Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - Mi Cocina The Woodlands

4.0
63 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Mexican / Southwestern
Perfect For:
  • Good for Groups
  • Great for Lunch
  • Fit for Foodies

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed. Welcome to Mi Cocina where everything we offer is hand-crafted and made fresh daily using authentic Mexican cooking techniques and the fines ingredients available. From our famous homemade salsa, to our mouthwatering hand-dipped enchiladas, you can taste the freshness and quality in every bite. Relax in our comfortable stylish surroundings with one of our legendary Mambo Taxis® served by our family of warm friendly and professional staff. Its our honor to serve you.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Mexican / Southwestern
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm -9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm -10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(281) 298-6426
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Maria Pliego
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Mall Ring Road
Additional
Bar Dining, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access
What 63 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.0based on all time ratings
4.0
food
4.0
service
4.0
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
88% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined on February 1, 2017

The food was average.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 15, 2017

The food was good and there was a great selection. The service though was lacking. Orders and checks were messed up and on 2 occasions the complete wrong food came out. But ... the atmosphere was great and the food was tasty!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 5, 2016

Great. Ask for Herbert to severe your table. He is the best.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 8, 2016

The food is always good. For some reason this night 2 of our plates came out cold but the restaurant brought up fresh hot plates and comped them. Management was really nice about it. Good service here!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 20, 2016

Food was excellent. We had a great server but the drinks were slow in coming and the bartender mixed up an order. Soda machine wasn't working properly. The restaurant is nicely decorated and very clean.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 8, 2016

The service wasn't that great. I expected much more. However the food was good. The place was beautiful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 8, 2016

Prompt and accurate service. Excellent food, as always. The frozen margaritas were excellent! Not pretentious, don't let the fancy cars at valet intimidate you. I believe they comp your valet parking, if you use it, and it only cost like $3 plus tip. The food selection in the mall is pretty sad, so this is one of the better options on property.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 6, 2016

Great for Tex Mex and teaching and showing out of state guest a taste of Texas and region food. Very close and easy to walk to from work, and love that it is on Open Table.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 27, 2016

Reservation for 9. We arrived on time, with an elderly person who has difficulty standing. Told table will be ready soon. Tons of empty tables, place only maybe one forth full, still had to wait to 'get table ready. No where for my mother to sit, so we had to wait at an empty table. Then the hostess announced oh it's ready. Food sub par considering how much competition there is for Mexican good. Waiter was pleasant, but unable to answer some basic questions like "do you have the green salsa like all other Mexican restaurants have?" Chimichanga was dry and had no spices and flavorless. No sauce, asked for it, and they brought Queso. That's not sauce it's cheese. So basically I will never be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 23, 2016

Great food, never disappoints! Service was outstanding as well!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 17, 2016

Great food and service. Will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 3, 2016

Mi Cocina is our "go to" place for Mexican food. They use the freshest ingredients and the food is delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent food and great value. Guacamole, white queso, and ritas were outstanding.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 28, 2016

The food was not what we expected. Our hopes were high after eating in Dallas but the food overall was bland.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 8, 2016

Let me just start by saying that this is not my first time eating here. The first my service was great and my food was outstanding. I brought my family here for mothers day and I'll probably never go back again. To start, my waiter was awful. Hopefully new, but overall awful. He never brought drinks, it always took 30 mimutes or more, he messed up three of our orders, but at this point we were there so long we didnt want to tell him because it would take even longer to get a new meal. The food was terrible. Everything was luke warm or cold, my gf's quesdillas were dry and salty, my sister ordered two soft tacos (shes 8) and received two plates each with one hard taco and beans and sour cream on them. We were there almost 3 hours and not by choice! There were maybe five other couples there, yet service was incredibly slow. We ordered a queso and it wasnt very good so we asked if we could order the queso blanco instead. The waiter brought it out and it was cold within minutes! It practically looked like cream cheese! No exaggeration at all. We asked if he could heat it up and was told no. To make matters worse, the bill was also wrong. Two meals were from the kids meal, but were wrung up as regular meals. It was a nightmare and i will not be returning.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2016

Officially our favorite spot!!!!! Love it. Love the food, the service, the ambiance. We love it!!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2016

The food at Mi Cocina is always delicious! They make us feel like family.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 27, 2016

Love this chain, but the Woodlands location has consistently under-impressed with terrible service. Our table asked for water multiple times, starting with when we placed cocktail orders and then again throughout the meal. We eventually received one glass of water...for a table of four people.

