About Meriwether's Restaurant & Skyline Farm

2601 NW Vaughn Street
Portland, OR 97210
View Larger Map

One way to make sure you’re cooking with the freshest ingredients is to grow them yourself. Meriwether’s grows the produce it serves at its own Skyline Farm and is proud to be among only a handful of truly farm-to-table restaurants across the country. Chef Dolan Lane's menus are inspired by the Willamette Valley’s peak-of-the-season abundance, matching our harvest with some of the finest raw ingredients in the world, from the farmers, fishers and ranchers of the Pacific Northwest.

Inside, experience our warm and cozy ambiance with stone fireplaces, hardwood floors, stained glass and copper accents. Outside, guests dine year-round in the covered, heated & enclosed patio, gardens & gazebo. There is even an outdoor fire-pit, so perfect for a chilly Portland evening. Take a walk through our gorgeous all-season garden that surrounds the entire 2601 Vaughn Street historic building.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday through Friday from 11am to 2:30pm
Weekend Brunch: Saturday & Sunday from 8:00am to 2:30pm
Afternoon Menu: Everyday from 2:30pm to 4:00pm
Happy Hour (in the bar only): Everyday from 4:00pm to 6:00pm
Dinner: Everyday from 5:00pm to 9:00pm
Full Bar Open during normal business hours

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 228-1250

Website:
http://www.meriwethersnw.com/

Parking Details:
Our large private parking lot is located just west side of the restaurant. There is also plenty of on-street parking.

Public Transit:
Tri-Met bus lines 15,17 and 77

Executive Chef:
Dolan Lane

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Our regular brunch menu will not be available on Father's Day
Join us for our Father's Day Prix Fixe Brunch.
Adults $34 and Kids $25 ~Regular dinner service begins at 5pm

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

From small, intimate dinners and corporate gatherings to rehearsal dinners, receptions and weddings, Meriwether’s Restaurant can accommodate parties between 15 and 300 people in a variety of ways. Meriwether’s offers prix-fixe sit down or buffet menus that can be created from your preferences.

Meriwether's Restaurant & Skyline Farm Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Portland / Oregon
Most Booked
Portland / Oregon
Great for Brunch
Portland
2 More
Northwest
Portland
Most Booked
Portland
Best Restaurants in NW Portland ›

special occasion (176)
fit for foodies (165)
great for brunch (143)
See All
great for outdoor dining (135)
neighborhood gem (128)
romantic (117)
great for lunch (107)
good for groups (75)
notable wine list (42)
kid-friendly (26)
hot spot (15)
vibrant bar scene (13)
late-night find (8)
scenic view (6)
Sort By:
Newest
2099 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Sandra

Dined 6 days ago

Meriwether's Restaurant is a beautiful restaurant. I appreciate the fresh produce from the farm. There is a write up on the menu about what is in season. I thought the food options would be more exotic than pizza and fish and chips. Of course, there were other options. I had a crab salad which was good but overpriced at over $ 20. Also, I found it hard to get the attention of the staff so we could depart. May give Meriwether's Restaurant another chance for dinner. The farm to table concept is worthwhile.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meriwether's is our favorite restaurant ...

Dined 6 days ago

Meriwether's is our favorite restaurant in Portland. Not only is the food delicious, but the servers are gracious, attentive, and accommodating. We've taken many of our friends there and they all agree that it's a fabulous place with a great menu. Much of their food comes directly from their farm so it's very fresh.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Pleasurable dining experience. Very fri ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

Pleasurable dining experience. Very friendly waiter, Alex. Food was very good and fresh. Beautiful peonies on the table. I would recommend this restaurant to others who enjoy farm to table dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

they accomidated us with a very quiet ta ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

they accomidated us with a very quiet table. the food was good but given the prices the server needed more training and knowledge

food4
ambience4
service5

We had Shawn as our waiter and he did gr ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We had Shawn as our waiter and he did great job. He also had a new waitress in tow. She has a great mentor in Shawn. Between the two of them we were well taken care of. I think each person at our table special ordered some kind of change to a drink or a dish. They were very accommodating. The food was fabulous.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food with great service. Not ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Wonderful food with great service. Not a restaurant for kids.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic as usual.

