Mia Francesca Trattoria

4.3
1378 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Good for Birthdays
  • Special Occasion
Mia Francesca Trattoria offers the North Hills - Raleigh, NC region a uniquely authentic Italian restaurant with made from scratch, simple, rustic cooking with friendly service, fair prices, & farm to table ingredients.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian, Wine Bar, Vegetarian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Lunch: Monday - Saturday 11:30am - 3pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday, Sunday: 3pm - 9pm, Friday & Saturday: 3pm - 10pm Brunch: 10:30am - 3pm (Sunday Only)
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(919) 278-1525
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Zachary VanGaasbeek
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering

The Francesca's philosophy of good, simple cooking, served in a casually sophisticated dining atmosphere is one that we proudly carry over to our Special Events. Our private and semi-private dining rooms are ideal for business functions or social occasions and can accommodate groups of 10 to 200, depending on location.

Contact our dedicated Event Planners for additional information or to inquire about avaliabilty of dates:
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Adjacent to the Renaissance Hotel
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
For parking we offer several options. You may use the parking lot behind the restaurant.
The underneath entrance is at the Main North Hills' entrance just off of Six Forks Road. You may then take the elevator up to the lobby of the Renaissance Hotel and work over to our location. This is a great option if the weather is inclement.
You third option is valet in-front of the restaurant at the Renaissance hotel adjacent to us.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Thursday Night Is live music night & $5 house Martinis!
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
At Mia Francesca we boast two beautiful rustic private dining rooms for your special event planning needs. You can host a party at Francesca’s in either our downstairs private dining room - suitable for any private parties up to 60 people; or upstairs Tuscan Wine Cellar Mezzanine - accommodating private dining groups up to 55 guests. We have full audio and visual equipment if your event requires them. Our on site Event Manager will help you along the way from beginning to end to coordinate the perfect event. Our flexible menus and spaces are just what you need to host the perfect private group event. With private group menus featuring our fantastic authentic made from scratch Italian cuisine or more traditional group fare we are here to help you host the best private event possible.
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Private Dining

The Francesca's philosophy of good, simple cooking, served in a casually sophisticated dining atmosphere is one that we proudly carry over to our Special Events. Our private and semi-private dining rooms are ideal for business functions, bridal showers, rehearsal dinners & more.

View Private Dining Details
What 1378 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.3
service
4.2
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
82% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined on June 17, 2018

Have been to your holiday special buffets 3 or 4 times now. First time was wonderful and great selections and great service. Each time since both the all around quality and quantity of selections have diminished. Yesterday was the worse. Husband did say that prime rib and chicken dishes were good. Dirty dishes stayed on table forever even though server passed by our table multiple times and never stopped to pick them up. When coffee was served it was practically thrown at us and not placed on my proper side. Drinks we ordered were very good but mine was definitely not a Southern Comfort Manhattan and definitely overpriced. Server never told us about the Fathers Day special you were offering of free Mimosa or Bloody Mary for Dad. Overheard another table from another server after we had ordered our drinks which took forever to come to table. Took forever for server to come and acknowledge our presence once we were seated and it was definitely NOT busy at 12:15. Each time we passed buffet table there were several slices of bacon on floor which should have been picked up immediately. Can't tell me no server noticed them. Could have caused a terrible accident if one slipped on them with plates of food in their hands. I'm not sure I can give you folks another shot. Feel bad because the area has many restaurants to choose from but husband loves to have special holiday buffet style offerings and not too many do it for the holidays. Please try to up your game. Appreciated the $10 off for Father's Day but still spent over $100 to be disappointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 17, 2018

The experience overall was wonderful. Good service, great food.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 17, 2018

We went for Father's Day and I was disappointed by the overall experience. The food was very good - but this was more around the service we received - or didn't receive. We were greeted by our server - however she did not wish the Dad's at the table Happy Father's Day - nor did she share the free mimosa/bloody mary special. After we ordered our drinks - when she finally came back to deliver them - I asked about the $12 bottomless mimosa special. She indicted that they do not do that anymore and mimosa's were $7/each. I was shocked - especially given one of the reasons I chose this spot was for the drink special. We also noticed that on the chalk board in front of the restaurant it said $2 mimosa's on Sunday - however, that was false advertising - given that was not the case either. Our server was not attentive and did not make us feel welcome or special. We love brunch however, we won't be back to MF based on this experience.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 15, 2018

