About Michael Anthony's Cucina Italiana

37 New Orleans Road
Hilton Head Island, SC 29928
View Larger Map

Michael Anthony’s Cucina Italiana offers traditional regional Italian cuisine combining innovative presentations and style. The award winning culinary team presents a menu using the freshest ingredients for an unforgettable culinary experience featuring homemade gnocchi, succulent veal,daily selections of fresh fish and house-made desserts. Acknowledged by food and wine enthusiasts and critics alike, the restaurant presents a fine-dining experience combining an award-winning wine list, exquisite food, attentive service and the personal touch of a family-owned restaurant serving the Lowcountry since 2002. In fact, Michael Anthony’s was recognized in 2010 by Open Table diners as one of the "Top 50 Italian Restaurants" in the United States! In addition, Michael Anthony’s operates a Cooking School conducting weekly hands-on and demonstration style cooking classes and a specialty Italian market. Please visit our website or call for information for our class schedule or dining reservations.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Serving dinner Monday - Saturday beginning at 5:15pm

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 785-6272

Website:
http://www.michael-anthonys.com/

Executive Chef:
Chris Johnson

Private Party Facilities:
At Michael Anthony's Cucina Italiana we offer five unique private party options for hosting your special event

Private Party Contact:
Ian Mason: 8775644026

Additional:
Bar Dining, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Michael Anthony's Cucina Italiana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
South Carolina
Best Overall
Hilton Head
Best Food
Hilton Head
6 More
Best Service
Hilton Head
Best Ambiance
Hilton Head
Best Value
Hilton Head
Notable Wine List
Hilton Head
Romantic
Hilton Head
Special Occasion
Hilton Head
Best Restaurants in Hilton Head ›

Special Occasion (97)
Romantic (81)
Fit for Foodies (77)
See All
Notable Wine List (74)
Neighborhood Gem (39)
Good for Groups (30)
Hot Spot (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Good for a Date (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Authentic (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Cozy (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Casual (3)
Business Meals (2)
Fun (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Tapas (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1442 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had an outstanding dinner. The veal ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 3 days ago

We had an outstanding dinner. The veal scaloppini was superb. My wife could not decide between two entrees, so our waiter simply suggested she get one-half order of each. Brilliant! The mussels sautéed with Pomodoro sauce was outstanding, and the two entrees of Linguine alle Pescatore and Spaghetti con Granchio were delicious as well. Definitely going back next time we are in Hilton Head.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Main dining room too noisy

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

Main dining room too noisy

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Our experience at Michael Anthony's was ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Our experience at Michael Anthony's was delightful. The food was delicious, the wine superb, the wait staff friendly, and the atmosphere was very inviting. We would definitely recommend it to our friends and family.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not as good as our last visit .We will n ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Not as good as our last visit .We will not be back .We have eaten here in past years and found it to be excellent.How ever this visit was a disappointment.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

While in HHI we wanted some Italian, and ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

While in HHI we wanted some Italian, and boy did we get it. The meal started with some complimentary Prosecco - which was a nice touch. The veal chops my brother and I had were delicious and perfectly prepared. The lamb choice of my sister-in-law had her literally nibbling the bone when done they were so good. My wife had a special veal, cheese, and prosciutto rolled and served in a red sauce - magnificent. The wine (Amarone and recommended by the waiter) was tremendous. We finished with excellent desserts - and some lemoncello! What a great meal!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. Excellent service from o ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Excellent food. Excellent service from our very knowledgeable server, Lucy. Wonderful chocolate dessert. Slighty on the expensive side but not unreasonable for the area.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had another wonderful meal we return ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

We had another wonderful meal we return every year to this perfect food and service. The amatricana was prepared with just enough spicy flavor and tender guanciale. I had the involtini di Vitello which was also delicious

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food combined with classic ser ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Excellent food combined with classic service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Michael Anthony's was recommended to me ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Michael Anthony's was recommended to me by some friends who live on the island. As a single woman often dining alone, I am used to being offered a table near the kitchen or a service area. While the booth I was seated in was in the corner, I did not realize until too late that I was seated facing the service area instead of facing into their beautifully decorated dining room. Other than the hostess who wasn't thinking, I have no faults with their food or their service, both of which were outstanding. I will definitely return there again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been looking for a good Italian ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We have been looking for a good Italian restaurant on the island and this was the best one we have found.. all was excellent except... our club has the equivalent of excellent chicken piccata for about 17.00, believe the one here was about 34.00 so not worth the price difference but the pasta with it was excellent. A nice menu with a variety of items to choose from.. We will return again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This is one of my favorite restaurants o ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

This is one of my favorite restaurants on Hilton Head Island; however, our Friday night dinner was not up to the standards I have come to expect from Michael Anthony's.

I am chalking it up to its being a very busy Friday night. I always request upstairs because it

is normally quieter; however, we encountered a very full, boisterous room making it difficult

to enjoy conversation between the four of us. The busy night also resulted in a less than

quality standard in service. I will avoid Friday and Saturday nights at Michael Anthony's in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Our favorite place in Hilton Head. Love ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Our favorite place in Hilton Head. Love the service, the chef's attention to detail and the amazing ambiance.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, food was outstanding ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Excellent service, food was outstanding . Our favorite restaurant on the island.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic pasta with crab

vip
 (London)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Fantastic pasta with crab

