About Mercer Kitchen

99 Prince Street
New York, NY 10012
View Larger Map

Located at the Mercer Hotel, Mercer Kitchen brings a chic, sophisticated vibe to the heart of SoHo. When Mercer Kitchen opened in 1998, it immediately became a destination for New Yorkers, celebrities, and tourists. Situated in the basement of a historic building constructed in the 1800s, the… restaurant was designed by Christian Liaigre as a combination of industrial and classic modernism. Chef Jean-Georges’ American menu features market-driven, seasonal ingredients prepared in a simple yet elegant style, with favorites like the Tuna Spring Roll, Steamed Shrimp Salad, wood-fired pizzas, and classic Warm Valrhona Chocolate Cake. There is an open kitchen, where guests can sit back and watch the show.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Organic, French American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Mon-Sat 7:00am-11:30am & Sunday 7:00am-11:00am
Lunch: Mon-Fri 11:30am-3:30pm
Late Lunch: Mon-Fri 3:30-5:30pm
Brunch: Sat, Sun 11:00am-4:00pm
Dinner: Mon-Thu 5:30pm-12:00am
Fri, Sat 5:30pm-1:00am
Sun 5:30pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Corner of Prince and Mercer Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 966-5454

Website:
http://www.themercerkitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking available after 5 pm and on holidays and weekends. Parking garage is located on Mercer St. between Houston and Prince.

Public Transit:
B,D,F,M to Broadway/Lafayette; 6 to Spring St; or N,R to Prince Street.

Executive Chef:
Jean-Georges Vongerichten

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Jean-Georges brings a chic vibe to Soho at Mercer Kitchen, with a bright, airy café upstairs and a spacious restaurant on the lower level. The ambiance of the restaurant is timelessly stylish, and sexy, with exposed brick walls. The American Provencal menu features fresh and seasonal ingredients.

Mercer Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.7

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (120)
hot spot (106)
good for groups (86)
See All
great for lunch (78)
special occasion (77)
neighborhood gem (73)
vibrant bar scene (58)
romantic (56)
great for brunch (54)
late-night find (30)
notable wine list (17)
kid-friendly (9)
great for outdoor dining (9)
scenic view (5)
Sort By:
Newest
3171 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

overall a good experience with 3 out 4 a ...

Dined 4 days ago

overall a good experience with 3 out 4 at our table pleased with the experience. The one let-down on the brunch menu was the waffles, mediocre at best, need to step up the game Mercer Kitchen.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

SERVICE AND FOOD WAS VERY GOOD. GREAT B ...

Dined 5 days ago

SERVICE AND FOOD WAS VERY GOOD. GREAT BARTENDER. WE ENJOYED THE FOOD VERY MUCH. WEBSITE SHOULD BE UPDATED, VERY DISAPPOINTED ABOUT THE PECAN DESSERT ON THE WEBSITE THAT THEY NO LONGER HAVE.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Nice spot. The food and service were exc ...

Dined 5 days ago

Nice spot. The food and service were excellent. The design of the space was great, but the noise level was a bit too high.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

quality is still good but not as before. ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

quality is still good but not as before. I admire JG and wish that he doesn't sacrifice supervision now that he has restaurants everywhere

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

The menu was odd and pairings not very i ...

Dined 7 days ago

The menu was odd and pairings not very imaginative. Take the Skate off the menu and the fish and chips.

Tags: late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

it was great! great food and really good ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

it was great! great food and really good time. the waiter was super nice

food2
ambience4
service1
value2

My experience was not great. I had made ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

My experience was not great. I had made a reservation for 5 people over 24 hours in advance and upon arrival, the hostess directed us to a four-top where they began squeezing in a fifth place setting. I asked if we could move to an appropriately sized table for our party, and the answer I received was that this was how they accommodate parties of 5, and that they hadn't had time yet to set the table. This was at 11:45am on a Saturday for brunch, and most of the restaurant was still empty. We could have easily been seated at a more appropriately sized table that went unused the entire time we were there. While the restaurant is beautiful, the service was disappointing , despite it being staffed by an army of attendants. One member of our party ordered the Belgian waffle which arrived to the table rock hard and was inedible. While they removed this from out bill, when you're charging $18 for a simple waffle, it should be perfection. One of the additional requests for coffee we made never arrived, despite it being put on our bill, and while this was also removed after pointing out the error, it speaks to the level of disappointing service we received. In addition, the servers that were assigned to clearing our table seemed to hover over us, and I was asked so many times by one of them if I was done eating, I finally told him to just take my plate away out of frustration. While I had high hopes for a great brunch experience, I will not be going back. Ever.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant is one of my all time fa ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

This restaurant is one of my all time favorites.. everytime I go to New York I find myself eating there 1-2 times and at least having after shopping drinks..

