About Mettawas Station Mediterranean Restaurant

169 Lansdowne Ave.
Kingsville, ON N9Y 1S4
View Larger Map

Located in Kingsville's Historic Train Station, Mettawas Station provides a relaxed atmosphere with its historic charm to dine or just enjoy a drink. Passing by is the Canada Chrysler Green way where trail enthusiasts can stop en-route to enjoy a bite. Executive chef Anthony uses local seasonal ingredients in his menu, which is filled with appetizers, pastas, steaks seafood and much more, all prepared with an Italian Mediterranean flare. Pair your meal with a local wine from our wine list, an ice cold craft beer or a tasty cocktail to please your palate. Don"t forget to save room for dessert as well as a nice cappuccino or late.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm, Saturday & Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Maple

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(519) 733-2459

Website:
http://www.mettawastation.com/

Entertainment:
From time to time Mettawas Station hosts live entertainment on the patio. Please contact us regarding the next date and musical act.

Parking Details:
Located along the Canada Chrysler Greenway, Mettawas Station shares a public parking lot with trail enthusiasts. On street parking is also available if the lot is full.

Executive Chef:
Anthony DelBrocco

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Mettawas Station Mediterranean Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Toronto / Ontario
Most Booked
Windsor
Best Restaurants in South Windsor ›

Special Occasion (21)
Worth the Drive (19)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
See All
Historic (17)
Good for a Date (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Cozy (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Casual (10)
Romantic (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Great for Lunch (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Business Meals (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Fireplace (5)
Authentic (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Fun (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Vegan (2)
Private Room (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Seasonal (2)
Spicy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Healthy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Family Style (1)
Live Music (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
168 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The location is so great in the beautifu ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

The location is so great in the beautiful town of Kingsville. The ambience was great. It is a beautiful bulding, a lot of nice wood inside that if so cosy. The food was great.. their onions soup could have more cheese. I place I will go back..Also, so easy to reserve on line.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous food! Highly recommend! Loved t ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

Fabulous food! Highly recommend!

Loved the Holiday season menu.

We will be back for sure with friends and family

Great service, very friendly and informative

Tags: Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Cozy, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been to Mettawas several times never any ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Been to Mettawas several times never any complaints. Great food, friendly staff.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall very good experience, service wa ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Overall very good experience, service was a bit slow, and parking lot was full.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstanding food. Wonderful atmosphere. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Outstanding food. Wonderful atmosphere. For such a small restaurant it was very difficult to find our waiter. He was not very attentive. I believe he lied about the wine he served my wife. We asked but didn't push the issue. I'll just say some people can tell the difference between Chardonnay and Pinot Grigio.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Fireplace, Afternoon Tea, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

An amazing experience. among the best R ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 26, 2016

An amazing experience. among the best Restaurant Experience we've had.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was excellent (we split a seasonal ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Food was excellent (we split a seasonal pasta and the perch sammy). Also, could not resist the apple fritter desert. To die for. Waitress was awesome and my friend and I spent time speaking to the owner. She was making christmas baskets. We purchased 2 baskets and some other goodies. We are so pleased with the whole experience. We did not feel rushed. Again, food was excellent. Will be recommending it to friends and family.

Tags: Seasonal, Fireplace, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband raved about the lamb. My sea ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2016

My husband raved about the lamb. My sea bass and sides were excellent. The staff were very accommodating. We will definitely return and will recommend this restaurant to friends & family!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Historic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Just an all around great experience. Alw ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Just an all around great experience. Always a safe bet when heading out for a nice dinner with friends.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Casual, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is our second time to Mattawas. The ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 29, 2016

This is our second time to Mattawas. Their food is fabulous, and they have the best lamb we've ever had, and the amount of meat is generous.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Any dietary ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Excellent food and service. Any dietary needs are accommodated as everything is fresh and made to order. Ambience is casual however a bit noisy. Otherwise 5 stars all around.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Another fabulous meal!!!! I could not p ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Another fabulous meal!!!! I could not pass up on the filet with peppercorn sauce...absolutely delicious! THree of us had the steak, and we were all thrilled! Two people in our group had the perch and pickerel....they were pleased too! OUr adventurous friend had the roasted parsnip and garlic soup with Parmesan as well as the stuffed sole entree...and was very pleased. We enjoyed our meal. Service was not as attentive as usual, as the server had a number of large tables.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

It was the first time we had been there ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 23, 2016

It was the first time we had been there and it was the entertainment book that brought us there. We will definitely be back. Service and food excellent. Our waiter gave us a little history on the building. Came home and googled and got more info. Very interesting.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyed the food. The specialty ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Really enjoyed the food. The specialty dishes were very good!

