About Mia Figlia

5304 W Devon Ave
Chicago, IL 60646
View Larger Map

Mia Figlia is committed to hospitality with our knowledgeable staff. We aim to create delicious Italian food to share with your family and friends, making diners feel right at home. We offer traditional and contemporary classic dishes such as Lasagna Bolognese, Veal Osso Bucco and fresh hand made whole wheat pasta. Our weekly specials are seasonally product driven based on the availability of the market. We look forward to serving you soon.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 792-8300

Website:
http://www.miafigliarestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
John Boudouvas

Mia Figlia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Chicago / Illinois
Best Value
Chicago
Neighborhood Gem
Chicago
Best Restaurants in Edgebrook ›

neighborhood gem (62)
fit for foodies (37)
good for groups (31)
See All
special occasion (27)
kid-friendly (21)
great for brunch (19)
romantic (10)
notable wine list (9)
great for lunch (6)
hot spot (3)
late-night find (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
190 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The servers are either hovering over you ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

The servers are either hovering over you or no where to be found. The lasagna is good but I've had better. Nothing special there. The chicken cacciatore was very good but too salty. The chicken Parmesan tasted off. There was something sour tasting in it. Not the chicken but the breading. When mention was made of this to the OWNER, he became defensive. No apology, no offer to comp, no offer to get something else, nothing but attitude. For being the owner, I would have thought he would have been a little nicer. Not a good way to get repeat customers if you ask me. We will NOT be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Excellent Italian food, wine & service. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent Italian food, wine & service. Can't be beat for the price!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our dinner's were outstanding! My husban ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

Our dinner's were outstanding! My husband love his polenta and sausage and mushroom appetizer. I dislike polenta but tasted his and wanted to steal it away -- it was delicious! I ordered a pasta dish with artichokes, rapini et al and it was wonderful, the pasta was perfectly al dente, not under, not overcooked and the sauce was tasty and jam-packed with the things I love! The portions are generous (you also get lunch tomorrow) and we were so full, we ordered a lemon tart to go and later that evening we shared that exquisitely lemony tart! Yum.

Our waiter, Greg, was fun and very knowledgeable. John, the owner/chef came out to greet us and we had a lively and interesting 10 minute conversation. I highly recommend this wonderful Italian restaurant!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our go-tos! We recommend this pl ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

One of our go-tos! We recommend this place to everyone and take friends there often.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Once again we had a lovely, relaxing and ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Once again we had a lovely, relaxing and delicious meal at Mia Figlia.

We love that chef/owner John always has interesting and delicious special, seasonal dishes. He has been visiting the Edgebrook Neighborhood Farmers Market -on Saturday mornings (6525 N Hiawatha, just a block or so from his restaurant - I know because I have seen himshopping there - tshecking out the farm fresh finds at the Market to use for his culinary creations.

The special salad we had on this visit, with fresh figs, the seasonal peach & blackberry crisp, the asperigi (asperagus salad), and more were especially memorable. Try their grilled calamari. Yes, they also have it fried, but the grilled was amazing. I could go on about our wonderful entrees also. You just have to go for yourselves and try it.

A real neighborhood gem.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, wine, service & prices. The ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great food, wine, service & prices. The room is nice but not outstanding. Regardless, this is our go-to Italian restaurant!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We all had a different enter and each wa ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We all had a different enter and each was fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

everything was perfect for a two couple ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

everything was perfect for a two couple get- together. the food was delicious. the waiter

was great and took the time to make sure my dinner had no cheese, milk, etc.

the only change i would make to the entire evening was that we were sitting a little too

close to the tables on either side of us. i might choose a table for four that is at an angle

in the back. bon appitite! BARBARAN

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the second time we'd eaten at M ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This was the second time we'd eaten at Mia Figlia and we were very pleased, to say the least. The only complaint we had was that the children in a family, seated near us at the big round table, were very noisy. We'd have stayed for dessert and coffee, but the kids were annoying. We simply did dessert somewhere else.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service. Very friendly server. S ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great service. Very friendly server. She gave us the perfect amount of time between apps and the main meal. Good was fresh, hot and very good!! Dessert was also great ( a hot fruit crumble). Been there 3 times and have not been disappointed !

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything I've ever eaten there is deli ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Everything I've ever eaten there is delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time at Mia Figlia. We were greet ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

First time at Mia Figlia. We were greeted by our waiter promptly but were not given a lot of time to look the menu over before he asked for appetizer and wine orders. But that's ok. Water needed to be refilled more often, ended up grabbing the pitcher ourselves and leaving it on the table. Food was fantastic. Most of the table got pasta as it is made in-house. Gnocchi were pillowy soft. The whole wheat pasta with roasted veggies was hearty and filling. Eggplant Parm was fine, not greasy like most places. We were too full for dessert but the menu looked good. We will definitely be returning.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My friends and I love Mia Figlia and our ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

My friends and I love Mia Figlia and our favorite waiter Greg. The food is always delicious and Greg knows the menu very well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We all ordered from the specials menu an ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We all ordered from the specials menu and enjoyed it immensely. Sometimes there entrees include almost too many ingredients and the flavors get lost. This was not the case with the gnocchi and the skate wing; both delicious. The service is always attentive and the atmosphere is a little nicer yet comfortable and great for conversation.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently good food and great service ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Consistently good food and great service at this neighborhood gem. We love Mia Figlia for its friendly vibe and local feel.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were extremely pleased with the timel ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We were extremely pleased with the timely and friendly service. Salads were large enough for two people. Entree was very fresh and tasty. Sauce on the seafood was just right -- not overbearing. The restaurant had been recommended before, but this was our first visit. Will likely return, since it is now a favorite!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food as usual was delicious - owner came ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

food as usual was delicious - owner came around and spoke to our table - our friends, who had never been there before, were very impressed with that fact. They loved that personal touch!

