About Michael Anthony's Cucina Italiana

37 New Orleans Road
Hilton Head Island, SC 29928
View Larger Map

Michael Anthony’s Cucina Italiana offers traditional regional Italian cuisine combining innovative presentations and style. The award winning culinary team presents a menu using the freshest ingredients for an unforgettable culinary experience featuring homemade gnocchi, succulent veal,daily selections of fresh fish and house-made desserts. Acknowledged by food and wine enthusiasts and critics alike, the restaurant presents a fine-dining experience combining an award-winning wine list, exquisite food, attentive service and the personal touch of a family-owned restaurant serving the Lowcountry since 2002. In fact, Michael Anthony’s was recognized in 2010 by Open Table diners as one of the "Top 50 Italian Restaurants" in the United States! In addition, Michael Anthony’s operates a Cooking School conducting weekly hands-on and demonstration style cooking classes and a specialty Italian market. Please visit our website or call for information for our class schedule or dining reservations.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Serving dinner Monday - Saturday beginning at 5:15pm

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 785-6272

Website:
http://www.michael-anthonys.com/

Executive Chef:
Chris Johnson

Private Party Facilities:
At Michael Anthony's Cucina Italiana we offer five unique private party options for hosting your special event

Private Party Contact:
Ian Mason: 8775644026

Additional:
Bar Dining, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Michael Anthony's Cucina Italiana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
South Carolina
Best Overall
Hilton Head
Best Food
Hilton Head
5 More
Best Service
Hilton Head
Fit for Foodies
Hilton Head
Notable Wine List
Hilton Head
Romantic
Hilton Head
Most Booked
Hilton Head
Best Restaurants in Hilton Head ›

special occasion (93)
fit for foodies (89)
romantic (68)
See All
notable wine list (64)
neighborhood gem (46)
good for groups (34)
vibrant bar scene (14)
hot spot (10)
late-night find (4)
great for lunch (3)
kid-friendly (2)
great for brunch (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1337 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Outstanding dinner and wine. I am not us ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding dinner and wine. I am not usually a fan of a ribeye cut but had the best ribeye of my entire life. Just fabulous. They should add this to the regular menu. Service was terrific as usual. Not inexpensive but a high quality and enjoyable dinner.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible food with Jay our server taki ...

Dined 6 days ago

Incredible food with Jay our server taking care os for the 4th year. Another great anniversary dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent fine dining in Hilton Head. G ...

Dined 6 days ago

Excellent fine dining in Hilton Head. Great list of entrees, including vegetarian and seafood. Very nice atmosphere. Would definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

we visited with my wife and 3 adult chil ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

we visited with my wife and 3 adult children while on vacation in Hilton Head. The exterior doesn't do the restaurant justice as it is in plaza with a bunch of non descript companies. The food was very good with portions on the smaller side. the staff was extremely helpful with recommendations but was also very attentive and professional. we visited with my wife and 3 adult children while on vacation in Hilton Head. This has been our best dining experience in the past 2 years that we have visited Hilton Head. the atmosphere is very nice and the restaurant is tastefully done. We will certainly visit on our next trip to Hilton Head

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

All I can say is wow aboutthis place our ...

Dined 7 days ago

All I can say is wow aboutthis place our waitress was top-notch she new everything on the menu she even told us what wines would go great with our food selection this was our fifth time going to MichaelAnthony my wife and I love it to pieces

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Very good food and service were excellen ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Very good food and service were excellent apps were delicious .Wine went great with dinner very good suggestion

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

SErvice was very good and meal was also. ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

SErvice was very good and meal was also. I had too much food and I am a pretty hearty eater.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Just wonderful. Great food with excellen ...

vip
Dined on June 21, 2016

Just wonderful. Great food with excellent service. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing meal and even better wine. Servi ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Amazing meal and even better wine. Service was top notch as always. Thank you for a great meal!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I have been to michael anthonys several ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

I have been to michael anthonys several times, my son was visiting from Connecticut and we took him there . The food and service was very good I wanted to sit upstairs but they had a private party its less noisy upstairs. Its a little pricey but very good and will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

We were in the back room which was a lit ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We were in the back room which was a little chilly, but they quickly turned the air down. Room was very nicely done though.

food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent service from Lucy. Food was pe ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Excellent service from Lucy. Food was perfect. Would return if in Hilton Head again.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Wines are pricey, but food is fabulous! ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Wines are pricey, but food is fabulous! Noise level makes conversation somewhat difficult. We both had specials of the evening (salmon and pasta and seafood) which were outstanding. this was our second visit; we'll definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was outstanding. Service was perfec ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Food was outstanding. Service was perfect. Ambience was very nice, warm and inviting. Great Menu options. Nice wine list. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Don't Judge a Book By Its' Cover Michael ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

Don't Judge a Book By Its' Cover Michael Anthony's doesn't look inspiring from the outside, but is very nice on the inside. We were pleasantly surprised! We ended up there because the restaurant that we booked originally was so disappointing that we left before ordering. It was almost 8:00 PM and we were starving. I checked Open Table for a restaurant close by and this one came up. We booked it and headed right over. From the friendly greeting at the door, through the impeccable dinner service to the final friendly chat with our waitress after dessert, we enjoyed our evening thoroughly. I highly recommend the Veal Scallopini and the Affogatto for dessert (please forgive spelling). They will make it decaf if you ask. It was unforgettable! Go! Enjoy! You won't be disappointed!!

