About Mettawas Station Mediterranean Restaurant

169 Lansdowne Ave.
Kingsville, ON N9Y 1S4
View Larger Map

Located in Kingsville's Historic Train Station, Mettawas Station provides a relaxed atmosphere with its historic charm to dine or just enjoy a drink. Passing by is the Canada Chrysler Green way where trail enthusiasts can stop en-route to enjoy a bite. Executive chef Anthony uses local seasonal ingredients in his menu, which is filled with appetizers, pastas, steaks seafood and much more, all prepared with an Italian Mediterranean flare. Pair your meal with a local wine from our wine list, an ice cold craft beer or a tasty cocktail to please your palate. Don"t forget to save room for dessert as well as a nice cappuccino or late.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm, Saturday & Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Maple

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(519) 733-2459

Website:
http://www.mettawastation.com/

Entertainment:
From time to time Mettawas Station hosts live entertainment on the patio. Please contact us regarding the next date and musical act.

Parking Details:
Located along the Canada Chrysler Greenway, Mettawas Station shares a public parking lot with trail enthusiasts. On street parking is also available if the lot is full.

Executive Chef:
Anthony DelBrocco

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Mettawas Station Mediterranean Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Windsor
Best Restaurants in South Windsor ›

Special Occasion (35)
Great for Outdoor Dining (30)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
See All
Fit for Foodies (22)
Great for Lunch (18)
Good for Groups (16)
Romantic (16)
Scenic View (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Historic (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Cozy (3)
Casual (3)
Authentic (2)
Business Meals (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Family Style (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Fun (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
148 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

anniversary dinner with my wife. gluten ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 7 days ago

anniversary dinner with my wife. gluten free for her was not a problem. food was delicious, nice atmosphere. would recomend

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely restaurant in historic train stat ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Lovely restaurant in historic train station / welcomed promptly upon arrival and table prepared as reserved / waitress was very friendly and helpful with selections / soup was delicious / shared a salad appetizer which was plenty for both / our main courses were delicious and prepared as requested / both had leftovers and no room for dessert / we were both pleased with the presentation of our dishes but also the care to detail of the spices & preparation / everything was very tasty and appropriately seasoned. We will definitely recommend to friends. All patrons appeared to be enjoying their time as well.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Authentic, Historic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was excellent right from appeti ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food was excellent right from appetizers all the way to dessert. Wine options were great and loved the Oxley Chardonnay. Even the coffee was excellent. On occasion the waitress made us feel rushed, which since we were out celebrating we didn't want to be rushed and with a 7:00 p.m. seating not sure why she was wanting us to eat and go! Other tables were available. So that is my only criticism, the food was wonderful and for that reason we will make the drive out again from Windsor.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

One of the best meals I have ever had I ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

One of the best meals I have ever had

I had the lobster ravoli and one of the best salad dressings I have ever had!!!

Tags: Fun, Wood Oven, Afternoon Tea, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Quick Bite, Vegan, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyed our food--as always. Serv ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Really enjoyed our food--as always. Service was outstanding. Did not order dessert but waitress still brought us something as we were celebrating a birthday. Loved the calamari and perch--salad was fresh. Seated at my favourite table.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good, tasty. The Ambiance i ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food was good, tasty. The Ambiance is good, the restaurant is very nice. I read thru the reviews prior to selecting and booking the restaurant. But I have to say, it was a disappointing experience due to the service. The waitress was not professional, not responding well in terms of active and proactive, you had to ask for the services, and not very friendly.Hope the company can provide more trainings to their employees, and improve moving forward.

Tags: Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

We enjoyed everything and our waitress w ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

We enjoyed everything and our waitress was fantastic.We found for the number of people that were dining,it was short staffed.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was absolutely fantastic. Althoug ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Food was absolutely fantastic. Although have had a perhaps more fine dining service previously, the service was good and we did not feel rushed. One of the top 10 best meals we have had.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We love Mattawas and it is our go-to res ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We love Mattawas and it is our go-to restaurant coming from Amherstburg. However, I have to say, this recent experience left us questioning whether we'll bother to make the drive again for dinner. Firstly, our guest's cutlery was dirty (food on spoon), there was no cruet on the table and had to ask for same, the server didn't know what the veg of the day was and failed on 2 attempts to tell us, we were not asked if we'd like more wine/water and had to ask for bread. My main course was not as advertised and instead was served with the mashed potatoes served with the steak entree. The menu read, black rice and lentils with the fish entree. We arrived at 6:30 only to be seated behind a family with a screaming infant (maybe 7 months old) which is not conducive to dining. I'm sorry but I don't want to have to put up with all of the above at your price point. although the food is very good, I think we'll limit our visits to lunch when in Kingsville and sit outside if weather permits.

