Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi

About Michael's On East

Founded on April 27, 1987, the celebrated Michael’s On East restaurant takes fine dining to another level, offering award-winning cuisine and outstanding service, in an exceptional 1940s supper club atmosphere. Michael's On East was one of only ten restaurants in the nation to be inducted into the 2009 Nation's Restaurant News Fine Dining Hall of Fame, considered the Oscars of the restaurant industry, and recently received their 28th consecutive AAA Four-Diamond Award.

Upon entering the dining room, you are immediately dazzled by the plush design and inspired décor. The restaurant’s intimate aura, along with its contemporary fare, world-class wine cellar and incomparable service, create an unparalleled dining experience that will give you every reason to keep coming back.

1212 East Avenue South
Sarasota, FL 34239
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Monday - Friday, 11:30 a.m.- 2 p.m.

Dinner:
Monday - Saturday, 6 p.m. - close

Happy Hour:
Monday - Saturday, beginning at 5 p.m. in the Lounge

Live Music:
Tuesday - Saturday, beginning at 7 p.m. in the Lounge

Cross Street:
Bahia Vista

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 366-0007 ext. 224

Website:
http://www.bestfood.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy live music nightly in the Michael's On East Piano Bar Lounge.

Joe Micals, Tuesday - Saturday, beginning at 7 p.m.

Catering:
In addition to the fabulous Ballroom, Atrium, and Wine Cellar, Michael's has other incredible venues for your parties and special events. Whatever the occasion, Philip Mancini and the staff of Michael's On East are in the business of crating Memorable events. From dazzling galas for 1,000 or more, to an intimate candlelit dinner for two. We pride ourselves on making every event unique, on providing Sarasota's finest cuisine and the best service on Florida's Gulf Coast!

Parking Details:
We offer both Valet and Self-Parking. Valet Parking is located on East Ave.

Executive Chef:
Jamil Pineda

Private Party Facilities:
For an unparalleled dining and wine tasting experience your guests will never forget, Michael's Wine Cellar. One of Sarasota's hippest locations to entertain, Michael's Wine Cellar can accommodate 125 guests for a cocktail party or 50 for an elegant sit down dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Cloe Drapkin: (888) 653-7905

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Each spring, Michael's On East opens its Restaurant's doors on two extra-special Sundays for luscious brunch buffets. Please join us for a holiday brunch on Easter Sunday or Mother's Day this year

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Each spring, Michael's On East opens its Restaurant's doors on two extra-special Sundays for luscious brunch buffets. Please join us for a holiday brunch on Easter Sunday or Mother's Day this year

Michael's On East Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (77)
Good for Anniversaries (58)
Creative Cuisine (51)
See All
Notable Wine List (49)
Romantic (48)
Good for a Date (47)
Good for Birthdays (46)
Worth the Drive (40)
Business Meals (33)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Bar Seating (28)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Great for Lunch (21)
Modern Decor (20)
Live Music (20)
Good for Groups (19)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Local Ingredients (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Hot Spot (16)
Tasting Menu (14)
Cozy (13)
Healthy (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Fun (11)
Private Room (11)
Authentic (11)
Seasonal (10)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Casual (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Disabled Access (7)
Historic (6)
People Watching (6)
Late-night Find (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
1938 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 3 days ago

This was the fourth visit to Michaels and they always have great service. The drinks and wine list never fail to offer interesting and great tasting choices. You can buy wine on a wide cost spectrum and find great wines even at the lower end.

As for food, with one key exception, it was super as usual. The beet salad and lobster bisque were awesome starters. Sides of creamed spinach and mac & cheese were really tasty and superior to most. The only flaw was with the main item I was looking forward to most, the ribeye.

After a detailed discussion with the server about how the steak should be prepared it came out more well done than expected. While that wasn't too bad it had been charred on the outside to the point where burnt flakes came off (ordered medium). They had no issues with correcting the problem but I would prefer not to send something back when they could have seen how burnt it was before bringing it out.

If you want a spectacular dessert try the Brownie. It's like a double decker brownie ice cream cake. Definitely enough for two.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food choices, superb ambiance, and excellent personal attention from our server Raechell.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 5 days ago

I chose michaels on east based on a recommendation from a coworker. The hostess was kind and humorous very welcoming. The atmosphere was just right. The food was incredible but the real treat was our server Raechelle. Her descriptions were not only spot on but creative and tantalizing. Thank you! Will return asap!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Disabled Access, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 20, 2017

We have enjoyed Michael's over the past 25 years. Never been disappointed in the food or service. I have even booked banquets there and my guests were duly impressed as well.
We always order the Mac&Cheese, as a side. There is NONE BETTER.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 19, 2017

I love this restaurant and so does my wife. It is my go to place for special occasions. Thank you for being consistent with your high level of excellence.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Special Occasion, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The staff is great, friendly and attentive. The food is superb and the experience wonderful. This was our third time at the restaurant and we can't wait to go back. Bravo

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Michaels always provides a first class dining experience. From wonderful cocktails and extensive wine choices to decadent desserts and everything in between, a dinner at Michaels always impresses. Once again, you have provided us with a memorable night and meal.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

A great downtown find. Great service at both the bar and at the table.

