About Meritage Cafe

1039 1st Avenue
Columbus, GA 31901
View Larger Map

Our goal at Meritage is to offer one of the best dining experiences in the greater Columbus area in a cozy, relaxed, upscale atmosphere. For every day to special occasions, for lunch to casual fine dining, Meritage has something for everyone. Come taste the experience at Meritage.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Lunch in The Deli at Meritage: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00 am - 2:30 pm
Dinner in The Dining Room at Meritage:
Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
W 11th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(706) 327-0707

Website:
http://www.meritageonline.com/

Parking Details:
If on-street parking is full, there is a nearby parking garage.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Meritage Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Atlanta / Georgia
Special Occasion
Atlanta / Georgia
Most Booked
Columbus
Best Restaurants in Columbus ›

special occasion (14)
notable wine list (13)
fit for foodies (11)
See All
neighborhood gem (9)
romantic (9)
good for groups (5)
late-night find (2)
great for lunch (1)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
127 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service4

The food was fantastic. I would highly r ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

The food was fantastic. I would highly recommend it for a special occasion. It is pricy.

food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Disappointed

Dined on April 30, 2016

I was there with a group of 6 women, all out for a girls night out which we don't get often. We wanted a nice start to the evening with a delicious dinner. We were seated for about 20 minutes before a drink order was taken, where we ordered bottles of wine. We ordered appetizers and entrees. Our food and drinks took a very long time to come out, we ordered more drinks and some came out and others we had to ask for again. The owner of the restaurant was there and overheard us telling the waitress about the four filet mignons' that were ordered were not cooked as we ordered, they were all overdone. We ate them anyway because we were so hungry as it took an hour and a half to get them. The owner did not come to our table until we specifically requested. She was very nice and apologetic and we were given a discount for our dinners. In my opinion we were treated as though our presence wasn't as important as others dining in the restaurant. This isn't the first time I've dined here and the service is typically slow but that night was a little much.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Gem in Columbus

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

One-of-a-kind wine list and amazing food. Service is excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

A nice Saturday Evening Dinner

Dined on April 16, 2016

The overall dining experience was good. For the type of dinner; the rib eye, a filet, the price is very reasonable. The ambiance is nice and the wait staff is very pleasant. The only thing was that we ordered our steaks medium and medium rare, but when we got them they were medium rare and rare. It is better to undercook them then to overcook them, right? So we sent them back for further work. They were delicious when we got them back. There were two wait staff and the owner. Since there was an event at the opera house they were a little busy and not around when we needed them. Overall we had a pleasant experience.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A very nice downtown find

Dined on April 8, 2016

A great evening, good food and excellent service. We will go again!

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always excellent meal!

Dined on March 4, 2016

The service is exceptional; the food is fresh; the wine choices are excellent. Salmon rubbed with cinnamon-sugar was a welcome variation.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meritage Cafe in Columbus GA Excellent

vip
Dined on March 3, 2016

The cuisine is excellent !!! Our foie gras, salads, scallops, and filet of beef were all excellent !!! Wonderful wine selection by the glass also. Can't wait to return again !!! Great ambiance and wonderful service also.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun birthday celebration

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

The food was delicious and they bent over backward to accommodate my daughters allergies and also made my sons birthday evening special

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

Beware of Brice

Dined on February 27, 2016

Meritage is one of my favorite restaurants in town. I am obsessed with wine and cheese boards and Meritage has both of them. I usually only go to Meritage for special occasions. Anyways, I have worked in the restaurant industry for years, so I try not to judge the service harshly. However, I had the absolutely worst server ever in my life. Brice just ruined the entire evening for me. If it wasn't for the wine list and the sweet as can be manager I would never return. The server couldn't be bothered to say a word to me or my spouse during our entire meal. He never introduced himself. I ordered a cheese board that had a variety of components to it (different cheeses and spreads) he couldn't be bothered to tell me what anything was. He took my salad away before I was done with it. He never asked if our food was ok. When brought the cheese board he only provided my husband and me with one cracker and a basket of digestive cookies, which do not go with cheese at all. He was the exact opposite of what you could expect from such a nice establishment. To sum it up he completely ignored us and acted like we were an inconvenience to him. I was displeased with the duck, only because it was drenched in a thick sauce which was over powering there was about 20x more sauce than duck. On a more positive note the Salmon was absolutely amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lucked out finding Meritage Cafe while on a trip

vip
Dined on February 25, 2016

I used the OpenTable app and found this little gem of a restaurant while passing through Columbus, GA. The meal was served with scones and rosettes of lavender infused butter which was quite delightful. I ordered the Mexican street potatoes as an appetizer, but I would likely try something else next time. They were crisp thin potato slices topped with queso fresco and Louisiana hot sauce, which quickly made them soggy. I had a spinach salad with grilled chicken for entrée and it was fabulous with the warm bacon dressing. My friend had the muffuletta sandwich which was quite tasty, but a little smaller than anticipated - about the size of a bagel. It is served with the Mexican potatoes but she substituted a garden salad. Great décor, service was attentive, and good music too.

