About Michael's On East

1212 East Avenue South
Sarasota, FL 34239
View Larger Map

Founded on April 27, 1987, the celebrated Michael’s On East restaurant takes fine dining to another level, offering award-winning cuisine and outstanding service, in an exceptional 1940s supper club atmosphere. Michael's On East was one of only ten restaurants in the nation to be inducted into the 2009 Nation's Restaurant News Fine Dining Hall of Fame, considered the Oscars of the restaurant industry, and recently received their 25th consecutive AAA Four-Diamond Award.

Upon entering the dining room, you are immediately dazzled by the plush design and inspired décor. The restaurant’s intimate aura, along with its contemporary fare, world-class wine cellar and incomparable service, create an unparalleled dining experience that will give you every reason to keep coming back.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Monday - Friday, 11:30 a.m.- 2 p.m.

Dinner:
Monday - Saturday, 6 p.m. - close

Happy Hour:
Monday - Saturday, beginning at 5 p.m. in the Lounge

Live Music:
Tuesday - Saturday, beginning at 7 p.m. in the Lounge

Cross Street:
Bahia Vista

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 366-0007 ext. 224

Website:
http://www.bestfood.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy live music nightly in the Michael's On East Piano Bar Lounge.

Joe Micals, Tuesday - Saturday, beginning at 7 p.m.

Catering:
In addition to the fabulous Ballroom, Atrium, and Wine Cellar, Michael's has other incredible venues for your parties and special events. Whatever the occasion, Philip Mancini and the staff of Michael's On East are in the business of crating Memorable events. From dazzling galas for 1,000 or more, to an intimate candlelit dinner for two. We pride ourselves on making every event unique, on providing Sarasota's finest cuisine and the best service on Florida's Gulf Coast!

Parking Details:
We offer both Valet and Self-Parking. Valet Parking is located on East Ave.

Executive Chef:
Jamil Pineda

Private Party Facilities:
For an unparalleled dining and wine tasting experience your guests will never forget, Michael's Wine Cellar. One of Sarasota's hippest locations to entertain, Michael's Wine Cellar can accommodate 125 guests for a cocktail party or 50 for an elegant sit down dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Cloe Drapkin: 8886537905

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Rack of Lamb
Lobster Bisque
Salmon
Chocolate Fountain
BBQ Pork Belly
Purple Kale
Green & Yellow Beans With Carrots
Baby Romaine
Red & Yellow Tomatoes
Cheese
Strawberries
Purple Cauliflower
Sunburst Squash
Meats
Yellow Cauliflower
Romanesco Cauliflower
Creme Puffs
Lamb With Creme Fraiche
Smoked scallops
Sugar Snap Peas
Sliced Pineapple
Yellow Pea Shoots
Cheese & Meat Display
Desserts
Mozzarella and Tomato Salad
Lettuces
Grilled Quail
Portabella Mushrooms
Smoked Fish Platter
Yellowfin Tuna Loin
American Red Snapper
Bread Display
Whole Smoked Salmon
Crackers
Florida Pompano
Smoked Salmon & Trout
Live Lobsters
Fish Display
Wakame Salad
Yellowtail Snapper
Black Grouper
Lousiana White Shrimp
Produce Display
Smoked Amberjack
Condiments For Smoked Fish Table
Smoked Fish Spread
PEI Mussels
Littleneck clams
Zabaglione
Coffee Seared Yellowfin Tuna
Four Cheese Ravioli
Cannoli
Caprese Salad
Bread Basket
House-Cured Salmon Crostini
Golden Beet Salad
Scallop Ceviche
Phil's Strip Steak
Empanadas Argentinas
Thai Chicken Paillard
Angel Hair Onion Rings
Butter Roasted Flounder
Lobster Roll (Sandwich)

Promotions

Wine Lovers Thursdays: Half-Priced Bottles of Wine

Thursdays from 11:30 AM - 2:00 PM

Wine Lovers Thursdays: Half-Priced Bottles of Wine

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Promotions

Wine Lovers Thursdays: Half-Priced Bottles of Wine

Thursdays from 11:30 AM - 2:00 PM

Details

Wine Lovers Thursdays: Half-Priced Bottles of Wine. Excludes Tax and Tip. Visit www.bestfood.com to view our current wine list. Special valid Aug 9, 2016 - Oct 31, 2016 on Thursdays from 11:30 AM - 2:00 PM.

Wine Lovers Thursdays: Half-Priced Bottles of Wine

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Wine Lovers Thursdays: Half-Priced Bottles of Wine. Excludes Tax and Tip. Visit www.bestfood.com to view our current wine list. Special valid Aug 9, 2016 - Oct 31, 2016 on Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Michael's On East Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Tampa / Central Florida West
Contemporary American
Tampa / Central Florida West
Notable Wine List
Sarasota / Bradenton
3 More
Romantic
Sarasota / Bradenton
Special Occasion
Sarasota / Bradenton
Contemporary American
Sarasota / Bradenton
Best Restaurants in Sarasota ›

Special Occasion (108)
Fit for Foodies (76)
Romantic (70)
See All
Notable Wine List (67)
Great for Lunch (42)
Good for Groups (37)
Vibrant Bar Scene (30)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Hot Spot (21)
Great for Brunch (12)
Late-night Find (7)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1681 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Five-Star dining at it's best. The food ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Five-Star dining at it's best. The food was great and the service was outstanding.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and experience were great however ...

