About Mercer Kitchen

99 Prince Street
New York, NY 10012
View Larger Map

Located at the Mercer Hotel, Mercer Kitchen brings a chic, sophisticated vibe to the heart of SoHo. When Mercer Kitchen opened in 1998, it immediately became a destination for New Yorkers, celebrities, and tourists. Situated in the basement of a historic building constructed in the 1800s, the… restaurant was designed by Christian Liaigre as a combination of industrial and classic modernism. Chef Jean-Georges’ American menu features market-driven, seasonal ingredients prepared in a simple yet elegant style, with favorites like the Tuna Spring Roll, Steamed Shrimp Salad, wood-fired pizzas, and classic Warm Valrhona Chocolate Cake. There is an open kitchen, where guests can sit back and watch the show.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Organic, French American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Mon-Sat 7:00am-11:30am & Sunday 7:00am-11:00am
Lunch: Mon-Fri 11:30am-3:30pm
Late Lunch: Mon-Fri 3:30-5:30pm
Brunch: Sat, Sun 11:00am-4:00pm
Dinner: Mon-Thu 5:30pm-12:00am
Fri, Sat 5:30pm-1:00am
Sun 5:30pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Corner of Prince and Mercer Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 966-5454

Website:
http://www.themercerkitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking available after 5 pm and on holidays and weekends. Parking garage is located on Mercer St. between Houston and Prince.

Public Transit:
B,D,F,M to Broadway/Lafayette; 6 to Spring St; or N,R to Prince Street.

Executive Chef:
Jean-Georges Vongerichten

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Jean-Georges brings a chic vibe to Soho at Mercer Kitchen, with a bright, airy café upstairs and a spacious restaurant on the lower level. The ambiance of the restaurant is timelessly stylish, and sexy, with exposed brick walls. The American Provencal menu features fresh and seasonal ingredients.

Mercer Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.8

ambience

4.2

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Hot Spot (81)
Special Occasion (75)
Neighborhood Gem (71)
See All
Fit for Foodies (68)
Good for Groups (63)
Great for Lunch (59)
Romantic (53)
Vibrant Bar Scene (48)
Great for Brunch (31)
Late-night Find (23)
Notable Wine List (22)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Good for a Date (13)
Modern Decor (10)
People Watching (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Kid-friendly (9)
Fun (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Business Meals (7)
Cozy (7)
Casual (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Scenic View (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Historic (2)
Authentic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Healthy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3298 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The ambience was very hip, industrial mo ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 4 days ago

The ambience was very hip, industrial modern. Our reservations were very late due to a late arrival at JFK. The staff was still attentive. The wine and beverage menu was wonderful and the baked olive appetizer = divine. Our main dishes were a little disappointing, the halibut was over cooked and lacking in flavor and the seabass - was just "ok".

I think we will go back for the vibe - but maybe just for drinks and appetizers - it's right in the heart of where we want to be in Sodo

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Table was broken an wobbling a lot, we w ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 4 days ago

Table was broken an wobbling a lot, we were told that was normal and to just deal with it. We were never given bread so I asked and it eventually came when our entrées did. The waitress never checked to see if everything was okay. Our water glasses were empty for most of the meal. A dirty towel that was used to clean off the table was left on one of the empty chairs at our table. I ordered the chicken and it was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

We thought is too expensive but a good p ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We thought is too expensive but a good place to go

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

We had the most amazing food and cocktai ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We had the most amazing food and cocktails at Mercer Kitchen the combination of fresh ingredients were amazing!

A definite must when visiting NYC

We were only in the city for five days and glad we managed to have dinner here absolutely outstanding

We will definitely be back on our next visit

I will be recommending the restaurant to all our friends back in Scotland ❤

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mercer Kitchen is always top notch if yo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Mercer Kitchen is always top notch if you're looking for a slightly more special, but not stuffy meal. Though our drinks took over a half hour to arrive everything else was exquisite. I always get the tuna spring rolls and have recently been into the avocado pizza (great vegan option!). We also shared fries which were amazing. Definitely recommend it!

Tags: Local Ingredients, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Outstanding service, loved the atmospher ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Outstanding service, loved the atmosphere, great burger and truffle pizza (took recommendations of our server), only negative was price ($16) of top shelf vodka on the rocks which contributed to the shock of our bill being $200 for 2 apps, a burger and small pizza and two drinks each for our party of 2.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This is the second time I have been to M ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

This is the second time I have been to Mercer Kitchen, and unfortunately probably the last time. My mom and her friend were in NYC for just two days, and I suggested Mercer Kitchen because they wanted a cool restaurant downtown.

