About Mezcal Tequila Cantina - Worcester

30 Major Taylor Blvd
Worcester, MA 01608
View Larger Map

Now in a new location, Mezcal pioneered the flavors of the Southwest to Worcester. Blending traditional Mexican plates with the colors and flavors of the increasingly popular Southwestern U.S. cuisine, Mezcal has been a hit since day one. Add in made to order guacamole, an unrivaled tequila list and outdoor seating to make the decision that much easier. Mezcal’s exceptional service, warm hospitality and amazing value make it a choice worth considering again and again. Mezcal Tequila Cantina is part of Niche Hospitality Group.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily 11:00am to 4:00pm, Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 1:00am, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Brunch: Sunday 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(508) 926-8307

Website:
http://www.nichehospitality.com/

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Mezcal Tequila Cantina - Worcester Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

4.1

ambience

3.9

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (15)
Good for a Date (14)
Good for Groups (13)
See All
Modern Decor (12)
Bar Seating (10)
Fun (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Spicy (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Authentic (7)
People Watching (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Special Occasion (4)
Tapas (4)
Family Style (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Romantic (2)
Healthy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Business Meals (1)
Cozy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Vegan (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
458 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

I have eaten at Mezcal quite a few times. The best part has been the service. The Mexican food is very middle of the road quality. Tex mex with the usually cheesy mix.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

We were there for 2 hours, not because we were having fun. . Because the service was so bad. We were one of three tables there and she disappeared for so long. I ordered nachos, they were nothing what they were described as. When I wanted to order some guacamole for them, the waitress was nowhere to be found and by the time she returned she returned with our entre. I asked for a side of guacamole when I placed my order and she forgot it when entre came, and I had to wait 20 minutes to flag her down for the side, and silverwesr. She never refilled the drinks. And even took a long time bringing the bill. I will never come back here again. Very disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went on Valentine's Day with our 2 kids. Our waitress, Abby, was great. All 4 of us enjoyed the meals and appetizers. Chef's special guacamole was great. Strawberries with chocolate and caramel sauce. Sounded awful, but it was very good. We have been there 6 or 7 times and it is always very good. We will be back soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Honestly my husband and I went on Valentine's Day, we made a reservation a month before as I haven't been there in a few years and was craving their guacamole and margaritas, we were seated in the bar area which wasn't right since I made this reservation well in advance I could see if I was a walk in but that wasn't the case. We asked the hostess if we could sit in the dining area and they said no. When we sat in the bar area there were 2 very young couples already eating but my husband and I noticed they weren't sitting anyone else there all night I guess we were the lucky ones. The menu has changed since a few years ago it was a bit more upscale but now it's downgraded I did get the special that night which was the surf and turf and my husband got the steak we waited a long time for our meals but our meals were warm almost cold so they just have been sitting in the kitchen waiting to come out. Our waiter was sweating running around like a mad person doing the bar and waiting the bar tables. I think this place is over rated and won't be returning.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was amazing especially the guacamole. The only bad thing I have to say is that the margaritas, even a plain house margarita was so sweet me and my girlfriend couldn't finish it. We go to a lot of Mexican restaraunts and this is my first time not finishing my margarita. We also couldn't taste any alcohol in them. It tasted like lemonade. Besides that, I love

Mezcal!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Good food and service. Easy parking with valet. Margaritas were wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was great as always. Drinks are good. Homemade guac is amazing!

Tags: Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great service from our waitress Jessica, knew menu, talked about options and was attentive the entire meal. Good was delicious and portions were ample. Really enjoyed the special Cuban burrito & the steak and cheese chimichanga but the 8 different guacamole dips was awesome. Couldn't decide on one so we tried a flight of 3. Favorite was the house. Great early dinner before the theatre but the large restaurant & bar will see us again soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Everything was great, I loved the guacamole and the flight of 3 flavors was great.

