Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 1.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 1.24mi

About Mia Francesca Trattoria

Mia Francesca Trattoria offers the North Hills - Raleigh, NC region a uniquely authentic Italian restaurant with made from scratch, simple, rustic cooking with friendly service, fair prices, & farm to table ingredients.

4100 Main At North Hills St
Raleigh, NC 27609
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Wine Bar, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Saturday 11:30am - 3pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday, Sunday: 3pm - 9pm, Friday & Saturday: 3pm - 10pm Brunch: 10:30am - 3pm (Sunday Only)

Cross Street:
Adjacent to the Renaissance Hotel

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 278-1525

Website:
http://www.miafrancesca.com/locations/profile/north-carolina

Entertainment:
Thursday Night Is live music night & $5 house Martinis!

Catering:

The Francesca's philosophy of good, simple cooking, served in a casually sophisticated dining atmosphere is one that we proudly carry over to our Special Events. Our private and semi-private dining rooms are ideal for business functions or social occasions and can accommodate groups of 10 to 200, depending on location.

Contact our dedicated Event Planners for additional information or to inquire about avaliabilty of dates:

Parking Details:
For parking we offer several options. You may use the parking lot behind the restaurant.
The underneath entrance is at the Main North Hills' entrance just off of Six Forks Road. You may then take the elevator up to the lobby of the Renaissance Hotel and work over to our location. This is a great option if the weather is inclement.
You third option is valet in-front of the restaurant at the Renaissance hotel adjacent to us.

Executive Chef:
Zachary VanGaasbeek

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
At Mia Francesca we boast two beautiful rustic private dining rooms for your special event planning needs. You can host a party at Francesca’s in either our downstairs private dining room - suitable for any private parties up to 60 people; or upstairs Tuscan Wine Cellar Mezzanine - accommodating private dining groups up to 55 guests. We have full audio and visual equipment if your event requires them. Our on site Event Manager will help you along the way from beginning to end to coordinate the perfect event. Our flexible menus and spaces are just what you need to host the perfect private group event. With private group menus featuring our fantastic authentic made from scratch Italian cuisine or more traditional group fare we are here to help you host the best private event possible.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Fri 4:00PM - 6:00PM

Private Dining

The Francesca's philosophy of good, simple cooking, served in a casually sophisticated dining atmosphere is one that we proudly carry over to our Special Events. Our private and semi-private dining rooms are ideal for business functions, bridal showers, rehearsal dinners & more.

Mia Francesca Trattoria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (33)
Special Occasion (30)
Good for Groups (25)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Romantic (18)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Great for Brunch (18)
Great for Lunch (17)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Comfort Food (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Casual (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Authentic (14)
Business Meals (12)
Cozy (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Notable Wine List (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Fun (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
People Watching (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Seasonal (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Private Room (2)
Family Style (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Great Beer (2)
Tapas (2)
Modern Decor (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Waterfront (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Spicy (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
S
1188 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

Great service. Good food. But I've almost exploded from portion size. You will not starve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Left out an ingredient from my meal and brought out the wrong meal to my dining partner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Did brunch with bottomless mimosas with friends. Food was good. Mimosas had more orange juice than champagne but experience was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Excellent food and service as always. Only negative would be the small portion size on the $26 Mahdi entree.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Enjoyed brunch. Lots of options to choose from. Lemon pancakes were a big hit. Steak and eggs were also cooked just right.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Our first time dining here. Ate in the outdoor seating area. The service was good, though the restaurant was pretty empty at 7:30pm on Sunday night of 4th of July weekend.....no one else on the patio. One of the waitstaff was clearing all the tables but ours on the patio which was both noisy/intrusive and left us feeling like we were eating at a closed restaurant. The wines are a pretty good selection but the restaurant should have a number more moderately/economically priced good wines given the meal prices. Almost all wines were above $30/bottle or $9/glass.

The outdoor seating is immediately across from a dumpster site for North Hills Shopping and that is both not a pleasant sight and adds a further intrusive noise element. I would suggest "Mia's" put a row of planters just outside its rail with some type of tall bushy evergreen with "twinkle lights" to both block the dumpsters and add a festive element to the outdoor seating. The ceiling fans are meant to rotate but we were seated under one of the units which was not functioning. With the outside temperature @ about 88 degrees that night we could have used a more effective ceiling fan.

Being an Italian restaurant, I would strongly suggest that the background music played might be either Italian or at least classical. The night we were there rock music was playing which was neither calming nor festive nor representative of the "flavor of the restaurant".

The food was satisfactory but not special. It was not presented well, was just two bowls of pasta, no color, no parsley, just a bowl of pasta. Also, for $18 for a bowl of pasta, I might suggest that a small tossed salad be included. Not much to ask given the price of the pasta.

