About Michael's Pizzeria - Long Beach

210 East 3rd Street
Long Beach, CA 90802
View Larger Map

Located on the Promenade in the heart of downtown Long Beach, Michael's Pizzeria is where classic and modern meet. Whether you want to enjoy the simple perfection of a Margherita, or something a little out of the ordinary like the Flori di Zucca made with squash blossoms and honey, your pizza will be made with the freshest ingredients possible and cooked just right in their 800°F wood-burning oven. But it’s not all pizza at Michael’s Pizzeria. They also offer delicious appetizers, salads, entrees cooked and served in cast iron skillets, and of course, an excellent selection of beer and wine.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Pizzeria, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Daily: 11:30am - 5:00pm

Dinner

Daily: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Promenade

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(562) 491-2100

Website:
http://www.michaelspizzeria.com/

Parking Details:
2 hrs FREE PARKING in Public lot @ 51 East 3rd Street Long Beach, CA 90802. Also 2hr FREE PARKING w/validation @ "The Lofts at Promenade" private lot!

Executive Chef:
David Coleman

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Michael's Pizzeria - Long Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.0

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Long Beach / Catalina
Fit for Foodies
Long Beach / Catalina
Outdoor Dining
Long Beach / Catalina
Best Restaurants in Long Beach ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
See All
Good for Groups (10)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Special Occasion (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Romantic (2)
Scenic View (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
179 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My new best place for Pizza! They make t ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

My new best place for Pizza! They make the BEST Pizza!!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A little pricy for the four of us. The f ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

A little pricy for the four of us. The food was enjoyable, but the sticker shock took a bite out of the meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

My friends and I went for the special It ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

My friends and I went for the special Italian Piedmont wine pairing dinner. All the dishes were nicely prepared and the wine pairings were spot on!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We dined here on last tuesday night. We ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We dined here on last tuesday night. We dined inside. It was super quite. The service was amazing. I'm not sure if that's the norm or if it was due to a slow night. The food was good. We had a calamari and pizza. Based upon the reviews I was expecting more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Way overpriced food for very small porti ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Way overpriced food for very small portions. The $12 pizza was worth it but the pasta and the salad were a total rip. The wait staff was very inexperienced and I got a $49.00 parking ticket because I went over the expiration date because they screwed up our order and we were there longer than expected. Also, we could hardly hear ourselves talk over the speakers which were blaring music. Also, I know the cooks and the wait staff were excited about the Chile/Argentina game, but don't scream and jump up and down every time your team makes a goal or something, disrupting the patrons who are trying to enjoy their meal and have pleasant conversation. Basically, the whole experience was a waste of $40.00 The total bill was $60 and change and again, the pizza was awesome. The rest you can have. I want my hard earned money back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

We loved it so much that we went back tw ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We loved it so much that we went back twice in one week.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the service to the food, everything ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

From the service to the food, everything was great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Michael's is awesome. I prefer this loc ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Michael's is awesome. I prefer this location over Naples. Both the space and the food are more enjoyable here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

All appetizers were half price at noon a ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

All appetizers were half price at noon at this particular day. Had a couple and a pizza. Food was very good. Fresh ingredients and favors were tasty. Corkage was $10 which is reasonable. Ate in the patio and very comfortable for us girls to chat. Service was attentive.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food but ambiance was similar to a ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Great food but ambiance was similar to a Quiznos

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2

Love love love the lasagna! It's so wond ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Love love love the lasagna! It's so wonderful! A zillion layers of the thinnest most delicious homemade noodles! My fave!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing as ever. And outstandin ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Food was amazing as ever. And outstanding service by David, once again. We eat at a very slow pace, and service was customized to accommodate. Thank you, Michael's!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was born in Italy, this is authentic food.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

In door and outdoor, trendy and friendly. Home made pasta, zucchini flowers, the real deal. Will be going back next time I'm in Southern California.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Best pizza in LB. Hands down. Beer and w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Best pizza in LB. Hands down. Beer and wine selections are always spot on.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Dinner was great! Also dessert was amazi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Dinner was great! Also dessert was amazing! We ordered three different desserts and they were all fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for family weeknight dining

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

We enjoyed it. It was a great experience for my kids. The pizza reminded me of a few pizza places I dined at in Europe. The staff was polite and friendly. We were treated like regulars even though it was our first dining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We chose this restaurant for a nice but ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

We chose this restaurant for a nice but casual dinner with out of town guests the night before my son's graduation. Everything was perfect. There is something for everyone on the menu, service was excellent, and the wine list is perfect too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

By the beach, ready to eat

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Great atmosphere & fantastic food service! Servers always attentive. The only problem was the pizza could have been cooked a bit more. My sister ordered a small personal pizza. When she received her pizza the dough was a undercooked. Therefore my sister was not able to finish her meal, but instead kept it as a play dough toy. Overall the experience was great. One quick tip for summer outdoor eaters, if looking for a quick lunch or brunch in mid day, do not sit on the table with the fire pit in the middle. Absolutely horrible sun burns can easily happen.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

Yumm!!!

