About MEX

6675 Telegraph Rd.
Bloomfield Hills, MI 48301
View Larger Map

Modern Mexican Bistro & Tequila Bar

The menu features authentic Mexican comfort food like carne asada, tamales and queso fundido, as well as homemade horchata, more than 100 types of tequila, and an inspired selection of handcrafted cocktails and margaritas.

While traditional Mexican will be the restaurant’s lifeblood, the menu also features modern twists on classics, like chicken taquitos and Mexican-style corn on the cob. Fun, funky and delicious.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm, Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Maple

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(248) 723-0800

Website:
http://mexbloomfield.com/

Catering:
Now offering taco and fajita bar catering for parties of 10 and up. Menus are designed to suit your group's preferences, perfect for any event from tailgates to graduation parties. Call us at 248.723.0800 or email us at info@mexbloomfield.com!

Executive Chef:
Casaundra White

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Incorporating regional accents and an inspired interior, the MEX experience is one of a kind. Upon entering guests are transported by the dramatic architecture, handcrafted furnishing, custom art and Alice in Wonderland inspiration that are sure to spark a unique and imaginative table conversations.

MEX Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (48)
great for lunch (47)
fit for foodies (35)
See All
neighborhood gem (33)
great for outdoor dining (21)
special occasion (18)
hot spot (18)
kid-friendly (17)
great for brunch (15)
vibrant bar scene (10)
late-night find (6)
romantic (5)
scenic view (3)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
345 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was average at best. Not very auth ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 7 days ago

Food was average at best. Not very authentic. Price was high for what we ordered. Had the burrito which was so so, and had the tres leches dessert which was a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Very mediocre and overpriced food. Disa ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Very mediocre and overpriced food. Disappointing. Even the chairs were hard and uncomfortabe. Will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Food is consistently good. Find that ser ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food is consistently good. Find that service is often slow. Waitress was bubbly and helpful but disappeared for long stretches.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Everything was great. Cannot beat their ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Everything was great. Cannot beat their service and food. Going back this Friday for lunch. Will make a res when I know how many.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoy going to Mex but please, when the ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Enjoy going to Mex but please, when the restaurant is relatively lighter during certain hours, please do not sit parties directly next to other parties (seating very close) when they could be much more comfortable and roomier in another spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our waiter was very handsome black man, ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Our waiter was very handsome black man, he was attentive and efficient.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was outstanding. After waiting pat ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was outstanding. After waiting patiently we asked if there was an issue And were informed that the kitchen had some problems as they had two no shows. No apology was extended.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We arrived for early dinner and we were ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We arrived for early dinner and we were seated near windows (west side). Sun was uncomfortably warm and we requested seat change. (lots of other tables were available.)

We ordered salads which were flavorful and full of "healthy" greens. Meal was good (no dessert) and service was excellent.

We would return but not sit near windows in summer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've been to Mex a few times and it neve ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I've been to Mex a few times and it never disappoints. I'd given it a 5star rating but I find the alcoholic drinks pricey and this time it took our entres quite awhile to arrive. This is more of an upscale Mexican restaurant but without the upscale pricing for food. The carnitas tacos entee is outstanding and so is the taco salad entre which easily feeds two people, especially after you've started with their delicious chips and salsas! Don't hesitate to try this restaurant! Our server was excellent .

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My husband and I love this restaurant! T ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My husband and I love this restaurant! The decor is beautiful, and the food was amazing. I can't say enough about the roasted spaghetti squash! Also, our server was very friendly and helpful. We have already recommended this restaurant to several people.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was very average to slow. T ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

The service was very average to slow. The food took quit a while to get to us. It was not all that good, not as good as previous visits. It was super loud. I will not be going again.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

Interesting twist on Mexican cuisine. G ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Interesting twist on Mexican cuisine. Great vegetarian choices as well.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Excellent food, great service, good atmo ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Excellent food, great service, good atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I absolutely love this restaurant! Food ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

I absolutely love this restaurant! Food is great! I haven't had one thing I didn't like. The drinks aren't watered down. The service is great and the atmosphere is perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

MEX is Awesome!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Mex is one of my favorite restaurants in the general area. The margaritas are perfect, burritos delicious, and everything in between. People like to complain about the chips & salsa not being free but I have no problem paying for them. The chips are perfectly crispy and thick and MEX's salsa selection is always fresh.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

group Lunch

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

The food and service were great. A little slow on getting the food out, but that gave everyone a change to talk and catch up. Not a complaint!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Mex several times lately ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We have been to Mex several times lately. The food and service is always excellent. We have actually had the same waiter a couple of times. I think his name is Michael. He's really knowledgeable and suggested the "everything guac", which was really good. The cod and the shrimp tacos are my favorite. The wine is a little pricey but I'll still order it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unique taste

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

A very good Mexican restaurant with a flair to enhance the flavor a of their sides in particular. Great interior design and the outdoor seating area is very pleasant.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! Service delivering key eatin ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Great food! Service delivering key eating essentials such as napkins and refilling water could have been better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Love the salad bowls for lunch & the ski ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Love the salad bowls for lunch & the skillets on the weekend. Great ambiance & cool place all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tacos were very, very, very dry. Burrit ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Tacos were very, very, very dry. Burrito was meh. Not planning a return trip. Way too expensive for the food or experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Excellent dinner experience

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The food was amazing! The server was knowledgeable, helpful and fun. She offered us great suggestions as it was our first time. We will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Decent food, great atmosphere

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

The food was decent but the interior is very nice. Unfortunately the air conditioning wasn't on so we were sweating eating our meals but other than that no complaints.

