About Mia Figlia

5304 W Devon Ave
Chicago, IL 60646
View Larger Map

Mia Figlia is committed to hospitality with our knowledgeable staff. We aim to create delicious Italian food to share with your family and friends, making diners feel right at home. We offer traditional and contemporary classic dishes such as Lasagna Bolognese, Veal Osso Bucco and fresh hand made whole wheat pasta. Our weekly specials are seasonally product driven based on the availability of the market. We look forward to serving you soon.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 792-8300

Website:
http://www.miafigliarestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
John Boudouvas

Mia Figlia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Chicago / Illinois
Neighborhood Gem
Chicago
Best Restaurants in Edgebrook ›

Neighborhood Gem (54)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Special Occasion (25)
See All
Good for Groups (21)
Kid-friendly (19)
Great for Brunch (16)
Romantic (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Authentic (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Casual (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Healthy (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Family Style (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Cozy (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Business Meals (2)
Seasonal (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
Newest
216 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

mia figlia very consistently delivers ex ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

mia figlia very consistently delivers excellent food, and the servers are always well-informed, eager to please, and efficient. we're very fortunate to have a restaurant of this quality in our neighborhood.

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our expectations were moderate - a famil ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

Our expectations were moderate - a family restaurant in a non-descript neighborhood. But the food is outstanding. The menu is thoughtful and goes beyond a typical red-sauce Italian joint. We had good bread to start, lovely and generous salads with very good dressing, and excellent salmon and chicken dishes with carefully selected accompaniments. Our waiter was outstanding. We'll definitely come back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Mia Figlia is always a great experience ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

Mia Figlia is always a great experience - from the delicious selections to good customer service to the tender care chef and owner, John Boudouvas, puts into every dish. Mia Figlia is one of my favorite restaurants in the city and serves some of the best Italian food I've ever had!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a good experience. Specials alwa ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

Always a good experience. Specials always offer something interesting and delicious. Service friendly and efficient. Food sauces are wonderful.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome atmosphere, delicious food and ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

Awesome atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great little place in a relatively quiet ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Great little place in a relatively quiet part of the area. We have been going in the fall now for about three years. We live about 4 hours away and always plan on trying to squeeze this place in when were in Chicago.

Great chef , fantastic server respected the fact we were in a hurry as traffic had taken away our time to relax and enjoy a nice dinner.

In and out for dinner in 40 minutes was much appreciated.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The restaurant was originally recommende ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The restaurant was originally recommended by a friend who has good taste, so I was confident that it would be wonderful. We've been back several times and have enjoyed really delicious meals. Portions are so generous that we've taken food home at the end of the meal. In fact, we seldom have room left for dessert. The receptionist and servers are helpful and friendly.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Healthy, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mia Figlia is our go-to Italian restaura ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Mia Figlia is our go-to Italian restaurant. The food is great! The owner/chef is personable and helpful. The wine list is somewhat small but perfectly adequate. The service is personable and good. Decor is adequate but not outstanding. The only limitation is that the room is noisy if there are a lot of guests. Bottom line is that this is a great chef-owned neighborhood Italian neighborhood restaurant.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Family Style, Casual, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Owner came by to say hello. Very nice to ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Owner came by to say hello. Very nice touch. My salmon entree was perfect. Good wine selections. I could have done without the bell peppers in the caprese salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Our first time here being in the new nei ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Our first time here being in the new neighborhood. Loved the wine list. The only and I mean only issue is sitting so close to someone. The couple next to us overheard our conversation and decided to chime in. Thankfully no family secrets exposed!

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Power was out for part of the restaurant ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Power was out for part of the restaurant, but with windows wide open it was still lovely. The wait staff remains (upon many occasions, superb). Food did not suffer, and this place remains one of our favorites. How many places can you enjoy table service for an outstanding brunch for a reasonable price! We travel 45 minutes and it's well worth it. Dinner too is wonderful and after three dinners, still think this place is a gem. Just wish we lived closer to Mia Figlia.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is innovative and perfectly don ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The food is innovative and perfectly done. Would give this five stars but if you are sensitive to noise this may be a problem. Always extremely noisy! Hard to talk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Overall, we were a little disappointed i ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Overall, we were a little disappointed in Mia Figlia. Though the portions of food were

generous, the quality of the food was a little disappointing. The prices were also

excellent, but I said to my wife -- I'd rather pay a little more and have the food taste better.

I had the fried calamari and the chicken parmiagana. My wife had the caprese salad and the

eggplant parmiagana. It wasn't that the food tasted poorly. It just didn't hit the standard that we are used to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Mia Figlia has become one of our "go-to" ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Mia Figlia has become one of our "go-to" favorites. Food and service are always top-notch.

Tags: Good for a Date, Spicy, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we've been going to mia figlia for a lon ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

we've been going to mia figlia for a long time, and the food never disappoints. it's great to have a restaurant like this in the neighborhood. i'd also like to comment that our server, greg, is always extremely accommodating and personable. we had a great time saturday, as did our friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

John is a wonderful chef......the food i ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

John is a wonderful chef......the food is always delicious and looks so beautiful when presented.....it is one of our favorites - and a terrific neighborhood location to meet friends from the city and from the suburbs.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OMG -- Hosting foodie friends from Toron ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

OMG -- Hosting foodie friends from Toronto and they absolutely LOVED every morsel! Food is outstanding - Chef John works wonders! Service was efficient, gracious, helpful but not obtrusive -- bravo John Paul! Just a delight. And a great value!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our server, Biancha, was warm, friendly, ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Our server, Biancha, was warm, friendly, efficient and knowledgeable.

Everyone enjoyed their menu choices. For the four of us, we shared a bottle of wine, two appetizers, two salads, four entrees and one desert. The bill with tax and gratuity was well under $200.00, which we all felt was priced reasonably.

