About Michael's Pizzeria - Long Beach

210 East 3rd Street
Long Beach, CA 90802
View Larger Map

Located on the Promenade in the heart of downtown Long Beach, Michael's Pizzeria is where classic and modern meet. Whether you want to enjoy the simple perfection of a Margherita, or something a little out of the ordinary like the Flori di Zucca made with squash blossoms and honey, your pizza will be made with the freshest ingredients possible and cooked just right in their 800°F wood-burning oven. But it’s not all pizza at Michael’s Pizzeria. They also offer delicious appetizers, salads, entrees cooked and served in cast iron skillets, and of course, an excellent selection of beer and wine.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Pizzeria, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Daily: 11:30am - 5:00pm

Dinner

Daily: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Promenade

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(562) 491-2100

Website:
http://www.michaelspizzeria.com/

Parking Details:
2 hrs FREE PARKING in Public lot @ 51 East 3rd Street Long Beach, CA 90802. Also 2hr FREE PARKING w/validation @ "The Lofts at Promenade" private lot!

Executive Chef:
David Coleman

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Michael's Pizzeria - Long Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Long Beach / Catalina
Great for Lunch
Long Beach / Catalina
Outdoor Dining
Long Beach / Catalina
Best Restaurants in Long Beach ›

fit for foodies (21)
great for outdoor dining (21)
great for lunch (18)
See All
neighborhood gem (12)
kid-friendly (10)
good for groups (9)
great for brunch (8)
hot spot (8)
special occasion (8)
notable wine list (7)
romantic (5)
late-night find (3)
vibrant bar scene (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
172 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the service to the food, everything ...

Dined 4 days ago

From the service to the food, everything was great!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Michael's is awesome. I prefer this loc ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Michael's is awesome. I prefer this location over Naples. Both the space and the food are more enjoyable here.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

All appetizers were half price at noon a ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

All appetizers were half price at noon at this particular day. Had a couple and a pizza. Food was very good. Fresh ingredients and favors were tasty. Corkage was $10 which is reasonable. Ate in the patio and very comfortable for us girls to chat. Service was attentive.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Love love love the lasagna! It's so wond ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Love love love the lasagna! It's so wonderful! A zillion layers of the thinnest most delicious homemade noodles! My fave!

food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing as ever. And outstandin ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Food was amazing as ever. And outstanding service by David, once again. We eat at a very slow pace, and service was customized to accommodate. Thank you, Michael's!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I was born in Italy, this is authentic food.

Dined on June 5, 2016

In door and outdoor, trendy and friendly. Home made pasta, zucchini flowers, the real deal. Will be going back next time I'm in Southern California.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Best pizza in LB. Hands down. Beer and w ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Best pizza in LB. Hands down. Beer and wine selections are always spot on.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner was great! Also dessert was amazi ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Dinner was great! Also dessert was amazing! We ordered three different desserts and they were all fantastic!

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great for family weeknight dining

Dined on May 18, 2016

We enjoyed it. It was a great experience for my kids. The pizza reminded me of a few pizza places I dined at in Europe. The staff was polite and friendly. We were treated like regulars even though it was our first dining.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We chose this restaurant for a nice but ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

We chose this restaurant for a nice but casual dinner with out of town guests the night before my son's graduation. Everything was perfect. There is something for everyone on the menu, service was excellent, and the wine list is perfect too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

By the beach, ready to eat

Dined on May 9, 2016

Great atmosphere & fantastic food service! Servers always attentive. The only problem was the pizza could have been cooked a bit more. My sister ordered a small personal pizza. When she received her pizza the dough was a undercooked. Therefore my sister was not able to finish her meal, but instead kept it as a play dough toy. Overall the experience was great. One quick tip for summer outdoor eaters, if looking for a quick lunch or brunch in mid day, do not sit on the table with the fire pit in the middle. Absolutely horrible sun burns can easily happen.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yumm!!!

