About Michael's on Simcoe

100 Simcoe St
Toronto, ON M5H 3L2
View Larger Map

Michael’s on Simcoe playfully combines the best of contemporary cuisine, featuring USDA prime steak, fresh seafood and authentic homemade pastas. Classic cocktails are re-invented to tantalize your taste buds and our extensive wine list will tempt even those with the most discerning taste. Conveniently located in the heart of the Financial and Entertainment districts, Michael’s on Simcoe brings new life to one of the most energetic districts in downtown Toronto. This restaurant breaks down the barriers of a traditional steakhouse by challenging the overly masculine ambience that has long been the trademark of its genre. Please let us know how you heard of us in the note section of your reservation.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 4:30 pm - Close

Saturday - Sunday: 5:00 pm - Close

Cross Street:
Adelaide

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 260-5100

Website:
http://www.michaelsonsimcoe.com/

Entertainment:
Live DJ on Thursday's and Saturday's

Catering:
Please contact us for offsite catering

Parking Details:
Valet parking at the door ( $15)
Public parking lot (behind building)
Street parking

Public Transit:
King st streetcar #504
Stop at Simcoe st and walk north one block

Yonge / University subway line
One block west of St.Andrew station

Executive Chef:
Derek Von Raesfeld

Private Party Facilities:
RESTAURANT, BAR AND LOUNGE CAPACITIES

Seated Lunch/Dinner

Dining Room: 100 guests
Bar and Lounge: 50 guests
Semi-Private section in the Lounge: 25-30 guests
Dining Room, Bar and Lounge: 150 guests

Stand Up Reception

Dining Room: 150
Bar and Lounge: 150
Semi-Private section in the Lounge: 50
Dining Room, Bar and Lounge: 250

*Please note that these are numbers are based on our maximum capacities and we can certainly accommodate smaller functions.

Private Party Contact:
sandra@michaelsonsimcoe.com: 4162605100x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Consisting of a chic long bar, formal dining room and semi-private lounge area, we have the capacity to host several functions simultaneously.

We can accommodate private and corporate events, client meetings, wedding receptions, business dinners, product launches, cocktail receptions,premiere parties and more….

Restaurant Photos

  • Michael's on Simcoe, Toronto, ON
  • Michael's on Simcoe, Toronto, ON
Michael's on Simcoe, Toronto, ON
Michael's on Simcoe, Toronto, ON

Michael's on Simcoe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (13)
Romantic (12)
Business Meals (12)
See All
Modern Decor (11)
Good for a Date (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Good for Groups (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Cozy (3)
People Watching (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Fun (1)
Live Music (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great Beer (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Healthy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
381 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We go there quite often however this tim ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We go there quite often however this time the service wasn't up to par compared to normal the food was still amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Fine dining prices without the fine dini ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Fine dining prices without the fine dining dining service experience. Server was pleasant but not polished and certainly not up to fine dining standards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Great ambiance, excellent service, but t ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Great ambiance, excellent service, but the steaks were lukewarm and very salty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Enjoyed the romantic atmosphere

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Enjoyed the romantic atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent meal, lovely atmosphere, and e ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Excellent meal, lovely atmosphere, and extremely attentive service - thanks for an amazing night out Michael's on Simcoe!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent place for a quite dinner for t ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Excellent place for a quite dinner for two!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went there yesterday for dinner with fri ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Went there yesterday for dinner with friends. We love steaks but have never been to Michaels before. Apparently, it was a poor choice of restaurant. First of all, we had to wait for ~15-20 min to order drinks. The waiter gave us menus and never came back. We had to waive at him after 15 min to let him know we were ready to order drinks. Second, the waiter couldn't explain to me how big or small were the sides. I wasn't sure if we needed 1 or 2 sides to order with the steaks (+ appetizer), and he just couldn't show me the size. My husband and I ordered dry-ages T-bone 24 oz to share, medium rare. The steak arrived rare, completely cold inside. My husband was ok to have rare steak, but I asked to change mine. They have cooked it more and brought me medium/medium-well done steak. I refused to have it. After that they brought me a new steak which was medium rare, finally! We also ordered cauliflower as a side to share, and we mentioned that to the waiter explicitly. The other couple ordered potatoes with their steaks. Well, they have served cauliflower and potatoes to everyone at the table. The night was completely ruined. Will never go back to this restaurant. It's not cheap, so if you pay $300 for dinner, you expect at least good service and you expect that they know how to cook steak in the steakhouse.

