About Michaels Restaurant

532 Margaret Street
Key West, FL 33040
View Larger Map

One of the finest Key West restaurants is nestled among the charming tropical back streets of Key West's Old Town District. Come discover a garden oasis where Chef Michael Wilson and his wife Melanie offer a classic menu with an island twist. Their emphasis on quality and service, coupled with casual island elegance, has established Michaels Restaurant as a favorite of Key West locals and visitors with discriminating dining palates. If you're searching for Key West restaurants, search no further. Treat yourself to a delicious dining experience outdoors in a relaxing Key West garden atmosphere or indoors in one of our two dining rooms. Michaels Restaurant is in Old Town Key West, near the corner of Southard Street- on Margaret Street. "From the first chilled martini to the last sumptuous bite of the warm chocolate volcano, Michaels will delight and satisfy. "

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Requests for specific tables will be honored on a first come first serve basis. If a specific table is a necessity please feel free to call us at 305-295-1300 after 3:30pm.
Thank you.

Cross Street:
Southard Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 295-1300

Website:
http://www.michaelskeywest.com/

Catering:
Michaels can cater any event from 20 to 200! You can expect our same attention to detail and excellence that you get when you dine with us! Let us make your special occasions out of this world!

Executive Chef:
Michael Wilson

Private Party Facilities:
Michaels can accommodate groups from 12 to 30 in our intimate garden. Is your group larger? Our main ding room seats 40. Larger still? Rent out the whole restaurant for a truly memorable event.

Private Party Contact:
Melanie Wilson: 305-295-1300

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area (bar only), Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Michaels Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Key West / Florida Keys
Best Ambiance
Key West / Florida Keys
Fit for Foodies
Key West / Florida Keys
13 More
Neighborhood Gem
Key West / Florida Keys
Outdoor Dining
Key West / Florida Keys
Romantic
Key West / Florida Keys
Special Occasion
Key West / Florida Keys
Most Booked
Key West / Florida Keys
Best Service
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Best Ambiance
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Fit for Foodies
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Neighborhood Gem
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Outdoor Dining
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Romantic
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Special Occasion
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Most Booked
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Best Restaurants in Key West ›

great for outdoor dining (111)
romantic (111)
fit for foodies (103)
See All
special occasion (99)
neighborhood gem (99)
notable wine list (48)
good for groups (29)
hot spot (20)
vibrant bar scene (15)
late-night find (10)
great for lunch (3)
scenic view (3)
kid-friendly (2)
great for brunch (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1592 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Gem away from the maddening crowds of Duval St.

Dined 4 days ago

Michael's is a great spot for a quiet evening in Key West. The menu is enticing and the food is prepared perfectly. The service is friendly and efficient. All in all, we would go back in a heart beat!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Steaks are fantastic. Service was great. ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Steaks are fantastic. Service was great. We come back every time we are in Key West

food5
ambience4
service5

Best salmon I have ever had

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Best salmon I have ever had

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great Restaurant, good ambiance and deli ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Great Restaurant, good ambiance and delicious. Haven't been for a while, but will definitely go more often, they have improved significantly.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Would highly recommend Michael's. The f ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Would highly recommend Michael's. The food was really good as was the service. The outdoor seating had a nice bar area and was very pleasant. Seems like a lot of locals visit which is always a good sign. I also liked that it was away from the busier part of downtown. Moses was our server and he was very attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service was excellent. One of o ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Food and service was excellent. One of our favorite places in Key West!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

had a fantastic experience at Michaels.. ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

had a fantastic experience at Michaels.. service staff ( Moses ) was very accommodating, courteous, and professional.. he made us feel very welcomed and comfortable. Food was very good.. also ate at the Hot Tin Roof next night and I would choose Michaels every time...they arranged for taxi service when we left the restaurant.. met Michael ( owner) and he , as well, was very accommodating.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I go to the Keys to do some fishing and ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

