Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 26.04mi
  1. Distance: 26.04mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 26.04mi
  1. Distance: 26.04mi

About Mi Casa by Jose Andres - Dorado Beach a Ritz-Carlton Reserve

Inspired by the storied past of this unique location at Dorado Beach, José Andrés introduces Mi Casa. Paying homage to the property’s original plantation home, Su Casa, José welcomes guests into a relaxed, luxurious setting, where traditional flavors are transformed by modern presentations.

At Mi Casa, José also re-imagines fine dining, creating an interactive, engaging atmosphere. A kitchen display bar and understated, elegant cocktail service help to break down the barriers of formal dining service. José’s goal is that guests are well-looked after and feel very much at home, as you would in José’s casa. Dishes and drinks will be prepared right before you. Service will be very personal and attentive, but always professional.

Serving breakfast and dinner daily, Mi Casa will transform throughout the day from breezy and bright in the morning, to casual elegance in the evenings.

100 Dorado Beach Drive
Dorado, PR 00646
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Spanish, Puerto Rican, Caribbean

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 7:00am - 11:00am; Dinner: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(787) 278-7217

Website:
http://www.ritzcarlton.com/en/Properties/DoradoBeach/Dining/MiCasa/Default.htm

Catering:
Catering on a whole new level; José Andrés Catering elevates catering and event planning to new heights in the Washington, DC area and beyond. Now you can experience the inspired creations of celebrated chef José Andrés at your own party or venue. Visit us for more information at www.joseandrescatering.com, or call us at (877) 540-9850.

Executive Chef:
José Andrés

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining room for up to 16 guests with private terrace. Minimum consumption required and the total does not include taxes or service charges. Do not hesitate to contact us for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Jhonatan Cano : (787) 278-7217

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Mi Casa by Jose Andres - Dorado Beach a Ritz-Carlton Reserve Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
See All
Romantic (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Tapas (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Waterfront (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Scenic View (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Authentic (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Business Meals (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Cozy (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Private Room (1)
Fun (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
152 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

We went to the Ritz Carlton for dinner at José Andrés and were blown away. The hotel is spectacular. We arrived a little earlier that our reservation so had time to explore a little. It was sunset and we approached the pool area and the view was stunning. We had some drinks at the pool bar before heading to the restaurant where the service, attention to detail and food were just amazing. The choices are unique variations of Spanish dishes wit a Puertorican influence. The best two items (among a lot of delicious items on the menu) were the "pan con tomate" (bread with tomato) that melted in your mouth. The deconstructed key lime pie made me emotional it was so delicious. The textures and flavors were unforgettable. We will return here during our next Puerto Rico visit!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Tapas, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Ate here during our stay at the Ritz Dirado beach. Food was divine - the service impeccable and we sat on the outer deck facing the ocean. Noise level was good you could hear yourself speaking it's all private and the service was wonderful Only con is that it's quite pricey but that being said it is a resort and it's to be expected

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Phenomenal tapas and snapper to die for. I would put this in one of my top five restaurants of all time... up there with the likes of Aubergine in London and Aqua in San Francisco.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 22, 2017

We went to Mi Casa a year ago and loved it so much that we planned to go back. This is the best example of everything done right. From the beginning appetizers to the fantastic desserts, it is a beautiful thing to look at and the favors are amazing. Our server was well versed on the wine pairing and she made sure that we were taken care of. It was just after our 50th wedding anniversary, so Victor the chef brought us out a signed copy of Jose Andres cookbook. A perfect ending to a perfect meal!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We loved the relaxed feel of the restaurant. Nobody rush you. Food was out of this world a little pricier than other places but well worth it. Very good wine list. Service was outstanding. Will definitely go back .

Tags: Outstanding Value, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Mi Casa was one of the finest restaurants I have ever been too! We were there with another couple and we ordered the Tapas Tasting Menu. This 12 course menu was truly the greatest meal we all have ever had. Ir was a bit pricey, but worth the price. There was not one course that we did not like. The resort was sensational. Remembering the old Hyatt resort brought a tear to my eye.
The only negative was that they were reluctant to let us on the property when we arrived at the resort one hour early.

Tags: Modern Decor, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This was our second time dining at Mi Casa and again, we were not disappointed. We did the Tasting Menu with all of the chef's favorites and it was incredible! Our waiter and his team were so attentive and accommodating. We love this restaurant.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 10, 2017

There are no words to describe this place. Food is exquisite, service is fabulous, and you simply can't dine in a more beautiful place. Highly recommend

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Excellent food. Creative.
Very good wind list.
Terrific service by the friendliest folks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

WOW.....says it all. What a great experience. Food was original and delicious. A group of four had four appetizers and shared two entrees and had three desserts and we were very happy. Our server, Soraly, was phenomenal. Professional, knowledgable, charismatic, friendly and all over terrific. I wish we had more servers like Soraly in NYC. When in Puerto Rico....please do yourself a favor and dine here. Remember to make a reservations first on Opentable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 2, 2017

