Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Momofuku DaishōMomofuku Daishō
(674)
$$$$
Contemporary Canadian | Downtown / Financial District, Toronto
Booked 53 times today
Copacabana Brazilian Steakhouse - Adelaide (Downtown)Copacabana Brazilian Steakhouse - Adelaide (Downtown)
(1273)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Downtown / Financial District, Toronto
Booked 96 times today
Byblos - TorontoByblos - Toronto
(965)
$$$$
Mediterranean | Downtown / Financial District, Toronto
Booked 103 times today
Los ColibrisLos Colibris
(971)
$$$$
International | Downtown / Financial District, Toronto
Booked 26 times today
Lee Chen Asian Bistro- King WestLee Chen Asian Bistro- King West
(61)
$$$$
Asian | King West, Toronto
Booked 12 times today
El Caballito Tequila BarEl Caballito Tequila Bar
(182)
$$$$
International | Downtown / Financial District, Toronto
Booked 22 times today
Momofuku Shōtō (Counter Seating - Chef's Tasting)Momofuku Shōtō (Counter Seating - Chef's Tasting)
(122)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Downtown / Financial District, Toronto
Booked 15 times today
BOSK at Shangri-La Hotel TorontoBOSK at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
(717)
$$$$
Contemporary Canadian | Downtown / Financial District, Toronto
Booked 19 times today
Elephant & Castle - Toronto King St.Elephant & Castle - Toronto King St.
(10)
$$$$
British | Downtown / Entertainment District, Toronto
Booked 9 times today
The Lobby Lounge at the Shangri-La TorontoThe Lobby Lounge at the Shangri-La Toronto
Reviews Coming Soon
$$$$
Canadian | Downtown / Financial District, Toronto
360 The Restaurant at the CN Tower360 The Restaurant at the CN Tower
(16373)
$$$$
Continental | Downtown / Entertainment District, Toronto
Booked 363 times today
Canoe Restaurant and BarCanoe Restaurant and Bar
(3211)
$$$$
Continental | Downtown / Financial District, Toronto
Booked 114 times today
Miku Restaurant - TorontoMiku Restaurant - Toronto
(779)
$$$$
Japanese | Downtown / Financial District, Toronto
Booked 112 times today
PatriaPatria
(698)
$$$$
Spanish | King West, Toronto
Booked 57 times today
FigoFigo
(488)
$$$$
Contemporary Italian | Downtown / Entertainment District, Toronto
Booked 73 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Michael's on Simcoe

Michael’s on Simcoe playfully combines the best of contemporary cuisine, featuring USDA prime steak, fresh seafood and authentic homemade pastas. Classic cocktails are re-invented to tantalize your taste buds and our extensive wine list will tempt even those with the most discerning taste. Conveniently located in the heart of the Financial and Entertainment districts, Michael’s on Simcoe brings new life to one of the most energetic districts in downtown Toronto. This restaurant breaks down the barriers of a traditional steakhouse by challenging the overly masculine ambience that has long been the trademark of its genre. Please let us know how you heard of us in the note section of your reservation.

100 Simcoe St
Toronto, ON M5H 3L2
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 4:30 pm - Close

Saturday - Sunday: 5:00 pm - Close

Cross Street:
Adelaide

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 260-5100

Website:
http://www.michaelsonsimcoe.com/

Entertainment:
Live DJ on Thursday's and Saturday's

Catering:
Please contact us for offsite catering

Parking Details:
Valet parking at the door ( $15)
Public parking lot (behind building)
Street parking

Public Transit:
King st streetcar #504
Stop at Simcoe st and walk north one block

Yonge / University subway line
One block west of St.Andrew station

Executive Chef:
Derek Von Raesfeld

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Consisting of a chic long bar, formal dining room and semi-private lounge area, we have the capacity to host several functions simultaneously.

We can accommodate private and corporate events, client meetings, wedding receptions, business dinners, product launches, cocktail receptions,premiere parties and more….