I go to the Keys to do some fishing and would not miss the opportunity to dine at Michaels. The onion soup is wonderful. It has a bit of a smoky flavor which really adds to it. I usually get the filet and it has always been perfectly grilled and very tender. The service is always attentive but not intrusive. Definitely a place to go for an upscale dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

This restaurant has a very nice outdoor ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

This restaurant has a very nice outdoor dining area (which needs to be requested together with the reservation). It is situated in a quiet side-street near the city centre. Great value is placed on good ingredients.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful meal and a great menu to satis ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Wonderful meal and a great menu to satisfy everyone

food3
ambience3
service5
value3

We have eaten at Michaels almost every y ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We have eaten at Michaels almost every year when we come to key west for two weeks. We generally love everything This experience was inferior. Staff excellent Service likewise Food was not up to your standard. Oyster appetizer best dish. Scallop appetizer good. Main dishes were just ok. We didn't even care to bring balance of main dishes home Just wasn't the experience we were accustomed to

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantabulous

Dined on May 7, 2016

Recommended by a friend and eight of us decided to try it out. Service was impeccable and the food wine and cocktails were spectacular. Sat outside by the fountain and had a marvelous evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

OVER-PRICED & UNDERWHELMED

Dined on May 4, 2016

This place was highly recommended by the hotel so we had high expectations for a great meal. I don't mind paying high prices for great food and was prepared to do so based on the referral. The ambience was kind of average but that was okay as we went for the food experience. We started with 2 appetizers: grilled octopus & beef carpaccio which were both pretty tasty. Our entrees were beef tenderloin and prime strip steak. I also ordered a lettuce wedge salad which was quite small. The tenderloin was very tender and tasty. My steak was tasty but so tough and sinewy that the knife could hardly cut it. I was brought a serrated knife which was able to cut it but it was very chewy and not tender at all. I left about 1/4 of it due to fat & sinews. The garlic in the mashed potatoes was over-powering as well. We did not have cocktails or wine and our bill was over $125. All in all, a bit pricey for the overall value and satisfaction.

food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Decoration

Dined on May 4, 2016

We sat inside, the room needs updating. Very drab decor.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed it

Dined on May 2, 2016

Great experience! I loved the food... A little pricey but worth it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The veal chop was tender and delicious! ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

The veal chop was tender and delicious! And, they served us a key lime tart that we just loved.

food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Not as Expected, but Good

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

A little disappointing considering Michael's has been there for 19 years. Maybe because we went on a Sunday night, and the chef was off? Our waiter was very friendly and prompt, the wine list was varied, we had salads that were great, but the duck and yellowtail snapper were just okay. The waiter did start off by saying that they were known for their steaks. For the price, we were just expecting a little more.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Great as always!

Dined on April 27, 2016

Food, service and atmosphere were great. Our server was attentive but not intrusive. Enjoyed the meal and will be back next time we are in Key West.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Enjoyed our dinner

Dined on April 25, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner at Michael's. The server was very good and the food was wonderful. The weather was good and the garden was very quiet and nice.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience2
service5
value3

Food was blah but service was good

Dined on April 25, 2016

We had drinks at the bar & bartenders were friendly & made a good drink. Then my group was put into a private room for dinner. Outside would've been a lot nicer ambiance. Server and buses did a nice job though out the meal. The food we ordered was ok, nothing to brag about & probably not worth the price. There are several other restaurants in this price range I'd rather dine in. Our group will not be coming back to this restaurant.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Aloha

Dined on April 24, 2016

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at Michaels. We were told by our taxi driver that it was the best restaurant in Key West, and you know they hear it all, good and bad. The scallop/Brie appetizer was delicious, my meatloaf was definite comfort food. We went early, got right in, served immediately, and our waiter was able to chat with us which gave it a personal feeling.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved Michael's

Dined on April 22, 2016

Ambiance was great. We had the fondue, which was fun and tasty! Will definitely return when we go back to Key West!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent 30th Anniversary dinner