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

The ambiance was great.. the few things ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

The ambiance was great.. the few things that were disappointing was we had a reservation for 8:45 and they did not seat us until 9:30 pm. Once we sat the service was slow even though the restaurant was clearing out by that time. Food was good.. guacamole was the bomb!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service1

Great food, great vibe, poor execution. ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Great food, great vibe, poor execution. We arrived 15 minutes early & were seated 40 minutes after our scheduled reservation. While pleasant the hostesses were totally ineffectual in managing the seating or our expectations.

food4
ambience2
service3
value3

I have been to Mercer Kitchen several ti ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

I have been to Mercer Kitchen several times - the location is convenient to where I live and the food is good. But this sadly almost gets eclipsed by my frustration that they regularly keep you waiting 20-plus minutes for a reservation, no apologies (most recently it was almost 40 minutes - and I'd made my 8:30 reservation at about 7:45, so query why they made the time slot available if they didn't have the table). The bar is uncomfortable and not set up for waiting - it's in a high traffic area with servers barreling through so you're constantly having to move and getting pushed up on by other patrons. And as I'm pregnant, I can't even have a martini to dull the aggravation during the inevitable wait! Once you can finally get your seat, the experience is a good one, but I may be rethinking how frequently I go there, as I might have reached my breaking point with the waiting.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Mercer Kitchen was completely EXCELL ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The Mercer Kitchen was completely EXCELLENT!!! Food was absolutely delicious including the drinks. Everything was brought out in a timely manner which was great. I will definitely be dining at Mercer Kitchen again and I would highly recommend it to anyone.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Jean George did not disappoint me with t ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Jean George did not disappoint me with this restaurant. We have dined in his other restaurants and Mercer Kitchen is as good as the others. We dined in the street level, service was very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been at the Mercer in severall o ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We have been at the Mercer in severall occassions, we like it. We thing food is good quality and like the atmosphere quite a lot.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and good service in a nice at ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Great food and good service in a nice atmosphere. I really like this restaurant. I highly recommend it

food5
ambience5
service5

I visited Mercer Kitchen to celebrate my ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

I visited Mercer Kitchen to celebrate my birthday and our server Jonah Bowen was truly awesome. He made our experience very memorable. Thanks Jonah!

food5
ambience5
service5

Excelente I love it

Dined on June 17, 2016

Excelente I love it

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Best black sea bass I've ever had. Beau ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

Best black sea bass I've ever had. Beautifully plated, perfect amount. Can't find a thing negative to report! A great experience all around

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service3

Amazing food, average service

Dined on June 15, 2016

Amazing food, average service

food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic meal and a great atmosphere. W ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

Fantastic meal and a great atmosphere. Will definitely return for the steamed shrimp appetizer.

food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Went for business lunch, as such wanted ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Went for business lunch, as such wanted to be in and out with regard to time. I wanted to make sure my guest enjoyed herself. The food was amazing and we wanted desserts. The waitress walked by us multiple times and ignored us for about 20 minutes and unfortunately we were unable to continue the meal and had to leave. We were there for a total of an hour and 45 minutes. I had to request the check from another staff. Maybe I function at a quicker pace but I felt it was unreasonable to wait that long for her to never return. I hope this is taken as constructive, because otherwise the place and food was nice.

food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Decent food . Too noisy and dark. Wait s ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Decent food . Too noisy and dark. Wait staff very attentive.

food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Very good food. Support staff was great ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Very good food. Support staff was great. Server missed the boat on keeping up with wine, etc. Not a great wine list, interesting cocktails. Bar was very busy and loud.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had an excellent dinner and time at this ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Had an excellent dinner and time at this wonderful restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

One of my favorite places in NYC. The fo ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

One of my favorite places in NYC. The food is always delicious, the gluten-free menu is reliable, and the wait staff is knowledgeable and friendly. I'll always come back!

food1
ambience1
service1

Service is the worst! We had a party of ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Service is the worst! We had a party of 5 and took hours to seat us down. Food quality is not that good and prices are expensive. Never come here!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worth it!

