About Mezcal Tequila Cantina - Worcester

30 Major Taylor Blvd
Worcester, MA 01608
View Larger Map

Now in a new location, Mezcal pioneered the flavors of the Southwest to Worcester. Blending traditional Mexican plates with the colors and flavors of the increasingly popular Southwestern U.S. cuisine, Mezcal has been a hit since day one. Add in made to order guacamole, an unrivaled tequila list and outdoor seating to make the decision that much easier. Mezcal’s exceptional service, warm hospitality and amazing value make it a choice worth considering again and again. Mezcal Tequila Cantina is part of Niche Hospitality Group.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily 11:00am to 4:00pm, Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 1:00am, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Brunch: Sunday 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(508) 926-8307

Website:
http://www.nichehospitality.com/

Restaurant Photos

Mezcal Tequila Cantina - Worcester
Guacamole and Chips
Pork Tacos
Buffalo Chicken Guacamole
Taco Salad
Strawberry Coconut Margarita
House Guacamole
Salsa
Chile Rellenos
House Margarita
Margaritas
fish tacos
Queso Fundido
Coconut Fried Ice Cream
Pescado Y Patatas
Chicken Fajitas
Margarita

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Mezcal Tequila Cantina - Worcester Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (61)
Great for Outdoor Dining (27)
Great for Lunch (25)
See All
Special Occasion (24)
Vibrant Bar Scene (24)
Hot Spot (23)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Late-night Find (22)
Kid-friendly (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Great for Brunch (5)
Scenic View (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Romantic (2)
Sort By:
Newest
389 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was so good! Hudson our waitres ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was so good! Hudson our waitress was friendly, knowledgeable,and attentive.the drinks were excellent.l a great time,l defiantly be back and bring friends and family

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a groupon for this meal it was gr ...

 
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We had a groupon for this meal it was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Food is top notch Tex mex... We love the ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food is top notch Tex mex... We love the guacamole & nachos! Delicious enchiladas!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We come here often. This time we were h ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We come here often. This time we were here for dinner for a night out and to take advantage of Worcester Restaurant Week. For starters we ordered chips and salsa and the guacamole of the day. The guac was flavored with curry powder and chunks of mango and topped with a drizzle of sour cream - nice change of pace. For our entrees we each had one of the restaurant week featured entrees - I had the grilled sirloin steak and my wife had the seared tuna. I ordered my steak medium rare and my wife ordered her tuna medium. The steak arrived medium and the tuna was medium rare. Other than that, they were terrific. The use of seasoning enhanced the meat/fish. The sides were delicious, and certainly not what you'd expect at a Mexican restaurant (mashed potatoes/fried rice). They did enhance the dish, though, and had a Mexican flair. We had no room for dessert. As usual, cocktail selection was creative with several choices.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fast, fresh and tasty food accompanied b ...

 
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Fast, fresh and tasty food accompanied by some expertly crafted cocktails.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had only been to Mezcal once before, f ...

 
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I had only been to Mezcal once before, for a wine tasting. We decided to come for dinner on a whim, and I was surprised to get a table so easily. The staff was polite and helpful, the service was prompt and attentive and the food was delicious. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Appetizers were just ok. Not much flavor ...

 
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Appetizers were just ok. Not much flavor. Salsa was fresh and excellent. Main course was very good. Dessert of fried ice cream was disappointing. Tasted like soggy corn flakes on the outside, not crispy and no flavor. Outdoor dining was nice, but the view leaves a lot to be desired. Busy intersection with ugly buildings. Thank goodness we sat outside because the noise level inside was pretty loud and it wasn't very crowded. It was also FREEZING cold inside. Nice to try this place once.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Just slow service. Understood there was ...

 
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Just slow service. Understood there was a DCU event, but it was around dinner time anyways, so I would think they'd be prepared for that.

Love the food and drinks, but service was a big let down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

I liked the old location much better. It ...

 
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I liked the old location much better. It was much more quaint and authentic. This has a cafeteria like feel and plays American Top 40s. I prefer music to match the ambiance.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

The food was quite good. Pleasantly spic ...

 
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food was quite good. Pleasantly spicy. Our server was attentive. We had a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

First time to the new location, we've be ...

