Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Mezcal Tequila Cantina - Worcester

Now in a new location, Mezcal pioneered the flavors of the Southwest to Worcester. Blending traditional Mexican plates with the colors and flavors of the increasingly popular Southwestern U.S. cuisine, Mezcal has been a hit since day one. Add in made to order guacamole, an unrivaled tequila list and outdoor seating to make the decision that much easier. Mezcal’s exceptional service, warm hospitality and amazing value make it a choice worth considering again and again. Mezcal Tequila Cantina is part of Niche Hospitality Group.

30 Major Taylor Blvd
Worcester, MA 01608
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily 11:00am to 4:00pm, Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 1:00am, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Brunch: Sunday 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(508) 926-8307

Website:
http://www.nichehospitality.com/

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Mezcal Tequila Cantina - Worcester Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (22)
Casual (21)
Good for Groups (19)
See All
Bar Seating (14)
Happy Hour (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Fun (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Modern Decor (10)
Spicy (10)
Authentic (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Family Style (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
People Watching (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Tapas (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Healthy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Live Sports (1)
Romantic (1)
Business Meals (1)
Great Beer (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
473 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great service as always! We had a reservation but due to an event the parking garage was full and the valet parking lot was at capacity. When we called the restaurant to let them know we wouldn't be able to make our reservation due to parking, they insisted we come back and they would have a spot for us! Absolutely amazing customer service and problem solving! We really appreciated that! And the food and drinks were great too! Hands down our favorite Mexican restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Mezcal is always a pleasure to go to. The staff on-hand are very polite and accommodating. The food is fantastic. So many option. Even my girl friend; who is a picky eater, always finds a dish.

Tags: Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Great Beer, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food as always was great however the service on this particular night was not great. It appeared that the front end was understaffed. The hostess was not very attentive until we and others got her attention. Our waiter was good but spread thin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food and service is fantastic, the only thing is seating in a cold day and people opening the middle door it has a sign not to use so it cools the place down, other than that the bathrooms were a complete mess. You would figure someone would keep an eye out for details. Just a few changes and this could be a 5 star place. Also run out is desert the day before strange that he waitres would tell us that so it means is not fresh all the time. Good food and drinks

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The service was fantastic. Going out to dinner with children is always a hit or miss, but we felt very welcome and comfortable. The food was decent (the burritos and quesadillas always seem dry though...only complaint) and the drinks were good.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We had a great meal in the bar area. Service was excellent. Bartender made margaritas to order. Guacamole is exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Overall, very pleased. Food was above average. I had chicken enchilada, which was great. Guacamole flights had interesting ingredient options. Waiter was knowledgeable and friendly. Margarita was very good. The traffic before the concert was not the venue's fault. Met friends for dinner while my teen was at the DCU center. Make a reservation if it is around an event there. I found it a little cold inside, on a very cold night though.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Service was extreme slow by the time we got our food we were full off the drinks. Waited over an hour for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great night

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 3, 2017

As usual the food was great and the drinks were delicious The only complaint would be the temperature of the restaurant, with glass walls on the street side, the cold comes through and makes it UN-comfortable, and some of the people in our group had to wear coats.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Good, service and ambiance were great. The restaurant is a little loud but we really enjoyed our dinner. Would definitely recommend!

Tags: Family Style, Live Sports, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Best guacamole and Baja fish tacos. Always fabulous service. Love sitting outside in summer.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We went here as we were at an event at DCU center nearby, as a result restaurant is swamped for a short period of time. Concierge handled the front incredibly well and efficiently. WE were impressed . food good, service great.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Meh. First time. Service sucked, food was ok. Won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Great margaritas. Super friendly staff. We got out app after our meal by mistake and the waiter and manager were both great and sympathetic. Food seriously was amazing and different from anywhere else we could go around here.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I have eaten at Mezcal quite a few times. The best part has been the service. The Mexican food is very middle of the road quality. Tex mex with the usually cheesy mix.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We were there for 2 hours, not because we were having fun. . Because the service was so bad. We were one of three tables there and she disappeared for so long. I ordered nachos, they were nothing what they were described as. When I wanted to order some guacamole for them, the waitress was nowhere to be found and by the time she returned she returned with our entre. I asked for a side of guacamole when I placed my order and she forgot it when entre came, and I had to wait 20 minutes to flag her down for the side, and silverwesr. She never refilled the drinks. And even took a long time bringing the bill. I will never come back here again. Very disappointed

