Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi

About Michael's On East

Founded on April 27, 1987, the celebrated Michael’s On East restaurant takes fine dining to another level, offering award-winning cuisine and outstanding service, in an exceptional 1940s supper club atmosphere. Michael's On East was one of only ten restaurants in the nation to be inducted into the 2009 Nation's Restaurant News Fine Dining Hall of Fame, considered the Oscars of the restaurant industry, and recently received their 28th consecutive AAA Four-Diamond Award.

Upon entering the dining room, you are immediately dazzled by the plush design and inspired décor. The restaurant’s intimate aura, along with its contemporary fare, world-class wine cellar and incomparable service, create an unparalleled dining experience that will give you every reason to keep coming back.

1212 East Avenue South
Sarasota, FL 34239
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Monday - Friday, 11:30 a.m.- 2 p.m.

Dinner:
Monday - Saturday, 6 p.m. - close

Happy Hour:
Monday - Saturday, beginning at 5 p.m. in the Lounge

Live Music:
Tuesday - Saturday, beginning at 7 p.m. in the Lounge

Cross Street:
Bahia Vista

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 366-0007 ext. 224

Website:
http://www.bestfood.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy live music nightly in the Michael's On East Piano Bar Lounge.

Joe Micals, Tuesday - Saturday, beginning at 7 p.m.

Catering:
In addition to the fabulous Ballroom, Atrium, and Wine Cellar, Michael's has other incredible venues for your parties and special events. Whatever the occasion, Philip Mancini and the staff of Michael's On East are in the business of crating Memorable events. From dazzling galas for 1,000 or more, to an intimate candlelit dinner for two. We pride ourselves on making every event unique, on providing Sarasota's finest cuisine and the best service on Florida's Gulf Coast!

Parking Details:
We offer both Valet and Self-Parking. Valet Parking is located on East Ave.

Executive Chef:
Jamil Pineda

Private Party Facilities:
For an unparalleled dining and wine tasting experience your guests will never forget, Michael's Wine Cellar. One of Sarasota's hippest locations to entertain, Michael's Wine Cellar can accommodate 125 guests for a cocktail party or 50 for an elegant sit down dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Cloe Drapkin: (888) 653-7905

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Michael's On East Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (99)
Good for Anniversaries (68)
Good for a Date (67)
See All
Romantic (65)
Creative Cuisine (63)
Notable Wine List (54)
Fit for Foodies (47)
Good for Birthdays (46)
Worth the Drive (44)
Business Meals (34)
Quiet Conversation (30)
Bar Seating (29)
Great for Lunch (26)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Live Music (22)
Cozy (22)
Modern Decor (21)
Good for Groups (20)
Local Ingredients (19)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Tasting Menu (18)
Authentic (17)
Healthy (15)
Happy Hour (15)
Hot Spot (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Fun (11)
Private Room (9)
Seasonal (9)
People Watching (9)
Casual (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Historic (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Scenic View (2)
Family Style (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tapas (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
2001 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 2 days ago

Best food and and wines on the planet. Every meal at Michaels is better than the last. Service is impeccable and atmosphere is elegant

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 2 days ago

Celebrated our 26th wedding anniversary at Michael's on East in Sarasota FL. Great meal with Great service without being treated like a dollar sign to the server. Robert our server paired wines that complimented our dinner perfectly without pushing bottles of wine on us. Costly meal but time spent with my lovely wife and compared to say...parasailing I feel monies well spent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 4 days ago

Food fabulous
Service great
Noise so loud I could not enjoy dinner and could not wait to leave
We were there to celebrate my birthday and no one said anything???

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

Although I had heard of Michael's for years, this was my first visit. The bar area is roomy but cozy. There is a piano bar, so I imagine there are some regulars who come for just the bar and the music. You can also eat at the bar. There is bar seating, piano seating and some tables. The dining area is open and separated from the bar mainly by a metal screen. There is a curvy aspect to the seating space which makes it feel less crowded. We had the current Epicurean
Adventure - Australia. I had the cauliflower fritter appetizer - very tasty For the entree I had pork loin atop lentil ragout with a side of garlic Swiss chard atop a puree of turnip and something. All of it was delicious. I could have eaten a full bowl of just the Swiss chard. A dessert came with but I didn't care for it - not sure what it was - some kind of dense cake covered in chocolate and coconut. The service was super - the waiter, the 2nd waiter, the manager, owners, lots of people were attentive but not intrusive. I recommend it for a nice romantic evening. It's a little pricey but worth the splurge to me.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

The best !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 19, 2017

My wife's birthday dinner was awesome: impeccable service, great food (fab lobster),
Great wine and a visit from Michael along with a special dessert! She loved that the piano player was back, also. Perfect special occasion....

