About Meritage Restaurant + Wine Bar

70 Rowes Wharf
Boston, MA 02110
View Larger Map

From world-class cuisine and an unmatched wine cellar featuring many library selections, to warm hospitality and the urban sophistication of our newly renovated dining room overlooking Boston Harbor, MERITAGE RESTAURANT + WINE BAR offers guests a unique and memorable dining experience.

As one of New England's few Forbes four-star restaurants, MERITAGE RESTAURANT + WINE BAR. awakens the senses, stimulates tastebuds and inspires guests for an evening of fine dining. Led by Chef Daniel Bruce – founder and captain of the Boston Wine Festival - and General Manager and Wine Director Nicholas Daddona, Meritage offers a diverse menu of wine-friendly food. Featuring a new Vineyard-to-Table concept, the menu shares the special relationships Chef Bruce has formed with winemakers from all over the world with diners and showcases New England’s changing seasons.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Wine Bar, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Sunday Brunch: 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM

From January 1-March 14 we will be open for dinner on Sunday and Monday Evening.

Cross Street:
Atlantic Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 439-3995

Website:
http://www.meritagetherestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Self parking with validation is complimentary, up to 4 hours.

Valet parking with validation is $8, up to 4 hours.

Public Transit:
South Station stop on the Red Line
Aquarium stop on the Blue Line

Executive Chef:
Daniel Bruce

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Meritage Restaurant + Wine Bar
Meritage Restaurant + Wine Bar

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, Meritage can accommodate all of your special event needs. From Graduation Celebrations to Rehearsal Dinners and Showers, our dedicated team is on hand to assist in carefully planning your event.

Meritage Restaurant + Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Boston / New England
Best Service
Boston
Notable Wine List
Boston
4 More
Romantic
Boston
Scenic View
Boston
Special Occasion
Boston
American
Boston
Best Restaurants in Financial District ›

special occasion (54)
scenic view (53)
notable wine list (49)
See All
romantic (41)
fit for foodies (37)
great for brunch (11)
good for groups (10)
hot spot (8)
neighborhood gem (6)
vibrant bar scene (2)
late-night find (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1721 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

As always it was wonderful. We both had ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

As always it was wonderful. We both had the tasting menu and it was adapted to likes and dislikes as well as allergies . Added the baked Alaska as that s one of my favorite deserts .

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meritage is, inevitably, not adventurous ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Meritage is, inevitably, not adventurous, so it will not wow you with astonishing unexpected flavors. But it does what it does excellently, and the food can rise to heights - a soft-shell crab appetizer was memorable, lamb excellent, desserts fine.

And the wine list is terrific, with very stimulating options by the glass, and an extremely informed and engaged sommelier.

And who can resist all this while overlooking Boston Harbor?

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was excellent!!..very nice view! .. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was excellent!!..very nice view! ..Sampling from chef was a nice touch...Service was attentive but entrees were not served together which was surprising at this level of dining...

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

If you are looking for a spot to enterta ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

If you are looking for a spot to entertain friends from out-of-town. Meritage is as good as it get. Long the host of the Boston Wine, the menu is organized for food and wine pairings. The wine list is very extensive, the food outstanding, and the views of the Boston Harbor spectacular on a clear evening. The servers were warm and gracious, and acknowledged us by name as having dined there many times before. They happily allowed me to order one fish with the preparation of another dish on the menu (which menu chefs refuse to do). If I have any criticism (and I really don't) I used to prefer the previous menu format in which every dish was available in a tapas size portion, allowing for the creation of your own tasting menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, special occasions, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Although I have been to Meritage on seve ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Although I have been to Meritage on several prior occasions, I had forgotten just how incredible the food is. Each dish that my husband and I had was spectacular. (I had the boar and fennel agnolotti and the red snapper, and he had the pan roasted shrimp and the veal tenderloin. The red snapper, which is in a curry sauce, may be the single best dish I have had in the past several years at any restaurant. ) The wine flights are a wonderful and interesting accompaniment to the dishes. The harbor view is simply amazing, and the service is very attentive without being at all uncomfortable or snobby.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

OK but not as great as it used to be, a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

OK but not as great as it used to be, a little disappointed based on previous visits.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We were disappointed! Heard a lot about ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We were disappointed! Heard a lot about Meritage over the past years and were anxious to visit. The service is impeccable, great ambiance. Food was good but we thought that there is more hype about the wine than the food. Our waiter seemed be more knowledgeable about the wine over the entrees. High priced, small portions. Save this one for a very special occasion!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

I been to this place before and I loved ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I been to this place before and I loved the atmosphere and food served back then. Now that I see a whole brand new look for the restaurant, I loved it even more especially with my wife who had experienced her first time there. The food was even more delicious with wonderful flavor and the service is excellent especially our server, Oliver, whom has made our 2-year anniversary more special the restaurant. We definitely loved the Soft Shelled Crab and the Red Snapper dishes. Definitely we will come back again hungry for more and try out the other dishes we've yet to try..

