About Michael Anthony's Cucina Italiana

37 New Orleans Road
Hilton Head Island, SC 29928
View Larger Map

Michael Anthony’s Cucina Italiana offers traditional regional Italian cuisine combining innovative presentations and style. The award winning culinary team presents a menu using the freshest ingredients for an unforgettable culinary experience featuring homemade gnocchi, succulent veal,daily selections of fresh fish and house-made desserts. Acknowledged by food and wine enthusiasts and critics alike, the restaurant presents a fine-dining experience combining an award-winning wine list, exquisite food, attentive service and the personal touch of a family-owned restaurant serving the Lowcountry since 2002. In fact, Michael Anthony’s was recognized in 2010 by Open Table diners as one of the "Top 50 Italian Restaurants" in the United States! In addition, Michael Anthony’s operates a Cooking School conducting weekly hands-on and demonstration style cooking classes and a specialty Italian market. Please visit our website or call for information for our class schedule or dining reservations.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Serving dinner Monday - Saturday beginning at 5:15pm

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 785-6272

Website:
http://www.michael-anthonys.com/

Private Party Facilities:
At Michael Anthony's Cucina Italiana we offer five unique private party options for hosting your special event

Private Party Contact:
Ian Mason: 8775644026

Additional:
Bar Dining, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Michael Anthony's Cucina Italiana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (37)
Notable Wine List (33)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
See All
Creative Cuisine (30)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Romantic (25)
Good for a Date (22)
Bar Seating (20)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Worth the Drive (20)
Authentic (20)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Business Meals (13)
Cozy (11)
Private Room (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Casual (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Seasonal (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Fun (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Healthy (3)
Family Style (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Historic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Fireplace (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1586 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My wife and I have dined many times at M ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 2 days ago

My wife and I have dined many times at Michael Anthony's. The Food and service gets better and better. We LOVE sitting in the Bar area at the high top tables. Elijah behind the Bar is a MASTER. We also LOVE sitting in the Wine Room. If at all possible, have JOSH serve you. Beyond Josh's knowledge of the Menu, he is also a Sommelier. A real PLUS !!!!!!!!!!! The menu has something for everyone. Authentic Italian. The atmosphere is great. Overall, you will really, really enjoy the experience. Kudos to all

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Private Room, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ravioli, osso buco, and service were ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 2 days ago

The ravioli, osso buco, and service were impeccable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was great!

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Everything was great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yummy dinner with excellent service! We ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Yummy dinner with excellent service! We arrived for the early bird prix fixe special and it did not disappoint.Nice selection, appropriate portion size and delicious! Would highly recommend.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our favorite restaurant on Hilto ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This is our favorite restaurant on Hilton Head. Excellent cuisine and service.

Highly recommended!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our first time dining at Michael ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 6, 2017

It was our first time dining at Michael Anthony's and we will definitely be back. The food and service were outstanding. They have a great menu and a terrific wine list. Try the beet salad, it's the best! We ordered a Californian Chardonnay, but the manager recommended we try an Italian instead. His wine selection really made our meal even more delicious.

Tags: Private Room, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Michael Anthonys is excellent in every w ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Michael Anthonys is excellent in every way. It is one of our favorite Hilton Head restaurants. We highly recommend it for special occasions, groups, or regular evening meals.

Tags: Good for Groups, Private Room, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was outstanding. Lucy our server wa ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Food was outstanding. Lucy our server was great.The wine suggestion was perfect.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I would absolutely recommend Michael Ant ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 3, 2017

I would absolutely recommend Michael Anthony's. Their wine list is spectacular and the way they cook with the selection of wine is astounding. I would recommend the house salad because they make their own vineragette which is the best dressing I have ever tasted.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent food and service! Worth the pr ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Excellent food and service! Worth the price knowing the food was made fresh to table. The best Old Fashioned on the island thanks to Pete. Only downside was table next to door. Seemed a little noisier there. Would ask for different table next time.

