About Michael's On East

1212 East Avenue South
Sarasota, FL 34239
View Larger Map

Founded on April 27, 1987, the celebrated Michael’s On East restaurant takes fine dining to another level, offering award-winning cuisine and outstanding service, in an exceptional 1940s supper club atmosphere. Michael's On East was one of only ten restaurants in the nation to be inducted into the 2009 Nation's Restaurant News Fine Dining Hall of Fame, considered the Oscars of the restaurant industry, and recently received their 25th consecutive AAA Four-Diamond Award.

Upon entering the dining room, you are immediately dazzled by the plush design and inspired décor. The restaurant’s intimate aura, along with its contemporary fare, world-class wine cellar and incomparable service, create an unparalleled dining experience that will give you every reason to keep coming back.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Monday - Friday, 11:30 a.m.- 2 p.m.

Dinner:
Monday - Saturday, 6 p.m. - close

Happy Hour:
Monday - Saturday, beginning at 5 p.m. in the Lounge

Live Music:
Tuesday - Saturday, beginning at 7 p.m. in the Lounge

Cross Street:
Bahia Vista

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 366-0007 ext. 224

Website:
http://www.bestfood.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy live music nightly in the Michael's On East Piano Bar Lounge.

Joe Micals, Tuesday - Saturday, beginning at 7 p.m.

Catering:
In addition to the fabulous Ballroom, Atrium, and Wine Cellar, Michael's has other incredible venues for your parties and special events. Whatever the occasion, Philip Mancini and the staff of Michael's On East are in the business of crating Memorable events. From dazzling galas for 1,000 or more, to an intimate candlelit dinner for two. We pride ourselves on making every event unique, on providing Sarasota's finest cuisine and the best service on Florida's Gulf Coast!

Parking Details:
We offer both Valet and Self-Parking. Valet Parking is located on East Ave.

Executive Chef:
Jamil Pineda

Private Party Facilities:
For an unparalleled dining and wine tasting experience your guests will never forget, Michael's Wine Cellar. One of Sarasota's hippest locations to entertain, Michael's Wine Cellar can accommodate 125 guests for a cocktail party or 50 for an elegant sit down dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Cloe Drapkin: 8886537905

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Lobster Bisque
Salmon
Rack of Lamb
Chocolate Fountain
BBQ Pork Belly
Purple Kale
Green & Yellow Beans With Carrots
Baby Romaine
Red & Yellow Tomatoes
Strawberries
Cheese
Purple Cauliflower
Sunburst Squash
Romanesco Cauliflower
Yellow Cauliflower
Meats
Creme Puffs
Lamb With Creme Fraiche
Sugar Snap Peas
Smoked scallops
Yellow Pea Shoots
Cheese & Meat Display
Desserts
Sliced Pineapple
Lettuces
Mozzarella and Tomato Salad
Grilled Quail
Portabella Mushrooms
Bread Display
Smoked Fish Platter
Yellowfin Tuna Loin
American Red Snapper
Whole Smoked Salmon
Florida Pompano
Wakame Salad
Smoked Salmon & Trout
Fish Display
Crackers
Yellowtail Snapper
Live Lobsters
Lousiana White Shrimp
Black Grouper
Smoked Amberjack
Condiments For Smoked Fish Table
Smoked Fish Spread
Produce Display
PEI Mussels
Littleneck clams
Zabaglione
Coffee Seared Yellowfin Tuna
Caprese Salad
Cannoli
Bread Basket
Four Cheese Ravioli
House-Cured Salmon Crostini
Golden Beet Salad
Scallop Ceviche
Phil's Strip Steak
Empanadas Argentinas
Angel Hair Onion Rings
Butter Roasted Flounder
Thai Chicken Paillard
Lobster Roll (Sandwich)

Michael's On East Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Tampa / Central Florida West
Special Occasion
Tampa / Central Florida West
Fit for Foodies
Sarasota / Bradenton
4 More
Notable Wine List
Sarasota / Bradenton
Romantic
Sarasota / Bradenton
Special Occasion
Sarasota / Bradenton
Contemporary American
Sarasota / Bradenton
Best Restaurants in Sarasota ›

special occasion (129)
fit for foodies (90)
romantic (85)
See All
notable wine list (78)
good for groups (48)
great for lunch (41)
neighborhood gem (37)
vibrant bar scene (36)
hot spot (28)
great for brunch (17)
late-night find (10)
kid-friendly (3)
great for outdoor dining (3)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1643 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was delicious! We had the we ...

Dined 7 days ago

Everything was delicious! We had the wedge salad, filet mignon, NY strip and Colony snapper with crab. Sides were macaroni and cheese and potato croquettes. Portions were large, steaks and fish were perfectly cooked and the crab meat had great texture, nice hearty chunks of crab. Service was excellent and the drinks were well-poured.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always it was a pleasant experience. ...

