About Meriwether's Restaurant & Skyline Farm

2601 NW Vaughn Street
Portland, OR 97210
View Larger Map

One way to make sure you’re cooking with the freshest ingredients is to grow them yourself. Meriwether’s grows the produce it serves at its own Skyline Farm and is proud to be among only a handful of truly farm-to-table restaurants across the country. Chef Dolan Lane's menus are inspired by the Willamette Valley’s peak-of-the-season abundance, matching our harvest with some of the finest raw ingredients in the world, from the farmers, fishers and ranchers of the Pacific Northwest.

Inside, experience our warm and cozy ambiance with stone fireplaces, hardwood floors, stained glass and copper accents. Outside, guests dine year-round in the covered, heated & enclosed patio, gardens & gazebo. There is even an outdoor fire-pit, so perfect for a chilly Portland evening. Take a walk through our gorgeous all-season garden that surrounds the entire 2601 Vaughn Street historic building.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday through Friday from 11am to 2:30pm
Weekend Brunch: Saturday & Sunday from 9:00am to 2:30pm
Afternoon Menu: Everyday from 2:30pm to 4:00pm
Happy Hour (in the bar only): Everyday from 4:00pm to 6:00pm
Dinner: Everyday from 5:00pm to 9:00pm
Full Bar Open during normal business hours

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 228-1250

Website:
http://www.meriwethersnw.com/

Parking Details:
Our large private parking lot is located just west side of the restaurant. There is also plenty of on-street parking.

Public Transit:
Tri-Met bus lines 15,17 and 77

Executive Chef:
Dolan Lane

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Ramp Soup
Pacific Halibut
Pantry Board
Roasted Beet Risotto
Blood Orange Tartlette
Corned Beef Hash
Cioppino
Crab Deviled Eggs, Capricolo, Brussell Sprouts And Fritters
Pork Shoulder
Biscuits and Gravy
Bone Marrow
Dungeness Crab Risotto
The Cranberry Toddy
Beet Salad
Lamb Sirloin Steak
huevos rancheros!!
Fava Bean Falafel
Black Rice And Shrimp
Dungeness Crab Deviled Eggs
Lamb Shank
Spring Scramble
Crab risotto
housemade charcuterie platter
Dungeness Crab Omelette
Roasted Marrow Bones, Whipped White Beans On Toast, Walnut Dip, Lamb & Pinenut Dip and Risotto Fritters (clockwise From Top)
Washington Black Wagyu Beef
Blueberry Pancakes
Scallops With Fennel Salad
Prosciutto & Greens Pizza
Octopus & Bone Marrow App
Scallop Salad
Braised Short Ribs
Tenderloin
Chicken and Waffles
Spicy Pork Bulgogi

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

From small, intimate dinners and corporate gatherings to rehearsal dinners, receptions and weddings, Meriwether’s Restaurant can accommodate parties between 15 and 300 people in a variety of ways. Meriwether’s offers prix-fixe sit down or buffet menus that can be created from your preferences.

Meriwether's Restaurant & Skyline Farm Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Portland / Oregon
Great for Brunch
Portland
Outdoor Dining
Portland
2 More
Northwest
Portland
Most Booked
Portland
Best Restaurants in NW Portland ›

fit for foodies (174)
special occasion (169)
great for outdoor dining (158)
See All
great for brunch (136)
neighborhood gem (127)
romantic (111)
great for lunch (106)
good for groups (72)
notable wine list (39)
kid-friendly (22)
hot spot (17)
vibrant bar scene (13)
scenic view (12)
late-night find (5)
Sort By:
Newest
2142 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service4

Reservations for noon. Sat at 12:10. P ...

Dined 4 days ago

Reservations for noon. Sat at 12:10. Put in order right away and food arrived at 12:52. Ordered French toast and quiche). Unfortunately had an appointment planned for after lunch and arrived late. Love love this place but was disappointed that the server did not even acknowledge the kitchen was backed up or the delay. We even mentioned our appointment when ordering but no heads up or checkin from the waitress. Reminder to not go here if I can't give it a solid 2 hours.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Meriwether's for brunch and had ...

