About Mezcal Tequila Cantina - Worcester

30 Major Taylor Blvd
Worcester, MA 01608
View Larger Map

Now in a new location, Mezcal pioneered the flavors of the Southwest to Worcester. Blending traditional Mexican plates with the colors and flavors of the increasingly popular Southwestern U.S. cuisine, Mezcal has been a hit since day one. Add in made to order guacamole, an unrivaled tequila list and outdoor seating to make the decision that much easier. Mezcal’s exceptional service, warm hospitality and amazing value make it a choice worth considering again and again. Mezcal Tequila Cantina is part of Niche Hospitality Group.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily 11:00am to 4:00pm, Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 1:00am, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Brunch: Sunday 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(508) 926-8307

Website:
http://www.nichehospitality.com/

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Guacamole and Chips - Mezcal Tequila Cantina - Worcester, Worcester, MA
Pork Tacos - Mezcal Tequila Cantina - Worcester, Worcester, MA
Buffalo Chicken Guacamole - Mezcal Tequila Cantina - Worcester, Worcester, MA
Taco Salad - Mezcal Tequila Cantina - Worcester, Worcester, MA
Strawberry Coconut Margarita - Mezcal Tequila Cantina - Worcester, Worcester, MA
House Guacamole - Mezcal Tequila Cantina - Worcester, Worcester, MA
Salsa - Mezcal Tequila Cantina - Worcester, Worcester, MA
Chile Rellenos - Mezcal Tequila Cantina - Worcester, Worcester, MA
House Margarita - Mezcal Tequila Cantina - Worcester, Worcester, MA
Margaritas - Mezcal Tequila Cantina - Worcester, Worcester, MA
fish tacos - Mezcal Tequila Cantina - Worcester, Worcester, MA
Queso Fundido - Mezcal Tequila Cantina - Worcester, Worcester, MA
Coconut Fried Ice Cream - Mezcal Tequila Cantina - Worcester, Worcester, MA
Pescado Y Patatas - Mezcal Tequila Cantina - Worcester, Worcester, MA
Chicken Fajitas - Mezcal Tequila Cantina - Worcester, Worcester, MA
Margarita - Mezcal Tequila Cantina - Worcester, Worcester, MA

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Mezcal Tequila Cantina - Worcester Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.2

ambience

3.8

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (16)
Good for Groups (14)
Good for a Date (13)
See All
Fun (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Authentic (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
People Watching (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Family Style (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Tapas (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Spicy (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Romantic (2)
Great Beer (2)
Live Sports (2)
Healthy (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Cozy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Business Meals (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
437 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and excellent Sangria Margari ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food and excellent Sangria Margarita. The very best guacamole as always. This place is a favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Good had lots of flavor. It is definitel ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Good had lots of flavor. It is definitely different than other restaurants around. My reason for 3 star on food was actually the Margaritas. They were very weak and too sour. I'm not asking for a strong margarita but I am not sure there was much tequila at all. I had heard good things about their margaritas and was disappointed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, , Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

Housed in a bunker-like building with co ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Housed in a bunker-like building with cold concrete floors and limited decor, this place offers the worst of corporate-style tex-mex with no effort at authenticity or even taste. The frat-house servers seem to speak from a script, so unpersonable and unspontaneous are they.

I was really unhappy to have wasted my money at this lousy place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Duck taco dorado, mini tuna tostadas, Th ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Duck taco dorado, mini tuna tostadas, Thai rooster guacamole--all excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious meal and apps too. Perfect yum ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Delicious meal and apps too. Perfect yummy margaritas. Will be back soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The house guacamole was good, as usual. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The house guacamole was good, as usual. I had the duck breast however and it was served lukewarm. My friend had the fajitas and they were not sizzling hot as you might expect. Service was warm and friendly though! Probably will not return. Try The Fix, also of the Niche Group -- much better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

The menu has changed significantly since ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The menu has changed significantly since my last visit and I am really disappointed with the new choices, I enjoyed their old cuisine. The tropical guacamole while still on the menu was anything but, it had no fruit just a couple cashews thrown in, and the margaritas were way too sour, and gave the entire table heartburn and acid reflux.