Dined on April 24, 2016

The best Napoli style pizza and it's so close to home!! I am here at least once a week for either margherita Mondays or the happy hour. This last visit was specifically to try the Dine LBC lunch menu. They informed me that they decided to not do the lunch menu and only honor their dinner menu. I was sad because I wanted to try the special spaghetti dish that wasn't on their regular menu. The waiter immediately asked the chef if he could still make it for me and he did!! It ended up being the best thing on our table. Now that's what I call customer service.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Some very interesting and deliciously di ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Some very interesting and deliciously distinct pizza!!!

food5
ambience4
service4

Food is amazing. Love the brick oven coo ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Food is amazing. Love the brick oven cooking and great service. Although the server got our wine wrong but everything else outside that small issue!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely fantastic

Dined on March 17, 2016

I loved everything about Michael's. The food was of course fantastic, but so were the wine and ambiance. So great, don't miss this.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service1

Food is spot on. Minus the pizza chefs, ...

vip
Dined on March 15, 2016

Food is spot on. Minus the pizza chefs, the service needs some work.

food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Michael's

Dined on March 13, 2016

The pizza was really good and they let my niece shape her own pizza.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Michael's Pizza surprises your mouth!

Dined on March 13, 2016

We had the sausage and shredded Brussel sprouts and the calamari for an appetizer. The shredded sprouts had me at "hello, how do these taste like something I want more of?" The calimari was lightly breaded and fried and was so light tasting, I almost forgot I was eating fried food. Jay, our server, helped us home in on a wine we liked by letting us taste a few Italian Reds. He was patient and attuned and so I purposefully looked at the other staff to see if the were tuned in also. And they were. That is a great feeling to look around and see people really tuned in to the details of what they're doing. We had the carbonara pizza for dinner. It's a tomato-less wonder with two over easy eggs on top. The wood oven crust with just the right thickness and texture pulled the whole combination together.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Don't order the pizza

Dined on March 6, 2016

We had heard great things about this place and I was excited to surprise my husband and booked a reservation here. We were seated in the middle of the main thoroughfare between the bar and booths, where no tables should exist! The outside seating, which was halfway filled, looked great but we were told we could not sit there. Our waiter was wonderful and friendly, so that's a plus. The salad was fresh and flavorful. Unfortunately, the pizza was so salty I could not even eat it, and I love salty food! I mentioned this to our waiter and he said that the meat combination was a little salty, but the problem was not just the meat...the crust was 10x saltier than a pretzel. This is the first time ever that I have not been able to eat the food at a restaurant. I was so disappointed that my special night out was a bust.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I really enjoyed the quality of food here.

Dined on March 5, 2016

Ingredients tasted incredibly fresh, modern minimalist ambiance, great wine selection. Would definitely take a group here for a special occasion. Loved the music.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, good service

Dined on February 27, 2016

Highly recommend..................................................good liqs.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food.

Dined on February 15, 2016

The food was great, it was a busy night, the wait was worth it, great value!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

Lovely Valentine's Day Dinner

Dined on February 15, 2016

Michael's Chef put together a delicious prix fixe menu with 2 choices per course. It was most difficult to choose between them, but we were happy with everything we tasted. The tables were a little close for comfort, but lent itself to entering into the conversations on both sides which proved entertaining and interesting as well. Our Biggest Problem was learning that Michael's Pizzeria has two Long Beach locations: Naples (which is in Long Beach) and Long Beach (on the Promenade downtown Long Beach). It would have been nice if their emails differentiated more clearly the two addresses. We, of course, will not make that mistake again, but still proved rather embarrassing and awkward at the time (as we had taken another couple with us and we thought we knew what we were doing...)

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Perfect for romantic dinner for two.

Dined on February 15, 2016

I made a reservation for two, at around 4:30pm. The sun was barley setting and was pretty empty for Valentine's Day, which was great! My date and I had the option of either dining inside or outside and of course like any romantic guy would hope, outside was the perfect choice. It was pretty windy so I was hoping they would turn the outside heaters on, unfortunately they didn't. The waiters were very kind. The food was fantastic but a bit pricey for the amount we were served. Overall great experience and will soon come again!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Thr homemade pasta was great. The noodle ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Thr homemade pasta was great. The noodles were al dente. The sauce sis not overwhelm the flavors of the meat. A good balance. Also ordered a pizza. The crust is light yet crispy. The toppings do not smother the crust.

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great Food!

Dined on February 12, 2016

We love the food @ Michael's. Everything we've had has been very delicious. The one thing we've had a issue with is there is always a backup on food orders. The staff is professional but they don't seem ready for the dining times. This last visit was for the Valentines Day Prix Fixe meal and they didn't have our reservation in their system. We were seated promptly without question but...Odd.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4

Our server David did a great job. The ri ...

