Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About Meritage Restaurant + Wine Bar

From world-class cuisine and an unmatched wine cellar featuring many library selections, to warm hospitality and the urban sophistication of our newly renovated dining room overlooking Boston Harbor, MERITAGE RESTAURANT + WINE BAR offers guests a unique and memorable dining experience.

As one of New England's few Forbes four-star restaurants, MERITAGE RESTAURANT + WINE BAR. awakens the senses, stimulates tastebuds and inspires guests for an evening of fine dining. Led by Chef Daniel Bruce – founder and captain of the Boston Wine Festival - and General Manager and Wine Director Nicholas Daddona, Meritage offers a diverse menu of wine-friendly food. Featuring a new Vineyard-to-Table concept, the menu shares the special relationships Chef Bruce has formed with winemakers from all over the world with diners and showcases New England’s changing seasons.

70 Rowes Wharf
Boston, MA 02110
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Wine Bar, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Cross Street:
Atlantic Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 439-3995

Website:
http://www.meritagetherestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Self parking with validation is complimentary, up to 4 hours.

Valet parking with validation is $8, up to 4 hours.

Public Transit:
South Station stop on the Red Line
Aquarium stop on the Blue Line

Executive Chef:
Daniel Bruce

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, Meritage can accommodate all of your special event needs. From Graduation Celebrations to Rehearsal Dinners and Showers, our dedicated team is on hand to assist in carefully planning your event.

Meritage Restaurant + Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (24)
Waterfront (20)
Romantic (18)
See All
Special Occasion (18)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Notable Wine List (15)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Great for Brunch (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Business Meals (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Cozy (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Healthy (2)
Authentic (2)
Private Room (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Casual (2)
Live Music (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Seasonal (1)
Fun (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
1915 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Meritage was outstanding and was a great place for a celebratory meal. Food was inventive, service excellent, and the ambiance was very soothing. Marrisa tended the bar and makes excellent martinis.

Highly recommended.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Best service. 5 star in all areas. Food was fantastic with flavors that I didn't even know existed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

What a spectacular Mother's Day brunch! There were so many delicious options from prime rib and seafood to champagne cocktails and an entire room filled with beautiful desserts. The service was exceptional and that harbor view is tough to beat.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day brunch was excellent. The carving station had wonderful lamb and prime rib. It's a treat to have lobster at the seafood station. Service was attentive and impeccable. I realize that this was a special Sunday brunch, but I'd come back again next year.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day Brunch.... fantastic, food and selection was superb! They had live jazz music which was very entertaining. The service was top notch. They had a candy bar for the kids...but adults indulged, as well. You could have over eaten there was so much food offered. Did not feel rushed . One can't beat the water views and location. Since it was my day...we valet parked as well!

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Absolutely wonderful experience from start to finish.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Pricey but the food and service and view of the harbor were worth every penny. I had a fantastic foie gras preparation (Meritage called it PB&J Foie Gras), a barely cooked piece of goose or duck liver with what I think was pine nut butter and frothy grape jelly. Decadent and terrific. I followed that with Atlantic halibut with mustard orange vinaigrette. I was introduced to something I hadn't tried before: Viking salt. It's salt that's been smoked with the smoke from a variety of woods. My waiter said it came from Denmark. There were a few sprinkles of the salt (it's quite expensive) in the butter and olive oil. The favor was intense and it turned the bread and butter and oil into a star of show. I finished off with a hazelnut cremeux and perfectly done cup of French press coffee. All in all, the experience was worth the $20 cab ride from my hotel.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Was a wonderful experience at Meritage. The food was outstanding and the dessert was incredible (strawberry shortcake). The service was top notch. Probably the best service I've ever had at any restaurant anywhere in the world.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I took my boyfriend for his 25th birthday and everything was perfect. We enojoyed every part of it, we had a really nice server who explained to us everything that we ordered and the best part of it was the dessert. We are looking forward to go back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Gorgeous view and fantastic food and service ! Overall a five star restaurant. The food was presented beautifully. The sommelier paired beautiful wines with all our courses and it was superb ! Thank you for a memorable dinner !

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 27, 2017

I can't think of a better place for an important business dinner. The service is at the same time attentive but discreet. No one was ever interrupted mid-sentence to be asked whether we were ready to order. Dishes were not whisked from the table the second a fork was set down. Yet none of the three of us found ourselves wanting for more water, or an answer to a question about the menu. As for the food, it was the same high level of quality I've come to expect from Meritage with the added special twist that the dishes were accompanied to the table by the chef who explained the concept for each and even provided the lighter that "flashed" my dish to finish the presentation. Together, it created a very delightful and memorable meal for three business people who might be considered jaded by a regular diet of expense-account dining.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This was our second time at Meritage to celebrate our wedding anniversary and we could not have been more pleased. The service and food is beyond amazing. We will be coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Another wonderful holiday family brunch at Meritage. Expansive brunch with stations spread through several rooms. Service is always terrific, the view of Boston waterfront is fabulous and many seafood, vegan and meat options as well asAsian, Italian cheese and desert stations. The
only thing to improve is the quality of meats at carving station, the lamb was chewy. And offer eggs Benedict and scrambled and sausages

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

You can't go wrong choosing this restaurant. Great food, atmosphere, and staff.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Wonderful evening with fabulous, inventive food. Hats off to the chef who took the time to come and introduce himself to our table.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Truly a high end dining experience. The service was impeccable and the food was outstanding. Its expensive but for a special occasion was well worth it

