About Mia Francesca Trattoria

4100 Main At North Hills St
Raleigh, NC 27609
View Larger Map

Mia Francesca Trattoria offers the North Hills - Raleigh, NC region a uniquely authentic Italian restaurant with made from scratch, simple, rustic cooking with friendly service, fair prices, & farm to table ingredients.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Wine Bar, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Saturday 11:30am - 3pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday, Sunday: 3pm - 9pm, Friday & Saturday: 3pm - 10pm Brunch: 10:30am - 3pm (Sunday Only)

Cross Street:
Adjacent to the Renaissance Hotel

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 278-1525

Website:
http://www.miafrancesca.com/locations/profile/north-carolina

Entertainment:
Thursday Night Is live music night & $5 house Martinis!

Catering:

The Francesca's philosophy of good, simple cooking, served in a casually sophisticated dining atmosphere is one that we proudly carry over to our Special Events. Our private and semi-private dining rooms are ideal for business functions or social occasions and can accommodate groups of 10 to 200, depending on location.

Contact our dedicated Event Planners for additional information or to inquire about avaliabilty of dates:

Parking Details:
For parking we offer several options. You may use the parking lot behind the restaurant.
The underneath entrance is at the Main North Hills' entrance just off of Six Forks Road. You may then take the elevator up to the lobby of the Renaissance Hotel and work over to our location. This is a great option if the weather is inclement.
You third option is valet in-front of the restaurant at the Renaissance hotel adjacent to us.

Executive Chef:
Zachary VanGaasbeek

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
At Mia Francesca we boast two beautiful rustic private dining rooms for your special event planning needs. You can host a party at Francesca’s in either our downstairs private dining room - suitable for any private parties up to 60 people; or upstairs Tuscan Wine Cellar Mezzanine - accommodating private dining groups up to 55 guests. We have full audio and visual equipment if your event requires them. Our on site Event Manager will help you along the way from beginning to end to coordinate the perfect event. Our flexible menus and spaces are just what you need to host the perfect private group event. With private group menus featuring our fantastic authentic made from scratch Italian cuisine or more traditional group fare we are here to help you host the best private event possible.

Restaurant Photos

  • Tiramisu - Mia Francesca Trattoria, Raleigh, NC
  • Veal Stuffed Pasta - Mia Francesca Trattoria, Raleigh, NC
  • Salmon - Mia Francesca Trattoria, Raleigh, NC
  • Penne Pasta Alla Pollo Fra Diavlo - Mia Francesca Trattoria, Raleigh, NC
  • Chocolate Bocci Torta - Mia Francesca Trattoria, Raleigh, NC
  • Whole Wheat Penne Pasta - Mia Francesca Trattoria, Raleigh, NC
Tiramisu - Mia Francesca Trattoria, Raleigh, NC
Veal Stuffed Pasta - Mia Francesca Trattoria, Raleigh, NC
Salmon - Mia Francesca Trattoria, Raleigh, NC
Penne Pasta Alla Pollo Fra Diavlo - Mia Francesca Trattoria, Raleigh, NC
Chocolate Bocci Torta - Mia Francesca Trattoria, Raleigh, NC
Whole Wheat Penne Pasta - Mia Francesca Trattoria, Raleigh, NC

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Sat 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Private Dining

The Francesca's philosophy of good, simple cooking, served in a casually sophisticated dining atmosphere is one that we proudly carry over to our Special Events. Our private and semi-private dining rooms are ideal for business functions, bridal showers, rehearsal dinners & more.

Mia Francesca Trattoria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Raleigh
Best Restaurants in Raleigh ›

Good for Groups (20)
Special Occasion (17)
Good for a Date (15)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Romantic (12)
Casual (12)
Business Meals (10)
Authentic (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Cozy (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Fun (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Family Style (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Private Room (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Seasonal (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Modern Decor (1)
People Watching (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Healthy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1020 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was out first visit to Mia Francesc ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 28, 2016