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Absolutely perfect evening! Outstanding ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Absolutely perfect evening! Outstanding service, food to die for and delicious wine pairings! Hit it out of the park!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome restaurant - service, food ambie ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Awesome restaurant - service, food ambience! The wine selection is incredible, and the view to the harbor is outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meritage continues to take my breath awa ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Meritage continues to take my breath away. The views, the professional yet warm service, the great menu, the delicious food. Keeps me coming back for more. It's so much fun bringing new people who enjoy it just as much as I do. Will continue to be my go to place for special events and happy gatherings.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as usual! Looking forward to ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent as usual! Looking forward to next visit.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent hostesses and wait staff, very ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Excellent hostesses and wait staff, very good food. Made our special anniversary even more memorable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

All of meals were exceptional. Each pla ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

All of meals were exceptional. Each plate was decorated beautifully, and the food lived up to that expectation. The service was perfect, very attentative, but not intrusive.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed a wide range of dishes during ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

We enjoyed a wide range of dishes during our dinner at Meritage. The butter roasted Maine lobster was superb and the five-spice seared yellow fin tuna was beautifully prepared. My wife enjoyed the aged Gouda agnolotti, and the pan-seared soft shelled crab. Our friends had some of the same dishes, plus the grilled filet mignon. The wine list is excellent and the prices are very reasonable. We were especially impressed with a 2008 Continuum, a Bordeaux-blend wine from Napa.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was slow.Wrong first course was ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Service was slow.Wrong first course was brought.

Plates were removed while we were still"working" on the beignet.

Cheese cake desert tasted like glue or rubber.

This was a special event and the restaurant managed to spoil the occasion.

We have had excellent brunches here before-

So what was the problem?

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Not a place I could afford to dine often ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Not a place I could afford to dine often but highly recommend it for a special occasion. I will definitely go again!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and ambiance. Love the view!!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Sometimes you need to try a new place to dine, especially for your aniversary. This is the place. Beautiful views, fantastic service and the best wines to can find. If you go there thinking to save money or getting a great deal for a meal, stay home. Maybe you can buy pound of salmon and grill it up and feed the family for twenty bucks, but nothing taste better than that 4oz piece of beautiful halibut at the Merirage. Love thithis place!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Dessert is the icing on the cake!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

The waiter knowing our first names and the special occasion set the tone for the evening. The service was outstanding. I eat out all the time in restaurants all over the world so I would say the food and wine was good, or let's say met my expectations for this caliber restaurant. I would highly recommend the short ribs. The view from any table of the Boston harbor is great, not a bad seat in the house. The desserts will make your evening as the flavors will make you smile and say, "What a way to finish a meal." This is a great place for a special occasion, as the staff and the atmosphere makes you feel special as you gaze across the Boston harbor. Enjoy!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

One of the best gastronomic experience I ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

One of the best gastronomic experience I've ever had! Good food, perfect wine pairings, good service and lovely ambiance, overlooking the Boston Harbor, what more can one ask? Will definitely come back if I have the chance. For those with a discerning palate. If you're looking for not just an excellent but an exceptional dining experience, you will not regret choosing this!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food. Gourmet level, beautifu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Excellent food. Gourmet level, beautifully presented. Staff was super polite and efficient. I have several hard to manage food allergies and they took great care of finding options and making the food as needed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

AWESOME. ALWAYS I

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

I have spent at least 100 DELIGTHFUL evenings dining at MERITAGE . The food from Chef Bruce , the wine's chosen by Nick , the wonderful service from the valets, all of the host's and not least the servers. Everyone has continuously gone to great lengths to make sure my experience is outstanding . I plan on doubling my diner count in the future.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every Dining Experience Better Then The Last!!!

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The Meritage team never ceases to amaze and delight me when I dine with them. Chef Bruce and his staff continue to provide an incredible dining experience. I went their for my 10th anniversary dinner this year and every detail down to a custom dessert prepared just for my wife and I where carefully considered. Their Sommelier Nick also created an incredible matching of wines to the Chef's food that was both educational and perfectly developed. I highly suggest this restaurant for both personal and professional dining if you are looking for great dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I recently dined at Merit ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

My husband and I recently dined at Meritage as part of our honeymoon vacation and we couldn't have had a better experience. The service was fantastic and the food was perfect. We ate from the Chef's menu with wine pairings, and each pairing was done very well. We were more than happy with each dish, to include the dessert options. We have already recommended this restaurant to others and hope to be back soon!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place!

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Food Fabulous, view very nice, and quiet. Our server was a bit to aggressive and talked too fast. We really enjoyed the quiet atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Food options were a miss for me. Was loo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Food options were a miss for me. Was looking forward to the wine feel and pairing - but there were so few menu options to chose from that it missed the mark for me.

