About Meritage Restaurant + Wine Bar

70 Rowes Wharf
Boston, MA 02110
View Larger Map

From world-class cuisine and an unmatched wine cellar featuring many library selections, to warm hospitality and the urban sophistication of our newly renovated dining room overlooking Boston Harbor, MERITAGE RESTAURANT + WINE BAR offers guests a unique and memorable dining experience.

As one of New England's few Forbes four-star restaurants, MERITAGE RESTAURANT + WINE BAR. awakens the senses, stimulates tastebuds and inspires guests for an evening of fine dining. Led by Chef Daniel Bruce – founder and captain of the Boston Wine Festival - and General Manager and Wine Director Nicholas Daddona, Meritage offers a diverse menu of wine-friendly food. Featuring a new Vineyard-to-Table concept, the menu shares the special relationships Chef Bruce has formed with winemakers from all over the world with diners and showcases New England’s changing seasons.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Wine Bar, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Cross Street:
Atlantic Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 439-3995

Website:
http://www.meritagetherestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Self parking with validation is complimentary, up to 4 hours.

Valet parking with validation is $8, up to 4 hours.

Public Transit:
South Station stop on the Red Line
Aquarium stop on the Blue Line

Executive Chef:
Daniel Bruce

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Meritage Restaurant + Wine Bar, Boston, MA
Meritage Restaurant + Wine Bar, Boston, MA

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Christmas Eve Dining:
-Christmas Eve Four Course Dinner – 4:00pm-9:00pm $125 per adult ($195 with Wine Pairing) $55 per child under 12 *Meritage a la carte menu will NOT be available

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

Christmas Day Dining:
-Grand Holiday Brunch Buffet – 10:30-4:00pm in the Atlantic Room & Meritage $100 per adult, $50 per child under 12
-Christmas Four Course Dinner – 4:00pm-9:00pm $125 per adult ($195 with Wine Pairing) $55 per child under 12 *Meritage a la carte menu will NOT be available

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

New Year’s Eve Dinner - Meritage Restaurant + Wine Bar
Time: First Seating: 5:00 PM - 6:30 PM – Four Courses- $125/ $185 with Wine Pairing
Second Seating: 7:30-10:00 PM –Five Courses- $195/$255 with Wine Pairing - A la carte menu will NOT be available

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, Meritage can accommodate all of your special event needs. From Graduation Celebrations to Rehearsal Dinners and Showers, our dedicated team is on hand to assist in carefully planning your event.

Meritage Restaurant + Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Boston / New England
American
Boston / New England
Best Overall
Boston
7 More
Best Food
Boston
Best Service
Boston
Best Ambiance
Boston
Romantic
Boston
Scenic View
Boston
Special Occasion
Boston
American
Boston
Best Restaurants in Financial District ›

Scenic View (30)
Special Occasion (27)
Notable Wine List (26)
See All
Waterfront (21)
Romantic (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Good for a Date (16)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Cozy (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Business Meals (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Modern Decor (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Historic (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Healthy (2)
Organic (2)
Private Room (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Fun (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Fireplace (1)
Family Style (1)
Authentic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Sort By:
S
1768 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Thank you Meritage for a wonderful eveni ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Thank you Meritage for a wonderful evening. Excellent service and even better cuisine. A bit on the pricy side but WELL WORTH IT.

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an outstanding meal for Thanksgiv ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had an outstanding meal for Thanksgiving. It was a four course prix fixe, with or without wine pairings, with four choices for each course. At the end, we all wished we weren't so full, because every one of us wanted to stay for a second seating! Amongst the group, we sampled about half of the options, and every single one was superb. The service was prompt and friendly. The wine pairings were perfect for each dish. We have been in many high end restaurants, and Meritage compared favorably with the very best.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We booked well in advance for Thanksgivi ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We booked well in advance for Thanksgiving dinner and requested a harbor view table. Arrived early, checked in and still had to ask to be seated after watching others be seated. We were not offered the center window table even though every other party was seated at one. The bench on one side of our table was unstable and moved up and down (The waiter did attempt to repair it, to no avail). We made the best of it. The soup was savory, the prawns were perfect. When the traditional turkey dish came the first bites were tantalizing, the rest was gristle fat and skin.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Thanksgivng buffet for 3:30pm, and we w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgivng buffet for 3:30pm, and we were seated just before 5pm. Some even turned the restaurant into the their own private party place. I can't say that the food is that special. They have to do a better job with their food layout as well. The view (water)is pretty from where we were seating. The live jazz music is a little lame.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

Thanksgiving buffet was a mob scene. Wha ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving buffet was a mob scene. What we paid ($120 per plate) should have gotten a much better result. More than an hour wait past our reservation time. The food was picked over and quality was mediocre at best. We have had much better Thanksgiving meals at other restaurants in Boston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

I brought my boyfriend to Meritage for h ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 18, 2016

I brought my boyfriend to Meritage for his birthday. From the moment we walked in, it exceeded our expectations. The staff was incredibly attentive, the food was amazing, and the ambience was just what we were looking for. Every need, from water refills to bringing us fresh bread, was anticipated before we even knew we needed it. It made his birthday a truly special occasion. I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone wanting to mark a special occasion.

