About MEX

6675 Telegraph Rd.
Bloomfield Hills, MI 48301
View Larger Map

Modern Mexican Bistro & Tequila Bar

The menu features authentic Mexican comfort food like carne asada, tamales and queso fundido, as well as homemade horchata, more than 100 types of tequila, and an inspired selection of handcrafted cocktails and margaritas.

While traditional Mexican will be the restaurant’s lifeblood, the menu also features modern twists on classics, like chicken taquitos and Mexican-style corn on the cob. Fun, funky and delicious.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm, Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Maple

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(248) 723-0800

Website:
http://mexbloomfield.com/

Catering:
Now offering taco and fajita bar catering for parties of 10 and up. Menus are designed to suit your group's preferences, perfect for any event from tailgates to graduation parties. Call us at 248.723.0800 or email us at info@mexbloomfield.com!

Executive Chef:
Casaundra White

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Dad taught us how to listen to your mother, fish, fix a car and keep score at a ballgame. Repay all of those lessons in tacos, book your Father's Day reservation at MEX today!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Incorporating regional accents and an inspired interior, the MEX experience is one of a kind. Upon entering guests are transported by the dramatic architecture, handcrafted furnishing, custom art and Alice in Wonderland inspiration that are sure to spark a unique and imaginative table conversations.

MEX Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

great for lunch (45)
good for groups (45)
fit for foodies (41)
See All
hot spot (27)
neighborhood gem (24)
special occasion (21)
vibrant bar scene (12)
great for outdoor dining (11)
great for brunch (10)
kid-friendly (10)
late-night find (8)
romantic (6)
scenic view (4)
notable wine list (3)
 (2)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
324 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food1
ambience3
service3

Tacos were very, very, very dry. Burrit ...

Dined 3 days ago

Tacos were very, very, very dry. Burrito was meh. Not planning a return trip. Way too expensive for the food or experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dinner experience

Dined 3 days ago

The food was amazing! The server was knowledgeable, helpful and fun. She offered us great suggestions as it was our first time. We will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Decent food, great atmosphere

Dined 5 days ago

The food was decent but the interior is very nice. Unfortunately the air conditioning wasn't on so we were sweating eating our meals but other than that no complaints.

Tags: great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5

Right when you arrive, you realize that ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Right when you arrive, you realize that you have arrived to an upscale restaurant. The place is BEAUTIFUL! Our seating was very nice, the weather was nice and we felt as if we were sitting outside. I do not believe the pictures on their website do this place any justice, definitely a must see. You can tell the food is prepared with fresh ingredients. If I was to complain about anything, this restaurant is a little pricey. But overall, worth coming to and giving a try.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to eat. Whether you're there ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great place to eat. Whether you're there for date night, out with kids, or with a large party, MEX never disappoints!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mexican with a modern ecclectic twist

Dined on May 18, 2016

Very friendly staff, from the moment you walk through the door. The waitress was attentive and welcoming, like someone you already know, even though it was a first visit. The food was phenomenal! The décor is not what you expect in a Mexican restaurant. I kept finding more interesting things as I continued to look around. I would definitely recommend this gem to others!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the nicest new restaurants to com ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

One of the nicest new restaurants to come out in our area in awhile. Has an "eclectic" décor, high energy atmosphere, great choices on menu without being overwhelming, and the service was superb. This is my 3rd or 4th time there and will definitely go there again.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Their Mexican food is the best I've had ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Their Mexican food is the best I've had in a restaurant. The guacamole and salsa is amazing & the homemade chips are so good. I also love their margaritas. The sour sugar that they rim the glass with is just an added bonus for your tastebuds! I highly recommend Mex is if you are in the mood for great quality Mexican food.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Too loud even had a microphone!!