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We enjoyed an anniversary dinner at Meritage. Even though rain and clouds diminished the view, the food was noteworthy, the wine list was comprehensive, and the service was great.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Fantastic choice for an anniversary dinner. The wait staff was attentive, the food was fantastic and the wine pairings were perfect

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Celebrating a birthday. Notified restaurant thru Open Table but really not acknowledged until we ordered (and paid for) dessert then a candle put on top. (Wow) Food was excellent however very tiny portions and expensive. High quality and flavorful but less than expectations. Big issue is for a restaurant that prides itself on wine service our first 2 wines were brought to the table by sommelier and I hade to inform him the vintages were not as ordered or shown on wine list! You would certainly expect this be brought to my attention. Not just try to pass it off as if I was not knowledgeable. I was insulted. Unfortunately the server lost interest I guess in that we ended up having to pour our own wine during dinner. Not a good showing. The Chef / Owner would not have been pleased. I don't usually leave a poor review but there is no excuse for this poor of a showing at what has been in the past for us an excellent special occasion restaurant in Boston.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Excellent evening, very gratifying I would recommend for anyone seeking a special evening out.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Went for our 30th Anniversary. Our experience was not what the reviews we read said.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great location and really nice upscale restaurant. Portions were small, but we were given free caviar with our meals. I found my food to be a bit over cooke

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The family and I are new to the Boston area and my wife and I haven't been out without the kids in a very long time. Maritage gave us a fantastic experience, one to be remembered for a long time.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food is the best you will ever have. There is nothing better in Boston!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Groups, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Fun, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Service (except for hat check lady and bread lady) was hauty. Menu was uninspired and there were few options. Food was perfectly all right but nothing innovative. Space is dated

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Exceptional service and spectacular food make our dining experience one we will remember for a long time. The food is so outstanding, you savor every bite!

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The service and food were outstanding. The restaurant was full yet we were all able to hear at a table for eight. Highly recommend.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Disabled Access, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

A great restaurant ruined by terrible customer service at the check in counter. Walked up to the counter with the receptionist staring at me without any greeting. The awkward staring contest only ended with a friendlier receptionist arriving and greeting us. The unfriendly employee then persisted to help the individuals behind us which makes me feel like there was a little stereotyping going on. The unprofessional treatment was then rectified by the excellent table service and great food. First impressions are the most important so I would recommend the Meritage to look into this issue.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Highly recommend this restaurant, we went here for brunch on New Year's Day and it was perfect! The food was outstanding, the service was top notch, the view of the harbor was serene and the ambiance was very relaxing, all for a very reasonable cost, would do it again in a heartbeat. When we finished brunch we all went for a walk along the harbor to work off all of the delicious foods we ate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was fantastic and the atmosphere was elegant yet comfortable. I enjoyed the innovative house cocktails and the wine pairing matched well with the different courses. Was the perfect place to spend New Years Eve with a special someone!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great dinner but the restaurant does not provide any place for young NYE revelers to have after dinner cocktails. The place locks up at 1am so not the best place to celebrate NYE

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Fantastic experience with thoughtful service and delicious wine pairing & delicate food. Had a great time at my unparalleled dinner date

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Chef tasting menu was a special treat! The paired🍷 was impressive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The gnocchi were light and fried to give the outside a little bite. Loved every single thing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 25, 2016

With the exploding restaurant scene in Boston, it is a treat to have a white table dining experience that is both exceptional in it's food and service. The room, located in the Rowes Wharf Hotel is beautiful with magical views of Boston Harbor. The tables are well spaced, generous in size and the room is lively but conversation is easily heard. Service is professional and friendly. The food is exquisite. We began with shrimp followed by sea scallops (among the best I've ever had), and rare tuna. The cheese platter was varied and delicious. This is a gem to which we'll return often.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Disabled Access, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We went to the Meritage for Christmas Day brunch and it was outstanding. Really an overall great experience. The food was great and they took us early, which we very much appreciated. Highly recommended.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Xmas brunch. The spread wasn't' great. Not many options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We were a bit disappointed with the Christmas Brunch. For $100 each you would think they would include a glass of champagne or even a Mimosa. There were 2 or 3 well prepared items (Beef tenderloin, rack of lamb and sushi) Desserts were also pretty well thought out and not too sweet. You had to search or stumble across the bread display which was in a different room. Candy display was a festive touch. No amount of money or prep can really disguise the warming tray effect of overcooked or over steamed food. The cold table could use some kind of chutneys or other sauce/condiments to pair with the terrines and fish /seafood offerings. Caviar station was a nice touch but not paired well with some kind of dry biscuit instead of a more traditional soft blini and also separated from their accompaniments such as onions/chopped eggs/creme fraiche which were in a different room. The dining space is lovely and the view was pretty too. Waitstaff was very attentive except for when we were seated. No water service for 15+ minutes. We made a decision after this that no amount of money can improve a buffet. Next time we will spend our money on a plated meal for brunch, although probably it will be dinner; maybe even at Meritage!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great food and service. Chef's tasting dinner with wines was perfect choice for our anniversary.

Explanations of the food and wine were much appreciated.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We went to Meritage with friends to celebrate the holiday season. We have done this for quite a few years and always, always enjoy. This year we started with duck breast for an appetizer and our entree was lobster - wow - we ended with a slice of buche de noel. It is expensive but well worth for a special dinner. We were seated next to the floor to ceiling windows and had a view of the waterfront and the planes taking off and landing at Logan Airport.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.