About Meritage Restaurant + Wine Bar

70 Rowes Wharf
Boston, MA 02110
View Larger Map

From world-class cuisine and an unmatched wine cellar featuring many library selections, to warm hospitality and the urban sophistication of our newly renovated dining room overlooking Boston Harbor, MERITAGE RESTAURANT + WINE BAR offers guests a unique and memorable dining experience.

As one of New England's few Forbes four-star restaurants, MERITAGE RESTAURANT + WINE BAR. awakens the senses, stimulates tastebuds and inspires guests for an evening of fine dining. Led by Chef Daniel Bruce – founder and captain of the Boston Wine Festival - and General Manager and Wine Director Nicholas Daddona, Meritage offers a diverse menu of wine-friendly food. Featuring a new Vineyard-to-Table concept, the menu shares the special relationships Chef Bruce has formed with winemakers from all over the world with diners and showcases New England’s changing seasons.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Wine Bar, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Cross Street:
Atlantic Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 439-3995

Website:
http://www.meritagetherestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Self parking with validation is complimentary, up to 4 hours.

Valet parking with validation is $8, up to 4 hours.

Public Transit:
South Station stop on the Red Line
Aquarium stop on the Blue Line

Executive Chef:
Daniel Bruce

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Meritage Restaurant + Wine Bar, Boston, MA

Report a photo problem

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, Meritage can accommodate all of your special event needs. From Graduation Celebrations to Rehearsal Dinners and Showers, our dedicated team is on hand to assist in carefully planning your event.

Meritage Restaurant + Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (27)
Notable Wine List (27)
Scenic View (25)
See All
Waterfront (24)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Good for a Date (19)
Romantic (18)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Tasting Menu (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Cozy (11)
Business Meals (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Healthy (4)
Authentic (4)
Historic (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Private Room (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Fun (1)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Fireplace (1)
Seasonal (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1880 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Highly recommend this restaurant, we wen ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Highly recommend this restaurant, we went here for brunch on New Year's Day and it was perfect! The food was outstanding, the service was top notch, the view of the harbor was serene and the ambiance was very relaxing, all for a very reasonable cost, would do it again in a heartbeat. When we finished brunch we all went for a walk along the harbor to work off all of the delicious foods we ate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was fantastic and the atmospher ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was fantastic and the atmosphere was elegant yet comfortable. I enjoyed the innovative house cocktails and the wine pairing matched well with the different courses. Was the perfect place to spend New Years Eve with a special someone!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great dinner but the restaurant does not ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great dinner but the restaurant does not provide any place for young NYE revelers to have after dinner cocktails. The place locks up at 1am so not the best place to celebrate NYE

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Fantastic experience with thoughtful ser ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Fantastic experience with thoughtful service and delicious wine pairing & delicate food. Had a great time at my unparalleled dinner date

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Chef tasting menu was a special treat! T ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Chef tasting menu was a special treat! The paired🍷 was impressive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The gnocchi were light and fried to give ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The gnocchi were light and fried to give the outside a little bite. Loved every single thing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

With the exploding restaurant scene in B ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 25, 2016

With the exploding restaurant scene in Boston, it is a treat to have a white table dining experience that is both exceptional in it's food and service. The room, located in the Rowes Wharf Hotel is beautiful with magical views of Boston Harbor. The tables are well spaced, generous in size and the room is lively but conversation is easily heard. Service is professional and friendly. The food is exquisite. We began with shrimp followed by sea scallops (among the best I've ever had), and rare tuna. The cheese platter was varied and delicious. This is a gem to which we'll return often.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Disabled Access, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to the Meritage for Christmas Da ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We went to the Meritage for Christmas Day brunch and it was outstanding. Really an overall great experience. The food was great and they took us early, which we very much appreciated. Highly recommended.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Xmas brunch. The spread wasn't' great. N ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Xmas brunch. The spread wasn't' great. Not many options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

We were a bit disappointed with the Chri ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We were a bit disappointed with the Christmas Brunch. For $100 each you would think they would include a glass of champagne or even a Mimosa. There were 2 or 3 well prepared items (Beef tenderloin, rack of lamb and sushi) Desserts were also pretty well thought out and not too sweet. You had to search or stumble across the bread display which was in a different room. Candy display was a festive touch. No amount of money or prep can really disguise the warming tray effect of overcooked or over steamed food. The cold table could use some kind of chutneys or other sauce/condiments to pair with the terrines and fish /seafood offerings. Caviar station was a nice touch but not paired well with some kind of dry biscuit instead of a more traditional soft blini and also separated from their accompaniments such as onions/chopped eggs/creme fraiche which were in a different room. The dining space is lovely and the view was pretty too. Waitstaff was very attentive except for when we were seated. No water service for 15+ minutes. We made a decision after this that no amount of money can improve a buffet. Next time we will spend our money on a plated meal for brunch, although probably it will be dinner; maybe even at Meritage!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Great food and service. Chef's tasting ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great food and service. Chef's tasting dinner with wines was perfect choice for our anniversary.

