About Mia Francesca Trattoria

4100 Main At North Hills St
Raleigh, NC 27609
View Larger Map

Mia Francesca Trattoria offers the North Hills - Raleigh, NC region a uniquely authentic Italian restaurant with made from scratch, simple, rustic cooking with friendly service, fair prices, & farm to table ingredients.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Wine Bar, Organic

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 5:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 1:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Adjacent to the Renaissance Hotel

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 278-1525

Website:
http://www.miafrancesca.com/locations/profile/north-carolina

Entertainment:
Thursday Night Is live music night & $5 house Martinis!

Catering:

The Francesca's philosophy of good, simple cooking, served in a casually sophisticated dining atmosphere is one that we proudly carry over to our Special Events. Our private and semi-private dining rooms are ideal for business functions or social occasions and can accommodate groups of 10 to 200, depending on location.

Contact our dedicated Event Planners for additional information or to inquire about avaliabilty of dates:

Parking Details:
For parking we offer several options. You may use the parking lot behind the restaurant.
The underneath entrance is at the Main North Hills' entrance just off of Six Forks Road. You may then take the elevator up to the lobby of the Renaissance Hotel and work over to our location. This is a great option if the weather is inclement.
You third option is valet in-front of the restaurant at the Renaissance hotel adjacent to us.

Executive Chef:
Zachary VanGaasbeek

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
At Mia Francesca we boast two beautiful rustic private dining rooms for your special event planning needs. You can host a party at Francesca’s in either our downstairs private dining room - suitable for any private parties up to 60 people; or upstairs Tuscan Wine Cellar Mezzanine - accommodating private dining groups up to 55 guests. We have full audio and visual equipment if your event requires them. Our on site Event Manager will help you along the way from beginning to end to coordinate the perfect event. Our flexible menus and spaces are just what you need to host the perfect private group event. With private group menus featuring our fantastic authentic made from scratch Italian cuisine or more traditional group fare we are here to help you host the best private event possible.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Come dine with us on Father's Day, we will offering our regular dinner menu as well as daily specials!
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Sat 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Private Dining

The Francesca's philosophy of good, simple cooking, served in a casually sophisticated dining atmosphere is one that we proudly carry over to our Special Events. Our private and semi-private dining rooms are ideal for business functions, bridal showers, rehearsal dinners & more.

Mia Francesca Trattoria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

3.9

ambience

3.9

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (47)
good for groups (43)
great for lunch (29)
See All
neighborhood gem (28)
fit for foodies (26)
romantic (23)
great for brunch (19)
great for outdoor dining (17)
hot spot (13)
kid-friendly (10)
notable wine list (9)
vibrant bar scene (7)
late-night find (6)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
944 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Had a very good meal with a big and vari ...

Dined 4 days ago

Had a very good meal with a big and varied group with different tastes. The menu offered a good range of choices, even for kids. Everyone was happy with their meals. The service was also very good, they were very attentive to our needs, even providing complimentary drinks with a few accidentally spilled during the meal. We would definitely go back.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great date night spot

Dined 4 days ago

I highly recommend it!! Good food, good atmosphere.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food will be back again!

Dined 4 days ago

Great food will be back again!

food2
ambience3
service2

Food was relatively bland. I was hoping ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was relatively bland. I was hoping for more flavor. Bottomless mimosas were tasty, but our server wasn't terribly attentive and we kept having to wait in between emptying our glasses and getting another.

food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Great as always. Our server was not, di ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great as always. Our server was not, did not know the menu but most importantly, was far from attentive. Outside of that, the servers were fine and were able to place our drink orders, check on food quality, etc. in the absence of wait staff.

food1
ambience4
service2
value1

I had heard amazing reviews of this plac ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

I had heard amazing reviews of this place however our experience was less than stellar. We went for an after graduation celebration brunch for my friend and I. There was 6 of us and we all ordered breakfast meals....We waited over an hour for our food and was disappointed by what arrived the eggs where cold...the bacon fatty although they did give large portions...we had waited so long for our breakfast by the time it arrived we had lost our appetites and all requested boxes to go so our food wouldnt be a waste....we mentioned our issues with service time to our waiter who would then blame it on the kitchen .....in none of that time did a manger come and even apologize....it was our graduation day clearly we were literally still in our cap and gown .....I was very disappointed that it didn't live up to the hype.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Outstanding Brunch Menu

Dined on May 14, 2016

This is the 2nd time we've gone there for brunch. The brunch menu is amazing and the food is great. We will be there frequntly!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

The food was not tasty, the waitress did ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The food was not tasty, the waitress didn't refill timely or get our second drinks timely. We won't be going back.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great place!

