Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

About Michael's Pizzeria - Long Beach

Located on the Promenade in the heart of downtown Long Beach, Michael's Pizzeria is where classic and modern meet. Whether you want to enjoy the simple perfection of a Margherita, or something a little out of the ordinary like the Flori di Zucca made with squash blossoms and honey, your pizza will be made with the freshest ingredients possible and cooked just right in their 800°F wood-burning oven. But it’s not all pizza at Michael’s Pizzeria. They also offer delicious appetizers, salads, entrees cooked and served in cast iron skillets, and of course, an excellent selection of beer and wine.

210 East 3rd Street
Long Beach, CA 90802
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Pizzeria, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Daily: 11:30am - 5:00pm

Dinner

Daily: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Promenade

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(562) 491-2100

Website:
http://www.michaelspizzeria.com/

Parking Details:
2 hrs FREE PARKING in Public lot @ 51 East 3rd Street Long Beach, CA 90802. Also 2hr FREE PARKING w/validation @ "The Lofts at Promenade" private lot!

Executive Chef:
Giuseppe A Musso

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Michael's Pizzeria - Long Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Authentic (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
People Watching (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Family Style (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Fireplace (2)
Cozy (2)
Fun (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Healthy (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Seasonal (1)
Romantic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Scenic View (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Business Meals (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
210 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent wood fired pizza, reasonable prices, good service. We would definitely go back!

Tags: Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

The pizza was outstanding! Both the classic Margherita and a artichoke hot cheese pesto thin crust. Crust was perfect and the blend of flavors spot on! The drawback was a starter that sounded good but mediocre and wildly overpriced! 12.00 for a tiny plate of sliced Brussels sprouts with a small fennel sausage. Description nothing like final product!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was delicious, a compliment to the fresh and organic (humanely raised also!) ingredients that they use. Our server was fantastic as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The pizza is insanely delicious. Don't forget to enjoy the crust with a little chili oil. I have now visited Michael's Pizzeria three times. I have to say that while a simple menu every ingredient is paired perfectly. I have enjoyed their homemade pastas to their fresh salads. Parking is a little bit tricky - while you can park in the structure right behind the restaurant, after the two hour validation I was surprised it still cost me $10. Check out your parking options. But the restaurant is a must try. The drive was well worth it for me.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The pizza and all the other dishes are always delicious

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Overall the service was great, I forget who waitresses name but she was attentitive but not pushy. We were really taking our time and talking with friends and not in a hurry to eat. She took good care of us, the food and drinks were served timely and all was good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Fireplace, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 27, 2017

We decided to sit outside at the fire pit table even though it was cold out. Staff was very attentive and accommodating when it came to any questions and setting up heaters for us. Food is very good, especially the pizza. Apps are a little on the pricey side but were good. Over all great experience while taking my bf and friends out for his birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food was great. Waiter was nice. Decor is upbeat. Just too loud. Overall VERY positive! Look forward to going back!

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Live Sports, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food was amazing, and our waiter was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 16, 2017

This was our first time dining at Michael's prior to going to see a concert at the Terrace Theater. Perfect pre-concert dinner. Cozy atmosphere. Great service. Pizza was very good. We will definitely return. Michael's was a wonderful choice.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Went with work colleagues for a team lunch. Picked Margherita Monday when they give you one free margherita pizza for each other pizza you order. Everything was delicious, and we had leftovers we took home in a box. Service was fast and friendly, with smiling servers everywhere. Definitely my favorite pizza place in Long Beach, especially on Mondays when this special saves you a lot of money. They were out of a few ingredients for the specialty pizzas, but had plenty of other options to choose from. Try this place!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Really enjoyed the ambiance, starters and wine list. We had pizzas, and the style is very traditional. The crust could have gone about 30-45 seconds longer as it didn't really hold up. But these pizzas are knife and fork pizzas anyway (which is what you get in Naples/Venice).

Service was a tad slow, but it was National Pizza Day, so it was pretty full.

Overall, I think its a solid spot and we'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 29, 2017

So good! Family owed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Met here for dinner prior to a theatre performance at Long Beach Playhouse. The food was tasty but it was a little slammed so we cut it close to opening curtain.

This is a great gem and our second time frequenting this establishment. Would definitely come again. Great variety of food offerings that pair well with their alcohol menu (beer, wine or cocktails).