On the way to the restaurant, I called to let them know that we would be 10 min late to our 7:30 pm dinner because we were stuck in horrendous traffic. The first response I got was that our dinner was rescheduled to 9:30 pm that night. Needless to say, I was not okay with this, and the hostess stated again that we needed to hurry. We arrived at the restaurant at 7:40 pm, sat at our table, and did not order drinks until 8:00 pm. This is when the night started going very downhill. We ordered drinks at 8:00 pm and did not receive them until 8:30 pm. Yes, 30 minutes later. We saw the drinks sitting at the bear, asked a waiter to get them, and it took another 10 minutes while they continued to sit at the bar. We finally ordered our food, and to start we ordered calamari and a pizza to share. We got the pizza, and it came out ...unsliced. Just one big circle of dough and toppings. We didn't see the waiter for another 20 min, so my boyfriend had to cut the pizza himself. We asked the waiter if that is how they usually come out, and he said no and seemed surprised that it was served that way, explaining that it was probably just grabbed from the kitchen unfinished. Then the entrees came, 3 of us did not have forks (even after requesting them) so we took them from other tables. Three people ordered lobster- 2 normal, 1 without potatoes. Two came out with no potatoes, and one regular. The regular one went to my friend who ordered no potatoes, and the two who wanted potatoes decided not to request them since it had already taken forever to get our food. I was embarrassed because my mom and her friend had traveled so long so only be in NYC for two days. They were treating us to dinner and were very unsatisfied, and nothing was comped for us.

Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

The Mercer Kitchen used to be my favorit ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The Mercer Kitchen used to be my favorite place in SoHo. I loved their ribeye, but starting yesterday this relationship isn't working anymore... The quality of the meat itself was so much worse than before that i thought they gave me a dull steak knife. Their seafood platter and mac&cheese were amazing tho. And my friend's fish was also baked well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Went with my kids so they can eat there ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Went with my kids so they can eat there I went once and always remember it is an amazing place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is first rate and the tables are fa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Food is first rate and the tables are far enough apart to have a reasonable conversation.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I didn't know it was only upstairs -prob ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

I didn't know it was only upstairs -prob should have been noted because menu is totally diff from downstairs

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Unfortunately they did nothing to be pre ...

 
 (Raum Frankfurt)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Unfortunately they did nothing to be prepared for our sons birthday even though we asked for in advance :S

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Overall bad service. Took forever to get ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Overall bad service. Took forever to get menus. Our server barely checked in & instead left his busboys to do most of the work although they forgot everything we requested (more drinks, bread Etc.). Waited forever for a spoon for the gazpacho, until I had to shout to get a servers attention (which I would normally NEVER do). Food was the saving grace, very tasty; however, as a local who lives 4 min away I will not return to this restaurant - there are too many other great restaurants in the neighborhood to choose from!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

Nice Restaurant in the middle of the fas ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Nice Restaurant in the middle of the fashionable NY Soho

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Small portions. Not attentive to food al ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Small portions. Not attentive to food allergies. Has declined greatly over the years. Not good for gluten sensitive dinners despite having a gluten free menu. Would never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Excellent service. Attentive manager. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Excellent service. Attentive manager. Sometimes a little noisy. Warm environment.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Made a reservation and gave people waiti ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Made a reservation and gave people waiting better table than us. Why use open table. It's better to wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Even though it took two hrs to get our d ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Even though it took two hrs to get our dinner,

Food was very good. Noise level unbearable downstairs so mid dinner we moved upstairs to escape the loudness of the place.

Service was on the neglectful side - whenever we asked for something answer was "it's Fashion Week we're very busy" as if the city was new to this!

Sat at 8:00 with dinner arriving at 10! Unbelievable however best fish and chips ever with great seafood appetizers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Great customer service! Everyone is very ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Great customer service! Everyone is very attentive, from the sommelier to servers. Delicious food.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ok burger - service not so good.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Ok burger - service not so good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

The food was outstanding. High quality ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

The food was outstanding. High quality and very flavorful. But, the service was really lacking. We were basically ignored by a bored waiter the entire time. It's too bad -- the meal could have been amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Always a crowd pleaser! Food, staff, amb ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Always a crowd pleaser! Food, staff, ambience are all terrific. Only downside is there is no dress code. In such a chic place, it's dispiriting to see other diners wearing baggy shorts, ball caps, and shabby sneakers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a pleasure dining at Mercer. The ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Always a pleasure dining at Mercer. The best Kale Salad and seared sea bass are to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

When we arrived 5 minutes to the time of ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

When we arrived 5 minutes to the time of our reservation, we found a floor downstairs full of free tables. But we were asked to wait (at the bar, which was full of people without free space) to be seated. 15 minutes later we finally got the table that was free from the beginning.

