About Mercer Kitchen

99 Prince Street
New York, NY 10012
View Larger Map

Located at the Mercer Hotel, Mercer Kitchen brings a chic, sophisticated vibe to the heart of SoHo. When Mercer Kitchen opened in 1998, it immediately became a destination for New Yorkers, celebrities, and tourists. Situated in the basement of a historic building constructed in the 1800s, the… restaurant was designed by Christian Liaigre as a combination of industrial and classic modernism. Chef Jean-Georges’ American menu features market-driven, seasonal ingredients prepared in a simple yet elegant style, with favorites like the Tuna Spring Roll, Steamed Shrimp Salad, wood-fired pizzas, and classic Warm Valrhona Chocolate Cake. There is an open kitchen, where guests can sit back and watch the show.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Organic, French American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Mon-Sat 7:00am-11:30am & Sunday 7:00am-11:00am
Lunch: Mon-Fri 11:30am-3:30pm
Late Lunch: Mon-Fri 3:30-5:30pm
Brunch: Sat, Sun 11:00am-4:00pm
Dinner: Mon-Thu 5:30pm-12:00am
Fri, Sat 5:30pm-1:00am
Sun 5:30pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Corner of Prince and Mercer Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 966-5454

Website:
http://www.themercerkitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking available after 5 pm and on holidays and weekends. Parking garage is located on Mercer St. between Houston and Prince.

Public Transit:
B,D,F,M to Broadway/Lafayette; 6 to Spring St; or N,R to Prince Street.

Executive Chef:
Jean-Georges Vongerichten

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen
Mercer Kitchen

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Jean-Georges brings a chic vibe to Soho at Mercer Kitchen, with a bright, airy café upstairs and a spacious restaurant on the lower level. The ambiance of the restaurant is timelessly stylish, and sexy, with exposed brick walls. The American Provencal menu features fresh and seasonal ingredients.

Mercer Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.7

ambience

4.2

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (91)
Hot Spot (90)
Good for Groups (84)
See All
Special Occasion (79)
Neighborhood Gem (78)
Great for Lunch (66)
Vibrant Bar Scene (58)
Romantic (54)
Great for Brunch (41)
Late-night Find (30)
Notable Wine List (25)
Kid-friendly (11)
Scenic View (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Sort By:
Newest
3262 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good overall but table was very weird an ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined a day ago

Good overall but table was very weird and unideal for a $120 meal. Service was slightly inattentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

I have been here many times and his was ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 4 days ago

I have been here many times and his was one of the best visits. No waiting for my reserved table as I've had to do a few times in the past. The waitress was very attentive and pleasant. The shrimp and avocado appetizer was excellent, the peaches and mozzarella appetizer I would pass on. Our mains, rigatoni pasta and salmon dish were excellent. Perfectly sized, not massive portions. Delicious caramel pudding and unique tasting gelato rounded out the evening. Always a favourite spot for me when I'm NYC. As long as you don't mind dimmed lighting and a loud atmosphere you will be happy here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Mercer Kitchen has grown on me and now i ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Mercer Kitchen has grown on me and now it's one of my main stays. The tuna spring rolls are a MUST have and the bread is heavenly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was um daughter´s birthday, and servi ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 7 days ago

It was um daughter´s birthday, and service was impecable. Not formal, but right on point! People were friendly, helpful and polite.

It was a great experience .

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall it was good but they gave away o ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Overall it was good but they gave away our table for being a few minutes late. We sat in probably the worst table in the place, right at the bottom of the stairs. Our waitress was not the best at all. Very slow, not nice, didn't check in with us.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Historic, Hot Spot, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

We arrived on time for our reservation a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We arrived on time for our reservation and then waited for over 45 minutes. The hostess was rude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Horrified to order 2 kids mojitos to be ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Horrified to order 2 kids mojitos to be charged $22 for them. Basically ginger ale with some mint added. Food disappointing, my salmon was way too acidic and bones were not removed. Burgers were disappointing with packet squares of cheese on them. Prosciutto wrapped pork roll was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

I had read reviews that mentioned spotty ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I had read reviews that mentioned spotty service. Wrong! Service was dedicated and outstanding. The pizza was beyond compare. I'm going back soon.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We went to Mercer kitchen for a business ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We went to Mercer kitchen for a business meal. The food and service are excellent. I would recommend asking for a seat away from the kitchen if you prefer something quiet. While the open concept kitchen is unique, it can be noisy.

Overall I would definitely come back for a special occasion; the basil gin martini was enjoyed by all as well as the sashimi salmon over crispy rice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I was very disappointed. When I asked ab ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

I was very disappointed. When I asked about a certain dish as per the website, all I was told was that the menu was incorrect. No reconciliation or attempt to try and accommodate or assist with another recommendation. I plan numerous large events throughout the city and was taking Mercer Kitchen into consideration for the future, but now take this off my list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

The waiter was annoying, trying hard to ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The waiter was annoying, trying hard to sound helpful while not actually listening. Keep making mistakes and got the wrong dessert flavors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

Went on a recommendation for my birthday ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Went on a recommendation for my birthday dinner. VERY disappointing experience! Made reservations for 8pm and they wanted to seat (3) of us at a tiny table bottom of stairs middle of walkway. Granted request for new table, but not gracious or understanding. Our waiter greeted us with a grouchy face and never smiled the entire evening. He never checked on us after we received our meal, which was very fast. It was like they couldn't wait to turn the table over! Horrible service and the food was NOT as anticipated. I had the veal, which was fried (not listed on menu) and my husband had the shrimp special, with 5 small shrimp over greens. Gave him 1/2 of mine! HIGHLY overrated!!! I did mention our experience to the manager at at the end of the meal. Perhaps our server should have stayed home to pout instead of showing up to work! Spend your money elsewhere!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Pizza and burger were delicious! The onl ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Pizza and burger were delicious! The only problem is that the place it's too noisy and it's hard to talk if you're more than 4 people in a table!

