About metropolitanKC - Marriott Hotel Kansas City

200 W. 12th St.
Kansas City, MO 64105
View Larger Map

Experience the finest in Kansas City dining and create lasting memories in a sophisticated yet comfortable atmosphere. Indulge and unwind at MetropolitanKC, where you’ll find vibrant tastes to satisfy every palette.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:


Breakfast: Daily a la carte menu: 6:00am – 11:00am

Buffet Monday - Friday: 6:00am - 10:00am
Sunday and Saturday: 6:00am - 1:00pm
Lunch: Daily: a la carte menu: 11:00am – 2:00pm

Buffet Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm – 10:00pm

Cross Street:
12th and Wyandotte

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 802-7095

Website:
http://www.marriott.com/hotel-restaurants/mcidt-kansas-city-marriott-downtown/metropolitankc/58285/home-page.mi

Catering:
Our Chef will work with you to create a special menu for your party. Please contact us for more details.

Parking Details:
Complimentary 2 hour self parking, see the hostess for validation

Public Transit:
Located on close to several different bus stops.

Executive Chef:
Chef Ronnie Kotz

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Metropolitan KC is the perfect place to host a small intimate gathering, family dinner or a private reception.

metropolitanKC - Marriott Hotel Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.1

ambience

3.6

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (1)
Romantic (1)
Special Occasion (1)
See All
Great for Brunch (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
Newest
44 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I have taken customers here on multiple ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

I have taken customers here on multiple occasions during trade shows at the KC Convention Center. I recommend making reservations. If you let them know you are there for a business meal/meeting, they will do what they can to seat in a quieter, lower traffic area.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The ribeye was amazing, perfectly cruste ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The ribeye was amazing, perfectly crusted, the rub was amazing

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The worst Mother's Day brunch I have eve ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The worst Mother's Day brunch I have ever taken my mom to. The selection was extremely small and the it was all "salad" type dishes.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

Very close to Music Hall but plan for slow service

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

The menu selection is always delectable at the Metropolitan, but as we go before an event at Music Hall, Midland or the Folly, prompt service is imperative! Time and time again, we have to beckon the server for drinks or 'where's the dinner?' When we were seated by 6 with a reservation, we advised we'd need to be served/checked out by 7:10 to walk to theater. We had not been served by 6:45 and were anxious that we would not have time to eat comfortably. Dinner came shortly after, but we felt rushed to eat our perfectly cooked selection of pork chops, ribs, and entrée salads. I WISH they'd have a small buffet option for Friday and Saturday nights like Lilly's used to have... it was always a "no brainer" for the theater crowd!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Convenient Pre-Concert Dinner

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed a pre-concert dinner with 10% discount as advertized on the restaurant's website. Very convenient to the Folly Theater! Food was excellent and the venue was quiet, elegant and wait staff provided good service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Marriott Breakfast Buffet good fruit selection

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

We had the breakfast buffet included in our room package since we are Marriott Platinum rewards members. The buffet was good. The fruit selection was really good. They also offered scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits, oatmeal, cereals, breads, muffins, yogurt and beverages. Great service too. Overall value I would say is pretty good considering it was included in our room stay.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice dinner in downtown in a refined setting.

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

The server brought us 2 kinds of butter: plain, & a delicious strawberry butter with the soft, warm bread served with our chicken noodle soup appetizer. My boyfriend's steak was cooked perfectly, & delicious; he was very happy with it! Would go here again for a special ocassion or with a special deal.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

SLOW, SLOW, SLOW

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

We went here on New Year's Eve, had a reservation and the restaurant was not full. We were greeted fairly quickly but it took a good 25 minutes to get our drinks, which were ordered off of their "special" drink list for the evening. The food was sub par and the service was absolutely awful. I would not recommend or go back. Awful start to our evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Not worth the money!

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Ordered the whipped potatoes and the filet. The potatoes were really good but the cook had a bit of a heavy hand when adding pepper, the filet was SO not worth what we paid. It was fatty, hard to cut and over-cooked. The flavor was good - but it was crispy on the outside and just an all around waste of good money. Could have gone to Capitol Grille for what we paid there.

The mushroom brie was really good though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Nice choice for Thanksgiving

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on November 26, 2015

Our family of four has started a tradition that we go out on Thanksgiving, and are at home for Christmas and New Year's Day. We try a different place each year. The Metropolitan was a good choice. Fair price, we had a wonderful server, and a nice buffet. Not as grand as some, but we had a very nice family Thanksgiving this year. Thank you!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Barnes

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

The food was great !!! We didn't have to leave the hotel for a very well priced dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Business Breakfast

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on October 13, 2015

It is a convenient place downtown with an upscale breakfast for business meetings. Having the buffet also insures you don't run over on time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

My colleague and I stopped for a light b ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on October 12, 2015

My colleague and I stopped for a light bite after late release from an event at the convention center. We just had chopped salads, but they were good and the service was prompt and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great Experience But....

