Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

About Michael's Pizzeria - Long Beach

Located on the Promenade in the heart of downtown Long Beach, Michael's Pizzeria is where classic and modern meet. Whether you want to enjoy the simple perfection of a Margherita, or something a little out of the ordinary like the Flori di Zucca made with squash blossoms and honey, your pizza will be made with the freshest ingredients possible and cooked just right in their 800°F wood-burning oven. But it’s not all pizza at Michael’s Pizzeria. They also offer delicious appetizers, salads, entrees cooked and served in cast iron skillets, and of course, an excellent selection of beer and wine.

210 East 3rd Street
Long Beach, CA 90802
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Pizzeria, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Daily: 11:30am - 5:00pm

Dinner

Daily: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Promenade

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(562) 491-2100

Website:
http://www.michaelspizzeria.com/

Parking Details:
2 hrs FREE PARKING in Public lot @ 51 East 3rd Street Long Beach, CA 90802. Also 2hr FREE PARKING w/validation @ "The Lofts at Promenade" private lot!

Executive Chef:
Giuseppe A Musso

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Michael's Pizzeria - Long Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Casual (6)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Great Beer (3)
Authentic (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Family Style (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Cozy (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Fun (1)
People Watching (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Business Meals (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Scenic View (1)
Healthy (0)
Vegan (0)
Sort By:
S
232 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Chef Giuseppe's rigatoni with Italian sausage & robbi

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Great italian wine options and desserts. Wonderfully authentic pasta dishes. Perfectly sized portions

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Good as always. Super tasty. The Briney Melon Gose was a nice addition...

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great pizza and past. Very reasonalbl

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

My friend and I had a wonderful lunch at Michael's before going to MOLAA. Service was exceptional! The food was amazing. We had the prosciutto and mozzarella appetizer, which was delicious. I had the margherita pizza. It was one of the best pizzas I have ever tasted. The crust is super-fresh, and again, the mozzarella is to die for. There was an excellent selection of wine; both Italian and domestic. I chose the Orvieto - yum! My friend ordered the lemon sorbet for dessert, which tasted like lemon meringue pie! I had a delicious cappuccino. It was a lovely lunch in a friendly atmosphere. I would definitely recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Love, love, love Michael's Pizzeria! Best wood fired pizza ever. Super friendly service and great selection of wines and beers.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Fun, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Nice Italian. Food always reliably good. Great pizza and specials. Beer choices are pretty good, although darks are a bit sparse. Overall, a great spot in downtown Long Beach.

Tags: Late-night Find, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 23, 2017

The food was great, the staff was friendly and the place was clean :)

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 16, 2017

It was all so awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 16, 2017

The pasta was NOT Linguini but some egg pasta; had a decent flavor, but was thick pasta and not the pasta for the dish I ordered -- there were ONLY 8 Clams in the dish for $16 and -- NO SAUCE!! The pasta was barely covered in a sauce that gave it flavor. The best thing was the Appetizer of Squash Blossoms! That was delicious, stuffed with cheese and crispy and hot ... 3 for $14? VERY PRICEY but that at least tasted very good. My sister ordred the "chef special trio" and sent it back twice -- did not get charged -- obviously, because she didn't eat but a bite of it... was too salty, pasta ravioli was hard around the edges.. just not a good dish to offer. THE PIZZA is the thing to buy here -- THAT looked excellent, and lots of people were ordering it.

Tags: Quick Bite, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Had a wonderful birthday dinner with friends. Food and wine were excellent! The only caution is that, with the proliferation of online menus, two dishes I was interested in trying were no longer available. The special appetizer of stuffed squash blossoms certainly made up for it.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Fabulous special pork chop with goat cheese and truffles!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Service was a little slow but very friendly. Food was good but very small portions considering the price. I was a little surprised the restaurant was almost empty, we hadn't been there in a while and it was always crowded before. Maybe as the weather warms up the crowds will come back

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Margherita Mondays where pizza is the star buy one and earn a basil & mozzarella margherita for free! The special pappadelle with summer black truffles was sinfully 😊 good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Very pleasant. Nice atmosphere/ambience, attentive staff. Pizza, tasty, hot, fresh premium local ingredients, chewy crust . Only issue was that the base was so thin in the center that it wouldnt support the topping, we all needed a knife and fork .

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Good pizza. Will be back. Nice patio. They do need to add some domestic light beer

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Good, fresh food with some interesting items. Very quiet for weekday lunchtime so nice if you need to hold conversation. Very bright, open and clean.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 15, 2017

The margherita is the pizza star on Mondays.
The Caprino E Carciofi was so-so as was The prosciutto very tough to chew

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Great food AND service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Wine tasting/pairing was really well done, as was the food and service. Will definitely return for the monthly wine dinners and recommend to my friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 31, 2017

If you like good NY style pizza this is not the place. I'm sure most S Calif like this style pizza as it beats most pizza joints in S Cal.