The waiters were very friendly, but the hostess was not.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Perhaps one of the most beautiful restau ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Perhaps one of the most beautiful restaurants I'd ever been to, Mercer Kitchen is definitely the kind of restaurant you go to when you want to dine in a lively, vibrant, upscale atmosphere. No two corners are identical, with each area and both floors presenting a different vibe

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing dinner as always. Thank you!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Amazing dinner as always. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always love to eat at Mercer Kitchen whe ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Always love to eat at Mercer Kitchen when in New York. You can't go wrong!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Awesome place. Great food and drinks. Se ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Awesome place. Great food and drinks. Service is also good.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Was meant to be a special occasion dinne ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Was meant to be a special occasion dinner but I missed this "something special" in this place. Were seated at the recently super popular 'common table' but didn't particularly enjoy it -- shame opentable doesn't ask if that's the preferred option. Neighbours were loud so we had to almost shout to enjoy our conversation. Appetizers took a long time, but wine took even longer - we were half way through by the time it arrived. My lobster, as a main, was very good. The payment/ departure experience again wasn't very timely. Was a pleasant/ OK experience but it could have been so much more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

I was surprised when I could get a same- ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

I was surprised when I could get a same-day Saturday night reservation here, but now I know why. Worst service I've had in years - I was extremely disappointed by my experience. I have celiac disease and we ordered 2 appetizers and a main to split from the gluten free menu. We waited at least 45 minutes for our appetizers, to find that the food all arrived at once (odd). We were asked multiple times if we were finished (with half the food still on the plates and in the middle of eating). I was delivered a meal I ordered from the gluten-free menu to find that they used regular bread - and I found out only after I asked two servers. As someone with celiac disease this is extremely dangerous for me. They didn't even offer to comp part of our meal, when we had to wait half an hour for a new one to be made. Will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

The Mercer Kitchen was a nice restaurant ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The Mercer Kitchen was a nice restaurant and food was great. Just a bit dark and loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good overall but table was very weird an ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Good overall but table was very weird and unideal for a $120 meal. Service was slightly inattentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

The food is always great here. Whether i ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The food is always great here. Whether its lunch or dinner you always the food to be on point

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I had heard and read about MK for some t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

I had heard and read about MK for some time and finally ate their on a recent Thursday night with my wife and 2 kids (ages 15 & 12). The service was excellent. The ambiance was very nice although I would have preferred a table near the open kitchen. The chicken & coconut soup was delicious, but the entrees were just good. Nothing to "wow" about especially with the prices. Overall, we enjoyed the experience, but we're not rushing back there with all the restaurant choices available in NYC. In addition, it's not at the top of my list for recommendations to other foodie friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

I have been here many times and his was ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

I have been here many times and his was one of the best visits. No waiting for my reserved table as I've had to do a few times in the past. The waitress was very attentive and pleasant. The shrimp and avocado appetizer was excellent, the peaches and mozzarella appetizer I would pass on. Our mains, rigatoni pasta and salmon dish were excellent. Perfectly sized, not massive portions. Delicious caramel pudding and unique tasting gelato rounded out the evening. Always a favourite spot for me when I'm NYC. As long as you don't mind dimmed lighting and a loud atmosphere you will be happy here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Mercer Kitchen has grown on me and now i ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Mercer Kitchen has grown on me and now it's one of my main stays. The tuna spring rolls are a MUST have and the bread is heavenly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I come to Mercer Kitchen ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

My husband and I come to Mercer Kitchen for lunch 2-3 times a week, since we own a production studio 2 blocks down. The food is great, it's consistent and never disappoints, especially if you want to please your high profile guests or clients.

We had to work today (Sun, Aug 28th), so I made a brunch reservation and was very excited about it. We arrived 10 min. earlier and were asked to wait at the bar, which was expected, since it's always busy on weekends. We were invited to sit down 15 min. later. The hostess was very kind and even let us pick our table. When we sat down, the waiter asked for our water choice and then disappeared. My husband had to call him over to take our order. We didn't get any attention from him besides that, he seemed disengaged and distracted. We ordered oysters to start, I asked for a salad and my husband ordered a hot dog. By the time the oysters arrived, no silverware or bread were at the table, neither we got refills for our water and drinks. I had to get up and look for a busboy to accommodate us. Over an hour after we were seated, we still didn't get our meals, although the 2 couples who arrived after us were finished and got their checks. I eventually found the waiter and asked him to check on our order and was told it would be at the table in a few minutes. 10 min. later, still hungry and frustrated, we decided to leave. Not only we had a bad brunch experience, it also ruined our Sunday plans since we wasted an hour waiting and had to look for another place to have a meal.

We both are huge fans of chief JG Vongerichten, and have been coming to his restaurants here in NY (the Nougatine is one of our favorite spots in NY, and it's conveniently located across the street from our apartment on UWS) and in Canada, when we visit our offices there. This is why it's been extremely disappointing to lose a place we enjoyed coming for years due to bad service and lack of attention from personnel.

Thank you very much for your attention.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value2

It was um daughter´s birthday, and servi ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

It was um daughter´s birthday, and service was impecable. Not formal, but right on point! People were friendly, helpful and polite.

It was a great experience .

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall it was good but they gave away o ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Overall it was good but they gave away our table for being a few minutes late. We sat in probably the worst table in the place, right at the bottom of the stairs. Our waitress was not the best at all. Very slow, not nice, didn't check in with us.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Historic, Hot Spot, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

We arrived on time for our reservation a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We arrived on time for our reservation and then waited for over 45 minutes. The hostess was rude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.