About Mercer Kitchen

99 Prince Street
New York, NY 10012
View Larger Map

Located at the Mercer Hotel, Mercer Kitchen brings a chic, sophisticated vibe to the heart of SoHo. When Mercer Kitchen opened in 1998, it immediately became a destination for New Yorkers, celebrities, and tourists. Situated in the basement of a historic building constructed in the 1800s, the… restaurant was designed by Christian Liaigre as a combination of industrial and classic modernism. Chef Jean-Georges’ American menu features market-driven, seasonal ingredients prepared in a simple yet elegant style, with favorites like the Tuna Spring Roll, Steamed Shrimp Salad, wood-fired pizzas, and classic Warm Valrhona Chocolate Cake. There is an open kitchen, where guests can sit back and watch the show.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Organic, French American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Mon-Sat 7:00am-11:30am & Sunday 7:00am-11:00am
Lunch: Mon-Fri 11:30am-3:30pm
Late Lunch: Mon-Fri 3:30-5:30pm
Brunch: Sat, Sun 11:00am-4:00pm
Dinner: Mon-Thu 5:30pm-12:00am
Fri, Sat 5:30pm-1:00am
Sun 5:30pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Corner of Prince and Mercer Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 966-5454

Website:
http://www.themercerkitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking available after 5 pm and on holidays and weekends. Parking garage is located on Mercer St. between Houston and Prince.

Public Transit:
B,D,F,M to Broadway/Lafayette; 6 to Spring St; or N,R to Prince Street.

Executive Chef:
Jean-Georges Vongerichten

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Jean-Georges brings a chic vibe to Soho at Mercer Kitchen, with a bright, airy café upstairs and a spacious restaurant on the lower level. The ambiance of the restaurant is timelessly stylish, and sexy, with exposed brick walls. The American Provencal menu features fresh and seasonal ingredients.

Mercer Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.7

ambience

4.2

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (46)
Special Occasion (40)
Modern Decor (38)
See All
Hot Spot (37)
Casual (34)
People Watching (31)
Good for Groups (31)
Fun (28)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Cozy (26)
Vibrant Bar Scene (26)
Romantic (23)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Great for Brunch (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Open Kitchen (18)
Business Meals (18)
Great for Lunch (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Comfort Food (14)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Late-night Find (13)
Healthy (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Authentic (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Family Style (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Historic (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Seasonal (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Scenic View (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Organic (2)
Vegan (1)
Tapas (1)
Live Music (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Spicy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
3694 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was definitely a happening place, a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined a day ago

This was definitely a happening place, a restaurant you would see in movies. That being said if you don't like noisy restaurants this place is not the one for you. Also, the tables are somewhat close together so it was hard getting out for some of my friends without bumping into the tables beside us.

Service:

This is definitely not a place for a quick bite instead a good for a place for long conversations as it took about 45 minutes to 55 minutes for the food come out. It was nice though that the host gave us an update after we have been waiting for 35 minutes after having placed the order and told us that our food was coming soon and thanked us for patience. Waters were refilled with regularity.

Food:

Rigatoni with Meatballs - 3/5 stars

  • was just alright, flavor and quality certainly did not justify its price (26$)

Salmon - 4.5/5

  • cooked well, potatoes were season 12, sprouts were tasty

Chicken - 4/5

  • cooked well, green beans and carrots fine

Warm Valrhona Chocolate Cake - 4.8/5

  • Cake was really lovely, loved the chocolate gooeyness inside, a bit stingy with the ice cream so the ratio was a little off

Would return but would not order any pasta dishes. 4/5

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Love mercer kitchen...been visiting NYC ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Love mercer kitchen...been visiting NYC for years and always eat here ..never had a bad meal here and staff always fantastic ...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, People Watching, , Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Relatively high priced for being close t ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Relatively high priced for being close to other diners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

This was my first time at Mercer Kitchen ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

