About Mia Francesca Trattoria

4100 Main At North Hills St
Raleigh, NC 27609
View Larger Map

Mia Francesca Trattoria offers the North Hills - Raleigh, NC region a uniquely authentic Italian restaurant with made from scratch, simple, rustic cooking with friendly service, fair prices, & farm to table ingredients.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Wine Bar, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Saturday 11:30am - 3pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday, Sunday: 3pm - 9pm, Friday & Saturday: 3pm - 10pm Brunch: 10:30am - 3pm (Sunday Only)

Cross Street:
Adjacent to the Renaissance Hotel

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 278-1525

Website:
http://www.miafrancesca.com/locations/profile/north-carolina

Entertainment:
Thursday Night Is live music night & $5 house Martinis!

Catering:

The Francesca's philosophy of good, simple cooking, served in a casually sophisticated dining atmosphere is one that we proudly carry over to our Special Events. Our private and semi-private dining rooms are ideal for business functions or social occasions and can accommodate groups of 10 to 200, depending on location.

Contact our dedicated Event Planners for additional information or to inquire about avaliabilty of dates:

Parking Details:
For parking we offer several options. You may use the parking lot behind the restaurant.
The underneath entrance is at the Main North Hills' entrance just off of Six Forks Road. You may then take the elevator up to the lobby of the Renaissance Hotel and work over to our location. This is a great option if the weather is inclement.
You third option is valet in-front of the restaurant at the Renaissance hotel adjacent to us.

Executive Chef:
Zachary VanGaasbeek

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
At Mia Francesca we boast two beautiful rustic private dining rooms for your special event planning needs. You can host a party at Francesca’s in either our downstairs private dining room - suitable for any private parties up to 60 people; or upstairs Tuscan Wine Cellar Mezzanine - accommodating private dining groups up to 55 guests. We have full audio and visual equipment if your event requires them. Our on site Event Manager will help you along the way from beginning to end to coordinate the perfect event. Our flexible menus and spaces are just what you need to host the perfect private group event. With private group menus featuring our fantastic authentic made from scratch Italian cuisine or more traditional group fare we are here to help you host the best private event possible.

Restaurant Photos

  • Tiramisu
  • Veal Stuffed Pasta
  • Salmon
  • Penne Pasta Alla Pollo Fra Diavlo
  • Chocolate Bocci Torta
  • Whole Wheat Penne Pasta
Tiramisu
Veal Stuffed Pasta
Salmon
Penne Pasta Alla Pollo Fra Diavlo
Chocolate Bocci Torta
Whole Wheat Penne Pasta

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Sat 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Private Dining

The Francesca's philosophy of good, simple cooking, served in a casually sophisticated dining atmosphere is one that we proudly carry over to our Special Events. Our private and semi-private dining rooms are ideal for business functions, bridal showers, rehearsal dinners & more.

Mia Francesca Trattoria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (46)
Special Occasion (42)
Fit for Foodies (29)
See All
Romantic (25)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Great for Brunch (18)
Great for Lunch (17)
Notable Wine List (14)
Kid-friendly (8)
Hot Spot (6)
Late-night Find (4)
Casual (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Business Meals (3)
Scenic View (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Authentic (2)
Worth the Drive (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
Newest
991 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great as usual

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

This is one of my main go to restaurants ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

This is one of my main go to restaurants. They had the spaghetti Bolognese off menu and I wish they would keep it and the beet salad on the permanent menu. The wine list is good and I've never had a bad meal there. Our waiter was having a really bad night. His service was fine but he had no joy.

Tags: Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Private Room, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

All 4 meals were outstanding!

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

All 4 meals were outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Loved their Sunday Brunch menu and the b ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Loved their Sunday Brunch menu and the bottomless mimosas. the outdoor seating area is nice I just wished my view wasn't of the dumpsters on the other side of the street. Other than that it was a nice experience and would go again.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

We celebrated our 33rd Anniversary there ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We celebrated our 33rd Anniversary there. Food and service was excellent. They even took a couple of great pictures for us! Will be back soon!!