Dined 7 days ago

As always it was a pleasant experience. The service was good. The tables however are a little small for 4 people if they are having the lobster pot

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The servers and the managers treated us ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

The servers and the managers treated us like we were special from the time we left the car with the valet , thru an excellent meal and dessert, until we picked up the car from a valet. The food was very nicely prepared, both the swordfish and the steak. Cooked to perfection.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Living in Bradenton, it is a ride to thi ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Living in Bradenton, it is a ride to this gem. I bring friends and family especially those visiting me. I find this restaurant to help make a lasting memory. It is a favorite of mine and my friends also., I highly recommend it to all

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Michael's has a pleasant ambiance, table ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Michael's has a pleasant ambiance, tables are not too close, service is swift if impersonal, the food is above average. There is a 3-course prix-fixe menu for $35 which is nice because a la carte is expensive. Noise is low because floor is carpeted.There is a good pianist playing songs older people appreciate, not intrusively. Some minor thing always seems to go wrong at Michael's: four people got one tiny pat of butter to serve all four, and those who ordered steak had to ask for steak knives; asking for more butter and for knives took time. Michael's lacks warmth, it seems like an assembly-line place.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

There was almost a 30 minute delay after ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

There was almost a 30 minute delay after the first course. I approached the hostess one hour after we were first seated and asked where our entrees were. They arrived soon afterwards obviously having sat out somewhere on a warming table or some other such device. The food looked unappetizing and was barely warm. We were embarrassed as we had "talked up" this fine restaurant to our business associates just visiting town. AnneS

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and food. Service was ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Excellent service and food. Service was professional without being pretentious. Food (e.g., steak, duck) was also excellent with appropriate serving size.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorites for romantic date n ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

One of our favorites for romantic date night. Had a prix fixe 3 course dinner. Stand outs were the crab tomato bisque, succulent pieces of crab in a subtly spiced and not too thick broth, rainbow trout with baby vegetables, and a beautifully presented banana cake with chocolate ganache. Always a fun atmosphere, a perfect place for a special occasion, classy without being stuffy.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Decor is dated. Time for a makeover, fo ...

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

Decor is dated. Time for a makeover, food and service terrific.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly recommend Michaels

Dined on June 7, 2016

The food was great and so was the service. The restaurant is beautiful and the quiet. I highly recommend Michaels.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great night

Dined on June 4, 2016

From the moment we entered the door, everything was exceptional. First class in service, food was delicious and artfully plated, and staff was knowledgeable and courteous.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always a go to spot for amazing servi ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

As always a go to spot for amazing service and amazing food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous Birthday Treat

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

Michael greeted us personally on my husband's birthday and the service continued at that level of excellence. Great food, wine list and especially desserts!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We celebrated our 15th wedding anniversa ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

We celebrated our 15th wedding anniversary here and the whole experience was exquisite! The staff went out of their way to make sure we were totally happy with everything!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always perfect.

Dined on June 1, 2016

We dined with family on our last night before heading north, wanting to experience "Savor Sarasota". It was fantastic. The food is delicious, interesting, healthy. AJ our server was amazing. The Head Chef came out to check on us. He was so nice. My husband and I noticed the bar for the first time. There was a fantastic piano player. We decided the bar would be a great place for a bite some night when it's just the 2 of us.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Over Hyped !!!!

Dined on May 28, 2016

We have had the pleasure of trying many wonderful restaurants in Sarasota and we would not consider Michael's one of them. We were a party of 4 and we all felt the extreme disappointment when we left. The "Sarasota Magazine" has hyped this over priced and poor presentation of food to sound absolutely wonderful and it was anything but. I would not return and would not recommend it. We don't know how they made it to 29 years of serving that food.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Loosing its touch ,food not anything spe ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Loosing its touch ,food not anything special anymore

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

As always, our dinner experience was very special. Great service, great food and great atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

As usual Michaels has the absolute best ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

As usual Michaels has the absolute best service in Sarasota together with an inspired menu -- always a twist of special flavors you weren't expecting that is a delicious find. We came for the Epicurean Dinner (inspired by Spain) and it was a delight. There was a large birthday party next to our table and the Maitre D' and staff could not have been more helpful ushering the celebrators out the door politely but promptly.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and compassion

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

My wife and I took her 100 year-old aunt to Michael's last week for lunch. The food was very, very good. Our aunt loved her glass of Chardonnay and her fried onions. The lunch wasabout our aunt and the staff from the valet (female) to the hostess and especially our waiter treated our aunt with respect and care. Our waiter (young guy with reddish beard) replaced her wine and water glasses before we thought to ask so that she could handle them. He was extremely caring and watchful. I can't say enough about his service. TGhe food was to its' usual high standard but the service was the high point. THe place is not full of 100 year olds, so I thought hiscaring watchfulness was very much worth mentioning.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were so thrilled with our dining expe ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

We were so thrilled with our dining experience at Michael's on East. The food was beyond delicious and all the guests in our party loved everything about the restaurant from the service to the food. We can't wait to go back on our next visit to Sarasota.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Tiny seabass entree

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was delicious but the $46 seabass portion was the size of my fist- and I am a small woman. So I think it was all a bit pricey. The chopped salad was excellent as were the scallops in a buttery lobster-laden sauce. I will continue my search for my favorite restaurant in Sarasota.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You won't be disappointed!

