About Mettawas Station Mediterranean Restaurant

169 Lansdowne Ave.
Kingsville, ON N9Y 1S4
View Larger Map

Located in Kingsville's Historic Train Station, Mettawas Station provides a relaxed atmosphere with its historic charm to dine or just enjoy a drink. Passing by is the Canada Chrysler Green way where trail enthusiasts can stop en-route to enjoy a bite. Executive chef Anthony uses local seasonal ingredients in his menu, which is filled with appetizers, pastas, steaks seafood and much more, all prepared with an Italian Mediterranean flare. Pair your meal with a local wine from our wine list, an ice cold craft beer or a tasty cocktail to please your palate. Don"t forget to save room for dessert as well as a nice cappuccino or late.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm, Saturday & Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Maple

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(519) 733-2459

Website:
http://www.mettawastation.com/

Entertainment:
From time to time Mettawas Station hosts live entertainment on the patio. Please contact us regarding the next date and musical act.

Parking Details:
Located along the Canada Chrysler Greenway, Mettawas Station shares a public parking lot with trail enthusiasts. On street parking is also available if the lot is full.

Executive Chef:
Anthony DelBrocco

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Mettawas Station Mediterranean Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Toronto / Ontario
Most Booked
Windsor
Best Restaurants in South Windsor ›

Special Occasion (44)
Great for Outdoor Dining (37)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
See All
Fit for Foodies (29)
Romantic (26)
Great for Lunch (25)
Good for Groups (23)
Scenic View (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Great for Brunch (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
138 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Nice location, the building is worth the ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Nice location, the building is worth the trip in itself. The food was good, but it was more pub style offerings on the menu than we expected, albeit high quality pub food with an italian twist. Good local beers on tap and local wines on offering.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

We were greeted like they knew us. Had ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We were greeted like they knew us. Had a lovely table. Had a knowledgeable and friendly waitress. She explained all that we wanted to know about the menu and best of all the food was great.

It was an extremely hot evening and the restaurant air conditioning could not keep out the heat but this was explained to us and we were offered patio seating which we did use for dessert and it was lovely out there as well. Will be going back with friends again for sure. :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Rack of lamb was amazing, perfectly cook ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Rack of lamb was amazing, perfectly cooked to order medium as requested

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I took my mom there for a special dinner ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I took my mom there for a special dinner. The food was amazing and it was good price for the quantity and quality. Amazing wine list, beer on tap and service. We got to sit outside, enjoying the beautiful weather and company. We can't wait to go back and both know what we'll be ordering next!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

It was mine and my husbands first time t ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

It was mine and my husbands first time there we were treated well. The cream of cauliflower and dill soup was outstanding.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not only was our server very efficient b ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Not only was our server very efficient but very accomodating. , we have never been disappointed eating at this restaurant. We usually eat indoors but we ate on the patio this time. the seating could be a little more comfortable but being outside having cushions to bring in and out would be asking a lot of the staff I would assume. The restaurant's ambiance being a restored train depot in itself is worth the drive from Amherstburg. The food as always didn't disappoint, the food was very tasty, the appetizer portions were a little too big as I could not finish 1/2 of my main course , but then I got to enjoy that the next day.

I would prefer a different draught beer selection but that's to each other's own taste. The wine selection like usual was very good and priced reasonably .... We will definitely return.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Found Mettawas Station Restaurant when I ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Found Mettawas Station Restaurant when I googled restaurants in Leamington area. The restaurant itself is in Kingsville, just a short drive away located among neighbourhood houses. Casual seating and warm atmosphere. Quality of food was great, very fresh ingredients and variety of choices on the menu. Our lamb appetizer was quite good and spicy which my husband loved. Big portions, couldn't finish all of my meal. Staff very friendly and attentive. If you are visiting Pelee Island then make this a stop on your visit you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We love Mettawas but our Sunday visit th ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We love Mettawas but our Sunday visit the big table behind us was way too noisy for us. They were having a good time but we couldn't hear ourselves think let alone talk. Should have seated us outside or in a different spot. Also, we have always had great food, never a complaint. This time however we had a problem. There were four of us. My daughter-in-law and I had the Lobster Ravioli with extra garlic. When our orders came, Hers had usual amount of the wonderful cheese sauce - mine had pretty much none. As they were likely Made together , when it was prepared - the chef put most in the other dish and mine kind of dry. No care was taken. I sent it back and he made a quick thin cheese sauce and brought it back. Was ok but not the same. No effort made to compensate either. Everyone was almost done eating when I got my order back. The waitress was great not her fault. Anyway, One of my fav meals at your place was ruined. Swierina Stratford

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

As always, great food and friendly servi ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

As always, great food and friendly service! Anthony is a masterful chef and his staff are beautiful inside and out!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff were nice enough but food was not ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Staff were nice enough but food was not up to expectation.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

I'm from Kingsville. My girlfriend is fr ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I'm from Kingsville. My girlfriend is from Windsor. She had never been. We both had a great time ! Food was delicious, service was amazing. I ordered an 8oz steak. They ran out and just went ahead and gave me a 10oz for same price as the 8. She's already told all her friends in Windsor and we are planning a double date soon. Cheers !

