About Michael's on Simcoe

100 Simcoe St
Toronto, ON M5H 3L2
View Larger Map

Michael’s on Simcoe playfully combines the best of contemporary cuisine, featuring USDA prime steak, fresh seafood and authentic homemade pastas. Classic cocktails are re-invented to tantalize your taste buds and our extensive wine list will tempt even those with the most discerning taste. Conveniently located in the heart of the Financial and Entertainment districts, Michael’s on Simcoe brings new life to one of the most energetic districts in downtown Toronto. This restaurant breaks down the barriers of a traditional steakhouse by challenging the overly masculine ambience that has long been the trademark of its genre. Please let us know how you heard of us in the note section of your reservation.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 4:30 am - Close

Saturday - Sunday: 5:00 pm - Close

Cross Street:
Adelaide

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 260-5100

Website:
http://www.michaelsonsimcoe.com/

Entertainment:
Live DJ on Thursday's and Saturday's

Catering:
Please contact us for offsite catering

Parking Details:
Valet parking at the door ( $15)
Public parking lot (behind building)
Street parking

Public Transit:
King st streetcar #504
Stop at Simcoe st and walk north one block

Yonge / University subway line
One block west of St.Andrew station

Executive Chef:
Derek Von Raesfeld

Private Party Facilities:
RESTAURANT, BAR AND LOUNGE CAPACITIES

Seated Lunch/Dinner

Dining Room: 100 guests
Bar and Lounge: 50 guests
Semi-Private section in the Lounge: 25-30 guests
Dining Room, Bar and Lounge: 150 guests

Stand Up Reception

Dining Room: 150
Bar and Lounge: 150
Semi-Private section in the Lounge: 50
Dining Room, Bar and Lounge: 250

*Please note that these are numbers are based on our maximum capacities and we can certainly accommodate smaller functions.

Private Party Contact:
sandra@michaelsonsimcoe.com: 4162605100x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Consisting of a chic long bar, formal dining room and semi-private lounge area, we have the capacity to host several functions simultaneously.

We can accommodate private and corporate events, client meetings, wedding receptions, business dinners, product launches, cocktail receptions,premiere parties and more….

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Give dad the gift of Michaels On Simcoe this Fathers Day
Purchase a gift card or join us for Dinner Sunday June 9th

Michael's on Simcoe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (78)
romantic (61)
fit for foodies (52)
See All
notable wine list (35)
good for groups (28)
hot spot (27)
vibrant bar scene (15)
neighborhood gem (9)
late-night find (8)
kid-friendly (2)
scenic view (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
great for brunch (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
315 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Service!! Excellent Food!!

Dined 6 days ago

32 oz. Kobe Striploin was outstanding. Everything we ordered was made to perfection.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We had a very enjoyable dinner here with ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

We had a very enjoyable dinner here with friends on a Friday night

food5
ambience5
service5

Service I was really good but the food w ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Service I was really good but the food was amazing.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome

Dined on May 9, 2016

The service and food was simply superb, highly recommended

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Kobe strip loin would have been amazing ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Kobe strip loin would have been amazing by itself but it was too salty. Dry aged rib eye was decent, got rare but asked for medium rare. Lobster bisque and barrata were delicious. The poutine was mediocre. Music was too loud for my liking.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

A little too expensive for the experience

Dined on May 5, 2016

My husband and I took my brother here for his 50th birthday. He wanted to have a fantastic steak dinner, so he picked this spot. The restaurant is very nice looking, the music is not too loud, the wait staff is attentive, and the wine list isn't bad, nor is it expensive. The problem was the food. The steak, while tasty, was extremely expensive. I don't mind paying more for something unique, but it just wasn't *that* spectacular. My husband had the Kobi steak, which was amazing for a few bites, but then you couldn't eat any more -- far too rich! I had the Surf and Turf. The meat was delicious, but the seafood was overdone, bland and therefore a disappointment. My brother enjoyed his steak. The sides were mediocre at best. We ordered fries and brussels sprouts. Ascari's do their brussels sprouts in a similar way (shredding the sprouts), but they beat Michael's on Simcoe for taste, hands down. The dessert was fine (sticky toffee pudding), but again, nothing to write home about. Three cocktails, two glasses of wine, three meals and two desserts, the total was around $665, tax and tip in. If you're just going to have steak, I suppose it's fine. Otherwise, you might want to try somewhere else for the whole fine dining experience.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We have been to Michael's on a number of ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

