Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 3 times today

Meritage Restaurant + Wine Bar

4.6
2012 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
  • Scenic View
Meritage Restaurant + Wine Bar takes the unique approach of matching wine and food with a dynamic, sensory-evoking menu that offers guests an unforgettable culinary experience while simplifying the art of pairing. Led by Chef Daniel Bruce, the innovative Meritage menu is designed to marry culinary flavors to wine flavors. With a passion for food, wine and the art of pairing the two, Chef Daniel Bruce draws inspiration from his experience as Chef and Founder of the Boston Wine Festival. Daniel’s deeply-rooted ties with vintners from around the world are integrated throughout the dining experience in a unique Vineyard-to-Table concept.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Wine Bar, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Tuesday - Saturday: 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(617) 439-3995
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Daniel Bruce
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Atlantic Avenue
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Validated parking is available for dinner reservations. Valet Parking will be $18 with validation. Validation is good for up to 4 hours. Car must enter the garage after 4:30PM.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
South Station stop on the Red Line
Aquarium stop on the Blue Line
Additional
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, Meritage can accommodate all of your special event needs. From Graduation Celebrations to Rehearsal Dinners and Showers, our dedicated team is on hand to assist in carefully planning your event.

View Private Dining Details
What 2012 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.6
service
4.7
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Quiet
81% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Went for 45 th anniversary. Meritage had our flowers on the table and all staff we encountered wished us a happy anniversary. My wife was very happy. The service was prompt and knowledgeable. Creative menu tastings and al a carte. I had lamb while my wife had halibut . Both were fantastic. Great view of the harbor. Highly recommend for that special evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Great restaurant and staff. Food was decent in my personal opinion. Staff took time to explain every dish to me. Very attentative. Wish we had a window seat. Other than that great experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Great rest

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Service slow and disorganized
Food very good and views outstanding

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2018

I am a HUGE fan! I have been dining at Meritage for years, and it only gets better and better and better. The tasting menu is exceptional. Using only the freshest of local ingredients. Chef Daniel Bruce is the best in Boston, his passion for food translates into every well composed dish. Kudos for an excellent wine list as well, by the glass and flights offered at the wine bar. Every time I visit, I notice another addition to his creativity. The handmade chocolate I received as I left the dining room is the kind of detail you see in NYC... run don't walk to this Boston Gem!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Fantastic experience from the valet, hotel personal, hostess, and waitstaff. We felt extra special and will remember this birthday dinner for many years to come. We had the prixe fix (4 course with amuse bouche and bread course) I am baffled how someone could complain that there was not enough food for the price. We both had to take home a portion of our main entree. Each dish was skillfully prepared, especially the foie gras, halibut, and sirloin. High praise to the back of the house and chefs. Meritage, we will be seeing you again very soon. Great job team!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

Testing menu with wine was wonderful. Worth every penny. What a treat.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Excellent all around, great value.
They made our special nite out a wonderful experience.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Touted as one of the three best restaurants in Boston, it was a tremendous disappointment. The two free appetizers were totally uninteresting. The main course included a generous but dry and flavorless piece of lamb, greens that were chewy, hard and pulpy, and sauces that were far from delicate and relevant. The price was exorbitant for food and cuisine of such limited interest.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 23, 2018

Our food was good for the most part. The portions were small. The place seemed touristy and had quite a few empty tables, which was a surprise as it was so highly rated. It was expensive, which we expected, but we also expected a better dining experience. We entered through a desolate, empty hotel lobby and went up an elevator to the restaurant. Once there, we were warmly greeted, and the view of the harbor was very nice. Service was prompt and friendly, but the wine was spilled ( just a little) and nothing was said about it- ok but not what one would expect. It was a nice evening, but overpriced for the experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2018

