Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.46mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.68mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi
  1. Distance: 0.46mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.68mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.46mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.68mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi
  1. Distance: 0.46mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.68mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi

About Mettawas Station Mediterranean Restaurant

Located in Kingsville's Historic Train Station, Mettawas Station provides a relaxed atmosphere with its historic charm to dine or just enjoy a drink. Passing by is the Canada Chrysler Green way where trail enthusiasts can stop en-route to enjoy a bite. Executive chef Anthony uses local seasonal ingredients in his menu, which is filled with appetizers, pastas, steaks seafood and much more, all prepared with an Italian Mediterranean flare. Pair your meal with a local wine from our wine list, an ice cold craft beer or a tasty cocktail to please your palate. Don"t forget to save room for dessert as well as a nice cappuccino or late.

169 Lansdowne Ave.
Kingsville, ON N9Y 1S4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm, Saturday & Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Maple

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(519) 733-2459

Website:
http://www.mettawasstation.com/

Entertainment:
From time to time Mettawas Station hosts live entertainment on the patio. Please contact us regarding the next date and musical act.

Parking Details:
Located along the Canada Chrysler Greenway, Mettawas Station shares a public parking lot with trail enthusiasts. On street parking is also available if the lot is full.

Executive Chef:
Anthony DelBrocco

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Mettawas Station Mediterranean Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (15)
Historic (14)
Special Occasion (14)
See All
Romantic (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Fireplace (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Cozy (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Authentic (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Business Meals (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Casual (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Seasonal (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Healthy (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great Beer (2)
Family Style (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Waterfront (1)
People Watching (1)
Fun (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
196 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

We enjoyed a great meal with our friends from Florida. They thought the food and service was the best. They have family nearby and can't wait to return with them.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We really enjoyed our visit to your restaurant . The food and service were fantastic. The atmosphere was amazing and we will be returning on our next visit to the area. Thank you for making our trip to the Kingsville area memorable. We will be recommending Mettawa's Station to anyone travelling from our area.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Very good... my seafood was cooked perfectly and we both left stuffed. Not a cheap night out but worth every penny. Will go back more thing on menu I would like to try.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Food was excellent. So was the service and
It was very comfy and warm in there with the fireplace.
Very clean and very good seating arrangement s

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We had a very wonderful lunch celebrating my co-worker's birthday. Meal was very tasty. The service was excellent and we had the best table in the house. :)

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Historic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Disabled Access, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Metawa Station was delightful. Our server was knowledgeable about the food and completely honest about the salad dressings. I bought the house dressing instead of the one I tried as it was sweet. She recommended it and it was an excellent recommendation as we tried it yesterday.
The food was delicious and nicely presented. We will return! We also looked at the dinner menu and it looked reasonably priced and interesting foods. We will be trying a dinner next time.

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Amazing food!!!
The flavour of all the food we ate was so delicious.
We had a great evening and enjoyed every minute.
Cannot wait to return for a another incredible evening.
Thanks
Deana

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Dinner was at 5. We each had fish. Both dishes were nicely put together. This visit we were able to remove our coats and enjoy our dinner in a warm environment. Our previous visit we had to leave our coats on the entire meal. Would recommend front room near the fireplace. Keep up the good work team and I look forward to returning when I'm on the green way!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Date with my wife of 53 years on valentines day.. Excellent service by Nancy. Cheesecake dessert very good but a little pricey at $9.00++
Great ambiance by the window watching sunset.. Good stop on the bike trail from Leamington to harrow. Warm up weather !!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Disabled Access, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We were quite pleased with all aspects of our special night out.
Highly recommend to try this great restaurant

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great atmosphere in a historic building. The food was wonderful and definitely worth the drive to Kingsville. Our server definitely was not the greatest at all (incorrect placement of drinks/apps, a plate placed on top of a dish that someone in our party asked to be boxed to bring home & incorrect bills).

Other than the service not being up to par, I would definitely recommend this restaurant and return (if we had a different server!)

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Just an overall fantastic place to eat. Food was excellent, especially the rack of lamb. Wait staff very knowledgeable. Definitely a place to dine. Worth the drive for out of towners!!!

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The only thing I can say about our meal at the Metawaws is excellent.
Excellent food, excellent service, excellent atmosphere.
We plan on returning often.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 10, 2017

One word says it all "Wonderful." I did not get the name of our waitress, but she was one in a million. With food so good and staff so caring how can you go wrong?

