Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 1.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 1.24mi

About Mia Francesca Trattoria

Mia Francesca Trattoria offers the North Hills - Raleigh, NC region a uniquely authentic Italian restaurant with made from scratch, simple, rustic cooking with friendly service, fair prices, & farm to table ingredients.

4100 Main At North Hills St
Raleigh, NC 27609
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Wine Bar, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Saturday 11:30am - 3pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday, Sunday: 3pm - 9pm, Friday & Saturday: 3pm - 10pm Brunch: 10:30am - 3pm (Sunday Only)

Cross Street:
Adjacent to the Renaissance Hotel

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 278-1525

Website:
http://www.miafrancesca.com/locations/profile/north-carolina

Entertainment:
Thursday Night Is live music night & $5 house Martinis!

Catering:

The Francesca's philosophy of good, simple cooking, served in a casually sophisticated dining atmosphere is one that we proudly carry over to our Special Events. Our private and semi-private dining rooms are ideal for business functions or social occasions and can accommodate groups of 10 to 200, depending on location.

Contact our dedicated Event Planners for additional information or to inquire about avaliabilty of dates:

Parking Details:
For parking we offer several options. You may use the parking lot behind the restaurant.
The underneath entrance is at the Main North Hills' entrance just off of Six Forks Road. You may then take the elevator up to the lobby of the Renaissance Hotel and work over to our location. This is a great option if the weather is inclement.
You third option is valet in-front of the restaurant at the Renaissance hotel adjacent to us.

Executive Chef:
Zachary VanGaasbeek

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
At Mia Francesca we boast two beautiful rustic private dining rooms for your special event planning needs. You can host a party at Francesca’s in either our downstairs private dining room - suitable for any private parties up to 60 people; or upstairs Tuscan Wine Cellar Mezzanine - accommodating private dining groups up to 55 guests. We have full audio and visual equipment if your event requires them. Our on site Event Manager will help you along the way from beginning to end to coordinate the perfect event. Our flexible menus and spaces are just what you need to host the perfect private group event. With private group menus featuring our fantastic authentic made from scratch Italian cuisine or more traditional group fare we are here to help you host the best private event possible.

Private Dining

The Francesca's philosophy of good, simple cooking, served in a casually sophisticated dining atmosphere is one that we proudly carry over to our Special Events. Our private and semi-private dining rooms are ideal for business functions, bridal showers, rehearsal dinners & more.

Mia Francesca Trattoria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (29)
Special Occasion (29)
Good for Birthdays (28)
See All
Good for Groups (22)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Comfort Food (19)
Romantic (18)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Authentic (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Business Meals (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Casual (12)
Cozy (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Happy Hour (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Fun (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Seasonal (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Healthy (4)
Late-night Find (4)
People Watching (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Great Beer (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Spicy (2)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort by
S
1299 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

Everything abput Mia Francesca was superb and the service and food was outstanding

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

My wife and I went on Valentine's Day, 2018, typically a very busy day for most restaurants. we were promptly seated after a quick drink at the bar, in a great booth. Thomas was our waiter, and he was outstanding, I ordered what he had recommended from the selections I provided and my meal was excellent, as was my wife's. received a message from the restaurant shortly after returning home, thanking us for the visit. A very nice evening, we will visit Mia Francesca again.

Dennis W. Brown

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 4 days ago

It was a lovely Valentines Day dinner! The food was excellent, and the ambiance and service were very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

Went for Valentines dinner and everything was so beautifully decorated from the bouquets of red, pink and white balloons to the randomly placed heart balloons to the special pink or red napkins. So romantic and made you feel special. Food is always spectacular and service fabulous. One of the best places in Raleigh to eat!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Took my wife out for Valentine's day. Had a Great time. Very good food and atmosphere. Thanks.

Tags: Healthy, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

Valentines Day. It was crowded and our waiter could have used a hand but he did the absolute best he could.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Great place for Italian food! Love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

The Pollo Piccata was excellent, and the service was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was amazing as always as was the service. We like sitting at a large booth in the bar area. We have more than enough room for just the two of us and it is very comfortable.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 11, 2018

The staff was very attentive and the food well worth the price.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2018

As always, the food was superb...I highly recommend the risotto. We ate at the bar, and the bartender was attentive even though it was a busy night/time. Excellent food & outstanding service. My favorite place in town.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 10, 2018

This was our first time going to this restaurant. We had attentive service and the food was excellent. Loved the decor as well.

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 9, 2018

Definately worth a visit. Food and service was top notch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 3, 2018

The food was excellent; the service was delightful. This was our first visit and we would definitely go back and recommend this to friends and family. Our server was gracious even though some of our guests were a bit impatient in asking for some additional bread, etc. We were well cared for during our visit. Thanks for the experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 3, 2018

The food was pedestrian at best, lacking any interesting flavor. The cost per plate was not justified by the dishes that were prepared. We had to request bread which arrived as cold white bread.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2018

My friend and I went during the last day of the Triangle Restaurant Week. We figured some Italian food in a rainy day was a good idea.
The food definitely hit the spot! And since it was quiet, it wasn’t loud at all. We even chatted a bit with a table next to us which was pleasant and warm hearted.
Our server was attentive and keep our glasses full. Thank you! (sorry, I forgot his name... I’m horrible with names but he was bartending as well!).
We loved the open, home feel of the dining hall.