This was out first visit to Mia Francesca and w were not disappointed. My wife had their signature half chicken dish with potatoes which was moist and very flavorful. I have the prosciutto and lamb stuffed ravioli in a cream sauce. It was fabulous. The meals were very reasonably priced and the portions suitable. WE look forward to trying other dishes the next time we dine there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visit here for the first time on Than ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We visit here for the first time on Thanksgiving Day 2016. The staff and atmosphere were really great. Turkey breast was nicely seasoned and very moist and Salmon was very good too. So much variety of delicious food on the buffet table! Also there was a desert buffet with assortments of pies, cakes, cannoli's & etc... what a treat!! My family and I will be visiting again Thanksgiving Day 2017! Mia Francesca Trattoria rocks!! Thank you

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Came for Thanksgiving Day buffet. Food w ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Came for Thanksgiving Day buffet. Food was good, but overpriced. Service (drinks) a bit slow.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

We went for Thanksgiving. They had a ver ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We went for Thanksgiving. They had a very wide selection and everything was so delicious. Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Third time we had been there, this was f ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Third time we had been there, this was for the Thanksgiving dinner (we had been for traditional dinner the other two times). It doesn't disappoint, the food was great, the service was extremely good and the noise level was pretty good despite being crowded for Thanksgiving. One note, I probably could have done a little more with traditional holiday music than the adult contemporary soundtrack. Other than that, it was great. Will return again.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were running behind because of an eve ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We were running behind because of an event that was happening, but they were very accommodating and understating! Great service! Food is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a variety of menu items, all the ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We had a variety of menu items, all the food was great. I gave four stars on the food as their interpretation of bolognese was a bit lazy, they obviously shortcut the process. Other dishes were quite good, especially the stuffed pasta.

Unless you go early make sure to reserve a table!

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

again my points were not credited, I am ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 11, 2016

again my points were not credited, I am not a happy customer!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The spaghetti Bolognese was half hamburg ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The spaghetti Bolognese was half hamburger instead of meat, the pasta was brittle, and my spinach was cooked with onion instead of garlic. This has been one of my go to restaurants and I'm very disappointed in the decline in quality. Our server was great - attentive without interrupting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

My only objection to this dining experie ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 7, 2016

My only objection to this dining experience was that for the second time in a month they were still out of the wine I wished to order. Otherwise, wonderful!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our appetizer (calamari), salads (Caesar ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Our appetizer (calamari), salads (Caesar), entrees (lemon chicken & chicken tortellini), and dessert (tiramisu) were all wonderful & delicious! We really enjoyed our Brunch/Lunch here!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Very nice atmosphere. Excellent service. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Very nice atmosphere. Excellent service. Really good food especially the pizza!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mia Francesca is a go to place for good ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Mia Francesca is a go to place for good pasta and varied menu. Nothing too fancy, just straight up family dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great job. Food and server were excellen ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great job.

Food and server were excellent.

Excellent wine list.

We'll be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The menu on OpenTable was out of date. T ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The menu on OpenTable was out of date. The room is quite large and has the ambiance of a cafeteria. The waitress kept referring to the location as the "corporate stepchild". On the plus side the mussels were good and chicken melenzane (which was off of the menu) was too. The pasta was just average. There are better options for Italian food. I suggest you choose another restaurant.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

The service was great. The meals looked ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The service was great. The meals looked and tasted terrific. We came with friends and we all had a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Took my parents out to dinner for my dad ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Took my parents out to dinner for my dad's birthday. The food was wonderful! We all enjoyed our meals and experience, and our server was very pleasant and responsive to our needs. Will definitely return.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We left hungry, even though we are slim. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We left hungry, even though we are slim. We each had a salad and an entree. One entree was the pasta with shrimp and crabmeat, and the other was salmon. The salads were a bit on the small side. The pasta was sufficient, and very good, but lean on the shrimp and crabmeat. The salmon was on a bed of spinach. I would guess the salmon at 6 oz. That's not much of an entree for $25. It as also a bit overcooked. In general we have had very nice experiences at Mia Francesca's, but this one won't count as one. Unfortunately it occurred on our anniversary dinner. None the less, we will be back as I hope this was an anomaly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Disappointed with the salmon. It was dry ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Disappointed with the salmon. It was dry and over cooked. Dessert strawberry rhubarb tart was very good though.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

We ordered a pizza with a sunny side up ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We ordered a pizza with a sunny side up egg. What we got was a pizza with a raw egg. Not fried. Not sunny side up. Raw. The server had to literally ladle in onto the pizza, at which time we sent it back. The manager said that they've been serving it that way for five years. If so, they are lucky they haven't been closed b y the board of health. Avoid this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The food was presented nicely on the pla ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The food was presented nicely on the plate as well as the flavor which was excellent.

