Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About Meritage Restaurant + Wine Bar

From world-class cuisine and an unmatched wine cellar featuring many library selections, to warm hospitality and the urban sophistication of our newly renovated dining room overlooking Boston Harbor, MERITAGE RESTAURANT + WINE BAR offers guests a unique and memorable dining experience.

As one of New England's few Forbes four-star restaurants, MERITAGE RESTAURANT + WINE BAR. awakens the senses, stimulates tastebuds and inspires guests for an evening of fine dining. Led by Chef Daniel Bruce – founder and captain of the Boston Wine Festival - and General Manager and Wine Director Nicholas Daddona, Meritage offers a diverse menu of wine-friendly food. Featuring a new Vineyard-to-Table concept, the menu shares the special relationships Chef Bruce has formed with winemakers from all over the world with diners and showcases New England’s changing seasons.

70 Rowes Wharf
Boston, MA 02110
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Wine Bar, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Cross Street:
Atlantic Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 439-3995

Website:
http://www.meritagetherestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Self parking with validation is complimentary, up to 4 hours.

Valet parking with validation is $8, up to 4 hours.

Public Transit:
South Station stop on the Red Line
Aquarium stop on the Blue Line

Executive Chef:
Daniel Bruce

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, Meritage can accommodate all of your special event needs. From Graduation Celebrations to Rehearsal Dinners and Showers, our dedicated team is on hand to assist in carefully planning your event.

Meritage Restaurant + Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (24)
Special Occasion (23)
Waterfront (22)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Romantic (18)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Good for a Date (17)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Notable Wine List (15)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Local Ingredients (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Cozy (4)
Business Meals (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Live Music (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Casual (2)
Private Room (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
People Watching (2)
Seasonal (1)
Authentic (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Fun (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1937 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 hours ago

Absolutely loved the food, especially the duck breast and forest floor mushrooms. The suggested wine pairing was superb! Definitely recommend the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Buena ubicación y estupenda vista
Amplia carta de vinos

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Wonderful service and overall experience. Great wine list, wonderful food choices and great overall experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 13, 2017

We had a crazy good meal. The dishes were presented with an extraordinary artistic flair. And they were tasty and deliciously aromatic. The four of us had an adventure as well as a tasty meal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 8, 2017

There were many creative dishes on the menu and a great wine list. Not many vegetarian options but the chef did offer a great solution with risotto and vegetables that were steamed to perfection.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Service was exceptional. Food was OK... it was a very unique experience to say the least. Highly recommend for the experienced foodies.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Cannot say enough good things about this restaurant. Food was fantastic, from the lollipop they greeted us with at the hostess stand (lemon lollipop on a sprig of rosemary, "planted" in a tray of cocoa nibs) to the fabulous chocolate dessert. Each course was paired with excellent wines, recommended by a sommelier who is on top of his game. Describe what you like in a wine, and he will find the absolute perfect glass for you. We were given an amuse-bouche of a leafy green with a dollop of gel on top; it tasted exactly like an oyster. The smoked beet salad was served under a smoke-filled cloche, imparting the most delicate smoke flavor to the salad. The entrees (short rib, filet mignon) could be cut with a fork and just melted away in the mouth. Dessert was accompanied by a flight of ports that was, again, the perfect pairing. Service was impeccable; we never wanted for anything. The ambiance was great; it had a very "clubby" feel, very elegant with a great view of the harbor. All in all, everything was perfect. Cannot wait to return.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The tasting menu was excellent, not only delicious but visually fun and interesting.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We have dined in some of the finest restaurants in the world. Our experience at Meritage ranks right up there. The ambiance was what you'd expect in the fine dining establishment. The view of the harbor was the main reason we chose Meritage for our 'date' night. The service was very good. But the food was the standout. A better duck breast could only be found in France. And the campfire trout was a treat that can't be had anywhere else. Fresh lamps and cremini mushrooms placed with grilled trout placed in a wood bowl. Then the server holds a match to the small piece of cotton in the bowl. When it instantly evaporates the diner is left with a hint of campfire. It makes the senses and the meal come alive. We will talk about this for quite some time and recommend you try it before the season changes.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 23, 2017

We had a lovely evening at Meritage celebrating my husband's birthday. The staff was solicitous and attentive, but not intrusive. The sommelier is outstanding. We enjoyed the inventiveness of the menu - especially since the results were delicious. Even though the restaurant could be considered pricey, it is well worth it for special occasions.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Tucked in to an exclusive bird's eye view of the Boston Waterfront is this one of a kind restaurant filled with surprises thru out the dining experience. A show for the eyes in addition to a flavorful delight for the taste buds. Absolutely Fabulous!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Waterfront, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 22, 2017

The service was impeccable the food was good but did not meet expectations. They need to have a large cocktail menu and separate the bar from the dining room.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 17, 2017

the service was VERY friendly, the portions small, the prices high, the food "different". Not a lot on the menu to choose from. The restaurant was not full as one would expect on a Sat night. I am not sure what type of diner the restaurant is targeting. Baffling. My guess would be that the restaurant is targeting one time only diners, not repeat diners, and that the restaurant is far down the list in terms of hotel priorities.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We had excellent food...A great wait staff and a very good wine recommendation...Very good dining experience

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The presentation and flavor of the food was outstanding! The staff was second to none! Simply an awesome experience! Probably the best restaurant in Boston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The food is nothing short of amazing, both in flavor and presentation. The selection of wines and brandies are excellent and extensive. The service is also excellent. I highly recommend dining here.