 
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food and experience were great however the side of sweet potatoes were way too sweet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I usually go to Michael's for dinner, an ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I usually go to Michael's for dinner, and it is almost always a lovely, satisfying experience, whether just 'everyday' or a special occasion. It is Dining because of quality and ambience, not just eating. Lunch, which was my most recent visit, was different -- really special. I felt like a queen sitting in that dining room with my 2 co-queens, lunching lavishly. We all loved it! The lunch menu is enormous, and it's different than the dinner menu! Amazing! And the service and comfort we prize at dinner are there all day and night. Michael's never cuts corners, not even at lunch. In terms of specifics, I had shrimp and grits - five enormous, perfectly cooked shrimp with bits of ham in a delicious sauce over grits, spiced the way I like, but not spicy-hot. One friend had the salad with lots of crispy oysters, which I have ordered before, and finished every last bit, occasionally reminding us how delicious her voice was. The third order was Cobb salad, a ginormous portion with a grilled chicken breast perched on top. My friend tried, but could finish no more than half, and took the rest home with her. Service was attentive enough, and not rushed.A wonderful experience overall.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good overall. Cannot go wrong at th ...

vip
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Very good overall. Cannot go wrong at this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Everything was perfect in every way!! A ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Everything was perfect in every way!! A most enjoyable dinner and evening! Thank you, Michael's on East.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service was as great as usu ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food and service was as great as usual.. Never had a meal we didn't love. One of the great restaurants in Sarasota or bradenton.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My rack of lamb was seasoned to perfecti ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

My rack of lamb was seasoned to perfection and delicious! We will be back soon!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brilliant evening. The valet was an abs ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Brilliant evening. The valet was an absolute treasure and the hostess was spectacular. The waiter "Ian" was not ideal and rather impatient, but the overall evening experience was golden. Thanks to the pianist for making our children feel so welcome!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

we had the Friday night lobster pot spec ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

we had the Friday night lobster pot special. so delicious, I wish it didn't end in August! look forward to trying the other themed dinners. great service. kinda upscale vibe, which is kinda nice for laid back Sarasota!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Michael's food is always good. The menu ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Michael's food is always good. The menu was limited in that, unless you ordered two appetizers, everything was big. We don't eat that much at one time and I found the items overwhelmingly heavy so I shared an appetizer with my husband and had another appetizer for myself.

The problem is becoming the number of excellent restaurants in Sarasota. Now, with so many to choose from, Michael's is down on the list except for lunch or having a drink and appetizer.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Michael's on East is our go to place for ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Michael's on East is our go to place for fine dining. Our waitress was knowledgeable about the menu and was excellent. The wine list was exciting with some hard to find wines available.

Spring rolls as an appetizer were very good. We ordered seafood and was cooked as expected. We ordered potatoes with my entrée and they forget to serve them until we called the waitress over. We had ordered creamed spinach and they forgot that also. Brought it over later and it was at room temperature. We called the problem to our waitress and the Hostess came over and said they would not charge us for the spinach since it was not edible.

Overall it was very disappointing. Our expectations were high and the results lacking.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

I had the shrimp and grits which was the ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I had the shrimp and grits which was the best. My husband had Michael's Mighty Mushroom Burger. It was meaty but he loved it. Service is always amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic service & food .. From the tim ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Fantastic service & food .. From the time we dropped the car with the valet to picking it back up .. Impeccable service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Reception was awful. Nobody there for ov ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Reception was awful. Nobody there for over 5-6 minutes to greet us. Then she did not know if we were in happy hour or not. Past that it got better. Attentive busboy brought water. Waitress was doubling as bartender so she took her time to greet us but then was nice. Food was very good but pricey and not conforming to menu specifications (i.e. my wife had the petit fillet, 7 oz. for $38 and I had the biggest fillet, 14 oz. for $58. Mine was only one third bigger than her, both being ordered medium). Piano player was very good. Made the night.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Always elegant. Food preparation is inn ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Always elegant. Food preparation is innovative. Waitress was cheerful and efficient. What else would one want?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Michael's is first class all the time. ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Michael's is first class all the time. We wanted to treat good friends for their anniversary, they had never been to Michael's before .. And they were wowed! Two of us enjoyed the swordfish , incredibly prepared and an ample serving. Two others had the bow tie pasta dish, always a favorite .