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Went for an anniversary dinner on a Thursday night for the first time. Glad we made reservations, it was very busy but not overly noisy. The service was excellent, waiter even went the extra mile to see if the dish desired could be modified for us. Food was very nice, tasty and reasonably priced. We will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great Beer, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Hello,
My husband and I have visited your restaurant many, many times and have always been very happy with the food and service. If I had one complaint about our last visit it would be that my husband ordered beer and twice was told that his choice was not available. That's not a game changer for us and I'm not sure what happened there.
We will always return, love it!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We have been to the Mettawas countless times over the years, and they have been very consistent with their meals. Pepper pot soup is the best, very spicy and full of flavour, veal chop nicely cooked and the chef was able to alter the sauce to a white sauce with my husband's pasta as he has trouble with tomato sauce... Just a note: it could be just the evening we attended, the restaurant was fully booked, and with that being said, it was so loud to the point I could not hear my husband talking to me from across our table. I wish people would learn to use their "indoor voices", there is no need to yell at the person across the table from you and flail your arms all around, and it seemed the more the drinks were flowing, the louder it got. I could clearly hear every conversation around me, but I could not hear my husband speak, as we try to respect others and not force our conversations onto others. Typically, we would be able to have a nice conversation and enjoy the music in the dining room. Normally, the Mettawas is a quiet dining experience, we just happened to be there on a night with disrespectful guests. It was an older crowd that evening, most guests seem to be in the 50-60 age range and really should know better. This really put a damper on my birthday dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Historic, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

It is very easy to make a reservation on line. The food is great. Love all the wood work in the room and ceiling. Can take a nice walk to Lake after dinner, on a summer day. Only one complain, when it is cold outside, it is no a good idea to reseve the table in the first room, it is a little too cold with the cold coming in when the door is open. I will return again.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We had a great evening with family service and food was outstanding. They don't hurry you out very relaxing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Fabulous as always! Great atmosphere, great fro special occasions. Love to bring friends there when they visit from out of town.
Always great food!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 17, 2017

We really enjoyed our lunch and the service was excellent. We will definitely dine there again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had New Years Eve dinner here. The food was great. We had an inexperienced waitress but it was New Years Eve. Reasonably priced and nice atmosphere.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Love this restaurant, food and service always fantastic. New Years dinner was fabulous, we require gluten free for celiac disease and have always felt comfortable with the gluten free options. Once again just a great experience with a great chef, thank you.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fireplace, Historic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Our dinner was fantastic. The service was great. We were celebrating our 51st wedding anniversary and would recommend you to everyone with a special occasion. Please pass our word on to your chef and table server.

Tags: Historic, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We enjoyed our meal, the service was excellent, the ambiance is lovely. Plenty of room for my husbands wheelchair. The food was delicious.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Always great food,drinks and service. We love that this is a local family run business, dedicated to the community. A gem in Kingsville that you should find.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Setting was very nice however the restaurant was cold. We kept our coats on the entire meal. Food was excellent and portion size generous. We had the salmon and all you can eat spaghetti. No refill required on the spaghetti. Finished the meal with delicious desert

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The location is so great in the beautiful town of Kingsville. The ambience was great. It is a beautiful bulding, a lot of nice wood inside that if so cosy. The food was great.. their onions soup could have more cheese. I place I will go back..Also, so easy to reserve on line.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Fabulous food! Highly recommend!
Loved the Holiday season menu.
We will be back for sure with friends and family
Great service, very friendly and informative

Tags: Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Cozy, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Been to Mettawas several times never any complaints. Great food, friendly staff.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Overall very good experience, service was a bit slow, and parking lot was full.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Outstanding food. Wonderful atmosphere. For such a small restaurant it was very difficult to find our waiter. He was not very attentive. I believe he lied about the wine he served my wife. We asked but didn't push the issue. I'll just say some people can tell the difference between Chardonnay and Pinot Grigio.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Fireplace, Afternoon Tea, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 26, 2016

An amazing experience. among the best Restaurant Experience we've had.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Food was excellent (we split a seasonal pasta and the perch sammy). Also, could not resist the apple fritter desert. To die for. Waitress was awesome and my friend and I spent time speaking to the owner. She was making christmas baskets. We purchased 2 baskets and some other goodies. We are so pleased with the whole experience. We did not feel rushed. Again, food was excellent. Will be recommending it to friends and family.

Tags: Seasonal, Fireplace, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2016

My husband raved about the lamb. My sea bass and sides were excellent. The staff were very accommodating. We will definitely return and will recommend this restaurant to friends & family!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Historic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Just an all around great experience. Always a safe bet when heading out for a nice dinner with friends.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Casual, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 29, 2016

This is our second time to Mattawas. Their food is fabulous, and they have the best lamb we've ever had, and the amount of meat is generous.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Excellent food and service. Any dietary needs are accommodated as everything is fresh and made to order. Ambience is casual however a bit noisy. Otherwise 5 stars all around.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Another fabulous meal!!!! I could not pass up on the filet with peppercorn sauce...absolutely delicious! THree of us had the steak, and we were all thrilled! Two people in our group had the perch and pickerel....they were pleased too! OUr adventurous friend had the roasted parsnip and garlic soup with Parmesan as well as the stuffed sole entree...and was very pleased. We enjoyed our meal. Service was not as attentive as usual, as the server had a number of large tables.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 23, 2016

It was the first time we had been there and it was the entertainment book that brought us there. We will definitely be back. Service and food excellent. Our waiter gave us a little history on the building. Came home and googled and got more info. Very interesting.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.