I've said before that they have the best chicken parm I've ever had, but this time I didn't even want to keep eating it. It was a bit tough, and not much flavor. Great bread, but the dipping oil was a little spicy. Our server was not very attentive, and had to ask 3 times to bring more tea, even after we got our check, like he thought we would just leave since we paid. He didn't have a very attitude and almost seemed like we were bothering him, as he wouldn't even look at us when he came right next to us to take other orders.
The ambiance was great, we ate outside where they had fans blowing and nice lighting. Unfortunately there was a service truck right beside us for about 90% of our meal, but it was nice when it finally left. Love people watching while sitting outside.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 15, 2018

The food was very mediocre. There are much better Italian restaurants in north Raleigh.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 12, 2018

Really great food and excellent service. Parking is readily available.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 11, 2018

Took my niece and 8 others for dinner after graduation. Food was what I would call GENERIC. Everyone ordered a salad but no crackers or bread on the table. Three different people asked if bread would be served. Finally received the bread after third request. We have eaten some better dishes from Costco. Sorry but cannot recommend and will not be going back. My wife and I dine out 5-6 days a week all year so we know what is good and not so good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 10, 2018

The Salmone alla Fresca was delicious!!!!!!!!! Would definitely recommend restaurant to friends. Would love to have that dish again sometimes.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 10, 2018

The food is always good but serving size was extremely small compared to other times we have dined here. I order the special (which I don't normally do) but it was not worth the price based on the serving size that I received.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 10, 2018

I went there for restaurant week so the three-course meal was incredible as a value. However even without the discount the meal was exceptional. The salad was topped with fresh salad dressing and did not taste like the factory greens you typically get. The salmon was a unique twist on a healthy dish that used fresh and healthy ingredientsTo make it even more tasty.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 10, 2018

We went for lunch on a Sunday. Waiter was overwhelmed with a large table so we didn’t get personal service. Food was good as always but the portions were smaller than normal. We enjoy the food and ambiance. Hopefully the service will be improved next time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Had an amazing time and the food was to die for.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Our waitress Alex was very good. Welcoming, pleasant and informative about the menu and restaurant week. Unfortunately our server left much to be desired. As he delivered the food he reached across the table and diners to pass plates. (Serve from the left, clear from the right) We are not at a booth. Also ladies weren't served first. 2 simple but noticed lapses in server training.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Initially wasn’t given restaurant week menu despite making reservations specifically for RW. Service on patio was only fair. No service at beginning and end with few occupants outside. Bill arrived without RW discount. Food was excellent; fish and sandwich was very good and cannolis were fabulous.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 6, 2018

Three of us tried Mia Francesca during Triangle Restaurant Week. We had the $30 dinners. There ample choices on the special menu. I had the ravioli and I will go back again to have it. Our server was very knowledgeable about each dish and maintained our table well. I had the tiramisu for dessert; it was lovely. My friend had the canolli; they need to work it it. the 'tube' had a little stale taste and the filling wasn't particularly flavorful. All in, I will be going back to try more dishes. I'm glad they were on the TRW list. They are less than 3 miles from my home and I didn't even know they were there.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 6, 2018

Thought the food was okay however overpriced

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 5, 2018

Very good Italian Restaurant. Food was tasty and plentiful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

We had a girls brunch on this past Sunday and the whole experience was awesome. All of the staff we came in contact with were very nice and accommodating. The food was awesome and the mimosas were yummy!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Recommendation. Our first time in Raleigh!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

We went for my sons girlfriends birthday... it was wonderful. The food was spot on! From the time you walk in, until the time you leave, everything is great! We love this place!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Great family restaurant next to the Renaissance Hotel in Raleigh. Our server was amazing and made sure the kids drinks were alwasy filled and even intracted with them which made them feel special. We trully had a great time there for dinner. Will be definitely going back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 24, 2018

