About Mercer Kitchen

99 Prince Street
New York, NY 10012
View Larger Map

Located at the Mercer Hotel, Mercer Kitchen brings a chic, sophisticated vibe to the heart of SoHo. When Mercer Kitchen opened in 1998, it immediately became a destination for New Yorkers, celebrities, and tourists. Situated in the basement of a historic building constructed in the 1800s, the… restaurant was designed by Christian Liaigre as a combination of industrial and classic modernism. Chef Jean-Georges’ American menu features market-driven, seasonal ingredients prepared in a simple yet elegant style, with favorites like the Tuna Spring Roll, Steamed Shrimp Salad, wood-fired pizzas, and classic Warm Valrhona Chocolate Cake. There is an open kitchen, where guests can sit back and watch the show.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Organic, French American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Mon-Sat 7:00am-11:30am & Sunday 7:00am-11:00am
Lunch: Mon-Fri 11:30am-3:30pm
Late Lunch: Mon-Fri 3:30-5:30pm
Brunch: Sat, Sun 11:00am-4:00pm
Dinner: Mon-Thu 5:30pm-12:00am
Fri, Sat 5:30pm-1:00am
Sun 5:30pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Corner of Prince and Mercer Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 966-5454

Website:
http://www.themercerkitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking available after 5 pm and on holidays and weekends. Parking garage is located on Mercer St. between Houston and Prince.

Public Transit:
B,D,F,M to Broadway/Lafayette; 6 to Spring St; or N,R to Prince Street.

Executive Chef:
Jean-Georges Vongerichten

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Jean-Georges brings a chic vibe to Soho at Mercer Kitchen, with a bright, airy café upstairs and a spacious restaurant on the lower level. The ambiance of the restaurant is timelessly stylish, and sexy, with exposed brick walls. The American Provencal menu features fresh and seasonal ingredients.

Mercer Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.6

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (150)
hot spot (143)
good for groups (107)
See All
great for lunch (94)
special occasion (91)
neighborhood gem (85)
romantic (75)
vibrant bar scene (73)
great for brunch (68)
late-night find (37)
notable wine list (18)
kid-friendly (12)
great for outdoor dining (7)
scenic view (4)
Sort By:
Newest
3133 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food and drink

Dined 4 days ago

First time at Mercer Kitchen before a movie at Angelica. Food was very good especially the shrimp salad just delicious especially the dressing and the pizzas. Drinks interesting and well prepared. Only had one desert but that was good too! Rhubarb Tart with delicious ice cream. All in all a nice dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Incredible. Sophisticated and satisfying.

vip
Dined 5 days ago

My FB post after this was " In a town of $24 burger and fries has become acceptable, this should be the standard." DO NOT HESITATE TO ORDER THE BURGER! The best burger . We shared but almost ordered another. Everything on the menu looked great. Ask for the wasabi mayo for the fries.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service2

Very poor service with waits but food an ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Very poor service with waits but food and ambiance great for Friday/Saturday. Good dinner date.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Fun dining experience - the food was goo ...

Dined 6 days ago

Fun dining experience - the food was good, liked our wine. The restaurant is pnoisyretty, but is also very noisy.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The BEST burgers. Wonderful food overall ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

The BEST burgers. Wonderful food overall and great service. LOCE THIS PLACE!

food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Service could improve.

Dined on May 21, 2016

Reservation was on time, atmosphere beautiful. We waited WAY too long for our wine. When they brought glasses, they were still wet, one with lipstick stains. Food was okay, nothing to write home about. Server never asked if we wanted more wine, I had to flag down for more wine. It took another 20+ minutes to receive our new bottle. We spent over $500 for a birthday dinner...I would've appreciated more attentive, timely service. Would not take another group dinner here.

Tags: good for groups, romantic
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Might not go back

Dined on May 20, 2016

Not my first time there, But it might be my last time......Been there couple times, but this time is really bad..... We ordered our usual salad, the portion is half of what we got before.....ordered a pasta....YUCKKKKKK..The pasta is like a ball and wouldn't separate....even the table next to us said that pasta don't look right.....But the serve insist it's like that.......

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3

The hosts were extremely young and too e ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

The hosts were extremely young and too engaged in conversation with each other to bother getting is seated. Once seated, service was better.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had my daughter graduation dinner there ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Had my daughter graduation dinner there and it was fantastic!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food and lovely ambience

