About Mia Francesca Trattoria

4100 Main At North Hills St
Raleigh, NC 27609
View Larger Map

Mia Francesca Trattoria offers the North Hills - Raleigh, NC region a uniquely authentic Italian restaurant with made from scratch, simple, rustic cooking with friendly service, fair prices, & farm to table ingredients.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Wine Bar, Organic

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 5:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 1:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Adjacent to the Renaissance Hotel

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 278-1525

Website:
http://www.miafrancesca.com/locations/profile/north-carolina

Entertainment:
Thursday Night Is live music night & $5 house Martinis!

Catering:

The Francesca's philosophy of good, simple cooking, served in a casually sophisticated dining atmosphere is one that we proudly carry over to our Special Events. Our private and semi-private dining rooms are ideal for business functions or social occasions and can accommodate groups of 10 to 200, depending on location.

Contact our dedicated Event Planners for additional information or to inquire about avaliabilty of dates:

Parking Details:
For parking we offer several options. You may use the parking lot behind the restaurant.
The underneath entrance is at the Main North Hills' entrance just off of Six Forks Road. You may then take the elevator up to the lobby of the Renaissance Hotel and work over to our location. This is a great option if the weather is inclement.
You third option is valet in-front of the restaurant at the Renaissance hotel adjacent to us.

Executive Chef:
Zachary VanGaasbeek

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
At Mia Francesca we boast two beautiful rustic private dining rooms for your special event planning needs. You can host a party at Francesca’s in either our downstairs private dining room - suitable for any private parties up to 60 people; or upstairs Tuscan Wine Cellar Mezzanine - accommodating private dining groups up to 55 guests. We have full audio and visual equipment if your event requires them. Our on site Event Manager will help you along the way from beginning to end to coordinate the perfect event. Our flexible menus and spaces are just what you need to host the perfect private group event. With private group menus featuring our fantastic authentic made from scratch Italian cuisine or more traditional group fare we are here to help you host the best private event possible.

Restaurant Photos

  • Tiramisu
  • Veal Stuffed Pasta
  • Salmon
  • Penne Pasta Alla Pollo Fra Diavlo
  • Chocolate Bocci Torta
  • Whole Wheat Penne Pasta
Tiramisu
Veal Stuffed Pasta
Salmon
Penne Pasta Alla Pollo Fra Diavlo
Chocolate Bocci Torta
Whole Wheat Penne Pasta

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Sat 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Private Dining

The Francesca's philosophy of good, simple cooking, served in a casually sophisticated dining atmosphere is one that we proudly carry over to our Special Events. Our private and semi-private dining rooms are ideal for business functions, bridal showers, rehearsal dinners & more.

Mia Francesca Trattoria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (45)
special occasion (38)
fit for foodies (31)
See All
neighborhood gem (26)
great for outdoor dining (23)
great for lunch (19)
romantic (18)
great for brunch (16)
notable wine list (10)
hot spot (9)
kid-friendly (8)
late-night find (4)
vibrant bar scene (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
964 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We came in for dinner before a show on F ...

Dined 4 days ago

We came in for dinner before a show on Friday evening, and the food was amazing! I had a pasta dish that normally comes with shrimp, but they allowed me to sub chicken, and it was awesome. The sauteed asparagus was wonderful as well. My friend had an entree salad that was so large, she couldn't finish it all. We did end up splitting the chef's choice dessert platter, which was a wise choice! Cheesecake, profiteroles and tiramisu are an excellent way to end a meal (along with a coffee liquor drink). Service was friendly and efficient, although it was a bit harder to get our servers attention as the restaurant got busier, which is to be expected. I will be back!!!!

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The best mussels I have ever eaten....in ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The best mussels I have ever eaten....in the white wine broth... Absolutely delicious!!! I have never had a bad experience dining at Mia Francesca. We love this place.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were three couples for your Father's ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We were three couples for your Father's Day special. We came after an afternoon at the theatre (NC State Thompson). We asked for a round table and you saved one for us. (Makes it easier for six people to talk vs. a rectangle table.) Waiter was very good; food was served hot (except for one that was cold on the inside). Fortunately, there were no crying babies near us despite our 5:30 p.m. reservation - this early time is always chancy for the young marrieds w/ young children. All told, we were all pleased and will return. (This wasn't the first visit for any of us.)

