About Mercer Kitchen

99 Prince Street
New York, NY 10012
View Larger Map

Located at the Mercer Hotel, Mercer Kitchen brings a chic, sophisticated vibe to the heart of SoHo. When Mercer Kitchen opened in 1998, it immediately became a destination for New Yorkers, celebrities, and tourists. Situated in the basement of a historic building constructed in the 1800s, the… restaurant was designed by Christian Liaigre as a combination of industrial and classic modernism. Chef Jean-Georges’ American menu features market-driven, seasonal ingredients prepared in a simple yet elegant style, with favorites like the Tuna Spring Roll, Steamed Shrimp Salad, wood-fired pizzas, and classic Warm Valrhona Chocolate Cake. There is an open kitchen, where guests can sit back and watch the show.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Organic, French American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Mon-Sat 7:00am-11:30am & Sunday 7:00am-11:00am
Lunch: Mon-Fri 11:30am-3:30pm
Late Lunch: Mon-Fri 3:30-5:30pm
Brunch: Sat, Sun 11:00am-4:00pm
Dinner: Mon-Thu 5:30pm-12:00am
Fri, Sat 5:30pm-1:00am
Sun 5:30pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Corner of Prince and Mercer Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 966-5454

Website:
http://www.themercerkitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking available after 5 pm and on holidays and weekends. Parking garage is located on Mercer St. between Houston and Prince.

Public Transit:
B,D,F,M to Broadway/Lafayette; 6 to Spring St; or N,R to Prince Street.

Executive Chef:
Jean-Georges Vongerichten

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Jean-Georges brings a chic vibe to Soho at Mercer Kitchen, with a bright, airy café upstairs and a spacious restaurant on the lower level. The ambiance of the restaurant is timelessly stylish, and sexy, with exposed brick walls. The American Provencal menu features fresh and seasonal ingredients.

Mercer Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.8

ambience

4.2

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

hot spot (109)
fit for foodies (109)
good for groups (89)
See All
special occasion (75)
neighborhood gem (73)
great for lunch (69)
vibrant bar scene (57)
romantic (53)
great for brunch (50)
late-night find (30)
notable wine list (20)
great for outdoor dining (8)
kid-friendly (7)
scenic view (7)
Sort By:
Newest
3204 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I had high hopes for this chic looking S ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

I had high hopes for this chic looking SoHo spot, but was sorely disappointed. I arrived at the host stand to a very cold reception, and let them know I had a reservation. The hostess asked us to wait in the bar area, and left us there for more than 20 minutes past our reservation time.

Finally, a nice girl appeared, and ushered us out of the dining room and upstairs to the cafe area. What?! I had a reservation, and I am not even seated in the main dining area? Very disappointing.

We ordered our food, and after almost an hour,our main courses finally arrived. The food was decent, but definitely not worth the long wait and move to the cafe. Once the bill came, there were desserts listed that we didn't order. The manager quickly removed them for us.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Very nice ambiance and accommodating sta ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Very nice ambiance and accommodating staff! I had my birthday dinner with my boyfriend and friends, we had a nice time!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was very good but nothing special—g ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was very good but nothing special—generally each plate was conventionally prepared but well-cooked. Service was excellent. The entire meal was surprisingly expensive. Yes, the plates seemed undeservedly pricey, but the bulk of the bill was our drinks, which included wine and cocktails, which were very light on the alcohol making it nearly imperceptible to taste. (When you see that a typical Mercer's non-alcoholic cocktail costs $11, you'll understand why they don't need to put alcohol in your drink!) The meal was overshadowed by the uncomfortableness of the seating for our party of three: a tiny round table with a fat center post which prevented all of us from having our feet under the table at once; uncomfortably curved banquets supplanted with low chairs with leaned backs that were not meant for dining. Word to parties of three: Request seating at a 4-table to avoid the discomfort!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Still great after many years with qualit ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Still great after many years with quality food and selections for most palates..

Nice atmosphere and energy...always enjoyable!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It doesn't compare to the quality of oth ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

It doesn't compare to the quality of other Jean Georges restaurants. The food quality is poor! I have tried it twice for dinner and disappointed both times. Breakfast is decent but no comparison to Baltizar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2

I really thought the bloody mary's were ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

I really thought the bloody mary's were some of the best I have ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Complete disappointment.... We come to M ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined 7 days ago

Complete disappointment.... We come to Mercer Kitchen every time we are in NYC. This time the food was below average and the service was horrible. When we were seated at our table, one of the napkins was dirty. We asked for a new one that never came. We ordered a bottle of wine which we had to constantly ask to be poured into our glasses. Once we finished with our meals, we had to wait for 20 minutes for the plates to be picked up.