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

We were 5 woman trying to have a nice dinner. There was a party on the upper level that was so loud we could hardly talk. They even had a man in the microphone!!!! We won't be back

Tags: great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4

Carnitas are to the moon and back. Guaca ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Carnitas are to the moon and back. Guacamole was tops. All in all a really great place to come from Mother's Day. Had a hella good meal!

food4
ambience4
service1
value1

Someone Help the Kitchen

Dined on May 8, 2016

Server was very slow and it seemed like the kitchen staff was over matched for the occasion. The food was good but no better than most Mexican Restaurants that are half the price or less.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Food was decent but had to wait for our ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was decent but had to wait for our RESERVED table for entire party to arrive. So no drink n relax at table while you wait. THEN they gave us awful table directly in Sun OUTSIDE when several tables were available inside. Asked to move n took FOREVER. Seemed as if they did not care about us at all. Never go back for sure.

food5
ambience4
service5

Guacamole appetizer was fresh and delici ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Guacamole appetizer was fresh and delicious. Lots of flavor and the cilantro was great. For brunch their breakfast burrito was huge and very tasty - eggs, chorizo, black beans, rice - sooo good

food5
ambience5
service4

My first time at MEX with my family was ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

My first time at MEX with my family was an A+! My wife and I enjoyed our Blood Mary's, and we all enjoyed the food and ambiance! A return trip is a must!

food3
ambience1
service4
value2

MAP13

Dined on May 7, 2016

I had heard the Margaritas were good so we gave it a try, decor is as someone described it "something from Alice in Wonderland", a bit too noisy for us. Chips and Salsa were very good and the food was acceptable but not as good as we had hoped. looked like an okay place for a small party or gathering but not for a Mexican meal per say. We love Mexican food and we missed it here.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The wait staff handled our group well, w ...

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

The wait staff handled our group well, with arrivals at different times. They were able to issue separate checks without a fuss. The only negative was that the music was a little too loud, so we were unable to hear each other across a big round table.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Different Food, Different Atmosphere

Dined on April 27, 2016

My daughter had been wanting to try Mex for a while so we went for Administrative Assistant's day. The decor in Mex is very different with ropes and hanging lightbulbs, but hey we like different. The salsa and chips were wonderful, some of the best we've had. My daughter had the chicken salad and she didn't really care for the dressing. I had the Ceviche and again, I like how it was prepared but wasn't crazy about the dressing, could have had a little bit more lime. My co-worker had the burritto which she said was great. It's a nice place for the younger generation, I'm not sure I'll come back for fear of getting a table squished next to someone else and that's not my thing, but for a unique menu and different atmosphere I think it's the place to be.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect

Dined on April 22, 2016

This is a cool restaurant with a cool vibe. The servers are great and very attentive and it's some of the best food I've ever had at any restaurant. The price matches the food and it's a great value. There will definitely be return visits from myself and my family in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great for salad lunch

Dined on April 21, 2016

If you like salads for lunch, Mex (like it's sister restaurants Beau's and Social) offers a salad bowl where pick the ingredients from an extensive list, all at no extra charge. The salad is huge and delicious and very fairly priced (as are the chips and salsa, which are extra). Nice atmosphere and decor.

Tags: great for lunch
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

Overpriced

Dined on April 15, 2016

This is a very cool restaurant however overpriced for what it is. Wine was $13 a glass for the option of a 9 ounce pour. Did not see an option on the menu to purchase by the bottle. Food prices were higher too for what we got. I asked for an extra tortilla and she brought two on a plate and charged me an extra dollar. Seriously? The service did not reflect the prices either. Our total bill was almost $100.00 for two people for Mexican food. I will not be going back

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Always delicious! I don't think I've eve ...

