About Michael's On East

1212 East Avenue South
Sarasota, FL 34239
View Larger Map

Founded on April 27, 1987, the celebrated Michael’s On East restaurant takes fine dining to another level, offering award-winning cuisine and outstanding service, in an exceptional 1940s supper club atmosphere. Michael's On East was one of only ten restaurants in the nation to be inducted into the 2009 Nation's Restaurant News Fine Dining Hall of Fame, considered the Oscars of the restaurant industry, and recently received their 25th consecutive AAA Four-Diamond Award.

Upon entering the dining room, you are immediately dazzled by the plush design and inspired décor. The restaurant’s intimate aura, along with its contemporary fare, world-class wine cellar and incomparable service, create an unparalleled dining experience that will give you every reason to keep coming back.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Monday - Friday, 11:30 a.m.- 2 p.m.

Dinner:
Monday - Saturday, 6 p.m. - close

Happy Hour:
Monday - Saturday, beginning at 5 p.m. in the Lounge

Live Music:
Tuesday - Saturday, beginning at 7 p.m. in the Lounge

Cross Street:
Bahia Vista

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 366-0007 ext. 224

Website:
http://www.bestfood.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy live music nightly in the Michael's On East Piano Bar Lounge.

Joe Micals, Tuesday - Saturday, beginning at 7 p.m.

Catering:
In addition to the fabulous Ballroom, Atrium, and Wine Cellar, Michael's has other incredible venues for your parties and special events. Whatever the occasion, Philip Mancini and the staff of Michael's On East are in the business of crating Memorable events. From dazzling galas for 1,000 or more, to an intimate candlelit dinner for two. We pride ourselves on making every event unique, on providing Sarasota's finest cuisine and the best service on Florida's Gulf Coast!

Parking Details:
We offer both Valet and Self-Parking. Valet Parking is located on East Ave.

Executive Chef:
Jamil Pineda

Private Party Facilities:
For an unparalleled dining and wine tasting experience your guests will never forget, Michael's Wine Cellar. One of Sarasota's hippest locations to entertain, Michael's Wine Cellar can accommodate 125 guests for a cocktail party or 50 for an elegant sit down dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Cloe Drapkin: 8886537905

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Lobster Bisque
Salmon
Rack of Lamb
Chocolate Fountain
BBQ Pork Belly
Purple Kale
Green & Yellow Beans With Carrots
Baby Romaine
Red & Yellow Tomatoes
Strawberries
Cheese
Purple Cauliflower
Sunburst Squash
Romanesco Cauliflower
Yellow Cauliflower
Meats
Creme Puffs
Lamb With Creme Fraiche
Sugar Snap Peas
Smoked scallops
Yellow Pea Shoots
Cheese & Meat Display
Desserts
Sliced Pineapple
Lettuces
Mozzarella and Tomato Salad
Grilled Quail
Portabella Mushrooms
Bread Display
Smoked Fish Platter
Yellowfin Tuna Loin
American Red Snapper
Whole Smoked Salmon
Florida Pompano
Wakame Salad
Smoked Salmon & Trout
Fish Display
Crackers
Yellowtail Snapper
Live Lobsters
Lousiana White Shrimp
Black Grouper
Smoked Amberjack
Condiments For Smoked Fish Table
Smoked Fish Spread
Produce Display
PEI Mussels
Littleneck clams
Zabaglione
Coffee Seared Yellowfin Tuna
Caprese Salad
Cannoli
Bread Basket
Four Cheese Ravioli
House-Cured Salmon Crostini
Golden Beet Salad
Scallop Ceviche
Phil's Strip Steak
Empanadas Argentinas
Angel Hair Onion Rings
Butter Roasted Flounder
Thai Chicken Paillard
Lobster Roll (Sandwich)

Michael's On East Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Tampa / Central Florida West
Special Occasion
Tampa / Central Florida West
Notable Wine List
Sarasota / Bradenton
3 More
Romantic
Sarasota / Bradenton
Special Occasion
Sarasota / Bradenton
Contemporary American
Sarasota / Bradenton
Best Restaurants in Sarasota ›

special occasion (123)
fit for foodies (87)
romantic (77)
See All
notable wine list (73)
great for lunch (41)
good for groups (38)
vibrant bar scene (35)
neighborhood gem (32)
hot spot (25)
great for brunch (12)
late-night find (9)
great for outdoor dining (1)
scenic view (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1666 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always elegant. Food preparation is inn ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined 3 days ago

Always elegant. Food preparation is innovative. Waitress was cheerful and efficient. What else would one want?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Michael's is first class all the time. ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined 4 days ago

Michael's is first class all the time. We wanted to treat good friends for their anniversary, they had never been to Michael's before .. And they were wowed! Two of us enjoyed the swordfish , incredibly prepared and an ample serving. Two others had the bow tie pasta dish, always a favorite .

