About Michael Anthony's Cucina Italiana

37 New Orleans Road
Hilton Head Island, SC 29928
View Larger Map

Michael Anthony’s Cucina Italiana offers traditional regional Italian cuisine combining innovative presentations and style. The award winning culinary team presents a menu using the freshest ingredients for an unforgettable culinary experience featuring homemade gnocchi, succulent veal,daily selections of fresh fish and house-made desserts. Acknowledged by food and wine enthusiasts and critics alike, the restaurant presents a fine-dining experience combining an award-winning wine list, exquisite food, attentive service and the personal touch of a family-owned restaurant serving the Lowcountry since 2002. In fact, Michael Anthony’s was recognized in 2010 by Open Table diners as one of the "Top 50 Italian Restaurants" in the United States! In addition, Michael Anthony’s operates a Cooking School conducting weekly hands-on and demonstration style cooking classes and a specialty Italian market. Please visit our website or call for information for our class schedule or dining reservations.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Serving dinner Monday - Saturday beginning at 5:15pm

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 785-6272

Website:
http://www.michael-anthonys.com/

Private Party Facilities:
At Michael Anthony's Cucina Italiana we offer five unique private party options for hosting your special event

Private Party Contact:
Ian Mason: 8775644026

Additional:
Bar Dining, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Michael Anthony's Cucina Italiana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
South Carolina
Best Overall
Hilton Head
Best Food
Hilton Head
4 More
Best Service
Hilton Head
Best Value
Hilton Head
Special Occasion
Hilton Head
Most Booked
Hilton Head
Best Restaurants in Hilton Head ›

Special Occasion (43)
Notable Wine List (41)
Fit for Foodies (32)
See All
Romantic (30)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Good for a Date (25)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Worth the Drive (18)
Bar Seating (18)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Authentic (17)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Cozy (13)
Tasting Menu (10)
Business Meals (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Casual (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Private Room (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Seasonal (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Fun (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Healthy (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Organic (1)
Historic (1)
Spicy (1)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1490 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The reviews are better than the restaura ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

The reviews are better than the restaurant. For the money, one can do better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

pleasant surrounding restaurant was live ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 4 days ago

pleasant surrounding restaurant was lively and food above par definitely will return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Out most recent visit was a disappointme ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

Out most recent visit was a disappointment. Although the atmosphere and service are outstanding, our dinners were not up to snuff. My main course consisted of 3 scallops and about 3 tablespoons of spinach. For $35.00, I would have expected a bit more and even though I'm not a big eater, I found that amount of food to be unsatisfactory. I ordered a half order of the Tagliatelle for an appetizer and it was dry with the pasta stuck together in clumps. After spending over $100 for 2 dinners, I don't see us returning. I feel the quality of food is not what it used to be. On the bright side, the ambience was lovely and our waiter was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Excellent service and food.

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Excellent service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

The $25 early bird special was a great b ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 21, 2016

The $25 early bird special was a great bargain. Beet salad featured thinly cut pickled beets which were very nicely presented, shrimp with spaghetti was very nice with good sized very fresh shrimp was outstanding and the dessert were two very crisp puffed pastries filled with ice cream covered with a nice chocolate sauce. Very good. The waiter Finn explained the dishes very nicely and had some good wine recommendations. The meal was very satisfying. The portions may be a bit small because of the early bird special but I was not looking for a large meal. The regular menu items portions are larger.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first night in Hilton Head and this ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Our first night in Hilton Head and this restaurant raised the bar for our nights of dining to come!!! We sat in a perfect small room where their gift shop operates during the day. A must for return visits!!!! Incredible flavors with each dish. If you love fresh tomatoes you will not be disappointed which cover many of their pasta dishes!! Our waiter was very knowledgeable and accommodating making many suggestions to complete our special night!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Four of us were dining in celebration of ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Four of us were dining in celebration of a family event. We all took advantage of the Chef's very compelling 4-course Tasting Menu with wine pairings. Excellent meal, great wine selections and impeccable service. The ambiance of Michael Anthony's is refined, yet very comfortable. The bar is second to none and worth a stop.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was good, not great. The salads were ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 14, 2016

It was good, not great. The salads were well conceived. Other appetizers were small. It is not particularly friendly to a vegetarian and quite difficult for a vegan. The wines by the glass are limited. But the pasta was nicely prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Like this restaurant very much! Great f ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Like this restaurant very much! Great food and nice menu; enjoyed the wine sampling.

