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Michaels wasn't bad, but I won't go back ...

vip
 (Mississippi)
·Dined 6 days ago

Michaels wasn't bad, but I won't go back. I can get a decent steak anywhere, certainly don't want to waste a meal in Key West here. Service was fantastic, just a mediocre experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Decent food, good service, seating indoo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

Decent food, good service, seating indoors or outdoors. They're known for their chocolate lava cake for dessert.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Very limited menu. Went there to celebra ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Very limited menu.

Went there to celebrate our anniversary. This place was recommended by one of the locals.

With it being a limited menu there are about 10 choices for your entree. They seated us, took our drink order, served our drinks and proceeded to tell us they were out of 6 of the 10 choices.

Waitress looked at us and treated us like we were stupid.

Would NOT suggest the restaurant to any visitors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

The food was super good, enough for tw ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food was super good, enough for two people. The service was good, the atmosphere was fit for friends to have quite dinner.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great food, excellent wine selection, an ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great food, excellent wine selection, and good

Customer service. A bit pricey, even for Key West but the food was totally worth it!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very nice place. Food was not as expecte ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Very nice place. Food was not as expected really didn't care that my husband has a nut allergy . Filet mignon was very fatty I have never had a piece of filet that was fatty. Server didn't offer to take meal off the bill or offer anything else in place of the horrible piece of meat after we complained . Once the complaint was brought up to the server the servers attitude completely changed like he didn't want to deal with us anymore! We will never return back to the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Dinner was amazing. Had the filet specia ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Dinner was amazing. Had the filet special that evening which was with a sun-dried tomato Au-ju and homemade mashed potatoes. Fiance thoroughly enjoyed the meatloaf, which was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WE have eaten there many times...Great F ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

WE have eaten there many times...Great Food and the Service is Spot-On.....

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had not been to Michael's in a couple ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We had not been to Michael's in a couple of years. It was great and even better than we remembered it. The service was outstanding and the steaks were superb

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great meal, excellent service and great ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great meal, excellent service and great neighborhood (local) restaurant. Wonderful evening was had by all.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This place was the best restaurant we've ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

This place was the best restaurant we've visited in key west so far. The food is phenomenal and the wine list was great! We ended up having the salmon, a half order of meatloaf and a half order of the filet with roasted garlic and blue cheese. DIVINE!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very friendly and accommodating staff. W ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Very friendly and accommodating staff. Well taken care of throughout the evening. Relaxing garden setting. Thoroughly enjoyed our fondue and volcano cake. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress was terrible. The wine and ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Our waitress was terrible. The wine and carpaccio were very good. She did not even put in my order. Then when my steak finally arrived it was burned. It tasted like the grill had not been cleaned in days.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

Every time we come to key west we eat at ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Every time we come to key west we eat at Michaels sometimes twice during our trip. We always have a good meal and recommend the resistant to other guests.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sooooo Delicious! Loved the ambiance we ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Sooooo Delicious! Loved the ambiance we sat outside on the patio ( used to be a neighborhood home turned into a restaurant) very quaint but spacious. Contemporary style, nice size bar outside, too. Loved the added touch of the running fountain. Don't forget to throw a coin in for a wish! Can't wait to return on our next trip to key west :-)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent. We had a party of 8 and the f ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Excellent. We had a party of 8 and the food and the service were both outstanding. I would highly recommend. Not a great place for kids.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time at Michaels. It ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

This was our first time at Michaels. It was recommended to us and we were not disappointed. My husband ordered the salad special as his main dish and was a little shocked on how small it was. It was served in a martini glass. He was surprised however on how filling it was. The portion are small if you a a big eater. My family did not leave hungry. I would go back there. We had great service.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Still one of my very favorite restaurant ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Still one of my very favorite restaurants. I take all my out of town company here and no one is ever disappointed. Love the small plates because I can order a great salad and not leave half my dinner behind! Fantastic staff takes really good care of us always. And it's all five blocks from my home. 😃

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply put, spent 3 days in Key West and ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Simply put, spent 3 days in Key West and Michaels was our best meal during our visit. Off the main drag a few blocks it offers a local neighborhood feel. Not inexpensive but I think you'll find it is worth it!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food and service were excellent. We ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The food and service were excellent. We were celebrating a special birthday and brought in a couple of bottles of wine. We then bought a third bottle and asked if they could wave one of the corking fees. The manager came over and was very unfriendly refusing to do anything for us. We are staying in the area for a month and would have loved to return because the food was great but because of the way we were treated we will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great find on a whim. Food was fantasti ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Great find on a whim. Food was fantastic and Todd was very knowledgeable about the menu and attentive. Definitely a Jewel in the Key West area.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Filet was excellent

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Filet was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Came highly recommended but was just ave ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Came highly recommended but was just average the Sunday night we were there. A locals favorite and unfortunately we were treated like tourists.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

One of the best dining out experiences w ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

One of the best dining out experiences we have had in years. Our waiter Moises was outstanding

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was perfect. I had the Cowbot ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Everything was perfect. I had the Cowbot steak that was awesome!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our waiter, Moses, was great. enough sai ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Our waiter, Moses, was great. enough said, they ask for a message then REQUIRE a certain length? Who they think they are?

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing dinner. Perfectly prepared meals ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Amazing dinner. Perfectly prepared meals for our anniversary dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great as usual

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

We had the mahi mahi and snapper. Each was cooked perfectly. The martini's were wonderful as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great evening with family.

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Michael's is always a place that you can expect a great dinner. The food was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was exceptional! Such a great night out

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Inside or outside dining available. Great outside bar for drinks and appetizers. Will go back to try other dishes. Always a great fish dish and the filet al Forno is a must. My husband had that topped with fried oysters. Selection of appetizers, salads and desserts. Great wines, beer and mixed drinks. Desserts are great but order the volcano early so it comes out after dinner.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

On a vacation in Key West with my daught ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

On a vacation in Key West with my daughter this was our last meal before leaving and we wanted to go someplace special. Michael's fit the bill. We ate outside and immediately asked to have the light over our table shut since we could feel ourselves getting bitten up. The waitress brought over a can of "Off". Nice to know Michael's was prepared. My veal chop stuffed with prosciutto, that night's specialty, was outstanding as was my daughter's entree of Michael's meatloaf. Michael's is a favorite of residents and as a visitor I was delighted to be there. Knowing that I will get bitten up might be a barrier to returning, or just eating outside where the surroundings are quite beautiful. Conflicting thoughts.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Tad, who took care of us, gave us some g ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Tad, who took care of us, gave us some great recommendations. Made it a great dinner!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

casual, but very good food

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

I was expecting more of an upscale ambiance, but again key west tends to be more casual. The food was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Somehow we've overlooked this place for ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Somehow we've overlooked this place for almost 20 years! It is a lovely, cozy steakhouse. The food, service and ambiance were wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They were out of a few items we wanted. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

They were out of a few items we wanted. Our server was very bad. To the point of being rude. Hard to accept at such a nice place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Restaurant recommended by B&B I was stay ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Restaurant recommended by B&B I was staying at. Summer salad rivaled any I have had in Paris. Mind you I don't enjoy salads. Ironically, the lady from the B&B walked in for dinner while I was there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

terrible service ! we were going there f ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

terrible service !

we were going there for my wife's birthday

I specified it on my booking, remind the waiter at the beginning and nothing .. I had to ask it specifically at the end to get a cake with a candle ! service there is terrible !

we will not come back if we come back to key west

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.