We were out of town folks seeking a decent meal and intrigued by the website. Were absolutely delighted with Meritage; we had the four course prix fixe menu, the wine pairings and food preparation and presentation were fantastic. As New Yorkers we are 'used to' great restaurants; Meritage would be an absolute star in the city or anywhere else. Worth the flight to Boston to have dinner there; I will definitely do it again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Birthday dinner. We had the 6-course price-fixe dinner and we loved 5 out of 6 courses. The one we didn’t like they immediately asked if they could serve something else in its place — and I gladly took them up on the offer by having seconds of flounder — yes, flounder of all things was exquisite. Service was warm and professional, the wine pairing were advent

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 19, 2018

It was ok, but nothing to write home about. Service was poor.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 18, 2018

The food was delicious
The service, on the other hand, was very poor. The waiter was rushed and extremely inattentive

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

What a special place... my husband and I were blown away! From the ambiance to the waitstaff to the food... where do I begin! We went for our anniversary (which I mentioned on reservation) everyone in the restaurant starting with hostess wished us a Happy Anniversary. For our anniversary we received a free glass of champagne and a beautiful dessert for free! Of course we didn’t expect it, was such a nice surprise. The service and the food was exceptional. We choose the Voyage menu paired with Wine. Each dish tasted as good as it looked and the wine pared perfectly. Not to mentioned we got a table overlooking the Boston Harbor, very romantic. It was a wonderful experience my husband and I will remember forever. Thanks Meritage!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 11, 2018

The food was extremely pricey and the portions were not enough to feed child...the service was outstanding though and top notch...but just extremely dissapointed by the portions especially for price.

The lobster tail was extremely small, maybe 3 small bites for a 60$+ when the day before I went to the Neptune oyster and had the best lobster roll with more lobster than I could've ever imagined for half the price of this baby lobster tail for too much $ ...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Our main server (I believe his name was Jean) provided impeccable service. Everyone had the perfect amount of presence and knowledge. Will definitely be back! It was my girlfriend and I’s anniversary and we tried the Voyage tasting menu. The wine was amazing and the pours were generous. Fantastic experience and many thanks :)

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Exceptional service and food was delicious!! It is a bit on the expensive side, but understandable given the great service and fantastic meals. Each course looked like artwork. We got the tasting menu which was reasonably priced for what it was, but also got the wine pairings. The wine pours were a bit on the weak side...a very small amount to go with each course. I would have preferred to have just purchased a bottle for the 2 of us after seeing the amount of wine that came with the pairings. Overall, a great night though.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2018

Excellent food, service and atmosphere as always. Nothing else quite as good in Boston.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 27, 2018

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left the restaurant, the experience was sensational. Being a chef myself, I don't usually take the time to write a review on a place that I dine, however, with Meritage it certainly deserves it. I took My parents out for a birthday dinner and they have not been here in about 20 years, they were both blown away with how exceptional it is now. My father and I both did the 4 course tasting menu which was more than ample for portions and literally everything was delicious. The crab, scallop, foie taco, halibut, lobster, (my mother ordered just the shortrib for an entree and picked off our plates for the other courses) plus the chocolate dish and the sesame dish for dessert were very good. One of the best parts of the meal was the outstanding wine we had. If you are in Boston and looking for an outstanding dining experience that is well worth a michelin rating with a view that is unbeatable and service and food that only exceed your expectations, come to Meritage!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Prefix menu was excellent and the service was top notch

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

As always the restaurant was outstanding.Everyone was welcoming and our meals were timed per. Great detail was paid to allergies and preferences. I have always had great experiences and have dined here for decades. All of my special occasions are celebrated here.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Our first visit to Boston. First restaurant we booked as we landed. Celebrate my birthday. It Was a great evening. Both for me and my wife. Window seats with view. Excellent food. We took the 4 course menu paired with wine. Superp device. Highly recommended

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Highly impressed by the presentation, flavors and educational experience for the tasting menu. This place is a hidden gem.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 6, 2018

Spectacular, from start to finish - food, service, etc. Dramatic presentation with a top-notch sommelier. We could not have loved it more and think it was better than Per Se in NYC which we consider on elf the best in the USA. Bravo!!!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Top notch service! Everything was perfect and the staff was beyond professional. Will recommend to anyone and everyone looking for that special place to bring their special person.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

The food was amazing and the service was really great! The staff did everything to make us feel welcome and special. The wine pairings were spot on and really some interesting wines

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 27, 2018

Fabulous restaurant that made a business meeting all the more special. The clients felt we above and beyond by choosing this restaurant and all the special attention we received from the waiters and the Sommelier.