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were exceptional. ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food and service were exceptional. The staff was very accommodating when I changed my reservation for an earlier time. We brought our friends from out of town and they were very impressed. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great setting for fine dining, or just ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

A great setting for fine dining, or just for drinks on the patio. Our party of 7 was seated promptly, and all the food served was top notch. One of my group is a constant skeptic and hard to please. Well, the Mettawas shut her down. Not a complaint about anything. Our server was a sweetheart and she knew everything that was asked about the menu. Be sure to make reservations since this place draws a crowd, especially on weekends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I came here for dinner with my sister an ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I came here for dinner with my sister and we both really enjoyed ourselves! Our server was sweet, the wine and food were awesome. I had the Penne Athena and think $17 is a little steep for a simple, meatless pasta but it was delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was very good. The service was e ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Food was very good. The service was excellent and they were very flexible with the menu when we requested a couple of changes. Good wine....just a lovely evening!

So nice to be able to book your reservation on line

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

food is outstanding and i especially lik ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

food is outstanding and i especially like the dessert of the month feature, mine was a rhubarb, coconut cheesecake.....yummy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I have always had a great meal here. Ser ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I have always had a great meal here. Service is excellent, friendly

and relaxed atmosphere. Will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All was good but our table for 2 was nea ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

All was good but our table for 2 was near the bar so always busy and a bit awkward. It was our anniversary so maybe should have requested a little nicer , less busy ta

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

A great dinner for 4! We started with g ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

A great dinner for 4! We started with great tasting beer on tap. We enjoyed the New York Strip Steaks and the Spring Menu Lamb Shank with local wine. Delicious! Our server was excellent - attentive and courteous. A great Kingsville restaurant and we appreciate that wines from our region are featured! Looking forward to our next visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Both my wife's and my meals were outstan ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Both my wife's and my meals were outstanding. The rack of lamb, and the bone-in veal chop were cooked to perfection. The cheesecake of the month was also delicious!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Solid Performance!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Attended for a quiet dinner on a Saturday night. We were quickly seated after confirming our Open Table reservation and the great service continued from there. Appetizers of Caesar Salad were very tasty and the steak/salmon for the main entrée was done to perfection. I have absolutely no complaints about my experience at this restaurant and would recommend it for anyone looking for an enjoyable evening out with good food and good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not Worth The Drive

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

I thought the atmosphere would be nice, it was ok. My table was right in front of a the bar where they pick up their drinks. I didn't ask for a seat in the bar and if this is considered part of the dining area, that's terrible. I made a reservation and did not expect to be sitting where I was. Service seemed slow, seemed like forever for my appetizer and then once we received it things seems to flow better. I got the veal chop which was excellent and my husband got rack of lamb. The lamb was overcooked, we ordered medium and he received well. My husband is the type not to complain, I felt he should have at $39.00, you should. Ordered cheesecake for dessert, sauce was a little too sweet. Overall, its not worth the money, I can eat a nice veal chop and lamb at places in Windsor and not have to drive as far.

I don't know if I will take the time to drive out for lunch but if I am in the area I might stop in and give the patio a try.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

This restaurant has a very unique look, ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

This restaurant has a very unique look, being an old train station. The menu is also very unique with something for everyone. It was one of those restaurants where you wanted to try everything, and everything we tried was EXCELLENT! I was not overly impressed by the service, but because of the food, I would give it another try. The fact that you could book the reservations online was also an added bonus!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

We enjoyed our meals a little costly but ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