The dessert was outstanding as well. We had a very enjoyable experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Donny our sever was excellent .

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Donny our sever was excellent .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Upscale Italian? When I think upscale It ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Upscale Italian? When I think upscale Italian, I'm supposing maybe Vivaldi in the background, but not so loud that you can't converse with ease on your wedding anniversary. We were escorted to our outdoor seating, which overlooked a cross-parking lot traffic thruway within spittin' distance. The music--if you want to call it that, was an obnoxiously loud Top-40 disco-hey-let's-dance-and-shake-our-bottoms-with-a-good-buzz-on idotic mayhem. We discussed the situation for all of four seconds and walked out. Food? What food?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The chicken Parmesan was not overly sauc ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 19, 2016

The chicken Parmesan was not overly sauced,which made it so flavorful . The sea bass with the wild mushrooms and tomatoes had such a wonderful flavor. Everything we have had there is over the top except for their salad dressings which are too tart, I do not know if it is their balsamic vinegar which may not be aged enough

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed this very much... only problem w ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Enjoyed this very much... only problem was they were out of the wine I really had looked forward to having with my pasta! But the suggested wine was very good.... love this place.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall experience was nice. Great foo ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Overall experience was nice. Great food, service and ambiance. Seemed excessively loud this trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

House wine is Italian, need I say more!! ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 12, 2016

House wine is Italian, need I say more!! Chairs could be more comfortable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Tapas, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Service was great, food was wonderful, a ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Service was great, food was wonderful, and staff was very friendly!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great as usual

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

This is one of my main go to restaurants ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 9, 2016

This is one of my main go to restaurants. They had the spaghetti Bolognese off menu and I wish they would keep it and the beet salad on the permanent menu. The wine list is good and I've never had a bad meal there. Our waiter was having a really bad night. His service was fine but he had no joy.

Tags: Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Private Room, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

All 4 meals were outstanding!

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 5, 2016

All 4 meals were outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Loved their Sunday Brunch menu and the b ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Loved their Sunday Brunch menu and the bottomless mimosas. the outdoor seating area is nice I just wished my view wasn't of the dumpsters on the other side of the street. Other than that it was a nice experience and would go again.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

We celebrated our 33rd Anniversary there ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 2, 2016

We celebrated our 33rd Anniversary there. Food and service was excellent. They even took a couple of great pictures for us! Will be back soon!!

Sue

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came here for restaurant week and really ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Came here for restaurant week and really enjoyed lunch on the patio with three course meal. Decided to try it for brunch and it was nice, food a bit bland and a bit expensive for brunch. Good service- was seated immediately, ordered and food arrived quickly. We like lunch better than the brunch choices and would return.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

three friends who had a lot to talk abou ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 17, 2016

three friends who had a lot to talk about met at Mia Francesca. The server was very courteous and unobtrusive, realizing that we wanted to visit. Food was good too.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious food, great service. An entire ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Delicious food, great service. An entire gluten free menu, which was greatly appreciated, and the GF pasta was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The last few times I've been, I just hav ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 6, 2016

The last few times I've been, I just haven't been impressed. Food is under-seasoned. Servers should know the difference between Pomodoro sauce and other tomato-based sauces. I haven't written them off just yet, maybe next time will be better.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

This was a great choice for date night! ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 30, 2016

This was a great choice for date night! The staff was friendly, the food was amazing and the portions were large! I loved the scenery and feel of this place, decorations were beautiful! I would recommend his place for any occasion 😊

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Strawberry bourbon cocktail was unique a ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Strawberry bourbon cocktail was unique and wonderful. Dawn our server was the epitome of what one wants. She was there when we needed something, lots of energy and friendly and left us alone when we were talking. She knew the menu and explained that a cold sauce was going on the pasta & encouraged my partner to try it, as it would all work out - WHICH IT DID. I just had a garden salad, as I had a late lunch with family earlier. Overall, the food was excellent, drinks delicious and service outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lasagna was great and fabulous at specia ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Lasagna was great and fabulous at special rate $6! Also love the warm lentil appetizer. Please put it back on menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.