Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

About Meritage Cafe

Meritage Columbus is a relaxed, upscale lunchtime bistro cafe that morphs into a casual, sleek, wine focused dinner restaurant with a menu that reflects classic European & American Regional dishes with a Southern influence. Date night, dinner with family or friends, or just stop by after work or after a show at the Springer or the River Center. We would love to see you.Share Our Passion, Join Us at The Table

1039 1st Avenue
Columbus, GA 31901
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Tue–Fri 11:00 am–2:30 pm
Sat 10:30 am–2:00 pm
Brunch
Sat 10:30 am–2:00 pm
Dinner
Tue–Thu 5:00 pm–9:30 pm
Fri, Sat 5:00 pm–10:30 pm

Cross Street:
W 11th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(706) 327-0707

Website:
http://www.meritageonline.com/

Parking Details:
If on-street parking is full, there are two nearby parking garages.

Uptown Valet operates Thursday-Saturday Call (706) 580-2425

Additional:
Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Meritage Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

Noise

Quiet

82% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Good for a Date (5)
See All
Quiet Conversation (5)
Romantic (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Business Meals (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Cozy (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Authentic (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tapas (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fun (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Healthy (1)
Casual (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort by
S
187 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

We were dining before a show at the Springer. Scheduled an early reservation because reviews said service could be slow. We found that this was not true at all. The bartender created an espresso martini for two of my friends and they loved it. My daughter and I enjoyed the red snapper special very much and the pork belly lollipop appetizer was also good. My friends both ordered steak dishes and ate well but because they like their meat over cooked didn’t enjoy their dinners as much as they did the martinis. We were done well before show time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2017

I am surprised this restaurant is so far down the list of places to eat in Columbus on TripAdvisor. My family and I had one of the best dinners we’ve had in Columbus here. The beet salad and scallops were amazing. I would definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 25, 2017

This was our first time dining at Meritage as we were visiting family newly stationed at Fort Benning. The wine list was very extensive and had some unique and interesting wines. The owner/manager guided us to a really nice reasonably priced bottle that we all enjoyed. She came back to check on us a number of times and made us feel very welcome. Oh yes, the food was fantastic as well. The pimento cheese fritters are terrific as was the ahi tuna appetizer. We had a variety of entrees and all were very good. We will definitely be back next time we’re in Columbus.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 24, 2017

The food at Meritage is delicious. However, we have been twice in the past month and encountered issues with the service, bar, and kitchen (timing, etc.) each time. Hopefully this will be fixed so that it matches the great taste of the food.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on November 17, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed the ambience on date night. Great food, great service. Savannah was great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 16, 2017

Great place to meet for excellent and unusual cocktails featuring some Georgia-made liquors. I especially like the Hot Georgia Nights. The wine list is interesting and well thought out with some choices not seen in other local restaurants. The small plates offerings allow a diner to choose more than one option without being overwhelmed. Our party of six was well pleased with Meritage.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 16, 2017

They made my birthday dinner exceptional.
The service was great i loved my food (I had seafood pasta!)
The Birbet wine was a hit with my group.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 15, 2017

My boyfriend noticed that the manager went around to everyone’s table but ours. We were the only Black individuals in the establishment because of this, we probably won’t be visiting again. The food was delicious though.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

I’ve eaten here before and had a fantastic time the first visit. This visit left a little to be desired. We sat with empty waters for a good bit and the bottle of wine that was ordered took longer then before to make it to the table. The main food order to way longer than before even though we didn’t order anything special. The tables around us that came a good while after us to the restaurant had even gotten their main food before us. When the food did come it was lukewarm. We all decided next we want to go out again that we will try a different restaurant. For the price that we payed the service just wasn’t up to par with it. It was such a great dining experience the first time which just makes it that much more of a let down this time for the money spent.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Bar space is very nice. Had salad with salmon that was terrific!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 28, 2017

The salmon and resotto dish was incredibly good. Would have it again any time.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Highly recommend the pimento cheese fritters and the spiced peach cocktail. The risotto was decadent. Brussel sprouts were a touch heavy. Wife’s steak was done perfectly while mine was over even though we ordered them the same temperature. Will try the spot again, as we picked a horrible night to dine uptown as there were performances at the Springer and the RiverCenter the same time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

I've been wanting to try this place for a while and I'm sad I didn't go sooner. The risotto and creme brulee are to die for. The Gimlet was super tasty. Can't wait to go again!

