About Meritage Restaurant + Wine Bar

70 Rowes Wharf
Boston, MA 02110
View Larger Map

From world-class cuisine and an unmatched wine cellar featuring many library selections, to warm hospitality and the urban sophistication of our newly renovated dining room overlooking Boston Harbor, MERITAGE RESTAURANT + WINE BAR offers guests a unique and memorable dining experience.

As one of New England's few Forbes four-star restaurants, MERITAGE RESTAURANT + WINE BAR. awakens the senses, stimulates tastebuds and inspires guests for an evening of fine dining. Led by Chef Daniel Bruce – founder and captain of the Boston Wine Festival - and General Manager and Wine Director Nicholas Daddona, Meritage offers a diverse menu of wine-friendly food. Featuring a new Vineyard-to-Table concept, the menu shares the special relationships Chef Bruce has formed with winemakers from all over the world with diners and showcases New England’s changing seasons.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Wine Bar, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Cross Street:
Atlantic Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 439-3995

Website:
http://www.meritagetherestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Self parking with validation is complimentary, up to 4 hours.

Valet parking with validation is $8, up to 4 hours.

Public Transit:
South Station stop on the Red Line
Aquarium stop on the Blue Line

Executive Chef:
Daniel Bruce

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Meritage Restaurant + Wine Bar
Meritage Restaurant + Wine Bar

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 24, 2016

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 24, 2016

Details

Thanksgiving Dining:
-Grand Holiday Brunch Buffet – 10:30-3:30pm in the Atlantic Room & Meritage $100 per adult, $50 per child under 12
-Thanksgiving Four Course Dinner – 4:00pm-8:00pm $120 per adult ($180 with Wine Pairing) $55 per child under 12 *Meritage a la carte menu will NOT be available

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, Meritage can accommodate all of your special event needs. From Graduation Celebrations to Rehearsal Dinners and Showers, our dedicated team is on hand to assist in carefully planning your event.

Meritage Restaurant + Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Boston / New England
American
Boston / New England
Best Overall
Boston
8 More
Best Food
Boston
Best Service
Boston
Best Ambiance
Boston
Notable Wine List
Boston
Romantic
Boston
Scenic View
Boston
Special Occasion
Boston
American
Boston
Best Restaurants in Financial District ›

Special Occasion (44)
Scenic View (43)
Romantic (38)
See All
Notable Wine List (35)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Waterfront (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Worth the Drive (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Organic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Business Meals (1)
Cozy (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1742 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

MId week is more business oriented than ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

MId week is more business oriented than couples dining. Completely understandable but I was caught off guard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

Love to have food and wine paring at Mer ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Love to have food and wine paring at Meritage and it's usually very good. However, this time it was just average. Not a fan of foie gras which was one of the courses.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Exceptionally good and great sophisticat ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Exceptionally good and great sophisticated and sensitive service from Martin

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ordered flowers via the Open Table App a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Ordered flowers via the Open Table App and had them setup perfectly. The hosts called me a two days before to confirm both the reservation and flowers. Appreciate that. Left special request for table by window overlooking the harbor since it was my wife's birthday. Top it off, food was great and our service was perfect. Thank you very much Meritage. See you next year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A bit loud due to a busines group nearby ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

A bit loud due to a busines group nearby but food and service were spot on. Great view as well.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The location is delightful with a view o ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The location is delightful with a view of the harbor.

The food was outstanding. The appetizers nicely matched the entrees. Care was taken with presentation.

Outstanding wine list- some hidden gems that the sommelier was able to suggest.

Great value for a very upscale restuarant.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

First class, great experience !!

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

First class, great experience !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and wine exceptional. Service by Ol ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food and wine exceptional. Service by Oliver impeccable

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food only to surpassed by better s ...

vip
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great food only to surpassed by better service. Very expensive but we knew that going into dinner. Expect to pay $100+

per person with a couple glasses of wine but well worth the investment.

