About MEX

6675 Telegraph Rd.
Bloomfield Hills, MI 48301
View Larger Map

Modern Mexican Bistro & Tequila Bar

The menu features authentic Mexican comfort food like carne asada, tamales and queso fundido, as well as homemade horchata, more than 100 types of tequila, and an inspired selection of handcrafted cocktails and margaritas.

While traditional Mexican will be the restaurant’s lifeblood, the menu also features modern twists on classics, like chicken taquitos and Mexican-style corn on the cob. Fun, funky and delicious.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm, Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Maple

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(248) 723-0800

Website:
http://mexbloomfield.com/

Catering:
Now offering taco and fajita bar catering for parties of 10 and up. Menus are designed to suit your group's preferences, perfect for any event from tailgates to graduation parties. Call us at 248.723.0800 or email us at info@mexbloomfield.com!

Executive Chef:
Rocky Williford

Private Party Facilities:
Incorporating regional accents and an inspired interior, the MEX experience is one of a kind. Upon entering guests are transported by the dramatic architecture, handcrafted furnishing, custom art and Alice in Wonderland inspiration that are sure to spark a unique and imaginative table conversations.

Private Party Contact:
Mark Isakov: 8559933829

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

MEX Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (44)
Great for Lunch (34)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
See All
Fit for Foodies (21)
Kid-friendly (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Great for Brunch (14)
Hot Spot (12)
Special Occasion (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Casual (7)
Modern Decor (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Authentic (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Romantic (2)
Scenic View (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Fun (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Family Style (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Sort By:
Newest
372 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

First, we asked to not be seated upstair ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 5 days ago

First, we asked to not be seated upstairs. Hostess stated that a table of 6 had to go upstairs. Went down downstairs several time and we could have sat down there. Next it took over an hour to get our dinner and then one dinner was still missing. The manager did come over and offer free desserts. I apprectiate the offer but I prefer a free that they take some food or a drink off our order. The waitress was very nice. But I don't know if I would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

Waitress was good at selling, but not fo ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Waitress was good at selling, but not forthcoming about prices and upcharges. Prices do not reflect in the drinks or dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

This was a "meh" experience in every way ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

This was a "meh" experience in every way. My chief complaints:

Tepid water delivered with small glasses.

Slow service with overworked staff. (Example: Chips and Salsa (not free, btw) delivered with an assurance that they were unlimited but we couldn't get a refill before our entrees arrived which was about 40 minutes.)

Oddly worded menu that makes it look like entrees are served with a side. Other than tacos, they are not.

So loud that our table of five young-ish women could not hear eachother and ended up screaming at eachother all night.

Very average food.

If you are looking for a place to "be seen", MEX might be the place for you.

If you are looking for good food along the Telegraph corridor, try Beau's.

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Good local spot for Mexican food. Not th ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Good local spot for Mexican food. Not the trendiest of restaurants but great options for cocktails and tacos, etc.

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Fish was too blackened & overlooked.😞

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Fish was too blackened & overlooked.😞

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Great food excellent service. I especial ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great food excellent service. I especially like the guacamole and the interesting types of tacos you can order. The cilantro lime rice was delicious! The restaurant is too hot though, it needs better air conditioning.

Tags: Quick Bite, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

They were very accommodating.

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

They were very accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been to MEX before. I've always ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We have been to MEX before. I've always had good food and great service . I enjoyed the tacos. I like how you can mix up the options. The margaritas are good with an upgrade of tequila . On this visit I tried the cauliflower side. It was delicious !

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I love the place, the building is fantas ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I love the place, the building is fantastic, decoration real original but I have to say I was a little disappointed with the food, I am Mexican and I don't think is very authentic, the salsas and Guacamole are real good though!

Tags: Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value4

love the lunch salad, where you choose y ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

love the lunch salad, where you choose your items. Kale salad is good also, on the dinner menu, but I would love to have the pick your items for dinner.

Wait staff is always friendly and personable.

Food took a very long time, this visit.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and drinks were delicious. you shou ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Food and drinks were delicious. you should be able to get happy hour items in the entire restaurant not only at the bar.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It is a fun place, a bit on the noisy si ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

It is a fun place, a bit on the noisy side. The Mexican food is not up to the caliber of any of the Rick Bayless Mexican restaurants in Chicago, but it is better than most.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Decent food but way overpriced for tacos ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Decent food but way overpriced for tacos and chips.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Really enjoyed the food. Service was a l ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Really enjoyed the food. Service was a little slower than I would've liked but he was moving around a lot. Margaritas were good but too expensive for the size. The Mexican street corn was really good and so is the chips and salsa. Next time I would try the fajita bowl, I saw a lot of them come out & they looked great!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It was disappointing. Our first time th ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

It was disappointing. Our first time there and probably our last.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

as usual, the food and service were exce ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

as usual, the food and service were excellent! we chill continue to enjoy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Mex, the margarita's are the best ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

I love Mex, the margarita's are the best around! Happy Hour is my favorite time there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

you have to put extensive work on the cl ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

you have to put extensive work on the climate control ! you need to install fans or find a better AC system because the patio is opened to the indoor space making the place so hot in the summer! I was getting burned...