Tags: Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 18, 2017

This restaurant experience was wonderful. The meals were first rate and our server (Kimberly) was excellent. Definitely will return.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Michael's on East always delivers the best service, food, and the ambiance is wonderful. It is always a treat to eat here!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Food and service was excellent. Only comment is first course and second course much too rushed.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Dining room comfortable and cozy, wait staff very friendly. Food delicious and creative!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 16, 2017

It was a wonderful luncheon, food was great and every table provides a private atmosphere

Tags: Business Meals, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Good for a Date, Private Room, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Everything from start to finish was perfect. As they say you get what you pay for and Michael's is pricy but every thing was great. We'll be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Very disappointed after reading all the rave reviews. We found the food heavy and overly doused with heavy sauces/etc.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Excellent food. Service was very good. Table was right by the bar which is only seperated from our dining room by a sheer curtain so music and noise from bar was all over us which made it hard to converse. Other than that it was a lovely birthday celebration!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 10, 2017

It was our first time @ Michael's though we were treated to his food @ the Van Wezel Gala 1/17.

Food was spectacular as was Chrissie's thoughtful service. We are Pescatariarns and our tummies and tastebuds danced with joy!

Joined the club, intend to be regulars having just acquired our 2nd home in Osprey in 1/17.

Seafood was so fresh and beautifully presented. The Friday night lobster pot is a great value.

We have lived in Hawaii for 34 years and have one of the few Ahi auctions in the world.

Roy Yamaguchi's seared Ahi is a standard @ home and a go to meal for us. Michael's executive Chef nailed it perfectly!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Historic, Healthy, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Casual, Cozy, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Michaels on East is consistently excellent. The fish preparations are creative and satisfying, and the salads are wonderful. The Thai Salmon and sole with almonds were outstanding, and the lobster rolls tasted close to our New England home. Server Kathy made our birthday celebration special. Always worth the drive.

Tags: Seasonal, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Authentic, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 7, 2017

We are a discussion group and found the wait staff very patient and supportive of our long winded lunch. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Outstanding service and food. Restaurant was cold. Restaurant is starting to look a little tired.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

While the food and service both were excellent, I would have enjoyed my experience so much more with less ambient noise and without a fussy toddler at the next table. We were the first patrons seated for dinner that evening and we asked for a quiet table away from the bar noise, but were told "we're fully booked this evening." Then came the big family. I don't understand why restaurants place tables for two right next to tables for eight. When I want a Saturday evening dinner out with my husband I don't want to listen to whining toddlers and their hovering parents all evening. I would go to an amusement park if I wanted that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Michael's is a beautiful venue. We enjoyed the atmosphere. The service was excellent - attentive but not overbearing. The wine list has a good range of wines and prices. We liked the ability to choose either a glass, quartino, or bottle. For a first course, we had the Tuna Carpaccio and the Beef Carpaccio, both were very tasty and beautifully presented. The star of the meal was the Pampano, prepared perfectly with a lovely sauce. The finishing touch was a wonderful Creme Brulee with fresh fruit, which was perfect for sharing. We'll be back next year when we return to Sarasota!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Excellent. However there was an issue between Open Table confirming my 6:30 reservation and Michael's having the reservation for 7:45.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 3, 2017

As always a treat! Each time we come to Sarasota this is a " must go", along with Ringling and the Opera!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 2, 2017

The snapper was overcooked and tasteless and the crab cakes were burnt. Way overpriced for the quality. Even the bread was dried out. A real disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Excellent food and service. One of the best in the area. Highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Michael's continues to be our favorite night out. It is a must visit with out of town guests and for special occasions. Best steaks in town, great selection, top notch service and a wide variety of options.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Extra star because it is not touristy at all and is the best food in SRQ - a real treasure.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Romantic, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Our first visit to Michael's on East exceeded our expectations. The snapper presentation and absolutely delicious sauce was mouth-watering - and we cannot wait to return just for that dish! Our waiter, David, was Terrific. I loved the atmosphere - everything about it - the decor, the furnishings - it was beautiful! We cannot wait for our next dining experience at Michael's.

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion, Fun, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Michaels is an experience not be missed. It is beautifully decorated and makes you feel very relaxed. Without a doubt it is the very best tasting food I have we have ever had. The wine list is fantastic for big spenders and the average. Person. Since we found Michaels we do not let a week go by without a meal there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Fun, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Excellent, delicious and creative food. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 26, 2017

It was so loud it sounded like a Chili's restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Food very expensive but very good. Very, very, very, very, VERY NOISY.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Another wonderful dinner - tried the Lobster Bisque, Chicken w/ Red Cabbage and Spaetzle and the phenomenal Goat Cheese Cake with Cassis Coulis - could not have been more perfect. Just great food and service. Can't wait until you open a place in Lakewood Ranch.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Private Room, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Went with hubby and another couple. Three of us had very good to outstanding meals (crab cakes, red snapper, scallops and salads). One had to send back a shrimp appetizer and then received the calamari appetizer that was just so-so. Desserts were great. Drinks were fun. Wine overpriced.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The Provence Epicurean Adventure was excellent. A great pre-opera place to dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We had the most wonderful time with the staff, and pianist who was a wonderful entertainer. The food was fantastic and we were delighted with our experience there.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 23, 2017

The food was absolutely delicious as always, even dishes you don't think you would like are delicious. The quality of the ingredients is excellent. The service was very good. They make you feel welcome. The manager came by and then the owner came by to chat. The decor is beautiful, like an art deco cruise liner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 22, 2017

There was so much noise from the bar area that it was impossible to enjoy what was otherwise a fine meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value2

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Great for special occasions. Wait staff was excellent. Choices in food was great also. Having valet parking was a special touch. Looking forward to having lunch there.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.