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed our dinner, service was great an ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Enjoyed our dinner, service was great and so was waitress!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

While there was nothing wrong with the r ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

While there was nothing wrong with the restaurant, there was nothing outstanding about it either. I tried it and won't go back. Food was OK, service was slow. They weren't used to having a Father's day crowd.

Tags: kid-friendly
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

was very disappointed on Father's Day. T ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

was very disappointed on Father's Day. Took a long time to get our food, never having the waitress stop by to assure us that we have not been forgotten, even though the place was near empty. When food finally arrived (after my inquiry) my food was cold so I asked that it be heated up. By the time I got it back, my family had finished eating.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food was outstanding, very flavorful ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was outstanding, very flavorful. Staff attention was very good. We will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Food very good. Menu prices were incorr ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Food very good. Menu prices were incorrect on the ticket, ticket price was higher. This has been the same way for over a year now, need corporate to correct it. Server was nice, but took 35 minutes to get requested bread yet many others were getting their bread. Our food took 45 minutes while others around us who arrived after us where being served. I love their Blueberry French Toast and my husband really likes the Shrimp and Grits. Bacon that was served at a $1.00 a slice was burnt in some places and raw in others, this was disappointing. The restaurant is clean. The 2 person bench seating and chair seating area is quite crowded and if you are the one sitting in the chair, you are constantly being hit from behind when servers are trying to maneuver through the dining room.

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I came here for our 5 year a ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

My wife and I came here for our 5 year anniversary. The food was great and so was the general ambiance. I highly recommend this place!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

The food was very good. I felt like it ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The food was very good. I felt like it was on the expensive side for the amount of food, (it was mostly pasta and it cost $25 for the entree), but I think what you're paying for is the ambiance.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Food, service and overall dining experie ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Food, service and overall dining experience was not good. It is a poorly managed establishment.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We went for Sunday afternoon brunch and ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We went for Sunday afternoon brunch and really enjoyed both the brunch menu and the Triangle Restaurant Week menu. The outside eating area is very nice and the service is good as well.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

The food wasn't seasoned and the service ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The food wasn't seasoned and the service was awful.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came out to Mia Francesca for a ladie ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We came out to Mia Francesca for a ladies night and had a wonderful time. Our waiter was very fun and was an excellent addition to our ladies night . Everything tasted delicious, especially the dessert and drinks!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never Disppoints

Dined on June 9, 2016

Looking for a place to go unwind after a long day or catch up with friends with great food and great drinks, including a vast wine list, this is the spot. The service is exceptional, also.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Restaurant week meal was fantastic!! Sat ...

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

Restaurant week meal was fantastic!! Sat outside on beautiful day, everything was perfect. Three course lunch meal for $15 !! We will be back!!

food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Expensive for what you get.

Dined on June 8, 2016

The Ceasar Salad have very little dressing on it, so we asked for more. We tasted the dressing , it was actually tasteless. I had homemade cheese ravioli with pomadora sauce. There was hardly any sauce. The ravioli was good sans the sauce. My friends had sautéed scallops with linguini. One thought it was just okay and the other did not like the dish at all. For the price , none of meals were worth the price we paid.

food5
ambience5
service5

Food is excellent and very beautiful ins ...

Dined on May 31, 2016

Food is excellent and very beautiful inside. Would have loved to have sat outside but work vehicle were blocking the beautiful view it has of North Hills.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent As Always :)

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

Excellent As Always :) Have not had a bad meal ever. Keep up the great service!!!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

farm to table northern Italian dishes an ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

farm to table northern Italian dishes and house made desserts Also Lavazza coffee-closest thing to actually having cappuccino in Europe!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Had a very good meal with a big and vari ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Had a very good meal with a big and varied group with different tastes. The menu offered a good range of choices, even for kids. Everyone was happy with their meals. The service was also very good, they were very attentive to our needs, even providing complimentary drinks with a few accidentally spilled during the meal. We would definitely go back.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great date night spot

Dined on May 20, 2016

I highly recommend it!! Good food, good atmosphere.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food will be back again!

