Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 2 times today

Mi Cocina Tulsa

4.3
65 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Mexican
Top Tags:
  • Tapas
  • Authentic
  • Casual
Welcome to Mi Cocina where everything we offer is hand-crafted and made fresh daily using authentic Mexican cooking techniques and the finest ingredients available. From our famous homemade salsa, to our mouthwatering hand-dipped enchiladas, you can taste the freshness and quality in every bite. Relax in our comfortable stylish surroundings with one of our legendary Mambo Taxis® served by our family of warm friendly and professional staff. Its our honor to serve you.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Mexican, Traditional Mexican, Mexican / Southwestern
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Lunch: Monday- Friday- 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(918) 599-8009
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Adam Peterson
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Just East of 15th & Peoria
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 65 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.1
service
4.2
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
75% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Our waitress was exceptional! Our table consisted of 5 dear friends who really like to visit! She was so patient with the group, and even took our picture. We were surprised by a complimentary, delicious dessert for our birthday celebration

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Good food but sometimes the wait is long

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Loud volume restaurant.
Everything else very good.
Margaritas are excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 27, 2018

The food was great as always! I love the brisket tacos. Our server was excellent!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Something has changed...either overall or just on weekends. We were greeted by a smarmy host who after I told him we had an OpenTable reservation for 6, interrupted me quickly to tell me that they don't take reservations on weekends. I had to ask him again to simply make sure I would get my OT credit and he made it seem to be a bother.
I asked the waitress if they still had their spicier salsa and instead of a yes or no, her answer was immediately, "Well there will be an uncharge". We had six at our table and only 5 of us were served simultaneously. The 6th member of of our group had to wait an inordinately long time for his dish to arrive (just tilapia) and with it came no sense of urgency or apology.
Really disappointing for a place we've enjoyed so much before.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 3, 2018

We enjoy the atmosphere and the great mexican food. The margaritas and mambo are wonderful. The waiters and waitresses and exceptional!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 28, 2018

Mi cocina said they don't accept open table reservations on wee

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 31, 2017

They overbooked the night, apparently taking reservations on paper without regard to opentable reservations, and wouldn’t even confirm that I even had a reservation because the iPad was not charged and the hostess wouldn’t check it. She didn’t seem to care if we got a table, thought it was very funny and couldn’t stop laughing. She said they would call me on my phone when our table was ready in about 45 minutes to an hour. She never called and we never got a table. I usually like this restaurant but they poorly managed this night and the hostess was very unprofessional.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Had reservations at 8 PM but wasn't seated until roughly 9:30 PM. Massive group of people in similar situation. Was treated poorly by staff when asking about the status of our table. Near the end of dinner, they turned the lights out on us and instructed everyone to leave, despite no prior warning. Food was satisfactory, as always, but the experience in general was poor to say the least. Previously one of our favorite spots -- including where we had our first date -- but won't be going back.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Be prepared next time....come on ...New Years??

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 31, 2017

I made a reservation at Mi Cocina for 6:30 on New Years Eve through OpenTable. When I arrive to Mi Cocina at 6:20 I’m not greeted well and when I inform the three hosts of my reservation they look at each other concerned. They confirm they see my reservation in their system but tell me that they have seated people and the restaurant is currently full. I’m told we could have a 30 minute wait and then told it might be 10 minutes. During our wait we decide to grab a drink at the bar. We walk into the bar area and stand against the bar in a very obvious spot and wait. We are not greeted by any bartenders and we’re not asked for our drink order for 10 minutes. As a result we decide to walk back up to the host stand to see if the 10 minute wait is expired. The wait has not expired and now more parties have walked in stating they have reservations and been informed that the restaurant is full. This not only makes the restaurant full but the waiting area is now full of people with reservations. Seems backwards. If Mi Cocina isn’t going to honor the OpenTable reservations that are made then they should NOT use the app and OpenTable shouldn’t allow them to. This experience ended with us leaving Mi Cocina to eat elsewhere because of how pitiful the service was.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Service was amazing!!! Food was great!!! Always a wonderful experience!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 29, 2017

When I arrived, on time for me reservation with Open Table, they didn’t have my reservation. She asked me for it and showed her my confirmation and she said it would be a little while. I told her to cancel and we went to the bar where there was available seating.
The food is always delicious but it was extremely noisy throughout the entire restaurant.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on November 21, 2017

We arrived for our reservation and the host told us they do not accept reservations. We were given a very small serving of chips when we were seated. A bowl of queso was ordered and delivered and we received no additional chips until after dinner was over, even after requesting them many times (including asking a manager). Drinks were empty and not refilled until after dinner was complete. The enchiladas were burned and crispy.
The waitress was finally attentive when she delivered the credit card after payment.
This used to be a favorite place of ours for Mexican food and this experience was not good at all.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 1, 2017

We went there for a team dinner. The food was great. Our party had 20 people and the service was a little slow but everything came out of the kitchen right the 1st time. We would go back again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 17, 2017

Mi Cocina is always fun. Our waitress was excellent, food was ok.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 8, 2017

Great place

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 25, 2017

Good atmosphere and our waiter was outstanding. Food superb and margaritas great.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 10, 2017

Pretty facility in fun area of Tulsa but as for the food Tulsa has many other Tex-Mex places that are tastier authentic options.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on July 6, 2017

