About Mesa Street Grill

3800 N Mesa St.
El Paso, TX 79902
View Larger Map

Welcome to Simply Sensational dining. From the first day, our mission has been to provide customers with exceptional cuisine and excellent service in a comfortable and elegant atmosphere. Our goal is and always will be to meet and exceed our customers' expectations.

Opened in 1998, Mesa Street Grill is located in El Paso's University and Medical District, and just a few blocks from downtown. Locally owned and operated, we offer a unique dining venue for the El Paso area. Our professional chefs are all graduates of Professional and/or Cordon Blue Culinary Schools. Our menus change seasonally.

Our dining areas are designed for private and pleasing conversation. Our climate-controlled patio is ideal for toasts of congratulations with business associates, friends and loved ones. Everything about The Mesa Street Grill is designed to enhance your dining experience. Join us for one of your meals and witness our commitment to excellence for yourself.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00Pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Firday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Robinson st

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(915) 532-1881

Website:
http://www.mesastreetgrill.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz (American, Latin) Thursdays through Saturdays.

Parking Details:
Front, side and rear of building

Public Transit:
Mesa & Sunbowl

Private Party Facilities:
When you need something out of the ordinary for that once in a lifetime event, Mesa Street Grill has the ability to host your small lunch or dinner party, a bridal or baby shower, a rehearsal dinner, birthday dinner, all holiday occasions or any other special occasion. We host special events all the time, and many people return just to remember their experiences at The Mesa Street Grill.

We offer: A personalized menu, Theme decorations, Wine Pairing Dinners, A private room (inside for up to 45 people)
A reserved patio (seating for up to 65 people)

Private Party Contact:
Aaron Means: (915) 532-1881

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Delivery, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Join us to celebrate your love. We will be hosting a special Valentines menu for the weekend before and up to Valentines Day.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Mon 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Wed 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 12:00PM 2:00PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 7:00PM

Thu 2:00PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 7:00PM

Fri 8:30PM - 11:00PM

Sat 4:00PM - 7:00PM 8:30PM - 11:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Mesa Street Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Business Meals (7)
Special Occasion (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
See All
Good for a Date (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Romantic (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Cozy (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Private Room (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Fun (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Authentic (1)
People Watching (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Live Music (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Family Style (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
278 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Ordered the duck...received only a small ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Ordered the duck...received only a small leg that was dry and tastless. The side of mushrooms was overly soaked in wine. Best part of the meal was the steak soup and chocolate cake for dessert . Unfortunate because it ruined what was excellent service and ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

The Pato ala Almendra was amazing! Will ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The Pato ala Almendra was amazing! Will be coming back for a date night. The restaraunt is very fancy and the service was actually excellent. We were taken care of just the right amount. Drinks were great. And beware with such a great experience comes a high price so be aware. But I would truly say IT IS WORTH IT!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

spent new years with the wife different ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on January 1, 2017

spent new years with the wife different than previous years with lots of friends but risky with drive.

the two of us had a great time with you Parisian ambiance.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Buen lugar, tiene dos zonas, la formal o ...

 
 (México)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Buen lugar, tiene dos zonas, la formal o casual más una terraza para el verano. Los alimentos muy buenos, rib eye delmonico o el rissoto. Los precios son acorde al lugar y al menú. El servicio muy atento y dispuesto a ayudarte.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Alejandra did a great job ta ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Birthday

Alejandra did a great job taking care of our table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mesa Street Grill was amazing! 20 oz rib ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Mesa Street Grill was amazing! 20 oz ribeye was yummy, lobster Mac n cheese was so good! Worth every penny. They get four stars for service because the waiter offered us bread but never brought it and another waiter had to bring us water. But the food was so good and the hostess was so friendly. We had a great time.

Tags: Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was way under expectation (forget e ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Food was way under expectation (forget excellent, as would be expected based on prices) really not even credible or competitive. Staff is not knowleggeable or polished, the place is more like a cheaper cafeteria in terms of food, but the cafeterias actually have much better food!!!

Don't come to this place to eat, it is way under expectations and way, way over priced!

Cheers,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

Harold our server was an upstanding wait ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Harold our server was an upstanding waiter. We had a wonderful date. The atmosphere was amazing and the food was terrific!

We both had never had duck before so it was a fun experience.

By far though the Asparagus soup which was the soup of the day was the most amazing thing.

If you're looking for a romantic outing this is a great place to have it.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I write reviews for Yelp and gave it fiv ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on December 10, 2016

I write reviews for Yelp and gave it five stars. The service, plating and taste of the food were superb.

Tags: Private Room, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pricey but the food and drinks were exce ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Pricey but the food and drinks were excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Last year when we ate here before the Sy ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Last year when we ate here before the Symphony we were ignored by our waiter and our food took way too long to arrive, so we have hesitated returning.

