About Mesa Street Grill

3800 N Mesa St.
El Paso, TX 79902
View Larger Map

Welcome to Simply Sensational dining. From the first day, our mission has been to provide customers with exceptional cuisine and excellent service in a comfortable and elegant atmosphere. Our goal is and always will be to meet and exceed our customers' expectations.

Opened in 1998, Mesa Street Grill is located in El Paso's University and Medical District, and just a few blocks from downtown. Locally owned and operated, we offer a unique dining venue for the El Paso area. Our professional chefs are all graduates of Professional and/or Cordon Blue Culinary Schools. Our menus change seasonally.

Our dining areas are designed for private and pleasing conversation. Our climate-controlled patio is ideal for toasts of congratulations with business associates, friends and loved ones. Everything about The Mesa Street Grill is designed to enhance your dining experience. Join us for one of your meals and witness our commitment to excellence for yourself.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00Pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Firday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Robinson st

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(915) 532-1881

Website:
http://www.mesastreetgrill.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz (American, Latin) Thursdays through Saturdays.

Parking Details:
Front, side and rear of building

Public Transit:
Mesa & Sunbowl

Private Party Facilities:
When you need something out of the ordinary for that once in a lifetime event, Mesa Street Grill has the ability to host your small lunch or dinner party, a bridal or baby shower, a rehearsal dinner, birthday dinner, all holiday occasions or any other special occasion. We host special events all the time, and many people return just to remember their experiences at The Mesa Street Grill.

We offer: A personalized menu, Theme decorations, Wine Pairing Dinners, A private room (inside for up to 45 people)
A reserved patio (seating for up to 65 people)

Private Party Contact:
Aaron Means: 9155321881x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Cigar Room, Dancing, Delivery, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (bar only), Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Mesa Street Grill
Clubsandwich
Chicago Style Bone-In Ribeye Steak
Delmonico Steak
Crab Cakes With Tempura Asparagus
Peanut Butter Bombe
Spicy Shimp Pasta
Chocolate Mousse Cake
Spit Roasted Chicken And Couscous
Rib-Eye Cocktail
Rib-eye
Ahi Tuna Tacos
Turkey Avocado Wrap
Lobster Mac&Cheese
Belgian Chocolate Icecream
New York With Pasta
Chocolate Cake

Mesa Street Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
El Paso
Most Booked
El Paso
Best Restaurants in El Paso ›

special occasion (17)
romantic (13)
good for groups (9)
See All
notable wine list (9)
fit for foodies (8)
great for lunch (7)
neighborhood gem (6)
great for outdoor dining (5)
late-night find (4)
great for brunch (2)
scenic view (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
hot spot (2)
Sort By:
Newest
245 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

This was our second time going to Mesa ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

This was our second time going to Mesa Street grill. The first time the server had an attitude but the food was made well. This second time the service was good but both my husband and my steak was cold. We were told this was because it took less time to cook then the other meals. I am not a chef but even I know how to make food done at the same time. Whoever was in the back should have had the brains to make the steaks last. When we got our steaks back, they tasted microwaved. When I am spending over $200 for a meal (there was 4 of us), I expect the food to be worth it.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I selected the Mesa Street Grill to take ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

I selected the Mesa Street Grill to take my boyfriend to dinner for his birthday and we definitely enjoyed it. Loved: EVERYTHING My boyfriend ordered the 16 oz steak with asparagus and I had the spicy shrimp pasta. We enjoyed the food so much I forgot to take a picture for my review lol. We also received a complimentary desert for the birthday boy, vanilla ice cream drizzled with chocolate, chocolate cake and a side of fruit. The service was impeccable, our server made perfect food and drink suggestions. I will definitely return here on my next visit to El Paso.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite restaurant in the city. Ican ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

My favorite restaurant in the city. Ican never go wrong with the wine list, food, service, ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Pleasant Evening

Dined on May 1, 2016

What a pleasant way to relax & spend an evening with my wife - all the while enjoying very good food and exceptional service. Thank you

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service4

They LIE but food was good

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

They LIE but food was good

food5
ambience4
service5

Never disappointing great food

Dined on April 21, 2016

Never disappointing great food

food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Glad they now serve lunch

Dined on March 6, 2016

Server was attentive. Food was good. Patio was comfortable.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A must!

