About Meriwether's Restaurant & Skyline Farm

2601 NW Vaughn Street
Portland, OR 97210
View Larger Map

One way to make sure you’re cooking with the freshest ingredients is to grow them yourself. Meriwether’s grows the produce it serves at its own Skyline Farm and is proud to be among only a handful of truly farm-to-table restaurants across the country. Chef Joe's menus are inspired by the Willamette Valley’s peak-of-the-season abundance, matching our harvest with some of the finest raw ingredients in the world, from the farmers, fishers and ranchers of the Pacific Northwest.

Inside, experience our warm and cozy ambiance with stone fireplaces, hardwood floors, stained glass and copper accents. Outside, guests dine year-round in the covered, heated & enclosed patio, gardens & gazebo. There is even an outdoor fire-pit, so perfect for a chilly Portland evening. Take a walk through our gorgeous all-season garden that surrounds the entire 2601 Vaughn Street historic building.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday through Friday from 11am to 2:30pm
Weekend Brunch: Saturday & Sunday from 9:00am to 2:30pm
Afternoon Menu: Everyday from 2:30pm to 4:00pm
Happy Hour (in the bar only): Everyday from 4:00pm to 6:00pm
Dinner: Everyday from 5:00pm to 9:00pm
Full Bar Open during normal business hours

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 228-1250

Website:
http://www.meriwethersnw.com/

Parking Details:
Our large private parking lot is located just west side of the restaurant. There is also plenty of on-street parking.

Public Transit:
Tri-Met bus lines 15,17 and 77

Executive Chef:
Chef Joe

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Ramp Soup
Pacific Halibut
Pantry Board
Roasted Beet Risotto
Blood Orange Tartlette
Corned Beef Hash
Cioppino
Crab Deviled Eggs, Capricolo, Brussell Sprouts And Fritters
Pork Shoulder
Biscuits and Gravy
Bone Marrow
Dungeness Crab Risotto
The Cranberry Toddy
Beet Salad
Lamb Sirloin Steak
huevos rancheros!!
Fava Bean Falafel
Black Rice And Shrimp
Dungeness Crab Deviled Eggs
Lamb Shank
Spring Scramble
Crab risotto
housemade charcuterie platter
Dungeness Crab Omelette
Roasted Marrow Bones, Whipped White Beans On Toast, Walnut Dip, Lamb & Pinenut Dip and Risotto Fritters (clockwise From Top)
Washington Black Wagyu Beef
Blueberry Pancakes
Scallops With Fennel Salad
Prosciutto & Greens Pizza
Octopus & Bone Marrow App
Scallop Salad
Braised Short Ribs
Tenderloin
Chicken and Waffles
Spicy Pork Bulgogi

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

From small, intimate dinners and corporate gatherings to rehearsal dinners, receptions and weddings, Meriwether’s Restaurant can accommodate parties between 15 and 300 people in a variety of ways. Meriwether’s offers prix-fixe sit down or buffet menus that can be created from your preferences.

Meriwether's Restaurant & Skyline Farm Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Portland / Oregon
Great for Brunch
Portland
Outdoor Dining
Portland
2 More
Northwest
Portland
Most Booked
Portland
Best Restaurants in NW Portland ›

great for outdoor dining (163)
fit for foodies (159)
special occasion (157)
See All
great for brunch (126)
neighborhood gem (115)
romantic (98)
great for lunch (97)
good for groups (68)
notable wine list (34)
kid-friendly (19)
hot spot (17)
scenic view (13)
vibrant bar scene (12)
late-night find (8)
Sort By:
Newest
2179 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Awesome food and good service. We reall ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined 4 days ago

Awesome food and good service. We really enjoye our meal. If seating is important to you, check ahead to be sure indoor seating is possible. The restaurant may not open the dining room if the weather is nice, leaving only the patio or limited seating in the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

We were greeted by Josh? the owner? & we ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 4 days ago

We were greeted by Josh? the owner? & were seated immediately.

Server, Taren (sp?) was helpful, friendly, not pushy.

