Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

About Michael's Pizzeria - Long Beach

Located on the Promenade in the heart of downtown Long Beach, Michael's Pizzeria is where classic and modern meet. Whether you want to enjoy the simple perfection of a Margherita, or something a little out of the ordinary like the Flori di Zucca made with squash blossoms and honey, your pizza will be made with the freshest ingredients possible and cooked just right in their 800°F wood-burning oven. But it’s not all pizza at Michael’s Pizzeria. They also offer delicious appetizers, salads, entrees cooked and served in cast iron skillets, and of course, an excellent selection of beer and wine.

210 East 3rd Street
Long Beach, CA 90802
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Pizzeria, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Daily: 11:30am - 5:00pm

Dinner

Daily: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Promenade

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(562) 491-2100

Website:
http://www.michaelspizzeria.com/

Parking Details:
2 hrs FREE PARKING in Public lot @ 51 East 3rd Street Long Beach, CA 90802. Also 2hr FREE PARKING w/validation @ "The Lofts at Promenade" private lot!

Executive Chef:
Giuseppe A Musso

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Michael's Pizzeria - Long Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (11)
Good for a Date (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
See All
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Comfort Food (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Authentic (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Great Beer (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
People Watching (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Fun (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Healthy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Organic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Romantic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Cozy (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort by
S
243 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on November 14, 2017

Service was great, food was delicious and served promptly. Loved the margherita monday special, will definitely be returning soon!

Tags: Comfort Food, Great Beer, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 15, 2017

This is our go-to place when we want a relaxed evening with friends or family. It is like a casual version of Michaels On Naples which is arguably one of the best Italian dining experiences in the area. But that's another review. We love the outdoor dining a Michaels Pizzeria especially if you have a group large enough to sit around the fire table. It's also fun to share the fire table and make new friends. There are so many delicious choices but our favorite meal is to start with a craft cocktail and the prosciutto, burrata and grilled peach for an appetizer (ask for extra bread so you can sop up the Calabrian chili oil provided) For a entree, I love the Fiori E Saisicca pizza. The fennel sausage is amazing. I now change things up by having that sausage added to other pizzas on the menu. Pizza is served uncut but I always ask for crispy crust and have it cut. My husband usually chooses a pasta. The spaghetti with braised beef, veal, and pork meatballs is a favorite. We always save room for dessert. The almond cake and the semifreddo are always a treat. I also like the fact that they serve authentic espresso and cappuccino and they get the timing right by serving the coffee in time to enjoy with dessert. Just a preference of mine. I really don't like when the coffee service is so slow that it arrives after we finish dessert. Mangia!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 30, 2017

This past visit was a little disappointing. The pizza I wanted was not available, and the one I had was not made to their usual standards. I still recommend the restaurant , a pleasant place to sit outside, and the food is usually very good

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Good, as always. Wish we could eat here more often...pup enjoyed the patio.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 20, 2017

I got a margurita pizza. The crust was exceptional; wood oven, crisp crunch on the outside and chewy at the same time. Just as it should be. Well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Walking distance from the Westin and Convention Center right off the Promenade. Nice outdoor seating. Everyone enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 18, 2017

One of the Best total dining experience we have had food wine service
Very charming informative staff food superlicious. Could not eat or drink one more bite
Extremely impressed

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, People Watching, Romantic, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Healthy, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Live Sports, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Calabrian wine pairing dinner, the wines were only fair, but the meal was excellent

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Best pizzas on the planet. Five people waited on our table but still poor service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Something seemed a little different, still great pizza and really good beer, service was fine, maybe it was too early on a Saturday evening. Maybe the manager(?) kind or ordering folks around tempered the mood and I think they used to have bread for their awesome spicy oil. A little pricey for a light meal for 2 with a couple of beers.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

The pizza, spinach salad and vegetable medly in the cast iron pan were just fabulous. Everything was fresh and delivered in a timely manner. Love this place..

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Organic, Healthy, Great Beer, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Chef Giuseppe's rigatoni with Italian sausage & robbi

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Great italian wine options and desserts. Wonderfully authentic pasta dishes. Perfectly sized portions

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Good as always. Super tasty. The Briney Melon Gose was a nice addition...

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great pizza and past. Very reasonalbl

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

My friend and I had a wonderful lunch at Michael's before going to MOLAA. Service was exceptional! The food was amazing. We had the prosciutto and mozzarella appetizer, which was delicious. I had the margherita pizza. It was one of the best pizzas I have ever tasted. The crust is super-fresh, and again, the mozzarella is to die for. There was an excellent selection of wine; both Italian and domestic. I chose the Orvieto - yum! My friend ordered the lemon sorbet for dessert, which tasted like lemon meringue pie! I had a delicious cappuccino. It was a lovely lunch in a friendly atmosphere. I would definitely recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Love, love, love Michael's Pizzeria! Best wood fired pizza ever. Super friendly service and great selection of wines and beers.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Fun, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Nice Italian. Food always reliably good. Great pizza and specials. Beer choices are pretty good, although darks are a bit sparse. Overall, a great spot in downtown Long Beach.