Service was good, however.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Nice view of harbor

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

I wish I knew about the view of harbor, I would have requested a window seat booth when booking my reservation. Extensive wine selection, white/red wine flights for novice, which I am when it comes to wine. Food is beautifully prepared, no heavy sauces covering everything. Pan seared scallops were delicious and gluten free. Filet was cooked to perfection which seems to be hard at most restaurants- medium seems like a simple request. Shrimp appetizer and soft shell crab were just the right amount of food so we could eat our main course. Staff is very professional and knowledgeable. Definitely a special occasion location, prices are a bit high for a regular evening out. Parking is a breeze if you use the valet. Proper dress should be required, I'll never understand someone walking into such a nice place with a baseball hat and baggy jeans. Everyone's money is green I suppose!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was excellent. Service great.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

The food was excellent. Service great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a great birthday celebration! With ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

What a great birthday celebration! With a 30 page wine list, you are bound to find something that you like.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meritage redeemed itself

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We had dinner at Meritage two years ago and it was an awful experience. We decided to give it a try for Mother's Day brunch and were relieved to have a very pleasant experience. The food quality was high and variety was abundant. Our wine steward Nicholas was very attentive. He comped us our Gran Marnier as the server had forgotten to bring it. We were very well taken care of.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always Excellent

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Had the chef's choice menu with wine pairing for the second time and it was excellent. The food was great and the pairing were spot on. My wife and l loved the variety of the courses. As always the wait staff was very attentive and paid close attention to detail.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was unique and delicious

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Food was unique and delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Dinner at Meritage Restaurant

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

My wife and I were delighted with the dinner we had at the Meritage Restaurant. The food was well prepared and attractively presented. The size of the meal was perfect. The wine list is extensive, and the wines by the glass were top quality. We will certainly visit this restaurant again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romance in Beantown

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

I was in Boston for a conference and headed to Meritage per a close friend's advice. Its fabulous! I was treated like a king by the whole staff and a special thanks goes to the young, very knowledgeable, and quite helpful sommelier. I started w a 3 glass champagne flight-each from a different area of France. 1 was better then the next and all went well w my 2 appetizers-the beautifully textured corn chowder loaded w complex flavors and oh so creamy. Then the lobster gnocchi that was way more fresh briny lobster then it was gnocchi in a kind of brothy sauce-again , loaded w complex flavors but allowing the magnificent seafood to stand out. The fine Main course was the tenderloin of veal cooked perfectly served in a sauce of its own juices and matched well w a pinot from southern Burgundy. Dessert was also great and the Somm kindly treated me to a glass of Tokaji . What a great- high end Dining experience. Cant wait to return w my wife -it was great solo but would be even better for romance!!

https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g60745-d321581-r356088106-Meritage_Restaurant_Wine_Bar-Boston_Massachusetts.html#

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A Special Place

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

We were celebrating my nephew's 27th birthday and Ph.D. graduation - what better place than Meritage! I have been to Meritage for dinner and holiday brunch buffet, but this was my first brunch. First and foremost - the service is impeccable...delightful and helpful staff. We ordered a shared appetizer of sticky buns - unlike any I've ever had. They were light with almost a crispy outside, covered in brown sugar & maple syrup and whole roasted pistachios. I had brioche french toast and my nephew had the hamburger - nothing was left on our plates. The view of the harbor is amazing. My nephew called it the Zen Room - what a peaceful and delightful brunch! Can't wait to go back :)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Meritage has seriously plummeted in my opinion.

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

After many noteworthy experiences at Meritage my recent Sunday brunch was the worst of any I have ever had in a restaurant. The food was insipid, the food presentation was ugly, the staff was indifferent and the table setting was cafeteria like. With a beautiful view on a beautiful Sunday morning my only desire was to get out of that place as fast as I could. I never write bad reviews, but I felt compelled to because this was such a downfall for what was once a memorable restaurant. I feel like the D team showed up for work and took over the operation.

Too bad.

I won't return and you shouldn't either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Want to go back

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Upon our arrival, we were wished a happy anniversary by the hostess. Menu was a bit confusing, but our waiter was helpful to explain it and was knowledgeable about the wine list. Support staff was attentive. Didn't see much of our waiter after we ordered -- support staff delivered the appetizers, meal and other items. All in all, a lovely evening. Will return with our neighbors who are also fans of Meritage.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding eveving

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Right from the start everything was perfect. The wait staff was both knowledgeable and attentive . We had a beautiful table with a water view. So, the ambiance was romantic and soothing. A perfect setting for a special celebration. Wait staff suggested scallops in a grapefuit reduction sauce, my husband loved it. I enjoyed the lamb chop . I have some food allergies and the kitchen out did themselves making my meal delectable. Wine election was outstanding. We will return soon and will share the evening once again with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delish! Service was great!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Food was delish! Service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent service, innovative cuisine, g ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Excellent service, innovative cuisine, great wine selection, nice view, and amazingly quiet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.