Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About metropolitanKC - Marriott Hotel Kansas City

Experience the finest in Kansas City dining and create lasting memories in a sophisticated yet comfortable atmosphere. Indulge and unwind at MetropolitanKC, where you’ll find vibrant tastes to satisfy every palette.

200 W. 12th St.
Kansas City, MO 64105
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:


Breakfast: Daily a la carte menu: 6:00am – 11:00am

Buffet Monday - Friday: 6:00am - 10:00am
Sunday and Saturday: 6:00am - 1:00pm
Lunch: Daily: a la carte menu: 11:00am – 2:00pm

Buffet Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm – 10:00pm

Cross Street:
12th and Wyandotte

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 802-7095

Website:
http://www.marriott.com/hotel-restaurants/mcidt-kansas-city-marriott-downtown/metropolitankc/58285/home-page.mi

Catering:
Our Chef will work with you to create a special menu for your party. Please contact us for more details.

Parking Details:
Complimentary 2 hour self parking, see the hostess for validation

Public Transit:
Located on close to several different bus stops.

Executive Chef:
Chef Ronnie Kotz

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Metropolitan KC is the perfect place to host a small intimate gathering, family dinner or a private reception.

metropolitanKC - Marriott Hotel Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.5

ambience

3.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (3)
Healthy (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
See All
Comfort Food (2)
Business Meals (2)
Authentic (2)
Casual (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Cozy (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Fun (1)
People Watching (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Fireplace (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
66 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Our service was fantastic. Food was good and reasonably priced.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Brunch

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Last year's Easter Brunch was much better! What happened to the omelette station? The crab claws were tasteless and seemed kind of old. Shrimp and desserts were great.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 1, 2017

My friends and I ate here before attending a play at the Music Hall across the street. We were seated right away, and the server brought us our menus immediately. We were pleased with all the food. The mushroom gratin appetizer was excellent. The Caesar salads were large and delicious, and the wine was excellent and reasonably priced. The Chicken Marsala, stuffed pork chop and steak dinners were all fabulous. We shared the chocolate cake for dessert, and it was perfect for 3 people. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We had an early dinner prior to the Music Halls performance. The the service and food was great.......we really appreciated the fact that we could chat without competition from other diners. We will be return customers. Thank you.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Fireplace, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 31, 2017

This restaurant has really upped their food quality--and it was good before. We are now considering this as a destination go-to, rather than just before the theatre. Kudos to the chef!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Great meal! Enjoyed the steak soup, chop salad and pork tenderloin.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

For a nice dinner before the theatre, it was perfect. Food was good, convenience was great, and very nice service!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Great staff and always do a wonderful job with the menu/value.

Thank you!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Although we came for restaurant week, we all ordered off the menu. All choices came well prepared and attractively served. Our server was diligent and pleasant.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

A perfect dining experience. Great service, food was amazing and I'll return in the near future.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Our work team went there for a going away luncheon. The staff was great - as always !
The BBQ Quesadillas were excellent ! I would also recommend the lunch buffet.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Dinner before Theater. Convenient to Folly or Music Hall. Generous servings of all meals. Well prepared, fresh ingredients. Clearly improved experience from couple years ago. Very pleasant surprise, and will be revisited.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Very under staffed. Took way too long to get the food out. Waiter was nice but you could tell he was frantic. Would not go there again ever....

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

If you are going to take reservations for a holiday meal, make sure to either have food available or let customers know prior to seating. Won't go there again nor would I recommend.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The Thanksgiving buffet was nice. Server was amazing. Food was pretty good. However, they ran out of prime rib before many of my guests even had a chance to even get one slice. Very disappointing. A buffet should plan on enough food for guests. Just because of this reason, we won't be back. No one likes to be told a buffet ran out of food before you even get some. Very poor planning.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We love eating Thanksgiving dinner here! Room to move, easy access for Mom, very friendly staff, great food!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Family Style, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The Thanksgiving buffet was wonderful. Our server, Michelle, made us feel very welcome and took care of all nine of us as individuals and as a group.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Had the ribs. They were good. Service was fairly good. Restaurant was clean

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Here you have a large downtown hotel essentially full with people from a show and this restaurant was not even busy, only a few tables were occupied and the service and food don't even deserve 1 star. Simple steak salad, steak was overcooked the first time which took 40 minutes to get , but the second time it was still overcooked and took another 30 minutes to arrive. This was a business dinner 7 people and the wait time and the poor service did not make it an enjoyable meal. You would think that the hotel management would be keeping a closer eye on this.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on September 23, 2016

We attended a convention at the Marriott and 12 of us ate dinner here. Understaffed so slow services. Limited menu . 5 of us had digestive issues later.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 29, 2016

I have taken customers here on multiple occasions during trade shows at the KC Convention Center. I recommend making reservations. If you let them know you are there for a business meal/meeting, they will do what they can to seat in a quieter, lower traffic area.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 26, 2016