I do like that they make their own cheese and ingredients. I give them 5 stars for this. Not to common for a restaurant to make food from scratch.

I'll stick to the couple places I know that have good NY style pizza.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Excellent wood fired pizza, reasonable prices, good service. We would definitely go back!

Tags: Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 20, 2017

The pizza was outstanding! Both the classic Margherita and a artichoke hot cheese pesto thin crust. Crust was perfect and the blend of flavors spot on! The drawback was a starter that sounded good but mediocre and wildly overpriced! 12.00 for a tiny plate of sliced Brussels sprouts with a small fennel sausage. Description nothing like final product!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food was delicious, a compliment to the fresh and organic (humanely raised also!) ingredients that they use. Our server was fantastic as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The pizza is insanely delicious. Don't forget to enjoy the crust with a little chili oil. I have now visited Michael's Pizzeria three times. I have to say that while a simple menu every ingredient is paired perfectly. I have enjoyed their homemade pastas to their fresh salads. Parking is a little bit tricky - while you can park in the structure right behind the restaurant, after the two hour validation I was surprised it still cost me $10. Check out your parking options. But the restaurant is a must try. The drive was well worth it for me.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 7, 2017

The pizza and all the other dishes are always delicious

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Overall the service was great, I forget who waitresses name but she was attentitive but not pushy. We were really taking our time and talking with friends and not in a hurry to eat. She took good care of us, the food and drinks were served timely and all was good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We decided to sit outside at the fire pit table even though it was cold out. Staff was very attentive and accommodating when it came to any questions and setting up heaters for us. Food is very good, especially the pizza. Apps are a little on the pricey side but were good. Over all great experience while taking my bf and friends out for his birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Food was great. Waiter was nice. Decor is upbeat. Just too loud. Overall VERY positive! Look forward to going back!

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Kid-friendly, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food was amazing, and our waiter was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This was our first time dining at Michael's prior to going to see a concert at the Terrace Theater. Perfect pre-concert dinner. Cozy atmosphere. Great service. Pizza was very good. We will definitely return. Michael's was a wonderful choice.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Went with work colleagues for a team lunch. Picked Margherita Monday when they give you one free margherita pizza for each other pizza you order. Everything was delicious, and we had leftovers we took home in a box. Service was fast and friendly, with smiling servers everywhere. Definitely my favorite pizza place in Long Beach, especially on Mondays when this special saves you a lot of money. They were out of a few ingredients for the specialty pizzas, but had plenty of other options to choose from. Try this place!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Really enjoyed the ambiance, starters and wine list. We had pizzas, and the style is very traditional. The crust could have gone about 30-45 seconds longer as it didn't really hold up. But these pizzas are knife and fork pizzas anyway (which is what you get in Naples/Venice).

Service was a tad slow, but it was National Pizza Day, so it was pretty full.

Overall, I think its a solid spot and we'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 29, 2017

So good! Family owed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Met here for dinner prior to a theatre performance at Long Beach Playhouse. The food was tasty but it was a little slammed so we cut it close to opening curtain.

This is a great gem and our second time frequenting this establishment. Would definitely come again. Great variety of food offerings that pair well with their alcohol menu (beer, wine or cocktails).

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The online reviews had us thinking this was the best pizzeria in Long Beach so we drove from Redondo Beach & Tustin to meet...the best part of the pizza was the crust. The sauce is very bland and the toppings very sparse. The beet salad was good but on the small side and they don't split for you -- they just bring plates -- it was small enough that we just ate it from the one plate centered on the table. The servers are nice but, we really didn't think it was worth $70 for 2 pizzas, a salad and 1 dessert --

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 19, 2017

The pizza was very good and our server Sebastian was quite personable.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Michael's Pizzeria's pizza is simply the best! The lasagne is also outstanding. And, all the serving staff is friendly and helpful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I guess we are now "regulars" because they know our drink orders and waiters who weren't waiting on us this time stopped by to say hi! The food and service are always outstanding...no complaints here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We thought we had a reservation, but found out that we were at the wrong Michael's location. They made us feel completely comfortable, none the less, and seated us within minutes. The service was warm and friendly. Our server definitely had a passion for the food, telling us all about his favorite dishes. We ordered the Brussels sprouts appetizer, a salad, a pasta, and a pizza. Everything was excellent! Thank you, Michael's, for an overall great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.