The noise level was so high we did have trouble conversing at our table. We finally ask to have coffee & desert in a quiet place. Josh accommodated us immediately.

This is our "go-to" restaurant for most occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

GOOD EXPERIANCE AND WILL RETURNE AT A LA ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 5 days ago

GOOD EXPERIANCE AND WILL RETURNE AT A LATER DATE WITH GEST

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant with wonderful food ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent restaurant with wonderful food and service. John the bartender makes the best vodka Martini in town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service, food, and ambience. W ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent service, food, and ambience. Would recommend it for any fine dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A very nice restaurant with a beautiful ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined 7 days ago

A very nice restaurant with a beautiful garden that gives it a special ambiance. The menu aims to use items from Skyline Farms which is admirable but limits what can be offered. A couple of us had the risotto because it was moderately priced. It was just OK....lacked flavor and eye appeal. One person had a salad that was very good. Considering that sides are not included in dinners, prices are a bit high. Our server was attentive and knowledgeable. We would recommend Meriwethers to others for a special occasions and for the setting. We probably will not go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Love the garden and gazebo. Outdoor din ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined 7 days ago

Love the garden and gazebo. Outdoor dining was great

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As usual we had a very nice meal! Thank ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

As usual we had a very nice meal! Thank you.

We are regulars and have never been disappointed. The salads are interesting and robust, there was a very inventive herb soup...really nice to see original items on the menu.

The service was right on.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Lovely ambiance in the garden as always ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Lovely ambiance in the garden as always but the food was a bit disappointing. I have had very flavorful, fresh food there in the past but this time my entree was fairly lack luster. I ordered the short ribs with a beet borscht like sauce. Without the latter it would have been flavorless. So I focused on the side and gave the second rib to my husband. The greens were so bitter I only choked down one and the potato was an overgrown tatertot with little seasoning. All in all a disappointing meal. New chef?

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Not sure why there are good reviews for ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Not sure why there are good reviews for this place. Based on the price, I expected a lot more than what we got. The best part of the meal was the wine which they didn't make and never offered to pour after the first taste. Although that was too warm when served and I had to explain that to the waiter. They didn't even have a real ice bucket to chill the red wine to cellar temperature for serving. The truth is the wines should be stored a cellar temperature from the start with these prices. Appetizers were OK and nothing special. Fillet at $48 was not a very good cut and was burnt on the outside even though it was requested medium. Salmon at $38 was well cooked but nothing special without much flavor in the dish and no pepper was offered for our mains. After spending ~$200 with wine for two, it was a big disappointment. Also, ditch the 2% fee for "minimum wage law", really tacky at these prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

We had a reservation for 6:45, and arriv ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We had a reservation for 6:45, and arrived about 6:35. Place was not very busy and there were many open tables even for a group of 5, as we were. Still it took about 15 - 20 minutes to be seated, and we ended up on the landing between the entry and the eastside room down the steps. We've often come for dinner and other special occasions, but this was the slowest, yet longest time ever to wait for a table.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Meriwether's is always a favorite place ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Meriwether's is always a favorite place to dine. Our server seemed to be new and struggling with the Saturday morning breakfast crowd. Otherwise, everything was wonderful as it always is.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

I was so hoping to enjoy ourselves as we ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I was so hoping to enjoy ourselves as we celebrated our anniversaries with friends, unfortunately the service was so poor it was not meant to be. Mind you, our waitress was very nice, just not very efficient. Our first bottle of wine was out of stock, it took 1/2 hour to get the second choice delivered. The focaccia that was ordered with the wine didn't come till the salad course, after the cheese board was eaten which had been ordered 1/2 hour after the focaccia order. The food , I had the mushroom pasta which was sorely in need of seasoning, our friends had the risotto, no body was all that enamoured with the meal. While it was a busy Friday night, we still feel that the service and food could have/should have been much better

