Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 4 times today

Michael's Pizzeria - Long Beach

4.4
265 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Pizzeria
Top Tags:
  • Casual
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Great for Outdoor Dining
Located on the Promenade in the heart of downtown Long Beach, Michael's Pizzeria is where classic and modern meet. Whether you want to enjoy the simple perfection of a Margherita, or something a little out of the ordinary like the Flori di Zucca made with squash blossoms and honey, your pizza will be made with the freshest ingredients possible and cooked just right in their 800°F wood-burning oven. But it’s not all pizza at Michael’s Pizzeria. They also offer delicious appetizers, salads, entrees cooked and served in cast iron skillets, and of course, an excellent selection of beer and wine.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Pizzeria, Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch

Daily: 11:30am - 5:00pm

Dinner

Daily: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(562) 491-2100
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Giuseppe A Musso
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Promenade
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
2 hrs FREE PARKING in Public lot @ 51 East 3rd Street Long Beach, CA 90802. Also 2hr FREE PARKING w/validation @ "The Lofts at Promenade" private lot!
icon/ic_gift_cardCreated with Sketch.
Gift Card
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 265 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.2
service
4.4
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
78% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 4 days ago

After attending the Grand Prix, we were looking for great food and wine. Michael’s made our night. The delicious food hit the spot. The wine made everything better. It’s one of our favorite restaurants in Long Beach.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 4 days ago

Really good food, took a while to get sat and the food took quite a long time to arrive.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Our young facial pierced server, seemed to be pleasant enough. She Never questioned if our meal of salads and entrees was OK, good or otherwise. My Pasta was overcooked and WARM, not hot. Clams were few and far between. Sauce almost none. I told our server, she didn't care, just made excuses. Pizza is never well-done enough for my husband. Tried it twice, won't be going back. Eating out is expensive, we'll take our money where we get better food and service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Everything amazing never a bad dining experience. The fooded phenomenal. Giuseppe never disappoints! Favorite place on the planet

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 24, 2018

We stopped by Michael’s pizzeria after March for our lives. The restaurant was very overwhelmed with the sudden onslaught of March attendees. However, we did have a reservation, so we were a little peeved. We sat at our table for 20+ minutes before we even had menus delivered. There were two hard-working waiters hustling like crazy, while a man, who was presumably the manager, sat at the bar drinking wine with a buddy, completely unconcerned with the restaurant’s state of chaos. I have seen from other reviews that this may be his M.O. (#Notateamplayer). Maybe he is Michaels’s son and that is why he hasn’t been fired...When a blond woman showed up later, maybe the managers wife?, she started to pitch in and that helped somewhat.

I ordered Caesar with grilled shrimp, which came with chicken instead. When my order was righted, the shrimp was cold. My husband got a margarita pizza which was a little tepid but tasty. Kids got lasagna, which was a B+, and chicken parm, which was also very good. The chef created delicious meals, but the timing was off due to atrocious understaffing and so the food was cold. Our server could not have been nicer. I felt bad for the guy. He was placed in an impossible situation. He offered free drinks, but at the same time, our water was never refilled and we all left parched. We didn’t order dessert because we didn’t have another 30 minutes of patience left in us. They gave us to-go cups of ice cream on the house, but for the adults it was too little too late.

Perhaps I could have been more understanding if this was my first bad experience. But a month earlier, we had made a reservation for brunch based on their online menu only to discover after we arrived that they only served lunch.

Overall, Michael’s Pizzeria has great food and friendly but understaffed employees, but very poor management. If you want to try it, get take out and prepared to nuke your food in the microwave.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Come for the pizza, stay for the chili oil to put on the pizza.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 1, 2018

Always great, excellent pizzas. Had forest mushroom with sausage this visit. Also recommend starter of oven roast vegetables

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Hostess was really frazzled at accommodating specific seating even with reservation. While she ended up helping us out, it definitely wasn’t a pleasant experience upon walking in. She seemed she might not be best with stress of busy situations.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 19, 2018

Great service, would come back again!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 17, 2018

everything was really mediocre. not worth going back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Great food and excellent service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

We sat on the patio by the fire pit. It was romantic for 2 and would also be fun for 8. If you have a good-sized party I would definitely recommend the fire pit. We shared the sausage and brussel sprouts, arugula salad and a pizza. The service was discretely attentive. All in all a very nice evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 2, 2018

Some of the best Italian food and pizza in Southern California! I love the prosciutto and arugula pizza. They and have a solid beer selection

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 20, 2018

Made a reservation via Open Table for a table for 2 prior to going to a show @ Carpenter Center. The January evening was a bit chilly, so sitting outside wasn't an option. In spite of showing up on time for a 6:30 reservation, we were seated at the bar. It's a noisy place, so this wasn't conducive to conversation. To their credit, the place found us a table after 20 minutes. Food was OK, nothing special. If the area around Carpenter Center wasn't such a food desert, I wouldn't have gone here. Too bad.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 12, 2018

Food is great, service is painfully slow (but nice). Plan on a 90 minute lunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 11, 2018