I'd rater have had the steak at Jacobs. Same price, but extraordinary service and always great steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Being from out of town, we found the pri ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Being from out of town, we found the prices high. Service, food adn dining room were all 10 out of 10. Will go back though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow! Our dinner at Michael's on Simcoe ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Wow! Our dinner at Michael's on Simcoe was one of the best experiences that I've had in years. From the beautiful live music, beyond perfect service and incredible food, it was honestly just a perfect experience. Amazing attention to detail and great vibe all around.

Our group had to rush out to a show but ended up wishing we had skipped our event and just stayed at Michael's for the night. What a special place. Great job.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, People Watching, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Keep up the great work!!!! I have been ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Keep up the great work!!!! I have been to Michael's on several occasions and it keeps getting better!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is so good they made a special plat ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Food is so good they made a special plate starter with 1 scallop 1 shrimp and 1 crab leg ..... each with an amazing sauce!!!! Steak was Un believable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was extremely amazing! Music, ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Everything was extremely amazing! Music, food, ambiance and staff. I wish I could give it 20 stars!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So good here. Very happy with the food. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 15, 2016

So good here. Very happy with the food. Literally best steak I've ever had

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service and excellent food mak ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Wonderful service and excellent food make it a favourite spot for us. Those with discerning palates or pre-theatre/opera needs will not be disappointed.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Michaels is first class every time. The ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Michaels is first class every time. The sophisticated yet relaxed style makes for a perfect evening. Trevor best server and nicest person - amazing dinner. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing service! Amazing food! The setti ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Amazing service! Amazing food! The setting was so nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really enjoyed the evening at Michael's. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Really enjoyed the evening at Michael's. The ambience was modern but warm and pleasant. The waiter was most courteous and informative but not in your face. The food was great- started with delicious new cocktails, a Caesar salad , and a great filet done just right, only the roasted corn was a bit too spicy for me and that was unexpected. Next time I'll ask them to leave out the chilli peppers or order a different side.! We ordered the chef's afogato for dessert and because it was my birthday they added a glass of berries and wrote Happy Birthday in chocolate on the plate, and that was delicious as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was amazing. I had the lamb and ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 7, 2016

The food was amazing. I had the lamb and it was probably the best cooked lamb i ever had! And they had a good variaty of drinks

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Décor was fabulous, as was the wine and ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Décor was fabulous, as was the wine and Caesar salad I had. Hubby and I were less impressed with the steaks and that's what we had come for - they were good, no question - just not great. Dessert choice of the upside down pineapple cake was not loved by either of us, it was ok, but for the money we paid, I wanted it all to be outstanding. Very attentive wait staff, food was served in a timely manner. I'd go back, but hubby likely won't.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Michael's was the outstanding experience ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Michael's was the outstanding experience of our trip to Toronto. Great, great steak. Service was excellent. Also had the gnocci. It was outstanding. Will definitely return on our next trip to Toronto.