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Nice, quiet, intimate place to go!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Our experience was nice! The appetizers and salads were better than the entree in my opinion but overall the food was good. Our waitress was attentive and we appreciated that. The 'set' menu for Valentine's Day should've been advertised beforehand because it was $65/per person. Definitely worth the money though!

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a winner

Dined on January 29, 2016

Meritage dining is always reliably delicious with a variety of choices for appetizers and entrees. The wine list is extraordinary. Besides the fare, the most outstanding feature is the service and friendliness of the staff. Don't miss an opportunity to have dinner here.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food

Dined on January 2, 2016

This cafe has a wonderful atmosphere with a friendly and helpful staff. The menu is rather limited for food but still has good choices that are delicious.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Great spot for dinner

Dined on October 18, 2015

Really enjoyed atmosphere. Service was excellent and food was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

SHAKEY n LA

Dined on October 2, 2015

Ran out of entré that i ordered at 7:45. Way too early to run out of food. Waitress was the best (Erica)! She reccomended a rose wine which was fantastic.

Tags: romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Columbus Meeting

Dined on October 2, 2015

Just visited Columbus, Georgia for a nursing conference. This restaurant was the highlight of our evening, the food was fabulous. We got a window seat. This is a very romantic spot, but also uplifting and great place to try if you go to Columbus.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4

First time we went to Meritage it was gr ...

Dined on September 1, 2015

First time we went to Meritage it was great so we decided to go back. This time wasn't nearly as good. Service was good. Crabcakes were good. My husband got a steak and he said it was great! The Crab Bisque was ridiculously sweet. I didn't like it at all. I couldn't even eat half of my cup of it. I defintiely would not order that again. The Shrimp and Grits were very bland. They didn't have much flavor to them at all. It was lithely just Shrimp and Grits and a very thin, not favorable sauce. I barely ate any of it because it wasn't good. I was disappointed. My husband was happy though.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4

first time diners, we were pleased ,but ...

Dined on August 25, 2015

first time diners, we were pleased ,but surprised by what was served. We had dif. Exptations, will return. I will ask more questions when ordering. -103

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Amazing food, huge wine list

Dined on August 19, 2015

Super nice restaurant with amazing food and a huge wine list. A word of advice, don't go in starving to begin with if you have a group. They take great pride in their food (and you can tell), and if you have several people in your group like we did, it did take a while to get our food due to the timing of bringing out hot meals for everyone. We were a wine drinking group and we had plenty of attention from the somollier while we waited for our food. Everyone's meal was amazing, and a few of us thought seriously about licking our plates! Definitely recommend for a special occasion or just a great treat! We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

Excellent Menu

Dined on June 2, 2015

Duck breast was medium rare, hot and the orange sauce was perfect. The scallops were good, but (as always) there was a grain of sand. Is that a prerequisite fir serving scallops? Highly recommend the deserts. Great wine list.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

Evening at Meritage is Memorable Experience

Dined on May 29, 2015

When your special dinner guest says that her entree was "the best," you know you've chosen the right place to dine. Both our entrees were extraordinary ( my filet of beef, her grilled samon) in taste as well as in presentation. Our server was kind, efficient and discrete---but never absent! I am looking forward to my next visit to Meritage.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Tried to try one of everything

Dined on April 4, 2015

Really great food. From the wine, appetizer, and entree, we barely had room for dessert but we did it anyway. EVERYTHING was delicious! Highly recommend. We went around 5ish and it was nice and peaceful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

This place is fantastic! Food was awesome!!!

Dined on March 11, 2015

I went twice in one week. Once with the girls and three days later we took the husbands! Everything was delicious! I had the filet mignon twice with blue cheese that had a hint of bacon. Hands down the best steak I have ever had. I am not a steak lover but this was so tender and it melted in your mouth. We ordered a bunch of appetizers and every one of them was tasty. The tuna was so pink and packed with flavor! We also ordered these Mexican chips with hot sauce and Mexican cheese….wow so good! This place is classy and reasonably priced. I have included Meritage Café in my top 5 places to eat!!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5

Food portions

Dined on December 14, 2014

I thought the food quality was good however my particular dish was warm not hot. As for a full menu portion meal that I ordered I felt it was under portioned and should have offered a vegetable with my entree and more of the main meal as well considering the cost.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Anniversary night

Dined on December 5, 2014

We came for our anniversary and had a lovely evening. The food was tasty and prepared just as we had expected. Service was attentive (but not overly so). A good evening!

