About Michael's On East

1212 East Avenue South
Sarasota, FL 34239
View Larger Map

Founded on April 27, 1987, the celebrated Michael’s On East restaurant takes fine dining to another level, offering award-winning cuisine and outstanding service, in an exceptional 1940s supper club atmosphere. Michael's On East was one of only ten restaurants in the nation to be inducted into the 2009 Nation's Restaurant News Fine Dining Hall of Fame, considered the Oscars of the restaurant industry, and recently received their 25th consecutive AAA Four-Diamond Award.

Upon entering the dining room, you are immediately dazzled by the plush design and inspired décor. The restaurant’s intimate aura, along with its contemporary fare, world-class wine cellar and incomparable service, create an unparalleled dining experience that will give you every reason to keep coming back.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Monday - Friday, 11:30 a.m.- 2 p.m.

Dinner:
Monday - Saturday, 6 p.m. - close

Happy Hour:
Monday - Saturday, beginning at 5 p.m. in the Lounge

Live Music:
Tuesday - Saturday, beginning at 7 p.m. in the Lounge

Cross Street:
Bahia Vista

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 366-0007 ext. 224

Website:
http://www.bestfood.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy live music nightly in the Michael's On East Piano Bar Lounge.

Joe Micals, Tuesday - Saturday, beginning at 7 p.m.

Catering:
In addition to the fabulous Ballroom, Atrium, and Wine Cellar, Michael's has other incredible venues for your parties and special events. Whatever the occasion, Philip Mancini and the staff of Michael's On East are in the business of crating Memorable events. From dazzling galas for 1,000 or more, to an intimate candlelit dinner for two. We pride ourselves on making every event unique, on providing Sarasota's finest cuisine and the best service on Florida's Gulf Coast!

Parking Details:
We offer both Valet and Self-Parking. Valet Parking is located on East Ave.

Executive Chef:
Jamil Pineda

Private Party Facilities:
For an unparalleled dining and wine tasting experience your guests will never forget, Michael's Wine Cellar. One of Sarasota's hippest locations to entertain, Michael's Wine Cellar can accommodate 125 guests for a cocktail party or 50 for an elegant sit down dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Cloe Drapkin: (888) 653-7905

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Michael's On East Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (72)
Good for Anniversaries (49)
Romantic (46)
See All
Notable Wine List (43)
Good for a Date (41)
Creative Cuisine (41)
Good for Birthdays (38)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Worth the Drive (29)
Business Meals (27)
Bar Seating (25)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Live Music (18)
Great for Lunch (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Modern Decor (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Happy Hour (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Fun (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Seasonal (8)
Cozy (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Healthy (6)
Authentic (6)
Private Room (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Historic (4)
People Watching (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Casual (3)
Scenic View (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1898 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined 2 days ago

Great for special occasions. Wait staff was excellent. Choices in food was great also. Having valet parking was a special touch. Looking forward to having lunch there.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Gluten Free Options, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful restaurant. Chris, our server was very attentive, conversational, and funny. A must go to restaurant. Wonderful experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Exceptional food. A little longer than normal wait after salad for dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 16, 2017

As always, Michaels is special......the welcome, ambiance,breads(!)presentation and price.very reasonable for that experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Very professional service from the time we walked in. A very well oiled machine. Excellent food. Ordered a wine from their iPad based wine list, but was presented a different vintage. They had exhausted the listed vintage but never updated the wine list. It takes only a minute to update your computer based inventory. Important to some of us that pay attention to our wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I took my girlfriend here for Valentine's Day and it was an amazing night. Jeffrey was our server and he was the best server we've ever had. The earliest we could get a reservation was 9:15 and they close at 10 so I was worried we would be rushed. Instead, Jeffrey told us to take our time and even brought us free dessert at 10:45. He gave amazing recommendations for our food and wine and was a genuinely really nice person that we loved talking with. The food was perfect. The service was perfect. The atmosphere was perfect. The best restaurant in the area by far.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Had an amazing Valentine's Day dinner here with my boyfriend. Our appetizer was great. Drinks were perfect. He ordered Chilean Sea Bass and I ordered Veal Chop and both were excellent! This was just an overall great dining experience. Beautiful scenery, friendly staff, outstanding food... This is one of the best restaurant's out there! We will definitely be back.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The Valentine's Day menu was very limited & highly overpriced. The music was so loud it was hard to converse. Hostess tried to seat us right next to piano which should have been in a corner of the room. The overall experience was poor. They didn't offer any vegetarian options & tried to accommodate w a vegetable medley but it was deep fried. Everyone's meal was too greasy. Wine selection was very poor & extremely overpriced. I would not return. There are many restaurants to choose from that offer much better selections at half the expense.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The fish with different sauces was very good. Never thought to have beurre blanc with mushrooms on top of swordfish, but it worked. Pleasant décor and charming Michael. The bar scene was vibrant, with Joe the pianist/singer providing lively entertainment at the huge bar after dinner. We were only disappointed that when we pointed out our preferred table, we were told that all tables had already been assigned. I would have understood if I was told that someone else had specifically reserved that table, but was not told that--seems inflexible.