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing a day our service was w ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Food was amazing a day our service was wonderful. First time visitors / diners... we will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delightful dinner. We sat in a wine room ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Delightful dinner. We sat in a wine room which was very nice. Our server was Finnie but he may as well have been "Mr. Tall w/ the deepest voice I've ever heard"! He was excellent. Husband & 2 guests got Caesar salad that was pretty authentic, white anchovies and all. I had Melon w/ Prosciutto & Arugula that was perfect. For dinner, H. got the menu Veal Chop that was outstanding. I had the Crab Spaghetti that was delicious but not as light as it seemed last year - there was too much butter and it rather overpowered the crab. 1 guest had Veal Scallopini and loved every bite. The other had the menu chicken breast with Mascarpone in the sauce and it was both lovely and a little unusual. The side dishes were the ubiquitous Hilton Head sides of mashed potatoes & cooked spinach and both were very good. Wine choices excellent, decent Martini. No desserts for this crowd!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent dinner and service. Lucy and K ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Excellent dinner and service. Lucy and Kat were top notch servers and made sure we never went without. The meal was 5 star plus. We had our 11 year old granddaughter with us and they treated her like a special person offering to make a dinner of her choosing. I had the swordfish special and it was lick the plate wonderful. Daughter had gnocchi and raved about it. Hubby had the pasta special and again lick the plate good. Ended the meal with wonderful desserts and complimentary Lemoncello. Perfect ending to a perfect evening. Would highly recommend and can't wait to go back on our next visit to Hilton Head. Good job to all!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service! Scallops were e ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great food and service! Scallops were especially wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food from apps to desserts. But w ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great food from apps to desserts. But what made our night and our decision to return again two days later was our server Lucy. Her knowledge of the menu, her passionate way of describing dishes, and uncanny ability to steer us in the right direction when we were undecided on options truly made both nights outstanding. Definitely will be at the top of the list when we return to Hilton Head Island.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, excellent service and comfor ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Great food, excellent service and comfortable atmosphere...all in all a wonderful dining experience

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The whole staff was excellent. Hostess, ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

The whole staff was excellent. Hostess, food runners and servers were all professional and very knowledgable. To start we had the calamari and appetizer size scallops, both were superb. We both had the veal chop for our entree, prepared as requested and was excellent. If you haven't been here, what are you waiting on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious as recommended by ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

The food was delicious as recommended by a friend who had been taken there whilst on holiday in Hilton Head . It is a little difficult to find but fully booked out when we arrived as it has such a good reputation .

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Michael Anthony has been a staple of our ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Michael Anthony has been a staple of ours for years and it never disappoints. This is one of the best restaurants on Hilton Head Island. The food is outstanding, portions are ample, service is always over the top and the wine list is very very good. There are many selections that would cost more at other restaurants. They always bend over backwards to allow you to alter their menu...Although they are at a higher price point, the food and experience is well worth every penny. It will continue to be one of our favorites. Fortunately I live on the island and can go whenever I wish!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our first visit will not be our last. Im ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Our first visit will not be our last. Impeccable service, delicious dishes. We started with the beet salad and the carpaccio, then moved on to gamberi al burro and occhi di lupo alla sardignola All absolutely delicious and nicely presented. A very nice sparlkling chardonnay was offered as a perfect companion but the tiramisu at the finish topped it all. Perfect place for a quiet romantic dinner or a small party. Almost like being in Florence!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time . It was our annive ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We had a great time . It was our anniversary. We have dined all over the world and thought this was a keeper. New to South Carolina and would recommend to anyone!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding dinner and service. Thankfu ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Outstanding dinner and service. Thankful that they worked to help our children's tastes too. We will return!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding experience from start to fin ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Outstanding experience from start to finish. We had a large group and wait staff willingly gave us separate checks. Excellent wait staff who met our every request, brought items from the market store as requested, no water glass went unfilled, very attentive staff but never in the way. Food was perfect, visually appealing with flavors to match. Second visit to this restaurant and will continue to go there and to recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Michael Anthony's was a wonderful dining ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Michael Anthony's was a wonderful dining experience. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were pleasantly surprised with Michae ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We were pleasantly surprised with Michael Anthonys's. Everything we had was very good, from appetizer to main dish to dessert. Even the bread with a special bean pate' was great. We actually bought some to take home. We will make it a required stop when we hit Hilton Head again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food bland. Not worth the money or effor ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Food bland. Not worth the money or effort. Food quality has noticeably deteriorated over the past year. Service varies between indifferenr and clueless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

It was a lovely evening. My only problem ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

It was a lovely evening. My only problem was the appearance of too few servers.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent Italian food! Every member of ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Excellent Italian food! Every member of the staff was courteous, friendly, and attentive. Veal scalloping & pasta Bologna were amazing. The negroni was the best I've had on the island.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The atmosphere was stuffy, not very frie ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The atmosphere was stuffy, not very friendly. Waiter never checked on us to see if we needed anything or how our food was. He took our order and brought us our check for $225..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Great service. Great food. Treated ext ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great service. Great food. Treated extremely well from the moment we walked in to the moment we left. This is a must each time we visit Hilton Head Island.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was nothing special. The cooked spi ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was nothing special. The cooked spinach was tasteless. Gnocchi was meh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

The filet with gorgonzola was superb bu ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The filet with gorgonzola was superb but came with only one small wild mushroom which the waiter corrected after being asked. the shrimp pasta was OK but no flavorkick. Also we had to ask for cheese.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Our family has visited Michael Antony's ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Our family has visited Michael Antony's since our first trip to HHI. They had never disappointed us and on the contrary, it is one of those places we look for when we start planning our family beach trips. One of the best Italian Restaurants in the Carolinas.

I highly recommend MA's to everybody who loves great food, served with distinctive attention in a place that is sophisticated but still, it makes you feel part of a nice party.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We particularly enjoyed the pork chop st ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We particularly enjoyed the pork chop stuffed with fontina and wrapped in proscuitto that was one of the specials.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We come to HHI once a year . MACI is now ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We come to HHI once a year . MACI is now on our dinning list.

We had a memorable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Professional staff, amazing food especia ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Professional staff, amazing food especially the Veal Parm.!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.