Dined on May 14, 2016

Fantastic as usual.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful place, great ambience, never d ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Beautiful place, great ambience, never disappointed by menu or service. One of our all-time favorite places in Portland.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delightful, Delicious, Unique

Dined on May 8, 2016

Overall was very impressed. Would definitely recommend this gem! The farmers scramble was extremely palatable and unique leaving me savoring each bite. Great ambiance. Server was kind and professional. I am looking forward to my next visit!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

The atmosphere was good but not worth th ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The atmosphere was good but not worth the additional expense. I can get similar meals for half the price. I won't likely be back and will not recommend it to friends or family.

food5
ambience5
service5

By far my favorite place for brunch in P ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

By far my favorite place for brunch in Portland. Food is amazing and service is always great!!

food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Sad to give a negative review

Dined on May 8, 2016

I rarely write negative reviews, but this was a real disappointment given that I've eaten at Merriweathers a few times before. My chief complaint was the cost given what was provided. I really expected they would offer more than glass of orange juice & coffee to the standard entree. We waited a long time despite our reservation and our food did not come out at the same time (we were only a party of 4, and half our meal came 10-15 minutes apart). Our waiter was OK not great, but the atmosphere was particularly hard to ignore -- 1980s semi-classic pop hits heard overhead. Given that there are so many easy-to-please musical choices, this was very annoying and didn't fit well with the beauty of the place at all, in our opinion. It would've been better to have no music on (or jazz, or classical, or more interesting pop/rock/funk). But again, our chief complaint was how little was offered for the fixed price (which we knew about when we made the reservation). Very skimpy. PLUS, they added the 20% tip, which I probably would've downgraded to 15% but decided to leave it. It wasn't the waiter's fault (but the hostess stand and food runners didn't help). Sorry, Merriweathers. I hope you do better next year.

food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Mother's Day Breakfast

Dined on May 8, 2016

My husband and I came here for breakfast on mothers day. The food was really good but very over priced (two people over $100 for food and One drink.). They were very kid friendly and did not even seem to mind that we brought our newborn baby with us, they even offered to put her car seat in a swing next to our table while we eat. It was a good restaurant, just a lot more money than what we were expecting.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Service was slow.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Too loud on the patio on a Saturday evening. The food was good but the service was way too slow.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Had higher expectations than delivered.

Dined on May 7, 2016

We went here for pre-Mother's Day lunch and I was underwhelmed. I wanted to and expected to love it since I'm a big farm to table fan but the price was too high, the food too low and the ambiance mediocre. Sean our server was outstanding though.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous Brunch!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Organic food cooked to melt in your mouth. A delicious variety of eggs, waffles, and drinks await your dining pleasure. You won't be disappointed! I'd recommend making a reservation.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Chef Dolan is amazing.

Dined on May 7, 2016

Food is pricey but delicious. Try the halibut or the crab risotto. Beautiful gardens for the nice weather and cozy bar and fireplace for cold days.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Perfect outdoor dining

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Small plates are excellent; easy to share; fun for a group of diners. Outdoor space is lovely.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

We had a great lunch. I has the swordfis ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

We had a great lunch. I has the swordfish and my partner had the asparagus risotto. Both were prepared well and timely

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great place to eat

Dined on May 2, 2016

Love the garden fresh salads and the creative sandwiches. The waitstaff is very friendly, outgoing and know the menu and can if asked, give a recommendation. Always enjoy my lunch with friends and will continue to enjoy this restaurant many times again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Very Disappointing Service

Dined on May 1, 2016

The service was really bad. Apparently our server was training someone? She was being shadowed but never introduced the person so who knows. After initially getting our coffee the server disappeared and we did not see her again for a while even though we asked for water which never came until we caught another server and asked him. He then went to our server and asked her. Then we finally got water and a coffee refill. After we finished with our meal and had our silverware in the appropriate 'finished' position, we waited for at least 15-20 minutes for our plates to be cleared. We then waited and had to ask for the check. I have been to the restaurant many times and have never been so disappointed in the service. It's too bad because the atmosphere and food are good.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on May 1, 2016

We were seated exactly when our reservations were made for. We each ordered a different salad and they were both delicious. One of us ordered Chicken, one Pork ribs and they were both cooked and displayed uniquely and were very good. Service could have been a little more attentive as the waiter seemed to favor my husband over myself. A little odd. Overall we really liked the restaurant and would return for another special occassion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always reliable Portland

Dined on May 1, 2016

Farm to table delicious food and reliable sourcing! Accommodating for food allergies. Expert wait staff. Jonathan was a fantastic server.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Fabulous food they are proud to serve

