About Michael Anthony's Cucina Italiana

37 New Orleans Road
Hilton Head Island, SC 29928
View Larger Map

Michael Anthony’s Cucina Italiana offers traditional regional Italian cuisine combining innovative presentations and style. The award winning culinary team presents a menu using the freshest ingredients for an unforgettable culinary experience featuring homemade gnocchi, succulent veal,daily selections of fresh fish and house-made desserts. Acknowledged by food and wine enthusiasts and critics alike, the restaurant presents a fine-dining experience combining an award-winning wine list, exquisite food, attentive service and the personal touch of a family-owned restaurant serving the Lowcountry since 2002. In fact, Michael Anthony’s was recognized in 2010 by Open Table diners as one of the "Top 50 Italian Restaurants" in the United States! In addition, Michael Anthony’s operates a Cooking School conducting weekly hands-on and demonstration style cooking classes and a specialty Italian market. Please visit our website or call for information for our class schedule or dining reservations.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Serving dinner Monday - Saturday beginning at 5:15pm

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 785-6272

Website:
http://www.michael-anthonys.com/

Executive Chef:
Chris Johnson

Private Party Facilities:
At Michael Anthony's Cucina Italiana we offer five unique private party options for hosting your special event

Private Party Contact:
Ian Mason: 8775644026

Additional:
Bar Dining, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Michael Anthony's Cucina Italiana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
South Carolina
Best Overall
Hilton Head
Best Food
Hilton Head
4 More
Best Service
Hilton Head
Best Value
Hilton Head
Romantic
Hilton Head
Special Occasion
Hilton Head
Best Restaurants in Hilton Head ›

special occasion (107)
fit for foodies (104)
romantic (91)
See All
notable wine list (79)
neighborhood gem (49)
good for groups (41)
hot spot (14)
vibrant bar scene (14)
great for lunch (6)
late-night find (4)
kid-friendly (3)
great for brunch (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1373 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was excellent and the portions ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food was excellent and the portions were generous. We were well attended to and the waiter was very knowledgeable of the menu, specials, and spirits. I look forward to eating there again.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This restaurant is a bit pricey, but the ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 6 days ago

This restaurant is a bit pricey, but the Osso Buco is worth the price. You will not find it on the menu, so go Friday as it is the special. The food and service here is outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

never disappoints. I had a pork chop sp ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

never disappoints. I had a pork chop special wrapped in prosciutto. The calamari appetizer is also excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We found this restaurant on Trip Advisor ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

We found this restaurant on Trip Advisor. It was fabulous from the time we had a drink at the bar to appetizers (antipasto with cheese and meats, meatballs), main entrees (pasta with fresh crab, stuffed pork chop, pasta with cacicavalli cheese and butter and dessert (tiramisu and vanilla gelato). Very professional staff. We had Lucy and Nicki.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The specials were wonderful...the homema ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The specials were wonderful...the homemade pasta with a slow cooked filet mignon tomato sauce was exceptional, beets and salads all very well done. The best manhattan but the worst margarita ever. Ambiance was very nice, probably the nicest in HH. Overall, good food, nice ambiance and good service.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

What really stands out about our experie ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

What really stands out about our experience was the great service. I mentioned this was our anniversary, and they congratulated us when we initially checked in. Although very pricey, the food was outstanding, and complimented by excellent presentation. Try the gelato for dessert; you won't be disappointed!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Absolutely fantastic! Food was wonderfu ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Absolutely fantastic! Food was wonderful. Incredible flavor. Recommendations were excellent. Family of five, with each of us having something different. Everyone was satisfied. Service was provided by Lucy, who treated us like one of the family. Dessert was exceptional. Try the Chocolate Cake and Tiramisu. They were able to match wine perfectly from a specific region and grape. It was my wife's birthday, and they helped make it an exceptional evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The atmosphere was very romantic. Howeve ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

The atmosphere was very romantic. However, I felt the food wasn't as flavorful as described. It was also on the pricey side for portions served.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Very authentic Northern Italian cuisine. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Very authentic Northern Italian cuisine. Great service. Very knowledgable. Very attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was excellent; the pasta was ma ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The food was excellent; the pasta was made from scratch. They didn't have a children's menu, so that might be a deterrent for some families with younger children. This is an expensive restaurant, but we thought our food was excellent! We would definitely eat here again the next time we're in Hilton Head.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As always Michael Anthony's continues wi ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

As always Michael Anthony's continues with reputation of quality menus items for those conscientious of their diet. You can't go wrong with any selection. Great cuisine. A pleasure to dine there whether a special occasion or just date night. Wives will be appreciative of dining there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best restaurant we have visited on Hilto ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Best restaurant we have visited on Hilton Head. Service was great and food amazing. Loved everything about it