We were seated at a table with spilled food underneath, and the chair was very sticky. I immediately had to stand up and trade the chair for one at another table, and I will now be dry cleaning my pants. I was with children, whose behavior and manners were impeccable, yet I felt that we were treated quite differently last night. It was quite odd, since we commonly frequent very nice restaurants without any problems. The waiter was rude, and with so many wonderful choices in our town we will certainly not plan to be back. (this is the first time I have ever given a poor recommendation on OpenTable)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 5, 2017

Our server was so amazing!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 17, 2017

My family and I enjoyed this restaurant. We went for brunch to celebrate Father's Day a day early. The food was great, and they had kid-friendly options. Will definitely visit again!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 11, 2017

When we arrived they said they didn't have our reservation so they scrambled to get some tables together. It took forever to get drinks and food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 21, 2017

My enchiladas came out very dry (like over cooked or sat way to long)but our server was quick to rectify the situation. I never return food but this was not edible. Once they brought the food out it was great.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 21, 2017

We love Mi Cocina so I hate to leave a bad review but our experience upon arrival there was reprehensible and basically ruined the meal. We had a reservation for brunch. When we arrived there was no hostess in sight but we could see our table was set up (we were a party of 8 and the restaurant was 75% empty so it was fairly obvious). We waited for a hostess, who came and seated the couple ahead of us and disappeared again. After a few minutes she appeared and we let her know we had a reservation. She fumbled around and said she wasn't sure she could seat us. A waitress who was behind us interrupted our conversation and told the waitress "DO NOT SEAT THEM!" Then turned to us and said very curtly "We don't have enough waiters here and we haven't taken care of them so you need to just sit down and wait. It could be 10-15 minutes and we cannot help you right now." We told the waitress we made a reservation and she responded rudely "it doesn't matter. We don't have enough waiters so you are going to have to just sit down and wait."

We asked for a manager who was apologetic and we had a wonderful server but honestly the whole experience was ruined. We would've left but we had my daughters recital and were short on time. And it was my birthday celebration with my parents who had come in town to celebrate both so we didn't really want to settle for drive thru. The manager comp-ed our guacamole which was nice but it felt like a giveaway. I want to say we will be back but we may not go to the Tulsa location. I would like to think when a customer has an experience like that the management would initiate doing something for her customers as an apology, not comp-ing a food item we ordered and expected to pay for. Something like "here is some queso, guacamole (or whatever) as an apology for the way my server spoke to you" that they initiated rather than something that was an afterthought. I don't feel like the apology and effort to recover the incident were equal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2017

Love this place. Super casual, but great atmosphere and food. Their Mambo Taxi is their most popular drink...for good reason!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2017

We had 18 in our group for Mother's Day. Our server was fantastic--she never lost her cool, remembered all requests, fulfilled those requests in a timely manner, and was knowledgeable and friendly. It was rather noisy, so we had to get up from the table to stand next to others in our party to visit. That's my only complaint. It's like everything is magnified inside--the conversations in the restaurant, the clatter of dishes in the kitchen, etc. I think we would return with a smaller group and not for a special occasion when it's crowded. The food was delicious though, prompt, hot, satisfying.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 5, 2017

Nice location to meet for business, midway between downtown Tulsa and Broken Arrow w/o going on 71st (restaurant row). Parking is a problem, more like a nightmare! But, that's the only downfall we experienced.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2017

Great time

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 6, 2017

Great, consistent food. Nice atmosphere and good patio, if the weather allows.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 19, 2017

It was a great night with family that was added to by the awesome table they sat us at in the back. A round table with a large lazy susan! It was perfect for our family...the drinks, food and atmosphere didn't hurt either.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 19, 2016

Wait staff was very attentive to our needs. Food was excellent

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 11, 2016

Tulsa is finally catching up with the 2000's. Run, don't walk, to this incredibly trendy and high-class Tex Mex restaurant. You will not be sorry!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on October 30, 2016

I have never provided a poor review in 5 yrs and over 50000 collective points earn!!! Mi Cocina flavors are consistent from Dallas to Tulsa. The Service is a different matter. Food took forever to arrive to table. when it did it was just barely above room temperature. I picked the hot plate the Fajitas up bare-handed not so much as a tingle of a burn. Server when I inquired said they cannot deliver sizzling hot plates anymore...seemed annoyed when I informed her well at the very least it could be HOT!!! Sisters shrimp 2 were not cleaned properly we keeping peace just left after server never returned to refill water, alcohol beverages when we asked for a Togo box for my cold Fajitas the Mgr even seemed annoyed by the servers poor service...Goto Abuelos or Bravos if you just must have Mexican Cuisine!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 26, 2016

Very good food and service. Nice to sit outside.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 14, 2016

Do not like the way they have cut off the bar area, maybe if I had never seen it before it wouldn't be that bad. Just felt it was very disconnected.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 9, 2016

We went at 5 pm on a Saturday, which is great if you like low traffic. My husband had the bacon wrapped shrimp and really enjoyed it. Kid friendly at the earlier time we dined.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2016

Went with waiter suggestion

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 28, 2016

The food, service, and atmosphere was very good. I first tried Mi Cocina in Ft Worth, and have been to Tulsa twice. Consistently good experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 21, 2016

This is our second time dining there and the food was unbelievably good. We brought family with us to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary and they all loved it as well. Can't wait to go back!

Report
Helpful
1
2