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on October 10, 2015

The food was great. Check-in and Check-out were great. The TV's I think must be using rabbit ears as the quality of the stations was less than poor. You need to get boosters on your signals.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

the bbq salad & Sea Bass

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 1, 2015

The bbq salad was yummy and big enough to share with 2-4 people. My wife had the crab topped Sea bass and loved it. Prices were very affordable. Service was really poor. There were several servers, but ours kept disappearing for 15-20 minutes at a time. We had to hunt her down to request our check. She didn't deserve the 10% tip, but I hope she understands why it wasn't more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Waiter placed the wrong order but charge ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 12, 2015

Waiter placed the wrong order but charged us less to make it up. Still had to wait 30 minutes for the right plate. We ran late to our business convention meeting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

awful service on 3/3/15

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on March 4, 2015

There are few restaurants within walking distance of The Music Hall to have dinner before a show. We chose this restaurant because we could park in the municipal garage and walk to dinner and the show during bad weather. We were there at 6 pm. The place was empty. The staff including the hostess, busboy and waiter all appeared clueless regarding bar and menu options. We clearly told them we had a show to go to at 7:30. Then they promptly forgot about us. Finally got the busboy to take out order as the waiter could not be found. We had physically go find the waiter in another part of the restaurant to remind him that our order had still not some by almost 7 pm. Now the food was good, but we had to gulp it down to get to the show. I don't know if the staff was new, untrained, or just oblivious.....but it was a terrible and not inexpensive experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Great food, but speed of service was deplorable

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 27, 2015

We like to dine here on Music Hall event nights due to proximity. We'd informed our server that we had to be in/out within 1 1/2 hours with check closeout. It took 20 min to place our order, then 40 min for the food to be served, missing several of the sides. We had to request deduction for the missing sides, and it took another 10 min to replace the checks, leaving us 10 min to walk to the show. They should have more mid-range options on their menu or else take reservations over in the bar area. Will think twice before going there again prior to theater. On event nights, the place should be packed (like it used to be) -- they should have a buffet option to circumvent the service issues.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Valentine's Day dinner.

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

We ate at MetropolitanKC this Valentine's Day. It was a special menu, I didn't realize when I made the reservation that the Valentine's Day menu were the only choices available. I had reviewed the regular restaurant menu and pre-selected the gluten free chicken entrée. So, I was disappointed not to have the choice. I don't have allergies, the gluten free selection was a preference because I was on day 26 of a 28 day cleanse. However, I have to say the food was excellent and I would recommend this restaurant. So much better than what you frequently find in hotel resturants.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing Food

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 14, 2015

My husband and I went to metropolitanKC for their Valentine's special. The food was wonderful! An unusual Amuse Broche started the meal. The next course was Stuffed Shrimp for me and a Ravioli for my husband. Both were scrumptious! Our entree course was a well-seasoned Steak with a bit-too-salty potatoes and Chilean Sea Bass with an excellent texture and taste. My dessert cake was a bit overcooked, but my husband gobbled up the passion fruit dessert. The service was a bit poor; this restaurant was not equipped for a large event and our waitress struggled with multiple tables. Food came slowly, refills on drinks difficult to get. The food is definitely worth a trip, though, and if we return it will be a less-busy time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Loved it

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 13, 2015

I had the Ribeye and it was one of the best i've ever had.. Cooked exactly the way i asked, and seasoned perfectly.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Tough Prime Rib

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on December 25, 2014

Wonderful service, but the prime rib was really, really tough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Christmas Lunch

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on December 25, 2014

Our family had Christmas Lunch here this year. The food was good and our server was expectional. She was friendly,funny and professional. All of the staff from the doorman, desk staff and restaurant staff were professional and helpful and curtious. We will definately return.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Easy Thanksgiving,

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 27, 2014

We wanted a place to relax this thanksgiving. Family from out of town was not able to visit this year so my wife and daughter joined me for a simple Thanksgiving brunch. I had hoped for better food at $26/plate, disappointed.