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've dined here before and looked forwa ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We've dined here before and looked forward to our return. The staff is wonderful, very personable and pleasant. Ian was a gem. It's a lovely place to dine in Hilton Head, well appointed, quiet (in a good way) and a fantastic menu. It's our Go To restaurant when we are in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Italian! Found this spot 3 yea ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Excellent Italian! Found this spot 3 years ago & it is now on our "must do" list when in Hilton Head. Knowledgeable staff. Great wine list. I had the Veal Scaloppini with lemon & capers & my husband had the Osso Buco special. Wonderful experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was great. There was a chef tasting ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Food was great. There was a chef tasting special that night that included a choice appetizer/salad, entree and dessert. All three were excellent. At first we thought the portions were way to small but after finishing our dessert we found it to be the perfect amount of food. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Had an excellent dinner there while on v ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Had an excellent dinner there while on vacation. Friend and I both had the great caesar salad and pasta bolognese - delicious! Kat, our server, was wonderful. Great place - would highly recommend!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, I enjoyed everything about m ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

As always, I enjoyed everything about my dinner that night. Service was excellent, staff was pleasant and helpful. Food was nicely prepared and presented. Look forward to my next visit to try another dish.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very nice experience that I didn't exp ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

A very nice experience that I didn't expect to find in Hilton Head. Good food, in a romantic setting, very nice. This is your hot spot for a couples night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great value and service Was very accomm ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great value and service Was very accommodating will be back in the fall our next trip to Hilton head

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would put Michael Anthony's on my list ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

I would put Michael Anthony's on my list of "Must Eat Places" whenever I'm in Hilton Head, SC! The food was outstanding from wine, to bread, to salad to pasta and service was spot on. Our waiter PJ was fantastic and you could tell that he wanted us to have a great evening. "Mangiare" as we say.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner celebrating husband's b ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Wonderful dinner celebrating husband's birthday. Food is always delicious here, and it is one of our favorites on Hilton Head Island. We highly recommend it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed our anniversary dinner there. Ni ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Enjoyed our anniversary dinner there. Nice ambience. The Panna cotta was the best I ever had. The beet salad was delicious also! Our waiter from Rhode Island, Frank, was the best. Definitely recommend.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service! A+++

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Excellent food and service! A+++

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice restaurant. Great food. Will ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Very nice restaurant. Great food. Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent! It was delicious 10 years ag ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Excellent! It was delicious 10 years ago when we first visited and 10 years later it is still as good!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful food, excellent service all in ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Wonderful food, excellent service all in a great atmosphere. The pasta dishes were terrific as was the house red wine. Delicious desserts topped off the dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was a very good meal, my wife's fish ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

It was a very good meal, my wife's fish was moist and tasty. The appetizers were all interesting and hard to make a choice, they all seemed so good. The veal chop was moist and tasty and cooked as ordered. Although we did not sit in the market room we have done so before and prefer that atmosphere but it is a place we would go often.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The ambiance and food was outstanding. L ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The ambiance and food was outstanding. Love this place. Highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food!!!

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Amazing food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding evening at Michael Anthony's ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Outstanding evening at Michael Anthony's a vacation favorite that never fails

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A great place to go for a date, annivers ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

A great place to go for a date, anniversary, etc. The service and food were excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The meal was excellent and so was the se ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The meal was excellent and so was the service. Will go back again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

one of the best meals we've had in a lon ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

one of the best meals we've had in a long time - anywhere!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The best waiter. I have had in years. ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The best waiter. I have had in years. Helped select food and wine and not by price!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Michael Anthony's is my favorite restaur ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Michael Anthony's is my favorite restaurant on Hilton Head. I am never disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We brought our 3 children which was a mi ...

 
·Dined on June 27, 2016

We brought our 3 children which was a mistake . We always take them everywhere..however the staff at restaraunt was not happy about it and rushed us through service. I would go back with adults only. The food was delicious.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Outstanding dinner and wine. I am not us ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Outstanding dinner and wine. I am not usually a fan of a ribeye cut but had the best ribeye of my entire life. Just fabulous. They should add this to the regular menu. Service was terrific as usual. Not inexpensive but a high quality and enjoyable dinner.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Incredible food with Jay our server taki ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Incredible food with Jay our server taking care os for the 4th year. Another great anniversary dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent fine dining in Hilton Head. G ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Excellent fine dining in Hilton Head. Great list of entrees, including vegetarian and seafood. Very nice atmosphere. Would definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we visited with my wife and 3 adult chil ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

we visited with my wife and 3 adult children while on vacation in Hilton Head. The exterior doesn't do the restaurant justice as it is in plaza with a bunch of non descript companies. The food was very good with portions on the smaller side. the staff was extremely helpful with recommendations but was also very attentive and professional. we visited with my wife and 3 adult children while on vacation in Hilton Head. This has been our best dining experience in the past 2 years that we have visited Hilton Head. the atmosphere is very nice and the restaurant is tastefully done. We will certainly visit on our next trip to Hilton Head

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.