About Meriwether's Restaurant & Skyline Farm

2601 NW Vaughn Street
Portland, OR 97210
View Larger Map

One way to make sure you’re cooking with the freshest ingredients is to grow them yourself. Meriwether’s grows the produce it serves at its own Skyline Farm and is proud to be among only a handful of truly farm-to-table restaurants across the country. Chef Joe's menus are inspired by the Willamette Valley’s peak-of-the-season abundance, matching our harvest with some of the finest raw ingredients in the world, from the farmers, fishers and ranchers of the Pacific Northwest.

Inside, experience our warm and cozy ambiance with stone fireplaces, hardwood floors, stained glass and copper accents. Outside, guests dine year-round in the covered, heated & enclosed patio, gardens & gazebo. There is even an outdoor fire-pit, so perfect for a chilly Portland evening. Take a walk through our gorgeous all-season garden that surrounds the entire 2601 Vaughn Street historic building.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday through Friday from 11am to 2:30pm
Weekend Brunch: Saturday & Sunday from 9:00am to 2:30pm
Afternoon Menu: Everyday from 2:30pm to 4:00pm
Happy Hour (in the bar only): Everyday from 4:00pm to 6:00pm
Dinner: Everyday from 5:00pm to 9:00pm
Full Bar Open during normal business hours

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 228-1250

Website:
http://www.meriwethersnw.com/

Parking Details:
Our large private parking lot is located just west side of the restaurant. There is also plenty of on-street parking.

Public Transit:
Tri-Met bus lines 15,17 and 77

Executive Chef:
Chef Joe

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Ramp Soup
Pacific Halibut
Pantry Board
Roasted Beet Risotto
Blood Orange Tartlette
Corned Beef Hash
Cioppino
Crab Deviled Eggs, Capricolo, Brussell Sprouts And Fritters
Pork Shoulder
Biscuits and Gravy
Bone Marrow
Dungeness Crab Risotto
The Cranberry Toddy
Fava Bean Falafel
Beet Salad
huevos rancheros!!
Lamb Sirloin Steak
Black Rice And Shrimp
Dungeness Crab Deviled Eggs
Lamb Shank
Spring Scramble
Crab risotto
housemade charcuterie platter
Washington Black Wagyu Beef
Blueberry Pancakes
Dungeness Crab Omelette
Roasted Marrow Bones, Whipped White Beans On Toast, Walnut Dip, Lamb & Pinenut Dip and Risotto Fritters (clockwise From Top)
Scallops With Fennel Salad
Octopus & Bone Marrow App
Prosciutto & Greens Pizza
Scallop Salad
Spicy Pork Bulgogi
Tenderloin
Braised Short Ribs
Chicken and Waffles

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

From small, intimate dinners and corporate gatherings to rehearsal dinners, receptions and weddings, Meriwether’s Restaurant can accommodate parties between 15 and 300 people in a variety of ways. Meriwether’s offers prix-fixe sit down or buffet menus that can be created from your preferences.

Meriwether's Restaurant & Skyline Farm Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Portland / Oregon
Great for Brunch
Portland
Outdoor Dining
Portland
1 More
Northwest
Portland
Best Restaurants in NW Portland ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (172)
Special Occasion (153)
Fit for Foodies (145)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (115)
Great for Brunch (112)
Romantic (97)
Great for Lunch (94)
Good for Groups (62)
Notable Wine List (35)
Scenic View (18)
Hot Spot (15)
Kid-friendly (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Late-night Find (10)
Sort By:
Newest
2225 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Meriwethers has always been our place to ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 3 days ago

Meriwethers has always been our place to go to whatever the occasion. The restaurant and staff has always been consistent with food and service. And not to forget the wonderful organic produce sure makes a difference in taste! Please do not change, except maybe a different brunch menu will be nice after awhile.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I have always enjoyed Meriweathers, part ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 4 days ago

I have always enjoyed Meriweathers, particularly the garden dining. I have ordered the chicken many times but this last time is was very dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

We enjoyed a wonderful evening and meal ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 5 days ago

We enjoyed a wonderful evening and meal with friends recently. Food was creative and fresh. The service was quick and attentive. Ambiance in the garden was amazing. All in all, great evening, good alue.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The service was very slow but the food w ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 6 days ago

The service was very slow but the food was excellent

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Our lunch was very good. The food was gr ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Our lunch was very good. The food was great, and the atmosphere was nice. I hope to have the opportunity to eat there again (we were there from out of town).

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

FABULOUS all-around! Would highly recom ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

FABULOUS all-around! Would highly recommend Meriwethers for any fun occasion!!!

