About Mia Figlia

5304 W Devon Ave
Chicago, IL 60646
View Larger Map

Mia Figlia is committed to hospitality with our knowledgeable staff. We aim to create delicious Italian food to share with your family and friends, making diners feel right at home. We offer traditional and contemporary classic dishes such as Lasagna Bolognese, Veal Osso Bucco and fresh hand made whole wheat pasta. Our weekly specials are seasonally product driven based on the availability of the market. We look forward to serving you soon.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 792-8300

Website:
http://www.miafigliarestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
John Boudouvas

Mia Figlia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Chicago
Best Restaurants in Edgebrook ›

Neighborhood Gem (33)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Authentic (19)
See All
Creative Cuisine (16)
Special Occasion (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Casual (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Good for a Date (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Cozy (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Healthy (6)
Good for Groups (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Family Style (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Fun (4)
Business Meals (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Seasonal (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Romantic (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Spicy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
232 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We have never had a meal here that disap ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 28, 2016

We have never had a meal here that disappointed us. The food is good, the portions are more than adequate and service is good. Edgebrook is lucky to have this little gem in its downtown area.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

What a hidden gem ... I first enjoyed a ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 23, 2016

What a hidden gem ... I first enjoyed a b'day brunch - with a small and fabulous menu with something for everyone (b'fast pizzas to egg dishes to french toast/brioche) and no "breads" really - instead of eggs benedict/florentine served on english muffins, it was on a veggie hash that was superior (potatoes and veggies). you won't miss the bread. Returned on a weeknight for dinner and OMG, it was outstanding. Grilled calamari was wonderfully presented, perfectly cooked, 1/2 lemon and a nice little bit of side salad. Focaccia bread on table with oil & freshly grated parm put onto each diner's bread plate were a nice touch. Had daily fish special of trout on a bed of cannelloni beans with artichoke, caper, pepper sauce. Dining companion had Caesar salad and a parm-encrusted pork loin and a MASSIVE bowl of chocolate gelato. She gave me the biscotti and it was, seriously, "to die for". Bar is well stocked, wine list very satisfying. And prices are SO reasonable. While a bit out of the way, it's so worth the trip! We'll be back!

Tags: Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place. Their lasagna con car ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 9, 2016

I love this place. Their lasagna con carne, pana cotta, and gelato are the best. I visited with a group of 13 people from Phoenix and we loved it. Will go back again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ordered the saltimbocca and I literall ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I ordered the saltimbocca and I literally could not get my very large steak knife thru it. It came in 3 medallions. Once could not be cut at all. Once could be cut but it was all gristle and couldn't be eaten. One I choked down because we had plans to see a show and couldn't wait around for a new meal. All they offered to do was comp my drink. I said, "that's a little weak don't you think." Waiter took it away and came back after speaking with the chef and said they would comp 1/2 the meal instead. Of course this was less than the free drink. I didn't have time to fight them on it and I was with friends so I paid and left. This isn't about the bad meat. That happens. This is about the cheap-a__ way they attempted to make it right. The whole meal should have been comped. Plenty of other Italian restaurants in the area. Go there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

A group of us went for a mini HS Reunion ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 30, 2016

A group of us went for a mini HS Reunion. The food was excellent, the service was outstanding, the atmosphere was perfect. All except one of the entrees were good, the appetizers were great. One entree had a bit to much garlic for him. The owner did offer to make him one with less garlic, but he said he ate some of it and he was full. They were very accommodating to us. We stayed and talked almost to closing. Great friendly place for an Italian meal in the Edgebrook neighborhood of Chicago.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent specials! Had a seafood stew ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Excellent specials! Had a seafood stew that was very nice.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is in a great neighborho ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This restaurant is in a great neighborhood in Edgebrook, and is easy to get to and easy parking. The decor is fresh and new, and the front opens up for al fresco dining when the weather is nice. The food was delicious, and the wait staff was excellent. They have great specials which we all ordered.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Healthy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always delicious with an attentive staff ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Always delicious with an attentive staff. I love to try different dishes. Wine is always good too

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ridiculously noisy. Long wait for food. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Ridiculously noisy. Long wait for food. Wait for table even with reservation.

Caesar salad terrible

Bread below average

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

WONDERFUL AS ALWAYS THIS IS OUR GO TO PL ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 16, 2016

WONDERFUL AS ALWAYS

THIS IS OUR GO TO PLACE IN THE NEIGHBORHOOD. THE SERVICE IS GREAT AND THE FOOD IS BETTER

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Loved the eggplant parmigiana -- one of ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Loved the eggplant parmigiana -- one of the best I've ever had! The service was great and the chef/owner was so gracious. We will definitely return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite Italian restaurant in the ci ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

My favorite Italian restaurant in the city. Intimate, nice bar, interesting specials, good value for the price, excellent service, easy parking.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Mia Figlia several times ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We have been to Mia Figlia several times and have never been disappointed. It is a neighborhood place where you will be welcomed by the owner and served authentic food.

The prices of food and wine are reasonable. We have always enjoyed the food and ambiance and will certainly visit again in the near future.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service and value. We keep ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Great food, service and value. We keep coming back for more

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food, great atmosphere, great serv ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Great food, great atmosphere, great service....wonderful experience!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

mia figlia very consistently delivers ex ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 28, 2016

mia figlia very consistently delivers excellent food, and the servers are always well-informed, eager to please, and efficient. we're very fortunate to have a restaurant of this quality in our neighborhood.