Sort By:
S
404 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 9, 2017

For the winterlicious they put you in the lounge not restaurant so felt more casual. Later in the night in the lounge there was live music so worked out however I made this reso for a special occasion so the lounge took away from that. Also 2 of my dishes (app and main), all they did was change the protein but sides were the same so not very exciting ..

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Went for Winterlicious. This restaurant is absolutely beautifully decorated, and the seats are by far the most comfortable of any restaurant. Our server was slightly on the supercilious side, but not to the point where anyone would get annoyed. Overall, the service here is very good.

The wine selection is quite good, albeit pricy. But there are several quite good choices that are more within reach of the budget conscious.

The plates are beautifully presented, and the food is very tasty - so that's a win! Prices are definitely higher than other comparable restaurants, so it's great that they're participating in Winterlicious.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 1, 2017

I went during Winterlicious, so I'm not sure if this experience would be the same otherwise. I made a reservation for 7:15 didn't get seated until 7:45pm. That has been the longest I've waited for a reserve table in a long time, even in other major metropolitan cities. Even after being seated, it took another 20 mins to be served water, another 20 for our wine, etc. I had to ask for the bill 3 times. Took about 30 mins for that to come. The whole night seemed a bit slow. SO my review is based on SERVICE. The food was what I expected. It was good.

I spent maybe an 1 1/2 hours more than what I wanted in that restaurant. And at some point I wondered if they were judging me based on my ethnicity, how I looked, how I dressed, etc. I came from work, so I couldn't have been that bad, I mean I had 3 hours to wonder why everything was going so poorly.

At the end of the night as we were receiving our coats, the waiter came up to us and told us that he was sorry, but they were short staffed. So he was really nice, but I probably wouldn't go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I will not come back to this restaurant and will be sure to tell my friends the same. I can understand that at times table turnaround is priority but I am told ahead of time that you have a limited amount of time at a table. At Michaels someone at the back of the house came to our table, did not introduce themselves and simply in a very negative tone said "you have been here for 3 hours, we have a line, wrap it up and leave." I did not spend $300 to be treated as such. This was very rude and unacceptable! I am awed and baffled at such disrespect.

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We were excited to try this place out.

The overall ambiance of the restaurant is very nice however I encountered some issues from the time I pulled up to the valet. I was parked out front for 5 minutes & nobody came to get us, so I pulled past the restaurant to the next street walked over to tell the valet, that my car is running in the middle of the street & he took my key looked at me & continued to stand in front. I walked over to my car to get my friend & on my way back, I had to remind him that the car is running still and to go get it. 3rd attempt he got it.

Hostesses we well mannered & provided a great impression while taking our coats & walking us over to our table.

Service is EXTREMELY slow, our server seemed a bit confused about the menu when we asked for some recommendations aside from steak for one of us. He pointed out a pasta as a meal and was reading the menu in front of us and couldn't think of anything else. He explained the steaks well, and gave us a few moments to order. We ordered two drinks, they were made wrong, however he did offer to replace them after realizing.

Now we're ready to order and he came back, I ordered one of the recommended PEI steaks with sea salt fries and my friend ordered the pasta as a meal. About 35 minutes later, the food came out, was given to the table beside us first. No big deal, it's a common mistake that happens every now and then. After placing our plates on the table, we noticed the pasta had four pieces of rigatoni with they appropriate sauce and garnishes which was awkward as we were expecting a pasta meal. The server noticed the disappointment on our faces and said that he punched in the small pasta portion by mistake and would be bringing out a meal size pasta next. There was no option for a smaller pasta portion that we noticed on the menu and at this point was quite turned off by the overall experience. The steak I ordered was medium, it was prepared as medium rare.

I don't recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Michael's on Simco was amazing! I made a reservation on Open Table about a week prior to the dinner but when we arrived we didn't actually have a reservation. They said they have been having issues with the booking process. Regardless they work everything out and seating my fiancé and I. The food was AMAZING!!