Not what you would expect in a place of their standard and fame.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Delicious food scrumptious desserts grea ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Delicious food scrumptious desserts great atmosphere

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic, memorable food. Innovative an ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Fantastic, memorable food. Innovative and upscale. Service was polite, friendly, and seamless. Menu offers interesting, unique variety. We particularly enjoyed the black truffle and fontina pizza, the Mercer burger, and the tuna spring roll. Relaxed, comfortable, elegant vibe! We will definitely return. Turned out to be an ideal choice for a special occasion. Worth the trip downtown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

ambience was good, but the food was just ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

ambience was good, but the food was just so-so, definitely not worth the price. We order eggs benedict and a Mercer burger, none of them were satisfying. The sauce of eggs benedict was not good, and the muffin was not even toasted. Can you imagine that there are two pieces of untoasted muffin which has nothing to do with fluffy in a $22 eggs benedict?! Anyway, the ambience was good, decoration style was my type, but as a restaurant, it is not what I expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Jean George never disappoints. This plac ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Jean George never disappoints. This place is upscale nice and has a bit of the Jean George flair. However, it isn't quite at the level of his other places. Still, he starts several steps ahead of most of his competition so hard to find significant issues at his places.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The food and service was great. Would r ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The food and service was great. Would recommend it to friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

If you are in NYC you must visit this pl ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

If you are in NYC you must visit this place. Good food

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was unbelievably unattentive, we ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Service was unbelievably unattentive, we waited 45 to be seated even with a reservation, food took 50 min to arrive. Steak was sent back by a friend and the manager never showed. Awful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Food and ambiance is great, but we waite ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Food and ambiance is great, but we waited 25 minutes to sit (with a reservation), and 1hr and 15 minutes for our entrees. Staff was apologetic, but this has been happening often over the last few times that I came here. They are booking tables too close together and cannot accommodate everyone on time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

Service was outstanding. Lamb chops wer ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Service was outstanding. Lamb chops were delicious. Very expensive, be ready to spend some coin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Make sure you check the meat before you ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Make sure you check the meat before you eat it. I eat through most of the burger to realize it was red in the middle. It's very dark I. The restaurant so unless you turn on the flashlight from your phone, there is no way to tell. I told the waiter, who then informed the manager. They offers a dessert on them. I expected more from a restaurant with that reputation. I also let the manager know that having to pay for a stomach ache in the middle of the night was very disappointing.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Didn't stay for a meal. The waiter was j ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Didn't stay for a meal. The waiter was just to extremely rude. Had to leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Everything truly great ... Ambience love ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Everything truly great ... Ambience lovely but quite dark for a daytime venue

Service on the slow side but ok

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We would go back again...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We would go back again...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Excellent as always! One of my favorite ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Excellent as always! One of my favorite NYC spots! The food is great and the ambience as well! A definite must! Never deceives.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had some of the best Skate I've ever e ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

I had some of the best Skate I've ever eaten and the cocktails were fresh and unique - everything we both ate was excellent

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Been to this place now and the differenc ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Been to this place now and the difference between the first and second experience is night and day. First time the service was attentive and kind and the second time I felt ignored and awkwardly like the staff was whispering about different tables of people. The food is good but not worth the price or time if there isn't also good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Horrible!!!!! Feelin' bring in a too exp ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Horrible!!!!! Feelin' bring in a too expensive fast Food Restaurant!

Were there in a recommandation of one of Our best Friends who is living in NY.

First WE had Starters... While WE ate the Server cleared the Table and half of Our starter was gone... Than, while WE ate the Second starter the Main course was Served....

WE had To check Out Betwen warm main course or Finishing the starter....

Sorry, WE were NOT in a fast Food Restaurant!!!!!! Unbelivable!!!

And the Head waiter just Said: sorry! Nothing Else, just sorry! I am Used To Served an Espresso or what else..... At least At such a Restaurant!!!

Such a behaviour in such a Restaurant!!!

I immediately called Our feiend and told him about Hits horrible recommandation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Overpriced, mediocre food and sub-par se ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Overpriced, mediocre food and sub-par service.

