About Meriwether's Restaurant & Skyline Farm

One way to make sure you’re cooking with the freshest ingredients is to grow them yourself. Meriwether’s grows the produce it serves at its own Skyline Farm and is proud to be among only a handful of truly farm-to-table restaurants across the country. Chef Michael Delaney's menus are inspired by the Willamette Valley’s peak-of-the-season abundance, matching our harvest with some of the finest raw ingredients in the world, from the farmers, fishers and ranchers of the Pacific Northwest.

Inside, experience our warm and cozy ambiance with stone fireplaces, hardwood floors, stained glass and copper accents. Outside, guests dine year-round in the covered, heated & enclosed patio, gardens & gazebo. There is even an outdoor fire-pit, so perfect for a chilly Portland evening. Take a walk through our gorgeous all-season garden that surrounds the entire 2601 Vaughn Street historic building.

2601 NW Vaughn Street
Portland, OR 97210
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday through Friday from 11am to 2:30pm
Weekend Brunch: Saturday & Sunday from 9:00am to 2:30pm
Afternoon Menu: Everyday from 2:30pm to 4:00pm
Happy Hour (in the bar only): Everyday from 4:00pm to 6:00pm
Dinner: Everyday from 5:00pm to 9:00pm
Full Bar Open during normal business hours

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 228-1250

Website:
http://www.meriwethersnw.com/

Parking Details:
Our large private parking lot is located just west side of the restaurant. There is also plenty of on-street parking.

Public Transit:
Tri-Met bus lines 15,17 and 77

Executive Chef:
Michael Delaney

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Ramp Soup  - Meriwether's Restaurant & Skyline Farm, Portland, OR
Pacific Halibut - Meriwether's Restaurant & Skyline Farm, Portland, OR
Pantry Board - Meriwether's Restaurant & Skyline Farm, Portland, OR
Roasted Beet Risotto - Meriwether's Restaurant & Skyline Farm, Portland, OR
Blood Orange Tartlette - Meriwether's Restaurant & Skyline Farm, Portland, OR
Cioppino - Meriwether's Restaurant & Skyline Farm, Portland, OR
Crab Deviled Eggs, Capricolo, Brussell Sprouts And Fritters - Meriwether's Restaurant & Skyline Farm, Portland, OR
Pork Shoulder - Meriwether's Restaurant & Skyline Farm, Portland, OR
Biscuits and Gravy - Meriwether's Restaurant & Skyline Farm, Portland, OR
Bone Marrow - Meriwether's Restaurant & Skyline Farm, Portland, OR
Dungeness Crab Risotto - Meriwether's Restaurant & Skyline Farm, Portland, OR
The Cranberry Toddy - Meriwether's Restaurant & Skyline Farm, Portland, OR
Fava Bean Falafel - Meriwether's Restaurant & Skyline Farm, Portland, OR
Beet Salad - Meriwether's Restaurant & Skyline Farm, Portland, OR
huevos rancheros!! - Meriwether's Restaurant & Skyline Farm, Portland, OR
Lamb Sirloin Steak - Meriwether's Restaurant & Skyline Farm, Portland, OR
Black Rice And Shrimp - Meriwether's Restaurant & Skyline Farm, Portland, OR
Dungeness Crab Deviled Eggs - Meriwether's Restaurant & Skyline Farm, Portland, OR
Lamb Shank - Meriwether's Restaurant & Skyline Farm, Portland, OR
Spring Scramble - Meriwether's Restaurant & Skyline Farm, Portland, OR
Crab risotto - Meriwether's Restaurant & Skyline Farm, Portland, OR
housemade charcuterie platter - Meriwether's Restaurant & Skyline Farm, Portland, OR
Washington Black Wagyu Beef - Meriwether's Restaurant & Skyline Farm, Portland, OR
Blueberry Pancakes - Meriwether's Restaurant & Skyline Farm, Portland, OR
Dungeness Crab Omelette - Meriwether's Restaurant & Skyline Farm, Portland, OR
Roasted Marrow Bones, Whipped White Beans On Toast, Walnut Dip, Lamb & Pinenut Dip and Risotto Fritters (clockwise From Top) - Meriwether's Restaurant & Skyline Farm, Portland, OR
Scallops With Fennel Salad - Meriwether's Restaurant & Skyline Farm, Portland, OR
Corned Beef Hash - Meriwether's Restaurant & Skyline Farm, Portland, OR
Octopus & Bone Marrow App - Meriwether's Restaurant & Skyline Farm, Portland, OR
Prosciutto & Greens Pizza - Meriwether's Restaurant & Skyline Farm, Portland, OR
Scallop Salad - Meriwether's Restaurant & Skyline Farm, Portland, OR
Spicy Pork Bulgogi - Meriwether's Restaurant & Skyline Farm, Portland, OR
Tenderloin - Meriwether's Restaurant & Skyline Farm, Portland, OR
Braised Short Ribs - Meriwether's Restaurant & Skyline Farm, Portland, OR
Chicken and Waffles - Meriwether's Restaurant & Skyline Farm, Portland, OR