This was my first time at Mercer Kitchen, a place recommended by many friends. However my experience was not as good as expected ... We were seated in a table right at the corner behind the columns ...Maybe that's why none of the waiters could see us ... After a while we order 2 entrances ( those were the best of the night ) and a pizza ( that when arrived was already cold ) ... The bread and olive + water were never offered to us although we saw all other tables being served

We ate the cold pizza and without any request the check was on the table...The waitress not even asked if we would like any desert or coffee...and when we asked for the coffee she looked at us as it was a crime...Well that's was my poor experience here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Waiter was rude and treated us like we d ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Waiter was rude and treated us like we didn't matter because we were teenagers. Also made reservation for 2, we showed up at 1:45, not seated till 2:15. The food itself was delicious.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Great, delicious food and attentive wait ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Great, delicious food and attentive wait staff mindful of my celiac restrictions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The portions were incredibly small, espe ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

The portions were incredibly small, especially for the price. For 18 dollars I got a 2-egg omelet that I finished in 5 bites and 5 mini potatoes (literally each the size of a marble!!!). No wonder the restaurant was empty on a Sunday at 12PM. I was embarrassed to have brought my family here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Mercer Kitchen is always a stop when I c ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Mercer Kitchen is always a stop when I come to NYC. The Mercer Burger is a must try.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

3 people to a 2 seater table in a empty ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

3 people to a 2 seater table in a empty restaurant, interesting.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Interesting restaurant (in the basement) ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Interesting restaurant (in the basement), very good service, exquisite food. I do recommend!

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We have been coming here for years and w ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

We have been coming here for years and will continue to come back as it's one of our favorite places to eat in NYC. Their Tuna Pizza is the tops!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server added things to the bill that we ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Server added things to the bill that we didn't have. Asked for separate checks to prevent confusion. He said wait until the end and there was confusion. When I needed help or something no server was to be found. Was charged for a mojito and no one even had a mojito. Never going back.

Tags: Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Ok food, but overpriced for what it was. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Ok food, but overpriced for what it was...cocktails were good, and good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Simply: impressive. Hadn't been here in ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Simply: impressive. Hadn't been here in awhile but what a great experience. Great & responsive service and the kabucha squash & ricotta toast...unbelievable. A definite must order!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great food and service.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All the food came out at once (6 appetis ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 3, 2017

All the food came out at once (6 appetisers between 3 people), average service from the waiters. Food was good, not amazing. Expect the service and overall experience to be much better when paying $150 a head.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Place really nice but the food ( for tha ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Place really nice but the food ( for that price $$$) is not the best..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

The drinks were taking too long

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The drinks were taking too long

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Friendly service but average food and ov ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Friendly service but average food and over priced. The meal definitely did not match the Open Table rating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

The place is nice. The food is not good ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The place is nice. The food is not good and to expensive!

I

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Preset menu and wasn't good. 3oz salmon ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Preset menu and wasn't good. 3oz salmon for entree. Lobster was good- that was it. Not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Amazing food! Fabulous service and atmos ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Amazing food! Fabulous service and atmosphere! Strongly recommend to all those who love dining in places with great ambience! Thank you Mercer Kitchen. We will visit again

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Family Style, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is always delicious. The restaurant ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food is always delicious. The restaurant didn't have it together in time to have the credit card to hold the table on the website, so they requested I send it to them via email. No...

Again food was phenomenal... However a busboy lingered by the table for the entirety of the meal and asked me (I counted) 11 times if he could take my plate, while my fork was in my hand. How about you leave me alone

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Good ambience, excellent food. Would hig ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Good ambience, excellent food. Would highly recommend Mercer Kitchen when visiting NYC.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Mercer Kitchen is always my go-to spot f ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Mercer Kitchen is always my go-to spot for a special date night! Excellent food and impressive service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Saturday brunch. The buttermilk pancakes ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Saturday brunch. The buttermilk pancakes stood out as a favorite, followed closely by the avocado toast and the eggs Benedict. The waffle was a little disappointing, but the whipped cream and berries were a perfect compliment to the other dishes.