Thank you Mia Francesca for a great first impression and first experience!

PS: I absolutely LOVE tiramisu and this one did not disappoint!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 27, 2018

We had reservations and were seated immediately. Everyone was professionally friendly and attentive, exactly what I want in a nicer restaurant. The waiter was thorough and accommodating. Food was delivered at a nice pace, we were not rushed through our first course, nor our entrees. The bread was ordinary, and easy to pass on. The menu offered a nice variety, with something for pasta eaters, and gluten free alike. I would definitely recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 26, 2018

Great service, but the food was really average. We don’t eat a lot of Italian, but tried just in case.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 26, 2018

We went for restaurant week lunch and thoroughly enjoyed the meal. My only problem was there were several empty tables that had dirty dishes around the room. When the dining room is dirty it makes you wonder about the kitchen. The wait staff worked hard but feel like management couldn’t have had a person cleaning tables .

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 24, 2018

Great food, large portions, and excellent staff/service. But it was a loud dining area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 24, 2018

I visited for restaurant week and food was very good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 22, 2018

Excellent food and service. Will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 14, 2018

Tom our waiter was super, looked after all areneeds. Nice to have a polished employee.

Tags: Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 12, 2018

Great Dining experience. Great food. Enjoyed the salmon & veal.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2017

It's been several years since we've eaten here and it seems to have gone downhill. While the ambiance and service was good, the quality of the food was very uninspiring. The olive oil tasted cheap. The grouper was WAY over salted. And the piccata was pretty bland. I'm sad to say we won't be going back any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Veal medallions, chicken parmesan and beef filet with mashed potatoes was all magnificent, delightfully delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Lousy service food came out at all different times

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2017

We went for NYE dinner before a concert. It was amazing! Our waiter was attentive and quick. I ordered the pasta with asparagus and my husband ordered rigatoni with vegetables. Both were delicious and I ate every bite of mine. The prices were reasonable and the food came quick. I would recommend to anyone.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 28, 2017

Love the food and Menu. The bar drink cocktails were just par. The food was fab. Only real disappointment was it was our 22nd anniversary and they didn’t go above and beyond to make better. Regardless we and a good time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 25, 2017

My husband and I find ourselves in a pickle on ocassion during both Thanksgiving and Christmas most of the time. We are very tired of one of the restaurants at Crabtree and a few of our favorites are not always open these holidays.

We LOVED Mia Francesca Trattoria and will definitely be back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 25, 2017

With a limited number of restaurants open on Christmas Day - it was fortunate to have such a great option available. Not waiting until next Christmas - I will be back sooner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 25, 2017

Our waitress Meg was horrific. We waited over an hour for her to let us know she forgot to submit our order! The only reason we'll come back is for Casey & Donnie!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 25, 2017

First of all we dined here on Christmas Day. Started with drinks and calamari before a movie. Bartender was very attentive and helpful. The calamari was excellent. We came back for dinner at 5:30. We were seated promptly maybe a few minutes before. They had a She Crab as a special, 3 of the 5 at our table got that. 2 people shared the Caprese salad. All appetizers were beautifully presented an very tasty. Two of us had the Pan roasted Striped Bass specials with shiitake mushrooms, roasted peppers and asparagus. Absolutely fabulous. The roasted grouper special according to two of our party was outstanding. My husband ordered their seafood linguine which I sampled was very good too, with generous portions of seafood. But what topped the evening was the excellent service we received. His generosity made me ask his connections to Mia Francesca’s. Helmut, our waiter, is also the CFO of the group that owns this restaurant. Helmut, thanks so much for your attentiveness to us and your generosity to us. Such a memorable evening thanks to you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2017

Special dish for Christmas Fettuccini with lobster noodles undercooked - hard to eat when ends were not cooked.

Tags: Disabled Access, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on December 25, 2017

Excellent Christmas day meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 24, 2017

Wonderful food and terrific service.Our table was close to the open kitchen which is always fun but the 2' of space between the back of my chair and the half wall into the kitchen was a constant raceway for servers and diners during the entire meal.Would ask for any other tables in the restaurant rather than those spots.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 24, 2017

Our family has spent many Christmas Eve Dinners at Mia Francesca. This was absolutely horrible!! We will never go there again.
Dirty, Sloppy, Disinterested Server.
Ridiculously slow service.
Wrong items delivered.
No attempt to make amends until the check was delivered.
Just Sad and Awful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2017

This was my first visit here and I enjoyed it! There were five of us in our party. I had the rigatoni with pesto, which I really liked. My mother in law had the spinach ravioli which looked to die for. My husband and brother in law both ordered the chicken parm. Their only complaint was that it didn’t have enough sauce. Finally, my brother in law’s girlfriend had the bolognese and she really liked it. It was a bit overpriced, however other than that and the lack of sauce on the chicken parm, we enjoyed ourselves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 23, 2017

Great variety of food options, nice atmosphere. Great Sunday brunch also.

Tags: Authentic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 20, 2017

My husband came for the first time recently and we were very pleasantly surprised! His chicken parm was incredible and being from the north he said it’s the best he’s had since moving to NC. My chicken linguini was amazing as well. The Alfredo was thick and creamy and I ate every bite! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.