About MEX

6675 Telegraph Rd.
Bloomfield Hills, MI 48301
View Larger Map

Modern Mexican Bistro & Tequila Bar

The menu features authentic Mexican comfort food like carne asada, tamales and queso fundido, as well as homemade horchata, more than 100 types of tequila, and an inspired selection of handcrafted cocktails and margaritas.

While traditional Mexican will be the restaurant’s lifeblood, the menu also features modern twists on classics, like chicken taquitos and Mexican-style corn on the cob. Fun, funky and delicious.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm, Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Maple

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(248) 723-0800

Website:
http://mexbloomfield.com/

Catering:
Now offering taco and fajita bar catering for parties of 10 and up. Menus are designed to suit your group's preferences, perfect for any event from tailgates to graduation parties. Call us at 248.723.0800 or email us at info@mexbloomfield.com!

Executive Chef:
Rocky Williford

Private Party Facilities:
Incorporating regional accents and an inspired interior, the MEX experience is one of a kind. Upon entering guests are transported by the dramatic architecture, handcrafted furnishing, custom art and Alice in Wonderland inspiration that are sure to spark a unique and imaginative table conversations.

Private Party Contact:
Mark Isakov: 8559933829

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

MEX Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (20)
Fun (20)
Good for a Date (19)
See All
Modern Decor (19)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Bar Seating (9)
Spicy (9)
Authentic (9)
Special Occasion (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Comfort Food (6)
People Watching (5)
Business Meals (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Healthy (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Romantic (3)
Family Style (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Cozy (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Private Room (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Tapas (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Organic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
424 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great salad for lunch

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined a day ago

Great salad for lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I really dislike this place. I ordered 3 ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

I really dislike this place. I ordered 3 different tacos. The mahi were dry and hard, the chicken, meh and the steak taco smelled like hot garbage, which I left alone. When asked if I want the remaining taco wrapped, I mentioned this to the manager that was strolling the restaurant. He asked how I would like this handled and I asked to have that portion l removed from my bill. Sure enough, it wasn't. The only reason I came here was because of a gift card. Had I known it was accepted at their other restaurants, I would have steered clear of this place. I have been here several times always with another couple or small group. The food is consistently crappy. Never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

The dining room is too cold! The movable ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The dining room is too cold! The movable walls are cool in the summer but the need more insulation in the winter. It was almost unbearable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Second time I have been to Mex. Fun atmo ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Second time I have been to Mex. Fun atmosphere, not exactly Mexican inspired, but whimsical decor. Did not have the elotes because it is a seasonal item, which was a bummer because it was my favorite item when I visited in October. Margaritas are good, chips & guac & salsa are on point. Entrees are large portions and tasty.

Tags: Good for a Date, Spicy, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Fun, People Watching, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Waiter was fine and pleasant. The fish ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Waiter was fine and pleasant. The fish taco was not great- not even good. Mostly cabbage and sauce. The place has deteriorated in the past year. Skirt steak was not prepared correctly. Oh well. Pass next time - average food at higher prices Place was terrific when it first opened.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

Food was decent, service was poor.

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Food was decent, service was poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

I have yet to have a really good meal he ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 22, 2016

I have yet to have a really good meal here, but it is too convenient sometimes, and last night was one of those. Good energy last night, more crowded than normal, which creates the illusion that the place is cool. It would be if the food was good. People see other people and say "oh yeah, its great". It isn't. Someone should teach the chef what ceviche is because theirs is nothing more than a shrimp cocktail with the shrimp pulled apart. Not the same thing. My girlfriends tacos were at best mediocre. She is not a foody, but finally proclaimed that we will not be going back. Whew, its about time. OVERRATED

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Love this place! Unique and delicious f ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Love this place! Unique and delicious food and great atmosphere! Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our group arrived 15 minutes late due to ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Our group arrived 15 minutes late due to traffic accident - waiter did a great job, provided options for the table for drinks/food. Food was fantastic and we enjoyed the ambiance of the restaurant. we will definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Meal and our waitress was phen ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Excellent Meal and our waitress was phenomenal. Definitely going back for any occasion!!!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Private Room, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They say is in a corner behind a tall wa ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 16, 2016

They say is in a corner behind a tall wall so it wasn't very friendly but the food was good.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

I always love the brunch here. It seems ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I always love the brunch here. It seems that everyone of the wait staff knows that I order the hot chocolate. That's the first thing I'm asked when we are asked about drinks. Love the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband had never been to Mex before, ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 11, 2016

My husband had never been to Mex before, and loves Mexican food, so I made a reservation. We had great food and a great time chatting with others in the bar until our table was ready. And we sat at a tall bar table so could watch what was going on in the kitchen, too!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After reserving a spot at 7:30 on a Frid ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 10, 2016

After reserving a spot at 7:30 on a Friday evening for six people we were placed at a four-person table all squeezed together with empty tables next to us . When we requested that we spread out to another table they told us that was not possible . We had to hold our dishes in our hands because nothing could fit on the table for six people and we complain to the manager not only did he look like he was clueless he didn't even offer any type of arrangement or anything for such a horrible experience at this restaurant .

After spending close to $300 at this restaurant I would not choose to return here and the manager needs to be replaced with someone oriented to customer service .