 
·Dined on July 15, 2016

First time to the new location, we've been to the old Shrewsbury St location several times. Much, much bigger now so it's also a lot louder but our waiter was great. Guacamole is just as good as it always was, love trying the different kinds. We started with the taco rolls and, of course, a flight of guacamole and specialty margaritas...yum. Hubby got the chimichanga w/sauces on the side so it wouldn't get soggy, he liked it and ate the whole thing. I got the pork tostadas, meat was good especially with the coleslaw side but the corn tortilla was very tough to eat. We ended with the tres leches cake. Overall a great meal, will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great customer service after waiter made ...

 
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Great customer service after waiter made several mistakes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

We had a family dinner when our kids tur ...

 
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We had a family dinner when our kids turned 21. We ordered a pitcher of Sangria, and it was very good. The guacamole dip/salsa selection was an excellent appetizer. We all enjoyed our entrees.

It was a nice experience, and we'd return here in the future.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent service for our party of 8. Th ...

 
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Excellent service for our party of 8. The guacamole was great. The chorizo and shrimp risotto was flavorful but mushy. Others enjoyed fish tacos, chicken quesadilla, and other standards. Great margaritas!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Mezcal is fresh and delicious food. We ...

 
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Mezcal is fresh and delicious food.

We always start with their fabulous guacamole. My husband then gets a gluten free burrito and I always get a mixture of gluten free soft tacos.

Service is always excellent and utilizing the valet parking is easy. There's plenty of garage parking above too.

Great people watching and walls of glass looking out onto Major Tayor Blvd.

Enjoy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was okay. Service and management wa ...

 
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food was okay. Service and management was terrible. They couldn't handle the extra preconcert crowd.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Very much enjoyed our food, the drink se ...

 
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Very much enjoyed our food, the drink selection, the guacamole choices, and our server was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We choose Mezcal to have drinks & appeti ...

 
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We choose Mezcal to have drinks & appetizers before a concert at DCU and it was the perfect choice. Guacamole, carnitas quesadillas, and tuna tostadas were all the epitome of Mexican cuisine and they paired beautifully with House crafted cocktails. The place did get crazy busy about 90 minutes before the show, and on an event night I wouldn't even attempt this place without a reservation. The restaurant turned into a mad house and I was grateful to have a seat. This was my third visit to Mezcal and I'd definitely return.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We went here before a concert and it wa ...

 
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We went here before a concert and it was a great find. The drink menu and tequila selection was fantastic. We had the flight of guacamole which was very tasty. I am not a huge guacamole fan, but really enjoyed the original, the buffalo chicken and the tropical. The quesadilla was packed full of chicken and was very crispy and the tacos were really good too. The classic margarita pitcher was a great value. The staff was very attentive and helpful, but allowed us time to linger over our drinks and really enjoy our time. Jasmine was fantastic. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food. Good drinks. Friendly and p ...

 
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Good food. Good drinks. Friendly and pleasant waitress. Service was prompt. Rice ball appetizer was my favorite part of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Favorite Place for Modern Mexican Food

 
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Favorite Place for Modern Mexican Food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Wonderful meal at MezCal. We loved the ...

 
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Wonderful meal at MezCal. We loved the flavors, the quality of the food, the level of service. We had a wonderful time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Prices are on par with the rest of the N ...

 
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Prices are on par with the rest of the Niche group and so is the quality of the food. The waiter was clearly new and didn't write down our food or drink orders (table of 5) which led to many occasions of receiving the wrong item. Also, he was not attentive which led to one member of my party tracking the waiter down to make a request after receiving our food orders.

Overall, good drinks, mixed reviews for the meals, and poor service. A solid 3/5.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Have been to mezcal many times and was d ...

 
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Have been to mezcal many times and was disappointed in the server. It was not busy and spilt a drink on a member of the party and stained her pants. She also took the order wrong and was given the wrong food. The manager came over and was pleasant but overall not great service tonight. Disappointed and not usually how I feel about this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

Love the guacamole and margaritas! It g ...

 
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Love the guacamole and margaritas! It gets pretty busy on weekends, so we always make reservations if we want to go on a Friday or Saturday night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Went to dinner for my husband's birthday ...