Explanations of the food and wine were much appreciated.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Meritage with friends to cele ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We went to Meritage with friends to celebrate the holiday season. We have done this for quite a few years and always, always enjoy. This year we started with duck breast for an appetizer and our entree was lobster - wow - we ended with a slice of buche de noel. It is expensive but well worth for a special dinner. We were seated next to the floor to ceiling windows and had a view of the waterfront and the planes taking off and landing at Logan Airport.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely amazing service. Waiters and ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Absolutely amazing service. Waiters and helpers were very polite, did not interrupt. My wine and water glass was NEVER empty, and the timing between portions was perfect. When i say this was the best dining experience i've ever had i mean it. Thank you to the entire team at Meritage Resturant.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came here for dinner for our 11th Wed ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We came here for dinner for our 11th Wedding Anniversary and it was amazing!!!

Jeronimo was our server and made the best recommendations for drinks, entrees

and desserts. He was very knowledgeable and we hope to be back for dinner again soon.

The crabmeat sole was too die for and the Lobster was amazing!!!!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service.

vip
 (Caribbean)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Thank you Meritage for a wonderful eveni ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Thank you Meritage for a wonderful evening. Excellent service and even better cuisine. A bit on the pricy side but WELL WORTH IT.

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an outstanding meal for Thanksgiv ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had an outstanding meal for Thanksgiving. It was a four course prix fixe, with or without wine pairings, with four choices for each course. At the end, we all wished we weren't so full, because every one of us wanted to stay for a second seating! Amongst the group, we sampled about half of the options, and every single one was superb. The service was prompt and friendly. The wine pairings were perfect for each dish. We have been in many high end restaurants, and Meritage compared favorably with the very best.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We booked well in advance for Thanksgivi ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We booked well in advance for Thanksgiving dinner and requested a harbor view table. Arrived early, checked in and still had to ask to be seated after watching others be seated. We were not offered the center window table even though every other party was seated at one. The bench on one side of our table was unstable and moved up and down (The waiter did attempt to repair it, to no avail). We made the best of it. The soup was savory, the prawns were perfect. When the traditional turkey dish came the first bites were tantalizing, the rest was gristle fat and skin.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Thanksgiving buffet was a mob scene. Wha ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving buffet was a mob scene. What we paid ($120 per plate) should have gotten a much better result. More than an hour wait past our reservation time. The food was picked over and quality was mediocre at best. We have had much better Thanksgiving meals at other restaurants in Boston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

Thanksgivng buffet for 3:30pm, and we w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgivng buffet for 3:30pm, and we were seated just before 5pm. Some even turned the restaurant into the their own private party place. I can't say that the food is that special. They have to do a better job with their food layout as well. The view (water)is pretty from where we were seating. The live jazz music is a little lame.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

I brought my boyfriend to Meritage for h ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 18, 2016

I brought my boyfriend to Meritage for his birthday. From the moment we walked in, it exceeded our expectations. The staff was incredibly attentive, the food was amazing, and the ambience was just what we were looking for. Every need, from water refills to bringing us fresh bread, was anticipated before we even knew we needed it. It made his birthday a truly special occasion. I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone wanting to mark a special occasion.

Tags: Organic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my favorite restaurant in Boston ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 16, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant in Boston and the whole of Massachusetts. Attention is paid to

every detail of your dining experience.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Molecular Gastronomy, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In town and celebrated our daughters bir ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 12, 2016

In town and celebrated our daughters birthday here. The view is spectacular so try to request a window table. Wine list is above average and the highest quality seafood in our opinion. Prepared simply and classically. Very nice experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my girlfriend there for our 3 yea ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I took my girlfriend there for our 3 year anniversary, and it was absolutely amazing. We had several waiters all with different things to do, and they were all exceptional. Most waiters at restaurants always ask you how the food is while you are eating, which is so annoying. Not here. They let you be, and they do everything behind the scenes for you, while also making sure all of your needs are being accommodated. Our main waiter was beyond amazing. He was very friendly, knowledgeable, and also very helpful with helping us pick the best meal for each of us. The food was excellent. People leaving reviews saying that the food isn't worth the price have clearly never been fine dining before. It's about so much than the food. The ambiance, the service, and the overall presentation of everything was worth far beyond what I paid to eat here. We will be coming back here for Valentine's Day for sure.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Meritage is a beautiful restaurant w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The Meritage is a beautiful restaurant with a spectacular view of Boston Harbor but lacks in service and hospitality.