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value5

Excellent flavors, vibrant atmosphere a ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Excellent flavors, vibrant atmosphere and great service. A gourmet twist in traditional Mexican. The spaghetti squash was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Steak tacos are soooo delicious! I'll pa ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Steak tacos are soooo delicious! I'll pass on the rice and beans.

Starburst margarita is awesome!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Shannon, our server, was spectacular!

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Shannon, our server, was spectacular!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Had a reservation several days ahead of ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Had a reservation several days ahead of time. They tried to seat us upstairs at one of the few tables in the place that did NOT have chair backs - just a small table with benches. Really? We planned to be there for a few hours with friends and this would not be very comfortable. There were numerous other tables upstairs that were not taken (albeit they were not cleaned yet). After much hesitation, they agreed to give us a table with chairs. The cleaned the table but didn't bother to clear off the food stuck to the chairs. We had to point out that the floor under the table also had a lot of food on it. The floors felt very sticky and gross upstairs. Seems like the "kids" room. The place was extremely loud up there - had to shout to talk to friends. On the way out - we walked thru downstairs which seemed like a much better place to eat. Very disappointed in the dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Good food and excellent service. The mar ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Good food and excellent service. The margaritas are expensive making the wine and beer an easy choice. Still wrapping my head around being charged for chips and salsa...perhaps I've been brain washed expecting to be included by all other Mexican food restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

This a casual chic restaurant serving Me ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

This a casual chic restaurant serving Mexican dishes but no enchiladas. Guacamole is outstanding. They do serve wine by the glass (good short list) but we were able to buy bottles tho not on menu. Vegetarian tacos rated outstanding. Skinny black beans ditto. Retried beans were their own invention and too salty. Part of the restaurant is open air and quieter. We have had the black bean soup before and it is swell. Service was very good and we were not rushed at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The food was awful. Nachos had to be pu ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The food was awful. Nachos had to be purchased. They were very greasy. The chicken tacos were burnt, spicy and greasy. The beans were spicy hot. The only thing that was quite tasty was the salsa. (Yum)

Mex is also very overpriced and it is a filthy restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

We all loved our dinner at Mex. The foo ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

We all loved our dinner at Mex. The food is excellent and the restaurant has a fun spirit. We will definitely go back soon

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was average at best. Not very auth ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Food was average at best. Not very authentic. Price was high for what we ordered. Had the burrito which was so so, and had the tres leches dessert which was a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Very mediocre and overpriced food. Disa ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Very mediocre and overpriced food. Disappointing. Even the chairs were hard and uncomfortabe. Will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Food is consistently good. Find that ser ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food is consistently good. Find that service is often slow. Waitress was bubbly and helpful but disappeared for long stretches.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Everything was great. Cannot beat their ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Everything was great. Cannot beat their service and food. Going back this Friday for lunch. Will make a res when I know how many.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoy going to Mex but please, when the ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Enjoy going to Mex but please, when the restaurant is relatively lighter during certain hours, please do not sit parties directly next to other parties (seating very close) when they could be much more comfortable and roomier in another spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our waiter was very handsome black man, ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Our waiter was very handsome black man, he was attentive and efficient.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was outstanding. After waiting pat ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was outstanding. After waiting patiently we asked if there was an issue And were informed that the kitchen had some problems as they had two no shows. No apology was extended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We arrived for early dinner and we were ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We arrived for early dinner and we were seated near windows (west side). Sun was uncomfortably warm and we requested seat change. (lots of other tables were available.)

We ordered salads which were flavorful and full of "healthy" greens. Meal was good (no dessert) and service was excellent.

We would return but not sit near windows in summer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've been to Mex a few times and it neve ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I've been to Mex a few times and it never disappoints. I'd given it a 5star rating but I find the alcoholic drinks pricey and this time it took our entres quite awhile to arrive. This is more of an upscale Mexican restaurant but without the upscale pricing for food. The carnitas tacos entee is outstanding and so is the taco salad entre which easily feeds two people, especially after you've started with their delicious chips and salsas! Don't hesitate to try this restaurant! Our server was excellent .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My husband and I love this restaurant! T ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My husband and I love this restaurant! The decor is beautiful, and the food was amazing. I can't say enough about the roasted spaghetti squash! Also, our server was very friendly and helpful. We have already recommended this restaurant to several people.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and atmosphere

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent food and atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was very average to slow. T ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

The service was very average to slow. The food took quit a while to get to us. It was not all that good, not as good as previous visits. It was super loud. I will not be going again.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

Interesting twist on Mexican cuisine. G ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Interesting twist on Mexican cuisine. Great vegetarian choices as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Excellent food, great service, good atmo ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Excellent food, great service, good atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.