About Mia Figlia

5304 W Devon Ave
Chicago, IL 60646
View Larger Map

Mia Figlia is committed to hospitality with our knowledgeable staff. We aim to create delicious Italian food to share with your family and friends, making diners feel right at home. We offer traditional and contemporary classic dishes such as Lasagna Bolognese, Veal Osso Bucco and fresh hand made whole wheat pasta. Our weekly specials are seasonally product driven based on the availability of the market. We look forward to serving you soon.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 792-8300

Website:
http://www.miafigliarestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
John Boudouvas

Mia Figlia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (25)
Special Occasion (22)
Creative Cuisine (18)
See All
Good for a Date (17)
Authentic (17)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Casual (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Bar Seating (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Kid-friendly (9)
Outstanding Value (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Romantic (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Cozy (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Family Style (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Healthy (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Fun (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Business Meals (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Happy Hour (1)
People Watching (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Seasonal (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Music (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
265 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Nice place to go for brunch but we have been there for dinner too and really enjoy this place. Our friends were in from New Mexico and the chef made him a dish that wasn't on the menu and he was very pleased at how the dish was made. They chef came out and was very friendly. Nice little neighborhood place.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We have been here many times over the past few years and it never disappoints. Great atmosphere and phenomenal food ... which keeps us coming back time and again. Keep up the great work Chef John!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Disabled Access, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Live Music, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent hand crafted Italian cuisine wrapped with a grandmother's hug. Quaint and intimate atmosphere that is perfect for a date night. The definition of a neighborhood gem. Please keep it a secret lol.

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Casual, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went to this quaint Italian restaurant for Valentines Day 2017 and experienced nothing but welconeness from the moment we walked in. Let alone the food being excellent, the service and the friendliness of the staff shot up the overall experience. Definitely a hidden gem! Did I say the food was exceptional!?

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Family Style, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Simple yet elegant neighborhood restaurant. Food was outstanding. Although the pasta plates are not "family style," the portions are large enough to share.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Excellent cuisine. Neighborhood gem for sure! Ambiance was very cozy and welcoming. Nice bar for before or after dining.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I me reservations on OpenTable mentioning we were celebrating two birthdays, but apparently that was not passed on to the restaurant. We left and didn't realize we didn't get to sing happy birthday until then.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

My husband and I wanted to Celebrating our sons engagement and Mia Figlia was the perfect place!! Food and service was exceptional!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We had a wonderful meal and our waiter's recommendations were great including the wine selection.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food was ok, the service was good, but I couldn't get past all the flies on the wall behind my sons head. Yuck. We have come here several times because it is close to home, but I won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Introduced friends to Mia Figlia for first time. Hubby is a food aficionado-to-snob. He LOVED it! Love the servers, the service, the wine list, the prices. It's easy to linger longer than anticipated and drink more than necessary! It's so welcoming and positive. Shout outs to waitstaff Evelyn & JD - they never disappoint!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We went for Sunday brunch to celebrate my husband's birthday with the family. The brunch menu is not your ordinary breakfast food. It is prepared with a creative Italian twist. We all loved our meals! In fact, we had been there once before for brunch and enjoyed it so much that we chose to return to this friendly place on the Northwest side of the city even though we live north of Barrington. Love it and will surely return again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Excellent food, great pastas and wide variety of great dishes. Owner and chef actually comes out, thanks you for coming and checks on your meal satisfaction. Great place and i highly recommend.

William Donahue II

Chicago, Illinois

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Our dining experience was very, very Disappointing.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great spot for a special occasion, their Sunday brunch has a great mix of sweet & savory options: the lemon ricotta pancakes are crazy delicious

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

as always the brunch was great. their breakfast pizza is phenomenal. the special was very good. while we were there the chef /owner, john was experimenting with a new dish, a nutella and strawbery pizza...yum. always a pleasure to dine there.

