About Michaels Restaurant

One of the finest Key West restaurants is nestled among the charming tropical back streets of
Key West's Old Town District. Come discover a garden oasis where Chef Michael Wilson
and his wife Melanie offer a classic menu with an island twist. Their emphasis on
quality and service, coupled with casual island elegance, has established
Michaels Restaurant as a favorite of Key West locals
and visitors with discriminating dining palates.
If you're searching for Key West restaurants, search no further. Treat yourself to a delicious dining experience outdoors in a relaxing Key West garden atmosphere or indoors in one of our two dining rooms. Michaels Restaurant is in Old Town Key West,
near the corner of Southard Street- on Margaret Street.

"From the first chilled martini to the last sumptuous bite of the
warm chocolate volcano, Michaels will delight and satisfy. "

532 Margaret Street
Key West, FL 33040
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 11:00pm



Requests for specific tables will be honored on a first come first serve basis. If a specific table is a necessity please feel free to call us at 305-295-1300 after 3:30pm.

Thank you.

Cross Street:
Southard Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 295-1300

Website:
http://www.michaelskeywest.com/

Catering:
Michaels can cater any event from 20 to 200! You can expect our same attention to detail and excellence that you get when you dine with us! Let us make your special occasions out of this world!

Executive Chef:
Michael Wilson

Private Party Facilities:
Michaels can accommodate groups from 12 to 30 in our intimate garden. Is your group larger? Our main ding room seats 40. Larger still? Rent out the whole restaurant for a truly memorable event.

Private Party Contact:
Melanie Wilson: (305) 295-1300

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Indoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Beef Caparccio - Michaels Restaurant, Key West, FL
Cowboys Steak - Michaels Restaurant, Key West, FL
crabcake - Michaels Restaurant, Key West, FL
Rack of Lamb. - Michaels Restaurant, Key West, FL
Grilled Swordfish - Michaels Restaurant, Key West, FL
Veal Chop - Michaels Restaurant, Key West, FL
Seafood Crepe - Michaels Restaurant, Key West, FL
Steak Sandwich - Michaels Restaurant, Key West, FL
Cabin Burger - Michaels Restaurant, Key West, FL
Wallace Bay Oysters - Michaels Restaurant, Key West, FL
Caprese Salad - Michaels Restaurant, Key West, FL

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Michaels Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (37)
Special Occasion (37)
Great for Outdoor Dining (35)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Good for a Date (30)
Romantic (24)
Bar Seating (22)
Notable Wine List (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Cozy (14)
Casual (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Fun (10)
Authentic (10)
Business Meals (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Hot Spot (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Seasonal (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Private Room (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Healthy (2)
Historic (2)
People Watching (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Tapas (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Spicy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1826 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The steaks we ordered were a little over ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined 2 days ago

The steaks we ordered were a little over cooked but not enough to complain about. It's a great place to visit while in Key West but if you are looking for quiet dining you should catch them off peak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Michael's is in my mind the best food in ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

Michael's is in my mind the best food in Key West. They have been doing it a long time and they still get it right. Wonderful sea food and great steaks. It also has a pretty decent and really well price wine list. Great place!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of those popular restaurants ...

vip
 (Key West)·Dined 4 days ago

This is one of those popular restaurants where you don't know if it will be consistent. This time the dinner was very good, even the small plates. I'll be going back soon.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Recommended by a friend. Loved the atmo ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined 5 days ago

Recommended by a friend. Loved the atmosphere and the food was outstanding!

So nice being away from the crowds on Duval!

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food as always. Loved my carpac ...

vip
 (Key West)·Dined 6 days ago

Fabulous food as always. Loved my carpaccio. The volcano dessert is the best anywhere.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Late-night Find, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Table of 8 and our server was the best. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Table of 8 and our server was the best. One celiac in the group and he was treated great and had a super meal. Overall exceptional experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service from a true professional. ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined 6 days ago

Great service from a true professional. Delicious food . Seated in 5 minutes. And in a neighborhood that is quaint and far from Duval St crazies. One complaint. The $57 dollar bottle of Chianti that I found the next day in a shop for $10. But, that's Key West.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Requested patio when reservations were m ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Requested patio when reservations were made, anticipating near outdoor bar. Instead, we were seated in a nook patio off kitchen. Next time, I'll be specific. Good wait staff!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The veal chop was excellent. Stuffed wi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The veal chop was excellent. Stuffed with cheese and accompanied with mashed potatoes and veggies. The service was excellent and a shoo out to Kim our waitress.

Tags: Private Room, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great.

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great food. Great service! The meatloaf ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Great food. Great service! The meatloaf was exceptional!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Casual, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service a bit slow. One meal was overcoo ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Service a bit slow. One meal was overcooked but was replaced with a properly cooked piece of meat. Dessert was comped because of this. The food was ok but not outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

My husband had the veal chop, said it wa ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on January 7, 2017

My husband had the veal chop, said it was the he ever had. I had NY strip, wasn't the best, wasn't the worse. Matt was our server and he was terrific. We were there once before and it was a quiet romantic dinner. This time we asked to be seated inside. Big mistake. There were two very large parties that were sooooo loud we were unable to have a conversation. Hostess should have told us that. I used my Opentable reward certificate for 100.00 but feel as though it was wasted on this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

Great bar drinks. Staff very attentive. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great bar drinks. Staff very attentive. Owner in the house making sure everything was okay! Excellent!!!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Michael's is one of our favorite Key Wes ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Michael's is one of our favorite Key West spots and we eat out almost every night

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The cheap plastic chairs in the garden s ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The cheap plastic chairs in the garden seating doesn't fit to the quality and ambiance of the restaurant. Nice cushions would make seating more comfortable. Table clothes would be recommend as well

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We were initially seated in the dining r ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 4, 2017

We were initially seated in the dining room. It felt characterless and dull. We asked to be moved and they handled that with great courtesy.

