About Meritage Cafe

1039 1st Avenue
Columbus, GA 31901
View Larger Map

Our goal at Meritage is to offer one of the best dining experiences in the greater Columbus area in a cozy, relaxed, upscale atmosphere. For every day to special occasions, for lunch to casual, upscale dining, Meritage has something for everyone. Come taste the special blend that is Meritage.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Dinner in The Dining Room at Meritage:
Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Lunch in The Cafe at Meritage:
Tuesday - Friday: 11:00 am - 2:30 pm
Saturday Brunch/Lunch: 10:30 am - 2:00 pm

Cross Street:
W 11th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(706) 327-0707

Website:
http://www.meritageonline.com/

Parking Details:
If on-street parking is full, there is a nearby parking garage.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Meritage Cafe, Columbus, GA
  • Tomato Parmesan Soup - Meritage Cafe, Columbus, GA
Meritage Cafe, Columbus, GA
Tomato Parmesan Soup - Meritage Cafe, Columbus, GA

Meritage Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
See All
Good for a Date (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Romantic (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Authentic (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Healthy (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Casual (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Cozy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Seasonal (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Business Meals (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
140 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always something new to try. Spiced pea ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Always something new to try.

Spiced pear salad with prosciutto is delicious. A meal by itself.

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Healthy, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Columbus for an event and had ti ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Went to Columbus for an event and had time for dinner before the event started. My girlfriend and I had never been to Meritage and thought we would give it a try. The restaurant was very nice and probably being that it was downtown on a Friday night it was not busy at all. Boy, do the people of Columbus not know what they are missing.

The wine list is very extensive, with mostly wines from vineyards you probably aren't familiar with. No worries. The owner can walk you through just about anything, depending on your tastes.

The menu is not busy and has selections for any palate. Both of our dishes were superbly cooked. I had the braised short ribs that were tender and flavorful. My girlfriend went with the lobster risotto that was out of this world. Huge chunks of lobster in a very creamy risotto.

We don't get to Columbus often but this place will be our first choice when we get back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I brought my friend here before her spec ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I brought my friend here before her special occasion as a classy start to a fun evening. I recommend arriving between 5-6 pm for quiet personal service as people don't begin to arrive until after 6. I had the Crab Encroute and she had the Mexican Street Potatoes. The Crab starter was fabulous and her potatoes were extremely thin, spiralized-sliced, with Hot schirachia-type sauce drizzled atop along with sprinklings of Feta cheese. We enjoyed those very much.

The before dinner cocktails were good but strong so you may ask them to ease up on it a bit if you aren't accustomed to a heavy alcoholic flavor. I ordered the small portion of duck. It was SO TENDER it almost melted in my mouth and the glaze atop it was mouthwateringly delicious. The portions are TINY on small plates so you may want to order the large one.

She had the pasta primavera which was also cooked to perfection with generously-sliced pieces of fresh vegetables within. Afterward we tried their 'Steamed Lemon Pudding Cake' It was a very small portion but the most delicious thing of its kind we have EVER tried'

The owner came over at the end of our meal to ensure that our highest expectations for the dining experience had been met. We assured he that they MOST CERTAINLY had. Personalized service with a seriously gastronomical flair can be had at a MERITAGE dining experience. My friend who had never had the pleasure of enjoying a 4-Star Dining establishment mentioned that she would DIFINITELY enjoy bringing her fiancee' back with her for another delicious dining evening.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent but service was horri ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Food was excellent but service was horrible. We arrived for an early dinner, barely anyone in the restaurant. Food was timely but then, as restaurant started to fill, had to wait 40 min for the server to check on us so we could get our check. Water was never filled. Was going to order dessert but it took so long to see the waiter again after finishing the dinner entree, we didn't want to be there for another hour.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Great wine pairings. Food portions have ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Great wine pairings. Food portions have small and full size options. Great location and nice wait staff.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic wine selection at reasonable p ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Fantastic wine selection at reasonable prices.

Chopped salad always fresh, cold, crisp.

Lamb outstanding.

Filet, tender, and cooked to perfection.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent cocktails with locally produce ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Excellent cocktails with locally produced whiskeys. Innovative menu with many choices for small plates or full dinners. It's a good place whatever the size of your appetite. The owner is very knowledgeable about spirits and wines. Trust her suggestions for pairing wine with the food. This place never disappoints.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and romantic setting. Menu c ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great food and romantic setting. Menu could use a bit more variety.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice quiet place! Great for a romantic e ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 6, 2016

Nice quiet place! Great for a romantic evening out or a group event. Excellent wine selection and food. I would not call it a family place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Meritage has become our go-to restaurant ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2016

