About Mia Francesca Trattoria

Mia Francesca Trattoria offers the North Hills - Raleigh, NC region a uniquely authentic Italian restaurant with made from scratch, simple, rustic cooking with friendly service, fair prices, & farm to table ingredients.

4100 Main At North Hills St
Raleigh, NC 27609
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Wine Bar, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Saturday 11:30am - 3pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday, Sunday: 3pm - 9pm, Friday & Saturday: 3pm - 10pm Brunch: 10:30am - 3pm (Sunday Only)

Cross Street:
Adjacent to the Renaissance Hotel

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 278-1525

Website:
http://www.miafrancesca.com/locations/profile/north-carolina

Entertainment:
Thursday Night Is live music night & $5 house Martinis!

Catering:

The Francesca's philosophy of good, simple cooking, served in a casually sophisticated dining atmosphere is one that we proudly carry over to our Special Events. Our private and semi-private dining rooms are ideal for business functions or social occasions and can accommodate groups of 10 to 200, depending on location.

Contact our dedicated Event Planners for additional information or to inquire about avaliabilty of dates:

Parking Details:
For parking we offer several options. You may use the parking lot behind the restaurant.
The underneath entrance is at the Main North Hills' entrance just off of Six Forks Road. You may then take the elevator up to the lobby of the Renaissance Hotel and work over to our location. This is a great option if the weather is inclement.
You third option is valet in-front of the restaurant at the Renaissance hotel adjacent to us.

Executive Chef:
Zachary VanGaasbeek

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
At Mia Francesca we boast two beautiful rustic private dining rooms for your special event planning needs. You can host a party at Francesca’s in either our downstairs private dining room - suitable for any private parties up to 60 people; or upstairs Tuscan Wine Cellar Mezzanine - accommodating private dining groups up to 55 guests. We have full audio and visual equipment if your event requires them. Our on site Event Manager will help you along the way from beginning to end to coordinate the perfect event. Our flexible menus and spaces are just what you need to host the perfect private group event. With private group menus featuring our fantastic authentic made from scratch Italian cuisine or more traditional group fare we are here to help you host the best private event possible.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Sat 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Private Dining

The Francesca's philosophy of good, simple cooking, served in a casually sophisticated dining atmosphere is one that we proudly carry over to our Special Events. Our private and semi-private dining rooms are ideal for business functions, bridal showers, rehearsal dinners & more.

Mia Francesca Trattoria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (29)
Good for Groups (24)
Good for a Date (24)
See All
Good for Birthdays (24)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Comfort Food (17)
Business Meals (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Casual (15)
Romantic (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
Authentic (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Cozy (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Family Style (8)
Private Room (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Fun (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Healthy (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Scenic View (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Seasonal (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
People Watching (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Fireplace (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1111 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 hours ago

2/25/17 Great food!

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

Our Server Jennifer did a great job. We've been coming to celebrate BDs with family for several years already and were always pleased with service, accommodating our request for a certain table and good food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food was awesome the service was a bit slow and hard to reach out to.

Tags: Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We wanted to try this restaurant for our 15 year anniversary. The menu was all right, but I wish there were more options. The food that we ordered seemed very underseasoned. The best part of the experience was the service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Absolutely amazing. I will definitely be returning for more.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Private Room, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This was my first time at this restaurant. The food was absolutely outstanding. I liked the portion sizes as well. I am looking forward to eating there again in the near future.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food was good but service a bit slow. Also, tables for two with legs in the center were not comfortable - knee jammers. We'll sit at the bar if we return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The inside is nice. My dinner was good and my dates dinner was just ok. Our service was absolutely horrible. It appeared to be just our waitress. The manager jumped in two times to cover for her. My dates Caesar salad didnt taste anything like a Caesar salad. My drink was allowed to get EMPTY even with me sitting it on the edge of my table. The waitress walked by three times before she asked about it. Our coffee was served only half full and the crème brûlée was served cool like it was pre made and waiting to be served. The dish was cool. For the price, I will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent service and incredibly delicious foods. The upper level loft seating was great too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My wife's chicken was way better than my whitefish. The peace del Blanco was not appetizing at all. Table area was very loud. There may be cozier areas in the restaurant but the table area was nor one of them. Location is nice building design is pleasing but overall less than average experience.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Mia Francesca was very good overall. We enjoyed all the food, the ambiance was great, and our service was excellent. The Italian food was great, but it wasn't as authentic as some of our favorite places in Boston.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The food and service were outstanding!!!!! As well as the atmosphere

Will definitely go back and have recommended it to friends

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Real nice restaurant for Sunday Brunch ala cart! Great food. Great service. Willingness to make the meal how we wanted it! Will go back there!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Beautiful place and the food was great. Bruschetta was to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Enjoyed our evening at Mia Francescas the food atmosphere and service were great.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Solid food service and surroundings!

