About MEX

6675 Telegraph Rd.
Bloomfield Hills, MI 48301
View Larger Map

Modern Mexican Bistro & Tequila Bar

The menu features authentic Mexican comfort food like carne asada, tamales and queso fundido, as well as homemade horchata, more than 100 types of tequila, and an inspired selection of handcrafted cocktails and margaritas.

While traditional Mexican will be the restaurant’s lifeblood, the menu also features modern twists on classics, like chicken taquitos and Mexican-style corn on the cob. Fun, funky and delicious.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm, Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Maple

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(248) 723-0800

Website:
http://mexbloomfield.com/

Catering:
Now offering taco and fajita bar catering for parties of 10 and up. Menus are designed to suit your group's preferences, perfect for any event from tailgates to graduation parties. Call us at 248.723.0800 or email us at info@mexbloomfield.com!

Executive Chef:
Rocky Williford

Private Party Facilities:
Incorporating regional accents and an inspired interior, the MEX experience is one of a kind. Upon entering guests are transported by the dramatic architecture, handcrafted furnishing, custom art and Alice in Wonderland inspiration that are sure to spark a unique and imaginative table conversations.

Private Party Contact:
Mark Isakov: 8559933829

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Allow us to host your family this holiday season. Book your reservations early during this busy time of year!

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Come usher in the new year with us, 2017 can't come soon enough! Book your reservations now!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

MEX Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (20)
Good for Groups (19)
Good for a Date (17)
See All
Modern Decor (16)
Fun (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Authentic (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Spicy (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Family Style (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Cozy (3)
Romantic (3)
People Watching (3)
Business Meals (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Organic (1)
Healthy (1)
Tapas (1)
Private Room (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
S
403 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was a business lunch with an out of t ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

It was a business lunch with an out of town client. She really enjoyed Mex And wished there was a restaurant like it on her town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fun restaurant. Cool, eclectic decor. Fo ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Fun restaurant. Cool, eclectic decor. Food was good. Service was very personable and prompt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent drinks, great food and wonderf ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Excellent drinks, great food and wonderful service. Everyone loves the funky decor, but the margaritas keep you coming back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food could have been hotter. Service wa ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Food could have been hotter. Service was excellent. Not sure why they don't offer pitchers for the margaritas.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

First time visiting - came for brunch wh ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

First time visiting - came for brunch which was PHENOMENAL! Really dig the decor, great service and the food was off the chain. Great margaritas. Moderately priced - what I'd expect for the area. Margaritas are on the smaller side - server must read my expression as she immediately explained that the drink was smaller because there was " less juice and more liquor". Amusing explanation but no complaints - it was awesome. I will absolutely be coming back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very cool swanky place with fun atmosphe ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Very cool swanky place with fun atmosphere. The food was to die for and very close to authentic Mexican which doesn't have a lot of cheeses. Beans were made to perfection with a great flavor. Try the Elote as it was the first I've had not served on a cob and beyond the best I've ever tasted. The tequila list is extensive with lots of great options. I took a tequila flight so that I could taste a few different options of the anejo list. Dessert was mouth watering. The avocado Lime pie is a must and the fried ice cream had an amazing touch with pineapples and corn cereal. Highly recommend this place! Great date night, girls/guys night as well as family atmosphere!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing. Loved the carne asada

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Food was amazing. Loved the carne asada

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we had outstanding service while dining ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 19, 2016

we had outstanding service while dining at MEX. Our waiter had great recommendations for us WE will definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mex has a cool atmosphere, with tasty fo ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Mex has a cool atmosphere, with tasty food and great margs. It's a great spot for a casual meet-up for a semi-special occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We usually love MEX, but this was not ou ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 8, 2016

We usually love MEX, but this was not our best visit. The waitstaff brought greasy chips twice to our table and did not seem to care to get us quality chips that looked or tasted appetizing. The dinner food was good, but service was slow at first.

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Great place and staff especially bartend ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Great place and staff especially bartender was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family and I enjoyed a fun meal at Me ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 6, 2016

My family and I enjoyed a fun meal at Mex over the weekend when my daughter was home for the weekend. The food and service was great as always!