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

Great place!

food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Dissapointed with visit

Dined on May 8, 2016

This was our 3rd visit to MFT and it will be our last. My husband and I were so disappointed. We went for Mother's Day and there were hardly any specials. I asked for a mojito and they were out of mint. My husband's salad had the wrong dressing added. My ravioli were actually tortellini and the cheese on the inside tasted so sour to me that I could not take more than one bite. My husband's lasagna was so salty and was lukewarm, not hot. We were served no bread ahead of time and we waited longer for our check than the entire time we dined. A big letdown and I cannot recommend this restaurant.

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Below average dining experience

Dined on May 8, 2016

I was surprised to find that this restaurant didn't live up to my personal expectations. Carrabas offers a far tastier selection & better service for the money.

food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Good, but!,

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Food was excellent but we were surprised at the lack of many items on the menu restaurant is good but lacking in many ways. There were no shrimp dishes, no Franchause dishes and the Parmesan was sorely lacking in mozzarella

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5

Awesome service by Donnie.

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

Awesome service by Donnie.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Delicious as always! Great service

Dined on April 30, 2016

We travel from Charlotte to Raleigh often just to visit our favorite Chicgao restaurant. So excited that when we moved to North Carolina that they opened in Raleigh. Wish they would open in Charlotte.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Bad experience

Dined on April 26, 2016

Have dined many times here wîth family and friends but this last time we had awful service. We waited 45 minutes or more for our food. We saw half our orders sitting under heat lamps for 10 minutes. We finally asked them to bring what was done to our table The Sandwiches were just barely warm and the salads were soggy from sitting under heat lamps. The waiter never came back to ask us if we needed anything, if we wanted dessert or apologized for food taking so long. On a good note, the pasta dishes we ordered were delicious. I might add that the restaurant was not at all crowded. In fact, there was only one other group at another table and a booth was occupied.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good Food - but pricey

Dined on April 13, 2016

The food was excellent, as was the service. But it's a little pricey. I'd save it for a special occasion and just basic night out.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing :)

Dined on April 1, 2016

My server was so nice and I loved the gluten free rood!! Soooo goood

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Haminator

Dined on March 30, 2016

Had lunch with friends. Excellent service. Good offering. Food prepared very well and excellent presentation. Salmon and mushrooms excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Buffet?

Dined on March 27, 2016

Went on Easter, only option was a buffet.....not great!

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for brunch on Easter. It was a ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

We went for brunch on Easter. It was a buffet that day. Plenty of things to choose from and everything was very good. The place was packed, but the service was still very attentive and polite.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on March 26, 2016

This restaurant is amazing. The food was so delicious and fresh I cannot wait to go back. The ravioli are unbelievable. The environment was perfect for two friend a catching up without the kids. Would recommend this place.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was very good. Our calamari was ove ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Food was very good. Our calamari was over cooked the first time but came out the 2nd time perfect.

food4
ambience5
service4

Great servers very attentive.

Dined on March 26, 2016

Great servers very attentive.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Enjoyable Brunch

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

We had a delightful Brunch. This restaurant is great for Brunch but lacks something when it comes to dinner.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Really enjoyed !

Dined on March 20, 2016

We went for dinner - the service was amazing and the food was delicious!

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Another very nice visit

Dined on March 20, 2016

Mia Francesca always delivers. For March, I thought their "changing menu" wasn't as nice as in the past. A little expensive, but very nice ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious

Dined on March 11, 2016

The food and drinks were delicious. The service was top-notch. Can't wait to go back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic !!!!!