We decided to try Mesa Street Grill again and were pleasantly surprised. We were seated in a nicer area and our waiter, Thomas, was very attentive and went out of his way to make our

dining experience a very nice evening out.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Some good, some bad...bit of a trust iss ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Some good, some bad...bit of a trust issue. Food was good, drinks were weak at best, waiter was solid. Booked a 1000 point table at 7:30 and arrived at 7:25. During the meal I got an email from open table asking for feedback as to why I no showed for my res....as I'm finishing my meal. Needless to say, I was immediately skeptical and as a frequent OT user curious how this could happen. OT resolved the issue very quickly with no response from the Mesa team. Thank you OT for being a phenomenal Custer service driven team...as for Mesa, with so many options I won't be back. If you visit and book a 1000 pointer, keep an eye out for a no show email.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Restaurant was nice but service as usual ...

vip
 (El Paso)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Restaurant was nice but service as usual was spotty. It was hard to get service, we had to flag one down ourselves. Food was good but 2 hours was a bit long lunch

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Fair, not what I expected. I thought tha ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Fair, not what I expected. I thought that the ambiance was fitting for a fine dining experience. The food was pretty good not great. The prices were a little high for the quality of food.

Service was good. A new server that was trying hard. We had to ask for salt and pepper a couple of times.

We notified OpenTable that it was my wife's birthday and nothing happened. Not that it was a big deal, but why ask if nothing is going to be recognized.

We were there on a early Sunday(11:15am) reservation. We were sitting at a bar table and the bartender put NFL games on for us. A couple of employees came in early and sat at the bar. One of them changed the TV to something they wanted to watch.

We expected more of a fine dining experience and got a Chili's or Applebee's experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

The service was excellent, from seating ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The service was excellent, from seating to dessert. Our server was also excellent, prompt, and professional. Exactly what you expect from a top notch restaurant. We went for my husband's birthday and he enjoyed our time spent at Mesa Street Grill. Great food!

Tags: Good for Groups, Private Room, Family Style, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not a single vegetarian main dish on men ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Not a single vegetarian main dish on menu. Would recommend adding at least a couple options, other than that good ambiance and presentation.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value3

The food was awesome!!! Well worth the m ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on August 9, 2016

The food was awesome!!! Well worth the money spent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, great service

vip
 (El Paso)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Excellent food, great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We stood at the door waiting to be seate ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 30, 2016

We stood at the door waiting to be seated nearly 10 minutes, people passed by us and was not that busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Beautiful restaurant with great bar area ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Beautiful restaurant with great bar area. Dinner room decor is perfect. Food excellent- service excellent. I will always take my out of town guest there in addition to it being my go to restaurant .

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our second time going to Mesa ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on June 20, 2016

This was our second time going to Mesa Street grill. The first time the server had an attitude but the food was made well. This second time the service was good but both my husband and my steak was cold. We were told this was because it took less time to cook then the other meals. I am not a chef but even I know how to make food done at the same time. Whoever was in the back should have had the brains to make the steaks last. When we got our steaks back, they tasted microwaved. When I am spending over $200 for a meal (there was 4 of us), I expect the food to be worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

I selected the Mesa Street Grill to take ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on June 14, 2016

I selected the Mesa Street Grill to take my boyfriend to dinner for his birthday and we definitely enjoyed it.

Loved: EVERYTHING

My boyfriend ordered the 16 oz steak with asparagus and I had the spicy shrimp pasta. We enjoyed the food so much I forgot to take a picture for my review lol. We also received a complimentary desert for the birthday boy, vanilla ice cream drizzled with chocolate, chocolate cake and a side of fruit.

The service was impeccable, our server made perfect food and drink suggestions.

I will definitely return here on my next visit to El Paso.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite restaurant in the city. Ican ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on May 26, 2016

My favorite restaurant in the city. Ican never go wrong with the wine list, food, service, ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasant Evening

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on May 1, 2016

What a pleasant way to relax & spend an evening with my wife - all the while enjoying very good food and exceptional service. Thank you

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

They LIE but food was good

vip
 (El Paso)·Dined on April 27, 2016

They LIE but food was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

Never disappointing great food

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on April 21, 2016

Never disappointing great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Glad they now serve lunch

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on March 6, 2016

Server was attentive. Food was good. Patio was comfortable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

A must!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 6, 2016

Outstanding!!! From reservations to exit.. Staff was extremely attentive. Food was exceptional as was expressed by all members of our party to include our ten year old grandaughter. Annette would have been extremely happy.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

review

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 6, 2016

Very good ambiance, food and service. The only distractor was: for such nice ambiance etc. we were handed a one page menu that was stained and ugly. Took away a lot from the experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Horrible experience,

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 15, 2016

We arrived in time, it took them about 15 minutes to get our table, the place was not busy at all, once seated, our waitress took a while to get our drink order, (on the plus side the beer was cold ) we order the appetizer, it came with in reasonable time, we order the entre, I ordered the Delmonico Rib Eye, ordered medium, my wife ordered the crab cakes, when our food arrived, my stake overcooked and dry, I informed my waitress, brought me another steak cooked the same way, I guess it was the same steak, no flavor and dry, it was as if I was chewing on and old piece of leather.