Disappointed

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Nice location, the building is worth the ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Nice location, the building is worth the trip in itself. The food was good, but it was more pub style offerings on the menu than we expected, albeit high quality pub food with an italian twist. Good local beers on tap and local wines on offering.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

We were visiting Kingsville for the week ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We were visiting Kingsville for the weekend and decided on Mettawas Station after several good recommendations. We sat outside on the front patio which was very nice on a hot summer evening. We started with the Sicilian Arancini and two generous glasses of sangria. For mains, I opted for the Spaghetti And Meatballs and the BF went for the New York Strip Steak. Both meals were delicious, and tasted like home cooking (but in the best way). We finished off with the "Cheesecake of the Month" and Tiramisu. Both were lovely. It was a great meal and we would definitely recommend it if you are in the area!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were greeted like they knew us. Had ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We were greeted like they knew us. Had a lovely table. Had a knowledgeable and friendly waitress. She explained all that we wanted to know about the menu and best of all the food was great.

It was an extremely hot evening and the restaurant air conditioning could not keep out the heat but this was explained to us and we were offered patio seating which we did use for dessert and it was lovely out there as well. Will be going back with friends again for sure. :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Rack of lamb was amazing, perfectly cook ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Rack of lamb was amazing, perfectly cooked to order medium as requested

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I took my mom there for a special dinner ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I took my mom there for a special dinner. The food was amazing and it was good price for the quantity and quality. Amazing wine list, beer on tap and service. We got to sit outside, enjoying the beautiful weather and company. We can't wait to go back and both know what we'll be ordering next!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

It was mine and my husbands first time t ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

It was mine and my husbands first time there we were treated well. The cream of cauliflower and dill soup was outstanding.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not only was our server very efficient b ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Not only was our server very efficient but very accomodating. , we have never been disappointed eating at this restaurant. We usually eat indoors but we ate on the patio this time. the seating could be a little more comfortable but being outside having cushions to bring in and out would be asking a lot of the staff I would assume. The restaurant's ambiance being a restored train depot in itself is worth the drive from Amherstburg. The food as always didn't disappoint, the food was very tasty, the appetizer portions were a little too big as I could not finish 1/2 of my main course , but then I got to enjoy that the next day.

I would prefer a different draught beer selection but that's to each other's own taste. The wine selection like usual was very good and priced reasonably .... We will definitely return.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Found Mettawas Station Restaurant when I ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Found Mettawas Station Restaurant when I googled restaurants in Leamington area. The restaurant itself is in Kingsville, just a short drive away located among neighbourhood houses. Casual seating and warm atmosphere. Quality of food was great, very fresh ingredients and variety of choices on the menu. Our lamb appetizer was quite good and spicy which my husband loved. Big portions, couldn't finish all of my meal. Staff very friendly and attentive. If you are visiting Pelee Island then make this a stop on your visit you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We love Mettawas but our Sunday visit th ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We love Mettawas but our Sunday visit the big table behind us was way too noisy for us. They were having a good time but we couldn't hear ourselves think let alone talk. Should have seated us outside or in a different spot. Also, we have always had great food, never a complaint. This time however we had a problem. There were four of us. My daughter-in-law and I had the Lobster Ravioli with extra garlic. When our orders came, Hers had usual amount of the wonderful cheese sauce - mine had pretty much none. As they were likely Made together , when it was prepared - the chef put most in the other dish and mine kind of dry. No care was taken. I sent it back and he made a quick thin cheese sauce and brought it back. Was ok but not the same. No effort made to compensate either. Everyone was almost done eating when I got my order back. The waitress was great not her fault. Anyway, One of my fav meals at your place was ruined. Swierina Stratford

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

As always, great food and friendly servi ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

As always, great food and friendly service! Anthony is a masterful chef and his staff are beautiful inside and out!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff were nice enough but food was not ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Staff were nice enough but food was not up to expectation.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

I'm from Kingsville. My girlfriend is fr ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I'm from Kingsville. My girlfriend is from Windsor. She had never been. We both had a great time ! Food was delicious, service was amazing. I ordered an 8oz steak. They ran out and just went ahead and gave me a 10oz for same price as the 8. She's already told all her friends in Windsor and we are planning a double date soon. Cheers !

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were exceptional. ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food and service were exceptional. The staff was very accommodating when I changed my reservation for an earlier time. We brought our friends from out of town and they were very impressed. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great setting for fine dining, or just ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

A great setting for fine dining, or just for drinks on the patio. Our party of 7 was seated promptly, and all the food served was top notch. One of my group is a constant skeptic and hard to please. Well, the Mettawas shut her down. Not a complaint about anything. Our server was a sweetheart and she knew everything that was asked about the menu. Be sure to make reservations since this place draws a crowd, especially on weekends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I came here for dinner with my sister an ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I came here for dinner with my sister and we both really enjoyed ourselves! Our server was sweet, the wine and food were awesome. I had the Penne Athena and think $17 is a little steep for a simple, meatless pasta but it was delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was very good. The service was e ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Food was very good. The service was excellent and they were very flexible with the menu when we requested a couple of changes. Good wine....just a lovely evening!