Dined on May 20, 2016

Great food will be back again!

food2
ambience3
service2

Food was relatively bland. I was hoping ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was relatively bland. I was hoping for more flavor. Bottomless mimosas were tasty, but our server wasn't terribly attentive and we kept having to wait in between emptying our glasses and getting another.

food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Great as always. Our server was not, di ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great as always. Our server was not, did not know the menu but most importantly, was far from attentive. Outside of that, the servers were fine and were able to place our drink orders, check on food quality, etc. in the absence of wait staff.

food1
ambience4
service2
value1

I had heard amazing reviews of this plac ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

I had heard amazing reviews of this place however our experience was less than stellar. We went for an after graduation celebration brunch for my friend and I. There was 6 of us and we all ordered breakfast meals....We waited over an hour for our food and was disappointed by what arrived the eggs where cold...the bacon fatty although they did give large portions...we had waited so long for our breakfast by the time it arrived we had lost our appetites and all requested boxes to go so our food wouldnt be a waste....we mentioned our issues with service time to our waiter who would then blame it on the kitchen .....in none of that time did a manger come and even apologize....it was our graduation day clearly we were literally still in our cap and gown .....I was very disappointed that it didn't live up to the hype.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Outstanding Brunch Menu

Dined on May 14, 2016

This is the 2nd time we've gone there for brunch. The brunch menu is amazing and the food is great. We will be there frequntly!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

The food was not tasty, the waitress did ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The food was not tasty, the waitress didn't refill timely or get our second drinks timely. We won't be going back.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great place!

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

Great place!

food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Dissapointed with visit

Dined on May 8, 2016

This was our 3rd visit to MFT and it will be our last. My husband and I were so disappointed. We went for Mother's Day and there were hardly any specials. I asked for a mojito and they were out of mint. My husband's salad had the wrong dressing added. My ravioli were actually tortellini and the cheese on the inside tasted so sour to me that I could not take more than one bite. My husband's lasagna was so salty and was lukewarm, not hot. We were served no bread ahead of time and we waited longer for our check than the entire time we dined. A big letdown and I cannot recommend this restaurant.

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Below average dining experience

Dined on May 8, 2016

I was surprised to find that this restaurant didn't live up to my personal expectations. Carrabas offers a far tastier selection & better service for the money.

food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Good, but!,

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Food was excellent but we were surprised at the lack of many items on the menu restaurant is good but lacking in many ways. There were no shrimp dishes, no Franchause dishes and the Parmesan was sorely lacking in mozzarella

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5

Awesome service by Donnie.

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

Awesome service by Donnie.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Delicious as always! Great service

Dined on April 30, 2016

We travel from Charlotte to Raleigh often just to visit our favorite Chicgao restaurant. So excited that when we moved to North Carolina that they opened in Raleigh. Wish they would open in Charlotte.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Bad experience

Dined on April 26, 2016

Have dined many times here wîth family and friends but this last time we had awful service. We waited 45 minutes or more for our food. We saw half our orders sitting under heat lamps for 10 minutes. We finally asked them to bring what was done to our table The Sandwiches were just barely warm and the salads were soggy from sitting under heat lamps. The waiter never came back to ask us if we needed anything, if we wanted dessert or apologized for food taking so long. On a good note, the pasta dishes we ordered were delicious. I might add that the restaurant was not at all crowded. In fact, there was only one other group at another table and a booth was occupied.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good Food - but pricey

Dined on April 13, 2016

The food was excellent, as was the service. But it's a little pricey. I'd save it for a special occasion and just basic night out.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing :)

Dined on April 1, 2016

My server was so nice and I loved the gluten free rood!! Soooo goood

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Haminator

Dined on March 30, 2016

Had lunch with friends. Excellent service. Good offering. Food prepared very well and excellent presentation. Salmon and mushrooms excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Buffet?

Dined on March 27, 2016

Went on Easter, only option was a buffet.....not great!

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for brunch on Easter. It was a ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

We went for brunch on Easter. It was a buffet that day. Plenty of things to choose from and everything was very good. The place was packed, but the service was still very attentive and polite.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.