Dined 4 days ago

Went to Meriwether's for brunch and had a great time! Sat outside on the patio. Great place to sit if you like the outdoor dinning experience. Had a wonderful veggie bloody mary....delicious! Ordered a mexican dish with pulled pork nachos and a fried egg! Again...delicious! My husband ordered the homemade biscuits and gravy, another great meal! We are planning on going back to try the dinner menu. I recommend this place if you want a great place for a relaxing and delicious brunch!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic service, my girlfriend and I w ...

Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic service, my girlfriend and I went out for date night, and I had been wanting to try this place for a long time. This is the best representation of farm to table, and the food highlights that. My girlfriend's salmon came out a little too rare, and our server noticed it before she even said anything and picked up the plate to get it cooked better for her. The service was impeccable and the food was stunning. If you are lucky enough to get to eat out in the garden, you're in for a real treat. We will return, over and over and over, and.....

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My girlfriend and I were given a gift ca ...

Dined 5 days ago

My girlfriend and I were given a gift card to Meriwether's by a friend, and we used it to celebrate her birthday. I'm so glad we did. The service was outstanding, and the food -- while pricy -- was worth every penny. The waitress made it clear to us early on that we could take as much time as we wanted, and we were never rushed. All in all, it was a wonderful experience, and I couldn't recommend this place more highly.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice dinner for our anniversary. We ...

Dined 5 days ago

Very nice dinner for our anniversary. We had a table in the garden which was very pretty. Service was very good and suggested some nice wines to go with our meals. The cheese plate was fun and offered a good variety of flavors. The lamb was delicious. They even gave us two small glasses of champagne to help us celebrate. We will go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place! It's a tradition for a ...

Dined 5 days ago

Love this place! It's a tradition for a daughter's birthday. Great food and love the beautiful garden. Once again Meriwether's did not disappoint.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I really like the way they prepare the s ...

Dined 6 days ago

I really like the way they prepare the steak it was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Simply the best food you can buy. Great ...

Dined 6 days ago

Simply the best food you can buy. Great cocktails. Wine list is tight. Menu is thoughtful and the execution is outstanding.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

We had extremely poor service. I took my ...

Dined 6 days ago

We had extremely poor service. I took my two granddaughters and daughter-in-law for a special lunch. I was deeply embarrassed by the lack of service and respect given to my granddaughters. Their requests were ignored or dismissed with rolled eyes. I did not feel requests for ketchup for fries or water merited this response, in fact both should have been automatic. I usually love this restaurant, but will rethink ever using it as a lunch venue. The staff was just plain unprofessional and disrespectful of the customer.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal celebrating my daughter's bir ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

Great meal celebrating my daughter's birthday.

food5
ambience5
service5

Food is consistently good. Service spot ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Food is consistently good. Service spot on and you just can't get a better atmosphere inside or out.

food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Generally a very good place to have lunc ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Generally a very good place to have lunch. This last visit my steak salad (a consistent favorite) was fairly chewy for the price.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a very good find in a place gps c ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

It was a very good find in a place gps could find for visitors. Would go again. Use Costco gift cards to save. Dessert are great but pricey.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a beautiful day and we ate on the ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

It was a beautiful day and we ate on the terrace. It was the Father's Day Brunch. The terrace was very beautiful and the food was delicious. We had a lovely waitress. This was our first experience at Meriwether's and we were glad we came.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We went for Father's Day brunch. Server ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We went for Father's Day brunch. Servers were lovely but not terribly responsive. It was very busy. The food was good but expensive. The patio was lovely.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