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

From small, intimate dinners and corporate gatherings to rehearsal dinners, receptions and weddings, Meriwether’s Restaurant can accommodate parties between 15 and 300 people in a variety of ways. Meriwether’s offers prix-fixe sit down or buffet menus that can be created from your preferences.

Meriwether's Restaurant & Skyline Farm Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (67)
Special Occasion (56)
Fireplace (53)
See All
Cozy (51)
Good for a Date (48)
Creative Cuisine (48)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Neighborhood Gem (39)
Great for Outdoor Dining (34)
Healthy (34)
Seasonal (34)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Great for Brunch (32)
Romantic (31)
Historic (29)
Great for Lunch (29)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Organic (23)
Sunday Lunch (22)
Worth the Drive (21)
Business Meals (19)
Comfort Food (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
Casual (16)
Authentic (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Happy Hour (13)
Tasting Menu (11)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Fun (10)
Late-night Find (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Family Style (4)
Great Beer (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Scenic View (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Tapas (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Private Room (2)
People Watching (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2456 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is an absolute gem. We did the Sund ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

This is an absolute gem. We did the Sunday brunch and it was excellent. Amazing cocktails and the food was outstanding! Five stars across the board!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently fabulous food and excellen ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Consistently fabulous food and excellent service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place...food always fresh and ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Love this place...food always fresh and yummy and locally sourced partially because they have their own farm. Service efficient, friendly and not intrusive. Not the cheapest place in town but always high quality!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

consistently excellent! Will return man ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 10, 2017

consistently excellent! Will return many many times again.....

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Meriwether's is a quaint spot in NW Port ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Meriwether's is a quaint spot in NW Portland with an outstanding garden area for warm weather dining. It was quiet yesterday due to predicted back weather so the place was unusually quiet for a Saturday morning. The food is very good as is the services. Prices are cheap but you get good value for your money.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

A friend gave us a gift card for Christm ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 7, 2017

A friend gave us a gift card for Christmas and we went for brunch. The food was amazing! Everything tasted fresh and was perfectly seasoned. It's a beautiful space, cozy fireplace and lovely stained glass. The staff was very friendly and efficient. Definitely will be back

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Great for Brunch, Historic, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very consistent with an interesting but ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Very consistent with an interesting but comfort food

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a nice evening. Service was grea ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 6, 2017

It was a nice evening. Service was great. The water guy was really great - attentive, but not hovering. Took care of our needs and cleared plates away pronto. Relaxed evening with appetizer, great meal, drinks and no rush. Appreciate that.

I do want to say to the owner that the 2% surcharge b/c of the minimum wage increase is ridiculous. Your food is good, but is expensive. Our meal for 2 with one drink each, an appetizer to share and two plates was exactly $100.00 for which we tipped $20.00. You added $2.00 (yes, I know, only $2.00) for this surcharge, and I don't know why?? We tipped generously, and I'm sure you, the owner are making plenty of money with what you charge for food. I don't begrudge your staff (waiters, busboys, chefs, hosts) getting more money, but you should pay them, not pass that onto us. We are already paying a lot for our food, and most people at your establishment will pay a decent tip >18% certainly. Are you trying to make a statement to Multnomah County? If so, the statement I understand from you is "I am a cheap, greedy owner, who is unwilling to pay my staff, who make this place happen for me, what they are worth". Is that what you are trying to say to your patrons??? Think about it.

Tags: Healthy, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Always outstanding!

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Always outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Best local farm-to-table we've had yet i ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Best local farm-to-table we've had yet in Portland. We'll be back soon. Outstanding dinner.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our group of four went here for dinner o ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Our group of four went here for dinner on January 4th. This was our first time at Meriwether's. As mentioned elsewhere, the seating is tight. They really pack those tables in that room. Personally. I prefer booths, but then that is just my own preference. Our service was excellent---no complaints there.