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 10, 2017

This is a must -go -to steakhouse! The food is absolutely divine !! The service is unparrallel to none other! Kelly is a waiter you will never come across again. His professionalism, passion for food, and delivering exceptional service is outstanding. The ambiance, the food, and service are remarkable.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was very good, service was fine. The restaurant was kind enough to accommodate the request for a booth, however our reservation was for 10pm (booked almost 2 weeks in advance) and we were seated at 11:25pm, that was quite a long wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 29, 2016

This particular dining experience was an amazing way to end the year. My wife and I had a very stressfull 2016 and our experience at Michael's was amazing. From the minute we walked through the front door the service was fantastic. The restaurant was not particularly busy when we arrived so the noise level was very low and the lighting was perfect. The wait staff was fabulous and made it feel like you had been invited to a friend's home and they were exicted to see you. Our waiter was very knowledgable, friendly and seemed to know when he should be at our table and when to leave us alone to enjoy our meal. Michael's is amazing at letting you share your appetizers and entrees so that you can enjoy a big selection of items from the menu. Our waiter was excellent at informing us of what would go well together and how much we should be ordering. The wine list was excellent as well. Our meal was amazing from the appetizers to the dessert. We would say that this was the best dining experience we had in 2016 and will definitely be going back in 2017. Cheers

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Amazing hidden gem.. Food and service was impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Over priced. . I was looking for a great steak house this is not it!!!! Server was rude.The greens where horrible. Small portion. No sound proofing at all. Just a fad. 600 dollar dinner for four and no alchool. Was not at all worth it. Go to the Keg better value and I am not even crazy about the Keg. It is just a fad restaurant. Want high end and quality 100 percent recommend Canoe. This place was garbage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I enjoyed the vibe,however I am more a classic steak house guy.That being said our experience was good.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Amazing! Everything was on point and excellent. Food, drinks and ambiance were top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Beautiful place! The food, the service, the cocktails, the overall experience was beyond amazing! Thank you for the excellent service Kelly! Top notch! We really enjoyed our evening :) Will definitely come back! I highly recommend this place!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Very accommodating staff. The food was great and the restaurant was a fun place to be. Filled up right at 6pm on a Friday and got a little loud but still a very enjoyable environment. Aged bone in rib eye was good but not the best steak I have had for a $100 price tag. Next time I go I will likely avoid their aged steaks or go for something different all together. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. Noise level was a little bit high considering how large the table was, it was a little hard to carry conversation. I liked the wide range of steaks available and the different price points. Food and decor were outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We go there quite often however this time the service wasn't up to par compared to normal the food was still amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Fine dining prices without the fine dining dining service experience. Server was pleasant but not polished and certainly not up to fine dining standards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Great ambiance, excellent service, but the steaks were lukewarm and very salty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Enjoyed the romantic atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Excellent meal, lovely atmosphere, and extremely attentive service - thanks for an amazing night out Michael's on Simcoe!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Excellent place for a quite dinner for two!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Went there yesterday for dinner with friends. We love steaks but have never been to Michaels before. Apparently, it was a poor choice of restaurant. First of all, we had to wait for ~15-20 min to order drinks. The waiter gave us menus and never came back. We had to waive at him after 15 min to let him know we were ready to order drinks. Second, the waiter couldn't explain to me how big or small were the sides. I wasn't sure if we needed 1 or 2 sides to order with the steaks (+ appetizer), and he just couldn't show me the size. My husband and I ordered dry-ages T-bone 24 oz to share, medium rare. The steak arrived rare, completely cold inside. My husband was ok to have rare steak, but I asked to change mine. They have cooked it more and brought me medium/medium-well done steak. I refused to have it. After that they brought me a new steak which was medium rare, finally! We also ordered cauliflower as a side to share, and we mentioned that to the waiter explicitly. The other couple ordered potatoes with their steaks. Well, they have served cauliflower and potatoes to everyone at the table. The night was completely ruined. Will never go back to this restaurant. It's not cheap, so if you pay $300 for dinner, you expect at least good service and you expect that they know how to cook steak in the steakhouse.