It was a slow night so me will probably give it one more try before we eliminate it as a 'place of choice'.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Lovely place and excellent service
I'll be back soon

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Our first time dining here. My wife and I went to try the food and service as a prelude to asking good friends to have dinner with us somewhere local. What a great find ! I had the rigatoni bolognese and my wife had the rigatoni and chicken with pesto. We also had a glass of wine and desert ! Everything was exceptional; service, atmosphere, food and reasonably priced! We happened to Monday night and found that there is a Monday special for 1/2 off of a bottle of their house wine. We had each had the house Pinot Grigio and it was very good, so we purchased a bottle and took it home. Overall, a great experience in every way. We will definitely return and will absolutely ask our friend to join us!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Casual, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Great experience. Wonderful service and very friendly staff. Food was very good too. I will return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The food was all very delicious, service was wonderful. It was our first time in and we will definitely be returning

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 22, 2017

This is one of my favorite places to eat, the menu is reasonably priced for the amount of food and quality. It's good for a date, someone you care for or even for a first date. There is so much detail to this restaurant. The dessert menu sometimes I just go to have a glass of wine and get their dessert sampling tray. Worth the visit, good for foodies!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Overall experience was very good. I was a bit disappointed that the warm lentil appetizer was not available as it's a favorite of mine. All food was good. I feel the wine is quite expensive ....by the glass or bottle.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Food is always excellent and so is the service. The lasagne is so wonderful it should be a regular on the menu.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Best Chicken Parmesan in town. I had a great meal and wonder every time why I don't eat here more often.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The most delicious Italian cuisine I've ever had... seriously, I was floored by how terrific it was and will definitely return again soon. My new favorite restaurant!

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 18, 2017

ari is a great server, he's always personable. brunch is our fave time to visit but there's other good incentives other times as well

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 11, 2017

good girls night for pasta and drinks

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Always a great experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great food and service.
Our serve was excellent and extremely attentive to our needs.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Great food (as always) but service was not as great as it normally is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Service was very slow upon being seated... I think there was a waitress mix-up... Once we had a server things were great! Delicious birthday dinner and dessert! Great specials for good prices!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Love this place. Good food and wine; consistent .

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Our waitress, Sandy, made our evening...explaining items, not hovering over our table..enjoyed dinner

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The food was good but our service wasn't great. We sat outside which was a disappoint because you're literally looking at the dumpsters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Excellent food. Nice menu. Relaxed, casual environment with a nice outdoor patio. Take your time and enjoy!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Because my friend & I had lunch on Friday, prior to Memorial Day, there were few diners when we were seated. We loved our food as well as excellent service & we could talk & have a leisurely lunch without a high noise level. We have dined @ Mia's before but my girlfriend's husband has not been there so this was a new location where they could have dinner sometime. As always, we were not disappointed with our scallop salads as well as our divine desserts. I also love the ease of parking below the restaurant & arriving in the lobby of the hotel with an entrance to Mia's. If the weather is bad, then we don't have to worry about going outside.

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Great food, good time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The food was very good. It did wind up getting very loud and crowded, but that could have been because it was Prom weekend. After we were seated several large parties came in for Prom and it really slowed the service to us. Understandable, but still slightly irritating considering the cost of our meal.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Got stuck in traffic, was a few minutes late and restaurant wouldn't honor 1000 pts of the reservation, very disappointed.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was great but service, not so much. I was planning on having my rehearsal dinner with you guys but decided not to. We had a party of 13 and a waitress that couldn't keep up at all. The food was great but experience was lacking. Overall, I would refer someone for the food but tell them the service is slow. Some examples: waitress forgot some drink orders, table of 13 and only gave us two things of bread, forgot wine multiple times, complained how she has been working since 9am and she was exhausted( this was around 5pm.) some other things but those were the main items.

Tags: Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent food. The environment was a bit too loud for our taste, but it may be just what some people are looking for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Phenomenal Mother's Day brunch... everything you love about Mia Francesca's fresh Italian specialties menu in an all-out buffet! (And they brought back the much missed charcuterie and cheese platter !)

Tags: Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Here for an atypical Mother's Day brunch. The food was wonderful all around. Wait staff was a little slow. Granted the restaurant was a lot more crowded than usual. Would highly recommend the restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent food, amazing service and wonderful atmosphere. We have come here for the last four years to enjoy the Mother's Day brunch and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The buffet for mothers day was phenomenal. Food was amazing and the variety was fantastic. A little pricey but still an absolutely wonderful meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The service while the waitress, was pleasant. She was spacey forgetful, and ill attentive. Was hoping for a special experience with family to celebrate Mother's Day, but it was just meh. Food and wine were good, no real complaints there. Atmosphere was nice, the large chandeliers were incredibly dirty looking and can only imagine what dust/grime might fall off them throughout the days, but, if you don't look at them you don't think about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

staff was awesome. love the food. we tend to take 1 to 2 people new with us every time.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Fantastic pasta and chicken entrees. A friendly, knowledgeable, and attentive server. Good wine and beer. We never have a bad meal here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Fabulous food! Convenient, right in North Hills at the Renaissance Hotel. Had the meat & cheese platter for an app, then some delightful cheese stuffed pasta with light and satisfying cream sauce. Canolis for dessert, mmm!!! Highly recommend for any occasion

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Delicious food, they are a little proud of there drink and food prices but overall it was a great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.