Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 1.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 1.24mi

About Mia Francesca Trattoria

Mia Francesca Trattoria offers the North Hills - Raleigh, NC region a uniquely authentic Italian restaurant with made from scratch, simple, rustic cooking with friendly service, fair prices, & farm to table ingredients.

4100 Main At North Hills St
Raleigh, NC 27609
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Wine Bar, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Saturday 11:30am - 3pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday, Sunday: 3pm - 9pm, Friday & Saturday: 3pm - 10pm Brunch: 10:30am - 3pm (Sunday Only)

Cross Street:
Adjacent to the Renaissance Hotel

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 278-1525

Website:
http://www.miafrancesca.com/locations/profile/north-carolina

Entertainment:
Thursday Night Is live music night & $5 house Martinis!

Catering:

The Francesca's philosophy of good, simple cooking, served in a casually sophisticated dining atmosphere is one that we proudly carry over to our Special Events. Our private and semi-private dining rooms are ideal for business functions or social occasions and can accommodate groups of 10 to 200, depending on location.

Contact our dedicated Event Planners for additional information or to inquire about avaliabilty of dates:

Parking Details:
For parking we offer several options. You may use the parking lot behind the restaurant.
The underneath entrance is at the Main North Hills' entrance just off of Six Forks Road. You may then take the elevator up to the lobby of the Renaissance Hotel and work over to our location. This is a great option if the weather is inclement.
You third option is valet in-front of the restaurant at the Renaissance hotel adjacent to us.

Executive Chef:
Zachary VanGaasbeek

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
At Mia Francesca we boast two beautiful rustic private dining rooms for your special event planning needs. You can host a party at Francesca’s in either our downstairs private dining room - suitable for any private parties up to 60 people; or upstairs Tuscan Wine Cellar Mezzanine - accommodating private dining groups up to 55 guests. We have full audio and visual equipment if your event requires them. Our on site Event Manager will help you along the way from beginning to end to coordinate the perfect event. Our flexible menus and spaces are just what you need to host the perfect private group event. With private group menus featuring our fantastic authentic made from scratch Italian cuisine or more traditional group fare we are here to help you host the best private event possible.

Private Dining

The Francesca's philosophy of good, simple cooking, served in a casually sophisticated dining atmosphere is one that we proudly carry over to our Special Events. Our private and semi-private dining rooms are ideal for business functions, bridal showers, rehearsal dinners & more.

Mia Francesca Trattoria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (34)
Special Occasion (26)
Casual (21)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Romantic (21)
Good for Groups (20)
Business Meals (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Authentic (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Cozy (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Fun (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great Beer (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Live Sports (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Spicy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1218 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Fabulous! Our salads were absolutely fabulous fresh delicious and versatile. Bolognese was the best ever. Authentic Italian food refreshing to find in the area. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

First time customers. My boyfriend and I came here for a date and we're pleased by the exceptional food and service. I believe our waitress was Kelly Ann. She was personable, fun, energetic, enthusiastic, and professional. 100% would recommend. 100% coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

The food was delicious. A pleasant place to dine. I will definitely recommend the restaurant to my friends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Great food and an extensive brunch menu. Good place to get together with friends.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 13, 2017

We were so thrilled to find Francesca's during a business trip to Raleigh. I frequented Francesca's in the Chicago area and this one did not disappoint. We both ordered the linguine with shrimp, scallops, and clams. My husband orders pasta with seafood at every Italian restaurant and he swears this was the best he's had outside the Amalfi Coast. I agree. Seafood was fresh and cooked to perfection over al dente linguine with a slightly spicy cherry tomato sauce. I usually try to only eat half my portion but honestly it was so good I could not stop!

Service was great and 50% off bottles of wine on Wednesdays! You can't go wrong here. If you are staying at the Renaissance North Hills, it is adjacent to the hotel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Super service,waitress friendly, knowledgeable . Would recommend as brunch place

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Delicious meal. Waiter was very pleasant and accommodating. My daughter is allergic to gluten and he was very helpful in helping select her meal. They had many options for her to choose from, as well. We all enjoyed our meals and the atmosphere was great, but not so loud you couldn't hear your tablemates.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Great Beer, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We are big fans of the Francesca's restaurants in the Chicago area and so were excited to try this outpost in Raleigh. The food was every bit as good as the food that we love at Francesca's in Chicago. The only disappointment was that the restaurant did not have the wine that we ordered (a bit of a surprise given that Francesca's prints a new menu monthly and the wines are on the back of the menu -- one would think they would update the list at the start of each month to include only wines that they actually have on hand.). I consider that a minor point, we all loved the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Loved the atmosphere, food, and service. Solid all around. Highly recommend coming here for Sunday brunch! Bottomless mimosas, a decent outdoor eating space, and delicious food made for a great experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Our food sat on the counter for quite some time before it was brought to the table, so 2 of us had lukewarm ravioli and the meatballs in the spaghetti were cold and not heated all the way through. The chicken in the chicken alfredo was over cooked and dry. Very disappointing and we all left 2/3 of our meals uneaten... waiter didn't even notice/ask, he was too busy moving the cushions for the patio dining area outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 29, 2017

This was our first visit. The three of us each had a different dish, and everyone loved their food. It was really delicious. I had the Pollo Picatta, which was recommended by our server as his favorite, and it was amazing! The other two in my party had the Linguine all’ Arlecchino & the Rigatoni Bolognese. They each said that they loved their food. We also spilt a Bruschette con Ricotta e Pomodorini. The portions were generous. Our waiter was great. The staff was friendly. We will definitely go to again when in Raleigh.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Live Sports, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 24, 2017