Great salads, amazing pizza sauce, delicious even cold the next morning!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 6, 2018

Great for families. Very good pizza & pasta, good beer selection and wines by the glass.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 2, 2018

Excellent pizza and pasta. Tasted just like the ones we had in Italy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 1, 2018

The food was very good. Service was very good, too. The menu had a lot of options - not “just” a pizza place. The pizza was great- and they had a vegan option. Michael’s house salad used tiny baby arugula that was succulent. Good place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 28, 2017

Outside tables are great. Inside is not as special. Food is great fresh Italian. All breads and pastas made in house

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 27, 2017

Food was good. Service was well below average. The server didn’t know what the special was. He told me something and I got something else. Plus they forget my sons food from the kid menu. He received his pizza and raw dough after all the main courses arrived. No sorry. Just a nervous smile and laugh. Also never asked if we wanted any refills of water. We ordered a cheese plate appetizer and asked for 4 more slices of bread and they only brought back 3 and by the time we realized the server was gone.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 11, 2017

Great neighborhood gem. Authentic Neapolitan style pizzas and other delights. All the ingredients are sourced locally and the care shows. Been there numerous times and highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 13, 2017

Service was great, food was delicious and served promptly. Loved the margherita monday special, will definitely be returning soon!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 14, 2017

This is our go-to place when we want a relaxed evening with friends or family. It is like a casual version of Michaels On Naples which is arguably one of the best Italian dining experiences in the area. But that's another review. We love the outdoor dining a Michaels Pizzeria especially if you have a group large enough to sit around the fire table. It's also fun to share the fire table and make new friends. There are so many delicious choices but our favorite meal is to start with a craft cocktail and the prosciutto, burrata and grilled peach for an appetizer (ask for extra bread so you can sop up the Calabrian chili oil provided) For a entree, I love the Fiori E Saisicca pizza. The fennel sausage is amazing. I now change things up by having that sausage added to other pizzas on the menu. Pizza is served uncut but I always ask for crispy crust and have it cut. My husband usually chooses a pasta. The spaghetti with braised beef, veal, and pork meatballs is a favorite. We always save room for dessert. The almond cake and the semifreddo are always a treat. I also like the fact that they serve authentic espresso and cappuccino and they get the timing right by serving the coffee in time to enjoy with dessert. Just a preference of mine. I really don't like when the coffee service is so slow that it arrives after we finish dessert. Mangia!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 29, 2017

This past visit was a little disappointing. The pizza I wanted was not available, and the one I had was not made to their usual standards. I still recommend the restaurant , a pleasant place to sit outside, and the food is usually very good

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 25, 2017

Good, as always. Wish we could eat here more often...pup enjoyed the patio.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 19, 2017

I got a margurita pizza. The crust was exceptional; wood oven, crisp crunch on the outside and chewy at the same time. Just as it should be. Well done.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 18, 2017

Walking distance from the Westin and Convention Center right off the Promenade. Nice outdoor seating. Everyone enjoyed it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 17, 2017

One of the Best total dining experience we have had food wine service
Very charming informative staff food superlicious. Could not eat or drink one more bite
Extremely impressed

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 6, 2017

Calabrian wine pairing dinner, the wines were only fair, but the meal was excellent

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 2, 2017

Best pizzas on the planet. Five people waited on our table but still poor service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 2, 2017

Something seemed a little different, still great pizza and really good beer, service was fine, maybe it was too early on a Saturday evening. Maybe the manager(?) kind or ordering folks around tempered the mood and I think they used to have bread for their awesome spicy oil. A little pricey for a light meal for 2 with a couple of beers.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 27, 2017

The pizza, spinach salad and vegetable medly in the cast iron pan were just fabulous. Everything was fresh and delivered in a timely manner. Love this place..

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 9, 2017

Chef Giuseppe's rigatoni with Italian sausage & robbi

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 7, 2017

Great italian wine options and desserts. Wonderfully authentic pasta dishes. Perfectly sized portions

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 4, 2017

Good as always. Super tasty. The Briney Melon Gose was a nice addition...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 28, 2017

Great pizza and past. Very reasonalbl

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 28, 2017

My friend and I had a wonderful lunch at Michael's before going to MOLAA. Service was exceptional! The food was amazing. We had the prosciutto and mozzarella appetizer, which was delicious. I had the margherita pizza. It was one of the best pizzas I have ever tasted. The crust is super-fresh, and again, the mozzarella is to die for. There was an excellent selection of wine; both Italian and domestic. I chose the Orvieto - yum! My friend ordered the lemon sorbet for dessert, which tasted like lemon meringue pie! I had a delicious cappuccino. It was a lovely lunch in a friendly atmosphere. I would definitely recommend this restaurant!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 24, 2017

Love, love, love Michael's Pizzeria! Best wood fired pizza ever. Super friendly service and great selection of wines and beers.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 23, 2017

Nice Italian. Food always reliably good. Great pizza and specials. Beer choices are pretty good, although darks are a bit sparse. Overall, a great spot in downtown Long Beach.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
7

Tweets by Michael's Pizzeria - Long Beach