Dined on March 6, 2016

Outstanding!!! From reservations to exit.. Staff was extremely attentive. Food was exceptional as was expressed by all members of our party to include our ten year old grandaughter. Annette would have been extremely happy.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

review

Dined on March 6, 2016

Very good ambiance, food and service. The only distractor was: for such nice ambiance etc. we were handed a one page menu that was stained and ugly. Took away a lot from the experience.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Horrible experience,

Dined on February 15, 2016

We arrived in time, it took them about 15 minutes to get our table, the place was not busy at all, once seated, our waitress took a while to get our drink order, (on the plus side the beer was cold ) we order the appetizer, it came with in reasonable time, we order the entre, I ordered the Delmonico Rib Eye, ordered medium, my wife ordered the crab cakes, when our food arrived, my stake overcooked and dry, I informed my waitress, brought me another steak cooked the same way, I guess it was the same steak, no flavor and dry, it was as if I was chewing on and old piece of leather. I only eat 1/3rd of it. By the time we were done dinner for two, One margarita, one cold beer, one glass of wine, one appetizer, crab cakes and a stake, total bill $130.00 plus. Very disappointed

food3
ambience5
service1
value3

Bad experience

Dined on February 14, 2016

The service was so poor, as we have also experienced in the past, that we had a drink and left.

Tags: great for lunch
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

Highly dissapointed with this place!

Dined on February 14, 2016

We waited over an hour to be served, our waiter dissapeared for half an hour, and when food finally arrived my steak was dry and actually burnt! Worst restaurant experience ever!

food2
ambience5
service1
value2

Horrible Service with horrible service.

Dined on February 14, 2016

Service was horrible at least our waitor was. We saw couples enjoying their time with their server but us. We ordered coctails and we're approached 15 minutes later asking if what beer we ordered. After we explained that we ordered mix drinks he asked if we were sure as if we were liars. Then we received our meal which I would say was less than hot but we weren't able to explain since we were not visited again until our meal was over. We also heard the two couples behind complain as he forgot their order and he was only serving 3 tables total. It was a less than amazing Valentine dinner for the crazy price we paid.

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Awful! Never again!

Dined on February 14, 2016

We arrived just on time (7:30pm) and were seated in the sports bar area and not in the dining room! Very noisy and very uncomfortable. Our waiter was immediately very pushy and came 4 times to take our orders. When we were ready, he was nowhere to be find! Finally he came and took our orders (3 different appetizers and 3 different entrees) without taking notes. After 45 minutes, another server came to serve just our entrees. The appetizers were not ordered! I called for the manager who took another full 10 minutes to show up! He had no explanation, no excuses and didn't propose any solution! We left that miserable place at 8:45pm without having been served any food, not even some bread!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

THANK YOU TO THE nTH POWER

Dined on February 7, 2016

This was our first time and the staff were very accommodating. I wanted an extra special environment for my 7th Anniversary. I physically visited five well known area restaurants to see for myself if they had the environment I was looking for and Mesa Street Grill was the next to last stop. The moment I walked into the front door I knew this was the right place. When the day of my anniversary arrived my wife was elated at the location and the service along with the attentiveness. A special thank you to our server Rauk who was extraordinary. He did not get upset when we informed him the Wine Room was too cold and even found another table for us after the manager turned down the refrigerated air. I am more than pleased with Mesa Street Grill for helping me give my wife an Anniversary and a memory that she and I will both cherish for a lifetime. We will be back in the near future but nothing can capture that first magical moment that we have already experienced. Thank you, thank you, thank you. Mitch Brice

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience1
service4
value4

Cool Mesa St

Dined on February 6, 2016

Great wine list, food, good service but was very uncomfortable in the restaurant. The temp had to be mid to high 60's most people had coats on. We were not near the door or outdoor patio. Put a damper on the evening. John

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyable and quiet lunch

Dined on January 23, 2016

I heard about the Lobster Mac and Cheese which wasn't on the lunch menu but they made it for us anyway. A real must have. The Bananas Foster was quite a show and very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

wish we had a better experience

Dined on January 22, 2016

7 people, 6 plates of beef, none of which were tender or juicy. just short of $900 after $120 tip. The appetizers were great but small, the wine was great and we found a screwtop wine for $35 that everyone liked. The sides we had with the meat (extra and above the $45 sinuous cow cuts) were tasty. Mac and cheese was awesome. The 7th meal was a crabcake plate and it was great. We had Ribeyes cooked medium rare and there was zero marbling, no juice and very sinuous in streaks running through them. The others were NY Prime and although I didn't try a bite, they had low opinions of their meats. I left meat on my plate, so that says a lot. Overall, we all felt pretty unhappy with our meats. Many in the party mentioned better meats at several other restaurants, and the names thrown out as better were low level chain type of places and not Cattlemans and Ruths Chris, which can serve a piece of meat. The bacon wrapped, cheese stuffed jalapenos were great and came on many plates. I think they should know our opinion, but none of us are confrontational types, so we just smiled and left.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Good meal service was slow

Dined on January 22, 2016

Good meal service was slow JAIME was a very good waiter.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

Great restaurant

Dined on December 13, 2015

Mesa Street Grill is one of our favorite restaurants in El Paso. Food is always delicious and consistent. Service this time was a little off, but normally very good. We highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food
ambience1
service1

Family dinner for 10 (5 kids) and they s ...

vip
Dined on December 5, 2015

Family dinner for 10 (5 kids) and they sat us in the patio dinning area which is a smoking area--totally inappropriate for kids. The service was terribly slow.