Sue

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came here for restaurant week and really ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Came here for restaurant week and really enjoyed lunch on the patio with three course meal. Decided to try it for brunch and it was nice, food a bit bland and a bit expensive for brunch. Good service- was seated immediately, ordered and food arrived quickly. We like lunch better than the brunch choices and would return.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

three friends who had a lot to talk abou ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

three friends who had a lot to talk about met at Mia Francesca. The server was very courteous and unobtrusive, realizing that we wanted to visit. Food was good too.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious food, great service. An entire ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Delicious food, great service. An entire gluten free menu, which was greatly appreciated, and the GF pasta was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The last few times I've been, I just hav ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The last few times I've been, I just haven't been impressed. Food is under-seasoned. Servers should know the difference between Pomodoro sauce and other tomato-based sauces. I haven't written them off just yet, maybe next time will be better.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

This was a great choice for date night! ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This was a great choice for date night! The staff was friendly, the food was amazing and the portions were large! I loved the scenery and feel of this place, decorations were beautiful! I would recommend his place for any occasion 😊

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Strawberry bourbon cocktail was unique a ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Strawberry bourbon cocktail was unique and wonderful. Dawn our server was the epitome of what one wants. She was there when we needed something, lots of energy and friendly and left us alone when we were talking. She knew the menu and explained that a cold sauce was going on the pasta & encouraged my partner to try it, as it would all work out - WHICH IT DID. I just had a garden salad, as I had a late lunch with family earlier. Overall, the food was excellent, drinks delicious and service outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lasagna was great and fabulous at specia ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Lasagna was great and fabulous at special rate $6! Also love the warm lentil appetizer. Please put it back on menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. Server was not very ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Food was excellent. Server was not very efficient and the wait for him was long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Went for $6 lasagna special. It was goo ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Went for $6 lasagna special. It was good but smaller portion than usual. The house pinot grigio was good. I had a crostata whose crust wasn't as flaky and crispy as hoped. The ambiance was nice and it wasn't too busy even for a Friday evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Always pleased! Great location, atmosphe ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Always pleased! Great location, atmosphere, food, price (participate in coupon books) and service. No waiting to be seated and CLEAN bathrooms. :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a great time. Our Sever was excellen ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Had a great time. Our Sever was excellent and personable. Also, very accommodating of my Father's dietary needs,a s was the Chef. Overall we had a nice experience for the entire group, including my 1.5 year old. The pasta was a little generic though. I was hoping for some homemade pasta and little more authenticity. The 4 cheese pizza was not authentic and little boring, we were expecting slices of mozzarella, specialty cheese and with fresh basil and evoo. A charred crust would have been nice, too! I don't think they have a wood fired oven. The appetizers were good, but did not knock our socks-off or anything. That is their opportunity to impress. At the price point, it should have done more. It was good, but not over the top. Nice wine list. If they had some homemade pasta with mushrooms and truffle oil they would have made it to the top of my list! :)

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Great food and great location. Perfect f ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great food and great location. Perfect for date night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Its always great to come in here . We ca ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Its always great to come in here . We can sit anywhere Bar , Bar area or regular tables .....Its all good ! One our favorite places to come .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was sick the next day and still am and ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I was sick the next day and still am and my guess is that it was a case of food poisoning from my dinner there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

I love the restaurant for the food, but ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I love the restaurant for the food, but the service is very poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Beautiful space, excellent, food. Great ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Beautiful space, excellent, food. Great service, staff.

Will be going back as often as I can.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I suspected we were in trouble when we p ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I suspected we were in trouble when we pulled up and discovered the restaurant is in a hotel. I was right. If you like Macaroni Grill, Carrabbas or Olive Garden for Italian and are looking for an upgrade, this is not it. You'll find lower quality at higher price so stick to your favorite chain. If you like high end Italian faire costing $100 per person, this is definitely not your place. If you must go, stick to pastas. They're harder to screw up, you'll be happier and save a lot. Last time I ever try a Raleigh Italian restaurant other than my go-to favorite.

