About Michael's On East

1212 East Avenue South
Sarasota, FL 34239
View Larger Map

Founded on April 27, 1987, the celebrated Michael’s On East restaurant takes fine dining to another level, offering award-winning cuisine and outstanding service, in an exceptional 1940s supper club atmosphere. Michael's On East was one of only ten restaurants in the nation to be inducted into the 2009 Nation's Restaurant News Fine Dining Hall of Fame, considered the Oscars of the restaurant industry, and recently received their 25th consecutive AAA Four-Diamond Award.

Upon entering the dining room, you are immediately dazzled by the plush design and inspired décor. The restaurant’s intimate aura, along with its contemporary fare, world-class wine cellar and incomparable service, create an unparalleled dining experience that will give you every reason to keep coming back.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Monday - Friday, 11:30 a.m.- 2 p.m.

Dinner:
Monday - Saturday, 6 p.m. - close

Happy Hour:
Monday - Saturday, beginning at 5 p.m. in the Lounge

Live Music:
Tuesday - Saturday, beginning at 7 p.m. in the Lounge

Cross Street:
Bahia Vista

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 366-0007 ext. 224

Website:
http://www.bestfood.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy live music nightly in the Michael's On East Piano Bar Lounge.

Joe Micals, Tuesday - Saturday, beginning at 7 p.m.

Catering:
In addition to the fabulous Ballroom, Atrium, and Wine Cellar, Michael's has other incredible venues for your parties and special events. Whatever the occasion, Philip Mancini and the staff of Michael's On East are in the business of crating Memorable events. From dazzling galas for 1,000 or more, to an intimate candlelit dinner for two. We pride ourselves on making every event unique, on providing Sarasota's finest cuisine and the best service on Florida's Gulf Coast!

Parking Details:
We offer both Valet and Self-Parking. Valet Parking is located on East Ave.

Executive Chef:
Jamil Pineda

Private Party Facilities:
For an unparalleled dining and wine tasting experience your guests will never forget, Michael's Wine Cellar. One of Sarasota's hippest locations to entertain, Michael's Wine Cellar can accommodate 125 guests for a cocktail party or 50 for an elegant sit down dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Cloe Drapkin: 8886537905

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Michael's On East Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Tampa / Central Florida West
Special Occasion
Tampa / Central Florida West
Contemporary American
Tampa / Central Florida West
5 More
Fit for Foodies
Sarasota / Bradenton
Notable Wine List
Sarasota / Bradenton
Romantic
Sarasota / Bradenton
Special Occasion
Sarasota / Bradenton
Contemporary American
Sarasota / Bradenton
Best Restaurants in Sarasota ›

special occasion (154)
fit for foodies (115)
romantic (105)
See All
notable wine list (97)
vibrant bar scene (47)
good for groups (45)
great for lunch (43)
neighborhood gem (43)
hot spot (34)
great for brunch (18)
late-night find (10)
scenic view (3)
kid-friendly (3)
great for outdoor dining (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1622 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were so thrilled with our dining expe ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

We were so thrilled with our dining experience at Michael's on East. The food was beyond delicious and all the guests in our party loved everything about the restaurant from the service to the food. We can't wait to go back on our next visit to Sarasota.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Tiny seabass entree

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was delicious but the $46 seabass portion was the size of my fist- and I am a small woman. So I think it was all a bit pricey. The chopped salad was excellent as were the scallops in a buttery lobster-laden sauce. I will continue my search for my favorite restaurant in Sarasota.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You won't be disappointed!

Dined on May 14, 2016

Although we didn't have by far a large tab, we were treated as if we were the most Important guests there! Scrumptious food, outstanding service, beautiful atmosphere!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Will return again and AGAIN. Food was no ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Will return again and AGAIN. Food was notable. Service was good.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Hostess was unfriendly and set the eveni ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Hostess was unfriendly and set the evening off on a sour note. The greeting upon entering the restaurant was cool. We had requested a table away from traffic when we made the reservation and was brought to a table right next to the main entrance pathway in an unused part of the restaurant. When we requested a different table, she called in the manager as if we were "problem" customers. ( The manager was great btw.) The waiter was so busy with his tables in the main part of the restaurant, we got lousy service. Also, when asking him for wine recommendation, he read the wine list over our shoulder. Really? Offered us bread and forgot to bring it, etc. The food was fabulous, but the lack of professionalism by the staff did not jibe with the prices. If you go there for an fine dining evening, I would not recommend it. But the food was good, and I would go back, but as I said, not for a special occasion.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never ever disappointed at Michaels.

