Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.62mi
  4. Distance: 0.74mi
  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.62mi
  4. Distance: 0.74mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.62mi
  4. Distance: 0.74mi
  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.62mi
  4. Distance: 0.74mi

About Mia Figlia

Mia Figlia is committed to hospitality with our knowledgeable staff. We aim to create delicious Italian food to share with your family and friends, making diners feel right at home. We offer traditional and contemporary classic dishes such as Lasagna Bolognese, Veal Osso Bucco and fresh hand made whole wheat pasta. Our weekly specials are seasonally product driven based on the availability of the market. We look forward to serving you soon.

5304 W Devon Ave
Chicago, IL 60646
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 792-8300

Website:
http://www.miafigliarestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
John Boudouvas

Mia Figlia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.5

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (37)
Good for a Date (20)
Casual (18)
See All
Authentic (18)
Special Occasion (17)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Cozy (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Bar Seating (7)
Romantic (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Healthy (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Seasonal (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Business Meals (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Fun (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Live Music (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
344 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Absolutely Fantastic! Over the top Food! Family Friendly Before 7:00pm after Adults can enjoy wonderful conversation and food. Grilled Calamari - Fantastic! Chocolate Panne Cotta - Shared but after first taste - regretted it - I wanted it ALL!

Tags: Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 10, 2017

This little neighbor gem has possibly some of the best, creative Italian food in Chicago.
If you are a foodie, it is really sensational. As good as places twice as expensive with
a carrying wait staff, and after you are stuffed, the deserts are fantastic. We have been sending
people there for over three years now, and everyone we have sent, raves about it. Worth a try
and easy to get to.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Went with friends for Sun Brunch. Very limited menu.Unusual items. About 8 items on the menu.
Ricotta pancakes good. No other pancakes on the menu. Breakfast pizza good. Pouched eggs with spinach and hollandise was cold and not very flavorable. . No omelettes, no scrambled eggs,no waffles , no crepes, no french toast. No desserts. Need I say more!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 30, 2017

We wanted to stay in the neighborhood so decided to try this restaurant. A nice surprise! Food is freshly prepared with creative twists. Old favorites have a healthier twist and our fish entrees were served in broth instead of heavy sauces. Service was leisurely which was fine. Full bar offerings.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Amazing service and food!
I would literally fell in love in there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Average food with average service, went for birthday and was not impressed. Not sure what the draw is here. Had a better time at the bar down the street.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 23, 2017

The only downsides were crowded, small tables, as the place was not large. I don't think there were any booths (my choice) and the noise level was considerable. However, the ambiance was warm, friendly and uplifting. I'd certainly go back again and when making my reservation I'd try to wangle a larger table. The food was excellent and the portions were generous.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Our waiter was unbelievably patient as we spent a LOT of time visiting rather than making menu choices. But when we did, we were not disappointed! The food was incredibly good - I'm picky about linguine and the dish I ordered was perfection! The panna cotta was amazing! Before we knew it we were closing the place - 4 HOURS LATER! Outstanding!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Always friendly, inviting and delicious. Our waiter recommended the scallops that were a special. Fantastic. Everyone enjoyed their dinners. Love this place.

Tags: Spicy, Seasonal, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2017

As always the food was excellent. We are regulars of the restaurant. We brought our friends and they loved it.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Everything that we ordered, from the appetizers, the pasta to the main course to the dessert, were fantastic! Highly recommend and what a wonderful neighborhood gem!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2017

All around wonderful dining experience - will definitely return!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2017

The restaurant was great! I drive by it everyday on the way to my office and have always wanted to try it. We definitely will be going back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Excellent neighborhood Italian gem. My husband and I were here for the first time and will definitely be going back. All the food was delicious and scratch made. The service was great and our server knew the menu and was able to make suggestions on what to order. The Owner came over and introduced himself. He was very nice and friendly and it was obvious that he loved his business. We are looking forward to returning with friends soon.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Our second visit - this time with friends.
Again, the food was very good, service good, value good.
Unfortunately, the overall experience was spoiled by a very loud and annoying table of 10 who made it very difficult two maintain any kind of conversation.

