About Mezcal Tequila Cantina - Worcester

30 Major Taylor Blvd
Worcester, MA 01608
View Larger Map

Now in a new location, Mezcal pioneered the flavors of the Southwest to Worcester. Blending traditional Mexican plates with the colors and flavors of the increasingly popular Southwestern U.S. cuisine, Mezcal has been a hit since day one. Add in made to order guacamole, an unrivaled tequila list and outdoor seating to make the decision that much easier. Mezcal’s exceptional service, warm hospitality and amazing value make it a choice worth considering again and again. Mezcal Tequila Cantina is part of Niche Hospitality Group.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily 11:00am to 4:00pm, Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 1:00am, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Brunch: Sunday 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(508) 926-8307

Website:
http://www.nichehospitality.com/

Restaurant Photos

Mezcal Tequila Cantina - Worcester, Worcester, MA
Guacamole and Chips - Mezcal Tequila Cantina - Worcester, Worcester, MA
Pork Tacos - Mezcal Tequila Cantina - Worcester, Worcester, MA
Buffalo Chicken Guacamole - Mezcal Tequila Cantina - Worcester, Worcester, MA
Taco Salad - Mezcal Tequila Cantina - Worcester, Worcester, MA
Strawberry Coconut Margarita - Mezcal Tequila Cantina - Worcester, Worcester, MA
House Guacamole - Mezcal Tequila Cantina - Worcester, Worcester, MA
Salsa - Mezcal Tequila Cantina - Worcester, Worcester, MA
Chile Rellenos - Mezcal Tequila Cantina - Worcester, Worcester, MA
House Margarita - Mezcal Tequila Cantina - Worcester, Worcester, MA
Margaritas - Mezcal Tequila Cantina - Worcester, Worcester, MA
fish tacos - Mezcal Tequila Cantina - Worcester, Worcester, MA
Queso Fundido - Mezcal Tequila Cantina - Worcester, Worcester, MA
Coconut Fried Ice Cream - Mezcal Tequila Cantina - Worcester, Worcester, MA
Pescado Y Patatas - Mezcal Tequila Cantina - Worcester, Worcester, MA
Chicken Fajitas - Mezcal Tequila Cantina - Worcester, Worcester, MA
Margarita - Mezcal Tequila Cantina - Worcester, Worcester, MA

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Mezcal Tequila Cantina - Worcester Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

3.9

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Central MA
Most Booked
Central MA
Best Restaurants in Worcester ›

Good for Groups (19)
Casual (17)
Good for a Date (14)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Fun (10)
People Watching (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Authentic (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Family Style (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Tapas (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Live Sports (4)
Spicy (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Great Beer (3)
Business Meals (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Scenic View (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Cozy (1)
Healthy (1)
Romantic (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
422 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food and service was excellent! Would de ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

Food and service was excellent! Would def return for any occasion :)

Tags: Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Reasonably priced Mexican restaurant acr ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Reasonably priced Mexican restaurant across from the DCU Center. Parking garage is right there as well. Ultimately it's quite convenient. The guacamole was fabulous! We received our starters right away. Our server was polite and very efficient. Not sure why but even though we arrived between 6:15 and 6:25 (and mentioned we were attending the 8:00 show and wanted to depart by 7:40 or so) we received our main entrees at precisely 7:40. That was unfortunate. We ate in 10 minutes and departed. Will try it again though.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Amazing food great atmosphere....but you ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Amazing food great atmosphere....but you must book ahead on a show night for the DCU. They book out a month in advance. Worth the convenience and the food.

Joe and Bobbi 15 Year Anniversary Dinner and TSO Show

Tags: Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Slow service! Good food. Convenient lo ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Slow service! Good food. Convenient location to DCU.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

Couldn't ask for a better place to go on ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Couldn't ask for a better place to go on a date. The food was great and the margaritas were the best i have ever had.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Cozy, Healthy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Amazing Mexican cuisine. Guacamole varia ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Amazing Mexican cuisine. Guacamole variations very creative and tasty. Wasn't rushed at al. Very attentive waitstaff. Margaritas were potent and tasty. I'd go back for sure.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant had a great reputation a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 4, 2016

This restaurant had a great reputation at its old address; since moving to the new location, the food quality (no specials, for example) has declined. My Fajitas were a pan of vegetables together overcooked with pieces of chicken thrown in; the beef in a friend's Fajitas had freezer burn. However, a salad, ordered by another friend was quite good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Good moderately seasoned Mexican food an ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Good moderately seasoned Mexican food and friendly staff, but the experience was spoiled by the deafening noise level. That was a compound of absurdly loud background music, stone and exposed metal surfaces and guests who talked at their own near shriek level to override the swells of chaos and cacophony. Sadly this spoiled an otherwise probably better than average kitchen's attempts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Serving $9 margaritas in small plastic c ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Serving $9 margaritas in small plastic cups filled to the top with ice is unacceptable. Have a little class and respect your patrons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

