About Michael Anthony's Cucina Italiana

37 New Orleans Road
Hilton Head Island, SC 29928
View Larger Map

Michael Anthony’s Cucina Italiana offers traditional regional Italian cuisine combining innovative presentations and style. The award winning culinary team presents a menu using the freshest ingredients for an unforgettable culinary experience featuring homemade gnocchi, succulent veal,daily selections of fresh fish and house-made desserts. Acknowledged by food and wine enthusiasts and critics alike, the restaurant presents a fine-dining experience combining an award-winning wine list, exquisite food, attentive service and the personal touch of a family-owned restaurant serving the Lowcountry since 2002. In fact, Michael Anthony’s was recognized in 2010 by Open Table diners as one of the "Top 50 Italian Restaurants" in the United States! In addition, Michael Anthony’s operates a Cooking School conducting weekly hands-on and demonstration style cooking classes and a specialty Italian market. Please visit our website or call for information for our class schedule or dining reservations.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Serving dinner Monday - Saturday beginning at 5:15pm

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 785-6272

Website:
http://www.michael-anthonys.com/

Executive Chef:
Chris Johnson

Private Party Facilities:
At Michael Anthony's Cucina Italiana we offer five unique private party options for hosting your special event

Private Party Contact:
Ian Mason: 8775644026

Additional:
Bar Dining, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Michael Anthony's Cucina Italiana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
South Carolina
Best Overall
Hilton Head
Best Food
Hilton Head
5 More
Best Service
Hilton Head
Fit for Foodies
Hilton Head
Notable Wine List
Hilton Head
Romantic
Hilton Head
Special Occasion
Hilton Head
Best Restaurants in Hilton Head ›

special occasion (90)
fit for foodies (87)
romantic (66)
See All
notable wine list (63)
neighborhood gem (42)
good for groups (30)
vibrant bar scene (12)
hot spot (8)
great for lunch (4)
late-night find (3)
great for brunch (2)
kid-friendly (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1312 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food and excellent service Tha ...

Dined a day ago

Wonderful food and excellent service Thank you Ian

food4
ambience5
service3

Great atmosphere. Good food. Bad service ...

Dined a day ago

Great atmosphere. Good food. Bad service but we think the waiter was just having a bad day.

food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent choice. Can't go wrong eating ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Excellent choice. Can't go wrong eating here.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food & excellent service!

Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful food & excellent service!

food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent food and atmosphere to celebra ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Excellent food and atmosphere to celebrate our anniversary.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and food!

Dined on May 19, 2016

Great service and food!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food, excellent staff. Love to ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Excellent food, excellent staff. Love to go here whenever in HH

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our third or fourth dinner at M ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

This was our third or fourth dinner at Michael Anthony's. As usual everything was fantastic. Nice atmosphere, friendly servers, and delicious food. We now come here every time we are in Hilton Head; love it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

My wife had the chicken special and she ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

My wife had the chicken special and she said it was good but nothing great. I had the Veal valdostana, with fontina cheese, mushrooms, and prosciutto. It was very good but nothing overly original. Service was excellent. As compared to most fine dining we have done this vacation, no appetizers or dessert as we weren't that hungry. I'd come back but Hogs Head in Bluffton was better.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time here and it lived up to recommendations

Dined on May 16, 2016

It was a special occasion with my 95 year old Mom and sister. Food was wonderful and the service great!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The food was great and the service was a ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was great and the service was above and beyond excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved this place and had an amazing serv ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Loved this place and had an amazing server Kat. I had the Spaghetti con Granchio, Arugula e Pomodoro Fresca, outstanding and full of real lump crab and the pasta was fresh and very tasty as well. We will definitely return on our next trip to HHI!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful dining experience, as usual. ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Wonderful dining experience, as usual. The featured wine was outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Girls Night Out on Hilton Head Island

Dined on May 10, 2016

We had the early bird's special with the 3 course tasting and it was divine and a real find. What a deal. We had a salad, main course and dessert for 25$ each and everyone choose something different. A great way to check out a new restaurant with out breaking the bank. Highly recommend this and WILL go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best Italian on the Island

Dined on May 6, 2016

The food was delicious and well presented. The wine list was exceptional at various price levels. The staff was friendly and very professional. We returned the next evening for a second memorable dinner. This restaurant did not disappoint.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well Deserved Reputation

Dined on May 5, 2016

Everything about Michael Anthony's points to a desire on their part to provide the highest quality food with the very best, professional service in a lovely atmosphere. We requested a table in the bar this time and had great service from Elijah. Every other touch point was terrific from the confirmation call to the greeting on arrival and all those who took care of us through the evening. Food was beautifully presented, plentiful, and delicious. We will return happily.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As Always, Fanastic!