On previous visits, it has been too loud in the restaurant - it was not so bad this time - maybe they are doing something about it. The only complaint was it was too hot in the restaurant -but we had a really hot day and it was just tough for the A/C to keep up!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Last Friday night our family discovered ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Last Friday night our family discovered this restaurant and we only wish we knew about it earlier. Looking for an Italian restaurant that stayed open late, Mia Figlia popped up on Open Table and it was our good fortune that we decided to make a reservation. From the moment we opened the door, we were greeted with warmness, enthusiasm, and an alluring aroma reminiscent of Italian eateries we have visited in Italy. Our server, Greg, described in detail the specials of the evening and offered customized dishes based upon our vegetarian dietary constraints. The owner/chef came out to review our selections and suggested variations as well. The warm bread kept coming as did the water in our glasses. What a spectacular evening. We walked away feeling very appreciated and can't wait to return. We recommend this restaurant to anyone who appreciates an outstanding selection of excellent food, a knowledgeable and caring staff, and a memorable time. Bravo!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Value

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Love this family run dining spot..great food and service =great value.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A real gen

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Mia Figlia serves the best Italian food I've eaten outside of Italy. The food is fantastic, the service is knowledgeable and friendly, and the ambience is quite pleasant. Do yourself a favor and visit this wonderful restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Modern Italian

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Excellent Italian fare with a modern twist. Great service and recommendations. The place was really loud, so be prepared for a non-quiet experience. Free parking at nearby church--would've been nice to know that before parking, however!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Pizza, any if the Italian dishes

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Pizza, any if the Italian dishes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Food

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The food keeps getting better and better everytime I go there.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

place was a complete surprise. but once ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

place was a complete surprise. but once in Mia Figlia, service was outstanding, drinks perfectly mixed and food outstanding. a gem!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Their food and service are second to non ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Their food and service are second to none. The staff is friendly and great at making both food and beverage recommendations. We've been here about a dozen times in the past two years and have never been disappointed. Our new favorite place to break bread.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

MIA FIGLIA, CREATIVE ITALIAN FARE

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

SPECIAL DATES ARE ALWAYS VERY BUSY AT MIA FIGLIA, AND MOTHER'S DAY IS NO EXCEPTION. UNFORTUNATELY THE DISH I WANTED TO ORDER WAS NOT AVAILABLE, THEY WERE OUT OF RICOTTA RAVIOLI. WAITER WAS NOT HELPFUL IN CHOOSING ANOTHER ENTREE. HE WAS NOT ESPECIALLY FRIENDLY EITHER. WE ENJOYED THE MEAL AND THE YUMMY CHOCOLATE DESSERT

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

.....I won't be returning

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Made us wait 15 mins for reservation, service was beyond slow, brought the wrong food and bland food in general.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

On this occasion the plates seemed to ha ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

On this occasion the plates seemed to have less food. My plate which was the Eggs Florentine on tomatoes, seem to have less pancetta, my husband who got the same plate but with foccacia bread, also had less pancetta and the foccacia bread was very small compared to previous visits. Perhaps because it was mother's day they had to work with less.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous as usual! Never a bad meal. Top ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Fabulous as usual! Never a bad meal. Top notch service and food. Downtown everything at suburban prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Neighborhood Gem

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

A great neighborhood gem. John does an excellent job and it is always excellent. Love the salmon.

I love this place!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for a good big meal with a lot of ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Great for a good big meal with a lot of friends and family together.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

this restaurant has consistently very go ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

this restaurant has consistently very good food. the mussels, roast chicken and osso bucco are always perfectly cooked. lasagna is the best i've had in a restaurant. our waiter, gregory, is always spot on and efficient.

we also love the half price bottled wine on tuesdays!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great find

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Our group loved this restaurant. The service was friendly and efficient with great suggestions. We enjoyed the calamari appetizer, two pasta dishes, the duck special, and two desserts. The food was fresh and flavorful. Prices were very reasonable. The owner was present, making sure that diners were enjoying their meals. Overall a great night out. It was a little bit of a drive for us, but worth the effort. We will definitely return.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Sweet!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

Wonderful food, great atmosphere, attentive service. Can't go wrong!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Italian Food!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

The food is truly delicious. The pasta are perfectly prepared. Service is very friendly and helpful with ordering. Lots to choose from so that helps. Mia Figlia is the best find. It will not disappoint.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious fresh food, friendly staff. It ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Delicious fresh food, friendly staff. It's like home-cooked if your mama is a gourmet Italian cook.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappointed

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

We've been to Mia Figlia several times now and the service and the food are consistently great. Our party of six had six different entrees and everyone raved about how good each selection was. Don't miss dessert - chocolate lava cake would be worth the trip all by itself.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food. Great neighborhood location, ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Good food. Great neighborhood location, but the service was poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Great Seasoning

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

We especially liked the way our food was seasoned. I had the eggs florentine and it had just the right amount of pesto.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Staff was professional and made Reggie s ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Staff was professional and made Reggie suggestions. They really knew the menu well and was able to help us order all the perfect dishes for our guests! The food was fresh, beautifully presented and delicious. We look forward to coming back with our family!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.