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

The food, service and setting were good ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The food, service and setting were good but over priced. I wouldn't return. Portland has other fabulous restaurants which don't charge as much.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Enjoy the ambiance of Meriwether's - it ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Enjoy the ambiance of Meriwether's - it is a great location for family get togethers as it located between Columbia City and King City. Food is excellent, service is attentive, patio seating was delightful and we highly recommend it to our friends.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Patio is outstanding. Service is excell ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Patio is outstanding. Service is excellent. Sometimes feel that the menu is too limited.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Little things added up: Waiter recomme ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Little things added up:

Waiter recommended to orders of the bruschetta because there were only two pieces; The two pieces were on foccacia toast and there was plenty

The bruschetta was awkward to eat - the toast was thick with cheese and tomatoe; it didn't even cut cleanly

No cheese on the salad

Offered the waiter a taste of the wine we brought in. He brought a glass and drank it in front of us; didn't even let it breathe

The risotto platting looked awful; white in a white serving dish with one tiny sprig of parsley

The steak was so rare there wasn't even char on it.

None of these alone would have been bad, but all in one meal; it was disappointing

The Patio, however is always awesome.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

We were in town for a conference and a c ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We were in town for a conference and a colleague remembered having been to Meriwethers before. We enjoyed the meal immensely - the food was fresh, well prepared, and tasty. And the server was wonderful. If we are ever back in Portland, this will be where we eat!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great risotto and appetizers. My wife an ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Great risotto and appetizers. My wife and I went for an anniversary dinner and it was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My favorite thing about this restaurant ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

My favorite thing about this restaurant is the ambiance. The first time I went here I was very impressed with the food; this time not so much. The pantry board options seemed a little limited- the green olives in 2 olive options (why 2 olive options?) were hard and not very good. The chorizo was hard and chewy. It would be nice to have more pantry board options and more entrees with vegetables. Restaurants offer overwhelming number of meat dishes these days. But my mother loved the pork ribs:) Also, kind of disappointing desert choices.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

As usual, we enjoyed our evening and din ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

As usual, we enjoyed our evening and dining experience. Meriweather's was very accommodating to a woman (87) in our party that had mobility issues. Service was wonderful! Would like to see more diversity in the pasta portion of the menu. That portion doesn't seem to change much. We will be back

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very pleasant dining experience as well ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Very pleasant dining experience as well as affordable.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would recommend this to someone who wa ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I would recommend this to someone who wants to celebrate a very special occasion and doesn't mind spending the money. For our group, it was a little over our budgets for the evening. We chose the pantry bites to try and minimize the total, but it was still very expensive. The orders of focaccia bread were the best value of everything we got. Probably would stick with water as the wine is very expensive. It was good wine, though.

I think I would recommend any one considering Meriwether's go on-line and view the prices before hand. The ambiance is outstanding and the history of the building is interesting. The designer food just wasn't our group's favorite.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Great food and wonderful dining experien ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great food and wonderful dining experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing place to be. Really great servic ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Amazing place to be. Really great service and thoughtful of special dietary needs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Excellent time to celebrate a friend's b ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Excellent time to celebrate a friend's birthday. We lingered long over the iced tea after our lunch and no one even hinted it was time to move on. I like that!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I have been going to Meriwether's for ye ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

