Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi

About Michael's On East

Founded on April 27, 1987, the celebrated Michael’s On East restaurant takes fine dining to another level, offering award-winning cuisine and outstanding service, in an exceptional 1940s supper club atmosphere. Michael's On East was one of only ten restaurants in the nation to be inducted into the 2009 Nation's Restaurant News Fine Dining Hall of Fame, considered the Oscars of the restaurant industry, and recently received their 28th consecutive AAA Four-Diamond Award.

Upon entering the dining room, you are immediately dazzled by the plush design and inspired décor. The restaurant’s intimate aura, along with its contemporary fare, world-class wine cellar and incomparable service, create an unparalleled dining experience that will give you every reason to keep coming back.

1212 East Avenue South
Sarasota, FL 34239
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Monday - Friday, 11:30 a.m.- 2 p.m.

Dinner:
Monday - Saturday, 6 p.m. - close

Happy Hour:
Monday - Saturday, beginning at 5 p.m. in the Lounge

Live Music:
Tuesday - Saturday, beginning at 7 p.m. in the Lounge

Cross Street:
Bahia Vista

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 366-0007 ext. 224

Website:
http://www.bestfood.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy live music nightly in the Michael's On East Piano Bar Lounge.

Joe Micals, Tuesday - Saturday, beginning at 7 p.m.

Catering:
In addition to the fabulous Ballroom, Atrium, and Wine Cellar, Michael's has other incredible venues for your parties and special events. Whatever the occasion, Philip Mancini and the staff of Michael's On East are in the business of crating Memorable events. From dazzling galas for 1,000 or more, to an intimate candlelit dinner for two. We pride ourselves on making every event unique, on providing Sarasota's finest cuisine and the best service on Florida's Gulf Coast!

Parking Details:
We offer both Valet and Self-Parking. Valet Parking is located on East Ave.

Executive Chef:
Jamil Pineda

Private Party Facilities:
For an unparalleled dining and wine tasting experience your guests will never forget, Michael's Wine Cellar. One of Sarasota's hippest locations to entertain, Michael's Wine Cellar can accommodate 125 guests for a cocktail party or 50 for an elegant sit down dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Cloe Drapkin: (888) 653-7905

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Michael's On East Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (83)
Good for Anniversaries (62)
Good for a Date (54)
See All
Romantic (52)
Creative Cuisine (49)
Fit for Foodies (44)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Notable Wine List (38)
Business Meals (31)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Worth the Drive (26)
Bar Seating (23)
Great for Lunch (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Cozy (17)
Authentic (16)
Live Music (16)
Happy Hour (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Good for Groups (14)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Tasting Menu (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Healthy (8)
Fun (7)
Modern Decor (7)
People Watching (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Seasonal (4)
Casual (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Private Room (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Tapas (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
2058 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was excellent as usual and atmosphere was relaxing and enjoyable. Easy to have a conversation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent Top notch cuisine!!! Friday's Lobster pot is a must ! Michael's salad is the most creative salad we've ever had in any high end restaurant here in Florida , New York and Ridgewood,NJ where we lived. Their steaks , seafood and other dishes are excellent. Must order their sides , we've tried most of them . We always get potato croquettes, pecan candied yam,asparagus and Sautéed cauliflower is superb! Brownie dessert is yummy and huge !
Our children takes photo on our meal and post it at Instagram and I on Facebook. Yesterday's photo Friday, son visiting us. Always greeted by a smile from everyone!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

As always, lunch at Michael's is quite good even if it's priced a bit above average. Food and service are always spot on.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Always excellent. Strong menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Bad table location, aircond was not working. Waiter took to long to serve us during the evening. Food was good not great. Big disappointment for my first time!! Would not rush back for me or my friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Service was non existent
First time ever I have gone to a restaurant and the wine list was never offered
Totally unattentive waiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 11, 2017

For our 53rd anniversary, we were looking for something special. We found it in spades at Michael's on e.East. the food was super ,served on time and we had a very decadent desert to finish the delightful meal. Thank you very much. THE DOLBYS

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Excellent experience as always. I had the bone-in rib eye and it was fantastic.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Great food, excellent service, beautiful ambiance! Consistently good time after time. Terrific piano bar. Excellent wines and vegan options. What more can I say. One of my favorites!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, Live Music, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 6, 2017

One of the few Sarasota establishments that prides itself on consistency. You just don't see a group of people with truly one goal in mind. Customer Satisfaction.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Great food well-presented. Terrific service and nice atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 5, 2017

We couldn't have asked for a better place to go to celebrate my husband's birthday. Our server Kimberly, was excellent! She recommended a new white wine (for us) to try as an alternative to pinto grigio that was delicious. We both had the scallops which were divine. And the complimentary desert was the perfect chocolaty treat for my choco-holic husband! Then we topped off the evening by listening to Joe at the piano play our favorite tunes. A great evening from beginning to end! Thanks you Michael's!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 3, 2017