Service was great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great ambiance with a gourmet menu. Ser ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great ambiance with a gourmet menu. Service was smooth and timely. Staff was very knowledgeable of menu and made excellent suggestions. Will return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were a party of 8 for a friends birth ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined 6 days ago

We were a party of 8 for a friends birthday. The waiter was good. We had some issues getting our drinks right, but no big deal. The food was very, very good. It is very pricey, but great for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Although the food is exquisite and the F ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Although the food is exquisite and the Friday night lobster special was outstanding, the service was honestly awful. The waitress was rude, rushed, sloppy, and then when we pointed a few issues out she copped an attitude. When entree run $40-50, that is absolutely unacceptable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Enjoyed the Lobster Pot special on Frida ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined 7 days ago

Enjoyed the Lobster Pot special on Friday night! Very tasty! The service was attentive. Only issue was that we were seated in the back area where it was quite dark.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Went there with my wife and another coup ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Went there with my wife and another couple. We had 14oz filet, veal chop, Roasted Bone-In Kurobuta Pork Chop and Porcini-Rubbed Colorado Rack Lamb. Our sides were Truffle & Herb Roasted-Red Bliss, Caramelized Sweet Potatoes, Potato Croquettes and Molly’s Truffled Macaroni and Cheese. The reviews from our party, best veal chop she ever had, amazing filet cooked to perfection (med rare), pork chop and lamb were cooked perfectly and we loved them also. All of the sides were to notch except the mac and cheese which was just so so. We went on a Thursday night and got a bottle of wine for 1/2 off. Our server could have been a little more attentive. After giving her my credit card for payment it took a very long time(more than 15 mins) for her to come back to the table. When she finally did return to table upon me waving her down she said she forgot about me????

I will definitely go back to Michael's on East but make sure I don't have same server.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

As always, excellent food . I have neve ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

As always, excellent food . I have never had a disappointing meal at Michael's on East and always friendly service!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was disappointed with the whole experi ...

vip
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

I was disappointed with the whole experience at Michael's. The waiter seamed confused about how to pour the wine , offering the wine to the my wife to taste when I ordered it. He described haricot verts as peas. The 24 oz prime ribeye was not marbled and fairly tough. My wife ordered the scallops and found the sauce to be strangely sweet. The restaurant does not have a dress code, so you will find young children in shorts and flip flops sitting next to men dressed in suit jackets . Not the right atmosphere for a $62 steak. Very disappointed to say the least and to top off the night I just found out they did not give me my awards points.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Michaels on East never disappoints. The ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Michaels on East never disappoints. Their Lobster Pot Fridays dinner is a good value and a great meal. Joe, our waiter, was very accommodating. We look forward to returning soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Michael's for the Lobster boil F ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Went to Michael's for the Lobster boil Friday night special. It included 2 maine lobsters, corn, clams , potato. Lobsters were cooked perfectly

Meal was delicious, and service great

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

delicious! Great food, great wine recomm ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

delicious! Great food, great wine recommendations, great service. wish we lived closer!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

the steaks were excellent but the lamb w ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

the steaks were excellent but the lamb was tough . server was very attentive. the wine was outstanding and was half price that night.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Another outstanding dinner. We were tha ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Another outstanding dinner. We were thanking friends and really enjoyed the food and the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Bar area, where we had a drink before we ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Bar area, where we had a drink before we moved into dinner was very loud...difficult to talk to companions..."energetic" bar group that eve. Dinner area however offered a conversationally/pleasant noise level.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We have been vacationing in the Sarasota ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We have been vacationing in the Sarasota area for years, and Michael's is one of our favorite restaurants, if not the favorite. They do everything well, and the service is always first-class. Michael takes a personal interest in the restaurant and often circulates among the tables to chat with his guests. Consistent quality and a great menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent! Great food, interestingly pr ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Excellent! Great food, interestingly prepared. Super nice and knowledgeable wait staff. Owner worked the tables in a way that made you think he really cared about your experience, not just a quick cruise through. Will return and will try lunch there.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic piano lounge to go go along wi ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Fantastic piano lounge to go go along with very good food. The vibe as we suspected in Sarasota was a little older. Lovely art work and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

the banana cake was very dry and over pr ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

the banana cake was very dry and over priced, the fish special was perfectly cooked.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