Dined on May 1, 2016

This was a special occasion family graduation dinner. We booked the restaurant sight unseen, and were very pleased with the location, the ambiance, the food, and the service.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Poor Service/Mediocre food

Dined on April 30, 2016

I will rarely review a restaurant and even rarer will I give a negative review. I know how difficult restaurant work is and I give copious amounts of grace. The good part: My wife and I dined on the patio, which was lovely, and ate a Saturday brunch. It was not very busy. The not good part: Our server seemed far more interested in chatting with his colleagues (yes, we could see him) than waiting on tables. I dislike the helicopter waiter, but this guy barely made an appearance. I had a $14.00 biscuits and gravy, which was served on an oval plate; one third of the plate was barren. It was mediocre at best. WARNING- If you’re hankering biscuits and gravy, PLEASE go to Pine State Biscuits!! Half the price, twice the flavor. We will not be going back to Meriwether’s unless it is free.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always wonderful food and atmosphere. Pa ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Always wonderful food and atmosphere. Patio was exquisite, service excellent. Love this gem!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

What can I say others that have said thi ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

What can I say others that have said this was an outstanding restaurant were correct this is a must do in Portland

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was "good +" but nothing made it special.

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

A group of 4 had dinner at Meriwether's last week. We all ordered something different so got an opportunity to test the menu. The food was good to very good, value was good. Presentation was nice. Just nothing special about the restaurant, the staff, or the ambiance to rave about. Service was adequate. There are so many amazing restaurants in Portland and I feel that everyone needs to do something to stand out. While Meriwether's was good, I needed to check the website again to remember what it looked like, what we ate and what I thought of it to write a review. It was only 4 days ago.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We are always happy dining at Meriwether ...

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

We are always happy dining at Meriwether's where we can relax in front of the fire and enjoy a peaceful meal.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great, as usual...

Dined on April 25, 2016

a great great night...everything was perfect...great food and great service...

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Very nice night out.

Dined on April 24, 2016

I really enjoyed my dinner here with my wife. The food was delicious, and the outdoor patio was great. My one issue was that the online menu did not match the menu for the night. I had already picked out a couple things to try, and nothing I had picked was on the nights menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Not the best day of the restaurant but...

Dined on April 21, 2016

It's a wonderful place. It was a Wednesday night and for some reason they ran out of some menu options at 7.30pm and the service was a less nicer and slower than usual

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great job Meriwether's

Dined on April 21, 2016

Date night: Our server was perfectly attentive. We switched tables after dinner to be near the fire pit, and switched again when we got too warm - the staff adjusted flawlessly. Certainly my date was the star, but the Meriwether's staff enabled a great experience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Again at Meriwethers

Dined on April 20, 2016

Visited the restaurant with friends who had never been there. We had a reservation for lunch, and when we arrived I asked to sit inside, (I had asked for this in the reservation, too.) and then I had to beg for the table to the east of the desk, down below, as they were sitting everyone outside or in the bar...both of which are loud and uncomfortable, and hot. Finally we got the seat that we wanted, but we were told that service would be slow...and it was! I ordered the quiche...which is normally good...not as good this time, and the salad that came with it was not edible...mostly large chunks of radicchio and hardly any dressing...same with my friend's salad...so I got a waiter to bring us cole slaw instead, which was good. Another friend had fish and chips...thought it would be halibut...but said it did not taste like halibut. All in all, a great disappointed this time. Too bad...

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Just a guy

Dined on April 20, 2016

I recall the place when it was leBarge [sp?] Vary nice courtyard The bartender new his stuff The service was a bit lesurly but worth the wait Staff was friendly and informed Couldn't afford it on a regular basis I'll recommend it to friends on this basis

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

meriwethers

Dined on April 20, 2016

I want this restaurant to be good, but I was embarrassedin front of my guest from out of town. The food was bland, the service average and it was expensive for what we ordered.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

They made our anniversary very special.

Dined on April 19, 2016

They made our anniversary very special.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service in a fantasti ...

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

Excellent food and service in a fantastic setting. It was a nice evening and the patio was really nice.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

excellent brunch

Dined on April 17, 2016

The eggs were very fresh and properly handled. what more could one want. the service was above and beyond.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely covered heated patio and the food ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Lovely covered heated patio and the food is always amazing! We eat here almost every week.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.