Michael's On East

4.6
2404 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Birthdays
  • Good for Anniversaries
Founded on April 27, 1987, the celebrated Michael’s On East restaurant takes fine dining to another level, offering award-winning cuisine and outstanding service, in an exceptional 1940s supper club atmosphere. Michael's On East was one of only ten restaurants in the nation to be inducted into the 2009 Nation's Restaurant News Fine Dining Hall of Fame, considered the Oscars of the restaurant industry, and recently received their 28th consecutive AAA Four-Diamond Award.

Upon entering the dining room, you are immediately dazzled by the plush design and inspired décor. The restaurant’s intimate aura, along with its contemporary fare, world-class wine cellar and incomparable service, create an unparalleled dining experience that will give you every reason to keep coming back.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Steak, International
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch
Mon–Fri 11:30 am–2:00 pm
Dinner
Mon–Thu 6:00 pm–10:00 pm
Fri, Sat 5:30 pm–11:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(941) 366-0007 ext. 224
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jamil Pineda
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
For an unparalleled dining and wine tasting experience your guests will never forget, Michael's Wine Cellar. One of Sarasota's hippest locations to entertain, Michael's Wine Cellar can accommodate 125 guests for a cocktail party or 50 for an elegant sit down dinner.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Cloe Drapkin: (888) 653-7905
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
In addition to the fabulous Ballroom, Atrium, and Wine Cellar, Michael's has other incredible venues for your parties and special events. Whatever the occasion, Philip Mancini and the staff of Michael's On East are in the business of crating Memorable events. From dazzling galas for 1,000 or more, to an intimate candlelit dinner for two. We pride ourselves on making every event unique, on providing Sarasota's finest cuisine and the best service on Florida's Gulf Coast!
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Bahia Vista
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
We offer both Valet and Self-Parking. Valet Parking is located on East Ave.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Enjoy live music nightly in the Michael's On East Piano Bar Lounge.

Joe Micals, Tuesday - Saturday, beginning at 7 p.m.
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 2404 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.6
service
4.6
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful experience! Incredibly attentive, beautiful wine selection, excellent menu choices. We visit Sarasota a few times per year and always forget about this local gem. We won’t anymore and will share our experiences with our adult children who also visit. Our waiter, David, made us feel like we were his only clients. We love that!! We were also pleasantly surprised that Thursday was half price wine by the bottle night!! We shared a fab bottle of Rose and had a lovely chat with the handsome wine sommelier. We highly recommend this restaurant for any occasion or just for a lovely dinner. Thanks, Michael!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Very noisy - couldnt wait to leave

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

My wife and I enjoy coming here all the time. The food is always terrific and the service is spectacular. Our waiter always does a nice job. My compliments to this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Wonderful! From start to finish eating here was a real treat. Our waiter, Joe, was attentive, charming and helpful. They take gluten sensitive seriously which will bring me back over and over again as some restaurants act as it is too much trouble but not here. Loved the food which was fresh, delicious and prepared with care. No wonder Michael’s On East is so successful-you deserve it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Michael's on East is a favorite of ours and never ever disappoints. The food is great and the service is equally as good. The staff falls all over itself to give the diner the most enjoyable dining experience. Joe Michael's at the piano bar brings an air of sophistication very similar to an upscale New York City bar. His talent enhances a perfect dinner. If one wants just a light bite in the later evening, the bar is the perfect place in Sarasota to go. Florida Trend Golden Spoon awards each year tells the story of this 5 -star restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

AJ is a great waiter and makes our dining experience outstanding and the food is always great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 14, 2018

THIS IS THE BEST UPSCALE RESTAURANT IN SARASOTA.
IT OFFERS NEW YORK QUALITY AT NEW YORK PRICES........AND WORTH IT.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 14, 2018

Always great food and service

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 12, 2018

The service was excellent. Andrew was our waiter and was very knowledgeable. We had not been to Michaels in years and it does not disappoint.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 12, 2018

You continue to do better and better things for all us devoted fans!!! Food was FAB - Ryan is wonderful and could NOT have been more special in taking care of us. And Thanks for the birthday dessert - so nice of you to do this little touch. Noise level did get up there a bit - but not your fault...a deaf lady was at the next table and she really spoke loudly (smile). We had a wonderful time, as always, with you. Thanks...Rona Herdman

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Amazing Location!!!! Excellent Service! Kelly was a fabulous server and knew the menu well. Also recommended other locations to do after the meal, which was great!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Michael's really failed on all levels. Our reservation was at 5:30. We arrived 5 minutes early and asked to be seated. The hostess refused saying that they didn't begin dinner service until 5:30 and we could go have a seat in the bar. I ordered the $25 charcuterie plate which turned out to be 3 small pieces of cheese, a few pieces of meat, olives and bread. Very sparse for the price. My entree was the $54 14 oz. NY Strip. What a disappointment. The meat was cooked as ordered, but lacked flavor and had a fair amount of fat. The asparagus side dish was a clump of spears covered in Parmesan cheese. I was really expecting more from a place that was so highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 8, 2018

We had the Friday special of Lobster Pot. The lobster was over cooked and tough, the clams and mussels were dry with no broth or flavor. The butter sauce for dipping was cold.
Overpriced for the quality of food and wine.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