Tags: Private Room, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Casual, Great for Brunch, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a wonderful evening with best friend ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Had a wonderful evening with best friend. Great and friendly service. Food terrific. Will recommend to others. Have been several times.... Always happy !

Tags: Live Music, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was fantastic we always recom ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Everything was fantastic we always recommend Mettawas Station to our friends and family!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Disabled Access, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

ThIs was our first visit and won't ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 11, 2016

ThIs was our first visit and won't be the last. Great food and atmosphere..our waitress was exceptional.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful evening celebrating an anniver ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Wonderful evening celebrating an anniversary and a retirement with a group of 7. Waitress was excellent and very knowledgable !!! One person in our party required gluten free and the waitress was aware of all options !! Everyone enjoyed their meals !!! Excellent !!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

celebrated our 45th anniversary we had a ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 2, 2016

celebrated our 45th anniversary we had anew girl for ourwaitress and she was great!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very unique menu options ~ every one we ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Very unique menu options ~ every one we have tried has been excellent. They are currently offering a cauliflower item ~ the best meal I have ever had at this neat little dining establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

anniversary dinner with my wife. gluten ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 24, 2016

anniversary dinner with my wife. gluten free for her was not a problem. food was delicious, nice atmosphere. would recomend

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely restaurant in historic train stat ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Lovely restaurant in historic train station / welcomed promptly upon arrival and table prepared as reserved / waitress was very friendly and helpful with selections / soup was delicious / shared a salad appetizer which was plenty for both / our main courses were delicious and prepared as requested / both had leftovers and no room for dessert / we were both pleased with the presentation of our dishes but also the care to detail of the spices & preparation / everything was very tasty and appropriately seasoned. We will definitely recommend to friends. All patrons appeared to be enjoying their time as well.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Authentic, Historic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was excellent right from appeti ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food was excellent right from appetizers all the way to dessert. Wine options were great and loved the Oxley Chardonnay. Even the coffee was excellent. On occasion the waitress made us feel rushed, which since we were out celebrating we didn't want to be rushed and with a 7:00 p.m. seating not sure why she was wanting us to eat and go! Other tables were available. So that is my only criticism, the food was wonderful and for that reason we will make the drive out again from Windsor.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

One of the best meals I have ever had I ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 9, 2016

One of the best meals I have ever had

I had the lobster ravoli and one of the best salad dressings I have ever had!!!

Tags: Fun, Wood Oven, Afternoon Tea, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Quick Bite, Vegan, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyed our food--as always. Serv ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Really enjoyed our food--as always. Service was outstanding. Did not order dessert but waitress still brought us something as we were celebrating a birthday. Loved the calamari and perch--salad was fresh. Seated at my favourite table.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good, tasty. The Ambiance i ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food was good, tasty. The Ambiance is good, the restaurant is very nice. I read thru the reviews prior to selecting and booking the restaurant. But I have to say, it was a disappointing experience due to the service. The waitress was not professional, not responding well in terms of active and proactive, you had to ask for the services, and not very friendly.Hope the company can provide more trainings to their employees, and improve moving forward.

Tags: Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

We enjoyed everything and our waitress w ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 1, 2016

We enjoyed everything and our waitress was fantastic.We found for the number of people that were dining,it was short staffed.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was absolutely fantastic. Althoug ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Food was absolutely fantastic. Although have had a perhaps more fine dining service previously, the service was good and we did not feel rushed. One of the top 10 best meals we have had.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We love Mattawas and it is our go-to res ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We love Mattawas and it is our go-to restaurant coming from Amherstburg. However, I have to say, this recent experience left us questioning whether we'll bother to make the drive again for dinner. Firstly, our guest's cutlery was dirty (food on spoon), there was no cruet on the table and had to ask for same, the server didn't know what the veg of the day was and failed on 2 attempts to tell us, we were not asked if we'd like more wine/water and had to ask for bread. My main course was not as advertised and instead was served with the mashed potatoes served with the steak entree. The menu read, black rice and lentils with the fish entree. We arrived at 6:30 only to be seated behind a family with a screaming infant (maybe 7 months old) which is not conducive to dining. I'm sorry but I don't want to have to put up with all of the above at your price point. although the food is very good, I think we'll limit our visits to lunch when in Kingsville and sit outside if weather permits.