Tags: Hot Spot, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 14, 2017

From start to finish, our meal at Meritage was spectacular. We enjoyed the seven-course tasting menu with wine pairings, and each course was both delicious and exquisitely presented. I would love to return to Meritage to see what new dishes the chef will create in the future!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 13, 2017

great food, nice location. service was excellent and views were very good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Terrific restaurant, with inventive and delicious food, nice view of the harbor, elegant and quiet surroundings and excellent service. This is a real "find". We had the tasting menu, paired with wine. Not cheap, but not out-of-sight for the quality of food and wine. We ended up being the last ones in the restaurant, but the staff continued to be attentive and did not rush us at all. The chef even came out to speak to us, and we had the opportunity to hear about his very impressive career and his vision for this restaurant. This is by far the best restaurant we have visited so far in Boston. Very highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Some changes in the kitchen. Quality still high, but preparations less flavorful, less interesting combinations. The new talent values aesthetics over taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Meritage was outstanding and was a great place for a celebratory meal. Food was inventive, service excellent, and the ambiance was very soothing. Marrisa tended the bar and makes excellent martinis.

Highly recommended.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Best service. 5 star in all areas. Food was fantastic with flavors that I didn't even know existed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

What a spectacular Mother's Day brunch! There were so many delicious options from prime rib and seafood to champagne cocktails and an entire room filled with beautiful desserts. The service was exceptional and that harbor view is tough to beat.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day brunch was excellent. The carving station had wonderful lamb and prime rib. It's a treat to have lobster at the seafood station. Service was attentive and impeccable. I realize that this was a special Sunday brunch, but I'd come back again next year.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day Brunch.... fantastic, food and selection was superb! They had live jazz music which was very entertaining. The service was top notch. They had a candy bar for the kids...but adults indulged, as well. You could have over eaten there was so much food offered. Did not feel rushed . One can't beat the water views and location. Since it was my day...we valet parked as well!

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went for the Mother's Day brunch. Was a great experience with a fantastic varied spread and live music. Great service and food. My only complainant is on the value, seemed a little over priced to not include at least one drink/mimosa. Or if they're going to have you pay for all your drinks at least lower the price on the drinks a bit.

Tags: Live Music, Scenic View, Waterfront, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Absolutely wonderful experience from start to finish.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Pricey but the food and service and view of the harbor were worth every penny. I had a fantastic foie gras preparation (Meritage called it PB&J Foie Gras), a barely cooked piece of goose or duck liver with what I think was pine nut butter and frothy grape jelly. Decadent and terrific. I followed that with Atlantic halibut with mustard orange vinaigrette. I was introduced to something I hadn't tried before: Viking salt. It's salt that's been smoked with the smoke from a variety of woods. My waiter said it came from Denmark. There were a few sprinkles of the salt (it's quite expensive) in the butter and olive oil. The favor was intense and it turned the bread and butter and oil into a star of show. I finished off with a hazelnut cremeux and perfectly done cup of French press coffee. All in all, the experience was worth the $20 cab ride from my hotel.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Was a wonderful experience at Meritage. The food was outstanding and the dessert was incredible (strawberry shortcake). The service was top notch. Probably the best service I've ever had at any restaurant anywhere in the world.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I took my boyfriend for his 25th birthday and everything was perfect. We enojoyed every part of it, we had a really nice server who explained to us everything that we ordered and the best part of it was the dessert. We are looking forward to go back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Gorgeous view and fantastic food and service ! Overall a five star restaurant. The food was presented beautifully. The sommelier paired beautiful wines with all our courses and it was superb ! Thank you for a memorable dinner !

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 27, 2017

I can't think of a better place for an important business dinner. The service is at the same time attentive but discreet. No one was ever interrupted mid-sentence to be asked whether we were ready to order. Dishes were not whisked from the table the second a fork was set down. Yet none of the three of us found ourselves wanting for more water, or an answer to a question about the menu. As for the food, it was the same high level of quality I've come to expect from Meritage with the added special twist that the dishes were accompanied to the table by the chef who explained the concept for each and even provided the lighter that "flashed" my dish to finish the presentation. Together, it created a very delightful and memorable meal for three business people who might be considered jaded by a regular diet of expense-account dining.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This was our second time at Meritage to celebrate our wedding anniversary and we could not have been more pleased. The service and food is beyond amazing. We will be coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Another wonderful holiday family brunch at Meritage. Expansive brunch with stations spread through several rooms. Service is always terrific, the view of Boston waterfront is fabulous and many seafood, vegan and meat options as well asAsian, Italian cheese and desert stations. The
only thing to improve is the quality of meats at carving station, the lamb was chewy. And offer eggs Benedict and scrambled and sausages

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

You can't go wrong choosing this restaurant. Great food, atmosphere, and staff.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Wonderful evening with fabulous, inventive food. Hats off to the chef who took the time to come and introduce himself to our table.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Truly a high end dining experience. The service was impeccable and the food was outstanding. Its expensive but for a special occasion was well worth it

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We enjoyed an anniversary dinner at Meritage. Even though rain and clouds diminished the view, the food was noteworthy, the wine list was comprehensive, and the service was great.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Fantastic choice for an anniversary dinner. The wait staff was attentive, the food was fantastic and the wine pairings were perfect

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Celebrating a birthday. Notified restaurant thru Open Table but really not acknowledged until we ordered (and paid for) dessert then a candle put on top. (Wow) Food was excellent however very tiny portions and expensive. High quality and flavorful but less than expectations. Big issue is for a restaurant that prides itself on wine service our first 2 wines were brought to the table by sommelier and I hade to inform him the vintages were not as ordered or shown on wine list! You would certainly expect this be brought to my attention. Not just try to pass it off as if I was not knowledgeable. I was insulted. Unfortunately the server lost interest I guess in that we ended up having to pour our own wine during dinner. Not a good showing. The Chef / Owner would not have been pleased. I don't usually leave a poor review but there is no excuse for this poor of a showing at what has been in the past for us an excellent special occasion restaurant in Boston.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.