My wife and I were going to see a band p ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

My wife and I were going to see a band play down the street and we wanted to have dinner close to where we were going. We like mexican cuisine and thought we would give it a try. They had free valet service which was a nice start to the evening! We had made reservations and our table was ready right away. The service ws exceptional. The waiter was at out table within a minute of us being seated and we ordered drinks which came quickly as well. We had the dinner for two which had a nice variety to choice from and that came quickly as well. Our waiter and the manager of the restaurant came by out table and ask us if we were enjoying the food.........we did! All-in-all, we had a terrific dinner experience.

Scott

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food good. Manager very up tight. Table ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Food good. Manager very up tight. Table was close to the door and drafty. You would have thought we asked him to move the whole building.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Service was excellent and the eggplant a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Service was excellent and the eggplant appetizer was great for my entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Food was very good. The waitstaff was v ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Food was very good. The waitstaff was very nice. There was a miscommunication between the wait staff so half way through our visit, we no longer had a waiter. Our new waiter was very apologetic and didn't charge us for dessert.

While it wasn't the best experience, we are willing to give it another chance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

The staff at Mezcal were amazing! We wer ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The staff at Mezcal were amazing! We were there during flooding and the staff was working non-stop to do their best to accommodate diners. Because of flooding, the kitchen had to close but all staff kept calm and did their best to make sure customers were well taken care of. They definitely did their best in a bad situation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5

The menu is extensive with countless Mar ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The menu is extensive with countless Margarita and Tequila options. The food is great and a very fair value. The only negative??? The NOISE!!!! When this place is busy, forget having a quiet conversation, You will have to speak up to be heard!! Several times the waiter came to the table and I had to do my best lip reading to follow what he was saying. But in spite of the roar, we come back over an over. We strategically aim to get here during the earlier part of Dinner hour. In this way, at we can hear one another for part of our meal .

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Very impressed with Menu, food freshness ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Very impressed with Menu, food freshness and service will definitely return

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was great. Wait staff was wonderful ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Food was great. Wait staff was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Service and staff were excellent! Eggpla ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Service and staff were excellent! Eggplant appetizer was quite good, but burritos were smothered in the same overwhelming smoky sause, fillings (steak and chicken) were ok, but lacked pretty much anything else that defines a burrito!

I suppose it was a nouvelle take on Mexican food, but not what we were looking for.

Tried nothing else do can't comment, but not even remotely authentic Mexican fare

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

There was a very nice warm atmosphere. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 11, 2016

There was a very nice warm atmosphere. We explained to the waitress that we didn't have a lot of time as we were going to a concert. We ordered guacamole which I would highly recommend it was extremely fresh and tasty and came with great chips. We all had different main courses which were all very tasty. Our waitress was very friendly with our drinks and food coming quickly as we had asked. We look forward to returning.

Tags: Happy Hour, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

It's easy to find Mexican food---not so ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 9, 2016

It's easy to find Mexican food---not so easy to find good Mexican food. Mezcal provided it. The tequila selection was incredible and it helped that our waiter was quite knowledgeable about the range that was available. The food was well-conceived and executed, featuring traditional Mexican fare and innovative twists. Parking was easy and free and the location is right off of RT290 so it's not hard to find.

Tags: Live Sports, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The service and food were very good, but ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The service and food were very good, but the restaurant was very noisy. Enjoyed the margaritas and calimari.

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching, Fun, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Went for my birthday. Asked to space out ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Went for my birthday. Asked to space out our meals from appetizers, and they still came out when we didn't even finish our apps yet. So annoying. I wish we could just eat apps first, have 15-20 minutes break and then receive entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

ONE OF THE BEST DISHES IN THE 6 YEARS TH ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 22, 2016

ONE OF THE BEST DISHES IN THE 6 YEARS THAT IVE BEEN GOING TO MEZCAL IS THE CHIMICHANGA (HUGE) AND SIDE OF GUACAMOLE IS TO DIE FOR. GREAT SERVICE AND GREAT SERVICE.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is very good, especially the Me ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food is very good, especially the Mediterranean guacamole, and the mai tai margaritas were delicious, but for some reason I always forget how unusually LOUD this place is. Don't go here expecting to be able to hear your dining companions...and your voice may be hoarse from yell-talking across the table. It's fun, yes, but the music is SO loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Best guacamole!!! Very friendly staff an ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Best guacamole!!! Very friendly staff and nice atmosphere.

