Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

The People’s Kitchen & Citizen Wine BarThe People’s Kitchen & Citizen Wine Bar
(1111)
$$$$
Steak | Worcester, Central MA
Booked 8 times today
Mezcal Tequila Cantina - LeominsterMezcal Tequila Cantina - Leominster
(360)
$$$$
Mexican / Southwestern | Leominster, Central MA
Booked 7 times today
Rye and ThymeRye and Thyme
(502)
$$$$
American | Leominster, Central MA
Booked 14 times today
Bocado Tapas Wine Bar – WellesleyBocado Tapas Wine Bar – Wellesley
(497)
$$$$
Mediterranean | Wellesley, Boston Suburbs
Booked 17 times today
Nuovo RestaurantNuovo Restaurant
(702)
$$$$
Italian | Worcester, Central MA
Booked 9 times today
Lock 50Lock 50
(138)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Worcester, Central MA
Booked 6 times today
British Beer Company- WorcesterBritish Beer Company- Worcester
(50)
$$$$
British | Worcester, Central MA
Booked 3 times today
Peppercorn's Grille and TavernPeppercorn's Grille and Tavern
(583)
$$$$
American | Worcester, Central MA
Booked 4 times today
Piccolo'sPiccolo's
(238)
$$$$
Italian | Worcester, Central MA
Booked 1 time today
Willy’s Steakhouse Grill & Sushi BarWilly’s Steakhouse Grill & Sushi Bar
(1158)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Shrewsbury, Central MA
Booked 8 times today
Leo's RistoranteLeo's Ristorante
(76)
$$$$
Italian | Worcester, Central MA
Ceres Bistro at Beechwood HotelCeres Bistro at Beechwood Hotel
(997)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Worcester, Central MA
Booked 5 times today
Grille 57Grille 57
(4)
$$$$
Italian | Worcester, Central MA
El Basha - Park AveEl Basha - Park Ave
(59)
$$$$
Middle Eastern | Worcester, Central MA
Booked 1 time today
Arturo’s RistoranteArturo’s Ristorante
(1070)
$$$$
Italian | Westborough, Central MA
Booked 13 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Mezcal Tequila Cantina - Worcester

Now in a new location, Mezcal pioneered the flavors of the Southwest to Worcester. Blending traditional Mexican plates with the colors and flavors of the increasingly popular Southwestern U.S. cuisine, Mezcal has been a hit since day one. Add in made to order guacamole, an unrivaled tequila list and outdoor seating to make the decision that much easier. Mezcal’s exceptional service, warm hospitality and amazing value make it a choice worth considering again and again. Mezcal Tequila Cantina is part of Niche Hospitality Group.

30 Major Taylor Blvd
Worcester, MA 01608
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily 11:00am to 4:00pm, Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 1:00am, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Brunch: Sunday 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(508) 926-8307

Website:
http://www.nichehospitality.com/

Mezcal Tequila Cantina - Worcester Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (13)
Casual (13)
Fun (7)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Authentic (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Family Style (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Spicy (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Live Sports (2)
People Watching (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Romantic (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great Beer (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Business Meals (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
484 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Fantastic service, and delicious guacamole! Fish tacos were a little bland.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We booked for a large group (originally 11 ended up being 9) and were placed in a back room away from the main part of the restaurant. It appears this was the designated room where large groups are placed which is understandable but we were placed so close to the kitchen door, that when opened, it would come precariously close to hitting our table. Fortunately, it was a secondary door, that didn't get much use. We got two Guacamole flights which were supposed to be accompanied by chips & salsa but the complimentary salsa never made an appearance. The menu was typical and uninspired and the service was uneven but understandable considering the sizes of the parties around us. Would consider going again with a smaller group where we would be able to take in the ambiance of the main dining room or perhaps even better would be sitting at the bar where it looks like a full menu is available and the bar staff was quite attentive.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Very nice atmosphere excellent drinks perfectly poured not rushing you out the door

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Casual, Comfort Food, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Amazing guacamole and margaritas! Would definitely come back again and get the same food!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We had a very bad experience. 26 mins we waited for food , seems as they were short staff. Very disapointing visit

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great night, thank you Sydney