 
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Went to dinner for my husband's birthday before a concert at DCU. Food was yummy! Location is right accross street from the concert venue which was perfect. Ordered the Dinner for two special. The Guacamole was delicious... Tuna Tostados outstanding... Burritto really good, but the Salmon was a bit dry but still very good. We didn't order Margaritas but they had a great wine and beer menu. Perfect spot for a date, fun night out with friends or you can even bring kids. Modern decor... We would go back for sure! Loved it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our server was excellent. The food and d ...

 
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Our server was excellent. The food and drinks are always great when we go. We wanted to sit outside but the weather didn't cooperate. We still had a great table and had a great night. Look forward to going back. Highly recommend. I had the salmon, it was delicious, friends had the three different tacos and loved those too. That is my other go to. Blood orange margaritas are my favorite as well as the others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Check to be sure what is at the DCU, it ...

 
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Check to be sure what is at the DCU, it gets very noisy and crowded before a big show. Food was great. Loved the flight of guacamole especially the Mediterranean. Homemade salsa great too. Loved the veggie quesadilla.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Good food reasonable prices. Server was ...

 
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Good food reasonable prices. Server was over attentive, expected her to pull up a stool and join us.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Delicious food and there's always a few ...

 
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Delicious food and there's always a few new specials. We went early on a Friday night so we got our pick of tables. The windows were open so there was a nice breeze too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always enjoy my meal here. Servers are ...

 
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Always enjoy my meal here. Servers are friendly, food is great. Try the guacamole and the pork carnitas, you will not be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Hoped for something more

 
·Dined on June 3, 2016

I went with high hopes having heard good things about the food and have enjoyed other Niche group restaurants. Unfortunately, the food wasn't very authentic Mexican in my opinion, though still tasty, especially the guacamole. Atmosphere wasn't for me, very loud, the décor is not as upscale as advertised, wasn't very good, had to ask twice for a water refill and didn't get something we ordered. If I was in the area I might go again, but wouldn't drive any length of distance for this spot.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

Accaawesome

 
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I LOVE THIS PLACE! I have been so many times and it's always delicious. Their margaritas and guac make this place my favorite treat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Something's missing.

 
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Mescal used to be one of our go-to spots in town. The restaurant is low-key, comfortable and makes a great drink. Service is friendly and prompt as well. The food, however, has left us underwhelmed the last couple of times we've been, and I think it will be a while before we go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

We were a group of ten there for dinner ...

 
·Dined on May 26, 2016

We were a group of ten there for dinner in between graduation events at Holy Cross. Staff was courtesy, efficient and sensitive to our timing. Had lunch there earlier in the year and the food/drinks never disappoint. Great spot, especially for this venue, and well attended by many in town for graduation. Seems to be a favorite with the students in the area and I can only imagine the weekend energy.

Thanks for the reservation!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good Food Confusing Service

 
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Food was good. (May be too spicy for some folks.) Enjoyed crab cakes, pork sliders, fajitas, shrimp chorizo risotto, and margaritas. Satisfying portions. Service was inconsistent. We had 2 different waitresses trying to tend our table. Service was slow and they were getting mixed up. Waitresses took our order in pieces which was odd. Despite this, we liked the food and enjoyed the patio seating. Food was reasonably priced. Will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

We are vegan, and it was so great to hav ...

 
·Dined on May 20, 2016

We are vegan, and it was so great to have the waitress give us the recommendation to go with the soft tacos instead of the enchiladas since the latter they haven't had much success getting to hold together without cheese. (I would use more beans, myself!). We love the guac, and honestly, to here for the custom margarita pitchers and the flight of guac. If we can find a good entree, bonus!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Tastes like airplane food. As a mexican, ...

 
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Tastes like airplane food. As a mexican, I can confidently say that this is not good mexican food. Fun to go with a big group.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value4

Not West Coast caliber. Great guacamole ...

 
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Not West Coast caliber. Great guacamole but the main dishes were so-so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

The food was disappointingly pedestrian, ...

 
·Dined on May 9, 2016

The food was disappointingly pedestrian, but priced higher. A lot of appetizers were salty instead of having unique flavors.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.