The Best steak I've had in years, I highly recommend Michael's on the East, my go to restaurant when I'm in Sarasota.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 1, 2017

A great experience with best lamb chops ever and great piano music from Joe Michaels. Some what disappointed with the lax dress code at this fine dining venue as two patrons had cargo shorts and tee shirts.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Had the Skirt Steak on the Epicurean menu - lunch. Magnificent! Possibly the best meal I've had in Sarasota. Once again, MOE's has topped its own superlative standards. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Lots of great choices on the menu and very tasty, well seasoned food

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 27, 2017

We went for our anniversary and were greeted by the maître d'. Our server also knew it was our anniversary. We had a cozy corner booth. Food was lovely; dessert was very special. A relaxed and special evening.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Business Meals, Live Music, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Always a wonderful experience when we dine at Michaels On East. Food is amazing, the staff is courteous and attentive, and we love the piano music as well.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Great service by David. Excellent steak and snapper for dinner. Enjoyed wine selection. Plan to return to Sarasota to dine there again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Foreign object found in one entree - situation handled professionally, the food was excellent otherwise. Service was top notch as expected. We were seated next to a large party that progressively got louder the more they drank. The noise level was unacceptable at times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Took my husband here for Fathers Day. He loved the atmosphere and especially the food....amazing. Our server was energetic , which made the experience even better. Can't wait to go back to try other menu items.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Michael's never disappoints with its wait staff and delicious and well-presented food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Celebrated a friends birthday over lunch at Michel's. It was terrific! Great service and great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Great experience, service is top notch. One of my better experiences in Sarasota glad I found it.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 14, 2017

This was our first visit to Michael's. We had heard and read many positive comments about it, and we were not disappointed. Service was fabulous, food was amazing, and ambiance was lovely. Tables are far enough apart that we were not eavesdropping on other tables' conversations. Most of us chose from the Savor Sarasota menu. Though it was very limited, were very pleased with our choices. The general menu is fairly large and varied. The restaurant is pricey, so it may be more for a special occasion, but it was a wonderful experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 14, 2017

After living in Sarasota for many years, and hearing good things about Michael's, we decided to give it a try. The ambiance was spoiled a bit by draperies reducing the size of the space for use. Service was a bit ragged and confused with the promised bread arriving after the meal in spite of being requested three times. Our two salads were excellent. We paid with a gift card and were given a rather strange request by the waiter to add the gratuity before he ran the card through. Parking is quite limited and the restaurant is quite pricey. We often eat in nice restaurants, but will probably not return to this one once our purchased gift card is consumed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 13, 2017

We had the Savor Sarasota meal and it was all amazing, from the bread basket's walnut bread to the chocolate dessert. The flavors were complex and the wine pairings were perfect! We would definitely go again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Michael's On East has only improved with age. This is a white table cloth restaurant with outstanding service and food to match. The servers are knowledgeable and friendly, management is on top of everything, the menu is broad, and the food is truly excellent. The wine list is extensive, with something in all price ranges.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 13, 2017

An exceptional dining experience. Food was expertly prepared and presented, soft piano music, and friendly attentive service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 13, 2017

it was our first time visiting Michael's. My husband and I had a dining certificate so that helped with the cost. The setting was very impressive food was excellent at lunch and we may return to try a dinner sometime. My husband was disappointed that there was no sherry available from the bar. Drinks dessert and coffee were all good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Excellent meals as usual. We had Savor Sarasota menu and we both loved our selections of grouper and quail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Always wanted to go here and finally did. I was so impressed with restaurant, decor, service, and especially the food. Excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Truly excellent restaurant. Great ambiance, first class service, great wine list and superb food. It was our first visit and are already planning to revisit for our birthdays next month.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Our server, Tammy, was new and resulting service was somewhat slow and lacking their normal attention to detail. Had to ask for some items twice, unsuccessful in getting bread refilled.
Food brought to table by someone else, never waitress. She took our original order holding 4 wine glasses from another table, small detail but important in a high-end restaurant.
Left disappointed about the surface but the food was fine.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 9, 2017

It is always a pleasure to dine at Michaels on East. We were there for Savoring Sarasota and though the choices were minimal, we all loved every course.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 9, 2017

First visit to Michael's was a wonderful food experience. Our server, Kimberly was the first indication that choosing Michael's was the best choice. Her passion for the restaurant, her knowledge of the foods, the ingredients and how it was prepared, well lets just say we ordered more than we could eat! The courses were served at just the right time and all were amazing. I would highly recommend Michael's for any occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 8, 2017

The swordfish was Amazing!!!! It was nice and tender and the sauce that they topped it off with was to die for!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Michael's on East is never disappointing! Dining is superb, the atmosphere is elegant, and the pianist:singer is excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Haven't been fo awhile. Excellent will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.