Even though I knew it was going to be an expensive experience from checking out the menu on-line ahead of time, I still feel that the meals are overpriced here for what you get. Even with restaurant prices in general going up, Meriwether's is carrying this to extremes. A $200+ tab for four just isn't worth it. And an additional 2% charge for a future increase in the minimum wage? Come on.

The bottom line is that we won't be back. There are just too many other good restaurants in the Portland area that still give you a much better value for your money.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

We had a great prix dice dinner on NY Ev ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a great prix dice dinner on NY Eve. Everyone in the party loved all courses. Very relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Excellent ambience, conducive to cross table conversations

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food/Service/Ambiance was great. We have ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food/Service/Ambiance was great. We have been before and thought New Years would be good. Were seated immediately and was wonderful!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an amazing NYE experience at Meri ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had an amazing NYE experience at Meriwether's and will definitely be coming back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is the second year we have celebrat ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This is the second year we have celebrated New Year's Eve at Meriwether's, and it did not disappoint. Our waiter was terrific, the food and cocktails delicious, and the atmosphere was both festive but also quiet enough for conversation. Everything was perfect.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Meriwether's Restaurant has always been ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Meriwether's Restaurant has always been one of my wife's favorite places to go for good food, service and fun. What more can I say.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Cozy, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, , Casual, Authentic, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was extremely salty. We were a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was extremely salty. We were a group of five with very different salt tastes, but we all thought things were too salty. The restaurant is lovely but the food was a disappointment. The brunch choices did not offer much variety. A la carte was limited. We could not offer a single egg- had to get two. This seemed odd.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

I very much enjoyed my steak. My wife go ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I very much enjoyed my steak. My wife got a mushroom pasta that was tasty but also very salty. The ambiance is fantastic and the service was very good. I'm disappointed they ran out of the creme brûlée it sounded really good so I'll look forward to that next time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had an incredible meal for my Daughte ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had an incredible meal for my Daughter's birthday with our two grandchildren (7 and 9 years old). The children were on their best behavior because the place is so lovely and the staff so attentive, especially toward the little ones. All of us had wonderful meals from appetizers through dessert. It was no overly fancy and so fresh. Only down side was it was the most expensive meal we have ever had!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

It was an excellent dinner, very nice pr ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 31, 2016

It was an excellent dinner, very nice presentation on the plate, great service a little high on the price.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Organic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Meriwether's is the best meal we have ha ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Meriwether's is the best meal we have had out in a long time! Every entree was delicious. We started with focaccia and an assorted appetizer plate. Next came our entrees: pork chop, filet, trout, and farm chicken. All were seasoned well and cooked to perfection. The sides that came with the entrees were unique and flavorful. We skipped dessert, but enjoyed port and espresso. The service was phenomenal -- a nice balance of attentiveness without being intrusive. The setting was lovely.... warm and cozy. We highly recommend Meriweather's!

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently excellent service, memorabl ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Consistently excellent service, memorable dishes with a local flair and an intimate setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the ambiance and the service was g ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Loved the ambiance and the service was good. A little disappointed with the food. We've very much enjoyed the brunch in the past and will probably go back for that rather than lunch. Overall though, a lovely place, which I plan to enjoy again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Casual, Historic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Fabulous service, friendly staff. We en ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Fabulous service, friendly staff.

We enjoyed ourselves very much. Our only complaint: we ordered the pork chop and loved the squash polenta and Brussels sprouts but the meat was very dry and tough. A little pricey for a not so amazing piece of meat. I chose not to complain during our visit and took it to go to compliment our puppies kibble. (No disrespect in doing so, we love our dogs)

Thank you, we will return.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this place - always good food. Ser ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Love this place - always good food. Server was a little off but over wise a very good experience.

Tags: Historic, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Very amiable evening by the hearth! We ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Very amiable evening by the hearth! We enjoyed beautiful presentation of local ingredients. Our server was very attentive and with a reservation, we did not have to wait to be seated. A bit pricey, but I recommend this for a special evening out with friends!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Organic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Took over 30 minutes to serve appetizers ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Took over 30 minutes to serve appetizers, then another extended period waiting for the main course.

Also, we expected the brunch menu to be offered, specifically the dutch baby pancake, during the holiday week following xmas...but, it was just a typical weekday lunch menu.

We were compensated for the appetizers, and were told that the busy kitchen was unable to prepare the appetizers any quicker than 30 min. due to the Pantry Board being so popular and requiring individual grilling. The apple, caramelized onions, brie on bread was a tasty combo, the deviled eggs with crab was too vinegary and had too strong of an onion favor for me, the pepperoni is waxy, not a pale table texture for me, but, my husband liked it, and it's a common texture on the NW coast I find.

