About Mia Francesca Trattoria

Mia Francesca Trattoria offers the North Hills - Raleigh, NC region a uniquely authentic Italian restaurant with made from scratch, simple, rustic cooking with friendly service, fair prices, & farm to table ingredients.

4100 Main At North Hills St
Raleigh, NC 27609
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Wine Bar, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Saturday 11:30am - 3pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday, Sunday: 3pm - 9pm, Friday & Saturday: 3pm - 10pm Brunch: 10:30am - 3pm (Sunday Only)

Cross Street:
Adjacent to the Renaissance Hotel

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 278-1525

Website:
http://www.miafrancesca.com/locations/profile/north-carolina

Entertainment:
Thursday Night Is live music night & $5 house Martinis!

Catering:

The Francesca's philosophy of good, simple cooking, served in a casually sophisticated dining atmosphere is one that we proudly carry over to our Special Events. Our private and semi-private dining rooms are ideal for business functions or social occasions and can accommodate groups of 10 to 200, depending on location.

Contact our dedicated Event Planners for additional information or to inquire about avaliabilty of dates:

Parking Details:
For parking we offer several options. You may use the parking lot behind the restaurant.
The underneath entrance is at the Main North Hills' entrance just off of Six Forks Road. You may then take the elevator up to the lobby of the Renaissance Hotel and work over to our location. This is a great option if the weather is inclement.
You third option is valet in-front of the restaurant at the Renaissance hotel adjacent to us.

Executive Chef:
Zachary VanGaasbeek

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
At Mia Francesca we boast two beautiful rustic private dining rooms for your special event planning needs. You can host a party at Francesca’s in either our downstairs private dining room - suitable for any private parties up to 60 people; or upstairs Tuscan Wine Cellar Mezzanine - accommodating private dining groups up to 55 guests. We have full audio and visual equipment if your event requires them. Our on site Event Manager will help you along the way from beginning to end to coordinate the perfect event. Our flexible menus and spaces are just what you need to host the perfect private group event. With private group menus featuring our fantastic authentic made from scratch Italian cuisine or more traditional group fare we are here to help you host the best private event possible.

Restaurant Photos

  • Tiramisu - Mia Francesca Trattoria, Raleigh, NC
  • Veal Stuffed Pasta - Mia Francesca Trattoria, Raleigh, NC
  • Salmon - Mia Francesca Trattoria, Raleigh, NC
  • Penne Pasta Alla Pollo Fra Diavlo - Mia Francesca Trattoria, Raleigh, NC
  • Chocolate Bocci Torta - Mia Francesca Trattoria, Raleigh, NC
  • Whole Wheat Penne Pasta - Mia Francesca Trattoria, Raleigh, NC

Report a photo problem

Tiramisu - Mia Francesca Trattoria, Raleigh, NC
Veal Stuffed Pasta - Mia Francesca Trattoria, Raleigh, NC
Salmon - Mia Francesca Trattoria, Raleigh, NC
Penne Pasta Alla Pollo Fra Diavlo - Mia Francesca Trattoria, Raleigh, NC
Chocolate Bocci Torta - Mia Francesca Trattoria, Raleigh, NC
Whole Wheat Penne Pasta - Mia Francesca Trattoria, Raleigh, NC

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Sat 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Private Dining

The Francesca's philosophy of good, simple cooking, served in a casually sophisticated dining atmosphere is one that we proudly carry over to our Special Events. Our private and semi-private dining rooms are ideal for business functions, bridal showers, rehearsal dinners & more.

Mia Francesca Trattoria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (18)
Good for Groups (16)
Good for a Date (15)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Romantic (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Business Meals (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Casual (10)
Authentic (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Cozy (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Family Style (5)
Private Room (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Fun (4)
Seasonal (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Happy Hour (2)
People Watching (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great Beer (1)
Healthy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1078 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I really enjoyed the restaurant and the ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

I really enjoyed the restaurant and the two servers we had were great. Food was excellent as well. I will definitely go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good, service was not. My salmo ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was good, service was not. My salmon was almost raw and it took 35 minutes to get a replacement out. Our drinks were always empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Very pleasant meal with friends. Very co ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

Very pleasant meal with friends. Very courteous staff from hostesses to waiter/bartender, and manager. Great food. Requested warm lentil salad (that used to be great appetizer and not on menu anymore...very accommodating to check to see if they could make it....It is always great. Bartender, Donnie, suggested good wines and cocktails and manager made a point to check to see how things were going. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Always have a great time eating here.