Meritage has become our go-to restaurant when we want a "nice place". The menu is creative, the food great, and the service excellent. Excellent and varied wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Took my wife on a "date" after spending ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Took my wife on a "date" after spending three weeks with the grand children . . . :-) Waiter was knowledgeable and attentive, without being intrusive. The food was very good. I had a small plate (lamb), side salad, and side of vegetables (grilled asparagus), it was just enough, and I was able to eat healthily. I had a glass of red wine (Brookman Cellars Cabernet Sauvignon) which was excellent, one of the better I've had the pleasure of drinking. Overall, a pleasurable experience. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was slow and most of the foo ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 11, 2016

The service was slow and most of the food was cold

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Meritage in Columbus GA is Excellent Again

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 28, 2016

We greatly enjoyed Meritage again !!! The foie gras, salads, and our several tapas-smaller plates were excellent !!! The smaller plates are plenty big enough to share and the newer menu gives us many dining options. This time we did not order a regular entrée, instead choosing to try the many smaller plates. Great wine list also. Can't wait to return again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

The food was fantastic. I would highly r ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was fantastic. I would highly recommend it for a special occasion. It is pricy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Disappointed

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on April 30, 2016

I was there with a group of 6 women, all out for a girls night out which we don't get often. We wanted a nice start to the evening with a delicious dinner. We were seated for about 20 minutes before a drink order was taken, where we ordered bottles of wine. We ordered appetizers and entrees. Our food and drinks took a very long time to come out, we ordered more drinks and some came out and others we had to ask for again. The owner of the restaurant was there and overheard us telling the waitress about the four filet mignons' that were ordered were not cooked as we ordered, they were all overdone. We ate them anyway because we were so hungry as it took an hour and a half to get them. The owner did not come to our table until we specifically requested. She was very nice and apologetic and we were given a discount for our dinners. In my opinion we were treated as though our presence wasn't as important as others dining in the restaurant. This isn't the first time I've dined here and the service is typically slow but that night was a little much.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Gem in Columbus

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 21, 2016

One-of-a-kind wine list and amazing food. Service is excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A nice Saturday Evening Dinner

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 16, 2016

The overall dining experience was good. For the type of dinner; the rib eye, a filet, the price is very reasonable. The ambiance is nice and the wait staff is very pleasant. The only thing was that we ordered our steaks medium and medium rare, but when we got them they were medium rare and rare. It is better to undercook them then to overcook them, right? So we sent them back for further work. They were delicious when we got them back. There were two wait staff and the owner. Since there was an event at the opera house they were a little busy and not around when we needed them. Overall we had a pleasant experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

A very nice downtown find

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 8, 2016

A great evening, good food and excellent service. We will go again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always excellent meal!

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 4, 2016

The service is exceptional; the food is fresh; the wine choices are excellent.

Salmon rubbed with cinnamon-sugar was a welcome variation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meritage Cafe in Columbus GA Excellent

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 3, 2016

The cuisine is excellent !!! Our foie gras, salads, scallops, and filet of beef were all excellent !!! Wonderful wine selection by the glass also. Can't wait to return again !!! Great ambiance and wonderful service also.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun birthday celebration

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 27, 2016

The food was delicious and they bent over backward to accommodate my daughters allergies and also made my sons birthday evening special

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beware of Brice

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 27, 2016

Meritage is one of my favorite restaurants in town. I am obsessed with wine and cheese boards and Meritage has both of them. I usually only go to Meritage for special occasions. Anyways, I have worked in the restaurant industry for years, so I try not to judge the service harshly. However, I had the absolutely worst server ever in my life. Brice just ruined the entire evening for me. If it wasn't for the wine list and the sweet as can be manager I would never return. The server couldn't be bothered to say a word to me or my spouse during our entire meal. He never introduced himself. I ordered a cheese board that had a variety of components to it (different cheeses and spreads) he couldn't be bothered to tell me what anything was. He took my salad away before I was done with it. He never asked if our food was ok. When brought the cheese board he only provided my husband and me with one cracker and a basket of digestive cookies, which do not go with cheese at all. He was the exact opposite of what you could expect from such a nice establishment. To sum it up he completely ignored us and acted like we were an inconvenience to him. I was displeased with the duck, only because it was drenched in a thick sauce which was over powering there was about 20x more sauce than duck.

On a more positive note the Salmon was absolutely amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

Lucked out finding Meritage Cafe while on a trip

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 25, 2016

I used the OpenTable app and found this little gem of a restaurant while passing through Columbus, GA. The meal was served with scones and rosettes of lavender infused butter which was quite delightful. I ordered the Mexican street potatoes as an appetizer, but I would likely try something else next time. They were crisp thin potato slices topped with queso fresco and Louisiana hot sauce, which quickly made them soggy. I had a spinach salad with grilled chicken for entrée and it was fabulous with the warm bacon dressing. My friend had the muffuletta sandwich which was quite tasty, but a little smaller than anticipated - about the size of a bagel. It is served with the Mexican potatoes but she substituted a garden salad. Great décor, service was attentive, and good music too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice, quiet, intimate place to go!