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Excellent food, friendly attentive service in a cozy intimate atmosphere. Chilean Sea Bass melted in the mouth and was served over generous bits of lobster. Lobster pot entrée is available pre-shelled. Great option! Country of the month menu was interesting & fun to sample. Birthday was celebrated with a complimentary dessert that was large enough for 3 to share & delicious. Couldn't believe we were able to finish it! Looking forward to our next visit!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 17, 2017

The food was great, the service was wonderful. I only wish they had lobster.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Not recommended for Mother's Day! They squeezed in several tables for two with not enough room to move. We have been there in the past and had a great experience , This one was below average.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day dinner .
We were seated in the middle of the room with spotlights on us.. we asked for a different table and were told flat out NO...
Lobster bisque was powdery . I ordered a $ 64.00 ribeye medium and it was served with one baby yellow pepper and a lot of Blood as it was raw.
Sent it back , asked for the bill and was charged for the steak...
We won't go back and we would also like to mention that the decor is dated wit a 70's pick up lounge feel.
Waiter was condescending, manager was indifferent, for the money ... Any other restaurant would be a better choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was outstanding! Pricey but worth it . The biggest criticism is that service was slow.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I took my Mom here for Mother's Day Brunch and it was spectacular! Everything was perfectly cooked and beautifully displayed. I will definitely return soon for another special occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The Mother's Day buffet was nicely set up. They served a flank steak instead of a roast or prime rib. Of course the flank steak was very chewy but barely warm, as was the ham. Every piece of ham had to be put on the grill to warm it up. It was also dry. The ribs were lacking meat and were hardly warm. They're potatoes were over cooked, the skins were very tough. If Sarasota inspectors were to come in they would have shut them down for food temperature reasons. The food quality was that of an "all you can eat buffet" chain restaurant, not worth $75 a head. I spoke to our server, and specifically told her I did not want a reduction from our check. I did not request a manager and one never should up. Again, a lack of concern for their clients. Half my plate was left uneaten.

Because the food temperature and food quality was wide spread throughout the buffet I could never go back and will discourage any of my friends from eating at Michael's. Maybe their dinner warrants a 4.5 star rating, but their overall buffet would have a hard time achieving 2 stars.

We have always wanted to have dinner there, but this initial experience has eliminated Michael's off our list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Dated decor and a little slow on the service.... Excellent food and very charming visit by Michael..! Not sure I would hurry back. Although the food is done really well, it's super old-school menu is a tad expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We had a wonderful time. However the waiter forgot two different things. Not typical of Michael's. Husband expected more squash with his scallops.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Romantic, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Bar Seating, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We've had one or two bad experiences recently due to uninterested and/or overly rushed wait staff, but this last time was perfect in every way!!! Our waiter Ian made the evening very relaxed and pleasant.
Our food, as usual, was excellent.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 12, 2017

I went to Michael's for Australia month and the hanger steak melted in my mouth. The Pavlova was as good as any I had in Australia and I ate my way across Australia eating Pavlova. Thanks to Michael and the Chef for an awesome "Aussie" job! I am never disappointed at Michael's for lunch or dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Julia and I were given a good table opposite the bar , which behind a transparent curtain , looked inviting and relaxing . The food was outstanding . I had a bone-in ribeye , better seasoned than in many top steakhouses and was it big (!) and my wife had the monthly special of black cod , one of her favourites . I then had an ice cream cake to die for !

Great food. But what made it special was the service from AJ who has been there 20 years and who clearly took pride in Michaels and its offering . His conversation was helpful and he listened to our requests and delivered on them . We also spoke with Jamil , the executive chef , who was charming and helpful .

The meal pricing was on the high side for sarasota but not outrageous for its quality and ambience . A very high end restaurant and we have already booked for next week !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 6, 2017

It was the best

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 6, 2017

A first and most wonderful visit where the staff was very friendly, courteous, and professional. The food was beautifully done to perfection. Will come back many times.
Craig and April Young (Venice FL)