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Always have a great time eating here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not worth the money for nyd brunch. Ther ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Not worth the money for nyd brunch. There could have been a lot more on it. We may go back for dinner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

We were seated on time on a busy night, ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were seated on time on a busy night, food and service were great, we'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Generally a good experience with excelle ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Generally a good experience with excellent food. Our waiter was having a rough night but it was NYE and we didn't have anywhere to be, so the somewhat slow service was not a problem. The service is usually top notch so don't let that discourage you from trying it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Worst meal I have ever been served! I a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Worst meal I have ever been served! I am not one to return food for minor issues. My husband and I ordered the scallop special and a mushroom pizza to share. The pizza smelled heavenly (doughy and under cooked though), but the scallop dish smelled like trash, literally. We both tried a bite and had to spit it out. We think the scallops must have been bad. After waiting 10 minutes for our waitress to return, we told her about the issue and had her smell the nauseating dish. She took the pizza back to be cooked longer and offered us another dish but we declined. She did not charge us for the trash and gave us free desert.

I find it hard to believe that no one smelled the dish in the kitchen or on the way to the table. I noticed it immediately when it was placed in front of my husband. I thought there was no way it was the food. While the waitresses addressed the issue, I find it inexcusable that management did not stop by.

Overall service was substandard, the food disgusting, deserts were good. The other people in our group ordered classic dishes and they wer OK (not great). Management not present at all!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We went here for our 5 year anniversary. ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We went here for our 5 year anniversary. It was only the sending time we have dined there but it was fantastic. Both dishes of fish were cooked to perfection. Definitely be back for more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our second visit to Mia Frances ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 27, 2016

This was our second visit to Mia Francesca and we were equally pleased with the quality of the food and our overall experience. The food is excellent and very reasonable in price.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great! Food, service and attenti ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Always great! Food, service and attention to detail all make Mia Francesca a great place to dine out!

Tags: Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always enjoy Mia! I especially like the ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Always enjoy Mia! I especially like the atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not as good as Italy, but going in the c ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Not as good as Italy, but going in the correct direction..

Tags: Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

I had a pleasant brunch with friends. Ve ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I had a pleasant brunch with friends. Very accommodating to people with children.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Waiter was very, speed of food delivery ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Waiter was very, speed of food delivery was horrific, waited 45 minutes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value5

Our recent two experiences with Mia Fran ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Our recent two experiences with Mia Francesca - Sunday brunch, & evening dinner - were very satisfying. We'll be returning often!

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our evening couldn't have been better! I ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Our evening couldn't have been better! It was a surprise birthday dinner for my 44 year old daughter, who thought she was going there just with me (& was a little upset that we left her dad at home.) Meanwhile 4 of her best friends were seated at our table waiting to surprise her. Because of traffic we were more than 20 minutes late & she dropped me off to secure our table while she parked. Our sweet waitress (Ashley?) brought her around so that we could see her face when she saw us. Priceless! I told the girls when I invited them that I would pick up the tab. Everyone loved their food ( only 1 had been there before)! The service was GREAT & we never felt rushed even though we were there for 3 hours! Every thing was delicious but the desserts were to die for! This has become our go to place for date nights, & I had the opportunity this time to watch 5 amazing younger women enjoy excellent food & laugh together all evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Initially the service was outstanding. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Initially the service was outstanding. At that point we had ordered wine and appetizers. However, once the waiter realized each person in our party was not each going to order full entrees his attitude abruptly changed from very pleasant to irritated and smug. It was a weeknight, we were low maintenance, and restaurant was not crowded. Point being it wasn't like we were taking away an opportunity to earn a higher tip from another party. Unacceptable. Disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

This was out first visit to Mia Francesc ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 28, 2016

This was out first visit to Mia Francesca and w were not disappointed. My wife had their signature half chicken dish with potatoes which was moist and very flavorful. I have the prosciutto and lamb stuffed ravioli in a cream sauce. It was fabulous. The meals were very reasonably priced and the portions suitable. WE look forward to trying other dishes the next time we dine there.