We had a good time. The service is excellent and it's a lovely venue. Overall we had a nice time because our goals were met. We wanted to spend time together as a family and not worry about cooking or cleaning. Thank you MetropolitanKC for working on the holiday and helping us share our thanks on Thanksgiving.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Good Hotel Option

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on October 19, 2014

Don't normally enjoy hotel food but this was tremendous. Ribeye with the hotel's special rub was perfect. The cauliflower mash was a great accompaniment. Give it a try and be surprised, too.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

SERVICE WAS GREAT AND PRICE WAS GOOD. TH ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 6, 2014

SERVICE WAS GREAT AND PRICE WAS GOOD. THE RIBS WITH THEIR SIGNATURE SAUCE WAS "OK". LOCATION IN THE DOWNTOWN MARRIOTT IS VERY HANDY.

A GOOD FINE FOR CASUAL DINING, NOT FOR SPECIAL/ROMANTIC OCCASIONS

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Great!

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 29, 2014

This was right in the hotel and was very nice. It was a bit pricey and the menu was pretty limited, but the food was amazing and the service was just as great. I would definitely recommend for someone wanting to go to a nice dinner!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great meal

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 17, 2014

Although the restaurant was nearly empty, the food was great, the service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Mother's day Buffet Brunch

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 11, 2014

The food was excellent and, generally, there were plenty of choices. Only hit was the lack of fruit. Mixed fruit crisps were outstanding, the service was outstanding; we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We had been going to the Downtown Marriott for Easter, Mother's Day and Thanksgiving frequently for about 20 years. This was a smaller scale but still quite enjoyable and, we believe, worth the price.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Brunch

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 11, 2014

Booked the MetropolitanKC for Mother's Day brunch and overall had a great time. Our service was fantastic from the hostess to our waiter to the pancake bar. Everyone was polite, quick to provide service, and eager to please. Giving the mother's potable flowers was a nice touch as well. We enjoyed all selections of food, but would have liked to see more of a selection of fresh items. Also, the au jus for the prime rib did not taste good which was unfortunate.

Would eat here again for brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Brunch

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 4, 2014

I went for brunch on a Sunday morning and the food and service were very good. The price was also excellent for the food that was served. I would not hesitate to go back.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

A plus on the Easter Brunch

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 20, 2014

The food and service was outstanding! Thanks to the staff and management for a great Easter Brunch... Also had to get a room to take a nap before returning home.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

disappointed brunch

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 20, 2014

I made reservations for the Easter Brunch. I felt the food selection/choices was limited. The 2 main meat selections: I cannot eat lamb and the roast beef was rare - medium rare which I cannot eat. I was told there were no other meat choices. The vegetable choices and other food choices were not hot but cool in temperature. Overall the food taste including the dessert was very bland. The coffee was good and the service/waiters were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

Nice quite Dinner made enjoyable

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 8, 2014

Nice quite Dinner made enjoyable by great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Surprisingly good. You can

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 6, 2014

Surprisingly good. You can count on Marriott to maintain a consistent standard but Metropolitan KC is a cut above the typical Marriott restaurant. The food was excellent as was the the staff, from the hostess to the servers. Good restaurants are limited downtown, especially close to the Music Hall and Bartle Hall; Metropolitan KC fills that gap nicely. You can arrive at a performance or event early, park underground, walk no more than 1/2 block to the Marriott, have a great dinner, then walk back to the Music Hall or Bartle Hall, even underground if its raining. The bar area is equally nice and offers a number of food options. Great job.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great hotel. Subpar restaurant

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on March 29, 2014

The service at MetropolitanKC was the only highlight of this dining experience. Coming from workin in a professional kitchen or not there is no excuse for sloppy plating, lack of seasoning, and temperatures requested being do butchered. Rare does not mean well done, medium rare does not mean well done. Salt needs to be added to every chef/cooks station, mash looked as though it sat under a heat lamp and sat in a heat well the entire day. Chicken picatta contained more capers then chicken. Very disappointed into MetropolitanKC experience.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Food was above average for

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 15, 2014

Food was above average for the most part, but the lobster was over cooked. Parsnip mashed potatoes were really good.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Great food, great service

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 15, 2014

Perfect valentines day meal. Loved the lobster and the chocolatey desert. We're definitely going back soon

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

A Disappointment all around

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 15, 2014

Our server was incompetent. After waiting an hour with no food, our appetizers and entrees came out together. Server said he would put our steaks "under the warmer" until we were ready. We almost pulled out at that point and should have. The food was terrible. Completely overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

creative menu choices and presentat

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 15, 2014

We shared each menu choice and loved everything! Look forward to a return trip to order from the open menu as well. Pleasant staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.