We have been to Michael's on a number of Occasions. The service is always great. My Black Cod was fantastic, as was the Special Burger with added lobster. Both were cooked perfectly. The Ceasar Salad was OK, but not stupendous. We split one, so maybe that caused a problem (it shouldn't have though). The Fries were wonderful. The wine list suits us well. We'd go back for sure.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing Meal

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

I made a reservation for Friday night, which was a Raptors playoff game. I requested a table in the lounge area with a view of the television. They set us up in a large booth directly in front of the TV, it was perfect. We started with the chilled seafood platter, it was fantastic. For our mains we wanted to try a few different seafood dishes, so Michael had the chef make us each a tasting platter with a prawn, scallop, crab and black cod. It was plated beautifully and was absolutely amazing! Fantastic dinner, will definitely be back soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Disappointed

Dined on April 26, 2016

This is our second time we have dined at Michaels. The first experience was fabulous. Unfortunately, the second time....not so good. We ordered dinner at 6:30 and had to ask the server at 7:15 to please check on our meal as it hadn't yet been served. We we one of three full tables dining that evening. They said that because one of the steaks was to be cooked med-well it took longer that usual. Well, I know that an eight oz fillet does not take 45 min to cook. One of the steaks had oil drizzled on it ( I could have sworn it was truffle oil) the server said it was olive oil. It was so disgusting it had to be sent back. A while later someone came out of the back and said they could offer a fish dish instead of the steak. "No thank you, we ordered steak!" Anyway, they have wonderful steak at Michaels and I would go back but this last visit was disappointing . Also, our server was not all that pleasant and I really believe it was because we didn't order liquor ☹️

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

Awesome experience

Dined on April 23, 2016

Fabulous food, service decor ..... Excellent special occassion restaurant for high end five star fine dining without the pretension. The porterhouse was superb and the Kobe....well ....i'm just speechless...it was bar none the best steak I've had ...EVER! I'm still dreaming about the experience. Delish 😀

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Pleasant surprise

Dined on April 21, 2016

This particular steakhouse does a great job of preparing straight, simple steaks without excessive seasoning and no butter. Almost refreshing, if you can say that about a steakhouse.

food5
ambience5
service5

I enjoy Michael's because of its intimat ...

Dined on April 19, 2016

I enjoy Michael's because of its intimate setting. It gets a tad loud in the evening but I can carry on a conversation. Excellent meat prepared perfectly. Non meat dishes are quite good. Pasta, poultry and fish all excellent

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

AMAZING!!!!!

Dined on April 9, 2016

We just had dinner at Michaels on Saturday, and we are already discussing to go back. The food and wine selection is amazing. Exceptional food and great service. We have been to Michaels already five times and love it!!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

The food was awful. Steak was all fat. O ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

The food was awful. Steak was all fat. Onion rings tasty fishy. Guess what was the special....fish. The owner reprimanded one person behind the bar in front of everyone. We were asked 5 times if we were ready to order. The place was not busy, why can't we simply enjoy our drink before dinner. Never again.

food5
ambience4
service2

Great food in a nice setting. Service w ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Great food in a nice setting. Service was not equivalent to food or setting.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner Thurs Mar 24/16

Dined on March 17, 2016

Found the restaurant on Google and booked it online. No food prices are given on their site. Made reservation for myself for 6pm. Arrived early 4:45pm. Place was empty. High scale restaurant. They had a wide variety of steaks covering 8 oz up to 35 oz from US, Can, Japan, Italy. I had an 8 oz US Top Sirloin which was cooked Med Rare. It was perfection and melted in your mouth. You paid for each dish. I had Garlic Whipped Potatoes and a steamed mixed veg with Brussels sprouts. Dessert was pastry, vanilla ice cream & covered in caramel sauce . The meal was fantastic as was the service. But be prepared for an expensive meal. My bill was $156. which included two beers, and 10% tip. I would go again but it will have to a very special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

