About Mercer Kitchen

99 Prince Street
New York, NY 10012
View Larger Map

Located at the Mercer Hotel, Mercer Kitchen brings a chic, sophisticated vibe to the heart of SoHo. When Mercer Kitchen opened in 1998, it immediately became a destination for New Yorkers, celebrities, and tourists. Situated in the basement of a historic building constructed in the 1800s, the… restaurant was designed by Christian Liaigre as a combination of industrial and classic modernism. Chef Jean-Georges’ American menu features market-driven, seasonal ingredients prepared in a simple yet elegant style, with favorites like the Tuna Spring Roll, Steamed Shrimp Salad, wood-fired pizzas, and classic Warm Valrhona Chocolate Cake. There is an open kitchen, where guests can sit back and watch the show.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Organic, French American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Mon-Sat 7:00am-11:30am & Sunday 7:00am-11:00am
Lunch: Mon-Fri 11:30am-3:30pm
Late Lunch: Mon-Fri 3:30-5:30pm
Brunch: Sat, Sun 11:00am-4:00pm
Dinner: Mon-Thu 5:30pm-12:00am
Fri, Sat 5:30pm-1:00am
Sun 5:30pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Corner of Prince and Mercer Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 966-5454

Website:
http://www.themercerkitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking available after 5 pm and on holidays and weekends. Parking garage is located on Mercer St. between Houston and Prince.

Public Transit:
B,D,F,M to Broadway/Lafayette; 6 to Spring St; or N,R to Prince Street.

Executive Chef:
Jean-Georges Vongerichten

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY
Mercer Kitchen, New York, NY

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Jean-Georges brings a chic vibe to Soho at Mercer Kitchen, with a bright, airy café upstairs and a spacious restaurant on the lower level. The ambiance of the restaurant is timelessly stylish, and sexy, with exposed brick walls. The American Provencal menu features fresh and seasonal ingredients.

Mercer Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.7

ambience

4.2

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Hot Spot (51)
Special Occasion (46)
Good for a Date (43)
See All
Good for Groups (37)
Vibrant Bar Scene (36)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Creative Cuisine (35)
Modern Decor (34)
People Watching (32)
Casual (29)
Fun (29)
Great for Lunch (27)
Romantic (24)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Great for Brunch (23)
Cozy (21)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Business Meals (19)
Bar Seating (15)
Late-night Find (12)
Open Kitchen (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Comfort Food (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Authentic (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Historic (7)
Healthy (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Family Style (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Scenic View (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Music (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
3420 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food. Waitperson was very nice ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined a day ago

Excellent food. Waitperson was very nice but service could be a more attentive. Took some time for someone to ask us re beverages after we sat, when wine was not refilled when guests almost done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

We made a reservation for a Monday night ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 2 days ago

We made a reservation for a Monday night at 8:15 and we had to wait for 45 minutes for our table. The restaurant made up for it because they bought our first round of drinks, although we were further disappointed when we were told that the veal dish my wife and I ordered had run out, about 15 minutes after we ordered it. Alas, we ordered something else and the waiter comped one of our entrees. The restaurant was very busy and we understand the wait to a point, however we were disappointed about the fact that the restaurant ran out of our dish. Regardless, we would come back because the food is fantastic here although when they are busy be prepared to wait.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Food took too long to be served. But I u ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Food took too long to be served. But I understand it was a busy night.

Thank you

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

We had an amazing meal here yesterday. T ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined 4 days ago

We had an amazing meal here yesterday. The burger is really the best around. Today was terrible. It took forever to get out meal, and my eggs Benedict was cold. Not lukewarm, cold. I sent it back and it came out with a hot plate and cold eggs once again. They must poach the eggs then hold them.y daughters pasts was hot but clearly under the lights for a long time - little crusty on the top and a puddle of grease in the bottom. My sons pasta was cold as was my husband's kimchi hot-dog. The wait and host staff was extremely apologetic, but I was really disappointed that they let the food come out this way then failed to ensure it was fixed when we sent one fish back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2

Food was very good. But man - they could ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was very good. But man - they could not get us out fast enough! Kept asking "are you all through?" while we were eating... And we hardly lingered - really was unacceptable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Mercer Kitchen is a must stop for me in ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