Tags: Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Always really great food and creative menu

One of our favorite places in Chicago

Everyone we have ever sent raves about it

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Very disappointed. Our 10 year old ordered spaghetti and meatballs. When our food arrived he did not like the spaghetti. I tasted his dish and found out that it was linguine so I told the waitress the order was wrong. She said "we don't have spaghetti. Linguine is our spaghetti. " I wonder why that pasta has two different names.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Always a great meal at Mia Figlia. Super salads and apps, with good vegetarian options. Love that Edgebrook has this hidden gem!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

So my husband and I were here Dec 31st. First of all the food is 5 stars for sure! But we were seated by the front windows which was very very drafty and cold! The owner must know this is an issue because he has a space heater there, he needs to spend a little money to replace the windows. Also the tables for 2 are so close to each other by the windows they might as well make a big community table because you are inches apart. The server was okay. It was busy but he could of introduced himself and told us the specials instead of handing us a mini menu with them on it. The price is great for the quality of the food. We got 1 glass of wine, soda, lasagna, crab gnocchi specials(fantastic), coffee and 2 deserts, $70. Which I didn't think was horrible. If you go in the winter just ask not to be seated by the windows, which is what I will do next time. Oh 1 last thing definitely make reservatio

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was delicious. I would absolutely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The service was great. We had a table of 7 and the waiter gave great recommendations. The salmon was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food was delicious. Owner very hands on and professional. Staff well trained and went out of way to make our dinner enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Always great food. We missed having our regular waiter. Food excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Good neighborhood Italian fare. My wife enjoyed her sea bass special, and my lasagna was very good and very large.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The meal was very good, but not as good as advertised. Good food but the service was a bit over the top.

Tags: Business Meals, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We were planning a get together with former neighbors and had a most extraordinarily wonderful meal (and will return). Alas, our original group of 7 turned out to just be 4. that being said, it was a blessing as the place was jammed. it was the edgebrook chamber of commerce holiday gathering. they took over the front area and, actually, totally jammed the entrance and passage to the dining room. they were also very loud. there were also a few other large parties going on, everyone filled with holiday exhuberance and the 1/2 price wine (we didn't realize that was a draw on tuesdays). HOWEVER, we shall return (NOT on a tuesday necessarily) - and bring more and more people, time and time again. the food and service were outstanding! prices also very reasonable. surely, the 1/2-price wine was very appreciated by all!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 21, 2016

As usual the food was great. It was nice to have half price bottles of wine on Tuesday. The only reason it did not get a better review was because of seating. We had reservations for 3 at 6:45 made on line. When we got to the restaurant there was a party going on in the bar area which includes three tables. We asked to sit in the other part of the restaurant but was told no. Then the hostess tried to seat us at the middle table - which was smack in the middle of this party. I asked for the third table - which was further from the party and she seem reluctant. I said we would leave otherwise and then she sat us there. If I make reservations I don't plan on sharing my evening with a party! Maybe close the section next time or use it for walk ins.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We've been back several times, each time with different people. Everyone we've brought to the restaurant has been pleased with all the offerings.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Everyone was very friendly. The owner introduced himself to us and the food was excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 28, 2016

We have never had a meal here that disappointed us. The food is good, the portions are more than adequate and service is good. Edgebrook is lucky to have this little gem in its downtown area.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 23, 2016

What a hidden gem ... I first enjoyed a b'day brunch - with a small and fabulous menu with something for everyone (b'fast pizzas to egg dishes to french toast/brioche) and no "breads" really - instead of eggs benedict/florentine served on english muffins, it was on a veggie hash that was superior (potatoes and veggies). you won't miss the bread. Returned on a weeknight for dinner and OMG, it was outstanding. Grilled calamari was wonderfully presented, perfectly cooked, 1/2 lemon and a nice little bit of side salad. Focaccia bread on table with oil & freshly grated parm put onto each diner's bread plate were a nice touch. Had daily fish special of trout on a bed of cannelloni beans with artichoke, caper, pepper sauce. Dining companion had Caesar salad and a parm-encrusted pork loin and a MASSIVE bowl of chocolate gelato. She gave me the biscotti and it was, seriously, "to die for". Bar is well stocked, wine list very satisfying. And prices are SO reasonable. While a bit out of the way, it's so worth the trip! We'll be back!

