About Mi Cocina The Woodlands

1201 Lake Woodlands Drive
Ste 304
The Woodlands, TX 77380
View Larger Map

Welcome to Mi Cocina where everything we offer is hand-crafted and made fresh daily using authentic Mexican cooking techniques and the fines ingredients available. From our famous homemade salsa, to our mouthwatering hand-dipped enchiladas, you can taste the freshness and quality in every bite. Relax in our comfortable stylish surroundings with one of our legendary Mambo Taxis® served by our family of warm friendly and professional staff. Its our honor to serve you.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican / Southwestern

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm -9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm -10:00pm

Cross Street:
Mall Ring Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(281) 298-6426

Website:
http://www.micocinarestaurants.com/

Executive Chef:
Maria Pliego

Additional:
Bar Dining, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access

Mi Cocina The Woodlands Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.7

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
See All
Kid-friendly (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Romantic (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Scenic View (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
Newest
55 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Reservation for 9. We arrived on time, w ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Reservation for 9. We arrived on time, with an elderly person who has difficulty standing. Told table will be ready soon. Tons of empty tables, place only maybe one forth full, still had to wait to 'get table ready. No where for my mother to sit, so we had to wait at an empty table. Then the hostess announced oh it's ready. Food sub par considering how much competition there is for Mexican good. Waiter was pleasant, but unable to answer some basic questions like "do you have the green salsa like all other Mexican restaurants have?" Chimichanga was dry and had no spices and flavorless. No sauce, asked for it, and they brought Queso. That's not sauce it's cheese. So basically I will never be back.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Great food, never disappoints! Service ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great food, never disappoints! Service was outstanding as well!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. Will definitely ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great food and service. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mi Cocina is our "go to" place for Mexic ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Mi Cocina is our "go to" place for Mexican food. They use the freshest ingredients and the food is delicious.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and great value. Guacam ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent food and great value. Guacamole, white queso, and ritas were outstanding.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

The food was not what we expected. Our h ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The food was not what we expected. Our hopes were high after eating in Dallas but the food overall was bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Mothers Day Disaster

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Let me just start by saying that this is not my first time eating here. The first my service was great and my food was outstanding. I brought my family here for mothers day and I'll probably never go back again. To start, my waiter was awful. Hopefully new, but overall awful. He never brought drinks, it always took 30 mimutes or more, he messed up three of our orders, but at this point we were there so long we didnt want to tell him because it would take even longer to get a new meal. The food was terrible. Everything was luke warm or cold, my gf's quesdillas were dry and salty, my sister ordered two soft tacos (shes 8) and received two plates each with one hard taco and beans and sour cream on them. We were there almost 3 hours and not by choice! There were maybe five other couples there, yet service was incredibly slow. We ordered a queso and it wasnt very good so we asked if we could order the queso blanco instead. The waiter brought it out and it was cold within minutes! It practically looked like cream cheese! No exaggeration at all. We asked if he could heat it up and was told no. To make matters worse, the bill was also wrong. Two meals were from the kids meal, but were wrung up as regular meals. It was a nightmare and i will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

Officially our favorite spot!!!!! Love i ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Officially our favorite spot!!!!! Love it. Love the food, the service, the ambiance. We love it!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food at Mi Cocina is always deliciou ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

The food at Mi Cocina is always delicious! They make us feel like family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Terrible service

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Love this chain, but the Woodlands location has consistently under-impressed with terrible service. Our table asked for water multiple times, starting with when we placed cocktail orders and then again throughout the meal. We eventually received one glass of water...for a table of four people.

I gave service one star above because giving zero stars wasn't an option. I'm usually pretty forgiving if the server has a lot of tables and is clearly busting it, but there were only two or three other tables seated and there were several waitstaff members sitting around at the back of the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Just too loud, too many Mexican places t ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Just too loud, too many Mexican places to go to and not yell to communicate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Marcel was our waiter and he was amazing!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

I have heard so much about this restaurant throughout friends and my boyfriend loves Mexican food so his birthday dinner was perfect timing. Every guest we brought loved everything about the place. Thank you so much for your wonderful services to make his dinner with family and friends so special !!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A restaurant we definitely would return to

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 7, 2016

Good value for the quality of food served during lunch special . Friendly and attentive staff.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly Staff - Cooperative

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on December 24, 2015

I asked for a special booth due to this was a Match.com date and the staff made sure I was happy with the location of the booth. They walked me around the restaurant to get different feels for the other tables, but all in all I stayed with what they suggested. The service was great and food also.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great brisket tacos.