This is a neighborhood gem I would place on my "to go" list.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

reliably great food with excellent servi ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

reliably great food with excellent service and knowledgeable waiters and waitresses- always a pleasure!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place is a wow 5 on the wow scale o ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This place is a wow 5 on the wow scale of 5. Cozy neighborhood Italian restaurant. Not in Chicago but Skokie of all places. Put it on your list if you are in the area.Food was so authentic! It can get a loud. It's a small place and it was packed! Service was spot on and little slow out of the gate. JD was our server and he was very good made some excellent wine recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We brought the former food editors from ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We brought the former food editors from Chicago Magazine. They were highly impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous neighborhood restaurant...owner ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Fabulous neighborhood restaurant...owner is onsite keeping an eye on excellent food and service. Wonderful Sunday brunch!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Had a wonderful meal there, great servic ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Had a wonderful meal there, great service, will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

everything was wonderful. great waitres ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

everything was wonderful. great waitress, delicious and innovative food beautifully plated, yummy dessert. the chef/owner is a really charming and friendly man who greeted us as wwe were leaving.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch was delicious. Lemon ricotta pan ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Brunch was delicious. Lemon ricotta pancakes, spinach frtta, an egg in the holes that was realy tasty (on brioche)

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service. Would not ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Outstanding food and service. Would not hesitate to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The servers are either hovering over you ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The servers are either hovering over you or no where to be found. The lasagna is good but I've had better. Nothing special there. The chicken cacciatore was very good but too salty. The chicken Parmesan tasted off. There was something sour tasting in it. Not the chicken but the breading. When mention was made of this to the OWNER, he became defensive. No apology, no offer to comp, no offer to get something else, nothing but attitude. For being the owner, I would have thought he would have been a little nicer. Not a good way to get repeat customers if you ask me. We will NOT be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Excellent Italian food, wine & service. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Excellent Italian food, wine & service. Can't be beat for the price!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our dinner's were outstanding! My husban ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Our dinner's were outstanding! My husband love his polenta and sausage and mushroom appetizer. I dislike polenta but tasted his and wanted to steal it away -- it was delicious! I ordered a pasta dish with artichokes, rapini et al and it was wonderful, the pasta was perfectly al dente, not under, not overcooked and the sauce was tasty and jam-packed with the things I love! The portions are generous (you also get lunch tomorrow) and we were so full, we ordered a lemon tart to go and later that evening we shared that exquisitely lemony tart! Yum.

Our waiter, Greg, was fun and very knowledgeable. John, the owner/chef came out to greet us and we had a lively and interesting 10 minute conversation. I highly recommend this wonderful Italian restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our go-tos! We recommend this pl ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

One of our go-tos! We recommend this place to everyone and take friends there often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Once again we had a lovely, relaxing and ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Once again we had a lovely, relaxing and delicious meal at Mia Figlia.

We love that chef/owner John always has interesting and delicious special, seasonal dishes. He has been visiting the Edgebrook Neighborhood Farmers Market -on Saturday mornings (6525 N Hiawatha, just a block or so from his restaurant - I know because I have seen himshopping there - tshecking out the farm fresh finds at the Market to use for his culinary creations.

The special salad we had on this visit, with fresh figs, the seasonal peach & blackberry crisp, the asperigi (asperagus salad), and more were especially memorable. Try their grilled calamari. Yes, they also have it fried, but the grilled was amazing. I could go on about our wonderful entrees also. You just have to go for yourselves and try it.

A real neighborhood gem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, wine, service & prices. The ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great food, wine, service & prices. The room is nice but not outstanding. Regardless, this is our go-to Italian restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We all had a different enter and each wa ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We all had a different enter and each was fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

everything was perfect for a two couple ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

everything was perfect for a two couple get- together. the food was delicious. the waiter

was great and took the time to make sure my dinner had no cheese, milk, etc.

the only change i would make to the entire evening was that we were sitting a little too

close to the tables on either side of us. i might choose a table for four that is at an angle

in the back. bon appitite! BARBARAN

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the second time we'd eaten at M ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This was the second time we'd eaten at Mia Figlia and we were very pleased, to say the least. The only complaint we had was that the children in a family, seated near us at the big round table, were very noisy. We'd have stayed for dessert and coffee, but the kids were annoying. We simply did dessert somewhere else.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service. Very friendly server. S ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great service. Very friendly server. She gave us the perfect amount of time between apps and the main meal. Good was fresh, hot and very good!! Dessert was also great ( a hot fruit crumble). Been there 3 times and have not been disappointed !

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything I've ever eaten there is deli ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Everything I've ever eaten there is delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time at Mia Figlia. We were greet ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

First time at Mia Figlia. We were greeted by our waiter promptly but were not given a lot of time to look the menu over before he asked for appetizer and wine orders. But that's ok. Water needed to be refilled more often, ended up grabbing the pitcher ourselves and leaving it on the table. Food was fantastic. Most of the table got pasta as it is made in-house. Gnocchi were pillowy soft. The whole wheat pasta with roasted veggies was hearty and filling. Eggplant Parm was fine, not greasy like most places. We were too full for dessert but the menu looked good. We will definitely be returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My friends and I love Mia Figlia and our ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

My friends and I love Mia Figlia and our favorite waiter Greg. The food is always delicious and Greg knows the menu very well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We all ordered from the specials menu an ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We all ordered from the specials menu and enjoyed it immensely. Sometimes there entrees include almost too many ingredients and the flavors get lost. This was not the case with the gnocchi and the skate wing; both delicious. The service is always attentive and the atmosphere is a little nicer yet comfortable and great for conversation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.