food5
ambience5
service5

It was our first time to Michael Anthony ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

It was our first time to Michael Anthony's and we were not disappointed. The only thing that could make it better would have been if they had more than one fish meal on their menu

food1
ambience5
service3

In reviewing the menu and walking into t ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

In reviewing the menu and walking into the restaurant, I was expecting a high end dining experience. The ambiance was great, and the waiters were above average. For a restaurant with price points that are higher than average, you would have expected a salad to accompany the entree (pasta bolognese was $24). However, the entree did not have a house salad, and when it arrived I was very underwhelmed. The waiter offered Parmesan cheese, which was not freshly ground at the table, it appeared to be out of a can. The dish itself was not great, and I only ate about 1/4 of it. When the waiter bussed the dishes he did not seem to be concerned that neither my friend nor myself had hardly eaten our dishes. It tasted a lot like chef boyardee in all honesty. Overall, I would recommend going down the street to Carrabbas before I would recommend going here. Not good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just a wonderful place to know ! Not to ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Just a wonderful place to know ! Not to miss ! And enjoy the situation along the river ... Very good kitchen, first of all, the seafood !

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints

Dined on June 10, 2016

We have been here quite a few times for business dinners while at conferences but this was the best dinner yet (June 10, 2016). Our server Lucy was knowledgeable, gave great suggestions, and has a great personality. We had great red wine (The Prisoner and Brunello di Montalcino) which were only slightly marked up 50% from wine store pricing vs many marking up 100% or more.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great waitress, Nikky. Very attentive to ...

vip
Dined on June 6, 2016

Great waitress, Nikky. Very attentive to our table, drink glasses always filled. Food served very attentively. Food dishes outstanding. Great way to celebrate my son's birthday.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Comfortable & friendly dining

Dined on June 3, 2016

We all ordered the pasta with crabmeat, which looked like a small serving, but was quite enough. The beet salad was beautifully presented and delicious and the tiramisu was heavenly. Service was impeccable! Can't wait to go again when we're visiting Hilton Head.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every aspect of the meal was outstanding ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

Every aspect of the meal was outstanding. Our server was well informed and attentive. The variety of dishes made it difficult to choose which one to have and everything we ate was delicious!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Highly recommend - worth the price!

Dined on May 31, 2016

Waiter and staff were excellent. Main waiter was very knowledgeable about the food including spices. Also, he could explain the different wines and those that would compliment our dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food and excellent service Tha ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Wonderful food and excellent service Thank you Ian

food4
ambience5
service3

Great atmosphere. Good food. Bad service ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Great atmosphere. Good food. Bad service but we think the waiter was just having a bad day.

food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent choice. Can't go wrong eating ...

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

Excellent choice. Can't go wrong eating here.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food & excellent service!

Dined on May 24, 2016

Wonderful food & excellent service!

food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent food and atmosphere to celebra ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Excellent food and atmosphere to celebrate our anniversary.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always Delivers!!

Dined on May 20, 2016

I have been to many restaurants in the Hilton Head area as I visit several times a year. Michael Anthony's is always a go to. I have never had a bad experience with the service and the food is so delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and food!

Dined on May 19, 2016

Great service and food!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food, excellent staff. Love to ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Excellent food, excellent staff. Love to go here whenever in HH

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our third or fourth dinner at M ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

This was our third or fourth dinner at Michael Anthony's. As usual everything was fantastic. Nice atmosphere, friendly servers, and delicious food. We now come here every time we are in Hilton Head; love it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

My wife had the chicken special and she ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

My wife had the chicken special and she said it was good but nothing great. I had the Veal valdostana, with fontina cheese, mushrooms, and prosciutto. It was very good but nothing overly original. Service was excellent. As compared to most fine dining we have done this vacation, no appetizers or dessert as we weren't that hungry. I'd come back but Hogs Head in Bluffton was better.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time here and it lived up to recommendations

Dined on May 16, 2016

It was a special occasion with my 95 year old Mom and sister. Food was wonderful and the service great!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The food was great and the service was a ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was great and the service was above and beyond excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved this place and had an amazing serv ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Loved this place and had an amazing server Kat. I had the Spaghetti con Granchio, Arugula e Pomodoro Fresca, outstanding and full of real lump crab and the pasta was fresh and very tasty as well. We will definitely return on our next trip to HHI!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful dining experience, as usual. ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Wonderful dining experience, as usual. The featured wine was outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Girls Night Out on Hilton Head Island

Dined on May 10, 2016

We had the early bird's special with the 3 course tasting and it was divine and a real find. What a deal. We had a salad, main course and dessert for 25$ each and everyone choose something different. A great way to check out a new restaurant with out breaking the bank. Highly recommend this and WILL go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best Italian on the Island

Dined on May 6, 2016

The food was delicious and well presented. The wine list was exceptional at various price levels. The staff was friendly and very professional. We returned the next evening for a second memorable dinner. This restaurant did not disappoint.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well Deserved Reputation

Dined on May 5, 2016

Everything about Michael Anthony's points to a desire on their part to provide the highest quality food with the very best, professional service in a lovely atmosphere. We requested a table in the bar this time and had great service from Elijah. Every other touch point was terrific from the confirmation call to the greeting on arrival and all those who took care of us through the evening. Food was beautifully presented, plentiful, and delicious. We will return happily.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.