One of our best dining experiences. Over the top service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 14, 2016

we had several small plates some were outstanding some were very good. may have been more our choices that kept it from all being outstanding. key lime pie, pork and sausage sliders were incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great restaurant, excellent menu and wine list! Optional outdoor ocean view seating!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Authentic, Waterfront, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Our veal and lamb entrees were Michelin-star quality, to savor every bite and flavor. The shrimp (gambas al ajillo) in a rich sauce almost like Mole, also really stood out for us as exceptional. The whole area is beautiful to enjoy on a nice evening too!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We went to celebrate my parents 30 anniversary. The Bartender Valerie was awsome with the drinks. Our waiter Jovanny was great too. The Chef Victor and his team was awsome. We love the "Asopao de Langosta" made by Carlos. The ambience was quiet, relaxed and the restaurant view was awsome. We had a great time and my parents were happy, smiling and the taste of everything was extremely good. Thanks again for everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Dining at Mi Casa by José Andrés is always a great culinary experience. Service is always consistently good. The view is astonishing and sets de ambiance for your date, either a romantic, friendly or familiar occasion. Although price range is high, if you can fir it in your budget it is worth a visit!

Tags: Scenic View, Tapas, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Very disappointing. Heavy on salt. Tried the pork belly sliders and the chicken crochettes as apps - both very salty and the crochettes were certainly from a frozen bag. The fish dishes were underwhelming as well. We were very surprised that the Ritz would allow this poor quality to be served at such a fabulous resort. (Love the room, hate the food). Stay at the Ritz; eat at Marmalade.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Caribbean)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Just spectacular!! Great service, great food and my server Francisco was too if the line!! Loved it

Tags: Tapas, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We had an excellent experience at Mi Casa. The food was good and the service great. It's fine dining without being pretentious. Everybody was having a good time.
Two things: when we arrived nobody was at the front and it was hard to find the path within the hotel because poor lightning and signage. Hotel valets were very friendly and helpful.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on September 8, 2016

I guess my husband and I were expecting a WOW experiencing. We chose the sampler and was disappointing that the last serve was soup. I have never had soup prior to dessert. The taste was not spectacular. I also expected better service.

While in Puerto Rico, we also went to dine at the Pearl/Concha, and THAT was amazing!. The food, service and views. i would definitely recommend this restaurant. From the Valet parking to the bill - there were four of us. It was fantastic!

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 9, 2016

The food was amazing. We ordered the lechon, veal cheeks and steak for our entrees. For appetizers we had potatoes, sliced ham with cheese toast and chicken crochettes. For dessert we shared key lime pie which also was so good we talked about it during the trip. Highly recommend everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on June 16, 2016

It was a great experience. Our waiter Jovanni was great that night. He makes us feel great, the enviroment was quiet and relaxing. The cooks of Mi Casa and the Chef Victor were excellent. Is one of my favorite restaurant in Puerto Rico. I allways have a great time there. The food is exquisite and original. The taste is just awsome. I just love it. Thanks Mi Casa team again for everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Excellent food, service and a beautiful place. Looking to go back. I am recommending the place to all my friends and colleagues. The attention from the employees was superb. The day menu was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Excellent daughter's Med School grad dinner! Server was amazing with special treats to ensure we felt special. What an amazing meal!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 2, 2016

Cod appetizer was tasty; key lime tart delicious; other appetizers & entrées very disappointing. Special was an overly rich flavorless rice-a-roni dish. Beautiful setting, decent service, very disappointing food. Recommend Positivo. Same location, great food, great staff. Both restaurants require an $18 dollar valet fee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 27, 2016

Probably one of my top 5 restaurants in the world and that says a lot as I travel extensively.
The food was a work of art. Delicious. Creative. The tuna, caesar salad all impeccable. I need to go back again to be in la la land for the evening.
Beautiful setting.
Please go.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 1, 2016

Simply spectacular!!! Food was excellent and the service, even better!!! Worth every penny!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on April 16, 2016

And I say best restaurant because there was nothing bad, not a single thing! I went with my husband to celebrate our first month as newlyweds and my husband's birthday. Since we arrived, the attention was phenomenal. Our waiter was very friendly, he welcomed us with two glasses of "cava" for our special occasion, he suggested entrees and explained everything to us. As appetizers we ate "Tortilla de Papatas New Way", "Steamed bun with pork belly and chayote mojo" and "Coquitos Frescos Ferran Adria"... An explosion of flavor in my mouth, just exquisite! And very nice presentation. My husband ate the rib eye and I chose Skirt Steak with papas bravas... Good GOD! Every bite was pure pleasure! For dessert we choose Mi Casa... chocolate, hazelnut, olive oil and salt... the perfect way to end our dinner. Very memorable experience, the surroundings are ridiculously gorgeous!!!!!!!!!
The experience is worth every penny, I fully recommend it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on April 10, 2016