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was great but the place was a bit l ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Food was great but the place was a bit loud and we couldn't hear one another. Solid service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

The food is not as good as it used to be ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The food is not as good as it used to be but the vibe is still fun .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Very fun experience. I like the concept ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Very fun experience. I like the concept of a restaurant and bar with a "clubbing" concept. Food served was excellent in presentation and taste. Service was prompt as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

First, I must commend the bartender down ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

First, I must commend the bartender downstairs that returned my mistaken $100 bill that I mistook for a second $20 bill! Thanks for being honest.

Our dining experience was top notch, as usual.

Two of us took advantage of the Restaurant Week

Menu. Great choices!

Highly recommend the vegetable carpaccio and peach/goat cheese

pizza as appetizers.

The shrimp main dish was a mix of fresh shrimp, peas, pea pods perfectly dressed.

The other guests loved their entrees of rib eye done to perfection( from regular menu)and a delicious chicken dish from Restaurant Week Menu.

Don't miss the chocolate cake dessert!

Wait staff couldn't have done more for us. Helped us celebrate a birthday too!

Highly recommend dining here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was here for restaurant week, so the v ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

I was here for restaurant week, so the value for money was great on this particular occasion, however based on the menu, the meal we had would be quite expensive without the special offer. The ambiance of the place was wonderful (love the open kitchen) and our server was a delight.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I was first time in USA and I choose Mer ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

I was first time in USA and I choose Mercer Kitchen for special occasion to be with my fammily in NYC.Food was great and everything was perfect,I will return if I will be at NYC.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really good food, really delicious, just ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Really good food, really delicious, just a bit overcrowded during Restaurant Week, packed with tourists, must be a destination for them. Also the overhead open sidewalk changes the light on your table if you sit beneath it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

The food was incredible! The restaurant ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The food was incredible! The restaurant is a bit dark, and located downstairs so there are no windows (in case you're looking for bright space). Apart from that, we really really enjoyed it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Thought the service was ok, not great ex ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Thought the service was ok, not great except the bar tender was great

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Overall great dining experience in a bea ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Overall great dining experience in a beautiful setting.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I was here with a group from work and en ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I was here with a group from work and enjoyed me meal so much that I returned with family. Need a place in the city to meet the kids for my birthday. The pizzas are fantastic and so is burrata and tomatoes.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Always a staple for us.

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Always a staple for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The waiters r not all friendly and profe ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The waiters r not all friendly and professional. Water was spilt on me when pouring into the glasses. Wasn't immediately taken care of and without any apology!

Food was ok but definitely not up the 5 stars level.

L'Apicio definitely much better than it in all level from food, service and ambience!

DONT GO! Over value!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Overall I would say it was okay, service ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Overall I would say it was okay, service has been exceptional on other occasions. But this time we were left in the most random table location, waiting for what felt like an eternity to get water or even some service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

May be we were just in the wrong mood fo ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

May be we were just in the wrong mood for this place (dinner with the missus), but kind of disappointed in the Restaurant week menu and ambience.

Starters were great (beet salad and mini-pizza), but the mains just felt average and kind of inedible. Chicken and Skate were both heavily salty. I gave up less than half way through the Chicken, tasted watery and the side dish of greens were too bitter to eat.

It was like a restaurant/club. Probably great for groups and if you were on the regular menu. But we weren't drinking much and wanted to taste some interesting food, in that it kind of failed. It felt hard to hold a conversation because of the noise and bustle, and felt very much like we were being rushed through our meal. Staff were extremely nice, it just felt like a fast-turnover kind of place.

Maybe I'll hammer down beers beforehand and head there with the lads next time.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

Awful service, food is decent

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Awful service, food is decent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Food is ok. Service is terrible

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Food is ok. Service is terrible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Excellent food in a charming setting wit ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Excellent food in a charming setting with top-notch service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A friend and I where going to the theatr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

A friend and I where going to the theatre, and wanted to try a new restaurant. I stumbled upon this gem! Everything was excellent - the service, food, and the ambiance. I will be going back for dessert! Thank you Mercer Kitchen, great job!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

service was poor and extremely slow. My ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

service was poor and extremely slow. My two friends and I ordered the same entree and when it came to packaging up leftovers, they didn't pay attention to who had what plate. It took 30 minutes between each course to bring our food, and 15 minutes to even be brought a menu at the beginning. I expected much more from a Jean-Georges restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Seating was very limited. Three people a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Seating was very limited. Three people at a small round cafe table. Benches were not comfortable as no support. Food was good but slow service, comfort and noise detracted from experience. Not likely to return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Food was good, service awful, waited for ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Food was good, service awful, waited for main courses for over 45 minutes after eating appetizer. When asked waitress what was taking so long, she sent over the manager who said, "what can I do for you"! We told him we wanted our dinners and never heard from him again.

Food good, but can get good food at a lot of other restaurants!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

The noise level was ridiculously high. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The noise level was ridiculously high. Put in some sound absorbing materials!

The is the sole reason for low ratings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Food was great as usual... Service has m ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Food was great as usual... Service has much improved I was pleasantly surprised!! Great spot for great cocktail & a delicious bite to eat!! The salmon over crispy rice is amazing definite must try if you visit..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Too noisy. My Father and I barely could ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Too noisy. My Father and I barely could speak one to another. Food was not so special as I expected

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3

Great ambiance! A nice place to go with ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great ambiance! A nice place to go with friends or on a date. The food was delicious and the pizza is a great size to have by yourself. Definitely recommend

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Amazing food, great service, great vibe!

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Amazing food, great service, great vibe!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.