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Love mezcal as always. Love making reservations online and sitting right away. Food was delicious and margaritas are the best. The only complaint I have is the amount of ice in the margaritas... only allows for a very small amount of actual drink and being so good you suck it right down! Love it here and will be back.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Sat right down and upon informing server that we were in a bit of a rush, he took both our drink and meal orders. The food arrived before the drinks, and we were able to make the show on time. Super service and the food was delicious!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great service as always! We had a reservation but due to an event the parking garage was full and the valet parking lot was at capacity. When we called the restaurant to let them know we wouldn't be able to make our reservation due to parking, they insisted we come back and they would have a spot for us! Absolutely amazing customer service and problem solving! We really appreciated that! And the food and drinks were great too! Hands down our favorite Mexican restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 12, 2017

My family and I have often come to Mezcal to celebrate birthdays and other events. It had become our place to go when looking for Mexican food. We were disappointed on our recent visit to find that the menu has been changed and several of our favorite entrées were no longer there. Things just seemed different. So much so that it made us wonder if I ownership has changed. After some research, I don't believe that to be the case. It's just another one of those situations where a restaurant feels it needs to shake things up. In this case, I don't think it was for the best. Honestly, it left us thinking that we would need to find another option for Mexican food in the greater Worcester area. It's too bad, because we really felt comfortable here and truly enjoyed their previous menu. We will give it another try, I'm sure. But honestly, unless the menu changes back to its prior state, things probably won't change much. The food was not bad, just not what we were looking for. It's too bad. If you've never eaten here before, you won't know what you've missed.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Great Beer, Live Sports, People Watching, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Mezcal is always a pleasure to go to. The staff on-hand are very polite and accommodating. The food is fantastic. So many option. Even my girl friend; who is a picky eater, always finds a dish.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Great Beer, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food as always was great however the service on this particular night was not great. It appeared that the front end was understaffed. The hostess was not very attentive until we and others got her attention. Our waiter was good but spread thin.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food and service is fantastic, the only thing is seating in a cold day and people opening the middle door it has a sign not to use so it cools the place down, other than that the bathrooms were a complete mess. You would figure someone would keep an eye out for details. Just a few changes and this could be a 5 star place. Also run out is desert the day before strange that he waitres would tell us that so it means is not fresh all the time. Good food and drinks

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The service was fantastic. Going out to dinner with children is always a hit or miss, but we felt very welcome and comfortable. The food was decent (the burritos and quesadillas always seem dry though...only complaint) and the drinks were good.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We had a great meal in the bar area. Service was excellent. Bartender made margaritas to order. Guacamole is exceptional.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Overall, very pleased. Food was above average. I had chicken enchilada, which was great. Guacamole flights had interesting ingredient options. Waiter was knowledgeable and friendly. Margarita was very good. The traffic before the concert was not the venue's fault. Met friends for dinner while my teen was at the DCU center. Make a reservation if it is around an event there. I found it a little cold inside, on a very cold night though.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great night

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Service was extreme slow by the time we got our food we were full off the drinks. Waited over an hour for dinner.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 3, 2017

As usual the food was great and the drinks were delicious The only complaint would be the temperature of the restaurant, with glass walls on the street side, the cold comes through and makes it UN-comfortable, and some of the people in our group had to wear coats.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Good, service and ambiance were great. The restaurant is a little loud but we really enjoyed our dinner. Would definitely recommend!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Family Style, Live Sports, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Best guacamole and Baja fish tacos. Always fabulous service. Love sitting outside in summer.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We went here as we were at an event at DCU center nearby, as a result restaurant is swamped for a short period of time. Concierge handled the front incredibly well and efficiently. WE were impressed . food good, service great.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Meh. First time. Service sucked, food was ok. Won't be back.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Great margaritas. Super friendly staff. We got out app after our meal by mistake and the waiter and manager were both great and sympathetic. Food seriously was amazing and different from anywhere else we could go around here.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I have eaten at Mezcal quite a few times. The best part has been the service. The Mexican food is very middle of the road quality. Tex mex with the usually cheesy mix.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Kid-friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We were there for 2 hours, not because we were having fun. . Because the service was so bad. We were one of three tables there and she disappeared for so long. I ordered nachos, they were nothing what they were described as. When I wanted to order some guacamole for them, the waitress was nowhere to be found and by the time she returned she returned with our entre. I asked for a side of guacamole when I placed my order and she forgot it when entre came, and I had to wait 20 minutes to flag her down for the side, and silverwesr. She never refilled the drinks. And even took a long time bringing the bill. I will never come back here again. Very disappointed