Tags: Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 9, 2016

I love this place. Their lasagna con carne, pana cotta, and gelato are the best. I visited with a group of 13 people from Phoenix and we loved it. Will go back again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I ordered the saltimbocca and I literally could not get my very large steak knife thru it. It came in 3 medallions. Once could not be cut at all. Once could be cut but it was all gristle and couldn't be eaten. One I choked down because we had plans to see a show and couldn't wait around for a new meal. All they offered to do was comp my drink. I said, "that's a little weak don't you think." Waiter took it away and came back after speaking with the chef and said they would comp 1/2 the meal instead. Of course this was less than the free drink. I didn't have time to fight them on it and I was with friends so I paid and left. This isn't about the bad meat. That happens. This is about the cheap-a__ way they attempted to make it right. The whole meal should have been comped. Plenty of other Italian restaurants in the area. Go there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 30, 2016

A group of us went for a mini HS Reunion. The food was excellent, the service was outstanding, the atmosphere was perfect. All except one of the entrees were good, the appetizers were great. One entree had a bit to much garlic for him. The owner did offer to make him one with less garlic, but he said he ate some of it and he was full. They were very accommodating to us. We stayed and talked almost to closing. Great friendly place for an Italian meal in the Edgebrook neighborhood of Chicago.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This restaurant is in a great neighborhood in Edgebrook, and is easy to get to and easy parking. The decor is fresh and new, and the front opens up for al fresco dining when the weather is nice. The food was delicious, and the wait staff was excellent. They have great specials which we all ordered.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Healthy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Excellent specials! Had a seafood stew that was very nice.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Always delicious with an attentive staff. I love to try different dishes. Wine is always good too

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Ridiculously noisy. Long wait for food. Wait for table even with reservation.

Caesar salad terrible

Bread below average

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Not impressed. Food was pricey for what you got. Waiter didn't know that much about the menu and the bread was a little different - possible made with corn meal. No extras came with the pasta. Many other Italian options out their for authentic Italian comfort food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 16, 2016

WONDERFUL AS ALWAYS

THIS IS OUR GO TO PLACE IN THE NEIGHBORHOOD. THE SERVICE IS GREAT AND THE FOOD IS BETTER

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Loved the eggplant parmigiana -- one of the best I've ever had! The service was great and the chef/owner was so gracious. We will definitely return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

My favorite Italian restaurant in the city. Intimate, nice bar, interesting specials, good value for the price, excellent service, easy parking.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We have been to Mia Figlia several times and have never been disappointed. It is a neighborhood place where you will be welcomed by the owner and served authentic food.

The prices of food and wine are reasonable. We have always enjoyed the food and ambiance and will certainly visit again in the near future.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Great food, service and value. We keep coming back for more

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Great food, great atmosphere, great service....wonderful experience!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 28, 2016

mia figlia very consistently delivers excellent food, and the servers are always well-informed, eager to please, and efficient. we're very fortunate to have a restaurant of this quality in our neighborhood.

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Our expectations were moderate - a family restaurant in a non-descript neighborhood. But the food is outstanding. The menu is thoughtful and goes beyond a typical red-sauce Italian joint. We had good bread to start, lovely and generous salads with very good dressing, and excellent salmon and chicken dishes with carefully selected accompaniments. Our waiter was outstanding. We'll definitely come back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Mia Figlia is always a great experience - from the delicious selections to good customer service to the tender care chef and owner, John Boudouvas, puts into every dish. Mia Figlia is one of my favorite restaurants in the city and serves some of the best Italian food I've ever had!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Always a good experience. Specials always offer something interesting and delicious. Service friendly and efficient. Food sauces are wonderful.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.