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy, Hot Spot, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Michael's prepared a meal that I will re ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Michael's prepared a meal that I will remember for a long time. First, Toronto is an amazing city - very walkable and Michael's was about a 10 minute walk from our hotel. Very safe, lots of people on the streets. The minute you walk into this restaurant you just know it's going to be a great meal. The hostess was very friendly and we were shown to our table almost immediately. The server was helpful without being overbearing. We ordered cocktails and told him we wanted to enjoy them before ordering our meal - no problem. Once we ordered, the food was delivered timely but not rushed. This was one of the best steaks I have ever had; it was perfectly prepared and the side dishes were delicious. There is also a nice wine list with plenty of selections. I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our meal and if I ever get back to Toronto, Micheal's is a sure bet for dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a business dinner here and a week la ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Had a business dinner here and a week later my customers are still thanking me. I will definitely go back and would highly recommend it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Fun, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Michaels is a 5 star experience from beg ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Michaels is a 5 star experience from beginning to end. Excellent service, excellent food and Michael is always there to checks me make sure your having the "Michaels on Simcoe experience" Top Notch!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mouthwatering steak that is so tender it ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Mouthwatering steak that is so tender it makes the steak knife provided almost obsolete! All of the menu items that we ordered were fabulous. Attentive but not obsequious service. Live music and DJ on Saturday night. While it gave great ambiance, it makes conversation a challenge when seated at one of the tables surrounding the bar area. I'll definitely go back but will specify at the time of my reservation that I am not to be seated near the bar area.

Tags: Live Music, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Top quality food and excellent service. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Top quality food and excellent service. Very helpful and accommodating with food allergies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Sat at the bar, relatively early. Bar st ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Sat at the bar, relatively early. Bar staff really helpful and friendly, great cocktails and food very good. It's not a cheap night though.

I had the PI rib-eye, good flavour, perfectly cooked. It was a recommendation from my waitress.

I'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Have a wonderful experience, the wait st ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Have a wonderful experience, the wait staff are charming and informative, even through they were busy, they still took the time to explain the different wine being served with each course. There was water poured and an appetizer with a serving of home made bread as soon as we were seated, which was replenished without asking. A very enjoyable evening, looking forward to spending my husband's birthday there soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in town for our anniversary and ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We were in town for our anniversary and had one of our best dining experiences and steaks ever. I would highly recommend for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ordered a steak. I never got it. Service ...

vip
 (Österreich)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Ordered a steak. I never got it. Service isn't too slick here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Lighting wasn't great. Too much neon.

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Lighting wasn't great. Too much neon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Service terrific, wine list terrific. Q ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Service terrific, wine list terrific. Quality of steak for the price is a rip off. The Tomahawk Steak one of the worst I have had in years and they charge $172. Truly, horrible cut of meat, horrible steak, and totally over-priced. I have been at a Firkin and had better food.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Very cool concept and great date night s ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Very cool concept and great date night spot. Food and service was good as well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Our server was very nice and really pati ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our server was very nice and really patient with us, didn't make me feel out of place and explained items on the menu that made me want to try everything! And the food was perfect, the steaks were all cooked just the way we wanted!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good, the service was terrible. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Food was good, the service was terrible. We waited for the waiter 40mins just to show up and take our second course order. He was texting behind the bar all the time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Very good experience. The service was fa ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 2, 2016

Very good experience. The service was fantastic - everyone was extremely helpful and friendly. The steak was DELICIOUS. Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good was ok. Nowhere near as good as Jac ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Good was ok. Nowhere near as good as Jacobs though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Cocktails are overpriced; $22. Other tha ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Cocktails are overpriced; $22. Other than that I enjoyed my meal and the ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

5 Stars restaurant. I love Michael's on ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 22, 2016

5 Stars restaurant. I love Michael's on Simcoe and always want to come back in a second. The steak here is beyond outstanding. Dry age USDA ribeye melt in your mouth. By far the steak here is one of the best I have ever had. Just came back from New York City, the steak here in Michael's are better than I had in Manhattan. I really appreciate dinning in Michael's is their services, professional and attention to details. This is the world class restaurants in Toronto. I want to personally thank you owner Michael. You are a gentleman, your kindness and generosity really made up our dinning experience. Armand from Fabio is right: you are a gentleman of gentlemen. It's my sincere pleasure to meet you tonight. :) Thank you to your team. Great job guys!! I can't wait to come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While this is primarily a steakhouse, an ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 21, 2016

While this is primarily a steakhouse, and we selected it because our guest requested such a place, it does offer a broad enough menu, including some Italian-style specialities and decent seafood, to suite many. The service was prompt and extremely helpful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

This was our first time. Very classy pla ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 21, 2016

This was our first time. Very classy place. The food was terrific. Service was really very good. I have already recommended it to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.