I have been going to Meriwether's for years and although there have been many changes over the past few months, the quality of food remains amazing. With their own local farm, the food is always fresh and delicious. I will say, however, the prices have increased and they were already pretty high.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Great places, never disappointed! Joe m ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great places, never disappointed! Joe made it fun for girls brunch out...thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our reservation was for Sunday brunch. T ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Our reservation was for Sunday brunch. The table was in the garden and very welcoming. The food was good. the service was spotty. at best. When our server asked for our drink orders, and found we were not ordering alcohol, his demeanor changed. A smaller bill means a smaller tip. We have been in the service industry all our lives; our family understands that although we have been sober for 10 and 20 plus years, servers will be paid a tip according to the quality of their service, above and beyond the normal gratuity. Our server became less friendly, our meal took an hour to be served, although others around us were served faster. Our guest requested a pitcher of ice water, the server said that there are no pitchers, although other servers were walking around with them. Our guest received his water with no ice. Our guest asked for 3 eggs instead of 2, and was told they could not do that. Eggs were served in pairs only. There are ways of telling a customer no without being aloof and condescending. Our waiter needs lessons. We ran out of sugar, we had to ask for butter for our toast, I never did get a refill on my iced tea. Our server hovered over his other tables, but not ours. Our guest was ready to walk out more than once. Our server needs to understand that one should never assume they know best. He needs to represent his company better. We were recommended to go to Meriwether's, by family. I still have another gift card for them. We will not be using it. We were treated poorly by the waiter, that reflects back to the staff and the restaurant as a whole. Too bad, i quite liked the chilaquilles.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Lovely brunch with exceptionally accommo ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Lovely brunch with exceptionally accommodating staff. I'll definitely be back. The patio is terrific and everyone of our party (which included a 5 year old) loved the food. Fresh and creative preparation. Yum!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Best eggs "benedict" ever. Very accommod ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Best eggs "benedict" ever. Very accommodating hostess and waitstaff. I look forward to my next visit; hopefully this week and I live 60 miles out of town.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delayed seating despite reservations and ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Delayed seating despite reservations and arriving early.. Took 2 hours to receive our food. Meal ordered rare, came well done. I ate my food, 30 minutes later my wife was finally served. All in all a poor experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

This was a great 1st time experience at ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

This was a great 1st time experience at Meritwether's! Service and food was so good! We be back for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I had a wonderful dining ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

My husband and I had a wonderful dining experience. The drink selection was varied. We sat out back in their lovely patio garden and every course was excellent. Overall, it was a great choice for our romantic night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The patio dining is beautiful. Our food ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The patio dining is beautiful. Our food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reservations for noon. Sat at 12:10. P ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Reservations for noon. Sat at 12:10. Put in order right away and food arrived at 12:52. Ordered French toast and quiche).

Unfortunately had an appointment planned for after lunch and arrived late.

Love love this place but was disappointed that the server did not even acknowledge the kitchen was backed up or the delay. We even mentioned our appointment when ordering but no heads up or checkin from the waitress. Reminder to not go here if I can't give it a solid 2 hours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Went to Meriwether's for brunch and had ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Went to Meriwether's for brunch and had a great time! Sat outside on the patio. Great place to sit if you like the outdoor dinning experience.

Had a wonderful veggie bloody mary....delicious! Ordered a mexican dish with pulled pork nachos and a fried egg! Again...delicious! My husband ordered the homemade biscuits and gravy, another great meal! We are planning on going back to try the dinner menu.

I recommend this place if you want a great place for a relaxing and delicious brunch!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining experience was a disaster. Sat a ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Dining experience was a disaster. Sat at table for 20 minutes without a server coming over to offer a beverage. My friend had to ask the hostess to send someone over. After that, we expected service to be exceptional- it wasn't. One order was wrong and then a hair was found in meal.

The manager did her best to make good for all of the bad. She comped our breakfast and gave us gift cards for future use- so kuddos for that

All in all, I'd say don't go. There are so many great restaurants in Portland and this one should be at the bottom of the list

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

Fantastic service, my girlfriend and I w ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Fantastic service, my girlfriend and I went out for date night, and I had been wanting to try this place for a long time. This is the best representation of farm to table, and the food highlights that. My girlfriend's salmon came out a little too rare, and our server noticed it before she even said anything and picked up the plate to get it cooked better for her. The service was impeccable and the food was stunning. If you are lucky enough to get to eat out in the garden, you're in for a real treat. We will return, over and over and over, and.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My girlfriend and I were given a gift ca ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

My girlfriend and I were given a gift card to Meriwether's by a friend, and we used it to celebrate her birthday. I'm so glad we did. The service was outstanding, and the food -- while pricy -- was worth every penny. The waitress made it clear to us early on that we could take as much time as we wanted, and we were never rushed. All in all, it was a wonderful experience, and I couldn't recommend this place more highly.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.