I had the steaks, they were fantastic

Dined on March 12, 2016

Definitely order the Kobe beef, though I warn ya, when you do, it might make your other steaks tasteless. Service is fantastic although they can be better at clearing the tables completely for a high end place like this for example, the crumbs were not cleared from the table after I ate bread. I am more critical with them only because of the nature of this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Trevor was awesome!

Dined on March 12, 2016

The staff especially Trevor went above & beyond for our group. The food was served on time & allowed us to get to our show on time. We returned after the show for drinks & deserts to a packed house...obviously a neighbor hot spot!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service2

Food was pretty average for the price. C ...

vip
Dined on March 10, 2016

Food was pretty average for the price. Compared to competitors at the same price point, my friend and I agreed that the steaks were sub par. Also, at this level of restaurant I expect my martinis to be served in in glasses that weren't chipped. The first one was in a glass with a single chip and I let it go as just one of those things. When I ordered a second martini and it came in a glass with 2 chips, it was sent back. The restaurant was very slow when we were there, no wonder. Nice place though, food was decent but needs to be stepped up or priced accordingly.

food4
ambience2
service3
value1

Expensive slow food; good if that is what you want

Dined on March 1, 2016

Guess I did not read enough reviews...looking for something different near the theatres. It was different...expensive and slow...not a criticism, just an observation...some people like that kind of thing. Food when it came was good and had we paid 50% of list then it would have been good value. Yes, we could have left when we saw the menu but decided to see it thru.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

The braised short ribs is amazing. Very ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

The braised short ribs is amazing. Very tender! Highly recommend!

food5
ambience2
service1
value1

tips policy is in acceptable

Dined on February 28, 2016

The waiter and the valley parking persons put the customer in a occurred situation by asking if they should come back with the change this is something that lower down the quality of the place also it look like they are begging for tips

Tags: romantic
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Disapointed

Dined on February 21, 2016

Booked a reservation 4 weeks ahead of time.. arrived on time for the 8:00pm reservation. Table was not available and had to wait until 8:40. When they finally took us too the Table it was a small table pushed up against a wall (a last minute fix I assume). Food was good and service was OK. I would not go back again.

food5
ambience4
service4

We had a great meal, and our server was ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

We had a great meal, and our server was outstanding. The only disappointment was the staff at the bar. We had a reservation but had to wait at the bar for a table, where it took 10 minutes to get a drinks menu.

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great service ok food

Dined on February 15, 2016

The service at this restaurant was great; I felt very welcomed and they were very accommodating with our schedule by changing our reserved time for an earlier time. The food at this restaurant was alright, the steak was overcooked and charred too much on the outside. I don't know if I'll be coming back to this restaurant.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Our server forgot to give Valentine's Day menu

Dined on February 15, 2016

Overall was a good experience. Besides little things that I noticed: Our server forgot to give us the Valentine's Day menu and we realized afterwards that others were offered it, forgot lemon I wanted, served my drink in a shot glass rather than the cocktail glass I asked for my chilled tequila in, and had to ask for pepper twice. Service was slow - we waited 1.5 hours for our main course. However loved the food and my steak was cooked to perfection! Atmosphere was fun and seating was comfortable. However, the table beside us confessed they were listening in on our conversation so we were seated Pretty tight together.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Nice food, but quality not justifying the price.