Tags: Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Service was fantastic! The food was just ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Service was fantastic! The food was just OK. We had the ravioli special (not good) and the filet mignon. Of the two, the filet was fine, just not worth the price. I would not recommend this place for the food, but the ambiance was lovely. And we toasted to the New Year with complementary champagne.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

As always, the experience at MA was exce ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

As always, the experience at MA was exceptional. We were delayed 35 minutes due to a party that almost refused to leave. Of course, the staff provided us with a complimentary antipasto, that at 945 PM was most appreciated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Usually we have great service at Michael ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Usually we have great service at Michael Anthony's. This time we had a waitress who seemed more suited to a diner than a fine dining restaurant. While she was efficient enough, she detracted from the dining experience. We couldn't understand the specials because she rattled them off in such a hurry. It is unusual for this restaurant because they have so many highly professional staff. On a busy New Year's eve we were treated really well, got our table in relatively close to our time, and the food is always superior.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

A very busy New Year's Eve dinner was ha ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

A very busy New Year's Eve dinner was handled very professionally by the entire staff from the hostess desk to the table service to the kitchen. A glass of prosecco was offered to diners waiting for their table, which made the time pass quickly. Our server was a real veteran and orchestrated our meal perfectly. Bar service,though, was extremely slow. The veal Rossini special was spectacular as was the lobster ravioli which two of our party ordered. Another win for MA.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

This is absolutely one of our favorite r ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This is absolutely one of our favorite restaurants. Our server , Lucy, was warm, friendly, attentive and timed our dinner perfectly. The Manager greeted everyone tonight and we felt very welcome and appreciated. We started with the meatball appetizer which was delicious , the sauce perfectly balanced. I had the pasta bolognese- delicious! My husband had pasta with crabmeat which was also amazing. We shared the gelato, which finished our dinner perfectly. Again, one of our very favorites!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a good choice! Great food and ser ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Always a good choice! Great food and service. A favorite.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fantastic New Years Eve dinner! Nice to ...

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Fantastic New Years Eve dinner! Nice touch to be greeted with glasses of prosecco to toast with. Finnie(?) was super helpful and very knowledgeable about the menu and wine list...I hope he works with us again next time we visit. Interesting specials. Kitchen did a great job getting food out to the tables in a timely fashion. One entree (lobster ravioli) had to be returned as it was cooked 2-3 minutes north of al dente, but came out perfect about ten minutes later. Only slight criticism...we were finishing up our meal, had just paid the check, and each had 2-3 sips left of a fairly expensive bottle of wine off their reserve list. Manager(?) approached and said (basically) that they were desperate for our table and that they would secure two seats at the bar for us to finish our wine. He was not rude at all and seemed a little frazzled. The wine had been decanted, so 'recorking' wasn't an option. We hurriedly finished our remaining wine and hustled out. Granted...it was NYE, pretty busy and getting busier. We were this close to being finished and nearly on our way out in less than two hours, but for some reason this smudged the evening a bit after spending $400 (including the gratuity) on apps, entrees, dessert, and wine for two. Again...they were not rude or unpleasant at all. This won't prevent us from going back, as everything else was really great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

After we were seated, our service was ov ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

After we were seated, our service was overwhelming the first 5min, then went to hell. Had to wait almost 10min before any of the servers came back over to get a drink order, as we watched them open up bottles of wine at 4 different tables. Once we said something, they DEFINATLY made up for it the rest of the evening. Dinner was delicious and wince suggest was AMAZING. A wonderful family dinner for 4 to end the year. Thank you, MA, we have decided to make NYE dinner there a tradition,this year was year 2!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Consistently good, would be better with ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Consistently good, would be better with more specials

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

PJ was our waiter, excellent service, ve ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

PJ was our waiter, excellent service, very knowledgeable about wines. Food was excellent. This was our second visit in two months, both excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food and service. Lucy and Nik ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Wonderful food and service. Lucy and Nikki were a delight, well versed on the menu and made excellent suggestions. This is one of our favorite restaurants on the island.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always our favorite Michael Anthony has ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Always our favorite Michael Anthony has never disappointed. We celebrated a birthday as we have enjoyed the food, the warmth, the ambiance and the tender loving care Tony and Becky provide in this treasured island eatery. They treat all guests like you are eating at their home. Nicky provided wonderful service as always. See you soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

WOW. Tried this place out based on local ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 28, 2016

WOW. Tried this place out based on local reviews and all we. And say is YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED. The food is really really authentic Italian and the service was all-star. These guys know how to run a fine dining establishment. We took our 9-yr-old daughter and they were extremely accommodating with making her some butter Parmesan noodles. Bucatini and ravioli were both delicious. And the tiramisu was a nice cap to the evening. Definitely recommend!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, didn't disappoint. Post holid ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 28, 2016

As always, didn't disappoint. Post holiday dinner with family. Food was very good and well prepared and presented. Prime server was very good. Only downside was the co-server who voice was MUCH TOO LOUD which was quite unpleasant and she forgot to bring one after dinner drink but it wasn't on the bill.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The bread with Canneloni spread was good ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The bread with Canneloni spread was good. The spread was slightly bland. The Caesar salad was delicious and easily served 2.