Tags: Late-night Find, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 23, 2017

The food was great, the staff was friendly and the place was clean :)

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 16, 2017

It was all so awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 16, 2017

The pasta was NOT Linguini but some egg pasta; had a decent flavor, but was thick pasta and not the pasta for the dish I ordered -- there were ONLY 8 Clams in the dish for $16 and -- NO SAUCE!! The pasta was barely covered in a sauce that gave it flavor. The best thing was the Appetizer of Squash Blossoms! That was delicious, stuffed with cheese and crispy and hot ... 3 for $14? VERY PRICEY but that at least tasted very good. My sister ordred the "chef special trio" and sent it back twice -- did not get charged -- obviously, because she didn't eat but a bite of it... was too salty, pasta ravioli was hard around the edges.. just not a good dish to offer. THE PIZZA is the thing to buy here -- THAT looked excellent, and lots of people were ordering it.

Tags: Quick Bite, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Had a wonderful birthday dinner with friends. Food and wine were excellent! The only caution is that, with the proliferation of online menus, two dishes I was interested in trying were no longer available. The special appetizer of stuffed squash blossoms certainly made up for it.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Fabulous special pork chop with goat cheese and truffles!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Service was a little slow but very friendly. Food was good but very small portions considering the price. I was a little surprised the restaurant was almost empty, we hadn't been there in a while and it was always crowded before. Maybe as the weather warms up the crowds will come back

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Margherita Mondays where pizza is the star buy one and earn a basil & mozzarella margherita for free! The special pappadelle with summer black truffles was sinfully 😊 good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Very pleasant. Nice atmosphere/ambience, attentive staff. Pizza, tasty, hot, fresh premium local ingredients, chewy crust . Only issue was that the base was so thin in the center that it wouldnt support the topping, we all needed a knife and fork .

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Good pizza. Will be back. Nice patio. They do need to add some domestic light beer

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Good, fresh food with some interesting items. Very quiet for weekday lunchtime so nice if you need to hold conversation. Very bright, open and clean.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 15, 2017

The margherita is the pizza star on Mondays.
The Caprino E Carciofi was so-so as was The prosciutto very tough to chew

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Great food AND service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Wine tasting/pairing was really well done, as was the food and service. Will definitely return for the monthly wine dinners and recommend to my friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 31, 2017

If you like good NY style pizza this is not the place. I'm sure most S Calif like this style pizza as it beats most pizza joints in S Cal.

I do like that they make their own cheese and ingredients. I give them 5 stars for this. Not to common for a restaurant to make food from scratch.

I'll stick to the couple places I know that have good NY style pizza.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Excellent wood fired pizza, reasonable prices, good service. We would definitely go back!

Tags: Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 20, 2017

The pizza was outstanding! Both the classic Margherita and a artichoke hot cheese pesto thin crust. Crust was perfect and the blend of flavors spot on! The drawback was a starter that sounded good but mediocre and wildly overpriced! 12.00 for a tiny plate of sliced Brussels sprouts with a small fennel sausage. Description nothing like final product!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food was delicious, a compliment to the fresh and organic (humanely raised also!) ingredients that they use. Our server was fantastic as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The pizza is insanely delicious. Don't forget to enjoy the crust with a little chili oil. I have now visited Michael's Pizzeria three times. I have to say that while a simple menu every ingredient is paired perfectly. I have enjoyed their homemade pastas to their fresh salads. Parking is a little bit tricky - while you can park in the structure right behind the restaurant, after the two hour validation I was surprised it still cost me $10. Check out your parking options. But the restaurant is a must try. The drive was well worth it for me.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 7, 2017

The pizza and all the other dishes are always delicious

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Overall the service was great, I forget who waitresses name but she was attentitive but not pushy. We were really taking our time and talking with friends and not in a hurry to eat. She took good care of us, the food and drinks were served timely and all was good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We decided to sit outside at the fire pit table even though it was cold out. Staff was very attentive and accommodating when it came to any questions and setting up heaters for us. Food is very good, especially the pizza. Apps are a little on the pricey side but were good. Over all great experience while taking my bf and friends out for his birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Food was great. Waiter was nice. Decor is upbeat. Just too loud. Overall VERY positive! Look forward to going back!

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Kid-friendly, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.