The ribeye was amazing, perfectly crusted, the rub was amazing

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Unique and delicious combine to create an unforgettable dining experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 8, 2016

The worst Mother's Day brunch I have ever taken my mom to. The selection was extremely small and the it was all "salad" type dishes.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 8, 2016

The menu selection is always delectable at the Metropolitan, but as we go before an event at Music Hall, Midland or the Folly, prompt service is imperative! Time and time again, we have to beckon the server for drinks or 'where's the dinner?' When we were seated by 6 with a reservation, we advised we'd need to be served/checked out by 7:10 to walk to theater. We had not been served by 6:45 and were anxious that we would not have time to eat comfortably. Dinner came shortly after, but we felt rushed to eat our perfectly cooked selection of pork chops, ribs, and entrée salads. I WISH they'd have a small buffet option for Friday and Saturday nights like Lilly's used to have... it was always a "no brainer" for the theater crowd!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 11, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed a pre-concert dinner with 10% discount as advertized on the restaurant's website. Very convenient to the Folly Theater! Food was excellent and the venue was quiet, elegant and wait staff provided good service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 7, 2016

We had the breakfast buffet included in our room package since we are Marriott Platinum rewards members. The buffet was good. The fruit selection was really good. They also offered scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits, oatmeal, cereals, breads, muffins, yogurt and beverages. Great service too. Overall value I would say is pretty good considering it was included in our room stay.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 17, 2016

The server brought us 2 kinds of butter: plain, & a delicious strawberry butter with the soft, warm bread served with our chicken noodle soup appetizer. My boyfriend's steak was cooked perfectly, & delicious; he was very happy with it! Would go here again for a special ocassion or with a special deal.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 1, 2016

We went here on New Year's Eve, had a reservation and the restaurant was not full. We were greeted fairly quickly but it took a good 25 minutes to get our drinks, which were ordered off of their "special" drink list for the evening. The food was sub par and the service was absolutely awful. I would not recommend or go back. Awful start to our evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2016

Ordered the whipped potatoes and the filet. The potatoes were really good but the cook had a bit of a heavy hand when adding pepper, the filet was SO not worth what we paid. It was fatty, hard to cut and over-cooked. The flavor was good - but it was crispy on the outside and just an all around waste of good money. Could have gone to Capitol Grille for what we paid there.
The mushroom brie was really good though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 26, 2015

Our family of four has started a tradition that we go out on Thanksgiving, and are at home for Christmas and New Year's Day. We try a different place each year. The Metropolitan was a good choice. Fair price, we had a wonderful server, and a nice buffet. Not as grand as some, but we had a very nice family Thanksgiving this year. Thank you!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 14, 2015

The food was great !!! We didn't have to leave the hotel for a very well priced dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 13, 2015

It is a convenient place downtown with an upscale breakfast for business meetings. Having the buffet also insures you don't run over on time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 12, 2015

My colleague and I stopped for a light bite after late release from an event at the convention center. We just had chopped salads, but they were good and the service was prompt and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 10, 2015

The food was great. Check-in and Check-out were great. The TV's I think must be using rabbit ears as the quality of the stations was less than poor. You need to get boosters on your signals.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 1, 2015

The bbq salad was yummy and big enough to share with 2-4 people. My wife had the crab topped Sea bass and loved it. Prices were very affordable. Service was really poor. There were several servers, but ours kept disappearing for 15-20 minutes at a time. We had to hunt her down to request our check. She didn't deserve the 10% tip, but I hope she understands why it wasn't more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 12, 2015

Waiter placed the wrong order but charged us less to make it up. Still had to wait 30 minutes for the right plate. We ran late to our business convention meeting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 4, 2015

There are few restaurants within walking distance of The Music Hall to have dinner before a show. We chose this restaurant because we could park in the municipal garage and walk to dinner and the show during bad weather. We were there at 6 pm. The place was empty. The staff including the hostess, busboy and waiter all appeared clueless regarding bar and menu options. We clearly told them we had a show to go to at 7:30. Then they promptly forgot about us. Finally got the busboy to take out order as the waiter could not be found. We had physically go find the waiter in another part of the restaurant to remind him that our order had still not some by almost 7 pm. Now the food was good, but we had to gulp it down to get to the show. I don't know if the staff was new, untrained, or just oblivious.....but it was a terrible and not inexpensive experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 27, 2015

We like to dine here on Music Hall event nights due to proximity. We'd informed our server that we had to be in/out within 1 1/2 hours with check closeout. It took 20 min to place our order, then 40 min for the food to be served, missing several of the sides. We had to request deduction for the missing sides, and it took another 10 min to replace the checks, leaving us 10 min to walk to the show. They should have more mid-range options on their menu or else take reservations over in the bar area. Will think twice before going there again prior to theater. On event nights, the place should be packed (like it used to be) -- they should have a buffet option to circumvent the service issues.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.