We have been several times to Mi Casa and overall have had good experience.
Service is great, food is good and the ambience is quite elegant. Although they recommend jacket for attire, everyone was casual but elegant.
Have been to other more expensive restaurants that serve very small portions. Our menu this time had "decent portions" but still expect a bit more for the price.
What we like the most of the restaurant is its location at the Ritz Carlson Reserve! Its a beautiful hotel for an early dinner sunset style in their outside terrace with the Ocean and hotel pool view!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on April 2, 2016

Just incredible. Went there to celebrate my wife's birthdat while we were on our honeymoon and could not have asked for a better experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Caribbean)·Dined on March 19, 2016

Amazing food, excellent presentation decor was beyond what you would expect from a restaurant. Overall an amazing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2016

My girlfriend and I were told by a friend who lives locally that this is a must visit during our trip to Puerto Rico. It was recommended that we either spend the night ($$$$$) and/or dine, we chose to only dine at Mi Casa by Jose Andres - This was an absolutely wonderful way to spend a romantic night, I HIGHLY recommend it.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on February 15, 2016

Perfect Perfect Perfect

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 7, 2016

We sat down and told the server to bring us what she recommended as a stream of tapas. Everything was fabulous. Unique flavors and textures. Sweet followed by a sour crunch. Do yourself a favor and find this wonderful place....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 27, 2016

We have been sure to add this to our list of restaurants we dine at since it's opening every year when we enjoy our time share on the island of Puerto Rico. Not only is the outdoor dining wonderful with it's gorgeous view of Dorado Beach but the food is delicious, different and exciting. The tapas type menu is so much fun to eat and it is so hard to decide what to choose as everything looks and is wonderful. The braised lamb entree that we ate on this most recent trip was amazing as it was so tender you did not even need a knife to cut it. The flavor and presentation were wonderful. The indoor dining area also is beautiful, but we always prefer to dine outdoors as the view is just too good to miss. We have enjoyed everything we have ordered and we have dined there the last three years. Dorado Beach is beautiful on it's own but the Ritz Carlton Reserve which is a six star resort has only enhanced it's beauty. Not only is the restaurant beautiful in it's own rite and the food amazing, experiencing the beauty of the resort is definitely something you do not want to miss . We love the restaurant and look forward to eating there again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2015

We chose the Mi Casa Experience, which is the tasting menu. There were about nine dishes and each one was better than the next one, but the ones that really stood our were the Iberico ham with pain con tomate, the chicken croquettes, the tuna seviche, and the dessert which was the best flan I have ever tasted. We both had a cocktail, so only wanted a half bottle of wine with the meal and they have a very nice selection. The servers were all excellent and the entire experience was one that I will repeat next time we return to Dorado Beach.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 20, 2015

Been there a few times, it never lets me down. It's an amazing experience for anybody who loves food and like to try new things. Amazing food and service. Best restaurant in the island!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2015

Having been to Chef Andres' Bazaar in Beverly Hills, we thought Mi Casa in Puerto Rico would put an exclamation point to my wife's birthday on our recent trip. It did. Unfortunately it was one of those "!@*(#%" types of exclamation point.
From our hotel in San Juan we drove 30 minutes into what we started to believe was the Jurassic Park movie set after going through a security gate (think no lights, small directional stump wooden road markers that couldn't be read and golf cart with low level lights racing about on parallel paths). After four wrong turns we finally found the compound and were greeted by a staff person in monk type robes who explained that the property was one of only two "Reserve" Ritz Carlton properties on Planet Earth. (Be warned that there are more planned.) The concept of the "Ritz Carlton Reserve" is a spiritual, holistic retreat. The property is surely beautiful (my best guess since we couldn't see anything that wasn't faintly illuminated) and the building housing the restaurant (with the prerequisite well lit gift shop for RC Reserve Gear) was like a giant hunting lodge with fantastic open spaces, exposed wood and pretty pools outside.
Menu seemed fantastic but none of the dishes were memorable. We were hoping for a fantastic representation of local cuisine done in a unique way but it wasn't to be. In fact we had several better, similar dishes in San Juan (ceviche, chicken croquettes, yucca gnocchi). Service was good but a bit smothering due to the high 'staff to diner' ratio. It's not much fun to keep nodding that everything was good/fine with mouthfuls of perfectly fine food but disappointed thoughts. As expected, the bill produced that feeling of "you know what I could get for this $$ in San Juan or Carolina".
Valet parking added another $20 to the tab (no other alternative unless you wanted to brave a 'long walk' through dark forest I was told).
Save your time and money. If not, take a torch and best of luck.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 18, 2015

Great surroundings and setting away form it all. Food was on par with other Ritz Carlton - Service was very good. For food nothing overly special - expected more from celebrity chef Jose Andres.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.