Great service, and a very nice table downstairs, but the room is dark and a little dungeony. It was a relief to come back outside into the light. If you're going during the day, sit upstairs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

We were underwhelmed. Wish we had gone ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We were underwhelmed. Wish we had gone for lunch or dinner instead of brunch. The service was a little slow too and they were not crowded.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

I used to love their burger but it was t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

I used to love their burger but it was terrible this time. They changed the bread and now it was just too soggy. I took my mom and aunt that were visiting from Japan. My mom uses a cane, and they were not very helpful in offering her a place to wait when we arrived slightly early. They also seated us at this very small table with an awkward configuration and would not move us. The hosts were absolutely unfriendly. With the food quality and the terrible service, I would not recommend this place no longer to anybody.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value3

The atmosphere was enjoyable. We arrive ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The atmosphere was enjoyable. We arrived early and waited at the bar for our table. The bartender was attentive, helpful and responsive. Once we arrived at our table our waiter was below average. His service was very slow. He even mocked the man at the table next to us. Hopefully, this is just one bad water but he was certainly unimpressive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Great ambiance! Great food. Highly reco ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great ambiance! Great food. Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great kale salad

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great kale salad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

The overall feeling of hospitality was l ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The overall feeling of hospitality was lacking in the entire restaurant: from the welcome upon entering the restaurant, to the hostess desk, bartender and even the table server. Everyone was going through the motions without consideration for the fact that without the customer, none of them would be working tonight. Three of our food items were wrong (sauce on side requested and never brought out for example) with one item delivered to the table not even ordered and no check in from service staff after entree delivery to make aware. Something was off entire night. We also witnessed customers being asked to sit at substandard tables with plenty of other tables open and available for seating. Each time until restaurant was busier the customers asked to move tables. Once again maybe the floor managers who spent their time talking to each other should have been paying better attention to what was happening to their guests that evening and finding a solution for these misplaced tables. The food that was delivered correctly was delicious but overshadowed by a ho-hum attitude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Great, the host is underground and super ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great, the host is underground and super nice. The food is fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is downstairs... didn't k ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The restaurant is downstairs... didn't know that, so I stood at the door like an idiot, even though there were bartenders in the lounge above. They walked right by us and looked at us and just stared and didn't say anything... and then we got downstairs at 4:55 for our 5 pm reservation and the hostesses were just very rude. They weren't friendly and just overall rude and not accommodating. The tables were very small and the tables and chairs were very low to the ground. I am almost 6 ft and was very uncomfortable. Our waitress spoke very quietly and was very hard to hear. And it was so awkward when I ordered hot cider and a waiter, who obviously was new and in training, put down my cup in front of me and then the tenured waiter came and moved the cup even though it was fine to begin with. Overall, I thought the restaurant was fine, wouldn't go back and wouldn't recommend. It was just average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent chicken sandwiches and Crab Ca ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Excellent chicken sandwiches and Crab Cake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

All generally great but the $50 Ribeye s ...

 
 (Surrey)·Dined on December 28, 2016

All generally great but the $50 Ribeye steak I ordered was very over-salted. Like, way too much salt! Spoilt what was otherwise a beautiful piece of meat. Season a piece of meat by all means but this left my tongue and lips feeling like I'd eaten a spoonful of salt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

always good food. A NYC very popular spo ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 28, 2016

always good food. A NYC very popular spot. Beer and wine is pricey

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food and ambiance was great. We had the ...

 
 (London)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Food and ambiance was great.

We had the sea bass which was cooked perfectly.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

SoHo gem with classics like squash toast ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

SoHo gem with classics like squash toast and delish drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Bad service. Restaurant is very expensiv ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Bad service. Restaurant is very expensive. It is like a dark room. Bad experiente.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.