Can't go wrong in north Raleigh ❤

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 9, 2017

It was great. We lived the atmosphere, food and overall ambience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 9, 2017

the food is good but the staff is great & service is what matters

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great variety of food and drink. Our server was very attentive and made good recommendations. Nice place for our friend gathering

Tags: Private Room, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Service was superior, food delish, house wine outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was tasty! It was a little loud in the dining areas, hard to hold conversation speaking at an average volume.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I like Mia Francesca for the atmosphere. It's energetic and feels like a night out. The food is OK. There are better Italian restaurants in town but none with as good an atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Very nice. Great atmosphere.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 31, 2017

My burger was cooked perfectly medium just as I ordered it. The salad was fresh and the dressing just right.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food was good, service wasn't so great. It was very loud. I loved how everything looked.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 27, 2017

A very enjoyable dinner with well prepared and delicious food. The desserts were a perfect compliment to a great meal. Our server, Dawn, was outstanding. Very pleasant, polite, and efficient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Good food, slow service, very noisy . Not recommend for pleasant night out.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Food and level of service were excellent. We will definitely return to this site.

Dessert selections were excellent!

CFD

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Have dined here before. The service was top notch and the food very good. An excellent bargain in an upscale area and setting. The risotto appetizer was awesome and enough to serve as an entrée. A salad before the risotto appetizer made a complete meal. Will definitely return.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The food was the best we've ever had here. Calamari was wonderful, shared Caesar salad was great, my pizza and my husband's cod and shrimp dish was outstanding.

This place is a hidden gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I really enjoyed the restaurant and the two servers we had were great. Food was excellent as well. I will definitely go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food was good, service was not. My salmon was almost raw and it took 35 minutes to get a replacement out. Our drinks were always empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food was great,

We loved the layout of the restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Very pleasant meal with friends. Very courteous staff from hostesses to waiter/bartender, and manager. Great food. Requested warm lentil salad (that used to be great appetizer and not on menu anymore...very accommodating to check to see if they could make it....It is always great. Bartender, Donnie, suggested good wines and cocktails and manager made a point to check to see how things were going. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Always have a great time eating here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Not worth the money for nyd brunch. There could have been a lot more on it. We may go back for dinner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were seated on time on a busy night, food and service were great, we'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Generally a good experience with excellent food. Our waiter was having a rough night but it was NYE and we didn't have anywhere to be, so the somewhat slow service was not a problem. The service is usually top notch so don't let that discourage you from trying it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Worst meal I have ever been served! I am not one to return food for minor issues. My husband and I ordered the scallop special and a mushroom pizza to share. The pizza smelled heavenly (doughy and under cooked though), but the scallop dish smelled like trash, literally. We both tried a bite and had to spit it out. We think the scallops must have been bad. After waiting 10 minutes for our waitress to return, we told her about the issue and had her smell the nauseating dish. She took the pizza back to be cooked longer and offered us another dish but we declined. She did not charge us for the trash and gave us free desert.

I find it hard to believe that no one smelled the dish in the kitchen or on the way to the table. I noticed it immediately when it was placed in front of my husband. I thought there was no way it was the food. While the waitresses addressed the issue, I find it inexcusable that management did not stop by.

Overall service was substandard, the food disgusting, deserts were good. The other people in our group ordered classic dishes and they wer OK (not great). Management not present at all!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We went here for our 5 year anniversary. It was only the sending time we have dined there but it was fantastic. Both dishes of fish were cooked to perfection. Definitely be back for more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 27, 2016

This was our second visit to Mia Francesca and we were equally pleased with the quality of the food and our overall experience. The food is excellent and very reasonable in price.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Always great! Food, service and attention to detail all make Mia Francesca a great place to dine out!

Tags: Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Always enjoy Mia! I especially like the atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Not as good as Italy, but going in the correct direction..

Tags: Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I had a pleasant brunch with friends. Very accommodating to people with children.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Waiter was very, speed of food delivery was horrific, waited 45 minutes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Our recent two experiences with Mia Francesca - Sunday brunch, & evening dinner - were very satisfying. We'll be returning often!

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Our evening couldn't have been better! It was a surprise birthday dinner for my 44 year old daughter, who thought she was going there just with me (& was a little upset that we left her dad at home.) Meanwhile 4 of her best friends were seated at our table waiting to surprise her. Because of traffic we were more than 20 minutes late & she dropped me off to secure our table while she parked. Our sweet waitress (Ashley?) brought her around so that we could see her face when she saw us. Priceless! I told the girls when I invited them that I would pick up the tab. Everyone loved their food ( only 1 had been there before)! The service was GREAT & we never felt rushed even though we were there for 3 hours! Every thing was delicious but the desserts were to die for! This has become our go to place for date nights, & I had the opportunity this time to watch 5 amazing younger women enjoy excellent food & laugh together all evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Initially the service was outstanding. At that point we had ordered wine and appetizers. However, once the waiter realized each person in our party was not each going to order full entrees his attitude abruptly changed from very pleasant to irritated and smug. It was a weeknight, we were low maintenance, and restaurant was not crowded. Point being it wasn't like we were taking away an opportunity to earn a higher tip from another party. Unacceptable. Disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 28, 2016

This was out first visit to Mia Francesca and w were not disappointed. My wife had their signature half chicken dish with potatoes which was moist and very flavorful. I have the prosciutto and lamb stuffed ravioli in a cream sauce. It was fabulous. The meals were very reasonably priced and the portions suitable. WE look forward to trying other dishes the next time we dine there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.