About Mesa Latin Kitchen

2701 Hillsborough RD
Durham, NC 27705
View Larger Map

Mesa Latin Kitchen is a modern, tapas-style restaurant in Durham, North Carolina offering a unique array of sensational Latin cuisine. Each of Mesa’s mouthwatering dishes is full of bold Latin flavors, with each recipe masterfully created by renowned James Beard Award winner. Patrons can indulge in a meal and drinks inside the spacious restaurant, at the custom cement-topped bar or outside on the beautiful patio.

The menu features small plates, large plates, desserts and an array of craft cocktails. Guests can experience the flavors of Latin America while noshing on authentic specialties. With vegetarian, vegan and gluten-free options available, Mesa Latin Kitchen has a palate-pleasing dish for everyone.

The word Mesa means “table” in Spanish, and we welcome you to our table as openly as you would dine at your own.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Latin / Spanish, Tapas / Small Plates, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Saturday : Lunch 11 am - 2:30 pm / Dinner : 4:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Sunday : Brunch 11 am - 2:30 pm / Dinner 4:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Closed On Monday

Cross Street:
Trent Dr.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 973-2717

Website:
http://mesalatinkitchen.com/

Entertainment:
Every Dinner
Local musicians
Latin American Theme

Executive Chef:
Florencio Varela & Oscar Hernandez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • Mesa Latin Kitchen
  • Mesa Latin Kitchen
Mesa Latin Kitchen
Mesa Latin Kitchen

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Mesa Latin Kitchen can accommodate all your special event needs.

Mesa Latin Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Fit for Foodies
Durham
Neighborhood Gem
Durham
Best Restaurants in Durham ›

Fit for Foodies (15)
Good for Groups (11)
Special Occasion (10)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Romantic (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
132 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Mesa Latin Grill was CLOSED. Why didn't ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Mesa Latin Grill was CLOSED. Why didn't Open Table know about it?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

This is our second time at Mesa Latin an ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This is our second time at Mesa Latin and once agAin it did not disappoint. A little on the loud side for conversation but food really good

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very hard to pick from the menu so best ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Very hard to pick from the menu so best to share as many as possible. Everything we tried was solid. Will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I really enjoyed our visi ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

My husband and I really enjoyed our visit. We tried many dishes to share and the food was beautifully prepared and delicious. Service was great and server was patient with our requests.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My experience was great at Mesa. The fo ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

My experience was great at Mesa. The food atmosphere and the service. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Had a get-together with 5 friends on a T ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Had a get-together with 5 friends on a Thursday evening. We were thrilled to discover it was $5 martini night, and they were not weak! All of the food was unique and delicious. We all had a hard time choosing from the menu options. We'll be coming back again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for dinner with friends, our sec ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We went for dinner with friends, our second time dining at Mesa. The place was not very busy (unlike our first time there when it was packed). The food was delicious. We shared several small plates and a couple of entrees all of which were excellent. The drinks, including wine, beer and the special cocktail were very good. Chris, our server was terrific, great recommendations, attentive service, glasses refilled even after we stayed and chatted for a while after dinner. We will definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Consistently excellent food. Not the us ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Consistently excellent food. Not the usual. And exceptionally attentive and friendly staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

First time trying Mesa. Would definitely ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

First time trying Mesa. Would definitely go back. Great food, seems to be a bit of an undiscovered gem. Try it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food and service were both excellent! Th ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food and service were both excellent! They even had live music. Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

From start to finish, this was a fantast ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

From start to finish, this was a fantastic find. The food was fantastic, and the goat cheese flan is absolutely amazing. Flan is my absolute favorite dessert; I've eaten it at every opportunity. This one is very special. And the sangria was fantastic too! Thank you Mesa Latina!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good atmosphere, great food, horrible waiter

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We had a delicious dinner, however, the evening was almost ruined by an inattentive, defensive, and argumentative waiter named Frankie. I am 67 years old, and I cannot a remember such a horrible waiter. Go to Mesa, but if Frankie is your waiter, ask for someone else.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Absolutely fabulous!

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Menu is wonderfully diverse, the service is exceptional, lots of options whether you are a meat eater or vegetarian! Highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience

 
 (County Durham)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Had a fabulous meal and will go back soon. Very happy to have discovered this gem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

After just a single visit, my impression ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

After just a single visit, my impression is that this is a place that could be great -- its menu items theoretically look thoughtful and interesting -- but Mesa doesn't quite follow through with food that is as great as the menu sounds. Don't get me wrong -- this is not a bad place -- but, for the same price elsewhere in this foodie city, you can get better food.