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on November 25, 2015

The food at mi Cocina is great, high quality Mexican food. The brisket tacos are a standout!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not impressed

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

We had a group family lunch with kids.

Location is fantastic.

Service not great... Just fair.

Food not great for the price.

I can find many other tex mex restaurants in the area with better prices and food taste.

You will pay location.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Brisket tacos are outstanding

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

We greatly enjoyed our visit to Mi Cocina and is now our go-to Mexican restaurant in The Woodlands. The dishes are at a different level than run of the mill Tex-Mex. We especially enjoyed the brisket tacos and the enchiladas de mole.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Victor , our waiter always treats us special ,

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

I like my food hot as it taste fresh, They deduct $7 from our bill for valet ,depending who you get to wait on you experience can vary , I recommend Victor .

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

High End Tex Mex

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on November 12, 2015

Food is delicious. Worth the slightly more expensive price. Ernie's chicken is a dream!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Thursday night Tex-Mex Dining

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on November 6, 2015

We ate inside the restaurant at 7:00 on a Thursday night. It was only about 1/4 full inside, so pretty quiet. There was a larger crowd eating outside. Overall, food was very good, not outstanding. Guacamole salad had far too much salt in it. They do not have an option of it being made at your table. They need to add sopapillas to the dessert menu. Price was commensurate with food quantity and quality. Service was a bit slow, but not bad overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Fantastic service as always.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on October 28, 2015

Fantastic service as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely interior-- pretty good food

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on October 14, 2015

I think I expected something more high end and creative but this is basic Tex-Mex done well. My dining companions throughly enjoyed their meals and mine was good but the flavors were not wow. I had a mixed plate with enchilada, soft taco and tamale-- basic beans and rice. Also they just serve basic beers and there is nothing on draft. I would recommend this to friends but I would add-- if you like basic TexMex you will love this place.

The service was excellent and the interior is well done.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

As always - great food and plenty of it!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 26, 2015

As always - great food and plenty of it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great Experience!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 22, 2015

The food was great, a wide variety of choices. Very pleasant atmosphere. Service was excellent.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

THIS TIME MUCH IMPROVED

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 27, 2015

We go here a lot and when they switched to the small skillets the food was coming out cold, We asked Victor the waiter to bring our chicken on the bigger hot skillet and the food was perfect. As far as service Victor should be the example and standard and there would be no complaints . A plus for tonight.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Tremendous disappointment

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 31, 2015

Terribly slow and unattentive service for a Saturday night. I saw/heard many other tables complain. Another table flagged down a waitress and said they hadn't seen their waitress for 25 min. The manager was just pacing around the restaurant rather than helping out (should have been running food, filling water, running credit cards, etc.). There seemed to be a lot of problems with the timing, staffing, and/or training - not exactly sure. It was a huge disappointment and we will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Change was not good

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 28, 2015

I am a regular customer , they have gone to smaller skillets to where the food is not coming out as hot , service of our waiter was excellent and go back to old skillets before you lose a loyal client.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

Brisket tacos rock!

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 23, 2015

We have frequented Mi Cocina multiple times and enjoyed the food. We brought some friends this time and still had a good food experience. The service was average this trip. We were seated in the patio area which was really loud and did not get much attention from the servers. Thoroughly enjoyed the brisket tacos but not the service...