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Always a good experience dining at Mex. ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Always a good experience dining at Mex. The wait staff is friendly and responsive and the food is good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We went to Mex for a birthday celebratio ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We went to Mex for a birthday celebration. Our server was training, but his trainer was worse than him. The food was really good, but it took over 2 hours for dinner. I walked in about 3 minutes behind the rest of the people in our party. The server took drink orders for 2 of the 6 of us. Then he came back to take the rest of the drink orders, but not appetizers. Then he came back with the drinks and took app orders. He left one out, but claimed it wasn't ordered. The sides we thought were included with our entrees were not and they didn't say anything about an up charge. The food was very good, but the services was pretty horrible. Considering that the restaurant was nearly empty, I expected more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

At most restaurants, the chorizo is too ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 4, 2016

At most restaurants, the chorizo is too dry but the chorizo on the tacos was cooked perfectly here.

Tags: , Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was really good but I've had be ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The food was really good but I've had better and paid 1/3 of the price. You're paying for the W Bloomfield address and not the value of the meal. It was great to try, service was great just the meal was over priced. The meal wasn't very authentic, it was too "Americanized" The Guacamole was AWESOME but you really can't mess that up. It is good for a date or for a special occasion but not really anything other than that. I probably won't go again unless I was invited. But I won't deter people for going either.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Our server was knowledgeable and friendl ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Our server was knowledgeable and friendly. She made drink and food recommendations. We tried two different margaritas. The ghost margarita was very good. The everything guacamole was more than enough for two to share. Between the two of us, we tried five different tacos. Two out of the five were below average. The chicken taco was dry with very little flavor and the Gogi taco was a bit too rich and sweet. The cod, mahi, and chorizo tacos were good. Overall, we feel that $75 (not including tip) is a bit pricey for a basic taco dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

It was a business lunch with an out of t ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 1, 2016

It was a business lunch with an out of town client. She really enjoyed Mex And wished there was a restaurant like it on her town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fun restaurant. Cool, eclectic decor. Fo ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Fun restaurant. Cool, eclectic decor. Food was good. Service was very personable and prompt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent drinks, great food and wonderf ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Excellent drinks, great food and wonderful service. Everyone loves the funky decor, but the margaritas keep you coming back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food could have been hotter. Service wa ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Food could have been hotter. Service was excellent. Not sure why they don't offer pitchers for the margaritas.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

First time visiting - came for brunch wh ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

First time visiting - came for brunch which was PHENOMENAL! Really dig the decor, great service and the food was off the chain. Great margaritas. Moderately priced - what I'd expect for the area. Margaritas are on the smaller side - server must read my expression as she immediately explained that the drink was smaller because there was " less juice and more liquor". Amusing explanation but no complaints - it was awesome. I will absolutely be coming back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very cool swanky place with fun atmosphe ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Very cool swanky place with fun atmosphere. The food was to die for and very close to authentic Mexican which doesn't have a lot of cheeses. Beans were made to perfection with a great flavor. Try the Elote as it was the first I've had not served on a cob and beyond the best I've ever tasted. The tequila list is extensive with lots of great options. I took a tequila flight so that I could taste a few different options of the anejo list. Dessert was mouth watering. The avocado Lime pie is a must and the fried ice cream had an amazing touch with pineapples and corn cereal. Highly recommend this place! Great date night, girls/guys night as well as family atmosphere!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing. Loved the carne asada

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Food was amazing. Loved the carne asada

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we had outstanding service while dining ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 19, 2016

we had outstanding service while dining at MEX. Our waiter had great recommendations for us WE will definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mex has a cool atmosphere, with tasty fo ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Mex has a cool atmosphere, with tasty food and great margs. It's a great spot for a casual meet-up for a semi-special occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We usually love MEX, but this was not ou ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 8, 2016

We usually love MEX, but this was not our best visit. The waitstaff brought greasy chips twice to our table and did not seem to care to get us quality chips that looked or tasted appetizing. The dinner food was good, but service was slow at first.

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Great place and staff especially bartend ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Great place and staff especially bartender was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family and I enjoyed a fun meal at Me ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 6, 2016

My family and I enjoyed a fun meal at Mex over the weekend when my daughter was home for the weekend. The food and service was great as always!

Tags: Fun, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at this restaurant. Loved ev ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 6, 2016

First time at this restaurant. Loved everything about it. Definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall, an excellent experience..our se ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Overall, an excellent experience..our server, Wig, was amazing and complemented the dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service! It was a li ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Excellent food and service! It was a little too noisy for a business lunch.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing, attentive service! Delicious co ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Amazing, attentive service! Delicious cocktails and food, especially the salsas, elote and chorizo taco. Will be back to try more and recommend to family and friends!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Private Room, Good for Groups, Fun, Bar Seating, Romantic, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Adam was our server and he was awesome. ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Adam was our server and he was awesome. Very attentive and witty. The food was timely and delicious. Our anniversary dinner went off without a hitch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Super friendly and helpful staff!!! Gre ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Super friendly and helpful staff!!! Great place to spend a birthday!!!!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Happy Hour, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food - as always, but we had the b ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great food - as always, but we had the best waiter we have ever had there! Cisco was FANTASTIC! Knowledgable, attentive, helpful, engaging and just plain GREAT!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great value, delicious salads and Collee ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Great value, delicious salads and Colleen is s charming delight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic decor and the guacamole was su ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Fantastic decor and the guacamole was superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.