I gave the review on the food a lower rating because 2/4 people we went with got sick after. (Stomach upset / bloating) We all ate different but somewhat similar things - different tacos. Over all it was enjoyable, but I can't say I'm going to be running back anytime soon

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The service was attentive but not overbearing. Guacamole was a fresh appetizer. Chipotle rubbed short ribs were well executed. Others in my group enjoyed their burritos, enchiladas and fajitas. Drinks are fairly pricey and small. This restaurant is very loud so we couldn't really hear eachother that well. I have been here for Sunday brunch and enjoyed it when it was quieter.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Good food and great service. Came here with a group of 10 and couldn't have asked for a better server or food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The definition of "meh". Average decor, fair food quality, average service... dependable, but uninspired.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food great but kitchen a bit slow. But our server was excellent, and kept us informed of where our order was in the process.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Very well-prepared mexican dishes with original styles. More tequilas than I knew existed, and the couple that I tried were so much better than I thought tequila could be.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We went to Mezcal's for my husbands birthday. They were very accommodating when I had to add 3 more people the same day. Hostess was very nice and our waiter I though did a great job considering how many people in our party. The food was good a little spicy for me but delicious.

The alcoholic drinks from what I was told were ok. There was not enough alcohol to where you could at least taste it. I believe it was the Mai Tai. The parking was convenient, you can valet or park in the garage and they will stamp it so you don't have to pay for parking. All in all I would recommend it to my friends. Thank you to Mezcal's

Tags: Spicy, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We were not impressed by the food, the pork carnitas lacked flavor and it was served with polenta which was strange, the chicken burrito was dry and the guacamole was overpriced and very oniony, we will continue to go to Acapulco's for real authentic Mexican food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We visited Mezcal on a Saturday afternoon for lunch. The restaurant was almost empty when we arrived. However, the food took a very long time to reach our table. The food was only okay. We got chicken and short rib tacos. Neither were very inspiring. My son explicitly asked for a crunchy corm tortillas, but was served his taco on a soft flour taco. While the waiter was accommodating, it seemed like he was overwhelmed and a bit insincere in his service.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Could have been the worst fajita we have ever had. They also changed the margarita recipes and they were not good. We will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Good food and atmosphere. Pretty quick service, Great Margaritas!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Food was great - service not so much! The guacamole is amazing.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food and excellent Sangria Margarita. The very best guacamole as always. This place is a favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Good had lots of flavor. It is definitely different than other restaurants around. My reason for 3 star on food was actually the Margaritas. They were very weak and too sour. I'm not asking for a strong margarita but I am not sure there was much tequila at all. I had heard good things about their margaritas and was disappointed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Housed in a bunker-like building with cold concrete floors and limited decor, this place offers the worst of corporate-style tex-mex with no effort at authenticity or even taste. The frat-house servers seem to speak from a script, so unpersonable and unspontaneous are they.

I was really unhappy to have wasted my money at this lousy place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Duck taco dorado, mini tuna tostadas, Thai rooster guacamole--all excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Delicious meal and apps too. Perfect yummy margaritas. Will be back soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The house guacamole was good, as usual. I had the duck breast however and it was served lukewarm. My friend had the fajitas and they were not sizzling hot as you might expect. Service was warm and friendly though! Probably will not return. Try The Fix, also of the Niche Group -- much better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The menu has changed significantly since my last visit and I am really disappointed with the new choices, I enjoyed their old cuisine. The tropical guacamole while still on the menu was anything but, it had no fruit just a couple cashews thrown in, and the margaritas were way too sour, and gave the entire table heartburn and acid reflux.

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Big change to the menu left us pondering why they changed at all. It was perfect before. Nachos weren't the same. They were overlooked and lacked much of the toppings. The guacamole amount was much smaller, especially for our table of 6. This WAS my favorite restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Fabulous !!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Service was EXtremly slow, at a lunchtime slow, time of day! They need to prepare better when the local convention center has a event!!