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Our experience was nice! The appetizers and salads were better than the entree in my opinion but overall the food was good. Our waitress was attentive and we appreciated that. The 'set' menu for Valentine's Day should've been advertised beforehand because it was $65/per person. Definitely worth the money though!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Always a winner

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 29, 2016

Meritage dining is always reliably delicious with a variety of choices for appetizers and entrees.

The wine list is extraordinary. Besides the fare, the most outstanding feature is the service

and friendliness of the staff.

Don't miss an opportunity to have dinner here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 2, 2016

This cafe has a wonderful atmosphere with a friendly and helpful staff. The menu is rather limited for food but still has good choices that are delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great spot for dinner

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 18, 2015

Really enjoyed atmosphere. Service was excellent and food was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

SHAKEY n LA

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 2, 2015

Ran out of entré that i ordered at 7:45. Way too early to run out of food. Waitress was the best (Erica)! She reccomended a rose wine which was fantastic.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Columbus Meeting

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 2, 2015

Just visited Columbus, Georgia for a nursing conference. This restaurant was the highlight

of our evening, the food was fabulous. We got a window seat. This is a very romantic spot,

but also uplifting and great place to try if you go to Columbus.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time we went to Meritage it was gr ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 1, 2015

First time we went to Meritage it was great so we decided to go back. This time wasn't nearly as good. Service was good. Crabcakes were good. My husband got a steak and he said it was great! The Crab Bisque was ridiculously sweet. I didn't like it at all. I couldn't even eat half of my cup of it. I defintiely would not order that again. The Shrimp and Grits were very bland. They didn't have much flavor to them at all. It was lithely just Shrimp and Grits and a very thin, not favorable sauce. I barely ate any of it because it wasn't good. I was disappointed. My husband was happy though.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

first time diners, we were pleased ,but ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 25, 2015

first time diners, we were pleased ,but surprised by what was served. We had dif. Exptations, will return. I will ask more questions when ordering. -103

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Amazing food, huge wine list

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 19, 2015

Super nice restaurant with amazing food and a huge wine list. A word of advice, don't go in starving to begin with if you have a group. They take great pride in their food (and you can tell), and if you have several people in your group like we did, it did take a while to get our food due to the timing of bringing out hot meals for everyone. We were a wine drinking group and we had plenty of attention from the somollier while we waited for our food. Everyone's meal was amazing, and a few of us thought seriously about licking our plates! Definitely recommend for a special occasion or just a great treat! We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent Menu

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 2, 2015

Duck breast was medium rare, hot and the orange sauce was perfect. The scallops were good, but (as always) there was a grain of sand. Is that a prerequisite fir serving scallops? Highly recommend the deserts. Great wine list.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Evening at Meritage is Memorable Experience

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 29, 2015

When your special dinner guest says that her entree was "the best," you know you've chosen the right place to dine. Both our entrees were extraordinary ( my filet of beef, her grilled samon) in taste as well as in presentation. Our server was kind, efficient and discrete---but never absent! I am looking forward to my next visit to Meritage.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Tried to try one of everything

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 4, 2015

Really great food. From the wine, appetizer, and entree, we barely had room for dessert but we did it anyway. EVERYTHING was delicious! Highly recommend. We went around 5ish and it was nice and peaceful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

This place is fantastic! Food was awesome!!!

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 11, 2015

I went twice in one week. Once with the girls and three days later we took the husbands! Everything was delicious! I had the filet mignon twice with blue cheese that had a hint of bacon. Hands down the best steak I have ever had. I am not a steak lover but this was so tender and it melted in your mouth. We ordered a bunch of appetizers and every one of them was tasty. The tuna was so pink and packed with flavor! We also ordered these Mexican chips with hot sauce and Mexican cheese….wow so good! This place is classy and reasonably priced. I have included Meritage Café in my top 5 places to eat!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Food portions

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 14, 2014

I thought the food quality was good however my particular dish was warm not hot. As for a full menu portion meal that I ordered I felt it was under portioned and should have offered a vegetable with my entree and more of the main meal as well considering the cost.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Anniversary night

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 5, 2014

We came for our anniversary and had a lovely evening. The food was tasty and prepared just as we had expected. Service was attentive (but not overly so). A good evening!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Polaris

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 9, 2014

In Columbus, GA's burgeoning food scene Meritage Cafe is the guide star. Everything is phenomenal, from Meritage's unique wine menu to expertly prepared entrees. My wife and I are accustomed to city dining, we will gladly return to Meritage time and time again. If you're looking for a special place or just the perfect glass of wine to pair with your meal, then look no further.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great Fine Dining!

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 2, 2014

My wife and I dined here for our 3rd anniversary and they made it so special for us! The food was outstanding, the service was outstanding, and they provided us with a complementary bottle of wine! This restaurant is very elegant!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.