Service was great.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Michaels is always wonderful which is wh ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Michaels is always wonderful which is why they will be catering my daughter's wedding.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance with a gourmet menu. Ser ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great ambiance with a gourmet menu. Service was smooth and timely. Staff was very knowledgeable of menu and made excellent suggestions. Will return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were a party of 8 for a friends birth ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We were a party of 8 for a friends birthday. The waiter was good. We had some issues getting our drinks right, but no big deal. The food was very, very good. It is very pricey, but great for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Although the food is exquisite and the F ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Although the food is exquisite and the Friday night lobster special was outstanding, the service was honestly awful. The waitress was rude, rushed, sloppy, and then when we pointed a few issues out she copped an attitude. When entree run $40-50, that is absolutely unacceptable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Enjoyed the Lobster Pot special on Frida ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Enjoyed the Lobster Pot special on Friday night! Very tasty! The service was attentive. Only issue was that we were seated in the back area where it was quite dark.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Went there with my wife and another coup ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Went there with my wife and another couple. We had 14oz filet, veal chop, Roasted Bone-In Kurobuta Pork Chop and Porcini-Rubbed Colorado Rack Lamb. Our sides were Truffle & Herb Roasted-Red Bliss, Caramelized Sweet Potatoes, Potato Croquettes and Molly’s Truffled Macaroni and Cheese. The reviews from our party, best veal chop she ever had, amazing filet cooked to perfection (med rare), pork chop and lamb were cooked perfectly and we loved them also. All of the sides were to notch except the mac and cheese which was just so so. We went on a Thursday night and got a bottle of wine for 1/2 off. Our server could have been a little more attentive. After giving her my credit card for payment it took a very long time(more than 15 mins) for her to come back to the table. When she finally did return to table upon me waving her down she said she forgot about me????

I will definitely go back to Michael's on East but make sure I don't have same server.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

As always, excellent food . I have neve ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

As always, excellent food . I have never had a disappointing meal at Michael's on East and always friendly service!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was disappointed with the whole experi ...

vip
·Dined on July 18, 2016

I was disappointed with the whole experience at Michael's. The waiter seamed confused about how to pour the wine , offering the wine to the my wife to taste when I ordered it. He described haricot verts as peas. The 24 oz prime ribeye was not marbled and fairly tough. My wife ordered the scallops and found the sauce to be strangely sweet. The restaurant does not have a dress code, so you will find young children in shorts and flip flops sitting next to men dressed in suit jackets . Not the right atmosphere for a $62 steak. Very disappointed to say the least and to top off the night I just found out they did not give me my awards points.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Michaels on East never disappoints. The ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Michaels on East never disappoints. Their Lobster Pot Fridays dinner is a good value and a great meal. Joe, our waiter, was very accommodating. We look forward to returning soon.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Michael's for the Lobster boil F ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Went to Michael's for the Lobster boil Friday night special. It included 2 maine lobsters, corn, clams , potato. Lobsters were cooked perfectly

Meal was delicious, and service great

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

delicious! Great food, great wine recomm ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

delicious! Great food, great wine recommendations, great service. wish we lived closer!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

the steaks were excellent but the lamb w ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

the steaks were excellent but the lamb was tough . server was very attentive. the wine was outstanding and was half price that night.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Another outstanding dinner. We were tha ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Another outstanding dinner. We were thanking friends and really enjoyed the food and the experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Bar area, where we had a drink before we ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Bar area, where we had a drink before we moved into dinner was very loud...difficult to talk to companions..."energetic" bar group that eve. Dinner area however offered a conversationally/pleasant noise level.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We have been vacationing in the Sarasota ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We have been vacationing in the Sarasota area for years, and Michael's is one of our favorite restaurants, if not the favorite. They do everything well, and the service is always first-class. Michael takes a personal interest in the restaurant and often circulates among the tables to chat with his guests. Consistent quality and a great menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent! Great food, interestingly pr ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Excellent! Great food, interestingly prepared. Super nice and knowledgeable wait staff. Owner worked the tables in a way that made you think he really cared about your experience, not just a quick cruise through. Will return and will try lunch there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic piano lounge to go go along wi ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Fantastic piano lounge to go go along with very good food. The vibe as we suspected in Sarasota was a little older. Lovely art work and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

the banana cake was very dry and over pr ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

the banana cake was very dry and over priced, the fish special was perfectly cooked.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

As always Michael's doesn't disappoint. ...

 
·Dined on June 30, 2016

As always Michael's doesn't disappoint. The best was, since we went on a Thursday night, wine bottles were half price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous diner! Superb service! Server ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Fabulous diner! Superb service! Server Kimberly made it an evening the four of us will long remember. We're looking forward to the next time!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food. Great service. Decor is dated ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Good food. Great service. Decor is dated. Time for a fresh makeover.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

We always have an enjoyable experience a ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We always have an enjoyable experience at Michaels. Always great ambiance , service and food. First class dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything was delicious! We had the we ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Everything was delicious! We had the wedge salad, filet mignon, NY strip and Colony snapper with crab. Sides were macaroni and cheese and potato croquettes. Portions were large, steaks and fish were perfectly cooked and the crab meat had great texture, nice hearty chunks of crab. Service was excellent and the drinks were well-poured.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always it was a pleasant experience. ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

As always it was a pleasant experience. The service was good. The tables however are a little small for 4 people if they are having the lobster pot

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.