Tags: Live Sports, Great for Lunch, Spicy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Very loud and service was poor late to g ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Very loud and service was poor late to get drink orders and then forgot to bring appetizer main courses appeared server just remarked Oh they did not bring it????

Food was ok Would not go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

It is great to see a lively restaurant i ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 4, 2016

It is great to see a lively restaurant in downtown Worcester. Everyone is very friendly - Valet Parking, Reception, and Waiter. The Mexican food is great!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This was my first time here since they m ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 3, 2016

This was my first time here since they moved to Major Taylor Blvd. I moved from Worcester a few years ago and couldn't wait to go to Mezcal during my return visit. The food, service, and overall experience at Mezcal used to be through the roof when they were on Shrewsbury St. I have to say I was disappointed that this last visit for a Sunday lunch was nowhere near what it used to be like. Both, our appetizers and meals were messed up, the service wasn't very good, and the food was only mediocre. I hope this all was a coincidence. I wont be returning to Mezcal next time I'm in Worcester.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Tapas, Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

The food was so good! Hudson our waitres ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food was so good! Hudson our waitress was friendly, knowledgeable,and attentive.the drinks were excellent.l a great time,l defiantly be back and bring friends and family

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a groupon for this meal it was gr ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 16, 2016

We had a groupon for this meal it was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Food is top notch Tex mex... We love the ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food is top notch Tex mex... We love the guacamole & nachos! Delicious enchiladas!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We come here often. This time we were h ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 13, 2016

We come here often. This time we were here for dinner for a night out and to take advantage of Worcester Restaurant Week. For starters we ordered chips and salsa and the guacamole of the day. The guac was flavored with curry powder and chunks of mango and topped with a drizzle of sour cream - nice change of pace. For our entrees we each had one of the restaurant week featured entrees - I had the grilled sirloin steak and my wife had the seared tuna. I ordered my steak medium rare and my wife ordered her tuna medium. The steak arrived medium and the tuna was medium rare. Other than that, they were terrific. The use of seasoning enhanced the meat/fish. The sides were delicious, and certainly not what you'd expect at a Mexican restaurant (mashed potatoes/fried rice). They did enhance the dish, though, and had a Mexican flair. We had no room for dessert. As usual, cocktail selection was creative with several choices.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fast, fresh and tasty food accompanied b ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Fast, fresh and tasty food accompanied by some expertly crafted cocktails.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had only been to Mezcal once before, f ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 24, 2016

I had only been to Mezcal once before, for a wine tasting. We decided to come for dinner on a whim, and I was surprised to get a table so easily. The staff was polite and helpful, the service was prompt and attentive and the food was delicious. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Appetizers were just ok. Not much flavor ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 21, 2016

Appetizers were just ok. Not much flavor. Salsa was fresh and excellent. Main course was very good. Dessert of fried ice cream was disappointing. Tasted like soggy corn flakes on the outside, not crispy and no flavor. Outdoor dining was nice, but the view leaves a lot to be desired. Busy intersection with ugly buildings. Thank goodness we sat outside because the noise level inside was pretty loud and it wasn't very crowded. It was also FREEZING cold inside. Nice to try this place once.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Just slow service. Understood there was ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Just slow service. Understood there was a DCU event, but it was around dinner time anyways, so I would think they'd be prepared for that.

Love the food and drinks, but service was a big let down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

I liked the old location much better. It ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 19, 2016

I liked the old location much better. It was much more quaint and authentic. This has a cafeteria like feel and plays American Top 40s. I prefer music to match the ambiance.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

The food was quite good. Pleasantly spic ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food was quite good. Pleasantly spicy. Our server was attentive. We had a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

First time to the new location, we've be ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 15, 2016

First time to the new location, we've been to the old Shrewsbury St location several times. Much, much bigger now so it's also a lot louder but our waiter was great. Guacamole is just as good as it always was, love trying the different kinds. We started with the taco rolls and, of course, a flight of guacamole and specialty margaritas...yum. Hubby got the chimichanga w/sauces on the side so it wouldn't get soggy, he liked it and ate the whole thing. I got the pork tostadas, meat was good especially with the coleslaw side but the corn tortilla was very tough to eat. We ended with the tres leches cake. Overall a great meal, will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great customer service after waiter made ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 13, 2016

Great customer service after waiter made several mistakes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.