Tags: Healthy, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch menu could be more innovative. Ve ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Brunch menu could be more innovative. Vegees are quite adaptable to more dishes than on the menu. I chose vegee eggs benedict and was not disappointed.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Past experience has been generally quite ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Past experience has been generally quite good, but the quality of the dishes served to our group was very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Outdoor dining area is wonderful. Servic ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Outdoor dining area is wonderful. Service slow and not attentive; hostess who seated us was outright rude. Food good but not great and over priced-- so not a good value.

Do not plan to return anytime soon.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

The fresh squeezed orange juice was incr ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The fresh squeezed orange juice was incredible. Had the Chiliquilles [sp], super fantastic. My favorite thing about Meriwether's, besides the excellent staff, is the seasonal variety of their menu. Really delicious combinations with attention to display and flavor. Will be back often!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We waited for almost 15 minutes for a ta ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We waited for almost 15 minutes for a table, even though there were only a couple of tables occupied. Seems like way too much staff just wandering around. Our waitress was ok, but she did not check back after the dishes were presented, so my companions were not impressed. Overall the food was decent but way too expensive for the quality and quantity. We will not be returning, as there are so many great places in Portland...

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Nice place for lunch, brunch, or dinner. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Nice place for lunch, brunch, or dinner. Very good burgers. Reuben sand which arrived cold and the meat was mostly fat. Service was polite, professional, but glacially slow. The menu does not change often enough, and the price of wine BTG is out of line. I have dined at the restaurant many times in the last 5 years and get the feeling that the ownership/management/staff have shifted in to neutral.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Beautiful environment, delicious food. T ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Beautiful environment, delicious food. The cheese plate for the appetizer with fruit and nut was simply delicious with the homemade crackers. I had to try out over the lentil being really delicately flavored. Definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was just okay - nothing spectac ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The food was just okay - nothing spectacular. The waiter was very nice but never came back to fill up our coffee cups until we caught his eye. I would go there again to give the restaurant another chance.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

I hated my meal. I asked if they could m ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

I hated my meal. I asked if they could make a change to the risotto because of allergies but was told no. The only thing I felt was safe to eat was the pork ribs but I don't like beets so asked if they could either not put the beet purée on at all or just a little bit. The server told me they only put it around the edge of the plate so I ordered it. The whole plate was covered in the purée with the meat and potatoes sitting in it. Now if you like beets, then this is the dish for you. But if you don't, please don't order it. I ate very little of my meal and everything tasted like dirt. I told the waiter why I didn't eat it and his reply was "oh well". Never ever going back there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Meriwether's is one of my favorite brunc ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Meriwether's is one of my favorite brunch spots and usually, it is a great experience. his time, we waited 15-20 minutes for a waiter to even bring us water after we were seated and it took over an hour for our meals to come out. The food was still delicious.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Very difficult to get garden seating, wh ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Very difficult to get garden seating, which you cannot request on open table. Love the ambience architecture and history, as well as, the food quality and care. Hit and miss on the servers awareness to flow of meal attentiveness.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Our meal was superb. I had the steak dis ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Our meal was superb. I had the steak dish which was well prepared and of superb quality. It was relatively small, though not the price. My wife had a crab pasta. You kinda needed to hunt the crab. Our salad was the caprese which was served on a thick piece of bread. I've never seen it this was though my wife liked, I didn't. The hazelnut ice cream was great. Good food but expensive.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Outstanding farm to table cuisine!

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Outstanding farm to table cuisine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The amount of risotto, for the money, wa ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The amount of risotto, for the money, was disappointing. We ordered a glass of wine with our desert but were done with desert before the wine ever arrived.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value1

Good food, good service, beautiful outsi ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Good food, good service, beautiful outside garden. But I was very put off by a "minimum wage surcharge." Raise your prices if you must to pay your employees a decent wage but I m not interested in what sounds like a political statement (or at the very least, whining.)

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

It was a beautiful summer day (lunchtime ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

It was a beautiful summer day (lunchtime) and we expected to be seated outside - in fact that's why we chose Meriwether's. There had been an earlier forecast for showers, but the forecast changed mid morning. Meriwether's closed their outdoor patio and we were not able to dine outside. I realize this is a judgment call at times, but much of the patio is under trees and a tent, and besides, when in Oregon, do as the Oregonians do - don't be alarmed by a little rain!

We were disappointed to be seated inside, but the food was good, and the service attentive - if a bit obsequious. There was no need for extra comments by the waiter - my dining companion and I had lots to talk about.