Tags: great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Right when you arrive, you realize that ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Right when you arrive, you realize that you have arrived to an upscale restaurant. The place is BEAUTIFUL! Our seating was very nice, the weather was nice and we felt as if we were sitting outside. I do not believe the pictures on their website do this place any justice, definitely a must see. You can tell the food is prepared with fresh ingredients. If I was to complain about anything, this restaurant is a little pricey. But overall, worth coming to and giving a try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great place to eat. Whether you're there ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Great place to eat. Whether you're there for date night, out with kids, or with a large party, MEX never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mexican with a modern ecclectic twist

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Very friendly staff, from the moment you walk through the door. The waitress was attentive and welcoming, like someone you already know, even though it was a first visit. The food was phenomenal! The décor is not what you expect in a Mexican restaurant. I kept finding more interesting things as I continued to look around. I would definitely recommend this gem to others!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the nicest new restaurants to com ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

One of the nicest new restaurants to come out in our area in awhile. Has an "eclectic" décor, high energy atmosphere, great choices on menu without being overwhelming, and the service was superb. This is my 3rd or 4th time there and will definitely go there again.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Their Mexican food is the best I've had ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Their Mexican food is the best I've had in a restaurant. The guacamole and salsa is amazing & the homemade chips are so good. I also love their margaritas. The sour sugar that they rim the glass with is just an added bonus for your tastebuds! I highly recommend Mex is if you are in the mood for great quality Mexican food.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Too loud even had a microphone!!

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

We were 5 woman trying to have a nice dinner. There was a party on the upper level that was so loud we could hardly talk. They even had a man in the microphone!!!! We won't be back

Tags: great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Carnitas are to the moon and back. Guaca ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Carnitas are to the moon and back. Guacamole was tops. All in all a really great place to come from Mother's Day. Had a hella good meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Someone Help the Kitchen

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Server was very slow and it seemed like the kitchen staff was over matched for the occasion. The food was good but no better than most Mexican Restaurants that are half the price or less.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

Food was decent but had to wait for our ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was decent but had to wait for our RESERVED table for entire party to arrive. So no drink n relax at table while you wait. THEN they gave us awful table directly in Sun OUTSIDE when several tables were available inside. Asked to move n took FOREVER. Seemed as if they did not care about us at all. Never go back for sure.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Guacamole appetizer was fresh and delici ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Guacamole appetizer was fresh and delicious. Lots of flavor and the cilantro was great. For brunch their breakfast burrito was huge and very tasty - eggs, chorizo, black beans, rice - sooo good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

My first time at MEX with my family was ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

My first time at MEX with my family was an A+! My wife and I enjoyed our Blood Mary's, and we all enjoyed the food and ambiance! A return trip is a must!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

MAP13

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

I had heard the Margaritas were good so we gave it a try, decor is as someone described it "something from Alice in Wonderland", a bit too noisy for us. Chips and Salsa were very good and the food was acceptable but not as good as we had hoped.

looked like an okay place for a small party or gathering but not for a Mexican meal per say.

We love Mexican food and we missed it here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

The wait staff handled our group well, w ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

The wait staff handled our group well, with arrivals at different times. They were able to issue separate checks without a fuss. The only negative was that the music was a little too loud, so we were unable to hear each other across a big round table.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Different Food, Different Atmosphere

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

My daughter had been wanting to try Mex for a while so we went for Administrative Assistant's day. The decor in Mex is very different with ropes and hanging lightbulbs, but hey we like different. The salsa and chips were wonderful, some of the best we've had. My daughter had the chicken salad and she didn't really care for the dressing. I had the Ceviche and again, I like how it was prepared but wasn't crazy about the dressing, could have had a little bit more lime. My co-worker had the burritto which she said was great. It's a nice place for the younger generation, I'm not sure I'll come back for fear of getting a table squished next to someone else and that's not my thing, but for a unique menu and different atmosphere I think it's the place to be.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Perfect

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

This is a cool restaurant with a cool vibe. The servers are great and very attentive and it's some of the best food I've ever had at any restaurant. The price matches the food and it's a great value. There will definitely be return visits from myself and my family in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for salad lunch

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

If you like salads for lunch, Mex (like it's sister restaurants Beau's and Social) offers a salad bowl where pick the ingredients from an extensive list, all at no extra charge. The salad is huge and delicious and very fairly priced (as are the chips and salsa, which are extra). Nice atmosphere and decor.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Overpriced

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

This is a very cool restaurant however overpriced for what it is. Wine was $13 a glass for the option of a 9 ounce pour. Did not see an option on the menu to purchase by the bottle. Food prices were higher too for what we got. I asked for an extra tortilla and she brought two on a plate and charged me an extra dollar. Seriously? The service did not reflect the prices either.

Our total bill was almost $100.00 for two people for Mexican food. I will not be going back

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.