Dined on May 19, 2016

I went to Mercer Kitchen with a friend in May 2015. Overall we had a very positive experience. The food was delicious (definiteky recommeny ordering the crispy sushi and black truffle pizza) and the service was great. The bar scene is also wonderful. Jean Georges never ceases to amaze me!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience2
service3

hostess seated us for dinner at a cockta ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

hostess seated us for dinner at a cocktail table, bit when asked she obliged, bit squeezed us between two large tables when plenty single two covers were available in another section, so that wasn't so nice. that gets them the dings on service. the waiter was excellent, everyone very accommodating otherwise

food2
ambience4
service1

Waited an hour for a table that had no s ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Waited an hour for a table that had no seat for me. Had to stand by the table for a while before a chair was finally brought. They brought us a raw artichoke that no one ate and then wouldn't remove the charge from the tab. Waitress was odd to. Reminded of the movie Avatar . General Manager was extremely rude and has no business being a bus boy let a lone a GM. Sad Jean Georges, you're better than this.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous restaraunt in a fabulous area. ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Fabulous restaraunt in a fabulous area. Loved the decor and the upstairs bar layout is lovely. Great atmosphere, lovely staff and great food. Would definitely head back when in the city again. Vibrant, buzzing hot spot, definite must!

Tags: group bookings, neighbourhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience1
service2

Despite good reviews, our overall dining ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Despite good reviews, our overall dining experience at this restaurant was very poor. We were a party of three and they sat us at a tiny table that accommodated one person in the bar area. It was extremely loud, and the waiters could not get by to distribute the food. The table was so small they had to take away the bread plates to put down the entrées. Before we were seated, I tried to explain to the manager that this table would be too small, but he was nonresponsive and really not interested. We left before dessert because our whole dining experience was so unpleasant.

food5
ambience1
service1

I have disappointed this past few times

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

I have disappointed this past few times

food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Nice restaurant in a great area However ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Nice restaurant in a great area However service could be improved: our party consist of 4 persons: 1 got a wrong starter and 1 got a wrong main course, which the restaurant was fully aware of when they brought us the food. Our servant said "I got it after each" order, which he (Nicolas) apperently didn'....

Tags: romance, neighbourhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Wonderful lunch post massage! Celebratin ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Wonderful lunch post massage! Celebrating a birthday with a long time friend and it was perfect! Olives, truffle pizza-amazing-and shared the kale salad and lovely rose. Wonderful waitress. Perfect!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very good food

Dined on May 9, 2016

Very good Food , Table a Little narrow, Music too Loud

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Mother's day dinner

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was pretty good, but service was slow. The restaurant was pretty busy that night because of mother's day, but the meals/check/drinks took forever to come.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent and simple dining.

Dined on May 8, 2016

We have been going there for years. The atmosphere is warm and cozy. Very New Yorkish. The menu is simple but has great variety. Sunday brunch is top shelf and reasonable in price. The service is always prompt and courteous.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

great

Dined on May 8, 2016

I have eaten here previously on numerous occasions, the food is consistently good and never disappoints. Service is always attentive and not overbearing. Prices are consistent with quality restaurants in the area. This is a great place to dine.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

Pretty space, poor service

Dined on May 8, 2016

We were seated promptly, but had to ask the hostess twice before a server arrived almost 30 minutes later (with no apology). The restaurant was only half full, so hard to understand the poor service and lack of care. And when we finally did receive our food, it was nothing to rave about. Lots of other great places to choose from in NYC.

food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant is outstanding. The serv ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

This restaurant is outstanding. The service is fantastic. The management is superb and the food is extraordinary.

food3
ambience4
service2

The waiter was a little too over eager b ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

The waiter was a little too over eager but under performer. The food was not as good as I remember but was still okay. This is my third time there but not sure if I'd go back again

food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Inconsistent

Dined on May 6, 2016

My first meal here was excellent, which prompted me to come back a couple weeks later with a friend who was in town from Chicago. Unfortunately, my second meal here was awful. The kale salad tasted entirely different than it did a couple weeks ago and it was terrible. The service also was awful - we didn't know who our wait staff person was and everything took forever, despite our reservation being at 6:30 PM.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Consistently good

Dined on May 6, 2016

Food here is always tasty; service attentive and pleasant

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing service. Amazing food. Definitel ...

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Amazing service. Amazing food. Definitely try the salmon sashimi and the burger!!

food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Not great...

Dined on May 2, 2016

Ate here for breakfast. The service was horrible - took 20 mins for my coffee to arrive. Food itself was very bland and nothing special. No salt or pepper on either of our dishes.

food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Decent food but not worth the price

Dined on May 2, 2016

The food was decent but not very memorable. Service was pushy - the server emptied out our bottle of wine into our glass because she clearly wanted us to leave.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a hit, my family and I did brunch ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Always a hit, my family and I did brunch at the Mercer last Sunday and it was incredible. Try the buttermilk pancakes with banana and fresh berries. Also loved that they serve Harney & Sons tea! Perfect place to catch up with family in an upscale but inviting atmosphere. Lovely waiter, as well - such a gentleman.

food1
ambience4
service1
value1

brunch portions were very, very small

Dined on May 1, 2016

ordered the lamb sandwich, it was tasty but portions wee quite small and they screwed up 2 of 4 orders. The missed sides didn't arrive at the table until everyone had finished their meals.