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Big change to the menu left us pondering ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Big change to the menu left us pondering why they changed at all. It was perfect before. Nachos weren't the same. They were overlooked and lacked much of the toppings. The guacamole amount was much smaller, especially for our table of 6. This WAS my favorite restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Fabulous !!!!

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Fabulous !!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was EXtremly slow, at a lunchtim ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Service was EXtremly slow, at a lunchtime slow, time of day! They need to prepare better when the local convention center has a event!!

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

Was one of my favorite restaurants in th ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Was one of my favorite restaurants in the area for a long time. For some reason they recently changed the menu for the worse. Sad to say it will be the last time I'll be going.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5

Have been to Mezcal in Worcester multipl ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Have been to Mezcal in Worcester multiple times over the last few years. I moved out of the area recently and returned only to be disappointed to see they changed their menu. Used to love the deal for an appetizer, guac, and two entrees, but this is no longer offered. Also disappointed to see many changes in the menu to some of my favorite entrees including steak chimichanga and duck quesadilla. I droved an hour to come to mezcal, but will stay closer to home next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This is nowhere near the ambiance and gr ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 3, 2016

This is nowhere near the ambiance and great food that used to be served at the Shrewsbury st location. They just changed the menu, and it was poor. Food was very sweet and very spicy. Steak fajitas were flavorless, steak was poor quality, and very little steak for $18. More like a college hangout than a unique Mexican restaurant that they used to be. Very loud and cold. Guacamole is still good. Stick with that and margaritas. I will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

We had over cooked pork told the waiter ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 1, 2016

We had over cooked pork told the waiter who basically said it's a new menu so that is how it goes. Really? Also, told them it was a birthday and no recognition from the staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value4

Food and service was excellent! Would de ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Food and service was excellent! Would def return for any occasion :)

Tags: Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Reasonably priced Mexican restaurant acr ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Reasonably priced Mexican restaurant across from the DCU Center. Parking garage is right there as well. Ultimately it's quite convenient. The guacamole was fabulous! We received our starters right away. Our server was polite and very efficient. Not sure why but even though we arrived between 6:15 and 6:25 (and mentioned we were attending the 8:00 show and wanted to depart by 7:40 or so) we received our main entrees at precisely 7:40. That was unfortunate. We ate in 10 minutes and departed. Will try it again though.

Tags: , Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Amazing food great atmosphere....but you ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Amazing food great atmosphere....but you must book ahead on a show night for the DCU. They book out a month in advance. Worth the convenience and the food.

Joe and Bobbi 15 Year Anniversary Dinner and TSO Show

Tags: Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Slow service! Good food. Convenient lo ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Slow service! Good food. Convenient location to DCU.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

Couldn't ask for a better place to go on ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Couldn't ask for a better place to go on a date. The food was great and the margaritas were the best i have ever had.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Cozy, Healthy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Amazing Mexican cuisine. Guacamole varia ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Amazing Mexican cuisine. Guacamole variations very creative and tasty. Wasn't rushed at al. Very attentive waitstaff. Margaritas were potent and tasty. I'd go back for sure.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant had a great reputation a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 4, 2016

This restaurant had a great reputation at its old address; since moving to the new location, the food quality (no specials, for example) has declined. My Fajitas were a pan of vegetables together overcooked with pieces of chicken thrown in; the beef in a friend's Fajitas had freezer burn. However, a salad, ordered by another friend was quite good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Good moderately seasoned Mexican food an ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Good moderately seasoned Mexican food and friendly staff, but the experience was spoiled by the deafening noise level. That was a compound of absurdly loud background music, stone and exposed metal surfaces and guests who talked at their own near shriek level to override the swells of chaos and cacophony. Sadly this spoiled an otherwise probably better than average kitchen's attempts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Serving $9 margaritas in small plastic c ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Serving $9 margaritas in small plastic cups filled to the top with ice is unacceptable. Have a little class and respect your patrons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

My wife and I were going to see a band p ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

My wife and I were going to see a band play down the street and we wanted to have dinner close to where we were going. We like mexican cuisine and thought we would give it a try. They had free valet service which was a nice start to the evening! We had made reservations and our table was ready right away. The service ws exceptional. The waiter was at out table within a minute of us being seated and we ordered drinks which came quickly as well. We had the dinner for two which had a nice variety to choice from and that came quickly as well. Our waiter and the manager of the restaurant came by out table and ask us if we were enjoying the food.........we did! All-in-all, we had a terrific dinner experience.