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Quiet restaurant. Was my birthday and word spread so everyone including Mr. Michael himself came over to say happy birthday. Waiter (A.J) was attentive and genuinely nice. He gave our table a free appetizer of fried onions (unfortunately none of us like onions, even fried) but it was appreciated. Also they gave us a slice of cake for my birthday and the waiter offered to come outside and take a group pic for us - he went above and beyond not to mention he was funny. For my meal, I had just the lobster bisque - the bisque itself was creamy and yummy. The lobster was a little chewy. I had sautéed mushrooms which I loved. My 2 friends had the snapper and they loved it - they also loved the beans that came with it. Overall, I think I want to go back with my hubby for date night :) great service and overall great food.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The food was surprisingly terrible. The snapper smelled so fishy it was sickening. The sauce was incredibly oily, the green beans were overcooked and the potato wedges were raw, the key lime pie was grainy and so on. The food wasn't inexpensive--fish dish was $39 and the salad $14.95. With a lovely venue and attentive service it was shocking the food was so bad. It ruined our special occasion and needless to say I will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Totally perfect evening for our anniversary. Food was magnificent and service was extremely attentive.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We are regulars. The food choices and ambience are always lovely. On the last two occasions, however, the service was off. There were long delays between courses as well as getting our check once we asked. If the service inconsistencies can be worked out this is a near perfect dining experience.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Romantic, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Always a great choice for any occasion. Ours was a birthday celebration with great food selections, good wines and a reasonably attentive waitress. We always enjoy dining at Michael's on East.

Tags: Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Authentic, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Have been here several times. Has always been one of our go-to places, but no more. Have always expected to be dining, not just eating. However, when your reservation is for 7:15 and you finally depart at 11:00 p.m., that is too much.

Our water was good but there must have been a serious problem in the kitchen. It was an hour before our order was taken. The couple at the table next to us left after 45 minutes of not having order taken.

As far as the food goes,the Pompano was excellent, crab cakes fabulous, the request of my daughter for simply grilled chicken and vegetables very good, angel hair onion strings would have been epic if they had been hot when brought to the table, and shrimp cocktail, again not on the menu, but they fixed. The chicken and spätzle was ordinary as was the truffle Mac and cheese which is usually great.

I am a person who very seldom complains or sends about food, but my first bite of the creamed spinach was so horrendous that I could not swallow it. We did tell the waiter and they removed it from our bill, but that wasn't my purpose, which is one of the reasons I seldom send things back.

Wine list is excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 28, 2017

My favorite restaurant in Sarasota. Just celebrated 30 years and hope it will be around for years to come.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Michael's has a AAA 4 Diamond rating & we can see why. They have been in business for 30 years & that is really saying something in a business as fickle as restaurants in Sarasota. Good food, nice wine selection, attentive service (our server A.J. was excellent), & good ambiance. The piano player in the background was a nice added touch, too. We will be back to try some of the other dishes that sounded remarkable. Fresh ingredients can't be faked & the flavor really was great.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Fabulous dinner and excellent service. I recommend the monthly prix fixe Epicurean Adventure. The price was $35 for 3 courses; add $15 for two glasses of wine. App and dessert offered 2 choices, while entree had 3 options. The house martini was lovely, as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Great time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 24, 2017

We were celebrating or anniversary and they were very accommodating.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Excellent food , great people !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Went for Birthday celebration on Friday to take advantage of their Lobster special. Always a favorite. Guys had strip steak which was not as good as usual. Friend had duck which she loved

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great Food, Great Service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Our party of four arrived early for our 6:15 reservation after an afternoon at Selby Gardens. "Michael" was just leaving and we shared our mutual interests in Quintessa Winery in Napa before he headed out & we headed to the lounge for happy hour cocktails/wine before dinner.
Our server 'gathered' us from the bar lounge and escorted us to our nice table by the courtyard windows. Cathy, our server, explained the specials in detail, and aerated our wine while we discuss appetizers. We selected the spring rolls & calamari. They both arrived timely & perfectly cooked to our liking. We had already consumed the great bread assortments with our first glass of wine. Two of us had perfectly cooked veal chops, crispy glazed on the outside and juicy, medium on the inside, served with tasty mashed potatoes and grilled squash slices. I had a perfectly cooked 9oz. Filet, and asked for & received a nice demi-glaze sauce. Another had the sea base, which although perfectly cooked, was a bit spicy (sauce) for her liking. The table shared grilled asparagus with laced Parmesan cheese (very good!), and crispy potato crockets. Although too full for dessert, one couple in our party ordered a very large piece of carrot cake "to go". Finished with a couple of capechinos, a nice finish to our very excellent dining experience. My wife & I had made the trip down from St. Pete, and the other I couple up from Naples, and chose Michaels on East because of a referral from a friend in Sarasota, and great online reviews. We weren't disappointed. What a great restaurant. We'll be back with more friends.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We enjoyed a perfect lunch at Michael's, starting with lovely Kumamoto oysters, followed by a delicious and not overdressed lobster roll, large enough to share. Excellent service all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Fantastic food and ambiance.... She had the scallops and I had the duck two ways....both were superb.... Smoked salmon app was an excellent recommendation by our server. We went for our anniversary and they made us feel very special! We hope to return again soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Food was great and service was stellar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 16, 2017

As always Michael's does a great job. Brunch was a bit pricey' but plentiful

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great for a special treat for epicurians. quiet ambiance and nice background music.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.