About Michael Anthony's Cucina Italiana

37 New Orleans Road
Hilton Head Island, SC 29928
View Larger Map

Michael Anthony’s Cucina Italiana offers traditional regional Italian cuisine combining innovative presentations and style. The award winning culinary team presents a menu using the freshest ingredients for an unforgettable culinary experience featuring homemade gnocchi, succulent veal,daily selections of fresh fish and house-made desserts. Acknowledged by food and wine enthusiasts and critics alike, the restaurant presents a fine-dining experience combining an award-winning wine list, exquisite food, attentive service and the personal touch of a family-owned restaurant serving the Lowcountry since 2002. In fact, Michael Anthony’s was recognized in 2010 by Open Table diners as one of the "Top 50 Italian Restaurants" in the United States! In addition, Michael Anthony’s operates a Cooking School conducting weekly hands-on and demonstration style cooking classes and a specialty Italian market. Please visit our website or call for information for our class schedule or dining reservations.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Serving dinner Monday - Saturday beginning at 5:15pm

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 785-6272

Website:
http://www.michael-anthonys.com/

Executive Chef:
Chris Johnson

Private Party Facilities:
At Michael Anthony's Cucina Italiana we offer five unique private party options for hosting your special event

Private Party Contact:
Ian Mason: 8775644026

Additional:
Bar Dining, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Michael Anthony's Cucina Italiana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
South Carolina
Best Overall
Hilton Head
Best Food
Hilton Head
4 More
Best Service
Hilton Head
Best Ambiance
Hilton Head
Best Value
Hilton Head
Fit for Foodies
Hilton Head
Best Restaurants in Hilton Head ›

Special Occasion (114)
Fit for Foodies (95)
Romantic (93)
See All
Notable Wine List (83)
Neighborhood Gem (49)
Good for Groups (37)
Hot Spot (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Great for Lunch (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1418 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Michael Anthony has been a staple of our ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 3 days ago

Michael Anthony has been a staple of ours for years and it never disappoints. This is one of the best restaurants on Hilton Head Island. The food is outstanding, portions are ample, service is always over the top and the wine list is very very good. There are many selections that would cost more at other restaurants. They always bend over backwards to allow you to alter their menu...Although they are at a higher price point, the food and experience is well worth every penny. It will continue to be one of our favorites. Fortunately I live on the island and can go whenever I wish!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our first visit will not be our last. Im ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined 3 days ago

Our first visit will not be our last. Impeccable service, delicious dishes. We started with the beet salad and the carpaccio, then moved on to gamberi al burro and occhi di lupo alla sardignola All absolutely delicious and nicely presented. A very nice sparlkling chardonnay was offered as a perfect companion but the tiramisu at the finish topped it all. Perfect place for a quiet romantic dinner or a small party. Almost like being in Florence!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time . It was our annive ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 3 days ago

We had a great time . It was our anniversary. We have dined all over the world and thought this was a keeper. New to South Carolina and would recommend to anyone!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding dinner and service. Thankfu ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding dinner and service. Thankful that they worked to help our children's tastes too. We will return!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding experience from start to fin ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding experience from start to finish. We had a large group and wait staff willingly gave us separate checks. Excellent wait staff who met our every request, brought items from the market store as requested, no water glass went unfilled, very attentive staff but never in the way. Food was perfect, visually appealing with flavors to match. Second visit to this restaurant and will continue to go there and to recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Michael Anthony's was a wonderful dining ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 4 days ago

Michael Anthony's was a wonderful dining experience. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were pleasantly surprised with Michae ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined 4 days ago

We were pleasantly surprised with Michael Anthonys's. Everything we had was very good, from appetizer to main dish to dessert. Even the bread with a special bean pate' was great. We actually bought some to take home. We will make it a required stop when we hit Hilton Head again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food bland. Not worth the money or effor ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Food bland. Not worth the money or effort. Food quality has noticeably deteriorated over the past year. Service varies between indifferenr and clueless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

It was a lovely evening. My only problem ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

It was a lovely evening. My only problem was the appearance of too few servers.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent Italian food! Every member of ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Excellent Italian food! Every member of the staff was courteous, friendly, and attentive. Veal scalloping & pasta Bologna were amazing. The negroni was the best I've had on the island.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The atmosphere was stuffy, not very frie ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The atmosphere was stuffy, not very friendly. Waiter never checked on us to see if we needed anything or how our food was. He took our order and brought us our check for $225..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Great service. Great food. Treated ext ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great service. Great food. Treated extremely well from the moment we walked in to the moment we left. This is a must each time we visit Hilton Head Island.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was nothing special. The cooked spi ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was nothing special. The cooked spinach was tasteless. Gnocchi was meh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

The filet with gorgonzola was superb bu ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The filet with gorgonzola was superb but came with only one small wild mushroom which the waiter corrected after being asked. the shrimp pasta was OK but no flavorkick. Also we had to ask for cheese.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Our family has visited Michael Antony's ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Our family has visited Michael Antony's since our first trip to HHI. They had never disappointed us and on the contrary, it is one of those places we look for when we start planning our family beach trips. One of the best Italian Restaurants in the Carolinas.