Dined on February 14, 2016

Overall quality was good, but prices was super high. We paid 340$ (dinning for 2) but the service and quality we received matched with a 200$ restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Time

Dined on February 14, 2016

Girlfriend and I went there for Valentines day and shared a 3 steak platter. I requested a booth when I made my reservation and they gladly fulfilled that request. The food was excellent, everything from the garlic mash to the fried mushrooms. Meat was so soft and juicy it almost melted in your mouth. Servers were attentive but still let you enjoy your meal. But you get what you pay for and expect to pay. Would recommend for any romantic dinner with the significant other.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Service

Dined on February 14, 2016

Our server was more interested in the table beside us with 6, I'd assume tip motivated. This is a horrible way to treat people. Food was great and we spent 400$ on our night for two but were left in the cold most of the evening. I enjoy the food and have been a few times now , but wont be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

great food, a bit spendy

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Food was very good. Comparable is Jacob's in food quality and price. was a little miffed at cocktail prices ($19 for a Wiser's manhattan...? come on) and cost of sides ($16 for essentially cheesy mashed potatoes, a bit more than 1 ice cream scoop, $14 for a small bowl of mixed mushrooms). seemed unnecessary. Michael's has much more variety for the non-steak eater than Jacob's - that's a plus if you're in that situation. good location, nice room, nice staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Night out and table for two...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Appreciated the attentive service, wonderful food, wine and their help in ensuring we departed promptly for the opera! The valets were also very helpful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

modern chic hotspot

Dined on February 12, 2016

This place makes a stunning first impression and keeps it up! It's modern and chic atmosphere hits you as soon as you walk in and they offer valet parking as well as a coat check. The staff were so professional and welcoming and treated each guest with the utmost respect. Their food is absolutely amazing and they serve one of, if not the best steaks I have ever had! They also have an in house DJ by the bar who mixed catchy beats that added to the atmosphere in a edgy yet classy and sophisticated way. The decor is elegant yet modern and everywhere you look people are being served just remarkable looking food that makes me want to go back for more! You definitely get what you pay for here and it's worth every cent!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Great food, unfriendly waitress

Dined on February 12, 2016

The food was great. However, our waitress wasn't very friendly. She made us feel like we were an inconvenience and she rushed us through our dinner (I.e. "You have to order everything at once, you can't order your appetizers first"). I'm a waitress and I don't usually complain about service, but I was rather shocked by the way she spoke to and treated us. There was another waitress who was kind enough to clear our plates and come over to ask us how things were several times. She was very nice and made up for our primary server.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service4

The food was good, the only thing that b ...

Dined on February 11, 2016

The food was good, the only thing that bothered me was the music, you expect a high end place like this to have a more ambient style music playing, but instead they had radio music. A $200 steak plate doesn't go well with reggaeton/r&b...

food3
ambience3
service3

Went for winterliscious .. Food was ok b ...

Dined on February 10, 2016

Went for winterliscious .. Food was ok but for $45 ++ not really that impress

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a night!

Dined on February 10, 2016

We went for Winterlicious. The menu offered a really good variety. Everything we had was delicious and the service was excellent. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AMAZING !

Dined on February 7, 2016

I cannot say enough how amazing our experience at Michael's on Simcoe was. From the food, the drinks, the service and the atmosphere/music, everything was amazing! My boyfriend and I came in late last night for dinner and he is a tough critic when it comes to steak. He had nothing but good things to say about the food! We were truly impressed and we would most definitely recommend anyone to go to Michael's on Simcoe! Cannot wait to come back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

our dinner was excellent ---meat prepare ...

Dined on February 4, 2016

our dinner was excellent ---meat prepared as requested ---great service -- they have fabulous steaks --best steak house in town ---but I have also had their pasta and fish on other occasions --also first rate --I would recommend it to anyone --a bit pricey but you get what you pay for !!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Michael's on Simcoe Always Divine

Dined on February 4, 2016

My friends and I thoroughly enjoyed our Winterlicious dinner at Michael's on Simcoe. We started with wine in the bar area and decided to enjoy our dinner in the bar too, it has a great vibe. The service was impeccable as always. They are a well orchestrated team. The three course meal was high quality and the wine list was abundant.

Tags: hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Winterlicious Night Out

Dined on February 4, 2016

The food was excellent and the meal was great value for Michael's Winterlicious menu. The steak was delicious. The ambiance is great and it would have been a quieter date night atmosphere if not for an extremely loud group table beside us.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.