Tags: Fun, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at this restaurant. Loved ev ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 6, 2016

First time at this restaurant. Loved everything about it. Definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall, an excellent experience..our se ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Overall, an excellent experience..our server, Wig, was amazing and complemented the dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service! It was a li ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Excellent food and service! It was a little too noisy for a business lunch.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing, attentive service! Delicious co ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Amazing, attentive service! Delicious cocktails and food, especially the salsas, elote and chorizo taco. Will be back to try more and recommend to family and friends!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Private Room, Good for Groups, Fun, Bar Seating, Romantic, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Adam was our server and he was awesome. ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Adam was our server and he was awesome. Very attentive and witty. The food was timely and delicious. Our anniversary dinner went off without a hitch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Super friendly and helpful staff!!! Gre ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Super friendly and helpful staff!!! Great place to spend a birthday!!!!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Happy Hour, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food - as always, but we had the b ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great food - as always, but we had the best waiter we have ever had there! Cisco was FANTASTIC! Knowledgable, attentive, helpful, engaging and just plain GREAT!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great value, delicious salads and Collee ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Great value, delicious salads and Colleen is s charming delight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic decor and the guacamole was su ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Fantastic decor and the guacamole was superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner was great but service was a littl ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Dinner was great but service was a little slow. Would still come back but it wasn't up to par this time

Tags: Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Always have great food and servuce abt M ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Always have great food and servuce abt Mex and I always go there whenever I can!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

What! NO enchiladas at a Mexican Restaur ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 10, 2016

What! NO enchiladas at a Mexican Restaurant? That is like no corned beef at a deli!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Fun place and great food! Love that they ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Fun place and great food! Love that they now take reservations on Open Table. Had been avoiding it for dinner because of previous long waits but our table was ready. Also, had great friendly service!

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice on the inside and outside

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Nice on the inside and outside

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

Always enjoy Mex. A few suggestions. Wa ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Always enjoy Mex. A few suggestions. Wanted the Kale salad and server mentioned Kale only a small part of the 3 greens but this was not the case. Kale was majority of greens and can be quite dry and hard to eat. Also, quality of chicken in Fajita bowl was poor for a pricey dish.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Not your typical mexican / texmex. Varie ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Not your typical mexican / texmex. Variety of flavors. Loaded Guacamole is good, and tacos are just awesome!

Tags: Fun, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

First, we asked to not be seated upstair ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 23, 2016

First, we asked to not be seated upstairs. Hostess stated that a table of 6 had to go upstairs. Went down downstairs several time and we could have sat down there. Next it took over an hour to get our dinner and then one dinner was still missing. The manager did come over and offer free desserts. I apprectiate the offer but I prefer a free that they take some food or a drink off our order. The waitress was very nice. But I don't know if I would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

Waitress was good at selling, but not fo ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Waitress was good at selling, but not forthcoming about prices and upcharges. Prices do not reflect in the drinks or dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

This was a "meh" experience in every way ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 16, 2016

This was a "meh" experience in every way. My chief complaints:

Tepid water delivered with small glasses.

Slow service with overworked staff. (Example: Chips and Salsa (not free, btw) delivered with an assurance that they were unlimited but we couldn't get a refill before our entrees arrived which was about 40 minutes.)

Oddly worded menu that makes it look like entrees are served with a side. Other than tacos, they are not.

So loud that our table of five young-ish women could not hear eachother and ended up screaming at eachother all night.

Very average food.

If you are looking for a place to "be seen", MEX might be the place for you.

If you are looking for good food along the Telegraph corridor, try Beau's.

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Good local spot for Mexican food. Not th ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Good local spot for Mexican food. Not the trendiest of restaurants but great options for cocktails and tacos, etc.

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Fish was too blackened & overlooked.😞

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Fish was too blackened & overlooked.😞

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Great food excellent service. I especial ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great food excellent service. I especially like the guacamole and the interesting types of tacos you can order. The cilantro lime rice was delicious! The restaurant is too hot though, it needs better air conditioning.

Tags: Quick Bite, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

They were very accommodating.

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 26, 2016

They were very accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been to MEX before. I've always ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 21, 2016

We have been to MEX before. I've always had good food and great service . I enjoyed the tacos. I like how you can mix up the options. The margaritas are good with an upgrade of tequila . On this visit I tried the cauliflower side. It was delicious !

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I love the place, the building is fantas ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2016

I love the place, the building is fantastic, decoration real original but I have to say I was a little disappointed with the food, I am Mexican and I don't think is very authentic, the salsas and Guacamole are real good though!

Tags: Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value4

love the lunch salad, where you choose y ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 20, 2016

love the lunch salad, where you choose your items. Kale salad is good also, on the dinner menu, but I would love to have the pick your items for dinner.

Wait staff is always friendly and personable.

Food took a very long time, this visit.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and drinks were delicious. you shou ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Food and drinks were delicious. you should be able to get happy hour items in the entire restaurant not only at the bar.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It is a fun place, a bit on the noisy si ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 15, 2016

It is a fun place, a bit on the noisy side. The Mexican food is not up to the caliber of any of the Rick Bayless Mexican restaurants in Chicago, but it is better than most.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.