Service always starts with the host(ess) and ends with a kind word from staff while departing and we were not disappointed. Highly recommend Meritage if you're looking for an event and experience not found at too many restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A great restaurant has become even more ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

A great restaurant has become even more outstanding. The food and preparation are of the highest quality and the combinations elegant, creative and satisfying. The service is friendly and attentive. This is a world class experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sampled a number of small dishes and ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We sampled a number of small dishes and they were all spectacular. Pricey but worth it! excellent wine list.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was delicious. Loved the cheese cou ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was delicious. Loved the cheese course & flights of wine that were offered. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu selection was incredible, I had ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The menu selection was incredible, I had such a hard time deciding what to order. Geronimo was an incredible server. In addition everyone from the hostess to the staff who replinished our water constantly were spectacular and made us feel like we were special. For such a high end restaurant I was impressed and surprised at how flexible the chef was with requests. I highly recommend!meritage and will go back.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A special, memorable meal and evening. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

A special, memorable meal and evening. Recommend the wine pairing menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was outstanding.Friendly and ver ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Service was outstanding.Friendly and very helpful staff.View is great!!!The lobster was worth every bite.Filet was wonderful but could have used more sauce.Dessert menu was short and disappointing but the addition of the complimentary sweets was sweet indeed.Wine selection was somewhat limited but well paired.Would definitely go again.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Best meal in Boston ! Outstanding servic ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Best meal in Boston ! Outstanding service and fabulous food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was good, but nowhere close to ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food was good, but nowhere close to being worth the price we paid.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Great dining experience; esp drink fligh ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great dining experience; esp drink flights; celebrated a birthday.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A truly outstanding culinary experience. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

A truly outstanding culinary experience. The cheese table is amazing. The sommelier is expert, but never overbearing. The waitresses and waiters are very professional. The view is amazing. Each course is perfectly cooked and the perfect portion size. The bread is excellent, too--I only wish that they had offered it to us a second time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I went here for dinner before proposing ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I went here for dinner before proposing to my girlfriend. I informed the restaurant ahead of time of the occasion and they were spectacular. I had a great night and they were a big part of it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyed my 50th birthday at this ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Really enjoyed my 50th birthday at this restaurant and would recommend it for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always it was wonderful. We both had ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

As always it was wonderful. We both had the tasting menu and it was adapted to likes and dislikes as well as allergies . Added the baked Alaska as that s one of my favorite deserts .

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meritage is, inevitably, not adventurous ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Meritage is, inevitably, not adventurous, so it will not wow you with astonishing unexpected flavors. But it does what it does excellently, and the food can rise to heights - a soft-shell crab appetizer was memorable, lamb excellent, desserts fine.

And the wine list is terrific, with very stimulating options by the glass, and an extremely informed and engaged sommelier.

And who can resist all this while overlooking Boston Harbor?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was excellent!!..very nice view! .. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was excellent!!..very nice view! ..Sampling from chef was a nice touch...Service was attentive but entrees were not served together which was surprising at this level of dining...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

If you are looking for a spot to enterta ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

If you are looking for a spot to entertain friends from out-of-town. Meritage is as good as it get. Long the host of the Boston Wine, the menu is organized for food and wine pairings. The wine list is very extensive, the food outstanding, and the views of the Boston Harbor spectacular on a clear evening. The servers were warm and gracious, and acknowledged us by name as having dined there many times before. They happily allowed me to order one fish with the preparation of another dish on the menu (which menu chefs refuse to do). If I have any criticism (and I really don't) I used to prefer the previous menu format in which every dish was available in a tapas size portion, allowing for the creation of your own tasting menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Although I have been to Meritage on seve ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Although I have been to Meritage on several prior occasions, I had forgotten just how incredible the food is. Each dish that my husband and I had was spectacular. (I had the boar and fennel agnolotti and the red snapper, and he had the pan roasted shrimp and the veal tenderloin. The red snapper, which is in a curry sauce, may be the single best dish I have had in the past several years at any restaurant. ) The wine flights are a wonderful and interesting accompaniment to the dishes. The harbor view is simply amazing, and the service is very attentive without being at all uncomfortable or snobby.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