We were celebrating our daughter’s high school graduation and enjoyed the service, food was awesome and dessert was fantastic!! We had a wonderful time

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 23, 2018

Always good food, prices ate fair on most dishes, service has been excellent on every occasion. Be wary of wine prices.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 19, 2018

the salmon and shrimp in the pasta special we ordered was practically non existent. The salad and carpaccio were very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The food was great, but the service was even better.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother's Day brunch. Late sitting, so they ran out of some of the better deserts. Some of the main course choices were almost out and had been out too long. Food was not bad, but not outstanding for the price. Service was not up to the imposed 18% gratuity. It was buffet so all that was needed was refreshing drinks and clearing plates, neither of which was appropriately timely.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Went for Mother’s Day brunch... quality wasn’t as great but have had good dinner there before so perhaps it was an isolated event

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

I have dined at Mia Francesca many times. Their food is excellent and typically the service is as excellent as well. The reason I am lowering the stars is for their failure to communicate that for my particular reservation time...THEY WOULD ONLY BE SERVING BRUNCH. They were very good about calling me 1 week before and I believe a couple more times to be sure that we still wanted the reservations. I feel that at the times they called they should have made sure that I knew it was buffet only ($45 per adult and $18 per child) I had a 1 yr old, a 6 yr old, and my 90 year old mother with me, not worth the price for them for sure. Also I as a rule don't do buffets because I can never eat that much. After questioning this at the restaurant, I was told by one of the wait staff that it had been posted on your website. My daughter went home that afternoon and didn't see it posted. So when we had to pay almost double what we would have for ordering off the menu, needless to say, this put a bad ending to my Mother's Day. So I would suggest for Mia Francesca when they have the opportunity on the phone with reservation confirmation and it will be BUFFET ONLY, they need to be sure that the guest are fully aware of this change.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Visit here often, food is always delish! However, after making reservations on open table and having to call them back to confirm reservations never was the buffet only option mentioned.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother’s Day Brunch, it was busy so the noise was probably louder than usual. The food and options were excellent.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Terrible Sunday mothers day
three generations disappointed

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Arrived for 8pm reservation after college graduation. The table was great and the wait staff was pleasant though obviously very tired from a long day. The noise level was high but the decor was good. The major problem was that the 5 people in our group of 7 that ordered pasta with chicken in it, had chicken that was so tough that it was barely edible. The manager was told and one of the meals was reimbursed. Despite a long hard day, effort should be made that the food @ 8pm is as good as the food @ 5pm

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 12, 2018

I took my adult son to MF for dinner before a movie at 7PM. We had reservations for 5:45 and ordered promptly, but time passed. I reminded our server and the manager about our film reservations. By 6:50 we had still not been served and had to leave without eating. Our server did tell us to come by after the movie, and our food would be ready to take home--at no charge. This was something, at least, but clearly the restaurant was unprepared to deal with the number of customers dining there, even at a very early hour.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Grouper was excellent. Not a quiet place especially when there are a lot of large parties. We were back by the kitchen and people in a private room kept squeezing by to go to the restrooms. They should have created a different path for people. Food took a long time due to the large groups. Food was very good though.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 10, 2018

We’ve been here several times and always been pleased. It’s a beautiful restaurant. Love that Mia Francesca does a teacher appreciation deal.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 10, 2018

My husband and I took a long-time friend to dinner. My husband's caesar salad was not as good as expected. The lettuce was cut in strips which made it almost impossible to get on your fork and into your mouth. the dressing was also lacking. It was not as good of a meal as it could have been.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

We had a wonderful time! Dinner was exceptional and the service we received from EmilyRose was awesome! We will be back with friends!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

We loved the ambience. The server was great and the food was delicious. Thanks for Teacher Appreciation Day . We were so well treated.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

The food and service were great as usual. We’ll be back again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Took the parents for a celebration. They loved their version of chicken parm, particularly the sauce and the portion size was enough for take home for a second dinner. I had the scallops special, which was quite good. Have been several times and each time think I really should come here more often.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
35

Tweets by Mia Francesca Trattoria