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

The best Napoli style pizza and it's so close to home!! I am here at least once a week for either margherita Mondays or the happy hour. This last visit was specifically to try the Dine LBC lunch menu. They informed me that they decided to not do the lunch menu and only honor their dinner menu. I was sad because I wanted to try the special spaghetti dish that wasn't on their regular menu. The waiter immediately asked the chef if he could still make it for me and he did!! It ended up being the best thing on our table. Now that's what I call customer service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Some very interesting and deliciously di ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Some very interesting and deliciously distinct pizza!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food is amazing. Love the brick oven coo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Food is amazing. Love the brick oven cooking and great service. Although the server got our wine wrong but everything else outside that small issue!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Absolutely fantastic

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

I loved everything about Michael's. The food was of course fantastic, but so were the wine and ambiance. So great, don't miss this.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is spot on. Minus the pizza chefs, ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

Food is spot on. Minus the pizza chefs, the service needs some work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

Michael's

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

The pizza was really good and they let my niece shape her own pizza.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Michael's Pizza surprises your mouth!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

We had the sausage and shredded Brussel sprouts and the calamari for an appetizer. The shredded sprouts had me at "hello, how do these taste like something I want more of?" The calimari was lightly breaded and fried and was so light tasting, I almost forgot I was eating fried food.

Jay, our server, helped us home in on a wine we liked by letting us taste a few Italian Reds. He was patient and attuned and so I purposefully looked at the other staff to see if the were tuned in also. And they were. That is a great feeling to look around and see people really tuned in to the details of what they're doing.

We had the carbonara pizza for dinner. It's a tomato-less wonder with two over easy eggs on top. The wood oven crust with just the right thickness and texture pulled the whole combination together.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't order the pizza

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

We had heard great things about this place and I was excited to surprise my husband and booked a reservation here. We were seated in the middle of the main thoroughfare between the bar and booths, where no tables should exist! The outside seating, which was halfway filled, looked great but we were told we could not sit there. Our waiter was wonderful and friendly, so that's a plus. The salad was fresh and flavorful. Unfortunately, the pizza was so salty I could not even eat it, and I love salty food! I mentioned this to our waiter and he said that the meat combination was a little salty, but the problem was not just the meat...the crust was 10x saltier than a pretzel. This is the first time ever that I have not been able to eat the food at a restaurant. I was so disappointed that my special night out was a bust.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

I really enjoyed the quality of food here.

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Ingredients tasted incredibly fresh, modern minimalist ambiance, great wine selection. Would definitely take a group here for a special occasion. Loved the music.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food, good service

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Highly recommend..................................................good liqs.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The food was great, it was a busy night, the wait was worth it, great value!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely Valentine's Day Dinner

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Michael's Chef put together a delicious prix fixe menu with 2 choices per course. It was most difficult to choose between them, but we were happy with everything we tasted. The tables were a little close for comfort, but lent itself to entering into the conversations on both sides which proved entertaining and interesting as well.

Our Biggest Problem was learning that Michael's Pizzeria has two Long Beach locations: Naples (which is in Long Beach) and Long Beach (on the Promenade downtown Long Beach). It would have been nice if their emails differentiated more clearly the two addresses. We, of course, will not make that mistake again, but still proved rather embarrassing and awkward at the time (as we had taken another couple with us and we thought we knew what we were doing...)

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

Perfect for romantic dinner for two.

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

I made a reservation for two, at around 4:30pm. The sun was barley setting and was pretty empty for Valentine's Day, which was great! My date and I had the option of either dining inside or outside and of course like any romantic guy would hope, outside was the perfect choice. It was pretty windy so I was hoping they would turn the outside heaters on, unfortunately they didn't. The waiters were very kind. The food was fantastic but a bit pricey for the amount we were served. Overall great experience and will soon come again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Thr homemade pasta was great. The noodle ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Thr homemade pasta was great. The noodles were al dente. The sauce sis not overwhelm the flavors of the meat. A good balance. Also ordered a pizza. The crust is light yet crispy. The toppings do not smother the crust.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Food!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

We love the food @ Michael's. Everything we've had has been very delicious. The one thing we've had a issue with is there is always a backup on food orders. The staff is professional but they don't seem ready for the dining times. This last visit was for the Valentines Day Prix Fixe meal and they didn't have our reservation in their system. We were seated promptly without question but...Odd.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Our server David did a great job. The ri ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 10, 2016

Our server David did a great job. The risotto was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

It always gets better!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

My husband and I had a date here on Saturday night and everything we ordered was fresh and tasty. We sat at the counter and enjoyed watching the chefs prepare the food. We ordered the bruschetta off the specials list and it was so good. My husband at the one with the meat and I ate the other two that were topped with non meat ingredients. He ordered soup and said it was really flavorful. It was a very generous portion as well. I had the ruccola salad and it was great as usual. My pizza entree with the pesto, goat cheese, potato and artichoke hearts was so amazing. It's was so good that I won't order any other pizza. The pasta my husband ordered had to have been homemade made. It had the perfect amount of sauce meat ratio. Our waiter Jose was fantastic. Can't wait to go back!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Great customer service good food

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Great customer service good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Healthy Family Dining

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

We are seniors and brought our 83 year old mom. Everyone liked their dinners. The place caters to families as well as young people and old. Very healthful options were nice to see in the menu in addition to good pizza.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

So great!!!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Had dinner at Michaels Pizzaria with the family and it was outstanding. They have so many new menu options. I had the arugula salad and pizza, both of which were fresh and tasty. My husband had the chicken calabrase and said it was flavorful and cooked perfectly. My teenager had the ceasar salad and tagliatelle bolognese. He said the pasta tasted homemade and the sauce which included veal and Chianina was one of the best he's had. The dessert was delicious as well. We have had many other things on the menu such as gnocchi, lasagne, chicken parm, ossobuco, and we have never been disappointed. If I lived in Long Beach I would eat there several times a week. Unfortunately living in downtown huntington I can only get there every week or so. I can't wait to go back this weekend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice place. The food is best ! Past ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

Very nice place. The food is best ! Pasta and Pizza Traditional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always good food, fresh.

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 12, 2016

Everything made on the premises, including the cheese. Good beer and wine. Top notch...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.