Overall, there was way too much waiting time, while starving hungry...not sure we'll return anytime soon, unless we want a lot of time to chat or linger and relax before food arrives.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

We are regulars here and honestly have n ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We are regulars here and honestly have never had a bad experience. The staff is always extremely professional and kind. The food is always amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We do a holiday brunch with another coup ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We do a holiday brunch with another couple each year. This time I suggested Meriwether's, as they had never been there. They loved it! We have been a few times before, for special occasions mainly, and the restaurant didn't disappoint. It also looked beautiful, decorated for Christmas.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Spaghetti carbonara was amazing!

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Spaghetti carbonara was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress was a gem. Very outgoing. ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Our waitress was a gem. Very outgoing. Very knowledgeable about the food and its ingredients. Food is always outstanding! We've been coming here for years on the 26th to celebrate our (three sisters) birthdays. The only hiccup was when one of us wanted to sit down 10mn before 11:30 reservation and the hostess seemed "put out" and not willing to make it happen even though restaurant wasn't full yet and not caring that two very large gifts were being held by the one wanting to sit a few minutes early.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

First, thank you to the staff for being ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 25, 2016

First, thank you to the staff for being open late on Christmas Eve. Your sacrifices to work late made our evening SPECTACULAR! Our two twenty something children asked if we could not do Christmas gifts this year, but instead make memories through a series of weekend events. A hike in the Gorge....the Portland Art Museum Andy Warhol exhibit.....inviting friends over......an urban Portland hike.....and at the advice of friend, we made reservation for Christmas Eve dinner at Meriwethers. We made an 8pm reservation (after waiting for days for someone to cancel their reservation so that we could make one!) and we were seated exactly on time. Dane was our server and he was amazing and very attentive. The fish, pork, and chicken dishes were mouth watering good and the squash polenta, latkes, and potato gratin sides were just as good as the meat. We nibbled off each other's plates and even had enough to bring home for leftovers. Thank you for contributing to the beginning of a new set of Christmas memories for our family.

Tags: Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We eat at Meriwether's often and thought ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We eat at Meriwether's often and thought it would be the perfect place for Christmas Eve dinner. The dining room and the bar both have wood burning fireplaces and are very cozy with lots of ambiance. Unfortunately we were seated on the staircase landing leading downstairs to the dining room—a space that is a bit dismal. But all turned out okay because of the our server, Sabrina, who was most charming and warm, yet most professional. Both my steelhead and my husband's chicken were very nice. We thought the price for Martini's, the meal and one glass of wine very fair.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was good but very expensive for ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The food was good but very expensive for what you got half of our group was still hungry when we left. The spaghetti was very very salty too much. I don't think I will come back not my type of place

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

We had Christmas Eve dinner here. It wa ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had Christmas Eve dinner here. It was delightful. The holiday decorations, menu, cocktails, service and excellent food made for a memorable night and the start of a tradition for Christmas eve. This is one of my family's favorite restaurants year-round and they did not disappoint us on such a special evening.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

For a Christmas Eve dinner, the food was ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 25, 2016

For a Christmas Eve dinner, the food was atrocious. Appetizer very bad, both entres terrible. Pasta tasted like pure salt and pork chop was tough and fibrous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Wonderful and delicious food! Huge porti ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Wonderful and delicious food! Huge portions so be ready to eat.

Service is attentive but not invasive.

Great spot!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Quaint and full of Christmas cheer on Ch ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Quaint and full of Christmas cheer on Christmas Eve! Nice brunch cocktails and delicious vegetarian Benedict and chicken and waffles!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The perfect spot for a special Holiday b ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The perfect spot for a special Holiday breakfast. Wonderful service and cuisine. :)

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have dined at Meriwethers several tim ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We have dined at Meriwethers several times over a few years. This visit we brought some friends for a holiday meal. While the service and holiday decorations were nice, we were all five of us disappointed with our meals. Quality was way down from previous visits. Chicken (which used to be one of their high points) was tough and tasteless. Pasta dishes were bland and dry. Salads and appetizers were just okay and seemed over-priced for being thrown together. Meriwethers needs to check their kitchen staff if they want to try to keep up their past reputation. This used to be a foodie place but is certainly not now. Perhaps they need to invest in a real chef and spend some time revamping their menu and training the line cooks. There is a lot of competition in Portland and this just won't stand up to the other excellent choices as it currently is.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.