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our expectations were moderate - a famil ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Our expectations were moderate - a family restaurant in a non-descript neighborhood. But the food is outstanding. The menu is thoughtful and goes beyond a typical red-sauce Italian joint. We had good bread to start, lovely and generous salads with very good dressing, and excellent salmon and chicken dishes with carefully selected accompaniments. Our waiter was outstanding. We'll definitely come back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Mia Figlia is always a great experience ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Mia Figlia is always a great experience - from the delicious selections to good customer service to the tender care chef and owner, John Boudouvas, puts into every dish. Mia Figlia is one of my favorite restaurants in the city and serves some of the best Italian food I've ever had!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a good experience. Specials alwa ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Always a good experience. Specials always offer something interesting and delicious. Service friendly and efficient. Food sauces are wonderful.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome atmosphere, delicious food and ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Awesome atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great little place in a relatively quiet ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Great little place in a relatively quiet part of the area. We have been going in the fall now for about three years. We live about 4 hours away and always plan on trying to squeeze this place in when were in Chicago.

Great chef , fantastic server respected the fact we were in a hurry as traffic had taken away our time to relax and enjoy a nice dinner.

In and out for dinner in 40 minutes was much appreciated.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The restaurant was originally recommende ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The restaurant was originally recommended by a friend who has good taste, so I was confident that it would be wonderful. We've been back several times and have enjoyed really delicious meals. Portions are so generous that we've taken food home at the end of the meal. In fact, we seldom have room left for dessert. The receptionist and servers are helpful and friendly.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Healthy, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mia Figlia is our go-to Italian restaura ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Mia Figlia is our go-to Italian restaurant. The food is great! The owner/chef is personable and helpful. The wine list is somewhat small but perfectly adequate. The service is personable and good. Decor is adequate but not outstanding. The only limitation is that the room is noisy if there are a lot of guests. Bottom line is that this is a great chef-owned neighborhood Italian neighborhood restaurant.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Family Style, Casual, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Owner came by to say hello. Very nice to ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Owner came by to say hello. Very nice touch. My salmon entree was perfect. Good wine selections. I could have done without the bell peppers in the caprese salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Our first time here being in the new nei ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Our first time here being in the new neighborhood. Loved the wine list. The only and I mean only issue is sitting so close to someone. The couple next to us overheard our conversation and decided to chime in. Thankfully no family secrets exposed!

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Power was out for part of the restaurant ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Power was out for part of the restaurant, but with windows wide open it was still lovely. The wait staff remains (upon many occasions, superb). Food did not suffer, and this place remains one of our favorites. How many places can you enjoy table service for an outstanding brunch for a reasonable price! We travel 45 minutes and it's well worth it. Dinner too is wonderful and after three dinners, still think this place is a gem. Just wish we lived closer to Mia Figlia.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is innovative and perfectly don ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 28, 2016

The food is innovative and perfectly done. Would give this five stars but if you are sensitive to noise this may be a problem. Always extremely noisy! Hard to talk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Overall, we were a little disappointed i ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Overall, we were a little disappointed in Mia Figlia. Though the portions of food were

generous, the quality of the food was a little disappointing. The prices were also

excellent, but I said to my wife -- I'd rather pay a little more and have the food taste better.

I had the fried calamari and the chicken parmiagana. My wife had the caprese salad and the

eggplant parmiagana. It wasn't that the food tasted poorly. It just didn't hit the standard that we are used to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Mia Figlia has become one of our "go-to" ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Mia Figlia has become one of our "go-to" favorites. Food and service are always top-notch.

Tags: Good for a Date, Spicy, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we've been going to mia figlia for a lon ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 21, 2016

we've been going to mia figlia for a long time, and the food never disappoints. it's great to have a restaurant like this in the neighborhood. i'd also like to comment that our server, greg, is always extremely accommodating and personable. we had a great time saturday, as did our friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

John is a wonderful chef......the food i ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 19, 2016

John is a wonderful chef......the food is always delicious and looks so beautiful when presented.....it is one of our favorites - and a terrific neighborhood location to meet friends from the city and from the suburbs.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OMG -- Hosting foodie friends from Toron ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 15, 2016

OMG -- Hosting foodie friends from Toronto and they absolutely LOVED every morsel! Food is outstanding - Chef John works wonders! Service was efficient, gracious, helpful but not obtrusive -- bravo John Paul! Just a delight. And a great value!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our server, Biancha, was warm, friendly, ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Our server, Biancha, was warm, friendly, efficient and knowledgeable.

Everyone enjoyed their menu choices. For the four of us, we shared a bottle of wine, two appetizers, two salads, four entrees and one desert. The bill with tax and gratuity was well under $200.00, which we all felt was priced reasonably.

This is a neighborhood gem I would place on my "to go" list.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

reliably great food with excellent servi ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 14, 2016

reliably great food with excellent service and knowledgeable waiters and waitresses- always a pleasure!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place is a wow 5 on the wow scale o ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 13, 2016

This place is a wow 5 on the wow scale of 5. Cozy neighborhood Italian restaurant. Not in Chicago but Skokie of all places. Put it on your list if you are in the area.Food was so authentic! It can get a loud. It's a small place and it was packed! Service was spot on and little slow out of the gate. JD was our server and he was very good made some excellent wine recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We brought the former food editors from ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 11, 2016

We brought the former food editors from Chicago Magazine. They were highly impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous neighborhood restaurant...owner ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Fabulous neighborhood restaurant...owner is onsite keeping an eye on excellent food and service. Wonderful Sunday brunch!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Had a wonderful meal there, great servic ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Had a wonderful meal there, great service, will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

everything was wonderful. great waitres ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 27, 2016

everything was wonderful. great waitress, delicious and innovative food beautifully plated, yummy dessert. the chef/owner is a really charming and friendly man who greeted us as wwe were leaving.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch was delicious. Lemon ricotta pan ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Brunch was delicious. Lemon ricotta pancakes, spinach frtta, an egg in the holes that was realy tasty (on brioche)

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.