Been here before, won't be here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Food was fine, but being five people on ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Food was fine, but being five people on a four top is uncomfortable - front of house totally unhelpful. Typical NYC approach of hustling us through the meal - also not appreciated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

The salmon sashimi on fried rice app was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The salmon sashimi on fried rice app was so amazing- I would go back for that alone. But the service was equally amazing. My mom and I were both very excited to see the range of meals on the menu and loved both the veal and salmon so much that we shared. Will definitely return for dinner every time my mom is in the city.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

overall a good experience with 3 out 4 a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

overall a good experience with 3 out 4 at our table pleased with the experience. The one let-down on the brunch menu was the waffles, mediocre at best, need to step up the game Mercer Kitchen.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

SERVICE AND FOOD WAS VERY GOOD. GREAT B ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

SERVICE AND FOOD WAS VERY GOOD. GREAT BARTENDER.

WE ENJOYED THE FOOD VERY MUCH.

WEBSITE SHOULD BE UPDATED, VERY DISAPPOINTED ABOUT THE PECAN DESSERT ON THE WEBSITE THAT THEY NO LONGER HAVE.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice spot. The food and service were exc ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Nice spot. The food and service were excellent. The design of the space was great, but the noise level was a bit too high.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

quality is still good but not as before. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

quality is still good but not as before. I admire JG and wish that he doesn't sacrifice supervision now that he has restaurants everywhere

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The menu was odd and pairings not very i ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The menu was odd and pairings not very imaginative. Take the Skate off the menu and the fish and chips.

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

Appreciated that they were able to accom ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Appreciated that they were able to accommodate our family's dietary restrictions (gluten and dairy) and still have delicious food choices!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

it was great! great food and really good ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

it was great! great food and really good time. the waiter was super nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My experience was not great. I had made ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My experience was not great. I had made a reservation for 5 people over 24 hours in advance and upon arrival, the hostess directed us to a four-top where they began squeezing in a fifth place setting. I asked if we could move to an appropriately sized table for our party, and the answer I received was that this was how they accommodate parties of 5, and that they hadn't had time yet to set the table. This was at 11:45am on a Saturday for brunch, and most of the restaurant was still empty. We could have easily been seated at a more appropriately sized table that went unused the entire time we were there.

While the restaurant is beautiful, the service was disappointing , despite it being staffed by an army of attendants. One member of our party ordered the Belgian waffle which arrived to the table rock hard and was inedible. While they removed this from out bill, when you're charging $18 for a simple waffle, it should be perfection. One of the additional requests for coffee we made never arrived, despite it being put on our bill, and while this was also removed after pointing out the error, it speaks to the level of disappointing service we received.

In addition, the servers that were assigned to clearing our table seemed to hover over us, and I was asked so many times by one of them if I was done eating, I finally told him to just take my plate away out of frustration.

While I had high hopes for a great brunch experience, I will not be going back. Ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

This restaurant is one of my all time fa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This restaurant is one of my all time favorites.. everytime I go to New York I find myself eating there 1-2 times and at least having after shopping drinks..

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The ambiance was great.. the few things ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The ambiance was great.. the few things that were disappointing was we had a reservation for 8:45 and they did not seat us until 9:30 pm. Once we sat the service was slow even though the restaurant was clearing out by that time. Food was good.. guacamole was the bomb!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Great food, great vibe, poor execution. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great food, great vibe, poor execution. We arrived 15 minutes early & were seated 40 minutes after our scheduled reservation. While pleasant the hostesses were totally ineffectual in managing the seating or our expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

I have been to Mercer Kitchen several ti ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I have been to Mercer Kitchen several times - the location is convenient to where I live and the food is good. But this sadly almost gets eclipsed by my frustration that they regularly keep you waiting 20-plus minutes for a reservation, no apologies (most recently it was almost 40 minutes - and I'd made my 8:30 reservation at about 7:45, so query why they made the time slot available if they didn't have the table). The bar is uncomfortable and not set up for waiting - it's in a high traffic area with servers barreling through so you're constantly having to move and getting pushed up on by other patrons. And as I'm pregnant, I can't even have a martini to dull the aggravation during the inevitable wait! Once you can finally get your seat, the experience is a good one, but I may be rethinking how frequently I go there, as I might have reached my breaking point with the waiting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

The Mercer Kitchen was completely EXCELL ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The Mercer Kitchen was completely EXCELLENT!!!

Food was absolutely delicious including the drinks. Everything was brought out in a timely manner which was great.

I will definitely be dining at Mercer Kitchen again and I would highly recommend it to anyone.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.