Dined on April 22, 2016

My wife and I from Texas researched plenty and found Micheal's. We received unbelievable service - found ourselves in a private dining room behind the bar where maybe three four-top tables for dinner. At first we were disappointed not to be in main dining room, which was beautiful, but we had Private dining! The meal was even better! Seafood and filet was top notch. Will definitely want to visit again when in Key West. Definitely left a great image and provided lasting memories for us both. Most importantly, the wait staff was superb. I was overly impressed by their ability and desire to make us feel special

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always wonderful

Dined on April 21, 2016

Gracious dining in a relaxed setting. Michaels has an outstanding menu with plenty of variety. The bar is well stocked. The waitstaff is friendly and welcoming. A very nice experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

3 Couple Rendevous

Dined on April 20, 2016

Had a 8:00 reservation arrived at 8:05 were seated promptly, but did not get service until 8:15...luckily we had been fully refreshed prior to leaving for the restaurant. However, once greeted we were no longer ignored. The avocado tuna starter was amazing, I had the "bone in" NY Strip...the quality was great and portion was more than I could handle. Others had the Yellow Tail special and they raved on how good it was. Desert was chocolate cake and another chocolate topped item... Left very satisfied and would recommend and return again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Key West restaurant!

Dined on April 16, 2016

Wonderful dining experience at Michael's. The food was excellent both in presentation and preparation - and it tasted great, too. The waiter was excellent as were all those that served us. Highly recommend it to any and all while visiting Key West.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow is all I can say. The place is beau ...

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

Wow is all I can say. The place is beautiful and quiet. Nice bar area for cocktails. The fish specials were amazing and the steak was an excellently prepared choice. Key lime pie was to die for. Thanks

food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great meal. Ricardo and Suzet ...

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

Always a great meal. Ricardo and Suzette do a great job in the bar.

food4
ambience5
service4

Wonderful onion soup paired with the sma ...

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

Wonderful onion soup paired with the small plate meatloaf makes a fine meal.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

my husband and I had a great meal and ou ...

Dined on April 13, 2016

my husband and I had a great meal and our server was very attentive and nice and we enjoyed our visit to this restaurant very much. Will go back again

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

less than romantic

Dined on April 12, 2016

Good food served nicely, but atmosphere disrupted by groups that did not seem to mind laughing hysterically and being obnoxious. Maybe they just don't go out very often.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter Robbie was wonderful! He reco ...

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Our waiter Robbie was wonderful! He recommended the chocolate lava cake for dessert....exceptional!

food5
ambience4
service5

Simply put, Michael's was outstanding. W ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

Simply put, Michael's was outstanding. We can highly recommend the beet salad or burrata salad course and the Mahi Mahi and swordfish entrees. The meatloaf, yes meatloaf, was excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding! Meatloaf, filet and grouper ...

Dined on April 7, 2016

Outstanding! Meatloaf, filet and grouper were beyond delicious. Service was excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

one of our favorites!

Dined on April 5, 2016

always have a night at Michaels when in key west....this time we were seated in the private dining/wine room! we had a party of seven....it was so special.i never knew that room existed... great steaks, great everything as always....if ever in key west...go to Michaels!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a lovely high end restaurant. V ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

This is a lovely high end restaurant. Very romantic and personal. Waiter, Rob, was very professional but friendly. Food was very good. Overall a very nice evening in Key West.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful. My new fav

Dined on April 2, 2016

Wonderful. My new fav

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dinner out!

Dined on April 1, 2016

We really enjoyed dining here on a recommendation of a friend and past customer. Food was terrific and service was prompt, friendly and professional.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our night at Michaels

Dined on March 27, 2016

Always enjoy dinning at Michaels I always recommend Michaels to my friends who visit Key West We did miss our favorite appetizer the seafood crepe. The staffis accommodating and pleasant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Easter at Michaels

Dined on March 27, 2016

Nice restaurant. A bit underwhelming after reading past reviews, but the food was good. Seemed overpriced for what you received. Quaint dining outside. Good server, though slow at times. Chocolate volcano cake way overpriced.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.