About Michael's on Simcoe

100 Simcoe St
Toronto, ON M5H 3L2
View Larger Map

Michael’s on Simcoe playfully combines the best of contemporary cuisine, featuring USDA prime steak, fresh seafood and authentic homemade pastas. Classic cocktails are re-invented to tantalize your taste buds and our extensive wine list will tempt even those with the most discerning taste. Conveniently located in the heart of the Financial and Entertainment districts, Michael’s on Simcoe brings new life to one of the most energetic districts in downtown Toronto. This restaurant breaks down the barriers of a traditional steakhouse by challenging the overly masculine ambience that has long been the trademark of its genre. Please let us know how you heard of us in the note section of your reservation.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 4:30 pm - Close

Saturday - Sunday: 5:00 pm - Close

Cross Street:
Adelaide

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 260-5100

Website:
http://www.michaelsonsimcoe.com/

Entertainment:
Live DJ on Thursday's and Saturday's

Catering:
Please contact us for offsite catering

Parking Details:
Valet parking at the door ( $15)
Public parking lot (behind building)
Street parking

Public Transit:
King st streetcar #504
Stop at Simcoe st and walk north one block

Yonge / University subway line
One block west of St.Andrew station

Executive Chef:
Derek Von Raesfeld

Private Party Facilities:
RESTAURANT, BAR AND LOUNGE CAPACITIES

Seated Lunch/Dinner

Dining Room: 100 guests
Bar and Lounge: 50 guests
Semi-Private section in the Lounge: 25-30 guests
Dining Room, Bar and Lounge: 150 guests

Stand Up Reception

Dining Room: 150
Bar and Lounge: 150
Semi-Private section in the Lounge: 50
Dining Room, Bar and Lounge: 250

*Please note that these are numbers are based on our maximum capacities and we can certainly accommodate smaller functions.

Private Party Contact:
sandra@michaelsonsimcoe.com: 4162605100x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Consisting of a chic long bar, formal dining room and semi-private lounge area, we have the capacity to host several functions simultaneously.

We can accommodate private and corporate events, client meetings, wedding receptions, business dinners, product launches, cocktail receptions,premiere parties and more….

Restaurant Photos

  • Michael's on Simcoe
  • Michael's on Simcoe
Michael's on Simcoe
Michael's on Simcoe

Michael's on Simcoe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (40)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Romantic (21)
See All
Notable Wine List (21)
Good for Groups (17)
Hot Spot (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Business Meals (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Live Music (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Live Sports (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Great Beer (1)
People Watching (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
Newest
359 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Had a business dinner here and a week la ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Had a business dinner here and a week later my customers are still thanking me. I will definitely go back and would highly recommend it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Fun, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Michaels is a 5 star experience from beg ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Michaels is a 5 star experience from beginning to end. Excellent service, excellent food and Michael is always there to checks me make sure your having the "Michaels on Simcoe experience" Top Notch!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mouthwatering steak that is so tender it ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Mouthwatering steak that is so tender it makes the steak knife provided almost obsolete! All of the menu items that we ordered were fabulous. Attentive but not obsequious service. Live music and DJ on Saturday night. While it gave great ambiance, it makes conversation a challenge when seated at one of the tables surrounding the bar area. I'll definitely go back but will specify at the time of my reservation that I am not to be seated near the bar area.

Tags: Live Music, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Top quality food and excellent service. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Top quality food and excellent service. Very helpful and accommodating with food allergies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Sat at the bar, relatively early. Bar st ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Sat at the bar, relatively early. Bar staff really helpful and friendly, great cocktails and food very good. It's not a cheap night though.

I had the PI rib-eye, good flavour, perfectly cooked. It was a recommendation from my waitress.

I'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Have a wonderful experience, the wait st ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Have a wonderful experience, the wait staff are charming and informative, even through they were busy, they still took the time to explain the different wine being served with each course. There was water poured and an appetizer with a serving of home made bread as soon as we were seated, which was replenished without asking. A very enjoyable evening, looking forward to spending my husband's birthday there soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in town for our anniversary and ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We were in town for our anniversary and had one of our best dining experiences and steaks ever. I would highly recommend for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ordered a steak. I never got it. Service ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Ordered a steak. I never got it. Service isn't too slick here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Lighting wasn't great. Too much neon.