Mercer Kitchen is a must stop for me in SOHO. I just find the dinning room so comfortable and the food is consistently amazing. My mom and I recently tried their chicken and coconut milk soup and the lentil soup. Both were great but the chicken soup was amazing! It was light and refreshing with the perfect balance of acid. We also got the Mercer Burger which is my favorite. The flavors and textures on the burger make it a must have.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Awesome service! Fantastic food! We will ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Awesome service! Fantastic food! We will definitely return! Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance was amazing and I literally ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

The ambiance was amazing and I literally had he best table!!! Perfect for date night

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Food was great-shrimp salad was crazy go ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was great-shrimp salad was crazy good. Service as a little weird--different people at different times. We got seated at a communal table, but had one end of it which was nice--good enough separation between us and the next group.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food and ambience. But chaotic. Re ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and ambience. But chaotic. Reservation time is a "guide only". Waited 40 minutes after reservation for a table. Could not get near the bar. No apologies. Staff polite.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Wonderful service and the best hamburger ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Wonderful service and the best hamburger in New York!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and environment. Out-of-towne ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Great food and environment. Out-of-towners usually appreciate the unique subterranean setting and warmly lit exposed brick. Large communal table options near the open kitchen is fun for large groups. Has been performing admirably for years.

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

Not too good. Food all came out the same ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Not too good. Food all came out the same time and when they brought back the entree it was a child's burger but we had no kids and food was slightly cold and not that good. Had just been kept in the back while we ate our appetizers. Pretty disappointing & not inexpensive !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

Great experience! The appetizers and the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great experience! The appetizers and the food was great!

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Slow service, took almost an hour from s ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Slow service, took almost an hour from sitting down to receiving our order, no offer of drinks while we waited either.

The waiter was rather presumptuous thinking we had left a 30%+ tip so it was quite disappointing to have to request our change.

On the plus side the restaurant has a great ambience and the food was good but not exceptional.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

First restaurant we visited in New York, ...

 
 (London)·Dined on November 26, 2016

First restaurant we visited in New York, as with all the popular NY restaurants we were sat on a very small table for two squeezed in between two other couples so space was at a premium. The service was good as it is at most high end restaurants in NY however the food was not what I would have expected when paying such a premium for dining. Starter was good but when you pay $24 for it you expect that, main of veal was quite average and for the cost I think there are better options in the city. The Mercer Kitchen will trade on its name but I am not convinced that a $200 meal was worth it at this venue.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Wonderful service-really friendly staff- ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Wonderful service-really friendly staff- they made a special day even better and the food was terrific

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I came for Thanksgiving with some family ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I came for Thanksgiving with some family and was pretty disappointed for several reasons. I had never been here, but friends recommended it and I saw that they were offering a Thanksgiving prix fixe set menu. However -- My Open Table confirmation listed the Thanksgiving set menu as having 5 choices for the appetizer and 5 choices for the entree - the menu we ended up with had only 2 choices for each, and they were very limited unimaginative choices. Luckily, the a la carte menu was also available, but on Thanksgiving I like a good restaurant with a good prix fixe for the occasion. The restaurant is SO loud.... not just "energetic" as they list here, but uncomfortably loud to where I had to shout to have a conversation with my own family on Thanksgiving. To make it worse, the waitress (not stellar by any means) talked SO softly that unless your ear was right next to her, you couldn't hear. I had to tell the table everything she was saying because she did not seem eager to go to each side of the table to be heard.

Aside from the noise and the disappointment of the prix fixe not being at all what Open Table included in my confirmation email (which I still have and have considered reporting to them):

  • When we walked in NO ONE greeted us. We had to guess that you have to walk downstairs and upon arriving at the desk, we had VERY chilly reception from the hosts.

  • We were seated at a communal table with others, without being asked if that was ok, and without any notice in the reservation that this would be the case. Especially on a holiday, it should be mentioned.

  • Bathrooms were unexpectedly dirty for a place that considers itself "high-end".

  • Sommelier was aggressive and wouldn't leave us alone.

  • Food was ultimately fine but nothing incredible that we couldn't have had elsewhere.

Overall a very disappointing Thanksgiving dinner. Perhaps the restaurant just isn't good on holidays, but as my first experience there, I would not recommend it.