Dined on May 3, 2016

Have dined here many times and have never had a bad experience. At the bar, which has a TV, you can do a wine tasting; they have a serious wine list. In their Market, you can buy wine, pasta, all types of imported sauces and add ons. You can also stop by and special order a sandwich. The dining room is pleasantly dark and the tables spaced so you can have a nice conversation. The food and service is exceptional. I mentioned a dish that I had many years ago, but hasn't been on the menu for a few years. Our waiter informed me, that the chef would happily prepare it for me! My husband couldn't decide between two pasta dishes, so our waiter suggested he choose both and they would give him a half order of each! Now, that's what I call service and keeps us going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous meal / Veal with mushrooms supe ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Fabulous meal / Veal with mushrooms superb and crab pasta dish tasty. Nice wine list / great service - very professional. Ask for booth , quieter table. Top 5 on HHI.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous Food and Ambiance

Dined on April 29, 2016

This was our first dinner experience at Michael Anthony's. We had been here for drinks previously and promised ourselves we would return. Our server was prompt, friendly, attentive, and accurate. I had what I would describe as one of the best Caesar salads I have ever eaten followed by a perfectly prepared duck breast. My wife had the Bolognese which was a very generous portion (enough for leftovers.) The atmosphere is very comfortable. It appeared obvious that many locals enjoy this restaurant as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service & food 1st class

Dined on April 29, 2016

Nicky & Peter did an excellent job with us. Food was superb. We arrived just in time for early bird menu. Fit precisely what we sought.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always excellent!

Dined on April 28, 2016

The food and service were excellent. We always try to eat here while visiting HHI. I had the veal and my husband the swordfish . He said it was the best fish preparation he ever had, and he rarely raves. We would have liked a more expanded craft beer selection.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

yum

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Wonderful fresh and imaginative food. Quiet setting with appropriate service. They also have an amazing cooking school.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service was fabulous as always. ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

Food and service was fabulous as always. Their consistency here is very impressive.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Service excellent.

Dined on April 26, 2016

Great food. Service excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Evening With Friends - Superb Menu

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

Great choices, excellent presentation and preparation!!!! Server was outstanding!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We had a good experience

Dined on April 25, 2016

Food and service was good. Wines were a bit pricey.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3

Our server was loud and condescending. S ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Our server was loud and condescending. She didn't give us the entire special menu . Had to hear it from discussions she had with other diners at other tables. Spoke to us like we weren't as good as other tables because we were a table of 6 women.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

One of Hilton Head's Best

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

This restaurant ticks all of the boxes for me. Excellent food in preparation and presentation, top flight staff, quality wine list, and an inviting dining environment upstairs....downstairs is too loud for good conversation but bar is fun.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A Really Fine Place

Dined on April 15, 2016

The was the best restaurant we came across on our vacation on Hilton Head. The service was prompt and friendly, the atmosphere was adult and not loud (we ate in the upstairs room) and the food was outstanding. I had Alaskan Halibut served on a bed of sweet/sour onions and surrounded with a prosecco beurre blanc sauce with golden raisin. A truly unique combination. My wife had the diver scallops risotto which also was outstanding. The wine list is extensive. We will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

A Lovely Evening

Dined on April 15, 2016

We dined here with friends during a recent visit to Hilton Head for the Heritage Tournament. While we had to dine a little early, it was well worth it. We had four different dishes, good wine and wonderful service from Cat. We never felt rushed, but dinner moved right along. Cat kept our bubbly filled and checked in with us often, but was not hovering over us. We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food2
ambience1
service1

The restaurant was busy and we were not ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

The restaurant was busy and we were not served for 40 minutes. The food does not live up to its reputation. The swordfish was drowning in a sauce. You could no longer taste the fish! The portions were ridiculously large. I was really disappointed. We eat in Italian restaurants in Toronto regularly. This restaurant would go out of business if it were in our city. Horrible!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Finest in Hilton Head Island dining

Dined on April 13, 2016

Michael Anthony's continues to be, without question, among the finest dining establishments on Hilton Head Island. The menu is outstanding and the nightly additions round out a food offering that is without compare. The wine list is top of class with many notable selections from Italy and the USA. Even the bar selections are superb. Both my colleague and I ordered pre-dinner cocktails and were pleasantly surprised that Michael Anthony's carried both of our preferred selections: Ketel One Orange and Bulleit Rye. Beyond all of this is service that is always superb and consistent. The waitstaff are very knowledgeable and enthusiastic about their offerings and provide excellent suggestions on both food and wine pairings. Michael Anthony's is perfect for foodies, vacationers, business people, and those who, frankly, appreciate the long lost art of great food and superior service!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Disappointed

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Have eaten at Michael Anthony's many times over the past several years and have always found the food wonderful! My wife and I were unaware that there had been a change in Chefs and the food was noticeably inferior. We definitely were disappointed! The service was great but an otherwise bad experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Michael Anthony's never disappoints!

Dined on April 9, 2016

Amazing food, great wine, superb service! Always a great experience. We come to Michael Anthony's every time we are in Hilton Head because it is a guaranteed great evening!! Our favorite spot on the island!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A real find!

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

So glad a friend recommended Michael Anthony's in Hilton Head. Great food, service and desert! It will be hard to eat tiramisu any place else!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding every time

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Great food and staff. We go every time we are in Hilton Head Make reservations early

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Scottish Salmon fish of the day deliciou ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Scottish Salmon fish of the day delicious. Seafood w linguine full of fresh seafood.

food4
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent, especially the homem ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

Food was excellent, especially the homemade pasta. Our server, Lucy, was outstanding.

food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Seating choice poor

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

Being local and choosing for a fine Italian meal, we did not appreciate being seated upstairs with four tables of families on spring break. Although the children were well behaved, most couples would prefer being downstairs with adults who frequent the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place, I visit every time I am ...

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

Love this place, I visit every time I am in HH!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.