I highly recommend MA's to everybody who loves great food, served with distinctive attention in a place that is sophisticated but still, it makes you feel part of a nice party.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We particularly enjoyed the pork chop st ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We particularly enjoyed the pork chop stuffed with fontina and wrapped in proscuitto that was one of the specials.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We come to HHI once a year . MACI is now ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We come to HHI once a year . MACI is now on our dinning list.

We had a memorable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Professional staff, amazing food especia ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Professional staff, amazing food especially the Veal Parm.!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food and spirits.

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Fabulous food and spirits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Decent pasta. Caprese salad was adequa ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Decent pasta. Caprese salad was adequate at best. I would be embarrassed to use the tomato they did--especially in early August. Asparagus in my pasta was too uncooked. Food was hot though. This was a MEH experience. For the money, there are better choices on HHI.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Excellent food and service. Prompt and a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Excellent food and service. Prompt and attentive, greeted nicely and the waitstaff accommodated small changes to the menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Visiting the area on business for severa ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Visiting the area on business for several days and dining solo. The staff was extremely attentive. My waiter Finney made wonderful recommendations for a fabulous meal and wine. Wonderful experience. Best I have had in the area.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Michael Anthony's is a great place to go ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Michael Anthony's is a great place to go for an Italian meal in Hilton Head. Our server, Jason was very attentive and, as always, the meal was great. (We prefer the setting and ambiance on the 1st floor.)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Finnie Our waiter was exceptional!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Finnie Our waiter was exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always an outstanding dining experience! ...

vip
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Always an outstanding dining experience! We are never disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pretty good Italian food - we have had ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Pretty good Italian food - we have had worse at NYC Little Italy and Boston's North End - and the atmosphere was quieter than some Would recommend if looking for a break from another seafood/steak dinner on Hilton Head

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Delicious Italian food and good atmosphe ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Delicious Italian food and good atmosphere. Talented chef.

The table bread served is nowhere near the caliber of everything else at the restaurant including the spread for the bread-- which was an excellent white bean purée.

A great break from all the surrounding area restaurants which all feel the same.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Visited Michael Anthony's with my wife. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Visited Michael Anthony's with my wife. The service was average. Like so many restaurants, the wait staff seemed stretched beyond their ability to provide prompt service, as they were servicing several tables with fairly large parties at the same time, and I found we were waiting on them on multiple occasions. The food and wine were good. My wife wasn't delighted with her mushroom pasta; finding it too tough. My roasted beet salad and rack of lamb were wonderful. The meat was prepared very well, and was savory and tender. The panna cotta was simply the best we've enjoyed anywhere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

The dishes were very good except fot the ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The dishes were very good except fot the tagliatelle where the mushrooms were gritty and had not been cleaned

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

The food and service was wonderful! The ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The food and service was wonderful! The atmosphere was calming and enjoyable, as well. We wish they had a wine selection with better values.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We visited here for my birthday. The wa ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We visited here for my birthday. The waiters were extremely nice and the food was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our family's favorite meal of o ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

This was our family's favorite meal of our trip to Hilton Head. The food was amazing - appetizers, entrees and dessert. The lava cake is definitely worth the extra wait (they make it fresh to order).

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sad to say, this was once one of our fa ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Sad to say, this was once one of our favorite "go-to" restaurants on the island for the four of us; no longer. Maybe it's just indicative of the downhill slide most HHI restaurants have been going. Caesar salad was bland; another bland dish was spaghetti with crabmeat that had barely detectable bits of crab with hardly any arugula...really, $ 26 for what amounted to a plate of spaghetti?? Upon voicing our displeasure, a heaping cup of lovely crab was brought to us; however, it came too late with an excuse that did not make sense. Beet salad was lovely. A special panzanella salad was simply okay. A nice bottle of chardonnay helped to overcome the disappointment. Waitstaff was uneven.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Great daily specials. Best food on the i ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great daily specials. Best food on the island.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our second time at Michael Anth ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This was our second time at Michael Anthonys. Our first visit was almost 10 years ago. Not much has changed; the food and service continue to be excellent. My wife and I had pasta and seafood dishes that were very good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Here for vacation & will definitely tell ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Here for vacation & will definitely tell others who visit Hilton Head to eat here. We had a few special requests & the chef made it happen. Our waiter was awesome! Truly a hidden gem! So glad we found it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There was no kids menu but they just cus ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

There was no kids menu but they just custom made us some sphagetti. And didnt care that my son drew all over table cloth with crayon. Awesome job!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Terrific! Service impeccable, food delic ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Terrific! Service impeccable, food delicious. We had party of 6 celebrating husbands birthday.

We enjoyed our evening. Server was extremely knowledgable about wines and food on the menu. Just the right amount of attention to us, so we could enjoy our time together.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, an excellent meal tonight. Fr ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

As usual, an excellent meal tonight. Fresh fish was superb. Wine Flights are just a lot of fun. I recommend highly for a great Italian meal. Service is personable and wonderful

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of our favorite restaurants, this ev ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants, this evening we enjoyed another carefully prepared , delicious dinner. Our server, Nicky was delightful, carefully explained each Chef's Special . She was attentive- just the right amount. We shared the Meatball Appetizer ( SO happy they are back on the menu); my husband had the pasta with crab and tomatoes, which he loved. I asked for ( and the Chef accommodated) the Chicken Milanese which is no longer on the menu - was delicious. Very happy !! We'll be back for sure!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.