This is a Chicago chain trying to branch out but they force a Chicago menu and style on other areas. Very 1990's thinking - trying to maintain McDonalds-like continuity across the country. The result? The chefs and managers have no freedom to adjust to local tastes, use locally caught fish and fresh local choices like so many restaurants do these days. It's basically a fancy cafeteria.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Mia Francesca was ok but not great. It' ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Mia Francesca was ok but not great. It's very convenient if you are staying at the Renaissance but there are some much better choices within walking distance. The menu is pretty diverse so there is lots to choose from but my linguine with white wine sauce was mostly oil. The pancetta was very chewy and overly salty. My companion had ravioli that was good. The service was good but a little confusing as 3 different people thought we were their table before we got the right team. In a pinch I would try it again but the hotel restaurant is actually much better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Bottomless Mimosas for $12 is an awesome ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Bottomless Mimosas for $12 is an awesome deal. We went for a girls brunch had a few mimosas then went to watch a movie. I always get the salmon when I go for brunch and it's always very good. The waiter took care of us as well. Never waited for a new mimosa and when we decided to close out and sit and talk, he still kept checking into make sure we didn't want anything else and refilling our water. Perfect brunch spot in north hills.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, a very favorable experience. T ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Overall, a very favorable experience. The wait staff was attentive, service was quick, and each dish was very tasty.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We came in for dinner before a show on F ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We came in for dinner before a show on Friday evening, and the food was amazing! I had a pasta dish that normally comes with shrimp, but they allowed me to sub chicken, and it was awesome. The sauteed asparagus was wonderful as well. My friend had an entree salad that was so large, she couldn't finish it all. We did end up splitting the chef's choice dessert platter, which was a wise choice! Cheesecake, profiteroles and tiramisu are an excellent way to end a meal (along with a coffee liquor drink). Service was friendly and efficient, although it was a bit harder to get our servers attention as the restaurant got busier, which is to be expected. I will be back!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The best mussels I have ever eaten....in ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The best mussels I have ever eaten....in the white wine broth... Absolutely delicious!!!

I have never had a bad experience dining at Mia Francesca. We love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were three couples for your Father's ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We were three couples for your Father's Day special. We came after an afternoon at the theatre (NC State Thompson). We asked for a round table and you saved one for us. (Makes it easier for six people to talk vs. a rectangle table.) Waiter was very good; food was served hot (except for one that was cold on the inside). Fortunately, there were no crying babies near us despite our 5:30 p.m. reservation - this early time is always chancy for the young marrieds w/ young children.

All told, we were all pleased and will return. (This wasn't the first visit for any of us.)

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed our dinner, service was great an ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Enjoyed our dinner, service was great and so was waitress!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While there was nothing wrong with the r ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

While there was nothing wrong with the restaurant, there was nothing outstanding about it either. I tried it and won't go back. Food was OK, service was slow. They weren't used to having a Father's day crowd.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

was very disappointed on Father's Day. T ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

was very disappointed on Father's Day. Took a long time to get our food, never having the waitress stop by to assure us that we have not been forgotten, even though the place was near empty. When food finally arrived (after my inquiry) my food was cold so I asked that it be heated up. By the time I got it back, my family had finished eating.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

The food was outstanding, very flavorful ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was outstanding, very flavorful. Staff attention was very good. We will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food very good. Menu prices were incorr ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food very good. Menu prices were incorrect on the ticket, ticket price was higher. This has been the same way for over a year now, need corporate to correct it. Server was nice, but took 35 minutes to get requested bread yet many others were getting their bread. Our food took 45 minutes while others around us who arrived after us where being served. I love their Blueberry French Toast and my husband really likes the Shrimp and Grits. Bacon that was served at a $1.00 a slice was burnt in some places and raw in others, this was disappointing. The restaurant is clean. The 2 person bench seating and chair seating area is quite crowded and if you are the one sitting in the chair, you are constantly being hit from behind when servers are trying to maneuver through the dining room.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

My wife and I came here for our 5 year a ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

My wife and I came here for our 5 year anniversary. The food was great and so was the general ambiance. I highly recommend this place!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good. I felt like it ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The food was very good. I felt like it was on the expensive side for the amount of food, (it was mostly pasta and it cost $25 for the entree), but I think what you're paying for is the ambiance.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Food, service and overall dining experie ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Food, service and overall dining experience was not good. It is a poorly managed establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

We went for Sunday afternoon brunch and ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We went for Sunday afternoon brunch and really enjoyed both the brunch menu and the Triangle Restaurant Week menu. The outside eating area is very nice and the service is good as well.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food wasn't seasoned and the service ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The food wasn't seasoned and the service was awful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

We came out to Mia Francesca for a ladie ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We came out to Mia Francesca for a ladies night and had a wonderful time. Our waiter was very fun and was an excellent addition to our ladies night . Everything tasted delicious, especially the dessert and drinks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never Disppoints

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Looking for a place to go unwind after a long day or catch up with friends with great food and great drinks, including a vast wine list, this is the spot. The service is exceptional, also.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.