OK but not as great as it used to be, a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

OK but not as great as it used to be, a little disappointed based on previous visits.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We were disappointed! Heard a lot about ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We were disappointed! Heard a lot about Meritage over the past years and were anxious to visit. The service is impeccable, great ambiance. Food was good but we thought that there is more hype about the wine than the food. Our waiter seemed be more knowledgeable about the wine over the entrees. High priced, small portions. Save this one for a very special occasion!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

I been to this place before and I loved ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I been to this place before and I loved the atmosphere and food served back then. Now that I see a whole brand new look for the restaurant, I loved it even more especially with my wife who had experienced her first time there. The food was even more delicious with wonderful flavor and the service is excellent especially our server, Oliver, whom has made our 2-year anniversary more special the restaurant. We definitely loved the Soft Shelled Crab and the Red Snapper dishes. Definitely we will come back again hungry for more and try out the other dishes we've yet to try..

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Absolutely perfect evening! Outstanding ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Absolutely perfect evening! Outstanding service, food to die for and delicious wine pairings! Hit it out of the park!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome restaurant - service, food ambie ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Awesome restaurant - service, food ambience! The wine selection is incredible, and the view to the harbor is outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meritage continues to take my breath awa ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Meritage continues to take my breath away. The views, the professional yet warm service, the great menu, the delicious food. Keeps me coming back for more. It's so much fun bringing new people who enjoy it just as much as I do. Will continue to be my go to place for special events and happy gatherings.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as usual! Looking forward to ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent as usual! Looking forward to next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent hostesses and wait staff, very ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Excellent hostesses and wait staff, very good food. Made our special anniversary even more memorable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

All of meals were exceptional. Each pla ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

All of meals were exceptional. Each plate was decorated beautifully, and the food lived up to that expectation. The service was perfect, very attentative, but not intrusive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed a wide range of dishes during ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

We enjoyed a wide range of dishes during our dinner at Meritage. The butter roasted Maine lobster was superb and the five-spice seared yellow fin tuna was beautifully prepared. My wife enjoyed the aged Gouda agnolotti, and the pan-seared soft shelled crab. Our friends had some of the same dishes, plus the grilled filet mignon. The wine list is excellent and the prices are very reasonable. We were especially impressed with a 2008 Continuum, a Bordeaux-blend wine from Napa.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was slow.Wrong first course was ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Service was slow.Wrong first course was brought.

Plates were removed while we were still"working" on the beignet.

Cheese cake desert tasted like glue or rubber.

This was a special event and the restaurant managed to spoil the occasion.

We have had excellent brunches here before-

So what was the problem?

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Not a place I could afford to dine often ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Not a place I could afford to dine often but highly recommend it for a special occasion. I will definitely go again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and ambiance. Love the view!!

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Sometimes you need to try a new place to dine, especially for your aniversary. This is the place. Beautiful views, fantastic service and the best wines to can find. If you go there thinking to save money or getting a great deal for a meal, stay home. Maybe you can buy pound of salmon and grill it up and feed the family for twenty bucks, but nothing taste better than that 4oz piece of beautiful halibut at the Merirage. Love thithis place!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Dessert is the icing on the cake!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

The waiter knowing our first names and the special occasion set the tone for the evening. The service was outstanding. I eat out all the time in restaurants all over the world so I would say the food and wine was good, or let's say met my expectations for this caliber restaurant. I would highly recommend the short ribs. The view from any table of the Boston harbor is great, not a bad seat in the house. The desserts will make your evening as the flavors will make you smile and say, "What a way to finish a meal." This is a great place for a special occasion, as the staff and the atmosphere makes you feel special as you gaze across the Boston harbor. Enjoy!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.