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Was one of my favorite restaurants in the area for a long time. For some reason they recently changed the menu for the worse. Sad to say it will be the last time I'll be going.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Have been to Mezcal in Worcester multiple times over the last few years. I moved out of the area recently and returned only to be disappointed to see they changed their menu. Used to love the deal for an appetizer, guac, and two entrees, but this is no longer offered. Also disappointed to see many changes in the menu to some of my favorite entrees including steak chimichanga and duck quesadilla. I droved an hour to come to mezcal, but will stay closer to home next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 3, 2016

This is nowhere near the ambiance and great food that used to be served at the Shrewsbury st location. They just changed the menu, and it was poor. Food was very sweet and very spicy. Steak fajitas were flavorless, steak was poor quality, and very little steak for $18. More like a college hangout than a unique Mexican restaurant that they used to be. Very loud and cold. Guacamole is still good. Stick with that and margaritas. I will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 1, 2016

We had over cooked pork told the waiter who basically said it's a new menu so that is how it goes. Really? Also, told them it was a birthday and no recognition from the staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Food and service was excellent! Would def return for any occasion :)

Tags: Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Reasonably priced Mexican restaurant across from the DCU Center. Parking garage is right there as well. Ultimately it's quite convenient. The guacamole was fabulous! We received our starters right away. Our server was polite and very efficient. Not sure why but even though we arrived between 6:15 and 6:25 (and mentioned we were attending the 8:00 show and wanted to depart by 7:40 or so) we received our main entrees at precisely 7:40. That was unfortunate. We ate in 10 minutes and departed. Will try it again though.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Amazing food great atmosphere....but you must book ahead on a show night for the DCU. They book out a month in advance. Worth the convenience and the food.

Joe and Bobbi 15 Year Anniversary Dinner and TSO Show

Tags: Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Slow service! Good food. Convenient location to DCU.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Couldn't ask for a better place to go on a date. The food was great and the margaritas were the best i have ever had.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Cozy, Healthy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Amazing Mexican cuisine. Guacamole variations very creative and tasty. Wasn't rushed at al. Very attentive waitstaff. Margaritas were potent and tasty. I'd go back for sure.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 4, 2016

This restaurant had a great reputation at its old address; since moving to the new location, the food quality (no specials, for example) has declined. My Fajitas were a pan of vegetables together overcooked with pieces of chicken thrown in; the beef in a friend's Fajitas had freezer burn. However, a salad, ordered by another friend was quite good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Good moderately seasoned Mexican food and friendly staff, but the experience was spoiled by the deafening noise level. That was a compound of absurdly loud background music, stone and exposed metal surfaces and guests who talked at their own near shriek level to override the swells of chaos and cacophony. Sadly this spoiled an otherwise probably better than average kitchen's attempts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Serving $9 margaritas in small plastic cups filled to the top with ice is unacceptable. Have a little class and respect your patrons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

My wife and I were going to see a band play down the street and we wanted to have dinner close to where we were going. We like mexican cuisine and thought we would give it a try. They had free valet service which was a nice start to the evening! We had made reservations and our table was ready right away. The service ws exceptional. The waiter was at out table within a minute of us being seated and we ordered drinks which came quickly as well. We had the dinner for two which had a nice variety to choice from and that came quickly as well. Our waiter and the manager of the restaurant came by out table and ask us if we were enjoying the food.........we did! All-in-all, we had a terrific dinner experience.

Scott

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Food good. Manager very up tight. Table was close to the door and drafty. You would have thought we asked him to move the whole building.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Service was excellent and the eggplant appetizer was great for my entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Food was very good. The waitstaff was very nice. There was a miscommunication between the wait staff so half way through our visit, we no longer had a waiter. Our new waiter was very apologetic and didn't charge us for dessert.

While it wasn't the best experience, we are willing to give it another chance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The staff at Mezcal were amazing! We were there during flooding and the staff was working non-stop to do their best to accommodate diners. Because of flooding, the kitchen had to close but all staff kept calm and did their best to make sure customers were well taken care of. They definitely did their best in a bad situation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The menu is extensive with countless Margarita and Tequila options. The food is great and a very fair value. The only negative??? The NOISE!!!! When this place is busy, forget having a quiet conversation, You will have to speak up to be heard!! Several times the waiter came to the table and I had to do my best lip reading to follow what he was saying. But in spite of the roar, we come back over an over. We strategically aim to get here during the earlier part of Dinner hour. In this way, at we can hear one another for part of our meal .

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Very impressed with Menu, food freshness and service will definitely return

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.