We enjoyed our meals a little costly but it was prepared nicely, week nights as compared to weekends make s a big difference! All in all we did enjoy it our server was great but maybe not informed but all was well!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We decided to go to Mettawas Station for ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We decided to go to Mettawas Station for lunch to celebrate my Sisters' 50th Wedding Anniversary with her husband. There was 6 people in our party and they were able to accommodate us with no problems. We had an awesome lunch. We wanted to also go for a wine tour of our local wineries, and this was our first stop along the way. The restaurant had a great vibe to it, the staff was great and the food was excellent. We will definitely be going again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The balsamic and maple glazed salmon on ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The balsamic and maple glazed salmon on spinach quinoa risotto sauce was cooked to perfection, tender and moist, complimented with a beet yogurt. The linguini Pescatore with jumbo shrimps, scallops, clams and mussels in a light tomato basil sauce was hearty and the pasta cooked proper al dente . Both dishes were flavourful, delicious and reasonably abundant. Fresh, warm bread with a sundried tomato olive oil dip was too tasty to leave a crumb. Salads included with the meals were fresh mixed greens with excellent house made dressings of balsamic vinaigrette and chunky blue cheese. Wine and beer selections are limited but sufficient. Service was professional, friendly and attentive. The interior decor is made warm and rich with an endless oak finish and nostalgic decorative touches fitting of this historic former train station with it's original fieldstone exterior. The dining experience was pleasing and inviting a return visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Consistently great food!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Have eaten here numerous times with the latest being lunch with my daughter for her birthday (25). We each had soup then shared a salad and a pizza, plenty to eat. Waiter was exceptional, thank you Bruno.

A little cool yet to enjoy their lovely patio so I'll have to come back . One of my favorite restaurants!

Little disappointed that I had indicated on the reservation it was for her birthday but no mention was made .

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was perfect usual. ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The food and service was perfect usual. The restaurant never let me down. We had a time.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Fab ladies out to dinner

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Food was good 3 had the lamb and all said it was excellent while one had salmon , one had veal and those meals were good too. Drinks were ordered but no lime for the vodka tonic....how does one serving mixed drinks runout of lime, especially with a grocery store around the corner??? The tables inside are very close together and feels very crowded, like your eating with strangers but would recommend this restaurant in the warm weather when you can enjoy your meal outside.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Another fabulous meal. Our three-year-o ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Another fabulous meal. Our three-year-old grandson had a grilled veggie pizza with Feta special ordered...he loved it

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and environment.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Our server was great. Beautiful place. My wife has loved meals here before, but this time we all thought it was just OK.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the Ribs

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Love going to Mettawa, die for their ribs, but was very disappointed at our last visit as they ran out of ribs. Major bummer...Substituted the perch and pickerel but it wasn't my first choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

I'll be back

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Coming to Kingsville for a business trip/personal getaway, I found the restaurant online, was happy to be able to book a reservation online. My Italian husband is a great cook and a real foodie, and he was very favourably impressed with the lamb. I really enjoyed my dinner as well, and the local wine we drank with it was very nice indeed. The service was excellent. The only complaint I might have was our table, a small two seater next to the fireplace. It felt rather like it was put there as an afterthought and it was almost like we were slightly in the way. When I return to Kingsville, I will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Though the table we had was not very pri ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Though the table we had was not very private, due to sitting at window on the public trail side of restaurant the meals and service made for that. Will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Pleasant experience

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

The food and ambiance added to a wonderful evening out with friends. We all agreed that the food was very well prepared and presented. Our waitress was accommodating and moved us away from a doorway that was breezy. She was exceptional about explaining the menu and wine list and presented the meals in a timely manner. We would all gladly return but would probably again choose a weekday evening to avoid a crowded restaurant. Thank you for providing a lovely place to enjoy an evening with good friends.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday dinner for a party of 10

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

We have dined at this establishment several times and have never been disappointed . I would highly recommend this restaurant based on value and their Delicious food .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good Night to be Indoors

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

We were looking for some place a little off the beaten track and found it here in Kingsville. The online menu looked very complete and very, very appetizing. Our server was very knowledgeable, attentive and effecient. The 8oz. filet with peppercorn sauce I ordered seemed to me to be more like a 12oz, but...who was I to argue. Reasonable prices, excellent menu choices, and a cozy fire going in the background. It doesn't get much better than this. Thank you, Mettawas Station.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always great food!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

This is not our first time here so we are familiar with the quality of the food that Anthony and Janet put out.

We reserved a table for 8 on the bar side y the fireplace where we find it cozy and more intimate for large group conversations.

Local wines are available at a reasonable prices which is great to see. Everyone enjoyed their meals as well as the after dinner brandies and coffee.

Looking forward to the opening of the patio!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place and will go again. Only issu ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Great place and will go again. Only issue is the parking lot is small and there are no lights. The restaurant needs to invest in lighting and a sign out front. The restaurant is back off the road a little bit first time there and I drove by. Other than that I will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Best little gem ever

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

3Rd time eating there, excelent services awsome food and beautiful building. It is my favorite place to go for dinner. Had the veal and it was melt in your mouth.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.