Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi

About Michael's On East

Founded on April 27, 1987, the celebrated Michael’s On East restaurant takes fine dining to another level, offering award-winning cuisine and outstanding service, in an exceptional 1940s supper club atmosphere. Michael's On East was one of only ten restaurants in the nation to be inducted into the 2009 Nation's Restaurant News Fine Dining Hall of Fame, considered the Oscars of the restaurant industry, and recently received their 28th consecutive AAA Four-Diamond Award.

Upon entering the dining room, you are immediately dazzled by the plush design and inspired décor. The restaurant’s intimate aura, along with its contemporary fare, world-class wine cellar and incomparable service, create an unparalleled dining experience that will give you every reason to keep coming back.

1212 East Avenue South
Sarasota, FL 34239
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Monday - Friday, 11:30 a.m.- 2 p.m.

Dinner:
Monday - Saturday, 6 p.m. - close

Happy Hour:
Monday - Saturday, beginning at 5 p.m. in the Lounge

Live Music:
Tuesday - Saturday, beginning at 7 p.m. in the Lounge

Cross Street:
Bahia Vista

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 366-0007 ext. 224

Website:
http://www.bestfood.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy live music nightly in the Michael's On East Piano Bar Lounge.

Joe Micals, Tuesday - Saturday, beginning at 7 p.m.

Catering:
In addition to the fabulous Ballroom, Atrium, and Wine Cellar, Michael's has other incredible venues for your parties and special events. Whatever the occasion, Philip Mancini and the staff of Michael's On East are in the business of crating Memorable events. From dazzling galas for 1,000 or more, to an intimate candlelit dinner for two. We pride ourselves on making every event unique, on providing Sarasota's finest cuisine and the best service on Florida's Gulf Coast!

Parking Details:
We offer both Valet and Self-Parking. Valet Parking is located on East Ave.

Executive Chef:
Jamil Pineda

Private Party Facilities:
For an unparalleled dining and wine tasting experience your guests will never forget, Michael's Wine Cellar. One of Sarasota's hippest locations to entertain, Michael's Wine Cellar can accommodate 125 guests for a cocktail party or 50 for an elegant sit down dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Cloe Drapkin: (888) 653-7905

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Michael's On East Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (54)
Good for Anniversaries (47)
Good for a Date (36)
See All
Good for Birthdays (34)
Romantic (34)
Notable Wine List (29)
Business Meals (26)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Live Music (18)
Worth the Drive (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Bar Seating (16)
Great for Lunch (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Authentic (14)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Cozy (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Fun (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Hot Spot (5)
People Watching (5)
Great for Brunch (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Casual (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
2091 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Always consistency fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Anniversary number 34

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Superb restaurant with excellent and attentive service and scrumptious food. Definitely a meal for a special occasion, though, we were in town for a few days visiting. The menu was extensive and the choices robust. Salads were fresh and delicious and my only complaint was that the portions were too generous. Chocolate cake for dessert was a 10 also.
I would give Michael's a thumbs up......10 out of 10. Leave your children at home though.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Michael's NEVER fails to disappoint! We have been faithful clients for years and are always happy to come back after the summer and see what new creations are on the menu. It is a mainstay with wonderful food and great service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Live Music, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 6, 2017

If you're in Sarasota and want great food/drink and service this restaurant is a MUST!
Lamb Chops were perfectly done as was the filet Mignon.
Our waiter A.J was one of the most friendly and knowledgeable about every dish on the menu.
Décor may be a little dated but food and service make up for it a thousand times over.

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Food was superb. Best steak I have ever had. Service was impeccable.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

Food was generally excellent and creative and the service top notch. Only false note was a duck dish in which the duck leg was a bit dry.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Delicious Epicurean menu on top level - compareble to one star kitchen in Europe for low price (under 20 USD) Tobias provided a great service. See you in Croatia. 😉

Tags: Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

This was my 2nd visit to. My friend was in town with her new boyfriend and was looking for a nice place to dine. I recommended Michael's. I ordered the exact same thing I ordered on my previous visit (pork chop), it was good but not as good as the first time. My friend even asked if I needed help cutting it (seemed a little tough). They however enjoyed their snapper & sea bass. My husband had the lamb and enjoyed it as well.
The Waiter was sort of busy not very attentive. My main complaint was about the Raisin/nut bread. The First basked was awesome and when I requested more, it was as Hard as a Brick and VERY DARK, I pointed it out to the waiter and brought us another basket but it was hard and burnt as well....VERY DISSAPOINTED.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

It was just my husband and I. The place had a great atmosphere. Felt like we were in NYC at a supper club. The food was just okay. We felt it was a bit too rich in butter and cream use. The service was excellent.had nice live music. If we go there again we would just be more careful in what we order.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

The first time my wife and I were there, we were extremely impressed by our experience. We were especially impressed by the excellent service. That was not the case on 8/26/17. Our server, Tammy did not impress any of us. She lacks proper etiquette. She couldn't hear some thing I said so she looked at me and said "what?" with a puzzled look. She piles up dishes on the table wherever they can fit. She does not provide an upscale experience. The place is still beautiful, the food was great with the exception of the baked potatoes. My wife is still talking about the scallops. I tried them, they were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Michael's met all expectations for this special occasion. Server (Joe) gave great recommendations and his description of the dishes was right on. Had a large table next to us celebrating two birthdays so it was a little loud. Music was just right.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 25, 2017