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Good food and nice wine selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We had just returned from Napa and got to experience Meritage. Wow. Better than any meal we had the whole time we were in Napa including the Keller restaurants. The staff were excellent and helped us select a superb wine. The snapper and fillet were absolutely delicious as was the corn risotto. The homemade rolls are to die for. We live out of town and can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

We were in Columbus for an event over our anniversary and chose Meritage because of a prior lunch two years ago. Dinner for 5 was absolutely fabulous. Two of us had seafood, two had steak at poivre and one had the Georgia charcuterie. Wine list was very good and very reasonable. Service was attentive and helpful. It's worth a drive!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 17, 2017

I went there with my wife and my son to celebrate his graduation from Fort Benning becoming a soldier. My wife is a vegetarian and the menu was perfect for her and my son and I had the steak filet mignon that were unbelievable. The ambience was great and the Service was perfect. As a matter of fact we went back two days later for another meal. You can't go wrong here.

Tags: Authentic, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Vegan, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Bar Seating, Cozy, Romantic, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 11, 2017

While the food was very good, our waiter was not. He had to return to the table several times because he forgot parts of our order. While he brought his tablet with him, he never looked up from it and was more concerned with finding the items we were ordering. He visited the table to often while we were eating, but not often enough when we were ready to order something else or get our check. He's "creeping" up to our table left a very weird vibe for this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Enjoyed our anniversary dinner immensely! The scallops were the best I've had in years! They gave us a choice of complimentary champagne or dessert for our anniversary💟 awesome dining experience.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Faye was phenomenal and paired great wines with each dish at dinner. Highly recommend you request her advice when ordering.

I loved the salmon dish.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Our first visit to Columbus.....treated to a great evening at Meritage! A casual, but distinctive space, made for a nice evening with a fantastic meal. The owner (she was such a nice host) advised us on wine and dinner. She did not steer us wrong.... the salmon and snapper (fish of the day) were delicious! The small portion salads were perfect (get the beer salad!). Only negative was the small desert portion. Meritage is definitely a nice spot!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Been many times and have never been disappointed. Would recommend highly!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal. Atmosphere was wonderful and very relaxing. We shall return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Had a lovely lunch reuniting with old friends. The staff made several last-minute changes for us all without complaint. The food was delicious and enough to take home for a second lunch. A beautiful street view out the large windows provided great ambiance. In short, loved it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great food, great drinks. Solid.
Go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Smart but unpretentious food. Our entrees were excellent, seafood risotto and shrimp & grits, we debated without conclusion which was best. The desserts too were rich and full of flavor but neither heavy nor overly sweet, such a nice finish. Downtown ambiance and good wine (with an assist from the owner). A great meal that my son and I will remember. Thank you Meritage

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Authentic, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 24, 2017

We love Meritage!! Our food was perfection and so was the wine! Faye was a delight! Will be back often!

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 23, 2017

The appetizers were rather good. The pimento cheese fritters were rather deliciously amazing. However, the Mexican street potatoes with cotija cheese would have been better as actual potatoes and not potato style chips; a more flavorful cheese would have been better, but the sauce was good. The Seafood Risotto was rather bland and didn't excite my mouth. The Tomato Parmesan Bisque was the right creamy texture, seasoning, and delectable. Other menu items seem enticing but a bit pricey. If I was in the Columbus, GA area again, I would give Meritage another go and see how it fares.

Tags: Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Creative alterations to some of the menu items: baked salmon, especially.
The carrots are wonderful! It's refreshing to have a choice of the glazed carrots.
Tender ribeye steak that was cooked to perfection.