I only eat 1/3rd of it.

By the time we were done dinner for two,

One margarita, one cold beer, one glass of wine, one appetizer, crab cakes and a stake, total bill $130.00 plus.

Very disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Bad experience

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on February 14, 2016

The service was so poor, as we have also experienced in the past, that we had a drink and left.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

Highly dissapointed with this place!

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 14, 2016

We waited over an hour to be served, our waiter dissapeared for half an hour, and when food finally arrived my steak was dry and actually burnt! Worst restaurant experience ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

VERY POOR FOOD

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 14, 2016

la comida no tiene sabor por ser un restaurante de tanta calidad , pedimos carne 3/4 de termino y estaba quemada y sin sabor

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Horrible Service with horrible service.

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Service was horrible at least our waitor was. We saw couples enjoying their time with their server but us. We ordered coctails and we're approached 15 minutes later asking if what beer we ordered. After we explained that we ordered mix drinks he asked if we were sure as if we were liars. Then we received our meal which I would say was less than hot but we weren't able to explain since we were not visited again until our meal was over. We also heard the two couples behind complain as he forgot their order and he was only serving 3 tables total. It was a less than amazing Valentine dinner for the crazy price we paid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

Awful! Never again!

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 14, 2016

We arrived just on time (7:30pm) and were seated in the sports bar area and not in the dining room! Very noisy and very uncomfortable. Our waiter was immediately very pushy and came 4 times to take our orders. When we were ready, he was nowhere to be find! Finally he came and took our orders (3 different appetizers and 3 different entrees) without taking notes. After 45 minutes, another server came to serve just our entrees. The appetizers were not ordered! I called for the manager who took another full 10 minutes to show up! He had no explanation, no excuses and didn't propose any solution!

We left that miserable place at 8:45pm without having been served any food, not even some bread!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

THANK YOU TO THE nTH POWER

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 7, 2016

This was our first time and the staff were very accommodating. I wanted an extra special environment for my 7th Anniversary. I physically visited five well known area restaurants to see for myself if they had the environment I was looking for and Mesa Street Grill was the next to last stop. The moment I walked into the front door I knew this was the right place. When the day of my anniversary arrived my wife was elated at the location and the service along with the attentiveness. A special thank you to our server Rauk who was extraordinary. He did not get upset when we informed him the Wine Room was too cold and even found another table for us after the manager turned down the refrigerated air. I am more than pleased with Mesa Street Grill for helping me give my wife an Anniversary and a memory that she and I will both cherish for a lifetime. We will be back in the near future but nothing can capture that first magical moment that we have already experienced. Thank you, thank you, thank you. Mitch Brice

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Cool Mesa St

vip
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 6, 2016

Great wine list, food, good service but was very uncomfortable in the restaurant. The temp had to be mid to high 60's most people had coats on. We were not near the door or outdoor patio. Put a damper on the evening.

John

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value4

Upscale restaurant with great food and s ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 24, 2016

Upscale restaurant with great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyable and quiet lunch

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on January 23, 2016

I heard about the Lobster Mac and Cheese which wasn't on the lunch menu but they made it for us anyway. A real must have. The Bananas Foster was quite a show and very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

wish we had a better experience

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on January 22, 2016

7 people, 6 plates of beef, none of which were tender or juicy. just short of $900 after $120 tip.

The appetizers were great but small, the wine was great and we found a screwtop wine for $35 that everyone liked. The sides we had with the meat (extra and above the $45 sinuous cow cuts) were tasty. Mac and cheese was awesome. The 7th meal was a crabcake plate and it was great. We had Ribeyes cooked medium rare and there was zero marbling, no juice and very sinuous in streaks running through them. The others were NY Prime and although I didn't try a bite, they had low opinions of their meats. I left meat on my plate, so that says a lot.

Overall, we all felt pretty unhappy with our meats. Many in the party mentioned better meats at several other restaurants, and the names thrown out as better were low level chain type of places and not Cattlemans and Ruths Chris, which can serve a piece of meat.

The bacon wrapped, cheese stuffed jalapenos were great and came on many plates.

I think they should know our opinion, but none of us are confrontational types, so we just smiled and left.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.