Tags: Casual, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We tried the new Chef's menu for $40 and ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We tried the new Chef's menu for $40 and it was terrific but all of their food is wonderful. This restaurant is tied only with The Studio for the best dining and ambiance on the island.

Tags: Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful evening! The food & the servic ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Wonderful evening! The food & the service was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service was outstanding. PJ ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food and service was outstanding. PJ, our server and sommelier, selected a great wine for us. He took the time to carefully explain why he was recommending it for the food that we had chosen.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best Italian food we have had outsid ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The best Italian food we have had outside of Italy. Food and service is always excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Over last 3 months we ate here probably ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Over last 3 months we ate here probably every 10 days

Yesterday we got the worse table possible, right in the way of traffic.

Asked them for a different table, but they said all tables were reserved ahead of time. So using Open Table App does not work, have to call and reserve a specific table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Best dining on Hilton Head Truly specia ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Best dining on Hilton Head

Truly special, authentic Tuscan fare with a real chef's chef in the kitchen. Grazie!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We recommended dining with us at Michael ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 10, 2016

We recommended dining with us at Michael Anthony's to friends we had not seen in many years. We were treated to an extraordinary evening of great food and atmosphere. Lucy, our waitress, treated us like royalty. I am so happy we chose to take our friends to dine with you.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant on the island. Between t ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Best restaurant on the island. Between the chef Michael, and all his excellent servers it is a must visit for anybody visiting Hilton Head island

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We've eaten at Michael Anthony's for man ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 7, 2016

We've eaten at Michael Anthony's for many years and have never been disappointed with the service or the food. We hadn't been back there for the past three-four years, but our experience last Monday was as memorable as any in memory. Our waiter, Jay, was most accommodating, since my wife is gluten-free. He took special pains to make sure that her food choices lived up to the high standards we have come to expect from this wonderful restaurant. We chose the early dining menu which was a tremendous value and the wine Jay chose for us was so good that we bought a bottle to take with us. We'll likely eat there again the next time we are in Hilton Head.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I celebrated the second anni ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

My wife and I celebrated the second anniversary of our first date, and a somewhat belated first anniversary celebration of our marriage.(Thanks, Matthew). Everything was wonderful.. the food, the service and the ambiance of the restaurant. We would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a great dining experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Peter, our server, made a great evening ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Peter, our server, made a great evening fantastic. He was knowledgable, engaging, attentative and a pleasure. The food was outstanding beginning with the buccattini, cooked perfectly, featuring the flavors of a few carefully chosen ingredients, followed by a creative take on Caesar salad w/ white anchovies (yum) and a main course of veal scallopine and oso bucco. At Michael Anthony's they understand how to bring out the natural using herbs and seasoning sparingly to accent the dish rather than compensate for it. The evening was finished by fantastic profiteroles as we sipped the last of a fantastic bottle of wine from the great cellar. Outstanding in every respect and the best meal we've had on Hilton Head in years.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is always a pleasure to dine at Micha ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 5, 2016

It is always a pleasure to dine at Michael Anthony. Usually is it marked by an occasion in which I dress up so it is very special to me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Another wonderful meal. We eat here ever ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Another wonderful meal. We eat here every time we are on the island. New chefs tasting menu as well as all our favorites.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a must restaurant to visit when ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

This is a must restaurant to visit when you're on Hilton head Island. I can't count the number of times we have visited this restaurant. The food and the service is exceptional. Ian, the manager is one of the best on the island. Carl Schleicher