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2

Great food just a pity it takes to long

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 10, 2015

This is my 3rd time to this location and probably my last especially when we have the kids with us. Every time we have gone it has taken over and hour to get our food. This last visit the food took 1 1/2 hours and the kids were VERY hungry. You want margaritas this is the place but if you looking to be in and out this is not the place.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Very accomodating. Good food and good s ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 16, 2015

Very accomodating. Good food and good service for my large group.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was good, service was a little slow

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on March 1, 2015

Waiter missed refilling the chips and drinks. The food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Overall very good experience

vip
 (Tallahassee)
·Dined on February 13, 2015

We brought our "yankee' (non-Texan) relatives here for dinner while they were here for a visit. Mi Cocina was a good choice. The place is festive and visually appealing. The service was good, mainly due to the individual that waited on us. There were 14 of us, so it kept her busy, but she did a great job. The food was very good. While not out at the tip of the spear of the best Tex Max I have had, it was very well prepared and tasty. Our family members from Iowa really like it. I had the steak taco's, and they were very good also (made from actual rib eye). Overall a very nice dining experience that the family enjoyed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

ALWAYS GOOD

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 31, 2015

The food was hot which is very important to us , waiter was very attentive to make sure drinks , chips and hot sauce was replaced as it was getting emptied. I've been going here for two years and have a noticed the restaurant traffic is increasing as they have worked out o a lot of the kinks in what seems to be fewer mistakes than a few years ago , if you had a unsatisfactory experience when they first opened give them another try. They are much better now.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Earned our business from the begining

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 24, 2015

We went here for a birthday party with a large group (16 people). We made a reservation through Open Table, which was nice since most restaurants won't accept reservations that large through this site. They called the day before and verified everything we would need, including high chair and that we would be bringing a cake. When we arrived, we didn't have to wait for our table to be setup (which has been my experience) but were sat immediately. The waitress offered to take our cake and put it in their fridge and, later, brought it out to serve to us all. In between, the water glasses never went below 1/4 full and we never had to wait more than a few minutes for out next bar drink. The food only served to accent the wonderful experience and I've never had Mexican food that good before. They earned our business from the moment we walked in and we will be going back frequently.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A plus night

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 17, 2015

We go here several times a month, They are very consistent . When we got there the manager went out of his way to make us feel VIP. The waiter got the order correct and we were very specific how I wanted the gluten free chicken fajitas .They also gave us a $ 5.00 card and deducted our valet parking off the bill.The chips and hot sauce are very good and especially when the chips are hot.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Poor Service

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 1, 2015

Very poor service even when the place was 1/2 full.

The worst thing is the restaurant closes at 9.00pm which was kinda amazing to me as our reservation was at 8.15pm.

By the time we got our order in and took 30 minutes for our drinks to show up.the next round of drinking was past 9pm was told the bar was closed.

I felt that on a NYE day it would stay open a bit late.

Overall not happy with the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

WE GO HERE EVERY WEEK

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on December 31, 2014

THIS WEEK WE WENT AND THEY.SEEMED SHORT STAFFED. BUT IT WAS DURING THE HOLIDAY. THE HOT SAUCE WAS SO SALTY THAT WE HAD TO ASK THE MANAGER TO MAKE A FRESH BATCH, THE SERVICE OF WAIT STAFF IS EXCELLENT, WE HAVE A FAVORITE WAITER WHO DOES AN AWESOME JOB AND WILL MAKE SPECIAL REQUESTS.THEY HAD AN OFF NIGHT OVERALL BUT IT IS OUR FAVORITE MEXICAN RESTAURANT AND THE MANAGER COMPED MY WIFE'S MEAL. MOST OF THE TIME THET ARE ABOVE AVERAGE, SO

WE WILL GO BACK

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Great food with warm, welcoming service

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 23, 2014

This is not your ordinary Tex-Mex place. Extensive menu and imaginative cocktail selections. Thie restaurant is proof that you should give a place a chance. My wife and I first dined at Mi Cocina right after it opened. The food was good and the service was terrible. We didn't go back for months, but when we did, it was like a different place. We dine there often and look forward to each occasion. This has become one of our very favorite Mexican restaurants.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

not good not bad

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on December 5, 2014

Went For Lunch on Friday...Place was empty so service was great shrimp tacos were good but my cilantro rice was a little dry...salsa was good and I should have ordered a mambo taxi...

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Decent Experience

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on November 15, 2014

Our waitress was fantastic, she was attentive and very personable! However, the food was just decent. I felt like everything lacked in flavor, we did enjoy our alcoholic beverages though. I love the way the restaurant is decorated, very hip!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.