But of course I will go back - and hope to be seated outside!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

This was a birthday dinner and we were t ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

This was a birthday dinner and we were two couples. One person is disabled and staff were willing to accommodate him easily. We sat outside and the spot is just so lovely this time of year! Food was excellent. Thought one of the four desserts might be comped for the birthday as many restaurants do that, but its okay that it wasn't. Would go back for another occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Chicken and waffles was lackluster. Frie ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Chicken and waffles was lackluster. Fried chicken was dry, bland, and overdone. Waffles were a bit cold, but reasonable. Totally disappointing.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

Consistently superb food and service. W ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Consistently superb food and service. We frequently dine here for Sunday brunch, which is the best in town!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

1st time visiting the spot for brunch wi ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

1st time visiting the spot for brunch with close friends. My friends have tried the place before so they raved about the fresh local food. I was excited to arrive the unique looking restaurant at our reservation time (10:15am, we arrived 10:20) and the place wasn't too busy - there were open tables yet we had to wait for another 15min to be seated. Before serving any water to our table, the waiters tried to sell us juice. We were starving so we declined the offer and ordered our meals right away. It took the kitchen what seemed the longest time to bring our food. I can't remember how long, but it was definitely at least double the time that you'd expect in a restaurant with this name recognition. I ordered Mushroom Benedict: there were only a few sprinkles of mushroom, and the eggs were overcooked (super hard egg whites and not so runny egg yolks). The eggs felt (and looked) like the ones you can get from McMuffins, hard-cooked and round shape. My friends were disappointed at the potatoes on their dishes because they were not evenly cooked.

I'm usually very happy and easy-going with brunch, but that was a bad experience. I didn't tip because don't feel the place deserved it. We could feel something was off on the restaurant that day - the waiters were all over the place, kitchen was slow, and food was not up to par.

Really wish I had better comments - unfortunately it was not a great 1st experience. I wouldn't mind trying it again, to prove myself wrong. Hopefully that day was just a glitch.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

The patio is gorgeous and quite lively. ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The patio is gorgeous and quite lively. It creates a great space that is both family friendly, and ideal for dates. We went for our anniversary and were lucky enough to get outdoor seating. Unfortunately, the service was a little rushed and it felt as though we were being ushered out as quickly as possible. The salmon I ordered was fine, but nothing special. Very small filet that was lacking in flavor. The overall meal left something to be desired. My wife ordered the crab risotto, which was too salty. Dessert was very good. In short, for the price you pay this is a very underwhelming dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2

It took awhile for our main dish to get ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

It took awhile for our main dish to get to us, however it was quite good and innovative.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made reservations to Meriwether's for ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We made reservations to Meriwether's for an anniversary dinner. Sat out side, temperature was perfect, table was perfect and Alex the server was wonderful. This was a great dining experience that we topped off by Taking a special bottle of wine for a $20 corking fee . It is a great bonus to have on site parking .

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great lunch (as usual)! Make a reservat ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great lunch (as usual)! Make a reservation if possible, but the wait isn't too bad, and you can always enjoy a delicious beverage from the bar:).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

had a wonderful dinner event at Meriweth ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

had a wonderful dinner event at Meriwether's. Service was outstanding, food very good, and the atmosphere was perfect for the occasion. We would definitely go back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I wanted to love this place. The patio ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I wanted to love this place. The patio is beautiful and the service attentive. The menu and food are okay (not bad, but not notable). The pantry board mix and match option on the website are not on the menu, which was unfortunate. I would go back for a cocktail, but probably not a full meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Beautiful setting with delicious and art ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Beautiful setting with delicious and artfully presented meals! A favorite, especially in the summer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely patio for outdoor seating. Plenty ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Lovely patio for outdoor seating. Plenty of umbrella to shield from the hot summer sun. Great meeting spot without the chaos of Northwest Portland parking! Food is always yummy!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a surprise and delightful find ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

This was a surprise and delightful find in NW Portland. The restaurant, its beautiful outdoor patio and lounge are a delightful oasis of which we were not previously aware. Great atmosphere, fine dining, friendly staff.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

made reservations for anniversary - shor ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

made reservations for anniversary - short wait time excellent table outside is beautiful all staff very friendly and accommodating. food excellent server very good service and very personable bartender very friendly and personable we will go back

happy hour menu looked fantastic we were there after happy hour but will go and try that another time got congratulatory small glass champagne at end of dinner to celebrate our anniversary

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent balance of delicious food, won ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Excellent balance of delicious food, wonderful service and pleasant atmosphere. It's a bit above our everyday budget but we will return for special occasions in the future. Thanks!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is typically quite good, today ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The food is typically quite good, today was fine but not as good as it has been in the past.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

It is a shame for such a beautiful setti ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

It is a shame for such a beautiful setting to have such mediocre food and menu. The four of us sat looking at the menu thinking we must order something. The garden was what we came for

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

I have been thinking about our experienc ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I have been thinking about our experience last weekend and after speaking to a few friends who had been there this is the consensus. One person "loves it" and four people felt that it was lacking but could not put a finger on why. I guess we were expecting something more for the money we spent, the time we had to wait, the lack of warmth with the servers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.