Scott

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food good. Manager very up tight. Table ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Food good. Manager very up tight. Table was close to the door and drafty. You would have thought we asked him to move the whole building.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Service was excellent and the eggplant a ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Service was excellent and the eggplant appetizer was great for my entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Food was very good. The waitstaff was v ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Food was very good. The waitstaff was very nice. There was a miscommunication between the wait staff so half way through our visit, we no longer had a waiter. Our new waiter was very apologetic and didn't charge us for dessert.

While it wasn't the best experience, we are willing to give it another chance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

The staff at Mezcal were amazing! We wer ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The staff at Mezcal were amazing! We were there during flooding and the staff was working non-stop to do their best to accommodate diners. Because of flooding, the kitchen had to close but all staff kept calm and did their best to make sure customers were well taken care of. They definitely did their best in a bad situation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5

The menu is extensive with countless Mar ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The menu is extensive with countless Margarita and Tequila options. The food is great and a very fair value. The only negative??? The NOISE!!!! When this place is busy, forget having a quiet conversation, You will have to speak up to be heard!! Several times the waiter came to the table and I had to do my best lip reading to follow what he was saying. But in spite of the roar, we come back over an over. We strategically aim to get here during the earlier part of Dinner hour. In this way, at we can hear one another for part of our meal .

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Very impressed with Menu, food freshness ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Very impressed with Menu, food freshness and service will definitely return

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was great. Wait staff was wonderful ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Food was great. Wait staff was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Service and staff were excellent! Eggpla ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Service and staff were excellent! Eggplant appetizer was quite good, but burritos were smothered in the same overwhelming smoky sause, fillings (steak and chicken) were ok, but lacked pretty much anything else that defines a burrito!

I suppose it was a nouvelle take on Mexican food, but not what we were looking for.

Tried nothing else do can't comment, but not even remotely authentic Mexican fare

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

There was a very nice warm atmosphere. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 11, 2016

There was a very nice warm atmosphere. We explained to the waitress that we didn't have a lot of time as we were going to a concert. We ordered guacamole which I would highly recommend it was extremely fresh and tasty and came with great chips. We all had different main courses which were all very tasty. Our waitress was very friendly with our drinks and food coming quickly as we had asked. We look forward to returning.

Tags: Happy Hour, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

It's easy to find Mexican food---not so ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 9, 2016

It's easy to find Mexican food---not so easy to find good Mexican food. Mezcal provided it. The tequila selection was incredible and it helped that our waiter was quite knowledgeable about the range that was available. The food was well-conceived and executed, featuring traditional Mexican fare and innovative twists. Parking was easy and free and the location is right off of RT290 so it's not hard to find.

Tags: Live Sports, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The service and food were very good, but ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The service and food were very good, but the restaurant was very noisy. Enjoyed the margaritas and calimari.

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching, Fun, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Went for my birthday. Asked to space out ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Went for my birthday. Asked to space out our meals from appetizers, and they still came out when we didn't even finish our apps yet. So annoying. I wish we could just eat apps first, have 15-20 minutes break and then receive entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

ONE OF THE BEST DISHES IN THE 6 YEARS TH ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 22, 2016

ONE OF THE BEST DISHES IN THE 6 YEARS THAT IVE BEEN GOING TO MEZCAL IS THE CHIMICHANGA (HUGE) AND SIDE OF GUACAMOLE IS TO DIE FOR. GREAT SERVICE AND GREAT SERVICE.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is very good, especially the Me ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food is very good, especially the Mediterranean guacamole, and the mai tai margaritas were delicious, but for some reason I always forget how unusually LOUD this place is. Don't go here expecting to be able to hear your dining companions...and your voice may be hoarse from yell-talking across the table. It's fun, yes, but the music is SO loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Best guacamole!!! Very friendly staff an ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Best guacamole!!! Very friendly staff and nice atmosphere.

Tags: Live Sports, Great for Lunch, Spicy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Very loud and service was poor late to g ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Very loud and service was poor late to get drink orders and then forgot to bring appetizer main courses appeared server just remarked Oh they did not bring it????

Food was ok Would not go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.