Dined on May 12, 2016

Food is always the best quality, with service to match.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mother's Day fund

Dined on May 8, 2016

Given that our 93 year old aunt is never certain just when she'll feel like going out, I was very pleased to be able to get a reservation for Mother's Day just the day before. My sword fish was amazing as was my wife's pork chop. We had to take desert home because we had so much but as soon as we got there the deserts were gone. Excellent! So many nice restaurants have so do deserts, but these were very nice. So far I put Michaels on East at the top of my Sarasota dining experiences. Oh, how many places have 40 year old port? They do and it's so good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service at Michael's is very good.

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

The food is very good and Joe the waiter is very attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

tradeup

Dined on May 5, 2016

Michael's is one of the few restaurants that are worth the money for special occasions

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food, served with elegance a ...

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Outstanding food, served with elegance and grace.

food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Great appetizers, Entrees disappoint

Dined on April 30, 2016

This is a very upscale restaurant. Could be in NYC. Waiter was a tad pushy. Duck spring rolls and wedge salad were terrific. I ordered Pompano entree and wife had crab cakes. Both were a disappointment. Also found the wine list limited, which surprised us. This is a very pricey restaurant that did not deliver on this Saturday night. Been to the piano bar in the past for small plates and had a good experience. A restaurant with this reputation, and at a top price level, should be a dining experience, not be off it's game on a Saturday night. Excellent and very silently attentive bus boy was worth noting.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant had a nice ambiance. The ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

The restaurant had a nice ambiance. The food was superb, especially the salmon, which everyone agreed was the best they ever tasted. The service was friendly and accommodating. Great for special occasions. Would just suggest the singer not be miked so much. It was hard to hear and converse even though we were far from the singer.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Epicurian Specialties

Dined on April 28, 2016

We each tried a different entre. The chicken and salmon were very tasty as were their respective accompanying sides. The lemon poppy seed cake and sorbet were an excellent finish. We decided to come once a month just for the epicurean specials, as the entrées are selections we would not normally experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent Food

Dined on April 26, 2016

As usual, excellent food .But we were introducing friends to the restaurant, and the first 20 minutes or so were not pleasant. Our waitress seemed rushed and actually quite snippy that we were having trouble with the electronic wine list. Eventually things calmed down, and it was as it should be at Michael's.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

High priced, Average Service

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

My husband and I had enjoyed dinner at this well-known spot once before for a special occasion. We hoped to repeat our good experience but unfortunately that was not the case. The food is of high quality and equally high priced. Steak for $58?? I had a pork chop and my husband had tuna. Both were well prepared. My knock on the place is that the bar was filled with happy hour types getting the $5 drinks and appetizers so we had a difficult time trying to enjoy a quiet cocktail at the bar. Our waitress was without any personality and came and went from the table without adding much else. For a place that positions itself as a high end cool place, the atmosphere did not match for us on this evening.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome, awesome, awesome. Michael came ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Awesome, awesome, awesome. Michael came to our table and introduced himself, Kevin was super attentive, and the chocolate brownie stack was to die for. Would give it an A++.

food5
ambience5
service5

The entire evening was a success. The fo ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

The entire evening was a success. The food was delicious and a personal visit to our table from Michael was the crowning touch. The service was outstanding. The pianist that was playing in the lounge area made a wonderful backdrop to our musical, enchanted evening. We love dining out in Sarasota but Michael's is simply the best.

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

High expectations: Met!

Dined on April 23, 2016

Went to celebrate birthdays before seeing a play. Had heard good reviews from friends and were not disappointed. My wife's scallops were excellent, as was my sea bass. Appetizer was also delicious. Classy interior with table placement providing for privacy. We'll return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Wonderful birthday

Dined on April 23, 2016

My wife and I had a wonderful experience filled with great service, fine wine and food. Everything was wonderful as my wife and I celebrated her 15th annual 29th birthday, yes I know but she was so happy as our experience was fantastic. I would recommend Michaels on East to anyone who enjoys fine dining. Great service, great drinks, and fantastic food = a wonderful experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3

The salad was fantastic, the lobster spo ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

The salad was fantastic, the lobster spot on.

food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Disappointing

Dined on April 22, 2016

With too many tables, the restaurant was noisy and it was difficult to carry on a conversation. The special menu, which my wife ordered, was good, but my lobster bisque and rack of lamb were disappointing and over-priced. The bisque contained a couple of pieces of grossly over-cooked lobster (at least I think it was lobster).

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love it!