Tags: Organic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my favorite restaurant in Boston ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 16, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant in Boston and the whole of Massachusetts. Attention is paid to

every detail of your dining experience.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Molecular Gastronomy, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In town and celebrated our daughters bir ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 12, 2016

In town and celebrated our daughters birthday here. The view is spectacular so try to request a window table. Wine list is above average and the highest quality seafood in our opinion. Prepared simply and classically. Very nice experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The Meritage is a beautiful restaurant w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The Meritage is a beautiful restaurant with a spectacular view of Boston Harbor but lacks in service and hospitality.

Surprising that a food and wine pairing offer does not include a visit from the Sommelier when one of the wine selections is unacceptable.

The food pairing was fantastic through most courses but an undrinkable port wine paired with dessert left a lasting impression. The waiter admitted that they thought the wine was open for too long which makes me wonder why it was poured in the first place. One would have thought that the Meritage would have offered another wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

My husband took me here on a date for my ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

My husband took me here on a date for my birthday. We had a really lovely evening. The atmosphere was upscale but laid back at the same time. In other words, it was fancy without being stuffy. Our waiter was truly fantastic! The food was very good, albeit a bit pricey- but we expected this. The leisurely time between courses allowed for us to really relax and enjoy conversation. They did not have merlot or malbec which my husband and I typically order. I tried two wines, neither really to my liking, so my waiter suggested a mixed drink with wine and rum- it was excellent (again he was fantastic!). I would recommend ordering dessert- they were very good- especially the chocolate! Overall a very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely restaurant! Had a nice evening. W ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Lovely restaurant! Had a nice evening. Was visiting my son and wanted to take him someplace special. Food was creative and good. My dish was not hot enough but didn't make any comments. My son's and boyfriend s meal was delicious they said. I had the cod. They had lambchop. Would dine there again, but will try someplace else first. Portions were small.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Cozy, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Meritage was one of our favorite "specia ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Meritage was one of our favorite "special restaurants". The food and service is always suburb. We face the food a slightly lower rating due to the change in menus. What made Meritage stand out in its category was the opportunity to order smaller plates so once can experience the wonderful combinations of food. It also made the food tasting a conversation in itself. The decision to eliminate this option makes Meritage a good option in the luxury dining experience but not a standout.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We celebrated two birthdays at once, and ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We celebrated two birthdays at once, and were delighted with our experience! We really recommend choosing their paired wine flights with your food choices. They also, upon request, cheerfully brought out desserts with a single little candle for each celebrant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful meal with impeccable service. ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Wonderful meal with impeccable service. He was a distinguished French gentleman who gave us great recommendations on wine and entree choices. Very elegant setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best experiences ever!

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 28, 2016

One of the best experiences ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious, uniquely prepared a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Food was delicious, uniquely prepared and elegantly presented. Service was outstanding - our waiter was professional yet very personable, and all the waitstaff were attentive to our needs. Fabulous experience from start to finish. Our out-of-town first-time guests were completely impressed and are looking forward to another visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food and wine, and fantastical ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Fantastic food and wine, and fantastically good and friendly service.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Anniversary dinner at our hotel!! Every ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Anniversary dinner at our hotel!! Everything was perfect!! Food was amazing!! Beautiful view!! Manager brought out champagne for our anniversary. Would definitely recommend dining here while U are in Boston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Had the tasting menu with wine pairings. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Had the tasting menu with wine pairings. Everything was delicious & the service was impeccable.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a perfectly fine meal but didn't ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We had a perfectly fine meal but didn't really enjoy the experience. It's a bit stuffy and lacks the warmth of other upscale restaurants. We don't regret going but probably won't go again. Service and food were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

From the time you enter until you leave ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 21, 2016

