Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Mi Cocina Lakewood

4.1
19 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Traditional Mexican
Top Tags:
  • Great for Outdoor Dining
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Good for Groups

Similar Restaurants

About

Enjoy tasty Tex-Mex cuisine at Mi Cocina in Lakewood. Its contemporary setting features colorful artwork on the walls and a lounge area upstairs. Guests can begin their dining experience with a plate of nachos or grilled quesadillas at Mi Cocina. A main course of poblano chicken enchiladas, fajitas or seared tilapia topped with an orange-garlic Mojo sauce will satisfy the appetite. This eatery also serves tacos, savory soups, fresh salads, combination platters and gluten-free options.

Mi Cocina has a full bar that offers a variety of drinks, including specialty cocktails like margaritas. It has a happy hour and outdoor patio seating for guests to enjoy the weather along with their meals. This restaurant hosts events and provides catering services.

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Traditional Mexican
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Sunday - Thursday 11am - 10pm
Friday & Saturday 11am - 11pm

icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(214) 824-6246
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Matthew Dunn
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Accommodates groups up to 80
Private Dining Room/Upstairs Lounge area 45-50 people
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Liz Guevara: (214) 217-3000
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Gaston Avenue
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 19 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.1based on all time ratings
4.1
food
4.1
service
4.2
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on February 16, 2016

C'mon, if you're in the Dallas Metroplex, you MUST eat at Mi Cocina!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 15, 2015

Brisket Tacos are the bomb

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on November 25, 2015

When we arrived for our reservation, we were told they had no record of it (and mentioned others experienced the same issue). They claimed their internet had been down for 2 days but was back up that day. I made my reservation 4 days in advance. If Mi Cocina is going to accept Open Table reservations then they should be prepared to act on them appropriately. I called Matt's just down the street and had a table for 7 set up in 5 minutes. If I go back to Mi Cocina, it won't be this location.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on November 21, 2015

Food was less than average. Have not been to this location in several years. Drinks were ok. Service was above average. Plenty of places in the neighborhood that offer much better food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 7, 2015

We had a group of 8 and after being inside all day at a trade-show having an evening outside watching the baseball game on the big screen TV's was perfect. The food is always great and our server was outstanding.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 17, 2015

This restaurant was recommended for good Mexican food by our hotel. It was good and very popular but more Tex-mex than authentic Mexican. Service was quick and portions generous but a bit more expensive than typical Mexican fare.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 9, 2014

This particular Mia Cocina has best service and the most beautiful interiors. The freshest grilled veggies and spinach enchiladas with verde sauce. The Best!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 18, 2014

We had made reservations for a table of 12 and also a nearby table for 4....our party changed at the last minute and, even though some of our party had already been seated and served drinks at the 4-top, our wonderful server was so kind to move our entire (smaller) party to the 1 larger table and hand us over to another server. This was all done swiftly, smoothly and kindly. Thanks, Mi Cocina! My favorite restaurant for mexican food!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 14, 2014

Service never is great here. I think they need more bartenders and servers! I love the atmosphere and food though! Attentiveness is lacking.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 31, 2014

This is the best of the Mi Cocina's in town. The one in HP Village used to be my favorite restaurant and where I would choose to go for special occasions, but their service and food quality has dropped. This Lakewood location however is great! Glad to still have a Mi Cocina to go to.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2014

Neighborhood hotspot. Early for kids, later for the cool people

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 25, 2014

Good food. The service is always spot on. Staff is super friendly. Love that I can bring my toddler.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 24, 2014

Everything was delicious with a great atmosphere. The service was perfect. Attentive but not smothering.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2014

Reservations for dinner, seated promptly and served immediately. Place was packed for a Monday and loud with families with small children. Waiter was excellent and the food was great. Most customers are a walk-in, that is a mistake. Better to make reservations or stand outside waiting. Outside area is packed, they allow pets. Parking can be a problem with the public lot shared with other business.
All-in-all the menu is great and service is excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2014

This place is great. Now is the perfect time to be on the patio. Margaritas and fajitas. The kids always love being there too.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2014

We hadnt had Mexican in awhile and went to Mi Cocina due to having a gift card for the restaurant. We had been to another Mi Cocina before and enjoyed their fare. This particular stop had great service and the food was great but the Guacamole may have been the BEST we have ever had. Killer margarita's also. Despite the fact it was a weekday and 6:30 pm there were small children everywhere. And very well behaved and having fun. Kind of weird.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2014

We had a wonderful time. Table was ready when we arrived. They were very gracious and accommodating when I requested a "special" meal for my child. Service was attentive without hovering and the food was great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2014

What a great patio! Good food, good service, good margarita, good ambience...... that sums it up!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 26, 2014

A nice neighborhood go to for us. Great drinks and and good and great patio. It's in our hood and constantly good so we go often.

Report
Helpful