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The online reviews had us thinking this was the best pizzeria in Long Beach so we drove from Redondo Beach & Tustin to meet...the best part of the pizza was the crust. The sauce is very bland and the toppings very sparse. The beet salad was good but on the small side and they don't split for you -- they just bring plates -- it was small enough that we just ate it from the one plate centered on the table. The servers are nice but, we really didn't think it was worth $70 for 2 pizzas, a salad and 1 dessert --

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The pizza was very good and our server Sebastian was quite personable.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Michael's Pizzeria's pizza is simply the best! The lasagne is also outstanding. And, all the serving staff is friendly and helpful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I guess we are now "regulars" because they know our drink orders and waiters who weren't waiting on us this time stopped by to say hi! The food and service are always outstanding...no complaints here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We thought we had a reservation, but found out that we were at the wrong Michael's location. They made us feel completely comfortable, none the less, and seated us within minutes. The service was warm and friendly. Our server definitely had a passion for the food, telling us all about his favorite dishes. We ordered the Brussels sprouts appetizer, a salad, a pasta, and a pizza. Everything was excellent! Thank you, Michael's, for an overall great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Friend's birthday - everything was great as usual plus they brought out a nice birthday dessert for her.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Specials here are

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Top-notch woodfired pizza. Great service. Clean restaurant and a nice environment. Definitely recommend!

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Best pizza I've ever had! Ordered the margherita and added Calebrese Salame. Cute outdoor patio with heaters for cooler weather. Would love to come back. Only complaint is there is not one in TN.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The food was excellent. I especially loved the burrata and the arancini appetizers. I had a pasta with truffle entree which was delicious and just as good when I had it as a left over a couple of days later. The chef was very generous with the truffles. We ate outside on the patio which was pleasant. I was surprised how quickly the tables filled up. Jose was our server who was very nice and attentive - I wasn't too happy that he talked us into dessert because I was full but ended up finishing the delicious homemade cannoli's I ordered. We will definitely go back again when in Long Beach and already told some friends in the area that it's a restaurant they have to try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 9, 2016

I thought the food was excellent but was a little disappointed in the wine selection. However, I would definitely go back. The server did a good job with our large party.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 3, 2016

We want to Michaels for a family birthday so we had a group with quite a varied age range. From 8 to 83 and all were very pleased. Our sweet waitress told our 8 year old about their make your own pizza for kids. She was thrilled to press out her own pizza dough and then select her toppings. Everyone else loved their house made pasta (delicious!) and the pizzas were amazing! I loved the white pizza with arugula drizzled with balsamic. Yum!!! The outdoor fire pit looked so cozy and inviting, however we ended up sitting inside and were very comfortable. We will be back!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 20, 2016

I had been really great things about Michael's Pizzeria. Some friends came to town so I suggested we go there. It may have been a bad night, it happens sometimes. I had to ask for my drink 5 times in the space of the 90 minutes or so we were there. The pizza was a little undercooked and soggy. The staff seemed friendly, but off their game. I really liked the feel of the restaurant. It is a vibrant, spot.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 6, 2016

My new best place for Pizza! They make the BEST Pizza!!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 6, 2016

A little pricy for the four of us. The food was enjoyable, but the sticker shock took a bite out of the meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 4, 2016

My friends and I went for the special Italian Piedmont wine pairing dinner. All the dishes were nicely prepared and the wine pairings were spot on!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 3, 2016

We dined here on last tuesday night. We dined inside. It was super quite. The service was amazing. I'm not sure if that's the norm or if it was due to a slow night. The food was good. We had a calamari and pizza. Based upon the reviews I was expecting more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Menu needs to be freshened up. Nothing memorable except sitting on the roof top.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 27, 2016

Way overpriced food for very small portions. The $12 pizza was worth it but the pasta and the salad were a total rip. The wait staff was very inexperienced and I got a $49.00 parking ticket because I went over the expiration date because they screwed up our order and we were there longer than expected. Also, we could hardly hear ourselves talk over the speakers which were blaring music. Also, I know the cooks and the wait staff were excited about the Chile/Argentina game, but don't scream and jump up and down every time your team makes a goal or something, disrupting the patrons who are trying to enjoy their meal and have pleasant conversation. Basically, the whole experience was a waste of $40.00 The total bill was $60 and change and again, the pizza was awesome. The rest you can have. I want my hard earned money back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 26, 2016

We loved it so much that we went back twice in one week.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 25, 2016

From the service to the food, everything was great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 21, 2016

Michael's is awesome. I prefer this location over Naples. Both the space and the food are more enjoyable here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 14, 2016

All appetizers were half price at noon at this particular day. Had a couple and a pizza. Food was very good. Fresh ingredients and favors were tasty. Corkage was $10 which is reasonable. Ate in the patio and very comfortable for us girls to chat. Service was attentive.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 13, 2016

Great food but ambiance was similar to a Quiznos

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Love love love the lasagna! It's so wonderful! A zillion layers of the thinnest most delicious homemade noodles! My fave!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.