I'd rater have had the steak at Jacobs. Same price, but extraordinary service and always great steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Being from out of town, we found the prices high. Service, food adn dining room were all 10 out of 10. Will go back though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Wow! Our dinner at Michael's on Simcoe was one of the best experiences that I've had in years. From the beautiful live music, beyond perfect service and incredible food, it was honestly just a perfect experience. Amazing attention to detail and great vibe all around.

Our group had to rush out to a show but ended up wishing we had skipped our event and just stayed at Michael's for the night. What a special place. Great job.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, People Watching, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Keep up the great work!!!! I have been to Michael's on several occasions and it keeps getting better!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Food is so good they made a special plate starter with 1 scallop 1 shrimp and 1 crab leg ..... each with an amazing sauce!!!! Steak was Un believable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Everything was extremely amazing! Music, food, ambiance and staff. I wish I could give it 20 stars!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Wonderful service and excellent food make it a favourite spot for us. Those with discerning palates or pre-theatre/opera needs will not be disappointed.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 15, 2016

So good here. Very happy with the food. Literally best steak I've ever had

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Michaels is first class every time. The sophisticated yet relaxed style makes for a perfect evening. Trevor best server and nicest person - amazing dinner. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Amazing service! Amazing food! The setting was so nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Really enjoyed the evening at Michael's. The ambience was modern but warm and pleasant. The waiter was most courteous and informative but not in your face. The food was great- started with delicious new cocktails, a Caesar salad , and a great filet done just right, only the roasted corn was a bit too spicy for me and that was unexpected. Next time I'll ask them to leave out the chilli peppers or order a different side.! We ordered the chef's afogato for dessert and because it was my birthday they added a glass of berries and wrote Happy Birthday in chocolate on the plate, and that was delicious as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 7, 2016

The food was amazing. I had the lamb and it was probably the best cooked lamb i ever had! And they had a good variaty of drinks

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Décor was fabulous, as was the wine and Caesar salad I had. Hubby and I were less impressed with the steaks and that's what we had come for - they were good, no question - just not great. Dessert choice of the upside down pineapple cake was not loved by either of us, it was ok, but for the money we paid, I wanted it all to be outstanding. Very attentive wait staff, food was served in a timely manner. I'd go back, but hubby likely won't.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Michael's was the outstanding experience of our trip to Toronto. Great, great steak. Service was excellent. Also had the gnocci. It was outstanding. Will definitely return on our next trip to Toronto.

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Michael's prepared a meal that I will remember for a long time. First, Toronto is an amazing city - very walkable and Michael's was about a 10 minute walk from our hotel. Very safe, lots of people on the streets. The minute you walk into this restaurant you just know it's going to be a great meal. The hostess was very friendly and we were shown to our table almost immediately. The server was helpful without being overbearing. We ordered cocktails and told him we wanted to enjoy them before ordering our meal - no problem. Once we ordered, the food was delivered timely but not rushed. This was one of the best steaks I have ever had; it was perfectly prepared and the side dishes were delicious. There is also a nice wine list with plenty of selections. I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our meal and if I ever get back to Toronto, Micheal's is a sure bet for dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Had a business dinner here and a week later my customers are still thanking me. I will definitely go back and would highly recommend it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Michaels is a 5 star experience from beginning to end. Excellent service, excellent food and Michael is always there to checks me make sure your having the "Michaels on Simcoe experience" Top Notch!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Mouthwatering steak that is so tender it makes the steak knife provided almost obsolete! All of the menu items that we ordered were fabulous. Attentive but not obsequious service. Live music and DJ on Saturday night. While it gave great ambiance, it makes conversation a challenge when seated at one of the tables surrounding the bar area. I'll definitely go back but will specify at the time of my reservation that I am not to be seated near the bar area.

Tags: Live Music, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.