I gave service one star above because giving zero stars wasn't an option. I'm usually pretty forgiving if the server has a lot of tables and is clearly busting it, but there were only two or three other tables seated and there were several waitstaff members sitting around at the back of the restaurant.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 22, 2016

Just too loud, too many Mexican places to go to and not yell to communicate.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 9, 2016

I have heard so much about this restaurant throughout friends and my boyfriend loves Mexican food so his birthday dinner was perfect timing. Every guest we brought loved everything about the place. Thank you so much for your wonderful services to make his dinner with family and friends so special !!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 7, 2016

Good value for the quality of food served during lunch special . Friendly and attentive staff.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 23, 2015

I asked for a special booth due to this was a Match.com date and the staff made sure I was happy with the location of the booth. They walked me around the restaurant to get different feels for the other tables, but all in all I stayed with what they suggested. The service was great and food also.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 24, 2015

The food at mi Cocina is great, high quality Mexican food. The brisket tacos are a standout!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 15, 2015

We had a group family lunch with kids.
Location is fantastic.
Service not great... Just fair.
Food not great for the price.
I can find many other tex mex restaurants in the area with better prices and food taste.
You will pay location.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 14, 2015

We greatly enjoyed our visit to Mi Cocina and is now our go-to Mexican restaurant in The Woodlands. The dishes are at a different level than run of the mill Tex-Mex. We especially enjoyed the brisket tacos and the enchiladas de mole.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 13, 2015

I like my food hot as it taste fresh, They deduct $7 from our bill for valet ,depending who you get to wait on you experience can vary , I recommend Victor .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 11, 2015

Food is delicious. Worth the slightly more expensive price. Ernie's chicken is a dream!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 5, 2015

We ate inside the restaurant at 7:00 on a Thursday night. It was only about 1/4 full inside, so pretty quiet. There was a larger crowd eating outside. Overall, food was very good, not outstanding. Guacamole salad had far too much salt in it. They do not have an option of it being made at your table. They need to add sopapillas to the dessert menu. Price was commensurate with food quantity and quality. Service was a bit slow, but not bad overall.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 28, 2015

Fantastic service as always.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 14, 2015

I think I expected something more high end and creative but this is basic Tex-Mex done well. My dining companions throughly enjoyed their meals and mine was good but the flavors were not wow. I had a mixed plate with enchilada, soft taco and tamale-- basic beans and rice. Also they just serve basic beers and there is nothing on draft. I would recommend this to friends but I would add-- if you like basic TexMex you will love this place.

The service was excellent and the interior is well done.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 26, 2015

As always - great food and plenty of it!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 22, 2015

The food was great, a wide variety of choices. Very pleasant atmosphere. Service was excellent.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 27, 2015

We go here a lot and when they switched to the small skillets the food was coming out cold, We asked Victor the waiter to bring our chicken on the bigger hot skillet and the food was perfect. As far as service Victor should be the example and standard and there would be no complaints . A plus for tonight.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 30, 2015

Terribly slow and unattentive service for a Saturday night. I saw/heard many other tables complain. Another table flagged down a waitress and said they hadn't seen their waitress for 25 min. The manager was just pacing around the restaurant rather than helping out (should have been running food, filling water, running credit cards, etc.). There seemed to be a lot of problems with the timing, staffing, and/or training - not exactly sure. It was a huge disappointment and we will not return.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 28, 2015

I am a regular customer , they have gone to smaller skillets to where the food is not coming out as hot , service of our waiter was excellent and go back to old skillets before you lose a loyal client.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 23, 2015

We have frequented Mi Cocina multiple times and enjoyed the food. We brought some friends this time and still had a good food experience. The service was average this trip. We were seated in the patio area which was really loud and did not get much attention from the servers. Thoroughly enjoyed the brisket tacos but not the service...

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 10, 2015

This is my 3rd time to this location and probably my last especially when we have the kids with us. Every time we have gone it has taken over and hour to get our food. This last visit the food took 1 1/2 hours and the kids were VERY hungry. You want margaritas this is the place but if you looking to be in and out this is not the place.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 16, 2015

Very accomodating. Good food and good service for my large group.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 1, 2015

Waiter missed refilling the chips and drinks. The food was very good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 12, 2015

We brought our "yankee' (non-Texan) relatives here for dinner while they were here for a visit. Mi Cocina was a good choice. The place is festive and visually appealing. The service was good, mainly due to the individual that waited on us. There were 14 of us, so it kept her busy, but she did a great job. The food was very good. While not out at the tip of the spear of the best Tex Max I have had, it was very well prepared and tasty. Our family members from Iowa really like it. I had the steak taco's, and they were very good also (made from actual rib eye). Overall a very nice dining experience that the family enjoyed.

Report
Helpful
1
2