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Always delicious! I don't think I've ever had less than perfect food here. They are consistent. Service is always timely although now and then it takes a minutes to find your server to get the bill. My only complaint: it's cold inside! Went several times in the winter and if you sit by the big front windows, be prepared to keep your coat on. (Great margaritas!)

food3
ambience5
service5

Ambiance was different, yet very nice at ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Ambiance was different, yet very nice atmosphere. Wasn't very excited about areas of close seating, felt like we couldn't talk privately. Also, pricing was expensive and didn't feel like the food was worth it.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Mex is one of our favorites

Dined on March 28, 2016

We go to Mex a lot whether it's just the two of us our a group going out for a night out. It's a great upscale casual location where you can order good food and it's not way overpriced. Sometimes it is busy though and that can cause slow service, but generally it's not too bad service-wise.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this place and the Chef knows his flavors

Dined on March 27, 2016

This was my second time visiting Mex and I was craving it! I brought my mom and she loved it too. Every detail from the interior design, food, flavors, drinks and service has been wonderful. I noticed the chef has a new place in Birmingham and I can't wait to try it as he chooses his flavor mixtures very well. The Margs are great too.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome guacamole and spaghetti squash a ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Awesome guacamole and spaghetti squash apps! Yum!

food4
ambience4
service3

Delicious food. Try the chili!

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Delicious food. Try the chili!

food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Not Impressed

Dined on March 26, 2016

Our food took over an hour to arrive. I myself am in the food service industry (server) so I tend to give a lot of leeway when it comes to these things. However the server never even acknowledged that our food was taking so long. Yes it was a busy night but by the time our food came the place was pretty much empty. Also, all we had were tacos. Our bill was pretty high, which is understandable because we had drinks, but I kind of felt cheated after the experience. This was our third time at Amex. The first two times we didn't have very good service either, but after this last time we won't be coming back. Just in closing, our server was attentive when it came to getting us new drinks which was appreciated.

food4
ambience4
service4

We had no complaints regarding service a ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

We had no complaints regarding service as we read in previous posts. Everything was just right

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great!

Dined on March 23, 2016

Great for lunch or dinner. Very good menu although a bit pricey. A lot of food for the price though.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Awful. Horribly overpriced and poorly ma ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

Awful. Horribly overpriced and poorly made drinks. Food was delivered cold after a 45 minute wait (for tacos!). Just a generally bad experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch skillet is awesome!

Dined on March 13, 2016

We go almost every weekend for the brunch skillet. We love that it's completely custom. Beautiful restaurant, good music, good food and beer.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5

Great food great service. Always fun to ...

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

Great food great service. Always fun to go with friends.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

LOVE MEX!

Dined on March 9, 2016

The chopped salad is our go to item. Love it The hostess is great in giving us a table to make a great lunch in to a working lunch.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic local Mexican restaurant. We l ...

vip
Dined on March 4, 2016

Fantastic local Mexican restaurant. We love coming here and they are consistently wonderful for drinks, dinner and service. Love Mex!

food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Disappointed

Dined on March 4, 2016

Waited a long time for food then it was cold. Very small portion of veggie tacos; for the expensive price, you should get at least 4 tacos!

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

MEX WAS AWESOME!

Dined on March 4, 2016

MEX was everything I hoped it would be! I saw the reviews and wanted to check it out for myself. The waiter was very knowledgeable and answered all of my questions. He told my husband and I what to try based on our preferences and I am so happy we went! He continued to check on us and his customer service was great. The fried ice cream was pretty good and the elote was kind of sweet,but still good. I was impressed with their drinks! They were amazing!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is amazing. Some of the best tacos ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Food is amazing. Some of the best tacos we've ever had!! Our waitress was attentive and relaxed. Love our experience every time we go!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All around fun!

Dined on February 24, 2016

Always a great menu and terrific food. Love the homemade guacamole. Their kale salad is amazing with nice options. Enough to take home for lunch the next day. Great vegetarian options as well.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

the food is terrible

Dined on February 21, 2016

the food here is terrible doesn't have an authentic mexican taste & they use white rice want good Mexican food go to mexican town

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find.

Dined on February 15, 2016

Enjoyed a delicious beef taco lunch. The salad selections are incredible with a vast array of ingredients from which to choose. The server was excellent, very attentive, pleasant.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.