food4
ambience5
service5

Mes Street Grill, El Paso, TX 29 Nov 2015

Dined on November 30, 2015

Went for an early birthday celebration, very nice place and the food was great. Definitely will return!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Experience for Anniversary on 11/28/15

Dined on November 29, 2015

My wife and I went to Mesa Street Grill for the first time on our 28th anniversary. We had reservations and arrived a little early but we were seated quickly as it was a slow evening. I had the steak Diane and my wife had the Salmon. Both meals were excellent. The service was fantastic, the ambiance was great. It made for a very nice and romantic dinner. We thoroughly enjoyed the the experience and will plan on going back. The only negative thing that happened was a group near us that was very loud. The rest of the restaurant was quiet but this group felt that everyone else had to hear everything they were saying. Thank goodness it was near the end of our meal before they really became annoying. No matter where you go you can't escape rude. This was not the restaurants fault.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5

Nice place for couples

Dined on November 15, 2015

The décor and atmosphere was very nice. The restaurant had an air of fine dining. The wine list was quite extensive. However, the actual menu was quite lacking and offered a small list of items. For such a small list of food items, they were quite pricy. Nevertheless, a good time was had by all. The establishment felt better suited for couple drinks and dessert or a light meal. It does not seem suited to take the family for a meal.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience4
service4

Anniversary Celebration

Dined on November 11, 2015

I took my wife out for our 31st Annaversary, I wanted someplace nice, and fancier than places we usually go. This place fit the bill. It took a little longer than I would have liked, to get things rolling. But after that the service was really good, the food was better. I left satisfied, and with a desire to return.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Place Great Food

Dined on November 6, 2015

My first trip but will NOT be my last. Took clients out for dinner and we were all impressed.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I am sure anything on the menu is well w ...

Dined on November 6, 2015

I am sure anything on the menu is well worth trying. The chicken was outstanding as was the steak and cake. The green chili casserole is a must. Everyone enjoyed their meal.

food3
ambience4
service4

so so

Dined on October 25, 2015

NY strip was not that good, even thou it was supposed to be prime it was like bottom tier choice. I can grill much better.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

first visit back since they moved....

Dined on October 20, 2015

This was the first time we have been back since they moved. We had gotten away from going there because the bar noise. It was never terribly loud, but there were a few times a conversation in the dinning room was difficult. Flash forward to this location....OMG. What a perfect atmosphere in the dinning room. I love the separation of the two areas, and it was much brighter and pleasant feel. It has a sleek look that better matches the wonderful food. The food has always been outstanding and continues to be so.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

great food and ambience

Dined on October 10, 2015

Our wonderful meal was relaxing and un hurried. No need to rush out so they could seat other patrons. We were there for about 4 hours. Wine was excellent and the lamb and steak were done to perfection. Wait staff was very accommodating

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely

Dined on September 19, 2015

A great experience and super service. Food was fresh and well prepared. Glad we stopped.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent couples place

Dined on September 16, 2015

Great restaurant, the ambiance was great, though a little loud on the music, but it didn't take away from the wonderful food, avocado fries, Caesar salad, green chile soup, osso bucco, and the salmon fettuccini pasta.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Good place

Dined on August 5, 2015

Good menu, good food. Very nice presentation. Salmon should have been cooked a bit Jess but still was overall good. I would return.

food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent!

Dined on July 11, 2015

Our experience was wonderful! The food was great, the service was perfect, the cost was reasonable

Tags: good for groups, romantic, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food

Dined on June 25, 2015

Took my wife here for her birthday on a Wednesday night. We've been here many times for business and pleasure at the old and new location. The Means family knows how to do it right. The food was outstanding. We were allowed as much time as we wanted to have cocktails and appetizers before having our entrees and bottle of wine. Complimentary birthday dessert was a nice touch.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great atmosphere

Dined on June 15, 2015

There is a good variety on the menu fit for many different preferences. The atmosphere is classy, and the decor is very interesting. It's definitely a great place for a date or pretty much any occasion. There is a bar area as well as an outdoor screened-in area.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

A Superb Place for Sunday Brunch

Dined on June 14, 2015

Mesa Street Grill wears many hats, but their latest chapeau as a Sunday brunch place is wonderful. We were all very pleased with the ambiance, the service and the quality and presentation of the food. Well done!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place, food, & service!! I highly ...

Dined on June 12, 2015

Great place, food, & service!! I highly recommend this restaurant for any special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service3

Good Restaurant. However , we couldn't g ...

Dined on June 6, 2015

Good Restaurant. However , we couldn't get the table soon, even though we had a resavation. Also, the other customer who came after us was seated earlier than us. My wife upset a little. Not so quiet, but the food is good.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Great Dinner, Great evening

Dined on May 22, 2015

made reservations for an early dinner, (was going to the Eagles concert). dinner was really good and quick and prompt. attentive staff, friendly main waiter. everyone LOVED their food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.