I will definitely go back to this restaurant and I whole heartedly recommend itl

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

An absolutely perfect dinner for my girlfriend's birthday. The entire staff
starting with the valet to the coat check to the hostess to the waiter was
extremely courteous highly professional. Food was amazing and
the wine pairings "spot-on." The pace of the service was absolute perfection--
2 or 3 minutes after finishing our course, the next course was delivered to our
table--not rushed and not waiting....it was my first visit to Meritage in over 5
years....I will be sure not to wait so long for my next return visit!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 22, 2018

OUTSTANDING, from start to finish. Service and food were superb!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Had an amazing time. Truly great meal. I went with the four course meal which was delicious to say the least. I will definitely be back again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2018

An amazing dinner for our 10th anniversary! Unbelievable food, service, and ambiance. The four course prix fixe was exquisite - in particular the truffle cannelloni was absolutely incredible!! Highly recommended for a special occasion.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 20, 2018

This restaurant was disappointing, unfortunately. My fiance and I visited Meritage for our 6-year anniversary, we decided to go with a "price fix menu", which was a 4-course meal for $85 per person, we declined the $45 extra p/p for wine pairing. There was also a "full experience" menu at $125 p/p or $195 with wine pairing and a la carte menu.

PROS
- I mentioned my anniversary on the reservation and the staff congratulated us upon arrival and on our dessert.
- The staff was polite and professional
- Restrooms were cleaned and nice
- They couldn't make a pear martini, but they made an okay blackberry martini for me
- My fiance ordered the Basil Vodka martini and he didn't like it, so they took it back and removed it off of the bill


CONS
- It was about 85 degrees F on our table, one of the staff members confirmed that the heat zone was set like that. On a good note, the heat was adjusted.
- Our waiter was terrible, he was not paying attention to our table...
- It took 20 minutes to take our drink order
- We got drinks and bread/butter 30 minutes after we arrived
- Our first course arrived approximately 45 minutes after we arrived and like I said before, the food was just okay... The Peruvian scallops were my least favorite, they were gooey and blend, the octopus with citrus and chorizo broth was good, the lobster was okay, the poached pear was just too sweet. My fiance had the Alaskan King crab, which was very good, the truffle cannelloni- rich but good, the lobster, and 70% chocolate, also rich and very filling.

This restaurant was not worth $300 for two (includes tip). Overall, I was not impressed at all, I've had way better food at The Bancroft or Capital Grill for half that. I will not come back to Meritage.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Good restaurant. Spectacular view. Service, however, is mediocre

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Food was very presentive. Ellegant and delicious but the price was outrageous. The waiter was very professional and friendly...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 29, 2017

Excellent all the way around. The food service and wines were fabulous.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 24, 2017

Food and service was very good. Asked waiter to pair wines with each course and wines were very good. It WAS very expensive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 24, 2017

This was Christmas Eve four course dinner for two with wine pairings optional. Service was perfect. A class act. (The customer is always right at this establishment.) The waiter was extremely knowledgeable about all the wines and dishes. The only part of the entire meal that was not excellent was the bread. Three kinds were offered; the Boston brown bread was dry and cold, the others were fresh and warm. All of the four courses, for both of us, were delicious, wonderfully prepared, visually appealing. Tables far apart, quiet, and optimal for private conversation. Expensive and worth it. We have been here many times for special occasions and will return soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 16, 2017

There are few places in Boston where you can have an exceptional, leisurely meal and feel that you have a privacy in the middle of a restaurant. The food and the ambiance are top notch, and the service should be considered the benchmark for a fine dining experience. Bravo!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 9, 2017

Good but not brilliant.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
51