Dined on March 8, 2016

We are so glad we stopped by Mia Francesca for an early dinner. The food was amazing! Donnie our server was awesome. Very personable and so customer friendly. He made our dinner time so enjoyable. The chicken Parmesan was outstanding. We are from New York State and we sure know good Italian food. We would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

A complete disaster

Dined on March 5, 2016

The restaurant was nearly empty so no excuse for the horrible service. There were so many delays that we thought the wait staff/ cook had left. I ordered the egg platter with scrambled eggs and when it arrived it was served with an omelet. I pointed this out to the server and he said " well that's the way they do it. My friends steak and eggs was no better. The 2 salads we ordered were passable. The coffee when delivered was cold and tasted like" breakfast coffee ". The servers response was that it was just made.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great service

Dined on March 1, 2016

My friends and I met at the restaurant on Tuesday night. It was very quiet, the wait staff including our server and server assistant were top notch. We did not want for a thing. Very accommodating. Thanks to our waitress and Adam, our server assistant!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Great Ambiance Average Food

Dined on February 28, 2016

This was my first visit to Mia Francesca. I had dined at many other North Hills' restaurants so I was looking forward to it. Unfortunately, Mia was a mixed bag. I loved the ambiance, decorations and the large booths. The service was good but not great. We tried the pork chop which was wonderful. However, the Rigatoni con Mozzarella was disappointing. The rigatoni was not cooked long enough. The bread and oil were also rather bland. Considering the price and the other great restaurants in the area it will be a while before I go back again.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience3
service4

Nothing stood out. Shrimp dish was aver ...

Dined on February 26, 2016

Nothing stood out. Shrimp dish was average, other dishes good, nothing out of ordinary

food5
ambience5
service3

A group of friends and I came for brunch ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

A group of friends and I came for brunch. We did the bottomless mimosas and brunch. The server was good and the food was delicious.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great Brunch

Dined on February 20, 2016

We've eaten there for dinner, but never for brunch before. They have an extensive brunch menu. The food was plentiful, delicious and of very good value. We will definitely keep this on our brunch short list.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Delicious locally sourced food!

Dined on February 19, 2016

My 16 year old daughter and I decided to try Mia Francesca Trattoria for a change in pace related to Italian eateries. We were not disappointed. Nice atmosphere, attentive wait staff and timely service. I noticed the second floor above with seating for groups and made a recommendation to my colleagues that we should have dinner there in the next couple of months! Thanks for making our daughter - mother dinner date an excellent one!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

A little expensive

Dined on February 15, 2016

Dined here for Valentine's Day. Through open table, I did not realize they had a fixed menu at $75/couple (appetizer, entree, dessert). The appetizer and entree were pretty small. While the food was good, I felt it was overpriced for what we received, e.g. a small crabcake, spinach stuffed 1/2 chicken breast with 3 potato wedges, a chocolate dessert. I left still a little hungry.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Valentine's Dinner Dissapointment

Dined on February 14, 2016

I made reservations for a Valentine's dinner and specified the most romantic area of the restaurant. We were seated in the back room and asked to sit closer to the wall as the hostess was going to place us in the center. Five minutes after she sat us down, they put a full family with a screaming baby right behind us with tables for two everywhere in the room. Everyone was so distracted and some visibly angry. Also, the waitress had really no clue as to what the chef was able to do on that night as there was a dedicated menu which we were not aware of at the time reservation was made. My wife is a vegetarian and they could do very little for her other than leave off the meat which you really paid for as it was $75 a couple standard rate. We both ordered wine as well and she filled like a quarter of a glass. It really could not be enjoyed with the food because I would have had to order several glasses. Lastly, we were never asked if we wanted more bread or even water and when you asked her for something she seemed like it was a problem. The waiter on the other tables looked like he was pretty sharp but guess our luck that night. The food wasn't bad but a little left to be desired for the money and when the manager walks into the room to access the area and sees these things, it makes you wander the level of competence for such a presumably nice restaurant. If you are given the right waiter on a good night and maybe sit up on the balcony and have a normal menu, it may be a pretty good night. As for ours, we will go back to the Angus Barn next time.

food3
ambience4
service3
value5

Brunch not worth it.

Dined on February 14, 2016

I love this place. Just the brunch is not good enough. I hope they improve it.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Ok Dining

Dined on February 14, 2016

Valentine's Day was very busy and enough though we had reservation, we had a 25 minute wait that was a little unpleasant. It appeared the staff was limited and we had to wait for a server. The food was the highlight of the experience, it was tasty, served at excellent temperature. We did have to ask for bread, the server had too many table and was not very attentive. I have eaten at Mia's before and was a little surprised plus we had invited another couple to share the experience that we previously had enjoyed.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Leisure lunch

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

First time here, menu looked good but some of the items were not as we expected however tasted very good. I think they should bring some bread or something to the table it took quite a while for our dishes to come out and the restaurant was very busy however thought it took longer than usual. Our waitress was very attentive though kept checking on us. Would give this another chance to check it out for dinner as well.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.