We were a party of 4 on a Friday night, and we enjoyed the good $5 specialty cocktails. The atmosphere is pleasant -- if a bit generic. We decided to approach our meal in a small plates/tapas style, with everyone sharing. Together -- over the course of an hour or more -- we ordered the smoked bacon-wrapped figs, grilled octopus, seafood ceviche, smoked cauliflower, grilled asparagus, Cuban guacamole, smoked pork ribs, stuffed flounder. Among these items, nothing really stood out except the asparagus -- which was simple and excellent. The octopus was pretty good, as was the cauliflower (although there's something not quite right about the sauce.) The Cuban guac -- which includes pineapple -- does not improve on the guacs most of us are familiar with.

Don't get me wrong -- nearly everything was good. The only real disappointment was the seafood ceviche -- an undifferentiated mess without any clear taste focus. It's just that there was nothing at Mesa that makes me want to go back, and nothing that quite rose to level evoked by the menu or represented by those price points. (Not that the prices are outrageous either -- just inappropriate for the quality of food.)

On the positive side, our waiter was attentive and knowledgeable. This was especially important for me, since I have celiac disease and cannot eat anything with gluten (or anything that has touched gluten). When the asparagus arrived with a breaded, fried garnish, he quickly brought me a few extra "uncontaminated" asparagus, and he was able to confirm or deny gluten content in menu items. So props to Mesa for that!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Went for date night (first time visit) l ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Went for date night (first time visit) last weekend... the menu was completely different. When we asked why, the manager did explain that it was Duke University graduation weekend, so they limited their normal tapas menu (with 40 items) to just apps, salads and entrees with minimal choices. I was extremely disappointment in this as we came for TAPAS... it would have been nice to have notification of this BEFORE I made a reservation.

Service was very slow that evening. The server in our section was quadruple sat almost at once. Anyone who has ever been in food service knows, that is horrible for the server and the guests. Server was friendly and apologetic, not his fault though.

I paid almost $30 for an OK flank steak, steamed green beans and wedge French fries that lacked any seasoning. Overpriced in my book... My husbands brisket was dry.

We would be willing to try again sometime for Tapas... just hate that we were "punished" for a graduation weekend.

Ambiance was nice, servers were friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

My husband and I had a -wonderful- meal ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

My husband and I had a -wonderful- meal at Mesa last Friday night.

We got there at about 8pm, and found it to be a lovely space. We had a table inside because the patio had gotten a bit crowded, but we were happy. It was comfortable and contemporary, and the atmosphere was enhanced with background music courtesy of the Buena Vista Social Club internet radio station (I know because we enjoyed the music so much that we asked).

We started off with a couple of glasses of red wine, and enjoyed the complimentary warm plantain chips and salsa.

My husband had the Skirt Steak Churrasquinho (medium rare). It came with tomato escabeche, vegetable escalivada, steak fries, and a chimichurri sauce in a little metal container. He really enjoyed his meal, because he cleaned his plate!

I had the Ropa Vieja. The shredded meat was cooked to perfection with olives, garbanzos, peppers, and onions, and it came with black beans and green rice (prepared with green peas and cilantro). It was off-the-charts delicious. It was also a lot of food, so I ended up taking a little bit home).

Our waiter was friendly and attentive, and we thought the prices were very reasonable.

This was just our first visit. I can assure you that we -will- return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food, service and ambience! Ver ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Awesome food, service and ambience! Very surprised that more people were not there. I suspect it's an undiscovered gem!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mesa was a Mess.

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Overpriced buffet service on Mother's Day. No menu service this day because it was Mother's Day. Really? $29.99 per person plus beverages for food that was decent but not great. Dinner rolls were stale. Waiter was the overbearing type. And insult to injury was 20% gratuity charge added to bill. It was BUFFET service. Everyone had to get up and serve themselves. Never again...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

What a pleasant surprise!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We have come to realize that Durham is full of great restaurants in some of the most unexpected locations: we now add Mesa to that list. Pleasant welcome to a warmly and wonderfully decorated space including a large outdoor area that would be great for a special event. A lot of Cuban dishes but prepared with a creative touch that went beyond the traditional recipe. So many great choices for vegetarians as well. We ordered multiple small plates and appetizers for all to share. Everything was flavored perfectly and was some of the most tasteful food I have ever eaten. We will definitely return and will spread the word. Our server was Chris, and he made us feel right at home.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lots of fabulous flavor combinations

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

Empanadas many wonderfulways. Flavorful options at every turn. Thoroughly enjoyable meal of small plates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

MESA

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Mesa is an upscale restaurant in a fringe neighborhood. I was happy to see that Mesa took an opportunity to bring something special to the area. The place is nicely designed and appointed. We found the tasting menu rather overpriced for beans and rice with some meat. The food was nicely prepared and presented but our black bean soup tasted almost exactly like the black bean side we had with our dish. Kinda funny. For $60 a 2 item (each) tasting menu was a bit of a disappointment. We did see some unusual sounding flat breads we may try when we visit again for $11. There's a nice bar and occasional cigar nights. There is also a lovely outside area for dining and events. Best wishes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Frank our waiter was fabulous

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Frank our waiter was fabulous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Small plates at great prices - we were a ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Small plates at great prices - we were able to try several items and everything was delicious! Highly recommend the empanadas, coconut rice, and the budin!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wide menu variety.