The food was outstanding the ambience was wonderful and our waiter AJ was superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Just wonderful as always. Thank you for making it special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We expected a fine dining experience when we reserved a table at Michael's and the restaurant delivered. Beautiful restaurant, comfortable seating, outstanding service all made for a very special night. Food was very good, with innovative combinations of ingredients. We were far enough away from the piano bar to enjoy the music without being overwhelmed by it. Would recommend to anyone celebrating something special or just for a special night out.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 18, 2017

If you want to make dinner more than just a meal, Michael's is your place. It is an experience. The food is incredible, the service hands-down is top notch. I go every year for my birthday to enjoy the lobster pot. You can't go wrong with this place.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 15, 2017

The service As always was outstanding. The Chilean sea bass which is usually what I ask was a little salty this time.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Live Music, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

We went to Michael's for our 22nd Anniversary. We had a thoroughly enjoyable time. The service was outstanding. The salmon dinner was fantastic. Michael even came out to congratulate us and sent a dessert our way, on the house, as a nod to our anniversary.

It was overall an excellent experience and I've already started bragging about our visit to anyone that will listen.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Our server seemed frazzled, in the weeds if you will, but Micheal's always delivers awesome food and a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 10, 2017

We had the best service ever and the food is very very good. An excellent dining experience. Receptionist would not seat us immediately because we arrived at 5:55 instead of 6:00; very tacky. Prices are the highest we have experienced in Sarasota; $40 to $70 enters, $10 to $20 starters and $10 to $15 sides! Value is the weakness.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Given Michael's on East reputation as Sarasota's best restaurant, we were disappointed. We split the Baby Romain Wedge, the bone-in ribeye, a side of the royal trumpet mushrooms and the Creme brûlée. The salad was very good; exactly what we hoped for. The ribeye was under-cooked (had to be sent back) and the rub on the steak was just okay; and the mushrooms were absolutely tasteless. The Creme brûlée desert was quite good and our server was excellent. Overall, though, we expected higher quality/more consistency across the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Love the happy hour options and live music!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Michael's on East never fails to deliver! You can be assured that the food is consistently excellent, the service professional and the ambiance comfortable. Our favorite waiter, Joe, always makes the evening special!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Live Music, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Michael's has always been consistently good. We've never been disappointed. Congrats on your recent awards too.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Michael's is always a great evening with high end food prepared beautifully. Service is really attentive and excellent. I should go more often !!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Were seated on arrival. Excellent, cordial service. Michael himself came to greet us and fellow diners. Pleasant golden-oldies pianist. Good-sized table, attractive china and flatware, enough distance between tables. Nice assortment of fresh and crisp breads. My husband had grilled salmon which was flavorful and moist. I had lobster-pot special which included PEI mussels (excellent!), small clams and fresh shelled lobster. Since it was our anniversary (they ask before dinner) we received a gratis dessert, key lime pie which was also very good. Michael's is on the expensive side but on a par with similar restaurants. Would go again.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Wonderful meal and amazing service .!!! The BEST IN SARASOTA. Well done , Michael Klauber

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Enjoyed dinner very much. Service was great and loved the food. What more can I say. The restaurant is one of my favorites.

Tags: Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Usually an excellent restaurant but not this time. Very disappointing. Ordered NY strip ($$$$) At least a third of it was so tough that I literally couldn't cut it. Chef provided another to go, which I thought odd. Management comped our dessert which was very tasty. My companion's dinner was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

My favorite civilized outstanding restaurant. Delicious food excellent service and has been consistent for the 15 years during which our group of 7 have had lunch!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Joe our waiter did an outstanding job...very professional

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Food was excellent as usual and atmosphere was relaxing and enjoyable. Easy to have a conversation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Excellent Top notch cuisine!!! Friday's Lobster pot is a must ! Michael's salad is the most creative salad we've ever had in any high end restaurant here in Florida , New York and Ridgewood,NJ where we lived. Their steaks , seafood and other dishes are excellent. Must order their sides , we've tried most of them . We always get potato croquettes, pecan candied yam,asparagus and Sautéed cauliflower is superb! Brownie dessert is yummy and huge !
Our children takes photo on our meal and post it at Instagram and I on Facebook. Yesterday's photo Friday, son visiting us. Always greeted by a smile from everyone!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 21, 2017

As always, lunch at Michael's is quite good even if it's priced a bit above average. Food and service are always spot on.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Michael's on East is a classy place without being stuffy. The Epicurean Adventures' menu changes monthly and highlights a different country's cuisine. It's always a pleasant surprise to see what the chef comes up with. The discount on wines on Thursdays makes it an even better bargain.

Tags: Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Always excellent. Strong menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Bad table location, aircond was not working. Waiter took to long to serve us during the evening. Food was good not great. Big disappointment for my first time!! Would not rush back for me or my friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Service was non existent
First time ever I have gone to a restaurant and the wine list was never offered
Totally unattentive waiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 11, 2017

For our 53rd anniversary, we were looking for something special. We found it in spades at Michael's on e.East. the food was super ,served on time and we had a very decadent desert to finish the delightful meal. Thank you very much. THE DOLBYS

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Excellent experience as always. I had the bone-in rib eye and it was fantastic.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.