Surprising that a food and wine pairing offer does not include a visit from the Sommelier when one of the wine selections is unacceptable.

The food pairing was fantastic through most courses but an undrinkable port wine paired with dessert left a lasting impression. The waiter admitted that they thought the wine was open for too long which makes me wonder why it was poured in the first place. One would have thought that the Meritage would have offered another wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

My husband took me here on a date for my ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

My husband took me here on a date for my birthday. We had a really lovely evening. The atmosphere was upscale but laid back at the same time. In other words, it was fancy without being stuffy. Our waiter was truly fantastic! The food was very good, albeit a bit pricey- but we expected this. The leisurely time between courses allowed for us to really relax and enjoy conversation. They did not have merlot or malbec which my husband and I typically order. I tried two wines, neither really to my liking, so my waiter suggested a mixed drink with wine and rum- it was excellent (again he was fantastic!). I would recommend ordering dessert- they were very good- especially the chocolate! Overall a very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely restaurant! Had a nice evening. W ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Lovely restaurant! Had a nice evening. Was visiting my son and wanted to take him someplace special. Food was creative and good. My dish was not hot enough but didn't make any comments. My son's and boyfriend s meal was delicious they said. I had the cod. They had lambchop. Would dine there again, but will try someplace else first. Portions were small.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Cozy, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Meritage was one of our favorite "specia ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Meritage was one of our favorite "special restaurants". The food and service is always suburb. We face the food a slightly lower rating due to the change in menus. What made Meritage stand out in its category was the opportunity to order smaller plates so once can experience the wonderful combinations of food. It also made the food tasting a conversation in itself. The decision to eliminate this option makes Meritage a good option in the luxury dining experience but not a standout.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Wonderful meal with impeccable service. ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Wonderful meal with impeccable service. He was a distinguished French gentleman who gave us great recommendations on wine and entree choices. Very elegant setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated two birthdays at once, and ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We celebrated two birthdays at once, and were delighted with our experience! We really recommend choosing their paired wine flights with your food choices. They also, upon request, cheerfully brought out desserts with a single little candle for each celebrant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

One of the best experiences ever!

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 28, 2016

One of the best experiences ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious, uniquely prepared a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Food was delicious, uniquely prepared and elegantly presented. Service was outstanding - our waiter was professional yet very personable, and all the waitstaff were attentive to our needs. Fabulous experience from start to finish. Our out-of-town first-time guests were completely impressed and are looking forward to another visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food and wine, and fantastical ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Fantastic food and wine, and fantastically good and friendly service.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Anniversary dinner at our hotel!! Every ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Anniversary dinner at our hotel!! Everything was perfect!! Food was amazing!! Beautiful view!! Manager brought out champagne for our anniversary. Would definitely recommend dining here while U are in Boston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Had the tasting menu with wine pairings. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Had the tasting menu with wine pairings. Everything was delicious & the service was impeccable.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a perfectly fine meal but didn't ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We had a perfectly fine meal but didn't really enjoy the experience. It's a bit stuffy and lacks the warmth of other upscale restaurants. We don't regret going but probably won't go again. Service and food were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

From the time you enter until you leave ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 21, 2016

From the time you enter until you leave this is truly a fine dining experience. My waiter was outstanding and was quickly able to make excellent recommendations according to my taste in food and wine. Speaking of wine, the list is incredible and can accommodate all price ranges. Similar restaurants in other major cities would be two to three times the price. It's such a pleasure to be able to relax and dine. I'll be back when I return to Boston.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Romantic, , Private Room, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good. Appetizer was o ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The food was very good. Appetizer was outstanding but a small, and I mean very, let down with the main. Wine selection outstanding as is the sommelier. Atmosphere is fabulous. The others dining with me felt the same. That being said, I would not hesitate returning next time I am in Boston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Outstanding menu, great wines. Service q ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Outstanding menu, great wines. Service quiet and efficient.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We got married at the Boston Harbor Hote ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We got married at the Boston Harbor Hotel and came back to celebrate our 10th anniversary and dine at the Meritage. All I can say is that "magnificent dining" would be an understatement. The food, the wines, and the service are all impeccable and made for a very memorable dining experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.