I had the pasta with bolognese sauce. This was very well seasoned.

My husband had a chicken with Italian sausage of polenta. It was also well seasoned and delicious.

The butter pecan Gelato was wonderful as was the cannoli.

Definitely a wonderful restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Comfortable interior, amazing food. Watc ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Comfortable interior, amazing food. Watch out for the waiters though, I asked for a house salad and house wine was told they didn't have that and led on to purchase a $14 salad and a $12 glass of wine. Looked further into the menu and saw that house salad and house wine did exist.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had Christmas Eve Dinner at Michaels, th ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Had Christmas Eve Dinner at Michaels, the food, service and wine list was all terrific. Would recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and ambiance. The rav ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Excellent service and ambiance. The raviolis which were one of the additions were overcooked. The borders were toasted, as if they were warmed up in the microwave. Also, they were floating in butter (not Italian style).

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Puts an original style and taste to Ital ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Puts an original style and taste to Italian dishes . I had the Osso Bucu with their risotto....... excellent..the meat slid right off the bone tasty and delicious.

My wife had the Amatriciana Pasta...very tasty with a delicious kick to it.

This was our second visit. We were here a year earlier on our time share week and decided to go back. It was just as good if not better than the first time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Michael Anthony's always serves deliciou ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Michael Anthony's always serves delicious and authentic Italian cuisine and never disappoints! All of our dishes were wonderful, especially the Tagliatelle Bolognese which is one of my favorites when I dine there. Our server Lucy was terrific!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The early bird menu is representative an ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The early bird menu is representative and excellent. The newer recipe for carpaccio di manzo is light and fresh. While their osso bucco, only available on Friday, is perfect, the spaghetti with crab is balanced and delicious. Save room for the panna cotta or, my husband's favorite, the dessert wine flight. Ask for Nikki-she is a great server, both knowledgeable and engaging.

I

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good as always. What made this ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Food was good as always. What made this evening special was our server Lucy. She was so knowledgeable and did an excellent job of guiding us with a wine selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Both are meals were excellent: a veal di ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Both are meals were excellent: a veal dish and the bolonese. Took half the pasta dish home and enjoyed it again the next day. The apple, arugula salad was one of the best salads I've had! The service was attentive, friendly and our server very knowledge about the food and wine.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service but a little ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Excellent food and service but a little pricey for the size of the portions

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Michael Anthony's is the best of the loc ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Michael Anthony's is the best of the local restaurants in Hilton Head. The food is outstanding and the service and attention to the customer is impressive. We went for a birthday, received a complimentary prosecco toast and was offered a candle in the dessert if wanted. I ordered the special salad and the hand made ravioli of the day and it was delicious. My husband's seafood pasta dish was equally wonderful for him. When we left, all tables were full and they still delivered memorable food and service. Hats off to management and chefs.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We really enjoyed our dinner. It was the ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 8, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner. It was the first time we had eaten there. We will be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived early for our reservation whi ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 6, 2016

We arrived early for our reservation which meant the their (unexpected to us) early bird special menu was available. Well it has to be the best $25 prix fixe we have ever had in a restaurant.

This was food as it should be prepared, in smaller portions with the best ingredients. A half bottle of 2010 Banfi completed a perfect meal.

Service was impeccable and in fact it was the only major difference from their main rival Ombra.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding evening starting with our wo ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Outstanding evening starting with our wonderful server "CAT".....She was the best, friendly, knowledgeable, no rushing......Food was spectacular (had the early dining menu) and wonderfully priced!! Great spot to celebrate my wife's "Birthday", starting with a glass of complimentary Prosecco. Thanks for a wonderful evening......

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, , Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The reviews are better than the restaura ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The reviews are better than the restaurant. For the money, one can do better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

pleasant surrounding restaurant was live ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 3, 2016

pleasant surrounding restaurant was lively and food above par definitely will return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.