If we ever go again we'll make sure there are no large parties scheduled for the time of our reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Went there with my husband and mother for a birthday celebration. In my opinion--- when you reserve a table for a birthday celebration on a Wednesday evening in an empty restaurant, at least maybe-- we could have had one of the tables near the window. Instead we were seated facing a chipped painted wall.
The waitress literally couldn't have had less personality which basically ruined my experience. After our meal was over, on the way out, I asked if open table did not record the note that I added about it being a Birthday., because there was no mention of it from beginning to end...no good wishes, and zero greeting when we came in or sat down. She said oh yes, it was in our reservation. REALLY?! I already read from other reviews that you don't get free dessert so I didn't expect it. But common courtesy and friendliness are free. Doesn't matter if food was good or not at this point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 27, 2017

The food and service, as usual, were impeccable! Our server fielded numerous questions and check-ins with the kitchen. Will be back again as soon as we can!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Authentic Italian cuisine in a cozy neighborhood setting. This has become our local "go to" place. Feels like your own private restaurant in your own backyard. The grilled calamari is a must! Fresh and tasty. Never disappointed with any of the menu choices. Updated bread pudding dessert fantastic! Can be a little noisy at times but this adds to the upbeat atmosphere. Great for a date, family get together or celebration. Overall would rate 8.5/10.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

We first started coming here on the reco of a friend, because its neighborhood, Edgebrook, is a good midway point between people who live in the north and/or west suburbs and city folk like us. The food is good solid IItalian -- with the bonus of always featuring a few seasonal surprises and creative flourishes on the specials list. For example, when we were there in August, there was a delicious special that paired jumbo scallops with peaches. Although the wines are solid, we always get Tito's martinis, straight up, with blue cheese olives. We bemoan the loss of Myron & Phil's, and while this place is quite different on a multiplicity of levels, in some strange way its familiarity, coziness and all-around reliability sort of fill in the gap. Everyone is SO nice there. We keep coing back.

Tags: Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Excellent flavors. The food was well seasoned from the salad all the way to the main course.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Mia Figlia had been recommended by a friend. I was delighted to find it on Opentable and we've been back a number of times. We have never been disappointed in any way. Besides, it takes us less than half an hour to get there!

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We had a great dinner,nice atmosphere.The owner/Chef came to greet us
Would recommend-especially the window tables

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Really enjoyed our meal. We met friends and their 10 yr old daughter and all enjoyed. The wine menu needs an update but the food was excellent!!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 17, 2017

We've dined here numerous times and each visit is as delicious as our first time. Always consistent. Queenbro30

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 15, 2017

This is our go-to spot in the neighborhood. Service is very good and the food is great. The chef accommodated my shellfish allergy quite easily so I could have the entree that I wanted. Nicely done!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We have gone to Mia Figlia several times and we have loved it each and every time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

We were celabrating two birthdays. The food and service was top notch. This is our new go to place.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The artichoke pasta and chicken cacciatore were both outstanding. Wonderful flavors, authentic preparations. Reminded me of dining in Italy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Can't say enough good things about this place. Excellent food, attentive service, great value, convenient parking. Oh, and great desserts.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Wonderful neighborhood gem, visiting Chicago and stumbled across some great reviews and glad that we did. The authentic and creative Italian offerings were skillfully prepared with fresh ingredients and our entire meal was executed to perfection. We will most definitely be back on our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Everything was great and the couple we brought liked it very much. Our only complaint was that the specials did not include prices and the waiter got a little mixed up when quoting some of the prices. It would have been nice had they comped the birthday dessert, but never said they would.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We had a lovely evening. We've been there often. The owner/chef came to our table & promised good salmon & her delivered. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 22, 2017

What a gem. Food, feel, service, the entire package is terrific. I love this place. Always solid and the food is delicious.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 16, 2017

It's a real neighborhood gem. Food was amazing. The risotto and gnocchi were so delicious. We'll definitely go back! Service was also awesome!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 9, 2017

very ordinary italian food, the sauce was the same on our different dishes
if you live near by ok neighborhood choice but not worth a trip

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The meal was very delicious and fresh! I'm a vegetarian and there were lotta tasty options as well. Planning on going back next week again! Lol! Desserts are yummy too ! You gotta try the Nutella Panna cotta!!! Omg it's super delish! I plan on getting two of those next week!!!!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

This was my third visit to Mia Figlia. Our party was seated promptly. Tables are spaced nicely , not crammed together. The food does not disappoint. Wonderful selections, very favorful. The value is terrific. Our server while pleasant was just adequate in attentiveness . I must say the staff bussing the tables were excellent. Courteous, efficient and attentive.
I have every intention of returning

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 22, 2017

delicious choices - specials always creative and wonderful!!! Love this restaurant!!!!

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Mia Figlia is one of my favorite local places. I never look at the menu because the chef specials are always amazing. Yesterday was no exception. The fish stew was amazing as was the refreshing summer salad. Give the place a try, you will not be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 20, 2017

We love this place and try to get there as often as possible. The food is creative, beautifully prepared and served. I love going to an Italian Restaurant and not spending $20 for a plate of pasta. Their Veal Osso Bucco is superp.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.