From the time you enter until you leave this is truly a fine dining experience. My waiter was outstanding and was quickly able to make excellent recommendations according to my taste in food and wine. Speaking of wine, the list is incredible and can accommodate all price ranges. Similar restaurants in other major cities would be two to three times the price. It's such a pleasure to be able to relax and dine. I'll be back when I return to Boston.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Private Room, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good. Appetizer was o ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The food was very good. Appetizer was outstanding but a small, and I mean very, let down with the main. Wine selection outstanding as is the sommelier. Atmosphere is fabulous. The others dining with me felt the same. That being said, I would not hesitate returning next time I am in Boston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We got married at the Boston Harbor Hote ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We got married at the Boston Harbor Hotel and came back to celebrate our 10th anniversary and dine at the Meritage. All I can say is that "magnificent dining" would be an understatement. The food, the wines, and the service are all impeccable and made for a very memorable dining experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding menu, great wines. Service q ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Outstanding menu, great wines. Service quiet and efficient.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I was looking for a fancy place to take ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 2, 2016

I was looking for a fancy place to take my girlfriend and this was the perfect spot. The service, food and wine were all really good. Jean was our server and he was awesome.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We researched this restaurant prior to o ...

 
·Dined on September 28, 2016

We researched this restaurant prior to our trip to Boston and were excited to try the wine and food pairings. We eagerly tried the 5 course chef's selection. We were somewhat disappointed in the pairings. Yes, all palates are different, but I would have expected a better experience for the price.

The first course of split pea soup was excellent and the presentation was superb. However, the wine pairing did not work for us. The main course of duck was nice...but nothing that wowed us. Again, the pairing was unexciting. The cheese course and the 2012 HRW Zinfandel was the best of the evening...and overall this wine was the best of the night as well.

Having participated in 10+ pairing experiences in our time, we found this to be disappointing. Again, we realize that palates do differ.

Service and ambiance were extraordinary and we enjoyed the evening. Considering that we were one of the few that tried the chef pairing, I would have expected the chef to have come out and discuss the experience...that did not happen giving the impression that the kitchen did not really care if they hit the mark or not. When you drop $400.00 for dinner, you have higher expectations.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

MId week is more business oriented than ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 27, 2016

MId week is more business oriented than couples dining. Completely understandable but I was caught off guard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

Love to have food and wine paring at Mer ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Love to have food and wine paring at Meritage and it's usually very good. However, this time it was just average. Not a fan of foie gras which was one of the courses.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Exceptionally good and great sophisticat ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Exceptionally good and great sophisticated and sensitive service from Martin

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ordered flowers via the Open Table App a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Ordered flowers via the Open Table App and had them setup perfectly. The hosts called me a two days before to confirm both the reservation and flowers. Appreciate that. Left special request for table by window overlooking the harbor since it was my wife's birthday. Top it off, food was great and our service was perfect. Thank you very much Meritage. See you next year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A bit loud due to a busines group nearby ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 14, 2016

A bit loud due to a busines group nearby but food and service were spot on. Great view as well.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The location is delightful with a view o ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 10, 2016

The location is delightful with a view of the harbor.

The food was outstanding. The appetizers nicely matched the entrees. Care was taken with presentation.

Outstanding wine list- some hidden gems that the sommelier was able to suggest.

Great value for a very upscale restuarant.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

First class, great experience !!

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 10, 2016

First class, great experience !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and wine exceptional. Service by Ol ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food and wine exceptional. Service by Oliver impeccable

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food only to surpassed by better s ...

vip
 (West Virginia)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great food only to surpassed by better service. Very expensive but we knew that going into dinner. Expect to pay $100+

per person with a couple glasses of wine but well worth the investment.

Service always starts with the host(ess) and ends with a kind word from staff while departing and we were not disappointed. Highly recommend Meritage if you're looking for an event and experience not found at too many restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A great restaurant has become even more ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 3, 2016

A great restaurant has become even more outstanding. The food and preparation are of the highest quality and the combinations elegant, creative and satisfying. The service is friendly and attentive. This is a world class experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sampled a number of small dishes and ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We sampled a number of small dishes and they were all spectacular. Pricey but worth it! excellent wine list.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was delicious. Loved the cheese cou ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was delicious. Loved the cheese course & flights of wine that were offered. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu selection was incredible, I had ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 19, 2016

The menu selection was incredible, I had such a hard time deciding what to order. Geronimo was an incredible server. In addition everyone from the hostess to the staff who replinished our water constantly were spectacular and made us feel like we were special. For such a high end restaurant I was impressed and surprised at how flexible the chef was with requests. I highly recommend!meritage and will go back.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A special, memorable meal and evening. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2016

A special, memorable meal and evening. Recommend the wine pairing menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.