We have been to Meirwethers many times a ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We have been to Meirwethers many times and have always enjoyed it. We took our dad for father's day and wewere pretty disappointed . The service was so slow. We waited over 20 min for our order to be taken. When our food came, 2 of the orders were meat (pork short rib & breakfast hash) were very overcooked. It was nearly inedible . Just an overall disappointment. I will recommend dinner there but no more brunches.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although pricey, the food was delicious ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Although pricey, the food was delicious and the outdoor area was really beautiful. I would definitely come back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Everything was great with a couple of ca ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Everything was great with a couple of caveats (to be explained). It was Father's Day brunch, so despite having a reservation we had to wait a few minutes -- we expected this, and we were just the two of us, so no big deal. Caveat one is that we were not consulted as to whether or not we wanted to eat outside -- we were simply led to our table, and it really was a tad chilly (though sunny). Caveat two is that, given how chilly it was, the waitress should have IMMEDIATELY brought us coffee or tea before leaving us to our thoughts for the next 15 or 20 minutes. I know they were crowded and very busy, but this bit of attention would have gone a long way in mitigating the wait. As it was, I felt a bit grumpy by the time she got to us. Other than these two complaints, which are service-related, it was great, and the food was lovely and plentiful.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have enjoyed every meal we've ever ha ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We have enjoyed every meal we've ever had at Meriwethers - great patio dining, great food, great service. We'll be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

We go often, but the Father's Day Brunch ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We go often, but the Father's Day Brunch menu was not the norma..it was pre-fixe, expensive and not good.

Tags: great for brunch
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

For having such a good reputation we wer ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

For having such a good reputation we were disappointed in the menu for Father's Day. The food was average and the cost of the meal could have been better spent elsewhere. Our server was seldom seen and not very friendly. It's unfortunate that our first visit left a bad impression.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice place for a cozy dining experience. ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Nice place for a cozy dining experience. Food always exceptional.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

We used to dine at Meriwhethers fairly o ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We used to dine at Meriwhethers fairly often for brunch and dinner, but it had fallen off our rotation for at least the last year. When we saw Meriwhethers gift cards at Costo, we decided to grab a couple and go back. In hindsight, I should have realized that selling gift cards at Costco was a sign that things have declined. I made a reservation for 3, but we ended up waiting at least 15 min for our table while walk ins were sat ahead of us. Our "3rd" was our 2 month old baby, and I specifically made the reservation for 3 so we would have room for her, but they tried to seat us at a table for two, with no room to place the car seat holder without extremely crowding the table next to us. Fortunately they agreed to move us to a larger table. Our waiter was friendly, but not very attentive. Iced tea and coffee refills were hard to come by. It seemed to take a long time for our brunch to arrive, and my eggs Benedict was cold. My husbands brioche French toast was average -- we make far better at home. We waited quite some time for a beverage refill and our check, while our waiter had a lengthy chat about cars with a customer at a nearby table. I think we finally got his attention when we asked another server to bring the bill. We have one more gift card to burn from the Costco pack, so we are already locked into giving it another chance. Hopefully our experience this weekend was unusual because we used to really love this place!

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience4
service2

We had reservations and were kept waitin ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We had reservations and were kept waiting which is not unusual. However, there were personal conversations going on with wait staff and hostess at the reception podium. Waiting was frustrating when we were seated in a relatively empty dining room. The food was good and our waiter was attentive. Over all ambiance was great except for staff who were inattentive and on their own agenda.

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We've been to Meriwether's a few times a ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We've been to Meriwether's a few times and have always enjoyed it. However, when we arrived, we were told they just canceled our reservation because we were 30 minutes late. (We were 15 minutes late.) They said it was for 7:00, but I had proof it was for 7:15. They did seat us and the food was good. However, our server seemed to be in a hurry and was short and abrupt with us. He did not add to the evening, and actually took away some of the enjoyment. Again, the food was good, but getting kind of reprimanded on our arrival and then having Mr. Unfriendly as a waiter....not likely to recommend or want to go back anytime soon.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meriwether tends to be our "go to" resta ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Meriwether tends to be our "go to" restaurant when we want something "dependable": good food, reasonable (not inexpensive though), relaxed environment.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and environment were excellent. ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

The food and environment were excellent. The service was outstanding.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

We came to Meriwether's to celebrate our ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We came to Meriwether's to celebrate our 17th anniversary and were disappointed. The waitress was aloof and not very engaging...she took a long time to take our order and was very short with us. It almost felt like she would prefer to be in another place. She only became engaged as we were almost done with our meal, I guess she wanted to make sure she got a good tip! Very disappointed with the prices as well...not good value for money.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to get together.