As always Michael's doesn't disappoint. ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

As always Michael's doesn't disappoint. The best was, since we went on a Thursday night, wine bottles were half price.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous diner! Superb service! Server ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Fabulous diner! Superb service! Server Kimberly made it an evening the four of us will long remember. We're looking forward to the next time!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food. Great service. Decor is dated ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Good food. Great service. Decor is dated. Time for a fresh makeover.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

We always have an enjoyable experience a ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We always have an enjoyable experience at Michaels. Always great ambiance , service and food. First class dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything was delicious! We had the we ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Everything was delicious! We had the wedge salad, filet mignon, NY strip and Colony snapper with crab. Sides were macaroni and cheese and potato croquettes. Portions were large, steaks and fish were perfectly cooked and the crab meat had great texture, nice hearty chunks of crab. Service was excellent and the drinks were well-poured.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always it was a pleasant experience. ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

As always it was a pleasant experience. The service was good. The tables however are a little small for 4 people if they are having the lobster pot

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The servers and the managers treated us ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

The servers and the managers treated us like we were special from the time we left the car with the valet , thru an excellent meal and dessert, until we picked up the car from a valet. The food was very nicely prepared, both the swordfish and the steak. Cooked to perfection.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Living in Bradenton, it is a ride to thi ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Living in Bradenton, it is a ride to this gem. I bring friends and family especially those visiting me. I find this restaurant to help make a lasting memory. It is a favorite of mine and my friends also., I highly recommend it to all

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Michael's has a pleasant ambiance, table ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Michael's has a pleasant ambiance, tables are not too close, service is swift if impersonal, the food is above average. There is a 3-course prix-fixe menu for $35 which is nice because a la carte is expensive. Noise is low because floor is carpeted.There is a good pianist playing songs older people appreciate, not intrusively.

Some minor thing always seems to go wrong at Michael's: four people got one tiny pat of butter to serve all four, and those who ordered steak had to ask for steak knives; asking for more butter and for knives took time. Michael's lacks warmth, it seems like an assembly-line place.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

There was almost a 30 minute delay after ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

There was almost a 30 minute delay after the first course. I approached the hostess one hour after we were first seated and asked where our entrees were. They arrived soon afterwards obviously having sat out somewhere on a warming table or some other such device. The food looked unappetizing and was barely warm. We were embarrassed as we had "talked up" this fine restaurant to our business associates just visiting town. AnneS

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Excellent service and food. Service was ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Excellent service and food.

Service was professional without being pretentious.

Food (e.g., steak, duck) was also excellent with appropriate serving size.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorites for romantic date n ...

vip
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

One of our favorites for romantic date night. Had a prix fixe 3 course dinner. Stand outs were the crab tomato bisque, succulent pieces of crab in a subtly spiced and not too thick broth, rainbow trout with baby vegetables, and a beautifully presented banana cake with chocolate ganache. Always a fun atmosphere, a perfect place for a special occasion, classy without being stuffy.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Decor is dated. Time for a makeover, fo ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Decor is dated. Time for a makeover, food and service terrific.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Highly recommend Michaels

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

The food was great and so was the service. The restaurant is beautiful and the quiet. I highly recommend Michaels.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great night

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

From the moment we entered the door, everything was exceptional. First class in service, food was delicious and artfully plated, and staff was knowledgeable and courteous.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always a go to spot for amazing servi ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

As always a go to spot for amazing service and amazing food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous Birthday Treat

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Michael greeted us personally on my husband's birthday and the service continued at that level of excellence. Great food, wine list and especially desserts!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated our 15th wedding anniversa ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

We celebrated our 15th wedding anniversary here and the whole experience was exquisite! The staff went out of their way to make sure we were totally happy with everything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always perfect.

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

We dined with family on our last night before heading north, wanting to experience "Savor Sarasota". It was fantastic. The food is delicious, interesting, healthy. AJ our server was amazing. The Head Chef came out to check on us. He was so nice. My husband and I noticed the bar for the first time. There was a fantastic piano player. We decided the bar would be a great place for a bite some night when it's just the 2 of us.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Over Hyped !!!!

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We have had the pleasure of trying many wonderful restaurants in Sarasota and we would not consider Michael's one of them. We were a party of 4 and we all felt the extreme disappointment when we left. The "Sarasota Magazine" has hyped this over priced and poor presentation of food to sound absolutely wonderful and it was anything but. I would not return and would not recommend it. We don't know how they made it to 29 years of serving that food.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Loosing its touch ,food not anything spe ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Loosing its touch ,food not anything special anymore

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.