Dined on April 21, 2016

Perfect high-end dining experience! Can't wait for out next visit.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Brilliant but piano was loud

Dined on April 21, 2016

Brilliant but piano was loud

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

off the main road but worth the trip

vip
Dined on April 19, 2016

best pompano ever! all 4 meals were superb! and accommodating to my gluten free wife's requests.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

All four of us greatly enjoyed our meals ...

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

All four of us greatly enjoyed our meals. The salads very crisp and delicious. Everything was really tasty- even their special vegetables.

food5
ambience4
service5

Lovely dinner. Big bucks, worth every di ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Lovely dinner. Big bucks, worth every dime. Did not want the evening to end.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Becoming a favorite

Dined on April 14, 2016

Our last visit was another special occasion celebrated at Michael's. We've now decidded that the menu, service, ambiance and decor are such that we need to be here more often. This is a Sarasota treasure to be enjoyed often.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Always a Delight

Dined on April 14, 2016

Michael's on East in Sarasota is a dependable gem! You always get delicious food served appealingly; a great selection; service that's attentive and yet not intruding. The decor is tired...needs a facelift.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very fine dining, but amazing food

Dined on April 12, 2016

Our Server was extremely knowledgeable. This was the second visit I had to Michaels and the second Epicurean Adventure that I had experienced. A+ 3 course meal! Everything was well proportioned and the wine list was impeccable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful Surprise

Dined on April 8, 2016

My wife and I were visiting from Rhode Island and we consider ourselves foodies. Many of the food experiences we have in Florida and less than satisfying. Michaels on East was such a pleasant surprise! From our career waiter Joe to our brief conversation with the owner. The food was delicious, well presented and the waiter was very knowledgeable. He helped us have a wonderful evening. Great job to the entire Michaels staff and we will be back again regularly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

repeat customer

Dined on April 5, 2016

This is our fourth or fifth time at Micahel's. We have never been disappointed

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Not Up to Expectations

Dined on April 5, 2016

Word around Sarasota is that Michael's produces excellent quality food and drink. It's advertised as a high-end, high-value establishment. For some time, I had been very interested in a personal experience with the place. Rather that bore you with what's great, please allow me to get to the ugly. I ordered a Bloody Mary (15-bucks a glass). It arrived in a round, 2-1/2" diameter glass, about 6-1/2" tall -- definitely not a traditional Bloody Mary glass by any means. In the glass was well-Vodka and tomato juice -- nothing else, save a stick with a couple Olives. I would have expected an exceptional "blood" mix of Michael's own concoction and a nice salted-rim. The taste...? Well, cheap Vodka and Tomato juice -- an extremely poor effort. The Ahi-Tuna ($35) was a mess of flavors on a plate -- nothing stood out. It consisted of Tuna next to a bed of black rice that was topped with Watercress garnished with vinegar dressing. Next to the Ahi were a couple of cooked carrots and on either side was a small dab of Wasabi sauce, which was so mild it tasted more like flavored Mayo than the pungent Wasabi it should have been. Nothing to write home about here...! I've had much better Ahi-Tuna at the Casey Key Fish House at half the price. Would I go back...? No way.

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

NICE MEAL

Dined on March 31, 2016

Nice meal and great service for my wife and I. Our waitress was great. We had steak and it was pricey but very nice.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Another great meal...lunch or dinner

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

Another great meal...lunch or dinner

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Michael's never fails!

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

The attentive and knowledgeable staff are not overbearing, the food is consistently outstanding, and the drinks are not child-size like so many others who call themselves fine dining serve. Sure it's expensive, but worth it!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

!st timer. worth the wait.

vip
Dined on March 29, 2016

Great for a special dinner. The steak (bone in rib-eye) was out of this world. The decor a little dated

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Mark Sheldon

Dined on March 29, 2016

Our waiter was extremely helpful in going over the menu and daily specials. The food was superb. There was a piano player in the adjoining bar that added to the ambiance.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Loved Michael's on East

Dined on March 29, 2016

Michael's is a very attractive restaurant. The bar would be a good place to eat and drink early as they have specials and it is very inviting. We ate at the regular tables and you can look out the windows into their courtyard, which is very pretty. We will definitely go back when we are in Sarasota next year. They also have valet parking, which my husband very much appreciates. A few hours I sent in a review for Michael's that was really for Duval's in Sarasota. Sorry for the mix up. Hope you can cancel the previous one for Michael's.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Michael and Phil manage the best restaur ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Michael and Phil manage the best restaurant in the Sarasota area. We never tire of their excellent food and customer service. They are invaluable to many community organizations and projects, and always generous giving back to the community. Just go there as often as you can, and enjoy the ambiance and food and wine list. Thanks, Michael and Phil, for all you do!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and delicious cuisine

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Excellent service and delicious cuisine

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.