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service4

Polaris

vip
Dined on November 9, 2014

In Columbus, GA's burgeoning food scene Meritage Cafe is the guide star. Everything is phenomenal, from Meritage's unique wine menu to expertly prepared entrees. My wife and I are accustomed to city dining, we will gladly return to Meritage time and time again. If you're looking for a special place or just the perfect glass of wine to pair with your meal, then look no further.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Fine Dining!

Dined on November 2, 2014

My wife and I dined here for our 3rd anniversary and they made it so special for us! The food was outstanding, the service was outstanding, and they provided us with a complementary bottle of wine! This restaurant is very elegant!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

Small problem

Dined on October 24, 2014

We really enjoyed your restaurant...food was very good. They made a substitution on one entree and I thought it could have been handled better....she did not ask if it was ok or iif we would prefer something else. She just brought it and attempted an explanation. She did then bring something else....not a good gesture. I did love my martini...one of the best I have had ever! Great bartender!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Date Night Favorite

Dined on October 11, 2014

We come to Meritage to slow down, talk over a nice glass of wine. Every dish has wonderful flavors. The owner takes the time to help pick the perfect wine pairing. The staff are very attentive. This would also be a great place for a business lunch to impress.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service3

Overall good +

vip
Dined on September 20, 2014

Appetizers and desert were great. In our group two out of the four meals were just ok. Chicken dish was dry and salmon was a slightly over done. The chicken dish also came with roasted potatoes which were dry and portion was small. Duck and steak were perfect. The dining room had a great ambiance.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a delightful find the food was ...

Dined on September 19, 2014

This was a delightful find the food was excellent and unique without being wierd! Many by the glass wine optuons including 3 oz for tasting/sampling. We will return!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4

Great for a Date Night

Dined on September 14, 2014

Their wine list is very extensive and they have a lot of knowledge of the wines to help you make your decision. The food was incredible, I have the beef short ribs over grits, something I had never thought of doing, and it was amazing. This is one of the rear restaurants in Columbus that is not primarily a bar. I will definitly go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service3

bar good food not good

vip
Dined on September 10, 2014

Lovely atmosphere and nice people. They need a good chef. I had the lacquered salmon which tasted like a subpar frozen dinner. My companion had the pork slders and he wasn't pleased. So much potential thet just need to seriously up their game with their cuisine.

food5
ambience5
service5

Better than Before!

Dined on August 1, 2014

This experience was superior to our first. The first was bad but to no fault of the Owner - huge crowd from the Springer Theater. The food and wine were excellent! We like to take our time when we go out. It was nice to relax and not to be rushed. Meritage could be the place for any occasion. It would be a great place to drop in for apps and a glass of wine after a walk through the downtown area.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service5

Very good food

Dined on July 13, 2014

We enjoyed our visit to Meritage but found it to be rather highly priced compared to our expectations. It is quiet inside, the ambience is gentle, but floor space is cramped in comparison to other high end restaurants like Epic.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience4
service5

Your directions are misleading! Our mea ...

Dined on June 28, 2014

Your directions are misleading! Our meal was excellent; we both ordered the duck special that evening. Service was most attentive; I believe our server's name was John, and he interacted quite charmingly with us.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent experience

Dined on June 27, 2014

Meritage is a great place if you want a unique dinner experience in Columbus. Owner Faye leads a great staff that features excellent and consistent food with the most extensive wine by the glass selection I've ever seen. Pricing is in line with high quality food but is not excessive.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4

Excellent food, super friendly

Dined on June 14, 2014

The staff were very kind. The sommelier was on site and freely suggested pairings based on our order. It certainly isn't an inexpensive place to go for dinner but food was delicious. The filet was ordered medium rare and prepared medium well, while the lamb was cooked perfectly to medium rare. Side choices were limited, however. Due to the quality customer service, wine selection, and overall quality of the food, I still rate Meritage as 4 stars in despite what I view as basic oversights.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2

Hit and miss

vip
Dined on June 4, 2014

What looked like a lovely setting and ostensibly upscale for Columbus, failed to hit the mark on several points. Our waiter attempted to be attentive, but bread plates, albeit late into the meal, but forgot the bread and the butter. The lobster bisque was delicious. Don't bother with the puff pastry version; soup alone. Salmon had a peanut crust with a kick, nicely offset with a slightly sweet spinach base that complemented it tastefully. Scallops were perfectly cooked, but overwhelmed with a heavily oiled/buttered mashed potato base and a glop of still cold buerre Blanc topping. Filet was just ok. This place has all the makings of a Fine Dining venue which Columbus NEEDS, but execution was inconsistent and oversight lacking.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A Columbus GA Best Restaurant

Dined on April 29, 2014

Outstanding in all aspects. Don't miss an opportunity to dine here!

Tags: special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.