Having dinner at Meritage prior to a theater performance is an ideal way to start the evening.
The attentiveness of the staff and the owner truly create a special and friendly atmosphere.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Spicy, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Food was delicious! I had filet mignon and my husband had the scallops. The crab encroute appetizer was delicious. Service was ok. They were busy and we waited for over 10 mins before someone came. But the manager made it right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Food was just ok. I'm shocked at all the good reviews honestly. The bruschetta was awful - tasted funky - don't know another way to say it. Steak was rubbery. Server was horrible - took 20 minutes to get a drink. Just not a good experience except.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Best sea bass in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 21, 2017

This experience made my week in Columbus. Even while working around construction in part of the building the service, quality and atmosphere were outstanding--the weather outside happened to be fabulous, but really it is the owner and her team who make the atmosphere the best it can be. From walking up to the temporarily closed entrance the owner was warmly welcoming and joking with me, and Dianna, who served me, set a great tone with conversation, a wonderful sense of humor and perfect knowledge of the menu and its offerings. She nailed each recommendation and did everything possible to accommodate some one-off requests. The wine list, even by the glass, is superb and I had one of the best cabernets I recall since my first sip of Silver Oak 25 years ago. The tomato Parmesan bisque soup popped with flavor, and the crab en croute was perfect--the pastry light and flaky in a very nice sauce. My main was the lamb chops, which in fact did very neatly melt in my mouth. I ended with a house made lemon pudding steamed cake which was excellent and freshly made coffee. I ate the other half of my crab en croute for breakfast and, yes, it held up and still ate well cold! Lovely!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We had an amazing experience on our first visit and we will return to try more of the menu. The rosemary bread was a great start but I wish we would have saved some for our fondue appetizer. The fondue for 2 was perfect, not too heavy. Both of our filets were cooked to perfection. The potato cake served under the filet was a little dry but the red wine Bordelaise helped add moisture. The waitstaff was very pleasant. Cocktails were impressive. Highly recommend the Cigarettes and Coffee.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Wonderful ambiance. There was some technology issues that was causing the staff some distress, however, they got us seated and took drinks order. The grapefruit cosmo was very tasty. My first choice for dinner, New Orleans shrimp, was not to my liking. Had a bitter aftertaste. They kindly allowed me to order something else without a fuss, lamb with sweet pea rissoto. That was definitely a better option for me. My dinner companion ordered the duck tacos which she reported were excellent. The fries with siracha sauce was not bad but a salad or vegetable accompaniment would have been better. It was a very nice restaurant with good service. Despite my not liking the flavor of one dish, they made sure I had a good dining experience. Already recommended to several people.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Another great dinner at meritage! Food is always top notch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Went for our wedding anniversary. Owner was very polite and brought us out complementary glasses of preseco to celebrate after our waitress asked if we were out fr anything special.

I had the Hot Georgia Night cocktail which was awesome. I ended getting another. My wife had a blood orange martini that she wasn't to fond of and the staff quickly replaced without a problem.

Food was amazing. They had small portion dinners which was great since we ate appetizers and didn't want to leave too full. We had cheese and chartrutery board. Great cheeses.

I had small scallops with sautéed vegetables which were great and cooked perfectly. My wife had a small plate lamb chops which were also great and cooked perfectly.

Overall a great experience. Would defiantly recommend this and eat there again.

Tags: Tapas, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 6, 2016

I went for my birthday and the experience was nice. The waitress was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Always something new to try.

Spiced pear salad with prosciutto is delicious. A meal by itself.

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Healthy, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Went to Columbus for an event and had time for dinner before the event started. My girlfriend and I had never been to Meritage and thought we would give it a try. The restaurant was very nice and probably being that it was downtown on a Friday night it was not busy at all. Boy, do the people of Columbus not know what they are missing.

The wine list is very extensive, with mostly wines from vineyards you probably aren't familiar with. No worries. The owner can walk you through just about anything, depending on your tastes.

The menu is not busy and has selections for any palate. Both of our dishes were superbly cooked. I had the braised short ribs that were tender and flavorful. My girlfriend went with the lobster risotto that was out of this world. Huge chunks of lobster in a very creamy risotto.

We don't get to Columbus often but this place will be our first choice when we get back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.