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went on Valentine's Day with our 2 kids. Our waitress, Abby, was great. All 4 of us enjoyed the meals and appetizers. Chef's special guacamole was great. Strawberries with chocolate and caramel sauce. Sounded awful, but it was very good. We have been there 6 or 7 times and it is always very good. We will be back soon.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Honestly my husband and I went on Valentine's Day, we made a reservation a month before as I haven't been there in a few years and was craving their guacamole and margaritas, we were seated in the bar area which wasn't right since I made this reservation well in advance I could see if I was a walk in but that wasn't the case. We asked the hostess if we could sit in the dining area and they said no. When we sat in the bar area there were 2 very young couples already eating but my husband and I noticed they weren't sitting anyone else there all night I guess we were the lucky ones. The menu has changed since a few years ago it was a bit more upscale but now it's downgraded I did get the special that night which was the surf and turf and my husband got the steak we waited a long time for our meals but our meals were warm almost cold so they just have been sitting in the kitchen waiting to come out. Our waiter was sweating running around like a mad person doing the bar and waiting the bar tables. I think this place is over rated and won't be returning.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was amazing especially the guacamole. The only bad thing I have to say is that the margaritas, even a plain house margarita was so sweet me and my girlfriend couldn't finish it. We go to a lot of Mexican restaraunts and this is my first time not finishing my margarita. We also couldn't taste any alcohol in them. It tasted like lemonade. Besides that, I love
Mezcal!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Good food and service. Easy parking with valet. Margaritas were wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was great as always. Drinks are good. Homemade guac is amazing!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great service from our waitress Jessica, knew menu, talked about options and was attentive the entire meal. Good was delicious and portions were ample. Really enjoyed the special Cuban burrito & the steak and cheese chimichanga but the 8 different guacamole dips was awesome. Couldn't decide on one so we tried a flight of 3. Favorite was the house. Great early dinner before the theatre but the large restaurant & bar will see us again soon

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Everything was great, I loved the guacamole and the flight of 3 flavors was great.
I gave the review on the food a lower rating because 2/4 people we went with got sick after. (Stomach upset / bloating) We all ate different but somewhat similar things - different tacos. Over all it was enjoyable, but I can't say I'm going to be running back anytime soon

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The service was attentive but not overbearing. Guacamole was a fresh appetizer. Chipotle rubbed short ribs were well executed. Others in my group enjoyed their burritos, enchiladas and fajitas. Drinks are fairly pricey and small. This restaurant is very loud so we couldn't really hear eachother that well. I have been here for Sunday brunch and enjoyed it when it was quieter.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Good food and great service. Came here with a group of 10 and couldn't have asked for a better server or food.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The definition of "meh". Average decor, fair food quality, average service... dependable, but uninspired.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food great but kitchen a bit slow. But our server was excellent, and kept us informed of where our order was in the process.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Very well-prepared mexican dishes with original styles. More tequilas than I knew existed, and the couple that I tried were so much better than I thought tequila could be.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We went to Mezcal's for my husbands birthday. They were very accommodating when I had to add 3 more people the same day. Hostess was very nice and our waiter I though did a great job considering how many people in our party. The food was good a little spicy for me but delicious.
The alcoholic drinks from what I was told were ok. There was not enough alcohol to where you could at least taste it. I believe it was the Mai Tai. The parking was convenient, you can valet or park in the garage and they will stamp it so you don't have to pay for parking. All in all I would recommend it to my friends. Thank you to Mezcal's

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Spicy, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We were not impressed by the food, the pork carnitas lacked flavor and it was served with polenta which was strange, the chicken burrito was dry and the guacamole was overpriced and very oniony, we will continue to go to Acapulco's for real authentic Mexican food.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.