Dined on February 10, 2016

Our server David did a great job. The risotto was amazing!

food5
ambience5
service2
value5

It always gets better!

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

My husband and I had a date here on Saturday night and everything we ordered was fresh and tasty. We sat at the counter and enjoyed watching the chefs prepare the food. We ordered the bruschetta off the specials list and it was so good. My husband at the one with the meat and I ate the other two that were topped with non meat ingredients. He ordered soup and said it was really flavorful. It was a very generous portion as well. I had the ruccola salad and it was great as usual. My pizza entree with the pesto, goat cheese, potato and artichoke hearts was so amazing. It's was so good that I won't order any other pizza. The pasta my husband ordered had to have been homemade made. It had the perfect amount of sauce meat ratio. Our waiter Jose was fantastic. Can't wait to go back!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great customer service good food

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

Great customer service good food

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Healthy Family Dining

Dined on January 24, 2016

We are seniors and brought our 83 year old mom. Everyone liked their dinners. The place caters to families as well as young people and old. Very healthful options were nice to see in the menu in addition to good pizza.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So great!!!

vip
Dined on January 17, 2016

Had dinner at Michaels Pizzaria with the family and it was outstanding. They have so many new menu options. I had the arugula salad and pizza, both of which were fresh and tasty. My husband had the chicken calabrase and said it was flavorful and cooked perfectly. My teenager had the ceasar salad and tagliatelle bolognese. He said the pasta tasted homemade and the sauce which included veal and Chianina was one of the best he's had. The dessert was delicious as well. We have had many other things on the menu such as gnocchi, lasagne, chicken parm, ossobuco, and we have never been disappointed. If I lived in Long Beach I would eat there several times a week. Unfortunately living in downtown huntington I can only get there every week or so. I can't wait to go back this weekend.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice place. The food is best ! Past ...

vip
Dined on January 16, 2016

Very nice place. The food is best ! Pasta and Pizza Traditional.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always good food, fresh.

Dined on January 12, 2016

Everything made on the premises, including the cheese. Good beer and wine. Top notch...

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

A winner!

Dined on December 12, 2015

My group of 14 people thoroughly enjoyed and raved about the food and service. The best!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always delicious

vip
Dined on November 27, 2015

I have written a few reviews already about the fantastic calamari and pizza, so this time I will just comment on a happy mistake. I requested prosciutto et pere, meaning the pizza I usually order, and asked they skip the pear. The waiter brought me a plate with prosciutto, burrata and little bread rounds. It turns out there is also a prosciutto et pere appetizer! He offered to get me the pizza ASAP and asked if I would like the appetizer in the meantime. And OMG, so glad I said yes! The bread was fresh out of the oven, heavy and dense; the cheese soft and creamy; and the prosciutto paper-thin. Together, it made for a party in my mouth. I loved it so much I insisted he charge me for it despite his protests. Now I won't know which appetizer to order when I eat there!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We always enjoy eating here. We sat insi ...

vip
Dined on November 21, 2015

We always enjoy eating here. We sat inside because it was too hot and bright outside, but on cooler days we enjoy the patio. Even though there was a large birthday party going on and it is a small place, it still didn't seem noisy. I personally don't care for gelato, tiramisu, etc but I can't ding them for not having sonething I would eat...it IS an Italian place after all!

food3
ambience4
service4

Seasonings

Dined on November 21, 2015

I think the food needed more salt or pepper...something. The meat in the lasagna didn't taste like I know it could. The flavor was bland.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

The finest Frittatas for brunch. Caprino ...

vip
Dined on November 19, 2015

The finest Frittatas for brunch. Caprino E Carciofi, pesto, baby artichokes, fingerling potatoes, mozzarella, & goat cheese. It's f'n fantastic

food5
ambience5
service5

Loving the new menu!

vip
Dined on November 16, 2015

Went to Michael's Pizzeria on Sunday evening and had a great meal. My salad and pizza was tasty and all the ingredients were very fresh. The calamari appetizer was crispy and lightly battered, just how I like it. The olives and fresh baked bread was good as well. My husband enjoyed his osso buco pork shank with risotto. My son raved about his gnocchi with oxtail and chianina. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Monday's Madness is in Michael's popular ...

vip
Dined on November 9, 2015

Monday's Madness is in Michael's popular Pizze! Margharita Mondays - buy one & earn a free mozzarella & fresh basil pie. The savings. The savor.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.