The food and service were good. Especially the seared tuna. The snapper was good but huge. Bulging plate. I would happily go again but stick to small plates vs entrees. And eat in bar/ outdoors. Bar area and staff charming and efficient.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

As usual Michaels was amazing! We decide ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 3, 2017

As usual Michaels was amazing! We decided to celebrate our anniversary at Michaels as we've always had a great experience. Our service was fantastic - never had to wait or ask for anything. Food was great! The burratta mozzarella special was amazing! The filet was cooked perfectly and the cheese crust was delicious. The duck was also great. Nothing disappoints and the dirty martini was on point! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OUR FAVORITE RESTAURANT! TREAVELLED AL O ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 3, 2017

OUR FAVORITE RESTAURANT! TREAVELLED AL OVER US ,EUROPE. CANADA, AUSTRALIA, NEW ZEALAND. THE BEST!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Trump was great

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Trump was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Despite the fact that our 8 pm reservati ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Despite the fact that our 8 pm reservation was to be outdoors (and I telephoned to so confirm), we were seated at 8:45 after a nice drink at the bar inside. We asked again to be outside and were seated in another 15 minutes. The staff except for the hostesss were all easygoing and helpful. It is a noisy friendly place. We will go back as we are here for a month. The food is acceptable - not fancy or gourmet - and the whole experience is very pretty and lively. Typical Key West!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Spicy, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

seriously good food. We decided on sever ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 2, 2017

seriously good food. We decided on several small plates instead of larger entrees. We were not disappointed. the lobster bisque was sumptuous and the fried oysters perfectly cooked. Duck sliders were a playful and excellent take on the classic bar food. The coconut shrimp the best so far in Key West.

Only off putting part was the cellar was out of a couple of wines we thought about, but it was New Years day after a long holiday wknd. We still ended up with a nice bottle.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everytime we come to Key West which is t ...

vip
 (Key West)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Everytime we come to Key West which is two to three times a year. We always have dinner at Michaels! Nancy & Suzzette are always fantastic servers & bartenders!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food just ok, overpriced for New Year's ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food just ok, overpriced for New Year's Eve at $95 for appetizer entree (small- chateaubriand 2 very thin slices) and dessert, no alcohol included. Service needs work, brought wrong entree, right order did not come out until others nearly finished eating. No gesture of any kind to make up for it, still charged full price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

Wonderful as ever! It's become a New Ye ...

vip
 (Key West)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Wonderful as ever! It's become a New Year's Eve tradition for us on top of regular visits when we're in KW.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is just a great restaurant! The mea ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This is just a great restaurant! The meatloaf is amazing! The fried oysters- yum! The stuffed veal chop - divine! Come hungry! Always great service and a pleasant staff. A key west def every time were in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My review might be a bit skewed because ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My review might be a bit skewed because of where we were seated. We came in on New Years Eve weekend and unfortunately it was cold that night so we requested an inside table. The patio looked gorgeous with little white lights and great ambience. The inside area was basically a room. Bright and extremely loud. We had to raise our voices to each other across a table of 4 to be heard. However, the food and the service were wonderful. Deliciously cooked. We each had the Filet. I would recommend going to Michaels when you can sit outside or on a quiet night if you prefer a more quiet dinner setting and enjoy great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Food and service delicious! Coffee atro ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Food and service delicious! Coffee atrocious! Get new coffee

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service is always very good ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The food and service is always very good, we love to eat there , the outdoor dining is also wonderful . The wait staff is very professional and fun.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Absolutely the Best Restaraunt in Key We ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Absolutely the Best Restaraunt in Key West!

The food, the atmosphere, the staff, overall, there is nothing to compare.

We go out of our way when we are around to go here.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time at Michaels -- r ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 25, 2016

This was our first time at Michaels -- recommended by two friends. The food is somewhat pricey but is outstanding! I would highly recommend eating at Michaels when in Key West!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My meal of duck was incredible. However, ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on December 24, 2016

My meal of duck was incredible. However, our server brought the wrong meal to my husband. She admitted her error. Took about ten minutes to prepare the meal he ordered and I ate mine before it got cold. His meal of chicken piccatta was rushed and chicken was tough. Wish they had offered a dessert or discount on a future meal but none was offered. Great restaurant but we are not going back. Poor customer service. Very sad.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Don't reserve on Open Table and expect t ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Don't reserve on Open Table and expect to get a garden table. Filet a lot of gristle. Seemed to be catering to the locals. Not the place for a special evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Great Christmas Eve dinner, which we've ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great Christmas Eve dinner, which we've done here multiple times. Best food of our two-week stay. We always come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

The website should specify that fondue i ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The website should specify that fondue is served only at the bar. We went specifically to have fondue. We were seated in the dining room, the menu didn't have fondue and the waitress said it's only served at the bar. It was 40 min until we ate because we had to wait for seats at the bar and then for the fondue to be ready.

Tags: Bar Seating, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We were celebrating our anniversary and ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary and chose Michael's as it has always been one of our favorite restaurants in Key West. The seafood and steaks are consistently delicious. We like that they vary the menu with new ideas as well. It was a wonderful evening and Nancy did a great job serving us with her always smiling face.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun neighborhood restaurant. We had very ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Fun neighborhood restaurant. We had very good filets and good service. Although we were seated next to a fountain, the ambiance was disturbed by all the traffic passing by to other dining areas.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

Best food and service in Key West. It's ...

vip
 (Key West)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Best food and service in Key West. It's why we keep going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and great food in a perfec ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Great service and great food in a perfect Key West Old Town hidden garden

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The service aND personal attention to de ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The service aND personal attention to detail from our waiter was excellent

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.