Dined on June 11, 2016

I had a friend visiting from out of town and we wanted to squeeze in a nice breakfast. The location was great for our needs. I made a reservation and we had all the time we needed without feeling rushed. The service and the food were both excellent. Great meal, great decor , great staff. Perfect.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Lovely Meal

Dined on June 10, 2016

We came here for a business dinner, the atmosphere was great for a casual business conversation and the service was great. We shared multiple appetizers which where all great and everyone raved about there meal, my chicken was a bit dry but the rest of the dish was good.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

We had a reservation but still had to wa ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

We had a reservation but still had to wait. The person at the desk (owner ??) was not enthusiastic. When we finally got seated (and the place was not at all busy), we waited and waited and no service. Finally a waiter did show up and to his credit apologized profusely for making us wait. I think that the problem was not his but rather the management who failed to assign a waiter to our table. The food was OK but certainly not worth the price. If this is the best restaurant in the area, that is hard to believe

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A winner every time!

Dined on June 9, 2016

I've been to Meriwether's countless times, and the place is magical! Food is always amazing and service is impeccable. Francesca was a delight as she served our table during a fun birthday celebration between two tired Moms who just wanted a lovely evening. It was perfect! Thank you for always being so incredible!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Great dining experience! Sat on the beau ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

Great dining experience! Sat on the beautiful patio surrounded by flowers and fountains for my father's 80th birthday. Service was great and food was excellent: so fresh and huge portions. Stellar food from salads and bread to the trifle dessert.

food5
ambience5
service5

This is our go to spot for traditional f ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

This is our go to spot for traditional farm to table NW fare. Always fresh with a touch of gourmet flare. The braised short ribs and beet salad are a couple of my favs. The bartender mixes up a mean Manhattan if you're in the mood for a traditional cocktail or pick a bottle from the great wine list. I love to sit on the patio enjoying dinner with friends.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious brunch!

Dined on June 5, 2016

Sat on the outdoor patio and a wonderful meal. The food was fresh, flavorful, and plentiful. Our waiter was a personable guy who kept the coffee coming. Loved it!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Date Night with my Lovely wife

Dined on June 5, 2016

This was mot our first trip to this restaurant and we were excited to be going back. It was extremely hot outside, but the air conditioning inside we a welcome relief from the heat. The food was excellent as was the wait staff. We will return again soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food in a garden setting

Dined on June 4, 2016

Meriwether's is a hidden gem. It does not always make the lists of the best of Portland, but the food and atmosphere are outstanding. Everything is fresh and well-prepared. They grow much of the produce on their own farm, so it is VERY fresh. If the weather is nice, sitting in the garden is an extra treat.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Disappointed

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Had high hopes for Sunday brunch, but two of the four meals were so-so. This place is quite expensive so when you are spending a lot of money you expect quality. We also got forgotten after being seated which again for a place like this was strange. I think they are overrated.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very delicious

Dined on May 29, 2016

Went here for Sunday brunch, met are expectations. We requested the patio, but it was closed because the weatherman said it might rain. We found the indoor seating quite cozy. Love the decor, the food was wonderful as well.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Enjoyable dinner

Dined on May 29, 2016

Nothing negative to say except that when we reserved for dinner, we arrived 10 minutes early but had to wait to be seated and then were seated in the bar area, which apparently is considered part of the restaurant. We requested to be moved, and were eventually accommodated. We know now to request the patio or dining room, this needs to be clear to people when they are reserving a table.

Tags: special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.