So nice to be able to book your reservation on line

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

food is outstanding and i especially lik ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

food is outstanding and i especially like the dessert of the month feature, mine was a rhubarb, coconut cheesecake.....yummy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I have always had a great meal here. Ser ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I have always had a great meal here. Service is excellent, friendly

and relaxed atmosphere. Will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All was good but our table for 2 was nea ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

All was good but our table for 2 was near the bar so always busy and a bit awkward. It was our anniversary so maybe should have requested a little nicer , less busy ta

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

A great dinner for 4! We started with g ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

A great dinner for 4! We started with great tasting beer on tap. We enjoyed the New York Strip Steaks and the Spring Menu Lamb Shank with local wine. Delicious! Our server was excellent - attentive and courteous. A great Kingsville restaurant and we appreciate that wines from our region are featured! Looking forward to our next visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Both my wife's and my meals were outstan ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Both my wife's and my meals were outstanding. The rack of lamb, and the bone-in veal chop were cooked to perfection. The cheesecake of the month was also delicious!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Solid Performance!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Attended for a quiet dinner on a Saturday night. We were quickly seated after confirming our Open Table reservation and the great service continued from there. Appetizers of Caesar Salad were very tasty and the steak/salmon for the main entrée was done to perfection. I have absolutely no complaints about my experience at this restaurant and would recommend it for anyone looking for an enjoyable evening out with good food and good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not Worth The Drive

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

I thought the atmosphere would be nice, it was ok. My table was right in front of a the bar where they pick up their drinks. I didn't ask for a seat in the bar and if this is considered part of the dining area, that's terrible. I made a reservation and did not expect to be sitting where I was. Service seemed slow, seemed like forever for my appetizer and then once we received it things seems to flow better. I got the veal chop which was excellent and my husband got rack of lamb. The lamb was overcooked, we ordered medium and he received well. My husband is the type not to complain, I felt he should have at $39.00, you should. Ordered cheesecake for dessert, sauce was a little too sweet. Overall, its not worth the money, I can eat a nice veal chop and lamb at places in Windsor and not have to drive as far.

I don't know if I will take the time to drive out for lunch but if I am in the area I might stop in and give the patio a try.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

This restaurant has a very unique look, ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

This restaurant has a very unique look, being an old train station. The menu is also very unique with something for everyone. It was one of those restaurants where you wanted to try everything, and everything we tried was EXCELLENT! I was not overly impressed by the service, but because of the food, I would give it another try. The fact that you could book the reservations online was also an added bonus!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

We enjoyed our meals a little costly but ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

We enjoyed our meals a little costly but it was prepared nicely, week nights as compared to weekends make s a big difference! All in all we did enjoy it our server was great but maybe not informed but all was well!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We decided to go to Mettawas Station for ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We decided to go to Mettawas Station for lunch to celebrate my Sisters' 50th Wedding Anniversary with her husband. There was 6 people in our party and they were able to accommodate us with no problems. We had an awesome lunch. We wanted to also go for a wine tour of our local wineries, and this was our first stop along the way. The restaurant had a great vibe to it, the staff was great and the food was excellent. We will definitely be going again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The balsamic and maple glazed salmon on ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The balsamic and maple glazed salmon on spinach quinoa risotto sauce was cooked to perfection, tender and moist, complimented with a beet yogurt. The linguini Pescatore with jumbo shrimps, scallops, clams and mussels in a light tomato basil sauce was hearty and the pasta cooked proper al dente . Both dishes were flavourful, delicious and reasonably abundant. Fresh, warm bread with a sundried tomato olive oil dip was too tasty to leave a crumb. Salads included with the meals were fresh mixed greens with excellent house made dressings of balsamic vinaigrette and chunky blue cheese. Wine and beer selections are limited but sufficient. Service was professional, friendly and attentive. The interior decor is made warm and rich with an endless oak finish and nostalgic decorative touches fitting of this historic former train station with it's original fieldstone exterior. The dining experience was pleasing and inviting a return visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Consistently great food!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Have eaten here numerous times with the latest being lunch with my daughter for her birthday (25). We each had soup then shared a salad and a pizza, plenty to eat. Waiter was exceptional, thank you Bruno.

A little cool yet to enjoy their lovely patio so I'll have to come back . One of my favorite restaurants!

Little disappointed that I had indicated on the reservation it was for her birthday but no mention was made .

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was perfect usual. ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The food and service was perfect usual. The restaurant never let me down. We had a time.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Fab ladies out to dinner

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Food was good 3 had the lamb and all said it was excellent while one had salmon , one had veal and those meals were good too. Drinks were ordered but no lime for the vodka tonic....how does one serving mixed drinks runout of lime, especially with a grocery store around the corner??? The tables inside are very close together and feels very crowded, like your eating with strangers but would recommend this restaurant in the warm weather when you can enjoy your meal outside.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Another fabulous meal. Our three-year-o ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Another fabulous meal. Our three-year-old grandson had a grilled veggie pizza with Feta special ordered...he loved it

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.