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went on Valentine's Day with our 2 kids. Our waitress, Abby, was great. All 4 of us enjoyed the meals and appetizers. Chef's special guacamole was great. Strawberries with chocolate and caramel sauce. Sounded awful, but it was very good. We have been there 6 or 7 times and it is always very good. We will be back soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Honestly my husband and I went on Valentine's Day, we made a reservation a month before as I haven't been there in a few years and was craving their guacamole and margaritas, we were seated in the bar area which wasn't right since I made this reservation well in advance I could see if I was a walk in but that wasn't the case. We asked the hostess if we could sit in the dining area and they said no. When we sat in the bar area there were 2 very young couples already eating but my husband and I noticed they weren't sitting anyone else there all night I guess we were the lucky ones. The menu has changed since a few years ago it was a bit more upscale but now it's downgraded I did get the special that night which was the surf and turf and my husband got the steak we waited a long time for our meals but our meals were warm almost cold so they just have been sitting in the kitchen waiting to come out. Our waiter was sweating running around like a mad person doing the bar and waiting the bar tables. I think this place is over rated and won't be returning.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was amazing especially the guacamole. The only bad thing I have to say is that the margaritas, even a plain house margarita was so sweet me and my girlfriend couldn't finish it. We go to a lot of Mexican restaraunts and this is my first time not finishing my margarita. We also couldn't taste any alcohol in them. It tasted like lemonade. Besides that, I love
Mezcal!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Good food and service. Easy parking with valet. Margaritas were wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was great as always. Drinks are good. Homemade guac is amazing!

Tags: Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great service from our waitress Jessica, knew menu, talked about options and was attentive the entire meal. Good was delicious and portions were ample. Really enjoyed the special Cuban burrito & the steak and cheese chimichanga but the 8 different guacamole dips was awesome. Couldn't decide on one so we tried a flight of 3. Favorite was the house. Great early dinner before the theatre but the large restaurant & bar will see us again soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Everything was great, I loved the guacamole and the flight of 3 flavors was great.
I gave the review on the food a lower rating because 2/4 people we went with got sick after. (Stomach upset / bloating) We all ate different but somewhat similar things - different tacos. Over all it was enjoyable, but I can't say I'm going to be running back anytime soon

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The service was attentive but not overbearing. Guacamole was a fresh appetizer. Chipotle rubbed short ribs were well executed. Others in my group enjoyed their burritos, enchiladas and fajitas. Drinks are fairly pricey and small. This restaurant is very loud so we couldn't really hear eachother that well. I have been here for Sunday brunch and enjoyed it when it was quieter.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Good food and great service. Came here with a group of 10 and couldn't have asked for a better server or food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The definition of "meh". Average decor, fair food quality, average service... dependable, but uninspired.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food great but kitchen a bit slow. But our server was excellent, and kept us informed of where our order was in the process.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Very well-prepared mexican dishes with original styles. More tequilas than I knew existed, and the couple that I tried were so much better than I thought tequila could be.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We went to Mezcal's for my husbands birthday. They were very accommodating when I had to add 3 more people the same day. Hostess was very nice and our waiter I though did a great job considering how many people in our party. The food was good a little spicy for me but delicious.
The alcoholic drinks from what I was told were ok. There was not enough alcohol to where you could at least taste it. I believe it was the Mai Tai. The parking was convenient, you can valet or park in the garage and they will stamp it so you don't have to pay for parking. All in all I would recommend it to my friends. Thank you to Mezcal's

Tags: Spicy, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We were not impressed by the food, the pork carnitas lacked flavor and it was served with polenta which was strange, the chicken burrito was dry and the guacamole was overpriced and very oniony, we will continue to go to Acapulco's for real authentic Mexican food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We visited Mezcal on a Saturday afternoon for lunch. The restaurant was almost empty when we arrived. However, the food took a very long time to reach our table. The food was only okay. We got chicken and short rib tacos. Neither were very inspiring. My son explicitly asked for a crunchy corm tortillas, but was served his taco on a soft flour taco. While the waiter was accommodating, it seemed like he was overwhelmed and a bit insincere in his service.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Could have been the worst fajita we have ever had. They also changed the margarita recipes and they were not good. We will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Good food and atmosphere. Pretty quick service, Great Margaritas!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Food was great - service not so much! The guacamole is amazing.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food and excellent Sangria Margarita. The very best guacamole as always. This place is a favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Good had lots of flavor. It is definitely different than other restaurants around. My reason for 3 star on food was actually the Margaritas. They were very weak and too sour. I'm not asking for a strong margarita but I am not sure there was much tequila at all. I had heard good things about their margaritas and was disappointed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Housed in a bunker-like building with cold concrete floors and limited decor, this place offers the worst of corporate-style tex-mex with no effort at authenticity or even taste. The frat-house servers seem to speak from a script, so unpersonable and unspontaneous are they.

I was really unhappy to have wasted my money at this lousy place.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Duck taco dorado, mini tuna tostadas, Thai rooster guacamole--all excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Delicious meal and apps too. Perfect yummy margaritas. Will be back soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.