We went for a family reunion and dine outside, the food was excellent and the service also ok.
I will recomend this restaurant to all my friends and family to have a dlicious dinner.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 24, 2017

The food at Mia Franchesca is absolutely scrumptious. I come specifically for the spaghetti and meatballs along with sausage and peppers. I also enjoy their mussels in marinara sauce. I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting the raleigh area.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Donny is always our favorite server. He is excellent. However, three out of four pasta entrees came covered with cheese and no mention of cheese was on the menu. Not everyone wants cheese in or on their pasta. We had no extra time to send it back. Service though was incredible. Love sitting in the bar area. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Great food & great service! The evening was one of the best ever. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Great friendly service and the food was delish! The recommendations of the staff of what to order were very helpful.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We have been to Mia Francesca 3 or 4 times prior for dinner and have been pleased each time. We went in for a late lunch/brunch around 2pm on a recent Sunday. Partner and I split two entrees and both were fabulous! Arancini Benedict and Vanilla Bean Blueberry compote French toast. Both were delicious and reasonably priced. This one is a winner for brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We had great service from the bartender and the waitress- Emily Rose.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 12, 2017

A great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Always enjoy my dinner at your restaurant, whenever I visit Mia Francesca !

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Seasonal, Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 5, 2017

My boyfriend and I went to Mia Francesca for date night and had an amazing experience. Our waiter was phenomenal! He was energetic, knowledgeable about food/drink options, and was quick on his feet providing fresh refills. Our food was amazing and the atmosphere was soothing! Already cant wait for my next visit.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Organic, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic, Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Everyone's food was so yummy and the service was great! Authentic Italian food with a twist. Menu has something for everyone to eat.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 2, 2017

We loved it and our server was ADORABLE. Made our meal very enjoyable.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 31, 2017

The rustic, Italian flavor of the place was outstanding! I went at a quiet time between lunch and dinner so the attention was optimum. I'd like to see it during the busy time and how it all functions. Beautiful restaurant!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 31, 2017

AGAIN my points did NOT get credited !!!! Good food though..

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Outdoor Seating is one of the best in the Triangle

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Everyone was very nice. The Italian red wine I had was delicious. We had Lasagna Bolognese and rigatoni bolognese. Pasta was great, sauce was kind of bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Servings were very healthy. You could share.
It is not handicap accessible. Tables too close together. Need to have cover over outside eating.
Overall had a great time and the food was very good.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Hit or miss, lobster and parppadelli was good but sauce was light for the weight of the pasta. On the contrary, the chicken and linguini sauce was much to thick and heavy for the thin pasta. It was also flavorlèss and required salt. Yep - salt! Overall experience should have been better for price paid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 28, 2017

The restaurant was highly recommended and I had eaten at Mia Francesca in Chicago many times (I assume they are affiliated). Our server was cheerful, but his service throughout the evening was slow and when the two bottles of wine were presented to us, neither were the ones we had selected. While food in general was good. Several of our group felt their food was very over-salted, especially what would have been a lovely veal dish.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Great service. Good food. But I've almost exploded from portion size. You will not starve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Left out an ingredient from my meal and brought out the wrong meal to my dining partner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Did brunch with bottomless mimosas with friends. Food was good. Mimosas had more orange juice than champagne but experience was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Excellent food and service as always. Only negative would be the small portion size on the $26 Mahdi entree.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Enjoyed brunch. Lots of options to choose from. Lemon pancakes were a big hit. Steak and eggs were also cooked just right.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Our first time dining here. Ate in the outdoor seating area. The service was good, though the restaurant was pretty empty at 7:30pm on Sunday night of 4th of July weekend.....no one else on the patio. One of the waitstaff was clearing all the tables but ours on the patio which was both noisy/intrusive and left us feeling like we were eating at a closed restaurant. The wines are a pretty good selection but the restaurant should have a number more moderately/economically priced good wines given the meal prices. Almost all wines were above $30/bottle or $9/glass.

The outdoor seating is immediately across from a dumpster site for North Hills Shopping and that is both not a pleasant sight and adds a further intrusive noise element. I would suggest "Mia's" put a row of planters just outside its rail with some type of tall bushy evergreen with "twinkle lights" to both block the dumpsters and add a festive element to the outdoor seating. The ceiling fans are meant to rotate but we were seated under one of the units which was not functioning. With the outside temperature @ about 88 degrees that night we could have used a more effective ceiling fan.

Being an Italian restaurant, I would strongly suggest that the background music played might be either Italian or at least classical. The night we were there rock music was playing which was neither calming nor festive nor representative of the "flavor of the restaurant".

The food was satisfactory but not special. It was not presented well, was just two bowls of pasta, no color, no parsley, just a bowl of pasta. Also, for $18 for a bowl of pasta, I might suggest that a small tossed salad be included. Not much to ask given the price of the pasta.

It was a slow night so me will probably give it one more try before we eliminate it as a 'place of choice'.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Lovely place and excellent service
I'll be back soon

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Our first time dining here. My wife and I went to try the food and service as a prelude to asking good friends to have dinner with us somewhere local. What a great find ! I had the rigatoni bolognese and my wife had the rigatoni and chicken with pesto. We also had a glass of wine and desert ! Everything was exceptional; service, atmosphere, food and reasonably priced! We happened to Monday night and found that there is a Monday special for 1/2 off of a bottle of their house wine. We had each had the house Pinot Grigio and it was very good, so we purchased a bottle and took it home. Overall, a great experience in every way. We will definitely return and will absolutely ask our friend to join us!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Casual, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Great experience. Wonderful service and very friendly staff. Food was very good too. I will return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The food was all very delicious, service was wonderful. It was our first time in and we will definitely be returning

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.