Disappointed

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Nice location, the building is worth the ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Nice location, the building is worth the trip in itself. The food was good, but it was more pub style offerings on the menu than we expected, albeit high quality pub food with an italian twist. Good local beers on tap and local wines on offering.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

We were visiting Kingsville for the week ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 13, 2016

We were visiting Kingsville for the weekend and decided on Mettawas Station after several good recommendations. We sat outside on the front patio which was very nice on a hot summer evening. We started with the Sicilian Arancini and two generous glasses of sangria. For mains, I opted for the Spaghetti And Meatballs and the BF went for the New York Strip Steak. Both meals were delicious, and tasted like home cooking (but in the best way). We finished off with the "Cheesecake of the Month" and Tiramisu. Both were lovely. It was a great meal and we would definitely recommend it if you are in the area!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were greeted like they knew us. Had ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 12, 2016

We were greeted like they knew us. Had a lovely table. Had a knowledgeable and friendly waitress. She explained all that we wanted to know about the menu and best of all the food was great.

It was an extremely hot evening and the restaurant air conditioning could not keep out the heat but this was explained to us and we were offered patio seating which we did use for dessert and it was lovely out there as well. Will be going back with friends again for sure. :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Rack of lamb was amazing, perfectly cook ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Rack of lamb was amazing, perfectly cooked to order medium as requested

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I took my mom there for a special dinner ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 31, 2016

I took my mom there for a special dinner. The food was amazing and it was good price for the quantity and quality. Amazing wine list, beer on tap and service. We got to sit outside, enjoying the beautiful weather and company. We can't wait to go back and both know what we'll be ordering next!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

It was mine and my husbands first time t ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 30, 2016

It was mine and my husbands first time there we were treated well. The cream of cauliflower and dill soup was outstanding.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not only was our server very efficient b ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Not only was our server very efficient but very accomodating. , we have never been disappointed eating at this restaurant. We usually eat indoors but we ate on the patio this time. the seating could be a little more comfortable but being outside having cushions to bring in and out would be asking a lot of the staff I would assume. The restaurant's ambiance being a restored train depot in itself is worth the drive from Amherstburg. The food as always didn't disappoint, the food was very tasty, the appetizer portions were a little too big as I could not finish 1/2 of my main course , but then I got to enjoy that the next day.

I would prefer a different draught beer selection but that's to each other's own taste. The wine selection like usual was very good and priced reasonably .... We will definitely return.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Found Mettawas Station Restaurant when I ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Found Mettawas Station Restaurant when I googled restaurants in Leamington area. The restaurant itself is in Kingsville, just a short drive away located among neighbourhood houses. Casual seating and warm atmosphere. Quality of food was great, very fresh ingredients and variety of choices on the menu. Our lamb appetizer was quite good and spicy which my husband loved. Big portions, couldn't finish all of my meal. Staff very friendly and attentive. If you are visiting Pelee Island then make this a stop on your visit you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We love Mettawas but our Sunday visit th ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 24, 2016

We love Mettawas but our Sunday visit the big table behind us was way too noisy for us. They were having a good time but we couldn't hear ourselves think let alone talk. Should have seated us outside or in a different spot. Also, we have always had great food, never a complaint. This time however we had a problem. There were four of us. My daughter-in-law and I had the Lobster Ravioli with extra garlic. When our orders came, Hers had usual amount of the wonderful cheese sauce - mine had pretty much none. As they were likely Made together , when it was prepared - the chef put most in the other dish and mine kind of dry. No care was taken. I sent it back and he made a quick thin cheese sauce and brought it back. Was ok but not the same. No effort made to compensate either. Everyone was almost done eating when I got my order back. The waitress was great not her fault. Anyway, One of my fav meals at your place was ruined. Swierina Stratford

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

As always, great food and friendly servi ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 24, 2016

As always, great food and friendly service! Anthony is a masterful chef and his staff are beautiful inside and out!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff were nice enough but food was not ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Staff were nice enough but food was not up to expectation.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.