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Lighting wasn't great. Too much neon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Service terrific, wine list terrific. Q ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Service terrific, wine list terrific. Quality of steak for the price is a rip off. The Tomahawk Steak one of the worst I have had in years and they charge $172. Truly, horrible cut of meat, horrible steak, and totally over-priced. I have been at a Firkin and had better food.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Very cool concept and great date night s ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Very cool concept and great date night spot. Food and service was good as well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Our server was very nice and really pati ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our server was very nice and really patient with us, didn't make me feel out of place and explained items on the menu that made me want to try everything! And the food was perfect, the steaks were all cooked just the way we wanted!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good, the service was terrible. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Food was good, the service was terrible. We waited for the waiter 40mins just to show up and take our second course order. He was texting behind the bar all the time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Very good experience. The service was fa ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Very good experience. The service was fantastic - everyone was extremely helpful and friendly. The steak was DELICIOUS. Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good was ok. Nowhere near as good as Jac ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Good was ok. Nowhere near as good as Jacobs though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Cocktails are overpriced; $22. Other tha ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Cocktails are overpriced; $22. Other than that I enjoyed my meal and the ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

5 Stars restaurant. I love Michael's on ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

5 Stars restaurant. I love Michael's on Simcoe and always want to come back in a second. The steak here is beyond outstanding. Dry age USDA ribeye melt in your mouth. By far the steak here is one of the best I have ever had. Just came back from New York City, the steak here in Michael's are better than I had in Manhattan. I really appreciate dinning in Michael's is their services, professional and attention to details. This is the world class restaurants in Toronto. I want to personally thank you owner Michael. You are a gentleman, your kindness and generosity really made up our dinning experience. Armand from Fabio is right: you are a gentleman of gentlemen. It's my sincere pleasure to meet you tonight. :) Thank you to your team. Great job guys!! I can't wait to come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

While this is primarily a steakhouse, an ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

While this is primarily a steakhouse, and we selected it because our guest requested such a place, it does offer a broad enough menu, including some Italian-style specialities and decent seafood, to suite many. The service was prompt and extremely helpful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

This was our first time. Very classy pla ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

This was our first time. Very classy place. The food was terrific. Service was really very good. I have already recommended it to others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Excellent server, he knew the menu insid ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Excellent server, he knew the menu inside out, made suggestions but didnt force the specials. food was as expecte, perfect. Atmosphere was just right and noise level was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food and service was fantastic. Was a go ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food and service was fantastic. Was a good place to take a special date for a meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very nice wine list however no one in my ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Very nice wine list however no one in my party of 5 was happy with the food particularly given the price. There was a long wait between starters and main courses. We all had different cuts of steak and no one finished their main course because it was just not that good. Will not heading back.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

I attended for Summerlicious 2016 - Dinn ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I attended for Summerlicious 2016 - Dinner.

The portion sizes are good, makes sure to go with an appetite.

We were stuffed before dessert was brought to us.

The fresh bread is amazing.

Each of us ordered a different app, main and dessert and we split each dish so that we were able to try most of the menu options.

Will definitely go back to Michael's On Simcoe again outside of Summerlicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The ambiance of the place was quite vibr ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The ambiance of the place was quite vibrant, but everything else fell short afterwards. The trofie pasta was decent, which was quickly counteracted by a subpar striploin steak that was unbelievably veiny and quite frankly, not what I expected at all for the price. Service was extremely slow; we got our blandly tasting desserts 20 minutes after we were done with our mains, and the bill took another 20 minutes to come around. Definitely would not come back or recommend to anyone.

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Dinner and drinks were amazing for my b ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Dinner and drinks were amazing for my business meeting. Our table ended up sharing different cuts of steaks and a few bottles of Chianti. Service was responsive and the valet brought our vehicle right up to the front door since it was pouring rain.

The only challenge we had during the evening was that the air conditioning wasn't working that evening so our whole table was sweating by the end. Definitely noticeable, but not a big deal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Exceptional dinner...nice ambience...ser ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Exceptional dinner...nice ambience...service was amazing...food was absolutely delicious. Decided to try out this restaurant during Summerlicious...what was most remarkable was that they were open to accommodating my food allergies which has never happened during this event. I'm often turned away or like my experience at Bymark..being told that it wasn't an issue when I called but it became a major issue when I ordered dinner. Michael's on Simcoe is a restaurant to be experienced..at any time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Love this place in every way! Great vib ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Love this place in every way! Great vibe and Michael always takes time to ensure every guest is comfortable and appreciated.

Keep it going!!! My fave place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Being a stranger in Toronto, I was looki ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Being a stranger in Toronto, I was looking for a good location to invite one of our very good business partners and meat/steak lovers. The doorkeeper in my hotel, Le Germain, pointed out Michael's on Simcoe. The culinary dining experience started from the nice location and attractive exterior until the unbeatable steaks. A MUST visit for all steak freaks.

Compliments to the cooking team & the top service ! We had a great time !

Greetings from a mixed Belgian-German-Australian group. We'll be back whenever we hit Toronto again.