Tags: Special Occasion, , Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visit here for the first time on Than ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We visit here for the first time on Thanksgiving Day 2016. The staff and atmosphere were really great. Turkey breast was nicely seasoned and very moist and Salmon was very good too. So much variety of delicious food on the buffet table! Also there was a desert buffet with assortments of pies, cakes, cannoli's & etc... what a treat!! My family and I will be visiting again Thanksgiving Day 2017! Mia Francesca Trattoria rocks!! Thank you

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Came for Thanksgiving Day buffet. Food w ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Came for Thanksgiving Day buffet. Food was good, but overpriced. Service (drinks) a bit slow.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

We went for Thanksgiving. They had a ver ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We went for Thanksgiving. They had a very wide selection and everything was so delicious. Highly recommend

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Third time we had been there, this was f ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Third time we had been there, this was for the Thanksgiving dinner (we had been for traditional dinner the other two times). It doesn't disappoint, the food was great, the service was extremely good and the noise level was pretty good despite being crowded for Thanksgiving. One note, I probably could have done a little more with traditional holiday music than the adult contemporary soundtrack. Other than that, it was great. Will return again.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were running behind because of an eve ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We were running behind because of an event that was happening, but they were very accommodating and understating! Great service! Food is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a variety of menu items, all the ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We had a variety of menu items, all the food was great. I gave four stars on the food as their interpretation of bolognese was a bit lazy, they obviously shortcut the process. Other dishes were quite good, especially the stuffed pasta.

Unless you go early make sure to reserve a table!

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

again my points were not credited, I am ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 11, 2016

again my points were not credited, I am not a happy customer!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The spaghetti Bolognese was half hamburg ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The spaghetti Bolognese was half hamburger instead of meat, the pasta was brittle, and my spinach was cooked with onion instead of garlic. This has been one of my go to restaurants and I'm very disappointed in the decline in quality. Our server was great - attentive without interrupting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

My only objection to this dining experie ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 7, 2016

My only objection to this dining experience was that for the second time in a month they were still out of the wine I wished to order. Otherwise, wonderful!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our appetizer (calamari), salads (Caesar ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Our appetizer (calamari), salads (Caesar), entrees (lemon chicken & chicken tortellini), and dessert (tiramisu) were all wonderful & delicious! We really enjoyed our Brunch/Lunch here!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Very nice atmosphere. Excellent service. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Very nice atmosphere. Excellent service. Really good food especially the pizza!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mia Francesca is a go to place for good ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Mia Francesca is a go to place for good pasta and varied menu. Nothing too fancy, just straight up family dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great job. Food and server were excellen ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great job.

Food and server were excellent.

Excellent wine list.

We'll be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The menu on OpenTable was out of date. T ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The menu on OpenTable was out of date. The room is quite large and has the ambiance of a cafeteria. The waitress kept referring to the location as the "corporate stepchild". On the plus side the mussels were good and chicken melenzane (which was off of the menu) was too. The pasta was just average. There are better options for Italian food. I suggest you choose another restaurant.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

The service was great. The meals looked ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The service was great. The meals looked and tasted terrific. We came with friends and we all had a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Took my parents out to dinner for my dad ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Took my parents out to dinner for my dad's birthday. The food was wonderful! We all enjoyed our meals and experience, and our server was very pleasant and responsive to our needs. Will definitely return.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We left hungry, even though we are slim. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We left hungry, even though we are slim. We each had a salad and an entree. One entree was the pasta with shrimp and crabmeat, and the other was salmon. The salads were a bit on the small side. The pasta was sufficient, and very good, but lean on the shrimp and crabmeat. The salmon was on a bed of spinach. I would guess the salmon at 6 oz. That's not much of an entree for $25. It as also a bit overcooked. In general we have had very nice experiences at Mia Francesca's, but this one won't count as one. Unfortunately it occurred on our anniversary dinner. None the less, we will be back as I hope this was an anomaly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Disappointed with the salmon. It was dry ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Disappointed with the salmon. It was dry and over cooked. Dessert strawberry rhubarb tart was very good though.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

We ordered a pizza with a sunny side up ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We ordered a pizza with a sunny side up egg. What we got was a pizza with a raw egg. Not fried. Not sunny side up. Raw. The server had to literally ladle in onto the pizza, at which time we sent it back. The manager said that they've been serving it that way for five years. If so, they are lucky they haven't been closed b y the board of health. Avoid this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The food was presented nicely on the pla ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The food was presented nicely on the plate as well as the flavor which was excellent.

The dessert was outstanding as well. We had a very enjoyable experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Donny our sever was excellent .

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Donny our sever was excellent .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.