Tags: Comfort Food, People Watching, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

I absolutely love Mercer kitchen. Howeve ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I absolutely love Mercer kitchen. However was extremely disappointed with the thanksgiving meal menu. They minimized their a la Cart menu and omitted some of their most well known dishes. I will definitely go back but not for a holiday meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Nice food beautiful place

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Nice food beautiful place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

A pleasant addition is the new manager J ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

A pleasant addition is the new manager John who was so friendly and accommodating. We always select Mercer Kitchen when in Soho and John made it even more special.

LOVE the salmon sushi and roast chicken. Amazing kale salad and apple tart !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is great. I especially enjoyed the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Food is great. I especially enjoyed the Maine lobster. but Hostesses are close to rude.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Went here with some friends to grab brun ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Went here with some friends to grab brunch. Gorgeous and large place, decor is amazing. The service was a little slow - they brought out the bread basket towards the end of the meal and it took me just about 15 minutes to be able to order some tea, but the staff was nothing but polite. The place is HUGE so I guess it's normal to wait a little.

I wouldn't say it's pricey but it isn't cheap ($10 for mineral table for the water) but the food is quite excellent and for the ambiance it's worth it. The brunch itself tasted really great, the menu had just the right amount of variety to it. I felt full without feeling stuffed. All in all, we left pretty satisfied.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

For a table of 10 the service was quick ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

For a table of 10 the service was quick and easy. We ordered mainly all shareable plates and most of the food was delish! Especially the meatball pasta and the prosciutto flat bread.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a great restaurant! The food wa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This was a great restaurant! The food was amazing and it came in great portions. I ordered the Rigatoni with meatballs and it was perfect! They also brought me a chocolate cake with a candle and sang me happy birthday! Big thanks to Basil for the exceptional service!

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

It was difficult to located with all the ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2016

It was difficult to located with all the scaffolding outside and then we didn't realize the restaurant was downstairs. There were no signs or staff to direct you. Finally we found the hostess and over the next 10 minutes she asked us 3 times if we were waiting, had a reservation, and our name. A group came in and were sat before us, so I found another staff member to help us. We were then seated but it took a while for our waiter to come. We then were told it was the "late lunch" menu which was very limited. We thought about leaving but at that point..... For what was on the small menu it was pricey. I will not be returning or recommending.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

We expected more polished service at thi ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We expected more polished service at this price point but it was quite casual. It was not bad. Just not what we expected.

Wonderful to receive a surprise message on our dessert platter for our anniversary :) thanks !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Not great service but good food.

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Not great service but good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Nice place, good food, affordable price

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Nice place, good food, affordable price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Appetizers we had were great (beet salad ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Appetizers we had were great (beet salad and sea bass carpaccio) . My entree of salmon however was unseasoned, though cooked perfectly. It would have been great had they put something on it. Salt, lemon, anything. . . Maybe next time I'll get the burger. It was still a nice dining experience.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Nice table upstairs where its much more ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Nice table upstairs where its much more calm. Food was good. Drinks good as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

There was no table ... We waited at the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

There was no table ... We waited at the bar

And they gave us a small table upstairs near the cold of the door... Not recommanded

Too noisy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Way, way overpriced (28$ for Eggs Benedi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Way, way overpriced (28$ for Eggs Benedict?), and not that good. Poor value for money.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

EXTREMELY overpriced for below average f ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 13, 2016

EXTREMELY overpriced for below average food. Go to Balthazar instead and save yourself some headache from the awful service too.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Food and service were great. Great atmos ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food and service were great.

Great atmosphere and excellent wine menu.

Perfect for a date night or group get together.

I highly recommend!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff by the entrance told us there ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The staff by the entrance told us there was no tables open without even checking the system; but we found

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Fantastic place! The service was good a ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Fantastic place! The service was good and the food was great! We loved it!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fun, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious food, interesting menu. Great ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Delicious food, interesting menu. Great atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tuna spring roll, salmon ceviche w crisp ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Tuna spring roll, salmon ceviche w crispy rice, crab and snowpea salad were amazing and a must!!!! The lobster was really good too. The butterscotch pudding was goood and the sour cheesecake was amazing!!! Big cool spot, nice atmosphere great service. Id go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

inattentive service. extremely mediocre ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

inattentive service. extremely mediocre food, and overpriced for what it was. great ambiance. but not JG quality

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.