Tags: hot spot
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Completely Overrated

Dined on May 1, 2016

This restaurant is completely overrated for what you receive. Go for the ambiance and even the drinks, but do not expect to be blown away by the food. It was mediocre at best. Very disappointed.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Dinner review.

Dined on April 30, 2016

A very nice experience. Good food. Good service. BUT...$6.00 for an oyster! Give me a break!

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent. Worthy of Jean George's name!

Dined on April 28, 2016

Food was very fine and of excellent quality. Service was exemplary. We were in a hurry to make theatre and the staff accommodated us. Drinks were the best. A very pleasant experience overall.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great meal

Dined on April 27, 2016

Large, very attractive restaurant, though not "cozy," if that's your thing. Staff was very pleasant. Servers were great from start to finish. One oddity was that we were told that there was only one bartender working, so drinks would take a while. The food was generally excellent. The white bean dip was delicious. The sashimi salmon (as an appetizer) is not to be missed - just phenomenal! The tuna spring roll was also excellent. The slow-baked salmon was also fantastic, and the roast chicken was of superb quality, though perhaps a bit bland. The tasty warm chocolate cake, while apparently standard at all Jean Georges restaurants after introducing it to this country, has now been outdone by many other restaurants, as it is really too small and flat - too small to share. The wine list should include a few more "reasonably priced" options. The noise level is a bit too high. But overall, an excellent experience - highly recommended for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Food was good and not expensive for SoHo

Dined on April 27, 2016

I booked a table the same day, and there was no problem. Very central spot on Prince St. in SoHo. The food prices were reasonable for SoHo (most main dishes between $23 and $35). Drinks reasonable too for SoHo (wine started at $9, beers started at $9). The food WAS good. Our table was not in the best spot. It was near the waiters, and as a result, the waiters seemed to hover a bit. Service was swift. The crowd was a bit poseur-y, but then, this is Prince St. What do you expect. The other diners left us alone, and the place was not crowded in the middle of the week at 6. I would definitely go back for the food, and the location, near the Angelika cinema.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous NYC food and service

Dined on April 23, 2016

We went on a Saturday night, and although noisy, the service was friendly and efficient and the food was great. We had cocktails which were fabulous, and although it was busy we had our server's attention whenever we wanted it. The salmon sashimi was wonderful, and the roast chicken succulent. They do a great burger too. A really fun evening and we weren't rushed out after our meal which was a nice surprise. Great for people watching and a fabulous NYC vibe.

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, special occasions, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Should have had the burger…

Dined on April 23, 2016

While we were 15 minutes late for our 6:45 reservation, we called to let them know we were running behind. They said no problem, we’ll see you in a few minutes. When we arrived, the place was packed. When we set up the reservation, I specifically asked for a quiet table or booth as I have a severe hearing impediment and loud rooms are an issue for me. They seated us at this 2 top that seemed like an afterthought as it was next to a pole and very close to the server station. Ok, I get it - we were late for our reservation, and you’re letting us know it. We ordered drinks and our appetizer - the Peekytoe Crab Fritters, and also ordered our Mains - my wife ordered Lobster, and I ordered the Ribeye. The whole reason for dining here was it came on a recommendation from a very close friend - “Eat there, you’ll love it.” - so we decided to give it a go. Big mistake… The Crab Fritters were the highlight of the whole meal. I ordered my Ribeye Medium and it was served more like mid-well to well done. My wife’s lobster, while the presentation was great, was chewy - kind of like bad bubblegum. We then looked at the desert menu and decided to split the Warm Valrhona Chocolate Cake. Best part of it was the Ice Cream - the cake itself was akin to the Lava cakes you order from Domino’s Pizza (not what you’d expect in a high end establishment). The whole experience could have been saved by the service - except we seemed to be a nuisance to our server. We would have commented to him about the quality of our meals, but he was too busy to check in with us. My empty beer glass did not catch his attention (caught the server assistant’s as he removed my empty glass) I had to literally reach out and flag him down to get a second round for for us. We dropped $200 + tip and am beyond disappointed with our experience. Will not recommend to anyone or try again. Shoulda’ had the burger…

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was absolutely delicious!!!

Dined on April 23, 2016

The food was absolutely delicious!!!

food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Awful

Dined on April 23, 2016

Firstly, took 30 minutes to receive a drink. Finally, ordered an appetizer to share and two main courses, within ten minutes main course arrived before appetizer. Main courses were sent back. Then, appetizer arrives and within the next ten minutes entrees are back. Awkwardly we accepted the entrees as we felt bad sending them back for the second time. Our main course got cold as we rushed to finish an appetizer. Inexcusable service for an expensive meal. Food and service has gone way down hill. Extremely disappointed in Mercer Kitchen. I definitely will never recommend this to a friend and certainly will not be back.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.