Dined on May 14, 2016

Although we didn't have by far a large tab, we were treated as if we were the most Important guests there! Scrumptious food, outstanding service, beautiful atmosphere!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Will return again and AGAIN. Food was no ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Will return again and AGAIN. Food was notable. Service was good.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Hostess was unfriendly and set the eveni ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Hostess was unfriendly and set the evening off on a sour note. The greeting upon entering the restaurant was cool. We had requested a table away from traffic when we made the reservation and was brought to a table right next to the main entrance pathway in an unused part of the restaurant. When we requested a different table, she called in the manager as if we were "problem" customers. ( The manager was great btw.) The waiter was so busy with his tables in the main part of the restaurant, we got lousy service. Also, when asking him for wine recommendation, he read the wine list over our shoulder. Really? Offered us bread and forgot to bring it, etc. The food was fabulous, but the lack of professionalism by the staff did not jibe with the prices. If you go there for an fine dining evening, I would not recommend it. But the food was good, and I would go back, but as I said, not for a special occasion.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never ever disappointed at Michaels.

Dined on May 12, 2016

Food is always the best quality, with service to match.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mother's Day fund

Dined on May 8, 2016

Given that our 93 year old aunt is never certain just when she'll feel like going out, I was very pleased to be able to get a reservation for Mother's Day just the day before. My sword fish was amazing as was my wife's pork chop. We had to take desert home because we had so much but as soon as we got there the deserts were gone. Excellent! So many nice restaurants have so do deserts, but these were very nice. So far I put Michaels on East at the top of my Sarasota dining experiences. Oh, how many places have 40 year old port? They do and it's so good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service at Michael's is very good.

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

The food is very good and Joe the waiter is very attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

tradeup

Dined on May 5, 2016

Michael's is one of the few restaurants that are worth the money for special occasions

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food, served with elegance a ...

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Outstanding food, served with elegance and grace.

food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Great appetizers, Entrees disappoint

Dined on April 30, 2016

This is a very upscale restaurant. Could be in NYC. Waiter was a tad pushy. Duck spring rolls and wedge salad were terrific. I ordered Pompano entree and wife had crab cakes. Both were a disappointment. Also found the wine list limited, which surprised us. This is a very pricey restaurant that did not deliver on this Saturday night. Been to the piano bar in the past for small plates and had a good experience. A restaurant with this reputation, and at a top price level, should be a dining experience, not be off it's game on a Saturday night. Excellent and very silently attentive bus boy was worth noting.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant had a nice ambiance. The ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

The restaurant had a nice ambiance. The food was superb, especially the salmon, which everyone agreed was the best they ever tasted. The service was friendly and accommodating. Great for special occasions. Would just suggest the singer not be miked so much. It was hard to hear and converse even though we were far from the singer.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Epicurian Specialties

Dined on April 28, 2016

We each tried a different entre. The chicken and salmon were very tasty as were their respective accompanying sides. The lemon poppy seed cake and sorbet were an excellent finish. We decided to come once a month just for the epicurean specials, as the entrées are selections we would not normally experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent Food

Dined on April 26, 2016

As usual, excellent food .But we were introducing friends to the restaurant, and the first 20 minutes or so were not pleasant. Our waitress seemed rushed and actually quite snippy that we were having trouble with the electronic wine list. Eventually things calmed down, and it was as it should be at Michael's.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

High priced, Average Service

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

My husband and I had enjoyed dinner at this well-known spot once before for a special occasion. We hoped to repeat our good experience but unfortunately that was not the case. The food is of high quality and equally high priced. Steak for $58?? I had a pork chop and my husband had tuna. Both were well prepared. My knock on the place is that the bar was filled with happy hour types getting the $5 drinks and appetizers so we had a difficult time trying to enjoy a quiet cocktail at the bar. Our waitress was without any personality and came and went from the table without adding much else. For a place that positions itself as a high end cool place, the atmosphere did not match for us on this evening.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome, awesome, awesome. Michael came ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Awesome, awesome, awesome. Michael came to our table and introduced himself, Kevin was super attentive, and the chocolate brownie stack was to die for. Would give it an A++.

food5
ambience5
service5

The entire evening was a success. The fo ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

The entire evening was a success. The food was delicious and a personal visit to our table from Michael was the crowning touch. The service was outstanding. The pianist that was playing in the lounge area made a wonderful backdrop to our musical, enchanted evening. We love dining out in Sarasota but Michael's is simply the best.

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

High expectations: Met!

Dined on April 23, 2016

Went to celebrate birthdays before seeing a play. Had heard good reviews from friends and were not disappointed. My wife's scallops were excellent, as was my sea bass. Appetizer was also delicious. Classy interior with table placement providing for privacy. We'll return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Wonderful birthday

Dined on April 23, 2016

My wife and I had a wonderful experience filled with great service, fine wine and food. Everything was wonderful as my wife and I celebrated her 15th annual 29th birthday, yes I know but she was so happy as our experience was fantastic. I would recommend Michaels on East to anyone who enjoys fine dining. Great service, great drinks, and fantastic food = a wonderful experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3

The salad was fantastic, the lobster spo ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

The salad was fantastic, the lobster spot on.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.