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 14, 2017

On a sale of I to 10, our food was an eleven! I'm a transplant from Boston & the swordfish @ Michael's on East was the BEST I have ever eaten. M y husband's pork chop entrée was melt in your mouth delicious. We've been in SRQ for 25 yrs & this was our 1st visit but it won't be the last. Just wish we had tried Michael's 25 yrs ago. We have missed out on some special occasions that could have been accompanied by great food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We were seated next to a table for 6 who were very loud & noisy.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Beautiful room. Our server complained she couldn't chat as she had so many tables. The soup was tepid, the wine was great, the entre's were good, the flourless chocolate dessert had just come out of the fridge...not great. Overall could be a gem. The service and food held it back a bit. Will give it another try.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our anniversary dinner was fantastic. Kathy was a great server and the scallops and duck were both wonderful. We had a drink and app in the bar first. Their calamari is the best around.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Pricey but delicious! The roasted cauliflower was soooo good! Steaks were good, not the best I ever had. Had a wonderful server who was very attentive and knowledgeable. We would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Chris...the waiter represented the restaurant well...His professionalism...knowledge of the menu...and recommendations made my birthday special...

The Lobster Pot is amazing!!!...Don’t miss this best deal on Friday nights...at one of the most romantic restaurants in town...

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We had a delicious dinner but way too much food...it would be nice to be able to order 1/2 of a side dish. Everything was cooked perfectly...excellent wine.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We had a nice seat in the center of the restaurant but unfortunately we had two table next to us with people who could not speak softly. As a result the noise distracted from what should have been a pleasant dinning experience.

We shared a beet salad and it was outstanding followed by the 24 oz steak that we shared. The steak was cooked perfectly and they cut it for us to share. We where full at that point and chose not to have dessert but they sounded great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Recommended by friends and it was a great recommendation. The food was excellent as well as the service. If I lived in Saratoga it would be on my list of places to go.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Michaels on East was up to its usual excellent standards. We dined with friends from Europe who vacationed every year on the Suncoast but had never been there. They said they would certainly come next year when they return on vacation. We had pompano, ahi tuna and duck - all very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Michael's on East is an elegant dining place to celebrate any occasion. Our server I(her name starts with a Y) was outstanding ! We also like the featured cuisine from different countries.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Exceptionally prepared food was exceptional service. Prices are high but the value is excellent

Tags: Live Music, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 1, 2017

over the years the menu, the preparation of food, has been excellent.

The wait staff is always very helpful and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 31, 2017

The steak I had was top 5 in my life. Our server was one of the best we have ever had. The food and atmosphere was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 30, 2017

We Live in Cape Coral FL and whenever we travel to Sarasota we ALWAYS go to Michael's On East. The BEST veal chop you will ever have! If you go ask for Evan as your server. He really added to our dining experience! Great personality and very knowledgeable. Believe me you will not be disappointed with this restaurant!

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Excellent service from friendly staff. Elegant décor, but high noise level. Cuisine is imaginative, but not memorable. Price is high for intrinsic quality of food preparation. Sadly, our high expectations were not met.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Food and service were very professional, delicious, exceeding expectations.

In such a fine dining atmosphere, I was disappointed to see men admitted without a jacket, as well as a man with a sloppy, unironed dress shirt, not even tucked in.

In restaurants of a similar caliber, I have seen the restaurant offer a man a jacket to wear rather than admit him as is. Even though this is south Florida, I still think such a policy is warranted at Michaels.

I love Michaels and the great environment and dining experience it offers.

Tags: Disabled Access, Romantic, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Our server was very happy to meet my dietary requests. She answered all my questions and went to the chef to confirm that they were able to modify my meal as per my request. The food was excellent!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 27, 2017

My wife and I were disappointed with our table, especially when we did have a reservation; it was too close to the door and service station. This resulted a lower review score.