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Our favorite Restaurant on Hilton Head, ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Our favorite Restaurant on Hilton Head, always great service with Lucy and the Food is Exceptional.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's the best restaurant on Hilton Head. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

It's the best restaurant on Hilton Head. Period. Perfectly cooked Tuscan-style food that would be a hit in New York, Washington -- you name it. It' knockoff across 287 can't compare,

Tags: Happy Hour, Private Room, Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Not only the food was incredible...the s ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Not only the food was incredible...the service (specially Lucy) was on point in all aspects of what it should be: knowledge, great suggestions, big smile, attention to detail... she is truly an asset to the restaurant. Great experience overall! We had the special, a squid ink infused tagliatelle with shrimp, calamari, scallops (al olio), my wife had the Matriciana pasta and a pair of perfectly cooked scallops... wine was a Chianti Classico and for dessert their incredible Chocolate lava cake with ice cream... to finish our meal Lucy brought a couple of house-made limoncello's... perfect! Thank you for a memorable experience. We'll be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still our favorite places to eat while ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Still our favorite places to eat while in Hilton Head !!

Food was wonderful. My wife has several food sensitivities. She usually emails ahead of time and sends a list of what she cannot have in her food. When we arrived (reservations) we were quickly seated. Our server Lucy was simply THE BEST! She already had a copy of my wife's list and informed us so did the sous chef.

Her meal was prepared perfectly and my Ozzo Bucco was the best I have ever had. The desserts are well worth saving room for.

This is a romantic setting if it is just two of you, or a great place for close friends to share a unique dinning experience ! This is the only place I have ever given multiple 5 star ratings. It really is that good.

Tags: Historic, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceptional food quality, outstanding se ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Exceptional food quality, outstanding service, incredible food will convince you to come back here.Recommend this place!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is always a good choice. ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 18, 2016

This restaurant is always a good choice. Excellent food and attentive service. Always eat here when we're on Hilton Head.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We love MA. Never have I had a bad meal ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 17, 2016

We love MA. Never have I had a bad meal. Always so yummy and I love how I'm greeted when I walk in the door. Servers are excellent and professional. Love everything about it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we have been several times for various o ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 17, 2016

we have been several times for various occasions and have always loved it

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food outstanding. Excellent ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Service and food outstanding. Excellent on every level!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visited Michael Anthony's after Hurrican ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Visited Michael Anthony's after Hurricane Matthew. They generously gave each patron a free cocktail/glass of wine for visiting the restaurant after the storm. Food was delicious! Enjoyed our servers PJ & Nikki very much. The meal was not rushed and it was a great evening after a hard day of work!

Tags: Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Even though Hurricane Matthe loomed, the ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Even though Hurricane Matthe loomed, the staff was great and the food, as usual, was superb. Glad we were able to squeeze in a meal before evacuating the next day.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant on Hilton Head without q ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Best restaurant on Hilton Head without question. The food is excellent, the staff is fantastic, and the management is the best I have encountered anywhere. Already looking forward to our Hilton Head trip in November to get to Michael Anthony's again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You cannot go wrong eating at Michael An ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 2, 2016

You cannot go wrong eating at Michael Anthony's. The Manager "Ian" is fantastic and always ensures you have a great dining experience.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A must visit every time we come to Hilto ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 1, 2016

A must visit every time we come to Hilton Head Island - the food is always outstanding, and the chef is willing to accommodate your preferences outside what's stated on the menu.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy, Private Room, Romantic, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been coming to Hilton Head for 25 ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We've been coming to Hilton Head for 25 years and had never dined here. After our meal, I'm scratching my head wondering why on earth did we not try this before. The food, the service...everything was outstanding. I especially liked the antipasta appetizer. The veal, the seafood, also excellent. This is one of the best restaurants on HHI.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

This is one of our favorite restaurants ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 1, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaurants in HH when we come to visit!!

The food is always excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful says it all. Our server was e ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Wonderful says it all. Our server was extremely knowledgeable about the wines and the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.