Excellent choice for our anniversary dinner. Great food and service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

Loved the choices on the Savor Sarasota menu.
My husband had the lobster bisque which was some of the best we had. We will be back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

Absolutely fantastic, as always. High end dining at its' best. Treated very special. Kathy was a great server.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

Creative food and fabulous service. It’s our favorite spot for Celebrating special occasions and get-together.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 4, 2018

Initially very stuffy, this place seems very aware of itself, Eric our server warmed up during the course of the evening and ended up being very agreeable. The lady who greeted us was fine but the young lady who showed us to our table seemed bereft of personality. The food, however, was glorious, we tried the duck appetiser with the angels hair onion rings to start. Both were excellent. The bread basket was lovely too. Helen enjoyed a salad for her main course and I had the chicken pasta, both were cracking. On balance, very good, and well worth a visit.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Overall, I'd have to say that our dining at Michael's on East was excellent. The wife's dinner was perfect. My dinner, filet minon, was very tasty albeit slightly overcooked. Once the staff was aware of the issue, they bent over backwards to accommodate me. I told them not to worry about it as the meat itself was very tasteful and tender. Aside from comping our ceasar salad, unbeknownst to me, when we sat at the piano with Joe and ordered several drinks, I had noticed that the waiter shorted our bill one round. As I brought it to his attention, he said he was aware of my dinner issue and that the 'house' was comping us a round. This was so totally unexpected, in so far as our dinner was in a different area and yet the bar staff was aware of it. The staff at Michael's on East is always outstanding, from the manager on down to the water server, and yet they managed to take the extra step to make our anniversary even more perfect. This is one of our most favorite restaurants. We go there for all our special occasions and whenever we wish to dine, par elegant. Joe is always a character, we enjoy his piano playing and his banter. The ambiance is always great and it is so nice to dine at a restaurant where people dress accordingly: from neat casual to jacket and tie. It is such a pleasure to dine without having to look at someone attired in baseball caps or shorts. In short, Micheal's on East is the quintessential dining experience.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 2, 2018

We were disappointed with our celebration as a result of poor hygiene and training of waitstaff, steak not cooked as desired, and dry chicken . No apologies from manager when they corrected food and service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

High quality attention to detail and specialty dining. Great for special occasions and culinary curiosities.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

We enjoyed a wonderful get together with friends on a Friday night when there is a special Lobster dinner. It also was the start of Savor Sarasota June 1 - 15 - Great choices on the menu, reasonable prices and delicious food. As always, the best place to eat in Sarasota.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

Great atmosphere and great dining experience

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Fantastic once again! Service was tremendous. Food and dessert.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Always a special occasion at Michael's on East. Love the sophisticated ambiance, like the dinner clubs of the past. Food is always reliably good, monthly special prix fixe menu is nice addition. Just a great pick for when you feel like a special night out with friends or romantic dinner for two.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Michael's On East is a go-to of mine in Sarasota. The staff is wonderful and really makes you feel special. Their cocktails are great; my go-to is a dirty martini with their blue cheese stuffed olives! But to be honest, I come here for the steak. It's some of the best steak I've ever had. I always pair it with a side of creamed spinach!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Excellent as always. Attentive, friendly service. Well prepared and presented food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

From the minute we walked in staff was very attentive and friendly. Our waiter Andrew was the best. The food was delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 24, 2018

Had a wonderful dining experience! Food was terrific and our waiter Andrew made the experience delightful.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 24, 2018

Typically this restaurant hits every mark. Food this visit was simply okay. First time chicken dish over cooked and sent back. I still recommend as this is the first time it wasn’t excellent. Cocktails very good and friendly staff.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 24, 2018

Our server forgot us.. for our soup course... food course... and after dinner... let down... as we are possibly moving to area and would be a regular spot for us...
really a disappointment

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 22, 2018

Service was great and food was very good but way overpriced. They did give us a free dessert (large piece of chocolate cake) because it was our anniversary. The one problem was the noise, too loud to carry on a quiet conversation. Table next to us behind a curtain had been obviously over served and were obnoxious including foul language.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 21, 2018

Bread served for openings were stale, snitzel was over done,dry and hard ! Andrew was good server and tried to accommodate . My pompano fish was so " mushy" and greasy wet!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Michaels on East was fabulous as always. Our server Tobias was particularly attentive and helpful. Kudos for getting it all right

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

We dined with my father who is 95 and in a wheelchair. The valet was extremely helpful and ready with an umbrella since it was raining. Staff was very accommodating. We were celebrating our anniversary. We appreciated the complimentary piece of cake. The three course Moroccan dinner was a good value and delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

As always it was great. Love to go there for lobster pot in Friday’s

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Did the monthly special menu which was morrocan. Had the lamb stew. All very good and paired wine worked well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mothers day

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We have always found Michael's to be one of the very best places to celebrate special occasions.
Although it wasn't available this time, we enjoy the Epaceurian Menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother’s Day brunch was spectacular. The chicken & waffles were some of the best we’ve ever had. They had a beautiful buffet with many salads, brunch stables, made to order omelets, carving station with prime rib & pork loin, & Michael’s On East crab cakes and Oysters Rockefeller

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
61