Dined on June 9, 2016

The atmosphere was great, we were in the mood-lit subterranean section and could see the shadows of folks waking the street above. Our server was super helpful, and the food was amazing. I had the salmon, definitely recommend. The chocolate cake and ice cream dessert was great too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Disappointing

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

Food quality and portions have went downhill. The Famous Mercer burger is now the size of a slider and the pork chop was lucky if 4oz. Small portions, mediocre service and high prices.

food5
ambience4
service1

Delicious food but horrible service

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Delicious food but horrible service

food5
ambience5
service5

Great service. We sat upstairs. Nice sea ...

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Great service. We sat upstairs. Nice seating and the menu was good. All of it. Ask for a flat white coffee. They know what to do!!!

food5
ambience4
service5

The host service was very weak but made ...

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

The host service was very weak but made up for by our awesome waiter. We ordered the salmon sashimi on crispy rice (sooooo good), squid, beet salad, sweat pea soup. Everything was delicious except the artichoke unfortunately. Would definitely go back!

food4
ambience5
service1

Our waiter Marshall was very cold and no ...

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Our waiter Marshall was very cold and not engaging. He spoke maybe 3 times

food2
ambience4
service2
value2

An off day?

Dined on May 30, 2016

Sunday of Memorial Day Weekend We were excited to get a same-day reservation. Unfortunately, our anticipation exceeded the experience at the restaurant. The waitstaff was not attentive at all. The food was disappointing. The lobster was overcooked. The veal Milanese lacked any delicacy. It was like a diner cutlet with heavy breading and nothing to add interest. The fennel on the sea bass tasted like sauerkraut, making for a strange seafood taste combination. We've been very satisfied at other Jean-Georges restaurants and expected a great dining experience. Maybe Sunday of Memorial Day weekend isn't the best time to go, but I would expect great things from a JG restaurant everyday.

food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Poor Service

Dined on May 28, 2016

Our table (2 people) went largely ignored. It took 10 minutes to be greeted, and once we were greeted, the server didn't introduce herself, talk about any specials, or even ask us for a drink over. We ordered an appetizer and entree, but the entrees came out literally 2 minutes after the appetizer did. We had barely touched it by the time the entree came out. Also, for a place that charges so much, it was incredibly frustrating to see the hostess seat a couple that did not even come close to the "smart casual" dress code. A sports bra and spandex shorts are not totally appropriate for a place that will easily cost me $100 for dinner.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

birthday dinner--Great Food!

Dined on May 26, 2016

I took my friend for a birthday dinner. The place is very chic and food was great!! The service was great, when the waitress find out it was my friend's birthday, she brought us cookie and candle at the end. It was a nice touch in the end. Had amazing time!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food and drink

Dined on May 23, 2016

First time at Mercer Kitchen before a movie at Angelica. Food was very good especially the shrimp salad just delicious especially the dressing and the pizzas. Drinks interesting and well prepared. Only had one desert but that was good too! Rhubarb Tart with delicious ice cream. All in all a nice dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Incredible. Sophisticated and satisfying.

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

My FB post after this was " In a town of $24 burger and fries has become acceptable, this should be the standard." DO NOT HESITATE TO ORDER THE BURGER! The best burger . We shared but almost ordered another. Everything on the menu looked great. Ask for the wasabi mayo for the fries.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service2

Very poor service with waits but food an ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Very poor service with waits but food and ambiance great for Friday/Saturday. Good dinner date.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Fun dining experience - the food was goo ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Fun dining experience - the food was good, liked our wine. The restaurant is pnoisyretty, but is also very noisy.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The BEST burgers. Wonderful food overall ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

The BEST burgers. Wonderful food overall and great service. LOCE THIS PLACE!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.