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 26, 2017

This is a wonderful place and the food is outstanding. The only thing was we were early for our reservation and we asked to wait in the bar since our table wasn.t ready but there was no one there and all tables had been set. It would have been nice to have been seated immediately and not made to wait for no reason.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 26, 2017

As long as you can get past the attitude of the snippy lady at the door you are on for a wonderful meal. The waitstaff is warm and friendly, the food just amazing and the wine list excellent. I highly recommend the thai preparation of the salmon and the fried shrimp appetizer is not to be missed. We will be dining here again on our next visit to Sarasota.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Took my mother-in-law there for her 80th birthday at her request. Called the restaurant to tell them we would be half hour late and they were happy to move our reservation back. Unfortunately getting mom into the car took a while and showed up 12 minutes past our reservation time and they refused to seat us and sent us the bar. The restaurant was half empty. Waited in the bar for a while until they told us they were ready to seat us. Rest of the evening was OK. Food was actually very average and unimpressed for the price point. Ladies ordered the Seabass which was actually fairly tasteless. Service was good. Gave us a piece of cake for dessert which was nice. think this place has passed it's time and would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Always wonderful! Food and service excellent! Great menu!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 23, 2017

A very special place. The staff is outstanding and Michael K. is a great host who makes you feel special. It is a restaurant that deserves a sport coat at the very least.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Everything was very good. I would recommend going for happy hour in the bar for drinks and appetizers then going into the restaurant for your meal. It is very loud in the restaurant. Service was fantastic. The wine list is on a tablet. Food was very good. Expensive though, but you already know that.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Lovely place for upscale fine dining. Great fish and scallops. Will go again

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great evening at Michael's....as always! Jeremy was an attentive server. Wine selection is second to none. A first rate dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 19, 2017

We consider this restaurant to be the best in Sarasota. We choose Michael's Om East for special occasions as well as when we want an excellent meal. We often go to the bar for the bar menu which is wonderful. The piano music added to the ambiance of our evening. Regardless of what you order, the meal is excellent as is the wine.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 17, 2017

New York Steak House prices - a tad high for Sarasota - but in the end, worth every penny! I had the bone in rib eye - black and blue - and it was perfectly done and extremely tender. I'm still working off the leftovers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Great wait staff!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 17, 2017

We waited more than 45 minutes just to get bread and over 2 1/2 hours to get the food , eat it and leave.

The white wine we ordered was served virtually at room temperature and when we told the waitress she put it initially in an ice bucket that had 2 inches of ice water -- no more. It took forever to chill down even when we flagged her down -- no mean feat -- to tell her to put more ice in the bucket

The waitress was either incompetent or totally overworked.

Too bad, because the food is good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We enjoy a meal at Michael''s each time we are in Sarasota. This time some friends met us there for lunch. Food and service are always good.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Healthy, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I flew in from out of town to visit a friend, and she picked Michael's because she hadn't been there before. We split the 24 oz bone in ribeye, and it was fantastic. One of the best steaks I've ever had. I wish there had been more rib eye choices though. I had the shrimp tempura appetizer, which was good. She had the lobster bisque, and the broth tasted very strange. Not at all what I'd been used to back in the northeast. She didn't finish her soup, and I wasn't about to help. Service was good, and the drinks were reasonable. The total before tip was $170 for the 2 appetizers, the entree, one side, and four drinks. So a reasonably priced meal. Or at least cheaper than what I'm used to back in Boston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Noise level unbearable

service over the top - intrusive

table location requested was not observed

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We had theater tickets and a 5:45 reservation. There was 1 other table eating and happy hour in the bar. First they tried to seat us next to the doorway, worst table in the restaurant, then moved us to one next to a curtain which separated the bar and dining room. It was so loud we couldn't hear ourselves speaking. We move again into a dining room with 1 other table occupied. Told us all other tables reserved.

Server was very good. Brought out their famous onion rings, but they were cold and sent them back. Returned hot and very good. My veal chop was undercooked, I asked for medium and was too rare. My partners pork chop was OK but not great. By the time all this was finished we had no time for desert. When we left the dining room was half full. We think they gave us such a bad table because we used Open Table for the reservation.

We will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The food was fabulous. BBQ Shrimp on flatbread was delicious. Service was impeccable, staff were very friendly. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 10, 2017

The food is outstanding and their wine list has to be seen to be believed. Expensive - but worth it!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Business Meals, Private Room, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The food and the service were outstanding as always! My favorite restaurant in Sarasota!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 4, 2017

What can I say about the best restaurant in Sarasota that hasn't already been said? 5 star food, service, and ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The food was very good as usual but unfortunately the entire dining experience was less than the usual expected excellence due to the very poor service we experienced.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.