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

I appreciated the opportunity to sample a number of dishes and the waiter was very helpful in describing a number that he would recommend for our group. The noise level was a bit high for hearing all of the conversation with some out-of-town guests but the environment was energetic and might have requested outside seating had it been a bit warmer that evening.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Sunday night tapas

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We were visiting Duke U and wanted to find a light meal close by campus. We found Mesa Latin Kitchen soooo close to west campus and off the beaten path from the foodie scene in downtown Durham. The place looks like an old Chinese restaurant from the outside but is absolutely beautiful inside- great ambience. We ordered martinis ( which were great) and followed up with empenadas and grilled asparagus - delicious. And because we had small plates. - we were able to order flan for dessert!! Just the perfect place!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Surprised and Impressed

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

I drove by this place for years because it doesn't look like much on the outside, but we finally went in and were pleasantly surprised. Nice vibe, classy place. The food was delicious--especially the manchego gnochi. I will say the empanadas were TINY though. As a vegetarian I could basically only eat the small dishes, which were really quite small, but they were delicious. My only complaint is slow service. You could tell the waiters were running around like crazy, but ours was incredibly friendly and helpful despite. When one dish took longer than expected, we got it on the house!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Very tasty food, nicely spiced. Great p ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

Very tasty food, nicely spiced. Great portions for lunch. Really happy to be seated in a booth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The service was very bad, so much that w ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

The service was very bad, so much that we thought about leaving. Our waiter was odd and freaked us out. I was actually nervous to ask for a modification to my dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Good food: need to improve service and feel

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

The food was definitely good, but an overbearing server ruined some of the fun. For a fairly pricey restaurant, the place lacks in character. They have the basics done right, the presentation needs to improve to match the price tag.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Amazing food, music on Saturday nights!

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

We love this restaurant! The food is really unbelievably good- we usually have the coconut rice that comes in a coconut shell (so tasty and great presentation!), the guac is the best I have ever had, the cauliflower is incredible, and the ceviche is great! We have had other dishes and are never disappointed.

The service is sometimes slow, but overall a GREAT PLACE!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Eclectic and impressive!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Covers many different LA countries in tapas (small plates) which are very well executed. Highly recommend the shrimp ceviche, guacamole with plantain chips, Cuban sandwich sticks and both epanada. Wait staff very knowledgable and helpful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Looking for a great place for Sunday Brunch

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

This was a great place for Sunday Brunch!! The decor is nice with a great bar area but most importantly my meal was awesome. I had green eggs and chorizo, and a bread pudding for dessert. I am not even a bread pudding person but with strawberries and chocolate who could resit!!! It was delicious and not too sweet.

This restaurant is near downtown Durham but not in the usual locations. I think the location will become very hot soon because it is near new retail and housing.

Because of the name I originally thought this was a typical Mexican or Latin restaurant and didn't go until I heard that it used to be Gregorias and then I realized I had to go because I loved that place.

They could use an exterior decorator but the inside is nice. I enjoy the locally owned places and like that this place has good food and is better than other typical Latin places. Looking forward to taking my friends when they are in town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Unique fare in a food city

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

The menu is varied and interesting. The modified tapas format lets you choose only the "snacks", sides, or small or large plates--as you go. We had the malanga fritters, rice cakes, and cassava bread with pork, which was plenty for the two of us. We enjoyed it all, and the flan dessert was wonderful. The beer list is limited.

We were among the early comers outside, but our service, while friendly, suffered a bit as more people arrived.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Absolutely get the grilled corn

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 8, 2016

Thecorn isa unique twist on the Mexican street food Elote. Good tapas style menu as well as full plates. Will be back on the evening to sample the full menu

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wow! Simply amazing food, service, ambience!

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Will definetly go back again when I am in NC! One of the best Latin Cuisine Restaurants I have been to in the US!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Not very good.

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Our server was kind and efficient but the rest was terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

This is our third time dining at this sp ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

This is our third time dining at this spot, and tonight we particularly enjoyed the chopped salad and the Cuban sandwich sticks. Have no complaints. The food and service is always fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Impressive!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 1, 2016

The interior decor of this place is awesome, and our server was fabulous. The Cuban food is very authentic, and while not my absolute favorite, I'd definitely go there again. The chocolate dessert (a warm chocolate cake with Godiva chocolate sauce, served with salted caramel ice cream and garnished with diced strawberries and praline pieces) is the best dessert I've had in a very, very long time!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A gem!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

Everything was wonderful--attentive, informative, yet discreet service; adventurous & delicious food; tasty specialty drinks. Loved the option to order a variety of small plates. Will go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.