Filip

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I was pleased that this restaurant was h ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I was pleased that this restaurant was happy to offer their services for a customer with celiac disease (gluten allergy) and dairy allergy. They were prepared to make my French fries on a separate oil to avoid any gluten cross contamination. I was there on a Tuesday evening in July. The only drawback is the restaurant's acoustic making very difficult to hear the waiter or have a conversation without having to raise my voice's volume.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food, ambiance & service was excellent. ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food, ambiance & service was excellent. Highly recommend this restaurant. Women restroom was a delightful experience after some wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here for the summerlicious felt fo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Went here for the summerlicious felt for was definitely sub par. Steak tasted bland. Dessert was medicare. Not sure if this is standard or a reflection of us ordering from the summerlicious menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

From the moment we arrived at the restau ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

From the moment we arrived at the restaurant till the end of our evening, we were absolutely delighted. Michael's is one floor below ground level, just steps from Toronto's entertainment district. We were pleasantly greeted and escorted to our table. We prefer a table & chairs rather than a booth, and the restaurant had taken note of that request and made it happen. We had a nice view of the entire restaurant, including the beef ageing area.

There are plenty of choices on the very large wine list to suit any taste and budget. And the menu is comprised primarily of steaks, but there are lots of alternatives if you don't feel like having beef. The appetizers were outstanding and memorable. And, our steaks were awesome - and prepared perfectly for each of us! The only miss were the desserts, which in any other restaurant would have been considered excellent. But, because we had been spoiled by the first two courses, perhaps our expectations had been built up too much.

We all remarked on how much we liked the decor, and the ladies at our table even enjoyed their visit to the Ladies Room - commenting on the availability of "options" upon their return - something the men at the table are still puzzling over.

Service was excellent, and our waiter was there exactly when we needed him. He meticulously guided us through the selection process. In fact, the entire staff were exquisitely impeccable in their service, leaving us feeling like we were watching a perfectly choreographed ballet. It's rare that we see this level of perfection.

While Michael's is pricey, it's well worth my dining dollars. We unanimously rated it as our new favorite Toronto restaurant. We'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was outstanding, Although th ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The service was outstanding, Although the food was very good, we did not realize that it was summerlious which probably affect the range of meet available.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We went there for summerlicious. My si ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We went there for summerlicious. My sister didn't love the calamari but it was alright. The pasta I had was fine but nothing great. The chicken one of us had was also just fine as was the steak the rest of us ordered. The cheesecake dessert was good. We all enjoyed that. Overall an okay meal but nothing spectacular.

What really disappointed us was the bill. They put an item that was part of our summerlicious meal as an extra item. That increased our bill by $45 and tax. We had to point it out to the waiter who at first said it was correct and then said it was an error. He had it fixed but it does make me wonder how these "accidents" happen in the first place.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

I went to Michael's on numerous occasion ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

I went to Michael's on numerous occasions before and for years considered it my absolute favorite steakhouse in Toronto. Both in terms of service and food.

Unfortunately I have nothing good to say about my visit yesterday. Our steaks were average at best. Done properly, but too salty and clearly without any passion.

Worst of all we had to wait over an hour for our food. Our server was not attentive at all and arrogant.

I am not sure what changed, but I won't likely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

There really isn't much more to be said ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

There really isn't much more to be said about @michaelsonsimcoe other than #perfection !! Every single aspect of the dining experience, including the food, service and ambiance, is absolutely flawless!! Our server(Olivia) ensured that each of our special requests, no matter how big or small, was addressed and satisfied - no excuses whatsoever! She served us with a smile and ensured that there was nothing left to be desired! Thank you @___oliviya for the perfect evening!! @michaeldabich is the #epitome of the perfect #restauranteur !! Always friendly and courteous and never forgets your name!! If you haven't been to Michael's in Toronto to celebrate a special occasion, what are you waiting for?

.

.

#foodblogger #bestrestaurant #opentable #yougottaeathere #greatfood #torontoeats #torontolife #toronto #bar #barscene #hotspot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service was incredible. Great l ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food and service was incredible. Great location in the Financial / Theatre district. We will be back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

No value for money... "dry aged beef" do ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

No value for money... "dry aged beef" does not justify tripling the cost of a regular 27 day aged steak and a 400% mark-up on wine is just plain greed. Hot items did not arrive together and portion sizes are absurd!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Food and service impeccable, but hated t ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food and service impeccable, but hated the decor and blue lighting (blue is unappetizing and couldn't appreciate the look of my plate and food, I couldnt even see the color of my med rare steak it all looked purple). Since we eat with our eyes as much as the rest, I found it unsettling and unpleasant. Very pricy but portions are good. Overall happy but a few things that are fixable could easily be addressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

It was a great atmosphere, all the staff ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

It was a great atmosphere, all the staff were friendly and polite. The service was quick and the food was made perfect. The outdoor setting was amazing, I felt relaxed and comfortable. I am excited to come back and try something different. I hear Chef Derek is an amazing cook.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.